# Opposition — Ballestrasse v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1365%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 431 U.S. 929

## Text

[Supreme 16 Court, U. S.
FILED

MAY 12 1977

No. 76-1210 MICHAEL ROQAK, JB., CLERK

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

JOHN BALLESTRASSE, PETITIONER
Vz.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

Wave H. McCree, Jr.,
Solicitor General,

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI,
Assistant Attorney General,

JEROME M. Feit,

James A. HUNOLT,
Attorneys,
Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 76-1210
JOHN BALLESTRASSE, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. A) is not
reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
January 31, 1977. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on March 2, 1977. The jurisdiction of this court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1). —

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the district court erred in admitting rebuttal
evidence to impeach petitioner's testimony.

2. Whether, in the circumstances of this case, petitioner
was denied a fair trial because he was cross-examined about

(1)

2

whether he had been accompanied by counsel when he
appeared before the grand jury.

fi 3. Whether the district court's instructions adequately
informed the jury that its verdict had to be unanimous.

STATEMENT

After a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Northern District of California, petitioner
was.convicted on two counts of making a false statement
before a grand jury, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1623.
He was sentenced to concurrent terms of one year and
one day’s imprisonment. The court of appeals affirmed
(Pet. App. A). |

The evidence at trial showed that Lonnie Murray was
arrested on March 20, 1968, for possession of heroin
with intent to distribute it (Tr. 137, 143). Murray
offered money to the arresting officer and asked if some-
thing could be done about his case. The officer replied
_ that someone wouid contact him the following day. That
evening Murray was released on bail, which had been
provided by petitioner, a bail bondsman in San Francisco
(Tr. 137). The next day petitioner met with Murray
and stated that his case could be taken care of for $6,000
(Tr. 138-139). Murray immediately paid petitioner
that amount and, at petitioner's request, subsequently
gave petitioner an additional $3,000. In return, peti-
tioner promised to arrange for Murray to be sentenced
either to a maximum of one year in the county jail or to
probation (Tr. 139-140).

On September 30, 1970, Joseph “Billy” Ethridge and four
other persons were arrested for narcotics violations (Tr. 21,
59-60). Upon their release on bail provided by petitioner,
Ethridge and the others went to petitioner's office, where
Ethridge inquired how much it would cost to fix the case

3

(Tr. 61-63). Petitioner stated that it could be fixed for $7,000
(Tr. 63). The price was thereafter reduced to $2,500, which
Ethridge gave to petitioner in return for petitioner's agree-
ment to obtain dismissal of the charges (Tr. 66-68). Some
time later Ethridge, as an added precaution, also paid Welsh
Long $2,500 or $3,000 to fix his case (Tr. 68-69, 98-99).
When Long informed petitioner of this payment, petitioner
stated that he would take care of the matter and told Long to
leave the case alone (Tr. 99-100).

In March, April, and June 1975, petitioner appeared
before a federal grand jury that was investigating the alleged
bribery of police officers and their failure to enforce the
narcotics laws (Tr. 11). Specifically, the grand jury was
attempting to determine whether a conspiracy existed
among narcotics officers and others in which the officers
were receiving money for the purpose of fixing the cases of
persons arrested for drug offenses. In his testimony before
the grand jury, petitioner falsely denied talking to Ethridge
or anyone else about fixing his case, telling Long that he
would take care of Ethridge’s case, or receiving $9,000 in
return for offering to fix Murray's case (Tr. 209-211).

ARGUMENT

1. Although petitioner testified on direct examination at
trial that he had discussed fixing cases with clients and had
taken money from some of those individuals, he denied that
he had ever discussed fixing a case with police officers or had
ever actually fixed a case (Tr. 292-293). On cross-
examination, petitioner stated that if a client sought to have
his case fixed, he might discuss with the police officer the
possibility of obtaining leniency if the client were to become
an informant or were to return contraband (Tr. 350-351). In
addition, petitioner unequivocally denied that he had
attempted to fix a case on behalf of Gus Foundas or that he
had ever spoken to Foundas about fixing his case (Tr. 362-
365).

4

To rebut these assertions, the government called
Foundas, who testified that Tony Ballestrasse, petitioner's
cousin, had told him that he could have the case against
Foundas fixed for $1,000 (Tr. 389-390, 393). The
government also played a recorded telephone conversation
about the case in which petitioner told Foundas, “Well,
we're trying to get something going, but it’s tough. Hey,
nobody wants to touch it” (Tr. 396).

