# Opposition — Waterman v. Wray

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1983%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 831

## Text

Supreme Cove, U.
PIL EES,

JUN 10 1977

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

76-1749

JOSEPH WATERMAN,

Petitioner,
Vs.

BERNARD CHUPKA, et al.,
Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

JOHN L. FRANCIS
City Attorney

JAMES R. KIRK

Senior Assistant City Attorney
90 West Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

HAROLD E. WONNELL
140 East Town Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

Attorneys for Respondents

nn ed
COURT INDEX PRESS, INC. — 215 E. Ninth Street, Cincinnati, Ohio 45202 — (513) 241-1450

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
INDEX TO AUTHORITIES | 1 Oe
GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OF WRIT OF
CERTIORARI | - See tae 2 eae
STATEMENT OF THE CASE | RA fee 2
ARGUMENT | ee RAC ips idee
Ground No. I | Senet a een pipey 5
Ground No. II ._... hy eee ries 7
I vc Oa Ne Oe ea ee ek ee 1]

CONCLUSION enrs | ) a 12

INDEX TO AUTHORITIES

Cases Cited: Page
City of Columbus v. Waterman, 41 Ohio App. 2d

98 : | 10, 11
Cromwell v. County of Sac, 94 U.S. 351, 24 L.Ed.

195 (1876) 7 | 10
Hormel v. Helvering, 312 U.S. 552, 85 L.Ed. 1037,

61 S.Ct. 719 = 5

Mastracchio v. Ricci, 498 F.2d 1257 (Ist Cir. 1974) .. 8

Preiser v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 475, 36 L.Ed. 2d 439,
93 S.Ct. 1827 (1973) 10

Pyles v. Keane, 418 F.Supp. 269 (D.C., $.D., N.Y.,
1976) bi: ita

Rosenberg v. Martin, 478 F.2d 520 (2d Cir. 1973) 9

Walters v. St. Louis, 347 U.S. 231, 98 L.Ed. 660,
74 S.Ct. 505 | 5

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

JOSEPH WATERMAN,

Petitioner,
Vs.

BERNARD CHUPKA, et al.,
Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OF
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The respondents pray that a writ of certiorari to review
the opinion and judgment of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit be denied and that the
decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Sixth Circuit be affirmed for the following reasons:

I. The issues set forth in the petition for the writ of
certiorari by the petitioner herein were not raised in the
U. S. District Court for the Southern District of Ohio,
Fastern Division, or in the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit and are here urged for the first time.

2

II. The issues so urged were not present in the Frank-
lin County, Ohio, Municipal Court, the Court of Appeals
for the Tenth District of Ohio, the United States District
Court for the Southern District of Ohio, Eastern Division,
or the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Cir-
cuit.

III. The petition for a writ of certiorari erroneously in-
terprets the decision of the Tenth District Court of Ap-
peals of the State of Ohio insofar as it concludes that court
decided the issue which was present in the instant civil
rights case and that it finally decided the issue in the local
Court on behalf of the petitioner.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The within brief is filed in accordance with Rule 24 of
the Supreme Court Rules.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On August 22, 1973, after a three day jury trial in the
Franklin County, Ohio, Municipal Court, the petitioner
was found guilty by the jury of a violation of Columbus,
Ohio, Municipal Ordinance, § 2355.02, for unlawfully
obstructing members of the Columbus Police Department
at the scene of an arrest. This conviction is based essen-
tially upon the following facts.

On the night of December 2, 1972, there was a distur-
bance at the El Toro Lounge on South High Street in
Columbus, Ohio, and one Officer Ruda of the Columbus
Police Department caused an officer in trouble signal to be
broadcast. (R. 393-397) Respondent, Officer Denver
Wray, responding to that call was the first to arrive on the

