# Opposition — Gibbons v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0806%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 1092

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 76-587

WILLIAM GIBBONS, Trustee of the Property of CHICAGO,
ROCK ISLAND AND PACIFIC RAILROAD COMPANY,
Debtor,

“3 P. ith ,
vs.

ATCHISON, TOPEKA AND SANTA FE RAILWAY COMPANY,
et al., and INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENTS
ATCHISON, TOPEKA AND SANTA FE RAILWAY
COMPANY, et al.

Howarp J. TRIENENS
MarTIN M. LUCENTE
R. EDEN MARTIN

Attorneys for Interline Railroads

SipLey & AUSTIN
One First National Plaza
Chicago, Illinois 60603
Of Counsel

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pact
RL ee ae ES a I, l
I 2
ESE FS EE ec Oe Cee OT we On A 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

CASES:

Boston & Maine Railroad vy. United States, 162

F. Supp. 289 (1958), affd.. Boston & Maine

R. Co. v. United States, 358 U.S. 68 (1958)... 6
Chicago, B. & Q. R. Co. v. New York, S. & W.

ee eg we ee OE | See 6
Chicago, B. & Q. Co. v. New York, S&W. Ry.

ig SUE iii: PI IED viciccscccccesccceececnoiecen 7
Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad Co. v.

United States, 284 U.S. 80 (1931)... 6

Florida E. C. Ry. Co. v. United States, 368 F.
Supp. 1009 (M.D. Fla. i973), aff'd 417 USS.

RRR TEPPER cites Conan Oa ee 7
Fosdick v. Schall, 99 U.S. 235 (1878)... 1S
Incentive Per Diem Charges, 337 1.C.C. 183

(TRS ERE SERCO see ae ome 7
Incentive Per Diem Charges, 343 LCC. 49

| ARERR TINS FR eee eee ee ean 7
Incentive Per Diem Charges, 349 L.C.C. 303

RRR SS nd An ree ame 7,12, 13
iat Re Lehigh Valley Railroad Co., 508 F.2d 332

EERE me aN 12, 14, 15

In Re Penn Central Transportation Company,
oe | nee 13
New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 US. 392

RECAST eA EIEIO» Crass RT ene oo 13
Palmer v. Massachusetts, 308 U.S. 79 (1946) ..... 13
Rules for Car-Hire Settlements, 160 1.C.C. 369.

I 3,5
Smith v. Hoboken, 328 U.S. 123 (1946) .............. 13
Thompson v. Texas Mexican Ry. Co., 328 US.

RE SR Se a enn 13
Union Pacific Railroad Co. v. United States, 300

F. Supp. 318 (D. Neb. 1969): aff'd 396 US.

SE TEE SP eae anise aren tse Kies 7

STATUTES:
Bankruptcy Act

Section 77(c)( 1), 11 U.S.C. § 205(¢)(1)........ 2

Section 77(c)(2), 11 U.S.C. § 205(¢)(2)....... 8. 11
Interstate Commerce Act

Section 1(10), 49 U.S.C.§ ITC 10) 200. 3

Section 1(14)(a), 49 U.S.C.§ 1(14)(a).......... 2.6, 7

Section 1(17)(a), 49 U.S.C.§ 1(17)(a).......... 11,12

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1976 |

No. 76-587

WILLIAM GIBBONS, Trustee of the Property of CHICAGO,
ROCK ISLAND AND PACIFIC RAILROAD COMPANY,
Debtor,

Petitioner,
vs.
ATCHISON, TOPEKA AND SANTA FE RAILWAY COMPANY,
et al., and INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENTS
ATCHISON, TOPEKA AND SANTA FE RAILWAY
COMPANY, et al.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
The two questions presented for review are:

