# Petition — Estate of Thalheimer v. Commissioner

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0451%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 921

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United

OcToBER TERM, 1976

No. 4 6 -9 > 2 {
Estate OF ALVIN THALHEIMER, RutH B. ROSENBERG,
SURVIVING Executrix, Petitioner,
v.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE, Respondent,

No.

- Esrate or Henrierra G. Biaustern, Hinpa K.
BLAUSTEIN and Rutu B. Rosensera,
SURVIVING ExecuTRICcEs, Petitioners,

Vv.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE, Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

CAROLYN E. AGGER
Wat.ter J. RocKLeR

Of Counsel: LAURALEE A. MATTHEWS
a 1229 Nineteenth winest, N.W.
1229 Nineteenth Street, N.W. Washington, D. C. 20036
Washington, D. C. 20036 Joun 8S. McDanten, Jr.
LAWRENCE A. KAUFMAN
CasLe, McDanieL, Bowie 915 The Blaustein Building
and Bonp

915 The Blaustein Building Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Baltimore, Maryland 21201 Attorneys for Petitioners

Press oF Byron S. ADAMS PRINTING, INC., WASHINGTON, D. C.

~~ =

INDEX

Oprntons BELow ee eeeeneeneeneene eeeneeeeeeeeeeeeeee#e#@#

JURISDICTION oer evr epee eeeeeeeee eee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED @eeeeoeteeeeseeeeeeseenrteeeaeeereeoaeeee @

STATUTE AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED ............ee0-

Mrawmnemmee om Wee Came ..ccccccccccccccccceccevese

Reasons FoR GRANTING THE WRIT

SUMMARY e@eee 020686 686 “ee ep eeeeereee eee eee eee ee ee ee

l. Tue Decision or THE Court or APPEALS FOR

II.

TIT.

THE Fourtru Circuit Directty CoNnFLicts witH
Decisions oF THE CourRT oF APPEALS FOR THE
Turep Crrcuir

A. Refusal to Consider Factors Depressing
Hypothetical Sale Value ................

B. Failure to Utilize Market Quotations in
Valuing Crown Stock .............ccee0.

Tue Proper Disposition or TH1Is Case INVOLVES
AN Important Question or Law Wuicnu SHouLp
Bs SettTLep BY THIS COURT ..........cccceces

THe Court Betow Deciwep THE Basic Issue
PRESENTED IN A Way Wuicn 1s ConrTRARY TO
THE Principles EstasBuisuep BY Tuts Court IN
EE CIO ok a a eaadduenast

CONCLUSION ...... ie Gk od eae iol oa ded. baie one neae ae

15

16

17

ii CITATIONS
Page
CASES:

Amerada Hess Corp. v. Commissioner, 517 F.2d 75
(3rd Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 869, 96

Be ek ee ED 6 ok Bind de sccectcccdseass 8, 13, 14, 17
Bishop Trust Company v. United States, 42 A. F, T.R.
SEE CE. TT TOD onc scccccscccscescecess 10, 16
Estate of Maurice Gustave Hecksher, 63 T.C. 485
REED. Wi sdddbdwnedeS eRe REVGUH EE ESEE OES ORNS 10, 15
Estate of Alvin Thalheimer, 33 T.C.M. 877 (1974) ... 2,12
Edwin A. Gallun, 33 T.C.M. 1316 (1974) ............. 15
Hazeltine Corporation v. Commissioner, 89 F.2d 513
CE Ga BED bd bck ccdccscscvensctevencoess 8, 13, 17
Ivan Allen Company v. United States, 422 U.S. 617
TEED enccscnccnacdeudevescvasawesesswenes 8, 16, 17
Laird v. Commissioner, 85 F.2d 598 (8rd Cir. 1936)... 8, 9,
10, 16, 17
Obermer v. United States, 238 F. Supp. 29 (D. Hawaii
Pw rrrrerrer TTT Tree TT TTT ty Ts. 10, 16
Powers v. Commissioner, 312 U.S. 259 (1941) ........ 15

