# Petitioners Brief — United States v. Lovasco

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0130%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1977
- **Citation:** 431 U.S. 783

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S, |
~ FILED

DEC 30 1976
No. 75-1844

ee ee ee —

Gu the Supreme Gourt of the Cited

OcroperR TerM, 1976

MICHAEL
EL RODAK, JR., CLERK |

¥ a]

Unirep States 0F AMERICA, PETITIONER
v.
EvuGcene Lovasco, Sr.

ON WRIT OF CRRTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE BIGHTH CIRCUIT

eee

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

ROBERT H. BORK,
Solicitor General,
RICHARD L. THORNBURGH,
Assistant Attorney General,
ANDREW L. FREY,
Deputy Solicitor General,

JOHN P. RUPP,

Assistant to ithe Solicitor General,
JEROME M. FEIT,
ROBERT H. PLAXICO,

Attorneys,
Department of Juatice,
Washington, D.C. 2056

CE PE innaticcdicisincodnnsanpametntndanniiicnn
SUED edintbidnciinrenpenddmecnnsbetinin mein
IE eniererercasenetnctqincsaneesseonia
SED . dertinindineniinreectnnpeudinneeititgiinpysiiditnin
UES GE GE ocpninnicnceecdnenannmassdwcouin
Argument :

I. A defendant seeking the dismissal of criminal
charges under the Due Process Clause because
of pre-accusation delay must show both that the
delay impaired his ability to defend against the
the charges and that the government sought the
delay to secure an improper tactical advantage__

A. In the absence of prosecutorial conduc:
designed to obtain an improper tactical
advantage, the permissibility of pre-
accusation delay is governed solely by the
applicable statute of limitations________

1. The approach to pre-accusation de-
lay exemplified by the decision in
this case ignores significant dif-
ferences in the status of persons
before and after formal accusa-
echin eiticiitemntoeininitiennstitioimniin’ gen

2. The Due Process Clause does n
require courts to consider on an
ad hoc basis the timeliness of
criminal charges that are brought
within the applicable statute of
limitations and are not the prod-
uct of prosecutorial over-reach-
UN one nenieniecgnisecnee ene accce

3. A basically ad hoc approach to pre-
accusation delay would entail un-
acceptable costs to the criminal
justice system without providing
assurance of fairer results than
those produced by application of
the relevant statute of limita-
I ecb rticdsdichaisiertnitcteieyidins

226-327—76——-1

owt

13

13

17

II

Argument—Continued
I. A defendant seeking, et cetera—Continued
B. Any pre-accusation delay that occurred in
this case did not violate the Due Proc-

Page
Gm CRI...ncnccccqnesequannsnoungeiin 38

II. A district court should reserve ruling on a due

process claim based upon pre-accusation delay,

and alleging both governmental misconduct and

consequent prejudice, until the conclusion of
CEE ccccccnwusccnnenpsibiatengeimedteigen 40
COREE occocccccnccctacnscetisansinntbmamwminaa 48

CITATIONS
Cases:

Allee v. Medrano, 416 U.S. 802_-.------------------ 42
Barker v. Wingo, 407 U.S. 514--------------- 16, 18, 19, 44
Barnes v. United States, 412 U.S. 837_-------------- 39, 46
Bey v. United States, 350 F. 2d 467_-..------------- 15
Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83.-.----------------- 23, 28
Branzburg v. Hayes, 408 U.S. 665__...-------------- 26
Breed v. Jones, 421 U.S. 519......--.-..-----.-..-- 41
Bridges v. United States, 346 U.S. 209_.....--.------ 30
Cobbledick v. United States, 309 U.S. 323_..-------- 41

Cohen v. Beneficial Industrial Loan Corp., 337 U.S.

DE ..noncecddaminghantenatitbabunmmntnhatnnets 41-42
Daniels vy. United States, 357 F. 2d 587_----.-------- 15
Dickey v. Florida, 398 U.S. 30_-.------------- 11, 18, 19, 32
Dillingham v. United States, 423 U.S. 64.-.--------- 17,21
Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380 U.S. 479_---------------- 42
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145.-.--.--..-------- 22
Eastland vy. United States Servicemen’s Fund, 421 U.S.

NN 41
Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478_.-.--.------------- 25
Friebie v. Collins, 342 U.S. 519_......-....--......- 41
gS ee 23
Gravel v. United States, 408 U.S. 606..........____- 41
Green v. United States, 355 U.S. 184.---.--.--..__-- 41
Ilampton v. United States, 425 U.S. 484--.--------- 23
Hoffa v. United States, 385 U.S. 293_..------_--___- 25, 26
Imbler v. Pachtman, 424 U.S. 409_..-.----------.--- 32-33
Kirby v. [linois, 406 U.S. 682........-.--.......... 20-21

Ill
Cases—Continued
Klopfer v. North Carolina, 386 U.S. 213_.----------- 19
_ Massiah v. United States, 317 U.S. 201_--.----------- 27
O'Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488....--.------------ 32
Oyler v. Boles, 368 U.S, 448.------------------------ 42
Palko y. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319_----------------- 22
Pollard v. United States, 352 U.S. 354.-..----------- 34
Robinson v. United States, 459 F. 2d 847.----------- 15
Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165.----.------------ 22
Ross v. United States, 349 F. 2d 210...-.------------ 15
Smith v. Hooey, 393 U.S. 874.--------.------------ 19
Smith v. United States, 360 U.S. 1-.-.--------------- 18
Snyder vy. Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97---------------- 22
T oussie v. United States, 397 U.S. 112.-.------------ 29
United States v. Acosta, 526 F. 2d 670, certiorari denied
June 7, 1976, No. 75-1368....--.--.-------------- 32
United States vy. Agurs, No. 75-491, decided June 24,
a 22-23, 28
United States v. Alred, 513 F. 2d 330_...------------ 15
United States v. Barket, 530 F. 2d 18_.---..-- 8, 9, 14, 16, 35
United States vy. Bishton, 463 F. 2d 887.------------- 18
United States v. Bridgeman, 523 F. 2d 1099_.------- 15
United States vy. Calandra, 414 U.S. 338_..-.-.------- 26,47
United States v. Capaldo, 402 F. 2d $21, certiorari de-
nied, 9984 U.S. C6Bennccccécceececesccccncecccccco 21
United States v. Daley, 454 F, 2d 505_..-.----------- 15
United States v. Dionisio, 410 U.S. 1----------------- 47
United States v. Doe, 455 F. 2d 1270_...-.----------- 27
United States v. Acosta, 526 F. 2d 670, certiorari denied
June 21, 1976, No. 75-6564__.....-.----.--------- 15

United States v. Dukow, 453 F. 2d 1328, certiorari
denied sub nom. Crow v. United States, 406 U.S.

ee 45
United States v. Erickson, 472 F. 2d 505_...---.----- 15
United States y. Ewell, 383 U.S. 116_.--.------------ 18, 29
United States v. Feinberg, 383 F. 2d 60.......-..---.- 21, 24
United States v. Finkelstein, 526 F, 2d 517....-.----- 15, 21
United States vy. Galardi, 476 F. 2d 1072_____-._.-_-- 45
United States v. Giacalone, 477 F. 24 1273__._.-_--_- 15
United States v. Hauff, 395 F. 2d 555-.-------..--__- 21

United States v. Jackson, 504 F. 2d 337, certiorari
Gy SD Es. Gi atin iintiin no cnrcncccnnccns 14

TV
Cases—Continued Page
United States v. Jones, 524 F. 2d 834_...-.----------- 15
United States v. Joyce, 499 F. 2d 9_----------------- 15
United States v. Librach, 520 F. 2d 550...----------- 14
United States v. MacDonald, 531 F. 2d 196, petition for
a writ of certiorari pending, No, 75-1892_--------- 18, 45
United States v. Mandujano, 425 U.S. 564.-------- 24, 26, 48
United States v. Marion, 404 U.S. 307_-------------- 10,
11, 13, 16, 17-18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 26, 28, 32, 33,
36, 43, 47
United States v. McGough, 510 F. 2d 598_..--------- 45
United States v. Morrison, 535 F. 2d 223_-...-------- 28
United States v. Naftalin, 534 F. 2d 770, certiorari
denied, No. 75-1720, October 4, 1976.......-.----- 14
United States v. Norton, 504 F. 2d 342, certiorari
Goatees, GD Wey BB esccemncenssnbccaatenscbive 14-15
United States v. Page, No. 76-1612, decided Novem-
> Gk. Fee ccwnestecntmcaiondinmneniiene 14
United States v. Provoo, 17 F.R.D. 183, affirmed ver
CE, Ge Cah Gi tenccinntinequidincanctintiianane 32
United States v. Quinn, 540 F, 2d 357__-.------------ 14
United States v. Reitscher, 467 F. 2d 269__....-__---- 15
United States v. Ricketson, 498 F. 2d 367_......._-_- 15
United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423_....------. 23, 36
United States v. Sand, 541 F. 2d 1370_--..._..._____ 15
United States v. Scallion, 533 F. 2d 903_.......______ 15
United States v. Vispi, No. 76-1250, decided Novem-
Ee SLL ee Bee 15
United States v. Washington, 504 F. 2d 346__...___- 15
United States v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411_--....----- 25, 39-40
United States v. Wilson, 357 F. Supp. 619, affirmed, 517
a Ge Seer etcncmcinmeiandhedinntneieniitthepetndnadbinenints 15
Winshop, In re, 397 U.S. 858..........---------.... 23
Woody v. United States, 370 F. 2d 214_______-----__. 15
Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356_..---.--.-----.. 42
Constitution, statutes, and rules:
United States Constitution :
Article I, see. 6,cl. 1 (Speech and Debate Clause)_. 41
PURO - FI Rcctacicincaminedigmimatsmnaugansen 42
i EE see 42
Fifth Amendment (Due Process Clause) _....___ 11,

