# Amicus Brief — Puyallup Tribe, Inc. v. Department of Game of Wash.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0648%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 433 U.S. 165

## Text

No. 76-425

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER ‘TERM, 1976

PUYALLUP TRIBE, INC., AND
RAMONA BENNETT, PETITIONERS

v.

DEPARTMENT OF GAME OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATL OF WASHINGTON

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE

DANIEL M. FRIEDMAN,
Acting Solicitor General,

PETER R. TAFT,
Assistant Attorney General,

H. Barrow Farr, III,
Assistant to the Solicitor General,

EDMUND B. CLARK,
GEORGE R. HYDE,
Attorneys,
Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.

INDEX

TTT ST OR ES
Jurisdiction —.............. 1

.
e eset ae 1
Zr 8 ;
Introduction and summary of argument
} FERS IAEA Scar Ac

I. The state superior court lacked juris-
diction over the petition for relief be-
cause of the sovereign immunity of the
1 .

II. Established principles of res judicata
and collateral estoppel bar relitigation
of the principal issues in this case

III. The right of the Puyallup Tribe to fish
on its Reservation without State inter-

ference is preserved by the endl of
Medicine Creek ia

IV. The State of Washington does not
have the power to regulate the on-res-
ervation fishing activities of the Puy-
allup Tribe —

r SEES ae Cee a

CITATIONS

Cases
Antoine v. Washington, 420 U.S. 194

aon dos dos de eH

12

12

16

22

27
31

23

Bryan v. Itasca County, 426 U.S. 373 12, 27, 28

Cases—Continued Page
City of Tacoma v. Taxpayers, 357 U.S.
eS Ea SS 22
Commissioner v. Sunnen, 333 U.S. 591 19
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 661 14
Fisher v. District Court, 424 U.S. 382 28
Hancock National Bank v. Farnum, 176
1 ————— 19
Irvine v. California, 347 U.S. 128 18
Maiorano v. Baltimore & Ohio R. R. Co.,
III 26
Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 41111 5
McClanahan v. Arizona State Tax Com-
mission, 411 U.S. 164 24, 27, 28
Menominee Tribe of Indians v. United
States, 391 U.S. 404 11, 24
Mescalero Apache Tribe v. Jones, 411
1 AAA 28
Missouri v. Holland, 252 U.S. 418 26

Moe v. Confederated Salish & Kootenai
Tribes of the Flathead Reservation,

II 28
Rice v. Olson, 324 U.S. 786 27
Santovincenzo v. Egan, 284 U.S. 30 26
Shoshone Tribe of Indians v. United

States, 299 U.S. 476 29
Southern Pacific Railroad Co. v. United

DIN et 19
Stoll v. Gottlieb, 305 U.S. 165 8 19
Thebo v. Choctaw Tribe of Indians, 66

1 — ra as 13
Tulee v. Washington, 315 U.S. 61 24
United States v. Devonian Gas and Oil

Ga, GB Fale Gee cnctiienens . 13

United States v. Pink, 315 US. 203 26

Cases Continued Page

United States v. United States Fidelity
& Guaranty Co., 309 U.S. 506 9, 10, 13, 16

United States v. Winans, 198 U.S. 371 31
Williams v. Lee, 358 U.S. 2177 28
Worcester v. Georgia, 6 Pet. 515 13

Treaty and statute:
Treaty of Medicine Creek, 10 Stat. 1132:

len
Article III 1 23, 25
Public Law 280, 28 U.S.C. 1360 ; 27
Miscellaneous:
1B Moore, Federal Practice, § 0.406[1]
r 19

Opinion Acting Sol. M. 28107, June 30,
1936, quoted in Department of Interior,
Federal Indian Law (19589555 24

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 76-423
PUYALLUP TRIBE, INC., AND
RAMONA BENNETT, PETITIONERS
V.
DEPARTMENT OF GAME OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE

This brief is submitted pursuant to the Court’s
invitation in its order of November 29, 1976.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of the State
of Washington (Pet. App. B-1 to B-66) is reported
at 86 Wash. 2d 664, 548 P.2d 1058. The opinion
of the Superior Court of the State of Washington
in and for Pierce County (Pet. App. C-1 to C-59),
together with findings of fact and conclusions of law
(Pet. App. D-1 to D-24), is not reported.

(1)

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of the State
of Washington became final on June 25, 1976 (Pet.
App. B-67 and B-68). The petition for a writ of
certiorari was filed on September 22, 1976, and
granted on November 29, 1976. The jurisdiction of
this Court rests upon 28 U.S.C. 1257(3).

QUESTION PRESENTED '

Whether the Washington state courts may limit the
right of the Puyallup Indian Tribe to fish for steel-
head trout within the boundaries of the Puyallup
Indian Reservation.

TREATY INVOLVED

The Treaty of Medicine Creek, 10 Stat. 1132, De-
cember 26, 1854, is set forth in pertinent part at
la-2a of the Attachment to petitioners’ brief.

STATEMENT

In 1963 the Department of Game and the Depart-
ment of Fisheries of the State of Washington brought
an action in state superior court against the Puyallup
Tribe and various individual tribal members, claim-
ing that they were subject to state fishing laws pro-

Although the Washington Supreme Court decided several
issues relating to the fishing rights of the Puyallup Indians,
the petition for a writ of certiorari filed by the Puyallup Tribe
raised only the issue whether the state courts may exercise
control over the right of the Puyallup Tribe to fish for steel-
head trout on its Reservation.

hibiting net fishing at their usual and accustomed
places outside the Reservation.

The trial court held that the Puyallup Tribe no
longer existed as an entity; that its members there-
fore no longer possessed treaty fishing rights; and
that there was no longer a Puyallup Reservation.
The court also held that it was reasonable and neces-
sary that state conservation rules and regulations be
uniformly applied to all citizens.