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

United States Code

Title 26
Cs eae uneen eee 16
a eae cada eee 3

Title 28

FI Ulan Bae Ms Maa POR ie ge 9

Citations continued iii

Code of Federal Regulations Page
Title 17
eh ie a ae ils cua eka uieuie 11
i 11
iit ieee duccdebave 11
I 56 oboe hncasGhs dba Knseksdkuseuses 11
Title 26
co GE ee 2, 3, 10, 11
MI ec cence eas sn cuvevebet< 3
8. Re een nena te 3,13
EE ee eee eens 3
I ede cel seve bivaeonned cas 3, 15
Ee at Rene en 3, 10, 11, 15

OrTHeR AUTHORITIES:

Bills, Reduction in Value of Closely Held Stocks Due
to Income Tax Liabilities, 44 Taxes 487 (1966)... 11
SEC Accounting Series Release No. 113 (Investment
Company Act Release No, 5847) October 21, 1969. 12

SEC Accounting Series No. 116 (Investment Company
Act Release No. 6026) April 13, 1970 ............ 12

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBer TERM, 1976

No.

Estate oF ALVIN THALHEIMER, RutH B. RosenBeEra,
SuRVIVING Executrix, Petitioner,

Vv.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE, Respondent,

No.

Estate or Henrretta G. BLAustern, Hitpa K.
BLAvstTEIN and RutxH B. RosEnsBerc,
Survivinc Execurrices, Petitioners,

V.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE, Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit finally entered in this
proceeding on May 24, 1976.

2
OPINIONS BELOW

The memorandum findings of fact and opinion of
the Tax Court are reported at 33 T.C.M. 877 (August
5, 1974) and are reprinted in Appendix A hereto,’ at
pp. la-70a. The decisions of the Tax Court stating
its deficiency determinations were entered December
18, 1974, and are reprinted at App. B., pp. Tla-73a.
The opinion of the Court of Appeals, which is not yet
officially reported, is reprinted at App. C., pp. T4a-
75a. The order of the Court of Appeals, denying a
petition for rehearing, was issued May 24, 1976 and
filed May 26, 1976, and is reprinted at App. D., p. 76a.

JURISDICTION

The initial judgment of the Court of Appeals was
entered on April 13, 1976. A timely petition for rehear-
ing was filed on April 27, 1976, and was denied on May
24, 1976. This petition for certiorari is filed within 90
days of the latter date. Jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The amount of Federal Estate Tax payable by a de-
cedent’s estate varies directly with the fair market
value’ of the estate’s assets, 7.¢., the amount which could
be realized from a sale. In the present cases, each of
the estates consisted largely of stock in a closely-held
corporation, which itself held large blocks of stoek in

*The separate Appendix to this petition is hereafter cited as
"pen.

* The regulations provide that ‘‘the value of every item of prop-
erty ... is its fair market value ... [which] is the price at which
the property would change hands between a willing buyer and a
willing seller... .’’ Treas. Regs, See. 20.2031-1(b).

“”
vw

publicly traded corporations. The parties and both
courts below agreed that a determination of the value
of the closely-held corporation stock owned by the dece-
dents would depend in large part on the value to the
closely-held corporation of the blocks of stock owned
by it and that therefore it was necessary to determine
the fair market value of such blocks.

The questions presented are whether in making these
determinations :

1. Asa matter of law, must factors, such as blockage,
restrictions on resale and potential capital gains
taxes, all of which would both reduce the net
amount actually realizable from a sale and would
necessarily be taken into account by a potential
buyer of the closely-held corporation stock, be dis-
regarded solely because the closely-held corpora-
tion did not contemplate making an immediate sale
of the blocks owned by it.

2. As a matter of law, may the prices st which the
listed stock of one of the corporations was traded
on the stock exchange be completely ignored in
determining fair market value.

STATUTE AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The statute and regulations involved in this ease are
Section 2031 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (26
U.S.C. See. 2031) and Sections 20.2031-1(b) and
20.2031-2(a), (b), (e), (e), and (f), of the Treasury
Regulations on Estate Tax (26 C.F.R. Sees. 20.2031-
1(b) and 20.2031-2(a), (b), (e), (e), and (f)). These
provisions are set forth at App. E, pp. 77a-80a.

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

These two consolidated cases involve alleged Federal
estate tax deficiencies of more than $1 million. The
Court of Appeals affirmed per curiam the Tax Court’s
deficiency determinations.’

