# Petition — Federal Communications Commission v. Home Box Office, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1959%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 829

## Text

oo _

Su; Cinsrt, us
FiLlktD

JUN @ 1977

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

©6-1724
Gun the Supreme Gourt of the United States

OcroBeR TERM, 1976

FepERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, PETITIONER
v.
Home Box Orrice, INO., ET AL.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
CIRCUIT

WERNER K. HARTENBERGER,
General Counsel,
DANIEL M. ARMSTRONG,
Associate General Counsel,
JACK DAVID SMITH,
KEITH H. FAGAN,
Counsel,
Federal Communications Commission,
Washington, D.C, 20554.
Of Counsel :
UPTON K. GUTHERY

ite thio ia ak: ch delilicitanahi nieimieteile 1
I 2
hn nen s cecnidbsenbemenntiur 2
te RE aa ean ae i mene ae 3
ag a7 SES a a gaa a ym 3
Reasons for granting the writ. ................. oy)
a a 44

CITATIONS
Cases:
American Airlines, Inc. v. Civil Aeronautics
Board, 192 F.2d 417 (D.C, Cir. 1951)___._- 25
American Airlines, Inc. v. Civil Aeronautics
Board, 359 F.2d 624 (D.C. Cir. 1966), cert.
denied, 385 U.S. 843 (1966)___._..._-_-- 30, 35
American Civil Liberties Univ . v. Federal Com-
munications Commission, 523 F.2d 1344 (9th
ee i nls deans Gaaedabineamat 16, 17
American Nursing Home Association v. Cost of
Living Council, 497 F.2d 909 (TECA 1974)

TREES SR FES Een Se ge ae 25
American Trucking Associations, Inc. v. United

States, 344 U.S. 298 (1953)_......-.--- 30, 32, 35
Amoco Oil Co. v. Environmental Protection

Agency, 501 F.2d 722 (D.C. Cir. 1974)____- 25

Angel v. Butz, 487 F.2d 260 (10th Cir. 1973),

cert. denied, 417 U.S. 967 (1974)___. 25, 31, 32, 33
Bank of Commerce of Laredo v. City National

Bank of Laredo, 484 F.2d 284 (5th Cir.

1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 905 (1974) ___- 34

(1)

Il

Black Hills Video Corporation v. Federal
Communications Commission, 399 F.2d 65 page

(Bile Cle. 1968) 6 ccccecccccccccsccecnes 15, 17
Bowles v. Seminole Rock & Sand Co., 325 U.S.

OP co chibda cas denecennedaksnanae 42
Bowman Transportation, Inc. v. Arkansas-

Best Freight System, 419 U.S. 281 (1974) - -- 27

Buckeye Cablevision, Inc. v. Federal Communt-
cations Commission, 387 F.2d 220 (D.C.

Cid. Be iit nueticns caccecscundedinenoeie 17
Burlington Truck Lines, Inc. v. United States,

me ee | A 22
California Citizens Band Association v. United

States, 375 F.2d 43 (9th Cir. 1967)_.-.---- 31
Camp v. Pitts, 411 U.S. 138 (1973)-.-------- 34

Capital Broadcasting Co. v. Mitchell, 333 I’.

Supp. 582 (D.D.C. 1971), judgment aff’d.,

GEE GE. BRD Ce acct ccnncdwecesénee 19
CBS, Inc. v. Teleprompter Corp., 476 F.2d 338

(2nd Cir. 1973), affirmed in part and reversed

in part, 415 U.S. 394 (1974)_..----------- 18
CBS Television Network Affiliates Association

v. Federal Communications Commission, No.

75-1491 (D.C. Cir. March 31, 1977).---- 23
Chrysler Corp. v. Department of Transportation,

472 F.2d 659 (6th Cir. 1972)_.....------- 31, 32
Citizens to Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe,

Se Fee. Be Se céindnnke deeneaiene passim
City of Chicago v. Federal Power Commission,

458 F.2d 731 (D.C. Cir. 1971), cert. denied,

G06 Th SE Cw ctenn cntctnbnaine 31
Conley Electronics Corp. v. FCC, 394 F.2d 620

(10th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 858

It

Connecticut Committee Against Pay TV v.
Federal Communications Commission, 301
F.2d 835 (D.C. Cir. 1962), cert. denied, 371

“oy 7 pregame bi
Courtaulds (Alabama Inc. v. Dixun, 294 F.2d

a ee 39, 40
D.C. Federation of Civic Associations v. Volpe,

459 F.2d 1231 (D.C. Cir. 1972), cert. denied,

ss , ea eeeae eee 33
Federal Communications Commission v. RCA

Communications, Inc. 346 U.S. 86 (1953) _ _- 24
Federal Power Commission v. Transcontinental

Gas Pipe Line Corp., 365 U.S. 1 (1961)___- 24
Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch.) 87

PDA cichee GA an ebaseden Sicw oe bokc 33
Flying Tiger Line, Inc. v. Boyd, 244 F. Supp.

I MR ee 31, 32

General Telephone Company of the Southwest v.
Federal Communications Commission, 449
F.2d 846 (Gth Cir. 1071)................. 31
Great Falls Community TV Cable Co. v. Federal
Communications Commission, 416 F.2d 238
gk NR a Sean ae Ae a 17
Moss v. Federal Power Commission, 502 ¥'.2d
461 (D.C. Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 422 U.S.
ERG AI pe ee ae a eT Oe 31
Mt. Mansfield Television, Inc. v. Federal Com-
munications Commission, 442 ¥'.2d 470 (2d
aE SS ATEN eSB aan 24
National Association of Independent Television
Producers and Distributors v. Federal Com-
munications Commission, 516 F.2d 526 (2nd
6 EV GSE De a eee 24, 41

IV

National Association of Regulatory Utility Com-
missioners v. Federal Communications Com- page
mission, 533 F.2d 601 (D.C. Cir. 1976) - - - - 16

National Association of Theatre Owners v
Federal Communications Commission, 420
F.2d 194 (D.C. Cir. 1969), cert. denied,

S07 UB. CRB (GFR). cc cccescesstsvagnses passim
National Broadcasting Co. v. United States,

$10 U.S. 100 (9006)... ce ceccadecccevcuse 13
National Labor Relations Board v. Seven-Up

Bottling Co., 344 U.S. 344 (1953) -.-....---- 31

Pacific Coast ‘European Conference v. United
States, 350 F.2d 197 (9th Cir. 1965), cert

denied, 382 U.S. 958 (1965). .....-.------ 31
Pacific States Box and Basket Co. v. White,
206 US. 176 (16GB)... ccccwcndasscesseua 33

Sangamon Valley Television Corp. v. United
States, 269 F.2d 221 (D.C. Cir, 1959)... -- passim
Securities and Exchange Commission v. Chenery

Corp., 332 U.S. 194 (1947)........----.-- 31
Teleprompter Corp. v. CBS, Inc., 415 US.

906 (1G9O .. .ccccscesccccuucsassnnssn 24
Titusville Cable TV, Inc. v. United States,

404 F.2d 1187 (3rd Cir. 1968). .....-.----. 17
Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1 (1965)_..----.- 42
United States v. Allegheny-Ludlum Steel Corp.,

406 U.S. 742 (1972).................-- 21, 30, 35
United States v. Chemical Foundation, Inc.,

978 OB. 1 (GBD). nccccccntscsnwsnnees 33

v
United States v. Detroit & Cleveland Navigation page

Co., 326 U.S. 236 (1945)___......--_-____ 24
United States v. Drum, 368 U.S. 370 (1962) -_ __- 27
United States v. Florida East Coast Railway Co., |

410 US. 224 (1973)__..........._._:__ 30,31, 35
United States v. Midwest Video Corp., 406 U.S.

EERE SOS AE gs MES passim
United States v. Morgan, 313 U.S. 409 (1941) _- 34

United States v. O’ Brien, 391 U.S. 367 (1968)__ 15, 33
United States v. Pierce Auto Lines, 327 U'S.

ESE Se 27
United States v. Southwestern Cable Co., 392
ee ae passim

Van Curler Broadcasting Corp. v. United States,
236 F. 2d 727 (D.C. Cir. 1956), cert. denied,
352 U.S. 925 (1956)_...............-___.- 39, 40
Washington Utilities and Transportation Com-
mission v. Federal Communications Commis-
sion, 513 F. 2d 1142 (9th Cir. 1975), cert.
denied, 423 U.S. 836 (1975)____.__.______- 24

Statutes:

Administrative Procedure Act, 60 Stat. 237,
as amended, 5 U.S.C. 551 et seg.___________ 19
Communications Act of 1934, 48 Stat. 1064,
as amended, 47 U.S.C. 151, et seq.:
ST i ccweace passim
Teen TT Tn ne eucue 3
EE 3
EEE 3
ee 19
ae 3
ae 8
Freedom of Information Act of 1974, 88 Stat.
1561, as amended, 5 U.S.C. 552___________- 43

VI

Commission Orders:

First Report and Order in Docket No. 18397, Page

SO FCC B8 FEE (GTB) on. cece cnn dcscéace 5
First Report and Order in Docket No. 14896,

Fes Ge ik canncdkckddcisadkekitei 20
First Report and Order in Docket Nos. 19554

and 18893, 52 FCC 2d 1 (1974) __-_---.---- pas: im
Fourth Report and Order on Subscription Tele-

vision, 15 FCC 2d 466 (1968)_......---.--- passim

Memorandum Opinion and Order, ‘‘Changes in
the Formats of Broadcast Stations,’ 60

FRA Be Rs 6 obdittedwonndchdsénacie 13
Memorandum Opinion and Order in Docket No.
18397, 23 FCC 2d 825 (1970)_...___.----- passim

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and Memoran-
dum Opinion and Order in Docket No.

