# Opposition — Jacobson v. Internal Revenue Service

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1272%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 430 U.S. 955

## Text

No. 76-1025

o~-

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1976

MARK JACOBSON and RANGER BAKERS, INC., PETITIONERS
Vv.

THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE OF
THE UNITED STATES, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

DANIEL M. FRIEDMAN,
Acting Solicitor General,

Myron C. Baum,
Acting Assistant Attorney
General,

JONATHAN S. COHEN,
James E. Crowe, Jr.,
Attorneys,
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530.

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 76-1025
MARK JACOBSON and RANGER BAKERS, INC., PETITIONERS
Vv.

THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE OF
THE UNITED STATES, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The memorandum and order of the district court
(Pet. App. 8a-18a) are reported at 403 F. Supp. 1332. The
opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-7a) is reported
at 544 F. 2d 637.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on November 3, 1976 (Pet. 2). The petition for a writ of
certiorari was filed on January 26, 1977. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether petitioners’ suit to enjoin the assess-
ment of federal employment taxes was barred by the
Anti-Injunction Act.

2. Whether the district court correctly dismissed peti-
tioners’ suit for compensatory and punitive damages
against government officials for alleged harassment and
discriminatory enforcement of the tax laws.

3. Whether Section 6862(a) of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1954, which permits the Commissioner to issue
a jeopardy assessment for federal employment taxes if
he believes the collection of the tax will be jeopardized
by delay, is constitutional.

STATUTES INVOLVED

The pertinent provisions of Sections 6862 and 7421
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as amended (26
U.S.C.), are set forth at Pet. App. 18a-19a. ‘3

STATEMENT

In October, 1974, petitioner Ranger Bakers purchased
the assets of Silvercup Bakers, Inc., which was then in
bankruptcy proceedings. Shortly thereafter, Ranger Bakers
had financial difficulties. For the second quarter of 1975,
Ranger had an unpaid federal employment tax liabili-
lity of approximately $264,500.' On September 30, 1975,
the Internal Revenue Service notified Ranger Bakers

'Sections 3102 and 3402 of the 1954 Code (26 U.S.C.) require an
employer to withhold social security taxes and income taxes, re-
spectively, from its employees’ wages. Section 3111 provides for the
employer's share of the social security tax, which is the employer's
independent obligation. The vast majority of the taxes involved in
this case were withholding taxes, which constitute a special trust
fund for the United States. See Section 7501 of the Code.

3

that these taxes were due and owing, and that payment
should be made by October 9, 1975 (Pet. App. 3a-4a, 10a).

That same day, petitioner Mark Jacobson, the president
and sole shareholder of Ranger Bakers, met with Internal
Revenue officials, including Dominick Pallila and Martin
Senzer, and explained the corporation’s plight. He re-
quested that Ranger Bakers be permitted to pay the
delinquency in weekly installments of $10,000. However,
no decision was reached on Jacobson’s request. On October
1, 1975, the Commissioner notified Jacobson that his
request to pay the delinquency in installments was denied
(Pet. App. 4a, 10a-1 1a).

Pursuant to his authority under Section 6862(a) of the
Code, the Commissioner issued a jeopardy assessment
on that day against Ranger Bakers, permitting collection
of the unpaid taxes by means of immediate levy on the
corporation’s property. Levies were placed on Ranger's
payroll account and on several of its customers’ accounts
payable. Jacobson paid the corporation’s entire liability
(including interest) with the help of outside sources on
October 2, 1975, and the Service released the levies (Pet.
6; Pet. App. 4a, 10a-1 1a).

Ranger Bakers was likewise delinquent in paying its
employment taxes during the third quarter of 1975. On
October 14, 1975, the Commissioner made a jeopardy
assessment against Ranger Bakers for these taxes and
placed further levies on its property. Jacobson also paid
this assessment with the help of outside sources, and the
Service immediately released the levies. Ranger Bakers
ceased operations in November, 1975 (Pet. App. 4a-Sa).

On October 15, 1975, petitioners instituted this action

in the United States District Court for the Eastern Dis-

trict of New York seeking injunctive relief against the

4

Internal Revenue Service and damages against various
officials of the Service. Petitioners alleged that the
Organized Crime and Racketeering Section of the
Department of Justice, which was investigating possible
criminal violations concerning Ranger Bakers, Silvercup
Bakers and others, provided information to several news-
papers, which published articles indicating that Jacobson
operated Ranger Bakers as a “front” for his father, who
was described as involved in underworld gambling activi-
ties. Petitioners alleged that the Department of Justice
sought to destroy Ranger Bakers’ business by disclosing
this information, and that the Internal Revenue Service
and its employees had conspired with the Department

of Justice to accomplish this objective (Pet. App.
4a, 9a).

