# Jurisdictional Statement — Wolman v. Walter

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0720%3A01

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Jurisdictional Statement
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 433 U.S. 229

## Text

MAY

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1976

Benson A. Woman, et al.,
Appellants,

— V.—

Martin W. Essex, et al.,
Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTH™@RN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

NELSON G. Karu JosHua J. KANCELBAUM
American Civil Liberties Union 2121 The Illuminating Building
Foundation Cleveland, Ohio 44113

203 East Broad Street

Columbus, Ohio 43215 Dona_Lp M. RosBiner

Investment Plaza
Me.vin L. WULF Cleveland, Ohio 44114
American Civil Liberties
Union Foundation
22 East 40th Street
New York, New York 10016

Attorneys for Appellants

em
i eee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

eee Ge Be 4. 0 6-686 04 4608 os vee

Jurisdictional Statement ..............

Opinion BetOW cccccccccvccccccccceses

PAPEBGICTION wc cccccccccccccccccccccees

ey I es ink ceigw be eee edu

Questions Presented ....ccccccccccces

ra 2 oe Cee... v6 eeeeebénes

A.

B.

FENOEY scccccctccccsetecéions

The Factual Record ..........

The Questions Are Substantial ........

L.

Il.

III.

The decision below is in sub-
stantial conflict with the de-
cisions of this Court in Meek
v. Pittenger and Marburger v.
Public Funds for Public Schools
CS WW PENG ccccceccccesecs

The issue is of nationwide con-
Ge aia bre ot eee hl bees 6 bene

The primary effect of the act
is to benefit religion and to

ll
12

12

14

ii
Page

foster excessive governmental
entanglement with religion .... 15

A, The Instructional Materials
and Equipment Loan Provi-
sions Violate the Establish-
ae ere 15

B. Psychological and Speech
and Hearing Diagnostic
Services Violate the Estab-
lishment Clause .......... 21

v

C. Therapeutic Psychological
and Speech and Hearing
Services, Guidance and
Counseling Services, Re-
medial Services and Serv-
ices for the Handicapped
Violate the Establishment
Clause Except to the Ex-
tent Furnished Within Pub-
lic Schools As Part of a
General Program ......... 26

D. Standardized Testing and
Scoring Services Violate
the Establishment Clause . 30

E. Field Trip Transportation
Violates the Establishment
Ce. cenaneushvuckess 31

F, The Programs Authorized

by SB 170 Foster Excessive
Political Entanglement .... 32

=

iii

Page
G. The Textbook Loar Provi-
sions of SB 170 Violate
the Establishment Clause . 34
COMGUNIIGR -sicccccceeriescccecsosees o
Appendices:
Order and Opinion Below ......... Al
EE SE hv 6S vk dees cb ¥ewes A34
Ee er ree A39
Table of Authorities
Cases:
Board of Education v. Allen, 392 U.S.
ee CED 6 'nh6b 6065 40460005 00004080 34

_Committee for Public Education v.

Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756 (1973) 15,19, 29, 33

Everson v. Board of Education, 330
ia (e Ce C2. one eaceceeenekes 31, 32

Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968). 3
Hunt v. McNair, 413 U.S. 734(1973). 20
Kosydar v. Wolman, 353 F. Supp. 744

(S.D. Ohio, 1973), aff'd sub nom.
Grit v. Wolman,413 U.S.901(1973). 15,33

iv

Page
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602
CAGTT) ccccccsecesovesseess 21, 28, 31, 32
Levitt v. Committee for Public Educa-
tion, 413 U.S. 472 (1973)....cccce 24, 30
Marburger v. Public Funds for Public
Schools of New Jersey, 358 F.Supp.
29 (N.J. Dist. 1973), aff'd 417 U.S.
GER CHIPPED ccccccceces 12,13,14,15,24, 25

Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349
(1975). 4,5, 10,12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18,19, 20
21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34

Sloan v. Lemon, 413 U.S. 825 (1973) 15
Wolman v. Essex, 342 F.Supp. 399

(S.D. Ohio E.D. 1972), aff'd 409

U.S. GOB (R97) cv cccesscvesscsess 15, 33

Wolman v. Essex (unreported, S. D.
Ohio, 1974), vacated and remanded

421 U.S. GES (E9IS) cccccsvsvecees 4,14
Statutes:
Ohio Kevised Code §3317.06 ....... passim
Ohio Revised Code §3317.062 ..... 4,16
28 U.S.C. GRESS cccccccccscessese 3
28 U.S.C, GRE ccccccvccscucseus 3

28 U.S.C. G2RBE - cccccccovcescnees 3

ee _

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1976
No.

BENSON A. WOLMAN, et al.,
Appellants,
-VS-

MARTIN W. ESSEX, et al.,

Appellees.

On Appeal From The United States District Court
For The Southern District of Ohio
Eastern Division

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Appellants, Benson A. Wolman, et al.,
appeal from the order of the United States
District Court for the Southern District of Ohio,
Eastern Division (hereinafter sometimes the
"District Court") entered by a three-judge dis-
trict court on July 21, 1976,upholding the con-
stitutionality of Ohio Revised Code §3317.06 and
denying to appellants (plaintiffs in the court
below) a permanent injunction to restrain the

-2-

enforcement of that statute which provides
various programs for the benefit of sectarian
private schools. 1/ Appellants submit this
Statement to show that the Supreme Court of the
United States has jurisdiction of the appeal and
that a substantial question is presented.

Opinion Below

The order and opinion of the District
Court are not reported. They are set out in
the Appendix, infra, pp. Al-A33.

1/ The following are the parties to this
appeal: Appellants (Plaintiffs below who are
citizens and taxpayers of Ohio and the United
States) are Benson A. Wolman, Frederick
Chambers, Patricia J. Keenan, Barbara Kaye
Besser, Nancy R. Terjesen, and Marjorie
Wright. Appellees who were defendants below
are Martin W. Essex, Superintendent of Public
Instruction of the State of Ohio, State Board of
Education, Board of Education of the City School
District of Columbus, Ohio, Gertrude W.
Donahey, Treasurer oi the State of Ohio and
Thomas E. Ferguson, Auditor of the State of
Ohio, as well as the following named parents
and next friends of pupils enrolled in sectarian
schools: James Grit, Ewald Kane, Helen S.
Koloski and Alvia Shames (substituted for Hanna
Feigenbaum by order dated January 20, 1976).

of.

Jurisdiction

Appellants, citizens and taxpayers of Ohio
and the United States, filed their complaint in
the District Court on November 18, 1975 alleg-
ing that a state statute, Ohio Revised Code
§3317.06, violates the First and Fourteenth
Amendments of the United States Constitution by
effecting an establishment of religion. The
complaint demanded preliminary and permanent
injunctions against the enforcement of the
statute, as well as other relief.

On December 22, 1975, pursuant to 28
U.S.C. §2284, a three-judge court was conven-
ed to hear and determine the suit. 2/

The judgment sought to be reviewed was
entered by the three-judge district court below
on July 21, 1976, upholding the constitutionality
of the state statute and denying an injunction
against its enforcement. Notice of appeal to
this Court was filed in the District Court on
August 10, 1976,

Jurisdiction of the appeal is conferred on
this Court by 28 U.S.C. §§1253 and 2281, and
Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968).

2/ The designation of the three judges
was amended by further order on May 19, 1976,
substituting Hon. Robert M. Duncan, District
Judge for Hon. Carl B. Rubin, District Judge.
The other participating judges were Hon. Joseph
P. Kinneary, District Judge and Hon. John W.
Peck, Circuit Judge.

-4-

Statute Involved

The statute challenged in this litigation,
Ohio Revised Code §3317.06 (also known as
Senate Bill 170 and hereinafter sometimes call-
ed "SB 170" or the "Act") was signed into law
on August 29, 1975. It generally replaces and
expands the parochial assistance programs of
former Ohio Revised Code §3317.062 which was
invalidated 3/on authority of Meek v. Pittenger,
421 U.S. 349 (1975) in the aftermath of this
Court's decision of May 27, 1975 which vacated
and remaaded the District Court's previous
judgment upholding the prior Ohio statute.
See Wolman v. Essex, 421 U.S. 982, 95 S.
Ct. 1985 (1975). The Act ic several pages
long and is appended to this jurisdictional
statement (pp. A36-A40 infra.). Rather than
quote it fully at this point, the relevant pro-
visions will be summarized in the order in
which they appear.

Section A provides for textbook loans to
pupils or their parents.

Section B authorizes the school districts
"to purchase and to loan to pupils attending

3/By order of the District Court dated
November 17, 1975, in Wolman v. Essex,
No. 73-292 (S.D. Ohio E.D.). The order,
entered by consent of the parties, found that
the prior Ohio law was not constitutionally
different from the law stricken down in Meek

v. Pittenger, supra and declared it violative of
the Establisnmers lause.

-"

nonpublic schools . . . or to their parents upon
individual request, such secular, neutral and
nonide ological instructional materials as are in
use in the public schools within the district and
which are incapable of diversion to religious
use and to hire clerical personnel to administer
such lending program." As will hereinafter be
discussed in further detail, it is stipulated 4/
that this section authorizes the same materials
as had been authorized by the auxiliary
materials provisions of the previous Ohio law
which was stricken down in the wake of Meek

v. Pittenger, S. 21.

Section C is identical to Section B, except
that it authorizes instructional equipment instead
of materials. Like Section B, the equipment
available under this section is the same as the
equipment which was available under the pre-
vious law to the extent it was upheld by the
district court below prior to review by this
Court (i.e., except to the extent it permitted
materials and equipment which were regarded
as susceptible of diversion to religious uses).

Section D authorizes the provision of
"speech and hearing diagnostic services to
pupils attending nonpublic schools . . ." Such
services are to be "provided in the nonpublic
school attended by the pupil receiving the service."

4/ The facts applicable to this case have
been stipulated by the parties ard references to
pertinent paragraphs of the stipulation are cited
"S" followed by the applicable paragraph number.

o> «Je

oe ee

Section E provides for "physician, nursing, | Section L provides for field trip trans-
dental and optometric services" within the non- | portation.

public schools. Subsequent unlettered sections flesh out

Section G provides for "therapeutic | administrative and fiscal detail. Most

psychological and speech and hearing to pupils | pertinently:
attending nonpublic schools within the district." | 2
Unlike a. pana services, these services The duties of clerical personnel, hired
are to be "provided in the public school, in | pursuant to divisions (B) and (C) of this
public centers, or in mobile units located off of : section, shall include distribution of
the nonpublic premises as determined by the | loan request forms, receipt and cata-
state Department of Education." Transportation loging of loan requests, inventory or

to public sthools or public centers at public instructional materials and instructional
expense is authorized equipment to pupils or their parents,
retrieval of such instructional equipment

Section H,provides for "guidance and and maintaining custody and storage of

counseling services" to be performed in public | these items. The instructional material
schools, public centers or mobile units, in 7 and instructional equipment authorized
terms similar to those employed in Section G. | to be loaned pursuant to divisions (B)
) and (C) of this section may be stored
Section I provides for "remedial services” | on the premises of the nonpublic school
to be performed in public schools, public cen- | of attendance and the clerical personnel
ters or mobile units, in terms similar to those hired for administration of the lending
employed in the two preceding sections. program may perform their services

upon the premises of the nonpublic
school when, in the determination of
the stace Department of Education, it is
necessary and appropriate for efficient
implementation of the lending program.”

Section J] authorizes the district "to supply
for use by pupils attending nonpublic schools. . °
such standardized tests and scoring services as
are in use in the public schools of the state."

The remainder of the provisions of the Act
limit benefits to those which are available to
pupils attending the public schools within the
district; require the furnishing of benefits and
the admission of students and faculty hiring to
be nondiscriminatory as to race, creed, color

Section K authorizes "programs for the
deaf, blind, emotionally disturbed, crippled,
and physically handicapped children attending
nonpublic schools within the district."' These, |
like the other remedial and therapeutic programs, |
are to be furnished off premises in public
schools, public centers or mobile units.

-

;
;
'
;
i
— LAE Ce TE ae ee ee ee

or national origin; prohibit the provision of
services, materials or equipment for use in
religious courses, devotional exercises,
religious training, or any other religious
activity; and provide funding limitations.

