# Petition — Coplen v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0805%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 1073

## Text

Supreme Court, U.&
Fi?reED

OCT 27 1976

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE

UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1976

TOMMY JOE COPLEN,
Petitioner, No.
Vv >

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent. 76 es 5 8 6

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
NINTH CIRCUIT

FLYNN KIMERER THINNES
& DERRICK
By: Clark L. Derrick
Robert B. Hoffman
1950 First National Bank Plaza
100 West Washington Street
Phoenix, Arizona 85003

Attorneys for Petitioner

Page
EE LED s ERTL AT OTE EET Oe 1
Jurisdictional Grounds ............:cccseeeeeeeeeeeseees 2
Questions Presented for Review ................:++ 2
Constitutional Provision Involved ................. 2
Statement of the Case .............:ccccccccesseeeseeeeeees 3
Reasons for Granting the Writ ....................6 15
REISER Oe a 20
Appendix A

Opinion of the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Ninth Circuit, of August 16,

ES NRE a een Te la
Appendix B
Order Denying Petition for Rehearing .......... lb
TABLE OF CASES
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 91
S.Ct. 2022, 29 L.Ed.2d 564 (1971) ...............0. 15,16
Hill v. United States, 379 F.2d 811 (9th Cir.
TIE ssinmeinaiscsiciisssceiieshchadinaediebdtticaintoaetianshdilesiatiia tie 19
Nipp v. United States, 422 F.2d 509 (10th Cir.
1970) cert. denied 399 U.S. 913 (1971) .......... 19
Thomas v. United States, 363 F.2d 159 (9th
iy IIIT ibicenciececipnueaieak laden lh 18
United States v. Childs, 457 F.2d 173 (9th Cir.
ID snceinchlniscinessincinciadh ahaa cial 20
United States v. Cirillo, 499 F.2d 872 (2nd Cir.
1974) cert. denied 419 U.S. 1059 (1975) ........ 19

United States v. Epperson, 485 F.2d 514 (9th
Fa STEED ‘enccasenecnansesoniecnsmapuniuniinenmisiampaiindeiina 20

ii
Page
United States v. Morado, 454 F.2d 167 (5th

SN I scaleiinsuiiiilitnadinnncsiinncedatadlMasal ttre hic dialed 19
United States v. Zumpano, 436 F.2d 535, (9th
I 18

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
Fourth Amendment to the United States Con-

SEE Sa Reet SORE RF Fol en I NN IO 2,3
STATUTES
Rule 29 (a), Federal Rules ot Criminal Proce-
i 4

Rule 33, Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure,
ETE NE 6 eg Nik t 2 Ee

21 U.S.C. § 841 (a) (1) and (D) 0.0.02... ceeeeeeeee
a ees OD seithcepiiecadshentensicnnsonensoncenievorsenens
21 U.S.C. § 960 (a) (1) and (b) «00... esecesseees
LES ede | | | | eee

nowonwnon wo -

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE

UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1976

TOMMY JOE COPLEN,
Petitioner, No.

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
NINTH CIRCUIT

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CHIEF JUSTICE
AND ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME
COURT OF THE UNITED STATES:

Tommy Joe Coplen, the petitioner herein, prays that
a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
entered in the above entitled case on August 16, 1976.

I. OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit has not been officially reported
as of this date. A copy of the opinion is printed in

2

Appendix A hereto. A copy of the order below, denying
petitioner’s petition for a rehearing and modifying said
opinion is printed in Appendix B hereto.

Il. JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDS

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit (Appendix A, infra) was entered
on August 16, 1976. A timely motion for. rehearing was
denied on September 17, 1976 (Appendix B, infra). On
September 30, 1976, the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Ninth Circuit entered an order dated
September 24, 1976 staying the issuance of the man-
date pending the filing, consideration and disposition
by this Honorable Court of a petition for writ of cer-
tiorari provided such petition is filed in the clerk’s
office of this Honorable Court on or before
October 27, 1976. The jurisdiction of the Supreme
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1).

Ill. QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

A. Were warrantless visual intrusions into petition-
er’s airplane ard a subsequent warrantless physical
intrusion therein and seizure of debris, a violation of
petitioner’s Fourth Amendment protections against
unreasonable searches and seizures?

B. When considering the evidence presented against
the petitioner at trial in a light most favorable to the
respondent, should petitioner’s motion for judgment of
acquittal have been granted?

IV. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED
The Fourth Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution provides:

3

“The right of the people to be secure in their per-
sons, houses, papers, and effects, against un-
reasonable searches and seizures, shall not be vio-
lated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon
probable cause supported by Oath or affirmation,
and particulariy describing the place to be
searched, and the persons or things to be seized.”

V. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The petitioner was charged on April 2, 1975, in a
three count indictment with conspiring to import mar-
ijuana in violation of 21 U.S.C., § 952 (a) and 960 (a)
(1) and (b), and with conspiring to possess marijuana
with the intent to distribute the same in violation of
21 U.S.C., § 841 (a) (1) and (b); with the illegal impor-
tation of marijuana in violation of 21 U.S.C., § 952 (a)
and 960 (a) (1) and (b); and with the possession of
marijuana with the intent to distribute the same in
violation of 21 U.S.C., § 841 (a) (1) and (b). See Tran-
script of Record on Appeal, hereinafter cited as AR,
at 29.

