# Opposition — Schoonover v. Kansas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1190%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 424 U.S. 944

## Text

_ §upreme Court, U. S,
tt FILED »

No. 76-1010 MAR 11 i977

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

In the Supreme Court of the

OcTOBER TERM, 1976

| ALLEGHENY COUNTY INSTITUTION District, d bia
Joun J. KANE HOSPITAL, PETITIONER

_f

Ray MARSHALL. SECRETARY OF LABOR

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

DANIEL M. FRIEDMAN,
Acting Solicitor General,
Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.

ALFRED G. ALBERT,
Acting Solicitor of Labor,

CARIN ANN CLAUSS,
Associate Solicitor,

Lois G. WILLIAMS,
Attorney,

Department of Labor,
Washington, D.C. 20210.

INDEX

Page
a. sccsesenmenononoces I
eo ... cssennsnsoooosensecess |
i scnnssasecnesceses |
Constitutional provisions and statute involved .............. 2
a ices swactedneueccnnsssooscccescoconeccosccoees 2
sh ss cadesnsactsvocssdnrescocccoosccooes 4
a ss ceswensnssonsnonece 10
SELENE la
CITATIONS
Cases: |
California v. Taylor, 353 U.S. 553 .....ccccccccceecce cee e es 8
Corning Glass Works v. Brennan, 417 U.S.
aaa sss ceeessnnegnnpenoes 4
Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445... 3,5
Fry v. United States, 421 U.S. $42 ............cccccceeeee es 8
Hodgson v. Behrens Drug Co., 475 F. 2d 1041,
certiorari denied, 414 U.S. 822 ........... eee 5
Hodgson v. Brookhaven General Hospital,
ali iciiccidlecnadtdsscecesecoovesecceses 5
Katzenbach v. McClung, 379 U.S. 294 ............6000005 7
Keller v. United States, 213 U.S. 138 ..............000000. 7
Marvland v. Wirtz, 392 U.S. 183 .........ccccccceeeee seen: 8
National League of Cities v. Userv, 426
EE ae 3; 6, 8,9

Page
Cases Continued
Parden v. Terminal R.R., 377 U.S. 184 ..........0000 8
United States v. California, 297 U.S. 175 ............... 8
Virginia, Ex parte, 100 U.S. 339 ooo.cceeceeeeeeees 6
Constitution, statutes, and regulation:
United States Constitution:
TOTTI Fcc citcailhicinitedadetlinstinnucintinminivessiinctanpaies 7
Commerce Clause ...............05 .0 6, 7, 8,9
PUNE FREIND ccdenecicesesencccpnsasssnnpentscsasen 5
Fourteenth Amendment .............. 2, 5, 6, 7, 8.9
Equal Pay Act of 1963, 77 Stat. 56, 29 U.S.C.
BAG) .orecevecinaorceceosesersvevenesstioscssssconsovessoosnend passim
BP ODL: BOP ktciciccndtinnsinstitnttnnabicisdtnnimnantibbuntiiatinain 6
29 C.F.R. 800.121 ............ Selisidoiecabsaasbiiipiblateiilemaakguadaaiepe 4

er

In the Supreme Court of the Wnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 76-1010

ALLEGHENY COUNTY INSTITUTION DISTRICT, d/b/a
Joun J. KANE HOSPITAL, PETITIONER

V.

RAY MARSHALL, SECRETARY OF LABOR

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPLALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-
15a) is reported at 544 F. 2d 148. The opinion of the
district court (Pet. App. 16a-24a) is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on October 28, 1976. The petition for a writ of certiorari
was filed on January 21, 1977. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether female beauticians and male barbers.
both providing basic hair care for geriatric patients,
perform work that is “equal” within the meaning of the
Equal Pay Act.

(1)

2

2. Whether the Equal Pay Act may constitutionally be

applied to States and their subdivisions.
x

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTE INVOLVED

|. The pertinent provisions of the Equal Pay Act of 1963,
77 Stat. 56, 29 U.S.C. 206(d), are set out at Pet. 5-6.

2. The Fourteenth Amendment provides in relevant part:

SECTION 1. *** No State shall * * * deny to
any person within its jurisdiction the equal protec-
tion of the laws.

