# Motion to Dismiss — Hub Theatres, Inc. v. Massachusetts Port Authority

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0509%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion to Dismiss
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 891

## Text

gn The
Supreme Court Of The Anited States

Octoser TERM, 1976

No. 76-281

HUB THEATRES, INC., ASPEN REALTY, INC.,

SUFFOLK CONCESSIONS, INC.,
Appellants

V.

MASSACHUSETTS PORT AUTHORITY,
Appellee

On Appeal from the Supreme Judicial
Court of Massachusetts

MOTION TO DISMISS

Georce C. Caner, JR.
Ropes & Gray
225 Franklin Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02110
(617) 423-6100

PRESS OF GEORGE H. DEAN CO., BOSTON

In The
Supreme Court Of The Anited States

Ocroser Term, 1976

No. 76-281

HUB THEATRES, INC., ASPEN REALTY, INC.,

SUFFOLK CONCESSIONS, INC.,
Appellants
v.

MASSACHUSETTS PORT AUTHORITY,
Appellee

On Appeal from the Supreme Judicial
Court of Massachusetts

MOTION TO DISMISS

The appellee Massachusetts Port Authority moves to
dismiss the appeal on the grounds that the Court lacks
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(2), the statute invoked
by the appellants (Jur. St. 2), that the appeal does not
present a substantial federal question, that the purported
federal question presented was not timely or properly
raised, that the judgment | ‘ow rests on an adequate non-
federal basis, and that the appeal does not comply with the
rules of this Court, particularly Rule 15(1)(d).

The Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts affirmed
the dismissal of the action on the pleadings by the Massa-

2

chusetts Superior Court. The plaintiffs had commenced an
action in tort against the Massachusetts Port Authority,
created by an Enabling Act (Chapter 465 of the Massachu-
setts Acts of 1956) which directed it, as successor to the
state, to maintain and operate Logan Airport, on the ground
that flights over the plaintiffs’ theatre were the responsi-
bility of the Authority, constituted a nuisance,’ and entitled
the plaintiffs to recover three million dollars from the de-
fendant. The Authority demurred to the writ and declara-
tion and set up the bar of its Enabling Act. R. 4

The appellants say that “[t]he issue in the case from
the very outset has been whether or not the state has the
power to legislatively sanction . . . a substantial nuisance
... Without the payment of just compensation”. Jur. St. 5.
The truth of the matter is that they never pitched their
damage claim on the Fourteenth Amendment or any other
provision of federal law until such a position became a
prerequisite of further judicial review. The plaintiffs’ dec-
laration (R.1-3) does not rely upon any constitutional pro-
vision. The decision of the Superior Court dismissing the

1 The opening sentences in the plaintiffs’ Supreme Judicial Court
(SJC) brief were as follows:

“It may be properly inferred that the facts set forth in the
Plaintiffs’ Declaration wherein it is alleged that jet aircraft
operating below safe navigable air space over an outdoor theatre,
emitting noxious fumes and ear-splitting noise with attendant
tremendous vibrations and other undesirable operations, would
totally interfere with the exhibition and enjoyment of motion
pictures by patrons of said outdoor theatre. Such conduct if
proven by the Appellants, would certainly warrant the finding of
a nuisance.”

The appellee has requested that the clerk of the Supreme Judicial
Court forward to this Court the record of the proceedings below
and the briefs of the parties. Citations are to those materials.

eo

3

action on the “clear principle of Massachusetts law that
what the Legislature has authorized or directed cannot be a
nuisance or trespass” (R.7) does not refer to any issue of
whether the federal constitution confers a right to compen-
sation for an alleged “nuisance” of this kind, not amounting
to a taking. The appellants’ SJC briefs made no such con-
tention, leading the Authority in its brief to observe without
contradiction that “(t]he constitutionality of the compre-
hensive legislation embodying this judgment [that the air-
port is not a public nuisance but a public benefit] has at all
times been affirmed by our courts and is not challenged in
this suit.” Def. Br. 7-8; compare the plaintiffs’ reply brief
which takes no exception to this statement. The opinion of
the Supreme Judicial Court recognizes no such issue. See
Jur. St. 9-13. The plaintiffs’ Petition for Rehearing (letter
to Hennessey, C. J. of April 28, 1976) makes no claim that
the Enabling Act as construed violates the Fourteenth
Amendment, but rather maintains that the declaration was
sufficient as a matter of state law falling within the excep-
tion mentioned in the SJC opinion for unreasonable and
unnecessary activities. Coincidentally, the appellants have
discovered their Fourteenth Amendment argument just at
the point when it is the only argument statutorily review-
able.

