# Respondents Brief — Memphis Light, Gas & Water Div. v. Craft

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0267%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1978
- **Citation:** 436 U.S. 1

## Text

IN THE | » viet’
Supreme Court of the Anited States ~
OCTOBER TERM, 1977 JUL g i977
No. 76-39 MICHAL BOSAK, J8.,CLERK

_ e

MEMPHIS LIGHT, GAS AND WATER DIVISION, ez. ai.,
Petitioners,

WILLIE S. CRAFT and MARY CRAFT,
Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS

THOMAS M. DANIEL
MEMPHIS & SHELBY COUNTY
LEGAL SERVICES
ASSOCIATION
325 Dermon Building
46 North Third Street
Memphis, Tennessee 38103
(901) 526-8210

Counsel for Respondents

RICHARD ALPERT

ALAN DAVIS

ELLIOT TAUBMAN
NATIONAL CONSUMER
LAW CENTER, INC.
Eleven Beacon Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

BRUCE MAYOR
NEIGHBORHOOD LEGAL
SERVICES
524 Albany Avenue
Hartford, Connecticut 06112

On the brief

Washington. 0.C. @ CLB PUBLISHERS e LAW PRINTING CO. e (202) 393-0625

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ADDITIONAL STATUTORY PROVISIONS
OPED 0.n060606ccsdsndisendonasonactnanioneseuuanees l
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ......ccccccccccccsccccecccees l
SUPPLEMENT TO PETITIONERS’ STATE-
RES CG CEs MED ons dseoveccédcncnduuscccteccoreset 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ............ 6.66 cc cee eeee 6
REE © 00 bndededetdadviunadasestistasdvesonessusien 8

I. RESPONDENTS HAVE A PROTECTED
PROPERTY INTEREST IN THE RECEIPT
OF WATER, GAS AND ELECTRICITY
SERVICE FROM PETITIONERS ................. 8

II. RESPONDENTS ARE ENTITLED TO-
ADEQUATE NOTICE AND HEARING
PRIOR TO BEING DEPRIVED OF THEIR
PROTECTED INTEREST IN WATER, GAS
AND ELECTRICITY SERVICE .................. 15

A. MLG&W’s Notice Is Not Reasonably Calcu-
lated To Inform A Customer Of The Method
Pe SE OEE. ddcueesecdesedsccvcescces: 15

B. The Complete Lack of Hearing Procedures
For The Resolution of Disputes Violates Due
PE cckdnddenidndaondsnsscnsdctsecevessees« 17

C. Analysis of the Competing Interests Requires a
Meaningful Hearing Prior to Termination of

BE ponatbualt nnneddadaeeGieasdeenivnseess< 19
1. Deprivation of Water, Gas and Electricity
REE cba cecueucuanesbacecees« 20

2. The Risk Of Erroneous Deprivation Is
Substantial And Procedural Safeguards
Will Avoid Unwarranted Injury ............. 21

3. The Administrative Burden of Additional
Termination Procedures is Minimal, and
Memphis Has an Interest in Avoiding
Erroneous Terminations ..................-. 24

Pr rere r orl Pr PePPTTTTTTTTLT TTT Ti ee 32

(it)
P
APPENDIX -
A. Analysis of Termination Regulations By
ee ie edad bneeedeadvereteceus la
B. Relevant Statutory Provisions ..............++++: lb
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Allen v. Dept. of Public Utilities, Civ. No. 403-72-R
Cee Te i tt euhweneedeoets 24
Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545 (1965)............... 15,31
Arnold v. Carolina Power & Light Co., 168 S.C. 163, 167
ee ee cae eeekeaoene 12
Avery v. Midland County, 390 U.S. 474 (1968)............. 8
Babcock v. Schaffhauser, Civ. No. 15, 300 (D. Conn.
es suseeeunne 24
Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535 (1971) ...............55. passim
Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341 (1976).................2005. 9
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972) ........ 8,13,18
Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371 (1971)............... 9,29
Bronson v. Consolidated Edison Co. of New York, 350 F.
SS Es DUPED co vcccucconccccseccs 16,22,23,27
Cantor v. Detroit Edison Co., 428 U.S. 579
eel ee Reo 6 ane ee sec eeetecennessones 29
Chandler Investment Co. v. Whitehaven Utility Dist. of
Shelby County, 44 Tenn. App. 1, 311 S.W.2d 603
(1957), cert. denied, March 4, 1958..................05. 1!
Colgrove v. Cleveland Dept. of Public Utilities, Civ. No.
ee I coc cdcuvesascscavesccenss 24
Condosta v. Vermont Elec. Cooperative, 400 F. Supp.
ne ea ueeeedueseeneeeee 27
Connell v. Higgenbotham, 403 U.S. 207 (1971).............. 10
Cottrell v. Virginia Elec. & Power Co., 62 F.R.D. 516
ee se end cide ebdesehbebdde beonnds 27
Craft v. Memphis Light, Gas & Water Division, 534 F.2d
DP ccubndedkaseetes s+ 06usenesbecbecdsseds passim

(iii)
Page
Crumley v. Watauga Water Co., 99 Tenn. 420, 41 S.W.
ad Leceenbindinuicbbecasesenesesenees passim
Davis v. Weir, 328 F. Supp. 317 (N.D. Ga. 1971), affd.,
497 F.2d 139 (Sth Cir. 1974)............... 14,16,20,23,27
Dawes v. Philadelphia Gas Works, 421 F. Supp. 806

NI a iia eae ain id nae ecgeain 27
Dent v. West Virginia, 129 U.S. 114 (1889) ................ 9
Dixon v. Love, US. _, 45 US.L.W. 4447

ST dnd a déudnbnaagl biG delsndabiibbieewbaioaed 8,18,19,26
Donnelly v. City of Eureka, 399 F. Supp. 64 (D. Kan

Dis ddebiimhibsbedtedkbeseheateehsbtadudtneesnes 27
Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347 (1976)..............0.2000eee 10
Farmer v. Nashville, 127 Tenn. 509, 156 S.W. 189

DE idnniibdbiniiinttacenttnmanandinddeklion 6,10,11,12,13
F.P.C. v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S. 591

Dt ecidiehidiide didestarsneehecadbesnaseteweneeu 29
F.P.C. v. United Gas Pipeline Co., 386 U.S. 237

Ph .tieiebdinadieesvaeirenestkdndeseennewenhasenke 29
Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972) .................. a a
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970)........... 7,8,10,21,30
Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975)..............0005. passim
Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S. 12 (1956) ................. 15,18,28
Hattell v. Public Service Co., 350 F. Supp. 240 (D. Colo.

DU Luvddtadsscknesdieeteheededeedesandnweucaenueses 27
Ingraham v. Wright, 97 S. Ct. 1401 (1977) .............. 19,28
Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 US.

I the See eek ee cou eedadbaieadenceshe 8,27
Joint Anti-Facicist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341

a a 18
Jones v. Portland, 245 U.S. 217 (1917)..................5.. 20

Koger v. Guarino, 412 F. Supp. 1375 (E.D. Pa. 1976),

aff'd. on opinion below, ___ F.2d (3rd Cir.
1977) 14,20,23,27

Ce a

Lamb v. Hamblin, 57 F.R.D. 58 (D. Minn.
SPUN akebis beusedcdnndsvenuduaseuadasdicesaceees 14,20,27

(iv)
Page
Limuel v. Southern Union Gas Co., 378 F. Supp. 964

(W.D. Tex. 1974). ......cc cece cccce cece eecccneneeeeees 27
Londoner v. Denver, 210 U.S. 373 (1908) ...........--5055: 31
Lucas v. Wisconsin Electric Power Co., 466 F.2d 638

(7th Cir. 1972) cert. den., 409 U.S. 1114

CIO sack cpcscccbccesscccccncsescgeeesescoescoces 28,29
McMormick v. Dept. of Water, Civ. No. C 73-797-4

(N.D. Ohio 1974) ........ 0. cece eee eee eee ence eee eeeee 24
Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976)..........+--- passim
Mathiew v. Brehm, Civ. No. 74-1521 (E.D.

i CED cc nckcdectcnchscdpeveredesdsncsnceséetessces 24
Meachum v. Fano, 427 U.S. 215 (1976)...........-+555- 14,28
Miller v. Roswell Gas & Electric Co., 22 N.M. 594, 166

De GOTT GREED cccccccacccccccccsecccccdcccesssevcoces 12
Mississippi Power Co. v. Cochran, 167 Miss. 705, 147

“= [ eaaeererrerrrrrriy tre Tit t ttt tet 12
Mobile Electric Co. v. Nelson, 209 Ala. 554, 96 So. 713

SEE, cccosbvncvccuscsecduesgsacéeccsdbacesceuseseoene 12
Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167 (1961)........6.- see eee ee ees 8
Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471 (1972).....-.--++++- passim
Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S.

BO COT oc ccc ccccccccccesbeccccccnccccsccsce 7,15,16,30
North Georgia Finishing Co. v. Di-Chem, Inc., 419 U.S.

BE EN ci cccccchadsaneaevesessnsvbediscencends passim
Opp Cotton Mills v. Administrator, 312 U.S.

BN IED occ vcvicccceccidcoccccocesscoccccsscsscccess 21
Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656 (1973) ...........00-eeee 29
Otter Tail Power Co. v. United States, 410 U.S. 366

RN cc cgacundsabenccescrsddessencbtnicisenceoocese 29
Palmer v. Columbia Gas Co., 342 F. Supp. 241 (N.D.

Ohio 1972), affd., 479 F.2d 153 (6th Cir.

RE RE errr rege err et TT eter Tt Tt 20
Palmer v. Columbia Gas Co., 479 F.2d 153 (6th Cir.

SN tt anes sénanhanuaaseeheenwaeaed 7,16,22,23,27

Patterson v. City of Chattanooga, 192 Tenn. 267, 241
kh » 7. | | Pe errrrrr Tre rrr errr 12

(v)

Page
Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693 (1976)...................... 6,8,9
Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593 (1972).............. passim
Randolph v. St. Joseph Gas Co., 250 S.W. 642 (Mo. App.

DP Sh dnéhadkdedentssandehedtauisicauedsie cities 12
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) ........ 00. cece cece 4
Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 232

Peete sdvibncndanuhaabadsaurieddenmelandacosscaddas 9,10
Re Mary Silvia (Mass. D.P.U. Oct. 1976) .................. 20
Smith v. Organization of Foster Families for Equality and

Reform, _.. U.S. ____—,_ 45 ~U.S.L.W. 4638

PE sidie cbcbcssndeudeuaasidaekdiddikadesces 18,19,27

PEE aNdwddudwindnunaenunseounatedsadaiec eased 21,30
Southwestern Gas & Electric Co. v. Stanley, 123 Tex.

SOG, Ce CMe GE GS co cnccccccvcccccccsccencccces 12
Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) ...............2005. 30
Stanford v. Gas Service Co., 346 F. Supp. 717 (D. Kan.

