# Opposition — Board of Supervisors v. Coleman

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0460%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 960

## Text

—— _e—

Bupreme Court, U R.

IN THE ocr 4

Supreme Court of the Writed States «~

OcTOBER TERM, 1

No. 76-231

Boarp oF Supervisors OF Farrrax OCouNTy, VIRGINIA
AND THE CoUNTY OF NassAU, NEW YORK,
Petitioners,

v.

Wuu1A4M T. CoLEMAN, JR., et al.,
and
BritTIsH AIRWAYS, COMPAGNIE NATIONALE AIR FRANCE,
AND Paciric LEGAL FounpDATION,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT PACIFIC LEGAL
FOUNDATION IN OPPOSITION

RonALD A. ZUMBRUN

RAYMOND M. MoMBOISSE
PactFic LEGAL FounDATION
455 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, California 95814

JOHN H. MIDLEN, JR.
MIpDLEN & REeppy
1990 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20036

Counsel for Respondent

Pacific Legal Foundation
GLENN E. Davis

Pactric LEGAL FounDATION
1990 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D. ©. 20086

Of Counsel

14837-10.76 Passs or Brnow S. ApamMs Paovrinc, Iwc., Wasnincron, D. C.

:
‘

ee a RR. la ee ee

SUBJECT INDEX

Page
EE sb dn dunes $60%104204405400000000000% 1
Oe ee ee eee eee 2
rE 0 ls ant u thee bibhetéeneecencees 2
I ode oak aseuceg béscudasesweeecsses 2
SPE GET GP GOD oo vac cccsoncvovceveveceseces 2
Neen i ee eee 7

I. The Secretary’s Decision To Allow a Trial
Period of Commercial Supersonic Transport
Flights Into the United States in Order To Aid
in Promulgation of an SST Noise Regulation
Was Within His Authority and Discretion .... 8

II. The Secretary’s Decision Was Made Solely on
ee Pe Oe TD I oon occ ciccevcecccevcs 13
PT Ghueeieueenkeuse tenes ides eeundewestewns 16
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED
CAsEs:

Board of Supervisors of Fairfax County, Virginia, et
al. v. MeLueas, Civil No, 76-0139 (D. D.C.) .7, 10, 13, 15
National Cable Television Ass’n. v. U.S., 415 U.S. 336,

{jie eae 7
Teleprompter Corp. v. CBS, 415 U.S. 394, 407-408
i ctiidet choc ea tee see eed wean danve-s< 7

United States v. Johnson, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925) .. 8
Rice v. Sioux City Cemetery, 349 U.S. 70, 74 (1953).. 8

Udall v. Tallman, 880 U.S. 1, 16 (1965) ............. 11
Power Reactor Development Co. v. International Union
of Electrical Workers, 367 U.S. 396 (1961) ...... 11
Norwegian Nitrogen Products Co, v. United States,
gS nn een 11

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S.
402 (1971)

il Table of Authorities Cited Continued

Page

STATUTES:
49 U.S.C. § 1431 (Federal Aviation Act of 1958)....2, 5,6

49 U.S.C. § 1655(e), 1657 26... cece eee eee teen renee 11

42 U.S.C. § 4321 (National Environmental Protection
Act) Perr reTTTTTeTTT oe 6

ADMENISTRATIVE REGULATIONS:

40 Fed. Reg. 14093 .......c ccc eeee cece ceeeeeseerees 6

41 Fed. Reg. 6270, 6274-6275 (Feb. 12, 1976) .......-- 6

MISCELLANEOUS:

118 Cong. Ree. 18645 (1972) ......- eee e cece creer 12

118 Cong. Ree. 644-645 (1972) (Sen. Tunney) ....2<. 12

OruER AUTHORITIES:

“The Seeretarv’s Decision on Concorde Supersonic
Transport,’’? February 4, 1976 [The Honorable
William T. Coleman, Jr., Secretary of the U.S.
Department of Transportation ]

at P. 3 .....cccccccvcsecccccsccscccsssss 1,4, 12
at pes. 15-16 2... . cc eee eee eee eee ee eeeees 9
at p. 17 ...ccccccccecevvscccccvessessnsess :
at p. 5B ....cccccccccccvsccccscccceseseees 12
at p. 3 ..ccccccccccecccsteseuee seen en nmmEE 14

oe

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1976

No. 76-231

BoarD OF SupeRviIsoRS OF FarrRFAX CouNTY, VIRGINIA
AND THE CoUNTY oF Nassau, NEw York,
Petitioners,

Vv.
WituiAM T. CoLeMAN, JR., et al.,
and

3RITISH AIRWAYS, COMPAGNIE NATIONALE AIR FRA©ceR,
AND Pactric LEGAL FouNDATION,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT PACIFIC LEGAL
FOUNDATION IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The Decision of the Secretary of the Department of
Transportation on the Concorde supersonic transport
is unreported, but copies have been lodged separately
with this Court. The Order of the United States Court
of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit affirm-

2

ing the Decisicn of the Secretary of Transportation is
also unreported, but is set forth in the Appendix to
the Petition for Certiorari (Pet. App. la-4a).

JURISDICTION
The jurisdictional requisites are adequately set forth
in the Petition.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the decision of the Secretary of Trans-
portation to allow a limited trial period of flights of
the Concorde supersonic transport into the United
States prior to the promulgation of supersonic aireratt
noise regulations was within the authority and disere-
tion of the Secretary when such trial period is, inter
alia, for the purpose of aiding in the promulgation of
such regulations.

29, Whether the court of appeals below erred in
choosing to believe the statement of the Secretary of
Transportation that his decision to permit limited trial
flights of the Concorde supersonic transport was based
entirely upon the record before him, rather than be-
lieving the petitioners’ allegations that such decision
was influenced by other considerations not of record.

STATUTE INVOLVED

The provisions of Seetion 611 (49 U.S.C. § 1431) of
the Federal Aviation Act of 1958, as amended by the
Noise Control Act of 1972, are set forth in Pet. App.
oa-10a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves the ongoing attempt by the Board
of Supervisors of Fairfax County, Virginia and the
County of Nassau, New York to stop the Concorde
supersonic transport aircraft (SST) from operating

oe

3

in the United States for a test period of sixteen months.
It involves an effort to stop the development of a new,
first generation, technology which has shortened long-
distance, trans-oceanic travel time by one-half and im-
proved communications between nations. It involves
an effort by petitioners to overturn an exemplary gov-
ernmental decision which is a model of completeness
and accuracy and which carefully balances all relevant
factors—and which arrives at a conelusion extremely
favorable to the publie interest. And, this ease in-
volves an attempt by petitioners to deal a harsh blow
to two traditional friends of the United States, the
United Kingdom and the Republie of France, who
have made a massive commitment of human, techno-
logical, economic, and other resources to the project
which the petitioners would have this Court stop.

Simply put, Fairfax and Nassau Counties want to
“stop Concorde’’ because they do not like it. The los-
ing litigants do nothing more than advance a myopic
construction of a statute, the relevance of which to
this case is not demonstrated; and a question of facet
that was not aecepted by the court of appeals below.

The Coneorde SST is the result of over a decade of
cooperative effort by the governments and private in-
dustry of the United Kingdom and the Republic of
France. These two nations committed thirteen years
and $3 billion to the project. The result, the Concorde,
is capable of carrying 100 passengers at a cruising
speed of 1,300 miles per hour—twice the speed of sound.
it is presently in limited commercial operation by
British Airways and Air France on the Washington
to London and Washington to Paris routes. It has
reduced the flying time between those cities from seven
to three and one-half hours. So far, the results demon-
strate that it is a technological marvel; its chances for

|

+

commercial success are good; and it is environmentally
sound. In short, all of the dire predictions made by
Fairfax County and others below about the Concorde
have failed to materialize. On the contrary: the Con-
eorde works.

