# Opposition — United States v. Ramsey

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0396%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 431 U.S. 606

## Text

T seprome Coun, 3

U.
FILED
SEP 3 1976

eS aE

ht JR,CLERS

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 76-167

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Petitioner,

CHARLES W. RAMSEY and
JAMES W. Kelly,

Respondents.

OPPOSITION TO A PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF
COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

ALLAN M. PALMER
1707 N Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
785-3900

Counsel for Respondent
Charles W. Ramsey

Heer rereee eee ee ease eee ee rere ee a a OE TEED
Washington, 0.C. « CLB PUBLISHERS e LAW PRINTING CO. e (202) 393-0625

(i)
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
- ck ct atk ban eehe see eh ee eeeee l
PE Piece wkeek 6eeeeb eee dnseenece eines l
I onc ccc awe tes eeneuesceecs 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION, STATUTES AND
REGULATIONS INVOLVED ......ccccccccccecs 2
EE Sead oak bbe e esse ed hes beee s én 2-7
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ......... 8-19
Pn “aaa 6h a kok od ow ee 6 we oe ha rece os 19
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925) ......... 10,12
Corngold v. United States, 367 F.2d 1 (9th Cir.
DN ba shh ee abe eke eee sees CaS DEEE EKER OOD 15
Ex Paste Jackson, 96 US. T27 CIGTT) 2. cc ccc cc ccc cece 16
Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) .......... 16,17
Stroud v. United States, 25, U.S. 1 (1919) ............. 17
United States v. Barclift, 514 F.2d 1073 (9th Cir.
ee: wecdeeveeneoe PP Pee EVE Se ee Tere 14
United States v. Beckly, 335 F.2d 86 (6th Cir.
ey ey ee ee oe re ee 13
United States v. Di Re, 332 U.S. 581 (1948) ........... 15
United States v. Doe, 472 F.2d 982 (2d Cir. 1973) ....... 15
United States v. Odland, 502 F.2d 148 (7th Cir.
SE SKS Nee CRRNEN SE CER OEE OL URES NES HERR 14
United States v. Sohnen, 298 F. Supp. 51 (E.D.N.Y.
RRR ra era av an per Ee any sn eens Een 14
United States v. Swede, 326 F. Supp. 533 (S.D.N.Y.
EE os sab ees aed eure ee bee he's Wwe 686 eRe 15

(ii)

United States v. Various Articles of Obscene Mer.,
363 F. Supp. 165 (S.D.N.Y. 1973) ................ 16

Constitution and statutes:

United States Constitution:

I ee ee eee ee nae 9-11,16
Fe ee a wa ae ee 11,13,15,17
I os ec re re kd 18
7 ae, en a Dg gs vs oon eb eeance 12
13 Stat. 441, 442, February 28,1865 ............ 12
ok my I RAE aie ee an 13

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 76-167

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,

CHARLES W. RAMSEY and
JAMES W. Kelly,

Respondents.

OPPOSITION TO A PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF
COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals is not yet
reported and appears at App. A. pp. la-20a of the
Petition.

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction of this Court is properly invoked under
28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

2
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether customs officials in exclusive custody and
control of the international equivalent of domestic first
class letter mail matter, may invade the privacy thereof,
upon suspicion that drugs were “possibly” contained
therein, without first obtaining a search warrant.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION STATUTES
AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The Fourth Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides:

The right of the people to be secured in their
persons, houses, papers, and effects, against
unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be
violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon
probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation,
and particularly describing the place to be
searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

19 U.S.C. 482, 19 U.S.C. 1582, and the pertinent
portions of 19 C.F.R. Part 145 and 39 C.F.R. Part 61
are set out in App. C. pp. 22a-27a of the Petition.

STATEMENT

Charles W. Ramsey and James W. Kelly were
long-time friends who, the record reflects, pooled their
resources to commence a heroin-by-mail enterprise in
the Washington, D.C. area. Essentially, letters containing
nearly pure heroin were mailed from Bangkok, Thailand
to various locations for distribution.

