# Petition — Estelle v. Cole

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0419%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 1012

## Text

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITE
OCTOBER TERM, 1975

no..%6-190

W. J. ESTELLE, JR. DIRECTOR,
TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,

Petitioner
v.
JOHN LERL COLE,
Respondent

* * *

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

* * *

JOHN ©. HILL
Attorney General of Texas

DAVID M. KENDALL
First Assistant Attorney General

JOE B. DIBRELL
DUNKLIN SULLIVAN
PATRICK P. ROGERS
Assistant Attorneys General

Attorneys for Petitioner

P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711

INDEX
Page
SE Bos cs chandenddbcdcddndcccscccencsccsneeees 1
PE nd btnbedecdecclckbeShddancncesovstcccrscecns 2
QUESTION PRESENTED FORREVIEW ................... 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............. 3
Pe a EEE Soncndencecccecszsnescinccesesds 3
STATEMENT OF THE FACTS WITH ARGUMENT ......... 4
GENE, eeuncusevecanstdideetudticescsvesssccdescdsace 8
Cy PS io vi cccsccccccccccsestveccecess 8
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Cole v. State, 484 S.W.2d 779 (Tex.Crim.App. 1972);

i IE EE sc cccuckdecccocecescescoecess 2,3
Harrington v. California, 295 U.S. 250, 89 S.Ct. 1726,

ED Sdddeideudascvcvccocsescsvescocedesses 6
Jackson v. Deno, 378 U.S. 368 (1964) ........... cece eee eeeeees 4,5
Rogers v. State, 468 S.W.2d 438 (Tex.Crim.App. 1971) ........... 6
Stone v. Powell, ___U.S. ——, 19 Cr.L. 3333,

No. 74-1055 (July 6, 1976) ..... -ienteniennkieeenerenaesens 2,7

Wolf v. Rice, ___U.S.___, 19 Cr.L. 3333, No. 74-1222
PET cc. ba xcddeeusesdeasandederesdbdhaadbandennns 2,7

Appendix A —

Appendix B —

Appendix C —

Appendix D —

Appendix E —

Appendix F —

APPENDIX

Summary Opinion of United States
Court of Appeal for Fifth Circuit,

Estelle v. Cole, 75-3283 ..............-

Order of United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Denying Motion for Rehearing,

Estelle v. Cole, 75-3283 .........+++- ‘

Unreported Opinion and Judgment
of United States District Court for
Northern District of Texas, Cole v.

Estelle, CA-3-74-706-D...........-..

Opinion of Texas Court of Criminal

Appeals — Cole v. State .............

Stay of Mandate of United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth

SE ideale cnet aed dah Sees bute

Denial of Extension of Stay of
Mandate of United States Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit ........

on

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1975

*- * *

NO.

*> * *

W. J. ESTELLE, JR. DIRECTOR
TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,

Petitioner
Vv.

JOHN LERL COLE,
Respondent

*+* * *

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

*> * *

The petitioner, W. J. Estelle, Jr., Director of the
Texas Department of Corrections, respectfully prays
that this court issue a writ of certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, for review
of its judgment entered April 1, 1976, in the above
entitled cause, and in which rehearing was denied on
May 10, 1976.

OPINION BELOW

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit did not deliver a written opinion when this cause
was presented for original review or for review on
rehearing. (See Appendix A and B).

The opinion and judgment of the United States

-2-

District Court for the Northern District of Texas, Dallas
Division, is unreported; but a copy of said opinion and
judgment is attached hereto as Appendix C.

’ The opinion and judgment of the Texas Court of
Criminal Appeals, which reviewed the conviction on
direct appeal from the State trial court, is reported as
Cole v. State, 484 S.W. 2d 779 (Tex.Crim.App. 1972);
reh. den. Sept. 25, 1976. A copy of said opinion is
atiached hereto as Appendix D.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit was entered on April 1,
1976. (Appendix A). The petitioner timely filed a
motion for rehearing with the suggestion for a
rehearing in banc, which was denied on May 10, 1976.
(Appendix B).

This court has jurisdiction to grant a writ of
certiorari pursuant to the provisions of 28 U.S.C.,
§1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

The question presented for review to this court is
whether, in light of Stone v. Powell, __. U.S. —__, 19
Cr.L. 3333, No. 74-1055 (July 6, 1976), and Wolf v. Rice,
___U.S. ___, 19 Cr.L. 3333, No. 74-1222 (July 6, 1976)
the respondent, John Lerl Cole, is entitled to habeas
corpus relief in the federal courts on the ground that
certain evidence obtained in an unconstitutional search
and seizure was introduced at his state trial where the
state courts, at trial and upon direct review, provided
opportunity for a full and fair litigation of the Fourth
Amendment claim?

-3-
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fourth Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides, in pertinent part:

“The right of the people to be secure...
against unreasonable searches and seizures

The. Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides, in pertinent part:

“No state shall . . . deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The respondent, John Ler! Cole, was convicted
before a jury in the 194th State District Court of Dallas
County, Texas, for a felony offense of robbery with
firearms, State Cause No. 70-2404-LM. The jury
assessed Cole’s punishment at One Hundred, Twenty-
Five (125) years confinement in the state penitentiary.
The judgment and sentence were appealed to the Texas
Court of Criminal Appeals; and, on June 21, 1972, the
conviction was affirmed. Cole v. State, 484 S.W.2d 779
(Tex.Crim.App. 1972); reh. den., September 25,
1972. (Appendix D). At both the trial court and upon
direct appeal to the Court of Criminal Appeals, the State
courts reviewed the unconstitutional search and seizure
contention involved herein.

Cole, thereafter, made an application for habeas
corpus to the convicting state district court and said
application was subsequently transferred to theTexas
Court of Criminal Appeals pursuant to Article 11.07,
Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Cole’s state application was

-4-

denied without a written order on the findings of the
trial court. (Cole did not raise the search and seizure
points in his state application for habeas corpus).