* * * * *

SECTION 5. The Congress shall have power to
enforce, by appropriate legislation, the provisions
of this article.

STATEMENT

The Secretary of Labor brought this action in the
United States District Court for the Western District
of Pennsylvania to enjoin petitioner from violating the
Equal Pay Act by maintaining a wage differential between
the male barbers and female beauticians on its staff.

The district court found that both barbers and beau-
ticians provided “basic hair care” for geriatric patients
(Pet. App. 19a-20a). Both spent the majority of their
time cutting ‘hair, which requires use of the same basic
tools (id. at 20a-21a). They worked the same number of
hours (id. at 19a, 20a). Both reported scalp diseases
to the nurses, and both cleaned their own tools. All
barbers and beauticians attended professional schools,
where they received similar training and experience:
all were licensed by the State of Pennsylvania. The
beauticians, unlike the barbers, also gave permanents
and hair sets, straightened and relaxed hair, and shaved

3

patients with electric razors; they occasionally shampooed
hair and polished and filed nails (Pet. App. 2la-22a). The
barbers, unlike the beauticians, occasionally taught hospi-
tal aides how to shave patients (id. at 21a.)

Notwithstanding these findings that barbers and beauti-
cians perform substantially identical tasks, the district

court dismissed the action. It stated that barbers and

beauticians were “members of two distinct licensed pro-
fessions, trained by different type schooling, and whose
jobs require unequal skill, effort and responsibility”
(Pet. App. 17a).

The court of appeals reversed. It held that the district
court’s findings of fact on “basic work hours, place
of work, predominant activity, additional acitivites, pa-
tient responsibilities, tools, and effort” (Pet. App. 7a)
demonstrated that barbers and beauticians perform equal
work within the meaning of the Act. The court of appeals
concluded that the educational backgrounds and licensing
requirements for barbers and beauticians were “virtually
identical” (id. at 9a) and that, in such circumstances,
the “mere fact that the two professions are separately
licensed” was not significant (id. at | la).

The court also held that the Equal Pay Act constitu-
tionally may be applied to States and their subdivisions.
It concluded, relying on Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S.
445, that the Equal Pay Act is supported by Congress’
power under Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment
to define and enforce the equal protection of the laws.
Although the Equal Pay Act had been joined with the
Fair Labor Standards Act, part of which this Court
invalidated in National League of Cities v. Usery, 426
U.S. 833, the court of appeals held that the Equal
Pay Act was severable and rested upon a firm consti-
tutional footing.

4

ARGUMENT
- The decision of the court of appeals is gorrect.
There is no conflict among the circuits concerning the
validity of the Equal Pay Act, and petitioner's re-
maining argument involves only the application of set-

tled principles to the facts of this case. Accordingly.
there is no need for review by this Court.

|. Petitioner contends that the court of appeals un-
justifiably discarded the district court's findings of fact
(Pet. 22). On the contrary, the court of appeals accepted
all of the district court's findings of fact (Pet. App.
9a) and held that these findings demonstrated that the
jobs of barber and beautician were substantially identical.

Petitioner argues that the jobs were not identical be-
cause state licensing procedures lead to separate licenses
and because, under the licensing scheme, persons may
not transfer from one job to another. But it is settled
that jobs need not be interchangeable to be substantially
equal; it is enough that they be closely related and re-
quire substantially equal skill,- effort, and responsibility.
Corning Glass Works v. Brennan, 417 U.S. 188, 203-
204 n. 24. Here, as the court of appeals observed, the
district court's findings establish that the beauticians
employed skill, effort, and responsibility “at least equal
to that of the barbers” (Pet. App. 7a); to the extent
there was any difference, the beauticians, who received
the lower pay, employed the greater skill (id. at 10a).
The Equal Pay Act therefore forbids the pay differential
found to exist here.!

