# Jurisdictional Statement — New Castle-Gunning Bedford School Dist. v. Evans

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0701%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Jurisdictional Statement
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 973

## Text

eS ae
FILED |

“co.; | er4 me

MICHAEL RODAK, 2, CLE

— Court of “the United States

October Term, 1976.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT.

Davip F. ANDERSON,
Porren ANDERSON & CORROON,
350 Delaware Trust Building,
P. O. Box 951,
Wilmington, Delaware. 19899

Attorneys for New Castle-
Sere vn Sener
District, Appellant.

international Printing Co., 711 So. GO Gt, Phile., Pa. 19143 — Tel. (215) 727-8711

THE Questions RAIsep BY THIs APPEAL ARE SUBSTANTIAL ...

I.

Il.

Ill.

There Is No Constitutional Violation on Which to
Predicate Interdistrict Relief ..................-.

A. Wilmington Had Achieved Full Compliance With
BNET cccdnccccccvocsccosccconseccsveedins

De BE, soc kccccdnceecéccasencccccescscs

a. Use of the Compelling State Interest Test

b. Causing Interdistrict Segregation .......

c. Drawing or Redrawing School Boundaries
Inclusion of New Castle-Gunning Bedford School
District in the Desegregation Area Exceeded the
District Court’s Authority Under the Decisions of
We GE cnedndendeseseertssesedecnnssevaces
The Use of Racial Quotas and the Restructuring of
More Than Half the Educational System of Dela-
ware Exceeded the District Court's Authortiy .....

SE OEE TRE ne ete eee a Ee

Appenpix C—Notice of Appeal to the Supreme Court of the
SY ccc nnkncosensavceseadeninsenseaseweons

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

Cases: Page
Bradley v. School Board of the City of Richmond, 462 F. 2d
1058 (4th Cir., 1972), affd by equally divided court, 412

i Tee Ee CE 00 hee sed ccdbdsecudacnneweneneueans 13, 25
Bradley v. Milliken, 402 F. Supp. 1096 (E. D. Mich. S. D.
HEED bdecdindeakecddckcenavsbdseddeekeavecousienes 16
Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, 347 U. S. 483 (1954)
5, 8, 13, 15, 30
Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, 349 U. S. 294 (1955) 5,13
Evans v. Buchanan, 152 F. Supp. 886 (D. Del. 1957) ...... 5
Evans v. Buchanan, 256 F. 2d 688 (3rd Cir. 1958) ......... 5
Evans v. Buchanan, 172 F. Supp. 508 (D. Del. 1959) ....... 6
Evans v. Buchanan, 173 F. Supp. 891 (D. Del. 1959) ....... 6
Evans v. Buchanan, 195 F. Supp. 321 (D. Del. 1961) ....... 6
Evans v. Buchanan, 207 F. Supp. 820 (D. Del. 1962) ....... 7
Evans v. Buchanan, 379 F. Supp. 1218 (D. Del. 1974) ..... 2
Evans v. Buchanan, 393 F. Supp. 428 (D. Del. 1975) . .2, 10, 11, 17,
18, 19, 21, 23, 25, 26
Evans v. Ennis, 281 F. 2d 385 (3rd Cir. 1960) ............ 6
Gebhart v. Belton, Del. Supr., 91 A. 2d 137 (1952) ........ 5
Goss v. Board of Education of the City of Knoxville, 482 F. 2d
eee Ge EE EE Kkddeesddcnesddenusbesssesedees 15
Green v. County School Board, 391 U. S. 430 (1968) ....... 15
Hills y. Gautreaux, — U. S. —, 44 U. S. L. W. 4480 ( April 20,
SUED Uncnccdcnasedcnsidesedasuacnonneteusddeusened 27, 35
Jefferson v. Hackney, 406 U. S. 535 (1972) ............... 23
Keyes v. School District No. 1, 413 U. S. 189 (1973) ....... 23
McDaniel v. Barresi, 402 U. S. 39 (1971) ................. 5, 16
Milliken v. Bradley, 418 U. S. 717 (1974) ....... 13, 16, 17, 20, 21,
22, 25, 27, 28, 31, 35
Monroe v. Board of Commissioners, 391 U. S. 450 (1968)... 16
Raney v. Board of Education, 391 U. S. 443 (1968) ........ 15, 16

Spencer v. Kugler, 326 F. Supp. 1235 (D. N. J. 1971), affd
mem. 404 U. S. 1027 (1972) .......cccceeeeeecees 13, 25, 35

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED (Continued).

Cases (Continued) Page
Steiner v. Simmons, Del. Supr., 111 A. 2d 574 (1955) ...... 6,7
Swann v. Board of Education, 402 U. S. 1 (1971) ...... 15, 16, 17,
32, 33, 34
United States v. Scotland Neck City Board of Education, 407
i Sb A ED. cc cudnessctuehbesdootenecrebiwonts 26, 31
Washington v. Davis, — U. S. —, 44 U. S. L. W. 4789 (June
ee aéuiccnmedhcdsenscevdasesnesaedives 3, 11, 23, 25, 35
Wright v. Council of the City of Emporia, 407 U. S. 451
SEED chbgkadedenanaendseneintsnsesocsedsotecsenns 26, 31
Wright v. Rockefeller, 376 U. S. 52 (1964) ......... s iealaee 23
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions:
U. S. Constitution, Amendment XIV ...................0- 2
es EE Ce ied bennduneinddebheedeweessvsseeess 2
Delaware Constitution of 1897, Article II, Section 19 ....... 8
Delaware Constitution of 1897, Article IX, Section 1 ........ 10
Delaware Constitution of 1897, Article X, Section 2 ........ 5
ee EE cclcndancneceeoneeeeeeeesesesees 1,2
ee ED cand cnckvetchessebaséosseccenes 1,2
Ft ED pcivnns décsinnesnercesiesceses 4
ne ccddsenennpeeceesuce’ 4
23 Laws of Del., Ch. 92 (1905) ..............5. i awiy 4
OB FT Tree 4
37 Laws of Del, Ch. 908 (10G1) ........ccccccccccsccees 4
ee ee is Gs EE GED Shes eccnere ccvccvscccess 4
SS Laws of Dal, Ch. GOB (BBEB) 2. cc cccccccccccccccccess 4,8

i ata ,, a =
Pe
2 T 7 a
*
e
: .
:
7
.
.
* +
'‘ : al "
’
‘

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcroBEeR TERM, 1976.

No.

NEW CASTLE-GUNNING BEDFORD
SCHOOL DISTRICT,
Appellant,

v.

BRENDA EVANS, ET AL.,
Appellees.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT.

May It PLEASE THE Court:

The intervening defendant, New Castle-Gunning
Bedford School District, appeals from the judgment en-
tered on 15 June 1976 of the three-judge District Court for
the District of Delaware ordering the State Board of
Education to establish an interdistrict desegregation plan
and enjoining the enforcement of the Educational Ad-
vancement Act of 1968, 14 Del. C. §§ 1004(c)(2) and
1004(c)(4). A copy of the judgment is set out in Ap-
pendix B to the Jurisdictional Statement filed herein by the
appellant, Newark School District.

