# Amicus Brief — United States Steel Corp. v. Multistate Tax Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1673%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 1088

## Text

_ wtpreme Coum, ¥, &
A RILED |

No. 76-6595" "= ™ |

IN THE » MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK
SUPREME COURT
OF ‘THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1977

UNITED STATES STEEL CORPORATION,
ET AL., ON BEHALF OF THEMSELVES
AND ALL PERSONS SIMILARLY SITUATED,

Appellants,
vs.

MULTISTATE TAX COMMISSION, ET AL.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN
DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR THE
COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES
RE: CONGRESSIONAL AUTHORITY TO
PROHIBIT STATE AND LOCAL TAXES
AND THE APPORTIONING OF TAXES

JOHN H. LARSON
County Counsel

JAMES DEXTER CLARK
Deputy County Counsel

648 Hall of Administration
Los Angeles, California 90012
(213) 974-1833

Attorneys Amicus Curiae
For the County of Los Angeles

No. 76-635

IN ‘THE
SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1977

UNITED STATES STEEL CORPORATION,
ET AL., ON BEHALF OF THEMSELVES
AND ALL PERSONS SIMILARLY SITUATED,

Appellants,
vs.

MULTISTATE TAX COMMISSION, ET AL.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR THE
COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES
RE: CONGRESSIONAL AUTHORITY TO
PROHIBIT STATE AND LOCAL TAXES
AND THE APPORTIONING OF TAXES

JOHN H. LARSON
County Counsel

JAMES DEXTER CLARK
Deputy County Counsel

648 Hall of Administration
Los Angeles, California 90012
(213) 974-1833

Attorneys Amicus Curiae
For the County of Los Angeles

TOPICAL INDEX

Page

Table of Authorities iii
INTEREST OF THIS AMICUS CURIAE 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT 2
I INTRODUCTION 3
Il CONGRESS DOES NOT HAVE

THE AUTHORITY TO PROHIBIT

OR REGULATE STATE NON-

REGULATORY TAXATION 5
Ill LATE NINETEENTH CENTURY

CASES DO NOT SUPPORT THE

THEORY OF CONGRESSIONAL

CONTROL OF STATE TAXATION 10
IV THE TWENTIETH CENTURY --

"CENTRALIZATION" 13
Vv THE APPROPRIATE CONTROLS

ON THE STATES' POWER TO

TAX 18

CONGRESSIONAL AUTHORITY -

CONC LUSION 21
VI APPORTIONED TAXES -

INTRODUCTION 23

with an argument to the effect that the state action
there was a regulation and that the import-export
clause (Art. I, §10, cl. 2) prohibited one specie of
state regulation thus positively affirming the un-
controllable right to impose others. Justice Marshall
accepted this argument, but stated that the state action

"The sole question is, can a state
regulate commerce with foreign nations
and among the states, while Congress
is regulating it?

was not regulation but taxation. He said,

“Congress is authorized to lay and collect
taxes, etc., to pay the debts, and provide
for the common defense and general
welfare of the United States. This does
not interfere with the power of the states
to tax for the support of their own govern-
ments; nor is the exercise of that power
by the states an exercise of any portion

of the power that is granted to the United
States,"' (22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 1, at

p. 199, 6 L.Ed. 23 at p. 71)(emphasis added).

The Court goes on,

“Congress is not empowered to tax

for those those purposes which are within
the exclusive province of the states.
When, then, each government exercises
the power of taxation, neither is exercis-
ing the power of the other. But, when a
state proceeds to regulate commerce
with foreign nations, or among the
several states, it is exercising the very
power that is granted to Congress, and in
doing the very thing which Congress is
authorized to do. There is no analogy,
then, between the power of taxation and
the power of regulating commerce... .

7.

The counsel for respondent
answer... that limitations of a power
furnish a strong argument in favor of
the existence of that power, and that the
section which prohibits the states from
laying duties on imports or exports
proves that this power might have
been exercised, had it not been expressly
forbidden; and, consequently, that any
other commercial regulation not expressly
fobidden, to which the original power
of the state is competent, may still be
made. That this restruction shows the
opinion of the convention, that a state
might impose duties on exports and imports,
if not expressly forbidden, will be conceded;
but that it follows as a consequence from
this concession, that a state may regulate
commerce, with foreign nations and among
the states, cannot be admitted...
[because] [wje think it very clear that
[the import-export clause]... is con-
sidered as a branch of the taxing power... .

"This prohibition, then, is an
exception from the acknowledged power
of the states to levy taxes... .’’

(22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 1, at pp. 199-202,
6 L.Ed. 23 at p. 71.)

APPORTIONING STATE TAXES
HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE
COMMISSION ITSELF

IN ANY CASE, THE APPORTION-
MENT OF STATE AND LOCAL
TAXES HAS BEEN APPROVED
BY THE COURTS

APPORTIONMENT OF STATE
AND LOCAL TAXES IS APPRO-
PRIATE IN THE CONTEXT OF
BOTH INTERSTATE AND INTER-
NATIONAL COMMERCE

APPORTIONMENT OF "NON-
BUSINESS" TAXES IS
APPROPRIATE
APPORTIONMENT - CONCLUSION

VU STATE AND LOCAL TAXES AND
DISCRIMINATION

CONCLUSION

ii.

23

24

25

30

30

31

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Board of Trustees v. United States,
289 U.S. 48, 77 L.Ed. 1025,
53 S.Ct. 509 (1933) 13, 14

Branniff Airways v. Nebraska,
347 U.S. 590, 98 L. Ed. 967,
74 S.Ct. 757 (1954) 23

Brown v. Maryland,
25 U.S. (12 Wheat.) 419,

6 L. Ed. 678 (1827) 10, 12
Citizens Savings & Loan Assoc. v.
Topeka City,

87 U.S. (20 Wall.) 665,

22 L. Ed. 455 (1875) 22

Complete Auto Transit v. Brady,
__ U.S. __, 51 L. Ed. 2d 326,
97 S.Ct. 1076 (19755) 4, 18, 19
20, 25, 26
29, 30

Cooley v. Board of Port Wardens,
53 U.S. (12 How.) 299,
13 L. Ed. 996 (1851) 11, 13

Flying Tiger Lines v. County of

Los Angeles,
51 Cal. 2d 314, 333 P.2d 323 (1958) 24

iii.

