# Motion to Dismiss — Acs v. Brady

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0355%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion to Dismiss
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 803

## Text

rc Supreme Court, U. $.
FILED

AUG 26 1976

[wont RODAK, JR.,CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT of the UNITED STATES
October Term, 1976

No. 76-127

CARMEN ACS, Administratrix of the Estate

of Santiago Lazaro, Decceased,

Appellant,
vs.

RICHARD BRADY,
Appellee.

On Appeal From The Indiana

State Supreme Court

MOTION TO DISMISS

Heeter, Johnson, Salb & Williams
John M. Heeter
Charles E. Johnson
Marshall E. Williams
1060 Consolidated Building
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
(317) 636-5561

Counsel for Appellee

STIS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

| A I aD 1
1. HISTORY OF THE CASE ........................ 2

Il. THIS APPEAL DOES NOT PRESENT
A SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL QUESTION 3

Ill. THERE IS NO SUBSTANTIAL QUESTION

Pm Bt) | + re 4
IV. THERE IS NOSUBSTANTIAL QUESTION
AS TO EQUAL PROTECTION QW... 6
a TUN ea ica at ascelisdsntasiinchioasiniecniceniciie 6

B. THE CLASIFICATION IS
ER ICS EE 7

C. THE GUEST STATUTE HAS A
RATIONAL RELATIONSHIP TO A
LEGITIMATE GOV’T. PURPOSE ... 8

V. CONCLUSION AND PRAYER
NE Wisi ceeneciseeheaceciiiaiicalecinnsen 13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Brady v. Acs, ...... Ind. ....... 342 N.E. 2d 837
GAS SOE ae aeRO dae TIER 3
Cannon v. Oviatt, ...... Utah ....... 520 P. 2d 883

(1974), App. Dism’d 419 U.S. 810, 42
L. Ed. 2d 37, 95 S. Ct. 24, reh. den.
419 U.S. 1060, 42 L. Ed. 2d 658, 95

I cae 4
Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471, 25

L. Ed. 2d 491, 90S. Ct. 1153 (1970) _... fasten 6,8

-j-

e
ee ss
Dempsey v. Leonherdt, .. ... Ind. ....... 341 N.E. IN THE |
pe EE Ne ee eae 2,3, 8 |
; ' ™ SUPREME COURT of the UNITED STATES
Johnson v. Robison, 415 U.S. 361, 39 L. Ed. October Term, 1976
2d 389, 94 S. Ct. 1160 (1974) 00. eee, 6 ,
Massaletti v. Fitzroy, 228 Mass. 487, 118 | _
N.E. 168 (1917) 3st g ! No. 76-127
McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420, 6 L. Ed.
4 Onno 8
New York Central R. Co. v. White, 243 U.S. CARMEN ACS, Administratrix of the Estate
188, 61 L. Ed. 667, 37 S. Ct. 247 (1917) .......... a of Santiago Lazaro, Decceased,
Railway Express Agency, Inc. v. People of
the State of New York, 366 U.S. 106, Aopemm.
93 L. Ed. 533, 69 S. Ct. 463 (1949) Ss ail 7 sae
Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71, 30 L. Ed. 2d RICHARD BRADY,
225, 92S. Ct. 251 (19M) on. Sines 6 abhapcorctas Appellee.
Sidle v. Majors, ...... Ind. ....... 341 N.E. 2d | On Appee! From The Indiana
RRS Se tO a EI RE SS eT sladiatindeahl , ¥
State Supreme Court
Silver v. Silver, 280 U.S. 117, 50S. Ct. 57, 2 = ata
74 L. Ed. 221 (1929) ......... naihielout aii 3, 5, 9 MOTION TO DISMISS
White v. Hughes, 257 Ark. 627, 519 S.W. 2d | |
70 (1975), App. Dism’d. ..... U.S. ......, 46 | The Appellee moves the Court to dismiss the appea
L. Ed. 2d 26, RENCE tases: “Sesdnonnecppecbiana ieee + herein - the following erounds:

1. This appeal does not present a substantial
Federal question ;

29. The Federal question sought to be reviewed was
not expressly passed on in this ease.

ii

2
I. HISTORY OF THE CASE

-The Appellant herein sued to recover damages for
the death of her decedent who was killed while m, : at
passenger’ in the Appellee’s-automobile. The Indiana
Guest Statute (set forth in the Appellant’s Jurisdic-
tional Statement, p. 3) denies guest passengers (non-
paying passengers) recovery, for personal injury or
death, against the host unless the host was guilty of
wanton or wilfull misconduct.

_ The Trial Court held the Guest Statute unconstitu-
tional and directed a verdict for the Plaintiff (Appell-
ant herein) on the issue of liability on the basis of
simple negligence.

The Defendant (Appellee herein) appealed to the
Indiana Supreme Court. In such appeal, Appellee
moved for consolidation with the pending appeals of
Dempsey v. Leonherdt, ...... Ind ._., 341 NE 2d 763
(1976) and Sidle v. Majors, ...... I , 341 NE 2d
763 (1976). The Motion to Consolidate was denied.

In those cases, (set forth in the Jurisdictional State-
ment, Exhibit A), decided February 16, 1976, the
Indiana Supreme Court held the Guest Statute to be
constitutional. On March 4, 1976, the Indiana Supreme
— I pg My a —— in this case. It’s decision

Ss based on its earlier holding in D , -
herdt, supra. It stated: , ett Sate

BEST COPY AVAILABLE

3
“(1) The issue raised by this appeal has been resolv-

ed by our disposition of the identical issue in Dempsey

vy. Leonherdt (Green), Ind., 341 N.E. 2d 763 handed
down February 16, 1976. In that case, we upheld the
guest statute against federal and staté constitutional
challenges of denial of due process and equal protec-
tion of the law.”

Brady v. Acs, ...... Ind. ....... 342 N. E. 2d 887, (1976)

Thus, the constitutional issues were not decided in
our case. What the Appellant herein is attempting to
do, in fact, is to appeal the decision in Demsey v.
Leonherdt, supra., wherein this Appellee was not a
party, and which has not been appealed
to this Court. *1

Il. THIS APPEAL DOES NOT PRESENT A
SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL QUESTION.

In Silver v. Silver, 280 US 117, 508. Ct. 57, 74 L. Ed.
221 (1929), this Court held that a Guest Statute,
virtually indentical to the Indiana Statute concerned
herein. did not violate the United States Constitution.

It stated:

“The use of the automobile as an instrument
of transportation is peculialy the subject of
regulation.... Weare not unaware of the
increasing frequency of litigation in which
passengers carried gratuitausly in automobiles,
often casual guests or licensees, have —
the recovery of large sums for injuries alleged
to have been due to negligent operation. . .
Whether there has been a serious increase in the
evils of vexatious litigation in this class of
cases, where the carriage is by automobile

*1 Counsel for the Appelant (plaintiff below) herein was also
Counsel for the Plaintiff in Dempsey v. Leonherdt.

4

is for legislative determination and, if found,
may well be the basis of legislation further
restricting the liability. Its wisdom is not

the concern of Courts.”

Silver v. Silver, 280 US, at 122-128
741 Ed at 229

This Court has recently dismissed two appeals which
attempted to raise the same issues as Appellant does
herein, i.e. the constitutionality of state automobile

Guest Statutes, on the grounds that there was no sub-
stantial Federal question.

Cannon v. Ovialt,.. Utah ~ “

920 P2d 883, (1974) App. Dismissed
419 U.S. 810, 42 L Ed 2d 37,

95S. Ct. 24 reh. den., 419 U.S. 1060
42 1. Fd 2d 658, 95 S Ct. 645

White v. Hughes

257 Ark 627, 519 SW24d 70, ( 1975)
\pp. Dismissed... U.S.
16 L. Fd 2d 26... S Ct...

’

iif. THERE IS NOSUBSTANTIAL QUESTION
AS TO DUE PROCESS.