On January 29, 1974, Bailey and Ward, their
suppliers, registered at a hotel in Bangkok and the Thai

3

authorities were alerted to their arrival by German
agents. Twenty-four hour surveillance was then placed
on them. During that surveillance, Ward was observed
to place letter-size envelopes in six different mail boxes.
Five of these envelopes were seized from the mailboxes
and among the various addresses thereon was one
destined for a Ramsey-Kelly local mail drop. On
February 2, 1974, police officers entered Bailey and
Ward’s hotel room, arrested them, and seized all of the
ingredients of their heroin-by-mail operation. Eleven of
the sealed heroin filled envelopes seized at that time
had Washington, D.C. area addresses which were later
tied in to Ramsey and Kelly. On February 4, 1974, the
Drug Enforcement Administration in Washington
received a cable concerning the recent Thai develop-
ments including the arrests of Bailey and Ward.

On that same date and, independent of the
knowledge of what had previously transpired, New
York based Customs Officer George Kallnischkies
routinely seized and opened eight heroin laden
envelopes addressed to four D.C. area locations. These
envelopes had been mailed by Bailey and Ward in
Thailand for eventual delivery to Ramsey and Kelly.
The eight envelopes were then placed in a _ locked
container and sent from New York City to Washington,
D.C,

As a result of this seizure in New York, Drug Agents
here alerted a Postal Inspector on February 5, 1974, of
the complete description of the eight envelopes seized
and those seized in Bangkok, Thailand. On February 7,
1974, the Postal Inspector notified one of the Drug
Agents that three similar envelopes had been inter-
cepted and detained at the Main United States Post
Office in Washington, D.C. That same day Agents

4

Landrum and Atlee obtained a United States
Magistrate’s Search Warrant for these three envelopes.
The envelopes were seized and subsequently determined
to contain nearly pure heroin.

On February 12, 1974, the eight letters seized and
searched in New York arrived in their locked container
and were recovered by Postal Inspector Hall. Then, for
the first time, Agents Landrum and Atlee obtained a
search warrant for these eight envelopes. On February
14, 1974, six of the eight envelopes were delivered to
three addresses contained thereon -— two to each
location. The two remaining ones were not delivered
because of an error in addressing them by Sylvia Bailey
to a non-existent address in Washington. James Kelly
was then observed on February 14, 1974, in the
company of two women, making his rounds to the three
surveilled locations and to recover six envelopes which
he placed in a brown paper bag. At approximately 1:15
p.m. Kelly drove to the unit block of S Street, N.E.
between North Capitol Street and Lincoln Road, parked
his car, and walked to 13 S Street, N.E., where Charles
W. Ramsey resided. At about the same time, Ramsey
was Observed to drive slowly past Kelly’s car, circle the
block and park about a car length in front of Kelly’s
car. Kelly walked to the driver’s side of Ramsey’s car
and gave the latter the brown paper bag containing the
six letters. Agents moved in quickly and made their
arrests.

George Kallnischkies (hereafter referred to as Mr. K),
testified that he was employed by the United States
Custom Service and worked Region 2, New York City.
His main responsibility was to examine incoming
foreign mail, letter class mail, to see if it contained any
dutiable merchandise or contraband. The usual pro-
cedure was for the mail in question to come into

5

Kennedy airport and from there be routed to the
various post offices; in the instant case the mail was
delivered to the General Post Office.

On Monday, February 4, 1974, Mr. K was working
and had occasion to “inspect” letter class mail that had
entered this country from other countries. Prior to
February 4, 1974, the witness remembered that heroin
had been seized from mail coming in from Thailand.
Mr. K observed the eight letters which raised his
suspicions, He weighed one of the envelopes and found
it to weigh 42 grams which he considered rather heavy
for an airmail envelope. It also felt as if something was
inside of the envelope, not merely plain paper.
Accordingly. he opened the envelope via his normal
procedure:

“T usually have a very primitive tool, an ice pick

and I just peal (sic) the flap open very carefully

and remove the contents and examine them... .”

