# Respondents Brief — Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Broadcasting Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0797%3A6

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 433 U.S. 562

## Text

bu ( ist 2 S.
a i. i

we

—— Tan

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1976
No. 76-577

HUGO ZACCHINI,
Petitioner,

vs.

SCRIPPS-HOWARD BROADCASTING COMPANY,
Respondent.

On Writ or CERTIORARI
To THE SUPREME CourRT or OHIO

SS enneeeated

— —S

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT

Ezra K. Bryan

Don H. Pace

LAWRENCE V. LINDBERG

Baker, Hostetter & PATTERSON
1956 Union Commerce Building
Cleveland, Ohio 44115
(216) 621-0200

Counsel for Respondent

THE GATES LEGAL FUBLISHING CO . CLEVELAND. OMIO-—TEL. (216) 621-8647

a —

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Table of Authorities
Question Presented

Relevant Constitutional Provision Which Was Not
Reproduced By Petitioner

Counterstatement of the Case
Summary of Argument

Argument

I. Introduction

II. This Case Should Be Dismissed For Want of
a Federal Question

A.

C.

The Ohio Supreme Court decision rests
on adequate and independent state
grounds

In defining the scope of common law
rights the Ohio Supreme Court may
look for guidance to decisions of this
Court

Any decision by this Court on the merits
would constitute merely an advisory
opinion

III. The News Media Privilege Recognized By the
Ohio Supreme Court Is Neither Novel, Un-
reasonable Nor Inconsistent With Federal
Constitutional Principles

A. The privilege afforded the press by the

Ohio Supreme Court is consistent with
the news media privilege traditionally
recognized in Ohio and other jurisdic-
tions

B. The privilege applied by the Ohio court

is consistent with First Amendment
principles articulated by this Court

6

13

15

18

18

21

Ls |

C. The Ohio court did not totally immunize
the press from right of publicity claims 24

IV. Any Remand For Further Proceedings in
This Case Must Be to the Ohio Supreme
Court 26

Conclusion 28

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

AAFCO Heating and Air Conditioning Company v.
Northwest Publications, Inc., 321 N.E.2d 580 (Ind.
Ct. oo — cert. denied, 424 U.S. 913 (1976)

14-15, 27
American Ry. Divine Co. v. pr 273 U.S. 269
(1927) 10
Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89 (1964) 12
Cassidy v. ~~ 12 Ohio St. 2d 17, 231 N.E.2d 64
SD, eacmenan ee aie 5, 12
Chapadeau v. Utica eine Inc., 38 N.Y.2d
196, 341 N.E.2d 569 (1975) 15

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975) 21
Current Audio, Inc. v. RCA Corp., 71 Misc. 2d 831,

337 N.Y.S.2d 949 (S. Ct. 1972) 20
Dept. of Mental — v. Kirchner, 380 U.S. 194

(1965) _ . - _.. BES aes una } 11, 27
Ellis v. Dixon, 349 U.S. 458 (1955) 11
Fairport, Painesville & Eastern R.R. Co. v. Meredith,

292 U.S. 589 (1934) . eae 10, 11
Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64 (1964) 24

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323 (1974)
Seer es ...--- § 7, 14, 15, 21, 23, 2

ITI

Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117 (1945) 5, 16
In re Royall, 125 U.S. 696 (1888) 26
Jankovich v. Indiana Toll Road Comm’n, 379 U.S.
487 (1965) 12
Jenkins v. Dell Publishing Co., 251 F.2d 447 (3d.
Cir.), cert. denied, 357 U.S. 921 (1958) 23
Johnson v. Scripps Publishing Co., 32 Ohio L. Abs.
423, 18 Ohio Op 372 (C.P. 1940) 4,19
Liberty Warehouse Co. v. Burley Tobacco Growers’
Co-Op. Marketing Ass’n, 276 U.S. 71 (1928) 11
Liles v. Gaster, 42 Ohio St. 631 (1885) 25
Man v. Warner Bros., Inc., 317 F. Supp. 50 (S.D.NLY.
1970) 17, 20
Martin v. F.L.Y. Theatre Co., 26 Ohio L. Abs. 67, 10
Ohio Op. 338 (C.P. 1938) 4,18
Minnesota v. National Tea Co., 309 U.S. 551 (1940) 27
Murdock v. Memphis, 87 U.S. 590 (1874) 15
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964)
13, 14, 18, 21
Paulsen v. Personality Posters, Inc., 59 Misc. 2d 444,
299 N.Y.S.2d 501 (S. Ct. 1968) 20
Peagler v. Phoenix Newspapers, Inc., 26 Ariz. App.
274, 547 P.2d 1074 (1976) 15
Perkins v. Benguet Consolidated ile Co., 342 US.
437 (1951) ._
Regents of Univ. System of Georgie v. Carroll, 338
U.S. 586 (1950) 11

Rosemont Enterprises, Inc. v. Random House, Inc., 58
Misc. 2d 1, 294 N.Y.S.2d 122 (S. Ct. 1968), aff'd,
32 App. Div. 2d 892, 301 N.Y.S.2d 948 (1969) 19, 20

Rosenblatt v. Baer, 383 U.S. 75 (1966) 22
Rosenbloom v. Metromedia, Inc., 403 U.S. 29 (1971) 14, 15

IV
Southern Ry. Co. v. Kentucky, 284 U.S. 338 (1932)

Stone v. Essex County Newspapers, Inc., 330 N.E.2d
161 (Mass. 1975)

26

15

Time, Inc. v. Hill, 385 U.S. 374 (1967) 7, 13, 14, 21

Torski v. Mansfield Journal Co., 100 Ohio App. 538,
137 N.E.2d 679 (1956)

Walker v. Colorado Springs Sun, Inc., 538 P.2d 450
(Colo.) cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1025 (1975)

Young v. That Was The Week That Was, 312 F. Supp.
1337 (N.D. Ohio 1969)

Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Broadcasting Company,
47 Ohio St. 2d 224, 351 N.E.2d 454 (1976)

25

14

4

4, 9, 13, 14, 18, 24, 25

Texts
36 C.J.S. Federal Courts $268 (1960)

14A F. Poore, CycLopepia or FEDERAL PROCEDURE,
$69.77 (3d ed. 1965)

Note, 62 Cotum. L. Rev. 822 (1962)
14 Onto Jur. 2d Courts §247 (1955) __.
34 Ouro Jur. 2d Libel and Slander §58 (1958)

Constitutions and Statutes
Ohio Constitution, Article I, Section 11
United States Constitution, First Amendment

10

2,4

1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 15, 16, 21, 22

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1976
No. 76-577

HUGO ZACCHINI,

Petitioner,

vs.