2 Jurisdictional Statement

OPINIONS BELOW. -

The majority and dissenting and concurring opinions
in the three-judge court for the District of Delaware are
not yet reported. They are set out in Appendix A to the
Jurisdictional Statement filed herein by the appellant,
Newark School District. The opinions on the interlocutory
judgment of the District Court ordering the parties to sub-
mit proposed interdistrict and single-district desegregation
plans for the Wilmington schools are reported at 379 F.
Supp. 1218 (D. Del. 1974) and 393 F. Supp. 428 (D. Del.
1975). An appeal from the interlocutory judgment was
taken to this Court, which summarily affirmed that judg-
ment. 423 U.S. 963 (1975).

JURISDICTION.

The judgment of the three-judge court was entered
on 15 June 1976. Appellant filed a Notice of Appeal on 6
August 1976. A copy of the Notice of Appeal is set out
in Appendix C hereto. This Court has jurisdiction pur-
suant to 28 U.S. C. § 1253.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED.

Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States:

. . No State shall make or enforce any law which
shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens
of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any
person of life, liberty, or property, without due process
of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction
the equal protection of the laws.

Educational Advancement Act of 1968, 14 Del. C. §§ 1004
(c)(2), (4):

(c) On or before March 1, 1969, the State Board

of Education shall meet and adopt a final plan of re-

Jurisdictional Statement 3

organization of school districts which it deems wise
and in the best interest of the educational system of -
this State, provided, that no plan of reorganization of

school districts shall be adopted which fails to meet
the following requirements: . . . ,

(2) Each proposed school district including more
than one component former school district shall have a
pupil enrollment of not less than 1900 nor more than
12,000 in grades one through twelve. “Pupil enroll-
ment” as used in this subsection means enrollment as
of September 30, 1968. Excluding vocational-tech-
nical districts there shall be no fewer than 20 nor more
than 25 reorganized school districts. . . .

(4) The proposed school district for the City of
Wilmington shall be the City of Wilmington with the
territory within its limits. . . .

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

1. Does a desegregated unitary city school district
which met all constitutional standards for a period of years,
become a segregated school district in violation of constitu-
tional standards merely because changing population pat-
terns within such school district, that did not occur because
of State action, resulted in black student to white student
ratios that greatly exceeded such ratios in other unitary
school district within th same county?

2. When racial enrollments do not disclose whether
schools were formerly one-race schools, has not the school
district achieved compliance with Brown?

3. Should an interdistrict remedy imposed by the
majority opinion of a three-judge District Court which is
plainly contrary to Richmond, Detroit and W ishington v.
Davis be permitted to stand undisturbed?

4. May the majority of a three-judge District Court
abolish a local governmental entity which has not been
implicated in any constitutional violation?

A
4 Jurisdictional Siatement

STATEMENT.

A system of free public schools began in Delaware
in 1829 with the adoption of “An Act for the Establishment
of Free Schools”, 7 Laws of Del. 184, which provided for
the laying out of school districts in each of the counties.
In general, each district was to be of such size that the most
remote part thereof was not more than two miles from the
center and each district was to contain a single school-
house to be located near the center of the district.

Pursuant to the 1829 statute 72 school districts were
laid out in New Castle County, 45 in Kent County and 78
in Sussex County. By 1852 there were nine united school
districts in the City of Wilmington. In that year these
separate districts were brought under the governance of a’
newly incorporated board of education designated “The
Board of Public Education in Wilmington” (10 Laws of
Del. 644). The Board of Public Education in Wilmington
historically has supervised the largest, wealthiest and most
powerful district in the state. In 1905 the boundaries of
Wilmington School District were defined by statute as
coterminous with the boundaries of the City of Wilming-
ton, including any future additions thereto, 23 Laws of
Del., Ch. 92 (1905). This explicit statutory designation in
1905 confirmed the geographic identity of Wilmington
School District and the City of Wilmington which had
existed for the preceding 50 years. Since the 1905 statute
the boundaries of Wilmington School District have con-
tinued to be the same as the boundaries of the City of
Wilmington; and the statutory provisions relating to the
geographic designation of the Wilmington School District
have been carried forward explicitly in amendments to
the school laws; 32 Laws of Del., Ch. 163 (1921), 37 Laws
of Del., Ch. 202 (1931), 55 Laws of Del., Ch. 172 (1965),
and finally in the Educational Advancement Act, 56 Laws
of Del., Ch. 292 (1968).

Jurisdictional Statement 5

A dual system of public education was mandated in
Delaware by Article X, Section 2 of the Delaware Consti-
tution of 1897. Between that date and the decision in
Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, 347 U. S. 483
(1954), the schools in the school districts of each county
were segregated by law. The challenge in Delaware to
the constitutionality of that system was mounted in Geb-
hart v. Belton, Del. Supr., 91 A. 2d 137 (1952), which
became one of the four cases decided in Brown.

Less than three months after Brown I and without
awaiting the guidelines concerning remedy which came
down in Brown II, 349 U. S. 294 (1955), the Board of
Public Education in Wilmington voted to abolish the dual
school system in Wilmington. A few months later the
State Board of Education directed all school districts in
Delaware to submit plans for the desegregation of their
districts. Wilmington desegregated its elementary schools
in 1954, its junior high schools in 1955 and its high schools
in 1956. The status quo, described in McDaniel v. Barresi,
402 U. S. 39, 41 (1971), as “the very target of all desegre-
gation processes’ was altered voluntarily, promptly and
substantially in Wilmington.

Likewise, the other school districts in New Castle
County moved promptly to admit black students into for-
merly white schools. In rural Kent and Sussex Counties,
however, change occurred more slowly and the present
lawsuit had its origins in an effort to accelerate desegrega-
tion in those counties. Evans v. Buchanan began in 1956
on the complaint of black residents of a rural school dis-
trict in Kent County. Subsequently, additional plaintiffs
intervened from other districts in Kent and Sussex
Counties and the case proceeded as a class action involv-
ing the entire state. Summary judgment for the plaintiff
was granted in 1957, Evans v. Buchanan, 152 F. Supp. 886
(D. Del. 1957), and was affirmed on appeal, 256 F. 2d 688

6 Jurisdictional Statement

(3rd Cir. 1958). In 1959 a proposed plan of integration
submitted by the State Board of Education was approved
with certain modifications,’ 172 F. Supp. 508; 173 F. Supp.
891. Plaintiffs appealed and the Court of Appeals found
that the approved plan did not effect desegregation with
sufficient speed,? Evans v. Ennis, 281 F. 2d 385 (3rd Cir.
1960). The mandate of the Court of Appeals ordered the
State Board of Education to submit a plan of approval of
the District Court which would provide:

“(A) for the integration at all grades of the
public school system at the fall term 1961, and at all
subsequent school terms, of all Negro school children
who desire integration subject to the usual processing
of the school system; and

“(B) for a ‘wholly integrated’ school system,
whereby adequate school facilities at all grades will
be provided on a racially nondiscriminatory basis.”

Pursuant to that mandate the State Board of Educa-
tion prepared a plan which was modified and approved by
the District Court in June 1961, Evans v. Buchanan, 195
F. Supp. 321 (D. Del. 1961). Part A of the approved plan
provided, beginning with the 1961 fall term, for admission
on a racially nondiscriminatory basis of all Negro children
who desired to attend white schools. This short-term
remedy, however, did not provide for dismantling the dual
systems which had earlier been described by the Delaware
Supreme Court as a “maze” of overlapping white and
colored school district boundaries, Steiner v. Simmons, Del.