Upon opening one of the envelopes herein, he found
two pieces of cardboard, and between them, a plastic
bag containing heroin. The seven other envelopes
appeared similar to him and Mr. K proceeded to open
those also and discover heroin in each of them.

The witness stated that no search warrant had been
obtained to open the mail in question which he
described as airmail letter type envelopes. At the time
Mr. K opened the envelopes, he had no _ prior
information about this case nor had he _ previously
noticed the addresses typed on the envelopes for
delivery in this country. These particular articles of
airmail, had they been mailed within this country
would have been considered the equivalent of first class
mail.

6

“Q Now, on the face of each one of these
envelopes, did they appear to be so-called letter
mail, as you looked at the envelope?

”

A Yes, sir, these are letters... .
It is clear that the first intrusion into this mail

occurred at 1:30 p.m. on Monday, February 4, 1974,
and that the items searched could not have arrived at
the post office that same day. These eight letter type
envelopes arrived at the post office from the airport at
the latest on Sunday and at the earliest on Saturday.
They were kept there for inspection over the weekend
because the customs people did not work on weekends
although the post office personnel did. Because of
several prior heroin mailings from Thailand, Mr. K was
generally suspicious of all mail coming in from that
country which probably ranged between ‘200 or 500
envelopes from” there. On occasions mail would be
opened which turned out to contain innocuous
material. The particular envelope in question raised a
suspicion in his mind:

“Q In other words is it fair to categorize this as

intuition or intuitive?

A Yes, sir.”

“You know, if you wanted me to be specific,

based on my experience, | would say this is

Thailand and possibly heroin.”
In the course of his daily activities the witness indicated
that he probably opened several hundred pieces of mail
per day coming in from Thailand and South American
countries. The witness could not state with any degree
of exactitude what percentage of the mail opened did
not contain contraband other than to say, “it does
happen, yes.”

7

The cases proceeded to non-jury trial upon the basis
of a stipulated record below after various motions
raised by the defense were denied by the district court.
Upon prior agreement of counsel and the court, twelve
of the seventeen drug related counts against Mr.
Ramsey in Crim. No. 74-623 were severed and he was
adjudged guilty on counts one, two, fourteen, fifteen
and seventeen. On February 14, 1975, he was

sentenced to concurrent terms of imprisonment for ~

these offenses, the longest of which was 10 to 30 years.

In Crim. No. 74-624 he was adjudged guilty of two
firearm’s offenses and received lesser terms.'

A divided panel of the court of appeals reversed.
Judges McGowan and Tamm held that before inter-
national letter mail may be opened, a showing of
probable cause be made to and a warrant secured from
a neutral magistrate. The majority, while recognizing
that Postal Regulations include within the term
international letter class mail items that would clearly
be packages, was careful to delimit its definition of the
term, for warrant purposes, to that mail matter which
common sense tells us are letters. (Petition App. A
9a-10a, n.6) The majority opinion gives full recognition

< 7

to the border search exception to the warrant
procedure when dealing with packages moving through
international mail. (Petition App. A. Sa-6a) Judge Robb
dissenting, thought that the border search exception
extended to sealed envelopes moving in such mail, as had
two other Circuit Courts of Appeal that had considered
the question.

'These weapons offenses were, concededly, the fruit of the
narcotic arrest and these convictions stand or fall with the heroin
offenses. Cf. Petition p. 5 n. 6.

8
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

In the opening round of its reasons advanced to grant
the instant petition, the government raises the spectre
that the ruling below may apply to mail entering this
country in containers weighing as much as 60 pounds
and accordingly, surmises that smuggling will soon run
rampant. Petition p. 7 and n. 5. It becomes more
certain as the Petition progresses. Petition pp. 11-12.
Perhaps this expansive reading of the opinion below is
itself cogent reason to deny the relief sought, and await
the manner in which that opinion is treated by other
courts considering the issue. As we see it, the majority
took great pains to indicate that its ruling solely
applied to /Jetters or letter-sized envelopes and
not to what one would call a package — viewing the
distinction between the two from a common sense
angle of vision. In so limiting its rationale, the majority
specifically sought to minimize the impact on border
searches by confining the search warrant requirement to
letters that look like letters and nothing more. Thus, in
considering the instant Petition, the Court should view
the ruling below as only applying to and seeking to
limit unwarranted intrusions into international letter
class mail which objectively appears to seek the aegis of
the right to privacy.