Cole made an application for a writ of habeas corpus
to the United States District Court for the Northern
District of Texas, Dallas Division, on July 25, 1974. That
court had jurisdiction to entertain his application
pursuant to 28 U.S.C., §§2241 and 2254. An evidentiary
hearing was not conducted; but, the Federal District
Court granted Cole’s application on August 8, 1975.
(Appendix C). Your petitioner appealed this decision to
the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit,
which summarily affirmed the decision on April 1,
1976; and summarily denied a rehearing on May 10,
1976. (Appendix A & B). Upon motion of your
petitioner Estelle, the Court of Appeals stayed the
issuance of its order and the mandate until June 24,
1976. (Appendix E). Thereafter, your petitioner
applied to the Court of Appeals to extend the stay of the
mandate but was denied. (Appendix F). Your peti-
tioner now files his petition for certiorari within the
time prescribed by 28 U.S.C. §2101(c).

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS
WITH ARGUMENT

Prior to the trial of the case in chief, a Jackson v.
Deno, 378 U.S. 368 (1964), hearing was held on Cole’s
motion to suppress a shotgun and shotgun shell which
was seized by Officer H. O. Wilkinson upon the arrest of
petitioner. At this hearing, Officer Wilkinson testified
that on March 16, 1970, at or about 7:00 A.M., a
confidential informer came to the Dallas Police
Department and told Wilkinson that Cole had been
involved in a robbery which occurred on March 11, 1970
(the instant case Cole attacked in his federal application

EE eI

5-

for habeas corpus) and that Cole was at his home in
Dallas, Texas, preparing to leave immediately to
participate in a second robbery. The informant told the
officer that Cole had committed the March 11, 1970,
robbery with a shotgun and the petitioner had a buick
automobile.

As a result of receiving this information, Officer
Wilkinson, accompanied by two other Dallas police
officers and three sheriff's deputies, went to Cole’s home
in Dallas, Texas arriving between 7:30 and 8:00 A.M.
The officers went to the front door of a house and
announced that they were police officers. A woman
answered “Just a minute” then opened the door saying,
“Come on in”. One of the officers stated “We're after
Johnny Ler! Cole, is he here?” The woman responded
that he was, and told the officers that they could “look
around” the house. The officers then entered the house
and proceeded through the livingroom, through the
hall, and in the bathroom they found Cole. Officer
Wilkinson testified that they saw Cole reaching into an
overnight case and that Wilkinson pointed his gun at
Cole. Officer Wilkinson testified that inside the
overnight case he found a sawed-off shotgun and some
shotgun shells. Following the Jackson v. Deno hearing,
the trial court allowed the objects seized by Officer
Wilkinson to be admitted into evidence.

During the trial before the jury, the State produced
three eye-witnesses who positively identified Cole as
being one of the culprits who participated in the robbery
in question. One of the eye-witnesses, Gene Cravatt,
testified that he was working in the canned goods isle
when he first noticed the robbery in progress. As
Cravatt turned around, he was three feet from Cole who
was holding a single-barrel sawed-off shotgun on
Cravatt.

&

Upon direct appeal to the Texas Court of Criminal
Appeals, the Court found that the officers did not have
an arrest warrant or a search warrant; and that the
informant’s tip was inadequate to constitute probable
cause for the arrest. Accordingly, the Court found the
search incident to the arrest was illegal; and that the
items seized were not admissible on that basis.
(Appendix D, pp. D-5). Next, the Court addressed itself
to the question of whether the admission of illegally
seized evidence was harmless error beyond a reasonable
doubt under the particular facts before them. In
affirming the conviction, the Court of Criminal Appeals
‘ concluded as follows, to-wit:

In light of the unequivocal testimony of the
three witnesses that the appellant was one of
the robbers, and the rebuttal evidence that
weakened the alibi of the defense, we feel that
the error in admitting the shotgun was
harmless. Harrington v. California, 295 U.S.
250, 89 S.Ct. 1726, 23 L.Ed.2d 284 (1969);
Rogers v. State, 468 S.W.2d 438 (Tex.Crim.App.
1971). [Appendix D, pp. D-6]

Cole, thereafter, in his federal habeas corpus
proceeding, contended that the State conviction should
be overturned as the admission of illegally seized
evidence was not harmless error beyond a reasonable
doubt. In the federal Judge’s order granting Cole’s
application for habeas corpus, he stated that he was
relying upon the findings and conclusions of the United
States Magistrate. In his Findings and Conclusions the
Magistrate stated, in pertinent part; towit:

This case is a fair example of the difficulty
encountered in the application of the rules for
suppressing illegally obtained evidence. A
clear identification supports a verdict and will

-7-
again. . . . (Appendix C, pp. C-5)

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit affirmed and your petitioner is now before this
Court seeking reversal. In support of the issuance of a
writ of certiorari and ultimate reversal of this cause,
your petitioner relies upon this Court’s recent decision of
Stone v. Powell, U.S... 19 Cr.L. 3333, No. 74-
1055 (July 6, 1976) and a companion case of Wolf v. Rice,
___U.S.___, 19 Cr.L. 3333, No. 74-1222 (July 6, 1976).
In a combined opinion, in the Stone and Wolf cases, this
Court stated as follows:

In sum, we conclude that where the State has
provided an opportunity for a full and fair
litigation of a fourth amendment claim, a state
prisoner may not be granted federal habeas
corpus relief on the ground that the evidence
obtained and unconstitutional search or seizure
was introduced at his trial. 19 Cr.L. 3333, 3341.
(emphasis ours)

The facts of the instant case are squarely aligned
with those of Stone v. Powell and Wolf v. Rice, supra. The
State trial court, although allowing the evidence to be
admitted, conducted prior to its admission a Jackson v.
Deno hearing outside the presence of the jury on Cole’s
Fourth Amendment claim. Cole’s contention was
thereafter presented for direct review by the Texas
Court of Criminal Appeals which thoroughly
considered the same. (Appendix D). Thus, insummary,
the decision of the Court of Appeals of the Fifth Circuit
is in direct conflict with this Court’s decisions of Stone v.
Powell and Wolf v. Rice, supra. Accordingly, this Court
should apply the holdings of Stone v. Powell and Wolf v.
Rice, supra to the instant case and grant a writ of
certiorari, reverse the United Sates Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit and thereby enter an order denying
Cole’s application for habeas corpus.