1. Whether the Court of Appeals erred in deciding that
orders of the Interstate Commerce Commission (“Commis-
sion”) prescribing the method of determining the liability of
railroads to pay rental charges (“per diem” charges) to other
railroads for use of freight cars, the manner and time of
settlement of per diem interline balances, and the amount and
structure of per diem charges, are applicable to Chicago, Rock
Island and Pacific Railroad Company (“Rock Island”), a
railroad in reorganization under Section 77 of the Bankruptcy
Act; and

2. Whether the Court of Appeals erred in affirming the
District Court’s decision that the interline debts owed by other
railroads to Rock Island as of the date Rock Island entered into
reorganization proceedings were the net balances (if any) in
the interline accounts favorable to Rock Island.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On March 17, 1975, Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific
Railroad Company filed a petition for reorganization under
Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act. On March 28, the District
Court, pursuant to Section 77(c)(1) of the Bankruptcy Act,
appointed Mr. William Gibbons to act as Trustee for the
Debtor. This appointment was approved by the Interstate
Commerce Commission on April 8, 1975.

Various pre-reorganization interline balances were and are
owed by Debtor to the twenty-three railroad respondents
(referred to herein as “Interline Railroads”). Among these are
undisputed balances in the per diem account owed by Debtor to
Interline Railroads.

Per diem charges are the charges which each American
railroad must pay for the use of another railroad’s cars. In the
early days of railroading, each railroad made its own arrange-
ments with respect to gbtaining and handling cars, including
whether it would make its own cars available for the use of
other railroads and the terms, conditions, and charges for any
such use. With the enactment of the Interstate Commerce Act
in 1887, the practice of interchanging cars rather than physi-
cally transferring the lading became obligatory.

The Interstate Commerce Act, as amended, authorizes the
Commission to regulate every aspect of the interchange and
rental of freight cars. The Commission has been empowered to
(49 US.C. § 1(14)(a)):

“establish reasonable rules, regulations, and practices with

respect to car service by common carriers by railroad

subject to this part, including (1) the compensation to be
paid for the use of any locomotive, freight car, or other

vehicle, (ii) the other terms of any contract, agreement, or
arrangement for the use of any locomotive or other vehicle
not owned by the carrier by which it is used (and whether
or not owned by another carrier, shipper, or third party ),
and (iii) the penalties or other sanctions for nonobser-
vance of such rules, regulations, or practices.””'

The Commission has exercised its regulatory authority over
both the manner and timing of settling interline per diem
accounts, and the amount and structure of per diem charges.

The Manner And Timing Of Per Diem Settlements Has Been
Prescribed By The Commission.

At an early date, the Commission exercised broad jurisdic-
tion over the method of determining the lability and manner
and time of settlement of per diem interline payments, and
ordered the railroads to comply with the rules governing car-
hire settlements which it prescribed. Rules for Car-Hire
Settlements, 160 1L.C.C. 369, 165 LC.C. 495 (1930) (hereafter
referred to as the “Per Diem Rules case’’). The Per Diem Rules
case of 1930 was instituted on the Commission’s own mouon
and concerned “the rules for car-hire setthkements between
common carriers by railroad in the United States for the use
and detention of freight cars while on the lines of carriers other
than their owners” (160 LC.C. at 372). The Commission
considered in detail the various per diem rules enforced under
the auspices of the Association of American Railroads
(“AAR”), including rules dealing with per diem charges, the

' Congress defined “car service” as follows (49 U.S.C. § 110)»:

“The term ‘car service’ in this part shall include the use,
control, supply, movement, distribution, exchange, interchange,
and return of locomotives, cars, and other vehicles used in the
transportation of property, including special types of equipment,
and the supply of trains, by any carrier by railroad subject to this
part.”