If that is not readily apparent, then the Court should
await future rulings to see whether or not the instant
case is — aS we contend — to be narrowly construed. In
addition to the opinion below being self-limiting, we are
not unmindful of the fact that the court had particular
envelopes in mind, which were photographed in color
and which formed part of the record on appeal. The
court alluded to this at n.6 of its slip opinion wherein

9

~

it described those envelopes and concluded, that
“Government Exhs. 35-40 were in size and appearance
closer to the letter end of the spectrum and fell outside
of the border search exception.” Petition App. A 9a.
To our knowledge, the government has not provided
this Court with those exhibits in order that it may be
fully informed as to the precise factual matrix
presented to the court of appeals. Being fully apprised of
these specifics, we cannot take seriously the suggestion
in the Petition that the judgment below mandates
search warrants based upon probable cause before
customs officials may inspect “‘[b]ulky envelopes and
packages arriving from abroad.” Petition at 11. From
this we are presented with the further bootstrap
argument that smuggling will now be both profitable
and protected. We submit that, upon careful analysis,
the opinion will spawn no such enclave for smugglers.
If Petitioner is in error, and the issue is more
narrowly drawn, then we are left with a case that seeks
an answer to the question whether this Court, at this
point in history, is willing to permit petty government
officials armed with ice picks, as was Mr. Kallnischkies,
to open the international equivalent of domestic first
class letter mail entering this country — without a
warrant and upon their suspicions alone. If not, the
judgment below should stand and the Petition denied.
Let us make no mistake about the fact that the
government is contending for nothing less than the
absolute constitutional right to open private letters
arriving in this country without a warrant, at random,
and without suspicion to believe that they contain
contraband or dutiable materials. Petition at pp. 11-12.
For that reason, the instant case is unique in that it

10

does not concern the Fourth Amendment in but its
theoretical application to ordinary citizens, but indeed,
conjures up that point in history when the populace at
large had legitimate fears concerning intrusions into
their privacy at the discretion of the crown’s
messengers.’

The government herein contends that at its whim and
caprice it can inspect, inter alia, the following incoming
international mail:

Private correspondence from every American citizen
traveling outside of the country who may be writing
home, to their jobs, to their doctors, to their lawyers
or, to judges — to whom they may be related. Further
oppressive examples are legion. Notwithstanding this,
the government seeks to console us with the thought
that once this correspondence is opened, the customs
official is not supposed to read what he finds without
first obtaining a warrant. Petition at p. 14. The court of
appeals was also aware of this regulation which, it
noted, had “no sanction” accompanying it. Slip. op. 12
n. 9. Petition App. A 14a.

In any event, as we see it, the border search
exception to the warrant requirement is historically
inapposite to the situation at hand.

This Court, over six years ago, allowed a 29 hour
detention of first class mail during which time a search
warrant could be procured for a seizure. United States
v. Van Leeuwen, 397 U.S. 249 (1970) The definition of
border search sought by the government is not as broad
as it may appear at first blush as we read Carroll vy.
United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925), and other recent
cases. Carroll sustained the probable cause search of a
car without a warrant under the National Prohibition

* Recognizing these realities, the government petitioned this
Court straightaway without first seeking rehearing en banc below.

Act, because of reasonableness. In reflecting upon such
searches the Court alluded, inter alia, to the progenitor
of 19 U.S.C. §482 which:

‘“‘{M]ade lawful for customs officers not only to
board and search vessels within their own and
adjoining districts, but also to stop, search and
examine any vehicle, beast or person on which or
whom they should suspect there was merchandize
which was subject to duty or had been introduced
into the United States in any manner contrary to
law....”. Carroll, supra at 151. The Court alluded
to this statute and similar ones --

“To show that the guaranty of freedom from
unreasonable searches and seizures by the Fourth
Amendment has been construed, practically since
the beginning of the Government, as recognizing a
necessary difference between a search of a store,
dwelling house or other structure in respect of
which a proper official warrant readily may be
obtained, and a search of a ship, motor boat,
wagon or automobile, for contraband goods, where
it is not practicable to secure a warrant because
the vehicle can be quickly moved out of the
locality or jurisdiction in which the warrant must
be sought.” at 153.