-8-
CONCLUSION

For the reasons and authority set forth above, your
petitioner prays that this Court-grant his petition for
writ of certiorari and either summarily reverse and
render judgment in favor of petitioner Estelle or reverse
after briefs have been submitted and arguments heard
in this cause.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN L. HILL
Attorney General of Texas

DAVID M. KENDALL
First Assistant Attorney General

JOE B. DIBRELL
DUNKLIN SULLIVAN

PATRICK P. ROGERS
Assistant Attorneys General

P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711

Attorneys for Petitioner
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Dunklin Sullivan, a member of the Bar of the
Supreme Court of the United States, do hereby certify
that three (3) copies of the foregoing Petition for Writ of
Certiorari have been served on the attorney of record for
the respondent Cole by placing the same in the United
States Mail, certified, return receipt requested, postage
prepaid, addressed as follows: Mr. Robert T. Baskett,
2440 One Main Place, Dallas, Texas, 75250, this ___day
of —_, 1976.

DUNKLIN SULLIVAN
Assistant Attorney General

APPENDIX

A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS Lig NOT

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT PUBLISH

: NO. 75-3283
Summary Calendar*

JOUN LERL COLE,

Petitioner-Appellee,

versus

W. J. ESTELLE, JR., Director,
Texas Department of Corrections,

Respondeat-Appe llant.

+

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Texas

( April 1, 1976 )
BEFORE BROWN, Chief Judge, GEWIN and MORGAN, Circuit Judges.
PER CURIAM: AFFIRMED, See Local Rule 21,2/

*Rule 18, 5 Cir.; See Isbell Enterprises, Inc. v. Citizens Casualty
Co, of New York, et al., 5 Cir, 1970, 43! F.2d 409, Part I.

1/See N.L.R.B. v. Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America, 5 Cir.,
~ 1970, 430 F.2d 966.

Issued as Mandate: JUN 3( 1976 A-1

APPENDIX B

—* wedluited Sintes Court of Appenles

FIFTH CIRCUIT

TEL 804-800.6614
EOWARD W WADSWORTH OFFICE OF THE CLERK 600 Camp street

c.cen NEW ORLEANS. LA 70130

May 10, 1976

TO ALL COUNSEL OF RECORD

No, 75-3283 - John Lerl Cole v. W. J. Estelle,
Jr., Director, Texas Department
of Corrections

Dear Counsel:

This is to advise that an order has this day been entered

denying the petition( ) for rehearing, and no member of

the panel nor Judge in regular active service on the Court

having requested that the Court be polled on rehearing

en banc (Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure; APPENDIX C
Local Fifth Circuit Rule 12) the petition( ) for rehearing

en banc has also been denied,

See Rule 41, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure for
issuance and stay of the mandate.

Very truly yours,

EDWARD W. WADSWORTH, Clerk

/smg

cc: Mr. Patrick P, Rogers
Mr. Donald A, Smyth
Messrs. Robert T. Baskett
Phil Burleson

US MrSPert cower
OR THLE estat of te as

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT cour | L ED
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

DALLAS DIVISION AUG 8 1875
JOHNNY LERL COLE ) aie ee )
vs. CA3-74-706-B”
W. J. ESTELLE, DIRECTOR, TDC

FINDINGS, CONCLUSIONS AND RECOMMENDATION
OF THE UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE

Pursuant to the provisions of 28 U.S.C. 636(b), and an Order
of the Court in implementation thereof, the subject cause has
previously been referred to the United States Magistrate. The
findings, conclusions and recommendation of the Magistrate, as
evidenced by his signature thereto, are as follows:

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS:

The Petitioner is in the custody of the Respondent on the
judgment and sentence of the 194th Judicial District Court,
Dallas County, Texas, in State Cause No. 70-2404-LM. Petitioner

was convicted by a jury of robbery with firearms and the jury

assessed confinement in the penitentiary for 125 years. Petitioner's

conviction was affirmed June 21, 1972. Cole v. State, 484 S.W.2d

779, reh. den. Sept. 25, 1972. On direct appeal the Petitioner
raised the first issue presented in this writ.

The Petitioner in this application seeks habeas corpus
relief on five issues previously raised and determined against
him in the state court on direct appeal and in subsequent writ
applications. Only the first issue is taken up here in light
of the recommendation made.

The issue is can the admission in evidence of an illegally
seized shotgun be determined “harmless error" under the facts.

The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals found the Petitioner's
arrest and the subsequent search illegal and held that the admission
into evidence of the shotgun and shell was error. The Court

then reviewed che record and under all the facts applied the

C-1

“harmless error" rule citing Chapman v. Calif., 386 U.S. 18, 87
S.Ct. 824, 17 L.Ed.2d 705 (1967); Harrington v. Calif., 395 U.S.
250, 89 S.Ct. 1726, 23 L.Ed.2d 284 (1969); Chambers v. Maroney,
399 U.S. 42, 90 S.Ct. 1975, 26 L.Ed.2d 419 (1970) and Rodgers v.
State, Tex.Crim.App. (1971) 468 S.W.2d 438. Presiding Judge

Onion dissented finding that he covld not agree that the consti-

tutional error was "... harmless beyond a reasonable doubt ...

Chapman v. Calif., supra.
The majority concluded:

“In light of the unequivocal testimony of the
three witnesses that appellant was one of the
robbers, and the rebuttal evidence which
weakened the alibi defense, we feel that the
error in admitting the shotgun was harmless."
Cole v. State, supra.

In the particular setting of this case the Petitioner argues
that there is a reasonable possibility that the evidence complained
of adversely influenced the jury and contributed to his conviction
in denial of his constitutionally protected rights defined in
Fahey v. Conn., 375 U.S. 85 (1963) and Chapman, supra. The
effect, it is argued, is established in this case not only by the
evidence itself but also "... by the extensive circumstances
surrounding it in the manner in which it is offered in evidence”
as defined in Reeves v. Warden, 4th Cir. (1965) 346 F.2d 915.

The Petitioner sets out in his brief pertinent protions of the
Statement of Facts to support his position. He argues this record
shows that the admission of the illegally seized shotgun (State's
Exhibit 1) permitted the testimony of the investigating police
officer witness. The officer witness testified to aggravated
facts involved in the arrest of the Petitioner and the securing
of this shotgun. He argues that this evidence introduced a

real possibility that the jury's verdict may have been influenced

C-2

as to identification by its admission and thus may have been
an important contribution to his conviction. He argues further
that the effect of the admission of such evidence and testimony
was intensified by multiple references in the prosecutor's
argument to the jury in their attempt to bolster the allegedly
vigorously disputed issue of identification.

The Respondent argues the record reflects positive identi-
fication by three eye-witnesses, one of whom testified to seeing
the Petitioner holding the sawed-off shotgun, an issue the
Petitioner has not seen fit to raise as such in this application.
Further, that there is no real indication the prosecutor's words
pointed to from the jury arguments were, in fact, unduly stressed
or emphasized when such argument is taken as a whole.