SCRIPPS-HOWARD BROADCASTING COMPANY,
Respondent.

On Writ or CERTIORARI
To THE SupPREME Court or OHIO

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, in a case of first impression which recog-
nizes a new common law right of publicity, the Ohio
Supreme Court, without federal intervention, may recog-
nize a news media privilege to report on a matter of public
interest which affords the protection required by the First
Amendment as interpreted by the United States Supreme
Court.

2

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION WHICH
WAS NOT REPRODUCED BY PETITIONER

Constitution of Ohio — Article I, Section 11:

Every citizen may freely speak, write, and publish
his sentiments on all subjects, being responsible for the
abuse of the right; and no law shall be passed to restrain
or abridge the liberty of speech, or of the press. In all
criminal prosecutions for libel, the truth may be given in
evidence to the jury, and if it shall appear to the jury,
that the matter charged as libelous is true, and was pub-
lished with good motives, and for justifiable ends, the
party shall be acquitted.

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner’s Statement of the Case summarizes both
the facts of the case and the proceedings to date. While
Petitioner’s summary is essentially accurate, certain un-
disputed facts relevant to the decision of the Ohio Supreme
Court are not fully stated. These facts are as follows:

In August and September of 1972, Petitioner Hugo
Zacchini regularly performed his “human cannonball”
act for members of the general public attending the Geauga
County Fair, in Burton, Ohio (App. pp. 9-10). His perform-
ance lasted about fifteen seconds, during which he was
projected out of a cannon-like object into a net some two
hundred feet away (App. p. 9). No separate admission
fee was charged to view his act and his performance was
staged in an open grandstand area for the benefit of all
persons in general attendance at the fair (App. p. 9). Re-
porters and news cameramen were admitted to the fair
without charge by the fair’s promoters so that the fair
would receive publicity from the news coverage (App.
p. 10). The promoters to whom Petitioner sold his act

3

made no effort to restrict news coverage of Respondent's
act; in fact, by admitting reporters and cameramen free
of charge, the promoters encouraged such coverage (App.
p. 10).

On September 1, 1972, a freelance news reporter for
Respondent attended the Geauga County Fair and filmed
Petitioner’s performance over his verbal objection (App.
p. 10). Petitioner’s act had generated substantial public
interest at the fair and, in keeping with Respondent’s com-
mitment to present a broad range of news and information
to the public, Respondent determined that activities at the
fair, including the public performance of Petitioner's act,
would be of interest to its viewers and would call the
public’s attention to the fair’s attractions (App. p. 10).

Respondent broadcast a fifteen second news film clip
of Petitioner's act once on its eleven o'clock Eyewitness
News program on September 1, 1972 (App. p. 11). While
the film clip was being shown newscaster David Patterson
described the act as follows:

This ... now ... is the story of a true spectator sport
... the sport of human cannonballing . . . in fact, the
great Zacciini is about the only human cannonball
around, these days . . . just happens that, where he
is, is the Great Geauga County Fair, in Burton .

and believe me, although it’s not a long act, it’s a
thriller . . . and you really need to see it in person
.. . to appreciate it... . (App. p. 12) (emphasis in

original script).

This single news use of a fifteen second film clip of
Petitioner’s performance is the sole basis for Petitioner’s
claim against Respondent.

4
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The decision of the Ohio Supreme Court in this case
is one of state law. The Ohio Supreme Court held for
the first time that under the common law of Ohio a “per-
former of a ‘human cannonball’ act has a right in the
publicity value of his performance, and the appropriation
of that right over his objection without license or privilege
is an invasion of his privacy.” Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard
Broadcasting Company, 47 Ohio St. 2d 224, 351 N.E.2d
454 (1976) (syllabus 2) (emphasis added). In recogniz-
ing the “right of publicity”, the Ohio Supreme Court
simultaneously applied a concomitant news media priv-
ilege as a defense to that right. This privilege was stated
as follows:

A TV station has a privilege to report in its news-
cast matters of legitimate public interest which would
otherwise be protected by an individual’s right of
publicity, unless the actual intent of the TV station
was to appropriate the benefit of the publicity for
some non-privileged private use, or unless the actual
intent was to injure the individual. Id. at 224, 351
N.E.2d at 455 (syllabus 3).

This privilege is one of state law, not federal con-
stitutional law. It is an extension of the state constitutional
and common law privilege afforded the news media in
Ohio in right of privacy cases since as early as 1938. Oxr10
Constitution, art. I, §11; Martin v. F.1.Y. Theatre Co.,
26 Ohio L. Abs. 67, 10 Ohio Op. 338 (C.P. 1938) ; Johnson
v. Scrirps Publishing Co., 32 Ohio L. Abs. 423, 18 Ohio
Op. 372 (C.P. 1940). See also Young v. That Was The
Week That Was, 312 F. Supp. 1337 (N.D. Ohio 1969).
In articulating this privilege, the Ohio Supreme Court
looked to the rationale behind the decisions of this Court
for guidance. Nevertheless, the right of the performer and
the privilege of the news media as set forth in the syllabi

5

of the Court’ constitute the decision of Ohio's highest
court as to the extent of protection to be afforded both per-
formers and the news media under the laws of Ohio.
Since adequate and independent nonfederal grounds for
the Ohio court's ruling exist, a review of the decision by
this Court would be inappropriate. Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 .
US. 117 (1945).

This Court has previously recognized that state
courts are free to afford protection to the press provided
such protection meets minimum federal constitutional
standards. Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 US. 323
(1974). Thus the Ohio Supreme Court is free to recog-
nize a new common law right and to adopt, as an integral
part of that right, privileges and defenses emanating from
state common law and state and federal free press guaran-
tees so long as the privileges and defenses meet minimum
federai standards.