Appellant attempts to make a due process argument
by contending that the Guest Statute creates an “irre-
buttable presumption that every ‘Guest Case’ will
lower the quantum of hospitality in the state, will
involve collusion, and will raise insurance premiums.”
(Jurisdictional Statement, p. 17) This argument is
(specious). The Statute creates no presumption, re
buttable or otherwise. It may be based on a legislative
opinion that guest cases have such undesirable effects.

statute does not create any presumptions and
io ao due process of law. It simply —
the common law remedy for negligence in Y° aut
mobile guest situation to reduce the degree of care.
This is not unconstitutional.

“the Constitution does not forbid the
creation of new rights, or the abolition of
old ones recognized by the common law, to
attain a permissible legislative object.

Silver v. Silver, supra.
280 U.S. at 122
74 L. Ed. at 225

; es ° , Her 11" f
“negligence is merely the disi egard )
some duty imposed by law and the penere ane
extent of the duty may be modified by legis —
with corresponding change in the test of negli-
gence.”

N.Y. Central R. Co. ve. White
243 U.S 188, 198

61 1. Ed. 667,

37S. Ct. 247, 250 (1917)

i i . i has
enacting the Guest Statute, the Legislature !
pe A. modified the nature and extent of the hq > »
the standard of care, owed by an automobi e og Ae
his non-paying guest. This does not violate t ¢
Process Clause of the United States Constitution. uly
enacted legislation is Due Process of Law.

IV. THERE IS NOSUBSTANTIAL QUESTION
AS TO EQUAL PROTECTION

_Appellant also contends that the Statute unlawfully
discriminates against a class of persons, i. e. vehicle
passengers who are non-paying guests of the driver.
Appellant’s argument is that there is no rational cen-
nection between payment for the ride and any legiti-
mate governmental purpose.

Appllant also argues that, if there was such a ration-
al connection when the statute was originally enacted
(1929), it no longer exists because of changed social
conditions.

A. The Test. The standard of review is wether or
not the legislative classification is reasonable and
bears a fair and substantial relation to a legitimate
government purpose.

Johnson v. Robison
415 U.S. 361, 94S. Ct. 1160,
39 L. Ed 2d 389 (1974)

Reed v. Reed ..
404 U.S. 71, 92S. Ct. 251
30 L. Ed. 2d 225 (1971)

In Dondridge v. Willaims, 397 U.S. 471,
905. Ct. 1153, 25 L. Ed. 2d 491 (1970)
this Court said:

“In the area of ecunoniics and social welfare,
a State does not violate the Equal Protection
Clause merely because the classifications made

7

by its laws are imperfect. If the classification
has some “reasonable basis” it does not offend
the Constitution simply because the classifica-
tion “is not made with mathematical nicety or
because in practice it results in some
incyuality.” Lindsley v. Natural Carbonic Gas
Co., 220 U.S. 61, 78, 55 L. Ed. 369, 377,

3158S. Ct. 337. “The problems of government are
practical ones and may justify, if they do not
require, rough accommodations--illogical, it may
he, and unscientific.” Metropolis Theatre Co.

v. City of Chicago, 228 U.S. 61, 69-70, 57

L. Ed. 730, 734, 33 S. Ct. 441. “A statutory
discrimination will not be set aside if any state of
of facts reasonably may be conceived to justify it
discrimination will not be set aside if any state o
facts reasonably may be conceived to justify it.”
McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420, 426,

6 L. Ed. 2d 393, 399, 81S. Ct. 1101.”

(25 L. Ed. 2d at 501-502, Emphasis added)

B. The Classification is Reasonable. The class
created by the statute in this case, is guests who are
being transported in motor vehicles without payment
therefor. i. C. 9-3-3-1 (Jurisdictional Statement, p. 3).