On appeal, the Washington Supreme Court held
that the trial court lacked jurisdiction to determine
that the Tribe had been terminated; that, although
there was no longer a Puyallup Reservation, the
tribal members continued to have a right to fish at
usual and accustomed grounds; and that any regu-
lations of the Departments limiting or restricting
those rights must be reasonable and necessary for
the preservation of the fisheries. Under the circum-
stances, the court concluded, the injunction entered
by the trial court to limit Indian fishing was too
broad. The Washington Supreme Court therefore
set aside the judgment and remanded the cause.
Department of Game v. Puyallup Tribe, Inc., 70
Wash. 2d 245, 422 P.2d 754.

This Court, on certiorari to the Washington Su-
preme Court, affirmed. Puyallup Tribe v. Depart-
ment of Game, 391 U.S. 392 (Puyallup I). The
Court held that, although the State could not qualify
the Indians’ treaty right to fish “at all usual and
accustomed places,“ the State could regulate the man-
ner of fishing and the like “in the interest of con-

4

servation, provided the regulation meets appropriate
standards and does not discriminate against the In-
dians.” 391 U.S. at 398. The Court did not decide
whether the State’s prohibition against the use of
set nets in fresh water was “reasonable and neces-
sary” for purposes of conservation. This was an is-
sue that the State Supreme Court had left for the
trial court on remand. Id. at 401-402.

Prior to the trial on remand, the Department of
Fisheries promulgated salmon regulations limiting
commercial net fishing but permitting Indian net
fishing for salmon in the Puyallup River. The De-
partment of Game, however, refused to recognize
a treaty right to a commercial steelhead fishery and
continued its total prohibition on net fishing for steel-
head trout. After a hearing, the trial court dissolved
its prior injunction on the grounds that the Depart-
ment of Game had not met its burden of showing
that its regulations were reasonable and necessary
for the conservation of the fishery and that the De-
partment had made no showing of irreparable in-
jury. On appeal, the Washington Supreme Court,
in Department of Game v. Puyallup Tribe, Inc., 80
Wash. 2d 561, 497 P.2d 171, reinstated the injunc-
tion against Indian net fishing for steelhead trout.

This Court reversed. Washington Game Depart-
ment v. Puyallup Tribe, 414 U.S. 44 (Puyallup II).
Reviewing the validity of regulations of the Depart-
ment of Game that banned net fishing for steelhead
trout, the Court held those regulations invalid be-
cause they discriminated against the Indians. All

5

Indian net fishing being barred, the steelhead were
being taken solely by hook and line fishing, which
was entirely preempted by non-Indians. The Court
observed that the State need not prohibit all net
fishing but could make regulations fairly allocating
the steelhead between Indians with nets and non-
Indians, while still providing the number necessary
for escapement. 414 U.S. at 48-49.

During this same period, two cases involving tribal
fishing rights were proceeding in the federal courts.
In United States v. State of Washington, 496 F.2d
620 (C.A. 9), certiorari denied, 419 U.S. 1032, the
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit held that,
although ownership of the land had largely passed
from Indian hands, the Puyallup Indian Reserva-
tion nonetheless continued in existence. As a result,
the court indicated, tribal members had a continu-
ing right to fish free from state interference on that
portion of the Puyallup River lying within the reser-
vation (ibid.).* That decision was rendered on April
30, 1974.

The court of appeals stated (496 F.2d at 620):

This appeal presents for decision, a contention under
which the appellee challenges the continued existence
of the Puyallup Indian Reservation and, as a consequence,
the right of the Puyallup Tribe of Indians to fish, free
from state interference, on that part of the Puyallup
River lying within the Reservation [footnote omitted].

The court then concluded, on the basis of Mattz v. Arnett, 412
U.S. 481, that “the Puyallup Indian Reservation continues to
exist” (496 F.2d at 621).

6

The Puyallup Tribe and the State of Washington
were also involved in litigation in the United States
District Court for the Western District of Washing-
ton. United States v. State of Washington, 384 F.
Supp. 312, affirmed, 520 F.2d 676 (C.A. 9), certio-
rari denied, 423 U.S. 1086. In that case, brought
by the United States to require the State to observe
fishing rights guaranteed by treaty to numerous
tribes including the Puyallup Tribe, the district
court held, inter alia, that on-reservation fishing
is not subject to state regulation (384 F. Supp. at
341) and that the Tribes were entitled to an oppor-
tunity to catch 50 percent of the harvestable steel-
head run off their reservations (384 F. Supp. at
343). The district court rendered its decision on
February 12, 1974.“

On April 8, 1975, after these federal decisions had
been handed down, the state superior court in the in-
stant case issued its decision curtailing the Tribe’s
right to capture steelhead both on and off the Reser-
vation. The court recognized, as had this Court in
Puyallup I, that the Department of Game has the au-
thority to regulate the off-reservation fishing activi-
ties of the Puyallup Tribe when such regulations are
necessary for the purposes of conservation. The court
further held, however, that it had jurisdiction to allo-
cate the fishery of both hatchery and naturally propa-
gated steelhead within the boundaries of the Reserva-

»The court of appeals affirmed on June 4, 1975, and then
amended its opinion in part on July 23, 1975.

7

tion (Pet. App. C-47). As to the allocation question,
the court found that the Puyallups are entitled to 45
percent of the harvestable natural steelhead run in
the Puyallup River (not to exceed 3,280 steelhead per
year) and that Indians within such limits are en-
titled to fish with nets and to sell the fish commer-
cially (Pet. App. C-57 to C-58). The court held that
the Tribe had no treaty right to hatchery produced
steelhead released by the Department of Game (Pet.
App. C-52).

