# Opposition — Napoli v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0317%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 920

## Text

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

MICHEL JOSEPH NAPOLI, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

RoBerT H. Bork,
Solicitor General,

RICHARD L. THORNBURGH,
Assistant Attorney General,

JEROME M. Fei!t,
KATHERINE WINFREE,
Attorneys,
Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 76-89
MICHEL JOSEPH NAPOLI, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1A-4A)
is reported at 530 F. 2d 1198. The opinion of the district
court (Pet. App. 5A-17A) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
April 29, 1976, and a petition for rehearing with suggestion
of rehearing en banc was denied on June 24, 1976. The
petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on July 22, 1976.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a warrant authorizing the search of a first
class airmail parcel was defective because of an uninten-
tional omission of fact from the supporting affidavit or

(1)

2

because of inclusion in the affidavit of historical and
biographical information obtained from petitioner at the
time of an allegedly illegal state arrest.

2. Whether the search of petitioner’s camper bus was
lawful.

STATEMENT

After a non-jury trial on stipulated facts in the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana,
petitioner was convicted of possession of lysergic acid
diethylamide (LSD) with intent to distribute it, and of
conspiracy and use of the mails to commit that offense, in
violation of 18 U.S.C. 2 and 21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1), 843(b)
and 846. He was sentenced under the Federal Youth Cor-
rections Act, 18 U.S.C. 5005 ef seq., to treatment and
supervision until discharged by the Board of Parole pur-
suant to 18 U.S.C. 5017(c). The court of appeals affirmed
(Pet. App. 1A-4A).

As summarized by the court of appeals (Pet. App. 2A),
the evidence showed that in April 1974 agents of the Drug
Enforcement Administration obtained a search warrant
for a first class mail parcel addressed to “Michael Joseph,
3027 Napoleon Avenue, New Orleans, Louisiana 70125.”
Upon opening the package at the post office, the agents
discovered LSD, removed part of the contents, and dusted
the inside of the parcel with fluorescent powder before
resealing it. The agents then arranged for a controlled
postal delivery of the package to the address on Napoleon
Avenue. As the package was placed in the mailbox,
surveilling officers notified an agent waiting in the office
of a United States Magistrate. The agent then completed
a previously prepared application for a warrant to search
the premises of 3027 Napoleon Avenue and presented it
to the magistrate. Agents waiting near the residence were
informed as soon as the warrant had been issued.

3

Petitioner and his girl friend were on the porch at 3027
Napoleon Avenue when the postman placed the parcel in
the mailbox. The girl walked to the mailbox, after which
she and petitioner descended the stairs, passed from
view, and proceeded along the driveway toward the back
of the house. Approximately five minutes later, the agents
approached the house to execute the warrant. Petitioner
was observed padlocking the door of a camper bus parked
in the driveway and was immediately arrested. Keys to
the padlock and traces of fluorescent powder were found
in the incidental search of his person. When the agents
were unable to find the package or the LSD in the house
or yard after two hours of searching, they conducted a
thorough search of the camper bus and found the LSD in
a secret compartment.

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner challenges the validity of the warrant
authorizing the postal search on two separate grounds,
neither of which has merit.

a. Petitioner claims (Pet. 10-26) that the search warrant
was invalid because of an omission of fact in the supporting
affidavit. The affidavit submitted in support of the warrant
was based upon the first-hand knowledge of an under-
cover D.E.A. agent, Earl Riley, who had purchased LSD
from Gary White. White had told Agent Riley that his
source received his LSD by mail. In addition, the affidavit
related that on April 23, 1974, White had been observed
visiting a shop operated by petitioner, after which White
informed Agent Riley that a large shipment of LSD would
take place through the mails within two days. On April 24,
Agent Riley was present during a phone conversation be-
tween White and petitioner in which the delivery was
again discussed and confirmed. Furthermore, a postal
watch initiated on April 25, 1974, turned up a package

4

addressed to “Michael Joseph,” which was a known alias
of petitioner. The return address on the package was
determined by postal authorities to be fictitious. Finally,
the affidavit stated that informants had reported the
presence of LSD at petitioner’s address (Pet. App. 14A-
ISA).

