# Brief for Appellee — First Nat. Bank of Boston v. Bellotti

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1717%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for Appellee
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 435 U.S. 765

## Text

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1976
No. 76-1172

THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF BOSTON,
NEW ENGLAND MERCHANTS NATIONAL BANK,
THE GILLETTE COMPANY,

DIGITAL EQUIPMENT CORPORATION,

AND
WYMAN-GORDON COMPANY,
APPELLANTS,

0

FRANCIS X. BELLOTTI, Atrorney GeNneERAL,
APPELLEE.

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT
FOR THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Brief for the Appellee

Francis X. BeLLortt,
Attorney General
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Tuomas R. Kivey
STEPHEN SCHULTZ
Assistant Attorneys General
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
One Ashburton Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Attorneys for Appellee

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC. BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS.

Table of Contents

Preliminary statement
Summary of argument
Argument
I. The issues presented are non-justiciable be-
cause this case has become moot on appeal.

II. Corporations not in the business of com-
munications or speech do not have First
Amendment rights.

III. Even if, arguendo, corporations have First
Amendment rights, those rights are limited to
issues materially affecting the corporation's
business, profits or assets.

IV. Even if, arguendo, corporations have First
Amendment rights which are co-extensive with
those of natural persons, Mass. Gen. Laws
c. 55, § 8, is still constitutional.

A. The state has substantial interests in pre-
venting corporations from making contri-
butions or expenditures to influence the vote
on referendum and initiative issues.

1. Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, furthers
the significant governmental interest in
sustaining an active, alert role for the
individual citizen in the election process.

2. Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, furthers
the significant governmental interest in
sustaining the individual citizen's confi-
dence in government.

3. Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8's prohi-
bition on corporations spending the stock-

13

19

32

ii TABLE OF CONTENTS.

holders’ money for political purposes
furthers the significant governmental
interest in protecting stockholders who
may hold political views contrary to those
held by corporate management.

B. Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, avoids un-
necessary abridgement of First Amendment
rights.

V. The statutory provision prohibiting corpo-
rate contributions to affect the outcome of
questions relating solely to individual taxation
is not vague and contains no evidentiary
presumption.

VI. The equal protection clause of the Four-
teenth Amendment is not violated by a statute
prohibiting contributions to affect ballot
questions made by business corporations.

A. The character of the classification

B. The individual interests concerned

C. The government interests asserted in

support of the classification
Conclusion
Table of Authorities Cited
Cases

Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 45 U.S.L.W.

4473 (May 27,1977)
Abrams v. Van Schaick, 293 U.S. 188 (1934)
American Party v. White, 415 U.S. 767 (1974)

42

ess

S 3

ss

12n

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED. iii

Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (1974) 27
Asbury Hospital v. Cass County, 326 U.S. 207 (1945) 14
Ashwander v. TVA, 297 U.S. 288 (1936) 8
Associated Press v. National Labor Relations Board,
301 U.S. 103 (1937) 25
Bank of Augusta v. Earle, 38 U.S. (13 Peters) 519
(1839) 14
Bell v. Maryland, 378 U.S. 266 (1964) 15n, 16
Blake v. McClung, 172 U.S. 239 (1898) 14
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972) 24
Brockington v. Rhodes, 396 U.S. 41 (1969) 12n
Broderick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1973) 47
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) 20n, 21n, 27, 29,
30n, 31, 32 et seq.
Bullock v. Carter, 405 U.S. 134 (1972) 29
California Bankers Assoc. v. Schultz, 416 U.S. 21
(1974) 15n, 26
C.S.C. v. Letter Carriers, 413 U.S. 548 (1973) 29, 3ln,
32n, 35, 36n, 47
Colten v. Kentucky, 407 U.S. 104 (1972) 47
Cousins v. Wigoda, 419 U.S. 477 (1975) 30
Dartmouth College v. Woodward, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.)
518 (1819) 13, 23
D.D.B. Realty Corp. v. Merrill, 232 F. Supp. 629
(D. Vt. 1964) 22
DeFunis v. Odegaard, 416 U.S. 312 (1974) 8
Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972) 12, 29, 50
Fahey v. Mallonee, 332 U.S. 245 (1947) 27

First National Bank v. Attorney General, 362 Mass.
570, 290 N.E. 2d 526 (1972) 9, 10n, 33n

iv TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

Franks v. Bowman Transp. Co., Inc., 424 U.S. 747
(1976)

Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677 (1973)

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323 (1974)

Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399 (1969)

Golden v. Zwickler, 394 U.S. 103 (1969)

Grosjean v. American Press Co., 297 U.S. 233
(1936)

Hague v. Committee for Industrial Organization, 307
U.S. 496 (1939)

Hallmark Productions, Inc. v. Mosley, 190 F. 2d 904
(8th Cir. 1951)

Harper v. Virginia Board of Elections, 383 U.S. 663
(1966)

Hemphill v. Orloff, 277 U.S. 537 (1928)

Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117 (1945)

Hynes v. Mayor of Oradell, 425 U.S. 610 (1976)
Jenness v. Fortson, 403 U.S. 431 (1971)

Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. Clark, 177
F. 2d 79 (D.C. Cir. 1949), rev'd, 341 U.S. 123
(1951)

Joseph Burstyn, Inc. v. Wilson, 343 U.S. 495 (1952)

Kingsley International Pictures Corp. v. Regents, 360
U.S. 684 (1959)

Leary v. United States, 395 U.S. 6 (1969)
Levy v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 68 (1968)

Liberty Warehouse Co. v. Burley Tobacco Growers’
Co-operative Marketing Assoc., 276 U.S. 71 (1928)

Liggett Co. v. Lee, 288 U.S. 517 (1933)

14
51

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED. v
Lincoln Federal Labor Union v. Northwestern Iron

& Metal Co., 335 U.S. 525 (1949) 26
Liner v. Jafeo, Inc., 375 U.S. 301 (1964) 7
Linmark Associates, Inc. v. Township of Willingboro,

45 U.S.L.W. 444) (May 2, 1977) 17, 18
Lorain Journal Co. v. United States, 342 U.S. 143

(195i) 26
Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967) 5ln
Lustwerk v. Lytron, Inc., 344 Mass. 647, 183 N.E.

2d 871 (1962) 9, 10n

MeGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961)
Mexican-American Federation — Washington State

v. Naff, 299 F. Supp. 587 (E.D. Wash. 1969) 22
Moore v. Ogilvie, 394 U.S. 814 (1969) 12n
NAACP vy. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963) 17, 52
National Labor Relations Board v. Virginia Electric

& Power Co., 314 U.S. 469 (1941) 26
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254

(1964) 16n
Paul v. Virginia, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 168 (1868) 14
Pennekamp v. Florida, 328 U.S. 331 (1946) 16n
Pennsylvania Railroad Co. v. St. Louis, etc., Rail-

road Co., 118 U.S. 290 /\86) 23
People v. Gansley, 158 N.W. 195 (Mich. 1916) 24, 25
Pierce v. Society of Sisters of Holy Name, 268 U.S.

510 (1925) 21, 22
Police Dept. of Chicago v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92

(1972) 52
Prudential Insurance Co. of America v. Cheek, 259

U.S. 530 (1922) 23

CW

vi TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.
Railway Express Agency, inc. v. New York, 336 U.S.

106 (1949) 55
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) 8, 12

Rosario v. Rockefeller, 410 U.S. 752 (1973) 12n, 29, 42
San Antonio Independent School District v. Rodri-

guez, 411 U.S. 1 (1973) 51, 52
Schwartz v. Romnes, 357 F. Supp. 30 (S.D. N.Y.

1973), rev'd, 495 F. 2d 844 (2d Cir. 1974) 41
Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. 566 (1974) 47n, 49
Sosna v. lowa, 419 U.S. 393 (1975) 8
Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad, 420 U.S.

546 (1975) 30n
Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. ICC, 219 U.S.

498 (1911) 8
Sproles v. Binford, 286 U.S. 374 (1932) 55
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969) 18
Steffel v. Thompson, 415 U.S. 452 (1974) 7,8
Storer v. Brown, 415 U.S. 724 (1974) 12n
Sugarman v. Dougall, 413 U.S. 634 (1973) 5ln
Thomas v. Railroad Co., 101 U.S. 71 (1879) 23
Time, Inc. v. Hill, 385 U.S. 374 (1967) 16n
United States v. Boyle, 482 F. 2d 755 (D.C. Cir.

1973) 44

United States v. Chestnut, 394 F. Supp. 581 (S.D.
N.Y. 1975), affd, 533 F. 2d 40 (2d Cir. 1976),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 829 (1976) 42,43
United States v. Chestnut, 533 F. 2d 40 (2d Cir.
1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 829 (1976) 41

United States v. Maryland Savings-Share Insurance
Corp., 400 U.S. 4 (1970) 55

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED. vii

United States v. Morton Salt Co., 338 U.S. 632
(1950) 15n, 26, 36
United States v. Petrillo, 332 U.S. 1 (1947) 55

United States v. Pipefitters Local Union No. 562, 434
F. 2d 1116 (8th Cir. 1970), rev'd, 407 U.S. 385

(1972) 40
United States v. United Auto Workers, 352 U.S. 567

(1957) 34
United States v. United States Brewers’ Association,

239 Fed. 163 (W.D. Pa. 1916) 34
United States v. White, 322 U.S. 694 (1944) 15n
Virginia State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens

Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748 (1976) 18
Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147 (1975) 8, 10
Williams v. Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23 (1968) 29
Wilson v. United States, 221 U.S. 361 (1911) 15n
Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356 (1886) 34
Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971) 30

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
United States Constitution

Article III 3, 7, 11
First Amendment 3, 4, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18 et seq.
Fifth Amendment 15
Fourteenth Amendment 4, 19, 21, 49, 50, 56

Federal Corrupt Practices Act, 2 U.S.C. § 441 (b) 32n
Ala. Code Tit. 17, § 286 (1976) 32n
Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 16-471(a) (1976) 32n
Ark. Stat. Ann. § 3-110 (Supp. 1975) 32n

viii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

Del. Code Tit. 15, § 8004(a) (Supp» 1974)

Fla. Stat. Ann. § 106.08(1) (Supp. 1975)

Ind. Code Ann. § 3-4-3-3 (Supp. 1975)

lowa Code Ann. § 56.29 (Supp. 1976)

Kan. Stat. § 25-1709 (1975)

Ky. Rev. Stat. §§ 121.025, 121.035 (Supp. 1976)
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 18:1482, 1483 (1976)

Me. Rev. Stat. Tit. 21, §§ 1395.2, 1395.3 (Supp.
1976)

Md. Ann. Code § 226-9 (b) (Supp. 1976)

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. c. 55, § 8 (Supp. 1976) 2, 3,
4, 5, 6, 7, 8n et seq.