3

scene. (R. 395) He immediately went into the El Toro
Lounge and encountered Officer Ruda in a scuffle with
one he recognized as Roscoe Dean, with whom he had
previous contact. (R. 397) He knew Dean to be a
mental case who was very physical after drinking. (R. 397)
Wray assisted Ruda in arresting Roscoe Dean and escorted
him to the rear of a police vehicle where he was placed
inside. (R. 398) Dean was placed in the extreme left rear
portion of the wagon next to the rear door. (R. 399)
There had gathered a large crowd of onlookers and upon
orders of Sergeant McCormick, the immediate superior of
Wray and several other officers who had arrived, Wray
and others began an effort to clear the scene of the arrest
of Dean and others. (R. 401) Officer Wray saw Officer
Smith endeavoring to move the crowd away from the
scene of the arrest and heard the petitioner, Waterman,
say; “I’m an attorney and a United States citizen, and I
don’t have to move.”” (R. 403) In the ensuing encounter
between Officer Wray and Waterman when the latter was
asked to leave the immediate scene, Waterman told Officer
Wray he would not move and that if he were arrested, it
would be the sorriest day of Officer Wray’s life. (R. 404)
Arrests were still underway and Waterman was standing
at the curb in a position so he could look inside the side
door of the police vehicle which was parked at an angle
to the curb headed in a southwest direction. (R. 158, 223,
227, 236, 403) Whe Waterman came on the scene, no
one except Roscoe Dean had been arrested and placed in
the wagon. (R. 153) While the officer in trouble signal
had been terminated, there was still a disturbance and ar-
rests were being made. (R. 30-31) Waterman was at
the entrance to the side of the police vehicle with a female
companion. (R. 27-28) When asked to move out of the
way and back from the wagon, Waterman refused although

4

his female companion moved out of the immediate area.
(R. 31-32) Waterman was arrested and charged with
violating § 2355.02 of the Columbus City Code.

Following his conviction, the petitioner filed his appeal
with the Court of Appeals for Franklin County, Ohio; that
is the Tenth District of Ohio Court of Appeals. The
decision in that case is reported at 41 Ohio App. 2d 98.
(A printed copy of that opinion is annexed to petitioner's
petition for writ of certiorari. Appendix, page 24.)

Subsequent to the decision of the Franklin County, Ohio,
Court of Appeals, the petitioner brought the instant action
in the U. S. District Court, which was heard by a jury on
September 29, 30, and October | and 2, 1975, resulting
in a verdict in favor of the respondent police officers.

Petitioner then on November 3, 1975, filed a notice of
appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit in Cincinnati, Ohio. The sole questions presented
by petitioner in that appeal were as follows:

1. Whether the trial court erred in denying plain-
tiff-appellant’s motion for directed verdict on the
ground of considering the evidence in its best
light for defendants-respondents reasonable minds
could not differ from the conclusion that defen-
dants were liable to plaintiff.

2. Whether the trial court erred in denying plain-
tiff’s motion for judgment notwithstanding the
_verdict on the basis that no evidence was intro-
duced at trial that could support the verdict re-
turned.

Following argument on February 4, 1977, the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit by order
filed February 15, 1977, affirmed, the actions of the United
States District Court in submitting the case to the jury and
found that no prejudicial error had occurred at the tria).

ARGUMENT

GROUND No. I

THE ISSUES SET FORTH IN THE PETITION
FOR THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI BY THE
PETITIONER HEREIN WERE NOT RAISED
IN THE U. S. DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO, EASTERN DI-
VISION, OR IN THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT AND
ARE HERE URGED FOR THE FIRST TIME.

It is elementary and well settled that the Supreme Court
does not give consideration to issues not raised in the
courts below. Hormel v. Helvering, 312 U.S. 552 at 556,
85 L.Ed. 1037 at 1041, 61 S.Ct. 719, and Walters v. St.
Louis, 347 U.S. 231 at 233, 98 L.Ed. 660 at 664, 74 S.Ct.
505.

Petitioner urges as the second question presented by
his petition that motions for summary judgment and di-
rected verdicts in civil rights litigation may be effectively
abolished by actions of the trial courts as taken in the
instant case. It should be noted at the outset that at no
time was a motion for summary judgment sought. The
only matter with respect to a directed verdict is so brief
that it is set forth here in its entirety from page 428 of the
record in the U. S. District Court.

MR. CONNOR: If it please the Court, we would
move the Court to direct a verdict on the question of
liability in our favor due to the fact that based upon
the law as the Court has indicated it understands the
law and will instruct the jury as such, it would appear
that the Court can find, as a matter of law, even giving
the Defendants — considering the Defendants’ evi-

6

dence in its best light that there is no question that
Joseph Waterman did not interfere at the scene of
the arrest of Roscoe Dean or the other three people
that were arrested on December 2, 1972.

