# Petition — Pacific Northwest Bell Telephone Co. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1790%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 820

## Text

Supreme Court, U. S.
FILED

" TE “WAY 2 1977
Supreme Court of the United 1 —.—

October Term, 1976

No. se As To 15 15

PACIFIC NORTHWEST BELL
TELEPHONE COMPANY,
Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

JOHN N. RUPP

DONALD J. HAGEN of

SCHWEPPE, DOOLITTLE, KRUG,
TAUSEND & BEEZER

Counsel for Petitioner

1600 Peoples National Bank Bldg.
Seattle, Washington 98171
(206) 223-1600

CRAFTSMAN PRESS = WORD PROCESSING. SEATTLE

* .

I.
Il.

111.

IV.

VII. Conclusion

SUBJECT INDEX

Opinions Belo

Jurisdiction .«.«-eccececevee

Statutory Provisions and
Regulations Involved ....

Questions Presented .....
Statement of the Facts... .
Reasons for Granting the Writ

1. The Admiralty Acts and Waiver
of Immunity .... +. sees

2. PNB's Cable Permit and Clause (9)

3. Conflict in the Circuits

4. The Government's Dominant
Navigational Servitude .

Appendi x A * * * * * * * * * * * *

Appendi x B 7 * * . * * . * * * * *

Appendi x C * * . * * * * * . * * .

Boston Edison v. Great Lakes Dredge
~ & Doc 423 F.2d N
(Ist Cir. 1970)

TABLES OF AUTHORITY

Table of Cases

k Co., ;

A-11

. 19

ii

Page
Canadian Aviator, Ltd. v. United
States, 324 U.S. 215 (1945). fz S&S = a 13,14

De Bardeleben Marine Corp. v.
United states ol 0 140 -
r. 1 * * * * * * * * * * * * * oe

ke v. United States,

* fe 1976) * * >. >. * >. >. * 20
Lakewood S. S. Co. v. Superior Water

ight : Power Co., 88 F 2d 895

r. — >. >. >. J >. * * * * * >. . 15
Manhattan Gen. 72535 Co. v. Comm'r,
— * >. — * >. > * * . * * * 19
Michigan Bell Tel. Co. v. Copper
Range N. N-, 355 F.2d oo
Gi Cir

* 1966) * 4 * * . * * . * * * . * * * 15

New Jersey Bell Tel. Co. v.
1 071 Co. of Hew verse.
„ Upp. eWweMete „„ „„ 6 „
P. Sanford Ross, Inc. v. Public

er. Corp. of New Jersey,
a2 F.2d 75 (3d Cir. 75300 b 0 0 o % o o „

Paducah Sand 4 Gravel Co. v.
entra el. el. Co.,

15

Postal Tel. Cable Co. v. P. Sanford
>. oN. >.

.

United States v. United Continental

Tun cCorp., 425 U.S. 104,
is Oe EP CED ccc ecco oo ee el

Statutes

iii

Page

33 C. F. R. § 130(c)(2)(vii) (1979).

33 C. F. R. 5 209.110 - 209.335 (1974)
33 C. F. R. § 209.130(c)(2)(vii) (1974)
28 U. S. C. § 1254(1)

33 U.S.C. § Re * *

46 U.S.C. §§ 741-752

46 U.S.C. § 742 .
46 U.S.C. § 746
46 U.S.C. § 781 .
46 U.S.C. §§ 781
46 U.S.C. § 789 .

Other Authority

Sir Richard Steele, The Spectator
No. 509, Oct. 14, 1712

8
eee §
2
2

- 2,5,10-11,17

o « « « 7,12

2,9, 13

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1976
No. „ „ „„ „

PACIFIC WORTHWEST BELL
TELEPHONE COMPANY,
Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner, Pacific Northwest Bell Tele-
phone Company, prays that a writ of certiorari
issue to review the opinion and judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit entered herein on February 4, 1977.

1.

INIONS BELOW
The opinion of the District Court for the

Western District of Washington is reported at

2
378 F. Supp. 297 (1974). The opinion of the Court
of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit is reported at
549 F.2d 1313 (1977). Those opinions are printed
herein as Appendix A and Appendix 8, respectively.

Il.
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit was entered on February 4, 1977.
This petition for certiorari is filed less than
90 days from that date. Jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

111.
STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND
~~ REGULATTONS TNVOLVED ~

Statutory provisions involved are: 33 U.S.C.
§ 1; 46 U.S.C. § 742; 46 U.S.C. § 746; 46 U.S.C.
§ 781; 46 U.S.C. § 789; and 33 C.F.R. 5 209.130(c)
(2)(wii) (1974).

All the foregoing are printed in pertinent
part herein as Appendix C.

3
IV.
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Pacific Northwest Bell Telephone Company
(hereafter “PNB") brought an admiralty suit under
both the Suits in Admiralty Act and the Public
Vessels Act to recover its damages resulting from
an injury to PNB's underwater telephone cable
caused by the negligence of the U.S. Coast Guard
in placing a race-course buoy in Lake Washington
at Seattle. The District Court entered judgment
for PNB. The Court of Appeals reversed. The
questions involved are:

1. Whether the Public Vessels Act and the
Suits in Admiralty Act waive sovereign immunity
from maritime tort liability, making the United
States liable for its negligent injury to the
cable if a private person would be liable for
causing the same injury.