The Court also noted that all travellers may be stopped
while crossing international boundaries because of
national self-protection, “[b]ut those lawfully within
the country, entitled to use the public highways, have a
right of free passage without interruption of search
unless” there is probable cause to believe they are in
violation of the law.

The present Border Search authorizing statute is 19
U.S.C., §482. It provides for searches of any “‘vehicle,
beast, or person, on which or whom he or they shall
suspect there is merchandise which is subject to duty,
or shall have been introduced into the United States in

12

any manner contrary to law.” It also provides for
customs agents “to search any trunk or envelope,
wherever found, in which he may have a reasonable
cause to suspect there is merchandise which was
imported contrary to law.” The term “wherever found”
however, is as we shall see, quite limited in scope.

It is critical to note that the foundation Border
Search statute considered in Carroll v. United States,
supra., ie, 3 Stat. 231, 232, March 3, 1815,
distinguished between an ambulatory and permanent
situation.

“And if any of the said officers of the customs
shall suspect that any goods, wares, or merchan-
dise, which are subject to duty, or shall have been
introduced contrary to law, are concealed in any
particular dwelling, store or other building, he
shall, upon proper application, on oath, to any
judge or justice of the peace, be entitled to a
warrant ... Provided always, that the necessity of
a search warrant, arising under this act, shall in no
case be considered as applicable to any Carriage,
wagon, sleigh, vessel, boat, or other vehicle, of
whatever form or construction, employed as a
medium of transportation, or to packages on any
animal or animals or carried by man on foot.”

It was this original statute the Court alluded to in
Carroll, supra., when it observed that neither this
section “‘nor any of its earlier counterparts has ever
been attacked as unconstitutional.” 267 U.S. at 152. 13
Stat. 441, 442, February 28, 1865, which again allowed
for the so-called Border Search, provided for the
stopping and searching of persons or vehicles in (ransit.
For non-moving situations the statute provided:

“That in case any store, warehouse, or other
building shall be upon or near the boundary line

13

between the United States and any foreign
country, and there is reason to believe that [items
are placed there in violation of law], and the
collector...or surveyor of customs, shall make
oath before any magistrate ..., that he has reason
to believe, and does believe, that such offence has
been therein committed, such officer shall have the
right to search such building...”

14 Stat. 178 July 18, 1866, for the first time
specifically allowed customs officers to search any
“trunk or envelope”. But it is clear from a reading
thereof, that such searches without warrant only
applied to trunks or envelopes “on board” vessels or
upon vehicles, beasts or persons. The present statute 19
U.S.C., §482 is but an abbreviated form of its
predecessors, and from an historical perspective, does
not permit for the opening of international mail when
there is no danger of that mail moving before a warrant
can be obtained. Cf., United States v. Van Leeuwen,
supra.

Time and time again the key to the validity vel non
of a particular search is ‘‘reasonableness’’, vis-a-vis the
fact that the warrant procedure is the judicially
preferred route.

In United States v. Beckly, 335 F.2d 86 (6th Circuit
1964) marihuana arrived into this country in a package
weighing between 9 and 10 pounds. It was stated to
contain wall matts, pillow cases and robes of a total
value of $23.00. A customs agent opened the package
without warrant and the Court sustained introduction
of the evidence at trial. As its first ground the Court
relied on the fact that only first class mail is subject to
the warrant procedure and here ‘“‘first class postage was
not paid on the package.” 335 F.2d at 88. The Court
also fashioned a policy that:

14

‘Fourth Amendment standards applicable to mail
matter moving entirely within the country are not
applicable to mail matter coming in from outside
the country at least where a customs deter-
mination must be made. There seem to be no
adjudicated cases dealing with the necessity of
probable cause and search warrants for inspection
of imports by mail, but there are many cases
holding or indicating that such is not required
generally for searches by custom agents at the
borders of the country.”’ Accord, United States v.
Odland, 502 F.2d 148 (7th Cir. 1974). United States
v. Barclift, 514 F.2d !073 (9th Cir. 1975).

