# Amicus Brief — Moore v. East Cleveland

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0209%3A7

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 431 U.S. 494

## Text

ay
ILED |

ln THE
L JUL 2 976 |
Supreme Court of the United Ptates |
Ocronen Tnm, 1976 —_—|_MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK
No. 75-6289
>
Inez Moons,
Appellant,
—V—

Crry or East Cievetanp, Ono,
Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF OHIO

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
AND THE ACLU OF GREATER CLEVELAND,
AMICI CURIAE

Davi L, Genorrn

Linpa M, Piste

Daviw B, Horxins
1144 Union Commerce Building
Cleveland, Ohio 44115

Meivin L. Wor
American Civil Liberties Union
22 Kast 40th Street
New York, New York 10016

BenJaMin SHEERER
83 Public Square
Cleveland, Ohio 44113

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

Interest of Amici Curiae .....
Ordinances Involved. ......-.
Statement of Facts ....++e+6-s
Summary of Argument. ....-s«s+-s.

Argument:

I. East Cleveland's ordinance
denies appellant equal pro-
tection of the laws - +--+. .

A. The fundamental nature of
the right asserted by
appellant prohibits
appellee from infringing
such right without a
compelling governmental
amterese 2. 2c ec ec ec oe ce

B. Even if less rigorous
scrutiny is applied the
means chosen by appellee
are not reasonably related
to the purposes of the
ordinance and violate the
Equal Protection Clause. .

10

ii

II. The East Cleveland ordinance
violates the Due Process
requirements of the Four-
teenth Amendment. ......

A. The East Cleveland
ordinance fails to com-

ply with the fundamental
requirements of Due
pena. «© @ «66 6¢ 6 & 6's
B. The East Cleveland
ordinance creates a con-
clusive presumption that
families not within the
definition will contri-
bute to overcrowding and
traffic congestion prob-
lems, a presumption which
violates Due Process.

Conclusion . ....

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Bates v. Little Rock, 361 U.S.
516 (1960). a © © @&eesest #8 ©

Cleveland Board of Education v.
LaFleur, 414 U.S. 632

14

14

(1976). «© 0 2 0 0 0 co oh B®, 2,

Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S.
see Givers + % 4 6 6 8

iii

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381
oe... 679 tapers © © © © eo «

Kusper v. Pontikes, 414 U.S.
51 (1973). . => -= + 7 _ -- 7

Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S,
390 (1923) _ * . * 7 . * 7. ad

NAACP v. Alambama, 357 U.S.
440 (iGGG) «cece eoveee

Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71 (1971).
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973).

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S.
618 (1969) ‘Js =. 2 me *- ©« « .

Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S.
479 (1960) 7. ©« .- - ®* *- e @«

Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S.
557 (1969) —~— si, 2 a a oe a

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S.
645 (1972) > ae: ££. &. =

United States v. Robel, 389
U.S. 258 (1967). . - . a = =

Village of Belle Terre v.
Boraas, 416 U.S. 1 (1973). .

Vlandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441

18,

7,

(1973) . a: 2 a aS eS a 20, 21,

18

19

22

10

13

22

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1976

INEZ MOORE,
Appellant,

Vv.
CITY OF EAST CLEVELAND, OHIO,

Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF OHIO

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
AND THE ACLU OF GREATER CLEVELAND,
AMICI CURIAE

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Leave to file a brief amicus curiae
was granted the American Civil Liberties
Union by order of the Court on June 21, 1976.

The American Civil Liberties Union
files this brief to establish that the
Ordinances of the City of East Cleveland
at issue in this case, which prohibit the

appellant from living in the same home with all
of her grandchildren, are unconstitutional.
We believe the ordinances infringe fundamen-
tal rights in violation of the Equal Protec-

tion and Due Process Clauses of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution.

ORDINANCES INVOLVED
§1351.02 LIMITATION ON OCCUPANCY

The occupancy of any dwelling unit
shall be limited to one, and only one,
family and to any authorized persons occu-
pying such dwelling unit with such family.