The record discloses that three employees of the store
robbed identified the Petitioner at trial. The first to testify
(Phillips, the store manager) was cross-examined on his identifi-
cation testimony concerning his prior examining trial testimony.
The defense made serious effort to impeach the identification by
attempting to show that at the examining trial Phillips had
given testimony that he could identify only the most active robber
with whom he was dealing but not the other two, including the
Petitioner here. (S.F. 157). Referring to the examining trial
testimony the witness testified "I believe I said I didn't know
whether I could or not." (S.F. 158). The witness stuck by his
answers on re-cross. (S.F. 160, 161). The second identification
witness (Stover, the meat manager) who identified the Pet itioner
shows the Petitioner stationed himself at one point near the
witness in the back of the store by the meat counter giving hia
@ good opportunity for observation. The identification testimony

was not shaken on cross. The third witness Cravatt (the stocker-

Cc-3

checker), gave particularly strong identification testimony in
which he was personally confronted by the Petitioner holding a
shotgun on him as Cravatt attempted to escape to the rear of

the store. He was halted by the Petitioner who directed him

back up to the front of the store where the robbery was taking
place. Cravatt testified to being within “about three feet" of

the Petitioner in a well-lighted area and that he had an
opportunity to observe the Petitioner's face in a period

involving “about a minute or two." (S.F. 190). Cravatt identified
the shotgun in question from "... its sawed off" condition “and

the way the wood comes up to the end of the barrel here." (S.F.
204). Extensive cross-examination failed to shake Cravatt's
identification of the Petitioner. This identification of the shotgun
by Cravatt enabled the state to put on their final witness,

Police Officer Wilkerson, who testified to entering the Petitioner's
residence five days after the robbery where on finding the
Petitioner in the bethroom "... threw down on him" (S.F. 210)

when the Petitioner made an effort to reach inside an overnight
case later learned to contain the unloaded shotgun and a loaded
shotgun shell.

The defense's alibi was through the wife and mother-in-law.
Thus, the case turned wholly on identification and the potentiel
influence of the admission of the shotgun and the circumstances
surrounding its taking arereadily apparent. When taken together
with the repetitious and emphasized se of such illegal evidence
in argument, the Petitioner is put in a strong position to argue
the inappropriateness of the application of the “harmless error"
rule to these facts. Against this is the clear conclusion to be
drawn from the record of the overwhelming identification evidence

pointing out the Petitioner as one of the perpetrators of the

Cc-4

robbery and permitting the application of the rule. Neither
the cross-examination or the alibi witnesses, in combination,
genuinely challenged the credibility of the witnesses identification

of the Petitioner.
This case is a fair example of the difficulties encountered

in the application of the rule suppressing illegally obtained

evidence. The clear identification supports the verdict and will
again, but the required balance in criminal trials must be
maintained and in order to do so the relevant inquiry in these
instances must be, in the language of the Supreme Court, “whether
there is a reasonable possibility that the evidence complained
of might have contributed to the conviction." Chapman, supra,
386 U.S. at 23. Only if the court can declare with confidence
"beyond a reasonable doubt," Chapman, supra, 386 U.S. at 24, that
such a possibility is excluded by the record can it pronounce
a constitutional error to be harmless. In this instance the
identification of the shotgun buttresses the identification of
the Petitioner as perpetrator of the robbery. The aggravation
inherent in the officer's testimony with respect to the seizure
of the weapon and the repetitive use of the combination in
argument requires a finding of error of constitutional dimension
which cannot be held to be harmless beyond a reasonable doubt
if the rule is to have the meaningful application that the
language of the Supreme Court indicates.
RECOMMENDATION:

Accordingly, it is recommended that the Petitioner's writ
be granted and that the Respondent be directed to retry the
Petitioner with the complained of evidence being excluded or

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE _

release him.

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

ek eS eet Comms
st Oh wElOH Ee Teens

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS [= J | EP

DALLAS DIVISION AUG 1975
JUQRPH Mek rss ike
ah ands ~ aes
JOHN LERL COLE §
Vv. § CIVIL ACTION NO. CA-3-74-706-D

W. J. ESTELLE, DIRECTOR, TDC §
LICAT FOR WRIT OF HABEAS CORPUS

After making an independent review of the pleadings, files
and records in this case, and the findings, conclusions and
recommendation of the United States Magistrate, I am of the
opinion that the findings and conclusions of the Magistrate
are correct and they are adopted as the findings and conclusions
of the Court.

The Court is of the opinion that the admission into evidence
of the illegally seized evidence was not harmless beyond a reason-
able doubt and that there is a reasonable possibility that the
illegal evidence might have contributed to the Petitioner's
conviction. Chapman v. Calif., 386 U.S. 18, 87 S.Ce. 824, 17 L.Ed.
2d 705 (1967).

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED that :

1. One Hundred and Twenty (120) days after date of entry of
this order all charges against Petitioner arising out of Indictment
No. 70-2404-LM shall be dismissed and Petitioner shall be released
from the criminal charges in said indictment unless within such one
hundred and twenty (120) day period, or within such additional time
as may be fixed pursuant to paragraph 2 herein, the State of Texas
shall proceed to retry Petitioner in said cause.

C-6

2. On written motion filed herein within the one hundred and
twenty (120) day period and upon a showing of good cause for doing
so, the one hundred and twenty (120) day period fixed in paragraph
1 hereinabove may be extended by order of this Court.

3. In the event this Order is appealed from, the effect
of the Order shall be stayed pending the determination of such
appeal.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of this Court shall
transmit a true copy of this Order, together with a true copy of
the Findings, Conclusions and Recommendation of the United States
Magistrate, to Petitioner, his counsel of record, to Respondent
and to the Hon. John C. Vance, Judge, 194th Judicial District
Court, Dallas County, Texas.

rk
SIGNED AND ENTERED this * day of August, 1935.

x4. Abie

United \States District Judge

‘

APPENDIX

D

COLE v. STATE Tex. 779
(He an 446 A.W 28 TH

[6] lurther, we note that the State did
not attempt to holater Crenshaw's in-court
inlentification hy use of any pretrial identi-
fication. And, still further, Sing, who was
not shown hy this record to have viewed
any lineup, or show-up, etc. made a poni-
tive in-court identification of the appellant
based on his observations at the scence of
the crime. Clearly, if there was any error
at all in admitting Crenshaw's courtroom
ilentification, it was harmicss error.
Smith v. State, 480 S.W.2d G18, 621 (Tex.
Cr.App.1970); Garcia v. State, 472 S.W.2d
784 (Tex.Cr.App.t971).