19554, 35 FCC 2d 893 (1972).......--.---- 6, 43
Report and Order in Docket No. 18893, 34 FCC

Ts SRR ET Saree oe cr ee 7
Rulemaking Procedures, 30 Fed. Reg. 9277,

5 Rad. Reg. (P&F) 2d 1701 (1965)______--- 42
Rules Governing Ex Parte Communications, 1

FCC 2d 49 (1965). _.......-...--- 38, 40, 42-43
Rules of Practice and Procedure, 24 Fed. Reg.

Ue Re Si Ek and, ecaiidn 42,43
Second Report and Order in Dockets 14895, et

ol., 3 FCC 3d 726 (1606)... ....-....-- ‘.- 12,20

The Public and Broadcasting—A Procedure
Manual, 39 Fed. Reg. 32288 (Rev. ed.

Miscellaneous:
Executive Order 11920, 41 Fed. Reg. 23665 _-
Government in the Sunshine: Hearings on
H.R. 10315 and H.R. 9368 before a Sub-
committee of the House Committee on
Government Operations, 94th Congress, Ist.
REE ah Seni eee gae s R Se
Government in the Sunshine: Hvarings on S.
260 before a Subcommittee of the Senate
Committee on Government Operations,
93rd Congress, Ist Sess. (1974)__________-
House and Senate Committees on Government
Operations, 94th Cong., 2d Sess., Government
in the Sunshine—S. 5 (Public Law 94-409)
Source Book: Legislative History, Texts and
Other Documents (1976) ___......---------
Peck, Regulations and Control of Ex Parte
Communications with Administrative Agen-
cies, 76 Harv. L. Rev. 233 (1962)________-
U.S. Department of Justice, Attorney Gen-
eral’s Manual on the Administrative Procedure
Pl ae ee oS
Verkuil, Judicial Review of Informal Rule-
making, 60 Va. L. Rev. 185 (1974)______-

Page

41

36

36

Gn the Supreme Court of the United States

OctToseR TERM, 1976

No. —

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, PETITIONER
v.

Home Box Orrice, INC., ET AL.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
CIRCUIT

The Federal Communications Commission petitions
for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the District
of Columbia Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. A,* pp.
1-116) and the special concurring opinion of Judge
MacKinnon (App. B, pp. 117-122) have not yet been
reported. The orders of the Federal Communications
Commission (Apps. C—F, pp. 123-242) are reported at
52 FCC 2d 1, 54 FCC 2d 797, 35 Rad. Reg. (P&F)
2d 767, and 51 FCC 2d 317.

‘The appendices to this petition are set forth under separate

cover.

(1)
235-828-772

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on March 25, 1977 (App. G. pp. 243-246). A partial
stay of mandate was granted by the court of appeals
on May 4, 1977 (App. H, pp. 247-250), and this peti-
tion for certiorari is being filed within the time
allowed by the court. This Court’s jurisdiction is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Whether it is within the Commission’s statu-
tory authority and constitutionally permissible under
the First Amendment for the Federal Communica-
tions Commission to adopt rules applying the same
requirements already governing subscription broad-
casting to subseription cablecasting which is volun-
tarily undertaken by cable systems also carrying
broadeast signals.

(2) Whether the requirement of the court of ap-
peals concerning the evidentiary support required for
rules necessarily looking to future events constituted
an improper application of the standard of review for
informal policymaking proceedings in derogation of
the Commission’s broad discretion to plan in advance
of reasonably foreseeable events.

(3) Whether the action of the court of appeals
barring all ex parte communications in informal rule-
making proceedings unjustifiably infringes upon the
distinction between rulemaking and adjudication
which is fundamental to modern administrative law.

3

STATUTES INVOLVED

Sections 1, 2(a), 3(a), 3(b), 307(b) and 326 of the
Communications Act of 1934, 48 Stat. 1064, as
amended, 47 U.S.C. §§ 151, 152(a), 153(b), 307(b),
and 326, are set forth in App. I, pp. 251-252.

STATEMENT

This petition seeks review of an opinion (App. A,
pp. 1-116) and judgment (App. G, pp. 243-246)
setting aside various regulations of the Federal Com-
munications Commission which were designed to pre-
vent the siphoning to pay cable television of certain
sports events heretofore broadcast over conventional
free television and to promote the development of
pay cable as a beneficial supplement to over-the-air
television.’

The Commission has long been concerned that popu-
lar television programs not be lost to the general view-
ing audience as a result of being siphoned away from
free television to pay services available to only a mi-
nority. After a seventeen-year inquiry into subscrip-

* As used herein, pay cable or subscription cablecasting is the
service whereby non-broadcast programming is distributed over
cable television systems whose channels are also used to carry
broadcast programming, and subscribers are charged an addi-
tional program or channel fee beyond the regular monthly fee
for the system’s broadcast signal carriage service. First Repart
and Order in Dockets 19554 and 18893, 52 FCC 2d 1, 2 (1974)
(App. C, p. 124).

4

tion television (STV), in which it became apparent
that sports events and feature films were in greatest
demand among pay subscribers, the Commission, in
December 1968, adopted rules restricting the sports
events and feature films which STV stations could
broadcast in order to prevent siphoning and encourage
the development of a service “with a type of program-
ming generally not found in free television.” Fourth
Report and Order on Subscription Television, 15 FCC
2d 466, 556 (1968).

In addition to regulating when a particular sports
event or feature film could be shown on STV, the
Commission’s rules provided that no series type pro-
gram with interconnected ; lots or substantially the
same east of principal characters could be shown, that
no advertising would be permitted during subscrip-

tion operations (except for announcements to promote
STV programs), and that no more than ninety per-
cent of the total STV broadcasting hours could consist
of sports events and feature films combined. 15 FCC
2d at 556-565, 597-598. The Commission’s power to
authorize STV stations on a permanent basis * and the
restrictions on STV operations were affirmed in Na-
tional Association of Theatre Owners v. FCC, 420
F.2d 194 (D.C. Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 922
(1970) (hereinafter NATO). :

* Subscription television is the service whereby programs are
transmitted in scrambled form and can be received in intel-
ligible form by the use of decoders for which subscribers are
charged a fee (App. C, p. 124).

*A trial STV operation had earlier been affirmed in Con-

necticut Committee Against Pay TV v. FCC, 301 F.2d 835
(D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 371 U.S. 816 (1962).

5

When the Commission first considered whether it
needed to regulate the origination of programming
over cable systems (as contrasted with retransmission
of broadcast signals), it did not focus upon the fact
that such services could be accompanied by per-pro-
gram or per-channel charges. Instead, in adopting a
mandatory program origination rule for rule cable
systems, the Commission considered and rejected the
broader argument that unrestricted program origina-
tion over cable channels threatened to produce a si-
phoning of popular programming away from the
broadcast service. First Report and Order in Docket
18397, 20 FCC 2d 201, 202-205 (1969). Upon recon-
sideration, the Commission did direct its attention to
pay cablecasting, as distinguished from cablecast-
ing unaccompanied by per-program or per-channel
charges, and concluded that pay cablecasting posed the
same threat presented by STV, of siphoning programs
away from free television in favor of a service limited
to those who can pay. In the case of pay cablecasting,
unlike STV, there was the additional fact of cable’s
geographical unavailability in many places, particu-
larly rural areas. Therefore, no distinction between pay
cable and STV for purposes of the Commission’s basie
anti-siphoning policy could be justified, and the anti-
siphoning rules already approved for STV were ex-
tended to pay cable services over systems which also
carried broadcast signals. Memorandum Opinion and
Order in Docket 18397, 23 FCC 2d 825, 828 (1970)
(footnote omitted). This Court upheld the mandatory
origination rules without passing upon the anti-

6

siphoning rules. United States v. Midwest Video
Corp., 406 U.S. 649, 657 and n.14 (1972).

The instant rulemaking proceeding was initiated in
1972 to consider changes in the anti-siphoning rules.

The Commission saw the central issue as “how pay
cablecasting can best be regulated to provide a benc-

ficial supplement to over-the-air broadcasting without
at the same time undermining the continued opera-
tion of that free television service.” Notice of Pro-
posed Rulemaking and Memorandum Opinion and
Order in Docket 19554, 35 FCC 2d 893, 898 (1972).

After nearly three years and the submission of
numerous comments and two rounds of oral argu-
ments, the Commission affirmed the determination
made in 1970 that it could not permit pay cable
to operate unregulated until siphoning began to oc-
cur. Instead it opted for taking “preventative
measures . . . to avert the potential ill effects of
siphoning before they are actually felt,” and “when
[regulatory action] involves no disruption of existing
patterns” (App. C., p. 171). See also 23 FCC 2d at
828. Therefore, it continued the basic regulatory ap-
proach in effect for STV since 1969 and for pay cable
since 1970, whereby the goal was to strike a balance
between the objectives of developing pay cable and
STV to fulfill their promise of greater viewing di-
versity, while at the same time avoiding impairment
to the general public’s interest in continuing to re-
ceive popular programs over free television (App.
C, pp. 166, 191, 192).