§1341.08 FAMILY

Family means a number of individuals
related to the nominal head of the house-
hold or to the spouse of the nominal head
of the household living as a single house-
keeping unit ir a single dwelling unit, but
limited to the following:

(a) husband or wife of the nominal
head of the household.

(b) unmarried children of the nominal
head of the household or of the spouse of
the nominal head of the household, provided,
however, that such unmarried children have
no children residing with them.

(c) father or mother of the nominal

head of the household or of the spouse of
the nominal head of the household.

(ad) notwithstanding the provisions of
subsection (b) hereof, a family may include
not more than one dependent married or
unmarried child of the nominal head of the
household or of the spouse of the nominal
head of the household and the spouse and
dependent children of such dependent child.
For the purpose of this subsection, a depen-
dent person is one who has more than fifty
percent of his total support furnished for
him by the nominal head of the household
and the spouse of the nominal head of the
household,

(e) a family may consist on one indi-
vidual.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

The violation of the ordinances arises
from the fact that appellant's home is
occupied by herself, her elder son, his
son, her younger son, and his son, John
Moore, Jr., now ten years old. Under
§1341.08(d), “family” is defined to exclude
appellant's ten-year-old grandson. Appel-
lant was convicted and sentenced to five
days in jail and fined $25.00.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The effect of Appellee's ordinance

§1341.08, operating in conjunction with
§1351.02, is to deny Appellant and her
family the right to live in East Cleveland,
Her right to determine basic family rela-
tionships and her rights of association and
privacy in the family context are arbitrar-
ily infringed by Appellee's ordinance
despite the fact that this deprivation of
fundamental rights is not necessary to
promote any compelling interest of East
Cleveland. This lack of relationship be-
tween the purposes asserted for the ordi-
nance and the means chosen to further such
purposes in itself is sufficient to consti-
tute a violation of Equal Protection, but
the ordinance is further flawed by its
failure to draw its classification in such
a way as to minimize intrusion on constitu-
tionally protected rights. Even under the
lesser degree of scrutiny applied to statutes
not affecting fundamental rights the ordi-
nance in issue here violates the Equal Pro-
tection clause because the classification
it creates does not bear a reasonable
relationship to the asserted purposes.

In addition to these Equal Protection
violations, the ordinance fails to meet the
requirements of the Due Process Clause.

The right to free choice in matters of
family life, the right to privacy in the
family context and the right of free asso-
ciation are all protected "liberties" under
the Due Process Clause, and the lack of
relationship between the means and asserted
ends of the ordinance alone renders it
unconstitutional. A further Due Process

violation is found in the failure to choose
the means which least affect fundamental
liberties, as the ordinance deprives many
families of their protected rights despite
the fact that they do not contribute to the
problems it attempts to control. Yet a
conclusive presumption is raised that any
family units outside the restrictive defi-
nition of "family" necessarily contribute

to the problems of overcrowding of the
schools and traffic congestion; such presump~-
tions violate Due Process for their arbitrary
deprivation of personal liberties.

Thus Appellee's ordinance §1341.08 is
unconstituional for its violation of both
the Equal Protection and Due Process Clauses
and should be held void,

ARGUMENT

I. EAST CLEVELAND'S ORDINANCE DENIES
APPELLANT EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE LAWS.

The effect of East Cleveland ordinance
$1341.08 is to deny the hoore family, which
has adopted its living arrangement out of
necessity, the right to live in East Cleve-
land, This ordinance infringes fundamental
rights but is not necessary to promote a
compelling governmental interest and thus
violates the Equal Protection Clause.

A. The Fundamental Natur f the ht
Asserted by Appellant Prohibits
Appellee From Infringing Such Right

Without a Compelli vernmental

Interest.

There are special constitutional pro-

tections afforded the family:

The Court has frequently emphasized
the importance of the family. The rights
to conceive and to raise one's children
have been deemed "essential, " Meyer v.
Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390,399 (1923), “basic
civil rights of man," Skinner v.
Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 528, 533 (1953).