BONE s 4d 6kedy cbes CadetebiRabniaeeciitedckekikc 14,20
Steele v. Clinton Electric Light & Power Co., 123

Conn. 180, 193 A. 613 (1937).........000 0000000. 12,13
Taylor v. Hayes, 418 U.S. 488 (1974)......0 0000000... eee, 28
Tinker v. Des Moines School Dist., 393 U.S. 503

Ps 64406 denanuuaveducebeudiedacaknebecusieckeans 28
Re Transcontinental Gas Pipeline, 16 P.U.R. 4th 423,

Se ee i asad adie ba cincineddtans veces cca 20
Trigg v. Middle Tennesse Electric Membership Corp.,

533 S.W.2d 730 (Tenn. App. 1975), cert. denied,

Sey WU Ps Nidtceneccnnuddcsecas ccaacabesce passim
United States v. Kras, 409 U.S. 434 (1973)................. 29
United States v. New Orleans Public Services, Inc., 533

Pe er En HUI I hh ik dahon d dcueuwihvcanduane 29

‘ Watauga Water Co. v. Wolfe, 99 Tenn. 429, 41 S.W.

Na Ws Fa yu4d OekGaendkdbscuknnnsaeeciceene 11,30
Wiikerson v. City of Jacksonville, Pov. L. Rep. (CCH)

eee GE A I oo ini ac cence codcuuvececes 24

(vi)
Page

Winchester v. Kentucky Utilities Co., 182 Ky. 144, 206

nr r,t cen eeekenkadaseneosenes 12
Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433

ER SURES 1 AEE Pht GR ne a ee eee 8,9,10,18
Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539 (1974)........ 7,10,14,15,17
Constitutional Provisions, Statutes, and Ordinances:
oo ia cobs daneedeanseesuesens passim
Fair Credit Billing Act, 15 U.S.C. §§1661 et

0 ACESS EAS 2 REE AES Ee AO eo Te 22
Ae i a cee ee yao bre ceuseneudwe 2
Fairbanks, Alas. Ordinance No. 3576 (1977)................ 24
Memphis, Tenn. Code § §32-102 et seq..................4.. 14
Memphis, Tenn. Code § §51-111 et seq.................. 20,27
pe 6
occu neebeueeseneaceeees 6
Other Sources:
43 AM JUR, Public Utilities and Services, §65 ............. 13
is ee ED anc cvccceceevscccccecencucues 13
Se GR, I IED sco cccccvesntccceeseeeses 12,13
Electric Funds Transfer Systems: A Symposium, 25

ee EE, cv dvvawabesousedcesveseoss 21

Grar Jury Report Pursuant to § 190.85 of the Criminal
kt cocedure Law of the State of New York (Schen-
ee Ok ee 20

Index and Tenth Selected Bibliography on Computers
and the Law, 5 Rutg. J. Computers & Law 505

PP UUscscech REL EheaaRsheeeateSeed chs 6cesceesess 22
Law and Technology Symposium, 52 Chi-Kent L. Rev.
hc Kelis duted. Uaektsadh ehh eeds Vaueess 21-22

Medical Data Privacy: Automated Interference with
Contractual Relations, 25 Buffalo L. Rev. 491
MICE Dies ehe nd cos eed ees seu henieentsseeese ses 21

Monagham, Of Liberty and Property, 62 Cornell L. Rev.
Dies eau cakes eRe aNdENeeerevsionss 10

(vii)

National Commission on Electric Fund Transfers, EFT

and the Public Interest (1977)................5055-

Proposed Standards and Billing Practices for Residentiai
Utility Service, 6 Pa. Bull. 2989, Docket No.

7T6PRMO-10 (Dec. 4, 1976). ........ ccc cece eee eees

Report of the Michigan Public Service Commission on the
Utility Company Survey of Consumer Standards and
Billing Practices of Electrical and Gas Residential

ED CUTE cece cevecccentccericcceseseceteuces

Senate Committee on Government Operations, Problems
Associated with Computer Technology in Federal
Programs and Private Industry: Computer Abuses,

94th Cong. 2nd Sess. 50 (1976) ..............0005.

Senate Committee on Government Operations, Staff
Study on Computer Security in Federal Programs,

95th Cong. Ist Sess. 5-6 (1976) ................05.

Senate Rep. No. 93-278, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. 5

Van Alstyne, Cracks in ““The New Property,” 62 Cornell

Se Og WT ert

“ee ee

“ee ee

PR tence

IN THE .
Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1977

No. 76-39

MEMPHIS LIGHT, GAS AND WATER DIVISION, ez. ai.,
Petitioners,

WILLIE S. CRAFT and MARY CRAFT,
Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS

ADDITIONAL STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Pertinent provisions of the Tennessee Code Annotated and the
Memphis Code of Ordinances, which were not included in
Petitioners’ Brief are set forth in Appendix B, attached hereto.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether water, gas and electricity service which a
municipally owned utility company has a legal duty under state
law to provide is a property interest protected by the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment?

2

2. Whether a procedure for termination of water, gas and
electricity service which provides neither notice of the oppor-
tunity to be heard nor any opportunity to be heard is con-
sistent with the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment?

SUPPLEMENT TO PETITIONERS’
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This action was brought by five plaintiffs | under the Civil
Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. Section 1983, seeking damages,
declaratory and injunctive relief against a municipal utility,
alleging that their water, gas and electricity service had been
terminated without due process of law as required by the
Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution. 2
(A.3-18). |

The District Court found that the Memphis Light, Gas and
Water Division and the other defendants 3 (hereinafter referred
to collectively as MLG&W) had not violated the plaintiffs’ due
process rights and dismissed the action. (Opinion and Order

' The suit was filed as a class action pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b)(2).
The District Court refused to certify the cause as a class action (App. B to
Petition for Certiorari, 42), and this holding was affirmed by the Court of
Appeals. Craft v. Memphis Light, Gas and Water Division, 534 F.2d 684,
686 (6th Cir. 1976).

2 Plaintiffs also challenged the right of Memphis Light, Gas and Water
Division to refuse to initiate service to a person because of an outstanding bill
owed by another person at the address where service is sought. Plaintiffs were
ultimately successful in this claim, Craft v. Memphis Light, Gas and Water
Division, supra, 534 F.2d at 689-90, and no review of this part of the Court of
Appeals decision was sought.

3 The individual defendants are Calvin Henze, President of Memphis Light,
Gas and Water Division; Henry J. Winkelman, Vice-President; Eliot
Whittington, Commissioner, Robert S. Bowers, Commissioner, Patricia Shaw,
Commissioner. Clyde Brown and C.R. Tennen, employees of M.L.G.&W.
who effected the termination of utility service to the plaintiffs on one or more
occasions, were made defendants in the Amended Complaint filed August 29,
1974.

3

attached to Petition for Certiorari as App. B, 33-49.) However,
the District Court did suggest certain changes in the termination
procedure of MLG&W “to improve the procedure used in
terminating utility services for non-payment and with respect to
negotiating disputes and difficulties about the outstanding
amount of bills.” (App. B to Petition for Certiorari, 48).

The Court of Appeals reversed the decision of the District
Court in so far as it held that the Crafts had been afforded due
process and remanded the case to determiiie ihe specific process
due. Craft v. Memphis Light, Gas & Water Division, 534 F.2d
684 (6th Cir. 1974). The Court of Appeals affirmed that portion
of the District Court decision which held no due process
violation as to Sarah Parks but reversed the lower court finding
of no equal protection violation as to Ida Bell Holmes. Since no
review was sought in this Court concerning that portion of the
decision concerning Holmes and Parks, only the holding of the
Court of Appeals concerning Mr. and Mrs. Willie S. Craft is
presently before the Court. 4

Mr. and Mrs. Willie S. Craft, homeowners in Memphis, had
their water and other utility services cut off five times by
MLG&W between June, 1973 and the filing of this suit in
February 1974. (App. B to Petition for Certiorari, 38). The first
time, when only their water service was terminated, Mrs. Craft
took a day off work and went to the main office of MLG&W,
where she stayed the entire day attempting to ascertain the
reason for the termination. Because the matter was not resolved
the first day, Mrs. Craft returned the following morning in a
further attempt to have her water service restored. The matter
again was not resolved, and the Craft family was without water
service for a week before service was restored. (A.86-87).

Shortly after the water problem was resolved, the Crafts began
to receive two computer billings each month fom MLG&W,

4One of the original plaintiffs, Annie Sue Funzie, did not participate in the
trial or the appeal below because, by stipulation of counsel for both parties, her
utilities had been terminated for failure to pay a correct and undisputed utility
bill.

4

each containing charges for gas and electricity service. (A.89,
33-35). One computer bill was in the name of Willie S. Craft and
the other in the name of Willie C. Craft. Over a period of several
months, all the Crafts’ utility services were terminated at least
four times. The employee of MLG&W effecting the terminations
did not personally contact the Crafts or any other person in the
home prior to making the terminations. (App. B to Petition for
Certiorari, 38). When service was terminated, Mrs. Craft visited
the office of MLG&W to learn the reason for the double
computer billings and the terminations of service. Each time she
was unsuccessful. On at least three of these visits, Mrs. Craft
took off time from work and spent the entire day in MLG&W’s
offices. (App. B to Petition for Certiorari, 38; A.93).

The District Court specifically found that “all during the time
of these disputes, Mr. and Mrs. Craft made good faith efforts to
pay for their utilities as well as to straighten out their problems.”
(App. B to Petition for Certiorari, 39). Despite this, the Crafts
were met with hostility from MLG&W employees. For example,
on one occasion Mrs. Craft called MLG&W’s offices to explain
that she had paid the bill that MLG&W claimed was still
outstanding, but an MLG&W employee told her she must “pay
it again” to avert the threatened termination. (A.103-4). On
another occasion, Mrs. Craft was cursed by an MLG&W
employee. Jd. MLG&W’s employees also refused to identify
themselves or disclose to Mrs. Craft the names of any

supervisors to contact. (A.97).

’ The Crafts finally were told by MLG&W that the reason for
the double computer billing each month was that they had two
gas meters and two electric meters at their house. Although the
Crafts were aware of the two meters, they thought one set was
closed off. At the suggestion of MLG&W, the Crafts then paid
$152.20 to have one set of meters removed. Nevertheless, the
Crafts continued to receive double computer billings for two
months after the extra meters were removed. (A.94; App. B to
Petition for Certiorari, 38).

5

Not until after this action was filed were the Crafts able to

-discover that they continued to receive double computer billings

because MLG&W failed to combine the two accounts properly,
(A.146-150), or that, as a result of the double computer billings,
MLG&W had overcharged them for gas service and city service
fees. 5 (A.171).