13, 14, 16, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 29, 32, 35, 36

Vv

Constitution, statutes, and rules—Continued

United States Constitution—Continued : Page
Sixth Amendment (Speedy Trial Clause) .....-- 3,
10, 11, 16, 17, 18, 21, 24, 25, 36, 44
Fourteenth Amendment-_-___..----------------- 23
Act of March 26, 1804, 2 Stat. 290-....-..---.------- 30
Speedy Trial Act of 1974, 88 Stat. 2076, 18 USO.
(Supp. IV) 3161: et seg_-......................-. 19
F 8). 2) Sa eee Seen 30
i Oe Oh te ie ee oh in 30
i) § 2 30
GE, Ci cciccnticqnnsennnnannsstiansentiedénuaeon 30
ane Ses ee Se 30
I II, iss sic in eteeseneclisigeinbiminaginenianeiniabinaseneuinintetent 30
I TI iccand neteernieninnatbiatemeineindanntnnmnibaaan 31
Pe Gi bindnccncnsandsscatesusenupeegen 31
i 31
ETERS eNO OT nT 30
NE TT ss csernintentacnainereeneneeiienengmimentnenanietnniaene 31
a 31
ee Bert ccnnecoccdutadnetennenssnnannmetete 31
es Be iiteedinicccitiinmcnidetititimesgenainencesess 30
ON ia elt ctl titatlinmaigimeeniee 31
Be, Be COR vididccicccttennncccnsnnceewownsen 31
Oe Ce ierennnintncadusmncmenannes 2,4
a cicsnrcntrtiinnindntnhimmmiatsisatnatentit 2
SK EY ee ae ee Sr 7
EE a en 2, 39
Be TE ried tien eeitnasdicintenctiniieenciinnnesantrenngiaiindiniantiant 30
Cg RRS SON TEE ae Ae Oe ee 30, 38
es int tcinmdtiqudenstminnmnigeinguaaanne 30
| 31
Se 30
gy ee 31
Se Se tlc anileicealitincenerniianiebinitendsirdenieitsminepedanieet 31
DF at ccidietddcitncinnintrninntienindimennnan 48
eae ee 31
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure :
BE ieiecdenadtibcontpocnddinnacmaneanetinen 42,43
| ES ee Cees Cre 48
EE a ae ee eR 3, 21
ee 7

vi

Miscellaneous : ‘
American Bar Association Project on Minimum Stand-
ards for Criminal Justice, Standards Realting to

2(a)) (AP- Page | :
eT ha koa ciara OO Fn the Supreme Gourt of the Wnited States

4

H.R. Rep. No. 365, 67th Cong., 1st Sess. ary aay 30

Note, The Statute of Limitations in Criminal :
Penetrable Barrier to Prosecutions, 102 U. Pa. L. | Octoper TERM, 1976
di WD I 30

S. Rep. No. 384, 82d Cong., Ist Sess. (1951) ---------- 31

No. 75-1844

Unrrep States OF AMERICA, PETITIONER
v.
EvuGENE Lovasco, Sr.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
: . COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. A)
is reported at 532 F.2d 59.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App. B)
was entered on February 23, 1976. On April 21, 1976,
the court of appeals denied a petition for rehearing
with suggestion for rehearing en banc (Pet. App. C).
On May 11, 1976, Mr. Justice Blackmun extended the
time for filing a petition for a writ of certiorari to
and including June 20, 1976 (a Sunday). The petition
was, filed on June 21, 1976, and was granted on

(1)

2

October 12, 1976 (A. 27). The jurisdiction of this
Court rests upon 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).:

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a defendant who seeks the dismissal
of an indictment because of pre-accusation delay must
show that the government intentionally sought the
delay in order to secure an improper tactical advan-
tage as well as that the delay impaired his ability to
defend against the charges.

2. Whether a district court should reserve ruling
on a due process claim based upon. pre-accusation
delay, and alleging both governmental misconduct and
consequent prejudice, until after trial, at which time
such allegations can be assessed in light of the evidence
introduced at trial.

STATEMENT

1. Respondent was indicted on March 6, 1975, in the
United States District Court for the Eastern District
of Missouri on three counts of unlawful possession
of materials stolen from the mails, in violation of
18 U.S.C. 1708, and on one count of engaging in the
business of dealing in firearms without a license, in
violation of 18 U.S.C. 922(a)(1) and 924(a). The
indictment referred specifically to eight handguns that
respondent allegedly had possessed and sold between
July 25 and August 31, 1973 (A. 3-5).

*Count One charged respondent with unlawfully possessing a
semi-automatic pistol on or about July 25, 1973; Count Two
charged that he unlawfully possessed another such pistol on or
about July 27, 1973; Count Three charged that he unlawfully
possessed six additional semi-automatic pistols on or about Au-

3

On March 18, 1975, respondent, invoking Rule 48
of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure and the
Sixth Amendment, moved to dismiss the indictment
(A. 6-7). He alleged in his motion (1) that the gov-
ernment had not obtained any information. relating to
the offenses charged in the indictment after Septem-
ber 26, 1973; (2) that the government thereafter had
delayed presenting the evidence against him to the
grand jury for a period of approximately 18 months;
(3) that the delay in presenting such evidence was
unreasonable; and (4) that the delay had caused him
to experience “anxiety and concern” (A. 6). Respon-
dent did not allege that the government had delayed
seeking an indictment to secure an improper tactical
advantage over him, and he made no effort to partic-
ularize the respects in which the delay had impaired
his ability to defend against the charges.’

On April 25, 1975, the district court held a hearing
on respondent’s motion to dismiss (A. 8-20). The
government stipulated at the outset of the hearing
that a postal inspector had interviewed respondent in
September 1973 concerning a series of thefts from a
mail facility operated by the Terminal Railroad Asso-
ciation in St. Louis, Missouri, and that, although in-
vestigation of the thefts had continued thereafter,

gust 31, 1973; and Count Four charged respondent with having
sold firearms without the necessary license (A. 3-5).

* In fact, respondent did not assert explicitly that the delay had
impaired his ability to defend himself at trial. In addition to
claiming that he had experienced “anxiety and concern,” he alleged
only that he had “been prejudiced by the delay in the presentment
to the Grand Jury” (A. 6).

226-327—76——2

4

only one witness had been discovered after Septem-
ber 1973 who might have bolstered the government’s
case against respondent (A. 9-10).

In support of his allegation that the government
had sufficient evidence as of September 1973 to war-
rant presenting the case against him to the grand
jury, respondent introduced at the hearing a report
that had been prepared by Postal Inspector G. P.
Wellner (A. 8-9, 21-26). The report was dated
October 2, 1973, and had been forwarded to the
United States Attorney at that time (A. 18-19). The
report indicated that between August 20 and Sep-
tember 5, 1973, government agents had purchased
three semi-automatic handguns from Martin Koehn-
ken and a fourth handgun from David Northdurft.
‘These handguns had been sold by the Browning Arms
Company to various retailers but had been stolen,
prior to their receipt by the retailers, after mailing
from a Terminal Railroad Association facility in St.
Louis. Government agents arrested Koehnken on Sep-
tember 11, at which time they seized four additional
stolen handguns.* Subsequent investigation revealed
that Koehnken had purchased the eight guns—includ-
ing the gun that Northdurft had sold to the agents—
from Joe Boaz. Boaz was interviewed on Septem-
ber 24, 1973, and admitted that he had known that
the guns were “hot’’ when he sold them to Koehnken.
Boaz also stated during the interview that he had ob-

ey Koehnken subsequently pleaded guilty to a single count charg-
ing him with having engaged in the business of dealing in firearms
without a license, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 922(a) (1) (see A. 23).

5

tained all eight guns from respondent between July 26
and September 11, 1973 (A. 22-24).

Respondent, a switchman for the Terminal Rail-
road Association, was interviewed in the presence of
his attorney on September 26, 1973. He claimed that
after having visited his son, a mail handler for the

- Railroad Association, he had found “four or five” —

handguns in a sack in the back seat of his automo-
bile.* He admitted selling the guns he had found to
Boaz, but he specifically denied having sold Boaz
all eight of the guns that had been purchased or
seized from Koehnken. The report also indicated that
respondent would not have had access to insured mail
parcels in the normal course of his duties as a switch-
man and that, although his son would have had access
to insured parcels and had endorsed and cashed three
of the four checks that Boaz had given respondent
as payment for the guns, the postal inspectors had no
direct evidence at that time that respondent’s son was
responsible for the thefts (A. 24).

Respondent testified at the hearing that two “ pos-
sible” witnesses on his behalf had died during the
eighteen-month delay referred to in his motion to
dismiss—his brother and Tom Stewart.’ He testified
that his brother, who had worked prior to his death

* Respondent claimed that he had visited his son while his son
was at work and that he had left his automobile unlocked during
the visit (A. 24). :

* Respondent testified that Stewart had died approximately six
months before the date of the hearing and that his brother had
died in April 1974, approximately one year before the hearing
(A. 11-12).

6

at the same place of business as Boaz, had introduced
him to Boaz and had been present when he made
arrangements by telephone to obtain guns to sell to
Boaz (A. 11-12). Respondent also testified that he
had obtained “some of the guns” identified in the
indictment from Stewart and that he had arranged
to obtain those guns by telephoning Stewart from
Boaz’s office (A. 12).° On cross-examination, however,
respondent stated that he had obtained only “‘two or
three” guns from Stewart in that manner (A. 13).
He conceded further that he had told the postal inspec-
tor who had questioned him that he had found some
of the guns he had sold in a sack in the back seat
of his automobile and that he had not mentioned
Stewart’s name at that time. He explained that he had
not disclosed Stewart’s involvement earlier because
Stewart “was a bad tomato’”’ and “was liable to take
a shot” at him (ibid.). Respondent did not specify
at the hearing what exculpatory evidence his brother
or Stewart might have provided.’

2. On October 8, 1975—following an aborted at-
tempt by respondent to plead guilty to a misde-

* Like respondent, Stewart worked as a switchman at the Rail-
road Terminal Association (A. 11) and, as a consequence, presum-
ably would not have had access to insured mail parcels in the
normal course of his duties.

"Postal Inspector Wellner was also a witness at the hearing
and testified that evidence had been presented to the grand jury
tending to show that persons in addition to respondent had been
involved in the matters charged in the indictment (A. 20), The
government earlier had informed the court that its theory of the
case was that respondent had received the handguns referred to
in the indictment from his son (A, 13-14).

7

meanor *“—the district court entered an order dis-
missing all counts of the indictment. The court based
its dismissal on Rule 48(b) of the Federal Rules of
Criminal Procedure, stating in relevant part (Pet.
App. 14a) :
[A]s of September 26, 1973, and in no event
later than October 2, 1973, the Government had
all the information relating to [respondent’s]
alleged commission of the offenses charged
against him; but did not charge [respondent]
Or present the matter to a grand jury until
more than 17 months thereafter. * * *

As a result of the delay [respondent] has
been prejudiced by reason of the death of Tom
Stewart, a material witness on his behalf. The
Government’s delay has not been explained or
justified and we find it unnecessary and un-
reasonable. _

On February 23, 1976, a divided panel of the court
of appeals affirmed the dismissal of the three posses-
sion counts of the indictment and ordered reinstate-
ment of the court charging respondent with dealing
in firearms without a license. The majority (com-
prised of Justice Clark and J udge Bright) rested its

*On August 8, 1975, respondent attempted to plead guilty to a
superseding information charging him with having knowingly
and willfully obstructed and retarded the passage of mail matter,
in violation of 18 U.S.C, 1701, But during the hearing on the plea,
respondent repeated his earlier statement about having found the
handgun referred to in the information in an unmarked package
in the back seat of his automobile. The government informed the
court that “it’s our position that if [respondent] didn’t know it
was mail matter then he cannot enter a plea of guilty to the offense”
(Plea Tr, 32), and the court thereafter declined to accept the plea.