1. The plan > oe by the District Court did not affect
er School District which had already integrated its

2. The Court noted, however, that Delaware “already has inte-
grated many of its schools, particularly in the Wilmington metro-
politan area.” 281 F. 2d at p. 393.

Jurisdictional Statement 7

Supr., 111 A. 2d 574, 580 (1955). Part B of the plan was
addressed to the elimination of those systems.

Part B consisted of a proposed new school code which
would eliminate Delaware’s separate colored school dis-
tricts* and establish 30 unitary districts. Significantly,
there was to be no change in the Wilmington School Dis-
trict; its boundaries were to remain coterminous with the
boundaries of the City of Wilmington just as they had for
the preceding 100 years. It was originally thought that
the consolidation of schoul districts envisaged in Part B
required legislative action; and it was stated in the plan
that the State Board of Education expected it to become
effective at or before the fall term of 1970.

The District Court approved Part B without modifica-
tion in its opinion of June 26, 1961, and in the order
entered on July 24, 1961. No parties to this suit raised
any objection to the District Court’s approval of a long-
range plan for Delaware which included the continuance
of Wilmington’s historic school boundaries.

Except for a dispute about the attendance areas in
one rural New Castle school district in 1962, Evans v.
Buchanan, 207 F. Supp. 820 (D. Del. 1962), this case
was dormant from July 24, 1961 when the District Court
approved a plan for total integration throughout the state
(including retention of Wilmington School District's his-
torical boundaries) until July 27, 1971 when the current
plaintiffs filed a petition for a supplemental order claim-
ing violation of the constitutional rights of black students
in Wilmington School District.

Although the State Board of Education had thought
legislative action was necessary to eliminate colored school
districts, it later determined that it would be feasible to

3. There were no separate colored school districts in Wilming-

ton; all schools there were under the supervision of the Board of
Public Education in Wilmington.

8 Jurisdictional Statement

achieve this result by vigorous administrative measures;
and it proceeded to do so. In the process all black stu-
dents and teachers were absorbed into the unitary districts
and by the spring of 1967 the last vestiges of the dual sys-
tem had been eliminated. At that point everyone be-
lieved that Delaware had fully complied with the require-
ments of Brown. In fact, officials of the Department of
Health, Education and Welfare singled out Delaware as
the first southern or border state which had completely
eradicated the dual system of public education.

Long before Brown I it had been recognized that
there were too many small, inefficient districts in Dela-
ware, particularly in Kent and Sussex Counties, and that
consolidation of such districts would improve the quality
of education. Bills to accomplish this were submitted to
the Delaware General Assembly in 1955, 1961 and 1963
but none were acted upon favorably. None of these bills
proposed any change in the Wilmington School District
which was then the largest district in the State.

Beginning in 1965 a serious effort was begun to pub-
licize the need for reform and to obtain the support which
was required to achieve passage of the necessary legisla-
tion. This effort culminated in passage of the Educational
Advancement Act, 56 Laws of Del., Ch. 292 (1968).

The drafters of this landmark school legislation faced
a constitutional problem by reason of the provisions of
Article II, Section 19 of the Delaware Constitution which
prohibited the General Assembly from passing any local
or special law relating to the creation or change of school
district boundaries. If the legislation were to create new
school districts and define new boundaries it was feared
that such legislation would be viewed as a collection of
local or special laws relating to the creation or change of
school district boundaries, and thus vulnerable to attack

Jurisdictional Statement i)

from the substantial portion of the populace which op-
posed the elimination of small, closely-controlled districts.
Furthermore, the actual consolidation of the districts was
primarily an administrative rather than a legislative prob-
lem. Accordingly, the format of the Educational Advance-
ment Act was to prescribe general criteria for the con-
solidation of school districts and to empower the State
Board of Education for a period of one year to consolidate
existing districts pursuant to such criteria. The statutory
criteria included requirements that existing districts not
be subdivided, that only contiguous districts be consoli-
dated, that there be not less than 20 nor more than 25
reorganized districts, that each district offer complete in-
structional programs for grades 1 through 12, and that
consolidated districts contain not less than 1,900 nor more
than 12,000 pupils in grades 1 through 12.

The act also provided that the Wilmington School
District shall be the City of Wilmington with the territory
within its limits.

The upper limit of 12,000 pupils meant that three
districts in New Castle County could not be consolidated
with contiguous districts by the State Board of Education.‘
Wilmington School District and Newark School District
each had more than 12,000 pupils and Alfred I. duPont
School District, if consolidated with any of the four dis-
tricts contiguous to it, would have exceeded the 12,000-
pupil limitation in the reorganized district.

The specific statutory reference to retention of Wil-
mington School District boundaries was consistent with

4. Other provisions in Delaware law permitted, and still permit,
consolidation of school districts, including Wilmington School Dis-
trict, by affirmative act of the districts themselves based on ref-
erenda in the involved districts. The distinctive feature of reor-
ganization under the Educational Advancement Act was that for
a period of one year districts could be consolidated by the State
Board of Education without referenda.

10 Jurisdictional Statement

all prior school legislation in Delaware since 1905. Al-
though arguably surplusage because of the 12,000-pupil
limitation the specific reference to Wilmington stemmed
from another constitutional provision which was consid-
ered by the proponents of the Educational Advancement
Act to be a problem. The provision for the Wilmington
School District boundaries was a part of the Wilmington
City Charter. Article IX, Section 1 of the Delaware
Constitution required a two-thirds vote of the General
Assembly in order to amend a municipal charter. The
drafters of the Educational Advancement Act believed
that under the Delaware Constitution no statute could
alter the Wilmington School District boundaries unless
passed by a two-thirds majority of each house of the Gen-
eral Assembly. This was an important concern because
the State Board of Education believed that a two-thirds
vote in favor of the Educational Adancement Act could
not be obtained.

The District Court conceded in its opinion of March
27, 1975 (393 F. Supp. at 443) that the drafters of the
Educational Advancement Act were concerned about this
constitutional problem but it concluded that such concern
was based on an erroneous view of the law. The District
Court held that such erroneous belief was not a compelling
state interest which would validate the statutory continua-
tion of Wilmington School District’s historic boundary
lines during the one-year period in which the State Board
of Education was authorized to consolidate school districts
in accordance with prescribed criteria. The District Court
then used the compelling state interest test to find that it
was unconstitutional for the Delaware General Assembly
to retain by statute the historic boundaries of Wilming-
ton School District because of the racial impact of such
retention, despite the fact that the District Court expressly

Jurisdictional Statement 11

found that it could not conclude that such provisions were
purposefully racially discriminatory (393 F. Supp. at 439).
The District Court held that the Educational Advance-
ment Act, neutral on its face, without a racially discrim-
inatory purpose, and serving legitimate and important
governmental purposes, was invalid under the Equal Pro-
tection Clause simply because of the racial consequences
of retaining school district boundaries which had existed
for more than 100 years. This holding is directly con-
trary to Washington v. Davis, — U. S. —, 44 U. S. L. W.
4789 (June 7, 1976), and the earlier cases discussed
therein; and will be viewed in Delaware as a tragic break-
down of the judicial system if it is not subjected to full
appellate review.

