# Opposition — Department of Revenue v. Ass'n of Washington Stevedoring Companies

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1942%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 435 U.S. 734

## Text

Supreme Od, U. &
=—$ pitt Q
IN THE ju 15 N

Supreme Court of the United

FALL RODAK, N., CLERK

—— —

No. 76-1706

ASSOCIATION OF WASHINGTON STEVEDORING
COMPANIES, et al.,

Respondents N

.

THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE OF THE STATE
OF WASHINGTON,
Petitioner.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE
OF WASHINGTON

JOHN T. PIPER

BOGLE & GATES

The Bank of California Center
Seattle, Washington 98164

Counsel for Respondents

CRAFTSMAN PRESS — WORD PROCESSING. SEATTLE

a

SUBJECT INDEX

Questions Presented .....2+eeeeees
Respondents’ Statement of the Case
Reasons Why Petition Should Not Be Granted. .

ig
oO
we wo re —

I. The Decision Below Was Correct...

Il. The Cases Relied Upon by the State
Are Not In Point >. * * * . * * . * * 5

III. The Record Below Is Inadequate for
the Ambitious Demands That the
State Makes Upon This Court 7

Conclusion * * * * * * * . * > * * * . * * * * 12

TABLES OF AUTHORITY
Table of Cases
Airport BE v. Delta Airlines,
405 U.S. „„ „ „„ „ „
American President Lines, Ltd. v. Federal

Maritime Bd., 317 F.2d 887

r ̃ͤ : cea 6

Calcot, Ltd. v. Isbrandtson Co.,

318 20 669 (ist Cir. 1963) * * . * * * * * 4

Canton R. R. v. Rogan,

. S. ))) 6.9

Carson Petroleum Co. v. Vial,

Case of the State —. 355 Tax,

ewe ail. ee
Deb 88 1 Co. v. Brattleboro,

we —e@ebheeebess ©

11

Page

complete Auto 7571075 Inc. v. Brady,
„ d. ef © © % @ @ -5,7,8-9,11

Dunbar-Stanley Studios, Inc. v. Alabama,
„ * ). * * * „ . * 0 * „ > „ * 10

Ex parte Easton, 95 U.S. 68 (1877) ...... 4

Gruen v. State Tax Comm'r,

~ 35 Wn.2d T. 211 P.2d 651 (1949) ..... 10

hill v. Tax Comm'n,
65 Wn.2d 889, 400 P.2d 297 (1965). ..... 10

Hughes Bros. Timber Co. v. Minnesota,
U.S * 469 (1926) * * * * 0 > >. >. * * > . 8

Interstate Oil Pipeline Co. v. Stone,
U. „ ). * * E „ „% a „ © „ „ . 6,9

Magnano Co. v. Hamilton,
“Fer US. „se 10

Michelin Tire “orks v. Wages,
423 U. * Reer 5,7
Michigan-Wisconsin Pipeline Co. v. Calvert,
ewe 4) ee eS a ee oe e 3,8

Minnesota v. Blasius,

Munson S.S. Line v. Glas Nav. Co.,
0 7. J, cert. denied,
243 U.S. 643 (1917), appeal dismissed,
IL ccc eseeeeeevee §

Ni rt v. Richmond,

. S. ) â ⁊õQ.. 10

111

Puget Sound Stevedoring Co. v. Tax Comm'n,
ewe ) eee — G &© „ „ „
Robbins v. 985 County Taxing Dist.,
Spector Motor Serv., Inc. v. O'Connor,
„ * 1). „ 0 0 * * 0 8 0 * *

The Eddy, 72 U.S. (5 Wall.) 481 (1867)

Union Marine & Gen. Ins. Co. v. Am. Export

Lines, Inc., 274 F. Supp. 123
0 oN. * 966) * . * * * „ * * 0 0 * >
Statutes

RCW 82.04.230-290 ee ee „„ © © © „„ @ @

51 Stat. 233 (1937) (T.S. No. 931, art. 3,
§§ 2 8 8) * * * * . * . * * * * * * * *

46 U.S.C. § 190 (1970) *_0e © © „„ © © @ @

46 U.S.C. § 1303 (197).

Other Authority

S. Rep. No. 12, 93rd Cong.,
ist Sees. (1973) «we „ „ „ „ „ „ „„ W᷑

Page

2,3

10

4-5

- 12

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 76-1706

ASSOCIATION OF WASHINGTON STEVEDORING
COMPANIES, et al.,
Res ts,

Vv.

THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE OF THE STATE
OF WASHINGTON,
Petitioner.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE
OF WASHINGTON

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is the decision below, which is based
on decisions of this Court that are squarely in
point, a correct decision?

2. Does a regulation of petitioner that
exempts from tax “transportation of persons or
property across state boundaries” provide an
adequate factual base for petitioner's request
that this Court “clarify” state power to tax
those very activities?

RESPONDENTS’ STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Promptly after enacting its doing-business
privilege tax in 1935, petitioner (“the State“)
attempted to apply it to stevedoring activities
in interstate and foreign commerce. Stevedoring
activities were expressly made taxable in a regu-
lation. The State's attempt was struck down by
this Court in Puget Sound Stevedoring Co. v. Tax
Commission, 302 U.S. 90 (1937). (Petitioner's
Brief for Certiorari at 26, Appendix E, @ IV).
Ten years after Puget Sound, this Court fol lowed
that case in Joseph v. Carter & Weekes Co., 330
U.S. 422 (1947), another stevedoring case involving
a privilege tax indistinguishable from the
Washington tax. Both the Import-Export Clause
and the Commerce Clause were invoked.

For 37 years, succeeding editions of the
State's regulation acquiesced in Puget Sound.
In 1974, however, an amended regulation reasserted
the tax against stevedoring activities conceded
to be identical to those protected by Puget Sound.
(Petitioner's Brief for Certiorari at 3, n. 5).
Puget Sound defined the protected activities as:
“Unloading vessels by moving the cargo from ship's
hold to ‘first place of rest’ on the dock; and
loading vessels by moving the cargo from place
of rest to ship's hold.“ 302 U.S. at 93. This

Court considered the stevedores as an arm of the
foreign and interstate carrier -- doing work
(historically done by the ship's crew) that is

an integral part of foreign and interstate ocean
transportation.

REASONS WHY PETITION SHOULD NOT BE GRANTED
I. The Decision Below Was Correct

The court below followed a settled rule
twice established by this Court in stevedoring
decisions that are squarely in point. Puget
Sound Stevedoring Co. v. Tax Commission, supra,
and Joseph v. Carter & Weekes Co., supra. See
also Michigan-Wisconsin Pipeline Co. v. Calvert,
347 U.S. 157 (1954), which is indistinguish-
able in principle. The State asks this Court
to consider precisely the narrow issue decided
in those cases yet a third time. This Court,
in Puget Sound, treated the stevedores as an
arm of the foreign and interstate ocean carriers
and in so doing was consistent with maritime
Common law, federal statutesꝰ and internat ſona]

lie is as much the duty of the shipowner
to load and discharge the cargo as it is to carry
it between the loading and discharging ports.
Union Marine & Gen. Ins. Co. v. American

agreements” governing the carriage of goods by

sea. Any other rule would permit every state (and
each political subdivision) controlling a seaport
to effectively impose duties on international
trade (because, although the excise may be im-
posed on the stevedore, his role as arm of the
carrier means the tax will be passed on to the
shipper as an item of overhead).

1966), quoting Munson S.S. Line . Glasgow Nav.

Co., 235 F. 64 (2d Cir. 1916), cert. denied, 243
U.S. 643 (1917), appeal dismissed, 246 U.S. 647
(1918). See also Ex parte Easton, 95 U.S. 68,
75-76 (1877); The Eddy, 72 U.S. (5 Wall.) 481, 495
(1867); Calcot, Ltd. v. Isbrandtson Co-, 318
F.2d 669, 673 (lst Cir. 1963); American President

Lines, Ltd. v. Federal Maritime Bd., 317 F.2d
687, 888 (D.C. Cir. 1962).