The petitioner Coplen raised a pretrial motion to
suppress marijuana debris seized from his aircraft on
February 20 and 21, 1975, alleging a violation of the
Fourth Amendment guaranty against unreasonable
searches and seizures. See AR at 50, 120. Shortly prior
thereto, codefendant McKittrick filed a motion to
suppress the five hundred pounds of marijuana seized
from his vehicle, alleging the same to have been a war-
rantless arrest and seizure in violation of the Fourth
Amendment to the United States Constitution. This
motion was joined in by Petitioner Coplen on June 5,
1975, AR at 53, and by defendant Valenzuela on June
11, 1975, AR at 55. A hearing on the joint motions to
suppress was heard by the District Court, the Honor-

4

able Carl A. Muecke presiding, on June 7, 1975, June
8, 1975, June 11, 1975, and October 10, 1975. See Re-
porter’s Transcript of Proceedings on Motions to
Suppress, Volume A, hereinafter referred to as MS.
Following the taking of testimony and the final argu-
ments of counsel, the court denied the defendants’
joint motions to suppress both the marijuana debris
seized from the aircraft belonging to Coplen and the
five hundred pounds of marijuana obtained as a result
of the arrest of McKittrick and the subsequent search
of his vehicle. MS at 377-78.

The matter was tried to a jury commencing on Octo-
ber 21, 1975. AR at 163. Following the District Court’s
denial of defendant Coplen’s motion for judgment of
acquittal raised pursuant to Rule 29 (a), Federal Rules
of Crimina) Procedures, 18, U.S.C., and the submission
of ali evidence to the jury for its deliberation, a verdict
of guilty on all counts of the indictment was returned
against all three codefendants on October 23, 1975. AR
at 244-46. Subsequently, defendant Coplen filed a
motion for new trial pursuant to Rule 33 of the Fed-
eral Rules of Criminal Procedure, 18 U.S.C., reurging
his contention that the District Court erred both in
denying his pretrial motion to suppress and his motion
for judgment of acquittal submitted at the close of the
government’s case. AR at 248. On November 24, 1975,
the District Court denied Coplen’s motion for new
trial and entered its order of judgment and commit-
ment, imposing a sentence of five (5) years on each
count of the indictment, the sentences to run concur-
rently; to be followed thereafter by a special parole
term of three (3) years. Additionally, defendant
Coplen was ordered to pay a fine of five hundred dol-

5

lars ($500.00) for each of the three (3) counts of the
indictment. AR at 259.

The Evidence

The salient facts adduced at the evidentiary hearing
on petitioner Coplen’s motion to suppress the debris
seized from his aircraft logically commence with the
United States Customs agent Kontrabecki’s visual
searches of Coplen’s aircraft while parked and tied
down at Freeway Airport in Tucson, Arizona. As the
transcript reveals, Kontrabecki, consistent with an as-
signment to conduct surveillance of airports in the
Tucson and Phoenix areas, peered into the window of
an aircraft bearing registration number NW9286W
(hereinafter referred to as 86W) on November 5, 1974,
for the sole purpose of observing marijuana debris and
gathering evidence of smuggling. MS at 5-6, 48, 50. As
luck would have it, he spied “... marijuana debris on
the seats and floor of the aircraft.” MS at 7.

When questioned concerning his authority for peer-
ing in the windows of private aircraft, it was the
agent’s testimony that he was present at the airport in
the same capacity as any other private citizen who
comes upon public property. MS at 51.' Following
Kontrabecki’s initial visual search of the aircraft, a
registration check was requested from the customs
communication sector which revealed the names of the

' Subsequently, Kontrabecki indicated that he did not know
whether the airport property was public or private. MS at 57.
Further testimony elicited at the hearing on July 8, 1975, revealed
the existence of two signs at Freeway Airport which specifically
notified those walking onto the flight line at the executive ter-
minal that the aircraft ramp is an area restricted by federal
aviation regulation. See MS at 188.

6

defendant, Thomas Coplen, and a Verne Olsen as co-
owners. MS at 13. Additionally, it was Kontrabecki’s
testimony that he was apprised at that time that the
Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) in-Tucson
was investigating Coplen for possible narcotics smug-
gling charges. MS at 13-14.

After November 5, 1974, the record reveals that Kon-
trabecki conducted at least seven or eight additional
visual searches of 86W but was never again able to
observe any evidence whatsoever of marijuana debris
or smuggling activity during this period of time. MS at
18,7 19,° 42-43.

Following the commencement of government surveil-
lance of Coplen’s activities on January 2, 1975, MS at
15, it was further adduced at the hearing on the mo-
tion to suppress that Gerald Young, customs patrol
officer, was requested to investigate the activities of
Coplen and his two codefendants on February 20,
1975. He received instructions to launch an aircraft for
the purpose of assisting a ground surveillance crew and
observing the activities of Valenzuela and McKittrick
in an area immediately south of Arizona City. MS at
130-31. After spending some fifteen minutes airborne
over this area and searching unsuccessfully for Co-
plen’s aircraft or any other aircraft, MS at 144, Young
was advised by radio communication to head for Sky
Harbor Airport in Phoenix to look for 86W and “...

Kontrabecki specifically recalied peering into the window of
86W on February 12, 1975, at Sky Harbor Airport in Phoenix,
and being unsuccessful in uncovering any evidence of marijuana
or any other indicia of smuggling.

On February 18, 1975, another visual search of 86W at Free-
way Airport proved abortive.

7

for marijuana and marijuana debris and contraband
..” which might be contained therein. MS e* 133.
Indeed, this was the sole purpose testified to by Young
for proceeding to the airport in Phoenix. MS at 155-
56.

Upon his arrival at Sky Harbor just prior to 10:15
p.m. on February 20, 1975. Young deplaned his air-
craft, proceeded to the parked 86W, peered through a
window and observed marijuana debris on the floor
and under the seats. MS at 133-34. Having subse-
quently felt the engine and determined that it was
warm, he then radioed his observations to other mem-
bers of the surveillance team. MS at 133, 159. At this
point, Young seized the aircraft. MS at 328. Surveil-
lance was then set up to await the return of the pilot.
MS at 143.