A decision by this Court on the merits of the federal
constitutional question proffered by Petitioner would
constitute only an advisory opinion to the Ohio Supreme
Court. While Petitioner has asked this Court to intervene
and announce specific federal standards which must
apply to right of publicity claims ar’_ing under state law,
the articulation of such standards under the facts of this
case would be highly inappropriate. Only when a state
supreme court in creating common law (i) fails to meet
the minimum constitutional protections which must be
accorded the press under the First Amendment and (ii)
grants recovery against the media, should this Court, in
the exercise of federal question jurisdiction, intervene to
define and apply those minimum constitutional standards.

In this case, the privilege afforded the press by the

’ The syllabus of the Ohio Supreme Court is the a
nouncement of the court. Cassidy v. Glossip, 12 Ohio St. 17
231 N.E.2d 64 (1967); 14 Onto Jur. 2d Courts §247 (1955).

6

Ohio Supreme Court is consistent with the privilege tradi-
tionally applied in right of privacy cases arising in Ohio
and other jurisdictions. It is furthermore grounded upon
the same free press concerns which this Court has long
considered to be so fundamentally important to our free
society. If this Court, despite the absence of federal
question jurisdiction, elects to advise the Ohio Supreme
Court on the minimum privilege required under the fed-
eral Constitution, Respondent submits that under the First
Amendment the news media is privileged to make news
use of matters of public interest which, under state law,
might otherwise be protected by an individual’s right of
publicity.”

ARGUMENT

I. Introduction.

In this case the Ohio Supreme Court was free to
refuse to recognize any right of Petitioner or to completely
immunize the news media in right of publicity actions
without raising a federal question. Nevertheless, Petitioner
attempts to create the illusion that this case involves a
conflict between an Ohio common law right and the First
Amendment when no such conflict exists. Simply stated,
the Ohio Supreme Court recognized a “right of publicity”
in Petitioner, a public performer, as ancillary to Ohio’s
long established right of privacy. The court at the same
‘time recognized that in the State of Ohio there exists a
qualified privilege for Respondent, a member of the news

2 At some later date when this Court articulates the minimurn
federal standard to be applied in right of publicity cases, it should
find that the second basis upon which a performer may defeat the
media privilege in Ohio is unconstitutional. Since under thes
facts the Ohio court did not defeat the privilege afforded Re-
spondent, the case is not an appropriate one to consider the
constitutionaltiy of the “intent to injure” standard adopted by
the Ohio court.

7

media, to report the public presentation of a performer's
act so long as the report constitutes news use and is not
made with the intention to injure the performer.

Petitioner, being a “maker’’ and not a disseminator
of news, neither has nor is claiming to have any First
Amendment or other federal right that has been violated.
Petitioner's complaint is that the Ohio court in seeking
guidance from First Amendment decisions of this Court
adopted for Ohio a more liberal news media privilege than
is arguably required by the decisions of this Court. Peti-
tioner seeks to transmogrify the Ohio court's decision ap-
proving the rationale of certain federal opinions into a
ruling made under compulsion of those opinions. Such
tortured reasoning does not create a conflict between Ohio
common law and First Amendment rights. This absence
of conflict alone disposes of this appeal.

Petitioner places great emphasis on the libel case of
Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323 (1974), sug-
gesting that the narrowing of the public interest test in
lihe! cases involving private individuals calls into question
the Ohio court’s reliance on the rationale of Time, Inc. v.
Hill, 385 U.S. 374 (1967), in formulating a privilege appli-
cable to right of publicity cases arising under Ohio law
(Brief for Petitioner, p. 27). Petitioner conveniently ig-
nores the fact that Gertz itself holds that the states in de-
veloping their common law are free of federal restraint
provided they do not restrict the news media more than
permitted by the minimum standards of First Amendment
protection sanctioned by this Court. This too defeats Peti-
tioner’s finely spun argument.

Petitioner seeks to have this Court set not the min-
imum but rather absolute protections which the states in
developing their common law may afford the news media.
Petitioner would require this Court’s affirmative partici-
pation in the formulation of state common law rights. Two

facets of the relief he seeks emphasize this. First, Peti-
tioner urges that this Court should adopt absolute (not
minimum) First Amendment standards applicable to the
relationship of public performers and the media (Brief
for Petitioner, p. 33). Second, Petitioner prays that this
Court not only reverse the decision of the Ohio Supreme
Court, but also that the case be remanded directly to the
trial court. Jd. Petitioner, in one blinding flash, seeks to
make this Court a general appellate court for the states
in common law cases. Such is not the function of this
Court, and the proper disposition of the case is to dismiss
the writ of certiorari as improvidently granted.

Finally, the news media privilege granted by the
Ohio Court is neither novel, unusual nor inconsistent with
the First Amendment freedoms so essential to our free
society. It constitutes an extension to right of publicity
cases of the news media privilege traditionally applied in
Ohio right of privacy cases. It is further consistent with
the news media privilege applied by other state and fed-
eral courts in other right of publicity cases and with the
First Amendment decisions of this Court. Any less of a
news media privilege would violate the First Amendment.

While conceding that Respondent has the “privilege
and right to report newsworthy events of public interest,”
Petitioner argues that the scope of the privilege applied
by the Ohio court results in “virtual total immunity” for
the media in right of publicity cases (Brief for Petitioner,
pp. 9-10, 13). Such is not the case. Petitioner is pratected
against both non-news use of his public performance by the
media as well as the use of his performance in a news
context with the intent to injure him. In fact, the latter
basis for defeating the privilege adopted but not applied
under the facts of this case is more than that to which
Petitioner is constitutionally entitled.

Il. This Case Should Be Dismissed For Want of a Federal
Question.

A. The Ohio Supreme Court decision rests on ade-
quate and independent state grounds.

It is fundamental that the development of common
law is the concern of state, not federal, courts. Implicit
in the power of the state courts to recognize new common
law rights is the power to define the parameters of those
rights. In the instant case the power of the Ohio Supreme
Ccurt to recognize a cause of action for invasion of the
right of publicity carries with it the unabridged right to
aelineate the prerequisites to such a claim and the priv-
ileges which constitute defenses thereto.