The Supreme Court of Washington, with slight
modifications, affirmed. The court first held that the
state courts had jurisdiction to determine the extent
of Indian exemption from state regulations due to
overriding federal treaty rights and that it was not
necessary to defer on that question to the federal
courts (Pet. App. B-5 to B-8). The court then re-
treated from its earlier decision (in Puyallup I) rec-
ognizing an Indian net fishery as a matter of right
under the Treaty of Medicine Creek and suggested
that the finding should be re-examined by this Court
as well (Pet. App. B-8 to B-32). Holding that the
State Department of Game must exercise continuing
jurisdiction over Indian steelhead fishing, the court
ruled that, for purposes of conservation, regulations
applicable equally to Indians and non-Indians may
be imposed; that the State may not interfere with
access by Indians to their usual and accustomed fish-
ing places; that the award of 45 percent of the har-
vestable natural run as the extent of the Indians’
treaty right was an equitable determination by the

trial court (Pet. App. B-40); and that hatchery-
produced fish are not subject to Indian treaty fish-
ing rights (Pet. App. B-33 to B-37).

INTRODUCTION AND
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Puyallup Indian Reservation, created by the
Treaty of Medicine Creek (10 Stat. 1132), encom-
passes within its boundaries a portion of the Puy-
allup River. As this Court noted in Puyallup I (391
U.S. at 395), steelhead trout “come in from the ocean,
pass through the salt water of Puget Sound, enter
the fresh waters at the mouths of rivers [includ-
ing the Puyallup River], and go up these rivers to
spawn.” As they proceed upriver to their spawning
grounds, therefore, the steelhead trout pass through
waters of the Puyallup River within the Puyallup
Indian Reservation. This case involves the right of
the Puyallup Indians to fish for such steelhead trout
within their Reservation free of state regulation and
control.

This case differs markedly from Puyallup I and
Puyallup II in several respects. Salmon fishing, at is-
sue in Puyallup I (but not Puyallup II), is not at
issue here. Nor does this case involve, as did both
Puyallup I and Puyallup II, regulation of fishing by
individual tribal members outside the Reservation;
the Tribe has challenged in its petition for certiorari
only the regulation by the Department of Game of
tribal fishing within the Puyallup Reservation. In-
deed, the Department of Game named only the Tribe

and its Chairperson as defendants in the State Su-
perior Court. In addition, important decisions in two
federal cases, rendered after this Court’s decision
in Puyallup II and befo.e the judgment of the Su-
perior Court in this case, have affirmed the existence
of the Puyallup Reservation and declared the In-
dians’ right to fish on the Reservation without State
interference.

It is the position of the United States that the
Washington state courts improperly exercised juris-
diction over the Puyallup Tribe in this case and that,
in any event, principles of collateral estoppel and res
judicata barred the state courts from adjudicating
the Tribe’s right to fish on its Reservation. On
the merits, we believe that the Tribe’s right to fish
on its Reservation has been preserved free from
State regulation by the Treaty of Medicine Creek.
Moreover, even if the Tribe were to exceed the rights
granted by the Treaty, the State of Washington can-
not govern the activities of the Tribe on its Reserva-
tion; the United States, in the exercise of its guard-
ianship over the Indians, has that power and re-
sponsibility.

The sovereign immunity of the Puyallup Tribe pro-
tects it from suit at the behest of the Department
of Game (United States v. United States Fidelity &
Guaranty Co., 309 U.S. 506). The present suit, un-
like the underlying suits in Puyallup I and Puyallup
II, is directed at the Tribe alone and does not concern
off-reservation fishing activities by individual tribal
members. The order of the State Superior Court im-

10

poses obligations and restrictions directly upon the
Tribe, including a restriction on the number of
steelhead trout that may be taken within the bound-
aries of the Puyallup Reservation. This order is in-
compatible with the immunity granted to the Tribe
as a “dependent * * * sovereignt[y]” (United States
v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., supra, 309
U.S. at 512).

In any event, principles of res judicata and col-
lateral estoppel bar relitigation of issues previously
resolved by judgments in federal cases. The Court
of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit has held that the
Puyallup Reservation continues in existence and in-
dicated that the Tribe is thus free to fish upon the
Reservation without state interference (United States
v. State of Washington, 496 F.2d 620, certiorari de-
nied, 419 U.S. 1032). More importantly, the deci-
sion of the United States District Court for the West-
ern District of Washington, in a case involving both
the Puyallup Tribe and the Department of Game,
established allocation formulas applicable to off-res-
ervation fishing and concluded that tribal fishing on
the Reservation was not subject to state regulation
(United States v. State of Washington, 384 F. Supp.
312). The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
affirmed that decision (520 F.2d 676), and this Court
denied certiorari (423 U.S. 1086). Those judgments
are binding upon the state courts under the Full
Faith and Credit Clause and principles of res judi-
cata and collateral estoppel.

11

The remand from this Court in Puyallup II, a case
involving only off-reservation fishing by individual
Indians, did not render these principles ineffective.
The opinion of the Court in that case gives no indi-
cation that the state courts were to exercise jurisdic-
tion over on-reservation fishing for steelhead trout
regardless of intervening federal judgments. Nor does
the presence of the plaintiff-intervenors call for a
different outcome. To the extent that they did not
have the opportunity to present arguments in the
federal cases, their interests were amply represented
by the State of Washington and the Department of
Game.

For the foregoing reasons, we do not think it nec-
essary for the Court to reach the merits of this case.
Should it do so, we believe that Article II of the
Treaty of Medicine Creek (10 Stat. 1132), setting
apart Reservation lands for the “exclusive use” of
the Indian tribes, preserved for the Puyallup Tribe
the right to take fish upon the Reservation without
regulation by the State. Given the importance of
fishing rights to Indian tribes in 1854 (Menominee
Tribe of Indians v. United States, 391 U.S. 404, 405-
406) and the plentiful supply of fish at that time,
the Puyallup Tribe can hardly be thought to have
surrendered to future white settlers the power to
regulate its fishing activities upon the Reservation.
Although circumstances have changed significantly
in the past 123 years, the State may not now limit
by regulation the rights conferred to the Tribe by
federal treaty.