7

Operating under these guidelines, the Commission
«termined that some modification of the sports anti-
siphoning rules was consistent with the public inter-
est.’ Previously under the sports rules pay entrepre-
neurs were not permitted to exhibit games of a sport-
ing event where a “substantial number” of games had
been telecast without charge to viewers during speci-
fied time periods.’ 15 FCC 2d at 562, 23 FCC 2d at
828. The Commission revised the rules to limit pay
telecasts of specific sports events (such as the base-
ball World Series or the football Super Bowl) to
those which had not been telecast live over free tele-
vision in the relevant market during any one of the
five preceding seasons.’ With regard to non-specific
sports events (such as regular season baseball or foot-
ball games), the rules were relaxed so as to permit the

*This was also the case with the provisions concerning the
feature films which could be shown over pay cable. Because
the Commission is not arguing before this Court for the re-
tention of the feature film siphoning rules as modified, the
dliscussion above will be confined to the details of the modified
sports rules,

*The formula for ending the uncertainty brought about by
the use of the undefined “substantial number” concept and
determining how many non-specific sports events for a given
sport in a given year may be shown over pay cable and
STV is set forth at App. C, pp. 182, 187, 192, 193-194.

"The original anti-siphoning rule for both STV and pay
cable allowed pay exhibition of sports events which had not
been televised over free television consecutively for the two
immediately prior years. The five year rule adopted for pay
cable in the instant proceeding had already been adopted for
STV in 1972. Report and Order in Docket 18893, 34 FCC 2d
271 (1972).

8

televising of these events during a season on both a
free and a pay basis (App. C, pp. 182-187).

The rules limiting pay operations to no more than
90% of their pay offerings to feature films and sports
and restricting commercial advertising on pay pro-
grams were continued without change. These restric-
tions were an effective means, the Commission be-
lieved, of encouraging pay cable and ST'V to offer di-
verse and innovative programming, different from that
found on the advertiser supported conventional tele-
vision medium * (App. C, p. 188).

Several parties sought appellate review pursuant to
47 U.S.C. § 402(a). The court of appeals upheld the
rules as they apply to subscription television,’ but
set them aside insofar as they govern subscription
cablecasting.”” The court found the pay cable rules to
be unlawful on essentially three grounds: (1) the
Commission exceeded its jurisdiction in promulgating
the pay cable rules because the ends to be achieved
were not “long established” in the field of broadcasting,
and there is insufficient evidence in the record to sup-
port the need for regulation; (2) the rules violate the
First Amendment because they restrict free speech

* The old rules prohibiting pay cable and STV from showing
series-type programming were initially modified and later de-
leted altogether (App. C, pp. 187-188; App. E, pp. 225-227).

* This approval is subject to further review upon completion

of additional hearings ordered by the court regarding e# parte

contacts, discussed further infra.

»° The Commission is herein asking this Court to review all
aspects of the court’s action setting aside the pay cable rules,
except that review is not being sought of the action with re-
spect to subsection (a) of the rules (App. C, pp. 192-193).

unnecessarily since cable is not limited by a scarcity
of spectrum space like broadcasting and, moreover,
the restraints appear greater than necessary to fur-
ther any legitimate government interest; and (3) the
informal rulemaking procedures utilized to adopt the
rules violated fundamental notions of fairness and due
process, and precluded court access to the ‘‘full ad-
ministrative record” necessary for judicial review by
permitting frequent ex parte contacts during the pend-
ency of the rulemaking proceeding.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Communications Act of 1934, as amended,
charges the Commission “to make available so far as
possible, to ail the people of the United States a
rapid, efficient, Nationwide . . . wire and radio com-
munication service.’’ 47 U.S.C. 151. Achievement of
this goal with respect to television communications is
substantially impaired by the court’s holding that the
Commission has no jurisdiction to integrate pay cable
into a total television system by requiring that it re-
strict its service to that which will supplement the
service provided by conventional broadcasting. In view
of cable television’s burgeoning growth and the fact
that much of the country has no alternative to conven-
tional television, this restriction on the Commission’s
authority presents questions of far-reaching legal and
practical importance. Closely related to this question
is the decision by the court below that the pay cable
rules constitute an unlawful restriction on free speech.
This holding has created a conflict among circuits con-

cerning the status of cable television systenis which
235-828—77——3

10

use broadcast signals under the First Amendment.
This Court should resolve this conflict in order to re-
move further uncertainty concerning the Commis-
sion’s constitutional as well as its statutory authority.

The decision of the court also raises important is-
sues as to the proper application of the standard of
review for informal rulemaking proceedings, and the
ability of regulatory agencies to plan in advance of
foreseeable events and to act on the basis of their own
forecasts and expert judgments even where there is no
concrete supporting evidence. In addition, the court’s
ruling prohibiting the Commission from receiving any
ex parte contacts during the pendency of an informal
rulemaking proceeding erroneously strikes down pro-
cedures heretofore considered permissible under the
Administrative Procedure Act. This, together with the
manner in which the court has applied the standard of
review to this rulemaking, severely limits the utility
of informal rulemaking proceedings as a device for
formulating broad policy judgments. Such a conse-
quence should not be permitted to occur without bene-
fit of this Court’s consideration.

I. THE COURT’S HOLDING THAT THE COMMISSION LACKS
AUTHORITY TO REGULATE SUBSCRIPTION CABLECASTERS
IN THE SAME MANNER AS IT REGULATES SUBSCRIPTION
BROADCASTERS IS INCONSISTENT WITH PRIOR SUPREME
COURT DECISIONS

This Court has twice had occasion to .eview © +
scope of the Commission’s authority over cable tele-
vision operations. United States v. Southwestern
Cable Co., 392 U.S. 157 (1968) ; United States v. Mid-

ee eee Se _ ee en ee

11

west Video Corp., supra. As a result it has been estab-
lished that the Commission has authority ‘‘to regulate
CATV with a view not merely to protect but to pro-
mote the objectives for which the Commission had
been assigned jurisdiction over broadcasting.’’™

The court does not dispute the fact that the Com-
mission has authority to regulate cablecasting, but
holds that the Commission lacks jurisdiction to adopt
the subscription cablecasting rules here at issue be-
cause they do not appear designed to ‘‘further the
achievement of long-established regulatory goals in the
field of television broadcasting.” (App. A, p. 40,
quoting Midwest Video, 406 U.S. at 667-668). The
Commission stated its purpose to be ‘‘to insure that
programs now provided over conventional television
are not siphoned away to subscription television,”

™ Midwest Video, supra, 406 U.S. at 667. That the Commission
has authority over such cablecasting cannot be questioned. The
Midwest plurality held specifically that “[t]he devotion of CATV
systems to broadcast transmission—together with the interdepend-
encies between that service and cablecasts, and the necessity for
unified regulation—plainly suffices to bring cablecasts within the
Commission’s § 2(a) jurisdiction.” Jd. at 662-63 and n. 21. Even
tho dissenting justices did not dispute the Commission’s authority
to “regulate origination of programs;” their disagreement con-
cerned whether this authority included the power “to compel
cable systems to originate programs.” /d. at 680 (dissenting
opinion).

* It would appear that the “long established goal” test is an
unduly restrictive statement of those permissivle purposes which
can satisfy the “reasonable ancillary” standard. Southwestern
Cable, 392 U.S. at 178; Midwest Video, 406 U.S. at 664. How-
ever, it makes little difference at this juncture since the goals of
the subscription cablecasting rules satisfy both tests.

12

(App. C, p. 163), in the belief ‘‘that the existing
conventional television structure performs a valuable
service to the public and that our statutory mandate
to act in the public interest requires that we strive to
maintain the public’s ability to receive the informa-
tional and entertainment programming now provided
by conventional television at no direct cost.’’ (App.
C, p. 165). The court’s conclusion that this is not a
legitimate goal under the Communications Act is
erroneous and inconsistent with the holdings in South-
western Cable and Midwest Video.

The Commission’s responsibilities include the regu-
lation of cable as necessary to the effective perform-
ance of its primary responsibility for maintaining a
nationwide system of television broadcasting.” The
Supreme Court’s definition of that responsibility has
been stated in comprehensive terms:

The Commission has been charged with broad
responsibilities for the orderly development of
an appropriate system of local television broad-
casting. The significance of its efforts can
scarcely be exaggerated, for broadcasting is
demonstrably a principal source of information
and entertainment for a great part of the
Nation’s population.”

3In Midwest Video, it was noted that the Commission’s
“express purpose” in regulating cable television was “to inte-
grate the CATV service into the national television structure in
such a way as to promote maximum television service to all
people of the United States (secs. 1 and 303(g) of the Act).”
406 U.S. at 665-666, quoting Second Report and Order, 2 FCC
2d 725, 745-746 (1966).

4 Southwestern Cable, 392 U.S. at 165.

—~- ——--o—

ee

13

The Commission’s “various responsibilities for the
regulation of television broadcasting ... are con-
siderably more numerous than simply assuring that
broadcasting stations operating in the public interest
do not go out of business.’ 406 U.S. at 664. Most
pertinent, here, they include the obligation to assure
that viewers are provided suitably diversified pro-
gramming. National Broadcasting Co. v. United
States, 3190. S. 190 (1943); Midwest Video, supra,
406 U.S. at 669. Thus, the Commission may concern
itself about the “content of the programming offered’’
over cable, and if it is not satisfied that cable opera-
tions continued to broadcast retransmission will pro-
vide sufficient diversity it may require cable operators
to originate programming. Midwest Video, supra.