PR BERR EEF

R

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. c. 155, § 3
Mass. St. 1975, c. 151 lln
Minn. Stat. Ann. § 210A.34 (Supp. 1973)
Mo. Ann. Stat. § 130.020.5 (Supp. 1976)

Mont. Rev. Codes Ann. §§ 23-4795(1), 23-4744
(Supp. 1972)

32n
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 70:2 (1) (Supp. 1972) 32n
N.J. Rev. Stat. §§ 19:34-35 (Supp. 1976) 32n
N.Y. Election Law § 480 (McKinney Supp. 1972) 32n

N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 163-278.14, 163-278.19 (Supp.
1975)

N.D. Cent. Code § 16-20-08 (1975)

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3599.03 (Supp. 1972) 33n

Okla. Stat. Tit. 26, § 15-110 (1975) 33n

Or. Rev. Stat. § 260.472 (1971) 33n
33n
33n

PE

Pa. Stat. Ann. Tit. 25, § 3225(b) (1977)
$.D. Compiled Laws Ann. § 12-25-2 (1969)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED. ix

Tenn. Code Ann. § 2-1932 (Supp. 1976) 33n
Tex. Civ. Code Ann. Art. 14.06 (1977) 33n
W. Va. Code § 3-8-8 (1975) 33n
Wisc. Stat. Ann. § 11.38(1)(a)(1) (Supp. 1977) 33n
Wyo. Stat. § 22.1-389(c) and (d) (Supp. 1976) 33n

OTHER AUTHORITIES

I. Brant, James Madison: The Nationalist (1948) 39, 44
‘45-47 CCH Dec. $75,502 (Jan. 3, 1945) 24n
Comment, “The Constitutionality of the Federal Ban

on Corporations and Union Campaign Contri-

butions and Expenditures,” 42 U. of Chicago L.
Rev. 148 (1974) 45

93 Cong. Rec. 6438 (1947) 40

Hearings before the House Committee on the Election
of the President, 59th Cong., Ist Sess. 76; 40

Cong. Rec. 96 39, 40
H. Henn, The Law of Corporations (1970) 13n
I Journal of the Senate, 1409-1412 (1975) 1]
Note, “Corporate Political Affairs Programs,” 70 Yale

L.J. 821 (1961) 14, 38n, 44
Rauh, “Legality of Union Political Expenditures,” 34

S. Cal. L. Rev. 152 (1961) 52n
Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States,

Rule 40(3) l
S.E.C. Reg. § 240.14a-8 24n

State of California Fair Political Practices Com-
mission, “Campaign Contribution and Spending
Report,” March 14, 1977 55n

x TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

Wolfinger and Greenstein, “The Repeal of Fair
Housing in California: An Analysis of Referendum
Voting,” 62 Am. Pol. Sci. Rev. 753 (1968)

35, 36

In the
| Supreme Court of the United States

Octroser Term, 1976
No. 76-1172

| THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF BOSTON,

NEW ENGLAND MERCHANTS NATIONAL BANK,
THE GILLETTE COMPANY,
DIGITAL EQUIPMENT CORPORATION,
AND
WYMAN-GORDON COMPANY,
APPELLANTS,
©

FRANCIS X. BELLOTTI, Atrorney Generac,
APPELLEE.

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT
FOR THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Brief for the Appellee

Preliminary Statement

In accordance with the provisions of Rule 40(3) and
except as noted in this preliminary statement, the Attorney

| General of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts accepts the

Appellants’ reference to opinions below, statement of juris-
diction, reference to the statute involved, statement of issues

2

presented and statement of the case. The Attorney General
states, however, that the jurisdiction of this Court has been
improperly invoked (a) because the case has become moot
on appeal and (b) because the Appellants seek review of
certain questions of state and federal law not properly
before this Court on appeal. More specifically, the Attor-
ney General asserts that questions pertaining to the vague-
ness of the first sentence of Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8,
may not be raised on appeal.

For the convenience of the court, Appellee utilizes the
same form of citation to the record as the Appellants.
Citations to the Appendix to the Jurisdictional Statement
appear as “J.S. App. ___” and citations to the Appendix

simply as “App. ___”’.

Summary of Argument
I.

Appellee’s first argument is jurisdictional in nature. The
particular controversy between the parties to this appeal
expired when the 1976 general election passed and the
Appellants had not contributed money to oppose the
graduated income tax question. The case became moot at
that time, unless it is “capable of repetition, yet evading
review.” This appeal is not within the narrow range of
cases which trigger that exception to the doctrine of
mootness because (a) if the issues presented do again recur,
it will be in an entirely different context permitting review
on a concrete factual record, and (b) the time frame during
which the statutory proscription against corporate campaign
contributions actually operated was not too short to permit

3

adequate review. Delay in bringing this case before this
Court is a function of the trial strategy of the Appellants
and not a consequence of the operation of natural or
man-made laws. Appellants cannot remove themselves
from the operation of Article III of the United States
Constitution merely because that strategy backfired.

Il.

Corporations not in the business of communications or
speech do not have First Amendment rights. First Amend-
ment rights, encompassing the freedom of unfettered
thought, opinion and speech, are peculiarly personal in
nature. This Court has repeatedly found that corporations,
as artificial entities, do not enjoy other peculiarly personal
rights guaranteed to their owners and managers by other
provisions of the Constitution. Only corporations in
communications or speech-related businesses have been
found to have First Amendment rights; and, in these cases,
the fact that the party was a corporation was incidental to
the questions before the Court.

As the court below found, the “right to hear” is not
involved in this case, and unlike a ban on advertising, Mass.
Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, does not deprive the public from
receiving any information.

ITI.

Even if, arguendo, corporations have First Amendment
rights, those rights are limited to issues materially affecting
the corporation’s business, profits or assets. Appellants’
First Amendment claims stem from the due process of law

4

clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. While the due
process clause may protect the property interests of a
corporation, the liberty guaranteed by the due process
clause is the liberty of natural, not artificial, persons.

A corporation’s powers, purposes and property interests
are determined by the State. A corporation’s property
interests are necessarily limited by its corporate charter.
Having voluntarily accepted the benefits that go with the
corporate form, corporations must also accept the restric-
tions placed on their purposes and the use of their funds
largely accumulated because of the privileges granted by the
State.

Appellants claim that at a minimum the First Amend-
ment should be held to protect corporate speech where
corporations “believe” their material interests to be affected.
However, a balancing of interests, and not a speaker's
belief, determines whether speech is protected by the First
Amendment.

IV.

Even if, arguendo, corporations have First Amendment
rights which are co-extensive with those of natural persons,
Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, is still constitutional. Be-
cause Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, permits corporate
managers and even corporations to express their political
views in many different forms and forums, the statute has
only an incidental effect on corporate and corporate
managers speech.

On the other hand, the statute furthers several significant
state interests. First, by freeing elections from possible
corporate interference, the statute furthers the state's
interest in sustaining an active, alert role for the individual

5

citizen in the election process. This interest is particularly
significant in initiatives and referenda, which are the purest
form of democracy, introduced as a method for giving
individual citizens the last say on particular legislative
matters. Second, by preventing corporations from using
their influence gained through governmental privileges, the
statute furthers the state’s interest in sustaining the indi-
vidual citizen’s confidence in government. Third, by
prohibiting corporations from spending stockholders’ money
for political purposes, the statute furthers the state’s interest
in preventing stockholders from being compelled to furnish
contributions for the propagation of political opinions in
which they do not believe. Other schemes to protect
shareholder rights, such as requiring a majority vote of
shareholders for political expenditures or notification to the
shareholders, would not effectively protect minority interests
that would still be disregarded.

V.

The provision of Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, which was
applicable to the Appellants’ proposed course of action is
not vague and contains no evidentiary presumptions. The
statute creates two separate but related crimes. The first is
general in nature and prohibits certain corporations from
making contributions or expenditures to oppose ballot
questions which will not “materially affect” their business,
property or assets. The second crime is specific in nature
and prevents corporate contributions to oppose ballot
questions dealing solely with the taxation of individuals.
The Appellants brought this litigation because they wanted
to follow the course of conduct interdicted by the second
crime, but material effect is not an element of that offense.

Hence questions as to the vagueness of the phrase “ma-
terially affecting” or the existence of an evidentiary
presumption alleviating the Commonwealth’s assumed
burden of proving a material effect are simply not
presented. In any event, the legislative and judicial history
of the statute indicates, and the Appellants concede, that
the second crime was “tailor-made” to prohibit corporate
campaign contributions to oppose a graduated income tax
amendment. There is no doubt that the statute afforded
Appellants fair notice that such contributions were pro-
scribed.

VI.

By prohibiting contributions by business corporations, but
not other artificial entities organized for business purposes,
Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, does not deny business
corporations equal protection of the laws. The classifica-
tion implicit in the statutory scheme is based on economic
differences which make it more likely that corporate
contributions, as opposed to contributions by other artificial
entities, will undermine the role of the individual voter in
the initiative and referendum process and will result in
diminution of the political rights of individual stockholders.
These factors justify restrictions on business corporations
that may not legitimately be applied to other organizations.
Even if restrictions could be constitutionally imposed on
these other organizations, however, the equal protection
clause does not mandate the conclusion that the Common-
wealth must proscribe all contributions by unnatural
persons or none at all.

7
Argument

I. Te Issues PresENTED ARE NON-JUSTICIABLE BECAUSE
Tuts Case Has Become Moot ON APPEAL.

The specific dispute which spawned this appeal is over.
In November of 1976 the voters of the Commonwealth once
again rejected a proposed graduated income tax amendment
to the Massachusetts Constitution. J.S. App. 4, n. 6. The
Appellants, all Massachusetts corporations which had
expressed a desire to make political contributions or ex-
penditures to oppose the amendment and who unsuccess-
fully appeared before the Supreme Judicial Court to
challenge the Commonwealth’s right to restrict their activi-
ties, refrained from contributing or expending corporate
funds to express their opposition. Whatever the outcome of
this appeal, there can be no future enforcement efforts as a
result of the facts underlying this case because there has
been no violation of Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8. Under
these circumstances the case has become moot on appeal.

The rule against deciding moot cases is not discretionary;
it is a rule of constitutional dimension having its roots in
Article III of the United States Constitution. See, e.g.,
Liner v. Jafco, Inc., 375 U.S. 301, 306 (1964). To the
extent that the rule “defines constitutionally minimal condi-
tions for the invocation of federal judicial power, its
meaning and scope ... must be derived from the funde-
mental policies informing the ‘cases or controversies’ limita-
tion imposed by Art. III.” Franks v. Bowman Transp.
Co., Inc., 424 U.S. 747, 754 (1976). The “cases and
controversies” limitation is a jurisdictional prerequisite to
the exercise of federal judicial power and requires that “an
actual controversy must be extant at all stages of review,
not merely at the time the complaint is filed.” Steffel v.

Thompson, 415 U.S. 452, 459, n. 10 (1974), citing Roe v.
Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 125 (1973). A “rigid insistence” on
this requirement is particularly important here, because a
major constitutional issue is presented on a less than optimal
record. Ashwander v. TVA, 297 U.S. 288, 347 (1936)
(Brandeis, J., concurring).

