# Opposition — Stonaker v. Georgia

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0152%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 833

## Text

IN THE

. MICHACL RODAX, JA. CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States "

OCTOBER TERM, 1975

NO. 75-1866

ROBERT MAURICE SLONAKER.,
Petitioner,
\.
STATE OF GEORGIA,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE GEORGIA COURT OF APPEALS

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

ARTHUR K. BOLTON

Please serve: \ttorney General
RICHARD L. CHAMBERS ROBERTS. STUBBS, II
132 State Judicial Bldg. Chief Deputy

40 Capitol Square, S.W. \ttorney General

\dlanta, Georgia 30334

(404) 656-3390 RICHARD L. CHAMBERS

Deputy Attorney General

JOHN C. WALDEN
Senior Assistant
Attorney General
HARRISON KOHLER
Staff Assistant
Attorney General
WILLIAM H. ISON
District Attorney
Clayton Judicial Circuit

QUESTIONS PRESENTED + « «© «© © «© « «
STATEMENT OF THE CASE -« -« « «© «© « -«
REASONS FOR NOT GRANTING THE WRIT

A. PETITIONER DID NOT MAKE
A TIMELY FILING OF HIS
PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI. « «© «© © «© «© « «

B. THE PETITION FOR THE WRIT
OF CERTIORARI IS NOT OF
SUCH AN EXTRAORDINARY
NATURE THAT IT REQUIRES
THIS COURT TO ISSUE SUCH
mWeeece eo ee ee eee CU

C. PETITIONER WAIVED HIS RIGHT
TO ENUMERATE AS ERROR THE
FAILURE OF THE TRIAL JUDGE
TO INSTRUCT CONCERNING
BATTERY AND CONFLICTING
STATEMENTS OF WITNESSES. .

D. THE STATE JUDGE'S FAILURE
TO INSTRUCT THE JURY ON
LESSER INCLUDED OFFENSES
IS NOT A FEDERAL CONSTI-
TUTIONAL QUESTION. «+ « « -«

3

5

6

8

E. THE STATE JUDGE'S FAILURE
TO INSTRUCT ON CONFLICTING |
STATEMENTS OF WITNESSES, | g
ABSENT A TIMELY WRITTEN | -aas
REQUEST BY PETITIONER, IS |
NOT A FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL
QUESTION. ....s.e-eeee 9

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Bonner v. Henderson, 517 F. 2d 135
(Sth Cir. 1975) ° ° . 7 . . . 7 . 9

CONCLUSION .. cc cc cece ce ee rere ell Dumont v. Estelle, 513 F. 2d 793
(Sth Cir. 1975) > . a * . 7 7. — * 7
4 et gy Pe a a a a a ee >
Flagler v. Wainwright, 423 F. 2d
| 1359 (5th Cir. 1970), cert.
denied, 398 U.S. 943 (1970) ...9

Francis v. Henderson, U.S. ’
19 Crim. L. Rptr. 1372 (1976). . 7

Grech v. Wainwright, 492 F. 2d 747
(5th Cir. 1974) . . 7 . + °. . . . 9

Ortiz v. United States, 358 F. 2d
107 (9th Cir. 1966), cert.
denied, 385 U.S. 861 (1966)... 9

Sica v. United States, 325 F. 2d
831 (9th Cir. 1966), cert.
denied, 376 U.S. 952 (1964). .. 9

State v. Stonaker, 236 Ga. l,
S.E. 2d (i97G)« © © 6 ©

United States v. Adams, 383 U.S.
39 (1966) 7. * * . _ - * >. > > 7. . 4

ii

iii

Page

United States v. Honneus, 508 F.
2d 566 (lst Cir. 1974), cert.
denied, U.S. » FF
Be Ge Bere ChOrel ea és wc ee ee eo 6

STATUTES CITED

Ga. ‘Code Ann. § 26-1304 . ...... e8
Ga. Code Ann. § 26-2020 . .....-s 8

Ga. Code Ann. § 70-207 . . . . . + . + 6,

RULES CITED

Rese 30, Pi Ry Crimi Be « és et 4 6 8

Rule 19, Revised Rules of the
Supreme Court of the United States
(1970) . ° - . e . . *. 7. ad — . . 7 . 5

Rule 22, Revised Rules of the

Supreme Court of the United States
(1970) ad . . . * * a . . < . . . . _ 3

iv

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1975

NO. 75-1866

ROBERT MAURICE STONAKER,
Petitioner,
Ve
STATE OF GEORGIA,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE GEORGIA COURT OF APPEALS

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1.