These decisions used a shotgun border search approach
and extrapolated it to non-moving situations, without
analyzing the difference between a true border search
and mail matter already within the control of the postal
authorities and for which time to obtain a warrant is
present. United States v. Sohnen, 298 F. Supp. 51
(E.D. N.Y. 1969) sustained a search of an international
package without a warrant relying on the Beckly,
rationale. However, the Court in Sohnen added a
caveat:
“The Constitution at least prevents harsh and
demeaning searches on mere suspicion and it may
well prevent the opening of letters, as opposed to
packages containing merchandise, without a search
warrant.”

Sohnen, concerned a_ sealed package containing
twelve gold coins which

“did not bear a required label stating that it could
be opened for customs inspection.

* * * *

The situation here is analogous to the inspection
of inbound commercial shipments.”

15

United States v. Swede, 326 F. Supp. 533 (S.D.N.Y.
1971), also upheld the opening of first class type mail
from Switzerland without a search warrant. In ruling,
however, the Court determined that the envelope was a
“package” and thus, “we do not determine whether the
Constitution prevents the opening of letters, as opposed
to packages containing merchandise without a search
warrant.” However, if a letter is initially involved, a
search cannot retroactively transform it into a package
because “‘a search is not to be made legal by what it
turns up.”’ United States v. DiRe, 332 U.S. 581, 595
(1948).

Recently, lower federal courts have obviously been
aware of the havoc that a blanket border search
approach to first class international mail would entail,
and have accordingly, been narrowing their decisions to
exclude letters, as the Court did in United States y.
Swede, supra. In United States v. Doe, 472 F.2d 982
(2d Cir. 1973), for example, the Court upheld the
search of a large package from Colombia, South America
labelled “‘old clothing.”

“While this court has never expressly so held,
there is a substantial body of precedent that would
apply the same border search standards to mail
coming into the country, especially where, as here,
there is a representation on the package that it
contains merchandise,”’ 472 F.2d at 984.

In Corngold v, United States, 367 F.2d 1 (9th Cir.
1966) the Court invalidated the search of a domestic
first class parcel containing smuggled watches without a
warrant. The government, in part, relied on 19 U.S.C.
§482. The Court noted that this was not a broder
search and, in any event, concluded that:

16

“We need not examine the statute’s precise
meaning, for appellant’s attack upon the search of
his package is based solely on constitutional
grounds and, however it is to be read, the statute
could not effectively authorize a search which the
constitution prohibited.” 367 F.2d at 3.

Cf. Ex Parte Jackson, 96 U.S. 727, 733 (1877).

“No law of Congress can place in the hands of
officials connected with the postal service any
authority to invade the secrecy of letters and such
sealed packages in the mail; and all regulations
adopted as to mail matter of this kind must be in
subordination to the great principle embodied in
the fourth amendment of the Constitution.”

“It can hardly be contended that the sender or the
addressee had a reasonable expectation of privacy
with regard to a large package mailed from a
foreign country, which is represented to contain
non-dutiable merchandise. Cf. Katz v. United
States, 389 U.S. 357... ”. 472 F.2d 985.

Conversely, as to letter type envelopes, such
expectation of privacy would be reasonable and
accordingly, subject to the Fourth Amendment on the
rationale of Karz.

In United States v. Various Articles of Obscene Mer.,
363 F. Supp. 165 (S.D.N.Y. 1973), the Court noted
that “the constraints placed on government intrusion
into persons and their papers by the Fourth Amend-
ment do apply to Customs searches.” at 167. Judge
Duffy also observed that: “Some courts have hinted
that the standards may be different when dealing with a
letter-sized envelope than when it is a package with
merchandise which is at issue.”