Questions Presented

l. Does a state statute which provides
for the expenditure of public funds to furnish
auxiliary materials and equipment for use with-
in sectarian schools, including materials and
equipment which cannot be loaned to such
schools without violating the Establishment
Clause of the First Amendment, satisfy the re-
quirement of the Establishment Clause by
authorizing the lending of such materials and
equipment to the pupils and parents of pupils
enrolled in such schools where such statute
permits the materials and equipment to be
stored on the sectarian premises and serviced
there by public personnel, and where the
materials and equipment so loaned include items
which cannot practicably be distributed to indi-
vidual pupils, but will be loaned to them as a
group?

2. Does a state statute which provides
for the expenditure of public funds to furnish
diagnostic services which include speech and
hearing services and psychological services 5/

5/ As well as physician, nursing, dental,
and optometric services which are not
challenged in this suit.

a EE NT aE eT

-9-

on the premises of private sectarian schools
satisfy the requirements of the Establishment
Clause of the First Amendment?

3. Does a state statute which provides
for the expenditure of public funds to furnish
therapeutic and remedial services, guidance and
counseling and other programs including ser-
vices and programs which cannot be publicly
provided on sectarian premises without violating
the Establishment Clause of the First Amend-
ment, satisfy the requirements of the Establish-
ment Clause by authorizing the performance of
such services by public personnel at locations
off the sectarian premises which include mobile
units parked nearby, and undefined public cen-
ters including centers used for such purposes
only for the benefit of the sectarian beneficiar-
ies of the services?

4, Does a state statute which provides
for the expenditure of public funds to furnish
standardized tests and scoring services for use

_in private sectarian schools satisfy the require-

ments of the Establishment Clause of the First
Amendment?

5. Does a state statute which provides
for the expenditure of public funds to furnish
field trip transportation to classes attending
private sectarian schools satisfy the require-
ments of the Establishment Clause of the First

Amendment?

6. Does a state statute which provides

for the expenditure of public funds to lend text

-10-

books to pupils or parents of pupils attending
private sectarian schools satisfy the require-
ments of the Establishment Clause of the First
Amendment?

Statement of the Case

A. History.

SB 170, challenged in this action, was
signed into law on August 29, 1975, before the
Distriet Court below could consider and enter
its remand decision on the previous statute,
The biennial appropriation for SB 170 was
eighty-eight million dollars, even larger than
the eighty-one million dollars appropriated for
its predecessor.

Appellants filed their complaint in this
action on November 18, 1975, challenging the
First Amendment validity of the new law; and
on plaintiffs' motion, on December 10, 1975,
the District Court granted a temporary restrair-
ing order against implementation of the Act.
This restraining order was modified by consent
order on February 13, 1976, to permit text
books to be purchased from public funds and
loaned to pupils of nonpublic schools or their
parents to the extent such text book loans were
permitted by this Court's decision in Meek v.
Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349 (1975).

The designated panel of three judges
(described at p.3 n.2 , supra) heard the
case on June 1, 1976, on the briefs and

Pe a ee eee ee eee nes

-||-

arguments of counsel and a comprehensive
factual stipulation. On July 21, 1976, the
District Court announced its decision and
opinion upholding the Establishment Clause
validity of the Act,

B. The Factual Record.

During the proceedings below the imple-
mentation of the Act was generally enjoined and
the position of the appellants was (and continues
to be) that the Act is unconstitutional on its
face. Nevertheless, on March 16, 1976, the
parties filed a comprehensive stipulation of
facts which, together with its appended exhibits,
constitutes the factual record. Ihe stipulation
contains material relevant to the manner in
which Ohio's Department of Education intended
to implement the Act, and relevant to the
appropriateness of Supreme Court review.

All procedural matters relevant to

_justiciability of the issue and standing of the

parties are stipulated (S-1 through S-6). The
sectarian character of nonpublic education in
Ohio is stipulated in terms comparable to those
upon which prior adjudications of parochial aid
plans in this Court have been based (S-7
through S-13),.

The general mechanical operation of the
statute is described in S-14 through S-16,
Most significantly, the Act is implemented
through the 620 local school districts of Ohio,
and there is no central collation of information

-]2-

as to the character of the materials and services
provided. It is thus realistically impossible for
a concerned citizen or litigant to discover how the
funds are used, except on a sample basis.

The intended methods of implementing the
various specific programs are described (S-17
through S-38). In view of their prolixity, these
stipulated facts will be discussed infra in connec-
tion with the discussion of the specific programs
to which they relate, rather than summarized
here. It is finally stipulated that because the
"new laW has not been implemented. . . the
stipulation can only go to the intent and policies
of the Department of Education rather than to the
precise manner in which that intent of policy will
or will not be carried out in all instances, ''(S-39).

The Questions Are Substantial

lL.

The decision below is in substantial
conflict with the decisions of this
Court in Meek v. Pittenger 6/and
Marburger v. Public Funds for Pub-
Tic Schools of New Jersey. 77

67 421 U.S, 349 (1975).

7/ 358 F. Supp. 29 (N.J. Dist. 1973),
aff'd 417 U.S. 961 (1974).

-13-

Last year this Court struck down
Pennsylvania's statutory program for furnishing
many programs which are effectively, and often
procedurally, similar to the programs offered
under SB 170 challenged in this action. Meek
v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349 (1975). In Meek
this court explicated its earlier decision to like
effect in Public Funds for Public Schools v.
Marburger, 358 F. Supp. 29 (N.J. Dist. 1973),
aff'd ry U.S. 961 (1974). Such programs
prohibited by Meek and Marburger and resur-
rected in Ohio's current Taw include programs
for the furnishing of auxiliary equipment and
materials for use within the parochial schools,
and the furnishing of a wide variety of services
by public personnel for the benefit of those
attending parochial schools.

As this Statement will further elaborate
at Section III, A through G, pp. 14-34, infra,
Ohio's SB 170 attempts to avoid the Meek and
Marburger holdings via a few simple strategems
which produce slight technical differences in the
wording of the law, but little meaningful change

‘from the results already prohibited by this

Court as violative of the Establishment Clause.

The principal ploy involved in the
differentiation of the materials and equipment
program from previous invalid programs is that
the property is now ostensibly loaned to pupils
and parents rather than to the schools. The
principal variant in the services programs is
to limit services on the parochial premises to
equipment care and diagnostic services, and to
remove the therapeutic and remedial services

oligo

to an allegedly neutral site. As the remainder
of this Statement will urge in further detail,
the materials and equipment loan to pupils is
merely a sham; the limitation of services on
sectarian premises to "diagnostic" services
does not ameliorate the aid to religion and
excessive entanglement engendered by such
programs under prior unconstitutional statutes;
nor does the furnishing of therapeutic services
on allegedly neutral sites which on the one hand
constitute the sham of curbside service to the
parochial schools and, on the other hand, pro-
mise to devote such public buildings as fire-
houses to the special educational use of
parochial constituencies, avoid the pitfalls of
previous invalid auxiliary service laws.

In short, Ohio's latest effort to assist
religious school amounts to an end run around
the Meek and Marburger holdings of this Court
in a manner which requires full review.

Il.

The issue is of nationwide concern.

Programs of state aid to religious private
schools quickly spread from state to state. The
history of parochial assistance litigation in this
Court demonstrates that each decision invalidat-
ing a particular legislative scheme has had

multi-state significance. Compare, for example,

Meek v. Pittenger, supra, Public Funds for
Public Schools v. Marburger, supra, and
Wolman v. Essex, 421 U.S. 982, 95 S. Ct.
1985 (1975) (auxiliary services and materials);

-15-

Committee for Public Education v. Nyquist, 413
5S. ; Sloan v. Lemon, 413 U.S. 825
(1973); Wolman v. Essex, 342 F. Supp. 399
(S.D. Ohio E.D. 1972) aff'd 409 U.S. 808 (1972);
and Kosydar v. Wolman, 353 F. Supp. 744
(S. D. Ohio 1973) aff'd sub nom Grit v. Wolman,
413 U.S. 901 (1973) (tuition reimbursement and
tax credits).

The District Court approval of the new
Ohio assistance plan, which achieves results
prohibited by Meek and Marburger will un-
questionably be adopted across the United
States. In order to prevent the widespread
entrenchment of these programs of question-
able First Amendment consequence, Supreme
Court consideration of their validity is nec-
essary and timely.

IIL.

The primary effect of the Act is
to benefit religion and to foster

excessive governmental entangle-
ment with religion.

A. The Instructional Materials and Equipment
Loan Provisions of SB 170 Violate the
Establishment Clause.

In Meek v. Pittenger, this Court struck
down Pennsylvania's statutory program for
furnishing instructional materials and equipment.
421 U.S. at 366. The Pennsylvania law defined
instructional equipment and materials in such a
way as to include substantially the same equip-

-16-

ment and materials which could be furnished under
Ohio's previous law, the now superseded R.C.
Sec, 3317.062. The definition of "equipment" in
the Pennsylvania Act included:

“projection equipment, recording
equipment, laboratory equipment, and
any other educational secular, neutral,
non-ideological equipment. . ."’

421 U.S. at 354 n. 4.

The definition of ''material” included:
". . .books, periodicals, documents,
pamphlets, photographs, reproductions,
pictorial or graphic works, musical
scores, maps, charts, globes, sound
recordings, including but not limited to
those discs and tapes, processed slides,
transparencies, films, filmstrips,
kinescopes and video tapes, or any other
printed and published materials of a
similar nature. . . The term includes
such other secular, neutral, non-
ideological materials as are of benefit
to the instruction of nonpublic school
children and are presently or hereafter
provided for public school children of
the Commonwealth, " Ibid.

It is stipulated that (except for items allegedly
incapable of religious use) the same equipment
and materials will be available under SB 170 (see
S-21), as was available under the previous
auxiliary services and materials law. The list

.
a a

off.

set forth in the stipulation discloses that virtually
all the items available under the Pennsylvania
instructional equipment and material provisions
invalidated in Meek are available under Sections B
and C of SB 170.

The only noteworthy differences between
Sections B and C of Ohio's law and the invalid pro-
visions considered in Meek are that (i) Ohio's
enactment expressly provides that only material
and equipment which is "incapable of diversion to
religious use"’ may be furnished; and (ii) the
material and equipment is ostensibly "loaned" to
the pupils or their parents, rather than loaned to
the nonpublic school.

1. The restriction to materials and equipment
incapable of diversion to religious use is insigni-
ficant and was rejected in Meek v. Pittenger.

While Ohio's SB 170 expressly contains the
restriction against furnishing materials and
equipment readily capable of diversion to religious
use in the body of the Act, whereas Pennsylvania's
law did not, the efficacy of such a restriction to
save the measure from First Amendment challenge
was explicitly rejected in Meek v. Pittenger. The
district court in Meek, 8/ had held the furnishing
of instructional materials and equipment to be

8/ As well as the district court in the
previous Ohio litigation, see Wolman v. Essex,

F. Supp. (S.D. Ohio 1974), vacated
and remanded 421 U.S. 982 (1975).

-18-

constitutionally acceptable except to the extent
that the statute authorized the loan of equipment
"which from its nature can be diverted to religious
purposes"--for example, projectors and record-
ing equipment. 421 U.S. at 357.

Thus, in Meek, only the supplying of
instructional equipment and materials ostensibly
incapable of religious diversion was at issue.
This Court so noted at 421 U.S. p. 357, n. 7.
The statutory limitation requiring that loans be
limited to materials and equipment incapable of
diversion adds no element which has not been
passed upon by the Supreme Court in a manner
adverse to the defendants. 9/

2. The fact that the materials and equipment
are to be ostensibly loaned to pupils or parents
is a constitutionally insignificant sham.

9/ The stipulation recites that "it is
expected that materials and equipment loaned to
pupils or parents under the new law will be similar
to. . . former materials and equipment except to
the extent that the law requires that materials and
equipment capable of diversion tc religious issues
will not be supplied. Plaintiffs reserve the right
to argue that the two stated differences are not
significant and that the restriction against supply-
ing materials and equipment incapable of repo
diversion cannot in fact be implemented. S-21.
(Emphasis added)

—— soe

-19-

The District Court below found that the
distinction between lending materials and equip-
ment to parochial schools and lending them to the
student body was constitutionally decisive and
approved this portion of SB 170 on that basis.
(Opinion, App. p. Al5-17). However, in Committee
for Public Education v. Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756
(1973), this Court noted that:

"[t]here can be no question that these
grants could not, consistently with the
Establishment Clause, be given directly
to sectarian schools... In the absence
of an effective means of guaranteeing
that the state aid derived from public
funds will be used exclusively for
secular, neutral, and nonideological
purposes, it is clear from our cases
that direct aid in whatever form is
invalid. "" 413 U.S. at 780.