Gibbons v. Ogden,
22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 1,
6 L. Ed. 23 (1824) 2, 6, 7, 8
10, 11, 12

Hines v. Davidowitz,
312 U.S. 52, 85 L. Ed. 581,
61 S.Ct. 399 (1941) 26

Int'l Shoe Co. v. Cocreham,
246 La. 244, 164 So. 2d 314,
cert. den. 379 U.S. 902 (1964) 16

Japan Lines Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles,
61 Cal. App. 3d 562,
132 Cal. Rptr. 531 (1976) 24

The Licenses Cases,
46 U.S. (5 How.) 504,
12 L. Ed. 256 (1847) 9, 11, 12, 14
Mandel v. Hutchinson,
494 F.2d 364 (1974) 24

M'Culloch v. Maryland,
17 U.S. (4 Wheat. ) 316,
4 L.Ed. 579 (1819) 9

McGoldrick v. Gulf Oil Corp.,
309 U.S. 414,
84 L.Ed. 840, 60 S.Ct. 664
(1940) 14, 16

Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages,
423 U.S. 276, 46 L. Ed. 2d 495,
96 S.Ct. 535 (1976) 6, 10

iv.

Moore v. Houston,
18 U.S. (5 Wheat. )1, 5L. Ed. 19(1820) 11

New York v. United States,
326 U.S. 572, 90 L.Ed. 326,
66 S.Ct. 310 (1946) 13

Northwest Airlines v. Minnesota,
322 U.S. 292, 88 L.Ed. 1283,
64 S.Ct. 950 (1944) 17

Ott v. Mississippi Barge Lines,
336 U.S. 169, 93 L. Ed. 585,
69 S.Ct. 432 (1949) 24

Pullman's Palace Car Co. v. Pennsylvania,
141 U.S. 18, 35 L.Ed. 613,
11 S.Ct. 876 (1891) 24, 26

Salt Lake City v. Utah Copper Co.,
294 F. 199, cert. den. 264 U.S. 590,
68 L. Ed. 864, 44 S.Ct. 403 (1924),
writ of error dismissed 267 U.S. 610,
69 L. Ed. 813, 45 S.Ct. 461 (1925) 21

Sea-Land Services, Inc. v. County of
Alameda,

12 Cal. 3d 772, 117 Cal. Rptr. 448,

528 P.2d 56 (1974) 27

Smith, Line & French Labs. v.
State Tax Comm.,
241 Ore. 50, 403 P.2d 375 (1965) 16

State ex rel. Ciba Pharmaceutical
Prods. v. State Tax Comm.,
382 S. W. 2d 645 (Mo. 1964) 16

Vv.

Standard Oil Co. v. Peck,
342 U.S. 382, 96 L.Ed. 427,
72 S.Ct. 309 (1952)

Sturges v. Crownshield,
17 U.S. (4 Wheat. ) 122,
7 L. Ed. 412

WHYY v. Glassboro,
343 U.S. 117, 21 L. Ed. 2d 242,
89 S.Ct. 286 (1968)

Wilson v. Black Bird Creek Marsh Co.,
27 U.S. (2 Pet.) 245,
7 L.Ed. 412 (1829)

Constitutional Provisions

United States Constitution:

24, 26

11

29

11

Commerce Clause 2, 4, 8, 11, 12

20, 21

5th Amendment

Texts

Business Taxes in State and Local
Governments 1972, Lexington Books
p. 1, "Opening Comments" by

Lewis C. Bell

Professor Crossky, Politics and the
Constitution in the History of the
United States (Univ. of Chicago Press
(1953))

vi.

, 28, 31

31

21

12

Parkinson, The Law and Profits 19

Articles

Clark, Property Taxation of Foreign
Goods and Enterprises - A Study
in Inconsistency, 4 Pepperdine Law Review

39 (1976) 3, 6, 11
15, 23
Gilbert, Toward Full Employment,
Fortune Magazine, October 1945 22
Miscellaneous
Federalist Papers (nos. 32 and 33) 5, 6
11, 17

Supplementary Convention between

U.S.A. and the Kingdom of Sweden

Relating to Income and Other Taxes,

15 U.S.T. 1824,T.1.A.S. 5656,

Art II (c)(7) 29

vii.

No. 76-635

IN THE
SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1977

UNITED STATES STEEL CORPORATION,
ET AL., ON BEHALF OF THEMSELVES
AND ALL PERSONS SIMILARLY SITUATED,

Appellants,

vs.
MULTISTATE TAX COMMISSION, ET AL.,

Appellees.

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR THE
COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES
RE: CONGRESSIONAL AUTHORITY TO
PROHIBIT STATE AND LOCAL TAXES
AND THE APPORTIONING OF TAXES

INTEREST OF THIS AMICUS CURIAE

The Amicus Curiae collects some $3 billion

in property taxes which provide for the local
services provided to business and personal
property, including intrastate, interstate, and

1.

foreign businesses.
The assumptions made and positions taken

by the appellants will eventually lead to the possible
cancellation of ANY or ALL of this revenue.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

State taxation has always "burdened" inter-
State and foreign commerce. But it does not always
regulate commerce. The framework for this case
is the interpretation of Congress' power under the
commerce clause. That clause has been misunder-
stood in that regard since 1940.