Ordinarily the current controversy requirement is not
met, and a case becomes moot on appeal, whenever the
party claiming to be aggrieved ceases to have a personal
stake in its outcome. See, DeFunis v. Odegaard, 416 U.S.
312 (1974). The Appellants in this case seek to avoid the
consequences of mootness by invoking the “capable of repe-
tition, yet evading review” exception to the doctrine.
Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. ICC, 219 U.S. 498, 515
(1911). The exception is of no avail to the Appellants.

The instant case was not commenced as a class action,
App. 3-9, a factor which “significantly affects the mootness
determination.” Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U.S. 393, 399 (1975).
In the absence of a class action, the “capable of repetition,
yet evading review” exception was limited by the decision in
Sasna to situations “where two elements combined: (1) the
challenged action was in its duration too short to be fully
litigated prior to its cessation or expiration, and (2) there
was a reasonable expectation that the same complaining
party would be subjected to the same action again.”
Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147, 149 (1975). Neither
of these elements is present in this case.

Whether or not the same controversy will recur is a
matter of sheer speculation.' The Appellants argue with

‘This Court is asked to speculate in another significant regard. The
judgment of the Supreme Judicial Court effectively constituted a refusal
to preclude institution of criminal proceedings against corporations for
making contributions violative of Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8. Ap-
pellants ask this Court to conclude that if such proceedings had been

assurance that the issues will arise again because, in their
view, a graduated income tax amendment will inevitably
again be placed on the Massachusetts ballot. In the past,
graduated income tax amendments in one form or another
have repeatedly been placed before the voters of the
Commonwealth, who have just as consistently rejected
them. Appellants’ Brief, 20, n. 5. The 1976 election
marked the first time, however, that corporate contribu-
tions to oppose the amendment had been effectively fore-
closed. See, First National Bank v. Attorney General, 362
Mass. 570, 290 N.E. 2d 526 (1972) (hereinafter referred to
as FNBI); Lustwerk v. Lytron, Inc., 344 Mass. 647, 183
N.E. 2d 871 (1962). In light of the defeat of the amend-
ment at this last election, it is doubtful whether it will
again be placed on the ballot. In any event, this is not
the kind of election issue which will necessarily recur at
regular intervals, as questions pertaining to nomination of
candidates or eligibility to vote will. On the contrary, an
affirmative vote of two consecutive sessions of the General
Court must precede placing the amendment on the ballot.
While past history may be instructive in this regard, it
simply cannot be conclusively presumed that the legislature
will take that action.

Moreover, if a similar controversy does arise between
these parties in the future, it will presumably be litigated in
a different manner.’

commenced, they would have operated to deprive corporations of
asserted constitutional rights. This is a matter of conjecture which does
not present a substantial federal question. See, Abrams v. Van Schaick,
293 U.S. 188 (1934).

*In fact the history on which Appellants rely for the assertion that the
same controversy will recur belies their conclusion. The history of the
graduated income tax amendments is evolutionary. Both the text of the

10

Given the holding of the lower court, corporations would
stand little chance of successfully instituting an action for
declaratory judgment if they submitted their case on an
agreed statement of facts and merely argued from those
facts. Realistically, the issues presented by this appeal can
only recur either by way of criminal prosecution or after a
civil trial to determine the merits of the corporate claim.
Appellants’ Brief, 32. Thus, while the issues presented may
be capable of repetition, presumably they will reappear
before this Court not in the “same action” as that term is
used in Weinstein v. Bradford, supra, but in an entirely
different context and on a more concrete factual record.
Assuming, arguendo, that there is a reasonable probabili-
ty that the issues presented will arise again between the
parties to this appeal, this matter still does not fall within
the narrow range of cases which are capable of repetition,
yet evading review. That exception to the mootness
doctrine is triggered only where the action, order or statute
challenged operated during a time period so short that it
was virtually impossible fully to litigate its validity. Ap-
pellants seek to have this Court determine the question of
mootness not on the basis of what actually happened in the
underlying litigation, but on the basis of what may happen

in similar cases brought in years to come. Appellants’

Brief, 22-23. They argue not that the proscription against
corporations operated in this case in a time frame too short

for complete adjudication, but that in the future case back-
logs in the trial courts of the Commonwealth may effective-
ly preclude appellate review. Their prospective examina-

amendments submitted to the voters and the form of corporate challenges
to a restriction on their contributions have constantly changed. See,

FNBI; Lustwerk v. Lytron, Inc., supra. If the issues are litigated again,
history suggests it will not be in the same fashion.

ll

tion of this element of the “capable of repetition, yet
evading review” exception is totally inconsistent with the
cases or controversies requirement of Article II] which
informs mootness analysis. Franks v. Bowman . Transp.
Co., Inc., supra. Unless this Court is prepared to issue an
advisory opinion on supposed facts, inquiry into the time
frame available for review must be confined to an examina-
tion of the actual course of this litigation.

It is not surprising that Appellants argue from hypo-
thetical facts, because it was their actual treatment of this
case which made appellate review impossible. They could
have brought suit to challenge Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8,
as early as May 7, 1975. On that date the Massachusetts
General Court took the final legislative action necessary to
place the graduated income tax amendment on the Novem-
ber 1976 ballot. I Journal of the Senate, 1409-1412 (1975).
At that time the 1975 amendment to Mass. Gen. Laws
c. 55, § 8, was fully effective.’ As the Supreme Judicial
Court noted in its decision, the Appellants had complete
control over the commencement of their litigation and could
have sought declaratory relief in the spring of 1975, nearly
eighteen months prior to the election. App. 15, n. 15.
Instead, they waited nearly a year and filed a complaint on
April 9, 1976. App. 1, 2. By choosing to file at that late
date, Appellants not only prevented a full trial proceeding
but precluded any meaningful opportunity to seek review
by this Court. If the suit had begun in May of 1975 and
proceeded through all stages at exactly the same pace as this
litigation, it could have been submitted to this Court while
the controversy was a current one. Thus the limited period
for review in this case is a direct consequence of the
Appellants’ trial strategy and is not a result of the operation

*St. 1975, c. 151, became effective on April 28, 1975.

12

of natural or man-made laws. Contrast, Roe v. Wade, 410
U.S. 113 (1973); Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972).

Appellants should not be extricated from their plight
simply by characterizing this as an election case. This
Court has not established a unique rule for election matters.
Certainly the “capable of repetition, yet evading review”
exception has been invoked in the past to assume jurisdic-
tion after the relevant election has passed,‘ but the Court
has also sustained mootness claims in such cases. The
Court has rejected a talismanic invocation of the election
process with its obvious time constraints and has instead
analyzed each case on its own merits.

Finally, this is not a typical election case presenting
questions about the constitutionality of nominating pro-
cedures or voter qualifications which will necessarily recur
every two or four years and which implicate the ability of
classes of citizens to participate in a democratic election
process. The public policy arguments which militate in
favor of deciding such cases are totally lacking here, where
the difficulty of obtaining appellate review was caused by
the Appellants’ own delay in bringing suit and where a
ruling by this Court will have no direct impact on the
elective process. Based on the foregoing analysis, this Court
should dismiss this appeal for lack of jurisdiction.

*American Party v. White, 415 U.S. 767 (1974); Storer v. Brown, 415
U.S. 724 (1974); Rosario v. Rockefeller, 410 U.S. 752 (1973); Dunn v.
B'umstein, supra; Moore v. Ogilvie, 394 U.S. 814 (1969).

‘Brockington v. Rhodes, 396 U.S. 41 (1969); Golden v. Zwickler, 394
U.S. 193 (1969).

13

Il. Corporations Not IN Tue Business Or CoMMUNICA-
TIONS Or SpeecH Do Nor Have First AMENDMENT RiGHTs.

Appellants contend that Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, is
unconstitutional as a violation of freedom of expression.
However, Appellants, as corporations not in the business of
communications or speech, do not have First Amendment
rights.

Corporations are artificial entities. They are legal
fictions created as a convenient way to do business which
exist for the benefit of the entire economy. As this Court
noted in Dartmouth College v. Woodward, 17 U.S. (4
Wheat.) 518, 636 (1819):

A corporation is an artificial being, invisible,
intangible, and existing only in contemplation of law.
Being the mere creature of law, it possesses oniy those
properties which the charter of its creation confers
upon it, either expressly, or as incidental to its very
existence.

One of the most important characteristics of a corpora-
tion is that it divorces its human owners and managers from
the corporate entity.* Corporations cannot have opinions.

In fact, because of the dispersion of stock ownership and
shareholder apathy, opinions purportedly expressed on

*Harry Henn in The Law of Corporations 110 (1970) lists the six
major attributes of the modern corporation. At least four of these attri-
butes [(1) the power to contract and to take, hold, and convey property
in the corporate name; (2) the power to sue and to be sued in the
corporate name; (3) perpetual succession; and (4) limited liability) can
at least in part be attributed to the desire to keep the corporate entity
separate from its human owners and managers.

14

behalf of a corporation tend to be the personal opinions of
its management. Note, “Corporate Political Affairs Pro-
grams,” 70 Yale L.J. 821, 833 (1961). Mass. Gen. Laws
c. 55, § 8, does not prohibit corporate managers from
expressing their opinions. Rather, it prohibits corporate
managers from using the corporate treasury to express their
personal views on election issues not materially affecting the
corporation.

This Court has never decided whether corporations enjoy
First Amendment rights entitling them to express their
opinions on electoral issues. However, this Court has
repeatedly found that corporations do not enjoy other
peculiarly personal rights guaranteed to their owners and
managers by other constitutional provisions. The logic of
these cases is totally applicable to the instant case.

In Bank of Augusta v. Earle, 38 U.S. (13 Peters) 519, 536
(1839), this Court declared that corporations did not enjoy
the privileges and immunities of citizens. The Court noted
that a corporation is an “artificial being created by the
charter,” and “[t}he only rights it can claim are the rights
which are given to it in that character, and not the rights
which belong to its members as citizens of a state.” 38 U.S.
at 587. In Paul v. Virginia, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 168, 177
(1868), this Court observed that the term “citizen” as found
in the privileges and immunities clause “applies only to
natural persons .. ., owing allegiance to the State.” See
also, Blake v. McClung, 172 U.S. 239 (1898); Liberty
Warehouse Co. v. Burley Tobacco Growers’ Co-operative
Marketing Assoc., 276 U.S. 71 (1928); Hemphill v. Orloff,
277 U.S. 537 (1928); and Asbury Hospital v. Cass County,
326 U.S. 207 (1945), for later cases declaring that corpora-
tions do not enjoy the rights of citizens guaranteed by
the privileges and immunities clause.

15

This Court has also held that corporations cannot claim
the Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination,’
equality with individuals in the enjoyment of a right to
privacy,* or even freedom of association.’ In each instance
the Court has differentiated between rights belonging to
individuals and those pertaining to corporations, con-
sistently refusing to permit corporations to exercise the
personal rights guaranteed to their management. In the
context of corporate freedom of association claims in sit-in
cases, Justice Douglas asked:

So far as the corporate owner is concerned, what
constitutional right is vindicated? It is said that
ownership of property carries the right to use it in
association with such people as the owner chooses.
The corporate owners in these cases — the stockholders
— are unidentified members of the public at large,
who probably never saw these petitioners, who may
never have frequented these restaurants. What
personal rights of theirs would be vindicated by af-
firmance? .. .