4

methods for calculating such charges, switching reclaims, inter-
change and junction reports (describing transfers of cars from
one railroad to another), and methods of settlement.2

Following its analysis of these rules and of a number of

prior Commission proceedings in which per diem charges had
been at issue, the Commission found certain of the per diem
rules to be unreasonable, but found not unreasonable Rules 11
through 17. The Commission concluded that for the future
railroads should make car-hire setthements “in accordance with
the per diem rules” (160 LC.C. at 444-45). The Commission

2 The rules dealing with per diem settlements were summarized
by the Commission as follows:

Rule 11 (Setthkement 40 days after end of calendar month:
160 L.C.C. at 396):

“Rule 11 stipulates that the car owner shall be furnished
with a per diem statement, within 40 days after the end of each
calendar month, giving the number of days each car has been in
possession of the road making the report. Upon receipt of this
information it is customary for the car owner to draw on the using
line for the amount reported, after deducting per diem if any,
which it owes the other carrier.”

Rules 12-17 (160 LC.C at 397):

“Rule 12 merely states that ‘the settlement of amounts
accruing for the use of cars shall be made monthly without regard
to reclaims pending.’ Rule 13 outlines procedures and time limits,
in connection with presentation of reclaim bills. Rule 14
authorizes the reclaim of per diem in instances where cars are in
error delivered to the wrong railroad. or delivered without
forwarding directions, etc., the erring carrier to pay the reclaim.
Rule 15 relates to responsibility for per diem accruing on cars
which a road refuses to receive, where no embargo has been
placed. Rule 16 provides that when an embargo is laid. the
issuing carrier must receive cars loaded prior to the date the
embargo was issued or be responsible for the per diem accruing
for each day it fails to receive such equipment. Rule |7 provides
for the establishment of an arbitration committee to settle cases
arising under the rules.”

then ordered that the carriers “shall make car hire settlements
direct with car owners in accordance with the per diem rules”
(Record Doc. No. 5, attached to Affidavit of J. M. Johnson ).3

3 The Commission had initially decided not to make the per diem
rules mandatory, but instead stated that “carriers will be expected to
modify their rules and practices to conform with our conclusions herein.
If this is not done within a reasonable period, the matter may be
brought to our attention for appropriate action.” (/d., at 445;
emphasis supplied) The carriers, however, did not voluntarily con-
form their rules and practices to the Commission’s conclusions, but
instead the AAR issued a circular to the member carriers stating that
the Commission’s decision did “not have the same status as an order”
so that the railroads were “not legally required to comply” with that
decision (165 LC.C at 495). The Commission thereupon made its
findings mandatory (165 1.C.C. at 496). Pursuant to this decision, the
Commission entered its Order, dated July 15, 1930, which concluded
by directing that the carriers “shall make car hire settlements direct
with car owners in accordance with the per diem rules”:

“It is ordered, That respondents herein, as shown in the
appendix hereto and made a part hereof, be, and they are
hereby, notified and required to cease and desist, on or before
October |, 1930, and thereafter to abstain, from applying rules
for car-hire settlements which are in conflict with those prescribed
for future application in the next succeeding paragraphs.

“It is further ordered, That the said respondents herein be,
and they are hereby, notified and required to establish, on or
before October |, 1930, and thereafter to maintain and observe,
rules with respect to car-hire settlements which shall provide:

* . *

“(4) That common-carrer railroads which interchange
freight cars with more than one subscriber railroad, and which
deliver to one or more subscribing carriers, freight cars which are
received from another such carner, and railroads 100 miles or
more in length, regardless of the number of railroads with which
they connect, shall make car-hire settlements direct with car
owners in accordance with the per diem rules.

. . .

“It is further ordered, That this order shall continue in effect
until the further order of the Commission.” (Emphasis supplied )

The Commission’s order prescribing the per diem rules was
sustained by the Supreme Court in Chicago, Rock Island and
Pacific Railroad Co. v. United States, 284 U.S. 80 (1931). The
Supreme Court there held that the Commission’s power to
prescribe rules with respect to “car service” included power to
promulgate “rules prescribing forms and methods of account-
ing, reporting and distributing payments in respect of such
service” (284 U.S. at 95), and ruled that the Commission’s
order “requires” the per diem charges to be paid in accordance
with the prescribed rules (284 U.S. at 92).4
The Commission Has Also Prescribed The Level Of Per Diem

Charges.