Young and his co-pilot then proceeded to Sky Har-
bor terminal in an attempt to ascertain Coplen’s
whereabouts. They immediately learned from Donald
Clark, a refueling employee on duty at Sky Harbor,
that he had received a refueling order from Coplen at
9:46 p.m., MS at 175-76, and that Coplen had at that
time informed Mr. Clark that he was going to remain
in Phoenix overnight.‘ MS at 185. Once Clark com-
municated the entirety of this information to Agent
Young, MS at 186, the customs officials requested that
Clark delay fueling of the aircraft. MS at 178. The re-
cord further reflects that the aircraft was tied down by
chains that were anchored in the ground and fastened
to the wings. MS at 187.

* Indeed, the agents, by their own testimony, had every reason
to believe that the pilot of the aircraft would be spending the
night at the Sheraton Inn in Phoenix. MS at 322-23, 327.

8

Following the discussions among the customs offi-
cials and Clark, Young and his co-pilot remained with
the aircraft until 1:30 a.m. when the identification
team arrived. MS at 161,318. Having never considered
obtaining a search warrant for the aircraft, MS at 332-
33, the agents, with the help of a lock-pick set, entered
the aircraft after it had been dusted for fingerprints.
MS at 327-28, 332. Following this search, marijuana
debris, which eventually formed the basis of Coplen’s
motion to suppress, was taken from the floor of the
aircraft. MS at 323-26.

The evidence elicited at the time of trial substan-
tially duplicates much of the testimony presented at
the hearing on defendants’ joint motions to suppress.
Therefo.e, where there is no substantial variance be-
tween the two, it is petitioner’s intention to merely
rely upon the facts set forth above without specifically
reiterating them a second time.

Kontrabecki testified at the time of trial that on
January 2, 1975, following his visual search of 86W
and the registration check through communications,
he observed a second aircraft at Freeway Airport
which bore registration numoer N3988G (hereinafter
referred to as 88G). See Transcript of Trial Proceed-
ings, hereinafter cited at TR, Vol. I at 7. Although no
testimony was presented at the time of trial concern-
_ing the registration and ownership of 88G Kontrabecki
testified that on January 5, 1975, he observed Coplen
climb in 88G at Freeway Airport and engage in several

gy
short field landings and takeoffs.’ TR, Vol. I at 13.

Following the next several weeks during which Kon-
trabecki persisted in visually examining 86W and 88G
unsuccessfully for marijuana debris, he was notified on
February 20, 1975, by Customs Agent Harper, that he,
Harper, had observed Valenzuela driving a pickup truck
at approximately 5:00 p.m. in the Tucson area. TR, Vol.
I at 19, 20, 56, 58. Following Harper’s discontinuance of
his surveillance of Valenzuela,° Kontrabecki picked
up the ground surveillance at approximately 5:00 p.m.
or a few minutes thereafter. TR. Vol. I at 12. Shortly
after 5:00 p.m. and the resumption of the surveillance
by Kontrabecki, the latter testified that he observed
Valenzuela pick up Coplen at a convenience market
and proceed to Freeway Airport where Valenzuela left
Coplen at 5:40 p.m. TR, Vol. I at 40. Coplen was then
observed to climb inside 86W and commence prepara-
tions for takeoff as Valenzuela departed the airport in
his pickup. TR. Vol. I at 21-22. Following 86W’s take-
off at 5:45 p.m., TR. Vol. I at 40, Kontrabecki
requested customs pilot Parthen to launch a surveil-
lance aircraft. TR. Vol I at 23.

* Warren Parthen, a United States Customs pilot who partici-
pated in the investigation of this case, testified that these so-
called short field landing and takeoffs constitute normal flight
practice for one undertaking early training. TR, Vol. I at 99.

* Agent Harper testified that prior to the discontinuance of his
visual ground surveillance that he observed Valenzuela drive a
pickup truck to an apartment complex where McKittrick lived
and departed that complex shortly thereafter with a second uni-
dentified person. TR at 57. Harper’s further testimony was that
he was never able to identify another person with Valenzuela be-
fore he terminated surveillance. TR at 59-60.

10

Once Parthen became airborne, Kontrabecki fol-
lowed Valenzuela to a Tucson taco stand where he met
McKittrick who arrived shortly thereafter in a second
vehicle. TR. Vol. I at 24-25. As Parthen proceeded to
follow 86W once it had become airborne, Kontrabecki
was simultaneously maintaining surveillance on Valen-
zuela and McKittrick who proceeded to a gas station,
briefly used the pay telephone, and then drove to-
gether in their separate vehicles to Interstate Route 10
(1-10), northbound toward Casa Grande. TR. Vol. I at
26. At this juncture, Kontrabecki requested and re-
ceived aerial surveillance from a second aircraft
piloted by John Redden and equipped with an observ-
er, Scott Eshelman. TR. Vol. I at 27. Kontrabecki
maintained surveillance of the two vehicles until they
exited I-10 at Toltec at approximately 7:25 p.m., at
which point a flat tire forced him to discontinue his
investigation. TR. Vol. I at 28.

According to Eshelman’s testimony, he and Redden
joined the surveillance from the air in the area of the
Toltec intersection near Cox Ranch at approximately
8:00 p.m. TR. Vol. I at 105,118. The record then re-
veals that the two observed Valenzuela and
McKittrick proceed in their respective vehicles to the
Cox Ranch area where they turned off their lights. TR.
Vol. I at 108. Over an hour later, Eshelman testified
that he then observed the two vehicles facing each
other with their light on, TR. Vol. I at 111, and that
some two to three minutes prior to this he had re-
ceived notification from the ground crew that the noise
of a low-flying airplane had been heard in the vicinity
at approximately 9:15 p.m. TR. Vol. I at 113-114; Vol.
II at 214, 247-48. Eshelman then added that after he

11

observed the lights of the vehicles come on, that he
saw an aircraft landing light illuminating the area for
approximately thirty seconds. TR. Vol. I at 114-115.
This was thought to have occurred at 9:12 or 9:13 p.m.
TR. Vol. I at 55. Upon further examination however,
Eshelman admitted that the written reports of those
to whom he had reported this observation (Harper and
Kontrabecki) contained no mention of any aircraft
landing light on the evening in question. TR. Vol. I at
120-21; Vol. II at 141, 146. Consistently, William
Loughridge, a member of the ground crew, testified
that no landing lights were ever seen on the aircraft
that he heard or on any other aircraft on the night in
question. TR. Vol. II at 249-50, 251, 254, 260, 290-91.