Petitioner contends (Pet. 5-7) that the district court erred
in allowing the introduction of the government's rebuttal
evidence, alleging that Foundas’ testimony was irrelevant to
the charges against him and that the testimony was
inadmissible because it impeached statements that had been
elicited on cross-examination. Petitioner did not object to
this evidence at trial, however, and he therefore must
demonstrate not only that the trial judge abused his discre-
tion but also that the ruling constituted plain error. Fed. R.
Crim. P. 52(b).!

The court of appeals correctly concluded (Pet. App. 2-3)
_ that petitioner’s claims are insubstantial. The mode and
order of presenting evidence are within the reasonable
control of the district court (Fed. R. Evid. 611(a) ) and there
is no general rule barring the introduction of evidence, not
collateral to the issues in the case, in order to rebut
testimony given during cross-examination. See McCormick
on Evidence §47, p. 99 (2d ed. 1972). Foundas’ testimony
indicated that petitioner had engaged in past attempts to fix
criminal cases. Hence, it was strong circumstantial evidence
that he similarly had tried to fix Ethridge’s and Murray's

'Petitioner’s “timely objection” (Pet. 7, n. 3) was based upon an
evidentiary matter wholly unrelated to the issue presented here (Tr.
389).

5

cases and that he had lied about these matters in his grand
jury testimony.

Contrary to petitioner’s contention (Pet. 7), the decision
below does not conflict with United States v. Mariani, 539
F. 2d 915(C.A. 2). In Mariani, the court held that illegally
seized evidence, not admissible as part of the government's
case-in-chief, could not be used to impeach a defendant
about matters beyond the scope of his direct examination.

539 F. 2d at 923-924. Here, however, Foundas’ testimony

was not tainted and could have been introduced as part of
the government's direct case in order to prove petitioner's
criminal intent and to dispel the notion that his false answers
were a mistake or accident. See Fed. R. Evid. 404(b); United
States v. Calvert, 523 F. 2d 895, 911-912 (C.A. 8), certiorari
denied, 424 U.S. 911; United States v. Trapnell, 495 F. 2d
22, 25 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied, 419 U.S. 851.

2. Petitioner asserts (Pet. 7-i1) that his Fifth and Sixth
Amendment rights were violated by the prosecutor's
“repeated reference” during cross-examination to the fact
that petitioner retained and consulted counsel before and
during his appearance in the grand jury. Again, however,
petitioner failed to object to this questioning (Tr. 311-312,
356-357, 360), and the claim does not amount to plain error.
As the court of appeals observed (Pet. App. 3), petitioner
testified at trial that he was alone, scared, and confused
when he appeared in the grand jury (Tr. 356). This testimony
obviously was Gesigned to convince the jury that any
inaccuracies in petitioner’s grand jury testimony were the
product of nervousness or confusion—a point that his
counsel reiterated on summation (Tr. 478-479). Reference
to petitioner’s legal representation at the time of his
appearance was admissible to rebut that contention and to
establish that petitioner made the false statements alleged in

6

the indictment with criminal intent, which was an element of
the offense.

Grunewald v. United States, 353 U.S. 391. does not
require a different result. There, the Court held that it was
error to permit the defendant to be cross-examined about
his assertion of the privilege against self-incrimination
before the grand jury, in light of the minimal probative value
and potential for extreme prejudice in such questioning. See
Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 610, 616-620; United States v. Hale,
422 U.S. 171, 177-180. As noted above. however.
petitioner’s frequent consultation with his attorney prior to
and during his grand jury testimony was unquestionably
probative, since it tended to establish that his false
statements were intentional and it rebutted his trial
testimony that he had been “scared to death of the grand
jury. [I was] up there all by myself and I didn’t know what
the hell was going on” (Tr. 356). Furthermore, unlike the
disclosure that a defendant once refused to answer a
question out of fear of incriminating himself, the fact that a
defendant consulted counsel before testifying before the
_ grand jury does not suggest that he may be guilty of acrime.
As the Seventh Circuit recently observed in rejecting a
similar argument (United States v. Kopel, C.A. 7, No. 76-
1601, decided April 19, 1977, slip op. 7):

*Petitioner correctly notes that one of the prosecutor's references
occurred prior to his testimony that he was confused and alone during
his grand jury appearance (Tr. 311-312). Since the later references were
admissible, however. any impropriety in the earlier questions about the
same matter was harmless beyond a reasonable doubt. See. e.g.. /n re
Penn, 443 F. 2d 663. 666 (C.A. D.C.). The jury’s discriminating
verdict finding petitioner not guilty on two of the four counts, all of
which were based on his testimony before the same grand jury
indicates that these brief colloquies were not significant. a fact that is
further underscored by petitioner's failure to object to the questions at
trial.