Who, in this situation, is the corporation? Whose
racial prejudices are reflected in “its” decision to refuse
service to Negroes? The racial prejudices of the
manager? Of the stockholders? Of the board of
directors? ...

"United States v. White, 322 U.S. 694, 699 (1944); Wilson v. United
States, 221 U.S. 361, 382-86 (1911).

*California Bankers Assoc. v. Schultz, 416 U.S. 21 (1974); United
States v. Morton Salt Co., 338 U.S. 632, 651 (1950).

*Bell v. Maryland, 378 U.S. 226 (1964).

16

[H Jow is a “personal” right infringed when a corporate
chain store, for example, is forced to open its lunch
counters to people of all races? How can that so-called
right be elevated to a constitutional level? How is that
corporate right more “personal” than the right against
self-incrimination? Bell v. Maryland, 378 U.S. 226,
‘ (1964) (Douglas, J., concurring).

In at least two lower court cases, courts have concluded
that corporations do not enjoy the right to freedom of
speech or association. Joint Anti-Fascist Refuge Committee
v. Clark, 177 F. 2d 79, 83 (D.C. Cir. 1949), rev'd on other
grounds, 341 U.S. 123 (1951); Hallmark Productions, Inc.
v. Mosley, 190 F. 2d 904, 909 (8th Cir. 1951).

Appellants in their Brief, at 37, 39, make no attempt to
distinguish the cases cited in this section of Appellee’s Brief,
or to explain why the right to freedom of speech is not a
personal right. Rather, they have cited cases which pur-
portedly stand for the proposition that corporations do
enjoy First Amendment rights. None of the cases cited in
Appellants’ Brief make any such flat assertion.

All but two of the cases cited by Appellants involve
corporations or individuals involved in the communications
business." They do not declare that corporations per se

"Grosjean v. American Press Co., 297 U.S. 233 (1936), involved a
license fee imposed directly on newspapers. In Joseph Burstyn, Inc. v.
Wilson, 343 U.S. 495 (1952), and Kingsley International Pictures Corp.
v. Regents, 360 U.S. 684 (1959), the corporations were engaged in the
business of distributing motion pictures. A newspaper was the de-
fendant corporation in New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254
(1964). Pennekamp v. Florida, 328 U.S. 331 (1946), was a contempt
action against a newspaper publisher and editor and did not even
directly involve a corporation. Time, Inc. v. Hill, 385 U.S. 374 (1967),
was a libel and right to privacy action against a national magazine.

17

have First Amendment rights, but merely recognize that
natural persons retain their First Amendment rights even
though they publish or distribute their views under
corporate auspices. None of these cases raised the question
of the propriety of corporate managers spending stock-
holder funds for purposes unrelated to the corporation’s
charter. Instead, in all of these cases, the fact that a party
was a corporation was incidental to the questions before the
court.

Appellants cite only two cases involving corporations not
in the communications business to support the proposition
that corporations per se have First Amendment rights.
Appellants’ Brief, 37. In NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415
(1963), this Court declared Virginia’s ban on certain forms
of solicitation of legal business unconstitutional. The Court
did not find that all corporations have First Amendment
rights, but, rather, quite carefully stated that the NAACP,
although a corporation, could assert First Amendment rights
on its own behalf expressly because “it is directly engaged in
those activities [protected by the First and Fourteenth
Amendments].” 371 U.S. at 428.

Finally, Appellants have cited the case of Linmark
Associates, Inc. v. Township of Willingboro, 45 U.S.L.W.
4441 (May 2, 1977), where this Court struck down a ban on
placing “For Sale” signs in front of people’s homes. How-
ever, in Linmark there was no discussion of a corporation's
right to bring the action, and, in fact, the case involved a
non-corporate as well as a corporate petitioner. Of more
importance, this Court did not find that corporations have
First Amendment rights, but, rather, that the Township's
ban affected the interest of other members of the
community in receiving the information. Despite Appel-
lants’ repeated attempts to characterize this case as one

18

involving “the right to hear,” this issue simply is not
involved given the facts and parties in this case.

Appellants correctly note that “(t]he court below never
once alluded to the right of the people to hear, although
this point was stressed throughout plaintiffs presenta-
tion .. .” Appellants’ Brief, 43. The court below realized
that “the right to hear” is not involved in this case. The
public’s interest in receiving information is one of the
important interests embodied in the First Amendment.
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557, 564 (1969). This does
not mean, however, that a party with no First Amendment
rights can invoke these interests. One of the reasons for
granting parties First Amendment rights was so that others
could hear what they had to say. However, if it should be
determined that the corporations in this case do not have the
First Amendment rights they are seeking, it does not matter
that one of the interests that would be embodied in their
rights (if they had them) would be the interests of the other
people to hear what they have to say. Furthermore, unlike
a ban on advertising, Virginia State Board of Pharmacy v.
Virginia Citizens Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748
(1976), or a ban on “For Sale” signs, Linmark Associates,
Inc. v. Township of Willingboro, 45 U.S.L.W. 4441
(May 2, 1977), which effectively close off the public’s ability
to obtain certain information, Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8,
effects no such ban. Instead, the law simply forbids
corporate managers from spending corporate money to
express their personal views. Because the corporate
managers are free to express their opinions in their private
capacity, the public is not deprived of any information."'

“If Appellants’ “right to hear” argument is construed to challenge
Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, as unconstitutional as applied, Appellants
have failed to meet their burden of showing that the statute deprives

19

See Section IV of this Brief, at 31, for a discussion of further
ways that even corporations have for making their opinions
known.

Ill. Even Ir, Arcuenpo, Corporations Have Fist
AMENDMENT Ricuts, THose Ricuts Are Liwrrep To
Issues MATERIALLY AFFECTING THE CORPORATION'S BuslI-
NEss, Prorrrs Or Assets.

The court below concluded that even though in their
opinion corporations possess certain rights of speech and
expression, those rights are limited to issues materially
affecting the corporation’s business, profits or assets.'*
Specifically, noting that Appellants’ claims stem only from
the equal protection and due process of law clauses of the
Fourteenth Amendment, J.S. App. 12; Appellants’ Brief, 36,
the court below declared:

It seems clear to us that a corporation does not have
the same First Amendment rights to free speech as
those of a natural person, but, whether its rights are
designated “liberty” rights or “property” rights, a
corporation’s property and business interests are

anyone of hearing their views. It is important to note that even with
corporations prohibited from making expenditures or contributions on
the 1976 referendum question which would have legalized a graduated
income tax, the proposed referendum was nevertheless defeated, indi-
cating that Appellants’ views obviously managed to reach the public.
].S. App. 4, n. 6.

‘Such a ruling offers another way for reconciling the restrictions on
corporate speech involved in this case with all of the cases cited by
Appellants involving commercial speech. In all commercial speech
cases, the corporation(s) (if any) involved necessarily have a direct
financial interest in the speech being contested.

entitled to Fourteenth Amendment protection. Pierce
v. Society of Sisters, supra. See Bowe v. Secretary
of the Commonwealth, 320 Mass. 230, 251 (1946). It
is also clear that, as an incident of such protection,
corporations possess certain rights of speech and expres-
sion under the First Amendment.

Thus, we hold today that only when a general
political issue materially affects a corporation's business,
property or assets may that corporation. claim - First
Amendment protection for its speech or other activities
entitling it to communicate its position on that issue
to the general public. This limitation is identical to
the legislative command in the first sentence of G.L.
c. 55, § 8. Put in another way, the Legislature has
clearly identified in the challenged statute the pa-
rameters of corporate free speech.'* (Footnotes
omitted.)

Appellee contends that corporations not in the business of
communications or speech do not possess any rights of
freedom of speech or expression. However, if this argu-
ment were rejected, this Court’s decisions involving the due
process clause make it clear that any such First Amend-
ment rights would be limited to issues materially affecting
the corporation's business, profits or assets. Since the court
below found that Appellants failed to demonstrate a
material effect, they cannot lay claim even to these limited
First Amendment rights.

Significantly, as noted by the court below, under this view of the
First Amendment, the restrictions this Court placed on campaigning
expenditures in Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976), are not relevant
to a decision in this case. J.S. App. 10, n. 11.

-*-?eeorF ©

_-

——

21

In Hague v. Committee for Industrial Organization, 307
U.S. 496 (1939), the Supreme Court held that a corporation
could not maintain a suit to enjoin interference with its
freedom of speech and of assembly. As Mr. Justice Stone
said in his concurring opinion:

As to the American Civil Liberties Union, which is a
corporation, it cannot be said to be deprived of the
civil rights of freedom of speech and of assembly, for
the liberty guaranteed by the due process clause is the
liberty of natural, not artificial, persons. North-
western Nat. Life Insurance Co. v. Riggs, 203 U.S.
243, 255 (1906); Western Turf Ass'n v. Greenberg,
204 U.S. 359, 363 (1970). Id. at 527."

In Pierce v. Society of Sisters of Holy Name, 268 U.S.
510 (1925), this Court specifically recognized that those
rights which corporations do enjoy under the Fourteenth
Amendment are related to the direct business and property
interests of the corporation. The Court stated:

Appellees are corporations and therefore, it is said,
they cannot claim for themselves the liberty which the
Fourteenth Amendment guarantees. Accepted in the
proper sense, this is true. ([Citations.] But they have
business and property for which they claim protection.

“Another view of the Fourteenth Amendment also relevant to this
case is found in Justice Rehnquist's separate opinion in Buckley v. Valeo,
424 U.S. 1, 291 (1976), in which Justice Rehnquist states that in his
opinion “not all of the strictures which the First Amendment imposes
upon Congress are carried over against the States by the Fourteenth
Amendment, but rather that it is only the ‘general principle’ of free
speech .. . that the latter incorporates.” (Citations omitted.)

These are threatened with destruction through the
unwarranted compulsion which appellants are exer-
cising over present and prospective patrons of their
schools. And this court has gone very far to protect
against loss threatened by such action. ([Citations. }
Id. at 535.

In the more recent case of D.D.B. Realty Corp. v.
Merrill, 232 F. Supp. 629 (D. Vt. 1964), relying on the
Northwestern Nat. Life Insurance Co. line of cases, the
District Court of Vermont summed up:

Insofar as the Due Process clause applies to “proper-

ty”, a corporation is considered a “person”. Insofar
as the Due Process clause applies to “liberty” and “life”,
a corporation is without standing to sue for the loss of
these two elements. ... On the other hand, there are
cases where the artificial body of a plaintiff corporation
has been allowed standing to sue for these subjective
elements possessed by human beings, although such
allowance was often over a vigorous dissent. .
It is — worthy to note that in many of these
latter cases, the “liberty” or “life” claimed to have been
impinged is one which an inanimate corporation could
possess and does not affect human emotions or sensitivi-
ties. Id. at 637.