Shortly thereafter, the third customs aircraft of the
evening was summoned to the Cox Ranch area, TR.
Vol. I at 115, now equipped with an infrared system
with the admitted capability of detecting the presence
of an airplane whether on the ground or in the air. TR.
Vol. II at 182. Although the pilot of this third aircraft
advised Eshelman that he was able to observe the two
vehicles on the ground approximately one-half mile
west of Cox Ranch at 9:25 p.m., TR. Vol. I at 116; Vol.
II at 158, 167, at no time did anyone either on the
ground or in the air, ever see any private aircraft in
the vicinity. TR. Vol. II at 144, 160, 181-82.

Having unsuccessfully combed the Arizona City area
for the rendezvous aircraft, Young flew to Sky Harbor
Airport where he landed his aircraft at approximately
10:15 p.m. As previously indicated, he then observed
aircraft 86W parked and tied down without a pilot,
approached the plane, peered in one of the windows,
and observed marijuana debris on the floor behind the

+

12

seats. It was after this that he then felt the engine of
86W and determined that it was warm. TR. Vol. II at
162. It should be recalled that after this visual search
Young was informed by Donald Clark of Coplen’s re-
quest for fuel at 9:46 p.m., TR. Vol. II at 191, and that
Agent Loughridge had received a telephone call from
Larpy [sic Hjerpe] at 9:45 p.m. wherein he communi-
cated to Loughridge the fact that 86W was parked at
Sky Harbor Airport. TR. Vol. II at 230. The aircraft
was then seized and searched in a manner accurately
depicted by the testimony set forth above which was
elicited at the time of the hearing on the joint motions
to suppress.

Finally, pilot Parthen testified that simultaneous
with the occurrence of the aforementioned events, and
during the course of his surveillance of 86W which
began at Freeway Airport in Tucson, he observed the
aircraft take off at 5:45 p.m. and eventually head
southbound across the Mexican border at 6:23 p.m.
TR. Vol. I at 83. Although Parthen was unable to iden-
tify the pilot of the subject aircraft, he continued the
surveillance of 86W to a point approximately twenty
miles southeast of Caborca where he lost visual contact
with the aircraft at 7:15 p.m. (TR. Vol. I at 84) at an

altitude of approximately five thousand feet. TR. Vol.
[ at 86.

Although Parthen testified that the area over which
he lost contact with 86W was one “commonly used to
pick up marijuana,” TR. Vol. I at 86, and that he fur-
ther observed two vehicles with flashing lights leave
the area below in a northbound direction, TR. Vol. I at
87, he not only did not observe the aircraft land in
Mexico, but neither he nor anyone else ever saw 86W

13

again until approximately 10:00 p.m. that evening at
Sky Harbor Airport in Phoenix. TR. Vol. I at 98.

Although evidence elicited at the time of trial dem-
onstrated the absence of any record of 86W registering
a crossing into the United States from Mexico on
February 20, 1975, TR. Vol. II at 204-205, testimony
from Mr. Walker, Assistant Director of Investigation
for the Immigration Service, further failed to demon-
strate that the same constituted a violation of either a
customs or an immigration service regulation. TR. Vol.
II at 206-207.

Following the close of the government’s case-in-chief
on October 23, 1975, petitioner Coplen’s motion for
judgment of acquittal alleging insufficiency of the evi-
dence was denied. TR. Vol. III at 350. Immediately
prior to the court’s ruling, the following colloquy con-
cerning the arrival of 86W at Sky Harbor Airport took
place between the court and counsel:

“THE COURT: — Yes, all right, as I remember
it, and I remember it well, it is correct and I have
it in my notes that there was testimony by Agent
Loughridge that he had a radio, received a radio
message from Harper that around 9:45 the suspect
plane had landed at Sky Harbor so that is there as
far as I’m concerned. Now as far as the fueling,
they got there at 10:15, saw that debris, went and
talked to the refueling man and he had already
received a refueling order, so we know that the
order was sometime between 9:45 when the plane
landed and 10:15; and he testified concerning
some time right after 10:15 or 10:30 or whatever
time it took to go from the plane into talking with
the refueling man —

14

“MR. DRAKE: — If Your Honor please, now I
don’t disagree with the proposition that has been
brought forward or stated by the defendant for

viewing the evidence on a motion for acquittal,
but I feel that as —

“THE COURT: Well, I don’t think you have to
do any more talking, I’ve heard enough —

. “MR. FLYNN: — Excuse me, Your Honor, only
if the Court please in relation to the evidence just
recited by the Court, the evidence is correct in
relation to that time that he heard, that Agent
Harper told him that the plane had landed at
9:45, not that the plane had landed but at 9:45 he
was talking to Agent Harper, and in the motion to
suppress the evidence was clear that he was the
agent who recalled or who testified as to a call to
the tower and as to the time but Agent Lough-
ridge did not testify that Agent Harper said it was
9:45 that the plane landed at Sky Harbor.

“THE COURT: Yes he did.

“MR. FLYNN: But that at 9:45 he talked to

Agent Harper and said that the plane had landed
but not when.