For more than six decades the railroads paid each other
per diem amounts which were determined by the AAR. In
1953, however, the AAR sought to increase the per diem rate
from $2.00 to $2.40; and several Eastern railroads refused to
pay the increased amount. Thereupon, complaints were filed
with the Commission seeking an order requiring all railroads to
observe the AAR rates. These compiaints led to the decision of
the Commission in Chicago, B. & Q. R. Co. v. New York, S. &
W. Ry. Co., 297 LC.C. 291 (1955), in which the AAR per diem
rates were held to be just and reasonable and uniform per diem
rates for all railroads were required. This decision was reversed
on appeal in Boston & Maine Railroad vy. United States, 162 F.
Supp. 289 (1958), affd.. Boston & Maine R. Co. v. United
States, 358 U.S. 68 (1958), on the ground that the Commission
had failed to consider certain matters, and the case was
remanded to the Commission for further proceedings.

Following the remand, the Commission initiated a new
proceeding under Section 1(14)(a) of the Act for the purpose
of prescribing the compensation to be paid by all railroads for
rental of freight cars in the future periods. During the
pendency of this proceeding, Congress in 1966 enacted an

4The Commission's per diem settlements order remains in full
force and effect today.

amendment to Section 1(14)(a) requiring the Commission, in
prescribing per diem charges, to give consideration to factors
affecting the adequacy of the national car supply. In response
to this amendment, the Commission initiated a new, separate
proceeding dealing with “incentive” per diem to determine
whether incentive charges would have a favorable impact on
car supply.

These two proceedings—dealing with “basic” per diem
and “incentive” charges—culminated in Commission findings
and orders prescribing in detail both the basic charges (on a
combined time and mileage basis) and also an incentive per
diem charge (applicable only to certain general service un-
equipped box cars) thereafter to be charged and paid by all
American railroads. Chicago, B. & Q. R. Co. v. New York, S. &
W. R. Co., 332 LC.C. 176 (1968), order sustained in Union
Pacific Railroad Co. v. United States, 300 F. Supp. 318 (D.
Neb. 1969), aff'd. 396 U.S. 27 (1969); and Incentive Per Diem
Charges, 337 1.C.C. 183, 217 (1970), order sustained in Florida
E. C. Ry. Co. v. United States, 368 F. Supp. 1009 (M.D. Fla.
1973), aff'd. 417 U.S. 901 (1974), and 343 LC.C. 49 (1973),
349 L.C.C. 303 (1975).

These car hire rates prescribed by the Commission were
the per diem rates in effect immediately prior to the date on
which the petition for reorganization was filed herein, and are
the rates in effect today.

Proceedings Below With Respect To Per Diem.

The District Court recognized that it did not have power to
authorize the Debtor railroad to disregard Commission orders
and rules (A. 3). However, it construed the Commission’s
orders and rules as limited to “creation of debts”—and not as
prescribing the manner and time of settlement (A. 4). It,
therefore, declined to direct Rock Island to pay the pre-
reorganization per diem amounts it owed to the other Interline
Railroads.

The Interstate Commerce Commission and the Interline
Railroads appealed from the District Court’s decision to the
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit: ~The Commission
advised the Court of Appeals that in its view the car-hire rules
are binding on all railroads, including railroads in reorganiza-
tion, and that “since per diem is in reality the cost of joint
participation in the National car system binding on all railroads
bankrupt or not, not only must the level of per diem be
uniformly applied, but also the mechanics of setthement—the
timing of payment—must be uniformly applicable throughout
the industry” (LC.C. Brief, p. 14).