"It is cardinal with us that the
custody, care and nurture of the child
reside first in the parents, whose
primary function and freedom include
preparation for obligations the state
can neither supply nor hinder." prince

v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158, 166
(1944). The integrity of the family
unit has found protection in the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment, Meyer v. Nebraska, supra,
at 399, the Equal Protection Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment, Skinner v.
Oklahoma, supra, at 541, and the Ninth

Amendment, Griswold v Connecticut,
381 U.S. 479, 496 (1965) (Goldberg, J.,
concurring).

Nor has the law refused to recognize

those family relationships unlegiti-
mized by a marriage ceremony. . . "To
say that the test of equal protection
should be the 'legal' rather than the
biological relationship is to avoid
the issue. For the Equal Protection
Clause necessarily limits the authority
of a State to draw such ‘legal’ lines
as it chooses." Glona v. American
Guarantee Co., 391 U.S. 73, 76-76
(1968). Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S.
645, pp. 651-652 (1972)

Thus the fact that Appellant's family
is not an average nuclear family with a
mother, father and children does not mean
that the Constitutional protection afforded
her is any the less. Yet the interest
asserted by Mrs. Moore in this case is not
simply the importance of the right to main-
tain her family unit. Her interest encom-
passes the right to pursue one's private
interests and to associate freely with others

in so doing, a right which has been held to
7 nnn protected by the Fourteenth
endment, N.A.A.C.P. v. Alabama, 357 U.S.
449 (1958); this right should be especially
protected in the family context. The right
to privacy, emanating from several fundamen-
tal constitutional guarantees, has been
upheld in various contexts but especially
in situations bearing on family lifestyle
and relationships, “a right of privacy older
than the Bill of Rights," Griswold v.
Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 486 (1965). In

Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557, 564 (1969),

the Court said:

[A]Jlso fundamental is the right to
be free, except in very limited circum-
stances, from unwanted governmental
intrusions into one's privacy.

"The makers of our Constitution
undertook to secure conditions favor-
able to the pursuit of happiness.

- « »« They conferred, as against the
Government, the right to be let alone
--the most comprehensive of rights

and the right most valued by civilized
man." Olmstead v. United States, 277
U.S. 438, 478 (1928) (Brandeis, J.,
dissenting).

Because of the fundamental aature of

the interest which is infringed by Appellee's

ordinance, "any classification which serves
to penalize the exercise of that right,
unless shown to be necessary to promote a

compelling governmental interest, is uncon-
stitutional.” Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S.
618, 634 (1969). The asserted purposes of
§1341.08--prevention of overcrowding, of
burdening the schools and of traffic conges-
tion--do not rise to the level of compelling
interests.

Further, in this case the lack of
direct relationship between the households
excluded by §1341.08 and the evils the
ordinance seeks to reduce is sufficient to
render this ordinance unconstitutional, as
the means are not necessary to promote the
interests asserted by Appellee, whether or
not such interests are compelling.

Yet even if a compelling interest fur-
thered by East Cleveland's ordinance could
be shown, such an interest alone is not
sufficient to sustain the ordinance if the
means chosen to protect that interest
unnecessarily infringe protected freedoms.
In scrutinizing durational residence re-
quirements imposed on voting rights in Dunn
v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330, 343 (1972), the
Court stated:

It is not sufficient for the state
to show that durational residence re-
quirements further a very substantial
state interest. In pursuing the
important interest, the State cannot
choose means that unnecessarily burden
or restrict constitutionally protected
activity. Statutes affecting consti-

10

tutional rights must be drawn with

"precision," NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S.
415, 438 (1963); United States v. Robel,
389 U.S. 258, 265 (1967), and must be
"tailored" to serve their legitimate
objectives. Shapiro v. Thompson supra
at 631. And if there are other,
reasonable ways to achieve those goals
with a lesser burden on constitutionally
protected activity, a State may not
choose the way of greater interference,
If it acts at all, it must choose "less
drastic means." Shelton v. Tucker, 364
U.S. 479, 488 (1960).