“THE COURT: Yes he did.

“MR. FLYNN: I think there’s a substantial dif-

ference if the Court please as to the time that the
plane arrived.

“THE COURT: Well I think that’s a good thing
that you can argue to the jury but I’ll deny your
motion of acquittal. Do you gentlemen have any-
thing else to present? Do you have any further
testimony?” TR. Vol. III at 348-50.

15

After a brief presentation of the defendant’s case-in-
chief, the jury began its deliberations at 3:30 p.m., re-
turning with a verdict of guilty on all counts as to all
of the defendants several hours later that same day.
AR at 244-46.

VI. REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
A. With respect to Question A, Part III hereof, the
writ should be granted because the Court of Appeals
has decided a federal question in a way in conflict with
applicable decisions of this Honorable Court.

In order to justify a search as falling within the ex-
ception which has come to be referred to as the “plain
view” doctrine, it is clear that there must exist some
prior justification for the initial intrusion. Thus, the
cases are quite clear in their requirement that, absent
a search warrant or the existence of a search incident
to a lawful arrest, the discovery of the evidence sought
to be utilized by the government be an inadvertent
and coincidental consequence of the prior unrelated,
yet legitimate, intrusion. Coolidge v. New Hampshire,
403 U.S. 443, 91 S.Ct. 2022, 29 L. Ed.2d 564
(1971)... Moreover, even assuming a search can be
properly viewed as legitimately inadvertent within the
meaning of the exception, the “plain view” doctrine

_.. The initial intrusion may, of course, be legitimated not
by a warrant but by one of the exceptions to the warrant require-
ment, such as hot pursuit or search incident to lawful arrest. But
to extend the scope of such an intrusion to the seizure of ob-
jects—not contraband nor stolen nor dangerous in
themselves—which the police know in advance they will find in
plain view and intend to seize, would fly in the face of the basic
rule that no amount of probable cause can justify a warrantless
seizure.” 403 U.S. at 471.

16

requires the use of a warrant or the existence of exi-
gent circumstances justifying a warrantless search.
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, supra, 403 U.S. 443.

In the instant case, the testimony elicited at the time
of trial and referred to above clearly establishes the
absence of both the elements of inadvertence and exi-
gent circumstances. Because the visual intrusions
testified to below involved nothing more than visual
searches by the agents in an attempt to uncover in-
criminating evidence of narcotics smuggling, it cannot
honestly be argued that the same was accidentally
uncovered and wholly inadvertent to a prior legitimate
purpose. Nor can it be said that any showing was made
of the existence of exigent circumstances justifying the
warrantless intrusion into the aircraft following the
visual observations. To the contrary, as previously in-
dicated, the government agents reasonably believed
that the aircraft would remain immobile and unmo-
lested throughout the remainder of the night and that
its suspected pilot, Coplen, would not return until
morning. Therefore, in view of the existence of a spe-
cific governmental intent to discover evidence of crime
in this case, the government’s subsequent contention
that the same was justified as falling within the “plain
view” exception represents nothing more than a boots-
trap argument to justify its intrusion into Coplen’s
zone of reasonably expected privacy, and the Court of
Appeals decision upholding the search is contrary to
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, supra.

B. With respect to Question B in Part IV, supra, the
writ should be granted because the Court of Appeals
decision has so far sanctioned a lower court’s depar-
ture from the accepted and usual course of judicial

17

proceeding as to call for an exercise of this Court’s
supervisory power.

The Court of Appeals states in its opinion (Appendix
A, infra, p.9a) that during Coplen’s flight he flew with-
out filing the required flight plan and that he failed to
clear customs after landing. Nowhere in the record is
there an indication of any evidence elicited at the time
of trial demonstrating the existence of a requirement
that a flight plan be filed. In this regard, petitioner
herein would respectfully submit that his failure to
engage in activity which is in no way required of him
should not be allowed to form the basis of evidence
somehow demonstrating a consciousness of guilt. In-
deed, testimony from Mr. Walker, Assistant Director
of Investigation for the Phoenix Immigration Service,
revealed that Coplen’s failure to register his crossing
into the United States did not constitute a violation of
any immigration service regulation unless the pilot had
actually landed on foreign soil prior to his flight into
the United States, TR. Vol. II at 206-07.

Next, although the record does support the Court of
Appeals statement that the sounds of a low-flying air-
craft were heard in the Silver Bell Estates area, it is
respectfully submitted that the inference that that
sound emanated from Cc “len’s aircraft is indeed mere
speculation. Such an inference first requires the as-
sumption that the noise came from a private aircraft
and that that private aircraft was 86W. Agein, it would
appear that the Court of Appeals has overlooked the
fact that no evidence was ever adduced at the time of
trial of Coplen’s actual arrival time at Sky Harbor
Airport on the night in question. Rather, the evidence
merely demonstrates that Coplen filled out a fuel ser-

18

vice request at 9:46 p.m. TR. Vol. II at 186-89. Thus, it
is equally as plausible to assume that Coplen may well
have landed at Sky Harbor prior to 9:00 p.m. on
February 20, 1975. This being the case, it then be-
comes impossible to infer that the sounds of low-flying
aircraft heard in the Silver Bell Estates area at 9:15
p.m. (TR. Vol. I at 113-14, and Vol. II at 214) came
from Coplen’s aircraft. In this regard, appellant would
reiterate the well-established principle that evidence
susceptible of two constructions or inferences, each of
which appears to be reasonable and one of which
points to the guilt of the defendant and the other to
his innocence, requires the adoption of the inference or
construction admitting of the defendant’s innocence
and rejecting that supporting his guilt. United States
v. Zumpano, 436 F.2d 535, 538 (9th Cir. 1970);
Thomas v. United States, 363 F.2d 159, 162, n.7 (9th
Cir. 1966). Although the Court of Appeals then con-
cludes its analysis by pointing to the fact that
marijuana debris was found shortly thereafter in Co-
plen’s airplane, it fails to take account of the fact that
this was some sixty to eighty miles from the location of
the other two alleged conspirators and the five
hundred pounds of contraband which they were found
to have actually possessed.