When MLG&W’s computer determines that payment is not
received for utility service, the computer sends a form notice to
the customer, stating that service will be disconnected if the
amount listed as due is not paid by 5:00 P.M. on the date listed.
(Def. Ex. 7; A.42, 136). With the notice is one of two “flyers’’.©
The first, sent to 40% of MLG&W’s customers given final
notice, informs customers solely of the availability of community
credit counseling procedures to help a customer “having
difficulty paying” the bill. It does not inform the customer of any
steps to take to resolve a disputed bill. The second flyer, sent
only to areas not accommodated by community credit counseling
Stations, possibly mentions that the customer may bring the bill
to an MLG&W office if there is a dispute. Craft v. MLG&W,
supra, 534 F.2d at 688 n.47 The Court of Appeals refused to
find that the Crafts were sent this second flyer. 8 Jd.

Memphis Light, Gas & Water Division, a municipal utility,
has “no established procedure for resolution of disputes” with its
customers, Jd. at 689, either before or after the termination of
service. Nor has MLG&W any written policies concerning
resolution of disputes. Furthermore, no agency provides any

5 The city service fee is a separate item on the regular utility bill as specified
by the City of Memphis Code, Section 19-14.

6 See Craft v. MLG&W, supra, 534 F.2d at 688 n.4.

7 Although MLG&W’s witness quoted one of their “flyers” as giving
information concerning resolution of disputes (A.137), the flyers that he
introduced into evidence contained no language about dispute resolution. (Def.
Ex. 9(a) and 9(b); A.45, 137).

8 MLG&W failed to introduce evidence at trial to show whether the Craft’s
resided in a geographic area not served by community credit counseling
stations. Mrs. Craft testified at trial that she did not receive the second flyer, or
any other notice of termination. (A.102-3).

6

complaint resolution procedures for disputes with MLG&W.
The Tennessee Public Service Commission has no jurisdiction
over municipal utilities. Tenn. Code Ann. §6-1306, 1317.

A customer who has a dispute with MLG&W may seek to
resolve the matter by complaining to MLG&W’s employees, as
did Mrs. Craft. But this is left entirely to the initiative of the
customer, and there is no established procedure to be followed.
(A.162-3). The only way a customer even would know with
whom to talk is by word of mouth referral. (A.163). As the Court
of Appeals noted, the Secretary-Treasurer of MLG&W at first
refused to acknowledge at the trial that any customer could have
a bona fide dispute, although later in the trial tie acknowledged
there could be customer disputes in extremely limited circum-
stances. Craft v. MLG&W, supra, 534 F.2d at 689 & n.7;
(Tr.226-9) (A.164).

Although MLG&W does have a well defined extended
payment plan for those having difficulty paying an admitted
liability, this “‘provides no avenue for customers who . . . dispute
the existence of the liability.” Craft v. MLG&W, supra, 534
F.2d at 689.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Water, gas and electricity service from a municipally owned
utility is a property interest protected by the Due Process Clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment. Protected property interests
include a “‘variety of interests which are difficult of definition”,
Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693, 710 (1976), and they are defined
and determined by any of several sources, including state law.
Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975).

Tennessee common law establishes that the Crafts have a
property interest in the continued receipt of water and other vital
utility services. Customers of a utility have a “legal right” under
Tennessee law to continued service and the utility has a “legal
duty” to supply it. Crumley v. Watauga Water Co., 99 Tenn.
420, 41 S.W. 1058 (1897); Farmer v. Nashville, 127 Tenn.

7

509, 156 S.W. 189 (1912). Although a recipient of utility
service may be required to comply with reasonable regulations of
a public utility, including payment of a justly imposed bill, a
customer’s service cannot be terminated lawfully where a bona
fide dispute exists. Trigg v. Middle Tennessee Electric
Membership Corp., 533 S.W.2d 730 (Tenn. App. 1975), cert.
den., March 15, 1976.

Since the Crafts have a property interest in the continued
receipt of water, gas and electricity, ‘‘the question remains, what
process is due”. Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 481
(1972). MLG&W’s termination procedures lack even the
minimum due process requirements of notice and an opportunity
to be heard. Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.,
339 U.S. 306, 313 (1950); Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539,
557-8 (1974). The notice form used by MLG&W .-is not
reasonably calculated to inform the consumer of any method for
disputing a contested bill, nor does MLG&W or any agency
provide any hearing procedure for the resolution of disputes

either before or after termination of service.

Determination of the specific requirements of due process
requires analysis of the various interests at stake. Mathews v.
Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976). The severity of deprivation of
water and other services, the great risk of erroneous deprivation,
and MLG&W’s minimal interest in prompt payment and
minimal administrative burden require MLG&W to provide
timely notice adequately informing the customer of the reasons
for the termination and the steps to take to resolve a dispute
concerning the bill and to provide a hearing prior to termination.
Palmer v. Columbia Gas Co., 479 F.2d 153 (6th Cir. 1973).
The hearing should include the right to present information and
rebut the records presented to support the proposed termination,
the right to an impartial decision maker and a written decision.
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970).

ARGUMENT

RESPONDENTS HAVE A_ PROTECTED
PROPERTY INTEREST IN THE RECEIPT OF
WATER, GAS AND ELECTRICITY SERVICE
FROM PETITIONERS.

This Court consistently has held that property interests
protected by the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment from arbitrary governmental deprivation 9 consist of
more than the “actual ownership of real estate, chattels or
money”, Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 572 (1972),
and include a “variety of interests which are difficult of
definition.” Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693, 710 (1976). See
Dixon v. Love, ___ U.S. ____ , 45 U.S.L.W. 4447 (1977) and
Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535 (1971) (driver’s license); Mathews
v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) and Goldberg v. Kelly, 397
U.S. 254 (1970) (welfare benefits); Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S.
566 (1975) (pubiic school education); North Georgia Finishing
Co. v. Di-Chem, Inc., 419 U.S. 601 (1975) (possessory interest
in chattel goods); Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593 (1972)
(contract of employment at state university); Wisconsin v.
Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433 (1971) (right to purchase liquor).

To determine whether an interest is protected by the Due
Process Clause, the Court has directed the inquiry to various
possible sources of protection, such as specific guarantees of the
Bill of Rights incorporated into the Fourteenth Amendment, see
Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167 (1961) (unreasonable search and
seizure violative of the Fourteenth Amendment); Paul v. Davis,

® Since MLG&W is municipally owned and operated (App. B to Petition for
Certiorari, 38), its conduct of terminating the Crafts’ utilities constitutes state
action or action under color of state law. Avery v. Midland County, 390 U.S.
474, 479-80 (1968). Thus, this case raises the issues specifically reserved by
the Court in Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S. 345, 359 (1974).

9

424 U.S. 693, 710 n.5 (1976); or the “core values” of liberty,
see Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 482 (1972) (interest in
continued parole); or those rights “ ‘fundamental’ or ‘implicit in
the concept of ordered liberty.’”’ Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113,
152 (1973) (woman’s decision to terminate pregnancy); see
Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371, 374-7 (1971) (indigent’s
right of access to courts to dissolve marriage).

This Court also has held that state law can be a source of
protected interests. For example, in Goss v. Lopez, supra, 419
U.S. at 572-3, the Court, finding a protected property interest in
public school attendance, stated, “Protected interests in property
are normally ‘not created by the Constitution. Rather they are
created and their dimensions defined’ by an independent source
such as state statutes or rules entitling the citizen to certain
benefits.” The specific aspect of state law creating the protected
interest may be a statute or regulation, see Goss v. Lopez, supra
(right to attend public school); an ordinance, cf. Bishop v. Wood,
426 U.S. 341 (1976) (public employment); a contract, express
or implied, see Perry v. Sindermann, supra (employment at state
university); a policy or practice, see Perry v. Sindermann, supra,
408 U.S. at 603; or the state common law, see North Georgia
Finishing Co. v. Di-Chem, Inc., supra; Boddie v. Connecticut,
supra, 401 U.S. at 375. Thus, a right or status recognized by
State law is subject to the protection of the Due Process Clause.
Paul v. Davis, supra, 424 U.S. at 711.

The state law need not explicitly grant the specific protected
interest as long as it creates a reasonable expectation, or
“legitimate claim of entitlement”, to the property or liberty. See
Perry v. Sindermann, supra (implied contract); Morrissey v.
Brewer, supra, 408 U.S. at 479 (parolee’s continued entitlement
to liberty “implicit” in parole system); see also Bell v.
Burson, supra (no express right to continued enjoyment of a
driver’s license); Wisconsin v. Constantineau, supra (property
interest exists in purchasing liquor absent express authority);
Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 232 (1957) (no
express right to practice law); Dent v. West Virginia, 129 U.S.

10

114 (1889) (no express right to practice medicine). That the
expectation or entiliement is a “privilege” rather than a “right” is
not relevant. E.g., Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347, 361 (1976);
see generally Van Alstyne, Cracks in “The New Property”, 62
Cornell Law Rev. 445, 445-8 (1977).

Similarly, that the entitlement is not unconditional has
uniformly been assumed to be no bar to protected status where
the person’s interest is more than a unilateral expectation or
abstract need or desire. See, e.g., Mathews v. Eldridge, supra
and Goldberg v. Kelly, supra (no right to welfare benefits absent
eligibility); Goss v. Lopez, supra (no right to continuous free
public education if less than 6 years old, more than 21 years old,
or where misconduct exists); Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539
(1974) (no right to good time credits where there is flagrant or
serious misconduct); Bell v. Burson, supra (no right to driver’s
license if under age, if unable to pass driver’s test, or if uninsured
and unable to post security after involvement in accident);
Connell v. Higgenbotham, 403 U.S. 207 (1971) (no right to
continued public employment where misconduct exists); Wis-
consin y. Constantineau, supra (no right to purchase liquor if
under age or if dangerous to peace of community); Schware v.
Board of Bar Examiners, supra (no right to practice law if bad
moral character or lacking in proficiency in the law). See also
Monagham, Of Liberty and Property, 62 Cornell L. Rev. 405,
440-41 (1977).

Tennessee common law creates in the Crafts “‘a legitimate
claim of entitlement” to continued receipt of water, gas and
electricity service from MLG&W. See Farmer v. Nashville, 127
Tenn. 509, 156 S.W. 189 (1912); Crumley v. Watauga Water
Co., 99 Tenn. 420, 41 S.W. 1058 (1897); Trigg v. Middle
Tennessee Electric Membership Corp., 533 S.W.2d 730, 733
(Tenn. App. 1975), cert. den., March 15, 1976.

The Tennessee Supreme Court held in Crumley that
customers of the water company had a “present legal right’’ to
water service. 99 Tenn. at 427. The water company had
accepted Crumley’s note for his past due obligation for water
previously furnished. After a short period of not taking the

11

company’s water, Crumley requested resumption of water
Service and tendered the regular rates. The water company
refused to provide service until Crumley actually paid in full his
past due bill. The Tennessee Supreme Court held that the
company had breached its legal duty toward Crumley by refusing
to provide water since it already had accepted his credit for past
indebtedness. Jd. at 423. As the Court reasoned:

There are exceptions to the general rule that a person
engaged in business may, at his election, and without good
reason, refuse to deal with some other person. These
exceptions embrace . . . gas companies, electric light
companies, and water companies, and are based upon the
public nature of the business done by such persons. Being
engaged in public business under public grants, they are
charged with public duties.