—+ «a *

7

[We] cannot agree with the defendant’s implied asser-
tion that laymen would view a putative defendant's
use of counsel in a grand jury appearance as a “badge
of guilt.” While the Supreme Court in Ul/man v.
United States, 350 U.S. 422, 426 (1956), asserted that
too many Americans viewed the Fifth Amendment
privilege as a “shelter for wrongdoers,” it has never
found such widespread misunderstanding regarding
the Sixth Amendment guarantee of effective assistance
of counsel. Certainly today, when the layman fre-
quently views our criminal justice system as being
confusing and complex, consultation with an attorney
is not tantamount to an admission of involvement or
guilt.

3. Petitioner contends (Pet. 12) that the district court's
instructions inadequately informed the jury that its ver-
dict on Count One of the indictment had to be unanimous.
Count One contained four specifications of perjury, all
of which related to petitioner's denials that he had ever
discussed fixing Ethridge’s case with anyone. Petitioner
asserts that because the jury was instructed only that its
verdict must be unanimo .s, the jury may have found him
guilty on Count One without agreeing on which particular
statement was false.’

Petitioner's claim relates solely to Count One of the
indictment. Because he received concurrent sentences
on that count and on Count Four, the Court need not con-
sider the issue. Barnes v. United States, 412 U.S. 837,

‘Petitioner does not challenge the validity of the inclusion of more
than one allegedly false statement in a single count. See Rule 7(c).
Fed. R. Crim. P.; United States vy. Bonacorsa, 528 F. 2d 1218. 1221
(C.A. 2). certiorari denied, 426 U.S. 935: United States v. Edmondson,
410 F. 2d 670, 673, n. 6 (C.A. 5). certiorari denied. 396 U.S. 966.

8

848, n. 16. Moreover, since petitioner neither objected at
trial to the district court’s charge to the jury, nor proposed
additional instructions to remedy the alleged defect, he
is foreclosed from raising the claim at this stage of the
proceedings. See Fed. R. Crim. P. 30; Vitello v. United
States, 425 F. 2d 416, 423 (C.A. 9), certiorari denied, 400
U.S. 822.

In any event, there is nothing to petitioner’s assertions.
The jury was instructed that, as to those counts containing
more than one allegedly false statement, a conviction could
be sustained on proof that any one such statement was
perjured (Supp. Tr. Il, p. 9). The jury was also instructed
that its verdict had to be unanimous (Tr. 501). Those
instructions were sufficient, for “{iJt is assumed that a
general instruction on the requirement of unanimity suf-
fices to instruct the jury that they must be unanimous on
whatever specifications they find to be the predicate of
the guilty verdict.” United States v. Natelli, 527 F. 2d
311, 325 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied, 425 U.S. 934. See also
Vitello v. United States, supra, 425 F. 2d at 422-423;
_ United States v. Armone, 363 F. 2d 385, 398 (C.A. 2),
certiorari denied, 385 U.S. 957.

Yates v. United States, 354 U.S. 298, Stromberg v.
California, 283 U.S. 359, and the remaining cases cited by
petitioner (Pet. 12) have nothing to do with the requirement
that the jury’s verdict be unanimous. Each holds that when a
case has been submitted to the jury on alternative theories,
the resulting conviction must be set aside if one or more of
those theories is constitutionally invalid. Petitioner does not
challenge the validity of his conviction as to any of the
specifications of perjury in Count One, nor could he, in light
of the substantial evidence of falsity of each of those
statements. See United States v. Natelli, supra, 527 F. 2d at
325.

9
CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

Wape H. McCree, JR..
Solicitor General.

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI,
Assistant Attorney General.

JEROME M. FEIT,
JAMES A. HUNOLT,
Attorneys.

May 1977.

DOJ-1977-05

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1365%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