8

affirmance upon its finding that respondent had estab-
lished “the two basic elements essential to a claim of
preindictment delay—unreasonable delay and preju-
dice to [his] ability to defend against the charges”
(Pet. App. 5a). Although the majority acknowledged

that the delay had been occasioned by the govern- -

ment’s desire to identify additional persons who
may have- participated in the thefts, it nevertheless
concluded that the district court’s finding that the
delay was “unjustified, unnecessary, and unreason-
able’? was supported by the evidence (ibid.). With
respect to the district court’s finding of prejudice,
the majority relied upon the assertion of respondent’s
- eounsel in brief and argument—but not made at or
supported by the testimony at the hearing on the
motion to dismiss—“that were Stewart’s testimony
available it would support his claim that he did not
know that the guns were stolen from the United
States mails” (ibid.).°

Judge Henley dissented from the decision insofar —

as it upheld the district court’s dismissal of the three
possession counts, in part for the reasons stated in
his dissenting opinion in United States v. Barket, 530
F. 2d 189, 197-199 (C.A. 8). Judge Henley stressed
that ‘‘the fifth amendment protection against pre-
indictment or preprosecution delays is not coextensive

® The court reversed the district court’s dismissal of the count of
the indictment charging respondent with dealing in firearms with-
out a license, after having concluded that that count related solely
to a transaction between respondent and Boaz and that Stewart’s
death could not have impaired respondent’s ability to defend
against that charge (Pet. App. 6a-7a).

with the ‘speedy trial’ protection accorded by the sixth
amendment” and that “the subject of a criminal
investigation has no constitutional right to immediate
prosecution or arrest” (Pet. App. 8a). Judge Henley
also pointed out that respondent had not offered any
evidence tending to show that the delay in obtaining
the indictment “was motivated by any sinister desire
on the part of the investigating officers or the United
States Attorney to gain a tactical advantage * * *”
(id. at 8a—9a).”°

Judge Henley noted additionally that respondent’s
belated assertion of prejudice as a result of Stewart’s
death made that assertion highly suspect (id. at 9a-
10a), and he concluded that, in any event, “‘the district
court’s finding that [respondent] sustained substan-
tial prejudice as a result of the death of Tom Stewart
was purely speculative and for that reason was
clearly erroneous” (td. at 9a). According to Judge
Henley (id. at lla):

When a district judge susta‘.1s in advance
of trial a motion to dismiss an indictment
because of prejudicial pre-indictment delay, he
takes a stringent measure. And if such a motion
is improvidently granted, it adversely affects
the public interest in the enforcement of the
criminal law, and it also encourages the filing

*° In Barket, supra, Judge Henley had stated (530 F. 2d at 198) :

[P]rejudice conceded, my position in a case of this kind

is that pre-prosecution delay does not amount to a denial of

due process absent a showing of bad faith or improper mo-

tive on the part of the government in delaying the prosecu-

tion, or a showing of detrimental reliance by a putative

defendant on the initial decision of the government not to
prosecute.

10

of meritless motions, similarly based, by other
defendants. The dismissing of indictments on
account of the government’s delay in obtaining
them is not an acceptable solution to the prob-
lem of crowded criminal calendars, and in my
opinion motions such as * * * [respondent’s]
should not be granted -in advance of trial ex-
cept in clear cases.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
LL.

The standard employed by the Eighth Circuit in
this and other recent cases for assessing the permis-
sibility of pre-accusation delay renders this Court’s
decision in United States v. Marion, 404 U.S. 307,
largely meaningless. In effect, the Eighth Circuit has
imported into the pre-accusation phase of criminal
proceedings obligations of: efficient investigation and
prompt indictment measured by standards compar-
ably stringent to those adopted by this Court to gov-
ern application of the Sixth Amendment’s explicit
speedy trial requirement. In the process, the court
has obliterated most if not all of the distinction be-
tween pre-accusation and post-accusation prosecu-
torial obligations, ignored substantial public policies
that strongly counsel against rules tha. encourage
premature public accusation, and created a host of
practical difficulties having serious import for the ad-
ministration of criminal justice. There was good rea-
son for this Court’s view in Marion that pre-accusa-
tion delay is materially different in nature and impact
and should accordingly be assessed under less exact-
ing criteria. We suggest again, as we did in Marion,

11

that the severe sanction of dismissal of charges is
appropriate only in the rare case in which the de-
fendant can demonstrate both that the delay stemmed
from -invidious motivations and that it caused sub-
stantial prejudice to his defense.

1. The decision in this case ignores significant dif-
ferences in the status of persons before and after
formal accusation—differences at the heart of this
Court’s determination in Marion that the obligations
imposed by the Sixth Amendment’s speedy trial pro-
vision are triggered by formal accusation, rather than
by some prior act or omission attributable to the
government. The personal disabilities that generally
attend formal accusation either do not exist or are
much less severe prior to arrest and holding te answer
or the bringing of criminal charges. At the same time,
delaying arrest or charge pending further investiga-
tion often benefits both the person suspected of
criminal conduct and society generally by avoiding
unwarranted or ill-considered accusations and by
shortening the time between the bringing of charges
and the defendant’s opportunity to secure a determi-
nation of the charges at trial.

2. These considerations strongly counsel against a
construction of the Due Process Clause obligating the
government to institute formal criminal proceedings
as soon as it might be thought to have probable cause
to do so. There is, in fact, little justification for per-
mitting courts to attempt to balance the various
interests implicated during the pre-accusatory phase
of criminal proceedings, since statutes of limitation

already perform that function. Absent extraordinary
226-327—76——-3

12
circumstances, not present in this case, “[s]uch legisla-
tive judgments are clearly entitled to great weight in
determining what constitutes unreasonable delay.”
Dickey v. Florida, 398 U.S. 30, 47 (Brennan, J., con-
curring).

3. Assessing the permissibility of pre-accusation
delay on a basically ad hoe basis would also entail un-
aeceptable costs to the criminal justice system, without
providing assurance of fairer results than those pro-
duced by application of the relevant statute of limita-
tions. Perhaps most importantly, an ad hoe approach
would require courts to engage in lengthy hearings
and to resolve a variety of essentially policy disputes
- that transcend the individual ease.

I.

The decision in this case also departs from previ-
ously accepted standards by endorsing a procedure
for resolving due process claims based upon pre-
accusation delay that, in practical effect, significantly
dilutes the requirement that the defendant demon-
strate that the delay caused actual and substantial
prejudice to his ability to defend against the charges.
While it may sometimes be possible, and not unduly
burdensome, for a court to determine with some
assurance prior to trial whether the government sought
to delay formal accusation to secure an improper
tactical advantage, the same will seldom be true of
allegations of defense prejudice. The enhanced ability
to make a sound assessment of claims of prejudice
after trial, combined with the substantial economy of
judicial and prosecutorial resources that will be accom-

13

plished by avoiding a lengthy pretrial hearing that
will be largely duplicative of the trial itself, prove the
soundness of the rule, which we urge this Court to
adopt, requiring that due process claims such as
respondent’s normally be resolved after trial.

ARGUMENT
I.

A DEFENDANT SEEKING THE DISMISSAL OF CRIMINAL
CHARGES UNDER THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE BECAUSE OF
PRE-ACCUSATION DELAY MUST SHOW BOTH THAT THE
DELAY IMPAIRED HIS ABILITY TO DEFEND AGAINST THF
CHARGES AND THAT THE GOVERNMENT SOUGHT TH)!
DELAY TO SECURE AN IMPROPER TACTICAL ADVANTAG!

A. IN THE ABSENCE OF PROSECUTORIAL CONDUCT DESIGNED TO OBTAIN
AN IMPROPER TACTICAL ADVANTAGE, THE PERMISSIBILITY OF PRE-
ACCUSATION DELAY IS GOVERN ED SOLELY BY THE APPLICABLE STATUTE
UF LIMITATIONS

In United States vy. Marion, 404 U.S. 307, this
Court held that only “a formal indictment or infor-
mation or else the actual restraints imposed by arrest
and holding to answer a criminal charge * * * en-
gage the particular protections of the speedy trial
provisions of the Sixth Amendment’’ (404 U.S. at
320). At the same time, Marion acknowledged that
pre-accusation delay might in some instances violate
the Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment and
require the dismissal of criminal charges. Specifically,
this Court referred approvingly to the government’s —
suggestion that the Due Process Clause would require
the dismissal of an indictment “if it were shown at
trial that the pre-indictment delay * * * caused sub-
stantial prejudice to * * * [the accused’s] right[ ]

14

to a fair trial and that the delay was an intentional
device to gain tactical advantage over the accused’’
(404 U.S. at 324; footnote omitted).

Several courts of appeals have had occasion in the
wake of Marion to consider the application of the
Due Process Clause to particular instances of pre-
accusation delay. The position of the Eighth Circuit
is exemplified by the decision in this case. The panel
majority held here that the showing required of a
defendant claiming a violation of due process because
of pre-accusation delay is limited to “‘two basic ele-
ments’’-—a demonstration that the delay was “un-
reasonable” and a showing that it prejudiced the de-
fendant’s ability to defend against the charges (Pet.
App. 5a). The majority then went on to hold that
the delay that occurred here was unreasonable because
the “essential’’ facts underlying the indictment were
known to the prosecutor approximately 17 months
prior to respondent’s indictment, and “[n]o reason
existed for the delay except a hope on the part of the
Government that others might be discovered who may
have participated in the theft of firearms from the
United States mails’ (tbid.). In an earlier case,
United States v. Barket, 530 F.2d 181, a divided
panel of the Eighth Circuit had explained that pre-
accusation delay is “unreasonable” whenever the de-
fendant has been able to show that the delay was
caused by “governmental negligence’ (td. at 195).”

" Accord, United States v. Jackson, 504 F. 2d 337, 339-341 (C.A,
8), certiorari denied, 420 U.S. 964. In other recent cases, the Eighth
Circuit has explained that pre-accusation delay is “unreasonable”
if it is not affirmatively justified by the government and that “as
the delay increases, the specificity with which prejudice must ap-
pear, diminishes” (United States v. Naftalin, 534 F. 2a 770, 773,

15

The negligence standard adopted by the Eighth
Circuit in this and other recent cases renders this

certiorari denied, No. 75-1720, October 4, 1976). United States v.
Page, No. 76-1 ~*2, decided November 23, 1976 (slip op. 3) ; United
States v. Quinn, 540 F. 2d 357, 360-362 ; United States v. Librach,
520 F. 2d 550, 554-555; United States v. Norton, 504 F, 2d 342,
344-345, certiorari denied, 419 U.S. 1113; see also United States v.
Washington, 504 F. 2d 346, 347-348.