Did the superior court err by not
instructing the jury concerning a lesser
crime than that charged in the indictment
where Petitioner failed to request such an
instruction and failed to object to the
omission of such an instruction?

26

Did the superior court err by not
instructing the jury concerning conflicting
statements of witnesses where Petitioner
failed to make a timely written request
for such a charge?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Robert Maurice Stonaker
was indicted for child molestation by
a Clayton County grand jury, and he was
tried in the Clayton County Superior Court
On December 10-11, 1973. A jury found
him guilty and sentenced him to twenty
years imprisonment; however, the trial
judge probated the last ten years of the
sentence.

REASONS FOR NOT GRANTING THE WRIT

A. PETITIONER DID NOT MAKE A
TIMELY FILING OF HIS PF TTTION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

"A petition for writ of certiorari to
review the judgment of a state court of
last resort [emphasis added] shall be

deemed in time when it is filed with the
clerk within ninety days after the entry
of such judgment." Rule 22(1), Revised
Rules of the Supreme Court of the United
States (1970). Petitioner's conviction
was affirmed by the Georgia Supreme Court
on January 6, 1976, and a rehearing was
denied January 27, 1976. See State v.
Stonaker, 236 Ga. l, S.E. 2d

(1976). Since this decision reversed

the decision of the Georgia Court of
Appeals, the Georgia Court of Appeals
entered the mandate on February 17, 1976.

Petitioner attempted to present this
case again to the Supreme Court of Gcorgia
by arguing that the decision was not
applicable to Petitioner's trial. The
Georgia Supreme Court refused this second
application for certiorari, so Petitioner
moved to stay the remittitur in the
Georgia Court of Appeals. Now he petitions

for writ of certiorari to this Court, B. THE PETITION FOR THE WRIT

and he appeals from the Georgia Court of OF CERTIORARI IS NOT OF SUCH
Appeals, which is not the Georgia Court AN EXTRAORDINARY NATURE THAT
of last result. IT REQUIRES THIS COURT TO

ISSUE SUCH A WRIT.
Petitioner's 90 days began to run

from January 27, 1976, the date the "A review on writ of certiorari is not
Georgia Supreme Court denied Petitioner's | a matter of right, but of sound judicial
motion for rehearing. See United States discretion, and will be granted only where
v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 41 (1966). As there are special and controlling reasons
Petitioner has waited approximately five therefor." Rule 19, Revised Rules of the
months since that denial to petition for Supreme Court of the United States (1970).
certiorari, his petition is not timely This Court generally grants certiorari

and should be denied. from a state court decision under the

following circumstances: (1) if the state
court has decided a federal question of
substance not previously determined by
this Court or (2) if the state court has
decided a case in a way not in accord
with applicable decisions of this Court.
See Rule 19, Revised Rules of the Supreme
Court of the United States (1970).

Petitioner's questions for review
present no substantial federal question
not previously determined by this Court,
and the state court decision is fully in
accord with applicable decisions of this
age , Court.

C. PETITIONER WAIVED HIS RIGHT
TO ENUMERATE AS ERROR THE
FAILURE OF THE TRIAL JUDGE
TO INSTRUCT CONCERNING
BATTERY AND CONFLICTING
STATEMENTS OF WITNESSES.

Ga. Code Ann. § 70-207(b) provides:
"In all cases, at the close of the evidence
or at such earlier time during the trial as
the court reasonably directs, any party
may present to the court written requests
that it instruct the jury on the law as
set forth therein." By not making a timely
written request for jury instructions
concerning battery and conflicting state-
ments of witnesses, Petitioner waived his
right to enumerate the omission of such
instructions as error.

Georgia's rule is practically identical
to federal law. "[O]ne complaining about
an omitted instruction must have tendered
a request and objected to its omission."
United States v. Honneus, 508 F. 2d 566,
571 (lst Cir. 1974), cert. denied,

U.S. » 95 S. Ct. 1677 (1975). Peti-
tioner alleges that he was relying on
existing Georgia law that the judge should
give instructions, absent a request,
concerning lesser included offenses. Even
if such law existed, Appellant obviously
did not rely on it. If he had relied on

the judge's giving an instruction
concerning battery, he would have objected
to the omission of such an instruction;
and Petitioner made no such objection.

Petitioner did object to the fact
that the trial judge did not instruct the
jury concerning conflicting statements
(Trial Transcript 184); however, he had
made no timely written request for such
an instruction.