Finally, the Court of Appeals in its opinion originally
stated that Coplen prior to the day in question
(February 20, 1975), “. . . was seen with his codefen-
dants on many occasions.” (Appendix A, p.9a, ll 14-15)

This language was corrected by the September 17,
1976 order (Appendix B) to read “was seen with code-
fendant Valenzuela prior to the day of arrest”, when it
was pointed out in the petition for rehearing that

19

nowhere in the entire three volumes of transcripts con-
tained as part of the record on appeal, was there any
evidence placing Coplen in the company of his code-
fendant McKettrick prior to the day in question, and
that, in fact, the only time prior to February 20, 1975,
that Coplen was seen with either of the alleged con-
spirators was on February 12, 1975, when he was seen
with Valenzuela in the waiting room of Sawyer Avia-
tion Building at Sky Harbor Airport. In spite of the
correction of the opinion in this regard, the Court of
Appeals appears to have drifted from the well-
established principle of criminal law of conspiracy that
mere association with other alleged conspirators is in-
sufficient to establish another person as a member of a
conspiracy. United States v. Cirillo, 499 F.2d 872 (2d
Cir. 1974), cert. denied 419 U.S. 1056 (1975); United
States v. Morado,-454 F.2d 167 (5th Cir. 1972): Nipp
v. United States, 422 F.2d 509 (10th Cir. 1970), cert.

denied 399 U.S. 913 (1971); Hill v. United States, 379
F.2d 811 (9th Cir. 1967).

On the basis of the foregoing, it is respectfully sub-
mitted that the facts as set forth in the record below
represent too thin a reed upon which appellant’s con-
victions should be allowed to rest. Not only has the
Court of Appeals overlooked and misapprehended
those facts in affirming the lower court, but its deci-
sion of August 16th as amended as it now stands is at
odds with that Court’s previous judicial standards re-
lating to that degree of evidence upon which jurors
could reasonably arrive at the conclusion that the de-
fendant was guilty of the offenses beyond a reasonable

20

doubt. See, e.g., United States v. Epperson, 485 F.2d
514 (9th Cir. 1973); United States v. Childs, 457 F.2d

173 (9th Cir. 1972).

VII. CONCLUSION |
For the foregoing reasons this petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

FLYNN KIMERER THINNES &
DERRICK

By

Robert B. Hoffman
Attorneys for Petitioner

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, |
Plaintiff-Appellee,

vs. No. 75-3633

TOMMY JOE COPLEN,
Defendant-Appellant.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
VS. ®

+ No. 75-3739
HENRY VALENTIN VALENZUELA.
Defendant-Appellant. |
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, |
Plaintiff-Appellee,
vs. No. 75-3663

JOHN BALMER McKittrick,
Defendant-Appellant.. OPINION

{August 16, 1976]

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Arizona

Before: BARNES, KENNEDY, Circuit Judges, and
EAST,” District Judge

Honorable William G. East, Senior District Judge, District
of Oregon, sitting by designation.

2a

BARNES, Senior Circuit Judge:

On November 5, 1974, United States Customs Agent
Kontrabecki conducted a routine investigation to dis-
cover smuggling activity at Freeway Airport, Tucson,
Arizona. During this investigation, he discovered mari-
juana debris in an aircraft registered to Tommy Joe
Coplen. Thereafter, Coplen and his aircraft were kept
under surveillance by federal authorities.

On February 20, 1975, defendant Valenzuela (under
observation) drove Coplen to Freeway Airport. There-
after, Coplen departed in his plane (under obser-
vation) and flew into Mexico, south of Caborca, Mexi-
co, located approximately sixty miles from the
American border. Coplen departed for this flight with-
out filing the required flight plan. He also failed to
activate the aircraft navigation lights when it became
dark, at approximately 6:30 to 7:15 p.m.

After dropping Coplen off at the airport, Valenzuela
met defendant McKittrick at a restaurant. They then
entered their separate vehicles and left Tucson, head-
ing north on Interstate 10 (under observation). Both
vehicles left Interstate 10 at the Toltec Road Exit and
proceeded south towards Arizona City, finally entering
Silver Bell Estates, a known narcotics drop point.
Once into Silver Bell Estates, the vehicles extinguished
their headlights.

Approximately an hour later aerial surveillance ob-
served the headlights of two stationary vehicles facing
each other approximately one-half mile apart. Al-
though Customs Air Officer Eschelman was unable to
testify that these vehicles were the same ones he had
been following earlier, he stated that no other vehicles

3a

were detected to have entered the area. He further tes-
tified that the headlights appeared to have been
lighting up a runway located on a dry lake bed.
Shortly before the vehicular headlights appeared,
ground surveillance units heard an aircraft but were
unable to detect its location since it was operating
without navigational lights. Shortly after the vehicular
headlights were turned on, aerial surveillance observed
an aircraft in the vicinity of the lights. Shortly there-
after, the vehicles extinguished their headlights.

At 9:25 p.m., approximately fifteen minutes after the
vehicle headlights were turned off, aerial surveillance
units using infrared equipment detected two vehicles
leaving the dry lake bed area. Ground surveil-
lance units observed the vehicles leaving the area,
heading toward Interstate 10, and entering the Inter-
state northbound to Phoenix. Agent Seaver testified
that the curtains on the camper portion of one of the
vehicles were closed on departure, while they had been
opened when the vehicles arrived at Silver Bell Es-
tates.