"By reimbursing parents for a portion

of their tuition bill, the State seeks to
relieve their financial burdens sufficient-
ly to assure that they continue to have the
option to send their children to religion-
oriented schools... The effect of the
aid is unmistakably to provide desired
financial support for nonpublic, sectarian
institutions." Ibid.

While SB 170 purports to limit the aid to so-called
secular, neutral and nonideological materials and
equipment, the teaching of Meek v. Pittenger is
that the effort to limit aid to the secular portion
of the school's program is illusory in view of the

-20-

"pervasive" and "inextricably intertwined"

character of the religious involvement of the

parochial schools. 421 U.S. at 366; and see Hunt

v. McNair, 413 U.S. 734, 743 (1973). For this

reason the legislative feint of lending to students

— _— does not change the result decreed in
eek,

Under SB 170 there is no difference between
a loan to the school and a loan to the pupils or
parents, First, the materials and equipment to
be loaned are not limited to items which can be
meaningfully distributed to individual pupils, such
as textbooks. The pupils can collectively borrow
laboratories, maps and globes, posters, gymnas-
tic equipment, sewing machines and a host of
other items. See S-21 and Exh. C thereto.

Second, the statute expressly authorizes
the storage of these materials and this equipment
on the nonpublic school premises. While the
lending is to be initiated by "individual request"
it is naive to believe that what is requested will
not be determined by the requirements of the
nonpublic school administration and faculty.

The net result is that while the pupils or
their parents may be the technical bailees of the
loaned equipment and materials, the equipment
and materials will be deployed in exactly the same
manner as under the prior law pursuant to which
they were loaned to the school. 10/

10/ The Act further authorizes (and it is
stipulated that the authority will be exercised,

-41-

The conclusion is compelled that Sections
B and C of SB 170 violate the Establishment Clause.
Without meaningful variation they provide the same
program for the furnishing of instructional
materials and equipment to sectarian institutions
which is barred by Meek v. Pittenger.

B. Psychological and Speech and Hearing
Diagnostic Services Provided by SB 170
Violate the Establishment Clause.

While appellants have conceded the facial
constitutionality of physician, nursing, dental and
optometric services provided under the Act,
psychological services, and to only a lesser extent
speech and hearing services, provideu within the
parochial schools, stand on a different footing.

Meek v. Pittenger and Marburger prohibit
the furnishing of | oubficly funded personnel,

except certain health personnel, on parochial

see S-22) public personnel to distribute loan
request forms, receive and catalog the requests,
maintain inventories, distribute the material and
equipment, collect the equipment, maintain
custody and storage of the material and equipment
and perform all other duties necessary for the
efficient implementation of the program. Under
the Act, these functions can be performed on the
premises of the nonpublic school. These provi-
Sions alone should suffice to invalidate the program
programs for excessive entanglement. See
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971).

-29-

school premises.

The Pennsylvania law considered in Meek,
called for "auxiliary services" to be performed by
public employees on parochial school premises,
including remedial and accelerated instruction,
guidance counseling and testing, and speech and
hearing services. 421 U.S. at 367. The
Pennsylvania public institutions, like those of
Ohio, provided no surveillance to confirm that the
law's secular limits were being observed, because
it was felt that such surveillance was unnecessary
to assure that a member of the staff had not
"succumb[ed] to sectarianization of his or her
professional work." 421 U.S. at 368, quoting
from the district court opinion, 374 F. Supp. at
657. This Court rejected this position.

", . .«[D]ecisions of this Court make
clear that the District Court erred in
relying entirely on the good faith and
professionalism of the secular teachers
and counselors functioning in church-
related schools to ensure that a strictly

nonideological posture is maintained. "
421 U.S. at 369.

Regarding the auxiliary character of the
services to be performed by these publicly sub-
sidized teachers, this Court noted:

"That Act 194 authorizes state-funding
of teachers only for remedial and excep-
tional students, and not for normal
students participating in the core
curriculum, does not distinguish this

-23-

case from Earley v. DiCenso and Lemon
v. Kurtzman, supra. Whether the subject
is ‘remedial read ing, ' advanced reading,’
or simply ‘reading, a teacher remains a
teacher, and the = er that religious
doctrine will become intertwined with
secular instruction persists. The
Tikelihood of inadvertent fostering of
religion may be less in a remedial
arithmetic class than in a medieval
history seminar, but a diminished pro-
bability of imper miss conduct is not
sufficient: “Ihe State must be certain,
given the Religion Clauses, that subsi-
dized teachers do not inculcate religion. '
403 U.S. at 619. And a state-subsidized

guidance counselor is surely as likely as
a state-subsidi chemistry teacher to
fail on occasion to Separate religious
instruction and the advancement oO
religious beliefs from his secular

educational responsibilities.” 421 U.S.
at 370-371. (Emphasis added and foot-

note deleted. )

The foregoing portion of the Meek opinion
establishes that the First Amendment strictures
against public funding of services to be performed
by public employees on parochial premises extend
to "counselors" and other "remedial" personnel
as well as to teachers. In tacit recognition of this
principle, the framers of SB 170 removed the more
patently remedial and therapeutic services from
the parochial premises to the curbside. And;
while presumably the most narrowly physical
health services such as physician, nursing, dental

-24-

and optometric are protected by the Supreme
Court's dictum approving such services (see 421
U.S. at 371 n, 21), no such protection should be
extended to psychological and speech and hearing
services.

Psychological diagnosis:

The functions of diagnostic psychological
personnel include, in addition to aptitude testing,
"individual measures to determine social and
behavioral adaptability . . . interviewing and.

projective procedures, " ‘S-28(b). On the face of

this description, these functions include a degree
of intercommunication between the diagnostician
and the pupil, and an intrusion into the social and
behavioral aspects of the pupil's personality,
which provides at least as great an opportunity
for religious influence as does the guidance
counseling, testing, and remedial instruction
prohibited in the parochial schools by Meek and
Marburger, supra, and Levitt v. Committee for
Public aS 413 U.S. 472, 93S. Ct. 2814

(1973).

The conclusion is compelled that it is ex-
cessively entangling for experts employed by the
government to tinker with the attitudes and per-
sonality of a pupil in the setting of a religious
institution, There is too great a danger, for
example, that irreverent or heretical attitudes
and beliefs will be interpreted as psychologically
deviant or antisocial.

= —

-25-

Speech and hearing diagnosis:

Despite this Court's dictum in Meek that a

program of diagnostic speech and hearing services

"seems to fall within that class of general welfare
services for children that may be provided by the
State. . ."' 421 U.S, at 371 n. 21, there is reason
to prohibit state sponsored speech and hearing
services in parochial schools as well. In Meek,
speech and hearing diagnostic services were
stricken down because they would have been left
standing alone; and notwithstanding the Pennsylvania
law's severability clause, the Court ruled that the
legislature "would not have passed the law solely
to provide such aid." Ibid. Footnote 21 of Meek
v. Pittenger remains dictum and the matter

remains open for decision by this Court, In
drawing the line between general welfare provi-
sions and impermissible remedial education
measures prohibited by Meek and Marburger, it
would appear logical to consider the opportunity
for sectarian influence and abuse. See Meek,
421 U.S. at 369. Unlike a physician or a nurse
whose contact with the child is ordinarily limited

* to a physical appraisal and a minimal amount of

verbal communication concerning the child's
physical condition, the speech and hearing staff
can be expected to communicate with a pupil at
length in order to assess the child's communica-
tive abilities.

It is no more sensible to lump speech and
hearing diagnosticians together with doctors and
nurses than with remedial reading instructors and
other remedial services personnel who cannot,
under Meek and Marburger, perform their
services within a parochial school.

-26-

C. Therapeutic Psychological and Speech and
Hearing Services, Guidance and Counseling
Services, Remedial Services and Services
for the Handicapped Provided by SB 170
Violate the Establishment Clause Except to
the Extent Furnished Within Public Schools
As Part of a General Program.

The therapeutic, counseling and remedial
services encompassed by Sections G, H, I and K
plainly extend far beyond the neutral health
seryices approved by dictum in prior Supreme
Court decisions. They include such specifically
condemned programs as remedial reading and
guidance counseling. Compare S-31 through 36
with Meek v, Pittenger, 421 U.S. at 367. 11/
Accordingly, these programs stand or fall on the
constitutional effect of diverting them from within
the school to a public school, or to a public center
or mobile unit stationed off the nonpublic premises.

While the furnishing of governmentally sub-
sidized services to pupils enrolled in a public
school on the same basis as such services are
provided for public school pupils in that school

11/ For example, the remedial services
for the handicapped are not limited to health
programs. See S-36(d) and (e). These programs
are to be instructional. However much one may
sympathize with a handicapped child, it is no
more proper to subsidize his education in a
religious school than to subsidize such education
for a normal child.

- ee oe ee AD

-97-

presents grave problems of excessive entangle-
ment in the scheduling and integration of such
services, it would appear that a statute authorizes
parochial pupils to enter a public school and
receive such services is not facially invalid; and
accordingly, appellants do not challenge the
furnishing of such services in the public schools
12/ to the extent the services are provided as
part of the public school's general programs.
However, the furnishing of such services in

other centers or in mobile units presents
different First Amendment problems. Insofar

as SB 170 permits these programs at such locations
it is facially invalid.

The use of mobile units results in the
perpetuation of evils presented by on-premises
auxiliary services.

It is stipulated that where mobile units are
employed they will be stationed close to the non-
public premises aad except in unusual circum-
stances will be devoted exclusively to the service

of the parochial pupils. (S-33). In other words,

a publicly purchased mobile home can be parked
in a lot next to the parochial school, or at its
curbside, and public personnel will operate it as
an auxiliary adjunct to the parochial school to

12/ Appellants reserve the right to attack
the application of this portion of the statute if a
different program is administered for parochial
pupils within a public school, or if excessive
entanglement appears.

- 28-

provide services which could not be performed
within the walls of the school itself. The only
difference between these services performed in
mobile units under SB 170, and the services
unconstitutionally furnished under the former

Ohio law or the Pennsylvania and Michigan laws
previously stricken down, is the technical question
of title to the classroom.

This Court has cautioned that parochial aid
schemes are not to be evaluated in "a legalistic
minuet in which precise rules and forms must
govern.’ Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602,

614 (1971). Rather, “the form of the relationship"
must be examined "for the light it casts on the
substance."’ Ibid.

It is difficult to discern why a special
satellite facility for parochial pupils parked out-
side the gate but devoted entirely to the nonpublic
institution to which it is appended should provide
materially less opportunity for the fostering of
religion than the same unit inside the walls. One
might concede that religious artifacts may be
absent from the mobile unit's walls; but that is
about the only discernible difference.

The furnishing of services in public centers
presents problems of special benefit to a sectarian

-29-

pupils at the same center." S-33 (underscoring
added). Since Ohio law does not provide for such
services to be rendered for public school students
at such public centers at this time, it is highly
speculative that such services will in fact be
rendered to public school students at public centers.

Appellants have no quarrel with making
public centers available to pupils enrolled in
nonpublic schools for the same purposes for which
those facilities are available to the public. For

class and lack of guarantees against fostering
religion or excessive entanglement.

It is stipulated that if "a program is to be
offered at a public center such as a library, public
meeting hall, firehouse, or recreation center,
services may be available for public and nonpublic

example, it would be unthinkable to deny some
pupils access to libraries, museums, parks, zoos
and the like because they are enrolled in parochial
schools. However, that is not the case when a
special program is instituted in a public center for
the special benefit of parochial pupils which is
either not available to public school pupils at that
center or is only made available to them in order
to justify the assistance to the parochial
constituency. In either case, the public benefit
must be regarded as incidental, and the primary
purpose and effect must be deemed to constitute

' assistance to religion. The program is a benefit

to a limited sectarian class, and suspect on that
basis. See Committee fi © Public Education v.

Nyquist, 413U.S. 756, 783 n. 38 (1973).

Moreover, the Act does not specify the
character of the public centers at which the ser-
vices are to be rendered; and while the stipulation
names a few of such centers (S-33), the listing is
not recited to be exclusive. There is nothing in
the Act to preclude a substantial portion of the
eighty-eight million dollars from being expended
on the capital cost of erecting centers which are

public in the sense of belonging to the school
district, but which are brought into being solely
to effectuate the provisions of the Act for the
benefit of nonpublic school pupils.