Three other circuits appear to agree with the Eighth Circuit
that a defendant claiming a violation of due process because of
pre-accusation delay need not show that the government delayed
accusation for improper tactical reasons. United States v. Sand,
541 F, 2d 1370, 1873-1374 (C.A. 9) ; United States v. Erickson, 472
F. 2d 505, 507 (C.A. 9) ; United States v. Wilson, 357 F. Supp. 619
(E.D. Pa.), affirmed, 517 F. 2d 1400 (CA. 3); United States v.
Dukow, 453 F. 2d 1328, 1830 (C.A. 3), certiorari denied sub nom.
Crow v. United States, 406 U.S. 945; United States v. Alred, 513
F. 2d 330, 332 (C.A. 6) ; United States v. Giacalone, 477 F. 2d 1273,
1276-1277 (C.A. 6). On the other hand, at least four circuits have
stated that they require such a showing, although they have not yet
been presented with a case in which the defendant has established
that the delay prejudiced his ability to defend. United States v.
Scallion, 533 F. 2d 903, 911-912 (C.A. 5) ; United States v. Duke,
527 F. 2d 386, 390 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied, June 21, 1976, No.
75-6564; United States v. Joyce, 499 F. 2d 9, 19-20 (C.A. 7);
United States v. Ricketson, 498 F. 2d 367, 370-871 (C.A.7) ; United
States v. Beitscher, 467 F. 2d 269, 272 (C.A. 10) ; United States v.
Daley, 454 F. 2d 505, 508 (C.A. 1).

The Secohd Circuit has expressly reserved ruling on the issue
presented here. 2.g., United States v. Vispi, No. 76-1250, decided
November 15, 1976 (slip op. 516-517 and n. 4); United States v.
Finkelstein, 526 F. 2d 517, 521. Using its supervisory powers “but
mindful of the due process overtones of the problem” (United
States v. Jones, 524 F. 2d 834, 840), the Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia Circuit has adopted an approach to pre-
accusation delay in narcotics cases similar to that employed by the
Eighth Circuit in this case. £.g., Robinson v. United States, 459
F. 2d 847; Woody v. United States, 370 F.2d 214; Daniels v. United
States, 357 I. 2d 587; Bey v. United States, 350 F. 2d 467; Ross v.
United States, 349 F. 2d 210. Defendants - her types of cases in
the District of Columbia Circuitappar . _ -ust demonstrate both
prejudice and improper motivation oy the government. /nited
States v. Bridgeman, 523 F. 2d 1099, 1111-1112.

16

Court’s decision in Marion largely meaningless. The
Eighth Circuit has held in effect that the Due Process
Clause guarantees speedy accusations in much the
same way that the Sixth Amendment guarantees
speedy trials. Consistently with this view of the Due
Process Clause, the standard employed by. the court
for assessing the permissibility of pre-accusation delay
is the functional equivalent of the standard adopted
by this Court in Barker v. Wingo, 407 U.S. 514, for
assessing the permissibility of post-accusation delay.
In fact, in one recent case, United States v. Barket,
supra, the Eighth Circuit relied explicitly upon
Barker for the proposition that negligence or inadver-
tence by the government, delaying the obtaining of an
indictment and prejudicing the defense, violates the
Due Process Clause (530 F. 2d at 193).

But as Marion makes clear, the situation of a poten-
tial defendant does not compare with the situation
of a defendant who has been arrested and held to
answer or otherwise formally accused of criminal
conduct. The Eighth Cireuit’s approach to pre-accusa-
tion delay also ignores substantial public policies—
of benefit both to potential defendants and to society
as a whole—that that would be disserved by rules that
encourage premature public accusation of persons
suspected of having engaged in criminal conduct. The
standard employed by the Eighth Cireuit also involves
perhaps insuperable practical difficulties, without
providing assurance of more equitable results than
those produced by application of the relevant statute
of limitations.

17

1. The approach to pre-accusation delay exemplified by the deci-
cion in this case ignores significant differences in the status of
persons before and after formal accusation
This Court’s determination in Marion that the ob-

ligations imposed by the Sixth Amendment’s speedy

trial provision are triggered by formal accusation,
rather than by some prior act or omission attributable
to the government, was deeply rooted in the policies
subsumed by that guarantee—policies that cannot
casually be transferred to the due process inquiry in
cases of pre-aceusation delay. Despite the presump-
tion of innocence to which persons charged with
criminal offenses are entitled, the making of a formal
accusation—whether signified by arrest and holding
to answer or by the issuance of criminal charges—
almost inevitably alters the status of the subject to
his detriment. Arrest is a public act that carries the
implication that the government has probable cause

to believe that the person arrested has committed a

crime. The arrest and lodging of a criminal charge

“may seriously interfere with the defendant’s liberty,

whether he is free on bail or not, and * * * may dis-

rupt his employment, drain his financial resources,
curtail his associations, subject him to public obloquy,
and create anxiety in him, his family and his friends”

(United States v. Marion, supra, 404 U.S. at 320).”

* Accord, Dillingham vy. United States, 423 U.S. 64. When we
speak of an arrest triggering the protections of the Sixth Amend-
ment, we are referring of course to one followed by a formal com-
plaint and the holding of the arrested individual to answer crimi-
nal charges, as by being bound over to await the action of a grand
jury following a preliminary hearing. When an individual is ar-

18

The issuance of an indictment or information has pre-
cisely the same effects. Moreover, ‘‘[i]nordinate
delay between arrest, indictment, and trial may im-
pair a defendant’s ability to present an effective de-
fense”—although “the major evils protected against
by the speedy trial guarantee exist quite apart from
actual or possible prejudice to an accused’s defense”
(ibid.).*

Thus, once a person has been formally accused of a
crime, the Constitution explicitly enjoins the prosecu-
tion and the judiciary to proceed with “orderly ex-
pedition’”? (Smith v. United States, 360 U.S. 1, 10).
Determining whether a particular criminal prosecu-
tion has proceeded with orderly expedition or at an
appropriately “deliberate pace’? (United States v.
Ewell, 383 U.S. 116, 120) requires courts to engage in
a sensitive balancing process—taking into consideration
the length of the delay between formal accusa-
tion and trial, the reasons for the delay, the de-
fendant’s assertion of his right, and prejudice conse-

rested but then released without being held to answer criminal
charges, the protections of the Speedy Trial Clause would not at-
tach until formal charges are brought. £.g., United States v.
Bishton, 463 F. 2d 887, 891 (C.A. D.C.) ; but see United States v.
MacDonald, 531 F. 2d 196, 204-205 (C.A. 4), petition for a writ
of certiorari pending, No. 75-1892.

18 Indeed, as this Court pointed out in Barker v. Wingo, 407 U.S.
514, 521, delay in the prosecution of criminal charges actually may
operate to the defendant’s advantage at trial. Since the prosecution
carries the burden of proof, the prosecution is often more vulner-
able than the defense to any delay that results in the loss of rele-
vant evidence. See Dickey v. Florida, supra, 398 U.S. at 46 n. 10
(Brennan, J., concurring). Delay may also enable defendants “to
negotiate more effectively for pleas of guilty to lesser offenses and
otherwise manipulate the system” (Barker v. Wingo, supra, 407
U.S. at 519).

ly

quent upon the delay. Barker v. Wingo, supra, 407
U.S. at 530-533. This balancing process must be car-
ried out “with full recognition that the accused’s
interest in a speedy trial is specifically affirmed in
the Constitution’? (id. at 533) and is of a “funda-
mental” nature (Klopfer v. North Carolina, 386 U.S.
213, 223)."*

Prior to formal accusation, the interests of a poten-
tial defendant and of a society concerned with the
even-handed enforcement of the criminal laws are
quite different. As this Court pointed out in Marion,
prior to arrest or charge “a citizen suffers no re-
straints on his liberty and is not the subject of public
accusation * * *” (404 U.S. at 321). The impact on
job, family, and personal finances is generally non-
existent or far less severe prior to formal accusation
than after. Although the fact that criminal investiga-
tion is in progress may become known on occasion to
persons not involved in the investigation, any rumors
that may surface concerning the identity of potential
defendants seldom will be as damaging to those per-
sons as the act of formal accusation—which, because
of its official nature and the status of those responsi-
ble for it, will serve almost inevitably to transform
any preexisting rumor into apparently justified sus-
picion. Similarly, while we recognize that anxiety may

“ Accord, Dickey v. Florida, supra, 398 U.S. at 37; Smith vy.
Hooey, 392 U.S. 374, 375.

The period following formal accusation is now also governed by
the Speedy Trial Act of 1974, 88 Stat. 2076, 18 U.S.C. (Supp. IV)
3161 et seq., and local rules adopted pursuant to that statute. See
also Rule 50(a), (b), Fed. R. Crim, P.

226-327 —76-—4

20

be suffered by persons with knowledge of an ongoing
criminal investigation touching upon their activities,
that anxiety, in the usual case, is increased meas-
urably by formal accusation—with its heightened
prospect of a criminal trial and eventual punish-
ment. In sum, in most relevant respects the
situation of a potential defendant “does not com-
pare with that of a defendant who has been ar-
rested and held to answer’’ (United States v. Marion,
supra, 404 U.S. at 321) or charged formally with
criminal activity. Ci. Kirby v. Illinois, 406 U.S. 682,
689-691.

There is another, and quite significant, respect in
which the impact of pre-accusation delay on a poten-
tial defendant is different from the effect of post-
accusation delay on an actual defendant. During a
period of pre-accusation delay, whether such delay is
a product of further investigation of the case or simple
inertia, additional facts may come to light showing
that the person originally under suspicion was not
actually involved in the matter being investigated, that
no criminal conduct occurred, or that the case is an
appropriate one for a discretionary decision not to
prosecute.” Thus, delaying arrest or charge may serve
to avoid placing a suspect in the position of having
been accused publicly of criminal activity. Even if

** As this Court pointed out in Kirby v. lllinois, supra, 406 U.S.
at 689:

The initiation of judicial criminal proceedings is far
from a mere formalism. It is the starting point for our
whole system of adversary criminal justice. For it is only

then that the government has committed itself to prosecute,

21

ultimately indicted, moreover, the delay may shorten
the period between the bringing of charges and the
defendant’s opportunity to secure an acquittal on
those charges at trial.