1 The Carriage of Goods by Sea Act, 46 U.S.C.
§ 1303 (1970), governing foreign commerce, defining
carrier responsibility (and liability) provides in
pertinent part:

"(2) The carrier shall properly and
faithfully load, handle, stow, carry, keep,
care for, and discharge the gods carried.

Accord, the Harter Act, 46 U.S.C. § 190 (1970),
governing interstate and foreign maritime com-
merce.

3 Convention for the Unification of Certain
Rules Relating to Bills of Lading for the Carriage
of Goods by Sea, June 23, 1925, 51 Stat. 233
(1937), T.S. No. 931, art. 3, 26 8.

5

Il. The Cases Relied Upon by the State Are Not
In Point

The State relies on Michelin Tire Corp. v.
Wages, 423 U.S. 276 (1976), and Complete Auto
Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 97 S. Ct. 1076 (1977).

Michelin involved a property tax, not an
excise. It held that after the completion of
import, tires which the importer continued to
hold were subject to a property tax. (Previously
goods were protected from property taxes as long
as the importer held them in the “original
package.

Michelin says nothing at all about exporting
and, even as to importing, Michelin's impact
occurred after completion of the transit. This
Court, in distinguishing the property tax in-
volved in Michelin from a tax on importing, said:
In effect, the Clause was fashioned to prevent
the imposition of exactions which were no more
than transit fees 423 U.S. at 290.
Because steve dor ing is a part of the transit“
activity (the cost of which is borne by the
shipper), no more effective means of imposing
“transit fees” on international trade could be
found than an excise on stevedoring.

Complete Auto Transit did not involve the
Import-Export Clause. As to the Commerce Clause,
it was decided by this Court consistently with

earlier cases involving similar facts.“ Inter-

state 01] Pipeline Co. v. Stone, 337 U.S. 662
(1949), and Canton Railroad v. Rogan, 340 U.S. 511
(1951). All three cases held taxable the activ-
ities of intrastate carriers -- both termini
being within the taxing jurisdiction -- that
operated independently of interstate carriers
but happened to carry interstate goods. Foreign
and interstate carriers were not involved in
those cases -- whereas this Court and Congress
have recognized that stevedores function as an
arm of foreign and interstate carriers.

e Probably the significance that the state
sees in Complete Auto Transit is not in its facts,
but in some of its language. Because the result
of that case accords with established precedent,
the language woild be dictum were it not that
Spector Motor Serv., Inc. v. O'Connor, 340 U.S.
862 (1951) is declared overruled. The Court
might alternatively have distinguished Spector
as involving, in substance, a net income tax--
ineptly labeled as an excise by the taxing juris-
diction.

7

III. The Record Below Is Inadequate for the An-
bitious Demands That the State Makes Upon
This Court

The State has shifted its ground since prom-
ulgating the regulation amendment that the court
below struck down. The amendment put in issue
only stevedoring activities -- a narrow band of
commerce only yards wide (from point of rest
on the dock to the ship's hold) -- and uniquely
bound up with foreign trade, maritime law, and
international agreements.

On brief, however, the State urges that
this case be used to “complete the process of
clarifying the scope of state taxing power which
{this Court] commenced in Michelin Tire, supra,
and Complete Auto Transit, supra." (Petitioner's
Brief for Certiorari at 6).

But the State has not provided the right
vehicle. The State's regulation expressly exempts
interstate and foreign transport from tax, i.e.,
the actual transportation of persons or property
across state boundaries is exempt.” (Petitioner's
Brief for Certiorari at 22, Appendix 0). In
short, the State has not attempted an exercise
cf the taxing power that it asks this Court to
"clarify." Its amendment did not attempt a tax
on foreign and interstate commerce, but aimed
only at reclassifying stevedoring as separate and
intrastate.

Facts are surely the heart of the judicial
craft. A narrow and unique band of sea commerce
is not adequate for the broad, general task of
“clarifying the scope of state taxing power"
under not merely one, but two major clauses of
the Constitution (the Import-Export Clause and
the Commerce Clause).