The sole issue presented to the Tax Court in each
case was the value of decedents’ stockholdings in a
closely-held corporation, American Trading and Pro-
duction Company (hereafter ‘‘Atapco’’). The parties
and the Courts below agreed that this issue required a
determination of Atapeo’s net asset value (1.e., the fair
market value of its assets less liabilities) which, in turn,
required a determination of the fair market value of
Atapeo’s very large stockholdings in publicly traded
companies.*

At the time of decedents’ deaths, Atapco held large
blocks of stock of several publie companies, including
Standard Oil of Indiana (‘‘Indiana’’); Standard Oil
of New Jersey (‘‘Jersey’’) ; Crown Central Petroleum
Corporation (‘‘Crown’’); United States Fidelity and
Guaranty Corporation (‘‘U.S.F.&G.’’); and Union
Trust Company of Maryland (‘Union Trust’’). (R.12-
19.) °

* The Tax Court determined the following deficiencies: Estate of
Alvin Thalheimer (date of death, July 8, 1965), $676,349.71; Estate
of Henrietta G. Blaustein (date of death, December 8, 1965),
$481,228.02. (App. B. pp. 71a-73a.) The Court of Appeals affirmed
but ordered a remand to correct an error favoring the Government
(to which a relatively small amount of tax was attributable).

* The parties stipulated the net asset values of Atapco’s several
operating divisions. The issue of how much the value of decedents’
Atapco stock was less than an aliquot portion of Atapeo’s net asset
value is not presented in this petition for certiorari.

5«*R.”’ designates references to the Joint Appendix filed in the
Court of Appeals.

5

All of these stockholdings were affected by factors
which would limit the net amount which Atapco could
realize from a sale to a willing buyer, the only proper
criterion for determining the value of such holdings
for tax purposes. Atapco’s Indiana, Crown and Union
Trust holdings were particularly large.’ The petition-
ers’ expert witness, Mr. Alvin Friedman of Kuhn, Loeb
& Co., presented undisputed testimony in the Tax
Court that those holdings were subject to blockage and
could not have been sold in a reasonable period of time
without reducing the selling price per share substan-
tially below the prevailing market prices for small lots
of Indiana, Crown and Union Trust stock. Mr. Fried-
man also presented undisputed testimony that the sale
of Atapeo’s holdings in Indiana, Crown and Union
Trust was subject to serious restrictions under the
Federal Securities laws. (R. 55-57, 545e-548e. )

In addition to the restrictions affecting Atapco’s
freedom to sell its Indiana, Crown and Union Trust
holdings, Atapeo had an extremely low basis in almost
all of its stockholdings and could not have sold its
holdings without incurring substantial capital gains
tax, which would further have reduced the amounts
realizable from the sales by Atapeo. (R. 56-57; 545e-
549e. )

Mr. Friedman further testified that a buyer of Atap-
co shares would take into account the restrictions and
conditions which would depress the value of Atapco’s
main assets and would also take into account the eapi-

* Atapeo was the largest single Indiana shareholder in 1965, with
2.94% of the total 70,794,742 shares outstanding. Atapco held
48.8% of outstanding Crown stock in 1965. Atapeo owned 28,710
shares of Union Trust which was approximately 5% of the total
shares outstanding.

6

tal gains tax which would reduee the amounts realiza-
ble from a sale by Atapeo. (R. 56-57 ;71; 545e-549e. )

The Government presented no evidence in the Tax
Court to refute Mr. Friedman’s conclusions that block-
age, Federal Securities law restrictions and capital
gains taxes would reduce the amount Atapceo could real-
ize from a sale of its stockholdings and that a potential
buyer of Atapeo stock would take these adverse factors
into account in negotiating a price. However, the Gov-
ernment’s witness, Mr. O’Farrell (an I.R.S. employee),
asserted that factors depressing the net amounts real-
izable on a sale of Atapeo’s stockholdings should not
be considered in determining Atapco’s net asset value,
because Atapco was a ‘‘ going coneern”’ not contemplat-
ing an immediate sale of its assets. Without ever testi-
fying as to what effect such depressing factors would
have had on the price which a willing buyer would have
been prepared to pay for Atapceo’s stock, Mr. O’Farrell
simply proceeded to value Atapeo’s holdings in public
companies (except Crown) at the prices prevailing in
the market for unrestricted small lots of stock in those
companies, without adjustment to reflect the factors,
expenses and tax costs which would reduce the value of
Atapeo’s large holdings. (R. 617e-643e.)