2. Whether the Secretary of the Army can,
by regulation, reestablish sovereign immunity so
that the United States is not liable for tortious
injury to the cable even though a private person

would be liable for causing the same injury.

—

3. Whether the Secretary of the Army's
regulation, which purports to immunize the Govern-
ment from tort liability, bears any reasonable
relation to the Secretary's authority to make
navigable waters safe for navigation.

4. Whether the United States dominant
navigational servitude immunizes it from liability
for tortious injury to submarine cables placed
in navigable waters in spite of the waiver of
sovereign immunity from maritime tort established
by the foregoing admiralty statutes.

*.
STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

The case was appealed from a summary judg-
ment, and the facts are uncontroverted.

The petitioner is a regulated utility which
has a statutory duty to provide telephone service
to the public in the Seattle area (R. 1-2, 7).
Lying along the eastern edge of Seattle is Lake
Washington, a navigable body of water about 20
miles long and 1-1/2 miles wide. Mercer Island

5

is an inhabited island in that lake. To provide
telephone service between Seattle and Mercer
Island, one must go over or under the water.
Submarine cables are the only reasonable means of
spanning the 1-1/2-mile distance. One of the
submarine telephone cables needed to serve Mercer
Island from Seattle was placed under the lake in
1965 (R. 2, 8).

Since such a cable is a structure which
might affect the navigable capacity of the waters,
PNB had to obtain, and did obtain, from the Army
Corps of Engineers, a permit for the cable (R.
2, 8). 33 U.S.C. § 1, et seq.; 33 C.F.R. 88
209.110 - 209.335 (1974).

Thereafter, the location of the cable was
described in the official “Local Notice to
Mariners” issued by the U.S. Coast Guard, and its

1 These regulations prescribe a number of
non-negotiable permit conditions to which the per-
mittee must accede if it wishes to place a struc-
ture in navigable waters. The Corps of Engineers
has no authority to waive or modify any of the
required permit clauses. One of these clauses
is the subject of this petition and is addressed
in detail later.

6
location was designated as a “cable area“ on the
official government chart of Lake Washington,
published by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric
Administration, the most recent revision of which
was issued a full 6 months before the incident
here involved (R. 3, 8).

In the summer of 1972, in connection with
the annual Seattle celebration called Seafair,“
there was to be a speedboat race. The race
course was laid out in Lake Washington between
Seattle and Mercer Island (R. 3-4, 8). The U.S.
Coast Guard undertook the task of placing the
large buoys used to mark the course. The Coast
Guard buoy tender, Fir“, was assigned to this
duty (R. 4, 8). The promoters of the race furn-
ished the master and crew of the Fir“ with a
diagram showing where the buoys were to be placed.
Id. This was not the official chart which all
navigators use; it was simply the promoters’ map.
Id. It did not correctly show the cable area.
Id. The master and crew of the Fir“ did not

consult the Notices to Mariners nor did they

7
examine the official N. 0. A. A. chart (K. 4, 8,
49-50).

The Fir“ placed race-buoy “Charlie” right
in the cable area. In maneuvering the buoy
anchor, the crew fouled and broke the telephone
cable. It cost PNB $56,000 to repair the damage
(R. 85-86).

PNB timely filed a claim for its damages
(R. 4-5, 8). When the Coast Guard refused to
allow it, PNB instituted in the U.S. District
Court for the Western District of Washington a
suit in admiralty under the Suits in Admiralty
Act (46 U.S.C. §§ 741-752) and the Public Vessels
Act (46 U.S.C. §§ 781-790) asserting that the
United States was liable in tort for the damages
caused by the Coast Guard's negligence. Discovery
ensued, and, in due course, PNB moved for summary
judgment on the issue of liability. (In the
course of the proceedings the amount of damages
was stipulated, so the summary judgment decided
the whole case.)

8

The Government did not seriously contest the
issue of the Coast Guard's negligence. (Indeed,
how could it? Those people who did not bother
to look at the chart and who put a big anchor
in a marked cable area that summer day were not
feckless amateurs -- they were the U.S. Coast
Guard!) The Government's basic position was that
it was not liable for the Coast Guard's acts
even if they were negligent, or grossly negligent,
or even willful and deliberate. Why not? Because
when PNB laid the cable in 1965, it had been re-
quired to obtain, and it did obtain, a permit
from the Army Corps of Engineers. One of the
non-negotiable provisions required to be inserted
in each permit by the regulations cited above is
at the core of this petition, and for convenience
has been called Clause (g)" throughout this
litigation.¢ Clause (g) reads as follows:
(g) That the United States shall in no

case be liable for any damage or injury
to the structure or work herein authorized

2 Clause (g) is required by 33 C. F. RK. §
130(c)(2)(wii) (1974).

—

eae Ce é ùꝙ—Fẽ̃ 7

9
which may de caused by or result from
future operations undertaken by the Govern-
ment for the conservation or improve-
ment of navigation, or for other purposes,
and no claim or right to compensation shall
accrue from any such damage.
That clause appears in the 1965 permit here in-
volved. This means, said the Government, that
the Coast Guard could damage or destroy the cable
with complete impunity no matter how grossly
negligent it may have been.