The decision to permit “ . . . limited scheduled com-
mercial flights into the United States for a trial period
not to exceed 16 months under limitations and restric-
tions ...’’! (footnote omitted) was made by the Hon-
orable William T. Coleman, Jr., Secretary of the De-
partment of Transportation on February 4, 1976. That
sixty-one page decision was made after meticulous
evaluation of a record which included: a draft envi-
ronmental impact statement (DEIS) (March 3, 1979)
by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA); a
series of public comments on the DEIS; FAA’s inde-
pendent research on proposed Concorde operations ;
FAA’s comprehensive final environmental impact
statement (FEIS) (November 13, 1975); an unprece-
dented seven-hour public hearing conducted by the
Secretary of Transportation personally on January 5,
1976, to consider public comments on the FEIS; nu-
merous written submissions by the public following
the Coleman hearing; and an Addendum to the FEIS.

After careful consideration of numerous public com-
ments? Secretary Coleman announced his favorable
decision on February 4, 1976. Fairfax and Nassau
Counties and others sought review of that decision in
the United States Court of Appeals for the District of

1«*«The Seeretary’s Decision on Concorde Supersonic Transport”’
at 3 (Feb. 4, 1976) (hereinafter referred to as the ‘‘Secretary’s
Decision’’).

2 Pacifie Legal Foundation sponsored the oral and written tes-
timony of four expert witnesses at the hearings before Secretary
Coleman.

4)

Columbia Circuit. Pacifie Legal Foundation, as well
as Air France, British Airways, and others, sought
and were granted permission to intervene in all aec-
tions seeking review in the Court of Appeals. On May
19, 1976, that court affirmed the Secretary’s Decision
in an Order which appears at Pet. App. la-4a.

Apparently mindful of the folly of seeking review
of the numerous other aspects of Secretary Coleman’s
Decision alleged to be illegal below, Fairfax and Nas-
sau Counties now press but two claims, (a) that in
reaching his conclusion the S. cretary erred in permit-
ting limited trial commercial flights of the Coneorde
SST into the United States in the absence of a final
SST noise rule; and (b) the Secretary was untruthful
in stating he had reached his decision only upon the
materials of reeord. Neither of these two matters rises
to a level of importance worthy of consideration by
this Court. ,

Concurrently with the development of the record
which led to Secretary Coleman’s Decision, the En-
vironmental Protection Ageney (EPA) and the FAA
were moving forward with a joint effort to promulgate
a noise control rule in regard to supersonic transport
aircraft as required by § 611 of the Federal Aviation
Act of 1958, 49 U.S.C. § 1431, as amended by the Noise
Control Act of 1972 (Pet. App. 5a-10a). The Envi-
ronmental Protection Agency, as required by that
statute,” proposed SST noise standards to FAA on

* Section 611 mandates a complex series of interagency maneu-
vers before promulgation of aircraft noise rules. Briefly sum-
marized, the law requires EPA to propose a rule, but the FAA
is given ultimate authority for review and promulgation of the
rule after consultation with EPA. In the event of a disagree-

ment between the agencies, further complex negotiations and
studies are mandated.

6

February 27, 1975. The FAA published the proposal
as a notice of proposed rule making on March 28, 1975.
40 Fed. Reg. 14093. It was then the subject of public
hearings on May 16 and 22, 1975. Simultaneously, an
environmental impact statement ( EIS) under the
National Environmental Poliey Act of 1969, 42 U.S.C.
§ 4321, et seq. (NEPA) was begun. All of these steps
are mandated by § 611 which prescribes the time pe-
riods within which the FAA must commence to act
once EPA has initiated the process. The statute also
states that FAA shall act upon an EPA proposal
‘*[w]ithin a reasonable time after the conclusion of
[the public] hearing and after consultation with EPA
-++» §$611(¢)(1). Pet. App. Ta.