The State of Washington has no inherent jurisdic-
tion over the Puyallup Indians upon their Reserva-
tion (Bryan v. Itasca County, 426 U.S. 373, 376-377,
n. 2). Although this Court has permitted limited
exercise of state jurisdiction over matters involving
Indians off their Reservation and over matters in-
volving non-Indians, the activities in this case fall
into neither category; rather, the State seeks to regu-
late tribal activity on the Reservation that it suspects
may affect non-Indians outside the Reservation. This
substantial interference with tribal sovereignty finds
no warrant in the decisions of this Court.

The federal government, in the exercise of its
plenary power over the Indian tribes, can oversee
proper exercise of the Indians’ treaty rights. And
the State, of course, may reach an accommodation
with the Tribe through appropriate bargaining. What
the State may not do, in our view, is unilaterally
to impose regulations on the Puyallup Tribe within
the borders of its Reservation and thus make the
Tribe’s exercise of its treaty rights subject to con-
tinuing state control.

ARGUMENT

I. THE STATE SUPERIOR COURT LACKED JURIS-
DICTION OVER THE PETITION FOR RELIEF BE-
CAUSE OF THE SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY OF THE
PUYALLUP TRIBE.

The Amended Petition for Declaratory Relief, filed
by the Department of Game on January 9, 1974,

following remand after the decision in Puyallup I/
(App. 3), names as defendants only the Puyallup

18

Tribe, Ine. and Ramona Bennett, Chairperson of the
Tribal Council. The complaints filed by the plaintiffs-
intervenors are directed to the same defendants. Not
surprisingly, therefore, the relief awarded by the
state superior court (and substantially affirmed by
the Washington Supreme Court) generally runs
against the Tribe: the Tribe is directed to submit a
roll of authorized fishermen; the Tribe is required to
report on a weekly basis the take of the Tribal mem-
bers; and, most importantly, the take of the Tribe
within the boundaries of its Reservation is limited by
the allocation formula developed by the superior
court. Moreover, the state courts have denied the
Tribe and its members any right to take hatchery
fish that pass through the Puyallup Reservation (Pet.
App. E-2 to E-5).

The principle is well-established that Indian tribes
enjoy sovereign immunity from suit absent a clear
waiver. United States v. United States Fidelity &
Guaranty Co., 309 U.S. 506. Once themselves re-
garded a- sovereign nations,‘ Indian tribes tradi-
tionally have been protected by principles of im-
munity similar to those applicable to the several
States. See, e.g., Thebo v. Choctaw Tribe of Indians,
66 Fed. 372 (C.C.A. 8). Under normal circum-
stances, and without clear waiver, those principles
would protect an Indian tribe from being haled into
state court, at the behest of a state agency, and or-

*See Worcester v. Georgia, 6 Pet. 515 (Marshall, C.J.);
United States v. Devonian Gas and Oil Co., 424 F.2d 464
(C.A. 2) (Friendly, J.).

14

dered to forego rights believed to have been secured
in a treaty with the United States.

The Washington state courts in this case asserted
jurisdiction over the Puyallup Tribe apparently upon
two grounds.’ First, the Washington Supreme Court
(Pet. App. B-6) found persuasive the language of
this Court in Puyallup I, rejecting a sovereign im-
munity defense: “This case, however, is a suit to en-
join violations of state law by individual tribal mem-
bers fishing off the reservation. As such, it is analo-
gous to prosecution of individual Indians for crimes
committed off reservation lands, a matter for which
there has been no grant of exclusive jurisdiction to
federal courts” (391 U.S. at 397, n. 11). The pres-
ent suit, however, as a reading of the petition for
relief shows, is not “a suit to enjoin violations of
state law by individual tribal members” (emphasis
added), none of whom is named as a defendant in
the petition, nor is it a suit involving only “fishing
off the reservation” (emphasis added). Rather, the
suit is directed in large part at controlling the activi-

* Although it does not appear that the Tribe raised the
defense of tribal sovereign immunity in its answer, we believe
that this defense, like the Eleventh Amendment defense, “suffi-
ciently partakes of the nature of a jurisdictional bar so that it
need not be raised in the trial court” (Edelman v. Jordan,
415 U.S. 651, 678).

The Washington Supreme Court apparently assumed that
the Tribe was subject to suit; the pertinent question in its
view was whether federal treaty rights could be determined
in State court (Pet. App. B-5). In this brief we discuss the
positions taken by the Washington Supreme Court insofar as
they may pertain to the issue of sovereign immunity as well.

—

15

ties of the Puyallup Tribe itself (and presumably its
members at least indirectly) both off and on the
Reservation in a manner not contemplated during
the proceedings under review in Puyallup I.

The second basis for assuming jurisdiction over the
Tribe was the remand from this Court in Puyallup
II. But Puyallup II, like its predecessor, involved
fishing by individual tribal members off the Reserva-
tion. Although the Tribe (as in Puyallup 1) was
named as a defendant, the sole question before this
Court was the extent of off-reservation fishing rights
exercisable by tribal members in common with non-
treaty fisherman in Washington. Nothing in these
prior cases placed obligations upon the Tribe itself
or in any way restricted the right of the Tribe to
conduct fishing operations within the confines of its
Reservation.