It is time to review what our founding fathers
actually had in mind when conferring the regulation
of commerce on Congress and the power to tax on
both federal and state governments.

THE COMMERCE CLAUSE DOES NOT
CONFER ON CONGRESS THE POWER TO
PROHIBIT OR REGULATE STATE TAXES AS
LONG AS THOSE TAXES ARE NON-
REGULATORY.

The appropriate test, then, for determining
the commerce clause issues in this case is whether
some procedural aspect of the states' action is
regulatory. If, and only if, that action is
regulatory, then the usual analysis of the effect
of Congressional pre-emption of the field and the
necessity for uniform regulations can be applied.
But Congress cannot pre-empt non-regulatory state
taxation.

The foundation for these views is the
historical analysis of the commerce clause and
other provisions detailed in Clark, Property

Taxation of Foreign Goods and Enterprise --
‘ Bendy in Inconsistency, 4 Feed Law Review
The appellants' argument concerning the
apportioning of taxes in accordance with the
business activities of the taxpayer in the taxing
jurisdiction do not reflect on the commission
itself, but call into question the whole federal-
state relationship. It is clear that apportionment
of taxes is not a new concept. It is also apparent
that the appellants' arguments to the effect that

states must never have any effect on international
affairs is contrary to the states' very existence.

The states can maintain both logically and
under the constitution, a state tax system which
will gather revenue without regulating interstate
or foreign commerce.

I
INTRODUCTION

The appellant has suggested that by the act
of taxing, the states have regulated commerce.
It is important to understand, however, that
regulation and taxation are not the same thing.
As Chief Justice Marshall said in Gibbons v.
Ogden, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 1, 6 L. Ed. 23 (1824),

"But when a state proceeds to regulate
commerce with foreign nations, or
among the several States, it is exercis-
ing the very power granted to Congress,
and is doing the very thing which
Congress is authorized to do. There is
no analogy, then, between the power of
taxation and the power of regulating
commerce,"

Somehow during the last 150 years courts
began to view taxation in the same way as regula-
tion, and at one time it was in vogue to test the
propriety of state taxes under the commerce
clause on the basis of whether they "substantially
burdened" interstate commerce.

Of course, whether a substantial burden was
imposed or an insubstantial one, depended in large
part on the "gut reaction” of the justice reviewing
the tax. Such tests do no good for either the
taxing authority or the taxpayer.

Perhaps the most detailed set of criteria
supplied by the Court under the commerce clause
was set forth in its recent opinion in Complete

Auto Transit v. Brady, U.S. __, 51 L.Ed.
3d 326, 97 S.Ct. 1076 (1977).

This same criteria is appropriate to
determine when a tax becomes regulatory.

Thus, the appellants’ reliance on the
Commerce Clause is misplaced in that Congress
does not have the authority the appellants contend
the Commission is taking.

4.

II
CONGRESS DOES NOT HAVE
THE AUTHORITY TO PROHIBIT
OR REGULATE STATE NON-
REGULATORY TAXATION

"I am willing here to allow, in its

full extent, the justness of the reason-
ing, which requires that the individual
States should possess an independent
and uncontrollable authority to raise
their own revenues for the supply of their
own wants. And making this concession,
I affirm that (with the sole exception

of duties on imports and exports), they
would, under the plan of the Convention
{i.e., the Constitution], retain that
authority in the most absolute and un-
qualified sense; and that an attempt on
the part of the National Government to
abridge them in the exercise of it,

would be a violent assumption of power,
unwarranted by any article or clause

of its Constitution. "

This Amicus Curiae is of the opinion that

The two powers are distinct, although it is
clear that taxation may become regulatory.

The dicta of late nineteenth century cases
and its effect on the thinking of the courts is
detailed in Clark, supra, 4 Pepperdine Law Review
39.

It should be emphasized that when taxes
become regulatory, discriminating for or against
interstate or foreign commerce, they are then
regulatable by Congress (and, indeed possibly
outright void as either encroaching on an area
already pre-empted by Congress or on an area
where national uniformity is required, i.e.., in
dealing with foreign enterprises). But as this
court said,

"It is obvious that such nondiscriminatory
property taxation can have no impact what-
soever on the Federal Government's
exclusive regulation of foreign com-
merce, probably the most important
purpose of the [import-export] clause's
prohibition. (Michelin Tire Corp.

v. Wages, 423 U.S. 276 at p. 286.)

The staternent also applies to all forms of

this statement from the Federalist Papers (#32
by Alexander Hamilton) is as true today as it was
in 1789. It has been falsely assumed that the
power of Congress to prohibit state taxes exists.
But when one closely researches the cases relied
upon for this assumption, it can be seen that they
all deal with Congressional power to prohibit
state regulation of commerce.

state taxation which do not regulate commerce.

A reading of the Federalist Papers (especially
nos. 32 and 33) should be enough to convince one
that the Congressional authority to prohibit these
“neutral” taxes simply does not exist. Justice
Marshall explicitly recognized the lack of power
in Gibbons v. Ogden, supra. He was confronted

~<- «+

5. : 6.

So Justice Marshall fully confirms the absolute

right in the states to impose taxes, which Alexander
Hamilton had previously described.

Justice Taney rendered the same opinion of

the states' ability to tax without control by Congress.

"Upon examining the [Gibbons v, Ogden]
opinion, it will be seen that the Court,
when it uses the expressions which are
supposed to coutenance the doctrine of
the exclusive power in Congress, is
commenting upon the argument of counsel
in favor of equal power on the subject in
the states and the general government, where
neither party is bound to yield to the other;
and is drawing the distinction between
cases of concurrent powers and those

in which the supreme or paramount
power was granted to Congress. It
therefore very justly speaks of the

States as exercising their own powers in
laying taxes for state purpose although
the same thing is taxed by Congress;

and as exercising the powers granted to
Congress when they make regulations of
commerce. In the first case, the

state power is concurrrent with that of
the general government -- is equal to it,
and is not bound to yield."' (The License
Cases, 46 U.S. (5 How.) 504 at pp. 581-
982, 12 L. Ed. 256 at p. 291.)