In the case of Atapeo’s Crown stockholdings, Mr.
O’Farrell not only failed to adjust stock market prices
downward to reflect the factors which would reduce
what Atapeo could realize, but he completely disregard-
ed the quoted prices of Crown stock on the American
Stock Exchange. He valued Atapco’s large, restricted
block of Crown stock at book value, more than twice
the quoted market price for unrestricted shares, assert-
ing that the market for Crown stock was ‘‘thin.”’ (R.
101-102, 617e-643e.) However, the stipulated, undisput-

Co ht Aa ear A oe ee ee

7

ed evidence showed that trading in Crown stock was as
heavy at the valuation dates as trading in Jersey or
Indiana stock, for which Mr. O’Farrell used quoted
market prices without any concern for a ‘‘thin’’ mar-
ket. (R. 12, 15-16, 190e-191e, 235e-240e, 277e-278e ; Pet.
Br. 37-39.)'

The basie issue presented to the Tax Court was
whether under proper standards for valuation the un-
disputed blockage, restrictions on sales and tax costs,
all of which would have substantially reduced the
amount Atapeo could have realized from a sale of its
stockholdings, should be considered in determining
Atapeo’s net asset value and, therefore, in determining
the fair market value of the Atapeo stock owned by the
decedents. A subsidiary issue was whether Crown stock
could be valued without any regard to its quoted stock
exchange prices.

The Tax Court held as a matter of law that, solely
because no sale was imminent, the factors which would
reduce the amount Atapco could realize from a sale
could not be considered in determining the net asset
value of Atapco stock.’ In addition, the Tax Court held
that stock of Crown should be valued in Atapeo’s hands
at book value, which was more than twice the price
for that stock established in market trades on the
valuation dates.

7“ Pet. Br.’’ refers to the petitioners’ brief filed in the Court of
Appeals,

* However, the unlikelihood of imminent sales did not prevent the
Tax Court from accepting Mr. O’Farrell’s use of market prices for
sales of small unrestricted lots to value Atapco’s large, restricted
stockholdings.

8

The Court of Appeals for the Fourth Cireuit af-
firmed the Tax Court’s decision per curiam and thus
sanctioned the above conclusions of law by the Tax
Court, notwithstanding that Chief Judge Haynsworth
had noted during the oral argument that, since the val-
ue of property is defined as ‘‘market value,”’ a defini-
tion which requires the assumption of a hypothetical
sale, he had ‘‘grave problems’’ with the Government’s
position that factors relevant to sale value ean be dis-
regarded in estate tax valuation merely because no
actual sale of property appears imminent. The Court
of Appeals also sanctioned the Tax Court’s valuation
of Crown stock without any regard to quoted market
prices,

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT
Summary

The Court of Appeals’ decision conflicts squarely
with decisions of the Court of Appeals for the Third
Cireuit. Laird v. Commissioner, 85 F.2d 598 (3d Cir.
1936) ; Amerada Hess Corporation v. Commissioner,
517 F.2d 7) (3d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 869,
96 S. Ct. 574 (1975) ; Hazeltine Corporation v. Com-
misstoner, 89 F.2d 513 (3d Cir. 1937).

The decision of the Fourth Cireuit and the conflicting
decisions of the Third Cireuit involve an important
area of law as to which this Court has not directly ad-
dressed itself and which should be settled by this Court.

The decision of the Fourth Circuit is also in conflict
with the principles enunciated by this Court in Zvan
Allen Co. v. United States, 422 U.S. 617 (1975), that
for tax purposes securities owned by corporations
should be valued at the net amounts realizable from

9

their sale rather than on other bases having no eco-
nomie reality.

I.

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FOURTH CIRCUIT DIRECTLY CONFLICTS WITH DECI-
SIONS OF THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD

CIRCUIT.