The Government also claimed immunity under
what it called its “dominant navigational servi-
tude."

The District Court rejected the Government's
arguments and held that Congress had uncondition-
ally waived sovereign immunity by enacting the
Suits in Admiralty Act, as amended (46 U.S.C.
§ 742), and the Public Vessels Act (46 U.S.C.
§ 781), and that the continued use of Clause
(g) by the Secretary of the Army was an unlawful
attempt by an administrative agency to re-create
the sovereign immunity which had been clearly

and unequivocally waived by Congress. Thereupon,

on August 24, 1974, the District Court entered

10
judgment for PNB against the United States for
PNB's damages in the stipulated amount of $56,000.

The Government appealed to the Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. That court held
that Clause (g) did indeed exculpate the Govern-
ment from liability, and hence it reversed the
judgment of the District Court.

The Court of Appeals accepted the District
Court's finding of negligence. It agreed, how-
ever, with the Government's position that, by
putting Clause (g) in the 1965 cable permit, the
Secretary of the Army had made the Coast Guard
immune from any liability. It held that this
immunity was not the sovereign immunity which
Congress had waived by the Suits in Admiralty
Act and the Public Vessels Act. It held that the
exculpatory Clause (g) was “relevant to the reg-
ulatory purpose and falls within the regulatory
power of the Secretary of the Army, that is, the
Secretary's power under 33 U.S.C. § 1 to make:

[Rlegulations for the use, administration,

and navigation of the navigable waters of
the United States as in his judgment the

11
public necessity may require for the pro-
tection of life and property, or of oper-
ations of the United States in channel
improvement, ....
The Court of Appeals also said that in dealing
with navigable waters the Secretary of the Army
is like a landowner. A landowner, it said, does
not have to grant an easement across his property
and, if he does so, he is entirely at liberty
to impose any conditions that he wants to impose;
and it went on to liken the permit to a contract

freely entered into by the parties.

VI.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court of Appeals was incorrect in its
decision, and the case should be reviewed by this
Court because:

1. The case presents these serious and far-
reaching questions:

(a) Whether an administrative agency
which has only those powers delegated to it
by Congress, may, by regulation, create

or re-create an immunity from tort liability

12

which immunity Congress has expressly

abrogated;

(db) Whether the immunity which the
Secretary of the Army has purported to create
bears any relation to the Secretary's author-
ity to insure the safety of navigable waters.
2. It appears that a conflict exists among

the circuits as to the effect of the exculpatory
clause in the Army permits.

3. The questions here presented have never
been considered by this Court -- the case is one
of first impression here.

4. The decision of the Court of Appeals is
not consistent with principles laid down by this
Court.

5. The question involved is of direct con-
cern to the thousands of citizens all over the
United States who must have these Army permits

to place structures in navigable waters.

1. The Admiralty Acts and Waiver of Immunity

By passage of the Suits in Admiralty Act,

46 U.S.C. § 741 et seg, and the Public Vessels

13

Act, 46 U.S.C. § 781 et seg: . Congress waived
sovereign immunity from liability for maritime
tort. Under the Public Vessels Act the United
States is liable “for damages caused by a public
vessel of the United States," 46. U.S.C. § 781,°
and under the Suits in Admiralty Act, as amended
in 1960, the United States is liable for damages
[In cases where if such vessel were privately
owned or operated . . . or if a private person
or property were involved, a proceeding in admir-
alty could be maintained. . . ." 46 U.S.C.
§ 742. The language could not be clearer.

Both acts specifically address exemptions
and limitations of liability and both reserve
to the United States only the benefits of al]
exemptions and of all limitations of liability

accorded by law to the owners, charterers,

infra.

Proceedings under the Public Vessels Act
are to be in accordance with the Suits in Admir-

alty Act so far as they are not inconsistent.
46 U.S.C. § 782.

This includes liability for the negligence
of a ship's officer. See Canadian Aviator, Ltd.,

14
operators, or agents of vessels." 46 U.S.C.
§§ 746 and 789.

This Court has unequivocally stated that the
United States is now liable for torts of a public
vessel if a private person would be liable for
the same injury:

[W]e hold that the Public Vessels Act
was intended to impose on the United States
the same liability (apart from seizure or
arrest under a libel in rem) as is imposed
by the admiralty law on the private ship-
owner. * . *

Canadian Aviator, Ltd. v. United States, 324 U.S.

215, 228 (1945). This Court recently stated that
the purpose of the 1960 amendment to the Suits
in Admiralty Act, which also subjects the Govern-
ment to liability if a private person would be
liable for the same injury, was to bring “within
the suits in Admiralty Act whatever category of
claims involving public vessels was beyond the

scope of the Public Vessels Act." United States

15

to recover damages from private persons who negli-
gently damage underwater cables, pipelines, etc.”