Another long established goal has been ‘‘the pres-
ervation of conventional television service and the con-
tinued availability of good program material to the
free service,” * primarily because the conventional serv-
ice is relied upon by so many people for information
and entertainment. This goal received recognition and
approval in NATO, supra, 420 F.2d at 197, where the

** Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and Notice of In-
quiry in Docket 11279, 31 F.R. 5 36,7 RAD. Reg. (P & F) 2d
1501, para. 16 (1966). The Commission’s recent Memorandum
Opinion and Order, 60 FCC 2d 858 (1967), “Changes in the Enter-
tainment Formats of Broadcast Stations,” is not relevant here. As
the Court recognized (App. A, p. 48), there the Commission stated
that it has no authority to dictate entertainment formats. This
is quite different from the situation here which, instead of dic-
tating a total format to be broadcast, involves regulations to fa-

cilitate the abiilty of the free broadcasting service to continue
offering, if it so chooses, popular entertainment programming.

14

court approved subscription television rules designed
to avoid the “possibility that programs, audiences, and
talent would be diverted (‘siphoned’) from free tele-
vision to STV,” because the Commission felt that the
publie’s “tremendous investment . . . in television
receivers based on the expectation of free service
ought to be protected and the millions of viewers who
rely on that free service for free entertainment should
be permitted to do so.” Clearly, regulations adopted to
achieve this objective “preserv[e] and enhanc[e] the
integrity of broadcast signals and therefore [are] rea-
sonably ancillary to the effective performance of the
Commission’s various responsibilities for the regula-
tion of television broadcasting.” Midwest Video, 406
U.S. at 470. The rules here at issue for pay cable,
which parallel the pay broadcasting rules initially up-
held in NATO, clearly fall within this category, and
therefore do not exceed the Commission’s authority.”

' % The court vacated the Commission’s ninety percent and ad-
vertising rules, distinguishing its affirmance of the identical
rules in VATO on the fact that the latter decision was in the
“context of a need to allocate scarce spectrum resources.” (App.
A, p. 55.) We submit that the Commission’s authority to regulate
competing video services, with the goal of achieving an inte-
grated nationwide network, provides the necessary jurisdiction
for the Commission to require that such specialized services
provide a beneficial supplement to what is already available.
This being the case, the rules should be upheld since they bene-
ficially increase the diversity available to the public by assur-
ing that “subscription operations provid[e] a different and di-
verse type of programming from that found on advertiser sup-
ported television.” (App. C, p. 188).

15

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG CIR-
CUITS CREATED BY THE DECISION BELOW CONCERNING
THE STATUS UNDER THE FIRST AMENDMENT OF CABLE
TELEVISION SYSTEMS WHICH USE BROADCAST SIGNALS

The court below held that the Commission has
broader authority under the First Amendment over
broadcast television than it does over cable television
systems which use broadcast signals.’ This conclusion
is based upon the absence, in the case of cable televi-
sion, of the broadcast factors of spectrum scarcity and
physical interference.

The court’s holding conflicts with decisions in var-
ious circuits. In those cases the courts have upheld
against a First Amendment challenge, limitations im-
posed by the Commission on the right of cable tele-
vision systems to cary such programming as they may
choose and in so doing have rejected the argument
that a different result is required because “CATV sys-
tems do not themselves use the airwaves in their dis-
tribution systems.” Black Hills Video Corporation v.
FCC, 399 F.2d 65, 69 (8th Cir. 1968). Instead, when
cable systems “use radio signals and... have a
unique impact upon, and relationship with, the tele-

7 After appearing to equate television systems with news-
papers for purposes of government intrusion into their First
Amendment rights (App. A, p. 80), the court then immediately
indicates that regulation of cable television can be valid if this
Court’s test in United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367, 377
(1968), is satisfied. Although the court refers to other cases
where O’Brien has been applied (App. A, p. 85 and n.92), none
involve newspapers.

16

vision broadcast service,” they have ‘‘the same consti-
tutional status [as broadcast stations] under the First
Amendment.” Id.

Under this test, the pay cable rules invalidated
below should have been upheld under the First
Amendment. Regulation of broadcasting for the pur-
poses of preserving popular entertainment program-
ming for free television and encouraging the
development of the pay medium as a supplemental
service has been upheld. NATO, supra; see also
App. A, pp. 108-112. Moreover, although the opinion
below does not make this clear,” the cable systems
to whom the pay cable rules apply are only those
which use broadcast signals. Finally, the opera-
tion here being regulated, namely the video cable-
casting of programs ‘‘indistinguishable from network
programs when they arrive on the television receiving
set in the home’’” by cable systems whose channels
are also being used to carry regular television pro-
grams is one which clearly has a “unique impact
upon, and relationship with, the television broadcast

*® Contrary to the Court’s suggestion that the Commission
has previously applied its rules “to cable systems that did not
use broadcast signals,” App. A, p. 78 and n. 80, the Commis-
sion’s regulations have only been applied to systems using broad-
cast signals, even though the subject matter of particular
regulations has not always been confined to broadcast signals.
See, e.g., Midwest Video, supra, 406 U.S. at 667-68 and 673
(program origination requirement); ACLU v. FCC, 523 F.2d
1344 (9th Cir. 1975) (access requirements).

*® National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners
v. FCC, 533 F.2d 601, 616 (D.C. Cir. 1976).

17

service.’ Black Hills Video Corporation, supra, 399
F.2d at 69.”

Other courts of appeals have either expressly
adopted the holding in Black Hills concerning the
First Amendment or reached a similar conclusion
upholding retraints on programming which can be
carried over cable systems.” In addition to a conflict
with these cases, the opinion below also places in
doubt the Commission’s right to pursue policies pre-
viously upheld, but in cases where a First Amendment
challenge was either not reached or not raised. See,
e.g.. Midwest Video, supra (program origination) ;
ACLU v. FCC, supra, (access requirements).

The court below, referring paticularly to the Black
Hills case and an earlier case in its own circuit,
Buckeye Cablevision, Inc. v. FCC, 387 F.2d 220
(1967), acknowledged the possibility of a conflict be-

*° The court below was skeptical at best about a relationship
between cablecasting and signal retransmission. App. A., pp. 78-
79 and n.80. However, a majority on this Court has recog-
nized the “interdependencies between [broadcast transmission]
and cablecasts.” Midwest Video, Supra, 406 U.S. at 662-63 and
n.21 (plurality opinion) ; and at 675 (concurring opinion of Chief
Justice Burger in which he pointed out that “CATV is dependent
totally on broadcast signals.”) See also a letter to the editor of the
Washington Star, Jan. 22, 1976 at p. 14, from the President of
the National Cable Television Association, in which he said that
“[pjay cable TV, for which cable TV subscribers pay an extra
monthly fee is only one service offered as a part of the total CATV
package.”

*1 See, e.g., Conley Electronics Corp. v. FCC, 394 F.2d 620,
624 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 383 U.S. 858 (1968); 7Z'itusville
Cable TV, Inc. v. United States, 404 F.2d 1187, 1190 (3rd
Cir. 1968), Great Falls Community TV Cable Co. v. FCC,
416 F.2d 238, 240-42 (9th Cir. 1969).

18

tween its resolution of the First Amendment issue and
that reached in these earlier cases. It indicated that
those opinions had perhaps failed to consider the sig-
nificance of distinguishing for constitutional purposes
between regulation where microwave broadcast facili-
ties were involved and the direct regulation of cable
television systems which did not use microwave broad-
east facilities (App. A, pp. 78-79 and n. 80).

However, the court in Conley Electronics Corpora-
tion, supra, was specifically asked to distinguish that
case from earlier cases where First Amendment
challenges had been unsuccessful, on the ground
that they were concerned with licensing microwave
carriers and not with direct regulation of cable sys-
tems. The Court held that “the cases are indistin-
guishable. In both situations what is involved is
reasonable regulation in the public interest.’’ 394 F.
2d at 624 (citation omitted).

Apart from other court cases, the opinion below
casts a constitutional doubt on at least two different
statutes in which Congress has evidenced an intent
not to distinguish between broadcast stations and cable
television systems subject to Commission jurisdiction.

#2 A distinction based upon whether microwave facilities are
being used has also not been of decisional significance in other
contexts. Southwestern Cable Co., Supra (Commission jurisdic-
tion over non-microwave CATV systeins upheld); CBS, Jne. v.
Teleprompter Corp., 476 F. 2d 338, 348-49 (2d Cir. 1973) (copy-
right liability for carriage of local signals does not turn upon

whether microwave links are used in the carriage), affirmed in
part and reversed in part on other grounds, 415 U.S. 394 (1974).

19

In both instanees the particular legislation has clear
First Amendment overtones. Thus, cable television
systems, like broadcasters, are subject to the equal
time requirement in the Communications Act. 47
U.S.C. § 315(¢). Similarly, the statute which prohibits
cigarette advertising is applicable not only to broad-
casters, who unsuccessfully challenged its constitution-
ality before this Court,” but to ‘‘any medium of elec-
tronic communication subject to the jurisdiction of
the Federal Communications Commission.” 15 U.S.C.
§ 1335.

Ill, THE COURT HAS APPLIED THE STANDARD OF REVIEW
OF AGENCY ACTION IN INFORMAL RULEMAKING IN A
MANNER THAT CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS OF THIS
COURT AND VARIOUS COURTS OF APPEALS AND SEVERELY
LIMITS THE ABILITY OF THE COMMISSION TO MEET
FUTURE PROBLEMS BEFORE THEY OCCUR

While giving lip service to the proper standard of
review of agency action in informal rulemaking, the
couct has applied the arbitrary and capricious stand-
ard contained in 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(A) in a manner
which conflicts with decisions of this Court and vari-
ous courts of appeals, including the court below. These
decisions, unlike the opinion below, have manifested
a willingness to permit regulatory agencies to “plan

** Qapital Broadcasting Co. v. Mitchell, 333 F. Supp. 582
(D.D.C. 1971), judgment affirmed, 405 U.S. 1000 (1972).

20

in advance of forseeable events” ** and to act on the
basis of their own forecasts and expert judgments
even when the record does not contain concrete sup-
porting evidence of the benefits to be advanced or the
harm to be avoided. This latitude for agencies at-
tempting to regulate for the future has been specifi-
cally approved in cases involving this Commission, as
well as other agencies.