The exclusion of many family units
which would not contribute to the problems
§1341.08 is intended to control renders the
ordinance unconstitutional for its failure
to employ the least intrusive means avail-
able. A more precisely drawn ordinance
would avoid the infirmity of unnecessarily
infringing the constitutional rights of
those families who do not contribute to the
problems the statute seeks to avoid. But
the ordinance as it stands violates the
Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment and is unconstitutional.

B. Even If Less Rigorous Scrutiny Is

Applied the Means Chosen by

Appellee Are Not Reasonably Related
to the Purposes of the Ordinance

and Violate the Equal Protection

Clause.

1l

The arbitrary nature of this ordinance
is so apparent that even if the less rigor-
ous, rational relationship test were applied
it would be found to be unconstitutional.

In assessing a statutory preference for male
estate administrators where competing appli-
cations have been filed by both male and
female members of the same entitlement class,
the Court in Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71, 75-
76 (1971), described the applicable test as
follows:

The Equal Protection Clause of that
amendmert does, however, deny to States
the power to legislate that different
treatment be accorded to persons placed
by a statute into different classes on
the basis of criteria wholly unrelated
to the objective of that statute. A
Classification "must be reasonable, not
arbitrary, and must rest upon some
ground of difference having a fair and
substantial relation to the object of
the legislation, so that all persons
similarly circumstanced shall be treated
alike." Royster Guano Co. v. Virginia,
253 U.S. 412, 415 (1920).

The Court there held that to give a
mandatory preference to members of either
sex simply for the purpose of eliminating
hearings on the merits was precisely the
arbitrary legislative choice forbidden by
the Equal Protection Clause. The classifi-
cation embodied in East Cleveland's ordinance
is no less arbitrary, and the means by which
Appellee has chosen to further the purposes

12

which it alleges are the basis for this
ordinance are not fairly and substantially
related to those purposes. The interests
of the community in preventing excessive
traffic problems and overcrowding of the
schools, while legitimate. are not directly
furthered by this ordinance, which is
totally void of any reference to the number
of persons living in any one dwelling but
is instead based solely on the relationship
of those persons and as such is an invidious
discrimination against legitimate family
relationships.

The Court relied on the Reed v. Reed
formulation of the rational relationship
test in Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas,
416 U.S. 1 (1973), to uphold a village
ordinance which restricted land use to one-
family dwellings and defined "family" to
include one or more persons related by
blood, adoption or marriage, or not more
than two unrelated persons living as a
housekeeping unit. The ordinance in ques-
tion precluded large groups of unrelated
persons from living as units in a family
residential area, which would have upset
the family orientation of the neighborhood.
In contrast to Belle Terre's attempt to
limit living units to a family of related
members or an unmarried couple, the East
Cleveland ordinance at issue here attempts
to delimit what constitutes a family
within the confines of blood relationships,
resulting in an arbitrarily drawn line.
Further, because of Appellant's family

13

relationships she has constitutionally pro-
tected rights not available to unrelated
persons who group together for convenience,
such as her rights of association and
privacy in determining her family relation-
ships. That the critical importance of
family values is particularly relevant in
the context of zoning was recognized by the
Court in Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas,
supra, at 9, which is based largely on the
value of providing neighborhoods conducive
to family life:

A quiet place where yards are wide,

people few, and motor vehicles restricted

are legitimate guidelines in a land-use
project addressed to family needs. This
goal is a permissible one within Berman
v. Parker, supra. The police power is
not confined to elimination of filth,
stench, and unhealthy places. It is
ample to lay out zones where family
values, youth values, and the blessings
of quiet seclusion and clean air make
the area a sanctuary for people.

Given the critical nature of the interest

asserted by Appellant in this case, an
interest which this Court has consistently
protected, the lack of any reasonable rela-
tionship between East Cleveland ordinance
§1341.08 and the goals it seeks to fulfill
creates a particularly invidious form of dis-
crimination and it should be held unconstitu-
tional for violation of the Equal Protection
Clause.

