# Opposition — Agosto v. Immigration & Naturalization Service

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1749%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 434 U.S. 901

## Text

No. 76-1410

In the Supreme Court of the United States

Octoper Term, 1977

Jose V. AGOSTO, PETITIONER
Vv.

IMMIGRATION AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT
IN OPPOSITION

Wape H. McCree, IX.
Solicitor General.

BENJAMIN R. CivILeTTi,
Assistant Attorney General,

Jerome M. Ftir.

Joun H. Burnes, IX.
Attorneys,
Department of Justice.
Washington, D.C. 20530.

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OcToBer Term, 1977

No. 76-1410
Joseru V. AGOSTO, PETITIONER
*.

IMMIGRATION AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT
IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. A) is
reported at 549 F. 2d 806.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
January 24, 1977. A petition for rehearing was denied on
March 23, 1977. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on April 12, 1977 (Pet. App. iti). The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 12541).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a genuine issue of material fact exists as to
petitioner's nationality that would entitle him to a de novo
hearing in the district court on this issue prior to deporta-
tion.

(1)

2

STATEMENT

1. In 1967, deportation proceedings were instituted
charging petitioner with entering the United States without
presenting himself for inspection as an alien, in violation of
Section 241(a\(2) of the Immigration and Nationality Act.
66 Stat. 204, as amended, 8 U.S.C. 1251(a)(2). At the
deportation hearing, petitioner claimed that he was a United
States citizen (Pet. 3-4). Petitioner did not present any
documentary evidence in support of his claim (Pet. App.
vii). Instead, he relied upon the testimony of three witnesses,
Mr. and Mrs. Pianetti, who had taken him from a foundling
home and raised him, and Carmen Ripolino, who claimed
to be his half brother (Pet. 4). These witnesses testified in
support of petitioner's contention that he was Joseph
Agosto, who was born in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1921.

On the other hand, the government's evidence estab-
lished that petitioner was a native and citizen of Italy,
who was born in Agrigento, Italy, on or about July 16,
1927. The government produced a copy of an entry in
the Registry of Births indicating that respondent was
born on July 17, 1927, to a woman who did not wish to be
named, and was sent to a foundling home in the custody
of a person who declared his birth before the registrar
(Pet. App. vi). Documents also show that he was placed
in an orphanage and baptized at the age of approximately
two days (ibid.), and that a month later he was entrusted
to the care of a couple, Pietro and Crocifissa Pianetti,
and was later “affiliated” by them—that is, a court order
was obtained allowing him to assume their surname
(ibid.).

In 1947, petitioner was convicted in Italy of impersonat-
ing a police officer and judge in connection with a scheme
concerning forged ration coupons, and was sentenced to
imprisonment (S.R. 121-122). Petitioner thereafter ob-
tained an Italian passport on which he falsely represented

2
9

3

himself to be an “industrial attorney” and left for Canada
under the name of Vincent Pianetti, leaving a wife and
children in Italy (S.R. 106-107, 191).

Around 1950, petitioner entered the United States from
Mexico after showing a birth certificate identifying him
as “Joseph V. Agosto,” born in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1921.
(S. R. 62, 69, 108, 113, 611). He subsequently obtained
other forms of identification, including several United
States passports (S.R. 69, 113). Since his arrival, peti-
tioner has used the name “Joseph V. Agosto” in all of
his affairs in this country, including two marriages and
a divorce. He was also convicted under that name of
assisting in the falsification of papers in support of loan
applications to the Federal Housing Administration, in
violation of 18 U.S.C. 1010 (S. R. 614-615).

Petitioner conceded that the Italian records relate to
him, but asserted that they were created in an eitort to
conceal the fact that his mother had given birth to him
out of wedlock (Pet. App. vi).

2. On the basis of these facts, the Immigration Judge
found petitioner deportable (S.R. 593-627). After care-
fully reviewing the evidence, the judge concluded that it
overwhelmingly refuted the possibility that petitioner
was Joseph Agosto, born in Cleveland, Ohio (S.R. 606-
609). The Board of Immigration Appeals affirmed the

‘Petitioner claimed that his uncle had sent him the birth certi-
ficate in 1948, but official records show that certificate was not
sued until December 31, 1951 (S. R. 607). This was several weeks
after a Joseph Agosto, who met the description on the birth certifi-
cate, died in petitioner's home town of Licata. Italy (S. R. 604).

"The Immigration Judge found petitioner deportable on the ad-
ditional ground that he was an alien who had been convicted of a
crime involving moral turpitude (S.R. 613) and denied petitioner
various forms of discretionary relief from deportation (S.R. 619-624).
Petitioner does not challenge those rulings here.