Given these substantial differences in the status of
persons before and after formal accusation, this
Court’s refusal in Marion to extend the protections
of the speedy trial provision of the Sixth Amendment
to the period preceding formal accusation is readily
understandable.” Those considerations support the
basic thrust of this Court’s decision in Marion that

and only then that the adverse positions of government and
defendant have solidified. * * *

See also United States v. Finkelstein, supra, 526 F.2d at 526
(“The deliberate pace of the investigation redounded to society’s
benefit in two ways: it protected an innocent party and ferreted
out two who were culpable.”) ; United States v. Capaldo, 402 F.2d
821, 823 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied, 384 U.S. 989 (“It is usually
in the public interest, and frequently to the advantage of the
prospective defendant, that charges not be brought until the
prosecutor has completed his investigation and feels that there is
sufficient likelihood of gaining a conviction.”) ; United States v.
Feinberg, 383 F.2d 60, 64-65 (C.A. 2) (“Time-consuming investi-
gation prior to an arrest minimizes the likelihood of accusing
innocent parties and may facilitate the exposure of additional
guilty persons.”); United States v. Hauff, 395 F.2d 555, 557
(C.A. 7).

” Sins respondent did not become an “accused” until he was
indicted on March 6, 1975, his reliance upon Rule 48 of the Federal
Ruies of Criminal Procedure and the Sixth Amendment was mis-
placed. Respondent moved to dismiss the charges against him on
March 18, 1975 (A. 6-7), within two weeks of his indictment. The
delay of which he complained preceded his formal accusation and
consequently was not governed by Rule 48 of the Sixth Amend-
ment. See Dillingham v. United States, supra, 423 U.S. 64;
United States v. Marion, supra, 404 U.S. at 313, 319.

22

the government will not ordinarily be called upon to
justify pre-accusation delay. We believe that any
exception to this principle should be narrowly circum-
scribed, extending only, as the Marion opinion sug-
gests, to the rare case in which the defendant can
demonstrate that the delay stemmed from imvitious
motivations and caused substantial prejudice to his
defense.

2. The Due Process Clause does not require courts to consider on
an ad hoc basis the timeliness of criminal cherges that ave
brought within the applicable statute of limitations and are
not the product of prosecutorial overreaching
This Court has interpreted the Due Process Clause

as “a summarized constitutional guarantee of respect

for those personal immunities which * * * are ‘so
rooted in the traditions and conscience of our people
as to be ranked as fundamental’ * * * or are ‘implicit
in the concept of ordered liberty’ ” (Rochin v. Cali-
fornia, 342 U.S. 165, 169; citing Snyder v. Massa-

chusetts, 291 U.S. 97, and Palko v. Connecticut, 302

U.S. 319). The right to a fair trial is indisputably

fundamental in nature; it is, in fact, the goal of many

specific constitutional guarantees. And whether the
offending party has been a state or the federal gov-
ernment, the Due Process Clause has served to ensure
that criminal trials are conducted within the bounds

dictated by “fundamental fairness” (Duncan v.

Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145, 171, 186-187 (Harlan, J.,

dissenting) ) and the “community’s sense of fair play

and decency” (Rochin v. California, supra, 342 U.S.

at 173). See, e.g., United States v. Agurs, No. 75-491,

= ap

23
decided June 24, 1976; Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S.
83.”

Although a defendant’s due process right to a fair
trial may be violated in certain circumstances despite
the absence of affirmative governmental overreaching
or bad faith (see United States v. Agurs, supra, slip
op. 12-13; Brady v. Maryland, supra, 373 U.S. at 87),
we know of no case not involving a breach of some
duty owed by the government to the defendant in
which this Court has found a violation of the Due
Process Clause. The requirement of due process does
not provide courts with a roving commission to oversee
performance by the Executive Branch of its law
enforcement responsibilities, exercising a ‘‘chancellor’s
foot” veto over acts or oissions that they consider
unjustified or undesirable. Cf. United States v. Russell,
411 U.S. 423, 435. Particularly in applying the severe
remedy of barring the prosecution of persons who are
charged with crime, a disciplined and circumscribed
exercise of judicial power is called for—one that looks
to “all the circumstances” (Hampton v. United States,
425 U.S. 484, 494 n. 6 (Powell, J., concurring). In the
instant context, the circumstances that must be taken
into account include those affecting persons having
to defend against criminal charges, to be sure, but also
those affecting the related, but somewhat broader,

** See also Jn re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 359, and Jn re Gault,
387 U.S. 1, 30, interpreting the Fourteenth Amendment as requir-
ing the adjudicatory phase of state juvenile proceedings to be
conducted in accordance with “the essentials of due process and

fair treatment.” i

‘ *y

24

societal interest in public justice. Cf. United States v.
Mandujano, 425 U.S. 564, 590 (Brennan, J., concur-
ring).

A number of public policies strongly counsel against
a construction of the Due Process Clause obligating
the government to institute formal criminal proceed-
ings as soon as it might be thought to have probable
cause to do so. As already noted, such a require-
ment—which underlies the court of appeals’ decision
in the present case—ignores the possibility that deci-
sions to delay formal accusation pending further in-
vestigation may benefit potential defendants as well
as society generally, particularly if such investigation
reveals that the person originally under suspicion was
not involved in the matter being investigated or that
no criminal conduct occurred. Further investigation
may also result in the discovery of related or similar
criminal conduct by persons in addition to those
originally under suspicion. By ignoring these consid-
erations, the standard for assessing pre-accusation de-
lay employed by the court of appeals encourages
haste on the part of law enforcement personnel—at
the expense of deliberateness designed to avoid un-
justified accusations, of efforts to effectuate the
speedy trial mandate of the Sixth Amendment by
shortening the period between formal accusation and
trial, and of the obvious societal interest in requiring
persons guilty of criminal offenses to answer for their
conduct.” Indeed, so long as formal accusation is de-

* See, ¢.g., United States v. Feinberg, supra, 383 F. 2d at 67
(original emphasis) (“[F]ear of forfeiting a prosecution would

25

layed to permit further investigation, we believe that
such delay can never be considered unjustified. See
United States v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411, 431 (Powell,
J., concurring).

At the same time, the court of appeals’ definition
of ‘‘delay” puts proseeutors at risk of violating the
Fourth Amendment if they act too soon in arresting
persons suspected of criminal conduct and of violating
the Fifth Amendment if they wait too long and
evidence is lost fortuitously. This Court recognized
a similar dilemma in Hoffa v. United States, 385 U.S.
293. The petitioner in Hoffa, relying upon Escobedo vy.
Illinois, 378 U.S. 478, argued that since he would have
had a right to counsel under the Sixth Amendment
had the government taken him into custody and
charged him with an offense, he should have been
entitled to the same right at the moment the govern-
ment had sufficient evidence to de so. In rejecting that
argument, this Court stated (385 U.S. at 309-310) :

There is no constitutional right to be arrested.
The police are not required to guess at their
peril the precise moment at which they have
probable cause to arrest a suspect, risking a
violation of the Fourth Amendment if they act
too soon, and a violation of the Sixth Amend-
ment if they wait too long. Law enforcement
officers are under no constitutional duty to call
a halt to a criminal investigation the moment
they have the minimum evidence to establish

frequently induce wnreasonable speed which ‘would have a delete-
rious effect both upon the rights of the accused and upon the
ability of society to protect itself.’ ”).

26

probable cause, a quantum of evidence which
may fall far short of the amount necessary to
support a criminal conviction [Footnote omit-
ted].”°
It is exceedingly difficult to square this Court’s assess-
ment in Hoffa of the government’s responsibility for-
mally to accuse persons suspected of criminal con-
duet with the view of that responsibility taken by the
court of appeals in the present ease.

The court of appeals’ construction of the Due Proe-
ess Clause also would interfere in an unwarranted
manner with the functioning of the grand jury. The
“historic office” of the grand jury in our system of
criminal justice “has been to provide a shield against
arbitrary or oppressive action, by insuring that seri-
ous criminal accusations will be brought only upon the
considered judgment of a representative body of eiti-
zens * * *” (United States vy. Mandujano, supra, 425
U.S. at 571). It is essential to the successful perform-
ance of this function that the grand jury be afforded
hoth the means of pursuing evidence of criminal con-
duet and sufficient time in which to do so carefully and
(dispassionately; to those ends, the law has ‘‘vest[ed]
the grand jury with substantial powers, because ‘[t]he
grand jury’s investigative powers must be broad if
its public responsibiilty is adequately to be dis-
charged’ ” (id. at 7; citing United States vy. Calandra,
414 U.S. 338, and Branzburg v. Hayes, 408 U.S. 665).

Once the grand jury has returned an indictment
against an individual believed to have engaged in

This Court referred approvingly in Marion to the passage
from the opinion in Hoffa quoted above (404 U.S. at 325 n. 18).

27

criminal conduct, there may be substantial restric-
tions upon its power to inquire further into that
matter. See United States v. Doe, 455 F. 2d 1270, 1273
(C.A. 1). These limitations proceed from the fact that
the return of an indictment fundamentally alters the
status of the person accused and, consistently with
that altered status, changes the predominant character
of the proceedings from investigation to adjudication.
If the grand jury is required to act upon incomplete
information, following an investigation by the police
or prosecutor terminated prematurely at the point of
mere probable cause, the problems that concerned this
Court in Hoffa will be compounded appreciably. De-
cisions by the grand jury based upon less than com-
plete investigation can only increase the incidence of
unwarranted accusation, at the expense of persons
wrongfully accused, and at the same time permit some
of those guilty of criminal offenses to escape sanction
for their wrongdoing, at the expense of public justice.
And even if the grand jury is able to identify and
accuse those guilty of criminal conduct, the act of
formal accusation both restricts access by law en-
forcement personnel to additional evidence that may
be needed to prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt—
particularly if that evic ence is possessed or controlled
by the defendant—and limits the time during which
such further investigation may take place. Cf.
Massiah v. United States, 377 U.S. 201.

We do not mean to suggest that the public policies
making delay in formal accusation, despite the exist-
ence of probable cause, a tolerable and often desirable
ingredient of the criminal process eliminates all con-

28

cern with expeditious enforcement of the criminal
laws.” But at least when pre-accusation delay is not
the result of overreaching by the government to gain
an improper tactical advantage, the Due Process
Clause does not require courts to consider on an ad hoe
basis the timeliness of criminal charges brought within
the applicable statute of limitations.”

*° The mere fact that a person may have been in a better posi-
tion to present an effective defense at the time the particular con-
duct occurred than he was at some later time is hardly sufficient,
of itself, to support the conclusion that tria] at such later time is
offensive to the Due Process Clause. As this Court observed in
United States v. Marion, supra, 404 U.S. at 324-825 (footnote
omitted), “no one suggests that every delay-caused detriment to a
defendant's case should abort a criminal prosecution.” In assessing
the significance of prejudice to the defense under the Due Process
Clause, it also is important to bear in mind that criminal defend-
ants often are required to respond to pending charges despite the
unavailability of evidence potentially useful to their defenses, For
example, although criminal defendants may subpoena witnesses to
testify on their behalf, they are not entitled to immunity from
trial simply because the person against whom the subpoena was
directed is beyond the jurisdiction of the court and refuses volun-
tarily to return or because the person cannot be located. Neither is
a defendant's right to a fair trial violated if persons believed to
possess luformation useful to the defense refuse to make that in-
formation available because of possible self-incrimination. See,
e.g., United States v. Morrison, 535 F. 2d 223, 228-929 (CLA, 3).
In all of these instances, the interest of the defendant in present-
ing the most effective defense possible is subordinated. consistently
with the Due Process Clause, to other interests of a more com pel-
ling nature.