In the brief of the petitioner filed in the United States
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, the sole questions
presented are as follows:

1. Whether the trial court erred in denying plain-
tiff-appellant’s motion for directed verdict on the
ground that considering the evidence in its best
light for defendants-respondents reasonable minds
could not differ from the conclusion that defen-
dants were liable to plaintiff.

2. Whether trial court erred in denying plaintiff's
motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict
on the basis that no evidence was introduced to
trial that could support the verdict returned.

It is clear that at no time in the United States District
Court for the Southern District of Ohio, Eastern Division,
or in the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Cir-
cuit, did petitioner raise the issues he now urges in sup-
port of his petition for writ of certiorari.

~I

GROUND No. II

THE ISSUES NOW URGED WERE NOT PRES.
ENT IN THE FRANKLIN COUNTY MUNICI-
PAL COURT, THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE TENTH DISTRICT OF OHIO, THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO, EASTERN
DIVISION, OR THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT.

The petitioner urges explicitly and seeks to cite cases
in support of his contention that since his conviction
growing out of a violation of an ordinance of the City of
Columbus, Ohio, was reversed by the Franklin County,
Ohio, Court of Appeals, the doctrine of collateral estoppel
operates to bar the United States District Court from
submitting the question of good faith probable cause, on
the part of respondents, to the jury impaneled to hear the
facts in his civil rights case. While in certain fact pat-
terns, the doctrine of collateral estoppel may apply, this
proposition is clearly inapplicable in the instant case since
the issues urged were not present in any of the preceding
cases before the civil rights case and the parties and the
facts were different.

The issue in the petitioner's criminal trial before the
Franklin County Municipal Court was whether or not the
petitioner had violated § 2355.02 of the Columbus City
Codes.

The issues presented by the petitioner to the Franklin
County, Ohio, Court of Appeals in no way encompass the
issue of fact which was before the United States District
Court jury. A brief reference to the assignments of error
made by the petitioner to the Franklin County, Ohio,

8

Court of Appeals appearing from the bottom of page 99
through page 100 of that Court’s decision reveals that the
issue in the civil rights case was never presented to the
Court of Appeals in Franklin County, Ohio, and for that
reason to urge the doctrine of collateral estoppel is errone-
ous.

The record at page 429 and page 430 reveals that the
petitioner conceded that an appropriate issue upon which
the U. S. District Court should charge the jury was the
issue of good faith probable cause, on the part of respon-
dents. At that place in the record the U. S. District Court
Trial Judge invited comment concerning objections, addi-
tions, alterations, or omissions to the charge. At that junc-
ture in time, the petitioner did not raise the doctrine of
collateral estoppel or in anyway urge it upon the Court.
At no time was it inferred that the Franklin County, Ohio,
Court of Appeals decision had a res judicata effect upon
the civil rights case then to be decided by a jury in the
U. S. District Court.

The issues presented to the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Sixth Circuit by the petitioner make it emin-
ently clear that the petitioner did not then think that the
Franklin County, Ohio, Court of Appeals decision worked
in any way as a bar to the determination by a jury sitting
in the U. S. District Court of the factual issue of good
faith probable cause.

While the cases cited by the petitioner are in some re-
spects supportive of the doctrine of collateral estoppel,
they are not in point in the instant case. Mastracchio v.
Ricci, 498 F.2d 1257 (1st Cir. 1974), is a case resulting in
a summary judgment against the plaintiff wherein while
a state criminal proceeding was not yet terminated, the
plaintiff brought a civil rights action based upon alleged

9

perjured testimony of a police detective. At page 1259 of
that decision the following language appears:

. when Civil Rights action is brought in Federal
Court which presents same issue which was decided
in a prior state civil action that prior state judgment
may have a collateral estoppel (or res judicata) effect
upon the Federal suit.

(Emphasis writers.)

At page 1260 there is the following language:

. . . Collateral estoppel operates, of course, only as to
matters actually litigated and decided at the prior
trial... .

(Emphasis writers.)