In M'Culloch v. Maryland, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat. )

316, 4 L.Ed. 579 (1819), the tax was not struck
down because it was prohibited by Congress, but

9.

because it was regulatory. In Brown v. Maryland,
supra (as this court noted in Michelin Tire Con Vv.
Aue 423 U.S. 276 (1976)), the Court did not
invalidate the discriminatory tax because it was
prohibited by Congress, but because it was laid
upon import:: because of their foreign origin and
was therefore regulatory. Chief Justice Marshall
makes several attempts to explain that when such

a tax would fall upon all property uniformly, it
would be appropriate, but,

"Any penalty inflicted upon the importer

for selling the article in his character

of importer, must be in opposition to the act
of Congress which authorizes importa-

tion. '' (25 U.S. (12 Wheat.) 419, at p. 448,
6 L. Ed. 678 at p. 688)(emphasis added).

So Gibbons v. Ogden, supra, and all of the
other cases cited for the proposition that Congress'
authority to prohibit state taxation is complete,
simply do not support the theory.

Ill
LATE NINETEENTH CENTURY
CASES DO NOT SUPPORT THE
THEORY OF CONGRESSIONAL
CONTROL OF STATE TAXATION

The difference between regulation and taxa-
tion was once understood (and has been again
brought to light in Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages,

supra). But toward the middle of the nineteenth

century the distinction between the two became

10.

clouded. Again, this process is developed in
Clark, supra.

It may be that part of the confusion in the
late 19th century stems from the fact that Cooley
v. Board of Port Wardens, 53 U.S. (12 How.)
299, 13 L. Ed. 996 (1851) tacitly lumps state powers
which are vested in Congress by the constitution
and able to be performed by the states only until
exercised by Congress, with taxing power.

(See 53 U.S. (12 How.) 299, at pp. 318-319, 13
L.Ed. 996 at pp. 1004-1005). But a close reading
of the language there does not support the conclu-
sion that the Cooley court felt that the two should
be subject to the same Congressional controls.
In fact, by referring to the very Federalist Papers
which maintain the absolute authority in the states,
Cooley, implies the contrary. (The cases cited at
53 U.S. 319, 13 L.Ed. 1005 deal with powers

° presently called "concurrent," i.e., those given
to Congress, but exercisable by the states until
Congress acts, e.g., to regulate commerce
{Wilson v. Black Bird Creek Marsh Co., 27 U.S.
(2 Pet.) 245, 7 L. Ed. 412 (1829)], to court martial
militiamen called to national duty [Moore v. Houston,
18 U.S. (5 Wheat.) 1, 5 L. Ed. 19 (1820)], and to
create bankruptcy laws [Sturges v. Crownshieid,
17 U.S. (4Wheat. )122, 7 L.Ed. 412)).

The nature of the power of taxation is
different in that,

"The power of taxation. . . is capable of
residing in, and being exercised by, dif-
ferent authorities at the same time. "
(Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U.5. (9 Wheat.) 1
at p. 197, 6 L. Ed. 23 at p. 71.)

ll.

[neither] is bound to yield, "
(The License Cases, 46 U.S. (5 How.)
904 at p. 582, 12 L. Ed. 256 at p. 291.)

The power of taxation, then, is both a dual power ana
totally separate from the power to regulate commerce.

"There is no analogy, then, between the
power of taxation and the power of
regulating commerce." (Gibbon v.
Ogden, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 1 at p. 199,
6 L.Ed. 23 at p. 71.)

So, the power of Congress, now assumed to
stop all state action in the area of taxation was
never recognized during the period at which the
Constitution was ratified and being first inter-
preted, and there is abundant authority for the
proposition that the states' right to tax is ''sacred”
(Brown v. Maryland, supra, 25 U.S. (12 Wheat.)
419 at p. 448, 6 L.Ed. 678 at p. 689). Professor
Crosskey in his book Politics and the Constitution
in the History of the United States (Univ. of

Chicago Press (1953))sets forth one possible

reason why this confusion took place. It was in

the interests of the southern states to protect
themselves from the totality of federal regulation
which Professor Crosskey theorizes. The justices
on the Supreme Court from the South were interested
in that protection and developed the ‘territorial
view" that regulation by Congress was appropriate
outside the states' borders.

The theory that Congress and the states
exercised ''concurrent"™ powers to regulate interstate
commerce grew when the theory was to the advantage
of the states. But Justice Taney called the taxation
power "equal" (The License Cases, supra, 46 U.S.
(S How.) at p. 582, 12 L.Ed. 256 at p. 291) mean-
ing capable of being exercised at the same time.

12.

The Cooley court, as previously pointed out, put
that power in the same paragraph as powers capable
of being exercised part by one party and part by
another, but not the same part by the same party
(i.e. , incapable of being exercised by two parties
at the same time).

The dicta later on toward the turn of the
century was stronger yet, and the stage was set
for the collapse of the territorial view as Congress
asserted its authority in interstate commerce
regulation. That collapse would cause the view
that Congress could prohibit state taxation (see
also, Clark, supra).

IV
THE TWENTIETH CENTURY --
"CENTRALIZATION"

The view that Congress' authority to regulate
interstate and foreign commerce was plenary and
complete, grew to mean that Congress had the
authority to regulate any state or local action in any
way affecting the commerce. One recent statement
of this misconception was made in Board of
Trustees v. United States, 289 U.S. 48 (1933).
There, the Court dealt with a state university's
contention that its property, imported from
abroad, should not be subject to customs duties
because the university was a part of the state.