With respect to the Commission, its responsibility |

is “to make available, so far as possible, to all the
people of the United States a rapid, efficient, Nation-
wide, and world-wide wire and radio communication
service.” 47 U.S.C. § 151. This Court has recognized
that this obligation requires the Commission to do
more than simply monitor communications activities
with a view toward taking affirmative action only
when actual injury to the public interest is observed,
or when it can prove with certainty the consequences
of inaction. Thus, when the Commission came before
this Court, in Southwestern Cable, supra, in defense
of its authority to regulate cable television ‘‘as a sup-
plement rather than a substitute for off-the-air tele-
vision service,” “ it acknowledged that ‘it could not

** Southwestern Cable, supra, 392 U.S. at 177. See also Verkuil,
Judical Review of Informal Rulemaking, 60 Va. L. Rev. 185
(1974), for an analysis of “the District of Columbia Circuit
Court’s attempt to develop new standards of review for informal
rulemaking.” /d. at 208.

* First Report and Order in Docket 14895, 38 FCC 683, 701
(1965) (emphasis supplied). See also 38 FCC at 699 and the
Second Report and Order in Docket 14895, supra, 2 FCC 2d

at 735. The court below, in faulting the Commission for not
justifying the position that cable television should be a supple-

21

predict with certainty the consequences of unregu-
lated CATV.” 392 U.S. at 176-177. Nevertheless, this
Court concluded that the imprtance of the Commis-
sion’s efforts to regulate cable for the purpose of de-
veloping and maintaining an effective off-the-air sys-
tem “can scarcely be exaggerated, for broadcasting is
demonstrably a principal source of information and
entertainment for a great part of the Nation’s popula-
tion,” and it affirmed the Commission’s judgment that,
notwithstanding the uncertainties, ‘‘its statutory re-
sponsibilities demand that it ‘plan in advance of fore-
seeable events, instead of waiting to react to them.’ ”
Id. at 177 (citation omitted.) ”

Shortly after Southwestern, the Commission again
found it appropriate to act to preserve the general
publie’s right to continue to receive informational and
popular entertainment programming via the conven-
tional advertiser-supported off-the-air television serv-
ice. This time, the subject of the regulations was the
pay broadcasting service. Again the Commission re-
ceived judicial approval of its efforts to regulate for
the future. NATO, supra, 420 F. 2d at 206-208.

mental service, (App. A. p. 60), disregards the long history of
the Commission’s policy on this matter and instead erroneously
embarks on its own inquiry “into the wisdom of the regulations
that the Commission promulgates.” United States v. Allegheny-
Ludlum Steel Corp., 406 U.S. 742, 749 (1972).

* Although this Court in Southwestern did not specifically
pass upon the validity of the Commission’s regulations, /¢.
at 167, their validity was “subsequently and correctly upheld
by courts of appeals.” Midwest Video, supra, 406 U.S. at 659 and
n. 17 (citation omitted).

22

The court in NATO found the regulations ‘‘to protect
free television” and “to prevent the more popular
kinds of free programs from migrating to subscrip-
tion television” were ‘‘reasonable and amply supported
by the record.” 420 F.2d at 206.

A similar “rational connection between the facts
found and the choice made,’’ Burlington Truck Lines,
Inc. v. United States, 371 U.S. 156, 168 (1962), should
have been made in the present case under a proper
application of the standard of review. The court
sought to distinguish the case below from NATO on
the ground that the subscription television rules up-
held in NATO were ‘‘based on eiaborate data gen-
erated in a two-year trial of subscription broadcast
television in Hartford, Connecticut.” (App. A. p. 101).
However, to the extent that the data and conclusions
developed in the Hartford experiment (for example,
data concerning the viewing preferences of subscrip-
tion patrons) established the foundation for rules to
protect the free television service against incursion by
a pay service, the support provided is just as appli-
cable to pay cablecasting as it was to pay broadcast-

*? See 23 FCC 2d at 828, where the Commission said, “where
cablecasting is accompanied by a per-program or per-channel
fee, it is akin to subscription television and presents the same
threat of siphoning”; (App. C, p. 168-69), “the rationale be-
hind the anti-siphoning rules applies equally to both forms of
subscription service,” and “we see no justifiable distinction be-
tween over-the-air and cable operations which would warrant

unequal treatment under our rules”; and (App. C, p. 170),
“both pay cable and STV present siphoning potential.”

ee ee eee

el al A i

ne OD ee ge ee

23

ing.” Moreover, it is clear from the Commission’s
Fourth Report and Order on Subscription Television,
supra, which was before the Court in NATO, that the
Commission, notwithstanding some data from the
Hartford experiment, was still forced to base its regu-
lations there on its best judgment as to future events,
even though it recognized it was dealing with “im-
ponderables.” Jd. at 507-08."

Here, even though the Commission again was con-
fronted with a situation where relevant factors did
not lend themselves to precise forecasts,” it neverthe-
less had more evidence available to it than it had when
it adopted the first subscription rules before NATO.
Its experience since 1968 substantiated “the basic
conclusion upon which the program restrictions were
premised—that subscription programming will con-
sist largely of feature films, series and sports events,
all of which are mainstays of conventional television
programming” (App. C, p. 171). Moreover, this time
instead of dealing with an unborn industry as in
NATO, the Commission was dealing with an industry
which was growing by leaps and bounds. From 16,000
subseribers in March 1973, the pay cable industry had

**The NATO court suffered from no illusions concerning the
nature of the record in that case, since it noted that the Com-
mission’s concern was with the “possibility” of siphoning and
the “potential impact of [subscription television] on poor people
and free television.” 420 F.2d at 197, 207.

* See e.g., CBS Television Network Affiliates Association v.
FCC, -.. F.2d ... (D.C. Cir. 1977) where the court said, in
another cable context that “predicting the rate of future cable

growth would be exceptionally difficult.” Slip op. No. 75-1491
of March 31, 1977 at p. 13 and n, 15 (citation omitted).

24

increased its audience to over 100,000 by September
1974, (App. C, p. 133), and by the time this case was
argued in court in April 1976 the number had jumped
to 400,000. The use of satellite facilities held the
promise of increasing even that growth rate.”

Cases in contexts other than the Commission’s
regulation of cable television and pay broadcasting
have also upheld Commission actions in advance of
foreseeable events even where the consequences of
both action and inaction are admittedly uncertain.
In short, these cases establish that the Commission
in its policy-making role “does not have to wait for
evidence that can only be supplied by the future.”
National Association of Independent Television Pro-
ducers and Distributors v. FCC, 516 F. 2d 526, 541
(2d Cir. 1975).”

*” See Teleprompter Corp. v. CBS, 415 U.S. 394, 405 (1974)
where this Court referred to the likelihood that an intercon-
nection arrangement among cable systems could allow cable

systems “to compete more effectively with the broadcasters for
the television market.”

* See, e.g., FOC v. RCA Communications, Inc., 346 U.S. 86,
96-97 (1953) ; Mt. Mansfield Television, Inc. v. FCC, 442 F.2d 470,

483-84 (2d Cir. 1971); Washington Utilities and Transporta-—

tion Commission vy. FCC, 513 F. 2d 1142, 1160 (9th Cir.), cert.
denied, 423 U.S. 836 (1975). Nor is this a principle peculiar to
just this Commission. See, e.g., United States v. Detroit and Cleve-
land Navigation Co., 326 U.S, 236, 241 (1945), holding that “un-
certainties as to the future” need not “paralyze the [Interstate
Coramerce Commission] into inaction”; Federal Power Commis-
sion Vv. Transcontinental Gas Corp., 365 U.S. 1, 29 (1961), where
this court rejected arguments that the FPC should have adduced
testimonial and documentary evidence to the effect that its
forecast would come true stating, “we think that a forecast of
the direction in which future public interest lies necessarily in-
volves deductions based on the expert knowledge of the

Swe

25

However, the court below followed a different
course. It appears to demand that the proponents of
the regulations “prov[e] their case” (App. A. p. 64)
before the Commission can act.” The imposition of
such a prerequsite would paralyze federal agencies.
The question before the court is not whether propo-
nents before the agency have “proved’’ the need for
regulations, but whether the ‘‘challenger of agency
regulations [has] demonstrate[d] that they are arbi-
trary and capricious.” American Nursing Home Asso-
ciation v. Cost of Living Council, 497 F.2d 909, 914
(TECA 1974). See also Angel v. Butz, 487 F.2d 260,
263 (10th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 967 (1974).

agency”; American Airlines vy. Civil Aeronautics Board, 192 F.
2d 417, 421 (D.C. Cir. 1951) (quoting from CAB’s opinion),
where the court approved a Civil Aeronautics Board decision
to “take into account and give appropriate weight to broad
considerations of future welfare,” and to follow an approach
“necessarily predicated upon future estimates as well as present
facts for it is keyed to future goals and an effort to envisage the
shape of things to come”; and Amoco Oil Co. v. EPA, 501 F. 2d
722, 741 (D.C. Cir. 1974), where the court stated that, “[w]here. . .
the regulations turn on choices of policy, on an assessment of
risks, or on predictions dealing with matters on the frontiers
of scientific knowledge, we will demand adequate reasons and
explanations but not findings of the sort familiar from the
world of adjudication.”

