# Petition — Peltzman v. Kaufman

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1244%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 431 U.S. 953

## Text

~ supreme Uourt, U.
— FILED
| FEB 14 4977

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

——!

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October term, 1977

76-1117

No. , Misc.

ARCHIE PELTZMAN, PETITIONER,
V .

IRVING R. KAUFMAN,
CHIEF JUDGE, RESPONDENT.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE PETITION OR
WRIT OF MANDAMUS, AND BRIEF IN
SUPPORT THEREOF

Archie Peltzman
Petitioner, Pro Se,
@/o Eve Katz

2483 W. 16th St.
B'klyn, N.Y. 11214

i

TABLE_OF CONTENTS _

OPINIONS BELOW ...ccccccccvccevcevees
JURISDICTION cc cere ccccccccccseevess
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .....2cceeeceecveess
STATUTES INVOLVED .... cece ecevccvceves
STATEMENT ..cccccccccccccsccccccccscce
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .......
CONCLUSION ..ccccccccccccccceseccesecs
APPENDIX A

Letter from pro se clerk dated

January 17, 1977, re docket fee

or oath of forma pauperis..........

CITATIONS

Adams v. U.S. ex rel McCann,
317 U.8. 269, (31942) cccccceceseceoce

Bulk Carriers v. Arguelles
400 U.S. 358, (1971 cccccccccecccceses

Ex parte Abdu, 247 U.S.27,(1918).....
Ex parte Flippin, 94 U.S. 350 .......
Ex parte R. Co. 101 U.S. 720 ....-.-..
Ex parte Burtis, 103 U.S. 238,.......
Ex parte Peru, 318 U.S. 578, (1943)..

Ex parte Davenport, 6 Pet (U.S.)66l..

9
10

ii

CITATIONS

Page
Ex parte Newman 14 Wall
Premed BES 646400660086 00466008800 10
Hazen v. Hardee,78 F2% 230........ 14

Hazel-Atlas Glass Co.,v.Hartford-
Empire Co. 322 U.S. 238, (1943).... 3,15

Kanatser v. Chrysier Corp.,199
F24 610, (1952) cert den 344 U.S.
Pe CH 6666000406044 nse dAOH OS: 13

LaBuy v. Howes Leather Co.,
De Be Galle Beeedsavcensces TUTTTTTT 13

McClellan v. Carland, 217 U.S.
Pe Ss ob eee peewee he oe ee cee i)

Peltzman v. Central Gulf Lines,
Inc., 497 F294 332 (2d cir) (1974).. 12

Peltzman v. Central Gulf Lines,
Inc; 523 F2d 96 (2d Cir 1975)...... 12

Peltzman v. Central Gulf Lines,Inc;
423 U.S.107, (1976)Cert. denied....12,15
424 U.S.979, (1976)rehearing denied.. 12

Roche v. Evaporated Mild Assn.

Bae Welle Gee Gee uhh eee sh ecaseaccis 10
Semel v. U.S.158 F29 231 (1946)..... 14
Thielebeule v. Nordsee Pilot,

oo F fo M OF. ee ll
US Alkali Export Assn. v. US

pet Wee Bes Cee eeceacecosseesée 13
Virginia v. Rines, 190 U.S. 313..... 10

Will v. U.S., 389 U.S. 96..... Eee 13

iii
STATUTES INVOLVED

Page

Title 28 USC Sec 1651 (a) 1946..... 2
"The Supreme Court & all courts
established by Act of Congress
may issue all writs necessary
Or appropiate in aid of their
respective jurisdictions &
agreeable to the usages &
principles of law."

Title 28 US Sec 1916......+.-. seooss FeGeds
"In all the Courts of the U.S.,
seamen may institute & prosecute
suits & appeals in their own manes
& for their own benefit for wages,
or salvage, or for the enforcement
of laws enacted for their health or
safety without prepaying fees or costs
or furnishing security thereof.
(June 25, 1948, C646 62 Stat. 955)

Title 28 USC Sec 1921......-ee-e2eee. ll

Title 46-"General Maritime Law"

(See especially Sec 599a).........8,11,12,B

U.S. Constitution, Article 3, Sec 2... 2

U.S. Constitution 5th & 14th
SEE CCCCCUC TET ECCT TTC CCT

MISCELLANEOUS

51 Col LR 977, (1951), “Extrordinary
Writs in the Supreme Court since Ex
parte Peru." Richard F. Wolfson...... 2,9

52 Michigan LR 479, 1954-Norris,

"Seaman as Wards of Admiralty"”....... 12

7 Moore, Sec 60:33 at 512.......... 0 eh424S5
Federal Rules of Civ. Procedure...... 13,15
Rule 6O(b) F.R.C.Pecccccevceses 2,4,6,7,16

Rule 54, U.S. Supreme Court Rules.....2,3

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October term, 1977

No. , Misc.