On the basis of the above information, a United States
Magistrate issued a warrant for the search of the package.
Although petitioner does not dispute that the facts set
forth in the affidavit were sufficient to establish probable
cause for the warrant, he claims that the affidavit failed
to state that, prior to issuance of the warrant, White had
told Agent Riley “[{t]he deal is off (Pet. App. 13a); that
this information had been intentionally omitted from the
search warrant affidavit; and that the omission consti-
tuted a material misrepresentation that, if known to the
magistrate, would have precluded a finding of probabie
cause.

As the district court noted (Pet. App. 13A), however,
this omission was not material in light of the substantial
other accurate information in the warrant application,
especially the fact that a package addressed to an alias
used by petitioner had been discovered in the mails at
approximately the time that White had indicated there
would be a postal shipment of LSD. “Each link of the
method and proposed date of delivery,” the court remarked,
was “confirmed before applying for the warrant. White’s
last minute recall of delivery does not destroy probable
cause.” Moreover, the district court found that the omission
had been unintentional (Pet. App. ISA).

Although, as petitioner indicates (Pet. 11-21), the courts
of appeals have articulated different approaches, in
form if not in substance, to the problem of false statements
(or omissions) in search warrant affidavits, no court has

=

.-

5

held a warrant invalid where, as here, the alleged defect
in the supporting affidavit was both immaterial and un-
intentional.' In these circumstances, the lower courts’
finding that there was probable cause for the issuance of
the postal search warrant does not merit further review.

b. Petitioner also contends (Pet. 26-32) that the affi-
davit supporting the postal search warrant was tainted
because it contained “historical and biographical informa-
tion” obtained as a result of an allegedly illegal state
arrest. In April 1973, petitioner was arrested by state
police officers for possession of drugs. During the adminis-
trative booking procedure at the station house, petitioner
voluntarily gave 3027 Napoleon Avenue as his mother’s
address (Pet. App. 6A-7A). Subsequently, petitioner’s
motion to suppress evidence discovered in a search occur-
ring at the time of the arrest was granted without explana-
tion by the state court, and the drug charges were dismissed
by the State.

The court of appeals properly rejected petitioner’s
claim that the search warrant affidavit was fatally tainted
by the earlier arrest. First, as the district court noted (Pet.
App. 7A), petitioner’s state arrest was never declared
illegal and, indeed, it is unclear from the record why the
evidence uncovered in the search was suppressed. Peti-
tioner therefore failed to meet his burden of establishing
the primary illegality of the method by which the address
used in the affidavit was obtained. See Nardone v. United

'We have recently discussed the apparent differences among the
circuits in our Brief in Opposition in Lee v. United States, No.
75-6969, a copy of which is being provided to petitioner. The primary
focus of the courts of appeals has been on affirmative misrepresenta-
tions of fact rather than, as here, an omission. See United States v.
Park, 531 F. 2d 754, 759 (C.A. 5); United States v. Armocida, 515
F. 2d 29, 41 (C.A. 3), certiorari denied sub nom. Conti v. United
States, 423 U.S. 858.

6

States, 308 U.S. 338, 341.2 Moreover, the allegedly
“tainted” information in the affidavit—that the Napoleon
Avenue address was the residence of Napoli’s mother—
was recorded not only in D.E.A. files but also in the New
Orleans telephone and city directories, which were “in-
dependent sources free of any possible taint” (Pet. App.
3A). See Silverthorne Lumber Co. v. United States, 251

U.S. 385, 392.3

2. Petitioner contends (Pet. 32-36) that the search of
the camper bus was unlawful since it was beyond the scope
of the second warrant, which recited (Pet. App. 2A. brack-
ets in original):

Affidavit having been made before me by Special
Agent Ravmond Egan Jr. that he [has reason to be-
lieve] t, fon the premises known as] 3027 Napoleon
Avenue, New Orleans, Louisiana, being a large,
multiple-story, wooden-frame residential dwelling,
in the Eastern District of Louisiana there is now being

2Application of the exclusionary rule in the federal courts is a
question of federal law that must be judged by federal standards.
Ker v. California, 374 U.S. 23, 31-32; Elkins v. United States, 364
U.S. 206, 224: United States v. Ransom, 515 F. 2d 885, 889
(C.A. 5), certiorari denied, 424 U.S. 944; United States v.
Keen, 508 F. 2d 986, 988-989 (C.A. 9), certiorari denied, 421 U.S.
929. For the reasons set forth by the district court (Pet. App. 9A-I1A),
even if petitioner's state arrest had been illegal, no reasons consistent
with the purposes of the exclusionary rule would have justified its
application here. See United States v. Janis, No. 74-958, decided
July 6, 1976, slip op. 16-17, 20-21.