Federal law is clear that certain
rights can be waived by a failure to make
a timely challenge as provided under
state law. See e.g., Francis v. Henderson,

U.S. » 19 Crim. L. Rptr. 3072
(1976); Dumont v. Estelle, 513 F. 2d 793
(Sth Cir. 1975). Petitioner failed to
make timely written requests as provided
by Ga. Code Ann. § 70-207; therefore, he
has waived his right to enumerate omitted
jury instructions as error.

D. THE STATE JUDGE'S FAILURE TO
INSTRUCT THE JURY ON LESSE®
INCLUDED OFFENSES IS NOT A
FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL
QUESTION.

The Georgia Supreme Court held that
simple battery is not a lesser included
offense of child molestation. State v.
Stonaker, supra at 2-3. One commits
simple battery by either (1) intentionally
making physical contact of an insulting or
provoking nature with the person of
another or (2) intentionally causing
physical harm to another. Ga. Code Ann.

§ 26-1304. One commits child molestation
when he does an immoral or indecent act
to or in the presence of or with any
child under the age of 14 with the intent
to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires
of either the child or the person. Ga.
Code Ann. § 26-2020. Petitioner never
claimed to the trial court that he was
not guilty of child molestation and
guilty of battery. His defense was that
he was not guilty of any crime.

However, even if simple battery
were a lesser included offense of child
molestation, the state trial court's
failure to instruct the jury on this
alleged lesser included offense does not
raise a federal constitutional question.

Bonner v. Henderson, 517 F. 2d 135, 136
(Sth Cir. 1975); Grech v. Wainwright,
492 F. 2d 747, 748 (5th Cir. 1974);
Flagler v. Wainwright, 423 F. 2d 1359,
1360 (5th Cir. 1970) cert. denied, 398
U.S. 943 (1970). Since Petitioner's
enumeration presents no federal consti-
tutional question, this Court should not
grant a writ of certiorari.

E. THE STATE JUDGE'S FAILURE
TO INSTRUCT ON CONFLICTING
STATEMENTS OF WITNESSES,
ABSENT A TIMELY WRITTEN
REQUEST BY PETITIONER, IS
NOT A FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL
QUESTION.

Impeachment of a witness is a
collateral matter to the fundamental role
of the jury -- that of determining whether
the accused is innocent or guilty. There-
fore, the federal rule requires a timely
written request for instructions concerning
the impeachment of a witness, else the
failure of the judge to give cautionary
instructions is not reversible error.

Rule 30, F. R. Crim. P.; Ortiz v. United
States, 358 F. 2d 107, 109 (9th Cir. 1966),
cert. denied, 385 U.S. 861 (1966); see

Sica v. United States, 325 F. 2d 83l, 836
(9th Cir. 1963), cert. denied, 376 U.S.
952 (1964).

Since Petitioner failed to make a
timely written request for instructions
concerning conflicting statements of
witnesses, no reversible error was
created by the trial court's failure to
so charge, and Petitioner presents no
constitutional issue to this Court.

-10-

CONCLUS ION

This Court should refuse to grant
a writ of certiorari because no sufficient
reasons for review have been set forth by
Petitioner.

Respectfully submitted,

ARTHUR K. BOLTON
Attorney General
Please serve:
ROBERT S. STUBBS, II
RICHARD L. CHAMBERS Chief Deputy
132 State
Judicial Bldg.
40 Capitol Sq., S.W.
Atlanta, Ga. 30534
(404) 656-3390

Deputy Attorney General

2 WALDEN

Senior Assistant
Attorney General

4 ha+s0007) kihler

HARRISON KOHLER
Staff Assistant
Attorney General

: pellhiam HL! oer

WILLIAM H,. ISON
District Attorney
Clayton Judicial Circuit

-ll-

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Richard L. Chambers, Attorney of
Record for the Respondent, and a member
of the Bar of the Supreme Court of the
United States, hereby certify that in
accordance with the rules of the Supreme
Court of the United States, I have this
day served a true and correct copy of
this Brief for Respondent in Opposition
upon the petitioner by depositing a copy
of same in the United States mail, with
proper address ana adequate postage to:

Paul S. Weiner

Attorney at Law

226 North McDonough Street
P. O. Box 698

Jonesboro, Georgia 30236

This 2lst day of July, 1976.

RICHARD L. CHAMBERS

ote

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0152%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