‘it makes no difference that Pennsylvania has separate licensing
systems for barbers and beauticians. The decision whether jobs
are equal is one of federal law, and differences of nomen-
clature under state procedures do not matter. 29 C.F.R. 800.121:

5

2. Petitioner contends (Pet. 24-25) that the Equal Pay
Act may not constitutionally be applied to States and
their subdivisions. The argument is incorrect, and it has
been rejected by the vast majority of courts that have
passed upon it.’

a. The Equal Pay Act is an exercise of the power of
Congress, under Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment,
to enact appropriate legislation to enforce the Equal
Protection Clause of Section | of that Amendment. This
Court has held in Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445, that the
Fourteenth Amendment worked a fundamental alteration
of the allocation of power within our federal system.
Fitzpatrick therefore sustained, against an Eleventh
Amendment challenge, the power of Congress to provide
for back pay as a remedy for unequal treatment on account
of sex. The Equal Pay Act achieves the same objective—
equal treatment without regard to sex—and is con-
stitutional under the same grant of power to Congress. As

Hodgson v. Behrens Drug Co., 475 F. 2d 1041. 1049-1050 n.
12 (C.A. 5). certiorari denied. 414 U.S. 822: Hodgson vy. Brook-
haven General Hospital, 436 F. 2d 719, 724 (C.A. 5). Nor does
it make a difference that, under Pennsylvania law, men may be
beauticians and women may be barbers. The fact remains that
petitioner employs only female beauticians and male barbers. and
that it pays barbers $165 per month more than beauticians.
See Pet. App. 10a-1 la, 23a.

*District courts in 25 cases have reached the same conclusion
as the court of appeals in the present case. Two district courts
have agreed with petitioners. A list of the cases reaching this
issue is set out for the convenience of the Court as an appendix
to this brief. No other court of appeals has yet decided the issue,
but cases presenting it are pending in four circuits. Christopher v.
lowa, C.A. 8. No. 76-1632: Marshall v. Charleston County School
District, C.A. 4. No. 76-2340: Uservy v. Owenshoro- Daviess County
Hospital, C.A. 6 No. 77-3069: Userv v. City of Sheboygan, C.A.
7. Misc. No. 76-8122.

6

the Court stated in Ex parte Virginia, 100 U.S. 339, 347-348,
“the Constitution now expressly gives authority for
congressional interference and compulsion in the cases
embraced within the Fourteenth Amendment. It is but a
limited authority, true, extending only to a single class of
cases; but within its limits it is complete.”

Petitioner argues that the Equal Pay Act must fall with
the Fair Labor Standards Act, part of which this Court held
unconstitutional in National League of Cities v. Usery, 426
U.S. 833. It is true that the Equal Pay Act was placed within
the Fair Labor Standards Act, but that does not end the
matter. The Equal Pay Act is a separately considered statute
enacted in 1963. It was “enacted at a different time, and
aimed at a separate problem—discrimination on account of
sex in the payment of wages” (Pet. App. 13a). The Fair
Labor Standards Act contains a broad severability clause
(29 U.S.C. 219), and so there is no reason why the Equal Pay
Act should be affected by National League, unless the
rationale of National League applies here as well.

We already have discussed the most important differ-
ence between this case and National League; although
the minimum wage and overtime provisions of the Fair
Labor Standards Act were enacted under the authority
of the Commerce Clause alone, the sex discrimination
provisions at issue here draw support from Section 5
of the Fourteenth Amendment as well as ‘from the Com-
merce Clause.

Petitioner responds that the Equal Pay Act must be
assessed as if it drew its authority from the Commerce
Clause alone, because Congress explicitly invoked its
Commerce Clause power when enacting the statute.
The court of appeals properly rejected the argument that
Congress must cite the correct source of power when
enacting a statute; the constitutionality of Acts of

>

Congress depends upon the substance of their provisions,
and not whether the committee reports or the preamble
contain particular invocations of authority. The pro-
cedures for the enactment of legislation specified by
Article | of the Constitution do not require Congress
to utilize either published legislative histcry or a pre-
amble—let alone to state an accurate constitutional theory
in such documents. Nothing in Article I, or elsewhere
in the Constitution, authorizes a court to strike down other-
wise valid legislation merely because Congress mis-
conceived the source of its authority to enact it.
“In exercising the power of judicial review * * *.we are
concerned with the actual powers of the national govern-
ment” (Pet. App. 14a; emphasis added).