The statutes and the holdings of this Court
are not ambiguous: if a private person would be
liable to PNB under general maritime principles
for damage caused, so is the United States.

Under the holding of the Court of Appeals,
however, it makes no difference that a private
person would be liable in admiralty to PNB for
negligently dragging an anchor in a cable area

and damaging PNB's submarine cable, and it makes

no difference how grossly negligent the United

v. United Continental Tuna Corp., 425 U.S. 164,
96 S. Ct. 1319, 1328 (1976).

Without exception, the reported case law has

allowed rightful occupiers of navigable waters

See, e.g., Paducah Sand & Gravel Co. v.

Central Home Tel. & Tel. co., 209 Ky. 156, 777
; kewoo 8. Co. v. Superior

Water Light & Power . ir.
1937). ee latter — holds that a cable laid
by permit under 33 U.S.C. § 403 does not consti-

tute an obstruction to navigation. 88 F.2d at
898. See, also, Postal Tel. Cable Co. v. P.
Sanford Ross — r ¥. 105" ec uns.
anfor Inc. Public Serv. Corp.
of New Jerse . N F. 2d 19 671 Cir. 1930); Michigan
Bell fel. c v. Copper Range R. K. 355 F.2d

678 (éth r. ; Jerse Beil Tel. Co. v.
Standard Oil Co. of ‘New Jersey, 688 F. Supp.
506 (S.D.N.Y. 1949

-D.N.Y. J.

16
States was. The court held that the Government
is simply not liable for its negligent conduct.

2. PNB's Cable Permit and Clause (gq)

PNB is far from alone in being affected by
Clause (g). Before any cable, pipeline or the
like can be placed in navigable waters, a permit
must be obtained from the U.S. Army Corps of
Engineers. Thousands of telephone and telegraph
cables, electrical conduits, water and gas pipe-
lines and other structures cross under lakes,
rivers and other navigable waters throughout
the United States, to say nothing of the bridges,
piers and other structures requiring such permits.
By the Secretary's regulation every one of those
permits contains the exculpatory Clause (g).
Therefore, all these structures are potentially
affected by the ruling of the court below.

The Court of Appeals statement that PNB
and all the other people who have permits from
the Army are free contracting parties who have
by choice willingly accepted the Secretary's
Clause (g) is harsh, unrealistic and inaccurate.

17

They have no choice at all. Thus, in the instant
case PNB had a statutory duty to provide telephone
service to the people of Mercer Island. To extend
telephone lines to an island, one must go over or
under water. To do so, one must obtain a permit
from the Army. Neither the Army people nor the
permittee may negotiate about Clause (g); the
Secretary's regulation requires its presence in
every permit. The permittee's “free choice” is
that immortalized in the business practice of
the celebrated livery-stable keeper, Tobias
Hobson, of which practice Sir Richard Steele
(The Spectator No. 509, Oct. 14, 1712) tells us:
From whence it became a proverb, when
what ought to be your election was forced

upon you, to say, Hobson's Choice.
Moreover, Clause (g) is in excess of the
Army Secretary's authority to prescribe regula-
tions. The clause does not purport to regulate
anything. It does not assign any duties either
to the United States or to the permittee. Clause
(g) has nothing to do with the Secretary of the
Army's duty under 33 U.S.C. § 1 to prescribe

regulations to control navigation and insure its

18

safety. The only function of Clause (g) is to
immunize the United States from the consequences
of its own acts, no matter how egregious or neg-
ligent. Even absent the waivers of sovereign
immunity in the Admiralty Acts, therefore, Clause
(g) is invalid as having nothing to do with navi-
gation safety. In requiring it, the Secretary has
exceeded his authority.

Of course, Congress did waive sovereign
immunity for maritime tort. Therefore, in holding
that Clause (g) is applicable here and exculpates
the Government, the Court below has arbitrarily
carved out a single, special class of persons
who cannot recover against the United States for
maritime tort under any circumstances, to-wit:
all those persons, companies, utilities, dock-
owners, and the like who must obtain U.S. Army
Corps of Engineers permits in order to place lan-
ful structures in navigable waters. This is so
because the Corps is required by regulation to
put Clause (g) in every one of these permits.

Clause (g) plainly and simply is an adminis-
trative device -- “administrative legislation” --

19
designed to establish sovereign immunity from mari-
time tort where Congress has expressly waived
immunity. This Court held such regulations to
be a “mere nullity” in Manhattan Gen. Equip. Co.
v. Comm'r, 297 U.S. 129, 134 (1936).

3. Conflict in the Circuits

Moreover, there now appears to be a conflict
in the circuits regarding the extent to which
Congress has waived sovereign immunity in the
Admiralty Acts. The decision below aligns the
Ninth with the First Circuit in upholding Clause
(g), although under a different rationale. The
First Circuit erroneously imported the discretion-
ary function exemption of the Federal Tort Claims
Act into the Suits in Admiralty Act, even though
the two acts by their own terms are mutually
exclusive. See Boston Edison v. Great Lakes
Dredge & Dock Co,, 423 F.2d 891 (lst Cir. 1970).