While ground surveillance units were returning to
Interstate 10, aerial surveillance units proceeded to
Sky Harbor Airport in Phoenix. Upon arrival, the offi-
cers observed that Coplen’s aircraft had landed
without clearing customs and that Coplen was not
present. Officer Young approached the aircraft and
with the aid of a flashlight looked into the back win-
dow on the pilot’s side. He saw marijuana debris in the
aircraft He then felt that the engine was warm.
Thereupon, the officer advised the surveillance units
of his information.

4a

The vehicle driven by Valenzuela left Interstate 10
and was stopped by agents. A search of the camper
revealed no contraband. This information was relayed
to the agents following McKittrick’s vehicle who then
stopped him. A search of McKittrick’s camper re-
vealed 500 pounds of marijuana. Thereupon, both
Valenzuela and McKittrick were arrested. Attempts to
locate Coplen, however, proved unsuccessful. After
waiting until the identification team had taken finger-
prints off the plane, the agents, with the aid of a lock-
pick set, entered the aircraft and seized the marijuana
debris. Coplen was arrested the following morning.

The three defendants were charged as follows: Count
I—all three defendants were charged with conspiracy
to import 500 pounds of marijuana; count II—Coplen
alone was charged with importation of the same five
hundred pounds of marijuana; count II[]—all three
defendants were charged with possession with intent
to distribute the same 500 pounds. The defendants
moved to suppress the marijuana debris taken from
Coplen’s airplane and the 500 pounds of marijuana
found in McKittrick’s vehicle, alleging that their
fourth amendment rights had been violated. Each mo-
tion was denied. After trial, all three defendants were
convicted on counts I and III and Coplen alone on
count II.

The first issue that we consider on appeal is whether
appellants’ fourth amendment rights were violated
when the federal agents searched Coplen’s aircraft and
seized the marijuana debris. The uncontroverted evi-
dence is that Agent Young discovered the marijuana
debris when he looked into the aircraft with the aid of
a flashlight. Subsequently, the agents, with the aid of a

5a

lock-pick set, entered the airplane and seized the mari-
juana debris.

Our first inquiry is whether Agent Young’s conduct
in looking into the airplane constituted a search. The
law is clear that it was not. It is well settled that visual
observation by a law enforcement officer situated in a
place where he has a right to be is not a search within
the fom of the fourth amendment. See United
States vs. Connor, 478 F.2d 1320, 1323 (7th Cir. 1973);
United States v. Hanahan, 442 F.2d 649, 653 (7th Cir.
1971); United States v. Freeman, 426 F.2d 1351, 1353
(9th Cir. 1970); Ponce v. Craven, 409 F.2d 621, 625
(9th Cir. 1969). This Court, however, must also deter-
mine whether the looking into the aircraft violated
appellants’ reasonable expectation of privacy. If an
individual knowingly exposes his conduct to public
view, his reliance upon privacy is unreasonable and
unjustified. Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347, 351-
52 (1967); see United States v. Santana, US. _,
44 U.S.L.W. 4970, 4971-72 (1976). In Ponce v. Craven,
supra, police officers, while standing in a motel park-
ing lot, witnessed illegal activity by looking into the
defendant’s bathroom window. In rejecting the conten-
tion that such conduct constituted a search and that
such search was illegal, this Court stated:

“Ponce’s reliance on privacy in his motel room
was not reasonable under the circumstances. If he
did not wish to be observed, he could have drawn
his blinds. The officers did not intrude upon any
reasonable expectation of privacy in this case by
observing with their eyes the activities visible
through the window... .”

6a

409 F.2d at 625; see l'nited States v. Hersh, 464 F.2d
228, 229-30 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1008
(1972).

Similarly here, we decline to conclude that the
agent’s conduct in looking into the airplane consti-
tuted a search within the meaning of the fourth
amendment. In this case, the agent was lawfully within
the area where Coplen’s aircraft was parked. He pro-
ceeded to the aircraft and looked into the back window
which was open to the public view. The fact that the
officer was forced to use a flashlight is immaterial.
Being dark outside, it was necessary to employ such a
device. Rather, if privacy were desired here, Coplen
should have closed off the window from public view.
By failing to do so, thus permitting the agent by mere
observation to view the marijuana debris, there was no
reasonable expectation of privacy insofar as looking
into windows is concerned.

We next consider the question whether the officers,
by breaking into the plane and seizing the marijuana
debris without a search warrant, violated appellants’
fourth amendment rights. Upon viewing the marijuana
debris through the plane window, it is clear that the
agents had probable cause to search and seize the air-
craft. But, as observed by Justice Stewart in Coolidge
v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 468 (1971), “no
amount of probable cause can justify a warrantless
search or seizure absent ‘exigent circumstances.’ ”
Thus, the essential inquiry here is whether exigent cir-
cumstances existed to justify the warrantless search
and seizure.

7a

We conclude that sufficient such exigent circum-
stances were present here. Coplen’s airplane was
parked on a runway and was “readily accessible to
anyone who might want access.” United States v.
McClain, 531 F.2d 431, 434 (9th Cir. 1976). Agents
reasonably believed that other confederates were in-
volved in the scheme. As importantly, easily destroyed
contraband was involved. Taking these factors into
account, we have a situation where an aircraft was
capable of removal and the marijuana debris also was
capable of being destroyed. Accordingly, we hold that
the search of Coplen’s airplane and the seizure of the
marijuana debris did not violate the fourth amend-
ment. See United States v. McClain, supra, 531 F.2d
at 433-35; United States v. Church, 490 F.2d 353, 354-
55 (9th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 983 (1974);
United States v. Cohn, 472 F.2d 290, 292 (9th Cir.
1973).