We have cxamined appellant's remaining
grounds of error; all advanced by the pro
se brief, and find them without merit or
without support in this record.

The judgment is affirmed.

dohany Lert COLE, Appeiiaat,
Vv.
The STATE of Texas, Appeoiies.
Ne. 46013.

Court of Criminal Appeaia of Texas.
June 21, 1972.

Rehearing Denied Sept. 26, 1972.

Defendant was convicted before the
194th District Court, Dallas County, John
C. Vance, J., of robbery by assault and he
appealed. The Court of Criminal Appeals,
Roberts, J., held that where officer had not
previously reecived information from in-
formant who informed him that defend-
ant had been involved in robbery, was at
certain address, was preparing to leave
immediately and was going to participate
in another robbery and informant did not
state how he had obtained his information,

information provided hy informant was m-
sufficient to provide probable cause for
warrantless arrest or scarch, and shotgun
and shotgun shell acized incilent to arrest
were inadmissible; however, error in ad-
mitting such cvidence, was harmicss in
light of unequivocal testimony of three wit-
nesses that defendant was one of the rob-
bers and rebuttal evidence which weaken-
ed defendant's alibi.

Affirmed.

Morrison, J., concurred in result.

Onion, T. J., dissented and filed opin-
ton.

1. Arrest @=63(4)
Searches and Selzeres €>3.%(2)
Standards applicable to determining

whether facts of a particular case support

arresting officer’s probable cause assess-
ment’ at time of challenged arrest and
search are at least as stringent as stand-
ards applied when reviewing decision of

2. Arrest €=63(4)
Criminal Law @=906.4(11), 11681)

7180 Tex. 44 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 24 SERIES

3. Arrest €=6%(4)
Searches and Seizures C—3.%(2)

Mere assertion or conclusion that an
informant is credible, without more, is an
insufficient basis for establishing prohabic
cause for warranticss arrest or search bas-
ed on informant's tip alone.

4. Arrest €-63(4)
Searches and Seizures €=3.6(3)

Hearsay information which is insuffi-
cient to constitute prohable cause for arrest
or search may become sufficient if ade-
quately corroborated by independent obser-
vation of arresting officer or, in the case
of a warrant by affiant; however, infor-
mation gaincd by observation must in some
sense be corroborative of informer's tip
that arrestees committed felony or were in
process of committing felony.

5S. Arrest €=—63(4)

Facts that arresting officers found de-
fendant where informant said he would
he found and saw automobile of make
which informant told officers defendant
had were not corroborative of tip that de-
fendant had committed robbery and that he
was planning to commit another robbery
and did not cause informant's tip to become
sufficient to give officers probable cause
for warrantless arrest and search.

6. Searches and Seizures €—>3.%!)

Exigent circumstances, no matter how
compelling, will not justify search where
prohable cause is lacking.

7. Searches and Seizures €=3.3(4)

Seizure of shotgun pursuant to illegal
arrest was not legal as being seizure of
contrahand in open view where shotgun
was found inside overnight case subsequent
to defendant’s arrest.

6. Searches and Seizures €°7(27)

Where woman who answered door of
house where officers believed defendant
to be was not told that officers were plan-
ning on conducting search but was merely

told that officers were after defendant,
there was no testimony that woman was
aware of her right to refuse to consent to
search and officers were armed with shot-
guns, woman's consent to “look around”
did not constitute consent to search prem-
1ses.

9. Searches and Seizures <—7(28)

It is not necessary to show that person
consenting to a search was warned of his
right to refuse or that he knew of his right
to do so to support finding that consent
was frecly and knowingly given; however,
such showing is of evidentiary value in de-
termining whether valid consent was given.

10. Criminal Law €>1:56%(!)

Admission of illegally seized evidence
may be harmless error.

it. Criminal Law €=1162

Before error of constitutional dimen-
sion can be held to be harmicss, reviewing
court must be able to declare that it was
harmless beyond reasonable doubt.

12. Criminal Law @=1202(3)

Set of fingerprints which was con-
tained in “prison packet” holding records
of five prior convictions of defendant and
which matched set of fingerprints taken
from defendant referred to packet as a
whole and not just to one prior conviction;
thus, all five convictions rather than just
one were admissible.

13. Criminal Law @=>1119(4)

Record failed to support defendant's
contention that prosccutors had suppressed
evidence seized at time of his arrest and al-
legediy consisting of note which was used
in charged robbery and which was alleged-
ly vital to defendant’s defense. U.S.C.A.
Const. Amends. 4, 9, 14.

14. Criminal Law €1037(1)

Any error with respect to argument by
prosecutor was not preserved for review
absent objection to the argument.

D-2

COLE v. STATE Tex. 781
Cite an 44 BW 2d 779

Emmett Colvin, Jr.. Norman Kinne, Dal-
las, for appellant.

Ilenry Wade, Dist. Atty., and Harry J.
Schulz, Jr., Asst. Dist. Atty., Dallas, and
Jim D. Vollers, State’s Atty., Austin, for
the State.

OPINION

ROBERTS, Judge.

This is an appeal from a conviction for
robbery by assault. Trial was held before
a jury, which assessed punishment at con-
finement for one hundred and twenty-five
years.

In his brief, appellant sets forth two
grounds of error. In his first ground of
error, he contends that the trial court erred
in overruling his motion to suppress evi-
dence and in admitting a shotgun and shot-
gun shell into evidence for the reason that
the shotgun and shell were the fruits of
an illegal search and seizure.

Prior to trial, a hearing was held on
appellant's motion to suppress evidence. At
the hearing, Wilkerson, a Dallas police
officer, testified that about 7:00 a. m. on
the morning of March 16, 1970, an in-
former came to the Dallas Police Depart-
ment and told him that appellant had been
involved in a robbery which occurred on
March 11, 1970 (the instant case) and that
he (appellant) was at a house on Fourth
Street in Dallas and was preparing to
leave immediately, ar¢ that appellant was
going to participate in another robbery
(apparently on the same day). The in-
formant told the officer that appellant had
committed the robbery in question with a
shotgun and that appellant had a Buick
automobile.