While no other appellate court has directly

addressed Clause (g), most probably the Second
Circuit, and especially the Fifth Circuit, would

invalidate the clause, consistent with prior

20
holdings of this Court. See Kelly v. United

States, 531 F.2d 1144 (2d Cir. 1976), in which
the 1960 amendment to the Suits in Admiralty Act
waiving sovereign immunity was given its “plain
and ordinary meaning.” 531 F.2d at 1148-49.
And see De Bardeleben Marine Corp. v. United
States, 451 F.2d 140 (Stn Cir. 1971), which held

that Congress intended “to assimilate the Govern-
ment to the private person in relation to any or
all transactions giving rise to liability in the
Admiralty." (Emphasis added.) 451 F.2d at 148.

4. The Government's Dominant Navigational
Servi tude

The Government's “dominant navigational
servitude” argument and the Court of Appeals’
"landowner" analogy are both faulty, and for the
same reason. The Court of Appeals points out
that a landowner has an absolute right to deny
others the use of his land and that hence, if
he allows another to use it, he may attach to
that permission any conditions, however bizarre,
that he may wish. Then that court goes on and

says that, in dealing with navigable waters, the

21

Secretary of the Army is like a landowner. But
the Secretary of the Army's authority is by no
means as broad as that of a landowner. It is
carefully limited to matters embraced in the power
to control, protect and regulate navigation.
The Secretary has the authority to require permits
and to place conditions in those permits, but,
as Congress has plainly stated, those conditions
must have some reasonable bearing on navigation.
A condition designed solely to shield the Govern-
ment from its own negligence is of no help to
navigation -- all it does is save the Govern-
ment money.

The Government's “dominant navigational
servitude” argument is equally faulty. The argu-
ment goes this way: if, after PNB's cable was
placed in the lake, the needs of navigation should
require that the cable be relocated or removed,
the Government could require PNB to relocate or
remove the cable without any compensation. PNB
agrees that that is so. Then, however, the
Government goes on to reason that, since it could

compel removal or relocation, it follows that it

22

also has a perfect right to destroy or injure
the cable, negligently or even intentionally,
without any liability, even though the cable did
not obstruct navigation. (The Government really
says this in its brief in the Court of Appeals!)
Thus, the Government would say that if A parks
his car in B's driveway, B can compel A to remove
the car; therefore B can also, without asking A
to move the car, drop a wrecking ball on it, or
set it on fire, without any liability to A. But
the Government is wrong about this; the second
proposition does not follow from the first.
The Government's “servitude” is limited to its
right to control and protect navigation. The
Government's designation and marking of a cable
area is plainly an exercise of that right; but
negligently dragging an anchor around in that cable
area is not.

PNB readily concedes that if its cable con-
stituted an obstruction to navigation, it could
be ordered to move or remove the cable without
compensation for a taking“ of its property under
the Fifth Amendment. But PNB is not asserting

23
a Fifth Amendment right of recovery; rather, it
is asserting a claim for maritime tort for injury
to a cable which was rightfully occupying the bed
of Lake Washington and which was not an obstruc-

tion to navigation.

VIl.
CONCLUSION

If Congress had wished to disallow damages
for negligent injury to underwater structures,
it could and would have written an exception into
the Admiralty Acts. The Secretary of the Army
does not have the right to do what Congress
plainly forbade. Nor does the Secretary of the
Army's authority to make regulations for the
safety of navigation authorize him to immunize
government agencies from liability for their
negligent conduct.

JOHN N. RUPP

DONALD J. HAGEN of

SCHWEPPE, DOOLITTLE, KRUG,
TAUSEND & BEEZER

Counsel for Petitioner

A-l

APPENDIX A

PACIFIC NORTHWEST BELL TELE-
PHONE COMPANY, Plaintiff,

v.

UNITED STATES of America,
Defendant.

Civ. No. 760-73C2.

United States District Court,
W. D. Washington.

July 9, 1974.

ORDER GRANTING PLAINTIFF'S
FIRST PARTIAL SUMMARY
JUDGMENT MOTION

BEEKS, District Judge.

1. Procedural. This matter came on regu-
larly for hearing on June 20, 1974, upon the
motion of plaintiff, Pacific Northwest Bell
Telephone Company, for partial summary judgment
against defendant, United States of America,
pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(a)
on the legal question raised by defendant's
Second Defense as set forth in its answer. Plain-
tiff was represented in Court by two of its
attorneys, Donald J. Hagen and David G. Knibb,
of Schveppe, Doolittle, Krug, Tausend, Beezer
& Beierle. Defendant wes represented in Court
by one of its attorneys, Richard J. Beaver, of
the Admiralty and Shipping Section, U.S. Depart-
ment of Justice.