8? Several parties had »bmitted mathematical demonstrations
attempting to show the point at which pay cable could outbid
the networks for specific programs. The court dismisses the rel-
evancy of those showings, stating that they were invalid since
they attempted to compare the present-day programming “ex-
penditures” of the networks with the forecast per-program “in-
come” of the pay cable industry in 1980. (App. A, p. 63-65). Such
comparisons might not be the best evidence to aid an agency

26

The effect of the application of the standard of re-
view below, if left unchecked by this Court, will be
to permit a court, in the guise of following the arbi-
trary and capricious standard of review, to “substitute
its judgment for that of the agency,” contrary to the
teaching of this Court.” Citizens to Preserve Overton

to make determinations in concrete situations where exact com-
parable figures are available, but in situations where the agency
is trying to gauge “potential” impact they cannot be said to be
irrelevant. Moreover, the court’s suggestion that the Commission
should have analyzed whether conventional television could dig
deeper into its pockets to outbid the cablecasters does not rebut
the probability of impact, and would only thrust the Commis-
sion in a never ending circle of speculation trying to determine
at what point the impact would become unmanageable.

**The court has misread the Commission’s order when it
describes that order as having found that “anticompetitive
effects could be tolerated because cable use of broadcast signals
constituted ‘unfair competition’ and consequently regulation
was needed ‘to ameliorate the risk that the burgeoning CATV
industry would have a future adverse impact on television
broadcast service, both existing and potential.” (App. A, p. 71,
emphasis added.) The Commission unmistakably listed two
reasons and separated them by numbering them (1) and (2).
The unfair competition rationale, rejected by the court, was
number (1)—there was no “consequently” in the Commission
order—and number (2) was “to ameliorate the risk... [of] a
future adverse impact on television broadcast service.” See 2
FCC 2d at 736 (App. C, p. 167). This second rationale, not
considered by the court, was the rationale most directly applicable
to subscription cablecasting. To ignore it is to ignore the whole
purpose of the antisiphoning rules, which is to insure that the
public’s necessary reliance on conventional television shall not be
impaired by siphoning of programming to subscription services
which cannot be made available to all of the people. (App. C, p.
167). The Commission’s determination that the “public interest
in maintaining the conventional television structure has out-
weighed the interest in unregulated competition,” /bid., “re-

27

Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 416 (1971). The pitfalls
associated with this judicial substitution of judgment
are amply illustrated by this case. Thus, for example,
in expressing its disagreement with the Commission’s
judgment that siphoning would lead to a loss of popu-
lar programs for audiences not served by cable sys-
tems, the court expressed its belief that it would be
to the “economic advantage of cable operators to sell
broadeast rights to conventional television stations in
regions of the country where no cable service existed.”
(App. A, p. 66, and 54). What the court failed to
consider was that conventional television stations
which serve non-cable regions do not serve only
these regions. When any part, however small, of the
audience within the reach of a broadcast station’s
signal has access to cable service, then the court’s as-
sumption about cable operators’ willingness to share
broadeast rights fails. The fact is that the great ma-
jority of people who live in non-cable areas receive
their television service from broadcasters whose tele-
vision markets encompass some cable. As petitioners
below have conceded, “it is doubtful” that even a ma-
jority of pay cable subscribers would pay to watch a
program on cable if the same program was simulta-
neously available on a broadcast station “without the
flects the kind of judgment that is entrusted to it, a power to
weight the competing interests and arrive at a balance that is
deemed ‘the public convenience and necessity.’ Bowman Trans-
portation, Inc. v. Arkansas-Best I reight System, Inc., 419 U.S.
281, 293 (1974) (citing United States v. Pierce Auto Lines, 327

U.S. 515, 535-536 (1946)). See also United States v. Drum,
368 U.S. 370, 374-375 (1962).

28

necessity of making a direct payment.’’ Initial Com-
ments of Time Incorporated, Home Box Office, Inc.
and Manhattan Cable Television, Inc. in Docket No.
19554, at 65 (filed Sept. 20, 1974).*

1V. THE COURT'S BLANKET PROHIBITION OF EX PARTE CON-
TACTS IN INFORMAL RULEMAKING IS CONTRARY TO LAW

The Commission’s action was also challenged below
by an amicus, Mr. Henry Geller, on the ground that
the agency had received ex parte communications dur-
ing the course of the pay cable proceeding which had
affected the final form of the adopted rules. Mr. Gel-
ler contended that such communications were imper-
missible under the doctrine of Sangamon Valley
Television Corp. v. United States, 269 F.2d 221 (1959)
because in his view the instant case, hike Sangamon
involved ‘‘conflicting private claims te a valuable
privilege.”

The court below agreed with Mr, Geller that Sanga-
mon was applicable to this case and that the Com-

** Similarly, the court below erred when it expressed its
belief that the restrictions against advertising during pay pro-
grams, far from serving, as the Commission believed, as a
means of encouraging the pay medium to offer innovative pro-
gramming, actually kept pay cable from being available to
poor people. If there were advertising, the court believed that
rates could come down and the poor might then be able to
subscribe. (App. A, p. 67). What the court overlooked was that
people do not obtain pay service for an additional charge un-
less they subscribe to the regular cable service whereby there is
first a payment to get hooked up, followed by a monthly fee
of $4 to $6 before the possibility of an additional fee for pay
cable even comes up. It was not unreasonable for the Commis-
sion to act on the assumption that this kind of arrangement is
likely to be financially unattractive, generally speaking, to poor
people.

eR ne re Cle ke een ee a a

29

mission’s ex parte contacts were therefore improper
(App. A, p. 93). The court also asserted, however, that
pursuant to the “mandate” of Citizens to Preserve
Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402 (1971), the
“public record” must reflect all relevant information
presented to an agency during the course of its pro-
ceedings (App. A, 98-99). It therefore did not limit
its ultimate holding to cases involving ‘‘conflicting
private claims to a valuable privilege.” Instead, it
barred ex parte contacts in all informal rulemakings,
stating (at id., pp. 105-106) that:

Once a notice of proposed rulemaking has been
issued ... any agency official or employee who
is or may reasonably be expected to be involved
in the decisional process of the rulemaking
proceeding, should ‘‘refus[e] to discuss matters
relating to the disposition of a [rulemaking pro-
ceeding] with any interested private party, or
an attorney or agent for any such party, prior
to the [agency’s] decision . . .” [citation omit-
ted]. If ex parte contacts nonetheless occur, we
think that any written document or a summary
of any oral communication must be placed in
the public file established for each rulemaking
docket immediately after the communication is
received so that interested parties may com-
ment thereon [citation omitted ].

In a special concurring opinion, Circuit Judge Mac-
Kinnon averred that, while the court’s treatment of
the ex parte matter was appropriate to this case, its
holding was ‘“‘overly broad” (App. B, p. 119). In
Judge MacKinnon’s view, ex parte contacts should be
restricted in informal rulemaking only where such

30

proceedings involved either “competing private claims
to a valuable privilege,” as in Sangamon, or “selective
treatment of competing business interests of great
monetary value,” as in the instant case (/d., p. 122).
Judge MacKinnon also questioned the court’s reli-
ance on Overton Park, supra, noting that in the in-
stant case, “there is no statutory requirement for spe-
cific findings nor are the regulations limited to the
full administrative record” (Id., p. 119).

Thus, the opinion of the court below, in striking
down the procedures followed in this informal rule-
making proceeding with respect to ex parte com-
munications, promulgates entirely different ground
rules from those which have been consistently fol-
lowed by the Federal Communications Commission
and other agencies in attempting to discharge their
quasi-legislative functions. Indeed, the opinion in this
case, if left to stand, would all but eliminate the
“‘dichotomy”’*” between informal rulemaking, on the
one hand, and adjudication and formal rulemaking,
on the other, which, as this court has recognized in
American Trucking Associations v. United States,
344 U.S. 298 (1953); United States vy. Allegheny-
Ludlum Steel Corp., 406 U.S. 742 (1972); and
United States v. Florida East Coast Railway Co.,
410 U.S. 224 (1973), is the touchstone of modern
administrative law. Accordingly, certiorari should be
granted.

*° American Airlines, Inc. v. CAB, 359 F. 2d 624 (D.C. Cir.
1966), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 343 (1966).

ee

31

A. OVERTON PARK AND TIIE SUNSHINE ACT ARE INAPPLICABLE TO
THE INSTANT PROCEEDING

In reaching its conclusion that there should be a
total ban on ex parte contacts in rulemaking, the
court below ignores a long line of cases which hold
that, when an agency is engaged in rulemaking, it is
not bound by the materials formally submitted to it,
but may look beyond them in order to draw upon its
expertise. Pacific Coast European Conference v.
United States, 350 F.2d 197, 205 (Sth Cir. 1965)
cert. denied, 382 U.S. 958 (1965) ; California Citizens
Band Association v. United States, 375 F.2d 48, 54
(9th Cir. 1967) ; General Telephone Co. of the South-
west v. FCC, 449 F.2d 846, 862 (5th Cir. 1971);
Angel v. Butz, 487 F.2d 260, 262-263 (10th Cir.
1973), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 967 (1974) ; Flying Tiger
Line, Inc. v. Boyd, 244 F. Supp. 889, 892 (D.D.C.
1965) ; cf. SEC. v. Chenery Corp., 332 U.S. 194, 208
(1947); NZERB v. Seven-Up Bottling Co., 344 US.
344, 348-49 (1953); United States v. Florida East
Coast Railway Co., supra, 410 U.S. at 235; City of
Chicago v. FPC, 458 F.2d 731, 746 (D.C. Cir. 1971),
cert. denied, 405 U.S. 1074 (1972) ; Chrysler Corp. v.
Department of Transportation, 472 F.2d 659, 668-669
(6th Cir. 1972); Moss v. FPC, 502 F.2d 461, 465
(D.C. Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 422 U.S. 1020 (1975).
Moreover, the court all but concedes that there is no
basis for its holding in the Administrative Procedure

32

Act, which, as the Attorney General stated in 1947,
“clear[ly] does not require the formulation of rules
upon the exclusive basis of any ‘record’ made in
informal rule making proceedings.”’ U.S. Depart-
ment of Justice, Attorney General’s Manual on the
Administrative Procedure Act 31. Accordingly, the
court relies almost exclusively on Overton Park,
supra, asserting that “whatever the law may have
been in the past [footnote omitted], there can now
be no doubt” that it is obligated to test rules promul-
gated by the Commission against the “full adminis-
trative record” that was before the agency at the time
it made its decision (App. A, pp. 97-98).