This case was one of first impression under the laws
of Ohio. In considering Petitioner’s claim, the Ohio Su-
preme Court recognized the right of publicity as but one
facet of Ohio’s right of privacy and, like the right of pri-
vacy. not absolute. 47 Ohio St. 2d at 231-32, 351 N_E.2d
at 459-60. The court further recognized specific affirma-
tive defenses which, under Ohio law, may be asserted to
defeat the right of publicity. The court held that a per-
former may abandon the right by “effectively dedicating
it to the public” or by failing to give “reasonable notice
to the public.” 47 Ohio St. 2d at 232, 351 N.E.2d at 460.
The Ohio court further recognized that in cases involving
the news media the right of publicity must be subject to
the media’s “privilege to report in its newscasts matters
of legitimate public interest which would otherwise be
protected by an individual’s right of publicity .. .” 47
Ohio St. 2d at 224, 351 N.E.2d at 455 (syllabus 3).

In defining the affirmative defenses which apply to
this newly recognized right, the Ohio Supreme Court was
properly exercising its function as the sole arbiter of
state law. This Supreme Court has neither the responsibil-

10
ity for the development of Ohio law nor the power to

interfere with the limitations placed by the Ohio Supreme |

Court on common law causes of action unless some federal
right of Petitioner is infringed.

As a general rule, the highest court of a state
may administer the common law according to its own
understanding and interpretation, without liability
to a review in the United States Supreme Court, un-
less some right, title, immunity, or privilege, the
creation of the federal power, has been asserted and
denied. 36 C.J.S. Federal Courts $268 at 739 (1960).

This Court, in American Ry. Express Co. v. Ken-
tucky, 273 U.S. 269 (1927), acknowledged the role of
the state courts in matters of common law. In declining
to reverse a decision of the Court of Appeals of Kentucky,
this Court held:

As there was no controlling statute the state
court necessarily determined the rights and liabilities
of the parties under the general rules of jurisprudence
which it deemed part of the law of Kentucky and
applicable in the circumstances. It went no further.
No earlier opinion was overruled or qualified and no
rule was given any retroactive effect. Save in excep-
tional circumstances not now present we must accept
as controlling the d&écision of the state courts upon

questions of local law, both statutory and common.
Id. at 272 (emphasis added).

Similarly, in Fairport, Painesville & Eastern R.R.
Co. v. Meredith, 292 U.S. 589 (1934), this Court declined
to review the doctrine of last clear chance as applied by
the Ohio courts. Appellant argued that the holding with
respect to the doctrine was contrary to the great weight
of American authority. This Court ruled, however, that
it was precluded from considering appellant’s contention
as the case concerned a matter of Ohio common law and
presented no federal question for review.

ll

The federal Safety Appliance Act . . . imposes
absolute duties upon interstate railway carriers and
thereby creates correlative rights in favor of such
injured persons as come within its purview; but the
right to enforce the liability which arises from the
breach of duty is derived from the principles of com-
mon law. The act does not affect the defense of con-
tributory negligence, and, since the case comes here
from a state court, the validity of that defense must
be determined in accordance with applicable state
law. Id. at 598.

Other decisions of this Court affirm the paramount
authority of the states in matters of common law. See, e.g.
Liberty Warehouse Co. v. Burley Tobacco Growers’ Co-
Op. Marketing Ass’n, 276 U.S. 71, 89 (1928) (“...a
State may freely alter, amend or abolish the common law
within its jurisdiction.” ); and Regents of Univ. System of
Georgia v. Carroll, 338 U.S. 586 (1950).

This Court has consistently neld that its initial re-
sponsibility in reviewing any case from a state court is
to ascertain “whether that court’s decision ‘might’ have
rested on a nonfederal ground, for if it did we must decline
to take jurisdiction.” Ellis v. Dixon, 349 U.S. 458, 459
(1955). If the Court is “unable to say with any degree
of certainty” that a judgment is based on a federal right,
it will decline to review the case, since the “Court is al-
w:s wary of assuming jurisdiction of a case from a state
court unless it is plain that a federal question is necessarily
presented, .. .” Dept. of Mental Hygiene v. Kirchner, 380
U.S. 194, 196-97 (1965). The party seeking review must
demonstrate to the Court that it does indeed have juris-

diction of the case. Id. Unless the opinion of the state

court indicates that the court “ ‘felt constrained to rule as
it did’ ” or that it was ruling “ ‘under compulsion of federal
law’ ”’, this Court will defer to adequate and independent

12

state grounds for the decision. Jankovich v. Indiana Toll
Road Comm’n, 379 U.S. 487, 492 (1965).

In the instant case the syllabus of the decision of the
Ohio Supreme Court is the official opinion of the court and
states the law of the case. Cassidy v. Glossip, 12 Ohio St.
2d 17, 231 N.E.2d 64 (1967). This Court has recognized
that the Ohio Supreme Court “speaks as a court only
through the syllabi of its cases”. Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S.
89, 93 n.2 (1964). Matters outside the syllabus are not
to be regarded as decision since ‘“‘only the syllabus neces-
sarily carries the approval of that court.” Perkins v. Ben-
guet Consolidated Mining Co., 342 U.S. 437, 441 (1952).
Only when the accompanying opinion unequivocally states
that the Ohio court is prohibited by federal law from
reaching any conclusion other than that contained in the
syllabus will this Court exercise federal question jurisdic-
tion. Id. at 443.

Petitioner assumes that the privilege applied by the
Ohio court was not one of state law but of federal law,
and that the Ohio court felt compelled by federal law to
deny recovery to Petitioner (Brief for Petitioner, p. 10 n.
2). However, the syllabi in this case in no manner suggest
that the Ohio court felt it was prohibited from granting
recovery to Petitioner. The deliberate lack of reference in
the syllabi to the First Amendment indicates that the court
did not feel constrained by federal law but rather that it
looked to general free press principles for guidance in
formulating the state law privilege.

Nor does the accompanying opinion of Justice Stern
suggest that the court “felt constrained” by the First
Amendment to rule as it did or that it acted “under com-
pulsion of federal law” in prohibiting Petitioner from re-
covering. Rather, the opinion suggests that the Court is
recognizing a new common law right subject to specific

OF <<

13
conditions and privileges which afford proper protection
to the press.