12 Jurisdictional Statement

THE QUESTIONS RAISED BY THIS APPEAL
ARE SUBSTANTIAL.

The majority of the District Court has ignored the
precepts of this Court to impose upon the people of Dela-
ware its conception of what is socially desirable. The un-
articulated premise on which the District Court acted was
the decision to make the racial balance in every school in
New Castle County, Delaware, approximately the same
as the racial balance throughout the county, despite the
fact that in New Castle County, Delaware, there are twelve
separate, autonomous districts—only one of which was
found to contain vestiges of the pre-Brown segregation
which was once mandated by the Delaware constitution.
On the basis of specious attempts to show an interdistrict
constitutional violation the District Court has uprooted the
historical pattern of education in New Castle County, Del-
aware, has drastically reduced school board representa-
tion, has set aside neutrally established boundaries of
eleven autonomous school districts, has forced new financ-
ing patterns and taxes on the citizens of Delaware, has in-
creased the costs of education in New Castle County, Dela-
ware, by approximately $20,000,000 per year, and has
changed the educational patterns of 60 percent of the pub-
lic school students in the entire State of Delaware.

The central theory to support this interference with
the internal governance of Delaware is the District Court’s
unwarranted conception of Brown’s command to dismantle
the dual system of education. After Brown, racial mi-
nority pupils were freely admitted into the schools in the
district in which they resided and no school district
boundaries were altered to discriminate against any pupil
of a racial minority. After Brown, there were twelve
unitary school districts in New Castle County, Delaware,
and no pupil in any of these districts was excluded be-

Jurisdictional Statement . 13

cause of race from any school in the district in which he
resided. This was full compliance with Brown’s command
to achieve desegregation “within the limits set by normal
geographic school districting.” 347 U. S. at 495-6, 349
U. S. at 298.

The District Court says that Delaware was obligated
to do more, that it was required to achieve racial balance
among the twelve unitary school districts in New Castle
County. Delaware's failure to do this in 1968 as part of
the Educational Advancement Act is said to violate its
continuing duty under Brown to desegregate the schools
of Delaware. This is in direct conflict with Bradley v.
School Board of the City of Richmond, 462 F. 2d 1058,
1069 (4th Cir. 1972), affd by equally divided court, 412
U. S. 92 (1973); and is contrary to Milliken v. Bradley,
418 U. S. 717 (1974); and is exactly the contention which
was dismissed in Spencer v. Kugler, 326 F. Supp. 1235,
1238 (D. N. J., 1971), aff'd memo 404 U. S. 1027 (1972):

“Plaintiffs’ substantive claim rests wholly on the as-
sertion that there is an affirmative constitutional duty
to achieve racial balance among the several districts
of a state system of public schools; and that a failure
to do so is in violation of Fourteenth Amendment

rights.”

The refusal of the District Court to follow this Court's
prior decisions requires a further authoritative statement to
put such issues to rest. While this is of paramount im-
portance to the citizens of Delaware, it has nationwide
implications which commend it to full-scale review and
reversal by this Court.

14 Jurisdictional Statement

I. There Is No Constitutional Violation on Which to
Predicate Interdistrict Relief.

A. Wilmington Had Achieved Full Compliance With

Brown.

The District Court’s opinion of July 12, 1974 (379 F.
Supp. 1218) ° acknowledged that desegregation had begun
twenty years earlier when Wilmington began to desegre-
gate voluntarily for the 1954-55 school year; that the bulk
of the desegregation process was complete by the 1956-57
school year, that Wilmington was one of the first, if not
the first school district in Delaware to desegregate, and
that many school officials assumed that the dual system
had been abolished.

Nevertheless, the District Court held that segregated
schooling was never eliminated in Wilmington only because
the formerly black schools remained identifiably black.
The District Court listed the following statistics concern-

ing formerly black schools which were in existence in
1956 through 1973:

% Of Black Pupils In Formerly Black Schools

Range
School 1956 1973 1956-73
Elbert Elementary ....... 91% 100% 91-100%
Stubbs Elementary ....... 100% 98% 95-100%
Drew Elementary ........ 99% 99% 93-99%
Bancroft Junior High ..... 98% 95% 95-99%
Howard High ........... 100% 97% 95-100%

However, the Court neglected to consider the form-
erly white schools which existed in 1956 through 1973.
Had it done so it would have seen the following statistics:

5. It should be noted that this opinion finding unconstitutional

segregation in the Wilmington School District was rendered before
this appellant was made a party in this case.

Jurisdictional Statement 15
% Of Black Pupils In Formerly® White Schools

Range
School * 1956 1973 1956-73
Gray Elementary ......... 24.9 98.5 24.9-98.5
Harlan Elementary ....... 0 88.1 0 -88.1
Highlands Elementary .... 9 26.3 9-26.3
Lore Elementary ......... 20.2 81.1 20.2-83.4
Palmer Elementary ....... 31.9 98.5 31.9-98.5
Pyle Elementary ......... 65 100 65 -100
Shortledge Elementary .... 0 82 0 -82
Williams Elementary ..... 3.19 80.6 13.1-80.8
Bayard Jr. High .......... 144 639 144-639
Warner Jr. High ......... 45 86.5 4.5-86.5
P. S. duPont High ....... 31 936 31-936
Wilmington High ........ 22 714 22-714

These statistics demonstrate that in Wilmingion there
was no “foot dragging” by a “reluctant” school board such
as engaged the attention of this Court in Green v. County
School Board, 391 U. S. 430 (1968); Raney v. Board of

6. Because Wilmington started to dismantle its dual system
promptly after Brown I there were black students in most formerly
white schools by 1956. No racial statistics are available for years
prior to 1956.

7. Neither the Court’s list of formerly black schools nor the
above list of formerly white schools includes schools which opened
or closed between 1956 and 1973. One such school, Cedar Hill
Elementary, opened in 1959 with a black enrollment of 3.3% and
by 1973 had a black enrollment of 9.9%. Except for Cedar Hill
Elementary, all the relatively few schools which opened or closed
between 1956 and 1973 had black enrollments consistent with the
overall pattern of the other schools as shown above. The racial
ratios at Cedar Hill Elementary and Highlands Elementary were
not necessarily a sign that a dual system existed. Swann v. Board
of Education, 402 U. S. 1, 26 (1971); Goss v. Board of Education
of the City of Knoxville, 482 F. 2d 1044, 1046 (6th Cir. 1973).

16 Jurisdictional Statement

Education, 391 U. S. 443 (1968); Monroe v. Board of
Commissioners, 391 U. S. 450 (1968); Swann v. Board of
Education, 402 U. S. 1 (1971); McDaniel v. Barresi, 402
U. S. 39 (1971).

The District Court was wrong in holding that prompt
elimination of racially identifiable white schools in Wil-
mington was not enough to meet constitutional standards
simply because formerly black schools continued to be
black. Another District Court expressed the correct view
in Bradley v. Milliken, 402 F. Supp. 1096, 1126 (E. D.
Mich. S. D. 1975):

“Having considered the alternatives in light of
all the ‘practicalities’ at hand, we conclude that the
Board’s goal of desegregating by eliminating racially
identifiable white schools meets constitutional stand-
ards for desegregating the Detroit School System.”