Of course, the simple answer to the university's
contention is that the federal regulations cannot,

and should not, be ignored simply because it

affects property belonging to a state (see New York v.

United States, 326 U.S. 572, 90 L.Ed. 326, 66 S.

Ct. 310 (1946)). But the Court went further, assuming

13.

that because revenue was derived from the tariffs,
they were a tax as well as a regulation, But even
following this assumption appropriately leads to

the validity of the federal levy because'"’. . . neither
is bound to yield.’ (The Licenses Cases, supra,

46 U.S. (5 How.) 504 at p. 582, 12 L. Ed. 256 at p.
291.) But the Court said in speaking of the commerce
clause,

"It is an essential attribute of the power
that it is exclusive and plenary. As an
exclusive power, its exercise may not be
limited, qualified, or impeded to any
extent by state action."' (289 U.S. 48

at pp. 56-57. )

True enough when dealing with regulations of
commerce by the states or a states' efforts to
avoid federal regulations. But the state power to
tax non-discriminatorily and without the possibility
of double taxation, i.e., a neutral tax, does not
impinge on that power in the least. (Of course,
the tax must also not be so great as to prohibit
the commerce generally. Such a tax would be
contrary to the due process idea that the tax
must bear a sufficient relationship to the benefits
and protections conferred by the state on the tax-
payer. Also see argument, supra, regarding
this Court's authority to review taxes under the
due process clause as excessive. )

But the Court seized upon this lanauge
from Board of Trustees in rendering the opinion
that a customs regulation, tacitly reviewed by
Congress, could void state taxes on goods which
are in certain types of customs bond. McGoldrick

14,

v. Gulf Oil Corp., 309 U.S. 414, 84 L.Ed, 840,

60 S.Ct. 664 (1940). No state-owned property was
involved in McGoldrick v. Gulf Oil, and the court
may have been able to invalidate the tax on the ground
that it was not sufficiently related to the benefits

and protections conferred by the state (see Clark,

supra, at pp. 72-73).

Assume for a moment that the McGoldrick v.
Gulf tax were a property tax on the goods which
helped pay for fire and police protection rendered by
the locality regardless of its customs status (note
that Customs although theoretically "controlling"
bonded goods does not protect them from fire or
theft). McGoldrick logic clearly obliges local tax-
payers, including competing oil companies dealing
with domestic fuel, to pay for the privilege of protect-
ing the foreign goods.

National pruposes, including the subsidizing
of foreign enterprises or goods, are purposes of the
nation as a whole and logically should not be funded
by a restricted base of taxpayers. Congress, for
instance, may deem it advisable to grant benefits
to foreign companies doing business principally on
the East Coast in order to obtain favorable treat-
ment abroad for West Coast United States companies.
Assuming that such a subsidy passes constitutional
muster, it would be inappropriate to "fund" the East
Coast subsidy by means of a reduction in eastern
states' taxes on the foreign companies. The Western
taxpayer receives the benefit of having U.S. companies
located near him subsidized abroad, and may be affected
by those companies' improved prospects. But it is
the Eastern taxpayer who will be forced to support
local and state services to the foreign company

15.

without benefit to himself. He may have to
support it by higher taxes or by accepting a
lower level of governmental service overall. In
short, Congressional subsidies of foreign enter-

prizes should be done with national resources,
not local.

McGoldrick goes even further. If we assume,
as do some state cases (see Int'l Shoe Co. v.
Cocreham, 246 La. 244, 164 So. 2d 314, cert.
den. 379 U.S. 902 (1964); State ex rel. Ciba
Pharmaceutical Prods. v. State Tax Comm. ,
382 S. W. 2d 645 (Mo. 1964); and Smith, Kline
& French Labs. v. State Tax Comm., 241 Ore. 50,
403 P.2d 375 (1965)), that the federal government
can regulate commerce by prohibiting state action
not amounting to regulations, we assume that there
is simply no power reserved to the states.
Adequacy of a locality's fire protection most
assuredly affects interstate commerce, but can
the federal government oblige the Pasadena Fire
Department to give more protection to interstate
shipped goods than it gives to goods produced
in-state? The logic of McGoldrick, and the
appellants would answer this question in the
affirmative.

16.

We have come full circle. Alexander
Hamilton (no rabid supporter of states' rights by
any means) said that the States,

", « « possess an independent and

uncontrollable authority to raise their

own revenues for the supply of their own

wants... .. Amd... an attempt on the

part of the National Government to abridge

them in the exercise of its would be a

violent assumption of power, unwarranted

by any article or clause of its Constitution. "

(Federalist Papers No. 32) (Emphasis added).

Now, Justice Jackson can say by way of
concurring opinion,

“Congress has not extended its

protection and control to the field of
taxation, although I take it no one denies
that constitutionally it may do so. _ It

may exact a single uniform federal tax

on the property or the business to the
exclusion of taxation by the state. It

may subject the vehicles or other incidents
to any type of state and local taxation,

or it may declare them tax-free altogether.
(Northwest Airlines v. Minnesota,

322 U.S. 292, 303, 88 L.Ed. 1283,

64 S.Ct. 950 (1944). }

We have traced this development of this
change in attitude. The new one of total federal
sovereignty has been made in complete ignorance
of the proper view of the states' ability to tax.

It has come about in reaction, not only to the

17.

—

increasing speed and complexity of commerce,
but also in response to new kinds of taxes.

Controls are indeed required to insure
that those taxes remain neutral and non-
discriminatory. But those tools are available
without recourse to a wholesale revision of the
federal- state relationship.