‘Davis v. Mississippi, 394 U.S. 721, on which petitioner primarily
relies (Pet. 26-28), is inapposite. There, the Court held inadmissible a
defendant's fingerprints, taken at the time of his illegal arrest, that
were the primary incriminating evidence against him ar trial. Not
only did the Court hold that the arrest in Davis was clearly illegal,
but also there was no independent source for the fingerprint evidence.
Furthermore, the information obtained in this case was freely and
voluntarily given by petitioner at the time of his arrest.

7

concealed certain property, namely Lysergic Acid
Diethylamide or its derivatives (etc.) * * * and as
I am satisfied that there is probable cause to believe
that the property so described is being concealed on
the [premises] above described and that the fore-
going grounds for application for issuance of the
search warrant exist.

A warrant is sufficient if “the description is such that the
officer with a search warrant can with reasonable effort
ascertain and identify the place intended [to be searched].”
Steele v. United States, 267 U.S. 498, 503. As the court of
appeals observed (Pet. App. 3A):

There can be little, if any, doubt that the intent of
the officers in this instance was to seize the con-
trolled package and its contents wherever they might
‘be on the premises at 3027 Napoleon Avenue, whether
when taken from the mailbox they were carried in-
side the house, retained on the front porch, carried
down the steps to the sidewalk, taken to the yard,
or removed to an outbuilding or to a vehicle on the
premises.

‘The court therefore correctly concluded (Pet. App. 3A)

that, given a commonsense interpretation and under the
circumstances of this case (see United States v. Ventresca,
380 U.S. 102, 108), the warrant’s “reference to ‘on the
premises known as 3027 Napoleon Avenue’ was sufficient
to embrace the vehicle parked in the driveway on those
premises.” See Brooks v. United States, 416 F. 2d 1044,
1050 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied sub nom. Nipp v. United
States, 400 U.S. 840. Contrary to petitioner’s suggestion
(Pet. 32), the description of the dwelling in the warrant
does not compel a contrary finding. See Fine v. United
States, 207 F. 2d 324, 325 (C.A. 6), certiorari denied,
346 U.S. 923 (shed in yard behind house). See also

8

United States v. Bedford, 519 F. 2d 650, 655, n. 7
(C.A. 3), certiorari denied, 423 U.S. 917; United States
v. Anderson, 485 F. 2d 239, 240 (C.A. 5), certiorari
denied, 415 U.S. 958 (flower bed outside house); United
States v. Long, 449 F. 2d 288, 294 (C.A. 8), certiorari
denied, 405 U.S. 974 (trash barrel outside building).

In any event, even assuming that the search of the cam-
per bus was not expressly or impliedly authorized by the
warrant, it was justified by the existence of probable cause
to believe that the vehicle contained the contraband.
The agents’ knowledge that LSD had just been delivered
to the premises, their inability to find the drug in the house
or on petitioner despite a thorough search, and their
observance of petitioner’s padlocking the camper bus
after the delivery and prior to his arrest gave the agents
reason to believe that the LSD had been placed in the
camper. Since the only alternative to an immediate search
of the vehicle “was for the agents to immobilize the camper
while a warrant was obtained” (Pet. App. 17A), either
course was: reasonable under the Fourth Amendment.
Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 52.

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully submitted that the petition for a writ
of certiorari should be denied.

ROBERT H. Bork,
Solicitor General.

RICHARD L. THORNBURGH,
Assistant Attorney General.

JEROME M. FEIT,
KATHERINE WINFREE,
Attorneys.

OcTOBER 1976.

DOJ-1976-10

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0317%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