D. Standardized Testing and Scoring Services
Provided by SB 170 Violate the Establishment
Clause.

In Levitt v. Committee for Public Education,
413 U.S. 472, 93'S. Ct. 2814 (1973) this Court
invalidated a New York statutory scheme for
reimbursement of church-sponsored schools for
expenses of examination and testing of pupils.
The basis for the rejection of this program was
not merely that it involved the payment of money
to the nonpublic schools, but that testing is an
“integral part of the teaching process."" 413 U.S.
at 481 quoting with approval from the holding of
the district court, 342 F. Supp. at 444.

It is true that most of the testing involved
in Levitt was teacher prepared, whereas the tests
authorized by Section J of SB 170 are
“standardized. '' However, the thrust of Meek v.
Pittenger is that given the pervasive religious
mission and character of the parochial schools,
"jt would simply ignore reality to attempt to
separate secular educational functions from the
predominantly religious role performed..."

421 U.S. at 365.

Testing, even when standardized, remains
an "integral part of the teaching process", Levitt,
supra (413 U.S. at 481). As such, testing is not a

_ *

denominationally neutral health service; nor is it
an item which can be distributed to each child in
the parochial and public schools like a textbook.

It involves personnel of the state in scoring to
measure the progress of pupils in their subjects
at the parochial schools (S-37). Considering the
factor of pervasive religious infusion found by this
Court in Meek, the fact that the subjects thus
scored are nominally secular can make no
difference. The predominantly sectarian teaching
mission of the parochial school is a primary and
direct beneficiary. The Establishment Clause is
thereby violated.

E. Field Trip Transportation Authorized by
SB 170 Violates the Establishment Clause.

Bus transportation to and from parochial
schools, approved in Everson v. Board of
Education, 330 U.S. I (1947) was thought to
approach "the verge." Id. at 16. See Lemon v.
Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 624 (1971). At Teast

‘the transportation approved in Everson involved

getting the child to and from school at regular
morning and afternoon times. That transportation
did not involve assistance to any specific portion
of the educational program of the parochial school;
and the scheduling entanglements which it entailed,
though certainly substantial, were relatively
predictable and manageable. To the contrary,
field trip transportation is stipulated to be for the

purpose "to enrich the secular studies of students.’

(S-38). As such it bears a direct relation to the
educational program of the school, which the state
is not permitted to enhance. See Meek, supra.

-
|

-32-

Moreover, the opportunities and necessity for
excessive entanglement are greatly exacerbated
in the case of field trip transportation in view of
potential competing scheduling demands of public
and private schools,

If the busing approved in Everson "was
thought to approach the 'verge'"’ (Lemon, 403 U.S.
at 624), the field trip transportation contemplated
by SB 170 must be deemed to have stepped beyond
the precipice.

F. The Programs Authorized by SB 170 Foster
Excessive Political Entanglement.

In passing upon the Pennsylvania services
and materials law, this Court reaffirmed that the
political entanglement engendered by such a law
is an additional constitutionally fatal flaw.

"The Act. . . provides successive
oppportunities for political fragmentation
and division along religious lines, one of
the principal evils against which the
Establishment Clause was intended to
protect... This potential for

political entanglement, together with the
administrative entanglement which would
be necessary to ensure that auxiliary
services personnel remain strictly
neutral and nonideological when func-
tioning in church-related schools compels
the conclusion that Act 194 violates the
constitutional prohibition against laws
‘respecting an establishment of religion. '"
Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349, 372

(1975).

-33-

The appropriations under Ohio's parochial aid law
are much larger than those which the Supreme
Court considered in Meek, Id. at 365 n. 15 and
369 n. 19. This Court has witnessed the galloping
increases in such appropriations under Ohio's
previous aid schemes presented to it for
Establishment Clause adjudication. The biennial
appropriation for parental grants at the beginning
of this decade was in the vicinity of $60, 000. 00.
See Wolman v. Essex, 342 F. Supp. 399, 403 n. 3
(1973). As the district court below remarked:

"It requires no special wisdom to
foresee that the Act, insofar as it
confers benefits upon a predominately
sectarian class, increases the likeli-
hood that further debate concerning this
law will be along religious lines. . .
Even if couched in superficially fiscal
terms, future legislative voices, both
those that favor and those that oppose
the Act will, by implication and
construction, be debating the relative
merits of religiously oriented education. "

Kosydar v. Wolman, 353 F. Supp. 744,
766 1973) aff'd sub nom, Grit v.

Wolman, 413 U.S. 901 (1973).

Whether or not this potential for political
divisiveness would be sufficient to invalidate SB
170 absent other considerations, Cf. Committee
for Public Education v. Nyquist, 413 0.S. 756,
797-798 (1973), it is certainly a ‘warning signal’
not to be ignored." Ibid. This political
entanglement aspect infects all but the most
clearly neutral and nonsectarian portions of SB 170

and compels conclusion that of the various pro-
grams authorized by this law, only the most
narrowly conceived health services should be
sustained,

G. The Textbook Loan Provisions of SB 170
Violate the Establishment Clause.

Although the appellee public officers have
stipulated the intention of the state Department of
Education to implement the textbook provision in
a manner which is similar to that upheld in Meek
v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349, 362 (1975) and Board
of Education v. Allen, 392 U.S. 236 (1968), the
Ohio enactment, on its face, is broader than that
approved in these previous decisions. It includes
textbook "substitutes. “ Moreover, for the reasons
well expressed in the dissenting opinion of Justice
Douglas in Board of Education v. Allen, 392 U.S.
at 254-266, there is important reason to overrule
these previous textbook decisions. 13/ While the
content of a textbook may be fixed in the sense
that the print on the page will not change, the
manner of presentation can make the textbook one
of the most powerful tools for the infusion of
sectarian influence, "The textbook goes to the
very heart of education in a parochial school. "
Id. at 257. Accordingly, if plenary review is
granted, appellants will urge this Court to over-
rule or limit its previous decisions approving

13/ Also see Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S.
349, 373-385 (1975) (Brennan, J. dissenting).

=3S-

state subsidization of textbook loans for parochial
schools.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons appellants .
respectfully urge the Court to note jurisdiction
and grant plenary review of this appeal.

Respectfully submitted,

JOSHUA ). KANCELBAUM
2121 The Illuminating Building
Cleveland, Ohio 44113

(216) 781-5245

NELSON G. KARL

American Civil Liberties Union
of Ohio Foundation, Inc.

203 East Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 228-8951

DONALD M. ROBINER
1700 Investment Plaza
Cleveland, Ohio 44114
(216) 696-4666

MELVIN L. WULF

American Civil Liberties Union
22 East 40th Street

New York, New York 10016
(212) 725-1222

Attorneys for Appellants

October, 1976

APPENDICES

Al

ORDER AND OPINION BELOW

IN THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

No. C=-2-75-792

BENSON A. WOLMAN, et al,
Plaintiffs,
-Vs.-
MARTIN W. ESSEX, et al,

Defendants.

ORDER

For the reasons and on grounds that
more fully appear in the Opinion filed
simultaneously herewith, it is concluded
that Section 3317.06 of the Ohio Revised
€ode is constitutional and that plain-
tiffs' complaint is without merit.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT the com-
plaint be and it hereby is DISMISSED.

BY ORDER OF THE COURT
John W. Peck

Judge, United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

Joseph P. Kinnear
United States District Judge

Robert M. Duncan
United States District Judge

- Pee

A2

OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO,
EASTERN DIVISION

BENSON A, WOLMAN, et al,

Plaintiffs,
vs.

MARTIN W. ESSEX, et al,

7

Defendants.
No. C-2-75=+792

(Filed July 21, 1976)

Before John W. Peck, Circuit Judge, and
Joseph P. Kinneary and Robert M. Duncan, Dis-
trict Judges.

Kinneary, District Judge. In this action
plaintiffs attack the constitutionality of Ohio
Revised Code Section 3317.06, pursuant to which
certain services and materials routinely made
available to students attending public schools
throughout the state are made available to ele-
mentary and secondary nonpublic schoolchildren
as well.

This matter is before the Court on the
complaint and the answers, various memoranda
submitted by the parties, an extensive stipula-
tion of facts and the exhibits of the parties.

A3

The action was commenced under the provisions
of Title 42, United States Code, Section 1983,
and the Court has jurisdiction over the subject
matter of this action under the provisions of
Title 28, United States Code, Section 1343.

On July 1, 1975 this Court upheld the
constitutionality of Ohio Revised Code Sec-
tion 3317.062, the predecessor statute to that
under consiceration in this action, to the ex-
tent that the former statute provided only sec-
ular, neutral and nonideological services and

materials to students attending nonpublic schools.

While appeal of this Court's decision was pend-
ing, the United States Supreme Court rendered
its decision in Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349
(1975), and held that a Pennsylvania statute
similar to the former Ohio statute was uncon-
stitutional.

The Supreme Court vacated the judgment
of this Court and remanded the case for further
consideration in light of its decision in Meek.
The Ohio General Assembly thereafter repealed
the former statute and enacted the provisions
now codified in §3317.06 O.R.C. On November
17, 1975, this Court entered a consent order
declaring the former statute to be violative
of the First and Fourteenth Amendments.

In this action, this Court is once again
called upon to review the constitutionality of
Ohio's legislative attempts to provide auxiliary
services and educational materials to the non-
public schoolchildren throughout the state.

A three judge court was convened pursu-
ant to Title 28, United States Code, Sections

A4

2281 and 2284. On December 10, 1975, a tem-
porary restraining order was issued prohibit-
ing the defendants from implementing any pro-
vision of the statute. With the consent of the
parties, that order was subsequently modified
to permit the expenditure of monies necessary
to purchase textbooks and textbook substitutes
and to lend such items to nonpublic school
pupils or to their parents pursuant to the
statute.

I.

Plaintiffs in this action are citizens
and taxpayers of the United States and of the
State of Ohio, and this Court concludes that
these individual plaintiffs have standing to
challenge the statute. Flast v. Cohen, 392
U.S. 83 (1968). The defendants are various
state and local officials charged with the
implementation of the statute, and parents of
children attending various nonpublic schools
and who are potential recipients of the mate-
rials and services authorized by the statute.

Section 3317.06 O.R.C. was enacted as a
portion of an omnibus education bill, and most
of its sections relate to public school assist-
ance. Briefly, the statute authorizes expendi-
ture of monies by local school districts to
purchase and supply to elementary and second-
ary schoolchildren attending nonpublic schools
within the districts or to their parents the |
following independant and fully severable mate-
rials and services: secular textbooks, or
textbook substitutes, approved for use in the
public schools, §3317.06(A) O.R.C.; secular and
nonideological instructional materials and
equipment as are in use in the public schools
and which are incapable of diversion to

A5

religious use, and to hire clerical personnel

to administer the lending program, §3317.06(B),
(C) O.R.C.; speech and hearing diagnostic ser-
vices, physician, nursing, dental and optometric
services, and diagnostic psychological services,
to be provided in the nonpublic schools, $3317.06
(D), (E), (F) O.R.C.; therapeutic psychological
and speech and hearing services, guidance and
counseling services, remedial services, and pro-
grams for the deaf, blind, emotionally disturbed,
crippled and physically handicapped children,

to be provided in the public school, in public
centers or in mobile units located off the non-
public school premises, and transportation as
needed, $3317.06 (G), (H), (I), (K) O.R.C.;
standardized tests and scoring services such

as are in use in the public schools of the state,
$3317.06 (J) O.R.C.; field trip transportation and
services as are provided to public school stu-
dents, §3317.06(L) O.R.C.

Under the statute, funds appropriated by
the legislature are allocated by the Ohio De-
partment of Education to the various local pub-
lic school districts twice per year, based upon
the estimated annual averace daily membership
in nonpublic elementary and high schools locat-
ed within the district. Each local school dis-
trict will then utilize the money either to pur-
chase approved secular textbooks, instruction-
al materials and equipment, standardized test-
ing and scoring services and field trip trans-
portation or to provide the diagnostic, remedial
and therapeutic services authorized by the
statute.

Textbooks, instructional materials and
equipment, and standardized tests and scoring

a

A6é

vices are to be purchased directly from the
ounet an by the local public school district.
Auxiliary health and special educational —_
vice personnel will be hired and paid by the :
local public school districts. Such personnel,
furthermore, are to be controlled and super-
vised by the local public school districts.