Id. at 422-3.

Similarly, in Farmer v. Nashville, supra, a tenant brought suit
against the City of Nashville because of the latter’s refusal to
provide water service to his home. The city had terminated
service based on a previous tenant’s unpaid bill charged to the
owner. The city maintained that its by-law permitted termination
for non-payment of the water bill by the property owner to whom
the service was provided. The Tennessee Supreme Court,
however, finding for the tenant, held that the city utility was
“charged with the public duty of furnishing water to all the
inhabitants of the city,” 127 Tenn. at 515, and that its by-law
was “unjust, unreasonable, and unauthorized by...[its! charter,
and is therefore void.” Id. at 518. Accord, Watauga Water Co.
v. Wolfe, 99 Tenn. 428, 430-31, 41 S.W. 1060, 1061 (1897);
Trigg v. Middle Tennessee Electric Membership Corp., supra,
533 S.W.2d at 733.

Furthermore, Tennessee law provides that a utility, having
extended service to an area, has no right to withdraw service
from customers in that area on the ground that it had no
obligation to provide service in the first instance. Chandler Inv.
Co. v. Whitehaven Utility Dist. of Shelby County, 44 Tenn.
App. 1, 21, 311 S.W.2d 603, 612 (1957), cert. den., March 4,

12

1958. Thus, since utility service has been extended by
MLG&W, the Crafts have a legitimate claim of entitlement to
the service and it cannot be revoked arbitrarily.

MLG&W relies on Patterson v. City of Chattanooga, 192
Tenn. 267, 241 S.W.2d 291 (1951) to contend that it has no
legal duty to continue service to customers who do not pay the
full charges MLG&W claims is due. Petitioners’ Brief at 25.
They thus assert an unrestricted right to terminate service during
a dispute over a bill even where the customer makes good faith
efforts to both resolve the dispute and pay the undisputed portion
of the bill. Jd. at 29-31.

But Patterson does not support this contention. It held only,
and quite properly, that utility customers have no property nght
in continued utility service where there is an undisputed non-
payment of a prop<: bill and the utility has adopted reasonable
regulations permittiug termination in such circumstances. Pat-
terson v. City of Chattanooga, supra, 192 Tenn. at 276, 241
S.W.2d at 296. This holding is entirely consistent with Farmer,
Crumley and Trigg. Indeed, the Court in Patterson cites Farmer
with approval, Jd., and does not purport in any way to overrule
its seminal decision in Crumley.

As in Farmer, Crumley and unlike Patterson, this case does
not involve non-payment of an undisputed proper bill. The
Crafts’ water and other services were terminated because of a
bona fide, indeed valid, dispute and despite the Crafts’ good faith
efforts to resolve the dispute promptly. It is the common law of
Tennessee, as in other jurisdictions without exception, !0 that it
is unreasonable and unlawful for a utility to terminate service
where a bona fide dispute exists.

10 See, e.g., Mobile Electric Co. v. Nelson, 209 Ala. 554, 96 So. 713 (1923);
Steele v. Clinton Electric Light & Power Co., 123 Conn. 180, :93 A. 613
(1937); Winchester v. Kentucky Utilities Co., 182 Ky. 144, 206 S.W. 296
(1929); Mississippi Power Co. v. Cochran, 167 Miss. 705, 147 So. 473
(1933); Randolph v. St. Joseph Gas Co., 250 S.W. 642 (Mo. App. 1923);
Miller v. Roswell Gas & Electric Co., 22 N.M. 594, 166 P. 1177 (1917);
Amold v. Carolina Power & Light Co., 168 S.C. 163, 167 S.E. 234 (1933);
Southwestern Gas & Electric Co. v. Stanley, 123 Tex. 157, 70 S.W.2d 413
(1934); Annot., 112 A.L.R. 237 (1938).

13

A company supplying electricity to the public has the
right to cut off service to a customer for nonpayment of a
just service bill and the company may adopt a rule to that
effect. Annot. 112 A.L.R. 237 (1938). An exception to the
general rule exists when the customer has a bona fide
dispute concerning the correctness of the bill. Steele v.
Clinton Electric Light & Power Co., 123 Conn. 180, 193
A. 613, 615 (1937); Annot., 112 A.L.R. 237, 241 (1938);
see also 43 Am.Jur., Public Utilities and Services, Sec. 65;
Annot., 28 A.L.R. 475 (1924).

Trigg v. Middle Tenn. Electric Membership Corp., supra, 533
S.W.2d at 733.

Because of the utility’s natural monopoly and public duty, the
utility is so constrained even if it adopts a rule or regulation
permitting termination despite the dispute:

We are aware that defendant’s rules and regulations,
which plaintiffs agreed to obey, require payment whether or
not a bill is received by a customer. In our view however,
this rule does not resolve the conflict that arises when a
customer, who is willing to and does pay a certain portion of
the bill, disputes the amount due. A public utility should not
be able to coerce a customer to pay a disputed bill.
(emphasis added)

Id. See also Crumley v. Watauga Water Co., supra, 99 Tenn. at
427. Like the utility in Trigg, MLG&W’s regulation permitting
termination of service for non-payment does not “resolve the
conflict” in favor of MLG&W where there is a bona fide dispute.
Thus, under Tennessee law MLG&W is under a “legal duty”’ to
provide, and the Crafts have a “legal right” to receive, water and
other services. Farmer vy. Nashville, supra; Crumley v.
Watauga Water Co., supra.

The common law right to utility service particularly requires
due process protection because of the extent of the deprivation
involved. Whether the interest is protected from arbitrary
deprivation by the Due Process Clause depends generally on its
“nature” rather than “weight”, Board of Regents v. Roth, supra,
408 U.S. at 571, but the extent of deprivation also may be
relevant. See Morrissey v. Brewer, supra, 408 U.S. at 481

14

(“grievous loss” of parole revocation); cf Meachum v. Fano,
427 U.S. 215, 235 (1976) (Stevens, J., dissenting) (“grievous
loss”); Goss v. Lopez, supra, 419 U.S. at 742-3 (Powell, J.,
dissenting) (“serious or significant infringement’’).

Deprivation of water is deprivation of “‘an absolute necessity
of life”. Davis v. Weir, 328 F. Supp. 317, 321 (N.D. Ga. 1971),
aff'd, 497 F.2d 139 (Sth Cir. 1974). Particularly in urban areas,
such as where the Crafts reside in Memphis, water from the
utility is “indispensible to life and health”. Koger v. Guarino,
412 F. Supp. 1375, 1388 (E.D. Pa. 1976), affd on opinion
below, F.2d _____ (3rd Cir. 1977); see also Lamb vy.
Hamblin, 57 F.R.D. 58, 60 (D. Minn. 1972) and discussion at
18, infra. There are no alternatives in urban areas, as in rural
regions, of streams or lakes. !! Thus customers of MLG&W,
like the Crafts, are entirely dependent on the utility for life-
sustaining water. Termination of gas and electricity service in
conjunction with water termination may be even more grievous,
particularly in winter, when death by freezing can occur quickly.
See Stanford v. Gas Service Co., 346 F. Supp. 717 (D. Kan.
1972), and discussion at p. 19, infra.

In sum, the Crafts’ legal right under Tennessee law to receive
water, gas and electricity from MLG&W is a property interest
protected by the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment. Wolff v. McDonnell, supra; Morrissey v. Brewer,
supra; Perry v. Sindermann, supra; Bell v. Burson, supra.

~ While the digging of a well is not prohibited outright in Memphis, it is
subject to extensive regulations and procedures making it entirely infeasible for
an individual urban homeowner. See City of Memphis Code § 32-102 et. seq.

15

IL

RESPONDENTS ARE ENTITLED TO
ADEQUATE NOTICE AND HEARING
PRIOR TO BEING DEPRIVED OF THEIR
PROTECTED INTEREST IN WATER, GAS
AND ELECTRICITY SERVICE.

Since the Crafts possess a protected property interest in
continued water, gas and electricity service, their utility service
cannot be terminated by MLG&W without due process of law.
See, Mathews v. Eldridge, supra; Wolff v. McDonnell, supra;
North Georgia Finishing Co. v. Di-Chem, Inc., supra; Perry v.
Sindermann, supra. However, “the question remains what
process is due’. Morrissey v. Brewer, supra, 408 U.S. at 481.

Although “‘[d]ue process is perhaps the least frozen concept in
our law,” Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S. 12, 20-21 (1955)
(Frankfurter, J., concurring), this Court consistently has held that
adequate process encompasses at a minimum the right to notice
and an opportunity to be heard, Mullane v. Central Hanover
Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 313 (1960), and that these
rights “‘must be granted at a meaningful time and in a meaningful
manner.” Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 552 (1965).

A.MLG& W’s Notice Is Not Reasonably Calculated To
— A Customer Of The Method For Disputing A
ill. -

The notice used by MLG&W is constitutionally defective
because it fails to adequately inform customers how they can
dispute a bill. This Court has said:

An elementary and fundamental! requirement of due process
in any proceeding which is to be accorded finality is notice
reasonably calculated, under all the circumstances, to
apprise interested parties of the pendency of the action and
afforded them an opportunity to present their objections.

i6

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., supra, 339
U.S. at 314.

The computer notice sent to the Crafts was not reasonably
calculated to inform them of how to present their objection.
Designed solely to aid those unable to pay their bill, the notice fails
to mention any possible procedures for dispute resolution.
Accompanying the notice is one of two flyers. The first flyer, sent
to 40% of all customers sent final notice, also fails to mention any
procedures for dispute resolution. The second flyer, sent to
customers in only some areas, may refer to a procedure for
resolving a dispute, '? but the Court of Appeals refused to find that
the Crafts were sent this flyer. Craft v. Memphis Light, Gas &
Water Division, supra, 534 F.2d at 688 n.4. As the Court of
Appeals found in summing up the inadequacies of MLG&W’s
notice procedure:

Constitutionally sufficient ‘shut-off notice . . . [must]
provide the customer with the information he needs to
quickly and intelligently take available steps to prevent the
threatened termination of service.’ [Palmer v. Columbia
Gas, 479 F.2d 153, 166 (6th Cir. 1973)]. Yet the MLG& W
“final notice” no better informs customers, like the Crafts,
who dispute the underlying liability than the constitutionally
deficient notice in Palmer. Like the Columbia Gas notice
therein, the MLG&W notice fails to mention “that a dispute
concerning the amount due might be resolved through
discussion with representatives of the company.” Nor did the
notice, at least prior to the opinion of the district court, inform
the customer that “‘[c]redit [c]ounselors are available to clear
up any questions, [to] discuss disputed bills or to make any
needed adjustments.” [Citation and footnote omitted.] Like
the Columbia Gas notice, the MLG&W notice only warns
the customer to pay or face termination. See Davis v. Weir,
359 F. Supp. 1023, 1026 (N.D.Ga. 1973); Bronson, supra,
350 F. Supp. at 450.

Id., at 687-89.