The fact that individual fishing rights are gen-
erally derived from, and dependent on, tribal fishing
rights is, under these circumstances, not relevant to
the question of sovereign immunity. A State may
sue individual tribal members to regulate their off-
reservation conduct under non-discriminatory fishing
regulations held necessary for conservation and com-
patible with Tribal treaty rights; but it does not
follow that the Tribe itself must answer in State
court for the extent of its on-reservation fishing and,
in addition, submit lists and reports to assist state
regulation off the Reservation. Whatever may be the
obligation of individual Indians to respond to state
process, the Tribes, as “dependent * * * sovereignties”

16

(United States v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty
Co., supra, 309 U.S. at 512), are not subject to suit
at the behest of a State or private parties. Thus,
the exercise of judicial power over the Tribe in this
case is incompatible with recognized principles of
Tribal sovereign immunity.

II. ESTABLISHED PRINCIPLES OF RES JUDICATA
AND COLLATERAL ESTOPPEL BAR RELITIGA-
TION OF THE PRINCIPAL ISSUES IN THIS CASE.

If the Tribe’s immunity from suit did not bar the
Washington state courts from deciding the scope of
the Indians’ fishing rights, we believe these issues are
nevertheless foreclosed, under principles of collateral
estoppel and res judicata, by the decision of the
United States District Court for the Western Dis-
trict of Washington in United States v. State of Wash-
ington, 384 F. Supp. 312, affirmed, 520 F.2d 676
(C.A. 9), certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 1086.

Despite the complex history of this litigation, and
the related federal litigation, the facts giving rise
to application of principles of res judicata and col-
lateral estoppel are relatively straightforward. On
January 9, 1974, after the remand from this Court
in Puyallup II, and the subsequent remand to the
state superior court from the Washington Supreme
Court, respondent Department of Game there filed
an Amended Petition for Declaratory Relief. Shortly
thereafter, on February 12, 1974, Federal District
Judge Boldt entered his decision in United States v.
State of Washington, supra, upholding the right of

17

the Puyallup Tribe to take 50 percent of the harvest-
able steelhead in off-reservation fishing sites recog-
nized by the Treaty of Medicine Creek. Judge Boldt
also held that fish taken by the Tribe on the reserva-
tion were not subject to regulation by the State and
were not to be counted in the Tribe’s specified share.
On April 30, 1974, the Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit, in a separate federal case, agreed that the
Puyallup Reservation continued in existence and that
the Tribe had an exclusive right to take fish from
waters within that Reservation. United States v.
State of Washington, supra. Neither decision was
thereafter disturbed in any way significant to the
questions under consideration in the state courts.
The order of the state superior court in this case
was not entered until April 8, 1975. The state
superior court accepted the continued existence of the
Puyallup Reservation (Pet. App. C-39) but declined
in all other respects to accede to the results of the
federal litigation.“ The court, therefore, established

»The defenses of res judicata and collateral estoppel, while
perhaps not raised below with the greatest clarity, appear to
have been sufficiently pleaded to impede further litigation on
the matters in question. For example, Affirmative Defense I
(App. 15) notes that the Ninth Circuit in United States v.
State of Washington, 496 F.2d 620, certiorari denied, 419 U.S.
1032, had held that the Puyallup Reservation continued in ex-
istence and that the Tribe retained a “sole and exclusive right”
to take steelhead on the Reservation. Affirmative Defense II
(App. 15) cites to the district court opinion in United States
v. State of Washington, 384 F. Supp. 312, affirmed, 520 F.2d
676 (C.A. 9), certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 1086, and states:
“This decision affirms the right of the Puyallup Indian Tribe,

18

different allocation percentages and procedures and
held that “the State can enforce reasonable restric-
tions on the commercial fishing of Indians even
though the fish pass through a portion of the river
that would be designated within the boundaries of an
Indian Reservation” (Pet. App. C-51).

The state courts were not free to disregard the
prior decisions of the federal courts on these matters.
“Under the [Full Faith and Credit Clause] and 28
USC §1738, which implements the Constitution
and is broader in scope in some respects a valid
judgment of one state must be given full faith and
credit in the courts of another state and in the fed-
eral courts, and a valid federal judgment must be
given full faith and credit in the state courts. Thus
the doctrine of full faith and credit supports and

under the Treaty of Medicine Creek, to share in the taking of
50% of the harvestable steelhead from the affected waters, ex-
clusive of Puyallup tribal needs and on-reservation fishing.”
Although the answer speaks in terms of mootness (App. 15)
and preemption (App. 16), the basis for claims of res judicata
and collateral estoppel is set out in sufficient detail to provide
the plaintiffs and the state court with notice of prior binding
decisions. In fact, the trial judge explicitly rejected “the
position that [he] was bound by Judge Boldt’s decision” (Pet.
App. C-30 to C-31).

Similarly, we believe that this issue is fairly raised by the
Petition for Certiorari. The “Question Presented” (Pet. 2),
though phrased in general terms, does challenge the right of
the state courts to adjudicate on-reservation fishing rights,
and the issue of collateral estoppel is specifically addressed in
the petit n (Pet. 31). This case does not, therefore, evidence
“the practice of smuggling additional questions into a case
after [the Court] grant[s] certiorari” (Irvine v. California,
347 U.S. 128, 129 (opinion of Jackson, J.)).

——Ü— OR ge el ee NL ͥͤꝓ—＋r äkʃ—ä—bk tw —

19

gives effect to the doctrine of res judicata, and ac-
cordingly ‘the local doctrines of res judicata, speak-
ing generally, become a part of national jurispru-
dence’ [Riley v. New York Trust Co., 315 U.S. 343,
349].” 1B Moore, Federal Practice, . 0.406[1], pp.
901-903 (2d ed. 1974). See also Stoll v. Gottlieb, 305
U.S. 165; Hancock National Bank v. Farnum, 176
U.S. 640. Under principles of res judicata, “when a
court of competent jurisdiction has entered a final
judgment on the merits of a cause of action, the par-
ties to the suit and their privies are thereafter bound
‘not only as to every matter which was offered and re-
ceived to sustain or defeat the claim or demand, but
as to any other admissible matter which might have
been offered for that purpose.’ Cromwell v. County of
Sac, 94 U.S. 351, 352.“ Commissioner v. Sunnen, 333
U.S. 591, 597. When a second suit, not yet brought to
judgment, is for a different cause of action, princi-
ples of collateral estoppel dictate that “a right, ques-
tion or fact distinctly put in issue and directly deter-
mined by a court of competent jurisdiction, as a

ground of recovery, cannot be disputed in a subse-

quent suit between the same parties or their privies
.“ Southern Pacific Railroad Co. v. United
States, 168 U.S. 1, 48-49.