The EPA’s 1975 proposal was pending before FAA
at the time of Secretary Coleman’s January 5, 1976,
publie hearing on the Concorde. Part of the Seere-
tary’s consideration at that hearing was whether he
could legally allow the Concorde to land in the absence
of a final SST noise rule.

The record of that hearing closed January 13, 1976.
The next day, EPA submitted a new, substantially
revised SST noise proposal to FAA. Thus the entire
process began again—as § 611 requires. The FAA
published the proposal within thirty days. 41 Fed.
Reg. 6270, 6274-6275 (Feb, 12,1976). Publie hearings
were held on April 5, 1976, within sixty days of pub-
lication of the proposal in the Federal Register, At
present, a new EIS is being prepared.

There is presently pending in the United States Dis-
trict Court for the District of Columbia an action
brought by petitioner Fairfax County to compel the
Administrator of FAA to adopt supersonic aircraft

noise control regulations. Board of Supervisors of
Fairfax County, Virginia, et al. v. MeLueas, Civil No.
76-0139 (D. D.C.). Petitioner Fairfax has there
moved for summary judgment.

ARGUMENT

By no stretch of the imagination can petitioners be
deemed to have met the criteria suggested in Rule 19
(1)(b) of this Court for the granting of writ of cer-
tiorari. They have pointed to no conflict between the
courts below,’ or between the order below and appli-
cable decisions of this Court,’ or any important federal
question.” Nor have they demonstrated that the agency

“and court below departed from the accepted and usual

course of judicial proceedings. On the contrary, the
remedy sought—remand to a United States District
Court for the finding of facts from which may be con-
cluded the veracity of the Secretary of Transportation
—would be an extreme departure from the usual defer-
ence accorded members of the Cabinet and would, in-
deed, constitute no more than a sniping at his personal
integrity.

Concerning the noise control rule argument, peti-
tioners’ attempt to concoct an important question of
federal law is fatally weak. This case goes no further
than petitioners’ unique desire to stop one particular
type of aircraft from using certain airports in the

* National Cable Television Ass’n v. U.S., 415 US. 336, 340
(1974).
* Telcprompter Corp. v. CBS, 415 U.S. 394, 407-408 (1974).

"Td. at 399.

8

United States. It is but episodie.? They offer no
federal law the Secretary may be said to have trans-
gressed. Rather, petitioners merely allege that he has
‘“‘take[n] immoral advantage’’ of the lack of a super-
sonie noise control regulation. Pet. 7-8. The Secre-
tary’s morality was not heretofore in issue and the
Supreme Court of the United States is an inappropri-
ate forum in which to seek to find arbiters thereof.

Petitioners would also have this Court review cer-
tain documentary matters (contained in Pet. App.
17a-34a) which they attempted to offer to the court
of appeals below. In so doing, they merely ask this
Court to review facts considered and rejected below
by the court of appeals. Such an effort is hardly
worthy of the attention of a Court which, in the past,
has stated:

We do not grant a certiorari to review evidence
and discuss specific facts. United States v. John-
son, 268 U.S, 220, 227 (1925).

I,

The Secretary's Decision To Allow a Trial Period of Com-
mercial Supersonic Transport Flights Into the United
States in Order To Aid in Promulgation of an SST Noise
Regulation Was Within His Authority and Discretion.

The thrust of petitioners’ first argument is that
promulgation of an SST noise rule under § 611 of the
Federal Aviation Act was a legal condition precedent
to landings of the Concorde SST in the United States.
For various reasons, their legal analyses are in error
and their factual premises are lacking in crucial detail.

7**Snecial and important reasons’’ which may justify the grant
of a writ of certiorari imply a reach to a problem beyond the aca-
demic or episodic—Rice v. Sioux City Cemetery, 349 U.S. 70, 74
(1955).

9

The assertion that ‘‘. . . the FAA has adamantly
refused to develop supersonic Luise standards”’ (Pet.
7) could not be further from the truth. As the history
of the proposed SST noise rule reveals, the FAA has
acted diligently and in good faith in formulating such
a regulation.