14

II. THE EAST CLEVELAND ORDINANCE VIOLATES
THE DUE PROCESS REQUIREMENTS OF THE
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT

Appellant's protected freedom to exer-
cise her personal choice as to which family
members she will reside with, her freedom
of association and of privacy in the context
of her own home, have been denied by East
Cleveland's ordinance in violation of the
protection afforded Appellant by the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.
The necessary relationship between legiti-
mate governmental goals and the means chosen
to further such goals is missing from this
statute, and the further failure to tailor
the ordinance so as to minimize infringement
on protected freedoms renders the statute
unconstitutional. Further, the ordinance
sets up an irrebuttable presumption, a legis-
lative approach which has long been disfavored
under the Due Process Clause.

A. The East Cleveland Ordinance Fails
to Comply with the Fundamental

Requirements of Due Process

The Due Process Clause of che Fourteenth
Amendment prohibits the state from depriving
any person of life, liberty or property with-
out due process of law. In defining this
protected liberty, the Court has said:

Without doubt, it denotes not merely
freedom from bodily restraint but also
the right of the individual to con-

15

tract, to engage in any of the common
occupations of life, to acquire useful
knowledge, to marry, establish a home
and bring up children, to worship God
according to the dictates of his own
conscience, and generally to enjoy
those privileges long recognized at
common law as essential to the orderly
pursuit of happiness by free men.

- « « The established doctrine is that
this liberty may not be interfered with,
under the guise of protecting the
public interest, by legislative action
which is arbitrary or without reason-
able relation to some purpose within
the competency of the State to effect.
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 399-
400 (1923)

The basic rights asserted by Appellant
in this case are her rights to free associ-
ation and to privacy, in the very special
context of family life. It is “beyond |
debate” that freedom of association is "an
inseparable aspect of the ‘'liberty'" pro-
tected by the Due Process Clause, N.A.A.C.P.
v. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449, 460 (1958). The
Court has also stated that the right of
privacy is “founded in the Fourteenth Amend-
ment's concept of personal liberty and re-
strictions on state action..." Roe v.
Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 153 (1973). Such rights
become even more crucial when placed in the
family context, the importance of which is
such that this Court has determined that
the right to free choice in family matters

16

is itself a due process protected liberty.
In Cleveland Board of Education v. LaFleur,
414 U.S. 632, 639-640 (1974), the Court
said:

This Court has long recognized that
freedom of personal choice in matters
of marriage and family life is one of
the liberties protected by the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment. Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113;
Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. l, 12;
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479;
Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 208 U.S.
510; Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390.
See also Prince v. Massachusetts, 321
U.S. 158; Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S.
535.

Appellant seeks to protect her right
to determine basic family relationships and
living arrangements on the basis of the
needs of family members as opposed to an
arbitrary definition of "family" imposed by
the City of East Cleveland, as well as her
broad rights to free association and privacy
within the home. Any one of these rights
in itself would be sufficient to invoke the
protection of the Due Process Ciause. Yet
this ordinance fails to meet the criteria of
due process.

As the Court stated in Meyer v. Nebraska,

quoted supra, Due Process requires that
where protected liberty is interfered with
legislative action may not be arbitrary

17

or without reasonable relationship to a
purpose within the competence of the state
to effect. Thus as in Bates v. Little
Rock, 361 U.S. 516 (1960), where the Court
held that occupational tax license ordi-
nances requiring local branches of the
N.A.A.C.P. to disclose membership lists
interfered with members’ freedom of associ-
ation and violated the Due Process require-
ments, the legitimacy of the goals sought
to be furthered by the ordinances does not
end the Due Process inquiry (361 U.S. at 524-25):

It cannot be questioned that the
governmental purpose upon which the
municipalities rely is a fundamental
one. . . But governmental action does
not auotmatically become reasonably
related to the achievement of a legit-
imate and substantial governmental
purpose by mere assertion in the pre-
amble of an ordinance. When it is
shown that state action threatens
significantly to impinge upon constitu-
tionally protected freedom it becomes
the duty of this Court to determine
whether the action bears a reasonable
relationship to the achievement of the
governmental purpose asserted as its
justification.