In Swann the Court said that in school districts where
segregated education was formerly mandated by law the
continued existence of identifiably white and identifiably
black schools establishes a prima facie case of constitu-
tional violation. But here the District Court ignored the
fact that in Wilmington the formerly white schools were
promptly opened to blacks and soon ceased to be identi-
fiably white; by 1973 a person unfamiliar with the history
of Wilmington schools could not tell from the racial en-
rollments which schools were formerly white. By 1973,
Wilmington, which was desegregated by 1956, had long
since reached the point where instead of black schools
and white schools there were simply schools.* At that
point Wilmington had achieved full compliance with

8. The fact that such schools were predominantly black does

not mean that they were not desegregated. Milliken v. Bradley,
418 U. S. at 740.

Jurisdictional Statement 17

Brown and further intervention by the District Court was
uncalled for absent any showing (and the District Court
found none in its July 12 opinion) that school authorities
or other State agencies had “deliberately” attempted to
alter demographic patterns to affect racial composition of
the schools, Swann, 402 U. S. at 32; Milliken, 418 U. S. at
745.

B. There Was No Interdistrict Violation.

The District Court’s opinion of July 12, 1974 (379 F.
Supp. 1218) concluded with a direction to the State Board
of Education to submit alternate plans for the desegrega-
tion of Wilmington School District—first, an intra-district
plan—and second, a plan incorporating other undesignated
school districts in New Castle County. Before such sub-
mission this Court’s opinion in Milliken v. Bradley, 418
U. S. 717 (1974), came down. At that point the District
Court invited the New Castle County school districts out-
side Wilmington ® to intervene as parties defendant and
asked all parties to brief the effect of Milliken on the
propriety of an interdistrict remedy in this case. After
briefing and argument, the District Court, in a two to one
decision, held that an interdistrict remedy was permis-
sible, 393 F. Supp. 428.

Although the Wilmington and Detroit cases were in-
distinguishable, the District Court strained to reach a con-
trary result. Ii began, properly enough:

“In short, this Court, in light of the Milliken holding,
is authorized to consider desegregation relief em-

9. Such districts are usually referred to throughout this litiga-
tion as the suburban school districts. In fact, however, a num
of such districts are not suburbs of Wilmington and some of the
non-contiguous districts, particularly Newark School District and
New Castle-Gunning ord School District, have their own urban
cores.

18 Jurisdictional Statement

bracing more than the Wilmington district only upon
findings either that school districts in New Castle
County are not meaningfully separate and autonomous
or that there have been racially discriminatory acts of
the State or of local school districts causing inter-dis-
trict segregation. Because our opinion of July 12,
1974, made no findings concerning inter-district con-
stitutional violations, we must now make additional
findings on these issues.” 393 F. Supp. at 432.

1. SEPARATE AND AUTONOMOUS SCHOOL DISTRICTS.

The Court then touched on historical aspects of the
relationship between Wilmington and the suburban dis-
tricts but concluded:

“Since the 1950's however, Wilmington and suburban
schools have, to a great extent, operated independently
of one another. The suburban districts have, for the
past several years, operated unitary schools for the
children residing within their districts.” 393 F. Supp.
at 437.

“There is no evidence in the record which indicates
that suburban schools in New Castle County are pres-
ently operating other than unitary schools for the
children residing in their districts.” 393 F. Supp. at
437, n. 19.

Despite the District Court’s inability to find that
school districts in Delaware are not separate and autono-
mous, it hints that the pre-Brown interrelationship be-
tween Wilmington and the suburban districts would have
justified an interdistrict remedy. This concept is disturb-
ingly irrelevant because the pre-Brown interrelationship
only discriminated against black students from the subur-

Jurisdictional Statement 19

ban districts, whereas this case is concerned only with
black students in Wilmington who were never discrimi-
nated against by Wilmington’s interrelationship with the
suburban districts. Before Brown, this interrelationship
involved sending suburban black students, particularly
high school students, into the black schools in Wilmington
when there were no separate facilities for them in the
suburban districts. This constitutional violation was cured
in the 1950s and 1960s by eliminating the dual systems
which had existed in suburban districts and admitting stu-
dents regardless of race into all schools in the districts
where they resided. All school districts in New Castle
County are and for many years have been separate, autono-
mous and unitary; and no child in New Castle County,
Delaware, is denied admission to any school in the dis-
trict in which he resides because of race or color.

Judge Layton summed up this aspect of the majority
opinion in his dissent:

“Findings to the effect that prior to 1954 there
were interdistrict transfers of black and white students
from the suburbs to Wilmington which affect present-
day school attendance are, to my mind, non-sequitur.
The majority acknowledges, but gives no significance
to, the reasons for such arrangements—that two dec-
ades ago, Wilmington had better educational facilities,
full twelve-grade programs, etc. They acknowledge
that these practices have not existed for years. But
finding that after the termination of these interdis-
trict transfers Wilmington’s schools became identifi-
ably black, the majority apparently infers that the
present black population is in part the result of such
transfers. There is no evidence to support such a
conclusion.” 393 F. Supp. at 448.

20 Jurisdictional Statement

2. Hovsinc.

The District Court proceeded to consider other ways
to distinguish Milliken. It could find no evidence (be-
cause there was none) of racially discriminatory acts of
any of the suburban school districts causing interdistrict
segregation. It turned, then, to an attempt to show ra-
cially discriminatory acts of the State of Delaware causing
interdistrict segregation. It found that the increase of
black population and the decline of white population in
Wilmington resulted from governmental action, citing the
FHA Mortgage Underwriting Manual in use between 1936
and 1949 which advocated racially and economically
homogeneous neighborhoods; the existence of racial dis-
crimination in some private sales and rentals prior to
1968; the continued recording of deeds with nugatory ra-
cial covenants; public housing policies which resulted in
the construction of substantial numbers of units in Wil-
mington and relatively few units in the suburbs; and a
provision in the Code of Ethics of the National Associa-
tion of Real Estate Boards (which was eliminated in 1970)
counseling realtors not to introduce into neighborhoods
peoples whose race, nationality or other characteristics
would be detrimental to property values.

Comparable evidence, but in far greater depth and
detail, was introduced in Richmond and Detroit and found
unpersuasive. The thinness of the evidence in this case
- and its acceptance by the District Court, coupled with its
obeisance to and defenestration of Milliken, leads to the
belief that despite Milliken the District Court was deter-
mined to remedy the “condition” rather than the “con-
stitutional violation.”

Judge Layton put it well in his dissenting opinion:

“My impression of this evidence at the conclusion

of the trial was (and still is) that it fell fat. Much of

Jurisdictional Statement 21

the record concerns circumstances which are not the
result of State action. The majority concedes that
twenty-seven years ago the Supreme Court declared
racial covenants contained in deeds to be of no legal
effect. The majority cites no authority requiring the
Recorder of Deeds to cull out and delete this sort of
material from the numerous deeds filed daily for re-
cording; nor does it attribute any specific legal sig-
nificance to failure to cull out such language. In my
judgment, the only hard evidence of State action
appearing in the mass of evidence dealing with real
estate discrimination is the State publication, until
1970, of the N. A. R. E. B. Code of Ethics. Moreover,
this Code was not exclusive to Delaware, presumably
it extended nationally from Maine to Georgia, and
from Washington, D. C. to California.”