A. Refusal to Consider Factors Depressing Hypothetical
Sale Value

The Tax Court held as a matter of law that, regard-
less of the effect in the market of blockage, restrictions
on sale, tax costs and other factors affecting the hypo-
thetical sale value of Atapco’s assets, these elements
could not be considered in valuing Atapco stock be-
cause an immediate sale of the assets was not contem-
plated. (App. A, p. 67a.) The Court of Appeals’ per
curiam affirmance sanctioning this decision conflicts
directly with the decision of the Court of Appeals for
the Third Cireuit. In Laird v. Commissioner, 85 F.2d
598 (3d Cir. 1936), the Third Circuit Court reversed the
Board of Tax Appeals for its failure to consider the
effect of blockage and other restrictive factors on the
market value of stocks held by close corporations, in
determining the value of the latter corporations. No
sales of the stocks by the close corporations was there
contemplated. Nonetheless, the Third Cireuit Court
stated that the Board’s method, which failed to take
account of factors that would affect a hypothetical sale
by the holding corporations—

“TN ]ot only ignored the treasury regulations
prescribing the method by which stock in close
corporations should be valued, but directly violat-
ed these regulations. Stock in such a [close] cor-
poration must not be valued ‘by taking the mean

10

between the highest and lowest quoted selling pric-
es’ of the stock constituting the assets of the eor-
poration to determine the worth of the company.
... The stock in these two close corporations could
not have ben sold on the day of Mr. Laird’s death,
for no one could have forced the sale of all the
stock constituting the assets of the [corporations].
... Even if it could have been done, ... the testi-
mony was that it would have driven the price of
the du Pont stock [held by the corporations] down
from $325 to $125 per share. That of course was a
guess, but it shows that the method which the
Board used was impractical when applied to the
determination of the value of the assets of close
corporations which consist entirely of stock listed
on stock exchanges... .’’ 85 F.2d at 601 (emphasis
supplied).

Other courts have followed the Third Circuit Court’s
approach and have considered the effect on asset value
of factors such as blockage and eapital gains taxes in
valuing closely-held corporations, even though there
was no indication that the corporate assets were about
to be sold. £.g., Obermer v. United States, 238 F. Supp.
29 (D. Hawaii 1964) ; Bishop Trust Company v. United
States, 42 A.F.T.R. 1221 (D. Hawaii 1950). The Tax
Court itself, in a more recent case, took account of the
effect of trapped capital gains tax in valuing the stock
of a holding company. Estate of Maurice Gustave
Hecksher, 63 T.C. 485, 495 (1975).

The Third Circuit Court’s Laird decision and the
cases following the Laird approach properly interpret
Treasury Regulations Section 20.2031-2(f) (2),° which

* Laird interpreted Treasury Regulations 70, Art. XII under
Section 302 of the Revenue Act of 1926. Those Regulations were
substantially identical to the successor, present Treasury Regula-
tions Section 20.2031-2(f) (2) and 20.2031-1(b) under Section 2031
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954,

11

requires that the net worth, or net asset value, of every
closely-held company be determined for valuation pur-
poses, regardless of whether the corporation is a going
concern. Net asset value is by definition a measure in
which ‘the hypothesis of a sale forms the basis of
value.”’ Bills, Reduction in Value of Closely Ield
Stocks Due to Income Tar Liabilities, 44 Taxes 487,
489 (1966) (emphasis supplied).

The requirement of Regulations Section 20.2031-2(f)
(2), that the net asset value of a corporation be deter-
mined on the basis of a hypothetical sale of its assets,
is a specific application of the basic principle of the
Regulations that—

“The value of every item of property includable
in a decedent’s gross estate ... is its fair market
value....[F Jair market value is the price at which
the property would change hands between a willing
buyer and a willing seller, neither being under any
compulsion to buy or to sell and both having rea-
sonable knowledge of relevant facts.’’ Treas. Regs.
Sec. 20.2031-1(b).

Any potential purchaser of the stock of a corpora-
tion whose primary value resides in its holdings of
stock of other companies would consider, among other
factors, the net value available to the corporation from
a sale of its holdings for its corporate purposes. Thus,
the SEC rules for publicly traded investment ¢om-
panies require all factors affecting the hypothetical
sale value of an investment company’s stockholdings
to be disclosed. Specifically, the SEC requires the
disclosure of trapped capital gains (17 C.F.R. Sees.
210.6-02(f) (2), 210.6-02(i) ; 17 C.F.R. See. 210.6-03-23
and 17 C.F.R. See. 270.2a-4); and has held that it is
improper to value restricted stock at the market price

12

for unrestricted stock. Accounting Series Release
No. 113, Investment Company Act Release No. 5847
(October 21, 1969). See Accounting Series Release
No. 116, Investment Company Act Release No. 6026
(April 13, 1970). The SEC has plainly determined
that these factors would be considered by willing
buyers and sellers of stock in arriving at the market
value of the holding corporation’s stock. Yet the Tax
Court and the Court of Appeals held as a matter of
law, in direct conflict with the Third Cireuit Court,
that these factors cannot be considered in determin-
ing the price that Atapco stock would bring in a sale
between a willing and informed buyer and seller.
It is the Third Circuit’s view, however, which is cor-
rect as a matter of law.