"MLG&W changed its notice in response to a suggestion by the District
Court. However, the amended notice fails to make any reference to procedures
for resolving a dispute. See Craft v. MLG&W, supra, 534 F.2d at 688 n.5.

"See footnote 7, supra.

17

The procedures followed by MLG&W’s service personnel
actually effecting the termination are also completely inadequate
for customers with disputed bills. MLG&W’s witness testified
that service personnel are instructed to “‘attempt” a personal
contact prior to termination by knocking on the customer’s door.
(A. 112). But as “se District Court found, the Crafts never
received such personal notice, (App. B. to Petition for Certiorari,
38), and in fact such attempts are unsuccessful nearly one half the
time. (A. 191). Even if personal contact were made, service
personnel are authorized to postpone the termination only if there
is an illness in the family or if the customer states that full payment
is in the mail. (A. 112). They have no authority to postpone where
a customer, like the Crafts, contests a bill. Craft v. MLG&W,
supra, 534 F.2d at 689.

In sum, MLG&W relies on three inadequate procedures to
satisfy the notice requirement of due process: (1) a final notice
that contains no indication of how a miscalculated bill might be
questioned, challenged and corrected; (2) a reference to a
procedure for dispute resolution contained in a “flyer” sent to
customers in only some geographic areas but not sent to the Crafts;
and (3) the possibility of personal contact by service personnel
who cannot postpone termination for persons, like the Crafts,
disputing a bill.

While these procedures may be adequate constitutionally for
those unable to pay their bill, that issue is not before this Court.
The issue here is whether the notice was reasonably calculated to
inform the Crafts of the procedures for disputing a bill. The
procedures are wholly inadequate for this purpose.

B. The Complete Lack of Hearing Procedures For The
Resolution of Disputes Violates Due Process

The procedural due process decisions of this Court have
“consistently held that some kind of hearing is required at some
time before a person is finally deprived of his property interests.”
Wolff v. McDonnell, supra, 418 U.S. at 557-558 (emphasis

18

added). E.g., Smith v. Organization of Foster Families,
U.S.— ,45 U.S.L.W. 4638, 4646 (June 13, 1977); Mathews v.
Eldridge, supra, 424 U.S. at 333; North Georgia Finishing Co. v.
Di-Chem, Inc., supra, 419 U.S. at 606; Goss v. Lopez, supra,
419 U.S. at 578; Board of Regents v. Roth, supra, 408 U.S. at
568-70; Bell v. Burson, supra, 402 U.S. at 542; Wisconsin v.
Constantineau, supra, 400 U.S. at 437.

Neither MLG&W nor any administrative agency has any
hearing procedures for the resolution of customer disputes, either
before or after termination. In fact, MLG&W’s Secretary-
Treasurer was reluctant to admit that a customer could ever have a
bona fide dispute. Craft v. MLG&W, supra, 534 F.2d at 689 &
n.7. The Crafts were terminated on a least five separate occasions.
Yet, they were forced to bring this action to ascertain the reasons
for termination. Mary Craft lost at least five full days from work to
go to MLG&W’s office in a vain effort to learn why her family was
left without water and other services. (A. 93).

This is not a case where extensive procedures are provided but
the time or sufficiency of the hearing procedures is in issue.
Compare with Smith v. Organization of Foster Families, supra,
45 U.S.L.W. at 4639-42 (extensive statutory procedures); Dixon
v. Love, supra, 45 U.S.L.W. at 4448-49 (full post-deprivation
hearing on license suspension plus full judicial hearing on each
conviction); Mathews v. Eldridge, supra, 424 U.S. at 335-40
(““elaborate”’ post-termination proceedings).

Rather this case involves a complete lack of hearing procedures
for resolving disputes. This case, therefore, is similar to other
decisions of this Court where the absence of any hearing procedure
was found to be violative of procedural due process. See, e.g.,
Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S.
123, 149 (1951) (Frankfurter, J., concurring) and cases cited
therein; Perry v. Sindermann, supra; Morrissey v. Brewer, supra.

MLG&W cites its procedure for arranging extended payment
as proof of adequate hearing procedures. The extended payment
plan, however, is not meaningful to customers, like the Crafts, who
are ready and willing to pay what they actually owe, but dispute
the amount of the bills. As the Court of Appeals found, the

19

extended payment plan “provides no avenue for customers
who . . . dispute the existence of the liability.” Craft v. MLG& W,
supra, 534 F.2d at 689.

C.Analysis of the Competing Interests Requires a

Meaningful Hearing Prior to Termination of
Service.

Recently, this Court has articulated a standard for considering
the pertinent interests to determine the type and nature of a hearing

required by due process. In Mathews v. Eldridge, the Court
stated:

{O]jur prior decisions indicate that identification of the
specific dictates of due process generally requires
consideration of three distinct factors: first, the private
interest that will be affected by the official action; second, the
risk of an erroneous deprivation of such interest through the
procedures used, and the probable value, if any, of auditional
or substitute procedural safeguards; and finally, the
Government’s interest, including the function involved and
the fiscal and administrative burdens that the additional or
substitute procedural requirement would entail.

424 U.S. at 334-5; see Smith v. Organization of Foster Families
for Equality and Reform, supra, 45 U.S.L.W. at 4646; Dixon v.
Love, supra, 45 U.S.L.W. at 4449; Ingraham vy. Wright, ___
U.S. ___., 97 S. Ct. 1401, 1414-15 (1977); see also Goss v.
Lopez, supra, 419 U.S. at 579.

Analysis of these three factors shows that the Crafts have
suffered a grievous deprivation; the risk of erroneous deprivation is
substantial; and MLG&W and the City of Memphis will suffer
little harm and actually may benefit from imposition of hearing
requirements.

20

1. Deprivation of Water, Gas and Electricity Service is
Severe.

Water is an absolute necessity of life. Koger v. Guarino, supra;
Davis v. Weir, supra. It is necessary for nourishment, personal
hygiene and sewage disposal. A home without access to water is
unfit for human habitation. See City of Memphis Code §51-111
et. seq. The absence of water can cause disease and death and is a
clear public safety hazard. As one district court observed:
“Termination of water service inflicts hardships on the consumer
that transcend the deprivation of other protected interests”. Lamb
v. Hamblin, supra, 57 F.R.D. at 61.

While water is unique for human life, the loss of electricity and
gas also can threaten life, health and safety. Early found to be a
“indispensible necessity of life,” Jones v. Portland, 245 U.S. 217,
223 (1917), electricity runs oil and coal burners, refrigerates food,
and lights homes. Termination of electricity can shut off home life
support systems. '* Elderly people have died when their furnaces
could not function for lack of electricity. See, e.g., Grand Jury
Report Pursuant to Section 190.85 of the Criminal Procedure
Law of the State of New York (Schenectedy Cty., N.Y. June 21,
1974).

Gas similarly is used for heat in many homes, and its absence
can be threatening to life. As one court noted in comparing loss of
gas with loss of welfare benefits: “A person can freeze to death or
die of pneumonia much more quickly than he can starve to death.”
Palmer v. Columbia Gas Co., 342 F. Supp. 241, 244 (N.D.Ohio
1972), aff'd, 479 F.2d 153 (6th Cir. 1973). See also Stanford v.
Gas Service Co., supra, 346 F. Supp. at 719-20 (gas for heating is
“necessary to sustain life’’); Re Transcontinental Gas Pipeline,
16 P.U.R.4th 423, 451 (F.P.C. 1976) (mandatory cessation of

‘*A case documented in the Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities
involves a child whose life depended on an electric breathing system. Her mother
allegedly owed an electric bill. With knowledge of the situation, the company
attempted termination. Fortunately for the child, termination mistakenly was
effected of her aunt's electric service. Re Mary Silva (Mass. D.P.U. Oct. 1976).

21

gas service held unacceptable because of “potential dangers . . . of
human suffering”).

Thus, the cumulative consequences of water, gas and electricity
termination are potentially catastrophic, depriving the customer of
“‘the very means by which to live.” Goldberg v. Kelly, supra, 397
U.S. at 264. It constitutes a deprivation far more serious and
immediate than the loss of welfare benefits, Jd.; wages, Sniadach
v. Family Finance Co., 395 U.S. 337 (1969); driver’s license,
Bell v. Burson, supra; possession of personal property, North
Georgia Finishing Co. v. Di-Chem, Inc., supra; and the monetary
loss resulting from paying higher wages, Opp Cotton Mills v.
Administrator, 312 U.S. 126 (1940), all of which require
substantial procedural protections.

The power to terminate water and other vital services is the
power to coerce. See Crumley v. Watauga Water Co., supra, 99
Tenn. at 427, 41 S.W. at 1060; Trigg v. Middle Tenn. Electric
Membership Corp., supra, 533 S.W.2d at 733. Procedural
protections for Memphis residents, like the Crafts, are essential to
shielcé them from the severe consequences of arbitrary government
termination of vital services.

2. The Risk Of Erroneous Deprivation Is Substantial And
Procedurai Safeguards Will Avoid Unwarranted Injury.

In large governmental entities like MLG&W, the problem of
computer and human error is significant. MLG&W, involved in
multitudinous transactions with the public, bills hundreds of
thousands of customers monthly by computer. (A. 73). Computer
transactions now affect the individual in most aspects of daily life.
See, e.g., Senate Committee on Government Operations, Staff
Study on Computer Security in Federal Programs, 95th Cong..
1st Sess. 5-6 (1977) (computers used pervasively in government);
Electronic Funds Transfer Systems: A Symposium, 25 Cath.
U.L. Rev. 687 (1976) (financial matters); Medical Data Privacy:
Automated Interference With Contractual Relations, 25 Buff. L.
Rev. 491 (1976) (medical profession); Law and Technology

22

Symposium, 52 Chi-Kent L. Rev. 545 (1976) (legal profession);
see generally Index and Tenth Selected Bibliography On
Computers and the Law, 5 Rutg. J. Computers & Law 505
(1976). While computers clearly benefit all by magnifying
capabilities, they also magnify mistakes. “Computer error’’ is
fearsome and has prompted considerable response, including
comprehensive legislation, see Fair Credit Billing Act, 15 U.S.C.
§ §1661, et seq., and a voluminous report by a national
commission. See National Commission on Electronic Fund
Transfers, EFT and the Public Interest (1977). The legislative
history to the Fair Credit Billing Act, describing the dangers of
computer error, cites a Minneapolis study that found that one of
three Minneapolis residents had been subjected to “computer
error”. S. Rep. No. 93-278, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. 5 (1973). AU.S.
Senate study found federal government computer errors of
“hundreds of millions of dollars a year’, Senate Committee on
Government Operations, Problems Associated With Computer
Technology in Federal Programs and Private Industry:
Computer Abuses, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 50 (1976), and cited, for
example, a 24% error rate in SSI computer checks in 1975, Id. at
425, an allegedly erroneous election result caused by “computer
error’, Jd. at 433, and various natural occurrences and man-made
problems affecting computer reliability. Jd. at 427 (“Error is a
Terror’).