4

order of deportation, finding that the government had
proved petitioner's alienage by “clear, convincing, and
unequivocal” evidence (Pet, App. xi).

The court of appeals, with one judge dissenting, al-
firmed the decision of the Board of Immigration Appeals
and denied petitioner's request, under 8 U.S.C. Sata)
(5), to transfer the proceeding to district court for a de
novo hearing on his claim of citizenship. It held that the
evidence did not “disclose a colorable claim to United
States nationality * * *" (Pet. App. ii).

ARGUMENT

Pursuant to 8 U.S.C. Sagas), if a person seeking
review of an order of deportation, who claims to be a
national of the United States, “makes a showing that his
claim is not frivolous,” the court of appeals must, “where
a genuine issue of material fact as to the petitioner's
nationality is presented,” transfer the proceedings to a
United States District Court for a hearing de novo of
the nationality claim, See also Kessler v Strecker, 307
U.S. 22, 35; Ne Fung Ho v. White, 259 U.S. 276.

Petitioner contends that under this provision the court
of appeals should have transferred his case to the dis-
trict court. He argues that he has presented evidence
that, if believed, is sufficient to establish his American
citizenship, and that the court of appeals upheld the
deportation order only by improperly weighing and dis-
counting the credibility of his witnesses. He also alleges
that the decision below conflicts with those of other
circuits, by making the Ninth Circuit “the only court
which has denied transfer under the statute where the
administrative decision turned on the question of the
credibility of petitioner's witnesses” (Pet, 8-9).

5

Petitioner's fundamental error is that this case does
not urn] on * * the credibility of petitioner's witnes-
ses.” While there was dispute over the credibility of the
Pianettis and of Carmen Ripolino, and while the Board
of Immigration Appeals noted that the immigration judge
had found these witnesses not to be credible (Pet. App.
Vill), petitioner has not established a substantial, non-
frivolous claim of American citizenship even if the testi-
mony of his witnesses were credited. See Rassanv vy. /m-
migration and Naturalization Service, 377 f 2d 971, 972-
973(C.A. 7). As the Board of Immigration Appeals noted,
even accepting arguendo petitioner's evidence, in order
to conclude that petitioner is a United States citizen, it
would be necessary to believe (Pet. App. ix):

1) that the respondent's natural father was Salvatore
Agosto (Tr. pp. 305, 340); (2) that Salvatore Agosto
fathered a child born in 1921 in Cleveland, Ohio,
whose name was Joseph, or Giuseppe, Agosto (Es,
2 & 3), but that this child was not the respondent;
(3) that the respondent's mother gave birth to a son
in Akron, Ohio, in August of 1923 (Tr. p. 392), and
that the father of this child was Giacomo Ripolino
and not the father of the respondent (Tr. p. 395),
(4) that the respondent's mother next gave birth to
the respondent in August of 1924, one year later, in
Cleveland, Ohio (Tr. p. 514), (5) that she knew the
father of the respondent to be Salvatore Agosto
(see Tr. 305, 340) and named the respondent Joseph
or Joe Agosto, the same name that was given to an
earlier child of the respondent's father (Tr. p. 482);
(6) that the respondent's mother again began living
in the same household as Giacomo Ripolino, and
gave birth to a third son in Akron, Ohio, another
year later in September of 1925 (Exs. 60 & 61; Tr. p.

6

399); (7) that the respondent's mother had him bap-
tized in the United States (Tr. pp. 355-57), (8) that
the respondent, who can afford to send an investigator
to Italy to search records (Tr. pp. 425-26), has not
been able to produce a certificate of his United States
baptism, even though he ostensibly knows the name
under which he would have been baptized and the
general vicinity of Ohio in which the baptism likely
would have occurred.

On these facts, the court of appeals properly concluded
that “The evidence presented to the immigration judge
does not disclose a colorable claim to United States
nationality * * *" (Pet. App. ii). The veracity of peti-
tioner's witnesses was not a material fact relating to
petitioner's claim that he is a United States citizen. Since
the court of appeals did not evaluate “the credibility of
petitioner's witnesses”, its decision does not conflict with
those of other courts of appeals, which have held that an is-
sue of the credibility of a witness that is critical to a claim
of American citizenship must be determined de novo by
by the district court. See, eg. Pignatello \. Attorney
General, 350 F 2d 719, 723-724 (C.A. 2). The court of
appeals correctly refused to transfer this case to the
disirict court for a de novo hearing.

9

CONCLUSION

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the petition
for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Weit H McCree, Jr.,
Solicitor General.

BENJAMIN R Cent.
Assistant Attorney General.

Jerome M Fert,
Joun H. Burnes, Jr.,
Attorneys.

Avoust 1977,

D

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1749%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