Provision of the services or materials
authorized by the statute is initiated by an :
application submitted to the local public schoo
district from nonpublic school representatives.
This application receives administrative ap- .
proval or disapproval by the local public schoo
district after consultation with a field ser-
vice coordinator from the Ohio Department of
Education, and formal approval from the local
public school Loara of eaucation.

Tne statute makes clear that the mate~
rials ana services available under the statute
are limited to those available to pupils attend-
ing tne public schools within the district and,
further, that the materials anc services are
to be made available to pupils attending only
those nonpublic schools whose admission pol-
icies make no distinction as to race, creed,
color or national origin of either its pupils
or of its teachers.

Il

According to the stipulations of the
parties, approximately 496 percent of Ohio's
nonpublic schools are denominational, and
during the 1474-1975 academic year, Ohio's
nonpublic schools educated over 250,00U stu-
dents. The parties have furnished to the Court
information regarding the operations of the

A7

Columbus Catholic elementary and secondary
schools, stipulated to be fairly representa-
tive of the Catholic schools throughout the
State of Ohio, which constitute approximately
80 percent of Ohio's nonpublic schools. These
schools operate under the general supervision
of the diocesan Bishop. While most (but not
all) of the principals of such schools are re-
ligious personnel, more than two-thirds of the
teachers in such schools are not. Further,
most religious teachers no longer wear dis-
tinctive religious habits. Finally, the facil-
ities of these schools often display a Chris-
tian symbol as well as the American flag.

All such schools teach the secular sub-
jects required to meet the state minimum stand-
ards, and the parties have stipulated that,
during the required secular courses, the pu-
pils attending nonpublic schools are taught
a course content generally equivalent to that
taught in public schools. The state mandated
five-hour school day is expanded to such
schools to accommodate religious instruction
and devotion for Catholic students. Discus-
Sion of topics upon which the Catholic Church
has articulated a position are programmed to
take place only in religion classes.

Teachers in such schools, a majority of
whom are members of the Catholic faith, are
employees of the schools in which they teach.
However, no teacher in any such school is re-
quired to teach religious doctrine as a part
of or to integrate religious doctrine into the
required secular courses taught in the school.

If

A8

Finall it is to be noted that the stat-
ute auuitenens in this action extends the bene-
fits provided thereunder only to those pupils
attending nonpublic schools whose admission
policies and hiring practices with respect to
teachers make no distinction as to race, creed,
color or national origin.

Although the stipulations of the parties
evidence several significant points of dis-
tinction, the character of these schools is :
substantially comparable to that of the schoo Ss
involved in Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602,
615-18 (1971).7

Iil

The Establishment Clause prohibits "spon-
sorship, financial support, and active involve-
ment of the sovereign in religious activity.

Walz v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 064, 668 (1970).

however, the Constitution does not compel an —
absolute separation between the state and reli-
gious institutions. Committee for Public

ae - —
, ation and Religsove Liberty v. Nyguist,
eae 56, To - - Thus some bene~-
fits extended to the public at large are con-
stitutionally permissible, despite the result-

laut compare this profile with es in Roemer
v. Board of Public Works of Maryland,

U.S. , 44 U.S.L.W. 4939 (Sune 21, 1976); —
Hunt v. McNair, 413 U.S. 734 (1973); Tilton v.
Richardson, 403 U.S. 672 (1971).

A9

ing incirect and incidental benefits flowing
to religious institutions. Lemon v. Kurtzman,
Supra, 403 U.S. 602, 614. The Supreme Court
has never held that all public aid to private
education is prohibited:

(W)here carefully limited ... P
States may assist church-related
schools in performing their secular
functions, ... not only because the
States have a substantial interest
in the guality of education being
provided by private schools, ...

but more importantly because assist-
ance properly confined to the sec- .
ular functions of sectarian schools
does not substantially promote the
readily identifiable religious mis-
sion of those schools and it does
not interfere with the free exercise
rights of others.

Worwood v. Harrison, 413 U.S. 455, 468 (1973).

In Lemon v. Kurtzman, supra, 403 U.S. 602,
the Supreme Court established a tripartite
Establishment Clause test by which state act-
ion in this area is to be judged.

-++ First, the statute must have a
secular legislative purpose; second,
its principal or primary effect must
be one that neither advances nor in-
hibits religion, Board of Education
v. Allen, 392 U.S. 236, 243 (1968);
finally, the statute must not foster

"an excessive government entanglement
with religion."

Al0

j in its arti-
403 U.S. at 612. This test, clear in
culation if difficult in its application, is
stated in terms of degree.

It is well to emphasize, however,
that the tests must not be viewed

as setting the precise limits to

the necessary constitutional in-
quiry, but serve only as guidelines
with which to identify instances in
which the objective of the Establish-
ment Clause have been impaired.

Meek v. Pittenger, supra, 421 U.S. 349, 359

T1975).

ause the state has a legitimate in-
wien the care and education of its child-
ren, it cannot be denied that the legislation
presently before this Court meets the first
prong of the constitutional standard. See
Kosydar v. Wolman, 353 F.Supp. 744, 782 WD. |
Ohio 1973), aft’d. sub nom Grit v. Wolman, 41
U.S. 901 (1974); Wolman v. Essex, 342 F.Supp.
399, 411 n. 13 (S.D. Ohio), afft'd., 409 U.S.

808 (1972).

statute must be carefully examined,
sine an effort to determine whether the
legislation has the principal or primary effect
of advancing religion or results in an exces-~
sive government entanglement with religion.

IV

A. Textbooks

All

Section 3317.06(A) O.R.C. authorizes the
lending of such secular textbooks as have been
approved by the superintendent of public in-
struction for use in public schools to pupils
attending nonpublic schools or to their parents.
The statute defines "textbook" to mean "any
book or book substitute which a pupil uses as
a text or text substitute in a particular class
or program in the school he regularly attends."
The parties have stipulated that the materials
provided under this portion of the statute
shall be limited to "books, reusable workbooks,
Or manuals, whether bound or in looseleaf form,
intended for use as a principal source of study
material for a given class or group of stu-
dents, a copy of which is expected to be avail-
able to the individual use of each pupil in
such class or group."

Administratively, individual requests
for such materials are to be submitted by non-
public pupils or by their parents, and those
requests will then be summarized by the non-
public school and forwarded to the appropriate
public school official.

On its face, this aspect of the statute
is constitutionally indistinguishable from
the textbook provisions upheld in Board of
Education v. Allen, 392 U.S. 236 (I968) and in
Meek v. Pittenger, supra, 421 U.S. 349. This
Court is therefore of the opinion that that
portion of $3317.06 O.R.C. providing testbooks
or textbook substitutes to nonpublic pupils or
to their parents does not contravene the First
Or Fourteenth Amendments.

Al2

B. Instructional Material and Equipment

Section 3317.00(B) and (C) O.R.C. author-
izes the local school districts to purchase and
lend to nonpublic school pupils or to their par-
ents instructional materials and equipment that
are incapable of diversion to religious use,
and to hire clerical personnel to administer
the program. Examples of equipment supplied
in the past under predecessor statutes include
weather forecasting charts, lunar terrain
models, fossil collections, and metric system
materials. The statute further provides that
the materials and equipment lent pursuant to
the statute may be stored on the premises of
the nonpublic school and the clerical person-
nel hired to administer the lending program
may perform their duties upon the premises of
the nonpublic school when necessary.

The duties of the clerical personnel
hired to administer the lending program in-
cludes: distribution of loan request forms
and receipt of requests, maintenance of inven-
tory, collection and distribution of materials
and equipment, maintenance of custody and stor-
age and other duties necessary for the effici-
ent implementation of the program.

The parties have stipulated that most
public school districts will simultaneously
purchase all the equipment and materials ne-
cessary for all the students in the district,
both public and nonpublic, from common suppli-
ers and, where appropriate, will employ a bid-
ding procedure in the purchases.

Ai3

The United States Supreme Court in Meek
v. Pittenger, supra, 421 U.S, 349, was present-
ed with a Feanayivaeia program authorizing the
lending to the nonpublic schools of that state
instructional materials and equipment. The
Supreme Court recognized that the materials
and equipment to be provided under the statute
challenged in that action could not be divert-
ed to religious use and thus would not involve
the state in an entangling policing relation-
ship with the nonpublic schools. Meek, supra,
421 U.S. at 365. Nevertheless, the Supreme
Court found the program to be violative of the
Establishment Clause, and the Court's sole
apparent objection to the Pennsylvania instruc-
tional materials and equipment program was to
the form of the program.

Although textbooks are lent only to
students, Act 195 authorizes the
loan of instructional material and
equipment directly to qualifying
nonpublic elementary and secondary
schools in the Commonwealth.

Meek, supra, 421 U.S. at 362-63.° See also

2rhe Supreme Court in Meek, supra, 421 U.S. at
361 n. 10 did note that, prior to the commence-
ment of the New York and Pennsylvania textbook
programs upheld in Meek and in Allen, the par-
ents of nonpublic school-children purchased
thier own textbooks. The evidence presently
before this Court does not indicate whether or
not parents of Ohio's nonpublic schoolchildren
purchased the textbooks for their children
prior to the initiation of either the textbook

;
af
he

Al4

Roemer v. Board of Public Works of Maryland,

U.S. , 44 U.S.L.W. 4939, 7944 (une 21,
1976). The Ohio statute authorizes, in an
attempt to meet the constitutional objections
articulated in Meek, the lending of such mate-
rials and equipment not to the nonpublic
schools, but only to nonpublic schoolchildren
or to their parents.

or instructional materials and equipment pro-
grams, which were first instituted in Ohio
nine years ago.

It remains unclear, however, whether
this fact is determinative in an Establishment
Clause inquiry:

Here [federal legislation] is chal-

lenged on the ground that its primary

effect is to aid the religious pur-
poses of church-related colleges and
universities. Construction grants
surely aid these institutions in the
sense that the construction of build-
ings will assist them to perform

their various functions. But bus

transportation, textbooks, and tax

exemptions all gave aid in the sense
that religious Esdise woulda other-
wise have been forced to find other

Sources from which to finance these

Services. Yet all of these forms of

governmental assistance have been up-

held.
Tilton v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672, 679 (1971)

[emphasis supplied].

Al5

Plaintiffs argue, understandably, that
an unconstitutional program conferring bene-
fits directly upon the nonpublic school can-
not be rendered constitutional merely by con-
ferring those same benefits directly upon the
pupils of that school. See Committee for. Pub-
lic Education and Religious Liberty v. Nyquist,
supra, 413 U.S. 756, 781. Indeed, the Supreme
Court itself, in holding the Pennsylvania in-
structional materials and equipment program
unconstitutional on the ground that it had the
impermissible primary effect of advancing
religion, cited for support Sloan v. Lemon,

413 U.S. 825 (1973), which held invalid on the
same ground a parent tuition reimbursement
plan. Meek, supra, 421 U.S. at 364. Of course,
both Nyquist a Sloan may be distinguished
from the present case in that the monetary aid
at issue in those cases was, absent excessive
governmental entanglement with religion, in-
capable of restriction to purely secular usage.

In portions of its opinion in Meek, the
Supreme Court seems to indicate that all aid
flowing to the core educational functigns of
the nonpublic school is impermissible.” None-

3 It is, of course, true that as a

part of general legislation made
available to all students, a State
may include church-related schools

in programs providing bus transporta-
tion, school lunches, and public
health facilities -- secular and non-
ideological services unrelated to the
primary, religion-oriented educational
function of the sectarian school. The

{. Meng

we

Al6

theless, the Supreme Court in Meek reaffirms
state aid in the form of textbooks -- un~
deniably an integral part of any nonpublic
school's core educational functions. Further,
this Court is unable to determine a substan-
tive difference between textbooks on the one
hand and maps, charts, models and collections
on the other, except, possibly, the relative
effectiveness of the latter in attracting the
attention of a particular student and in educat-
ing him.* In the view of this Court, however,
the determination of pedagogical effectiveness
is better left to educators than to the courts.
The Supreme Court has recognized that
the education provided by nonpublic church-
related schools is in part secular and in part
sectarian, and that “some forms of aid may be
channeled to the secular without providing
direct aid to the sectarian." Committee for
Public Education and Religious Liberty v.
Nyguist, supra, 413 U.S. at . The educa-
tional materials and equipment provided by

indirect and incidental benefits to
church-related schools from those
programs do not offend the constitu-~
tional prohibition against establish-
ment of religion.

Meek, supra, 421 U.S. at 364.