ARCHIE PELTZMAN, PETITIONER,
Ve

IRVING R. KAUFMAN,
CHIEF JUDGE, RESPONDENT.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE PETITION
FOR WRIT OF MANDAMUS

The petitioner moves the Court for
leave to file the petition for a writ of
mandamus hereto annexed; & further moves
that an order & rule be entered & issued
directing the Honorable The United States
Court of Appeals For the Second Circuit, &
the Honorable Chief Judge, Irving R.
Kaufman of that Court, to show cause why a

writ of mandamus should not be issued

against them in accordance with the prayer
of said petition, & why your petitioner
should not have such other & further re-

lief in the premises as may be just and

meet.

Archie Peltzman
Petitioner, Pro Se
c/o Eve Katz

2483 W.16th St.
B'klyn, N.Y. 11214

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October term, 1977

No. »Misc.

ARCHIE PELTZMAN, PETITIONER,
Vv.

IRVING R. KAUFMAN,
CHIEF JUDGE, RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF MANDAMUS TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT, & THE
HONORABLE IRVING R. KAUFMAN, CHIEF
JUDGE OF THAT COURT.

OPINIONS BELOW

No opinion was filed by the Court of
Appeals.

Petitioner was informed by letter
(Appendix a) January 17, 1977, from pro se
clerk that Circuit Court would not docket

appeal without fifty dollar fee or an oath

of forma pauperis.

No opinion was filed by District
Judge in denying a Rule 60(b) motion to
vacate a final judgment, on grounds of
fraud on the Court by attorneys, perjury
by witnesses, & newly discovered evidence.

JURISDICTION

1. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. Sec 165l(a) 1946,
& Article 11l Sec 2, of U.S. Constitution.
Ex parte Peru, 318 US 578, (1943), Adams
vy United States ex rel. McCann 317 US 269,

(1942). Rule 54 of Rules of Supreme Court.

Notice of appeal from District Court's

decision was filed December 13, 1976. The
partial record was brought up to the Court

of Appeals on December 30, 1976, & a temp-

orary docket nr of T-6853 was given to pet-

itioner. (District Court Clerk is search-

ing for the lost documents).

-3-

2. The jurisdiction of this court is
invoked under the inherent jurisdiction
which all Courts have to protect the in-
tegrity of the judicial process, & under
the supervisory powers of this Court on
the lower Courts. Hazel-Atlas-Glass Co.
v Hartford-Empire Co. 322 US 238, 1943.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the Court of Appeals for the
second circuit have the power to demand
a docketing fee, or an oath of forma
pauperis from a seaman, who sued a steam-
ship company for wrongful discharge, &
who had previously had his case docketed
in this Court, & in the Court of Appeals
without paying the docket fee?

2. Does Rule 54 of Rules of the Sup-

reme Court also apply to Courts of Appeal

in all Circuits?

-4-

STATEMENT

1. On November 23, 1976, petitioner
filed a 60(b) motion in District Court
that had previously granted summary. judg-
ment twice in a seaman's action for wrong-
ful discharge, dismissing his complaint, &
seeking to vacate such final judgment on
grounds of fraud by attorneys, newly dis-
covered evidence, & perjury by witnessess.

2. On November 24, 1976, District Court
denied such motion, without opinion & this
was entered in docket file on November26,
1976.

3. The motion consisted of an affidavit
of seven pages, a legal memorandum of
eleven pages, & partial excerpts of six
pages of a separate Appendix which con-
tained ninety-nine pages of Court doc-
uments from previous Court actions in
State Court, Federal Court & U.S. Supreme
Court. (R41) (this separate appendix has

been lost in District Court.)

-5-

4. On December 3, 1976 defendant
Central Gulf Lines, filed an affidavit
in opposition, with two exhibits which
were the District Court's opinion in the
second summary judgment motion, & the
second circuit Court of Appeals second
decision after remand. (R42)

5. On December 7, 1976, petitioner
filed reply pleadings. (R43)

6. On December 13, 1976, petitioner
filed notice of appeal to second circuit
Court of Appeals in District Court.

7. District Court clerk informed pet-
itioner the record was in warehouse & h®
would endeavour to get the record in
about a weeks time.