We next consider the second issue raised by appel-
lants, namely, that the district court erred in denying
defendant McKittrick’s motion to suppress the 500
pounds of marijuana seized from his camper. Appel-
lants argue that this search and seizure violated their
fourth amendment rights. We do not agree. The evi-
dence presented to the trial court overwhelmingly
indicates that the agents had probable cause to con-
duct the search and seizure in question. Both
Valenzuela and McKittrick were seen with Coplen on
several occasions. On the day of the alleged transac-
tion, both vehicles were seen in the Silver Bell Estate
area. Approximately an hour after McKittrick and
Valenzuela arrived at the area, agents detected the
sound of a low-flying aircraft. Shortly thereafter, ve-

8a

hicular headlights were facing each other on the dry
lake bed as though lighting up an airstrip. Shortly af-
ter the airplane had departed from the dry lake bed,
two vehicles were observed running without head-
lights. When the vehicles McKittrick and Valenzuela
were driving departed from the area, the curtains on
them were closed while they had been opened when
the vehicles entered the area. Further, Valenzuela had
driven Coplen to the airport for his flight and then
had met McKittrick before they both drove out to the
Silver Bell Estates area. Marijuana debris subse-
quently was discovered in Coplen’s aircraft and this
information was communicated to the other agents
who then stopped and searched the vehicles. With this
abundance of information, we clearly cannot hold that
the district court’s decision denying the motion to
suppress was error. See United States v. Westover,
511 F.2d 1154, 1155-56 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 422
U.S. 1009 (1975); United States v. See, 505 F.2d 845,
855 (9th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 992
(1975).°

As a separate and distinct point on appeal, defen-
dant Coplen submits that the district court committed
reversible error by denying his motion for judginent of
acquittal. Viewing the evidence in a light most favora-

* We note that the government has not argued that the defen-
dants lack standing to contest the searches and seizures in
question. Upon examining the record, we observe that there is a
substantial issue whether all of the defendants have standing to
contest each search and seizure. It is clear, however, that at least
one defendant has standing in regard to each search and seizure.
Since we hold that the searches and seizures do not violate the
fourth amendment, we find it unnecessary to determine whether
each defendant has standing to contest each search and seizure.

9a

ble to the government, Glasser v. United States, 315
U.S. 60 (1942), Coplen argues that there was insuffi-
cient evidence to support his convictions. We disagree.
The standard we employ is whether the jurors could
reasonably arrive at their conclusions that Coplen was
guilty of the charged offenses beyond a reasonable
doubt. See United States v. Rojas, 458 F.2d 1355,
1356 (9th Cir. 1972); United States v. Nelson, 419
F.2d 1237, 1243 (9th Cir. 1969).

Applying this standard, the trial court correctly de-
nied Coplen’s motion. Coplen was seen with his
codefendants on many occasions. On the day in ques-
tion, Valenzuela had driven him to the airport.
Although none of the agents saw Coplen land in Mexi-
co, his plane was seen sixty miles inside Mexico.
During this flight, Coplen flew without filing the re-
quired flight plan and failed to clear customs after
landing. Coplen makes much of the fact that no au-
thorities saw him land in the Silver Bell Estates area.
However agents heard the sounds of a low-flying air-
craft and observed the turning on of vehicular head-
lights apparently lighting up a runway on the dry lake
bed. Furtier, marijuana debris shortly thereafter was
found in Coplen’s airplane. Viewing the evidence in a
light most favorable to the government, we conclude
that Coplen’s convictions are supported by sufficient
evidence.

As another separate and distinct point on appeal,
defendant Valenzuela argues that the district court
abused its discretion by denying his motion to sever.
In support of his motion, Valenzuela contends that he
was denied the use of exculpatory testimony of his
codefendants who refused to testify at the joint trial

10a

because they would incriminate themselves. We note
that the defendant must make some showing that the
testimony of a codefendant will be used at his trial
before the denial of a motion to sever will be held to
be an abuse of discretion. Hence, “[t]he unsupported
possibility that such testimony might be forthcoming
does not make the denial of a motion for severance
erroneous.” United States v. Bumatay, 480 F.2d 1012,
1013 (9th Cir. 1973). Further, “(t]he bare assertion
that [defendant] could not call either co-defendant as
a witness does not warrant reversal on the theory that
if he could he would have done so.” Jd. See United
States v. Larios-Montes, 500 F.2d 941, 944 (9th Cir.
1974), cert. denied, 422 U.S. 1057 (1975); United
States v. Thomas, 453 F.2d 141, 144 (9th Cir. 1971),
cert. denied, 405 U.S. 1069 (1972). Here, Valenzuela
failed to make any showing other than his mere asser-
tion that a joint trial would be prejudicial. Under the
law in this Circuit, such a showing is inadequate. Ac-
cordingly, the district court was correct in denying the
motion.

Having considered the issues raised on appeal and
finding no merit in them, the convictions are affirmed.

~ Unirep STATES OF AMERICA,

lb
APPENDIX B
IN THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff- Appellee,
“ No. 75-3633
Tommy Joe CopLen, |
Defendant-Appellant.

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Ve No. 75-3739

HENRY VALENTIN VALENZUELA,
Defendant-Appellant. |

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff- Appellee,

Ve No. 75-3663

JOHN BaLMER MckKirtrick,
Defendant-Appellant. ORDER

Before: BARNES and KENNEDY, Circuit Judges,
and EAST,” District Judge.

* The Honorable William G. East, Senior Judge, District of
Oregon, sitting by designation.

2b

The Opinion in the above entitled matter, filed with
this Court on August 16, 1976, is modified by striking
the words “co-defendants on many occasions”, appear-
ing in the slip opinion, page 7, lines 2 and 3, and
inserting in place thereof, “co-defendant Valenzuela
prior to the day of arrest.”

With this modification, the Petition for Rehearing is
unanimously denied by the panel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0805%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