2. Admitted Facts. No genuine issue of
material fact exists. The admitted facts material
to this action as presented to the Court and sum-
marized herein from the pleadings show that Pa-
cific Northwest Bell Telephone Company (hereafter

A-2

called “PNB") obtained a permit on April 12, 1965,
from the Seattle District of the U. 8. Army Corps
of Engineers, pursuant to 33 U.S.C. § 403 to lay
a submarine telephone cable in navigable waters
under Lake Washington. A true and correct copy
of this permit was admitted into evidence with-
out objection as Exhibit "3". PNB's cable was
laid and spliced by approximately May 1, 1965.
While engaged in setting buoys for the 1972 Sea-
fair Hydroplane Race, the U.S. Coast Guard Vessel
FIR, as a part of its regular duties to ensure
navigational safety, damaged PNB's cable with
a buoy anchor on or about July 26, 1972. PNB
alleges that this damage was caused by defen-
dant's negligence. Clause (g) in the 1965 per-
mit stated:

That the United States shall in no case
be liable for any damage or injury to the
structure or work herein authorized which
may be caused by or result from future
operations undertaken by the Government
for the conservation or improvement of
navigation, or for other purposes, and no
claim or right to compensation shall
accrue from any such damage.

PNB's timely claim to the Coast Guard for
damages to its cable was denied September 7,
1973, on the basis of Clause (g), and this clause
is now pleaded by the United States as its Second
Defense.

3. Issue. The question presented is whether
Clause (g) in the 1965 permit immunizes the United
States from liability for the alleged negligence
of the U.S. Coast Guard in causing damage to
PNB's cable.

[1,2] 4. Conclusions. Clause (g) is
invalid both under the Public Vessels Act, 46
U.S.C. §$ 781, and under the 1960 amendments to

A-3

the Suits in Admiralty Act, 46 U.S.C. § 742,
which were designed to subject the United States
to maritime tort liability to the same extent as
a private person. DeBardeleben Marine Corp.
v. United States, 451 F.2d 140, 145 (5th Cir.
1971). Clause (g) was promulgated by regulation.
33 C. F. R. § 209-130(c)(2)(vii). A regulation
beyond the scope of, or in conflict with, statu-
tory authority is invalid. Mannhattan General
Equipment Co. v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue,
297 U.S. 129, 134, 56 S.Ct. 397, 80 L.Ed. 528
(1936).

[3] Boston Edison v. Great Lakes Dredge
and Dock Co., 423 F.2d 891 (lst Cir. 1970) relied
upon by the Government to uphold Clause (g) is
inapplicable because it did not consider the
effect of these 1960 amendments to the Suits in
Admiralty Act upon the government's claim of
sovereign immunity (based in that case, as here,
upon a permit clause). The government's dominant
navigational servitude, see United States v.
Virginia Electric Co., 365 U.S. 624, 627-628,
81 S.Ct. 784, 5 L.Ed.2d 838 (1961) similarly
does not immunize the government from liability
for negligent per ormance of a statutory duty.
Compare Greenleaf-Johnson Lumber Co. v. Garrison,
237 U.S. 251, 35 S.Ct. 551, 59 L.Ed. 939 (1915)
with Indian Towing Co. v. United States, 350
U.S. 61, 76 S.Ct. 122, 100 L.Ed. 48 (1955).

5. Order. Based upon the foregoing it is
hereby ORDERED that:

Defendant's Second Defense, based upon
Clause (g) in the 1965 permit, is dismissed.

* * *

A-4

APPENDIX B

Before MERRILL and CHOY, Circuit Judges,
and GRAY,* District Judge.

MERRILL, Circuit Judge:

The United States has taken this appeal from
judgment of the district court, 378 F.Supp. 297
(W.D. Wash. 1974), awarding the sum of $56,000
to Pacific Northwest Bell Telephone Company (Bell)
for damages suffered by a submarine telephone
cable on the bed of Lake Washington, a navigable
body of water near Seattle. The cable had been
placed in Lake Washington pursuant to a permit
issued by the United States Army Corps of Engi-
neers. It was fouled by the anchor of a buoy
placed there by the United States Coast Guard.
By regulation and by the language of the permit,
the United States is relieved of liability for
damage or injury caused by or resulting from oper-
ations undertaken by the United States for the
conservation and improvement of navigation.
The question presented by this appeal is whether
the regulation and language of the permit reliev-
ing the United States from liability are incon-
sistent with and invalidated by the waiver of
sovereign immunity provided by the Public Vessels
Act and the Suits in Admiralty Act. The district
court held the regulation and permit condition
to be invalid. We reverse. III

The Secretary of the Army has been given
authority generally to prescribe regulations
regarding navigable waters:

* Honorable William P. Gray, United States Dist-
rict Judge for the Central District of Califor-
nia, sitting by designation.

1. We thus find ourselves in agreement with the
result in Boston Edison Co. v. Great Lakes

Dredge & Dock For, 423 F.2d 691 (ist Cir.
1370)

A-5

“It shall be the duty of the Secretary
of the Army to prescribe such regulations
for the use, administration, and naviga-
tion of the navigable waters of the United
States as in his judgment the public
necessity may require for the protection
of life and property, or of operations of
the United States in channel improvement,
covering all matters not specifically
delegated by law to some other executive
department."