The distinction made by the statute between paying
and non-paying passengers is inherently reasonable.
What is arbitrary or capricious about saying that one
who pays for a service or accommodation is entitled to
a higher duty of care than one who receives its grat-
uitously. In Railway Express Agency, Inc. v. People
of the State of New York, 366 U.S. 106, 69 S. Ct. 463,
93 -" Ed 533 (1949) Justice Jackson (concurring)
stated:

—_

“Certainly the presence or absence of hire
has been the hook by which much highway reg-
ulation has been supported.” (69 S. Ct. at 468)

8

In Massaletti v. Fitzroy, 228 Mass. 487, 118 N.E.
168 (1917) the Supreme Court of Massachussetts
arrived at the same rule of law as is legislatively creat-
ed by the Guest Statute in holding that a gratuitous
passenger could not recover from his host except on
proof of “gross negligence” as opposed to mere negli-
gence.

Justice Arterburn, concurring in Dempsey v. Leon-
herdt, supra, did so on the basis of the common law
distinction which imposed a higher duty of care on a
paid bailee, such as a warehouseman or carrier, than
on a gratuitous bailee. There is nothing irrational in
using payment as the basis of distinction.

C. The Guest Statule Has a Relationship to a Legit-
imate Goverment? Purpose. If there is any conceivable
purpose to justify the statutory classification, the act
must be upheld.

Dandridge v. Williams, supra
McGowan v. Maryland

366 U.S. 420 818. Ct. 1101
63. Ed 2d 395

In Dempsey v. Leovherdt, supra the indiana Su-
preme Court mentiened three likely purposes that the
legislatur may have been seeking to promote. They
ure: (1) the protection and promotion of hospitality,
(2) the elimination of collusive or vexatious lawsuits,
and (3) the protection of liability insurors. The first
two purposes have been recognized in virtually all of
the cases in which Guest Statutes have been upheld.
The third is equally logical.

Most of the Appellant’s argument herein, and indeed
the’ rationale of those cases in which Guest Statutes
were struck down, is that the means utilized, i. e.
denial of a right of action for negligence, are unsuited
to accomplish the purpose. Or, that other means might
accomplish it better. What the Appellant is seeking to
do is have the Court review the wisdom of the legisla-
tire. But that is not the function of the Court in an
Equal Protection case.

“Its (the legislation) wisdom is not the
concern of the Courts.”

Silver v. Silver, supra

As a matter of fact, what could be more reasonable
than to place the added burden on the guest. The occu-
pant of another car has no opportunity to control the
host driver or to protect himself. The guest passenger
is uniquely situated in that respect. If the host is driv-
ing unsafely, the guest can protest, or even abandon the
vehicle. What is unreasonable about requiring him to
do so. If the guest knows he can’t recover except for
gross misconduct, isn’t he likely to be more motivated
to exercise precautions to prevent an injury? We sub-
mit that this is a sufficient legislative purpose in itself.

Appellant’s argument that times have changed so
that the legislative determination made in 1929 is no
longer valid is erroneous. The great increase, both in
motor vehicles and in liability insurance, only makes
the Guest Statute more

10

meaningful. The obsolesence argument is especially
inappropriate in the case of the Indiana Statute. The
encouragement of hospitality has current validity and
vitality a legislative purpose in Indiana.

In the 1975 session of the Indiana General Assembly,
a hill was introduced to repeal the Guest Statute, being
House Bill 1107. It was defeated 62 to 34. Thus. the
enactment in question must be regarded as current
legislation. In view of the fact that it was considered
and voted upon last year, the opponents of the Guest
Statute cannot rationally contend that: “Times have
changed,” or “That the circumstances which existed
when it originally passed, no longer exist.”

Let us instead look at the times and circumstances
when it was last under consideration by the legislature.