Respondent submits that it is apparent from a con-
sideration of the foregoing authorities and the syllabi and
opinion of the Ohio court that the writ of certiorari in
this case was improvidently granted and that the decision
of the Ohio Supreme Court should be allowed to stand as
the Ohio court’s expression of the proper defenses to be
applied to common law right of publicity cases arising
under the laws of Ohio.

B. In defining the scope of common law rights the
Ohio Supreme Court may look for guidance to
decisions of this Court.

Petitioner states his primary objection to the Ohio
Supreme Court’s decision as follows:

Petitioner contends that the Ohio Supreme
Court’s reliance on Time, Inc. v. Hill, 385 U.S. 374
(1967) and New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376
U.S. 254 (1964), for guidance is erroneous. (Brief
for Petitioner p. 10) (emphasis added).

Respondent submits that the. contrary is true. A state
supreme court in formulating defenses to common law
causes of action is free to consider pronouncements of
this Court, particularly in the First Amendment area.

In this case the Ohio Supreme Court adopted the
basic rationale of New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376
U.S. 254 (1964), as applied in Time, Inc. v. Hill, supra,
that ‘freedom of the press inevitably imposes certain
limits upon an individual’s right of privacy.” 47 Ohio St.
2d at 233, 351 N.E.2d at 460. The Ohio court concluded
that the reasoning of this Court in Time, Inc. v. Hill was
sound and that a similar privilege should apply to right
of publicity cases arising under Ohio law:

14

Just as the press was held to be privileged to report
matters which would otherwise be private, if they are
of public concern, so too, it must be held privileged
when an individual seeks to publicly exploit his tal-
ents while keeping the benefits private. The same
privilege exists in cases where appropriation of a
right of publicity is claimed . .. . 47 Ohio St. 2d at
234, 351 N.E.2d at 461.

The Ohio Supreme Court’s reliance on Time, Inc. v.
Hill and New York Times Co. v. Sullivan for guidance in
formulating the rule of law for Ohio with respect to pri-
vacy claims parallels the use made by other state courts
of Rosenbloom v. Metromedia, Inc., 403 U.S. 29 (1971),
in granting state news media defenses to libel claims
brought by private irdividuals. Guided by this Court’s
pronouncement in Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S.
323, 347 (1974), that “‘so long as they do not impose liabil-
ity without fault, the States may define for themselves
the appropriate standard of liability for a publisher or
broadcaster of a defamatory falsehood injurious to a pri-
vate individual’, several state courts have found the
rationale of the disaprroved Rosenbloom decision persua-
sive. They have accordingly adopted a Rosenbloom or mod-
ified Rosenbloom test to be applied in their states in defa-
mation cases involving private individuals. In Walker v.
Colorado Springs Sun, Inc., 538 P.2d 450 (Colo.), cert.
denied, 423 U.S.1025 (1975), the Colorado Supreme Court
concluded that the simple negligence test allowed by Gertz
would cause a chilling effect upon the news media and
“‘would create a strong impetus toward self-censorship
| by the news media|, which the First Amendment cannot
tolerate.’ Id. at 458 (quoting from Rosenbloom v. Metro-
media).

Similarly, the Indiana Court of Appeals, in AAFCO
Heating and Air Conditioning Company v. Northwest Pub-

>

15

lications, Inc., 321 N.E.2d 580 (Ind. Ct. App. 1974), cert.
denied, 424 U.S. 913 (1976), determined that the Rosen-
bloom standard is the appropriate standard to govern defa-
mation claims brought under the laws of Indiana. Other
similar cases include Stone v. Essex County Newspapers,
Inc., 330 N.E.2d 161 (Mass. 1975), where the Supreme
Judicial Court of Massachusetts ruled that punitive dam-
ages may not be awarded in a defamation action on any
state of proof, even though permissible under Gertz; Peag-
ler v. Phoenix Newspapers, Inc., 26 Ariz. App 274, 547
P.2d 1074 (1976); and Chapadeau v. Utica Observer-
Dispatch, Inc., 38 N.Y.2d 196, 341 N.E.2d 569 (1975).

It is the function of this Court in the First Amend-
ment area to insure that no state court denies the min-
imum constitutional protection required by the First
Amendment. So long as they meet minimum federal con-
stitutional standards, the state courts in right of publicity
cases have the freedom permitted them under Gertz to
delineate the protection to be afforded the press under
state law.

C. Any decision by this Court on the meriis would
constitute merely an advisory opinion.

Petitioner has asked this Court to intervene in a
state matter and formulate specific First Amendment
standards to govern the relationship between public per-
formers and the broadcast media (Brief for Petitioner,
p. 29). However, under the facts of this case an opinion
rendered by this Court on First Amendment issues would
be merely advisory. This Court has always held that it
will not issue advisory opinions, even in cases where it
believes that the lower court has wrongly decided a fed-
eral question, if an adequate nonfederal ground for the
lower court’s decision also exists. Murdock v. Memphis,
87 U.S. 590, 634-636 (1874). Since the decision of the

ta

16

Ohio court in this case was founded on state law, the
resolution of the competing interests of performers and
the press under federal law is not properly an issue.

The words of Justice Jackson contained in Herb v.
Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117, 125-126 (1945), are instructive:

This Court from the time of its foundation has
adhered to the principle that it will not review judg-
ments of state courts that rest on adequate and inde-
pendent state grounds. (citations omitted) * * * The
reason is so obvious that it has rarely been thought
to warrant statement. It is found in the partitioning
of power between the state and federal judicial sys-
tems and in the limitation of our own jurisdiction.
Our only power over state judgments is to correct
them to the extent that they incorrectly adjudge
federal rights. And our power is to correct wrong
judgments, not to revise opinions. We are not per-
mitted to render an advisory opinion, and if the same
judgment would be rendered by the state court after
we correct its views of federal laws, our review could
amount to nothing more than an advisory opinion.

(emphasis added).

This is a most inappropriate case in which to advise
the state courts on the minimum First Amendment
standard applicable to right of publicity cases. First, the
facts of this case have such narrow and singular applica-
tion that a decision on the merits would have little, if any,
general application. The news media has no interest in
reproducing lengthy segments of an individual’s perform-
ance, and in only the most unusual case (such as exists
here) will any substantial portion of a performance be
used in a news context. Petitioner attempts to intrigue
this Court by asserting that the interests of public per-
formers and personalities are being markedly limited by
the privilege applied by the Ohio court (Brief for Peti-
tioner, p. 13). This assertion could not be farther from

17

the truth. Virtually all right of publicity complaints
raised by performers relate to the commercial use of their
name or likeness. It is the commercial use which is the
bane of performers, not legitimate news use which the
vast majority of performers seek and benefit from.’