See also, Mexican-American Federation — Washington
State v. Naff, 299 F. Supp. 587 (E. D. Wash. 1969)
(denying a corporation standing to challenge the state's
constitutional provision regarding literacy in the English
language as a voter qualification, even though the express

23

purpose of the corporation was to represent, promote and
achieve the economic, social and cultural interests of all
Mexican-American people in the State of Washington).

The Northwestern Nat. Life Insurance Co. line of cases
makes it clear that the due process rights to which a
corporation is entitled are limited to those areas materially
affecting the corporation’s business, profits or assets.
Another line of cases leading to the same conclusion involves
the right of the state to impose limitations on corporations.
A corporation is a creature of the State. As this Court
stated in Prudential Insurance Co. of America v. Cheek,
259 U.S. 530 (1922):

[T he right to conduct business in the form of a corpo-
ration .. . is not a natural or fundamental right. It
is a creature of the law; and a State in authorizing its
own corporations or those of other States to carry on
business ... may qualify the privilege by imposing
such conditions and duties as reasonably may be
deemed expedient in order that the corporation's activi-
ties may not operate to the detriment of the rights of
others with whom it may come in contact. Id. at 536.

As a creature of the State, the powers of a corporation
are simply such as state statutes confer, and the enumera-
tion of them implies exclusion of all others. Thomas v.
Railroad Co., 101 U.S. 71 (1879); Pennsylvania Railroad
Co. v. St. Louis, etc., Railroad Co., 118 U.S. 290 (1886).
A corporation's specific purposes are set forth in its charter
which is created pursuant to the requirements of state law.
Dartmouth College v. Woodward, supra, at 636.

Like everyone else, a corporation's property interests “are
not created by the Constitution. Rather, they are created

24

and their dimensions are defined by existing rules or under-

standings that stem from an independent source such as
state law ....” Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564,
577 (1972). In sum, a corporation’s powers, purposes and
property interests are defined by the State. Thus, the due
process property rights of corporations must be limited to
protecting those property interests determined by the State
to be consistent with the corporation’s powers and purposes.
By definition, a corporation cannot have property interests
going beyond its purposes; in other words, a corporation's
due process interests must necessarily be limited to matters
materially affecting its business, profits or assets.'* This is
the exact conclusion reached by the Michigan Supreme
Court in the case of People v. Gansley, 158 N.W. 195
(Mich. 1916), which examined whether restrictions on
corporate expenditures in election campaigns violated the
corporation's due process rights. The court reasoned:

The expenditure of the money of the Lansing Brewing

Amendment. Such corporations have no right to par-
ticipate in the elective franchise. We are not dealing
with a measure that deprives a corporation of any of its

property, or that impairs the value of that property.

such corporation was created and exists, as was the fact
in the cases cited, and relied upon by counsel for

respondent... .
We agree with counsel for the people wherein they say:
“If the respondent in this case, or the stockholders
and officers of the Lansing Brewing Company
desired, as individuals, to contribute to the campaign
fund, it was their privilege so to do, subject to the
regulations imposed by the statute. This artificial
person, however, that was created for the purpose of
manufacturing beer, has no such right; and it lies
within the power of the Legislature of this state to
say that its funds should not be used for such a
purpose.” Id. at 200, 201.

Appellants, having accepted the privilege of conducting
business in the corporate form by voluntarily accepting the
benefits that go with the corporate form, must also accept
the restrictions placed on their purposes and the use of their
funds largely accumulated because of the privileges granted
by the State. In Massachusetts, all individuals forming
corporations are subject to Mass. Gen. Laws c. 155, § 3,
which provides that “[ajll corporations organized under
general laws shall be subject to such laws as may be here-
after passed affecting or altering their corporate rights or
duties or dissolving them.”

This Court repeatedly has upheld over First Amendment
objections regulatory schemes which restrict corporate
communication so long as they do not discriminate against
communications media. See, e.g., Associated Press v.
National Labor Relations Board, 301 U.S. 103 (1937);

Lincoln Federal Labor Union v. Northwestern Iron &
Metal Co., 335 U.S. 525 (1949); Lorain Journal Co. v.
United States, 342 U.S. 143 (1951); National Labor Rela-
tions Board v. Virginia Electric & Power Co., 314 U.S. 469
(1941).

On several occasions, this Court has specifically noted
that corporations, having accepted the privileges of corpo-
rate existence, cannot complain of the limitations neces-
sarily accompanying the limited corporate purpose. In
finding that corporations do not enjoy a right to privacy
equal to an individual's, this Court just recently declared in
California Bankers Assoc. v. Schultz, 416 U.S. 21, 65
(1974), quoting United States v. Morton Salt Co., 338 U.S.
632, 651-52 (1950):

“While they may and should have protection from
unlawful demands made in the name of public in-
vestigation, cf. Federal Trade Comm'n v. American
Tobacco Co., 264 U.S. 298, corporations can claim no
equality with individuals in the enjoyment of a right to
privacy.... They are endowed with public attri-
butes. They have a collective impact upon society,
from which they derive the privilege of acting as arti-
ficial entities.... Favors from government often
carry with them an enhanced measure of regula-
tion.... Even if one were to regard the request for
information in this case as caused by nothing more
than official curiosity, nevertheless law-enforcing
agencies have a legitimate right to satisfy themselves
that corporate behavior is consistent with the law and
the public interest.” (Citations omitted.)

Similarly, this Court has declared:

27

It would be intolerable that the Congress should endow
an association with the right to conduct a public
banking business on certain limitations and that the
Court at the behest of those who took advantage from
the privilege should remove the limitations intended for
public protection. It would be difficult to imagine a
more appropriate situation in which to apply the
doctrine that one who utilizes an Act to gain advan-
tages of corporate existence is estopped from questioning
the validity of its vital conditions. Fahey v. Mallonee,
332 U.S. 245, 256 (1947).

In the election context, this Court declared just last year
in Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 57, n. 65 (1976), that even
though expenditure limitations on candidates were uncon-
stitutional when standing alone, “Congress may engage in
public financing of election campaigns and may condition
acceptance of public funds on an agreement by the
candidate to abide by specified expenditure limitations.
Just as a candidate may voluntarily limit the size of the
contributions he chooses to accept, he may decide to forgo
private fundraising and accept public funding.” See also,
Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134, 154 (1974), in which the
plurality opinion declared OEO discharge procedures
constitutional, noting that because the employee's property
rights were defined in part by the statute's discharge
procedures, the litigant “must take the bitter with the
sweet.”

Appellants, conceding for the sake of argument that
corporations’ constitutional rights might be limited to
matters materially affecting their business, raise one addi-
tional argument as to why Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, is
still allegedly in violation of the First Amendment. Appel-

28

lants claim that at a minimum the First Amendment should
be held to protect corporate speech where corporations
“believe” their material interests to be affected. Appel-
lants’ Brief, 56.

However, the First Amendment has never been held to
protect all speech which the speaker “believed” to be
proper. Just recently, in the area of libel law, this Court
declared in Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 347
(1974), that even though a speaker believed in the truth of
a statement asserted, if the statement was nevertheless negli-
gently made, it was not protected by the First Amendment.

Specifically, Appellants seem to assert that to punish
corporations for speech that they believe to materially affect
their business shifts the burden of materiality onto them.
Appellants’ Brief, 33. This argument confuses the operation
of the act with the procedural posture of this case, which
was brought as a declaratory judgment. In order to
succeed in this declaratory judgment action, Appellants,
who sought below to have Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8,
declared unconstitutional as to them even before it was
applied, had the burden of showing that their proposed
speech materially affects their businesses. However, in a
criminal prosecution under the Act, Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55,
§ 8, does not shift any burdens of proof, but rather
requires, as in any criminal proceeding, for the Common-
wealth to prove beyond a reasonable doubt each and every
element of the offense. Materiality is not an element of the
crime of contributing to oppose a graduated income tax
question; lack of materiality would instead be an affirma-
tive defense. Nevertheless, to the extent that the corpora-
tions’ belief raises a doubt as to materiality, the corpora-
tions would be found innocent. The court below correctly
concluded:

29

The plaintiffs further argue that all they need show is a
“reasonable belief” that the proposed amendment
would materially affect them. While such a belief
is relevant to the question whether such an expenditure
would be ultra vires, cf. Lustwerk v. Lytron, Inc.,
344 Mass. 647, 651 (1962), standing alone it is not
relevant to the question presented herein, J.S. App.
15, n. 15. mot ee

IV. Even Ir, Arcuenpo, Corporations Have First
AMENDMENT RicuHts Wuicw Are Co-ExtTensive WITH
Tuoset Or Naturat Persons, Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55,
§ 8, Is Stitt ConsTITUTIONAL.

Even if this Court were to find that corporations have
First Amendment rights which are co-extensive with those
of natural persons, Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, is still
constitutional. Neither the right to associate nor the right
to participate in political activities is absolute. See, e.g.,
C.S.C. v. Letter Carriers, 413 U.S. 548, 567 (1973);
Rosario v. Rockefeller, 410 U.S. 752 (1973); Dunn v.
Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330, 336 (1972); Bullock v. Carter,
405 U.S. 134, 140-41 (1972); Jenness v. Fortson, 403 U.S.
431 (1971); Williams v. Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23, 30-31 (1968).
Even a “‘significant interference’ with protected rights of
political association” may be sustained if the State demon-
strates a sufficiently important interest and employs means
closely drawn to avoid unnecessary abridgement of associa-
tional rights.'* Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 25 (1976);

"Appellants have attempted to characterize this case as involving
prior restraints, thus requiring an even stronger governmental interest to
justify the statute. Appellants’ Brief, 29-34. However, Mass. Cen.

30

Cousins v. Wigoda, 419 U.S. 477, 488 (1975). Specifically,
as this Court stated in Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 51
(1971):

Where a statute does not directly abridge a free speech,
but — while regulating a subject within the State’s
power — tends to have the incidental effect of in-
hibiting First Amendment rights, it is well settled that
the statute can be upheld if the effect on speech is
minor in relation to the need for control of the conduct
and the lack of alternative means for doing so. (Cita-
tions omitted. )

In this case, Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, has only an
incidental effect on corporate and corporate managers’

speech. Corporate managers can voluntarily speak inde-
pendently of the corporation.'’ The court below noted that

ws c. 55, § 8, as a criminal statute which punishes individuals only
after they have spoken, cannot be characterized as involving prior
restraints. As this Court noted in Southeastern Promotiens, Ltd. v.
Conrad, 420 U.S. 546 (1975), a system of prior restraints is to be con-
trasted with a system of criminal penalties:

by .
theory deeply etched in our law: a free society prefers to punish the
few who abuse rights of speech after they break the law than
throttle them and all others beforehand. (Emphasis in opinion.)

‘Compare this with the situation in Buckley, where the Court de-
clared unconstitutional the campaign expenditure limitations since they
inhibited “actions voluntarily undertaken by citizens independently of a
candidate's campaign.” 424 U.S. at 37, 39-51.