The officer testified that he had not re-
ceived information from the informant in
the past, and that the informant did ro
state how he had obtained his informa-
tion that appellant had committed the rob-

hery and was planning to commit another
robbery.

As a result of receiving this informa-
tion, the officers, accompanied hy two
other Dallas police officers and three
sheriff's deputies, went to the location on
Fourth Street, arriving between 7:30 and
8:00 a.m. The officers went to the front
door of the house, and announce: that they
were police officers. A woman inside an-
swered, “Just a minute” and then opened
the door saying, “Come on in.” Onc of
the officers stated: “We're after Johnny
Lerl Cole, is he here?” And the woman
answered that he was, and told the of-
ficers that they could “look around” the
house. The officers then entered the
house with shotguns in hand, and proceed-
ed through the living room of the house,
through a hall, and into the hathroom,'
where they found appellant. Wilkerson
testified that he saw appellant reaching in-
to an overnight case and that he “threw
down on him with . . . my weapon,
and told him to hold it right there.” The
shotgun and shell were found in the case.

Appellant contends that the seizure of
the shotgun and shell was illegal because
(1) the officers lacked probable cause
either to arrest appellant or to conduct a
search of the house where he was found
and (2) there was no valid consent given
to search the house.

If the arrest was legal, then the seizure
of the shotgun, which was found in the
case into which appellant was reaching,
was legal as a search incident to a lawful
arrest. Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752,
89 S.Ct. 206, 23 L.Ed2d 685 (1969).
Therefore, the question which should first
be determined is the legality of the arrest
for if it was legal, the remaining issucs
regarding the search need not he decided.

{1] The officers had neither an arrest
warrant nor a search warrant; however,
the standards applicable to determining
whether the facts of a particular case sup-

1. The officers heard a noise in the bathroom.

D-3

782 Tex. 484 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 24 SERIES

port the arresting officers’ probable cause
assessment at the time of the challenged
arrest and search arc at least as stringent
as the standards applied when reviewing
the decision of a magistrate. Whiteley v.
Warden, Wyoming Penitentiary, 401 U.S.
S@, 91 S.Ct. 1031, 28 1.Fd.2d 6; Beck
v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89, 8S S.Ct. 223, 13 L.
Ed2d 142; Brown v. State, 481 S.W.2d
106 (Tex.Crim.App., 1972); Fry v. State,
No. 44,537 (Tex.Crim.App., March 8, 1972).

(2] Im the present case, the inform-
ant's tip fails to satisfy either of the two
“prongs” of Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S. 108,
8 S.Ct. 1809, 12 L.Ed.2d 723 (1964) and
Spinelli v. United States, 393 U.S. 410, a9
S.Ct. S84, 21 L.Ed.2d 637 (1969).*

[3] Officer Wilkerson’s testimony was
merely that the undisclosed informant was
a credible person. The only reason he
gave for believing that the informant was
credible was that the informant appeared
to be credible in the manner in which he
imparted the information. On the other
hand, Wilkerson testified that, to the best
of his knowledge, he had not received in-
formation from this informant in the past,
that he had not seen the informant prior to
receiving the information, and that he had
not known the informant prior to the day
on which he reccived the information. In
summary, Wilkerson's assertion that the
informant was a credible person was just
that—a mere assertion, unsupported hy any
underlying circumstances which would in-
dicate that he was worthy of belief. A
mere assertion or conclusion that an in-
formant is credible, without more, is an
insufficient basis for cstablishing probable
cause, based on the informant's tip alonc.
Aguilar v. Texas, 178 U.S. 10R, 84 S.Ct.
1509, 12 L.Fd.2d 723 (1964); Stoddard vy.
State, 475 S.W2d 744 (Tex.Crim.App.

:
7
|

Likewise, Wilkerson testified that the 2
informant did not relate the circumstances
by which he came to know that appellant
had committed the robbery on March tith,
aml was preparing to commit another reob-
bery on the date of arrest. Again, unless
some of the underlying circumstances npon
which the informant lased his conclusions
are before the reviewing court, the in-
formant's tip, standing alone, is insuffi.
cient to constitute probable cause. Aguilar
v. Texas, supra; Stoddard v. State, supra.

{4.5} Hearsay information, insufficient
to constitute probable cause under Aguilar
v. Texas, supra, may nevertheless become
sufficient if adequately corroborated hy
independent observation of the arresting
officer (or affiant, in the case of a war-
rant). Spinelli v. United States, 393 US.
410, 89 S.Ct. SRI, 21 L.Ed.2d 637 (196%);
Polanco v. State, 475 S.W.2d 763 (Tex.
Crim.App.1971). llowever, we lxheve
that the imdependent observation im the
present case was not such as to corrol)-
orate sufficiently the hearsay information
sO as to constitute probable cause for the
arrest. The information gained hy ob-
servation must in some cense le cor-
roborative of the informer's tip that the
arrestces committed the felony or were
in the process of committing the felony.
Whiteley v. Warden, Wyoming State
Penitentiary, 401 U.S. 560, 567, 91 S.Ct.
1031 (1971). In the instant case the of-
ficers found appellant where the informant
said he would be found and saw a Buick
automobile at that location. These two
facts are not corrohorat ve of the tip that
appellant had committed the robbery for
which he was arrested or that he was
planning to commit a crime. The record
does not reflect that the officers had been
informed that an automobile was used in
the commission of the robbery, of that
they were searching for a particular auto-

:

35T U.K. 480, 466, TA A.Cr. 1248, 2 L.Ed.
2d 1603 (1968).

COLE v. STATE Tex. 783
Cite ax 484 BW 2d 778

mobile im connection with the robbery.
Therefore, the corroboration was insuffi-
cient to mdicate that appellant had com-
mitted an offense, or that he was plan-
ning to do so.

Since the informant's tip was madequate
to constitute probable cause for the arrest,
it follows that the scarch incident to the
arrest was illegal, and that the items sciz-

1 were not admissible.

(6) The defects in the informant's tip
as a basis for probable cause to arrest are
also present when the tip is viewed as a
basis for probable cause to search. There-
fore, ever assuming that exigent circum-
stances justified the search without a war-
rant, the search would fail for lack of prob-
able cause?