“In my view, the majority's findings, so sweeping
in effect, so heavy with inferences but so lacking in
concrete, relevant substance, have fallen far short of
fixing the responsibility for inter-district racial dis-
crimination upon Defendants’ shoulders.” 393 F.
Supp. at 448-9).

The “only hard evidence” fell woefully short of the
standard suggested by Mr. Justice Stewart in his con-
curring opinion in Milliken:

“No record has been made in this case showing that
the racial composition of the Detroit school population
or that residential patterns within Detroit and in the
surrounding areas were in any significant measure
caused by governmental activity, and it follows that
the situation over which my dissenting Brothers ex-
press concern cannot serve as the predicate for the

22 Jurisdictional Statement

remedy adopted by the District Court and approved
by the Court of Appeals.” 418 U. S. at 756, n. 2.
(emphasis supplied ).

3. THE EpUCATIONAL ADVANCEMENT ACT.

The central issue in the trial of this case was whether
the Educational Advancement Act of 1968 amounted to
unconstitutional interdistrict segregation.

The purpose and provisions of the Educational Ad-
vancement Act and some of the problems involved in its
enactment have already been alluded to, supra. The
significant findings of the District Court concerning the
statute appear in the following passage:

“We cannot conclude, as plaintiffs contend, that
the provisions excluding the Wilmington District from
school reorganization were purposefully racially dis-
criminatory. To be sure, all legislators may have
known that the Wilmington School District was pre-
dominantly black. On the other hand, the focus of
the legislature’s concern in developing the consolida-
tion provisions of the Educational Advancement Act
was on small, weak, ineffective school districts, and
while the effectiveness of schooling in Wilmington at
this time has been disputed, it is clear that Wilmington
had larger staffs and better programs than many Dela-
ware school districts. Moreover, Wilmington had
historically been treated distinctively in Delaware
education, and there is evidence that its representa-
tives were unwilling to forego certain aspects of this
special treatment. No language in the provisions at
issue makes any reference to race, nor evidently, did
the legislative debates over the Act contain any refer-
ence to race. Finally, all Wilmington legislators,
black and white, voted for the Educational Advance-

Jurisdictional Statement 23

ment Act. In short, the record does not demonstrate
that a significant purpose of the Educational Advance-
ment Act was to foster or perpetuate discrimination
through school reorganization.” 393 F. Supp. at 439.

Having found that the Educational Advancement
Act was not purposefully racially discriminatory, the Dis-
trict Court overlooked or misinterpreted the applicable law
to arrive at a determination of unconstitutionality.

a. Use of the Compelling State Interest Test.

Although the District Court could find no intentional
racial classification in the Educational Advancement Act,
it constructed a racial effect. Immediately prior to the
Act the Wilmington School District, like the Detroit School
District, was a predominantly black district surrounded by
predominantly white districts. Had there been no Educa-
tional Advancement Act this condition would have con-
tinued, and in fact it did continue after the enactment of
the Educational Advancement Act because the Act made
no change in the Wilmington School District boundaries.
This non-action on the part of the State was seen by the
District Court as an “effective” although not an “inten-
tional” racial classification which required invalidation un-
less justified by a compelling state interest.

It is now crystal clear from this Court’s opinion in
Washington v. Davis, — U.S. —, 44 U. S. L. W. 4789 (June
7, 1976), that the District Court erred in overlooking
Wright v. Rockefeller, 376 U. S. 52 (1964), and Jefferson v.
Hackney, 406 U. S. 535 (1972), and that it misread Keyes
v. School District No. 1, 413 U. S. 189 (1973):

“The rule is the same in other contexts. Wright
v. Rockefeller, 376 U. S. 52 (1964), upheld a New
York congressional apportionment statute against

Jurisdictional Statement

claims that district lines had been racially gerry-
mandered. The challenged districts were made up
predominantly of whites or of minority races, and their
boundaries were irregularly drawn. The challengers
did not prevail because they failed to prove that the
New York legislature ‘was either motivated by racial
considerations or in fact drew the districts on racial
lines’; the plaintiffs had not shown that the statute
‘was the product of a state contrivance to segregate
on the basis of race or place of origin.’ 376 U. S., at
56, 58. The dissenters were in agreement that the
issue was whether the ‘boundaries . . . were purpose-
fully drawn on racial lines.’ 376 U. S., at 67.

“The school desegregation cases have also ad-
hered to the basic equal protection principle that the
invidious quality of a law claimed to be racially dis-
criminatory must ultimately be traced to a racially
discriminatory purpose. That there are both pre-
dominantly black and predominantly white schools in
a community is not alone violative of the Equal Pro-
tection Clause. The essential element of de jure
segregation is ‘a current condition of segregation re-
sulting from intentional state action . . . the differ-
entiating factor between de jure segregation and so-
called de facto segregation . . . is purpose or intent
to segregate. Keyes v. School District No. 1, 413
U. S. 18S, 205, 208 (1973). See also id., at 199, 211,
213. The Court has also recently rejected allegations
of racial discrimination based solely on the statistically
disproportionate racial impact of various provisions of
the Social Security Act because ‘the acceptance of
appellant’s constitutional theory would render suspect
each difference in treatment among the grant classes,
however lacking the racial motivation and however

Jurisdictional Statement 25

rational the treatment might be.’ Jefferson v. Hack-
ney, 406 U. S. 535, 548 (1972). And compare
Hunter v. Erickson, 393 U. S. 385 (1969), with James
v. Valtierra, 402 U. S. 137 (1971).” 44 U.S. L. W.
4792.

b. Causing Interdistrict Segregation.

The District Court considered the provision of the
Educational Advancement Act limiting newly consolidated
school districts to a maximum of 12,000 and the provision
retaining Wilmington’s historic, neutrally established
boundary lines and found these provisions unconstitu-
tional. Specifically, the Court found that these provisions
were “a substantial cause of interdistrict segregation” and
thus a basis for interdistrict remedy under the reasoning
of Milliken (393 F. Supp. 439). Such interdistrict racial
disparity antedated the Educational Advancement Act by
many years and it was plainly erroneous for the District
Court to equate inaction after the event with causation.
The District Court’s real quarrel with the Educational
Advancement Act was that it did nothing to alleviate the
condition of a predominantly black school district sur-
rounded by predominantily white school districts. This
same condition which existed in Detroit was held by this
Court not to offend the Constitution. The Michigan legis-
lature had the power to alleviate this condition by con-
solidation of Detroit with suburban school districts but it
had no constitutional obligation to do so. By the same
token, neither the Delaware General Assembly nor the
State Board of Education had any constitutional obliga-
tion to provide racial homogeneity among the separate
autonomous school districts in New Castle County.
Spencer v. Kugler, supra; Bradley v. School Board of Rich-
mond, supra; Milliken v. Bradley, supra.

26 Jurisdictional Statement

c. Drawing or Redrawing School Boundaries.

The District Court adopted plaintiffs’ contention that
an interdistrict remedy was permissible because the Edu-
cational Advancement Act unconstitutionally contributed
to interdistrict segregation by redrawing school district
boundaries.