As for why an SST noise rule was not promulgated
eight and one-half years ago as Fairfax and Nassau
Counties apparently claim it should have been (Pet.
7), Seerctary Coleman spoke of this in his Decision:

__. the decision not to act precipitously on super-
sonie aircraft should not be surprising in light of
the history of the development of the supersonic
transport. During the early developmental stages
of this type of aireraft, both in the Ll nited States
and Europe, the technological capacity to mini-
mize the noise levels generated by an engine suffi-
ciently powerful to drive a supersonic transport
was uncertain. Promulgation of a feasible noise
rule at that time would therefore have been highly
speculative. By the time scientists had gained
a sense of the limits on the ability to control super-
sonie aireraft noise levels, the design of the
Concorde was fixed and, for all practical purposes
immutable. (Emphasis added ) (footnote omitted)

Secretary’s Decision at 15-16.

The Seeretary’s ultimate conclusion on this issue,
made after reviewing the record and the submissions
of numerous legal memoranda to him by the publie,
was:

I must therefore conclude that the absence of a
noise rule promulgated under the Federal Aviation

Act does not compel a decision either way on
whether the Concorde should be permitted to land.

Secretary’s Decision at 17.

10

This conclusion was concurred in by the Environmental
Defense Fund* and the Eavironmental Protection
Agency. In a subsequently submitted affidavit, the
Honorable Russell Train, EPA Administrator, stated
that the decision of when to issue a generally applicable
SST noise rule is totally independent of the narrow
question of whether to allow limited, demonstration
lights of Concorde:

It was EPA’s intention that the Secretary of
Transportation take into consideration its January
13, 1976, proposal in reaching his decision on
February 4, 1976, concerning the British Airways
and Air France applications for Concorde service
into the U.S. EPA did not intend to cause the
Scerctary to postpone his decision, nor did EPA
intend to preempt the Secretary’s authority to
make «a decision on the specific issue before him,
which was whether to direct the FAA to amend the
operations specifications of the two foreign air
earriers to allow up to six daily flights of the Con-
corde into two U.S. airports, John F. Kennedy
International (JFK) and International Airport
at Dulles (LAT!), under certain restrictions, and
subiect to any subsequently-adopted, applicable
regulations,

It was EPA’s intention that the FAA in accord-
ance with the requirements of 49 U.S.C. 1451, pro-
coed as expeditiously as possible to consider and
promulgate a final rule regarding supersonic air-
eraft noise.” (Emphasis added).
S**We believe that this fact [the absence of an SST noise rule]
is without significance to your present decision.’’ Final Submission
of the Environmental Defense Fund on the Concorde SST.

* Exhibit A to Memorandum of Defendants in Opposition to
Plaintiffs’ Motion for Preliminary Injunetion, dated February 20,
1976, in Board of Supervisors of Fairfar County, Virginia, et al.
Vv. VeLuecas, Civil No. 76-0139 (D. D.C.)

11

Thus, the two agencies, EPA and DO'T" charged with
promulgation of the noise coutrol rule were in complete
accord on the legal issue: It was within the Seeretary’s
discretion to make the decision he did, allowing the
Concorde to land at Duiles and John F, Kennedy
International Airports for a limited period of time
and under stringent conditions irrespective of the
existence of a supersonic noise control rule. Tradi-
tionally, this Court, when confronted with a statutory
construction question, ‘‘shows great deference to the
interpretation given the statute by the officers or
agency charged with its administration.’? Udall v.
Tallman. 380 U.S. 1,16 (1955). Further, it is unneces-
cary to find that the ageney’s ‘construction is the only
reasonable one, or even that it is the result [the
Court] would have reached... im the first in-
stance... Id. Almost presciently this Court, in
Power Reactor Development Ce, Vv. International
Union of Electrical, Radio aud Machine Workers, 367
U.S. 396 (1961), stated:

We see no reason why we should not accord to the
[Atomic Energy | Commission's interpretation of
its own regulation and governing statute that
respect which is customarily given to practical ad-
ministrative construction of a disputed provision.
Particularly is this respect due when the admini-
strative practice at stake “involves a contempora-
neous construction of a statute by the men charged
with the responsibility of setting its machinery in
motion, of making the parts work efficiently and
emoothly while they are yet untried and new.”
Norwegian Nitrogen Products Co.v. Un ited States,
983 US. 294 (1933).