JJ U.S.C. § 1. By the Rivers and Harbors Act of
1899, 33 U.S.C. § 403, Congress among other things
expressly prohibited the creation of any obstruc-
tion to the navigable capacity of any of the
waters of the United States, unless the work has
first been recommended by the Chief of Engineers
and authorized by the Secretary of the Army.
In carrying out his delegated function of admin-
istering the laws enacted by Congress for the
protection of navigation and navigable waters,
the Secretary has issued a comprehensive set of
regulations, one portion of which sets forth
the requirements and conditions upon which ob-
structions may be placed and work may be per-
formed in the navigable waters of the United
States. 33 C.F.R. $§§ 209.110-209.335 (19740. [2]

The requisite authorization from the Sec-
retary of the Army is provided by a permit, 33
C.F.R. § 209.120 (1974), issued in the name of
the Secretary by appropriate officers of the
Army Corps of Engineers on such terms and condi-
tions as may be prescribed, and without which any
structure placed or work performed in the navi-
gable waters of the United States is unlawful.
33 U.S.C. § 403. The requirement for a permit
is applicable to submarine pipelines and cables

T Some of these regulations were modified
after the dates involved in this case.

References are to the regulations as they
exicted up to 1974,

A-6

which obstruct the navigable capacity of the
waterway where they are placed and interfere with
navigation by restricting the areas where vessels
may safely anchor. See 33 C.F.R. § 209.130(b)
(14) (1974).

Every permit for any kind of structure or
work in navigable waters is subject to a number
of standard conditions, 33 C.F.R. § 209.130(c)
(2) (1974), ome of which is that if future oper-
ations of the United States should require, or
if in the opinion of the Secretary of the Army
the structure or work should cause an unreasonable
obstruction to navigation, the owner shall remove
or alter the structure or work without expense
to the United States. 33 C.F.R. § 209.130(c)
(2)(vi) (1974).

On April 12, 1965, the Department of the Army
issued the permit authorizing Bell to lay a sub-
marine telephone cable in Lake Washington. The
permit was expressly made subject to the standard
conditions contained in the Army regulations.
The condition that bears directly on this case,
which is identical to one of the standard condi-
tions in the regulations (33 C.F.R. § 209.130(c)
(2)(wii) (1974)), is contained in clause (g) of
the permit issued to Bell. Clause (g) reads
as follows:

“That the United States shall in no
case be liable for any damage or injury
to the structure or work herein authorized
which may be caused by or result from
future operations undertaken by the Govern-
ment for the conservation or improvement
of navigation, or for other purposes, and
no claim or right to compensation shall
accrue from any such damage.”

The cable was laid and placed in operation
by Bell on or about May 1, 1965.

By 46 U.S.C. § 454, Congress authorized the
Commandant of the Coast Guard to issue regulations

A-7

to promote the safety of life on navigable waters
during regattas or marine parades. Among the
regulations so issued is one authorizing estab-
lishment of aids to navigation by the Coast Guard
to mark the course of such events. 33 C.F.R.
§ 62.01-35(a) (1974).

A regatta, called the Seafair Unlimited
Hydroplane Regatta, is conducted each year on
Lake Washington. The sponsors of the 1972 regatta
furnished the Coast Guard with a detailed survey
drawing of the area in Lake Washington where
the regatta was to be held and where buoys were
to be set. The drawing, however, did not show
the location of Bell's cable here involved. on
July 26, 1972, as the Coast Guard buoy tender,
FIR, was putting buoy c“ into place, the buoy's
anchor fouled Bell's submarine cable, causing the
damage that is the subject of this action.

The action was brought by Bell invoking the
admiralty and maritime jurisdiction of the federal
courts, and charging the United States with negli-
gence in issuing the Seafair chart, which had
not been revised to show Bell's cable area, and
charging the Coast Guard with negligence in
using such a chart, although an available current
chart did show the area and a local notice to
mariners had set forth its location. The United
States denied negligence and as an affirmative
defense alleged that Bell was precluded from
recovery by the terms of the very permit granting
it its cable rights in Lake Washington. Bell
moved for summary judgment, contending that clause
(g) of the permit was inconsistent with the waiver
of sovereign immunity set forth in the Public
Vessels Act, 46 U.S.C. 1781, 13] and the Suits

3. “A Libel in personam in admiralty may be
brought against the United States, or a peti-
tion impleading the United States, for damages
caused by a public vessel of the United
States, and for compensation for towage and
salvage services, including contract salvage,

A-8

in Admiralty Act, 46 U.S.C. $ 742.[4] The dist-
rict court agreed with Bell, found negligence per
se, and granted summary judgment.

[1,2] We cannot agree with the district
court in its view as to the effect of the waivers
set forth in the two Acts. They do grant federal
jurisdiction and constitute a consent by the
government to be sued, but they can hardly be
said to constitute a consent to judgment in all
cases. Liability remains to be proved in each
case. This is similar to the rule respecting
suits brought under the Federal Tort Claims Act.
That statute:

* „ „ confers jurisdiction to render
judgment upon * * * claims. But it does
not say that all claims must be allowed.
* „ „ Jurisdiction of the defendant now
exists where the defendant was immune from
suit before; it remains for courts, in
exercise of their jurisdiction, to deter-
mine whether any claim is recognizable in
law."

Feres v. United States, 340 U.S. 135, 140-41,
Ct. . . Ed. 152 (1940).