31

there is no language in Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, “which
would preclude corporate officers, directors, stockholders or
employees from expressing their views publicly on the merits
of such a proposed referendum by participation in television
or radio discussions, news conferences, statements issued to
the press or through other similar means not involving
contributions or expenditures of corporate funds.” J.S.
App. 17. In addition, the court below observed that a
corporation could express its views on political proposals in
“a trade journal, a house organ or a newspaper, published
by a corporation.” J.S. App. 16. In light of the many
means still available to corporations and corporate mana-
gers to express their opinions on political issues, any attempt
to characterize Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, as a total pro-
hibition on corporate involvement in campaigns, more
stringent than the expenditure limitations involved in
Buckley, must be rejected.'*

“Similarly, this Court apparently found it important in C.S.C. v.
Letter Carriers, 413 U.S. at 556, that the “Hatch Act” did not prohibit
public employees from participation in all public activities. The Court

specifically noted that:

.. . The Act did not interfere with a “wide range of public activi-
ties.” ... It was “only partisan political activity that is inter-
dicted... . [Only] active participation in political management
and political campaigns [is proscribed]. Expressions, public or pri-
vate, on public affairs, personalties and matters of public interest,
not an objective of party action, are unrestricted by law so long as
the government employee does not direct his activities toward party
success.” (Citations omitted.)

This Court in Buckley rejected Appellee’s attempted reliance on C.S.C.
This Court stated that:

In upholding the Hatch Act's broad restrictions on the associational
freedoms of federal employees, the Court repeatedly emphasized the
statutory provision and corresponding regulation permitting an

A. The State Has Substantial Interests In Preventing
Corporations From Making Contributions Or Expendi-
tures To Influence The Vote On Referendum And
Initiative Issues.

The Commonwealth has substantial interests in prevent-

ing corporations from making contributions or expenditures
to influence the vote on referendum and initiative issues. '*

employee to “[e}xpress his opinion as an individual privately and
publicly on political subjects and candidates.” (Citations omitted.)

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. at 48, n. 54. For the very reasons that this
Court found C.S.C. inapplicable to Buckley, this Court should find
C.S.C. applicable to this case.

‘*Currently 31 states and the federal government have enacted
statutes restricting contributions either by limiting them as to amount or
restricting the source from which they are received. All of those juris-
dictions, with the exception of the two noted by asterisk, have singled
out corporations for special treatment:

Federal Corrupt Practices Act, 2 U.S.C. § 441(b);
Ala. Code Tit. 17, § 286 (1976);

Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 16-471(a) (1976);

Ark. Stat. Ann. § 3-1110 (Supp. 1975);

*Del. Code Tit. 15, § 8004(a) (Supp. 1974);

*Fla. Stat. Ann. § 106.08(1) (Supp. 1975);

Ky. Rev. Stat. §§ 121.025, 121.035 (Supp. 1976);
Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 18:1482, 1489 (1976);

EEE:
|
i
2]
Hid
4
23
3
3

. Aan. Code § 26-9(b) (Supp. 1976);
ws Ann. c. 55, § 8 (Supp. 1976);
t. Ann. § 210A.34 (Supp. 1973);
. Aan. Stat. § 130.020.5 (Supp. 1976);
Pang on Ann. §§ 23-4795(1), 23-4744 (Supp. 1972);

a
ee!
H

a
Fi

N.H. ‘Rev. Ann. § 70:2(I) (Supp. 1972);
N.J. Rev. Stat. 65 19:34-35 (Supp. 1976);
N.Y. Election Law § 480 (McKinney Supp. 1972);

33

These interests are significant enough to justify the
limitations placed on both contributions and expenditures.
Specifically, as to the limits placed on contributions, in
conducting a balancing test, this Court should weigh the
fact that “a limitation upon the amount that any one person
or group may contribute to a candidate or political
committee entails only a marginal restriction upon the
contributor’s ability to engage in free communication.
A contribution serves as a general expression of support for .
the candidate and his views, but does not communicate the

underlying basis for the support.”*® Buckley v. Valeo, 424
U.S. at 20-21.

N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 163-278.14, 163-278.19 (Supp. 1975);
N.D. Cent. Code § 16-20-08 (1975);

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3599.03 (Supp. 1972);
Okla. Stat. Tit. 26, § 15-110 (1975);

Or. Rev. Stat. § 260.472 (1971);

Pa. Stat. Ann. Tit. 25, § 3225(b) (1977);

S.D. Compiled Laws Ann. § 12-25-2 (1989);
Tenn. Code Ann. § 2-1932 (Supp. 1976);

Tex. Civ. Code Ann. Art. 14.06 (1977);

W. Va. Code § 3-8-8 (1975);

Wisc. Stat. Ann. § 11.38(1)(a)(1) (Supp. 1977);
Wyo. Stat. § 22.1-389(c) and (d) (Supp. 1976).

“It is important to note that Appellants’ history is one of making
contributions and not expenditures to influence votes regarding referen-
dum issues legalizing a graduated income tax in Massachusetts. The
Appellants state that they desire to “expend monies in an effort to
persuade the voters to vote against the proposed constitutional amend-
ment.” Appellants’ Brief, 9. Similar assertions were made by three of
these Appellants in FNBI. In fact, the statement of agreed facts in this
case illustrates that contributions were made by four of the Appellants in
1972 and not that they made the kind
would suggest are in issue in this case. J.S.
The

].S. App. 41, Ex. “D” of the Record Appendix below, at 48-50.

34

1. Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, Furthers The Signifi-
cant Governmental Interest In Sustaining An Active,
Alert Role For The Individual Citizen In the Election
Process.

Voting is the “fundamental political right, because
preservative of all rights.” Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S.
356, 370 (1886). The right to vote has been given to
individual citizens, but has not been given t0° corporations.
The state has a significant interest in seeing that the
individual citizen’s role in the electoral process remains
paramount and free from interference in any shape, manner
or form by a corporate presence.

As this Court stated in describing the purpose of the
federal ban on corporate contributions to elections:

As the historical background of this statute indicates,
its aim was not merely to prevent the subversion of
the integrity of the electoral process. Its underlying
philosophy was to sustain the active, alert responsibility
of the individual citizen in a democracy for the wise
conduct of government. (Emphasis added.) United
States v. United Auto Workers, 352 U.S. 567, 575
(1957).

In a similar vein, the first court ever to rule on the con-
stitutionality of the federal ban on corporate contributions
to elections declared that corporations “are not citizens of
the United States, and, so far as the franchise is concerned,
must at all times be held subservient and subordinate to the
government and the citizenship of which it is composed.”
United States v. United States Brewers’ Association, 239
Fed. 163, 168 (W.D. Pa. 1916).

35

As important as the state’s interest is in sustaining the
active role of individual citizens in candidate elections, this
same state interest in referenda and initiatives, if anything,
is greater. Referenda were generally introduced in the
progressive era as a way to reduce the influence of special
interests. Wolfinger and Greenstein, “The Repeal of Fair
Housing in California: An Analysis of Referendum
Voting,” 62 Am. Pol. Sci. Rev. 753, 767 (1968). The
referendum and initiative are the people’s forum. They can
be considered the purest form of democracy. When the
regular political process (which includes interest group and
corporate lobbying, as well as political bargaining) fails, the
people have been given the final say. What makes
referenda and initiatives unique is that they are not a part
of the regular political process, subject to regular political
influences. The government has a strong interest in
keeping this people’s forum free from third party influence.

2. Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, Furthers The Signifi-
cant Governmental Interest In Sustaining The
Individual Citizen’s Confidence In Government.

In C.S.C. v. Letter Carriers, supra, this Court sustained
restrictions on political activity by public employees,
declaring, “it is not only important that the Government
and its employees in fact avoid practici:ug political justice,
but it is also critical that they appear to the public to be
avoiding it, if confidence in the system of representative
Government is not to be eroded to a disastrous extent.”
413 U.S. at 565. This Court also noted in C.S.C. that one
legitimate governmental purpose was to limit the political
influence of federal employees on others and on the
electoral process. Id. at 557, 558. Thus, C.S.C. makes it

clear that limiting the political influence of a group with
special privileges, in order to restore confidence in govern-
ment and the electoral process, is a significant govern-
mental interest. Just as political employees have gained by
grace of their relationship with the government a position
potentially giving them the power to unduly influence an
election, corporations, having been endowed by the state
with a collective impact on society for economic purposes,
United States v. Morton Salt Co., supra, at 652, have
gained the power to unduly influence elections. Just as the
government was able to limit the influence of political
employees gained through their peculiar relationship to the
state, the government should also be able to limit the
influence of corporations gained because of special privileges
granted for non-political purposes.*'

Corporations have so significantly influenced initiatives
and referenda in the past that their power has inevitably
undercut the individual citizen’s confidence that as an
individual he can still make a difference. Voter choices in
referenda and initiatives are likely to be more responsive to
group influence than in general election voting, where party
identification guides most voters. Wolfinger and Green-
stein, supra, at 762. Corporations have spared no expense
in spending to influence initiatives and referenda. The case
at bar provides a good example. In 1972, a proposed
amendment to the Massachusetts Constitution which would
have authorized the imposition of a graduated income tax
was put before the voters. J.S. App. 7. Appellants First
National Bank of Boston, New England Merchants National

*' Buckley is inapposite. This case, like C.S.C., presents the very
limited issue of preventing undue influence resulting from the misuse of
governmental privileges and powers granted for one purpose but poten-
tially usable for another.

37

Bank, Wyman-Gordon Company and Gillette Company
each contributed $3,000 to the Committee for Jobs and
Government Economy to oppose the amendment. J.S.
App. 35-37.

The only duly organized non-elected political committee
to raise and expend money to oppose the proposed amend-
ment in 1972 in fact was the Committee for Jobs and
Government Economy. It raised and expended one
hundred twenty thousand dollars in 1972, J.S. App. 41, the
bulk of it raised through large corporate contributions. In
fact, the Committee raised $112,436.50 in a two-week
period between the date of its organization on June 6 and
June 19, 1972. See, Record Appendix of court below, pp.
48-84.

The only duly organized non-political committee to raise
and expend money to promote the 1972 proposal was the
Coalition for Tax Reform, Inc. J.S. App. 41. The records
on file with state officials indicate it raised and expended
only seven thousand dollars in support of the ballot ques-
tion. J.S. App. 41. Thus, the named corporate plain-
tiffs in this case themselves may have contributed more
money in 1972 to oppose the graduated income tax amend-
ment than all of the measure’s proponents combined
contributed to promote its passage. Of course, the
individual contributions by corporate managers are not a
factor in this calculus. In light of this history, restoring
confidence to the Massachusetts voter that initiatives and
referenda are not controlled by corporations represents an
extremely significant governmental interest.

3. Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8's Prohibition On
Corporations Spending The Stockholders’ Money
For Political Purposes Furthers The Significant
Governmental Interest In Protecting Stockholders
Who May Hold Political Views Contrary To Those

Held By Corporate Management.