** The fact that a showing of governmental overreaching or bad
faith is not required to gain a new trial following the suppression
of material evidence favorable to the defense (see United Ntates v.
Agurs, supra, slip op. 12-13; Brady v. Maryland, supra, 373 U.S,
at 87) does not support the proposition that pre-accusation delay
may offend the Due Process Clause even if not engaged in by the

29

One of the purposes of statutes of limitation, which
stand as “the primary guarantee against bringing
overly stale criminal charges” (United States v.
Ewell, supra, 383 U.S. at 122), is to guard against the
possibility that the passage of time may impair the
ability to mount an effective defense. They also serve
the more general function of balancing society’s inter-
est in equitable law enforcement and the interest of
potential defendants in not having to defend against
charges of long-past criminal conduct. In performing
these functions, statutes of limitation may have “‘the
salutary effect of encouraging law enforcement officials
promptly to investigate suspected «~iminal activity”
(Toussie v. United States, 397 U.S. 112, 115).* But

government to prejudice the defense. A conviction obtained fol-
lowing suppression by the prosecution of material evidence favor-
able to the defendant violates the Due Process Clause both because
of the direct connection between such conduct and the integrity
of the verdict and because the suppression of such evidence is
never justified by any overriding public policies. But unless the
prosecution has delayed accusation for the purpose of prejudicing
the defense, or perhaps proceeded in reckless disregard of circum-
stances known to it calling for the expeditious bringing of charges
(see n. 25 infra), the occurrence of prejudice to the defense because
of pre-accusation delay is simply fortuitous, And the remedy for a
Brady violation is the award of 9 new trial at which guilt or
innocene may be fairly determined, not the severe remedy of
barring adjudication of the charges that results from a finding
of impermissible delay. As noted, moreover, delaying formal
accusation beyond the point at which it might have been possible
to charge the defendant often serves substantial public policies
and benefits potential defendants.

2'The possibility that evidence may become unavailable and
thus successful prosecution may become more difficult if formal
criminal proceedings are delayed provides an additional, and often
quite strong, incentive to prompt action by law enforcement per-
sonnel. This diminishes the practical need for strict rules against
pre-accusation delay.

30

whether such investigation is fruitful or not, and
despite the possibility that in particular cases the
passage of time may not have prejudiced the ability
to present all relevant evidence, statutes of limitation
afford a measure of predictability by specifying the
point at which a general policy of repose outweighs
the desirability of further use of the criminal proc-
ess.” See, e.g., Bridges v. United States, 346 U.S. 209,
215-216.

*8 Even before the first ten amendments to the Constitution had
been ratified, Congress enacted a federal statute of limitations.
That statute imposed a three-year limit on the filing of charges
in capital cases and a two-year limit on the filing of charges in
non-capital cases. 1 Stat. 112, 119. In 1876, Congress extended the
general limitation applicable to non-capital offenses to three years
(19 Stat. 32, 33) and in 1954 extended it to five years (68 Stat.
1145, 18 U.S.C. 3282). In 1939, Congress removed the time limita-
tion as to treason and other capital offenses. 53 Stat. 1198, 62 Stat.
827; 18 U.S.C. 3281. See generally Note, The Statute of Limita-
tions in Criminal Law; A Penetrable Barrier to Prosecutions, 102
U. Pa. L. Rev. 630 (1954).

Congress also has enacted several statutes of limitation to
govern special circumstances and offenses. By the Act of March 26,
1804, 2 Stat. 290, Congress provided that indictments for offenses
arising under the customs and slave trade laws could be returned
at any time within five years of the commission of those offenses.
18 U.S.C. 3283. A statute enacted by Congress in 1914 bars prose-
cution for criminal contempt unless such prosecution is begun
within one year of the violation. 38 Stat. 740, 18 U.S.C. 3285. In
1921, Congress extended the general limitations period for de-
frauding the government from three to six years in recognition
of the fact that complex cases arising from World War I made
such extension necessary. 42 Stat. 220; H.R. Rep. No. 365, 67th
Cong., Ist Sess. (1921). After those cases had been disposed
of, Congress again shortened the limitations period to three years.
42 Stat. 51. During World War II, Congress enacted a special

31

Statutes of limitation thus represent a generalized
approach to the permissibility of pre-accusation delay
and reflect a legislative assessment of the fairness of
bringing the machinery of government to bear upon
individual citizens. In the usual case, judicial seru-
tiny of pre-indictment or pre-arrest delay under the
Due Process Clause, as this Court has interpreted that
constitutional provision, would involve the courts in
the same process. Whether pre-accusation delay were
judged by the courts in light of ‘‘fundamental fair-
ness” or the ‘‘community’s sense of fair play and
decency,” the courts would have to weigh the same
factors weighed by Congress in enacting statutes of
limitation. Absent extraordinary circumstances, not
present here, “‘[s]uch legislative judgments are clearly
entitled to great weight in determining what consti-
tutes unreasonable delay.’’ Dickey v. Florida, supra,
398 U.S. at 47 (Brennan, J., concurring).

statute of limitations governing fraud against the government in
time of war, suspending until the termination of hostilities the
three-year limitation applicable to those offenses. 56 Stat. 747; 58
Stat. 649, 667 ; 58 Stat. 765, 781; 18 U.S.C. 3287.

Certain tax offenses may be charged up to six years from their
commission, 68A Stat. 815, 26 U.S.C. 6531. The offense of conceal-
ing a bankrupt’s assets is deemed to be a continuing offense until
the bankrupt is finally discharged or discharge is denied. 62 Stat.
828, 18 U.S.C. 3284. In 1950, Congress enacted a statute providing
that violations of the espionage laws could be charged within ten
years of those offenses. 64 Stat. 1005, 18 U.S.C. 792 (note). Con-
gress extended the period for prosecuting passport offenses in 1951
after finding that most violations of the passport laws were not
discovered until after the previously applicable three-year limita-
tion had expired. 65 Stat. 107, 18 U.S.C. 3291; S. Rep. No. 384, 82d
Cong., 1st Sess. 1-2 (1951).

32

We acknowledge again, however—as we did in
Marion—that pre-accusation delay by the government
designed to deprive the defendant of a fair trial, and
having that effect, violates the Due Process Clause
even if the prosecution is brought within the appli-
cable statute of limitations. See, e.g., Dickey v. Flor-
ida, supra, 398 U.S. at 46, 51 (Brennan, J., con-
curring) ; Pollard v. United States, 352 U.S. 354, 361;
United States v. Provoo, 17 F.R.D. 183 (D. Md.),
affirmed per curiam, 350 U.S. 857." Statutes of limi-
tation represent a legislative balancing of legitimate
interests in fair and even-handed law enforcement;
they were not intended to immunize from constitu-
tional challenge law enforcement efforts, however un-
fair, occurring within the applicable limitations
period.

The fact that statutes of limitation “represent leg-
islative assessments of relative interests of the State

4 The reason that a defendant who is able to show that the gov-
ernment delayed accusing him to gain an improper tactical ad-
vantage must also demonstrate that the delay impaired his ability
to defend is simply to avoid conferring a windfall upon the de-
fendant at society’s expense. If the misconduct fails to achieve its
intended objective of depriving the defendant of a fair trial, the
Due Process Clause does not require the termination of the prose-
cution. The law has provided other remedies for such misconduct,
short of immunizing from even a fair trial one who may be guilty
of criminal conduct. See, e.g., 7mbler v. Pachtman, 424 U.S. 409,
428-429; O'Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488, 503; United States v.
Acosta, 526 F. 2d 670 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied June 7, 1976, No.
75-1368.

25 A due process violation might also be made out upon a show-
ing of prosecutorial delay incurred in reckless disregard of cir-

~—f-—->
ge

33

3. A basically ad hoe approach to pre-accusation delay would

entail unacceptable costs to the criminal justice system without

providing assurance of fairer results than those produced by

application of the relevant statute of limitations
and the defendant in administering and receiving jus-
tice’? (United States v. Marion, supra, 404 U.S. at
322) does not, of itself, necessarily mean that courts
should refrain from reassessing those interests on a
case-by-case basis—even when prosecutorial miscon-
duct is not at issue. We believe, however, that there are
sound reasons why courts should refrain. A basically ad
hoc approach to the permissibility of pre-accusation de-
lay would entail enormous costs to the criminal justice
system—without, in the vast majority of cases, provid-
ing assurance of fairer results. Furthermore, an ad hoc
approach would require courts to engage in lengthy
hearings and to resolve a variety of essentially policy
disputes that transcend the individual case.

The difficulties inherent in a basically ad ho
approach to pre-accusation delay begin with the
need to ascertain at what point the government rea-
sonably might be charged with having “delayed”
formal accusation. The court of appeals’ decision in
the present case is premised in part on the notion
that ‘‘delay” chargeable to the government commences

cumstances, known to the prosecution, suggesting that there ex-
isted an appreciable risk that delay would impair the ability to
mount an effective defense. Nothing in this case suggests that re-
spondent could establish 9 delay of this nature.

34

whenever the government possesses sufficient evidence
to warrant submission to a grand jury. In many
cases, the making of such determination would in-
volve nearly insuperable problems of proof. Prose-
cutors can hardly be expected continuously to reassess
the status of individual cases as each new piece of
evidence is discovered. Neither can they be expected
in every case to keep detailed records from which it
could readily be ascertained when evidence accumu-
lated to the point of probable cause to believe that
a particular person committed the offense of which
he is later accused. And even if it were possible to
reconstruct the course of an investigation in the kind
of detail the court of appeals’ decision would require,
fixing the point at which the government might suc-
cessfully have sought an indictment would place courts
in the unenviable position of having to divine the
likely reaction of members of a hypothetical grand
jury to evidence possessed by the government at var-
ious points in time.”