The Court of Appeals in the instant case offered no
reason for its departure from the rule of the Third
Cireuit Court. The only reason offered by the Tax
Court was that Atapco ‘‘is a diverse, viable going con-
cern and there is no evidence of a plan for its liquida-
tion, voluntary or otherwise.’’ 33 T.C.M. at 911, App. A
p. 67a. There is neither authority nor reason for valu-
ing a particular asset at varying amounts depending
on whether or not an imminent sale is contemplated.
Both Courts simply disregarded the Laird case, cases
following Laird, the Regulations, and applicable SEC
criteria in refusing to consider factors which have long
been recognized as relevant to determinations of mar-
ket value, t.e., what a willing buyer would pay.

B. Failure To Utilize Market Quotations in Valuing
Crown Stock

The Court below affirmed the Tax Court’s valuation
of Atapeo’s Crown stock at book value without regard
to the market prices at which Crown stock was actually

- ae

13

traded on the American Stock Exchange. This affir-
mance violated the clear mandate of the Regulations
that—

“(T]f there is a market for stocks or bonds, on a
stock exchange, in an over-the-counter market, or
otherwise, the mean between the highest and low-
est quoted selling prices on the valuation date is
the fair market value per share or bond.’’ Treas.
Regs. Sec. 20.2031-2(b) (1).

The decision of the Court below is in direct conflict
with decisions of the Third Circuit Court. Amerada
Hess Corporation vy. Commissioner, 517 F.2d 75 (3d
Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 869, 96 S. Ct. 574
(1975); Hazeltine Corporation v. Commissioner, 89
F.2d 513 (3d Cir. 1937). In Hazeltine, supra, the Third
Circuit Court reversed a ‘fair market value”’ deter-
mination by the Board of Tax Appeals which ignored
the prices at which stock was actually sold on the
New York Curb Exchange. The Court stated:

‘‘The Board seems to have ignored the evidence of
fair market value furnished by the sales upon the
Curb exchange and in this we think it fell into
error. The primary evidence of the fair market
value of corporate stock is what willing pur-
chasers pay to willing sellers on the open market,
even though the assets of the corporation do not
reflect such values.’’ 89 F.2d at 519 (3d Cir. 1937).

More recently, in Amerada Hess Corporation, supra,
the Third Circuit Court reversed the Tax Court’s de-
termination that the value of a large block of stock
was the amount set by the parties to a corporate ex-
change of the stock for assets for the purpose of de-
termining the number of shares to be issued, rather
than the actual market value at the time the exchange
was made, less a discount for blockage. The Tax Court

14

had concluded that the large block involved made mar-
ket prices unreliable. Nevertheless, the Third Circuit
Court held:

‘‘Where ... the property to be valued consists
of securities traded on a stock exchange, the gen-
eral rule is that the average exchange price quoted
on the valuation date furnishes the most accurate,
as well as the most readily ascertainable, measure
of fair market value ... Market analysts have
developed reliable tec hniques for determining the
amount by which the market price should be ad-
justed to correct for various abnormalities.

The Tax Court, however, neither adopted nor
adapted the market price as the proper index of
valuation in this ease.’’ 517 F.2d at 84.

The Court below, in affirming the Tax Court, placed
itself squarely in opposition to the Third Circuit. In-
stead of directing the Tax Court to ‘‘adopt or adapt’’
market prices, as the Amerada Hess case requires, the
Court below sanctioned the Tax Court’s complete
abandonment of market prices in favor of book value.
Book value was more than twice the market price for
the Crown stock. The only reason given by the Gov-
ernment’s witness for using book value rather than
market price was that the market for the Crown stock
was ‘‘thin.’’*’ Even if the Crown market were deter-
mined to be ‘‘thin,’’ and therefore market values should
not be a wholly determinative starting point for valua-
tion, the asserted ‘‘thinness’’ would not warrant the
arbitrary use of book value instead of applying the
valuation standards developed in the regulations ap-

*° Government counsel, with commendable frankness, made on
oral argument in the Court below the more persuasive statement
that book value was employed in the Crown situation since it pro-
duced a higher valuation than did market value.