“In short the General Assembly ‘contributed to the
separation of the races by . . . redrawing school dis-
trict lines.’ Milliken v. Bradley, at 755, 94 S. Ct. at
3132 (Stewart, J., concurring).” 393 F. Supp. 445-6.

The fallacies here are fourfold. First, the Wilmington
School District boundaries were neutrally confirmed by
legislation in 1905 as coterminous with the City of Wil-
mington where they had been for the preceding fifty years.
The Educational Advancement Act made no change in
these boundaries. Second, Chief Justice Burger’s opinion
in Milliken spoke of district lines “deliberately drawn on
the basis of race.” The District Court conceded in its
opinion that nothing in the Educational Advancement Act
was deliberately racial. Third, the Chief Justice and Mr.
Justice Stewart illustrated their concern about contribut-
ing to segregation through drawing or redrawing district
lines by referring to Wright v. Council of the City of
Emporia, 407 U. S. 451, 51 (1972), and United States v.
Scotland Neck City Board of Education, 407 U. S. 484.
Unlike Wilmington, these were cases of new district lines
actually drawn for the purposes of impeding desegrega-
tion. Fourth, the remedy commensurate with such viola-
tion in the cited cases was to set aside the school district
lines which had been deliberately drawn on the basis of
race. The inapplicability here of a remedy commensurate
with the violation simply demonstrates that there was no
violation.

Jurisdictional Statement 27

II. Inclusion of New Castle-Gunning Bedford School! Dis-
trict in the Desegregation Area Exceeded the District
Court’s Authority Under the Decisions of This Court.

In Hills v. Gautreaux, — U. S. —, 44 U. S. L. W. 4480,
4484 (April 20, 1976), Mr. Justice Stewart explained
Milliken:

“The District Court’s desegregation order in Milliken
was held to be an impermissible remedy not because
it envisioned relief against a wrongdoer extending
beyond the city in which the violation occurred but
because it contemplated a judicial decree restructur-
ing the operation of local governmental entities that
were not imp! cated in any constitutional violation.”

New Castle-Gunning Bedford School District is a
separate autonomous school district. It is not adjacent to
Wilmington School District and it is not a suburb of Wil-
mington. The focal point of New Castle-Gunning Bedford
School District is the historic City of New Castle. New
Castle-Gunning Bedford School District is a governmental
entity which has not been implicated in any constitutional
violation. Nevertheless, under the remedial order of the
District Court this governmental entity will be abolished
and its operations will be completely restructured. The
boundaries of this separate, autonomous school district,
whose urban core is the City of New Castle, will be set
aside by the District Court despite the fact that the record
fails to show any constitutional violation within the New
Castle-Gunning Bedford School District, let alone a con-
stitutional violation which has produced a segregative
effect in the Wilmington School District.

The essential holding of Milliken is set out in the fol-
lowing language written by Mr. Chief Justice Burger:

28 Jurisdictional Statement

“The controlling principle consistently expounded
in our holdings is that the scope of the remedy is
determined by the nature and extent of the constitu-
tional violation. Swann, 402 U. S., at 16. Before the
boundaries of separate and autonomous school dis-
tricts may be set aside by consolidating the separate
units for remedial purposes or by imposing a cross-
district remedy, it must first be shown that there has
been a constitutional violation within one district
that produces a significant segregative effect in an-
other district. Specifically, it must be shown that
racially discriminatory acts of the state or local school
districts, or of a single school district have been a
substantial cause of interdistrict segregation. Thus
an interdistrict remedy might be in order where the
racially discriminatory acts of one or more school dis-
tricts caused racial segregation in an adjacent district,
or where district lines have been deliberately drawn
on the basis of race. In such circumstances an inter-
district remedy would be appropriate to eliminate the
interdistrict segregation directly caused by the con-
stitutional violation. Conversely, without an inter-
district violation and interdistrict effect, there is no
constitutional wrong calling for interdistrict remedy.”
(emphasis added). Milliken v. Bradley, 418 U. S.
717, 744-45.

If racially discriminatory acts in districts A and B
(but not in district D) produce a segregative effect in dis-
trict C, the Milliken decision does not suggest that dis-
trict D may be consolidated with districts A, B and C in
order to remedy the segregation in district C. The rem-
edy is determined by the nature and extent of the consti-
tutional violation and if it occurred in districts A, B and C

Jurisdictional Statement 29

there is no constitutional violation which justifies inclu-
sion of district D in an interdistrict remedy.

The same reasoning must apply if the racially dis-
criminatory acts of the State furnish the predicate for an
interdistrict remedy. When the racially discriminatory
acts of the State are a substantial cause of interdistrict
segregation among districts A, B and C this furnishes no
valid basis for including district D in an interdistrict rem-
edy. When the constitutional violation caused by State
action takes place in districts A, B 2nd C there is no con-
stitutional violation which justifies inclusion of district D
in an interdistrict remedy.

In the context of this case New Castle-Gunning Bed-
ford School District cannot properly be included in an
interdistrict remedy unless (1) there has been a constitu-
tional violation within New Castle-Gunning Bedford
School District which has produced a significant segrega-
tive effect in Wilmington School District, or (2) the ra-
cially discriminatory acts of New Castle-Gunning Bedford
School District or the State ot Delaware have been a sub-
stantial cause of interdistrict segregation between New
Castle-Gunning Bedford School District and Wilmington
School District. |

The District Court attempts to justify inclusion of
districts like New Casile-Gunning Bedford referring to the
effects of the pre-Brown segregation to which they were
parties. Prior to Brown black students residing in Wil-
mington were segregated on an intra-district basis by rea-
son of the dual school system in Wilmington; and some
black students outside Wilmington were segregated on an
interdistrict basis by being required to attend the “col-
ored” schools in Wilmington when there were not enough
black students to justify a separate “colored” school in the
district in which they lived. In pre-Brown days New

30 Jurisdictional Statement

Castle-Gunning Bedford School District did not have
enough black students for a separate high school and these
students crossed into Wilmington to attend the “colored”
high school there. This is the only pre-Brown interdistrict
segregation to which New Castle-Gunning Bedford School
District was a party. This pre-Brown interdistrict segre-
gation did not discriminate against black residents of Wil-
mington. The victims of this constitutional violation were
black students residing in New Castle-Gunning Bedford
School District; their constitutional rights were restored
more than fifteen years ago and the effects of such segre-
gation have long since been fully dissipated. In fact, the
District Court expressly recognized that the interdistrict
transfer program ceased after Brown I.

The District Court conceded that it could not say
that the “constitutional violation” attributable to the State
in the Educational Advancement Act had any interdis-
trict effect between Wilmington School District and New
Castle-Gunning Bedford School District. The same rea-
sons given by the District Court for the inclusion of
Newark School District apply to the inclusion of New
Castle-Gunning Bedford School District, viz.:

“It is difficult to say with any certainty that
Newark would have been included in any reorganiza-
tion had the State Board been entitled to exercise its
discretion in 1968. Since Newark at that time had
close to 12,000 students, the effect of the enrollment
limitation may have been to foreclose Newark’s in-
clusion. On the other hand, had the Legislature or
the State Board considered desegregation as one of
the appropriate goals to be accomplished in the course
of reorganization, very different criteria might have
led to the consolidation of part of either Wilmington
or DeLaWarr with part of the present Newark dis-

Jurisdictional Statement 31

trict. We do not, however, rest our holding on such
post hoc rationalizations, and on what might have
been. Rather, uncontradicted testimony indicates that
the stability of any desegregation plan is enhanced by
the inclusion of larger geographical areas and higher
white populations. The Court cannot ignore the fact
brought so forcefully to its attention that desegrega-
tion is costly, in ways beyond dollars spent on addi-
tional equipment and training. The difficulties of de-
clining tax bases,*° and the problem of preventing
growth areas from maintaining the duality” of
schools in the Northern New Castle County area re-
quire the inclusion of Newark.” (Slip Opiaion pages
57-8).