\
THE APPROPRIATE CONTROLS
ON THE STATES' POWER TO TAX

As this Court has reviewed an increasing
number of state income and sales taxes which
affect interstate commerce, it has developed an
increasingly closer scrutiny of those taxes on
constitutional grounds. One of the latest of

these analyses appears in Complete Auto Transit
v. Brady, supra. The factors used there appear

to this amicus curiae to narrow the impact of

state taxes on interstate enterprises to the point
where they are neutral, not favoring intra-state
commerce over inter-state, and discouraging
excessive taxes generally. It is this logic which
provides the basis for protecting this and all inter-
state taxpayers from discriminatory or regulatory
taxes.

a. Nexus. The activity of the taxpayer
in the taxing jurisdiction must be sufficient to
justify some tax.

b. Relationship to Benefits. Interrelated
with the nexus test is the requirement that the tax
bear some reasonable relationship to the benefits
conferred. It may well be that two separate kinds
of tax based on the same benefit would violate this
principal (for instance, if in Complete Auto Transit,
Inc. v. Brady, supra, the tax payer had alleged
that the state was also imposing a “franchise tax"
which had no other basis than the fact that the
company was doing business in the state). This
test would also exclude the tax which is so exces-
sive that it becomes prohibitory, even if it is non-
discriminatory (for an interesting view of excessive
taxation see Parkinson, The Law and Profits).

c. Discriminatory. The tax must not
discriminate against interstate commerce. A
tax which discriminates in favor of certain parts of
interstate commerce may also be subject to this
test, since discrimination either for or against,
is regulation, and Congress' extensive rate-tax-
safety controls, in the area of national business,

might be thwarted even by favortism on the part
of a state. (The national government may believe,

for instance, that the business being favored should
receive equal treatment with other businesses. )

d. Fair Apportionment. This requirement
can be viewed as part of the relationship to benefits
test, since the benefits and protections conferred
by the taxing jurisdiction can only be conferred on
that portion of the business having a "presence" in
the jurisdiction. A tax which goes beyond that
presence (however measured) exceeds both the
nexus and relationship requirements as well as
being unfairly apportioned.

19.

eS

Thus, it can be seen that the interstate
and foreign taxpayers are protected from unilateral
regulation by a state tax. Such regulation (assum-
ing that Congress has pre-empted the field of
interstate business tax encouragement and regula-
tion), whether it be favoring the interstate taxpayer
or burdening it, must be approved by Congress.
For it is the federal government which can, by
the means at its disposal, encourage or burden
various types of business.

The tariff rates classicly demonstrate
Congress’ full authority to regulate foreign com-
merce. Any individual state's effort to increase
the burden on an importer vis-a-vis the interstate
dealer, or to decrease that burden would tip the
delicate balance established so completely by Congress.

But the interstate rates-regulations and tax
benefits are equally pre-emptive of state regula-
tion unless agreed to by Congress. For instance,
the oil depletion allowance, an effort to encourage
oil exploitation, would be thwarted if state govern-
ments imposed additional taxes on oil companies.
In like manner a state exemption in favor of
such oil companies would thwart the purpose of
Congress in repealing that allowance.

The taxpayer is protected from regulatory
State taxes.

It is also protected from regulatory procedures.
Logically, the same requirements for uniformity
of taxes should apply to the procedures for their
levy and collection. Thus, any procedures which
violate the standards of Complete Auto Transit
would also be regulatory and would constitute state

20.

regulations of interstate or foreign commerce
without Congressional approval. But it is not
ordinarily undue discrimination to tax different
classes of owners of different kinds of property

by different methods and by means of different sets
of officers. Salt Lake City v. Utah Copper Co.,
294 F. 199, cert. den. 364 U8 " 550, 66-L- Ed. 8 L. Ed,
864, 44 S.Ct. 403 (1924) and writ of error dis-

missed 267U.S, 610, 69 L.Ed. 813, 45 S.Ct.
461 (1925),

CONGRESSIONAL AUTHORITY -
CONCLUSION

There is little doubt that the requirement
for neutrality of state taxation goes beyond the

usual case language conferring on state legislatures

broad authority to classify taxpayers, although
there is little support for the present state activity
in the field of regulating commerce. But Congress'

activity in the field of commerce and tax encourage-

ments has become so complete that the states'

regulatory tax powers over commerce must give way.

Only then will foreign and interstate commerce
be brought to the point where all businesses
doing business in a state will be doing so knowing
that it is the federal government they must look
to for encouragement in their efforts. Their
cost of doing business in that state will, then, be
like any other business. The business will be
paying its fair share" of state costs (see Business
Taxes in State and Local Governments, 1972,
Lexington Books p. 1, Opening Comments" by
Lewis C. Bell), and will not be obliged to bear
another's, The federal government's authority

21.

—— 5» -- -O-

over regulation will be as complete as it ought

to be. But at the same time the states will be

assured, as they were in 1789, that they will be

able to maintain fire and police protection, keep up
their schools, help their poor and sick, all without the
threat that someday, somehow, the federal government
will order them to cease functioning.

Before the advent of federal economic incen-
tives in the area of taxation, state regulation of
commerce by tax incentives would be unthinkable.
(For a declaration of the economic responsibility
at the federal level, see Gilbert, ‘Toward Full
Employment" Fortune Magazine, October 1945, )
State donations to business were declared not to
constitute public policy (Citizens Savings & Loan

Assoc. v. Topeka City, 87 U.S. (20 Wall. ) 665,
2 L.Ed. 455 (1875).

Now government encouragement to industry
has become accepted, but the conflict between the
federal and state levels of that activity have be-
come so confusing that the businesses meant to be

aided are subject to incentives at one level of
government while being burdened at the other.

Even-handed, simplified taxation is no longer
possible by carrying on the assumption that states
can encourage or discourage businesses by means
of tax incentives while the federal government is
trying to do the same thing. That even-handed
treatment is required in today's fast paced world.
It requires that we look toward the federal system
as an opportunity to resolve local problems at the
local level, while assuring all of those who support
those efforts financially that they are not paying
more than their fair share.

22.