Second, performers such as the Petitioner have suf-
ficient means to prevent media coverage of their perform-
ances if they really do not want coverage. In performers’
contracts with promoters, the promoters can be required
to include explicit prohibitions against mechanical repro-
ductions on tickets and programs. If a performer sells his
performance to a promoter as Petitioner did in this case,
the performer can, at the contractual stage, determine the
conditions and limitations to be placed on audience repro-
duction of the performance.

Thirdly, Respondent’s use of the film clip of Peti-
tioner’s act was de minimis. In Man v. Warner Bros., Inc.,
317 F. Supp. 50 (S.D.N.Y. 1970), a Federal District Court
found that even commercial use of a forty-five second film
clip of plaintiff’s entire musical performance did not pro-
vide the basis for a claim under New York's right of pri-
vacy statute. The Court’s holding in Man, Id. at 53, is
directly in point here:

Finally, the incidental use of plaintiff's forty-five
second performance in defendants’ motion picture of
this public event is surely de minimis |sic!. Cf. Uni-
versity of Notre Dame du Lac v. Twentieth Century
Fox Film Corp., supra; Damron v. Doubleday, Doran
& Co., 133 Misc. 302. 231 N.Y.S. 444 (Sup. Ct., N.Y.
Co. 1928), aff'd 226 App. Div. 796. 234 N.Y.S. 773
(1st Dep’t 1929).

Aithough the Ohio Supreme Court did not have to rely
upon the de minimis theory in dismissing Petitioner's

In this case the very favorable publicity given Petitioner
by Respondent could only enhance his career and the market-
ability of his act. (See App. p. 12).

18

claim since the news media privilege precluded recovery
under the facts of this case, the court nevertheless sug-
gested that Petitioner’s claim was insubstantial. 47 Ohio
St. 2d at 234 n. 5, 351 N.E.2d at 461 n. 5.

It is difficult to imagine a less appropriate case for
this Court to advise state courts as to minimum federal
constitutional standards which must be afforded the press
in right of publicity claims arising under state common
law. For this additional reason, Respondent suggests that
the writ of certiorari to the Ohio Supreme Court should
be dismissed as improvidently granted.

Ill. The News Media Privilege Recognized By the Ohio
Supreme Court Is Neither Novel, Unreasonable Nor
Inconsistent With Federal Constitutional Principles.

A. The privilege afforded the press by the Ohio
Supreme Court is consistent with the news media
privilege traditionally recognized in Ohio and
other jurisdictions.

In Ohio the media’s privilege to report on matters
of general and public interest did not begin with New
York Times Co. v. Sullivan. Since 1938 state courts in
Ohio have applied a news media privilege to disseminate
matters of public interest as a defense to invasion of pri-
vacy claims. In Martin v. F.I.Y. Theatre Co., 26 Ohio L.
Abs. 67, 69, 10 Ohio Op. 338, 341 (C.P. 1938), an Ohio
court recognized the following privilege as a defense to
a right of privacy claim:

|The right of privacy! does not exist in the dis-
semination of news and news events, nor in the dis-
cussion of events of the life of a person in whom the
public has a rightful interest, nor where the publica-

tion would be of a public benefit, as in the case of
a candidate for public office.

19
Two years later this privilege was again applied in

Johnson v. Scripps Publishing Co., 32 Ohio L. Abs. 423,
431, 18 Ohio Op. 372, 379-80 (C.P: 1940):

All authorities which recognize “right of pri-
vacy” as a legal right for the violation of which there
is a legal remedy agree upon certain fundamentals
namely:

(a) The right of privacy does not prohibit
publication of matter which is of public or general
interest, ...

In its detailed analysis of the competing societal and
constitutional interests present in this case, the Ohio Su-
preme Court reasoned that the “public interest” privilege
afforded the press in the more traditional privacy actions
should also be available as a defense to right of publicity
claims. Thus, the decision of the Ohio Supreme Court
merely reaffirmed the general theory of news media
privilege that has been applied for forty years as a defense
to privacy claims in Ohio, and extended that privilege to
the newly recognized right of publicity.

The privilege applied by the Ohio court is also con-
sistent with news media privileges applied to right of
publicity claims arising in other jurisdictions. In Rosemont
Enterprises, Inc. v. Random House, Inc., 58 Misc. 2d 1,
294 N.Y.S.2d 122 (S. Ct. 1968). aff'd, 32 App. Div. 2d 892,
301 N.Y.S.2d 948 (1969), a New York court protected
the publication of a biography of Howard Hughes against
a claim that his right of publicity was violated.

The publication of a biography is clearly outside the
ambit of the “commercial use” contemplated by the
“right of publicity” and such right can have no ap-
plication to the publication of factual material which
is constitutionally protected. Just as a public figure’s
“right of privacy” must yield to the public interest
so too must the “right of publicity” bow where »: ~)

20

conflicts with the free dissemination of thoughts,

ideas, newsworthy events, and matters of _ vublic

interest. Id. at 6, 294 N.Y.S. 2d at 129 (emphasis
added ).

This news media privilege has been applied to ap-
propriation cases in New York regardless of whether the
basis of the claim is New York’s right of privacy statute
or the common law right of publicity. Man v. Warner
Bros., Inc., 317 F. Supp. 50 (S.D.N.Y. 1970) (plaintiff
denied recovery on free press grounds for the commerciul
use of his forty-five second musical performance); Cur-
rent Audio, Inc. v. RCA Corp., 71 Misc. 2d 831, 337
N.Y.S.2d 949 (S. Ct. 1972) (unauthorized taping and
commercial! distribution of an interview with Elvis Presley
does not constitute violation of his right of publicity);
Paulsen v. Personality Posters, Inc., 59 Misc. 2d 444, 299
N.Y.S.2d 501 (S. Ct. 1968) (commercial sale of presiden-
tial poster of comedian Pat Paulsen privileged as against
right of publicity claim).'