The proper question is “whether there is any authority
conferred upon Congress by which this particular portion of
the statute can be sustained.” Keller v. United States, 213
U.S. 138, 147. Indeed, Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, which this Court upheld in Fitzpatrick as an exercise
of authority under Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment,
also purported to be only an exercise of authority under the
Commerce Clause. At the time Title VII was enacted in 1964
it applied only to private persons, just as the Equal Pay Act
applied only to private persons when it was enacted in 1963.
There therefore would have been no basis for a con-
gressional assertion of power under the Fourteenth
Amendment, which applies only to state action. Similarly,
when Title VII was made applicable to the States in 1972,
and when the Equal Pay Act was made applicable to peti-
tioners in 1966 (and to other governmental entities in 1974),
there was no reason for Congress to rely heavily upon its
powers under the Fourteenth Amendment. The Civil Rights
Act of 1964 had been sustained as a valid Commerce Clause
enactment (Katzenbach v. McClung, 379 U.S. 294), and the
1966 extension of the Fair Labor Standards Act to

8

governmental entities like petitioner also was sustained as a
valid Commerce Clause enactment (Marvland v. Wirtz, 392
U.S. 183). The fact that National League now has held that
reliance upon the Commerce Clause was misplaced does not
mean, however, that the Equal Pay Act may not be upheld
under the Fourteenth Amendment. Under our con-
stitutional system, a court is not authorized to invalidate a
statute, otherwise within the substantive powers of
Congress, just to see whether Congress would re-enact the
statute with a different citation of constitutional authority.

b. Moreover, the Equal Pay Act is a valid exercise of
power under the Commerce Clause, without regard to its
validity under the Fourteenth Amendment. National
League did not hold that Congress lacks any power under
the Commerce Clause to regulate the States; the Court
specifically stated (426 U.S. at 852-855) that it was not
disturbing the holdings of Fry v. United States, 421 U.S.
542, Parden v. Terminal R. R., 377 U.S. 184, California vy.
Taylor, 353 U.S. 553, and United States v. California, 297
U.S. 175, all of which sustained legislation, enacted under
the commerce power, regulating States in their role as
employers.

The Court concluded in National League that the Com-
merce Clause does not establish sufficient authority for the
federal government to interfere in certain attributes of
sovereignty that the States and their subdivisions exercise in
carrying out traditional functions of government. But even
if the establishment of geriatric hospitals like petitioner can
be portrayed as a traditional function of the States,’ the
Equal Pay Act does not interfere in any significant way with
the manner in which States are permitted to carry out that
function.

‘But see Parden, supra.

eee errata cee e eee anenemme. Swen ee

9

The minimum wage and overtime provisions of the Fair
Labor Standards Act set wage and hour standards that
could have required the States to rearrange the way jobs
were performed and to pay their employees higher wages
than state statutes provided. The Equal Pay Act, by
contrast, does not compel any State to pay one wage rather
than another. States retain full control over the wages paid
to their employees; they retain full control over the number
of employees to hire for each job, and what hours they shall
work. The Equal Pay Act provides only that, once the State
in its sole discretion has set 2 wage rate for employees of one
sex, it must pay the same rate to employees of the other sex
doing substantially equal work. This does not impinge on
state autonomy or threaten to undermine the performance
by the States of any of their essential and customary
functions. Therefore, under the standards thi “ourt
applied in National League, the Equal Pay Act would be a
permissible exercise of the commerce power even if it stood
on that power alone.

4Indeed. States could not reasonably claim that they have an
interest in paying different wages to men and women who do the
same work, because such sex discrimination would violate the
Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. It is hard
to see how a State could argue that violations of the Equal
Protection Clause are an “essential attribute” of its sovereignty.

10

CONCLUSION

' The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

DANIEL M. FRIEDMAN,
Acting Solicitor General.

ALFRED G. ALBERT,
Acting Solicitor of Labor,

CARIN ANN CLAUSS,
Associate Solicitor,

Lois G. WILLIAMS,
Attorney,
Department of Labor.

MARCH 1977.