The incidence of computer error by utilities brought several
federal courts to comment on the “Orwellian nightmare of
computer control which breaks down through mechanical and
prog:ammers’ failures and errors’. Bronson v. Consolidated
Edison Co. of New York, 350 F. Supp. 443, 444 (S.D.N.Y.
1972); see also Palmer v. Columbia Gas, supra, 479 F.2d at 158.
The risk of error by computer is substantial, not because of its
inherent unreliability, but because of the ease of replicating one
error a thousandfold and the difficulty of resolving a problem with
an impersonal machine.

The reported utility cases reveal a variety of both computer and
human errors. Examples include improper late billing, Trigg v.
Tennessee Electric Membership Corp., supra; billing one person

23

for the utility use of another, Palmer v. Columbia Gas, supra;
billing the tenant for the landlord’s bill, Davis v. Weir, 497 F.2d
139 (Sth Cir. 1974); Koger v. Guarino, supra; refusing to
investigate gas leaks until large bills result, Palmer, supra; failure
to investigate excessive use of utilities resulting from the landlord’s
theft of utility services, Bronson, supra; Palmer, supra; and the
instant case of double billings.

These reported cases do not represent isolated mistakes. For
example, in Bronson, supra, the court noted that the New York
Public Service Commission had found that 16% of all complaints
investigated resulted in adjustments in favor of the customer. 350
F. Supp. at 448 n.1’ The magnitude of such utility errors
undoubtedly has ptovided impetus for many states and
municipalities to adopt regulations such as those noted in
Appendix A to this brief.

Furthermore, computer and human error are not the only
reasons ior imposing procedural requirements on MLG&W. "
MLG&W has exhibited a callous, injurious attitude toward their
customers, exemplified by the Crafts’ experience. Although the
District Court found that the Crafts had a valid dispute with
MLG&W and made good faith efforts to resolve the problem,
Mrs. Craft was cursed by an MLG& W employee, told to pay her
bill twice, and was refused the names of any supervisors to contact
to discuss the dispute. (A. 97, 103-4).

The high incidence of error and the callous attitude of some
MLG&W employees demonstrate the need for notice and prior
hearing to resolve disputes. Such procedural safeguards are
necessary to provide customers with protection against unwar-
ranted terminations based solely upon computer determinations.

'*In addition to the specific erroneous charges found by the District Court in
the Crafts’ case, there are at least two other issues not discussed. One related to
the “‘net-gross”’ billing which is found in the form reprinted in the decision below
as Exhibit 7,534 F.2d at 688. Where a disputed bill is carried forward into a new
billing period, the Crafts would always be paying the “gross” amount which
includes a late payment penalty. Also, if the Crafts were billed erroneously as if
they were two customers instead of one, they would fail to get any quantity
discount which MLG&W provided.

24

3. The Administrative Burden of Additional Termination
Procedures is Minimal, and Memphis Has An Interest In
Avoiding Erroneous Terminations.

Numerous states and municipalities have adopted customer
service regulations '° providing substantial procedural safeguards
prior to termination. As described in Appendix A to this brief,
Public Utility Commissions in 15 states'’ have adopted
regulations with substantial provisions for notice and hearings
before utility termination. Such regulations typically require
notice periods of several days; notice of procedural rights,
including prior hearing rights; access to company records; an
impartial oral hearing of some kind; and a written decision. Some
regulations place the emphasis on hearings within the utilities
while others place this responsibility in the regulatory
commissions. In all cases there is the ultimate possibility of a full
evidentiary hearing before an impartial regulatory body. This is in
sharp contrast to MLG&W procedures which provide no hearing
rights, either before or after termination.

The adoption and continued viability of these regulations
demonstrate that minimum procedures are not at all burdensome.
For example, although Michigan has one of the most
comprehensive customer service regulations, a recent report by
the Michigan Public Service Commission found that the

‘The term “customer service regulations” describes both utility and
regulatory practices relating to termination, security depasits, metering, billing,
and late payment charges.

"Connecticut, Indiana, Massachusetts, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota,
Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, South
Carolina, Vermont, Washington, and Wisconsin. Fairbanks, Alaska recently
adopted extensive regulations. Fairbanks Ordinance No. 3576 (1977). In
addition, various municipalities have adopted regulations by consent decree See
McMormick vy. Dept. of Water, Civ. No. C 73-797-4 (N.D. Ohio 1974);
Colgrove v. Cleveland Dept. of Public Utilities, Civ. No. 74-1007 (N.D. Ohio
1974); Mathiew v. Brehm, Civ. No. 74-1521 (E.D. La. 1974); Allen v. Dept. of
Public Utilities, Civ. No. 403-72-R (E.D. Va. 1973); Wilkerson v. City of
Jacksonville, CCH Pov. L. Rep. 917,442 (M.D. Fla. 1973); Babcock v.
Schaffhauser, Civ. No. 15,300 (D. Conn. 1972), as amended 1976).

25

regulations have been a nominal burden on utility companies and
have had no impact on bad debt. The key findings of the report are:

[I]mplementation of the Consumer Standards and Billing
Practices has been beneficial to utility customers in the state
of Michigan in that they have afforded both the customer and
the utility a better understanding of each other and a
tolerance for each other’s problems.

The following specific conclusions were drawn:

1. The combined total costs for implementation (as
opposed to recurring expenses) of the Billing Practices Rules
could not be accurately estimated. . . . If total expenses of
implementation were $5 million, the cost would be
approximately $1 per customer. . . . The recurring costs
associated with the Billing Practices Rules are believed to be
negligible.

2. The Billing Practices had no appreciable negative
influence on uncollectable expense and bad debt estimates
in spite of the fact that some companies routinely failed to
collect accounts within the time frames permitted by the
rules, that Michigan’s economy was depressed during the
period covered by this study and that deposits were virtually
eliminated by the Billing Practices Rules.

3. The minimum standards in the Billing Practices are
being implemented by all companies. Several companies
allow customers more time to pay their bills than is required
by the Billing Practices Rules.

4. The mecical emergency provision has been invoked on
very few occasions. Company apprehensions of misuse of
this provision have proven groundless.

5. The most difficult area for transition was the hearings
and appeals provision. Subsequent to implementation of the
Billing Practices, the utilities experienced costs and
personnel requirements that have been far less than
projected levels.

6. Continuing costs associated with administration of the
rules are less than anticipated. (emphasis added)

Report of the Public Services Commission on the Utility
Company Survey of Consumer Standards and Billing Practices
of Electrical and Gas Residential Service (Nov. 29, 1976) at 1-2.

26

One obvious reason for the negligible costs of such regulations is
that the hearing usually will not involve witnesses or evidence
other than the utility’s records and the customer’s wn story.
Billing disputes typically do not require expert testimony, difficult
judgments on fault, misconduct or motive, or any balancing of
interests.

Nor does the government have a strong interest in immediate
termination. In fact, the government’s interest coincides with the
Crafts’ and other MLG&W customers’ in avoiding erroneous
deprivation.

MLG&W cites its fiscal obligation to all Memphis citizens to
justify the lack of procedural protections. However, the possibly
delayed payment'* is not non-payment, particularly since the
customer must pay all past and current undisputed charges or face
the effective coercion of immediate termination. (A. 76). See
Trigg v. Middle Tenn. Electric Membership Corp., supra;
Crumley v. Watauga Water Co., supra. As the Michigan Public
Service Commission report, supra, documents, even extensive
regulations have “no appreciable negative influence on
uncollectable expense and bad debt statements”’. Significantly,
MLG&W can recover any losses occasioned by delayed payment
through the imposition of late charges (A. 114, 117), application
of the deposit (A. 117), or by filing suit.

Fiscal integrity obviously is important for a utility; yet
MLG&W cannot cite any evidence that procedural protections
may impair its ability to collect proper bills or have any significant
effect on its financial resources. Indeed, the only evidence is to the
contrary. See Report of the |Michigan| Public Services
Commission, etc., supra. This minimal government interest is
contrasted with the strong state interest of removing dangerous
drivers from the highways, Dixon v. Love, supra, or protecting the

'SIt is questionable whether any additional delay need result from adoption of
procedural protections. Petitioners’ regulations currently provide a delay of at
least thirty days from billing to termination for non-payment. See Petitioners’
Brief at 28. Notice and hearing within this period will occasion no further delay.

27

interests of foster children, Smith v. Organization of Foster

_ Families, supra.

Indeed, termination regulations way well enhance MLG& W’s
financial situation. The Pennsylvania Public Utilities Com-
mission, in proposing extensive new regulations, stated:

It is anticipated that by implementing these regulations the

Commission will be able to deal more expeditiously with

consumer complaints, and in the long run, reduce ad-
ministrative and carrying costs for affected utilities.

Proposed Standards and Billing Practices for Residential Utility
Service, 6 Pa. Bull. 2989, Docket No. 76-PRMD-10 (Dec. 4,
1976). In addition, the City of Memphis has a clear interest in
avoiding erroneous terminations which may precipitate public
health problems from lack of water or illness and death from lack
of heat. See City of Memphis Code §51-111, et seq.

Based on the severe deprivation, high risk of error, and absence
of strong governmental interest, the Crafts are entitled to adequate
notice and a meaningful hearing before an impartial decision-
maker prior to termination of service. They do not seek the full
panoply of rights provided by public utility commissions in
numerous states, see App. A to this brief, but only those rights
necessary to prevent egregious and harmful error. All federal
district courts and courts of appeal finding a protected property
interest in utility service are in agreement on the minimum due
process requirements of adequate notice and hearing prior to
termination. See Craft v. MLG& W, supra; Palmer v. Columbia
Gas Co., supra; Koger v. Guarino, supra; Davis v. Weir, supra;
Dawes v. Philadelphia Gas Works, 421 F. Supp. 806 (E.D. Pa.
1976); Donnelly v. City of Eureka, 399 F. Supp. 64 (D. Kan.
1975); Condosta v. Vermont Elec. Cooperative, 400 F. Supp.
358 (D. Vt. 1975); Cottrell v. Virginia Elec. & Power Co., 62
F.R.D.516(E.D. Va. 1974); Limuel v. Southern Union Gas Co.,
378 F. Supp. 964 (W.D. Tex. 1974); Hattell v. Public Service
Co., 350 F. Supp. 240 (D. Colo. 1972); Bronson v. Consolidated
Edison Co. af New York, supra; Lamb v. Hamblin, supra;
Stanford v. Gas Service Co., supra; but cf Jackson v.
Metropolitan Edison Co., 483 F.2d 754 (3rd Cir. 1973), aff'd,

28

419 U.S. 345 (1974) (dicta, no state action); Lucas v. Wisconsin
Elec. Power [o., 466 F.2d 638 (7th Cir. 1972), cert. den., 409
U.S. 1114 (1973) (same).

MLG&W would have the Court disregard the traditional prior
notice and hearing rule. Without any balancing of the interests
articulated in Mathews v. Eldridge, supra, MLG&W suggests
that the “common law remedies” of injunction prior to
termination, suit for damages for wrongful termination, and
payment under protest are sufficient to satisfy due process.