In February, 1975, the legislature met in the after-
inath of what was the Country’s first and worst fuel
crisis since World War II. In the previous year, this
Country had suffered an oil embargo from the oil pro-
ducing contries of the Middle East. The result was
shortages of fuel throughout the Country. Many and
varied efforts were made to conserve energy and re-
duce the consumption of fuel. Filling stations closed
on weekends. In some parts of the Country, they were
compelled to close during the week. The filing stations,

+ ~estue

i PIS ee

11

in some instances, limited their sales to ten (10) gal-
lons per person. In some areas of the Country, there
were long lines at filling stations on the certain days
when fuel was available. Millions were spent, and are
being spent, in search of new reservoirs of fuel. Addi-
tional millions are being spent in search for ways to
conserve the use of fuel, such as by utilizing solar
energy.

In 1974 the speed limit was reduced nationwide to
55 miles per hour. Fuel rationing was seriously con-
sidered and ration books were printed by the Federal
Government.

During the crisis, government agencies and public
service groups constantly and vociferously urged the
public to form car-pools and to “share the ride’, as
was done during World War II. They are still doing so.
All of these circumstances and considerations were
very much in the minds of the legislature and the miuds
of the public when the legislature met in 1975.

The court must assume that when the legislature
was in session and considered repeal of the Guest Stat-
ute, it was aware of the recent cases in other states
holding similar statutes unconstitutional. It must have
been aware of the reasoning upon which they had ruled.
Presumably, also, it was aware of the numerous states
which had upheld Guest Statutes. But, by far the most
important circumstances of which the legislature had
to be aware was the need in this country to find means
for the conservation of fuel. One of these means, long

12

recognized and advocated, was to share the ride by car-
pooling and otherwise.

Let us consider the logical effect of the provisions
of the Guest Statute. Isn’t it obvious that an automo-
bile owner protected by the Statute would be more
willing to sharing the ride, such as by driving a car-
pool to and from work? The Courts. have judicially no-
ticed the fact that most automobile owner's have liabil-
ity insurance. This is one factor which has been advo-
cated us destroving the rationality of distinguishing
between autemobile hosts and other social hosts. (See
Jurisdictional Statement, p. 8) But the fact is, that
the availability of such insurance does not make an
automobile owner all that carefree about carrying
others. The Court must also judicially know that in the
event claims ave made against him by injured passen-
gers, and settlements made or judgment awarded
against him, which the insurance carrier has to pay,
the host is faced with an increase in premium or can-
cellation of such insurance. Once he has suffered can-
cellation, it is both difficult and more expensive for him
to obtain insurance for some period of time in the
future. There is also the prospect of having a judgment
in excess of his insurance limits which he himself
would have to pay. The removal of these prospects can-
not help but be a strong motovation encouraging him
to carry passengers and help the conservation of fuel.
We cannot see how this reasoning can be seriously
disputed.

13

Thus, it is apparent that there is a legitimate gov-
ernment purpose to be effeted, and that such purpose
was one of those which had to be foremost in the minds

f the legislature when it rejected the bill to repeal
the Guest Statute. It is also clexr that the provisions of
the Guest Statute bear a rational relationship to ful-
fillment ov promotion of the governmental purpose.
Therefore, the classification of automobile hosts and
guests is a reasonable one, and the Statute does not
violate the Equal Protection clause of the United
States Constitution.

V. CONCLUSION AND PRAYER FOR RELIFF

The constitutionality of the Indiana Guest Statute
wars not expressly decided in this case. The decision
wis made in Dempsey v. Leonherdt which was not
appealed.

There is no substantial Federal question presented by
this appeal. The Guest Statute creates a reasonable
classification which bears 2 rational relation to a legit-
imate governmental objective.

WHEREFORE, Appellee prays that this appeal be

14

dismissed and for all other proper relief.

John M. Heeter

Charles E. Johnson

Marshall E. Williams

HEETER, JOHNSON, SALB & WILLIAMS
1060 Consolidated Building

115 North Pennsylyania Street

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

(317) 636-5561

Counsel for Appellee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0355%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