The passage in the Authority’s SJC brief quoted in the
appellants’ jurisdictional statement argues the point that
even if a nuisance claim might be recognized by state law
for permitting noisy overflights, the area of airplane noise
had been occupied by federal law, which would preclude a
state claim. Def. SJC Br. 14-18. The Supreme Judicial
Court never reached this argument. Instead, it rested its
decision on the “adequate non-federal basis” that no cause
of action for nuisance existed under state law.

4

The insubstantiality of the contention now made that
“(b]lanket immunity such as is urged by the appellee would
give the Commonwealth the untrammeled ability to effec-
tively foreclose the appellants’ right to compensatory dam-
ages pursuant to the Fourteenth Amendment” (Jur. St. 6)
is shown by another circumstance. The Superior Court
noted the plaintiffs’ right to recover damages for an activity
“so extreme that it amounts to a taking” and the pendency
of the plaintiffs’ eminent domain petition for assessment
of damages then pending in that court. R.9, 8. The plain-
tiffs referred to this proceeding in their affidavit filed in
the Supreme Judicial Court on behalf of the appellants
dated September 30, 1975.2 The Supreme Judicial Court
agreed that the plaintiffs in a proper proceeding could try
out the issue of whether the activity complained of amounted
to a taking but noted that “we do not have that question
before us”. Jur. St. 13. Thus, there has never been any
question of “blanket” immunity here; it has always been
recognized that an interference so major as to amount to a
iaking is compensable in an eminent domain proceeding,
and the appellants have belatedly sought to take advantage
of this remedy.

The Fourteenth Amendment does not reach governmental
activities not amounting to a taking. See Transportation
Co. v. Chicago, 99 U.S. 635 (1878) ; Town of East Haven v.
Eastern Airlines, Inc., 331 F.Supp. 16, supplemented, 333
F.Supp. 338 (D. Conn. 1971), aff'd, 470 F.2d 148 (2d Cir.
1972). The appellants’ declaration did not allege a taking,

“The action previously instituted against the Appellee alleging
a constructive taking of the theatre property by the Appellee (Suf-
folk Superior No. 623529; which case is referred to on page 4 of the
lower court’s “Memorandum of Decision on Motion to Dismiss’’) is
still pending in the Superior Court.” Pl. SJC Aff. 1.

5

and its writ was in tort. While the Fourteenth Amendment
does underlie the appellants’ eminent domain position, it
is not brought into play by this action of tort. Compare
Crane v. Hahlo, 258 U.S. 142, 147 (1922); Mitchell v. W. T.
Grant Co., 416 U.S. 600, 610 (1974).

Finally, the absence of any legitimate argument for re-
view available to these appellants is underlined by their
resort to extra-record factual assertions which are quite
untrue. Conduct of this sort is a tacit admission that if
they were to confine themselves to the truth, they could not
prevail. This is a case decided on the pleadings . The Court
will not find any allegation that “[iJn the latter part of the
1950’s, and after the construction of the theatre, a new
runway was installed at the airport with a glide path di-
rectly over the theatre. The first aircraft to use the new
runway were prop jets....” Jur. St. 3-4; contrast R.1-3.
Instead, one finds that the actual allegation is:

“That the Defendant, Massachusetts Port Authority,
maintained and presently maintains its runways of vary-
ing lengths. Several of these runways were and are
aimed at and point directly to the said Suffolk Downs
Drive-in Theatre, and the glide paths to said runways are
directly over the theatre.” R.2 (Declaration, Count 1).

The plaintiffs’ allegation that the runways “were and are
aimed at” the theatre is basically truthful and is accepted
arguendo on demurrer. The assertion of a “new runway”
installed “after the construction of the theatre” not only
lacks foundation in the record, but is purely fictional. The
truth of the matter is that although there is indeed an air-
port runway (4R-22L) which is “aimed at and point[s]
directly to” the plaintiffs’ theatre, it was constructed in the
1940’s. From the time of its construction to date there has
been no change in its length or direction. The plaintiff-

6

appellants in 1955 deliberately located and built their open-
air theatre squarely in the approach path of this runway,
then Logan’s longest and principal runway. This was a year
before the creation of the Authority. The plaintiffs’ attempt
to avoid their share of responsibility for the overflights by
misstating the chronology of events is quite unconscionable.

For all of the above reasons, appellees’ motion to dismiss
should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

George C. Caner, JR.
Ropes & Gray
225 Franklin Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02110
(617) 423-6100

Attorney for Appellee-Defendant
Massachusetts Port Authority

September 24, 1976

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0509%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