4The Court notes that, under the statute, in-
structional materials and equipment may be
stored on the nonpublic premises. This fact,
however, was not determinative in either Allen
or Meek. See Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. at

36ln. 9.

Al7

§3317.06 O.R.C. are, like textbooks, inherent-
ly secular and incapable of diversion to reli-
gious use, Further, the administrative in-
volvement required by the statute of public
perso.nel implementing the program is purely
clerical and requires no more surveillance over
or entanglement with the religious functions
of the nonpublic school than does the involve-
ment required of public personnel implementing
the textbook programs upheld in Allen and in
Meek. Since the nature of the clerical duties
envisioned by the statute is not such as would
render the personnel involved susceptible to
religious influence, there is no danger that
the state will become excessively involved in
the religious character of the nonpublic in-
stitution.

In view of this Court, then, the Ohio
instructional materials and equipment program
differs neither in form nor in substance from
the textbook programs previously found by the
United States Supreme Court to be constitu-
tional.

C. Diagnostic and Health Services

Section 3317.06(D), (E) and (F) author-
izes the provision of such services as speech
and hearing diagnosis, physician, nursing,
dental and optometric services and psychologi-
cal diagnosis, to take place in the nonpublic
schools. The statute further authorizes the
local public school districts to contract
with the state department of public health in
order to provide such services to the pupils
attending the nonpublic schools. The parties

Al8

have stipulated that the purpose of these ser-
vices is to determine if nonpublic pupils are
deficient or in need of assistance in these
areas.

Administratively, nonpublic school per-
sonnel will participate in the program only
insofar as their cooperation is necessary to
schedule, provide space and, in some instances,
identify children in need of such diagnostic
services. The personnel actually providing
the diagnostic and health services, however,
are employed by the public board of education,
are under its control, and subject to periodic
inspection by their supervisors solely for
determination as to whether the service per-
sonnel are engaged in the proper performance
of their diagnosis of health problems.

The Supreme Court in Meek v. Pittenger,
supra, 421 US. 349, held that Pennsylvania's
auxiliary services act, which provided on the
nonpublic premises remedial and accelerated
instruction, guidance counseling and testing,
and speech and hearing services, violated the
Establishment Clause since excessive entangle-
ment would be required for the state to assure
that the professional staff members providing
such services do not advance the religious
mission of the nonpublic school. The Court
did not hold, however, that such programs may
never be extended to nonpublic schoolchildren.

The appellants do not challenge,
and we do not question, the author-
ity of the Pennsylvania General
Assembly to make free auxiliary
services available to all students

Al9

in the Commonwealth, including
those who attend church-related
schools.

7 v. Pitten 554) sypra, 421 U.S. at 368 n.17
Temphasis supp e Court focused upon
the academic a Ba of the remedial ser-
vices provided in the Pennsylvania statute,
and found that the personnel providing the
auxiliary services were, for the most part,
teachers. 421 U.S. at 370. Because the ser-
vices in that case were to be provided on the
nonpublic school premises, the Court found
that the program was constitutionally indis-
tinguishable from those found to be unconsti-

tutional in Lemon v. Kurtzman, supra, 403 U.S.
602.

Accordingly, §3317.06 O.R.C. distinguish-
es diagnostic and health services that are con-
cerned with the detection of health problems.
on the one hand, and treatment services that
are concerned with the remedy of those pro-
blems on the other. The former are provided,

SBut see Meek v. Pittenger, 421 U.S. at 369

[footnote omitted]:

We need not decide whether substan-
tial state expenditures to enrich
the curricula of church-related ele-
mentary and secondary schools, like
the expenditure of state funds to
support the basic educational pro-
gram of those schools, necessarily
result in the direct and substantial
advancement of religious activity.

:
'
'
'

A20

pursuant to the statute, on the nonpublic
school premises, but the latter are not.

l. Physician, nursing, dental and opto-~
metric services. The plaintiffs in this action
do not challenge this provision, and the Su-
preme Court has repeatedly stated that the
states may constitutionally provide public
health and welfare benefits to all of their
young citizens, ee ee gee
nonpublic schools. Meek v. Pi nee ’ pra,

421 U.S. at 371 n.21; Lemon v. Kurtzman, supra,
403 U.S. at 616-17. This Court is o

opinion that the provision of these narrow
health programs on the premises of the non-
public school neither has the primary effect
of advancing the religious mission of those
schools nor involves the personnel providing
such services in an excessively entangling
relationship with those schools.

2. Speech and Hearing Diagnosis. The
Supreme Court in Meek held Pennsy van a's |
auxiliary services act unconstitutional in its
entirety, but indicated that it would have up-
held the constitutionality of certain of the
provisions of that act had severance been
appropriate:

[The Act's] authorization of “speech
and hearing services,” at least to

the extent such services are diagnos-
tic, seems to fall within that class
of general welfare services for child-
ren that may be provided by the State
regardless of the incidental benefit
that accrues to church-related schools.

421 U.S. at 371 n.21.

A 21

In their stipulations, the parties de-
scribe the functions of the speech and hear-
ing diagnostic staff to include identification
of those children suffering speech and hearing
handicaps and referral of such children to
therapists for treatment. The duties of these
specialists include cooperation with medical
personnel in developing an appropriate pro-
gram for each such handicapped child.

The plaintiffs challenge this provision
on the grounds that speech and hearing dianos-
tic services, like the remedial services found
to be unconstitutional in Meek, provide no
guarantee that religious doctrine will not
become intertwined with secular services.
Plaintiffs apparently believe that this con-
clusion necessarily results from the personal
communication that must take place between
the diagnostic speech and hearing specialist
and the nonpublic school child.

While this Court agrees with plaintiffs
that communication must almost inevitably take
place when a child's speech and hearing abil-
ities are tested, this Court disagrees with

- plaintiffs that such communication presents

the dangers envisioned by them. To say that
health services -- which the Supreme Court

has consistently held to be within the realm
of permissible state aid -- must be conducted
in silence in order to meet all constitution-
al objections strikes this Court as beyond the
reach of reason. Plaintiffs make no challenge
to the provision of medical, dental, nursing

or orthopedic services to pupils attending non-
public schools, yet oral communication between

A22

idi d the
those persons providing such services an
pec, 9 pupil takes place just as ——o.
as it takes place during the process of speec

and hearing diagnosis.

This Court is therefore of the opinion
that the statute is constitutional insofar as
it authorizes the provision of speech and hear-
ing diagnosis to take place on the premises of
the nonpublic school.

3. Diagnostic psycho"e ical services.
tions of the fasasitic psychologi

poe Bg oe 2 identification through recog~
nized professional methods of children —
ing from psychological problems, and referral
of children requiring treatment to the we
peutic psychological staff for treatment oO
the premises of the nonpublic school. Plain-
tiffs challenge this program, arguing that
such services give rise to at least the —
objections as did the remedial programs hel
unconstitutional in Meek.

It is, no doubt, true that psycholog-
ical diagnosis may involve an element of sub-
jectivity not necessarily involved in speech
and hearing diagnosis or in other medical ser-
vices, yet this Court perceives a significant
distinction between psychological diagnosis
and psychological treatment. Psychological
treatment would ideally involve an ongoing
relationship with the particular child and
would attempt to deal with the child in the
context of his entire environment, including
his educational environment, thus giving rise
to the dangers articulated in Meek. Psycho-
logical diagnosis, on the other hand,

A23

requires only relatively limited contact with
the child, and the procedures employed during
such contact are more easily governed by ob-
jective and professional testing methods dir-
ected, not toward the ultimate rehabilitation
of the child, but toward isolating profess-
ionally recognized symptoms.

The Supreme Court in Meek addressed it-
self to the problems raised by the presence
of personnel whose functions were perceived to
be essentially pedagogical. The danger aris-
ing from the presence of teachers in the non-
public environment stems from the nature of
the functions performed by those teachers:

In terms of potential for involving
some aspect of faith or morals in
secular subjects, a textbook's con-
tent is ascertainable, but a teacher's
handling of a subject is not.

Lemon v. Kurtzman, supra, 403 U.S. at 617.
Diagnostic services att fer markedly from teach-
ing services in that the ongoing and at times
unpredictable communication between the pupil

.and the teacher is not present in the diagnos-

tic process directed toward the isolation of
particular professionally recognized symptoms

of physical or mental difficulties present in
a child.

Accordingly, in the view of this Court,
the primary beneficiaries of such programs are
the children attending the nonpublic schools
and the objections perceived by the Supreme
Court in Meek as presented by the remedial pro-
grams authorized by the Pennsylvania legisla-
tion are not presented by Ohio's programs

. nes a ane eee

A 24

thorizing only narrow forms of health diagno-~
sta and aalekaahe Such programs do not present
the necessity for entangling supervision of the
personnel providing the services since, by vir-
tue of the nature of such services, there
exists no real likelihood that the professional

staff providing such services will advance the

religious mission of the schools in which they
serve.

D. Therapeutic and Remedial Services

Section 3317.06(G), (H), (I) and (K)
O.R.C: authorizes the provision of therapeu-
tic psychological, speech and hearing services,
guidance and counseling services, remedial ser-
vices and programs for deaf, blind, emotional-
ly disturbed, crippled and physically handi-
capped children attending nonpublic schools.
Such services are to be provided off the non-
public school premises and in public schools,

- public centers or in mobile units, as deter-

mined by the state pen eo ema + Rage ronnce pcan
ther ersonnel providing such serv
ane be conbenene of the local board of educa-
tion or under contract with the state depart-
ment of health. According to the stipulations
of the parties, the determination of the pre~
cise location of such services would depend up-
on such factors as distance, transportation
safety and adequacy of accommodations in pub-
lic schools and centers. Finally, the statute
authorizes transportation to public schools or
centers when necessary.

The stipulations define "public center"
to include libraries, public meeting halls,

A25

firehouses, or recreation centers. It is fur-
ther expected that when such services are pro-
vided in mobile units parked off nonpublic
school premises, pupils requiring the services
authorized by the statute will be treated on
an individual basis or with a small group of
students having similar problems.

Nonpublic school personnel will be in-
volved in the operation of the programs only
insofar as it is necessary to coordinate sched-
uling and, in some instances, to identify the
children in need of such specialized services.

The Supreme Court in Meek characterized
the nature of the duties of the professionals
administering these remedial and rehabilitive
services to nonpublic schoolchildren as essen-
tially pedagogical and therefore susceptible
to religious influence when conducted in the
nonpublic schools. Section 3317.06 O.R.Cc.
therefore authorizes the provision of these
remedial services to nonpublic schoolchildren
only off the premises of the nonpublic schools.

Plaintiffs argue that this section of the

. Statute fails to meet the constitutional test

of validity in that, although the statute re-
quires that the services be provided off the
nonpublic premises, there is no assurance that
either the public centers or the mobile units
will be truly disassociated from the nonpublic
schools. Plaintiffs envision creation of
"public centers" in name only but in reality
created and conducted solely for the benefit
of a parochial constituency.

As this Court views the legislative pro-
gram, the statute authorizes the provision of

i ces es

ars

ae ee EEE ©

A26

remedial and therapeutic services within the
public schools -- presumably the same physical
location of similar services provided to pub-
lic schoolchildren. However, recognizing that
the physical logistics of transporting and
servicing nonpublic schoolchildren may, in
some instances, preclude the provision of
those services in the public schools, the
General Assembly has, wisely, given to the
state department of education the flexibility
necessary in making these services available
to all nonpublic schoolchildren under all cir-
cumstances. Yet the clear import of the sta~
tute on its face is that such services are to
take place on sites neither physically nor
educationally identified with the functions

of the nonpublic school. Just as the statute
provides no authorization for the construction
of buildings, the statute on its face provides
no authority for the creation of centers or
mobile units public in name and financing but
private in every other substantive respect.

Plaintiffs further arjue that because
it is anticipated that mobile units will serve
only nonpublic schoolchildren when so assign-
ed and because public centers could conceiv-
ably be made available to nonpublic school-
children for purposes different from those for
which the center is made available to public
schoolchildren, a direct aid to religion is
the necessary result of the operation of the
statute. In this argument plaintiffs are
splitting a very fine hair.

In the view of this Court, a requirement
that the facilities in which remedial and
therapeutic services are provided to nonpublic

A27

schoolchildren must remain -- both formally as
well as substantively -- public facilities,
does not require that those facilities be used
at all times and under all circumstances in
precisely the same manner with respect to both
public and nonpublic schoolchildren. Most pub-
lic school pupils are provided remedial and
therapeutic services by the state in the

school which they attend. Once it is recog-
nized, which it must be, that the public schools
may not under all circumstances be available

to nonpublic schoolchildren for remedial and
therapeutic services, it must be recognized
that if nonpublic schoolchildren are to receive
such services at all, those services will un-
der some circumstances be made available to
them in a manner not precisely identical to
that in which pusese schoolchildren receive
such services.