{7] The State contends that the seizure
of the “sawed-off” shotgun was legal as
being a seizure of contraband in open view.
According to the State, the officers were
lawfully on the premises by virtue of the
woman's consent to “look around” and that
because the shotgun was in open view, its
seizure was legal. The State's contention
is based upon a misreading of the record.
There is no testimony in the record that
the weapon was in open view. To the con-
trary, the arresting officer's testimony was
that appellant was reaching into the over-
night case in which the shotgun was found
at the time he was arrested. The shotgun
was found inside the case subsequent to the
arrest.

[8,9] The State concedes, and rightly
so, that the consent to “look around” was
not consent to search the premises. While

3. Exigent circumstances, no matter how
compelling, will not justify a search
where probable cause is lacking. ¢. g.,
Brown vy. State, 481 S.W.2d 108 (Tex.
Crim. App.1072).

4. It in not necessary to show thet a per-
non consenting to a search was warned
of Lin right to refuse, or that he knew of
hia right to de ao, in order to support a
finding that the consent was freely and
keowingly given. DeVoyle v. State, 471

consent to look in a house may constitute
consent, sce Ilannon vy. State, 475 S.W.2d
800 (Tex.Crim.App.1972), under the cir-
cumstances here presented, we do not feel
that the statements constituted voluntary
consent to search. There was no testimony
that the woman was aware of her right to
refuse,* and she was not told that the offi-
cers were planning on conducting a scarch,?
but rather, the implication was that they
were merely looking for appellant. The
lack of clarity by the officers in informing
the woman of their purpose (based upon
the officer’s testimony), coupled with the
fact that they were armed with shotguns,
leads us to believe that voluntary consent
was not given. Cf. Rumper v. North Caro-
lina, 391 U.S. 543, 88 S.Ct. 1788, 20 L.Ed.2d
797 (1968); Paprskar v. State, 484 S.W.2d
731 (Tex.Crim.App., 1972).

Therefore, the admission of the shotgun
and shell was crror. The questies which
then arises, however, is whether the error
was prejudicial, and of such nature as to
compel reversal of this case.

{10,11} The admission of illegally
seized evidence may be harmless error.
Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 90 S.Ct.
1975, 26 L.Ed2d 419 (1970). Before an
error of constitutional dimension can be
held to be harmless error, however, the
reviewing court must be able to declare that
it was harmless beyond a rcasonable doubt.
Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 87
S.Ct. 824, 17 L.Ed.2d 705 (1967).

In the instant case, three witnesses test:-
fied that the robbery was committed by
three Negro males, all of whom wore long
coats. All three witnesses testified that |

-—-?

S.W.2d 77 (Tex.Crim.App.1971). lHow-
ever, such a showing in of evidentiary
value in determining whether valid con-
nent was given.

5S. The woman denied that she consented to
the entry and denied that she was aware
that the men were police officers. lHew-
ever, in reviewing the action of the trial
court, we must conai:ler the evidence ment
favorable to the court's action.

784 = ‘Tex.

appellant wore a pencil-thin moustache
' at the robbery. All three witnesses identi-
fied appellant, without equivocation, as
; being one of the robbers. One of the three
testified that appellant pointed a shotgun
at him during the course of the robbery,
and the witness identified the shotgun
which was seized as being the one which
was used by appellant. There was some
_ deviation hetween the testimony of the wit-
nesses as to the appellant's dress at the
_ time of the robbery but all were positive
\ that he was one of the robbers.

The defense was alibi. Appellant's wife
testified that on the evening immediately
preceding the robbery, she took her daugh-
ter to a hospital for treatment of asthma
and that she returned home on the morning
of the day of the robbery, leaving her hus-
band at home to care for the child. She
testified that she then left home and went
to her place of employment, and from
there, called home at approximately the
time of the robbery and talked with appel-
lant. Appellant's mother-in-law testified
that appellant was at the home at the timc

. the robbery occurred. In rebuttal, the
State offered testimony from a records
=. custodian of the hospital that she had no
_ record of the child receiving treatm nt on

( the date the mother testified she did.

The defense also offered a photograph of
appellant which was taken on the day after
his arrest. In argument, defense counsel
stated that the photograph indicated that
appellant had a larger moustache than the
one described hy the witnesses. However,
nonce of the witnesses were asked to exam-
ine the photograph and to compare the
moustache shown with the one which the
robber wore.

484 SOUTH WESTERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

that the error mw admitting the shotgun was
harmless. IHlarrington v. Califorma, 305
U.S. 250, 89 S.Ct. 1726, 23 L.Fd.2d Qt
(1969); Rodgers v. State, 468 S.W.2d 4%
(Tex.Crim.App.1971). Appellant's — first
ground of error is overruled.

At the punishment stage of the trial, the
State offered a set of fingerprints of the
appellant, taken that day and a “prison
packet” whch contained a set of finger-
prints and records of five prior convictions
of appellant. There was cxpert testimony
that the fingerprints contained m_ the
packet were the same as those taken from
appellant earlier that day.

{12} In his second ground of error, ap-
pellant contends that four of the five con-
victions contained in the packet were nut
admissible because they were accompamed
by only one set of fingerprints. Ile mam-
tains that the one set referred only to one
conviction, and that the remaimmg convic
tions were therefore not properly proved.
This contention is without merit.

An examination of the packet mdicates
that it consists of certified copies of recorls
of the Texas Department of Corrections
pertaining to one Johnny Lerl Cole, m-
cluding the judgment and sentence im five
separate convictions and one set of finger-
prints. An expert witness testified that the
fingerprints contained im the = packet
matched a set which he had taken from
appellant on the same day. The finger.
prints are used as a means of msuring that
the person on trial is the same one to whom
the packet refers. The fingerprints refer
to the packet as a whole. This method of
proof has been consistently upheld by this

‘Court. ¢. g., Emerson v. State, 476 S.W.2d

f Im light of the unequivocal testimony of
| the three witnesses that appcilant was one
; of the robbers, and the rebuttal evidence
| which weakened the alibi defense, we fect

6. The defense did clicit testimony that

of the State's witnesses hed identi-
appellant on March
the photograph in

ii
oa
ul
iH

D-6

686 (Tex.Crim.App.1972) ; Jones v. State,
470 S.W 2d 874 (Tex.Crim.App.1971). Ap-
pellant’s second ground of crror 1s over-
ruled.