Similarly in the present case the goals
this ordinance is claimed to further may
well be legitimate; however there is no
reasonable relation between the means chosen
and the ends they are intended to advance,

18

The means utilized here, a restrictive and
unrealistic attempt to define what a family
is, bear no relationship to the cited pur-
poses of the East Cleveland oruinance,
which generally relate to overcrowding,
traffic congestion, undue burdens on the
school system and community character. The
Classification drawn by the ordinance is
unrelated to the number of persons that

can be included in a family unit although
the influences the ordinance seeks to con-
trol are basically a factor of numbers. The
operation of this ordinance precludes
families which are smaller than the number
for which their dwelling is zoned, thus
necessarily excluding families whose presence
neither creates nor contributes to the evils
sought to be controlled. This fatal over-
breadth in the ordinance indicates the lack
of reasonable relationship between Appellee's
goals and the chosen means for carrying them
out. The lack of reasonable relationship,
which is more fully discussed in Appellant's
Brief, controverts due process requirements
and renders the ordinance unconstitutional,

The overinclusiveness of the category
of families excluded from the ordinance is
fatal on another Due Process ground: even
where a governmental purpose is legitimate
and substantial it cannot be pursued by ~
means that broadly stifle fundamental liber-
ties when the same ends can be more narrowly
achieved. Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479
(1960) ; Kusper v. Pontikes, 414 U.S.

51 (1973).

19

The Court in Shelton v. Tucker found
that the state had a valid interest in

inquiring into the competence and fitness
of its teachers but that requiring each

‘teacher to file annually an affidavit list-

ing without limitation every organization
to which he belonged or contributed in the
past five years was an unnecessarily broad
interference with a teacher's associational
freedom. Similarly the East Cleveland
ordinance is an unnecessarily expansive
interference with Appellant's rights to
free association, privacy and to determine
her family life, for while some of the
groups excluded from the statutory defini-
tion of family might contribute to the
problems which the ordinance attempts to
control it indiscriminately outlaws many
family groups that would no more contribute
to such problems than those families which
fall within the statutory definition. The
ordinance thus violates the Due Process
Clause in two ways: the means chosen have
no relationship to the legitimate ends, and
the ordinance is not drawn so as to minimize
infringement on constitutionally protected
freedoms.

20

Appellee asserts that the purposes
served by §1341.08's restrictive definition
of "family" are the prevention of overcrowd-
ing, burdening the school system and traffic
congestion. Families which do not fall
within the definition have no opportunity
to show that their presence in East Cleve-
land will not contribute to these problems;
thus the ordinance raises a conclusive pre-
sumption that such family units will con-
tribute to such problems, a presumption
which violates Due Process mandates, °

"Statutes creating irrebuttable pre-
sumptions have long been disfavored under
the Due Process Clauses of the Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments." Vlandis v. Kline,
412 U.S. 441, 446 (1973). This Court in
that case declared unconstitutional under
the Due Process Clause a Connecticut
statute creating an irrebuttable presump-
tion of non-residence for purposes of
qualifying for reduced tuition rates at a
state university, noting (412 U.S. at 452):

[I]t is forbidden by the Due Process
Clause to deny an individual the resi-
dent rates on the basis of a permanent
and irrebuttable presumption of non-
residence, when that presumption is
not necessarily or universally true

in fact, and when the State has
reasonable alternative means of making
the crucial determination,

Similarly in Cleveland Board of Educa-
tion v. LaFleur, supra, the Court held

21

unconstitutional mandatory maternity leave
rules which created a conclusive presumption
that a teacher who is four or five months
pregnant becomes physically unable to con-
tinue her duties (414 U.S. at 644):

The mandatory termination provisions
of the Cleveland and Chesterfield
County rules surely operate to insulate
the classroom from the presence of
potentially incapacitated pregnant
teachers. But the question is whether
the rules sweep too broadly. See
Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479.