8. On December 30, 1976, the record in
District Court, minus the missing exhibits
& Other documents were filed in the Court
of Appeals, & petitioner was given a temp-

Orary docket nr T-6853, without paying the

-6-< | al bo

docketing fee in District Court or the ) without consideration of the type of
Court of Appeals, after explaining to : €Vidence on which the petitioner intended
both clerks that this action had been to rely, & prevents any effective action
previously appealed without payment of which Rule 60(b) was enacted to correct,&
docketing fees. constitutes both an abuse of judicial
9. On January 17, 1977, petitioner | power & abnegation of judicial duty & a
filed a motion in Court of Appeals seek- means of defeating this Court's appellate
ing a summary reversal of District Court's jurisdiction, in a manner not remediable
denial of his Rule 60(b) motion. through the ordinary course of appeal.
10. By letter dated January 17, 1977, The ruling of the Court of Appeals is
from pro se clerk, petitioner was notified therefore one which this Court can &
that his motion would not be filed absent Should correct by writ of mandamus.
the docket fee or an oath of forma REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
pauperis. . 1. There is no other feasible way to
Petitioner contends that the refusal review judicial disregard of the federal
of the second circuit Court of Appeals to Statute 28 USC Sec 1916, except by a writ
docket a seaman's case which had previously of mandamus.
been appealed without payment of the fee, | 2. The second circuit Court of Appeals
both in this Court & in the second circuit, has decided an important question, concerrm
prevents consideration of the fraud on the ing the power of circuit Courts of Appeal
Court charged in petitioner's motion, to prevent appeals being docketed by a

-8-

seaman without prepayment of costs & fees,
in a way which is prohibited by statute, &
is contrary to established custom & pract-
ice by this Court & every other Circuit
Court of Appeals, including the second cir
cuit.

3. The decision by the second circuit
in refusing to docket appeal by a seaman
was wrong, & negates the Congressional
policy protecting seamen in over one hund-
red statutes enacted for their protection.
It constitutes an uSurpuation of power not
conferred on the Court to pick & choose
which seamen's cases shall be docketed
without prepayment of fees & costs.

POINT 1

THERE IS NO OTHER FEASIBLE WAY TO RE-
VIEW JUDICIAL DISREGARD OF THE FEDERAL
STATUTE 28 USC Sec 1916, EXCEPT BY A WRIT
OF MANDAMUS.

It is an elementary rule that a writ

of mandamus may be used to require an

~~

inferior court to decide a matter within
its jurisdiction & pending before it for
judicial determination, but not to control
its decision. Ex parte Flippin, 94 US 350;
Ex parte R. Co. 101 US 720; Ex parte Burtis
103 US 238.

In McClellan v. Carland 217 US 268,
(1910) it was recognized that mandamus be-
came available where the decision of the
lower court might otherwise defeat appell-
ate jurisdiction-

"We think it is the true rule that
where a case is within the appellate juris-
diction of the higher court, a writ of
mandamus may issue in aid of appellate jur-
isdiction which might otherwise be defeated
by the unauthorized action of the court
below."

The sole function of the writ is to
require the court to act where it has re-

fused to do so. Ex parte Davenport 6 Pet

-10-
(US) 661; Ex parte Newman, 14 Wall (US)
152, Virginia v. Rines 100 US 313.

The traditional use of"mandamus" in
aid of appellate jurisdiction, both at
common law & in federal courts, has been
to confine an inferior court to lawful
exercise of its prescribed jurisdiction,
or to compel it to exercise its author-
ity when it is its duty to do so. In |
Roche v. Evaporated Milk Assn. 319 US 21,
(1943).

POINT 11

THE SECOND CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS
HAS DECIDED AN IMPORTANT QUESTION, CON-
CERING THE POWER OF CIRCUIT COURTS OF
APPEAL TO PREVENT APPEALS BEING DOCKETED
BY A SEAMAN, WITHOUT PAYMENT OF COSTS &
FEES, WHICH IS AUTHORIZED BY STATUTE, &
HAS BEEN THE PRACTICE & CUSTOM IN THIS
COURT & EVERY OTHER CIRCUIT COURT OF

APPEALS, INCLUDING THE SECOND CIRCUIT.

elie
In Thielebeule v. Mordsee Pilot 1972 AMC
50-

Where two statutory provisions con-
flict, the specific provision must be
deemed to control over the general one.

In light of the Congressional policy
underlying provisions of the Judicial
Code dealing with seamans action in
general, & 28 USG Sec 1916 in particular,
Sec 1916 must be read as exempting sea-
man from prepaying the "expenses" listed
in Sec 1921-Reversed, J Hays, Moore, &
Mulligan (29%cir).

The court below was not authorized
to circumvent, by demanding a docket fee,
or an oath of forma pauperis, the policy
established by Congress, in Title 28 Sec
1916, that seamen may proceed without pre-
payment of fees or costs or furnishing
security therof. See petitioner's pre-
vious appeals in this Court & 2nd circuit

where fees were not paid. Peltzman v.