Petitioners sought an injunction against any further
investigation by the Department of Justice and against
the Internal Revenue Service’s refusal to permit payment
of the employment tax delinquencies on an installment
basis. In addition, petitioner Jacobson sought compensa-
tory damages of $1,500,000 under 42 U.S.C. 1981 and 1985,
and punitive damages of $3,000,000 (Pet. App. 2a-3a, 7a,
9a).

After a hearing, the district court denied petitioners’
request for a preliminary injunction against the Internal
Revenue Service and its named officials because the suit
was barred by the Anti-Injunction Act, and dismissed the
complaint against the Internal Revenue Service and its
officials (Pet. App. 9a-16a).2 The court of appeals affirmed.
It held that the Anti-Injunction Act prohibited petitioners’

2In a separate order, the district court dismissed the complaint as
to the Department of Justice and petitioners did not appeal from
that aspect of the decision (Pet. 7).

5

suit for injunctive relief, and that the allegations with
respect to damages “clearly state no claim for relief”
(Pet. App. la-7a).

ARGUMENT

1. The Anti-Injunction Act, 26 U.S.C. 7421(a), pro-
vides that “* * * no suit for the purpose of restraining the
assessment or collection of any tax shall be maintained
in any court by any person, whether or not such person is
the person against whom such tax was assessed.” In
Enochs v. Williams Packing Co., 370 U.S. 1, the Court
stated that the purpose of the statute was to protect the
government’s need to assess and collect taxes as expedi-
tiously as possible with a minimum of pre-enforcement
judicial interference. The Court held that the statute
barred equity suits against the tax collector unless the tax-
payer could show: (1) irreparable injury, the essential pre-
requisite for injunctive relief; and (2) that “it is clear that
under no circumstances could the Government ultimately
prevail * * *” (370 U.S. at 7). Accord: Bob Jones Univer-
sity v. Simon, 416 U.S. 725, 736-737.

The court of appeals correctly held that the Anti-Injunc-
tion Act barred petitioners’ suit. Indeed, since petitioners
have not contested the employment tax assessments, they
did not show under the second requirement of Williams
Packing that the government would not prevail on the
merits of its claim.

Contrary to petitioners’ argument (Pet. 7-9), nothing in
Laing v. United States, 423 U.S. 161, supports their claim
that the Anti-Injunction Act is not applicable. The question
in Laing was whether income taxes found owing, but not

reported, pursuant to the termination of a taxpayer's

taxable year under Section 6851 of the Code, were a
“deficiency” within the meaning of Section 6211(a). In

6

holding that the amount was a “deficiency,” the Court ruled
that where the Internal Revenue Service has not sent a
notice of deficiency in connection with its termination of a
taxpayer's taxable year, Section 6213(a) permits an
injunction against such an assessment pending the issuance
of a notice of deficiency (423 U.S. at 184-185, n. 27). But as
the courts below correctly recognized (Pet. App. Sa-6a, | la-
12a), the statute does not require that a notice of deficiency
be issued with respect to employment taxes. The rule of
Laing therefore has no application to this case.

2. Contrary to petitioners’ further assertion (Pet. 8-10),
the court of appeals correctly rejected their claim for
damages against the Internal Revenue Service officials on
the ground that they were denied due process. Petitioners’
allegations involve nothing more than the usual actions
taken by Internal Revenue Service officials to collect
employment tax delinquencies from a failing business; their
conclusory charge of “harrassment” is insufficient to show
any violation of constitutional rights.

3. Finally, the court of appeals correctly rejected peti-
tioners’ argument (Pet. 9) that the jeopardy assessment
provisions of Section 6862(a) are unconstitutionally vague.
This Court has long upheld the constitutionality of such
summary collection procedures. See Phillips v. Commis-
sioner, 283 U.S. 589, 595-596; Mitchell v. W. T. Grant Co.,
416 U.S. 600, 611. The provision in that section that the
Internal Revenue Service may make a jeopardy assess-
ment if it “believes” that the collection of any tax “will be
jeopardized by delay” is not unconstitutionally vague; it
provides a sufficiently definite standard to enable the Ser-
vice to act in an infinite variety of situations when prompt
collection is necessary to protect the revenue. See Arnett
v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134, 158-164; Jordan v. DeGeorge,
341 U.S. 223, 231.

7

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

DANIEL M. FRIEDMAN,
Acting Solicitor General.

Myron C. BAuM,
Acting Assistant Altorney
General.

JONATHAN S. COHEN,
James E. Crowe, JR.,
Attorneys.

MARCH 1977.

DOJ-1977-03

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1272%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