DOJ-1977-03

APPENDIX

CASES DECIDED AFTER NATIONAL
LEAGUE OF CITIES v. USERY, 426
U.S. 833, PASSING UPON THE CON-
STITUTIONALITY OF THE EQUAL PAY
ACT AND THE AGE DISCRIMINATION
IN EMPLOYMENT ACT AS APPLIED
TO STATES AND THEIR SUBDIVI-
SIONS

Equal Pay Act of 1963, 29 U.S.C. 206(d)
a. Cases upholding the Act

Christensen v. lowa, 417 F. Supp. 423 (N.
D. lowa).

Usery v. Charleston County School District,
D. 'S.C., No. 76-248, decided August 24,
1976.

Usery v. Sioux City Community School Dis-
trict, N.D. lowa, No. C-76-4024, decided
August 20, 1976.

Usery v. Fort Madison Community School
District, S.D. lowa, No. C-75-62-1, decided
September |, 1976.

Usery v. Bettendorf Community School Dis-
trict, 423 F. Supp. 637 (S.D. lowa).

Usery v. Berkeley Unified School District,
N.D. Cal., No. C-75-1558 SAW, decided
September 27, 1976.

Usery v. Kent State University, N.D. Ohio,
No. C75-550, decided October 6, 1976.

la

2a

Usery v. Washoe County School District, D.

Nev., No. R-75-216 BRT, decided Octeber 13,

1976.

Usery v. University of Nevada, Reno, D.
Nev., No. R-75-62 BRT, decided October 13,
1976.

Usery v. Dallas Independent School District,
421 F. Supp. 111 (N.D. Tex.).

Usery v. University of Texas at El Paso, W.D.
Tex., No. EP-75-CA-221, decided Octo-
ber 14, 1976.

Usery v. Memphis State University, W.D.
Tenn., No. C-75-54, decided October 29,
1976.

Usery v. Baltimore County School District,
D. Md., No. K-76-762, decided Novemtber
16, 1976.

Usery v. City of Brockton, D. Mass., No.
76-2265-M, decided November 9, 1976.

Usery v. Morrissey, D. Mass., No. CA 74-
2311-G, decided November 15, 1976.

Usery v. A&M Consolidated Independent
School District, S.D. Tex., No. 74-H-1532,
decided November 30, 1976.

Usery v. Tennessee Technological University,
M.D. Tenn., No. 75-7-NE-CV, decided De-
cember 14, 1976.

Usery v. Austin Peay State University,
M.D. Tenn., No. 75-42-NA-CV, decided De-
cember 14. 1976.

3a

Usery v. Kenosha Unified School District
Number One, E.D. Wisc., No. 73-C-399,
decided December 13, 1976.

Usery v. City of Sheboygan, E.D. Wisc..
No. 76-C-209, decided December 13, 1976.

Brown v. County of Santa Barbara, C.D.
Cal., Nos. 75-3492-HP and 75-3978-HP.,
decided January 14, 1977.

National League of Cities v. Marshall, D.
D.C. (three-judge court), No. 74-1812, de-
cided January 31, 1977.

Usery v. Eastern Kentucky University, E.D.
Ky., No. C.A. 76-15, decided January 21,
1977.

Usery v. Council Bluff Community School Dis-
trict, S.D. lowa, No. 76-26-W, decided
January 27, 1977

Usery v. Oregon, D. Ore., No. 74-629. decided
February 12. 1977.

b. Cases holding the Act invalid

Howard v. Ward County, 418 F. Supp. 494
(D. N.D) (Title VII case denying Equal
Pay Act jurisdiction but applying Equal
Pay Act standards to afford relief to em-
ployee of county).

Usery v. Owensboro-Daviess County Hos-
pital, 423 F. Supp. 843 (W.D. Ky).

4a

Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, 29
U.S.C. 621 ef seq.

Cases upholding the Act

Usery v. Board of Education of Salt Lake
City, 421 F. Supp. 718 (D. Utah).

Springer v. City of Los Angeles, C.D. Cal.,
No. CV 76-2449-FW, motion to dismiss
denied November 24, 1976.

Aaron v. Davis, W.D. Ark., No. LR-76-C-16,
motion to reconsider judgment for plaintiff
denied December 9, 1976.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1190%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