The Court of Appeals reversed the District Court’s decision
holding that under Section 77(c)(2) of the Bankruptcy Act.
which provides that the trustee shall operate the business of the
debter “subject to ... the jurisdiction of the Commission .. .”
(11 U.S.C. § 205(¢)(2)), Rock Island was required to comply
with the per diem rules (A. 18-19):

“In view of the mandatory nature of Commission
orders governing the settlement of per diem accounts, we
conclude that the trustee must pay these accounts as they
become due in accordance with the per diem rules. We do
not accept the reorganization court’s distinction with re-
spect to the per diem accounts between those accounts
which represent pre-reorganization car use and _ those
which represent post-reorganization car use. Since Com-
mission orders prescribe the time and manner of payment,
the trustee is in current violation of Commission orders
governing all operating railroads when he refuses to pay
per diem accounts which become due during the reorgani-
zation period. Section 77(c)(2) requires the trustee in
operation of the railroad prior to adoption of the reorgani-
zation plan to comply with all orders of the Commission.
It is clear to us that this prevision requires compliance with
Commission orders setting mandatory rules for the settle-
ment of per diem accounts.” ( Emphasis in original )

9

Proceedings Below With Respect To Determination Of
Amounts Of Pre-Reorganization Interline Balances Owed
To Rock Island.

In the railroad industry, service ts frequently provided to
shippers on a joint or collective basis with the railroads sharing
the burdens of such expenses as car ownership, repairs, loss and
damage claims, overcharges, and other costs of doing business.
The sharing of these costs gives rise to the need periodically to
settle accounts, with debtor railroads paying creditor railroads
what is owed in each of the particular interline accounts.

Pursuant to the Accounting Rules and procedures which
govern the railroad industry, interline balances are settled on a
net basis at periodic intervals. The amount paid is the net
balance in a particular interline account favorable to a particu-
lar carrier. For example, in the car repair account, one railroad
may have more credits as against another railroad ( arising out
of the repairs made by the former to cars owned by the latter)
than debits ( arising out of the repairs made by the latter to cars
owned by the former). Where a railroad has such an excess of
credits over debits at the end of a month, that railroad has a
favorable interline balance and ts entitled under the Accounting
Rules to draw on the owi.ig railroad for the amount of the net
balance.

Following commencement of the reorganization proceed-
ings, Rock Island began submitting drafts on other railroads
seeking to collect—not the net balance shown in particular
interline accounts—but rather the gross amount of any credits
in the accounts, without regard to the fact that under the
Accounting Rules the only debt to Rock Island was the net
credit balance (if any) in each account.5

5 The nature of the Rock Island’s position 1s best indicated by the
per diem account between Rock Island and Santa Fe. The account
showed credit entries of $182,502 for the Santa Fe and $105,821 for
the Rock Island. resulting in a favorable net balance of $76,681 for
the Santa Fe. Despite the fact that the Rock Island had a debit
balance in this account, it nevertheless drew on the Santa Fe in the
amount of $105,821 and refused to honor the Santa Fe’s draft for the
net balance of $76,681.

10

The District Court ruled that the agreement among the
railroads (including Rock Island) to settle interline balances
pursuant to the Accounting Rules had created a system of
‘mutual open accounts” between Rock Island and each of the
Interline Railroads, and that under this system debits and
credits within a particular account extinguish each other as they
arise leaving only the net balance (A. 8). Thus, the only debt
owed by each of the Interline Railroads to Rock Island for the
pre-reorganization period was the net balance (if any) in any
such account favorable to Rock Island.

The Court of Appeals affirmed, holding that under the
railroad Accounting Rules the only debt which Rock Island was
entitled to collect from each of the Interline Railroads was the
favorable net balance (if any) in each account (A. 25):

“There is, in effect, no debt for the gross credits on either
side. Because of this feature of the interline accounts, the
reorganization court concluded, and we agree, that the
trustee’s attempt to present drafts for the grass credits in
favor of the Rock Island on pre-reorganization interline
accounts was improper.”