Id. at 408 (cited in Udall v. Tallman, supra, 380
U.S. at 16).

1 The FAA is an agency within the Department of Transpor-
tation. 49 U.S.C. §§ 1655(¢), 1657.

12

Nor does Secretary Coleman’s decision contravene
the remarks of Senator Tunney which petitioners offer
(Pet. 8) as the definitive statement on the legislative
history of this law.! The Senator stated that he
expected a final SST noise rule to be promulgated
«before such aircraft are in commercial service.”’
118 Cong. Ree. 18645 (1972). No final decision on
allowing the Concorde to engage in commercial service
in the United States has been made. Coleman « Feb-
ruary 4, 1976, Decision permits only a sixteen-month
demonstration period, Seeretary’s Decision at 3. The
final decision to permit commercial flights may be
years away: the sixteen-month period must elapse
and the Secretary has announced that an EIS must be
prepared and considered before his final decision is
issued. Thus, the Secretary’s non-final decision must
be deemed in compliance with Senator Tunney’s
remarks.

Furthermore, the Secretary’s decision to allow trial
flights of Concorde was intended to aid in promulga-
tion of an SST noise rule. Coleman noted in his Deci-
sion that:

The unique characteristics of Concorde noise and
the publicity that has surrounded its advent may
well aggravate the eommunity’s response to this
source of noise. This subjective characteristic of
noise response may best be evaluated through a
controlled demonstration period of sufficient length

to enable an assessment, after the initial publicity

11 A closer reading of the history of the Noise Control Act in-
dicates that Senator Tunney’s remarks were an apparent attempt
to make law via ‘‘legislative history’’ shortly after the substance
of his comment had been rejected by the House of Representatives
as an amendment. to the Noise Control Act. 118 Cong. Ree. 644-
645 (1972) (Remarks of Sen. Tunney).

13

has subsided, of community reaction to Concorde
noise. A demonstration will also enable additional
testing at various measuring points to supplement
the data contained in the EIS. The information
from this demonstration will enable us to deter-
mine whether these original Concordes should be
permitted to operate into designated United States
airports in accordance with specified operating
procedures and restrictions. It will also provide
useful information im the review and evaluation
of the EPA’s latest proposal for an SST noise
standard, although consideration of that standard
will not be delayed until the completion of this
demonstration but will proceed with deliberate
speed. (Emphasis added).

Seeretary’s Decision at 58.

His decision to allow an extremely limited number
of flights for a relatively short time was entirely rea-
sonable since it will actually foster thorough compli-
ance with § 611. It was not at all immoral.

Finally, the petitioners’ comment that they ‘‘are
without redress”? in regard to the absence of an SST
noise rule is fallacious. As noted, they are presently
actively pursuing a mandamus action to eompel the
FAA to promulgate an SST noise rule.”

Il.

The Secretary's Decision Was Made Solely on the Basis
of the Record.
Petitioners’ insinuations that the Seerctary’s Deci-
sion ‘‘was prompted by factors outside the record and
was made principally by governmental officials other

12 Board of Supervisors of Fairfax County, Virginia, et al. v.
McLucas, Civil No. 76-0139 (D. D.C.).

14

than the Secretary’’ (Pet. 10) are nothing more than
idle speculation and gossip. In the Decision which he
personally signed, Secretary Coleman states:

Today’s decision is based entirely on my review
of the EIS, on the January 5 hearing, and on my
subsequent review of the transeript and other
written materials submitted for the record. At
the public hearings, the United Kingdom’s Minis-
ter of State for the Department of Industry and
France’s Lirector of Air Transport Civil Avia-
tion Department, each testified that there was no
expressed or implied commitment that the United
States was obliged to permit the Concorde to land
in the United States, and no one has brought to
my attention any such expressed or implied agree-
ment.