The common law remedies can be constitutionally adequate in
certain specific contexts, such as where strong historical and
institutional considerations weigh heavily compared to a minor
private interest and a small risk of error. For example, in
Ingraham v. Wright, supra, an action challenging public school
corporal punishment, this Court noted that corporal punishment of
public school children was “rooted in history”, Jd. at 1418, and
critical to maintaining the discipline and order necessary for
proper functioning of the institution. Jd. at 1418; see also Taylor v.
Hayes, 418 U.S. 488 (1974) (trial court may punish
contemptuous conduct without notice and hearing wheie
necessary to maintain order). For these reasons, and because the
risk of erroneous deprivation was slight, Ingraham v. Wright,
supra, 97 S. Ct. at 1418, the Court was reluctant to become
immersed in the daily operation of the public schools or interfere
with the necessarily broad discretionary authority vested in local
school officials. Jd. at 1418; see also Tinker v. Des Moines
School Dist., 393 U.S. 503, 507 (1969); cf Goss v. Lopez, supra,
419 U.S. at 589-91 (Powell, J., dissenting). '°

In contrast, utilities are natural monopolies with public duties
and are subjected to extensive control and regulation intended to
protect the public from the arbitrary exercise of monopoly

'’The Court's reluctance to substitute its judgment for that of local school
officials is similar to its reluctance to interfere in the daily operation of a prison.
See Meachum v. Fano, 427 U.S. 215 (1976).

29 |

power. *”° See, e.g., F.P.C. v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S. 591

_ (1943). Because the relationship between a utility and its

customers is not one of continuing personal supervision, courts
have not hesitated to decide issues affecting internal utility
management. See, e.g., F.P.C. v. United Gas Pipeline Co., 386
U.S. 237 (1967) (accounting methods for rate determination);
United States v. New Orleans Public Service, Inc., 553 F.2d 459
(Sth Cir. 1977) (utility’s monopoly status permits imposition of
Executive Order No. 11246 requiring equal opportunity
obligation and permitting inspection of books, even absent
consent). In particular, this Court increasingly has become active
in curbing the abuse of the monopoly position by public utilities.
See Cantor v. Detroit Edison Co., 428 U.S. 579 (1976); Otter
Tail Power Co. v. United States, 410 U.S. 366 (1972).

The “common law remedies” also may be adequate con-
stitutionally where the deprivation is not as severe as termination
of water, gas and electricity, the remedies supplement existing
administrative procedures, and the party is not entirely
government owned. Cf Lucas v. Wisconsin Electric Power Co.,
supra, a pre-Eldridge case not involving a balancing of interests,
where a privately owned electric utility was regulated by the state
public utility commission with its own complaint resolution
procedures.

Here, however, MLG&W is a municipally-owned utility
providing life-sustaining utility service to Memphis residents, has
no hearing procedure either prior to or after termination, is not
subject to regulation by, or hearing procedures of, a public utility

°In general, the Court has indicated more process is due where, as in this case,
the state has a monopoly in the services it renders. Compare Boddie v.
Connecticut, 408 U.S. 371 (1971) (filing fee requirement for divorce violated
due process for indigents where state monopolizes means for legally dissolving
marriages) with United States v. Kras, 409 U.S. 434, 443-446 (1973) (filing fee
requirement for bankruptcy petition not violative of due process since debtor has
alternatives) and Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656, 659-660 (1973) (no due
process violation for filing fee in appeal from adverse welfare decision since
welfare recipient had hearing not conditioned on payment of fee).

30

commission to review its excesses, has no procedure for
minimizing computer billing errors, and has only a minimal
interest in prompt payment.

Furthermore, the purported ““common law remedies” cited by
MLG&W are not adequate in Tennessee. The Tennessee courts
consistently have held that a utility customer may not be required
to pay a disputed bill as a condition of continued service. Crumley
v. Watauga Water Co., supra; Trigg v. Middle Tenn. Electric
Membership Corp., supra. Thus, payment under protest is
considered an inadequate remedy under Tennessee law. Nor can
suit for damages for wrongful termination be considered adequate
for residential termination, because the danger to health cannot be
evaluated monetarily. See Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 647
(1972) (custody proceedings violated equal protection for unwed
father even though custody could have been regained later by
adoption); compare with North Georgia Finishing Co. v. Di-
Chem, Inc., supra; Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972), and
Sniadach v. Family Finance Co., supra (although deprivation of
money and personal property is susceptible to monetary
evaluation and suit for conversion was available, procedures
violated due process). Similarly, this Court consistently has held
procedures violative of due process despite the apparent
availability of injunctive relief. See, e.g., North Georgia Finishing
Co. v. Di-Chem, Inc., supra; Perry v. Sindermann, supra; Bell v.
Burson, supra; Goldberg v. Kelly, supra.

Thus, the Crafts submit that the following procedures are the
minimum required by due process. The notice should fully and
clearly apprise the customer of the utility’s proposed action and
the reason therefor, the procedures available to the customer to
dispute the bill, and the time in which the customer must act to
‘ avoid termination. See Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank &
Trust Co., supra, 339 U.S. at 306. Also, to be meaningful the
notice must permit adequate time for the customer to investigate
and respond. /d.

A customer disputing the bill should be allowed a reasonable
time to contact MLG& W about the matter. During this time, his
utilities should not be terminated, and if contact is made within this

a ee ee cornet Ce

31

period, and the dispute not resolved, utility services should be
continued pending resolution of the dispute. If the customer does
not contact MLG&W during this reasonable period, his utilities
may be terminated without further notice.

After notice, if the dispute is not resolved in an initial meeting
with an MLG&W supervisor, such as the Superintendent of
Credit and Collections, the Supervisor of Credit and Collections,
or the Chief Clerk of the Credit Department, a hearing of some
kind is necessary. The hearing, to be “meaningful”, Armstrong v.
Manzo, supra, should have three basic requirements in the utility
context: 1) an impartial decision maker, 2) the opportunity to
present information and rebut the records presented; and 3) a
written decision.

While the impartial decision maker may be an employee of the
City of Memphis or an independent third party, the decision maker
must be truly independent and have sufficient authority to resolve
the dispute in the customer’s favor. The decision maker’s
independence and authority are particularly important since there
is no statute or regulation under Tennessee law authorizing an
appeal.

The actual “hearing” could be informal. However, it must
provide the customer the opportunity to present information in
support of his position. As stated by the Court in Londoner v.
Denver, 210 U.S. 373, 386 (1908), a case involving the due
process requirements for municipal tax assessments, “‘a hearing,
in its very essence, demands that he who is entitled to it shall have
the right to support his allegations by argument, however brief;
and, if need be, by proof, however informal.”

The opportunity to rebut MLG&W’s records is particularly
necessary since a computer makes the determination. These
records must be presented to the decision maker and also made
available to the customer in an intelligible form. Otherwise, the
customer will have no meaningful way of disputing the computer’s
conclusion or knowing its calculations.

Finally, a written decision is important to avoid subsequent
disputes based on the same errors. The “decision” may be merely
a brief written notice of decision, but it should specifically address
the substance of the dispute.

32
CONCLUSION

Respondents respectfully request that this Court affirm the
decision of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit and hold that
Respondents’ interest in water, gas and electricity service from
Petitioners is protected by the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment.

Respondents further request that this Court find Petitioners’
procedures for resolving disputes insufficient to satisfy due
process. Respondents suggest that the minimum elements of due
process include adequate notice and a meaningful hearing before
an impartial decision-maker prior to termination, the opportunity
to present information and rebut the records presented, and a
written decision.

Respectfully submited,

THOMAS M. DANIEL
Memphis & Shelby County
Legal Services Association
325 Dermon Building
46 North Third Street

On The Brief: Memphis, Tennessee 38103
RICHARD H. ALPERT Counsel for Respondents
ALAN DAVIS
ELLIOT TAUBMAN
National Consumer Law Center,
Inc.

11 Beacon Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

BRUCE MAYOR
Neighborhood Legal Services
524 Albany Avenue
Hartford, Connecticut 06112

~ ll

APPENDIX A

ANALYSIS OF TERMINATION REGULATIONS

BY STATE

L UTILITIES MAY NOT TERMINATE WHILE
COMPLAINT IS PENDING BEFORE THE UTILITY
OR THE STATE REGULATORY AGENCY

State

Connecticut
Illinois
Indiana
Maine
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri

New Hampshire
New Jersey
New York

Rhode Island
Washington

Wisconsin

Regulation

P.U.C. §16-3-100(B)(3)(b)
LC.C. §16

P.S.C. Rule 16.1(C)(1)
P.U.C. §6(A)

D.P.U. §2-1

P.S.C.R. 460.2164(y)
P.S.C. §303(d); §298(b)(4)
P.S.C. Rule 40(d)

Rev. Stat. Ann. 363-B:2 II
N.J.A.C. 14:407-2f
Electric-P.S.C. § 143.8(a)
Gas-P.S.C. §275.8(a)
Water-P.S.C. §531.8(a)
P.U.C. §6

W.A.C. 480-100-07 1(2)(g)(4)
P.S.C. 113-132(1)(c)

Il. NOTICE OF TERMINATION MUST INCLUDE:
A. Statement of Right of Informal Review with Utility

Illinois

Indiana*
Michigan

New Hampshire
New Jersey

L.C.C. Appendix II
P.S.C. Rule 16.2
P.S.C.R. 460.2164(f)
Rev. Stat. Ann. 363-B:1 I
N.J.A.C. 14:3-7.12(2)

*Incorporated in Stateme . of Customer Rights

2a
State Regulation
New York Electric-P.S.C. §143.3(iv)

Gas-P.S.C. §275.2(iv)
Water-P.S.C. §531.2(iv)

Rhode Island P.U.C. §4(c)(4)

Washington W.A.C. 480-100-071(2)(b)

B. Right to Request Hearing with State Regulatory Agency
Indiana* P.S.C. Rule 16.2

Massachusetts D.P.U. §2.3

Maine P.U.C. §3(E)

Michigan P.S.C.R. 460.2164(f)

New Hampshire _ Rev. Stat. Ann. 363-B:1 I

New Jersey N.J.A.C. 14:3-7.12(1)

Rhode Island . P.U.C. §4
C. Statement of Action Needed to Avoid Termination

Illinois LC.C. §15

Indiana P.S.C. Rule 16(E\{2)
Maine P.U.C. §3(B)
Massachusetts D.P.U. §2.3

Michigan P.S.C.R. 460.2164
Minnesota P.S.C. 300(e)

Missouri P.S.C. Rule 35

New Hampshire _ Rev. Stat. Ann. 363-B:1 I
New York Electricity-P.S.C. § 143.2

Gas-P.S.C. §275.2
Water-P.S.C. §531.2

Rhode Island P.U.C. §4(c)(2).
Washington W.A.C. 480-100-071(2)(b)
Wisconsin P.S.C. 113-132(9\(c)