In substance, Mastracchio holds that prior state action
may have a collateral estoppel effect but only as to matters
actually litigated and decided at the prior trial. Such is
not the case here and thus Mastracchio becomes more
authoritative for the respondents than for the petitioner.

The same is true of the decision in Rosenberg v. Martin,
478 F.2d 520 (2d Cir. 1973), a case involving a judgment
against a former police inspector in favor of a prisoner
which was reversed on appeal with instructions to dismiss
the complaint. It should be noted, that the identical issue,
it was held, had been twice litigated against the plaintiff.
The issue there was deprivation of a right to a fair trial
because of publicity releases by a former police inspector.
Rosenberg is distinguishable because it was held that the
identical issue had been twice litigated: In the instant
case the identical issue was never litigated until originally
in the civil rights action in the United States District
Court.

The case of Pyles v. Keane, 418 F.Supp. 269, (D.C. S.D.,
N.Y., 1976) stands only for the proposition that the doc-

10

trine of collateral estoppel can be raised and considered
upon a pre-trial motion to dismiss. Therein a motion
to dismiss a prisoner's action against police officers for
declaratory judgment and money damages for alleged vio-
lations of civil rights was sustained. The suit was based
upon denial of assistance of counsel, search and seizure, as
well as malicious prosecution. The case is simply not in
point.

In Cromwell v. County of Sac, 94 U.S. 351, 24 L.Ed.
195 (1876), it was held that the issue was not the same
and estoppel did not lie in an action against an Iowa
county upon interest coupons issued for the erection of a
courthouse. That is no authority for the propositions
which are urged by petitioner herein. For further authori-
ty that the issues must be the same, see Preiser v. Rodri-
guez, 411 U.S. 475, 36 L.Ed. 2d 439, 93 S.Ct. 1827 (1973),
where the question presented to the Court was whether the
action was in habeas corpus requiring exhaustion of state’s
remedies or Civil Rights and petitioning prisoners sought
to persuade the Court to follow cases regarding prison con-
ditions rather than early or speedier release. The Court
refused to embrace a collateral estoppel since the issues
were not the same.

Even if the doctrine of collateral estoppel had been
raised before the U. S. District Court, such an objection
would have been properly overruled. It is respectfully
submitted that since the issues now urged were not pres-
ent, the trial court properly charged the jury and in so doing
followed the law of the State of Ohio as enunciated in
the very case which petitioner urged upon the Court; to
wit, City of Columbus v. Waterman, 41 Ohio App. 2d 98.

il

GROUND No. Ill

Petitioner at page 18 of the Petition for Certiorari filed
herein alleges that the factual evidence in the instant case
was identical to the state criminal case. Respondent re-
spectfully submits that this is not true. This may be a
minor point of contention; however, in any event, the
Court is in no position to determine whether the allega-
tion made on page 18 is true or false inasmuch as the rec-
ord of the state criminal proceeding is not before this
Court.

Further, at page 18, petitioner states that under state
law the case was reversed and final judgment entered for
the petitioner. At no place in the opinion of the Franklin
County, Ohio, Court of Appeals in Columbus v. Water-
man, 41 Ohio App. 2d 98, is there any language entering
final judgment for the petitioner. As a matter of fact, at
page 105 of that opinion, the Court sustained the fifth
assignment of error of the petitioner on the ground that
his motion for a new trial should have been sustained.
The granting of a new trial in no way is a final judgment
for the petitioner. In the concurring opinion of J. Straus-
baugh in sustaining assignments of error raised by the
petitioner, at page 106, that eminent jurist indicates ". . .
I would reverse and remand this matter for re-trial. . . .”
Certainly no one can successfully contend that language
supports the conclusion that a final judgment was rendered
on behalf of the petitioner.

12

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied
for the reasons that the issues now raised by petitioner
were not timely raised, either in the U. S. District Court
or in the U. S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit and
properly so because the issues now urged were not present
in the Franklin County, Ohio, Municipal Court, the Court
of Appeals for the Tenth District of Ohio, the United
States District Court for ‘e Southern District of Ohio,
Eastern Division, or th * aited States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN L. FRANCIS
City Attorney

JAMES R. KIRK

Senior Assistant City Attorney
90 West Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

HAROLD E. WONNELL
140 East Town Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

Attorneys for Respondents

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1983%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
