# Opposition — Pomponio v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1176%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 430 U.S. 966

## Text

ee ee ee

eee a : + wR 29 wm
5S No. 76-996. Wow ATONE Em

By the Siipreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

Louis J. PoMPONIO, JR., PETITIONER
VY.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

DANIEL M. FRIEDMAN,
Acting Solicitor General,

BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI,
Assistant Attorney General,
JEROME M. FEIT,
PAUL J: BRyYSH,
Attorneys,
Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 76-996
Louis J. PoMPONIO, JR., PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRC, IT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. A) is not
reported. Its opinion in a prior appeal in this case (Pet. App.
B) is reported at 511 F. 2d 953.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
November 19, 1976 (Pet. App. C). On December 9, 1976,
the Chief Justice extended the time within which to file
a petition for a writ of certiorari to and including January
18. 1977, and the petition was filed on that date. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

(1)

2
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether travel in interstate commerce with intent to
bribe an officer of a federally-insured bank, and the bribery
of such officer. is a violation of the Travel Act, 18 U.S.C.
1952. .

2. Whether the district court’s voir dire of prospective
jurors as to the effects of pretrial publicity was sufficient and
whether petitioner waived any objection to such voir dire.

STATUTES INVOLVED
18 U.S.C. 1952 provides in relevant part:

Interstate and foreign travel or transportation in
aid of racketeering enterprises.

(a) Whoever travels in interstate or foreign com-
merce or uses any facility in interstate or foreign com-
merce, including the mail, with intent to -

(1) distribute the proceeds of any unlawful
activity: or

(2) commit any crime of violence to further
any unlawful activity: or

(3) otherwise promote. manage, establish.
carry on. or facilitate the promotion, manage-
ment, establishment. or carrying on, of any
unlawful activity,

and thereafter performs or attempts to perform any of

the acts specified in subparagraphs (1). (2), and (3).
shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned
for not more than five years. or both.

(b) As used in this section “unlawful activity”
means * * * (2) extortion, bribery. or arson in vio-
lation of the laws of the State in which committed
or of the United States.

3

18 U.S.C. 215 provides in relevant part:

Receipt: of commissions or gifts for procuring
loans.

Whoever. being an officer. director, employee, agent,
or attorney of any bank. the deposits of which are in-
sured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
** * except as provided by law. stipulates for or
receives or consents or agrees to receive any fee.
commission, gift. or thing of value. from any person.
firm, or corporation, for procuring or endeavoring
to procure for such person, firm, or corporation, or
for any other person, firm, or corporation, from any
such bank or corporation, any loan or extension or
renewal of loan or substitution of security, or the pur-
chase or discount or acceptance of any paper. note.
draft. check. or bill of exchange by any such bank
or corporation, shall be fined not more than $5.000
or imprisoned not more than one year or both.

New York Penal Law §180.00 (McKinney 1975) provides:

Commercial bribing.

A person is guilty of commercial bribing when he
confers, or offers or agrees to confer, any benefit upon
any employee, agent or fiduciary without the consent
of the latter's employer or principal. with intent to
influence his conduct in relation to his employer's
or principal's affairs.

Commercial bribing is a class B misdemeanor.

STATEMENT

In 1974 petitioner was convicted by a jury in the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia of
one count of conspiracy and two substantive counts of
violating the Travel Act. 18 U.S.C. 1952. by travelling from

4

Virginia to New York with the intent to bribe an officer ofa
federally-insured bank in violation of 18 U.S.C. 215 and
New York Penal Law §180.00 (McKinney 1975).' The
district court granted his motion for arrest of ‘udgment on
the ground that violations of 18 U.S.C. 215 and New York
Penal Law §180.00 were not “unlawful activity” within the
meaning of the Travel Act. On the government's appeal. the
court of appeals reversed (ret. App. B; 511 F. 2d 953).2 and
this Court denied certiorari, 423 U.S. 874. On remand.
petitioner was sentenced to three concurrent three-year
terms of imprisonment. The court of appeals affirmed (Pet.
App. A).

The evidence showed that petitioner was the head of a
multi-corporate enterprise engaged in building and operat-
ing office and apartment buildings in Northern Virginia
and the District of Columbia (396a-402a).4 Beginning in
1965, and continuing into 1972. petitioner's organization
obtained construction loans in excess of 93 million dollars

‘Petitioner, his two brothers Peter and Paul. and his attorney Charles
J. Piluso had been indicted on cight substantive counts of violating the
Travel Act. in addition to the conspiracy count. The court required that
the government proceed on its strongest three counts, and six of the
substantive counts were severed and subsequently dismissed. Petitioner
Was tried separately because he had been hospitalized when his co-
defendants were tried. At the first ‘tial, the charges against Peter
Pomponio Were dismissed by the court. Paul Pomponio was acquitted
by a jury and Piluso was convicted on all three counts.