Just as the District Court in Milliken sought to include
suburban areas to remedy the condition it found in Detroit,
so the District Court in this case has included New Castle-
Gunning Bedford School District to remedy the condition
it finds in Wilmington School District. With no showing
that the “unconstitutional” features of the Educational Ad-
vancement Act had any interdistrict effect between Wil-
mington and New Castle-Gunning Bedford, the District
Court mandated the inclusion of New Castle-Gunning
Bedford to improve the stability of the desegregation area.
“Stability” meant to the District Court the prevention of
“white flight” which the District Court said could be in-
cluded in the exercise of its informed discretion on what
would constitute an appropriate remedy (Slip Opinion
page 56), citing Wright v. Council of the City of Emporia,
407 U. S. at 465, and U. S. v. Scotland Neck Board of

10. There is no evidence in the record of declining tax bases.

1l. There are no dual school systems in Delaware. The Court
uses “duality” for the concept that the percentage of blacks in the
unitary Newark School District would be less the percentage
of blacks in the desegregation area.

32 Jurisdictional Statement

Education, 407 U. S. at 490-91. But these were single-
district cases and it was permissible to consider white flight
in devising an intradistrict remedy for constitutional vio-
lations within the district. White flight, however, is not a
constitutional violation. Even if it had been shown that
whites will flee from Wilmington suburban areas to New
Castle-Gunning Bedford School District in order to avoid
desegregation (and this was not shown) such showing
would furnish no legitimate basis for including New Castle-
Gunning Bedford School District in the absence of its in-
volvement in any constitutional violation.

The District Court in its March 27, 1975 opinion said
that the victims of discrimination in this case are the school
children of Wilmington. There is no showing that New
Castle-Gunning Bedford School District has itself per-
formed any act contributing to discrimination against
the school children of Wilmington. Nor is there any show-
ing that any act of the State of Delaware has involved
New Castle-Gunning Bedford School District in discrim-
ination against the school children of Wilmington. In
such circumstances there is no constitutional basis for in-
cluding New Castle-Gunning Bedford School District in
an interdistrict remedy to alleviate what the District Court
has (mistakenly) called segregation in the Wilmington
School District.

III. The Use of Racial Quotas and the Restructuring of
More Than Half the Educational System of Delaware
Exceeded the District Court’s Authority.

This Court recognized in Swann that the “predicate”
for the District Court’s use of a 71% to 29% ratio was its
finding of a dual school system and a total defauli oa the
part of the school board to come forward with an accept-
able plan, notwithstanding the patient efforts of the Dis-
trict Judge who, on at least three occasions, urged the

Jurisdictional Statement 33

Board to submit plans. It was this predicate that al-
lowed the use of racial ratios as a “starting point” in the
formulation of a remedy.

This predicate is absent here. The only “dual sys-
tem” in Delaware is the disparity in racial percentages
among the twelve separate unitary school districts in New
Castle County, a condition which this Court has said does
not offend the Constitution. Nor can it be said that school
boards have defaulted on the court-imposed obligation to
come forward with an interdistrict remedy for the so-
called segregation in Wilmington School District. The
State Board of Education proposed a five-district plan for
a desegregation area in which the percentage of black stu-
dents would have been approximately 24%; but the Dis-
trict Court has insisted on 20%. Other more modest but
perfectly acceptable plans were before the District Cowrt
which would have eliminated all identifiably black schools
without restructuring the entire county. There was no
need here, as in Swann, for the District Court to use
racial quotas as a starting point; the starting point oc-
curred months before at hearings on remedy when the
school boards submitted plans which would have elimi-
nated racially identifiable schools.

Although the District Court employs euphemistic lan-
guage to describe its requirement that every grade in
every school be not less than 10% nor more than 35% black,
it seems plain that it has done what Swann says it can-
not do.

“If we were to read the holding of the District Court
to require, as a matter of substantive constitutional
right, any particular degree of racial balance or mix-
ing, that approach would be disapproved and we
would be obliged to reverse. The constitutional com-
mand to desegregate schools does not mean that every

34 Jurisdictional Statement

school in every community must always reflect the
racial composition of the school system as a whole.”
(402 U. S. at 24.)

Unlike many states there is no relationship in Dela-
ware between the school districts and the counties. The
determination of the District Court to establish essentially
all of New Castle County as a single school district ap-
proximately five times larger than any district now in
existence anywhere in the State is an unwarranted inter-
ference with the internal governance of the State of Dela-
ware for which there is no constitutional justification. The
tradition of local control over the operation of schools
which this Court has recognized as essential both to main-
tenance of community concern and support of public
schools and to quality of education has been set aside by
the District Court because of its erroneous belief that
Delaware is obligated to provide racial balance among the
twelve separate autonomous school districts in New Castle
County. To permit the involuntary restructuring of the
school districts of Delaware on so faulty a premise will
achieve an impermissible result—one which is plainly con-
trary to the controlling standards expounded in the hold-
ings of this Court.

Jurisdictional Statement 35
CONCLUSION.

The errors committed by the District Court should not
be permitted to go uncorrected at the expense of the
citizens of Delaware. In a case indistinguishable from
Milliken the District Court misapplied the teaching of
Richmond, Milliken, Spencer v. Kugler, Hills v. Gautreaux,
and Washington v. Davis to impose a remedy not com-
mensurate with any constitutional violation and to re-
structure governmental entities not implicated in any con-
stitutional violation. The decree of the District Court
should be reviewed and reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Davp F. ANDERSON,

PotreR ANDERSON & CORROON,
350 Delaware Trust Building,
P. O. Box 951,
Wilmington, Delaware. 19899

Attorneys for New Castle-Gunning
Bedford School District, Appellant.

APPENDIX C.

IN THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
IN AND FOR THE District OF DELAWARE

Crviz Action Nos. 1816-1822.

BRENDA EVANS, ET AL.,
Plaintiffs,

v.

MADELINE BUCHANAN, Er ALt.,
Defendants.

Notice of Appeal to the Supreme Court
of the United States

Notice is hereby given that Defendant, New Castle-
Gunning Bedford School District, a Defendant in the
above-entitled action, hereby appeals to the Supreme
Court of the United States from the Final Order against
the Defendant entered in this action on June 15, 1976.

This appeal is taken pursuant to 28 U. S. C. § 1253.

/s/ Davww F. ANDERSON,
David F. Anderson,
PoTrTreR ANDERSON & CORROON,
350 Delaware Trust Building,
P. O. Box 951,
Wilmington, Delaware. 19899
A. C. 302 658-6771,
Attorney for Defendant, New Castle-
Gunning Bedford School District.

(Al)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0701%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