Appellants concede that the decision to spend corporate
money to oppose a graduated income tax was made by the
corporate management and did not involve any stock-
holder input. Appellants’ Brief, 53, n. 31. Such a decision
by corporate management, if carried out, would violate the
rights of the shareholders to support those political views of

their own choosing."

for the corporation, with corporate assets, on matters of pu
welfare, the premise of an underlying consensus would seem
break down. Public welfare is a matter of basic on which
shareholders and employees in a publicly held corporation can be

. The proposed graduated income tax was aimed at shifting some
of the tax burden off of lower and middle class individuals and onto

Protection of minorities from the compulsory contribution
of money for political purposes not of their own choosing
has long been recognized as a legitimate governmental
interest. Thomas Jefferson declared “that to compel a man
to furnish contributions of money for the propagation of
opinions which he disbelieves, is sinful and tyrannical.”
I. Brant, James Madison: The Nationalist at 354 (1948).

President Theodore Roosevelt declared in his annual

[N]jo corporation has the right, and no board of
directors of a corporation and no manager of a corpo-
ration has the right, to embezzle the money belonging
to the stockholders of the corporation and to divert it
from its legitimate use to a purpose for which the

Just this year, this Court in Abood v. Detroit Board of
Education, 45 U.S.L.W. 4473 (May 27, 1977), struck down
as unconstitutional the use of union shop dues for political
and ideological purposes. The Court held that compelling
an individual to make political contributions infringes that
individual's First Amendment rights. 45 U.S.L.W. at 4480.
The Court declared that “the Constitution requires . . . that
such [union] expenditures [for political purposes} be
financed from charges, dues or assessments paid by
employees who do not object to advancing those ideas and
who are not coerced into doing so against their will by the
threat of loss of governmental employment.” (Emphasis
added.) 45 U.S.L.W. at 4480. For these same reasons, the
Eighth Circuit in United States v. Pipefitters Local Union
No. 562, 434 F. 2d 1116, 1123 (8th Cir. 1970), rev'd on
other grounds, 407 U.S. 385 (1972), upheld the Federal ban
on union campaign contributions, noting that there is a
compelling interest in “protect [ing] union members holding
political views contrary to those supported by the union
from use of funds contributed by them to promote
acceptance of those opposing views.”

The logic of these cases protecting union members applies
equally to the stockholder’s situation. Senator Robert Taft
noted in the debates on extending Federal campaign pro-
hibitions to unions that “the prohibition . . . against labor
is eactly the same as the prohibition against a corporation
using its stockholders’ money for political purposes, and
perhaps in violation of the wishes of many of its stock-
holders.” 93 Cong. Rec. 6438 (1947).

41

Two recent cases have upheld bans on corporate
campaign contributions, noting among other reasons the
need to protect shareholders who may hold political views
contrary to those held by corporate management. In
Schwartz v. Romnes, 357 F. Supp. 30 (S.D. N.Y. 1973),
rev'd on other grounds, 495 F. 2d 844 (2d Cir. 1974), the
court declared:

In enacting corrupt practices legislation, the United
States Congress and the various state legislatures have
sough’ to protect the elective process from the undue
influence which corporations might exercise through
financial contributions. In addition, they have sought
to prevent corporate officials from devoting the assets
of a corporation to political causes with which its
shareholders might not agree. See United States v.
Congress of Industrial Organizations, supra, at p. 113,
68 S. Ct. 1349. These overriding governmental
interests are sufficient to justify the regulation of
corporate participation in electioneering efforts. Id.
at 36.

United States v. Chestnut, 533 F. 2d 40, 50, 51, n. 12
(2d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 829 (1976), is of
particular significance, because the court specifically noted
that nothing in Buckley was contrary to upholding a ban
on corporate campaign contributions on the grounds of the
government's interests in preserving the integrity of the
electoral process and preventing corporations from using
general funds for political purposes without the consent of
the stockholders.

42

B. Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, Avoids Unnecessary
Abridgement Of First Amendment Rights.

Appellants assert that even if some of the State’s interests
may be justifiable, the legislature has not even attempted to
adopt the least restrictive alternative available. Appel-
lants’ Brief, 54, n. 32. However, as this Court stated in
Rosario v. Rockefeller, 410 U.S. 752, 762, n. 10 (1973),
“{i}n requiring that the state use to a proper end the means
designed to impinge minimally upon fundamental rights,
the Constitution does not require that the state choose
ineffectual means.”

Appellants raise three specific arguments in support of
their contention that Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, does not
employ the least drastic alternatives. Appellants state:

... Section 8 bars, instead of merely limiting, all
expenditures on the ballot question at issue. Further-
more, any interest in preventing the use of corporate
funds to express political viewpoints contrary to the
desires of shareholders might be attempted to be satis-
fied by requiring a majority vote of shareholders for
political expenditures, or perhaps notification to the
shareholders. Appellants’ Brief, 54, n. 32.

This brief, supra, at - , has already discussed Appel-
larts’ contention that Section 8 acts as a bar rather than
only a limitation on corporate expenditures and contribu-
tions. As pointed out, corporate managers as individuals
are not limited in any way whatsoever, and even the
corporation retains numerous means for conveying the
managers’ opinions. The district court in United States v.
Chestnut, 394 F. Supp. 581 (S.D. N.Y. 1975), affd, 533

43

F. 2d 40 (2d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 829 (1976),
upheld the federal! ban on corporate campaign contribu-
tions and expenditures against a “least drastic alternative”
argument. The lower court stated:

Given the government's legitimate interest in the
purposes of section 610, the question is whether the
government has chosen the “least drastic means” of
protecting these interests or whether it has enacted
overly broad prohibitions that unnecessarily impinge
upon First Amendment rights.... As authoritatively
construed by the Supreme Court, the statute only
prohibits contributions or expenditures from certain
sources. For example, the statute prohibits only union
contributions from monies derived from compulsory
union dues and \ssessments.... [I]n United States —
v. C.1.0O., the Supreme Court held that the statute
does not prevent unions or corporation from publishing
a regular periodical for union members, shareholders
or customers that may contain political commen-
tary.... Thus the statute has been construed in a
careful fashion to minimize its restrictive impact.
Id. at 591.

Appellants’ proposed less restrictive alternatives do not
offer effective means for protecting minority rights. First,
Appellants suggest that requiring a majority vote of share-
holders for political expenditures would protect those share-
holders who hold contrary political views to those of
management. However, placing a matter to a vote in the
endocractic corporation does not protect shareholder rights.
One commentator noted that research has failed to uncover
a single shareholder proposal that has been adopted over

44

the opposition of the management of an endocractic corpo-
ration. Note, “Corporate Political Affairs Programs,” 70
Yale L.J. at 849. This same commentator cited as some of
the reasons for this shareholder impotency the practice of
fiduciary and institutional holders always to vote their
proxies as requested by management, and the fact that a
majority of individual owners holding stock in “street” name
fail to designate the manner in which they wish proxies to
be voted, thereby permitting banks and brokerage houses to
do the actual voting. Jd. at 849.

Of even more importance, Appellants’ “majority vote”
proposal does not even conceptually protect minority stock-
holders. What is at stake is “compel[ling] a man to furnish
contributions of money for propagation of opinions which
he disbelieves.” Thomas Jefferson in I. Brant, supra, at
354. The fact that a majority of stockholders support a
proposal does not in any way lessen the compulsion inflicted
on the minority stockholder. For this reason, the court in
United States v. Boyle, 482 F. 2d 755 (D.C. Cir. 1973),
upheld the ban on union campaign contributions over
objections that minority interests are adequately protected
by the democractic procedures under which a union must
operate. The court concluded:

By definition the protection of minority interests
requires that the majority be restrained in exercising
its will over the minority. If a union could expend
“involuntary” funds upon the vote of a majority of its
members, minority interests would not be protected —
they would be rendered irrelevant. Id. at 763.

Finally, Appellants propose that minority interests could
be protected effectively by a system of notification to the

45

shareholders of political stances taken by the corporate
managers. Conceptually, this proposal gives less protection
to minority stockholders then a majority voting plan,
which, as just discussed, must itself be found wanting.
In fact, under this proposal, management could spend the
shareholders’ money even if a majority of stockholders held
a different political view. One commentator has addressed
this exact issue of whether notification of political activity
would be a valid, less restrictive alternative than a ban on

corporate campaign expenditures and contributions. Com-

ment, “The Constitutionality of the Federal Ban on Corpo-
rations and Union Campaign Contributions and Expendi-

tures,” 42 U. of Chicago L. Rev. 148 (1974). The com-
mentator reasoned:

[A] notice system fails to qualify as a less drastic means
of protecting the dissenting stockholders for two rea-
sons. First, it might reduce the number of investments
acceptable to an investor. Although corporate securi-
ties are somewhat interchangeable, they are not
fungible. The notice system could force the investor
to choose between an otherwise optimal investment and
his political principles, a dilemma the Act seeks to
prevent. The second problem would arise in the
transition from the current system to a notice system.
Rather than merely choosing among new investment
opportunities, current shareholders who object to
political contributions made subsequent to the adoption
of this alternative scheme would have to sell their
investments, subjecting their appreciated value to
capital gains taxes.... [E]}ven if it were less restric-
tive of the corporation's first amendment rights, the
notice scheme is not a comparable alternative to section
610, because it would fail to provide investors who

tect minority interests to the same extent as section 610.
Therefore, it cannot be considered a less restrictive
alternative to the voluntary contribution system. Id.
at 157, 158. -

Thus, Appellants have been unable to present any proposed
less restrictive alternatives which would effectively protect
the minority interests presently protected by Mass. Cen.
Laws c. 55, § 8.

V. Tue Sraturory Provision Pronisrrinc CORPORATE
Contrisutions To Arrect THe Outcome Or QUESTIONS
Revatinc Sovecy To Inprvipvat Taxation Is Not Vacue
Anp Contains No EvipenTIARY PRESUMPTION.

While the primary thrust of the plaintiff corporations’
due process argument is the assertion of a constitutional

right freely to contribute money to affect ballot questions,
they have also catalogued a series of other imagined due

process infirmities. Specifically, they argue that provi-
sions of Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, are impermissibly

vague, and that the statute contains an unreasonable evi-
dentiary presumption.*® Neither of these claims is worthy
of extended discussion.

** The Appellants had argued below that the statute was impermissibly
overbroad. They have apparently dropped their overbreadth claim on
appeal and this brief therefore does not separately address overbreadth.

47

A statute is void for vagueness only “if it is so vague
and standardless that it leaves the public uncertain as
to the conduct it prohibits or leaves judges and jurors free
to decide, without any legally fixed standards, what is pro-
hibited and what is not in each particular case.” Giaccio
v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399, 402-03 (1969). Statutes
must “set out in terms that the ordinary person exercising
ordinary common sense can sufficiently understand and
comply with.” C.S.C. v. Letter Carriers, 413 U.S. 548,
579 (1973). It is not asserted that Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55,
§ 8, contains the most precise or appropriate language
possible. Recognizing, however, that “there are limitations
in the English language with respect to being both specific
and manageably brief,” id. at 578-79, and that “words in-
evitably contain germs of uncertainty,” Broderick v.
Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601, 608 (1973), it is submitted that
the statutory proscription is drawn with the degree of spe-
cificity required by the Constitution and that it afforded the
Appellants fair warning that their desired course of action
was unlawful. Colten v. Kentucky, 407 U.S. 104, 110
(1972).