“The government's appeal was consolidated with Piluso’s appeal from
his conviction (see note |. supra). Piluso. like petitioner. argued that an
intent to Violate 18 U.S.C. 21S and New York Penal Law $180.00 could
not form the basis of a Travel Act conviction. Piluso’s conviction was
affirmed.

*Piluso’s petition tor certiorari was also denied. 423 U.S. 74.

*All references are to the two-volume joint appendix filed in the court
of appeals. a copy of which we are lodging with the Court.

5

through the Royal National Bank in New York City (403a-
404a).

Sidney M. Zneimer was senior vice-president of the Bank
and his primary responsibilities involved construction and
real estate loans (260a-262a). His duties included reviewing
construction loan applications (265a-266a) and processing
requests for disbursements on the basis of work completed
(27 1a). Advances were to be made only upon verification of
construction progress by bank inspectors (270a).

As discussed below, petitioner and his associates gave
Zneimer cash and gifts (including two automobiles)
worth more than $320,000.5 In return for these payments,
Zneimer helped petitioner obtain construction loans, au-
thorized advances which were not based upon the approval
of bank inspectors, and approved substantial overdrafts
on accounts maintained by petitioner's organization (272a-
28 la).

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner’s principa! arguments are essentially the
same as those in his prior petition for certiorari, which
this Court denied last Term. The only significant develop-
ment since the denial of that petition is that the Second
Circuit has disagreed with the Fourth Circuit over whether
the Travel Act’s prohibition of interstate travel to commit
“bribery” imcludes New York’s crime of commercial brib-
ery. See United States v. Brecht, 540 F. 2d 45 (C.A. 2).
There is no occasion for this Court to resolve that conflict
here, however, because unlike in Brecht, the petitioner's

‘A breakdown of payments to or for the benefit of Zneimer is con-
tained in government exhibit 43 (467a-471a). Many of the payments
were made to Rea! Equity Consu!tants. Inc., a corporation set up for
Zneimer by co-conspirator Piluso for the purpose of receiving money
from petitioner's organization (287a-290a).

6

conviction under the Trave! Act was predicated not only
on the New York statute but also upon 18 U.S.C. 215.

Under 18 U.S.C. 215, it is a crime for an officer, director
or employee of a federally-insured bank, except as provided
by law, to receive any “fee. commission, gift, or thing of
value” from any person, firm or corporation in exchange
for procuring or attempting to procure a loan for the donor,
or for anyone else. Zneimer was an officer of a federally-
insured bank (260a-26la) and personally receivéd in
his New York office more than $320,000 from petitioner
(28 la-283a, 286a-287a). Zneimer testified that he made
unauthorized advances to the Pomponios of up to “a mil-
lion or more dollars at any one particular time™ (275a-276a)
and covered unusually large overdrafts on the account of
petitioner's firm (279a-280a). Zneimer admitted that “the
amount of money that [petitioner and his associates] had
given me must have influenced me to assist them far be-
yond what normally I would have done if I had never had
that kind of a relation with them” (281a). He pleaded guilty
to a federal indictment in connection with the payments
(284a).

Petitioner thus made payments whose receipt by Zneimer
violated 18 U.S.C. 215 whether or not petitioner himself
violated the New York commercial bribery law by making
the payments. Petitioner's travel in interstate commerce to
make those payments was travel to “promote, manage.
establish, carry on™ or to “facilitate the promotion, man-
agement, establishment. or carrying on™ of a bribery which
violated 18 U.S.C. 215.°

“Fach count of the indictment (3a-274) charged petitioner with travel
with intent to promote bribery in violation of both 18 U.S.C. 215 and
New York Penal Law §180.00. The court instructed the jury that
“[t}raveling in interstate commerce or use of facilities in interstate
commerce in furtherance of an unlawtul activity, either the violation of

eee D

;

Petitioner's answer is that 18 U.S.C. 215 itself is a
“commercial bribery” statute and thus not covered by the
Travel Act (Pet. 12). Petitioner can draw no support for this
contention from Brecht, which did not involve Section 215,’
and indeed petitioner cites no authority for his construction
of the statute. In any event, Section 215 is not a commercial
bribery statute. as this Court recognized in United States v.
Nardello, 393 U.S. 286, 293 n. Il (emphasis added):
“Bribery has traditionally focused upon corrupt activities by
public officials. See 18 U.S.C. §$§201-218 * * *.~
Furthermore. since Congress by Section 215 has prohibited
the acceptance of a bribe by an officer of a federally-insured
bank, it must have intended to include such bribes when in
the Travel Act it proscribed interstate travel to facilitate the
promotion of “bribery * ** in violation § of the
laws * * * of the United States.”