ARGUMENT

1. Rock Island’s petition seeking review of the Court of
Appeals’ decision requiring compliance with the Commission’s
per diem rules and orders makes essentially two points. Rock
Island first contends that this case presents an important
unresolved issue of law dealing with the respective jurisdictions
of the Commission and the Bankruptcy Courts ( Petition, p. 6).
It then argues that the decision of the Court of Appeals is
contrary to decisions of this Court (/d., at 10) and a decision of
the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit (id., p. 12), and that
these conflicts should be resolved by this Court.

There is no important unresolved issue of law in this case.
The issue of whether a railroad in reorganization must continue
to comply with orders of the Interstate Commerce Commission

while in reorganization was resolved long ago by Congress.
The Bankruptcy Act expressly provides that a debtor in Section
77 reorganization must comply with the Commission's orders.
Section 77(c¢)(2) of the Act states that the trustee shall operate
the business of the debtor “subject to . . . the jurisdiction of the
Commission . . .” (11 U.S.C. § 205(¢)(2) ) (emphasis sup-
plied ):

“The trustee or trustees so appointed, upon filing such

bond, shall have all the title and shall exercise, subject to

the control of the judge and consistently with the provi-
sions of this section, all of the powers of a trustee appoint-
ed pursuant to Section 72 or any other section of this title,
and, to the extent not inconsistent with this section, if
authorized by the judge. the powers of a receiver in an
equity proceeding, and, subject to the control of the judge
and the jurisdiction of the Commission as provided by
chapter | of Title 40 as on August 27, 1935, or thereafter
amended, the power to operate the business of the debtor.”

(Emphasis supplied )

Section 77(¢)(2) thus makes ut clear that a railroad in a Section
77 reorganization must operate its business subject to out-
standing Commission orders, including orders which prescribe
the manner and time of payment and the amount of per diem
charges.

The Interstate Commerce Act, like the Bankruptcy Act,
also makes it clear that the debtor in Section 77 reorganization
must comply with orders of the Commission. Section 1(17)(a)
of the Act (49 U.S.C. § 1(17)(e,) deals with “directions of the
Commission as to car service” and provides that: “It shall be the
duty of all carriers by railroad .. . , and of their officers, agents,
and employees, to obey strictly and conform promptly to such
orders or directions of the Commission |dealing with car
service }....” Section 1(17)(a) then specifically provides that
the duties of obedience extend to carriers in reorganization and
their trustees:

“[ 1 }n case of failure or refusal on the part of any carrier,

receiver, or operating trustee to comply with any such order

or direction, such carrier, receiver, or trustee shall be liable

12

to a penalty of not less than $100 nor more than $500 for
each such offense. .. .”” (Emphasis supplied )

Thus, Section 1(17)(a) expressly requires that orders involving
car service, including orders with respect to payment of com-
pensation to owning lines, must be complied with by a “receiv-
er” or an “operating trustee” or a railroad in reorganization,
such as Rock Island.

Recent judicial and Commission decisions emphasize the
principle that debtor railroads in reorganization must comply
with outstanding Commission orders. Jn re Lehigh Vailey
Railroad Co., 508 F.2d 332 (3rd Cir., 1975): Incentive Per
Diem Charges, 349 LC.C. 303 (1975).® See also Palmer v.

(1975), recognized that the burden of maintaining the national
freight car fleet ts a burden borne in common by the railroad industry.
and ruled that exempuon from the operation of the per diem
orders—-even for bankrupt railroads— would be unfair to the car-
owning railroads and contrary to the public interest. The Commission
was asked to exempt certain railroads in reorganization and other
marginal carriers from payment of incentive per diem rates. The
Commission agreed with the Administrative Law Judge that the
request for exemption should be denied (349 LC.C. at 327):

“{ T]he position of the bankrupt and marginal railroads had no
merit because they sought, in effect, to require the car-owning
railroads to subsidize them. . . .{E]xempting these latter rail-
roads would put added pressure on non-bankrupt debut lines, and
granting bankrupt and marginal railroads an exemption might
cause them to be discriminated against by non-exempt lines.”