The Appellants direct their vagueness challenge at the
“materially affecting” phrase which appears in the first
sentence of Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8. Their focus on the
alleged vagueness of this statutory term is inappropriate.
In construing the challenged statute, the highest court of
the Commonwealth has determined that it proscribes two
separate but related courses of conduct. The first prohi-
bition is general in nature and runs against corporate

™ Because we have demonstrated at Parts II and III that the Appel-
lants lack First Amendment rights, cases suggesting a stricter vagueness
standard where speech is involved are inapplicable. Hynes v. Mayor of
Oradell, 425 U.S. 610, 620 (1976); Smith v. CGoguen, 415 U.S. 566
(1974).

48

contributions to favor or oppose ballot questions which will
not “materially affect their business, property or assets.”
The second prohibition is specific in terms and runs against
corporate contributions to favor or oppose questions dealing
with the taxation of individuals. The Appellants fall within
the scope of this second specific prohibition, which requires
no showing of a lack of material effect. J.S. App. 24, n. 19.
The case before this Court does not properly raise the issue
the Appellants have chosen to brief.**

In any event, there can be no doubt that the Appellants
were fairly put on notice that contributions to oppose the
1976 graduated income tax amendment were prohibited by
Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8. Whether the statute creates
one crime or two, the legislative and judicial history of the
statute clearly indicates that the law was specifically
amended to reach such contributions. See discussion at J.S.
App. 5-8. Indeed, the Appellants themselves characterize
the statute as one containing “a tailor made prohibition
against graduated income tax expenditures.” Appellants’
Brief, 21, n. 6. Whatever the phrase “materially affecting”
might mean, the second sentence of the statute makes it
clear that questions pertaining solely to the taxation of
individuals do not meet the standard. These Appellants
therefore fall within the “hard core” of corporations, whose
conduct could not be more clearly prohibited, however the

**It is beyond dispute that the Supreme Judicial Court's determination
of the meaning of Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, is a matter of state law
and is not reviewable by this Court. This Court's power over state
judgments is the power “to correct them to the extent that they incor-
rectly adjudge federal rights.... [The Court is] not permitted to
render an advisory opinion ....” Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117, 126
(1945). Since the statutory proscription affecting the Appellants is one
which does not require a “material effect,” consideration of the alleged
vagueness of that phrase would be inappropriate on this appeal.

49

statute were rewritten. See, Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S.
566 (1974).

As a final due process argument, the Appellants assert
that the second sentence of Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8,
incorporates a presumption of fact which is unreasonable
and is, therefore, violative of the Fourteenth Amendment.
Appellants’ Brief, 82-87. More specifically, the corporations
argue that the sentence relieves the prosecution of its
burden of proving beyond a reasonable doubt that a
particular ballot question will not materially affect a
defendant corporation.

This argument depends entirely on the premise that
Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, creates a single crime, i.e.. that
of contributing or expending corporate funds to influence
the outcome of ballot questions which questions will not
materially affect corporations. This premise is expressly
rejected not only by the court below, but also by the
Appellants themselves. Appellants’ Brief, 15, 85.

As contrued by the highest court of the Commonwealth,
the second sentence of Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, contains
no evidentiary presumption. Instead, it creates a specific
crime. The lack of a material effect is not an element of
that crime. J.S. App. 28. The device of a presumption to
aid in the prosecution of a case is therefore not utilized by
the statute, and Appellants’ irrebuttable presumption
analysis is simply inapposite.

Even if the statute did erect such a presumption, it would
not necessarily fail. A legislatively imposed presumption
will pass constitutional scrutiny if it can be said “with
substantial assurance that the presumed fact is more likely
than not to flow from the proved fact on which it is made
to depend.” Leary v. United States, 395 U.S. 6, 36 (1969).
The Appellants have suggested nothing credible here or in
the court below to rebut the legislative judgment that the

50

taxation of individuals has no material effect on corpo-
rations. A dispute among experts as to the indirect impact
of such taxation is an insufficient factual basis for invali-
dating a statute advancing clearly legitimate state interests.

VI. THe Eguat Protrecrion CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENT Is Not VioLatep By A STATUTE PROHIBITING
ContrisuTions To Arrect BALLot Questions Mape By
Business CORPORATIONS.

The equal protection clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment does not prevent the establishment of classifications
which may result in unequal treatment of various classes.
Instead, it prohibits the enactment of laws containing
irrational and arbitrary classifications. McGowan v.

Maryland, 366 U.S. 420, 425-26 (1961). It further
mandates that, within a particular class, the law must be
evenly applied.

Guidance for judicial inquiry in equal protection cases
involving elections is provided in Dunn v. Blumstein, 405
U.S. 330 (1972), where this Court stated, “we look, in
essence, to three things: the character of the classification in
question; the individual interests affected by the classifi-
cation; and the governmental interests asserted in support of
the classification.” Id. at 335. This section of Appellee’s
brief tracks the analytical approach adopted in that case.

A. The Character of the Classification
Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, proscribes conduct by

business corporations incorporated or doing business in the
Commonwealth. That conduct would be lawful if engaged

Classifications based on economic differences, on the other

First, laws pertaining to taxation and tort liability have
of

claim parity.
Labor unions, for instance, normally do not hold vast
sums of money. They are associations of individuals united

for the common purpose of improving their employment
rights which also operate various social services for their

“ See, Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967) (race); Levy v. Lowisi-
ana, 391 U.S. 68 (1968) (illegitimacy); Sugarman v. Dougall, 413 U.S.
634 (1973) (alienage); Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677 (1973)
(gender)

B. The Individual Interests Concerned

Whether or not the parties agree on a characterization of
the classification as economic, there is certainly no agree-
ment as to the existence of individual interests. When a
fundamental interest is affected by a classification, the
Court again engages in a strict scrutiny inquiry, see, ¢.g.,
Harper v. Virginia Board of Elections, 383 U.S. 663 (1966),
and the Appellee freely concedes that freedom of speech is a

Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1, 17 (1973); Police Dept. of Chicago
v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92, 101 (1972).

"For a discussion of the differences between labor unions and business
corporations in the context of political contributions see, Rauh, “Legality
of Union Political Expenditures,” 34 S. Cal. L. Rev. 152, 162, n. 49
(1961).

“In fact, the lack of shareholders distinguishes all other entities from

arguendo, that they possess such a freedom, its scope is
limited to situations where its exercise is necessary to protect
the business, property or assets of corporations. Part III,
supra. The lower court found that the corporations before
this Court on appeal had failed to sustain their burden, as
plaintiffs in a civil action, of proving that the graduated
income tax amendment question would materially affect
their business, property or assets. Hence no individual
interests operate on the side of the Appellants.

This is not to say, however, that individual interests are

C. The Government Interests Asserted In Support Of The
Classification

In Part IV, A, of this Brief we have articulated the
interests which justify restricting the political “speech” of
corporations in the face of a First Amendment challenge.
We have shown that Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55, § 8, is
intended to sustain the role of the individual citizen in the
election process, particularly in the area of the popular
initiative and referendum which are intended to be the
“people's process.” Part IV, A, 1. We have also demon-
strated the need to maintain the individual citizen's confi-

54

dence in government by eliminating the unrestricted flow of
corporate funds to politicians and political causes. Part IV,
A, 2. Finally, we have shown that the ban on corporate
political contributions is necessary to protect stockholders
from the coerced use of their funds for the promotion of
political views antithetical to their own.” Part IV, A, 3.
These identical interests warrant singling out business
corporations for special attention.

The lower court itself recognized that these interests
justified disparate treatment for business corporations. It
held that business corporations were properly distinguished
trom most other artificial entities organized or doing busi-
ness in the Commonwealth, simply because the other
entities lack shareholders. J.S. App. 22. This distinction is
inapplicable only to business trusts and real estate in-
vestment trusts (REIT’s). Even business trusts and REIT’s
stand on a different footing than business corporations,
however. Differences in their organizational structure
submit them to varying degrees of regulation by federal and
state governments and the tax consequences of their organi-
zation differ slightly from those of business corporations.
This bears directly on the possibility that they will
accumulate large sums of money capable of being expended
for political purposes.

Whatever the technical distinctions among these entities
might be, the fact remains that only business corporations
have in the past exerted what may be deemed undue influ-

"Never is the need to protect minority stockholders more obvious
than when a question concerning the taxation of individuals is involved.
In such situations the existence of even an indirect impact on business
corporations is speculative. Meanwhile, the personal interests of
corporate managers are directly implicated. Thus the objectivity of a
management decision to favor or oppose such a question is highly
suspect.

55

ence in the political sphere. The record in this case amply
illustrates that the 1972 campaign to oppose a graduated
income tax amendment was dominated by corporate funds,
not funds from REIT’s or business trusts.*° Nor is the
experience on this particular question unique; the pattern of
corporate spending in initiative campaigns is common to all
jurisdictions which have provisions for submitting questions
to the voters and which do not restrict corporate contri-
butions.*'

The Massachusetts legislature may justifiably have con-
cluded on this basis alone that spending by REIT’s, business
trusts and other artificial entities simply does not pose a
serious threat to the integrity of the initiative process. In
any event, “[i}t is no requirement of equal protection that
all evils of the same genus be eradicated or none at all.”
Railway Express Agency, Inc. v. New York, 336 U.S. 106,
110 (1949). It is no indictment of the Massachusetts
statutory scheme that it could have gone further and
proscribed contributions and expenditures by other business
entities as well. The legislature may act selectively, and a
prohibition otherwise within its power will not fail merely
because it does not also reach every other class whose
conduct may be interdicted. United States v. Maryland

Savings-Share Insurance Corp., 400 U.S. 4 (1970); United
States v. Petrillo, 332 U.S. 1, 8-9 (1947); Sproles v. Binford,
286 U.S. 374, 396 (1932). In fact, the particularity of the

** The campaign finance reports of the committee organized to oppose
the 1972 graduated income tax amendment are referenced in the
appendix, App. 25, but because of their length have been omitted from
the document itself. They appear as Exhibit D at pp. 48-84 of the
Record Appendix submitted below.

”' See, e.g., State of California Fair Political Practices Commission,
“Campaign Contribution and Spending Report,” March 14, 1977.

56

statute may be its greatest virtue, for as the opinion of the
lower court suggests, the General Court of Massachusetts
has “clearly identified . . . the parameters of corporate free
speech.” J.S. App. 13. Further proscriptions may have the
effect of impinging on the rights, if any, of other business
entities.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, this case has become moot and
this appeal should be dismissed. In the alternative, this
Court should affirm the judgment of the Supreme Judicial
Court of Massachusetts, because Mass. Gen. Laws c. 55,
§ 8, is consistent with the First and Fourteenth Amendments.

Respectfully submitted,
FRANCIS X. BELLOTTI

Attorney General
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
THOMAS R. KILEY
STEPHEN SCHULTZ
Assistant Attorneys General
Commonwealth of Massachusetts

July, 1977.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1717%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