Movement is so fundamental to commerce that
it has received special protection. Goods moving
in commerce are protected from the start of the
journey to its end -- as long as there is no
unnecessary interruption or deiay in journey --
no matter how deeply a state may be penetrated
or how many carriers may be involved. Champlain
Realty Co. v. Brattleboro, 260 U.S. 366 (1922);
Hughes Bros. Timber Co. v. Minnesota, 272 U.S.
469 (1926); Carson Petroleum Co. v. Vial, 279
U.S. 95 (1929); Minnesota v. Blasius, 290 U.S.
1 (1933). Almost as broad as the protection
for the goods has been protection from excises
on the activity of moving goods (or persons)
in commerce. That protection has covered movement
of goods between the points where the responsi-

bility of the interstate carrier begins and ends.

Michigan-wWisconsin Pipeline Co. v. Calvert, 347
U.S. 157 (1954). (Contrast Complete Auto Transit,

-
*
24 =
Saree -_ 99
*

Inc. v. Brady, Interstate Oil Pipeline Co. v.
Stone, and Canton Railroad v. Rogan, supra, and
like cases involving intrastate carriers pro-
viding an independent movement and having both
termini within the taxing jurisdiction.) Such
protection is over 100 years old, having begun with
the Case of the State Freight Tax, 82 U.S. (15
Wall.) 232 (1873), and is supported by numerous
cases decided since then.

If all this protection were to be totally
and irrevocably swept away, as the State asks,
the facts of the case should adequately raise
the issues to be decided. A regulation that
exempts the very commerce that the State asserts
is taxable does not provide the factual base for
such monumental judicial pronouncements.

An additional consideration is the nature
of the excise. It is the most potent and danger-
Ous weapon in the tax collector's arsenal. It
can attach to activities of all kinds. The excise
lacks the built-in political restraints that
apply to property and income taxes which, if not
required to be uniform, at least tend to be gen-
eral to individuals or corporations that popu-
late the taxing jurisdiction. The versatility
of the excise makes it, in practice, virtually

10

immune to charges of di scrimination.> A taxing

authority's license in selecting subjects and

rates for various excises renders a rule against

multiple imposition (requiring apportionment)
—

}

> Washington, for example, has more than
a dozen different tax rates for the privilege of
doing business ranging from 3.6% of gross income
(applicable to railroad, water, light and power
distribution, telephone and telegraph) down to
a mere .01% (applicable to wholesalers of grains
and dried peas). RCW 82.04.230-290. This Court,
in Magnano Co. v. Hamilton, 292 U.S. 40 (1933),
permitted Washington to tax butter substitutes
reasoning that the obvious differences between
butter and oleo margarine were enough to support
separate tax classifications. Following this
Court's lead, the Washington court has explained,
“There is no constitutional limitation upon the
selection by the legislature of the subjects for
excise tax so long as there is any reasonable
basis for the classification whatsoever." Gruen
v. State Tax Comm'r, 35 Wn.2d 1, 32, 211 P.2d
651, 669 (1949). More recently a tax on the oper
ation of such recreational activities as golf,
skating, skiing, pool and billiards has been
approved while bowling was exempted. Hem hill
v. Tax Comm'n, 65 Wn.2d 889, 400 P.2d 297 (1965).
Even in interstate commerce the rule against
discrimination has been effective mainly to curb
legislation aimed at out-of-state drummers (see,
e.g-, Robbins v. Shelby County Taxing Dist.,
120 U.S. 489 (1887); Nippert v. Richmond, 327
U.S. 416 (1946)); and has not necessarily been
effective even for that purpose. See Dunbar-

Stanley Studios, Inc. v. Alabama, 393 U.S. 537
(1969), where this Court upheld a tax on transient
photographers.

11

likewise impotent. For these reasons, a hundred
years of judicial wisdom has restrained the excise
so that one can transport his person or property
across this nation by air, highway or rail,
through its ports and along its rivers, without
the burden of paying a toll to each of the myriad
of taxing jurisdictions that sit astride the lanes
of commerce.