' Petitioner has soughi to distinguish Man v. Warner Bros.,
Inc. and similar New York cases by arguing that the claims
were governed by New York's right of privacy statute and not
a common law right of publicity. (Brief for Petitioner, p. 10 n. 1).
This distinction is inaccurate for New York Courts have held
that both the statutory right of privacy and the common law
right of publicity are limited by an identical free press privilege.
Paulsen v. Personality Posters, Inc., supra at 450-51, 299 N.Y\S.

2d at 508-509; Rosemont Enterprises, Inc. v. Random House, Inc.,
supra at 6, 294 N.Y.S.2d at 129.

21

B. The privilege applied by the Ohio court is con-
sistent with First Amendment principles articu-
lated by this Court.

In Time, Inc. v. Hill this Court acknowledged that
freedom of the press imposes certain necessary limita-
tions on the right of privacy. The Court reasoned that a
broadly defined freedom of the press is constitutionally
required to provide the breathing space essential to fruit-
ful exercise of this most important First Amendment free-
dom. 385 U.S. at 389. These principles were recently re-
affirmed in Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 US.
469, 496 (1975), where the Court concluded that the
First Amendment “will not allow exposing the press to
liability for truthfully publishing information released
to the public in official court records” even if such disclos-
ure places in the public domain delicate and private
matters.”

Petitioner’s contention that Gertz v. Robert Welch,
Inc. and its progeny call into question the Ohio court’s
use of the rationale of Time, Inc. v. Hill in a state right of
publicity case is unsound. In Gertz, this Court held that
the actual malice standard of New York Times Ca. v.
Sullivan abridged the states’ legitimate interest in pro-
viding a legal remedy for falsehoods injurious to the repu-
tation of a private individual. 418 U.S. at 345-46. The
Gertz court reemphasized the paramount importance of
a free press as the foundation of a free society, but rec-

*The Cox decision suggests that truthful reports of matters
of public interest will be afforded the strongest constitutional
protection:

{[Tlhe constitutional necessity of recognizing a defense of
truth is equally implicit in our statement of the permissible
standard of liability for the publication or broadcast of de-
famatory statements whose substance makes apparent the
substantial danger of injury to the reputation of a private
citizen, 420 U.S. at 499. (Powell, J. concurring).

) )

aoe

ognized that in a free society there is a strong state inter-
est in protectiag the good name and dignity of the in-
dividual. As expressed by Justice Stewart in Rosenblatt v.
Baer, 383 U.S. 75, 92 (1966) (Stewart, J. concurring):
|The law of defamation| reflects no more than our
basic concept of the essential dignity and worth of
every human being—a concept at the root of any
decent system of ordered liberty. The protection of
private personality, like the protection of life itself,
is left primarily to the individual States under the
Ninth and Tenth Amendments. But this does not
mean that the right is entitled to any less recognition
by this Court as a basis of our constitutional system.

The Gertz decision was founded on the Court’s desire
to forge an accommodation of these sometimes competing,
essential interests. While Petitioner may have certain
commercial rights in his “human cannonball” act, they
hardly qualify as essential to “any decent system of
ordered liberty’. In this case Petitioner has gained the right
of recovery against those making commercial use of his
name and likeness. Commercial appropriation is the foun-
dation of the right of publicity and is its most important
facet. The privilege articulated by the Ohio court does not
affect this aspect of the right of publicity.

The Ohio Supreme Court recognized the significant
distinction between defamation claims made by private
individuals and right of publicity claims asserted by public
performers and personalities. In the Ohio court’s view,
there was no fundamental societal interest which required
a significant abridgment of First Amendment freedoms in
right of publicity cases. The court wisely reasoned that the
“chilling effect” which results from inadequate free press
protection in libel and false light cases would similarly
affect the news media if a strong privilege were not af-

23

forded the press in defense of right of publicity claims.
This chilling effect acts as an actual restraint on the press
in the form of self censorship. A broadcaster who must
constantly evaluate whether a jury would find his use of
a performer’s name or likeness “reasonably undertaken
in discharge of the broadcast media’s right and responsi-
bility to inform the public of the happening of a news-
worthy event” ( Brief for Petitioner. pp. 30-31) will tend
to limit the scope of news coverage given public perform-
ances and personalities.

Petitioner is asking this Court to (i) strip the media
of the right to independently determine what constitutes
news and (ii) narrowly define news so as to exclude mate-
rial having entertainment value. Such action would have
a profound adverse effect on the media.

Much news is in various ways amusing and for
that reason of special interest to many people. Few
newspapers or news magazines would long survive if
they did not publish a substantial amount of news on
the basis of entertainment value of one kind or an-
other. This may be a disturbing commentary upon our
civilization, but it is nonetheless a realistic picture of
society which courts shaping new juristic concepts
must take into account. In brief, once the character
of an item as news is established, it is neither feasible
nor desirable for a court to make a distinction between
news for information and news for entertainment in
determining the extent to which publication is priv-
ileged. Jenkins v. Dell Publishing Co., 251 F.2d 447.
451 (3d. Cir), cert. denied, 357, US. 921 (1958)
(footnotes omitted).

This Court must not second guess in each case the
manner and extent of news coverage given a public event.
Such interference with the function of a free press, absent
some fundamental competing interest, can only encourage
further attempts to narrowly define and governmentally
control what constitutes news.

24

C. The Ohio court did not totally immunize the press
from right of publicity claims.

Although the Ohio court could have granted total
immunity to the media in right of publicity cases without
presenting any constitutional question, the Ohio court did
not do so. Rather than “immunize” the press (See Brief
for Petitioner, p. 11), the court recognized two bases for
defeating the media privilege.

The first basis, that “the actual intent . . . was to
appropriate the benefit of the publicity for some non-
public use,”’ provides a standard for determining whether
news use is made of the performer’s name or likeness.
Under the facts of this case, the single use on Respondent's
nightly news program of a fifteen second film clip of the
performance is plainly a news use. See Zacchini v. Scripps-
Howard Broadcasting Company, supra at 235, 351 N.E.2d
at 461. Should the media, in a different case, broadcast
on a commercial program a concert given by a professional
entertainer, that use would be sufficient to establish intent
to appropriate the benefit of the publicity for a non-priv-
ileged use.