The Department of Game has had a full opportu-
nity to litigate in the federal lawsuits the extent of
its regulatory power over both on-reservation and
off-reservation fishing by the Puyallup Indians. In
the lawsuit before Judge Boldt, the parties uni-
formly agreed that the State lacked the power to

regulate on-reservation fishing.’ The court then gave
extensive consideration to the question of off-reserva-
tion and set forth principles of allocation that ensured
full protection of the Indians’ treaty rights. There
is no indication that the materials before Judge
Boldt were misleading or in any way deficient. The
Department of Game is precluded, therefore, from
relitigating those issues in a different forum.

For several reasons, we do not believe that the
remand from this Court in Puyallup II was intended
to, or did, supplant traditional principles of finality
in litigation. To begin with, the question of regulat-
ing on-reservation fishing was never addressed in
the prior Puyallup cases: as we have discussed (pp.
14-15, supra), those cases involved off-reservation
fishing rights alone. Moreover, although the Wash-
ington Supreme Court stated that this Court “spe-
cifically remanded this case for a determination of
a fair allocation that ‘accommodate[s] the rights of
Indians under the Treaty and the rights of other
people.’ See Puyallup II at 49,” (Pet. App. B-6) the
Court in Puyallup II did no more than to hold that
the previous regulations of the Department of Game
failed to protect the Indians’ treaty rights. The Court
did not direct the state courts or the Department of
Game to devise allocation formulas but merely noted

that the “aim” of any formula, or any other pro-

Judge Boldt specifically noted: “All parties in this case
agree that on reservation fishing is not subject to state regu-
lation and no issue to the contrary is presented in this case”

(384 F. Supp. at 341).

21

posed solution, must be the fair accommodation of
competing interests in off-reservation fishing—a re-
sult since achieved in the federal litigation before
Judge Boldt. Finally, at the time that this Court
decided Puyallup I, the federal decisions Jater raised
as a bar to further litigation of the same issues in
Puyallup III had not yet been handed down. Under
those circumstances, this Court hardly can have in-
ten ded to invert the normal principles of res judicata
and collateral estoppel and deny force to those federal
decisions because of the expected pendency of further
proceedings in state court.

Nor does the presence of the plaintiffs-intervenors *
in this lawsuit make relitigation of these issues ap-
propriate. Although neither intervenor was a party
to the federal lawsuit before Judge Boldt, the North-
west Steelheaders did participate fully in briefing
and argument before the court of appeals. This
appearance was sufficient to allow meaningful pres-
entation of its views, and the policies of judicial
finality and freedom from vexatious and repetitive
litigation argue in favor of barring reconsideration
of identical issues in this lawsuit.

Moreover, the interests of all plaintiffs-intervenors
were fully represented by the State in the federal
litigation before Judge Boldt and intervenors would
have benefitted from any judgment favorable to the
State in that litigation. Although intervenors sug-

* Northwest Steelheaders Council of Trout Unlimited and
Gary Ellis; and Western Steclheaders, Inc. (Pet. App. B-1).

gest that they are seeking a declaration of personal
rights in the steelhead fishery, those rights, to the
extent that they involve non-hatchery fish available
for capture off the Reservation, can be no more than
the right to fish in common with the Puyallup In-
dians—a right possessed by all citizens of the State
subject to appropriate regulation. A judgment against
the State affecting those fish, therefore, binds its
citizens as well. See City of Tacoma v. Taxpayers,
357 U.S. 320, 340-341. To the extent that the rights
claimed are in hatchery fish alone, because of license
fees paid for their propagation, intervenors’ interest
is limited primarily to a matter not decided by the
federal courts and not raised as a question presented
in the petition here. Intervenors’ interest is certainly
not sufficient to justify the state courts’ refusal to
give full faith and credit to the lower federal courts’
determination that the State may not regulate Tribal
fishing on the reservation.

III. THE RIGHT OF THE PUYALLUP TRIBE TO FISH
ON ITS RESERVATION WITHOUT STATE INTER-
FERENCE IS PRESERVED BY THE TREATY OF
MEDICINE CREEK.

The Treaty of Medicine Creek, 10 Stat. 1132, be-
tween the United States and various Indian bands
(including the Puyallup Tribe), provided that certain
lands previously occupied by the Indians would be
ceded to the United States for an agreed considera-
tion. The same treaty also provided that specified
tracts of land, including the present Puyallup Reser-
vation, would be “reserved for the present use and

—

occupation of the said tribes and bands * * *.” Ac-
cording to Article II of the Treaty, those tracts were
to be “set apart, and, so far as necessary, surveyed
and marked out for their exclusive use; nor shall any
white man be permitted to reside upon the same
without permission of the tribe and the superintend-
ent or agent” (emphasis added).

Article III of the Treaty, considered by this Court
in Puyallup I and Puyallup II, supplemented the res-
ervation fishing rights by providing: “The right of
taking fish, at all usual and accustomed grounds and
stations, is further secured to said Indians, in com-
mon with all citizens of the Territory * * *.” Article
III conveyed no fishing rights on the Reservations to
white settlers within the Territory; rather it reserved
to the Indians their prior fishing rights in the ceded
territory, now outside the Reservations, subject only
to the qualification that they were no longer to be
exclusive but to be exercised “in common with” other
citizens. These rights were in addition to the rights

reserved under Article II, not in derogation of them.