The Court also notes that, according to
the stipulations of the parties, it is ancici-
pated that personnel providing therapeutic and
remedial services will, under some circum-
stances, be required to deal with the child's
regular classroom teachers. Such an arrange-

.ment raises, at first glance, the specter of

entanglement that could prove fatal to the pro-
grams. However, because the services are to
be provided outside the nonpublic school, it
cannot be said that the religious atmosphere

6In Wheeler v. Barrera, 417 U.S. 402 (1974)

the Supreme Court seemed to imply by way of
dictum that states may provide to nonpublic
schoolchildren services that are comparable,
although not identical, to those provided to
public schoolchildren.

TS rere oo

a

A8

of the nonpublic school will foster the risk

of even unconscious injection of religion into
the services found to be objectionable in Meek.
Thus there exists no need for entangling super-
vision in order to ensure that the remedial

and therapeutic personnel do not advance the
religious mission of the schools attended by
the nonpublic schoolchildren served.

Further, and perhaps more importantly,
if any such remedial and therapeutic service
is ever to be effective, it should ideally
serve the child in the context of his tota
envirénment, including his educational environ-
ment. Thus, to say that such services are
unconstitutional because the personnel provid-
ing such services must encounter the child's
nonpublic school teacher is to say that non-
public schoolchildren may never receive effec-
tive state supported remedial and therapeutic

services.

The Supreme Court in Meek did not ques~
tion the state's authority to provide such aid
to its young citizens, but found objectionable
only the mechanics of the Pennsylvania statute,
whereby the services were to be provided in
the nonpublic school. Ohio's statute removes
those services from the nonpublic school's
“atmosphere dedicated to the advancement of
religious belief" and this Court concludes
that Ohio's remedial and therapeutic programs
meet the constitutional objections articulated
in Meek. The primary beneficiaries of the pro-
grams are unquestionably the children who are
in need of such services and the administra-
tion of the program is not likely to foster an
excessive governmental entanglement with the
nonpublic schools attended by those children.

A29

E. Standardized Testing and Scoring Services

Section 3317.06(J) O.R.C. authorizes the
local school districts throughout the State of
Ohio to supply for use by nonpublic school-
children within the district such standard-
ized tests and scoring services as are in use
in the public schools of the state. Such
tests, according to the stipulations provided
by the parties, are used to measure the pro-
gress of all students in secular subjects.

The Supreme Court in Levitt v. Committee

for Public Education, 413 U.S. 472 (1573),

held unconstitutional a New York statute
authorizing reimbursement to nonpublic schools
for such state mandated services as the main-
tenance of a regular program of traditional
internal testing. The Court, through Mr. Chief
Justice Burger, perceived in the program the
oo Mh nag examinations, prepared by
eachers under the authority of religious in-
stitutions, GIT bs dratted vith an ove. un-
consciously or otherwise, to inculcate students
in the religious precepts of the sponsoring
church." 413 U.S. at 480 [emphasis supplied] .’

Unlike the testing program invalidated
in Levitt, the program authorized by the Ohio

7The Court in Levitt also noted that the New
York statute provided direct money grants to
nonpublic schools, yet provided no means of

assuring that the money would not be used for

sectarian, as opposed to secular, purposes.
413 U.S. at 477. weer

A30

statute does not involve tests prepared by non-

public school teachers, and therefore cannot re~

sult in the danger of inadvertant religious in-
doctrination. Rather, the Ohio statute author-
izes the provision of only those same tests and
scoring services as are provided in the public
schools of the local district. The content of
such tests, then, is necessarily and without
further precaution restricted to the secular
content of the state-required secular courses
taught in the nonpublic schools. Since non-
public school personnel are involved in nei-
ther the substantive drafting of the tests nor
in the ‘scoring of those tests, there is no
possibility of inadvertant injection of reli-
gious doctrine in the administration of the
tests. Likewise, because nonpublic school per-
sonnel will be involved only ministerially in
the administration of the tests, the program
will not foster an excessive entangling rela-
tionship between the state and the church-

related school.

This Court is therefore of the opinion
that the testing and scoring services author-
ized by the statute are constitutional.

F. Field Trip Transportation

Section 3317.06(L) O.R.C. authorizes the
local public school districts to provide to
nonpublic schoolchildren such field trip trans-
portation and services as are provided to pub-
lic school students within the district. The
statute further authorizes the local school
districts to contract with commercial trans-
portation companies for the service if school
district buses are unavailable. The stipula-
tions of the parties indicate that, under the

A3l

statute, transportation would be provided for
student visits to governmental, industrial,
cultural and scientific centers designed to

enrich the secular studies of no bli -
ne t+ only npublic school

Plaintiffs argue that to the extent that
field trip transportation relates to specific
aspects of the parochial school's educational
programs, the program cannot withstand consti-
tutional scrutiny.

The Supreme Court in Fverson v. Board
of Education, 330 U.S, 1 (1547), upheld a New
Jersey statute providing bus transportation to
nonpublic schoolchildren, although the Court
recognized that the state's provision of such
services may have facilitated attendance at
nonpublic schools. 330 U.S. at 17. The inci-
dental benefit to the nonpublic schools was
thought in that case not to render the program
unconstitutional. This Court is unable to
distinguish in a significant manner the con-
stitutional provision to nonpublic schoolchild-
ren of bus transportation on a daily basis
from the provision of transportation on an
occasional basis. Both may be seen to confer

an indirect benefit upon the nonpublic school

in the sense that the statute may render at-
tendance at the nonpublic school somewhat more
attractive to certain parents, but that in-
direct benefit upon the nonpublic school was
not held to be determinative of the constitu-
tionality of such programs in Everson.

Further, the administrative entangle-
ment between public and nonpublic personnel

“a4

—_—_—

A32

would not be significantly greater under the
Ohio field trip program than under the pro-
gram upheld in Everson, since only simple
scheduling of the transportation services
would be required. Because the statute specif-
ically authorizes the local public schools to
contract for transportation services where
necessary to accomodate all scheduled field
trips, this Court can perceive no danger that
scheduling conflicts would pressure the public
schools into subordinating their program
schedules to accommodate those of the nonpub-
lic schools.

This Court therefore concludes that the
field trip transportation program authorized
by §3317.06(L) O.R.C. is constitutional.

V

This Court concludes that §3317.06 O.R.C.
is on its face constitutional. The principal
or primary effect of the statute is to make
available to all students within the State of
Ohio, both public and nonpublic, certain limit-
ed and inherently secular services and mater-
ials. Likewise, this Court does not believe
that the statute will foster excessive govern-
mental entanglement, either administrative or
political. The amount of aid appropriated by
the Ohio General Assembly to effectuate all of
the programs authorized by §3317.06 O.R.C. is
substantial, averaging approximately $176.00
per nonpublic pupil per year. But because
this Court can perceive no substantive consti-
tutional objection to either the nature or the
form of the programs authorized, this Court
can perceive no constitutionally significant

A33

distinction between a little bit of secular
aid and a lot of secular aid. The statute
authorizes no transfer of money to the non-
public schools and the guidelines promulgated
for the implementation of the program provide
that funds unencumbered and unexpended for the
authorized purposes at the close of the second
year of the biennium are to be returned to the
state treasurer. Surely, if the quality of the
aid extended by the state to its citizens pre-
sents no constitutional objection, then the
quantity of that aid must be likewise unobjec-
tionable.

Finally, although the programs author-
ized by the statute are dependent upon perio-
dic appropriations, it is the conclusion of
this Court that the potentially divisive poli-
tical effect of the programs is minimal. The
statute on its face provides services and
materials to students attending nonpublic
schools only to the extent that those services
and materials are already available to child-
ren attending public schools. Additionally,
the services and materials provided to stu-
dents in nonpublic schools cannot exceed in
cost or quality the services provided to stu-
dents attending public schools. Therefore,
this statute merely extends already existing
programs to all students in Ohio. Since the
services and materials provided under the sta-
tute may not exceed in cost or quality those
provided to public schoolchildren, any poli-
tical debate would, in the view of this Court,
most likely relate to the need for and the
merits of providing such services and mater-
ials to pupils in general rather than to those
attending nonpublic schools in particular.

A34

STATUTE INVOLVED

Ohio Revised Code §3317.06

- fas enacted in
Amended Substitute Senate Bill 170

(SB 170)]

**?* 7s 2

Sec. 3317.06. MONEYS PAID TO SCHOOL DISTRICTS
UNDER DIVISION (P) OF SECTION 3317.024 OF THE REVISED
CODE SHALL BE USED FOR THE FOLLOWING INDEPEN-
DENT AND FULLY SEVERABLE PURPOSES:

(A) TO PURCHASE SUCH SECULAR TEXTBOOKS AS
HAVE BEEN APPROVED BY THE SUPERINTENDENT OF
PUBLIC INSTRUCTION FOR USE IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS IN
THE STATE AND TO LOAN SUCH TEXTBOOKS TO PUPILS
ATTENDING NONPUBLIC SCHOOLS WITHIN THE DISTRICT
OR TO THEIR PARENTS. SUCH LOANS SHALL BE BASED

A35

UPON INDIVIDUAL REQUESTS SUBMITTED BY SUCH NON-
PUBLIC SCHOOL PUPILS OR PARENTS. SUCH REQUESTS
SHALL BE SUBMITTED TO THE LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOL
DISTRICT IN WHICH THE NONPUBLIC SCHOOL IS LOCATED.
SUCH INDIVIDUAL REQUESTS FOR THE LOAN OF TEXT-
BOOKS SHALL, FOR ADMINISTRATIVE CONVENIENCE, BE
SUBMITTED BY THE NONPUBLIC SCHOOL PUPIL OR HIS
PARENT TO THE NONPUBLIC SCHOOL WHICH SHALL PRE-
PARE AND SUBMIT COLLECTIVE SUMMARIES OF THE INDI-
VIDUAL REQUESTS TO THE LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOL DIS-
TRICT. AS USED IN THIS SECTION, “TEXTBOOK” MEANS
ANY BOOK OR BOOK SUBSTITUTE WHICH A PUPIL USES AS
A TEXT OR TEXT SUBSTITUTE IN A PARTICULAR CLASS
OR PROGRAM IN THE SCHOOL HE REGULARLY ATTENDS.

(B) TO PURCHASE AND TO LOAN TO PUPILS ATTEND-
ING NONPUBLIC SCHOOLS WITHIN THE DISTRICT OR TO
THEIR PARENTS UPON INDIVIDUAL REQUEST, SUCH SECU-
re Mo ge AND NONIDEOLOGICAL INSTRUCTIONAL
MATERIALS AS ARE IN USE IN THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS
WITHIN THE DISTRICT AND WHICH ARE INCAPARLE OF
DIVERSION TO RELIGIOUS USE AND TO HIRE CLERICAL
PERSONNEL TO ADMINISTER SUCH LENDING PROGRAM.

(C) TO PURCHASE AND TO LOAN TO PUPILS ATTEND-
ING NONPUBLIC SCHOOLS WITHIN THE DISTRICT OR TO
THEIR PARENTS, UPON INDIVIDUAL REQUEST, SUCH SECU-
LAR, NEUTRAL AND NONIDEOLOGICAL INSTRUCTIONAL
EQUIPMENT AS IS IN USE IN THE PUBLIC SCHOOL WITHIN
THE DISTRICT AND WHICH IS INCAPABLE OF DIVERSION
TO RELIGIOUS USE AND TO HIRE CLERICAL PERSONNEL
TO ADMINISTER SUCH LENDING PROGRAM.

(D) TO PROVIDE SPEECH AND HEARING DIAGNOSTIC
SERVICES TO PUPILS ATTENDING NONPUBLIC SCHOOLS

. WITHIN THE DISTRICT. SUCH SERVICE SHALL BE PRO-

VIDED IN THE NONPUBLIC SCHOOL ATTENDED BY THE
PUPIL RECEIVING THE SERVICE.