At the same time, the states are entitled as
a matter of right to collect the revenue necessary
for them to function, as long as that revenue collec-
tion does not regulate commerce.
VI
APPORTIONED TAXES - INTRODUCTION

The comments of the appellants on the issue
of apportioning taxes in accordance with business
activity in the state reflects the concern of business
and government alike that the states maintain a
neutral stand regarding all taxpayers. Those
comments also reflect the need to fairly apportion
taxes in the context of changes in business organiza-
tions. But it must be remembered that the
Commission's existence has little to do with the
concept which was approved by tius court in 1891
(see Clark, supra, at pp. 53, et seq., concerning the
development of the apportionment concept).

APPORTIONING STATE TAXES
HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE
COMMISSION ITSELF

The appellants have ascribed the problems
involved with apportioning state taxes directly
to the existence of the Commission. The short
answer to these contentions (Appellants' Opening
Brief, pp. 35-47) is that the testing of the apportion-
ment concept should be conducted in the context
of actual taxation. The existence of the Commis-
sion, or lack thereof, will not make the apportion-
ment concept disappear, and the apportioning of
state and local taxes based upon the activity of
businesses within the state does not provide any
rationale for either reducing or obliterating its

powers. 23.

The doctrine of absention encourages the states
to solve their tax disputes. California's methods
for resolving those disputes have been declared to
be adquate to bring that doctrine into play. (Mandel
v. Hutchinson, 494 F.2d 364 (1974). )

The appellants’ contentions regarding the
apportionment concept are appropriately introduced
in the courts when the apportioned taxes are imposed
by the states, as they have been in the past.

IN ANY CASE, THE APPORTIONMENT
OF STATE AND LOCAL TAXES HAS
BEEN APPROVED BY THE COURTS

The concept of apportioning taxes in
accordance with a business’ activities in a state
is not new. In 1891 property taxes were
apportioned on the basis of the business' activity
within the state. (Pullman's Palace Car Co. v.
Pennsylvania, 141 U.S. 18, 35 L.Ed. 613, 11 S.Ct.
876 (1891). That apportionment principle was approved
by various cases over the years (Branniff Airways v.
Nebraska, 347 U.S. 590, 98 L.Ed. 967, 74 5.Ct. 757

(1954); Ott v. Mississippi Barge Lines, 336 U.S. 169,
93 L. Ed. 585, 69 S.Ct. 432 (1949); Flying Tiger Lines

v. County of Los Angeles, 51 Cal.2d 314, 333 P.2d
323 (1958) and Japan Lines Ltd. v. County of Los
Angeles, 61 Cal. App. 3d 562, 132 Cal. Rptr. 531 (1976)
[this decision accepted for hearing by the California
Supreme Court]); Standard Oil Co. v. Peck, 342 U.S.
382, 96 L.Ed. 427, 72 S.Ct. 309 (1952).

24.

APPORTIONMENT OF STATE
AND LOCAL TAXES IS APPRO-
PRIATE IN THE CONTEXT OF
BOTH INTERSTATE AND INTER-
NATIONAL COMMERCE

The appellants suggest that it has been
traditional to impose taxes on a business only at
its formal place of domicile. It is true that, when
business was primiartly local in character, taxing
an organization only where it was incorporated was
factually related to the services provided by the
taxing state. The businesses performing their
activity primarily in the jurisdiction of domicile,
thus used to reimburse the very government giving
that business its benefits and protections. The
cost of the goods sold by that business waild, then,
reflect the cost of providing those benefits and
protections and would be in accordance with the
guidelines of Complete Auto Transit v. Brady,

supra.

But as businesses have become larger and
have crossed both state and national lines, this
situation changed. This Court recognized that
the most dynamic and expanding industries of the
last century, the railroad companies, were
receiving services from jurisdictions other than
their technical domicile. The railroads' keeping
their movable property in the other jurisdictions
created the strain on the other jurisdictions'
governmental support. The ability of those other
jurisdictions to attempt to recoup that cost was
affirmed early (Pullman's Palace Car Co. v.
Pennsylvania, supra).

25.

pentane nea s

But it was not until Standard Oil Co. v.
Peck, supra, that the apportionment concept was
applied to prohibit the jurisdiction of technical
domicile from taxing property on a basis not
reflecting that property's activity in the jurisdic-
tion. (That case would also be supported by the
guidelines of Complete Auto Transit v. Brady, supra. )

There must be little doubt that during the
period between Pullman's Palace Car Co. v.
Pennsylvania, supra, and Standard Oil Co. v.
Peck, supra, some states were, by imposing taxes
not related to the level of activity in the jurisdic-
tion, actually creating multiple taxation.

The appellants contend that apportioning
state taxes will cause multiple taxation. It is
probable that any development of state and/or local
taxation will create this difficulty, and the courts
must resolve these difficulties as soon as practical.
But the desirability of adopting our taxes to changing
circumstances remains.

The international commerce situation
provides additional ad hoc complications to which
the appellants point. They rely on these complica-
tions, first, for the proposition that no apportion-
ment of state taxes should take place, and, second,
that the Commission should be disbanded because
it supports the apportionment concept.

Although the international difficulties do not
support the appellants' conclusions, as previously
pointed out, it is appropriate to deal with those
problems, because state taxation, like state or
local treatment of aliens general, does impact

26.

upon international affairs. The appellants would
suggest that because change in the taxation of
foreign businesses will cause their governments
to complain, that change must not be undertaken.
But it has been accepted by both our federal govern-
ment and other countries that the states do exert
an independent sphere of action with which the
federal government may not interfere. The
federal government has both the authority and
the duty to take appropriate steps to maintain

a consistent foreign policy including reimbursing
aliens for treatment which was not compensated
for under state law.