DAIRYLAND COUNTY MUT. INS. CO. OF TEX. v. MARTINEZ Tex. JR5
Cite as 48 Wold 7M

[13] Appellant has also filed a pro se
bref im which he raises two additional
grounds of crror. Iles first additional
ground of error is as follows:

“The court committed reversible error
in purposefully suppressing evidence per-
taining to and vital to the defense estab-
lishing the facts of the illegal arrest of
appellant, done m violation of appellant's
rights under the Fourteenth, Fourth and
Ninth Amendments to the U. S. Consti-
tution.”

In the argument supporting this ground of
error, appellant contends that the prosc-
cutors suppressed evidence scized at the
time of his arrest, which was a note used
in the robbery an! which was vital to his
defense. The record is devoid of any evi-
dence im support of this contention. The
ground of crror is overruicd.

[14] In his second additional ground of
error, appellant complains of an argument
by the prosecutor. The record reflects that
no objection was made to the argument.
Therefore, the error, if any, is not pre-
served for review. c¢. g., Verret v. State,
470 S.W.2d 883 (Tex.Crim.App.1971).

There being no reversible error, the
judgment is affirmed.

MORRISON, J., concurs in the result.

ONION, Presiding Judge (dissenting).

| agree that the shotgun and shell, being
the fruit of an illegal search and seizure,
were inadmissible. 1 cannot agree that the
constitutional error was harmless beyond a
reasonable dowht under the test established
by Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 87
S.Ct. 824, 17 L.Ed2d 705 (1967). See, also,
Harrington v. California, 395 U.S. 250, 89
S.Ct. 1726, 23 L.F.d.2d 284 (1969).

Therefore, | respectfully dissent.
004 Sw 2630

DAIRYLAND COUNTY MUTUAL INSUR-
ANCE COMPANY OF TEXAS and
Guadalupe Vargas, Appellants,

v.
Leenere D. MARTINEZ and Husband, Fran-

cisce Martinez, Individually and on Behalf
ef Ricarde Martinez, a miner, Appellees.

Court of Civil Appeals of Texas,
Fl Taso.

Aug. 2, 1972.

Rehearing Denied Sept. 20, 1972.

Suit by mother and father meividually
and on behalf of their son against parents’
msurer and uninsured motorist secking to
recover for mjuries sustained im motor
vehicle collision involving the mother and
son. The District Court, Fl Paso County,
Charles R. Schulte, J.. entered judgment
for plaintiffs against both defendants
jointly, and defendant insurer appealed.
The Court of Civil Appeals, Presiar, J.,
held that evidence was not sufficient in
absence of policy sued on, to establish
that a policy was im force providing unin-
sured motorist coverage on date of the
collision, but that it was not necessary to
reverse judgment as to defendant unin-
sured motorist in order to give full and
effective relief to defendant insurer.

Judgment affirmed as to one defend-
ant and reversed and remanded as to other
defendant.

1. Insurance €—665.3(!)

Evidence, in suit by mother and father
individually and on hbchalf of their son
against parents’ insurer and uninsured mo-
torist seeking to recover for injuries sus-
tained in motor vehicle collision imvolving
the mother and son, was not sufficient, in
absence of policy sued on, to establish that

APPENDIX E

_ a

Ps Aluited States Gourt of Appeals

FICE THE ct i 4 600 CamMr erecer
c.6ea or or RK NEW OFPLTANS LA FOTSO
TELEPHONE 604.5089 6514
May 26, 1976

Messrs. Johan L. Hill
Attorney General

Patrick P. Rogers
Assistant Attorney General
P. O. Box 12548
Capitol Statioca
Austin, TX 78711

NO. 75-3263 - John Lerl Cole v. ¥. J. Estelle, Jr.,
Director, Texas Dept. of Corrections

MANDATE STAYED TO AND INCLUDING June 24, 1976

Dear Counsel:

The court has this day granted a stay of the issuance of the
mandate to the date as shown above. If during the period of the
stay there is filed with the clerk of this court a notice from APPENDIX F
the clerk of the Supreme Court that the party who has obtained
the stay has filed a petition for the writ in that court, the
stay shall continue until final disposition hy the Supreme Court.
Upon the filing of a copy of an order of the Supreme Court deny-
ing the petition for writ of certiorari, the mandate shall issue
immediately under Rule 41, FRAP.

Under revised Rule 21(1) of the Supreme Court effective July 1,
1970, a record is no longer required in connection with an
application for writ of certiorari, and therefore will not be
routinely prepared by this office (38LW 3602).

A copy of the opinion, if any, judgment, or Rule 21 decision,

and the denial of rehearing are still required by the Supreme
Court to be incorporated as an appendix to your petition.
Enclosed are copies of the said documents which have been entered
in this cause.

Very truly yours,

EDWARD W. WADSWORTH, Clerk

Eaclosures

cc: Mr. Johnny L. Cole
Mr. Donald A. Smyth
Mr. Robert T. Baskett
Mr. Phil Burlesosa

E-1l

=,

2 eWE

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS “> he >
) REC oii &
Ps FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT \ besides 1
2. © epee nis Wr.
S
i‘V
No. 75-3283 c.
oS “ss,
om ot ‘as
Ss S, «a
o* Sf ++"
JONUN LERL COLE, .’° « a
7,07 ¢€
4% e
ec"
Petitioner-Appellee, By
-“
versus
W. J, ESTELLE, JR., Director,
Texas Department of Corrections,
Respondent-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Texas

ORODE R:

( ) The motion of

for stay of the issuance of the mandate pending petition for writ
of certiorari is DENIED. See Fifth Circuit Local Rule 15, as
amended January 11, 1972.

( ) The motion of
for stay of the issuance of the mandate pending petition for writ
of certiorari is GRANTED to and including
the stay to continue in force until the final disposition of the
case by the Supreme Court, provided that within the period above
mentioned there shall be filed with the Clerk of this Court the
certificate of the Clerk of the Supreme Court that the certiorari
petition has been filed. The Clerk shall issue the mandate upon
the filing of a copy of an order of the Supreme Court denying the
writ, or upon the expiration of the stay granted herein, unless
the above mentioned certificate shall be filed with the Clerk of
this Court within that time.

’

( ) The motion for a further stay of the issuance of the mandate is
‘ GRANTED to and including , under the same

conditions as set forth in the preceding paragraph.

P<] IT IS ORDERED that the motion for « further stay of the issuance
of the mandate is DENIED.

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0419%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