The principles to be applied in interpreting the pro-
visions of this Treaty have been set forth in numer-
ous prior decisions of this Court. “[T]he wording of
treaties and statutes ratifying agreements with the
Indians is not to be construed to their prejudice.”
Antoine v. Washington, 420 U.S. 194, 199. “It is
[the court’s] responsibility to see that the terms of
the treaty are carried out, so far as possible, in
accordance with the meaning they were understood to
have by the tribal representatives at the council, and

in a spirit which generously recognizes the full obli-
gation of this nation to protect the interests of a
dependent people” (Tulee v. Washington, 315 U.S.
681, 684). “ ‘Doubtful expressions are to be resolved
in favor of the weak and defenseless people who are
the wards of the nation, dependent upon its protec-
tion and good faith.’ Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U.S.
363, 367 (1930)” (McClanahan v. Arizona State Tax
Commission, 411 U.S. 164, 174).

In light of these principles we believe that Article
II of the Treaty of Medicine Creek provided for the
Puyallup Tribe a Reservation on which its members
were entitled to fish free from state interference.
In 1854 fishing was generally an integral part of
tribal life upon the Reservations (see Menominee
Tribe of Indians v. United States, 391 U.S. 404,
405-406); and Indians largely depended upon fish
for their subsistence. “The right to hunt and fish
was part of the larger rights possessed by the Indians
in the lands used and occupied by them. Such right,
which was ‘not much less necessary to the existence of
the Indians than the atmosphere they breathed’ re-
mained in them unless granted away. United States
v. Winans, 198 U.S. 371.” Op. Acting Sol. M. 28107,
June 30, 1936, quoted in Department of Interior, Fed-
eral Indian Law 497 (1958). At that time, more than
three decades before admission of the State of Wash-
ington to the Union, the Indians could not have ex-
pected that by agreeing to remove to a Reservation
set apart for “their exclusive use,” they had conferred
upon future white settlers in the surrounding area

—

the power to limit the Indians’ traditional fishing
rights upon the Reservation. Rather the parties to
the Treaty must have intended that the Indians
could continue their tribal existence, as before, on
the lands to which they were removed—that is, the
Indians would be free to fish on their Reservation,
subject only to the terms of the Treaty itself.

Indeed, the Supreme Court of Washington, with-
out discussing Article II of the Treaty, lends support
in its opinion to our position that the parties to the
Treaty did not intend to limit traditional Indian
fishing rights. Reviewing the historical background
of the Treaty in its analysis of Article III, that court
observed (Pet. App. B-22):

[A]t the time of the Treaty in 1854, the parties
did not contemplate the event of conservation
requirements necessary to preserve the species.
There was an inexhaustible supply of fish, see
Uncommon Controversy, [Fishing Rights of the
Muckleshoot, Puyallup and Nisqually Indians (A
Report Prepared for the American Friends Serv-
ice Commission] at 4 n. 3, 61-62, and the Treaty
was undoubtedly premised on this condition.

In short, there was at that time no need to impose
by treaty the limitations upon on-reservation fishing
that the Department of Game now seeks to impose by
enforcement of its regulations through the state
courts.

We recognize, of course, that conditions today
have changed. Expanding population, particularly
non-Indian population, and the increased sophistica-

tion of fishing methods create demands on the supply
of steelhead trout unforeseen in 1854. But the press
of changed circumstances, without more, is not a
sufficient reason for the State unilaterally to disre-
gard or redraw Indian treaty rights without seeking
legislation by Congress that takes into account the
Indians’ continuing interest and provides an appro-
priate consideration for any rights now modified.
The treaty rights of the Indians, by virtue of the
Supremacy Clause, are not subject to limitation by
state legislation in that manner. United States v.
Pink, 315 U.S. 203; Santovincenzo v. Egan, 284
U.S. 30. See also Missouri v. Holland, 252 U.S. 416;
Maiorano v. Baltimore & Ohio R.R. Co., 213 U.S. 268.

Although the matter is not strictly relevant to in-
terpretation of the Treaty of Medicine Creek, we
note that the concern expressed by the state superior
court below—that the Indians would deplete the entire
steelhead run by on-reservation fishing (Pet. App.
C-40)—appears overstated. The Puyallup Indians
have not sought at any time to capture all fish pass-
ing through the Reservation and the record does not
support speculation that they intend to do so. Nor
does this case present the question whether the Treaty
of Medicine Creek could be interpreted consistently
with the Indians’ benefit to protect against total ex-
haustion of the fish supply. Moreover, Congress pre-
sumably retains the power to prevent abuse of the
Indians’ fishing rights if the need for such protection
should arise.

— —— —-ũ—ͤ

—— —ä . ——

IV. THE STATE OF WASHINGTON DOES NOT HAVE
THE POWER TO REGULATE THE ON-RESERVA-
TION FISHING ACTIVITIES OF THE PUYALLUP
TRIBE.

Should the Court conclude that the Treaty of Medi-
cine Creek does not reserve to the Puyallup Tribe un-
restricted fishing rights on its Reservation, the Court
would have to decide whether the State has the power
to exercise jurisdiction over the on-reservation fish-
ing activities at issue in this case. We believe the
State does not have such power.