-12-

Central Gulf Lines 497 F2% 332 (2d Cir
1974) aff'd following remand, 523 F2¢ 96
(2d Cir 1975) cert den, 423 US 1074, 1976,
rehearing den 424 US 979, 1976.

POINT 111

THE DECISION BY THE SECOND CIRCUIT IN
REFUSING TO DOCKET APPEAL BY A SEAMAN WAS
WRONG, & NEGATES THE CONGRESSIONAL POLICY
PROTECTING SEAMEN IN OVER ONE HUNDRED
STATUTES ENACTED FOR THEIR PROTECTION. IT
CONSTITUTES A USURPATION OF POWER, NOT CON
FERRED ON THE COURT TO PICK & CHOOSE WHICH
SEAMAN'S CASE SHALL BE DOCKETED WITHOUT
PREPAYMENT OF FEES & COSTS.

See Michigan Law Review Vo 52 479-,
1954-Norris- "Seaman as Wards of Admiralty}
containing statutory, historical & de-
cisional basis for rejecting 2nd circuits
refusal to docket petitioner's case, as
being contrary to the spirit, letter &

statutes of the general maritime law.

=) 3@

In Bulk Carriers v Arquelles g00 US
358, 1971, this Court has held that the
statutory sections of the General Mari-
time Law controls a seaman's employment &
conditions of employment.

In La Buy~v. Howes Leather Co 352 US
249, “district judge displayed a persist-
ent disregardof the Rules of Civil Proced-
ure promulgated by this Court" as to which
mandamus was a proper remedy "as a means
of policing compliance with the procedural
rules." Will v. US 389 US 96.

See US Alkali Export Assn. v. US 325
US 196, 1945=ordinary hardship to litigant
plus "frustration of Congressional Policy"
justifies writ cf Kanatser v. Chyrsler
Corp 199 F2¢ 610,(1952) cert den 344 US
921, 1953.

See Ex parte Abdu 247 US 27, 1918-
Clerk of Court of Appeals declined to file

record without deposit to secure costs &

alge
see Semel v. US 158 F24 231, 1946, app-
lication to require district clerk to
transmit notice ofappeal,

Object of"mandamus" is to enforce
duty which law requires respondent to
perform. Hazen v. Hardee 78 F22 230.

Finally petitioner argues that the
integrity of the judicial process & the
due process owed to a litigant who is
charging that his pleadings have been
ignored both in District Court & in the
second appeal in Circuit Court of Appeals,
that fraud on the court has been prac-
ticed by attorney's involved in this case,
with an abnegation of the judicial respon-
sibility to inquire & protect the integrity
of the court's proceedings.

Prof. Moore defines "fraud upon the
Court" as "that species of fraud per-
petrated by officers of the Court so
that the judicial machinery can not per-

form in the usual manner its impartial

-15-
task" (7 Moore Sec 60:33 at 512).

See Hazel-Atlas Glass Co v.Hartford-
Empire Co (supra). See petitioner's Re-
ply Brief in Peltzman v. Central Gulf
Lines, October term 1975 US Supreme Court,
No 75-782 for specifics of issues of fraud,
perjured testimony, & a blatant disregard
of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure &
Summary Judgment Rule (p 5).

CONCLUSION

Wherefore, petitioner prays:

1. That a writ of mandamus issue from
this Court directed to the Honorable US
Court of Appeals for the second circuit,
& to the Honorable Chief Judge Irving R.
Kaufman, of said court, requiring said
Honorable Irving R. Kaufman, to show
cause on a day to be fixed by this court
why mandamus should not issue from this
court directing said Honorable Irving R.
Kaufman, to docket petitioner's appeal &

to consider his motion for a summary

= (’ PE NN LX H UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

: . i O1!D CIRCUIT
reversal of the District Courts decision sauna CouRTHOUSE

denying his motion to vacate a final DANIEL FUSARO Peasy Souans
CLERK NEW YORK 10007

judgment under Rule 60(b).

2. That petitioner have such additional
relief & process as may be necessary and

appropriate in the premises. January 17, 1977
>

Archie Peltzman
c/o Eve Katz
2428 Ww. 16th Street

VY Brooklyn, New York 11214
Archie Peltzman % Re: 17-6853

Petitirszner, Pro Se

Respectfully submitted

February a ,1977 Dear Sir
iy 4

This will acknowledge receipt of your
motion papers dated January 17, 1977.

Please be advised that we are unable
to file them absent a check for $50.00 or a
motion for leave to proceed in forma pauperis.
We will retain your appellate papers in our
files awaiting advice from you.

Sincerely,

Ole Web cuthice -

Opv Olga Valentine
pro se law clerk's office

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1244%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