(E) TO PROVIDE PHYSICIAN, NURSING, DENTAL, AND
OPTOMETRIC SERVICES TO PUPILS ATTENDING NONPUB-
LIC SCHOOLS WITHIN THE DISTRICT. SUCH SERVICES
SHALL BE PROVIDED IN THE SCHOOL ATTENDED BY THE
NONPUBLIC SCHOOL PUPIL RECEIVING THE SERVICE.

(F) TO PROVIDE DIAGNOSTIC PSYCHOLOGICAL SF
VICES TO PUPILS ATTENDING NONPUBLIC SCHOOL.,
WITHIN THE DISTRICT. SUCH SERVICES SHALL BE PRO-
VIDED IN THE SCHOOL ATTENDED BY THE PUPIL RECEIV-
ING THE SERVICE.

(G) TO PROVIDE THERAPEUTIC PSYCHOLOGICAL
AND SPEECH AND HEARING SERVICES TO PUPILS AT-
TENDING NONPUBLIC SCHOOLS WITHIN THE DISTRICT.

EE

~ a ee ee ee gy ee

A36

SUCH SERVICES SHALL BE PROVIDED IN THE PUBLIC
SCHOOL, IN PUBLIC CENTERS, OR IN MOBILE UNITS LO-
CATED OFF OF THE NONPUBLIC PREMISES AS DETER-
MINED BY THE STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION. IF
SUCH SERVICES ARE PROVIDED IN THE PUBLIC SCHOOL
OR IN PUBLIC CENTERS, TRANSPORTATION TO AND FROM
SUCH FACILITIES SHALL BE PROVIDED BY THE PUBLIC
—- IN WHICH THE NONPUBLIC SCHOOL IS

(H) TO PROVIDE GUIDANCE AND COUNSELING SER-
VICES TO PUPILS ATTENDING NONPUBLIC SCHOOLS
WITHIN THE DISTRICT. SUCH SERVICES SHALL BE PRO-
VIDED IN THE PUBLIC SCHOOL, IN PUBLIC CENTERS, OR
IN MOBILE UNITS LOCATED OFF OF THE NONPUBLIC
PREMISES AS DETERMINED BY THE STATE DEPARTMENT
OF EDUCATION. IF SUCH SERVICES ARF PROVIDED IN THE
PUBLIC SCHOOL OR IN PUBLIC CENTERS, TRANSPORTA-
TION TO AND FROM SUCH FACILITIES SITALL BE PRO-
VIDED BY THE PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT IN WHICH THE
NONPUBLIC SCHOOL IS LOCATED.

(I) TO PROVIDE REMEDIAL SERVICES TO PUPILS AT-
TENDING NONPUBLIC SCHOOLS WITHIN THE DISTRICT.
SUCH SERVICES SHALL BE PROVIDED IN THE PUBLIC
SCHOOL, IN PUBLIC CENTERS, OR IN MOBILE UNITS LO-
CATED OFF OF THE NONPUBLIC PREMISES AS DETER-
MINED BY THE STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION. IF
SUCH SERVICES ARE PROVIDED IN THE PUBLIC SCHOOL
OR IN PUBLIC CENTERS, TRANSPORTATION TO AND FROM
SUCH FACILITIES SHALL BE PROVIDED BY THE PUBLIC
a IN WHICH THE NONPUBLIC SCHOOL IS

(J) TOSUPP! Y FOR USE BY PUPILS ATTENDING NON-
PUBLIC SCHOOL’ WITHIN THE DISTRICT SUCH STAN-
DARDIZED TESTS AND SCORING SERVICES AS ARE IN USE
IN THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS OF THE STATE.

(K) TO PROVIDE PROGRAMS FOR THE DEAF, BLIND,
EMOTIONALLY DISTURBED, CRIPPLED, AND PHYSI-
CALLY HANDICAPPED CHILDREN ATTENDING NONPUBLIC
SCHOOLS WITHIN THE DISTRICT. SUCH SERVICES SHALL
BE PROVIDED IN THE PUBLIC SCHOOL, IN PUBLIC CEN-
TERS, OR IN MOBILE UNITS LOCATED OFF OF THE NON-
PUBLIC PREMISES AS DETERMINED BY THE STATE DE-
PARTMENT OF EDUCATION. IF SUCH SERVICES ARE PRO-
VIDED IN THE PUBLIC SCHOOL OR IN PUBLIC CENTERS,
TRANSPORTATION TO AND FROM SUCH FACILITIES SHALL
.BE PROVIDED BY THE PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT IN WHICH
THE NONPUBLIC SCHOOL IS LOCATED.

(L) TO PROVIDE SUCH FIELD TRIP TRANSPORTATION

A37

AND SERVICES TO NONPUBLiC SCHOOL STUDENTS AS ARE
PROVIDED TO PUBLIC SCH“OL STUDENTS IN THE DIS-
TRICT. SCHOOL DISTRICTS MAY CONTRACT WITH COMMER-
CIAL TRANSPORTATION COMPANIES FOR SUCH TRANS-

PORTATION SERVICE IF SCHOOL RIC
UNAVAILABLE. DISTRICT BUSSES ARE

HEALTH SERVICES PROVIDED PURSUANT TO DIVI-
PQUISRD Uuie RACE Rink hs SEAS BEALE
, ITH THE STATE DEPART-

MENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH. cage

TRANSPORTATION OF PUPILS PROVIDED PURSUANT
TO DIVISIONS (G), (H), (I), AND (K) OF THIS SECTION
SHALL BE PROVIDED BY THE PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT
FROM ITS GENERAL FUNDS AND NOT FROM MONEYS PAID

TO IT UNDER DIVISION (P) OF SECTION 3317. .
REVISED CODE. (P) TION 3317.024 OF THE

THE DUTIES OF CLERICAL PERSONNEL, HIRED PUR-
SUANT TO DIVISIONS (B) AND (C) OF THIS SECTION,
SHALL INCLUDE DISTRIBUTION OF LOAN REQUEST FORMS,
RECEIPT AND CATALOGING OF LOAN REQUESTS, INVEN-
TORY OF INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS AND INSTRUC-
TIONAL EQUIPMENT, DISTRIBUTION OF INSTRUCTIONAL
MATERIALS AND INSTRUCTIONAL EQUIPMENT TO PUPILS
OR THEIR PARENTS, RETRIEVAL OF SUCH INSTRUCTIONAL
MATERIALS AND INSTRUCTIONAL EQUIPMENT, AND MAIN-
TAINING CUSTODY AND STORAGE OF THESE ITEMS. THE
INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIAL AND INSTRUCTIONAL EQUIP-
MENT AUTHORIZED TO BE LOANED PURSUANT TO DIVI-
SIONS (B) AND (C) OF THIS SECTION MAY BE STORED ON
THE PREMISES OF THE NONPUBLIC SCHOOL OF ATTEN-
DANCE AND THE CLERICAL PERSONNEL HIRED FOR AD-
MINISTRATION OF THE LENDING PROGRAM MAY PERFORM
THEIR SERVICES UPON THE PREMISES OF THE NONPUB-
LIC SCHOOL WHEN IN THE DETERMINATION OF THE
cu ADDRAORTATE FOn ere IT IS NECESSARY

3 “ICIENT IMPLEMENTATI j
THE LENDING PROGRAM. siete

NO SCHOOL DISTRICT SHALL PROVIDE HEALTH OR
REMEDIAL SERVICES TO NONPUBLIC SCHOOL PUPILS AS
AUTHORIZED BY THIS SECTION UNLESS SUCH SERVICES
ARE AVAILABLE TO PUPILS ATTENDING THE PUBLIC
SCHOOLS WITHIN THE DISTRICT.

HEALTH AND REMEDIAL SERVICES AND INSTRUC-
TIONAL MATERIALS AND EQUIPMENT PROVIDED FOR THE
BENEFIT OF NONPUBLIC SCHOOL PUPILS PURSUANT TO
THIS SECTION AND THE ADMISSION OF PUPILS TO SUCH
NONPUBLIC SCHOOLS SHALL BE PROVIDED WITHOUT DIS-
TINCTION AS TO RACE, CREED, COLOR, OR NATIONAL ORI-
GIN OF SUCH PUPILS OR OF THEIR TEACHERS. NO IN-

A

-_. ——_ se Pe oe eee, ee
Fa, “es

Caer Sar aha

A38

STRUCTIONAL MATERIALS OR INSTRUCTIONAL EQUIP-
MENT SHALL BE LOANED TO PUPILS IN NONPUBLIC
SCHOOLS OR THEIR PARENTS UNLESS SIMILAR INSTRUC-
TIONAL MATERIALS OR INSTRUCTIONAL EQUIPMENT ARE
AVAILABLE FOR PUPILS IN THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS OF THE
SCHOOL DISTRICT.

NO SCHOOL DISTRICT SHALL PROVIDE SERVICES, MA-
TERIALS, OR EQUIPMENT FOR USE IN RELIGIOUS COURSES,
DEVOTIONAL EXERCISES, RELIGIOUS TRAINING, OR ANY
OTHER RELIGIOUS ACTIVITY.

AS USED IN THIS SECTION, “PARENT” INCLUDES A
PERSON STANDING IN LOCO PARENTIS TO A CHILD.

NOTWITHSTANDING SECTION 3317.01 OF THE REVISED
CODE, PAYMENTS SHALL BE MADE UNDER THIS SECTION
TO ANY CITY, LOCAL, OR EXEMPTED VILLAGE SCHOOL
DISTRICT WITHIN WHICH IS LOCATED ONE OR MORE NON-
PUBLIC ELEMENTARY OR HIGH SCHOOLS.

THE ALLOCATION OF PAYMENTS FOR TEXTBOOKS, IN-
STRUCTIONAL MATERIALS, INSTRUCTIONAL EQUIPMENT,
HEALTH SERVICES, AND REMEDIAL SERVICES TO CITY,
LOCAL, AND EXEMPTED VILLAGE SCHOOL DISTRICTS
SHALL BE ON THE BASIS OF THE STATE BOARD OF EDU-
CATION’S ESTIMATED ANNUAL AVERAGE DAILY MEMBER-
SHIP IN NONPUBLIC ELEMENTARY AND HIGH SCHOOLS
LOCATED IN THE DISTRICT.

PAYMENTS MADE TO CITY, LOCAL, AND EXEMPTED
VILLAGE SCHOOL DISTRICTS UNDER THIS SECTION SHALL
SUNPOSE. TO SPECIFIC APPROPRIATIONS MADE FOR THE

THE STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION MAY ADOPT
GUIDELINES AND PROCEDURES UNDER WHICH SUCH PRO-
GRAMS AND SERVICES SHALL BE PROVIDED AND UNDER
WHICH DISTRICTS SHALL BE REIMBURSED FOR ADMINIS-
TRATIVE COSTS INCURRED IN PROVIDING SUCH PR0O-
GRAMS AND SERVICES.

FUNDS DISTRIBUTED PURSUANT TO THIS SECTION
SHALL NOT EXCEED SPECIFIC APPROPRIATIONS MADE
THEREFOR BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY, UNLESS EX-
PRESSLY APPROVED BY THE EMERGENCY BOARD OR THE
CONTROLLING BOARD.

[End of §3317. 06]

A39

NOTICE OF APPEAL

IN THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

No. C=2-75-792

BENSON A. WOLMAN, et al,

Plaintiffs,
-VS.-

MARTIN W. ESSEX, et al,

Defendants.

Notice is hereby given that Benson
A. Wolman, Frederick Chambers, Patricia
J. Keenan, Barbara Kaye Besser, Nancy R.
Terjesen and Marjorie Wright, plaintiffs
herein, hereby appeal to the Supreme
Court of the United States from the fi-
nal judgment and order declaring Ohio
Revised Code Section 3317.06 to be con-
stitutional, refusing to enjoin said
statute and dismissing the complaint,
entered in this action on July 21,1976.

4 ’ Boat

A40

This appeal is taken pursuant to Title
28, United States Coue Section 1253.

JOSHUA J. KANCELBAUM

2121 The Illuminating Bldg.
Cleveland,Ohio 44113

(216) 781-5245

Counsel for Plaintiffs

On Behalf of the American

Civil Liberties Union of
Of Counsel: Ohio Foundation, Inc.

Donald M. Robiner
1700 Investment Plaza
Cleveland, Ohio 44114
(216) 696-4666

Clyde Ellis

American Civil Liberties Union
of Ohio Foundation, Inc.

203 East Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 228-8951

Nelson Karl

American Civil Liberties Union
of Ohio Foundation, Inc.

203 East Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 228-8951

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0720%3A01. Public record. Not legal advice.