The State of Washington, like other States, has
no inherent general jurisdiction over Indian activities
occurring within the boundaries of an Indian reser-
vation. See Bryan v. Itasca County, supra, 426 U.S.
at 376-377, n. 2.“ To the contrary, “[t]he policy of
leaving Indians free from state jurisdiction and con-
trol is deeply rooted in the Nation’s history.” Rice v.
Olson, 324 U.S. 786, 789. As this Court recently
stated in McClanahan v. Arizona State Tax Commis-
sion, supra, 411 U.S. at 168:

This policy was first articulated by this Court
141 years ago when Mr. Chief Justice Marshall
held that Indian nations were “distinct political
communities, having territorial boundaries. with-
in which their authority is exclusive, and hav-
ing a right to all the lands within those boun-

Nor has Washington acquired jurisdiction under Public
Law 280, 28 U.S.C. 1360, over criminal and civil matters
affecting the Puyallup Indians. We do not address the ques-
tion whether Public Law 280, if applicable, would permit reg-
ulation of on-reservation fishing activities by the Puyallup
Tribe.

daries, which is not only acknowledged but
guarantied by the United States.” Worcester v.
Georgia, 6 Pet. 515, 557 (1832). It followed
from this concept of Indian reservations as sepa-
rate, although dependent nations, that state law
could have no role to play within the reservation
boundaries.

The doctrine of tribal immunity from state juris-
diction, which has served as well as a “backdrop” for
the doctrine of federal preemption, McClanahan,
supra, 411 U.S. at 172; Bryan v. Itasca County,
supra, 426 U.S. at 376-377, n. 2, is not absolutely
rigid. The Court has permitted a narrow exercise of
state jurisdiction over matters involving Indians sep-
arate and apart from the reservation and over mat-
ters involving non-Indians. McClanahan, supra, 411
U.S. at 171; Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai
Tribes of the Flathead Reservation, 425 U.S. 463,
480-481. Modification of the doctrine has occurred,
however, only “in cases where essential tribal rela-
tions were not involved and where the rights of In-
dians would not be jeopardized” (Williams v. Lee,
358 U.S. 217, 219). The pivotal consideration in
those cases has been defined as “whether the state
action infringed on the right of reservation Indians
to make their own laws and be ruled by them” (id.
at 220; Fisher v. District Court, 424 U.S. 382, 386)
or whether the state action would “interfere with res-
ervation self-government or would impair a right
granted or reserved by federal law” (Mescalero
Apache Tribe v. Jones, 411 U.S. 145, 148.

ee oOoOoO lekẽ ů ———— —＋8ͤũ285 444% %%% 0

—— — ͤ w— eek — —

This case involves neither the conduct of non-
Indians upon reservation lands nor the conduct of
Indians off reservation lands.“ The State of Wash-
ington instead seeks to extend its regulatory powers
onto the Reservation, to control the activities of the
Tribe and its members, because it believes those
activities may have an adverse impact on non-Indians
outside the Reservation. The state superior court has
issued an opinion prohibiting certain fishing prac-
tices conducted solely within the reservation boun-
daries; that opinion presumably may be enforced by
contempt proceedings. Thus, the potential interfer-
ence with tribal sovereignty, and with plenary fed-
eral control over Indian affairs (Shoshone Tribe of
Indians v. United States, 299 U.S. 476), is both
direct and considerable.

The fact that the Puyallup Tribe might be taking
fish on its Reservation in excess of the rights pre-
served by the Treaty of Medicine Creek would not
in itself justify interference by the State. In our
view, the doctrines of sovereign immunity and fed-

eral preemption do not serve only to protect the

Indians from state regulation of lawful activity.
Rather, they rest upon the premise that unauthorized
entry onto reservation lands by State officials,
whether to enforce state or federal laws, is incon-
sistent with both the independent status of Indian
tribes and the primary responsibility of the federal
government over Indian affairs.

In Puyallup I and Puyallup II, the State sought to regu-
late the conduct of Indians fishing off the Reservation.

Although we are not prepared at this time to say
that a State may never seek to regulate Indian prac-
tices upon a Reservation, regardless of the effect on
citizens outside the Reservation, the circumstances
of this case do not call for even a narrow exception
to the tradition of noninterference. As yet, the citi-
zens of the State of Washington have suffered no
serious deprivations from the exercise of fishing
rights by the Puyallup Tribe; thus, the State is not
acting under narrowly circumscribed powers to mod-
erate a situation of emergency. The record does not
show that the State will be unable to provide an
adequate supply of fish for its sport and commercial
fishermen unless it reaches its regulatory arm onto
the Puyallup Reservation. Moreover, the State has
had a full opportunity to argue its position in fed-
eral court in a lawsuit to which the United States, as
well as the Puyallup Tribe, is a party. Should the
Puyallup Tribe fail to comply with the terms of the
judgment in that case, federal enforcement may be
available. And Congress, of course, remains free to
enact federal legislation to remedy any difficulties
that actually arise.

Even if the State’s efforts at on-reservation regu-
lation are viewed in terms of the existing narrow
exceptions to the policy of noninterference (p. 28,
supra), the regulation is not justified. The right to
fish upon a Reservation is a right long associated
with tribal existence. Although it may no longer be
true that exercise of the right is “not much less nec-
essary to the existence of the Indians than the atmos-

—ͤ—ũ— — —WG— ey

—— —— . ——¶ ZZ — — — 2 —

31

phere they breathed,” United States v. Winans, 198
U.S. 371, 381, the record indicates that fishing plays
an important role in the economic preservation of the
Puyallup Tribe. In fact, fishing rights are about all
the Tribe has retained, as the bulk of its lands were
sold. To cut back these rights, as the State would do,
would cause a significant hardship to the Tribe and
its members.
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the
Supreme Court of the State of Washington should
be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

DANIEL M. FRIEDMAN,
Acting Solicitor General.

PETER R. TAFT,
Assistant Attorney General.

H. BARTOW Farr, III,
Assistant to the Solicitor General.

EDMUND B. CLARK,
GEORGE R. HYDE,

Attorneys.
MARCH 1977.

W ©. © covernment reimrime orrice; 1977 229804 69

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0648%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