Secretary’s Decision at 2.

At oral argument in the court of appeals, eounsel for
the Department of Transportation responded to Nas-
sau County’s last minute attempt to introduce the
documents (Pet. App. 17a-34a) which allegedly show
‘outside influence’? on the Concorde decision:

Mr. Catterson Feounsel for Nassau County] comes
in. in the final few minutes of the argument, and
attempts to cash in on a sort of fear that we all
have, and it’s understandable since Watergate,
that the whole thing is a fraud; that Seeretary
Coleman, when he said in his opinion that he had
only seen things on the publie record—and he says
that explicitly—must have been lying: Do not be-
lieve him.

Well, if it takes an affidavit from Secretary Cole-
man, we will supply the affidavit from Secretary
Coleman, and he will swear that he is not lying.

(Partial Tr. 7)

15

Petitioners’ contentions here are of the same nature:
they ask this Court to disbelieve Secretary Coleman’s
signed statement and urge “‘remission to the District
Court * for development of a full record, or in the
alternative, a plenary inquiry into the underlying
facts.” Petitioners’ assertions are unsubstantiated,
Secretary Coleman’s statement is entitled to substan-
tial credence, and petitioners’ claims to the contrary
simply do not rise to the level of significance required
to merit the attention of this Court.”

Further, petitioners’ assertion that these documents
were not before the court of appeals is in error. They
appeared as appendices in several of the petitioners’
reply briefs below. Counsel for the Department of
Transportation indicated at oral argument in the court
of appeals that he had no objection to the court’s read-
ing them, and in fact, asked the court to take them into
account. (Partial Tr. 7). He argued that these ‘‘docu-

13 It should be noted that the ‘‘court of first impression’’ in
this case was the agency itself (DOT) and that direct review of
the Secretary's Decision was properly brought in the court of
appeals. Petitioners initially sought review of the Secretary’s
Decision in a district court which dismissed their case for lack
of jurisdiction, indicating that petitioners should have sought
direct review of the Seeretary’s Order in a court of appeals.
Board of Supervisors of Fairfar County, Virginia, et al. v. Me-
Lucas, Civil No. 76-0139, (D. D.C.), Order of March 12, 1976.
Thus petitioners’ request here for ‘‘remission to the District Court’’
is meaningless since the question of the legality of the Seeretary’s
Decision was never properly before a district court. Therefore,
petitioners’ reliance upon Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v.
Volpe, 401 U.S. 402 (1971), is misplaced as that case was properly
brought in federal district court. Jd. at 406 n.7.

14 We are unable to perceive how the issue of the credibility of
the Secretary of Transportation fits into or meets any of the
criteria listed in this Court’s Rule 19 which requires more than
insinuations as a basis for granting the writ.

16

ments are of historical interest only.”’ (Partial Tr. 10).
Fortunately, this last minute frantic effort by Fairfax
and Nassau Counties to use the documents to prove
the existence of a ‘‘deal’’ came to nothing: the court
of appeals apparently chose to consider those docu-
ments as the historical but wholly irrelevant docu-
ments they are. In doing so, that court committed no
error.
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons it is respectfully sub-
mitted that this petition for a writ of certiorari should
be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

RonaLp A. ZUMBRUN

RayMonpD M. MOMBOISSE
Pactric LEGAL FOUNDATION
455 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, California 95814

Joun H. MIpDLen, JR.
Mipien & Reppy
1990 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20036
Counsel for Respondent
Pacific Legal Foundation
GLENN FE. Davis
Paciric LEGAL FouNDATION
1990 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 2005

Of Counsel

October 5, 1976

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0460%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