However, this Court specifically noted in Overton
Park that it was not dealing there with rulemaking,
401 U.S. at 414, but with informal action pursuant to
a specific statutory mandate. Jd. at 405. Accordingly,
since rulemaking is involved here, and there is no
specific statutory mandate, Overton Park “has no ap-
plication.” Angel v. Butz, supra, 487 F.2d at 263.
Therefore, the Commission ‘‘need not .. . compile a
record of the material upon which its rule is based”
and ‘‘may act on the basis of data contained in its own
files or on its own views or opinions.” Chrysler, supra,
472 F.2d at 669. See also American Trucking Associa-
tions, Inc., supra. Moreover, ‘‘a reviewing court can-
not test the rule as promulgated against the evidence
in the agency’s record.” Chrysler, supra; Flying Tiger
Tine, supra.

ee tere

33

The court’s reliance on Overton Park in connection
with ex parte matters is also inconsistent with one of
its own precedents. In D.C. Federation of Civic Asso-
ciations v. Volpe, 459 F.2d 1231, 1247 (1972), cert. de-
nied, 405 U.S. 1030 (1972), the court stated that if the
administrative action there had been ‘‘purely legisla-
tive,’ it “might have agreed’’ that the decision could
stand in spite of “extraneous pressures.” In the in-
stant case there is no doubt whatever that the Com-
mission’s action was “purely legislative.’’ Therefore,
according to the court’s own reasoning in D.C. Fed-
eration, that action should be upheld. See also Angel v.
Butz, supra; cf. Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch)
87 (1810); United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367
(1968).

The opinion below also cites Overton Park, supra,
for the proposition that where an agency “justifies
its actions by reference only to information in the
public file while failing to disclose the substance of
other relevant information that has been presented
to it, a reviewing court cannot presume that the
agency has acted properly” (App. A, p. 99). But
Overton Park explicitly reaffirmed the long held
principle that an agency’s action ‘‘is entitled to a pre-
sumption of regularity.”” 401 U.S. at 415, citing
Pacific States Box and Basket Co. v. White, 296 U.S.
176, 185 (1935); United States v. Chemical Founda-
tion, 272 U.S. 1, 14-15 (1926). Moreover, the problem
in Overton Park was that the administrator had failed
to justify his action at all. 401 U.S. at 407-08, 420;

34

compare United States v. Morgan, 313 U.S. 409, 414
(1941). This was made clear in Camp vy. Pitts, 411
U.S. 138, 143 (1973), where this Court stated that
“Tujnlike Overton Park ... there was contempo-
raneous explanation of the agency decision. The ex-
planation may have been curt, but it surely indicated
the determinative reason for the final action taken[.]”
In the instant case, there was also a contemporaneous
explanation of the agency decision, and it was not
curt, but exhaustive. Accordingly, the Commission’s
action must stand or fall on that explanation; the
court has no right to go behind it absent a strong
showing of ‘‘bad faith or improper behavior,” neither
of which is evident here. Overton Park, supra, 401
U.S. at 420.

In any event, Overton Park addresses only the
question of what must be available to the courts on
review; it says nothing about making data available
to the parties for comment during the course of a
proceeding.” According to the court below, however,
such disclosure is essential because of the importance
of ‘‘adversarial discussion’’ to agency decisionmaking
and judicial review. But to require that there be

** It is also significant that although the Court in Camp rec-
ognized that bank charter proceedings are largely conducted
ex parte, it did not hold that this caused any procedural in-
firmity. 411 U.S. at 141; see also Bank of Commerce of Laredo
v. City National Bank of Laredo, 484 F.2d 284, 287, (Sth Cir.
1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 905 (1974), and cases cited therein.

**In this connection, it is significant that no party to this
proceeding has accused the Commission of attempting to base

its pay cable rules on anything as to which there was not a fair
opportunity for comment.

35

complete disclosu:e and ‘‘adversarial discussion”’’ of
everything said and done in rulemaking proceedings
is to forget that:
[R]ule making is a vital part of the adminis-
trative process, particularly adapted to and
needful for sound evolution of policy in guid-
ing the future development of industries sub-
ject to intensive administrative regulation in
the public interest,
and that:
[SJuch rule making is not to be shackled in the
absence of clear and specific Congressional re-
quirement, by importation of formalities devel-
oped for the adjudicatory process and basically
unsuited for policy rule making.
American Airlines v. CAB, supra, 359 F.2d at 629.
Indeed, to require such disclosure and discussion is, in
effect, to require a hearing on the record, in contra-
vention of the Administrative Procedure Act and the
holdings of this Court in American Trucking Associa-
tions, supra; Florida Easi Coast, supra; and Alle-
gheny-Ludlum, supra.

The court below further contends that its opinion
here is consistent with the objectives of the Govern-
ment in the Sunshine Act, Pub. L. No. 94-409, SO
Stat. 1241 (1976). However, a proposal to prohibit
ex parte contacts in informal as well as formal rule-
making was included in an early version of that act,”

*S. 260, 93rd Congress, 2d Sess. (1974). See House and
Senate Committees on Government Operations, 94th Cong., 2d
Sess., Government in the Sunshine—S. 5 (Public Law 94-409)
Source Book: Legislative History, Texts and Other Documenis
88 (1976).

36

but was ultimately removed by the Congress.” Con-
gress also failed to pass proposed legislation calling
for the logging and disclosure of ex parte contacts.”
Thus, not only is the court’s opinion not consistent
with the Sunshine Act, it is directly contrary to the
intent of Congress in enacting that legislation.

In this connection, it is noteworthy that amicus
Geller, in testimony before a Senate subcommittee,
applauded as ‘‘wise” the deletion of the provision in
S. 260 calling for a general ban on ex parte contacts
in rulemaking.“ It was Mr. Geller’s contention that
existing case law, including Sangamon, was sufficient
to cover those rulemaking situations where ex parte
contacts would be inappropriate.”

It is also noteworthy that, contrary to the court’s
contention at n. 128 of its opinion, the Bar of the City
of New York opposed the “extension of the ex parte
prohibition of the Sunshine Act to informal rulemak-
ing.” * So too did the Administrative Conference of
the United States; “* thus, the court erred in asserting

* Source Book, supra at 230 (Senate report), 530, 568
(House reports) 811 (conference report).

* S. 1239, 94th Congress, 1st Sess. (1975).

*‘Government in the Sunshine: Hearings on S. 260 before
a Subcommittee of the Senate Committee on Government
Operations, 93rd Congress, Ist Sess. 219, 222 (1974) (hereafter
“Senate hearings”).

* As noted infra, however, Mr. Geller has only recently come
to the conclusion that proceedings like that involving pay TV
should be governed by Sangamon.

* Government in the Sunshine: Hearings on H.R. 10315 and
H.R. 9368 before a Subcommittee of the House Committee on
Government Operations, 94th Congress, Ist Sess. 256 (1975).

** Senate hearings, supra at 248-49, 260.

37

(at n. 130) that compliance with its opinion would be
in compliance with that body’s recommendations.

Thus, whether or not ex parte communications in in-
formal rulemaking are desirable as a matter of policy,
they are clearly permissible as a matter of law, and
the court’s far reaching holding to the contrary war-
rants the attention of this Court.

B. THE SANGAMON CASE DOES NOT GOVERN THE INSTANT
PROCEEDING

The court below has also extended its earlier hold-
ing in Sangamon, supra, to the entirely different fac-
tual setting of informal policy making proceedings.
This action warrants this Court’s attention because, as
construed by the court below, Sangamon would lead
on a broad scale to an obliteration of the distinction
between rulemaking and adjudication.”

Certainly this case and Sangamon bear little, if any
resemblance to each other; the latter involved a hand-
ful of would-be broadcasters contesting the assign-
ment of a single VHF television channel, while the
former involves a panoply of broadcast, cable, motion
picture, sports, cultural and other interests contesting

** Amicus Geller appears to believe that the situations in
which Sangamon would apply would be relatively few in num-
ber. The Commission is of the view, however, that if the
doctrine of Sangamon were applied to the instanc case, there
would be few, if any, rulemakings to which it would not also
apply. In the Commission’s opinion, rulemakings almost in-
variably attract participants who will be affected in some man-
ner by their outcome, and who in some sense stand to gain or
lose a “vaiuabie privilege” in the sense that the term is used
by amicus Geller.