The Public Vessels Act and the Suits in
Admiralty Act do not purport to strip the

rendered to a public vessel of the United
States: Provided, That the cause of action
arose after the 6th day of April, 1920."

4. “In cases where if such vessel were privately
owned or operated, or if such cargo were
privately owned or possessed, or if a private
person or property were involved, a proceed-
ing in admiralty could de maintained, any
appropriate non jury proceeding in personas
may be brought against the United States or
against any corporation mentioned in section
741 of this title * .“

A-9

government of the power to control the rights of
persons to place obstructions to navigation in
navigable waters of the United States. In absence
of some more explicit indication of intent, the
power of the United States must be held to con-
tinue unimpaired to deny permits or, in granting
them, to impose conditions that are relevant to

the regulatory purpose.

The effect of the condition here imposed
is simply to place upon the permittee the risk
of damage to the permitted structure resulting
from activity of the United States that is under-
taken to meet its continuing obligations respect-
ing navigation. The condition is not, then,
an outright exercise of sovereign power for the
protection of the sovereign--such an exercise as
might be said to have been foregone by the waiver
of immunity. Rather, it is an aid to the carry-
ing out of special duties and responsibilities
imposed on the sovereign by law, and in that
respect deals with problems that the very grant
or permit would operate to create. It is Limited
in its scope to the area occupied by those respon-
siblities and those special problems. In our
judgment it is, then, rational and relevant to
the regulatory purpose and falls within the reg-

ulatory power.

This does not serve to place the United
States in a position more favorable than that
which a private person would occupy, contrary
to the intent traditionally attributed to pro-
visions for waiver of sovereign immunity. See
Johnson, Liability of the United States for Mari-
time Torts, . "
[sic]* The private person hypothesized in these
circumstances is the owner of land from whom an
easement is sought by one having no power to
compel a grant or demand passage. The question
is whether such a private person, in his power

* This citation should read 10 U.Rich.L.Rev.
527, 529 (1976).

A-10

to attach conditions to an easement he was not
otherwise obliged to grant, is less favored in
the law than the United States is here held to
be. We do not perceive that he is.

Finally, we note that holding clause (g)
to be unenforceable would do more than relieve
Bell of a condition it regards as improper. It
would, in effect, operate to render persons in-
competent to secure desired benefits by way of
contract, since they could no longer effectively
commit themselves to conditions they may be
entirely willing to assume in order to obtain
their permit. If such a result is to follow from
a waiver of sovereign immunity it should, in our
judgment, be by a more clear expression of legis-
lative intent.

We conclude that clause (g) is consistent
with the provisions of both the Public Vessels
Act and the Suits in Admiralty Act and is within
the delegated authority of the Secretary of the

Army. [5]

Summary judgment is reversed. The case is
remanded for further proceedings.

5. Appellant has also argued that the dominant
navigational servitude of the United States,
see United States v. Virginia Elec. & Power
Co., : -28, Ct. ;

United States v. Chica

L. Ed. 2d 838 (1961); .
Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pac. K. Co., U.S.

9 297, Ct. 9 L.Ed. 1064
(1941); Umited States v. Appalachian Elec.
Power Co., 8. " -24, 8. Ct.
. -Ed. 243 (1941), precludes recovery
by Bell in this case. Since we have found
that recovery is barred on other grounds we
need not reach this issue.

411
APPENDIX C

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED
33 USC § 1 in pertinent part:

It shall be the duty of the Secretary
of the Army to prescribe such regulations
for the use, administration, and navigation
of the navigable waters of the United
States as in his judgment the public neces-
sity may require for the protection of life
and property, or of operations of the
United States in channel improvement,
covering all matters not specifically dele-
gated by law to some other executive de-
partment... .

46 USC § 742 in pertinent part:

In cases where if such vessel were pri-
vately owned or operated, or if such cargo
were privately owned or possessed, or if
a private person or property were involved,
a proceeding in admiralty could be main-
tained, any appropriate non jury proceed-
ing in personam may be brought against
the United States or against any corpora-
tion mentioned in section 741 of this
t it le

46 USC § 746:

The United States or a corporation de-
scribed in section 741 of this title shall
be entitled to the benefits of all exemp-
tions and of all limitations of liability
accorded by law to the owners, charterers,
operators, or agents of vessels.

46 USC § 781:
A libel in personam in admiralty may be

brought against the United States, or a
petition impleading the United States for

46 USC

A-12

damages caused by a public vessel of the
United States, and for compensation for
towage and salvage services, including
contract salvage, rendered to a public
vessel of the United States: Provided,
That the cause of action arose after the
6th day of April, 1920.

§ 789:

The United States shall be entitled
to the benefits of all exemptions and of
all limitations of liability accorded by
law to the owners, charterers, operators
or agents of vessels.

33 C. F. K. § 209.130(c)(2)(vii) (1974), referred
to in this petition as "Clause (g)":

That the United States shall in no case
be liable for any damage or injury to the
structure or work herein authorized which
may be caused by or result from future
operations undertaken by the Government
for the conservation or improvement of
navigation, or for other purposes, and no
claim or right to compensation shall accrue
from any such damage.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1790%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