*Incorporated in Statement of Customer Rights

3a
State Regulation
D. Statement That Service May Not Be Terminated Pending
Resolution of Dispute
Indiana* P.S.C. Rule 16.2
Connecticut* P.U.C. 16-3-100(c)(1)
Maire P.U.C. §3(E\(vi)
Massachusetts* D.P.U. §2.3
Michigan P.S.C.R. 460.2164(h)
Minnesota* P.U.C. 16-3-100(c)(1)

New Hampshire* Rev. Stat. Ann. 363-B:1 I
Il. UTILITY MUST INVESTIGATE AND ATTEMPT

TO RESOLVE DISPUTE
Connecticut P.U.C. 16-3-100(c)(4)
Illinois LC.C. §15
Indiana P.S.C. Rule 16.1(A)(2)
Maine P.U.C. §6(A)
Massachusetts D.P.U. §2.4(1)
Michigan P.S.C.R. 460.2142
Minnesota P.S.C. 303(a)

Missouri P.S.C. Rule 25(a), 26, 40
New Hampshire _ Rev. Stat. Ann. 363-B:2:I
New Jersey N.J.A.C. 14:407-2f

New York Electric-P.S.C. § 143.8(a)

Gas-P.S.C. §275.8(a)
Water-P.S.C. §531.8(a)

Rhode Island P.U.C. §5(a)
Washington W.A.C. 480-100-096(1)
Wisconsin P.S.C. 113.132(1)(c)

IV. PENDING RESOLUTION OF DISPUTE UTILITY
MUST INFORM CUSTOMER OF RIGHT TO
APPEAL TO STATE REGULATORY AGENCY

Connecticut P.U.C. 16-3-100(c)(4)
Illinois LC.C. §20

*Incorporated in Statement of Customer Rights

4a

State Regulation

Indiana P.S.C. Rule 16.1(A)(3)
Maine P.U.C. §6(B)
Massachusetts D.P.U. §2.4(1)

Michigan P.S.C.R. 460.2169(8)(a)
New Hampshire _ Rev. Stat. Ann. 363-B:2 III
New York Electric-P.S.C. § 143.8(b)

Gas-P.S.C. §275.8(b)
Water-P.S.C. §531.8(b)
Rhode Island P.U.C. §6

Washington W.A.C. 480-100-096(3)

Wisconsin P.S.C. 113.132(1)(d)

V. RESULT OF HEARING WITH UTILITY MUST BE
IN WRITING

Connecticut P.U.C. 16-3-100(c)(4)

Indiana P.S.C. Rule 16.1(A)(2)

Massachusetts D.P.U. §2.4

Michigan P.S.C.R. 460.2169(9)

Missouri P.S.C. Rule 42(b)

New York Electric-P.S.C. §143.8(b)

Gas-P.S.C. §275.8(b)
Water-P.S.C. §531.8(b)

Ib

APPENDIX B

Tenn. Code Ann.

6-1306. Exemption from utilities regulation.—It shall not be
necessary for any municipality, proceedings under this chapter, to
obtain any certificate of convenience or necessity, franchise,
license, permit, or other authorization from any bureau, board,
commission or other like instrumentality of the state in order to
acquire, construct, purchase, reconstruct, improve, better, extend,
maintain and operate any public works.

6-1317. Exemption from utilities commission.—No re-
quirements or provisions of this chapter shall be construed so as to
deprive any municipality issuing bonds pursuant hereto of the
exemption heretofore granted to municipalities from the
jurisdiction of the public service commission.

Code of Ordinances, City of Memphis:

Article V. Basic Facilities

DIVISION 1. REQUIRED FACILITIES

Sec. 51-111. Compliance with division.

No person shall occupy as owner-occupant, or let to another for
occupancy, any dwelling unit for the purpose of living, sleeping,
cooking or eating therein which does not comply with the
requirements of this division. (Ord. No. 1724, §400.0, 3-22-66)

2b

Sec. 51-112. Sanitary facilities.

(a) Generally. The minimum sanitary facilites specified in this
section shall be supplied and maintained in sanitary and safe
working condition. Be

(b) Water closet. Every dwelling unit shall contain within its
walls a room, separate from the habitable rooms, which affords
privacy and which is equipped with a water closet. Entry to such
room shall be from within the unit only.

(c) Lavatory. Every dwelling unit shall contain a lavatory,
which shall be in close proximity to the water closet.

(d) Bathtub or shower. Every dwelling unit shall contain a
room which affords privacy to a person in the room and which is
equipped with a bathtub or shower.

(e) Kitchen sink. Every dwelling unit shall contain a kitchen
sink apart from the lavatory required by subsection (c).

(Ord. No. 1724, § §401.0—401.4, 3-22-66; Ord. No. 25, §16,

7 .
ap note—Ord. No. 25, §16, amended §51-112(b) by adding the

last sentence thereto.

Sec. 51-113. Water and sewer system.

Every kitchen sink, lavatory basin, bathtub or shower and water
closet required under the provisions of section 51-112 shall be
properly connected to either a public water and sewer system or to
an approved private water and sewer system. All sinks, lavatories,
bathtubs and showers shall be supplied with hot and cold running
water. (Ord. No. 1724, §402.0, 3-22-66)

Sec. 51-114. Water heating facilities.
(a) Every dwelling unit shall be supplied with water heating

facilities which are installed in an approved manner, properly
maintained, and properly connected with hot water lines to the

dah ahh OO. X ‘ a

3b

fixtures required to be supplied with hot water under section 51-
113. Water heating facilities shall be capable of heating water to
such a temperature as to permit an adequate amount of water to be
drawn at every required kitchen sink, lavatory basin, bathtub,
shower, and laundry facility or other similar units, at a
temperature of not less than one hundred thirty (130) degrees
Fahrenheit at any time needed.

(b) Every water heating facility shall be installed and shall
operate in accordance with the requirements of the building code
and the air pollution control ordinances* of the city. (Ord. No.
1724, § §402.1, 403.1, 3-22-66)

Sec. 51-115. Heating facilities.

(a) Every dwelling and multi-family dwelling shall have
provisions for heating facilities. The owner of the heating facilities
shall be required to see that they are properly installed, safely
maintained and in good working condition, and that they are
capable of safely and adequately heating all habitable rooms,
bathrooms and toilet rooms located therein.

(b) Every heating facility shall be installed and shall operate in
accordance with the requirements of the building code and the air
pollution control ordinances* of the city. (Ord. No. 1724,

§ $403.0, 403.1, 3-22-26; Ord. No. 25, §17, 10-10-67)
Amendment note—Ord. No. 25, §17, amended $51-115(a) which prior to

’ amendment designated the temperature to which the heating facilities should be

capable of heating the rooms therein listed.

*Cross reference—Air pollution, Ch. 3.

4b

Sec. 32-103. Well digger’s permit.

No person shall engage in drilling, boring, digging or otherwise
constructing or repairing wells in the city without a permit from the
department of health. Such permit shall be granted by the health
department to any person upon application properly approved by
the health officer, and such permit shall be in force and effect for
one (1) year from the date of its issuance. The health officer shall
have the power and it shall be his duty to revoke any permit issued
where it is made to appear that the provisions of this article have
been violated by the person engaged in well construction. The
holder of such permit shall, after such revocation, have the right of
appeal to the board of commissioners. (Code 1949, §1242)

Sec. 32-104. Permit to operate and maintain private supply.

(a) No person shall operate or maintain a private water supply
until a permit therefor has been issued by the department of health,
which permits shall not be valid for longer than one year and may
be renewed at the expiration thereof upon payment of the fees
hereinafter set out. All permits shall be in writing. Such permit
may be revoked by the health officer upon the violation by the
holder of any of the terms of this article, or in any emergency when,
in the judgment of the health officer, the continued operation of the
private water supply will be a public health menace. The holder of
such permit, after such revocation, shall have the right of appeal to
the board of commissioners.

(b) The yearly permit to operate or maintain a private water
supply shall not be issued until an inspection fee is paid each year
to the department of health. A fee of one hundred dollars
($100.00) shall be paid by the owner of one private water supply
well, whether shallow, deep, abandoned or condemned. An
additional charge of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) shall be paid for
each additional well whether operating or not. The fee shall be due
and payable on or before January 31 of each year. (Code 1949,
§ §1239, 1240; Ord. No. 352, §1, 12-31-68)

Sb

Sec. 32-105. Approval of plans and specifications for private
supply.

Before work is commenced on the construction of any new well
or private water supply, or any additions, alterations or changes,
including cross connections, treatment, settling and storage tanks,
aerators, wells, suction lines and any other part of such private
water supply listed in any regulations adopted by the department
of health, complete plans and specifications, accompanied by such
pertinent data as may be required, shall be submitted, by the owner
or his agent, to the department of health, and no part of the work
shall be commenced until the department has given its written
approval. (Code 1949, §1241)

Sec. 32-106. Approval of plans and specifications for sewer
work on property served by private supply.

Before any work is commenced on the construction of any
sewers, sewage treatment plants, or any part of the sewerage
system constructed underground, or any additions, alterations or
major changes to an existing sewerage system on private property
on which there is a private water supply, complete plans and
specifications, accompanied by such pertinent data as may be
required, shall be submitted by the owner or his agent to the
department of health, and no part of the work shall be commenced
until the department of health has given its written approval;
provided, that this does not include changes and repairs to
plumbing in buildings and above the ground which is controlled by
the plumbing inspector of the city. (Code 1949, §1243)

Sec. 32-107. Location, construction and operation of private
supplies.

All private water supplies shall be properly located, constructed
and operated, and be of an approved quality. (Code 1949, § 1245)

6b

Sec. 32-108. Inspection of private supplies.

All private water supplies shall be open for inspection at all
times by the health officer or the light, gas and water division.
(Code 1949, §1245)

Sec. 32-10©. Location, construction and operation of wells
generally.

All wells shall be located, constructed and operated in
accordance with the rules and regulations adopted by the
department of health, and the water shall be of a safe, sanitary
quality.

No well shall be located close enough to any existing or
proposed well of the light, gas and water division of the city to
materially affect the static head of water from the underground
strata of any such well or proposed well of the public supply. (Code
1949, §1244)

Sec. 32-110. Location of wells in street, alley or public piace.

No well shall be located in a street, alley or public place without
a permit from the board of commissioners.

Any person making application for a permit to construct a well
in any street, alley, or other public place shall be required, as a
condition precedent to the issuance of such permit, to agree that if
at any time subsequent to the construction of such well it shall
become necessary for the city to use such street, alley, or other
public place, for any public purpose, such person shall, within
ninety (90) days after the receipt of notice from the city, abandon,
dismantle, and fill such well, at his own expense. (Code 1949,
§ 1244)

Sec. 32-111. Filling of abandoned or condemned wells.

The health department may order the owner to fill up any
abandoned or condemned well. (Code 1949, § 1244)

Cross reference—Open and uncovered wells prohibited, § 22-20.

SS a

ee ee ees ae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0267%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