*°In determining the point at which the government success-
fully might have sought an indictment against respondent, the
panel majority relied in part on testimony from the postal in-
spector responsible for investigating the thefts from the Terminal
Railroad Association. The posta] inspector had testified at the
hearing on respondent’s motion to dismiss to the effect that “he
would have recommended the prosecution of this case and pres-
entation of the evidence to the grand jury based on the information
contained in the report submitted to the United States Attorney
on October 2, 1973” (Pet. App. 4a). Although such a recommenda-
tion may be useful to prosecutors in deciding whether and when
to seek formal charges, an investigating officer is not in a position
to make a valid assessment of the complex of factors that must
be considered in making such decisions. Consequently, a recom-

35

Given the court of appeals’ view of the Due Process
Clause, moreover, the court’s premise that delay
chargeable to the government begins whenever the
government possesses sufficient evidence to indict is
too restricted. If the court is correct in construing the
Due Process Clause as embodying a prompt accusation
requirement, it makes little sense to limit that duty
to government prosecutors. Potential defendants may
be adversely affected by “delay” in the discovery and
investigation of criminal conduct as well as by ‘‘delay”’
following the accumulation of evidence establishing
probable cause. In fact, since potential defendants
often do not learn that they may be called upon to
defend against criminal charges until the point at
which an investigation begins to focus upon them,
requiring such investigations to proceed efficiently and
expeditiously would seem to be an inevitable concom-
itant of the court of appeals’ approach.” The obvious
difficulties that would attend judicial efforts to super-
vise the conduct of criminal investigations, by
reviewing them at the behest of defendants after

mendation such as that relied upon by the panel majority is hardly
entitled to conclusive weight in determining the point at which
charges should have been brought.

27 Indeed, it is difficult rationally to distinguish respondent's
position from the position he would have been in had evidence of
the offenses charged in the indictment not been discovered for
seventeen months. But with the possible exception of the Eighth
Cireuit’s recent decision in United States v. Barket, supra, we
know of no case holding that a defendant’s right to due process
may be violated if evidence is lost during a period when the
prosecuting authority was unaware of the apparent violation of the
criminal] laws.

36

formal accusation and dismissing criminal charges
stemming from investigations not conducted with
satisfactory dispatch, would have serious import for
the administration of criminal justice. Cf. United
States v. Russell, supra, 411 U.S. at 435.

An additional difficulty inherent in recognition of a
general prompt accusation requirement under the Due
Process Clause is that lengthy hearings—similar in
character to the trial itself—would be necessary before
the pertinent determinations could be made with any
assurance. In fact, whether the court’s ultimate deci-
sion rested on the Sixth Amendment or the Fifth
Amendment, the practical problems that would be
created by efforts to identify the point at which the
police could have arrested or the prosecutor could
have charged would be essentially the same. As this
Court noted in Marion, in discussing those problems
in the context of the Sixth Amendment (404 U.S. at
321 n. 13; quoting approvingly from American Bar
Association Project on Minimum Standards for Crim-
inal Justice, Standards Relating to Speedy Trial 23
(Commentary to Rule 2.2(a), p. 23 (Approved Draft,
1968) ) :

To recognize a general speedy trial right com-
mencing as of the time arrest or charging was
possible would have unfortunate consequences
for the operation of the criminal justice system.
Altowing inquiry into when the police could
have arrested or when the prosecutor could
have charged would raise difficult problems of
proof. As one court said, “the Court would be
engaged in lengthy hearings in every case to
determine whether or not the prosecuting

37

authorities had proceeded diligently or other-
wise’’ [United States v. Port, Crim. No. 33162
(ND Cal., June 2, 1952) ; quoted in Note, Justice
Overdue—S peedy Trial for the Potential Defen-
dant, 5 Stan. L. Rev. 95, 101-102 n. 34].

The Eighth Circuit’s approach to pre-accusation
delay ignores the considerations discussed above and
requires courts to attempt to pinpoint the precise
moment at which the government might successfully
have sought an indictment. It then holds society
accountable, by the stringent measure of dismissing
the pending criminal charges, for the loss thereafter
of evidence favorable to the defense. In addition to
involving perhaps insuperable practical difficulties,
this approach to pre-accusation delay would upset the
balance struck by Congress in enacting statutes of
limitation—a balance that takes into account the
variety of institutional considerations that may delay
formal accusation, recognizes that some delay between
the commission of offenses and the bringing of cha” ves
is a necessary and desirable part of the criminal
process, and, after the expiration of a fixed period of
time, eliminates further exposure to criminal sanction
for those acts Congress has proscribed. Absent a
showing that the government delayed formal accusa-
tion to secure an improper tactical advantage over the
accused, we submit that the bringing of criminal
charges within the period allowed by the applicable
statute of limitations comports with the requirements
of due process.

38

B. ANY PRE-ACCUSATION DELAY THAT OCCURRED IN THIS CASE DID NOT

VIOLATE THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE

The statute of limitations applicable to the offenses
for which respondent was indicted authorizes the
bringing of criminal charges at any time within five
years following the commission of those offenses. 18
U.S.C. 3282. As already noted, the indictment was
returned within 20 months of the dates of the alleged
offenses. Respondent has neither alleged nor sought
to show that the government delaved charging him in

order to secure an improper tactical advantage.” Jn
these circumstances, we submit that the timeliness of

the charges against respondent was governed solely by
the applicable statute of limitations and that the
courts below therefore erred in dismissing certain of
those charges because of pre-accusation delay.

In holding that the government had delayed un-
reasonably in charging respondent, the panel iajority
acknowledged that the government was_ seeking
during the period of the “delay’’ to identify per-
sons in addition to respondent who may have par-
ticipated in the offenses specified in the indictment
(Pet. App. 5a). Moreover, the three counts of the

** 18 U.S.C. 3282 states that, “[e]xcept as otherwise expressly
provided by law, no person shall be prosecuted, tried, or punished
for any offense, not capital, unless the indictment is found or the
information is instituted within five years next after such offense
shall have been committed.”

** Neither did respondent allege or seek to show that the govern-
ment had misled him into believing that he would not be charged
and that he had relied upon that belief to his detriment (see Pet.
App. 9a (Henley, J., dissenting) ).

* We stress again our belief that a decision by the government
to delay formal accusation pending further investigation should
never be considered to violate due process standards. See discussion
at pp. 24-25, supra.

39

indictment dismissed by the court charged respondent
with unlawfully possessing eight handguns stolen
from the mails, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1708 (A.
3-4). An essential element of the government’s affirm-
ative case with respect to those offenses was proof
that respondent had known that the handguns were
stolen. Barnes v. United States, 412 U.S. 837,
847. Respondent admitted that he had possessed
the handguns, but he denied having known that they
had been stolen (A. 24). Although the government
believed otherwise, it did not have ...rect evidence of
respondent’s guilty knowledge. The theory upon which
the government was proceeding, supperted only by
cireumstantial evidence, was that respondent’s son
had stolen the guns and had given them to respondent
to sell (see n. 7, supra).

Thus, this is not a case in which the government
possessed at some point overwhelming evidence show-
ing that a particular individual had engaged in crimi-
nal conduct—and in which ensuing pre-indictment
delay thus might have been consistent with an asser-
tion that the purpose of the delay was to secure an
improper tactical advantage. It is hardiy improper
for the government to delay formal accusation until it
has evidence demonstrating with fair assurance that
the person believed to have committed a criminal
offense did so in fact. Indeed, as Mr. Justice Powell
has pointed out, “[g]ood police practice often requires
postponing an arrest, even after probable cause has
been established, in order to * * * develop further
evidence necessary to prove guilt to a jury’? United

40

States v. Watson, supra, 423 U.S. at 431 (concur-
ring). In light of respondent’s failure to allege in his
motion to dismiss that any delay in accusing him was
improperly motivated, and in the absence of evidence
showing that it was so motivated, any pre-accusation
delay that occurred here did not offend the Due Pro-
cess Clause.
II.

A DISTRICT COURT SHOULD RESERVE RULING ON A DUE
PROCESS CLAIM BASED UPON PRE-ACCUSATION DELAY,
AND ALLEGING BOTH GOVERNMENTAL MISCONDUCT AND
CONSEQUENT PREJUDICE, UNTIL THE CONCLUSION OF
TRIAL

The decision in this case also departs from pre-
viously accepted standards by endorsing a procedure
for resolving due process claims based upon pre-accu-
sation delay that, in practical effect, significantly
dilutes the requirement that the defendant demon-
strate that the delay caused actual and substantial
prejudice to his ability to defend against the charges.
While it may sometimes be feasible, and not unduly
burdensome, for a court to determine with assurance
prior to trial whether the government sought to delay
formal accusation in order to secure an improper
tactical advantage, the same will seldom be true of
allegations of defense prejudice. At a minimum, re-
quiring the government to respond, prior to trial,
to allegations that a particular delay impaired the
accused’s ability to defend against the charges will
require a dress rehearsal of the trial itself. The
resulting expenditure of judicial and prosecutorial
resources, the delay in commencement of the trial,

41

and the inevitable inconvenience to witnesses and
others, is not required to vindicate the policies
served by the Due Process Clause.”

Although the Due Process Clause provides a basis for
reversing criminal convictions resulting from trials
lacking in fundamental fairness, it does not ordinarily
afford any protection against being required to stand
trial.** Due process claims based upon pre-accusation
delay are, in that respect, significantly unlike a num-
ber of other constitutional claims arguably invoking
a right not to be tried “—claims that are, as a conse-
quence, appropriately dealt with by trial courts when-
ever possible prior to trial (cf. Cohen v. Beneficial

** Our concern here is with claims of pre-accusation delay that
allege both governmental misconduct and consequent prejudice to
the defense. If we are correct in believing that the Due Process
Clause is not violated unless there has been both governmental
misconduct and defense prejudice, a motion that fails to allege
either misconduct or prejudice should of course be denied by the
court prior to trial.

*? As t.us Court noted in Cobbledick v. United States, 309 U.S.
323, 325, although “[a]n accused is entitled to scrupulous observ-
ance of cowstitutional safeguards”, “[b]earing the discomfiture
and cost of a prosecution for crime even by an innocent person is
one of the painful obligations of citizenship.” Cf. Frisbie v. Collins,
342 U.S. 519.

** As assertion that trial would offend the Double Jeopardy
Clause is perhaps the clearest example of a claim invoking a right
not to be tried, See Breed v. Jones, 421 U.S. 519, 5382-533; Green v.
UV nited States, 355 U.S. 184, 187-188. Other claims arguably of a
similar nature include claims under the Speech and Debate Clause
(Article I, See. 6, cl. 1), which provides that a member of Con-
gress “shall not be questioned in any other Place” for his official
acts (see Lastland v. United States Servicemen’s Fund, 421 U.S.
491; cf. Gravel v. United States, 408 U.S. 606) ; a claim that trial
is part of an effort on the government’s part to “chil]” the exercise

42

Industrial Loan Corp., 337 U.S. 541, 546). Motions
seeking relief from pre-accusation delay allegedly
offending the Due Process Clause are, moreover, vir-
tually unique in the extent to which their resolution
depends upon events of the trial itself.