That question must be answered in the
affirmative, for the provisions amount
to a conclusive presumption that every
pregnant teacher who reaches the fifth
or sixth month of pregnancy is physic-
ally incapable of continuing. There

is no individualized determination by
the teacher's doctor--or the school
board's--as to any particular teacher's
ability to continue at her job. The
rules contain an irrebuttable presump-
tion of physical incompetency, and that
presumption applies even when the
medical evidence as to an individual
woman's physical status might be
wholly to the contrary.

The Court relied on the language of

Vlandis v. Kline, supra, in finding the

conclusive presumption not necessarily or
universally true in finding the rules
violative of Due Process, Similarly in

22

the present case the irrebuttable presump-
tion raised by the East Cleveland ordinance
is not universally true, and as in both
Vilandis v. Kline and Cleveland Board of
Education v. LaFleur there are reasonable
alternative means of making the crucial
determination. Investigation as to the
number of persons in a household, the number
of school age children and cars, could
easily be made, and in fact such investiga-
tions are undoubtedly already carried on

to insure that certain other zoning provi-
sions, such as those regulating maximum
number of person who can inhabit one dwel-
ling, are complied with. While it might be
argued that such investigations would be

an administrative burden on the city, such
inconvenience is not sufficient to justify
the unconstitutionality of a conclusive
presumption. In Stanley v. Illinois, 405
U.S. 645 (1972), the Court held unconsti-
tutional Illinois' procedure which conclu-
sively presumed unwed fathers to be unfit
parents, and stated (405 U.S. at 656-657):

Despite Bell and Carrington, it may
be argued that unmarried fathers are
so seldom fit that Illinois need not
undergo the administrative inconven-
ience of inquiry in any case, includ-
ing Stanley's. The establishment of
prompt efficacious procedures to
achieve legitimate state ends is a
proper state interest worthy of cog-
nizance in constitutional adjudica-
tion. But the Constitution recognizes

23

higher values than speed and efficiency.
Indeed, one might fairly say of the Bill
of Rights in general, and the Due Process
Clause in particular, that they were
designed to protect the fragile values
of a vulnerable citizenry from the over-
bearing concern for efficiency and
efficacy that may characterize praise-
worthy government officials no less,

and prehaps more than mediocre ones.

Procedure by presumption is always
cheaper and easier than individualized
determination, But when, as here, the
procedure forecloses the determinative
issues of competence and care, when it
explicitly disdains present realities
in deference to past formalities, it
needlessly risks running roughshod over
the important interests of both parent
and child. It therefore cannot stand.

Thus in addition to the basic failure
of Appellee to tailor the ordinance to Due
Process requirements, the unnecessary use
of an inaccurate conclusive presumption
allowing no opportunity for rebuttal in-
fringes upon Appellant's freedoms as pro-
tected by the Due Process Clause, rendering
the ordinance unconstitutional.

CONCLUSION

The lack of any relationship between
the asserted purposes of East Cleveland

24

§1341.08 and the classification it utilizes
and the unnecessary infringement on consti-
tutionally protected rights of those whose
presence does not contribute to the problems
the ordinance seeks to control constitute
basic violations of Equal Protection, under
either formulation of the applicable tests
that have been applied by this Court, and
further violations of Due Process require-
ments, For these reasons, East Cleveland
Ordinance §1341.08 should be held to be
unconstitutional and void,

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID L. GENGER

LINDA M. PISTNER

DAVID B. HOPKINS

1144 Union Commerce Bldg.
Cleveland, Ohio 44115

MELVIN L. WULF

American Civil Liberties
Union

22 East 40th Street

New York, New York 10016

BENJAMIN SHEERER
33 Public Square
Cleveland, Ohio 44113

Attorneys for ic r

July 6, 1976

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0209%3A7. Public record. Not legal advice.