The second basis for defeating the privilege, that “the
actual intent of the media was to injure the individual,”
comports with the express malice limitation long applied
by the Ohio courts in defamation actions." Under Ohio

“ Although it is unnecessary to reach the issue at this time,
Respondent believes that the “intent to injure” standard allows
the imposition of liability upon the press for the publication of
even truthful reports if done with “ill-will” or “express malice”.
This Court has rejected the concept that liability can be imposed
upon a mere showing of dislike or ill-will towards a plaintiff.
Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64 (1964). Petitioner has un-
fortunately confused the concept of “intent to injure” or “ex-
press malice” with that of “actual malice” as defined by this
Court. While Petitioner characterizes the Ohio court’s opinion
as allowing recovery only upon a showing of “actual malice”
(See, e.g., Brief for Petitioner, p. 9), it is apparent upon a care-
ful reading of the opinion that a lesser standard was applied.

25
law the privilege of the press to publish and disseminate
news may be lost if the publication is made with express
malice, that is, out of a sense of ill will, hatred or revenge.
34 On1o Jur. 2d Libel and Slander $58 at 224 (1958).
Ohio courts have long considered and applied this express
malice test, which, like the Ohio Supreme Court’s actual
intent test, is a subjective one. E.g., Liles v. Gaster, 42
Ohio St. 631 (1885); Torski v. Mansfield Journal Co., 100
Ohio App. 538, 137 N.E.2d 679 (1956). A court would
have no more difficulty applying this basis for defeating
the privilege in right of publicity cases than it has had in
applying the express malice test in libel actions, For
example, had Respondent’s script alleged that Petitioner's
act was a fraud, and had the film strip been edited so as

“to falsely show that Petitioner leaves the “cannon” prior

to the explosion with the assistance of a spring-gun mech-
anism, Respondent’s intent to injure Petitioner would be

evident.
The Ohio court has not seriously limited Petitioner's

rights by applying a privilege which recognizes the para-
mount concern our society has for freedom of the press.
In the words of the Supreme Court of Ohio:

[T|he primary value which one society places upon
the freedom of speech and of press requires that
we reject |Petitioner’s| viewpoint. The press, if it
is to be able to freely report matters of public interest,
must be accorded broad latitude in its choice of how
much it presents of each story or incident, and of the
emphasis to be given to such presentation. No fixed
standard which would bar the press from reporting
or depicting an entire occurrence or an entire discrete
part of a public performance can be formulated which
would not unduly restrict the “breathing room’ in
reporting which freedom of the press requires. 47
Ohio St. 2d at 235, 351 N.E.2d at 461. (emphasis
added ).

26

As the foregoing analysis establishes, the decision of
the Ohio Supreme Court in this case extending to right
of publicity cases the rule pertaining to privacy cases since
1938 is neither novel nor unreasonable and is consistent
with fundamental free press concerns, both state and fed-
eral.

IV. Any Remand For Further Proceedings In This Case
Must Be to the Ohio Supreme Court.

Petitioner's position that the United States Supreme
Court can and should define the specific news media priv-
ilege to be applied under Ohio common law constitutes
the single most novel proposition in his brief. His sug-
gested procedural disposition of the case, however, is only
slightly less extraordinary. Petitioner suggests that this
Court deal directly with the Ohio Court of Common Pleas
if any remand is necessary. While this Court may remand
a federal case to either a Circuit Court of Appeals or a
District Court, the Court’s practice has always been to
remand state cases to the highest state court for further
proceedings not inconsistent with the opinion of the Court.
Until the instant case, it had always been accepted that a
state supreme court has the right and power to control
proceedings in the inferior courts of that state. As stated
in 14A F. Poore, CycLopepia or FEDERAL PROCEDURE
$69.77 at 149 (3d ed. 1965):

The state court is not required to submit the
cause to new proceedings, if it has power to make a
new judgment conforming to what was decided. The
enforcement of the mandate upon lower state courts
is within the power of, and will be left in the first
instance to, the highest state court whence came the
cause, and to which it was remanded on reversal for
further proceedings. (footnotes omitted).

See Southern Ry. Co. v. Kentucky, 284 U.S. 338, 341
(1932), In re Royall, 125 U.S. 696, 697 (1888).

27

If this Court requires any further proceedings in this
matter, the cause should be remanded to the Ohio Supreme
Court in the first instance for disposition in a manner con-
sistent with this Court’s mandate. Thus, if this Court
should choose to establish advisory federal constitutional
standards applicable to right of privacy claims of this
nature, the Ohio Supreme Court should be given an oppor-
tunity, inter alia, to (i) choose to expand upon the mini-
mum federal standard for protection of the free press (See
Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., supra) or (ii) confirm that
state common law or constitutional principles require a
broader news media privilege in Ohio than the minimum
allowed by this Court. (See, e.g., AAFCO Heating and Air
Conditioning Co. v. Northwest Publications, Inc., supra).

In accordance with well settled principles of judicial
review, this Court should, in fact, remand the case to the
Ohio Supreme Court before establishing any such advisory
standard if the Court believes such standard must be
defined in the context of this case. It is Respondent’s
position that the Ohio Supreme Court’s decision is clearly
one of state law. If this Court disagrees, it must ascertain
that the decision is in fact grounded on federal law before
treating any federal question. The Ohio Supreme Court
is the appropriate state court to consult as to the basis for
its decision. Dept. of Mental Hygiene v. Kirchner, 380
U.S. 194 (1965), Minnesota v. National Tea Co., 309 U.S.
551 (1940). See generally, Note, 62 Cotum. L. Rev. 822
(1962). Unless the Ohio Supreme Court advises that its
decision was compelled by its view of federal law, this
Court should not act.

Thus, if this Court determines that further proceed-
ings are required in this case, it should remand the case
to the Ohio Supreme Court for disposition in accordance
with its mandate.

28
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Respondent respectfully
submits that the writ of certiorari should be dismissed as
improvidently granted or, alternatively, that the opinion
of the Supreme Court of Ohio should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Ezra K. Bryan

Don H. Pace

LAWRENCE V. LINDBERG

Baker, Hostetter & PATTERSON
1956 Union Commerce Building
Cleveland, Ohio 44115
(216) 621-0200

Counsel for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0797%3A6. Public record. Not legal advice.