38

the future of several industries. Moreover, most of
those who have analyzed Sangamon have stressed its
unique characteristics. In the words of one leading
commentator:
The peculiar facts sitmation and combination
of interests and expectancies of parties in-
volved in [The Sangamon] rulemaking pro-
ceeding . . . converted it into an adversary
proceeding to which the judicial ethic was ap-
plicable. Peck, Regulation and Control of Ex-
Parte Communications with Administrative
Agencies, 76 HARV. L.REV. 233, 241 (1962).
Indeed, even amicus Geller has confessed that, dur-
ing his tenure as a senior FCC official, he too “‘failed
to recognize the applicability of Sangamon” to cases
like the one at bar “—a confession of some relevance,
since it was Mr, Geller who, in 1959, wrote the ori-
ginal Sangamon brief for the Department of Justice
and coined the phrase “conflicting private claims to
a valuable privilege” which was later adopted by the
court. Furthermore, Mr. Geller has acknowledged the
Commission’s ‘‘good faith purpose” in declining to
follow Sangamon in proceedings involving general is-
sues—the ‘‘need for communication between the Com-
mission and the industry . . . concerning problems of
mutual interest.” *’
Nevertheless, in asserting the applicability of San-
gamon here, the court below insists that it ‘“‘would

** See page 6 of Mr. Geller’s “Petition for Revision of Pro-
cedures or for Issuance of Notice of Inquiry or Proposed Rule
Making,” filed with the Commission December 12, 1974.

“Id. at 5, quoting Rules Governing Ex Parte Communica-
tions, 1 FCC 2d 49, 57 (1965).

39

have thought that the principles announced there so
clearly governed the instant proceeding that there
could be no question of the impropriety of ex parte
contacts here’? (App. A, pp. 102-103). In reaching the
opposite conclusion, however, the Commission relied,
and continues to rely herein, on two other cases from
the District of Columbia Circuit, Courtaulds (Ala-
bama) Ine. v. Dixon, 294 F. 2d 899 (1961) and Van
Curler Broadcasting Corp. v. United States, 236 F.
2d 727 (1956), cert. denied, 352 U.S. 935 (1956). In
Courtaulds, it was stipulated that, prior to the issu-
ance of certain final rules, the FTC had sought, re-
ceived and considered ex parte information relating
to the merits of the proceeding from various parties,
including competing manufacturers. Courtaulds, supra
at $02, n. 10. Despite this, the court there refused to
invalidate the regulations since it found “no evidence
that the Commission did anything improper or gave to
any interested party advantages not shared by all.”’
Id, at 904-905. The Courtaulds court distinguished
Sangamon on several grounds, one being that “the
[Courtaulds] proceeding clearly was one of rule mak-
ing, both in form and substance, and hence was not
subject to al! the restrictions of a quasi-judicial hear-
ing.’’ Id.

The court below attempts to explain away Court-
aulds on the ground that the Commission here did act
in secret (App. A, p. 103, n.124). But all interested
parties to this proceeding were informed that they
had equal opportunity to present whatever informa-
‘ion they wished, without being confined to official

40

comments.“ Also, footnote 16 of Courtaulds does not
erroneously suggest, as the court below would have it,
that Sangamon ‘‘did not involve rulemaking.” It does
suggest, however, that the holding of Sangamon
should be limited to “quasi-judicial” proceedings.

In refusing to find any impropriety in the FTC’s
considerations of ex parte communications, the Court-
aulds court (also at n.16 of its opinion) referred to the
earlier case of Van Curler, supra. In Van Curler, the
court held that there was ‘‘nothing improper or errone-
ous” in the Commission’s receipt of ex parte material
“in regard to the nation-wide intermixture problem,
concerning which the Commission was seeking all
sorts of advice and information preparatory to setting
up a general nation-wide rule-making proceeding.’’
236 F.2d at 730. Since pay television is also a “nation-
wide” issue, the Commission believes that Van Curler
affords a much closer parallel to the instant case than
does Sangamon.”

It should also be noted that, in 1975, amicus Geller
raised the issue of the reach of Sangamon before the
Second Circuit Court of Appeals in connection with
the Prime Time Access Rule. That case also involved
a dispute, nationwide in scope, among many indus-
tries, as to what the Commission’s policy should be

*® See, in this respect, Section C, infra.

**In pleadings before the court below, amicus Geller sought
to distinguish Van Curler on the ground that the ex parte con-
tacts there took place before the general rulemaking had actu-
ally started. However, the reference to Van Curler in Court-

aulds suggests that conversation of the type approved in Van
Curler need not be confined to the prenotice period.

41

with respect to the marketing pattern for prime time
television programs. The Second Circuit, however, did
not hold that ex parte contacts had invalidated the
Commission’s procedures, nor did it grant Mr. Geller’s
request for a remand. Instead, its opinion did not
even mention the argument based on Sangamon. Na-
tional Association of Independent Television Produc- —
ers and Distributors v. FCC, 516 F.2d 526 (1975).”

C. THE COMMISSION DID NOT VIOLATE ITS OWN RULES IN
PERMITTING THE EX PARTE CONTACTS HEREIN

The court below also asserts (although no such claim
was made by amicus Geller or any other party) that
when the Commission permitted ex parte contacts in
this proceeding, it violated its own Rule 1.415, which
provides that written comments and replies may be

°° In reversing the Commission, the court below also relies on
Executive Order 11920, 41 Fed. Reg. 23665 (1976), which it
characterizes as analogous to Sangamon (App. A, p. 104).
However, the fact sheet issued by the White House in connec-
tion with this order reveals a sui generis situation which can-
not be compared either to Sangamon or the instant case. Specif-
ically, it appears that under Section 801 cf the Federal Avia-
tion Act, and pursuant to his constitutional responsibility for
foreign policy and national defense, the President has authority
to approve or disapprove certain decisions of the Civil Aero-
nautics Board. Nevertheless, the CAB is supposed to decide
these cases in the first instance through its regular channels
and according to all ordinary (i.e., other than raison d'etat)
criteria. (It is significant .bat all of the relevant CAB actions
involve hearings rather than notice and comment procedures.)
Executive Order 11920 was issued to prevent people from tak-
ing advantage of Section 801 to bypass the CAB and go
straight to the President on matters which should have been
left to the agency. This retionale has no application to the in-
stant case; accordingly, i. -ourt’s citation is inapposite.

42

submitted and that ‘‘no additional comments may be
filed unless specifically requested or authorized.” 47
C.F.R. 1.415; see App. A, pp. 100-101, n.122. A simi-
lar result was reached in Sangamon, supra, and short-
ly thereafter the Commission publicly and explicitly
declared that its notice and comment procedures were
“not intended to preclude the informal submission of
other information and arguments.” Rules of Practice
and Procedure, 24 Fed. Reg. 6057 (1959)."* More re-
cently, in a document entitled The Public and Broad-
casting—A Procedure Manual, 39 Fed.. Reg. 32288,
32295 (Rev. ed. 1974), the Commission reiterated that
it might “tap other sources of information” besides
written comments in making the policy judgments in-
volved in rulemaking, and the agency added that ‘‘un-
less otherwise stated in the notice, staff members
working on the proceeding are generally prepared to
meet with and discuss the proposed rule with anyone
who is sufficiently interested.” It is fundamental that
an agency’s interpretations of its own rules are ‘“‘of
controlling weight unless plainly erroneous.” Udall v.
Tallman, 380 U.S. 1, 16-17 (1965) ; Bowles v. Seminole
Rock Co., 325 U.S. 410, 414 (1945).

Moreover, since Sangamon, the Commission has, on
a case-by-case basis, “specifically authorized” ex parte
contacts in some informal rulemaking proceedings and
specifically prohibited them in others. Rule Making
Procedures, 30 Fed. Reg. 9277, 5 Rad. Reg. (P&F) 2d
1701 (1965) ; see also Rules Governing Ex Parte Com-

*t The Commission had argued this same point in its brief in
Sangamon, but to no avail.

43

munications, supra, 1 FCC 2d at 51 (1965). In ac-
cordance with this practice, the Notice of Proposed

Rule Making in Docket No. 19954 expressly stated
that “[i]n reaching a decision in this matter, the Com-

mission may take into account any other relevant
information before it, in addition to the comments in-
vited by this Notice.’’ 35 FCC 2d 893, 899 (1972).
Contrary to the court’s contention, there is just noth-
ing “eryptic” about this sentence.” The Commission

clearly said that it might consider ex parte material in
deciding the pay cable issue, and this was understood,

not only by the various private interests involved, but
also by the numerous public interest representatives
that did communicate with the Commission on an ez
parte basis during the course of this porceeding.”
Thus, the Commission has not violated its own rules,
nor has it acted in a manner inconsistent with the
“spirit of the Freedom of Information Act,” as the
court also avers.”

*¢ Admittedly, though, the Commission’s meaning may be
somewhat obscured in the truncated version of the quotation
given in n. 122 of the opinion below (App. A, p. 101).

in its submission to the court of appeals. It is not true, as the
opinion below maintains, that the agency “reported [no] ex
parte contacts from public interest intervenors other than
amicus Geller.” App. A, p. 101, n. 122.

65 U.S.C. 552(a) (2) (B).

* App. A, p. 101, n. 122. Furthermore, the Commission has
indisputably complied with the letter of the FOIA as well,
since its policy on ex parte contacts has been published on
several occasions in the Federal Register. Rules of Practice and
Procedure, supra; Rule Making Procedures, supra; The Public
and Broadcasting, supra.

44
CONCLUSION

It is respectfully submitted that the petition for
certiorari should be granted.
WERNER K. HARTENBERGER,
General Counsel,
DantIEL M. ARMSTRONG,
Associate General Counsel,
JacK Davin SMITH,
KeiTH H. Faaan,
Counsel,
Federal Communications Commission,

Washington, D.C. 20554.
Of Counsel:

Upton K. GuTHERY

U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1977

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1959%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