We have seen that the states possess the
authority to tax as long as that taxation is not
regulatory (being non-prohibitory, non-
discriminatory and related to the governmental
services rendered). When the states impose
any such tax uniformly on all businesses which
are conducting activity within its borders, they
will probably impose it on some foreign interests.
It is possible that some such tax will not dovetail
with the taxes imposed upon the foreign business
by its own country or by another foreign country.
Taxes on our country's businesses may run
this same risk (see Sea-Land Services, Inc. v.
County of Alameda, 12 Cal. 3d 772, 117 Cal. Rptr.
448, 528 P.2d 56 (1974)).

But to suggest that a state tax must follow
some pattern based more on tradition than upon
the fact of benefits and protections conferred
gives up a state's ability to obtain reimbursement
for the governmental services it renders.

The taxation of an interstate or international
business only where it is domiciled, as the appellants
27.

appear to suggest, would lead to escapes from taxation
since the domicile state could impose taxes related to
the benefits it confers and all other states would be
obliged to collect no tax.

How do state and local taxes fit into the
federal system and international affairs? From
what has been said above, it is clear that the states
may not treat foreign businesses any better or
worse than interstate businesses. The states
have the duty not to regulate foreign commerce
(Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 85 L. Ed. 581,
61 S.Ct. 399 (1941)). (It is this Amicus Curiae's
position that the states may not regulate interstate
commerce without Congressional approval because
of the many rates, tax, and safety laws affecting
virtually every phase of interstate commerce,
including the amount of profit.) But to say that
states may not impose a tax which is legitimate
under this country's laws is to say that states
may not obtain reimbursement for services they
render only because those services are rendered
to foreign enterprises. Such subsidies of business
activity would do more to cause confusion in inter-
national relations than any of the problems posed
by appellants. The cost of doing business in
California should be the same with respect to
the amount of in-state activity (whether measured
by property, sales, employees or whatever) for
intra-state businesses as for interstate or
foreign businesses. The appellants propose that
the measure be different for businesses operating
from outside the state.

A government's ability to tax depends, in
the long run, upon its evidencing good faith and
reasonability. Insofar as government creates

28.

"special'' distinctions for "special" people, it
does less than its best, and the states and localities
should not distinguish between taxpayers on the
basis of the geographic location of the taxpayer's
domicile. (WHYY v. Glassboro, 343 U.S. 117,
21 L. Ed, 2d 242, 89 S.Ct. 286 (1968).) Our
treatment of foreign enterprises by the states

and localities must be the same as the treatment
we provide our own nationals. This concept is
supported by the legal analysis above as well as by
the treaties to which this country is a party (see
Supplementary Convention between U.S.A. and the
Kingdom of Sweden Relating to Income and Other
Taxes, 15 U.S. T. 1824, T.1.A.S. 5656, Act Il
(c)(7).

APPORTIONMENT OF "NON-
BUSINESS" TAXES IS APPROPRIATE

One of the features of the apportionment
of taxes to which appellants object is the taxation
of rents and other "non-business" income at
the location of the income producing property.
Surely, the "traditional rule" for allocating
the taxes on this income provides cogent reasons
for apportionment. To say that Delaware should
receive the benefits of taxing rent income from
property located in California would seem to run
contrary to the guidelines provided by Complete
Auto Transit v. Brady, supra, as a tax not
related at all to the benefits and protections provided
by Delaware.

29.

APPORTIONMENT - CONCLUSION

Thus, the impact of appellants' apportion-
ment arguments leads one to conclude that
apportionment is proper especially in the context
of international businesses whose domicile gives
no more benefits to that business than does a state
domicile of an active multi-state business. The
governments ought to receive a return for the
business activity within their jurisdictions and
apportionment is the means by which that may
be accomplished, as long as the Complete Auto
Transit tests are satified.

Vu

STATE AND LOCAL TAXES, AND
DISCRIMINATION

The appellants’ contentions which are logically
related to the actual activities of the Commission
are primarily dealt with at appellants’ opening
brief, pp. 48-51. The important aspect of this
portion of the appellants’ brief is that it consists
of suggestions made by the Commission. No
matter how onerous, discriminating, or abusive
an organization's suggestions may be, it would seem
that some action be actually instituted before the
14th Amendment can be brought into play. The
appellants have concluded only that the letters
from which they quote show that the Commission
may discriminate, assumedly at some time in the
future.

30.

There is indeed a problem of discrimination
in the area of state and local taxation. But the
ultimate conclusion must be that states do not
the authority to differentiate between intrastate,
interstate, and international commerce.

They have, and ought to have, the authority
to impose levies, which are non-regulatory, non-

discriminatory, and non-prohibitory, on any business,

and suggestions by the commission, or the equally
vocal business lobby do not constitute state action.

CONCLUSION

Subject to any 5th Amendment limitations
which may apply, Congress has the authority to
grant foreign businesses subsidies and exemptions
in return for favorable treatment for United States
businesses abroad. It does not have the authority
to exempt such a business, or all business, from
state taxation, as long as that state taxation does
not regulate. But the states’ taxation must be
uniform.

As long as the states' taxes are uniform and
appropriately related to the benefits conferred
and to the activity of the taxpayer within the
state, those taxes represent nothing more than a
cost of doing business in the jurisdiction.
The goods sold by such businesses should reflect
the benefits conferred, and subsidies are regula-
tions of commerce which are not within the power
of the states, but of national concern.

Thus, the appellants’ claim that the compact
takes away Congress' power is not borne out under

31.

its commerce clause rationale. As long as the
states do not regulate in their taxing policies,

they not only avoid treading on Congress' powers,
they create an atmosphere of certainty, uniformtiy,
and fairness which must be the hallmark of govern-
ment founded on the God-given right of its citizens
to participate in its affairs.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN H. LARSON
County Counsel

JAMES DEXTER CLARK
Deputy County Counsel

Amicus Curiae
For the County of Los Angeles

32.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1673%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