If other taxing jurisdictions read the lan-
guage of Complete Auto Transit as petitioner State
does, a proper vehicle for testing the scope of
that decision will not be long in coming.° A

6 :
Soon after this Court approved a head tax

on interstate airline passengers (on the basis
that the proceeds were limited to the development
and maintenance of the airport facility involved),
Airport Authority v. Delta Airlines, 405 U.S.
707 (1972), a Senate committee identified at least
31 jurisdictions that had rushed to enact various
forms of head taxes. S. Rep. No. 12, 93rd Cong.,
lst Sess. (1973). See Appendix A. The committee
comment ed:

“ While this decision has invited state
and local governments to enact head taxes
or fees on air travelers, the court de-
cision does not provide adequate safe-
guards to prevent undue or discriminatory
taxation."

The “toll gate“ syndrome will be more than local
legislatures can resist if they believe they have
an unbridled excise taxing power over the channels
of foreign and interstate commerce. In Complete
Auto Transit this Court repeatedly voiced its

concern for the practical“ or “economic” effects

12

thoughtful “clarifying of the scope of state
taxing power" (assuming it is needed) should
await one or more cases with facts that are in
the mainstream of the issue as contrasted with
the instant case whose unique, narrow facts re-
flect only the periphery.

CONCLUSION

The decision below was correctly decided
based on decisions by this Court that are squarely
in point. The cases relied on by petitioner are
not in point. The narrow and unique factual base
of the instant case is not appropriate to the
State's request that this Court clarify a state
taxing power that the State has not asserted.

Nor is the State's alternative request for
a remand and further consideration by the court
below a tenable request. That court followed
decisions of this Court conceded to be squarely
in point. Because that court's only alternative

of a state tax. But once having unleashed ile
excise on movement in commerce, it may be doubted
whether this Court can devote the resources to
effectively curb unreasonable burdens. Nor are
the guidelines that this Court has thus far laid
down against discrimination sufficient to enlist
the assistance of state courts.

13

would be to overrule the decisions of this Court
(which no lower court could presume to do), there
is no useful work to be done on remand.

The petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,
JOHN T. PIPER

Counsel for Respondent

A-1
APPENDIX A

ALRPORT PASSENGER TAX

City Amou nc Effective dete Collect ing

donc svi lle, Ala.

. Mewpurt News, Va.
. Medison, Wis.

. Chattanooga, Tenn.

. New Hewpehire (on carrier)—--— 41/50. Aug. 31, 1969 Carrier.

July 1, 1972 Mert authority.

57
7

Cedar 11d, 19

U
bent lente, Pa. 3. 40— Carrier.
. Richmond, Ya. 1 do Oe.
. Sarasote-Bradentoa, fle.--——-——— i do- Airpoct suthericy
Tri-City, Mich. i do— Carrier.
. Pensacola, Fla. i Aug. „ 1972 do.
Kelamazoo, “ich. 1 Aug. 15, 972 Oe.
. Latronee, is. 1 Sepe. |, 1972 de.
- Paletgr-Ovrtas, 0 2 Ao Airport sutherity
. Allentown, Pa. 3271 Met. I. 1972 de.
. Traverse City, Mich. -— t 10— Carrier.
. Fort Waevne, ind. 1 e 2), 1972 = Reerd of Aviation.
Jeet son, Mies. (on carrier) 4 Yow. |, 1972 Carrier.
. Rochester, 4.1. i — de.
- Ves Moines, lowe 1 9% 6. 1972 Oe.
. Evaneville, tnd. I Sov. 79, 197? de.
. Roanoke, Ya. U Bow. 15, 1972 de.
. Fort Myers, Fla. i Bec. I. 1972 Aiepert suthoricy.
duluth, Minn. 1 lL. 1979 §Ganrier.
4
1
1

—
*

197) «= Caevrier.

i, % Aiepert suthoricy.

* . . * * . * 8 * + . . . * + * « — * . * 1 .

aher lle, #.c. 2 Jen. 12, 1999
Youngstown, Ohio 1.
. Medford, Oreg. — 2 Jaa. 25, 1979
tugene, Oreg. 2 Ped. 15, 197) Akepoet auchericy.
. Norfolk, Va. — l feo. 8. 1973 Carrier.
i feo
2

Tyler, Tex.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1942%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