The Commission quoted with approval from the initial decision
of the Administrative Law Judge, as follows (id., at p. 328):

“We now come to the bankrupt and marginal railroads who seek
exclusion because of their financial difficulties. These carriers are
part of the national system of railroads and their obligation to
provide the nation’s shippers with reasonable service on request
is not different from that of other companies. . . .The circum-

( Continued)

13

Massachusetts, 308 U.S. 79 (1946): New Haven Inclusion
Cases, 399, U.S. 392 (1970); Smith v. Hoboken, 328 U.S. 123
(1946): Thompson v. Texas Mexican Ry. Co., 328 U.S. 134
(1946). As this Court held in Palmer v. Massachusetts, 308
U.S. at 86-7:

“{A]n insolvent railroad, it was realized, required the

oversight of agencies specially charged with the public

interest represented by the transportation system .. . | T|he

whole scheme of § 77 leaves no doubt that Congress did

not mean to grant to the district courts the same scope as to

bankrupt roads that they may have in dealing with other
bankrupt estates.”

Nor is there any conflict among the Circuits to be resolved.
The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, in Jn
re Penn Central Transportation Company, 486 F.2d 519 (3rd
Cir., 1973), is not inconsistent with the decision of the Seventh
Circuit since the Third Circuit gave no consideration whatever
to the Commission’s orders prescribing the manner and time of
making per diem settlements. Accordingly, the Third Circuit
did not reach the question of whether a railroad in reorganiza-
tion may be relieved of its obligation to comply with such
orders.

In the Penn Central ligation, the Court of Appeals held
that traditional trust principles required payment of the bal-
(Continued)

stances of the financially needy roads cannot be attributed to the

car owning railroads and it would be inequitable to require the

car owning railroads to subsidize carriers who are in financial

distress.”
Accordingly. the Commission concluded that the carriers seeking
exemption had “failed to justify” any such exemption, since “the
inevitable effects of granting an exemption to a group of carriers
would be detrimental to the nonexempt carriers and to the total!
incentive per diem program.” (349 LC.C. at pp. 329-330) Petitioner
conceded in the Court of Appeals that the Commission's order in the

Incentive Per Diem case “clearly fails within the regulatory power of
the Commission” ( Brief, p. 11).

14

ances due in the freight and passenger interline accounts but
declined to extend this holding to the other interline accounts.
stating (486 F.2d at 528):
“We have concluded that amounts due in these accounts
{other than freight and passenger] are not held in trust.
These accounts do not involve collection of money by one
carrier for another. These accounts merely represent the
performance of services by one railroad.”
The Third Circuit did not refer to or consider the per diem rules
prescribed by the Commission, nor did it address itself at all to
the question of whether the railroad in réorganization (Penn
Central ) could be relieved of its obligations under those orders.
The Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, in the instant
case, correctly rejected the argument that the Penn Central
decision constituted a controlling precedent, stating ( A. 20-21):
“The result in Penn Central was reached by an application
of trust principles. It is conceded in this case that trust
principles do not require immediate payment of the pre-
reorganization per diem accounts. While the existence of a
trust relationship may require payment of passenger and
freight accounts, as the court found in Penn Central, it ts
not conversely true that, in the absence of a trust relation-
ship, payment of per diem accounts is not required. We

view the question before us as essentially a question of

statutory construction and have resolved it upon a consid-

eration of the applicable provisions of Section 77 and the

policies they represent. We do not believe that our
reasoning or the result we have reached is in conflict with
the decision of the Third Circuit.”