This distinction between letters and packages is, no

doubt, due in large part to subjective appraisals of

17

privacy. While all of us have a general notion that large
packages can be inspected by postal employees, we
strongly believe that our letters and small sealed
envelope type of correspondence is beyond postal
scrutiny. We abhor notions of censorship such as that
practiced in totalitarian countries or prisons. Cf. Stroud
v. United States, 251 U.S. 15, 21 (1919). (No
expectation of privacy for letters mailed by inmate at
Leavenworth penitentiary.) Accordingly, there is a
firmly grounded reasonable expectation that this
envelope type of mail is secure from intrusion. As a
result thereof, only the warrant procedure of the
Fourth Amendment could effect a lawful seizure. Katz
v. United States 389 U.S. 347 (1967).

We thus conclude — for the purposes of this case —
that international letter type mail coming into this
country which is functionally equivalent to domestic
first class mail is not subject to governmental intrusion
without a search warrant, unless that mail is upon a
person or his luggage entering the country. We believe
this to be the proper historical angle of vision from
which to read 19 U.S.C. §482. The so-called border
search concept is an offshoot of the necessity to act
quickly to preserve our territory and customs duties at
a time when an individual and/or his belongings
entering the country could rapidly disappear. No such
justification exists herein, when the mail was in the
custody and control of the postal authorities and the
agents had ample time to apply for a search warrant.

To reiterate, this view is strongly supported by Katz
v. United States, supra, which greatly changed notions
of privacy under the Fourth Amendment. When any of
us cross international boundaries we expect and readily
submit to customs inspections of our persons and

18

belongings — a cognizable consequence of such travel.
When we write to people in foreign lands we expect an
answer and, vice versa, because letters are, of necessity,
unilateral documents requiring further correspondence
as a rule. It is unreasonable to assume in this shrinking
world that the law only protects one side of this flow
of communication from unreasonable searches and
seizures. It is untenable to think otherwise than that all
parties to the communication process, especially those
receiving letters in America, have a reasonable expecta-
tion of privacy as to their mail. Cf 1&8 U.S.C. §1702.

Finally, as a reason for the granting of its petition,
the government points to an undesirable “conflict
among the circuits” which was engendered by the
opinion below. Petition p. 9. While such a conflict
appears to exist, it may well be that re-examination of
the issue by the various Courts of Appeal will bring us
the harmony sought by the government. If, as we
contend, the opinion below was correct, other courts
could realign their thinking in the matter upon
consideration of that opinion. Furthermore, at page 9,
n. 9 of its Petition, the government has given us some
extra-record insight into an ongoing administrative
procedure which might obviate the problem it sees. We
are advised that the Postal Service has notified the
Customs Service that it will not turn over for customs
inspection mail bound for the District of Columbia
unless the Bureau complies with the procedures
required by the court below.

We are further informed that the government has
been informed by the Customs Service that it cannot
meet these procedures with the current level of
personnel. However, hope for the future is not ruled
out, because we are also told that compliance would be

19

impractical even with an expanded staff. While, in our
experience, nothing takes the place of live testimony
subject to rigorous examination to develop a precise
factual record, taken at its obscure best, we can infer
from this extra-record material, that compliance will be
achieved in the future — albeit with some difficulty. We
have great confidence that the government will not let
this mail matter slip through its hands for long without
some sort of monitoring system which will comply with
the ruling below.’ Therefore, compliance at the
administrative level may soon forestall the need for
further review by this Court. At the very least, we
suggest that the Court await the outcome of further
administrative proceedings to be more fully explored in
future cases upon an adequate record.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,

ALLAN M. PALMER
1707 N. St., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

September 1976,

> Judges McGowan and Tamm — quite concerned with the
problem of smuggling — were particularly careful to articulate
how the Customs Service could readily comply with the search
warrant requirement as applied to that limited class of mail
matter with which the opinion dealt. Cf. Petition App. A,
8a- 10a.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0396%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