15

plicable to the case of stock for which the market does
not accurately reflect the fair market value. Treas.
Regs. Sec. 20.2031-2(e). See Treas. Regs. See. 20.2031-

2(f) (2).

II.

THE PROPER DISPOSITION OF THIS CASE INVOLVES AN
IMPORTANT QUESTION OF LAW WHICH SHOULD BE
SETTLED BY THIS COURT.

It is commonly said that valuation is not an exact
science. Precisely because of the broad possibilities for
inconsistency which exist in this area, it is imperative
that the basic criteria, which form the only bounds on
the Tax Court’s otherwise complete discretion, be
clearly identified, authoritatively established, and
applied consistently. This Court has recognized that
the criteria to be applied in valuation cases are a mat-
ter of law and has heretofore reversed decisions apply-
ing improper standards. See Powers v. Commissioner,
312 U.S. 259 (1941).

It is a matter of common knowledge that many
closely-held corporations themselves hold stock in
other corporations and that it is frequently necessary
to value these holdings in other corporations in con-
nection with arriving at the value of the closely-held
stock. Within six months after the Tax Court rendered
its decision in the present case, it rendered decisions
in two other cases—Estate of Maurice Gustave Heck-
sher, supra, and Edwin A. Gallun, 33 T.C.M. 1316
(1974)—which involved such a valuation question. In
Hecksher, the Tax Court took into account the effect
of the capital gains tax which would have been in-
eurred on a sale of the securities. In Gallun, it took
into account the effect of blockage which would have
reduced the price obtainable on a sale, but refused to

16

give any effect to the capita! gains tax which would
have been incurred.

The erratie application of valuation standards ex-
emplified by these two cases, and by the conflict between
the Third and Fourth Cireuits, demonstrates the need
for this Court to settle authoritatively the principle
to be followed so that there can be a modicum of uni-
formity and certainty in this area. If these two dece-
dents had lived in Philadelphia instead of Baltimore,
the estate tax liability would have been determined
under the principles enunciated by the Third Cireuit
in Laird and would have been very much less than the
tax determined by the Tax Court and affirmed by the
Fourth Cireuit. This would have also heen true if they
lived in Honolulu, where the courts have followed
Laird. See Obermer vy. United States, supra, and
Bishop Trust Company v. United States, supra.

ITT.

THE COURT BELOW DECIDED THE BASIC ISSUE PRESENTED
IN A WAY WHICH IS CONTRARY TO THE PRINCIPLES
ESTABLISHED BY THIS COURT IN ANOTHER CONTEXT.

It is necessary to determine values of stocks of other
corporations held by a particular corporation not only
for the purposes of determining estate and gift taxes,
but also for other purposes, such as determining the
amounts which are available to meet business needs of
the owning corporation for accumulated earnings tax
purposes.’ In Ivan Allen Company v. United States,
422 U.S. 617 (1975), this Court determined that appre-
ciated stocks owned by the taxpayer should be valued
at their fair market value less the costs of converting

'! The accumulated earnings tax is imposed under Sections 531-37
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (26 U.S.C. Sees. 531-37).

ey ee ee

17

them into cash and the capital gains taxes which would
be payable, rather than at book value. This Court stated
that ‘‘the proper measure of those securities, for the
purposes of the [Sec. 531] tax, is their net realizable
value.’’ 422 U.S. at 629 (emphasis supplied).

It is submitted that the decisions by the Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit in Laird, Amerada Hess
and Iazeltine, supra, are consistent with the holding
of this Court in Ivan Allen, supra, and that when the
Tax Court ignored these cases and the Court of Ap-
peals for the Fourth Cireuit affirmed the Tax Court,
the present cases were decided in a manner contrary
to the valuation standards enunciated by this Court.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

CAROLYN E. AGGER

WALTER J. ROCKLER

LAURALEE A, MATTHEWS
1229 Nineteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Joun S. McDAntet, JR.
LAWRENCE A, KAUFMAN
915 The Blaustein Building
Ba'timore, Maryland 21201
Attorneys for Petitioners

Of Counsel:

ARNOLD & PORTER
1229 Nineteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

CaBLE, McDAnteEL, Bowlrk and Bonp
915 The Blaustein Building
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0451%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