That there is no conflict between the decision below and
any decision of the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit with
respect to the issue here presented is confirmed by the recent
decision of that Court in Jn re Lehigh Valley Railroad Co., 508
F.2d 332 (3rd Cir.. 1975). In that case, trustees for the Penn
Central secured an order requiring payment of certain interline
balances by the Lehigh Valley. On appeal. Lehigh Valley
asserted that a condition of the 1968 merger between the Penn
Central and the New York Central, imposed by the Commis-

1S

sion in its order approving the merger, required the Penn
Central to keep the Lehigh Valley operational. Appellants
contended that the Penn Central, which was then in reorganiza-
tion, was fully bound by the conditions which the Commission
had imposed and that this condition precluded the trustees’
demand for current payment of net interline balances. In a
unanimous opinion, the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
held that the Penn Central reorganization court was without
authority to vary the conditions imposed on the railroad by
order of the Commission, which remained binding on the
railroad in reorganizauon (508 F.2d at 338):

* The reorganization court was without authority to vary the
conditions of Penn Central’s franchise. Only the appropri-
ate regulatory agency could do so. Smith vy. Hoboken R.R.
Co., 328 U.S. 123 (1946): Palmer v. Massachusetts, 308
U.S. 79 (1939): In re Central Railroad Co., 485 F.2d 208
(3rd Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. Li31 (1974).
Trustees appointed under § 77 of the Bankruptcy Act are
subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission, and a modi-
fication of condition 14 would have required application to
that agency in addition to approval by the reorganization
court. § 77(¢)(2), 11 U.S.C. § 20$(¢)(2). .. .”7 (Empha-
sis supplied. )

Accordingly, the Court of Appeals’ decision enforcing the
Commission’s per diem rules and orders is fully supported by
the applicable statutory authorities and judicial precedents, and
is fully consistent with the decisions of this Court and the Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit.®

.

7 Petitioner also errs in asserting ( Petition, pp. 10-11) that the
decision below is in conflict with the decision of this Court in Fosdick
v. Schall, 99 U.S. 235 (1878). The Fosdick case was not cited by
Rock island to either court below and was not mentioned in the Court
of Appeals’ decision. Fosdick involved the “six months rule” under
which certain debts incurred during the six month period prior to
reorganization may be paid in certain circumstances. The decision
below was not based on the six months rule, but was instead based on
the Commission’s per diem rules and orders.

8 Petitioner also claims that the decision below would result in
the “taking of the Trustee’s property and the Debtor’s estate without

(Continued)

16

2. The decision below affirming the District Court's
decision that the only interline debts owing to Rock Island are
the net balances favorable to it in particular accounts is not
mentioned in Petitioner’s “Questions Presented” ( Petition, p.
2), and is discussed only briefly in the petition (pp. 5, 12). The
Court of Appeals’ decision on this point was based on the
essentially undisputed fact that the interline accounts of the
railroads are “mutual open accounts” in which the day-to-day
debits and credits within particular accounts are mutually
extinguished as they arise, leaving only the net balance
(A.24).9 The decision involved no important unresolved ques-
tion of federal law at all, let alone one involving any conflict
with decisions of other courts. In all other railroad reorganiza-
tions, the interline accounts have been settled on a net basis
(A.25, fn.).

(Continued)

due process or... without just compensation” in violation of the Fifth
Amendment. Petition’r cites no authority for this theory of con-
stitutional law, and it is plainly wrong.

9 Petitioner, in the only argument portion of the petition dealing
with the matter of determination of net balances owed to Petitioner.
asserts that the netting process occurring in the mutual open accounts
amounts to a “set-off (Petition, p. 12). This ts not correct. The
mutual extinguishing of debits and credits in mutual open accounts
occurs on a day-to-day basis as those debits and credits arise; thus, the
only debt in any account to Rock Island on the date that railroad
entered reorganization was the favorable net balance (if any) in such
account. The courts below did not authorize or condone any setting-
off of any such pre-reorganization debt owed to Rock Island by
another railroad against any debts owed by Rock Island to such other
railroads. .

17

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Writ of Certio-
rari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

HoOwarpbD J. TRIENENS
MARTIN M. LUCENTE
R. EDEN MARTIN

Attorneys for Interline Railroads

Siptty & AUSTIN
One First National Plaza
Chicago, Illinois 60603
Of Counsel

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0806%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