Alternatively. petitioner argues (Pet. 12). it is “tilogical”
to construe the Travel Act so as to subject a defendant to its
felony sanctions where the underlying offense is only a
misdemeanor. This construction of the Travel Act,
however, has consistently been upheld by the courts of
appeals. See. ¢.g., United States v. Karigiannis, 430 F. 2d
148. 150 (C.A. 7). certiorari denied sub nom.
Panagivtopoulos v. United States, 400 U.S. 904, United
States v. Polizzi, 500 F. 2d 856, 873 n. 17(C.A. 9). certiorari

the banking law or the violation of the State of New York, isan essential
element of the offense” (454a). The evidence could not reasonably be
Viewed as showing an intent to violate the New York statute but not the
federal. Fither petitioner intended to make improper payments to
Zneimer or he did not. The jury found that he did. and it necessarily
follows that an intent to promote a bribery in violation of the federal
statute was established.

the official demanding a bribe in Brecht was an emplovee of the

Westinghouse Electric Corporation and thus could not be charged
under 18 U.S.C. 215.

8

denied, 419 U.S. 1120: United States v. Garramone, 380 F.
Supp. 590. 593(E.D. Pa.). affirmed, 506 F. 2d 1053(C.A. 3),
certiorari denied, 420 U.S. 992.

2. Petitioner contends (Pet. 15-23) that the voir dire
examination of prospective jurors was inadequate to insure
that the jury was not influenced by pretrial publicity con-
cerning petitioner, his brothers, and their business.

At the outset of the selection procedure, the district court
asked the panel of veniremen whether any of them had read
or heard anything about petitioner and his brothers. Each
venireman who responded affirmatively was asked whether
he would be able to render a fair and impartial verdict.
Seven veniremen who indicated that they might not be able
to be impartial were excused (See 236a-243a).*

This Court has recently reaffirmed the traditional view
that the scope and content of voir dire examination are
committed to the sound discretion of the trial court.
Ristaino v. Ross, 424 U.S. 589, 594-595. Although
petitioner and his brothers had been the subject of
newspaper publicity in Northern Virginia (30a-163a), a
reading of the newspaper articles shows that they were, as a
whole, factual and impartial. There were no highly inflam-
matory articles, nor were there editorials proclaiming peti-
tioner’s guilt. Compare Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S.
333; Silverthorne v. United States, 400 F. 2d 627 (C.A. 9).
Indeed, as the court of appeals noted (Pet. App. A 2a), less
than a month before petitioner's tria! began, his brother
Paul was acquitted by a jury on the same charges for which
petitioner was tried.’ In these circumstances the court of

‘Petitioner's argument (Pet. 21-22) that individua! veniremen are
re‘uctant to acknowledge being infiuenced by pubiicity uniess ques-
tioned in isolation thus rings hollow here.

_ “Less than a week prior to tria! petitioner himscif was acquitted by a
jury of tax evasion (163a).

9

appeals properly concluded that the district court’s refusal!
to ask the questions petitioner proposed was not error.

Moreover, as the court of appeals observed, petitioner
declined to follow through on his request. Petitioner pro-
posed 37 voir dire questions (219a-226a). of which two con-
cerned pretria! publicity. The district court stated “I will ask
some of [the 37 proposed questions] and some of them |
won't, but you can approach the Bench after I finish and put
on the record your objections to my failure to ask any you
think | should have asked” (230a). During voir dire, the
court referred to the publicity, asked the venire if any of
them would possibly be influenced by such publicity, and
excused those who answered affirmatively. The court
then asked petitioner's counsel if there were additional
questions he wished to have the court ask (246a). Counsel
requested that the court ask certain of the questions,
which counsel referred to by number, that petitioner had
earlier submitted, unrelated to publicity (246a-247a). The
court complied with petitioner's request.. and asked
each of the questions (249a-250a).

Petitioner did not request that the questions concerning
publicity be read, nor did he indicate any dissatisfaction
with the court's questions concerning publicity, either
while those questions were being asked or when specifi-
cally given the opportunity to do so later. Petitioner's trial
counsel apparently was satisfied with the court's ques-
tions regarding publicity and he waived any objection to
them by failing to refer to those questions when he asked
the court to ask others—which the court did.

10
CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.
Danie, M. FRIEDMAN,
Acting Solicitor General.
BENJAMIN R. CIVILETTI.
Assistant Attorney General.

JueROME M. Fir,
Pach. J. Brysu.
Altorners.

Marcu 1977.

DOJ-1977-03

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_1176%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