Motions filed by defendants prior to trial (apart
from those involving some aspect of discovery) gen-
erally seek either to avoid trial because of an alleged
defect in the institution of the proceedings or to bar
the admission of certain evidence. Rule 12(e) of the
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure requires trial
courts to rule upon all such motions before trial, unless
the court has “good cause” for deferring its deter-
mination.” Since most pre-trial motions can be dealt
with almost as easily prior to trial as after trial, and
since the parties have a shared interest in avoiding the
occurrence at trial of prejudicial error, good cause
seldom exists for reserving ruling. For example, a
court confronted with a claim that a search and seizure
violated the Fourth Amendment or that a confession
was obtained illegally can focus its inquiry quite
narrowly on the specific events surrounding the search

of First Amendment rights (see Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380 U.S.
479; cf. Allee vy. Medrano, 416 U.S. 802); and claims that the
prosecution is racially discriminatory (cf. Oyler v. Boles, 368 U.S.
448; Vick Wov. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356).

* Rule 12(e) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure pro-
vides in pertinent part that “[a] motion made before trial shall be
determined before trial unless the court, for good cause, orders
that it be deferred for determination at the trial of the general
issue or until after verdict, but no such determination shall be
deferred if a party’s right to appeal is adversely affected.” Because
of this provision, motions challenging pre-accusation delay should
not be granted during trial.

43

and seizure or the giving of the confession. In ruling
upon such claims, moreover, the court need be apprised
of the details of the offense with which the defendant
is charged only insofar as those details bear upon the
admissibility of the particular evidence at issue. Even
more importantly, failure to rule upon such claims
in a timely fashion may impair the government’s right
to appeal an adverse ruling, in violation of Rule 12(e)
of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, or inject
reversible error that would require a second trial in
the event the defendant is convicted. Moreover, events
of the trial are unlikely to affect the appropriate
disposition of most Rule 12 motions.

A motion to dismiss charges under the Due Pr ‘ss
Clause berause of pre-accusation delay presents a
quite different situation. Even if the government
delayed accusation in an effort to obtain an improper
strategic advantage, the defendant is not entitled to
have the charges against him dismissed unless he
can demonstrate that the delay substantially pre-
judiced his ability to defend against the charges.
United States v. Marion, supra, 404 U.S. at 324-326;
and see n. 24, supra. But making that determination
prior to trial inevitably entails considerable specula-
tion about the nature and impact of evidence claimed
to have been ‘“‘lost” to the defense and the strength
and character of the evidence available to the govern-
ment at trial.

The issue of prejudice thus can be reliably deter-
mined only by reviewing all the evidence available
to both sides—that is by the trial itself or by having a

44

“trial-before-the-trial.” The latter course is undesir-
able in various respects. The evidence introduced by
the government at trial may establish the defendant’s
guilt so overwhelmingly that the loss to the defense
of certain evidence is plainly harmless beyond a rea-
sonable doubt. Yet, prior to trial the loss of such evi-
dence may well appear to have prejudiced significantly
the defendant’s ability to defend himself. Conversely,
the evidence available to defense, despite any pre-
accusation delay that has occurred, may be sufficient to
persuade the jury that the government has not proved
the defendant guilty beyond a reasonable doubt of the
offenses with which he stands charged. The resulting
acquittal would obviate any need for the court to rule
on the defendant’s due process claim.” At the same
time, the prejudice asserted by the defendant based
upon the loss of evidence may prove, in light of the
evidence actually introduced at trial, to be unfounded
because the government’s theory of the case was other
than originally assumed by the defense. The loss of
particular evidence thus may be harmless because of
its lack of materiality to the facts actually in issue at
trial.”

*° As Judge Henley pointed out in the present case (Pet. App.
10a-Ila) :

If [respondent] had been put to trial, it would have been
open to him to contend before the jury that he had acquired
the pistols from Stewart without any guilty knowledge and
to urge upon the jury the fact that Stewart’s death had de-
prived [respondent] of the benefit of Stewart’s testimony.
As it is, [respondent] simply goes free without trial.

*° In our judgment, the same considerations ordinarily caution
against attempting to resolve prior to trial speedy trial claims

40

The dangers inherent in attempts to resolve due
process claims prior to trial are, in fact, graphically
illustrated by the decision in this case. At best, the
finding of the panel majority on the issue of defense
prejudice rests upon unsubstantiated speculation con-
cerning both the nature and strength of the govern-
ment’s case against respondent and respondent’s an-
ticipated defense.” Respondent made no effort at the

under the Sixth Amendment. Unlike due process claims based
upon pre-accusation delay, a demonstration of prejudice to the
defense is neither “a necessary [n]or sufficient condition to the
finding of a deprivation of the right of speedy trial” (Barker v.
Wingo, supra, 407 U.S. at 533). But at least when the delay, at-
tributable to the government, between formal accusation and trial
is not so excessive that only minima] prejudice need be shown, we
believe that resolution of a defendant’s speedy trial claim should
await conclusion of the trial. But see United States v. MacDonald,
531 F. 2d 196 (C.A. 4), petition for a writ of certiorari pending,
No, 75-1892.

** While we disagree with the determination that actual and sub-
stantial prejudice was established, we have not asked this Court to
review that essentially factual conclusion, but rather the broader
question of whether it was proper for the court to have attempted
to resolve that issue prior to trial.

It is clear, however, that respondent’s showing of prejudice fell
far short of the showing that would have been required in other
circuits to establish a violation of due process. See, e.g., United
States v. McGough, 510 F. 2d 598, 604 (C.A. 5) (mere allegation
that several potential witnesses had died and that memories of
others had faded held to constitute an insufficient showing of
prejudice absent evidence of their potential utility to the defense) ;
United States v. Galardi, 476 F. 2d 1072, 1075 (C.A. 9) (unexpli-
cated claim that missing person might have been useful to the de-
fense held insufficient) ; United States v. Dukow, supra, 453 F. 2d
at 1330 (deaths of two potential witnesses insufficient to estab-
lish prejudice where the defense failed to show what their testi-
mony would have been).

46

hearing on his motion to dismiss to explain what in-
formation his brother or Tom Stewart might have
provided that would have been favorable to his de-
fense. In finding that respondent’s ability to defend
had been impaired by Stewart’s death, the majority
below relied upon the contention of respondent’s
counsel in brief and argument—but not made at or
supported by the testimony at the hearing—that
“were Stewart’s testimony available it would support
[respondent’s] claim that he did not know that the
guns were stolen from the United States mails” (Pet.
App. 5a).

But respondent testified at the hearing that he had
purchased from Stewart only “‘two or three” (A. 13)
of the eight guns specified in the indictment, and it is
by no means clear that Stewart would have been will-
ing to testify on respondent’s behalf.” As Postal In-
spector Wellner’s report indicates, moreover, the per-
son to whom respondent sold all eight of the guns
(Joe Boaz) admitted during questioning that he had

** To establish a violation of 18 U.S.C. 1708, the government
need only show at trial that respondent knew that the guns had
been stolen—not that they had been stolen from the United States
mails. Barnes v. United States, supra, 412 U.S. at 847.

*° As Judge Henley pointed out in his dissenting opinion (Pet.
App. 10a):

Had Stewart taken the stand and undertaken to exculpate
[respondent], he doubtless would have been required to ex-
plain his own connection, if any, with the pistols in ques-
tion, and that connection may well have been highly
culpable. [Respondent] could not have compelled Stewart
to incriminate himself, and it is unrealistic to believe that
Stewart would have done so voluntarily simply to aid or
accommodate [respondent ].

47

known that the guns were “hot” when he resold them
(A. 24). At trial, Boaz presumably would have been
asked from whom he received that information, and
since he had purchased the guns from respondent, the
answer could well have shown that respondent also
knew that the guns had been stolen.

By countenancing resolution of respondent’s due
process claim prior to trial, the majority of the court
below ignored the procedures suggested by this Court
in Marion. In that ease, as-here, the defendants relied
“solely on the real possibility of prejudice inherent
in any extended delay: that memories will dim, wit-
nesses become inaccessible, and evidence be lost” (404
US. at 325-326). This Court concluded, however, that
while “[e]vents of the trial may demonstrate actual
prejudice, * * * at the present time [defendants’]
due process claims are speculative and premature”
(id. at 326). The enhanced ability to make a sound
assessment of claims of prejudice after trial, combined
with the substantial economy of judicial and prosecu-
torial resources that will be accomplished by avoiding
a lengthy pretrial hearing that inevitably will be
largely duplicative of the trial itself (ef. United States
v. Calandra, supra, 414 U.S. at 349-352; United States
v. Dionisio, 410 U.S. 1, 17), prove the soundness of

*° Claims of defense prejudice based upon pre-accusation delay
are easy to make and exceedingly difficult to refute, particularly
prior to trial. As Judge Henley pointed out in his dissent in the
present case (Pet. App. 9a-10a) :

The record and the briefs disclose that the indictment
was returned on March 6, 1975; on March 18, 1975 [respon-

48

the rule, which we urge this Court to adopt, requiring
that claims of prejudice such as respondent’s normally
be resolved after trial.”

dent] filed his motion to dismiss; and a hearing was held
on the motion on April 25, 1975. In his brief counsel for
[respondent] states that his client testified that Stewart
had died about six months prior to the hearing. If so,
Stewart had ceased to be a source of danger to [respondent },
if he ever was, when the motion was filed. Nevertheless, no
mention of Stewart or his “lost testimony” is made in the
motion, and there is no allegation of specific prejudice in
the motion except the assertion that [respondent] had suf-
fered “anxiety and concern” since his statement had been

ttaken in 1973. The name of Stewart seems to have come up
for the frst time when [respondent ] testified in support of
his motion. In the circumstances, one may suspect that the
claim of prejudice based on the death of Stewart was noth-
ing but a fabrication, and that had Stewart been alive | re-
spondent] could just as well have relied on the recent death
of any other of his acquaintances, claiming that he had in-
nocently acquired the pistols from that acquaintance.
Even when the prospect of a favorable ruling is de minimis,
the practice of ruling prior to trial on motions such as respondent's
provides defendants with a powerful incentive for filing such mo-
tions. The motion may be denied following a pre-trial hearing,
but the defendant will have obtained a preview of the government’s
case in the form of evidence showing that the defendant could not
have been prejudiced by any pre-accusation delay that occurred.
Thus, motions such as respondent’s may serve to avoid restrictions
on the discovery permitted criminal defendants prior to trial. See,
e.g., 18 U.S.C. 3500; Rule 16, Fed. R. Crim. P.; ef. United States
v. Mandujano, supra, 425 U.S. at 595 n. 12 (Brennan, J., concur-
ring).
*1 In the event of a guilty verdict, trial courts could rule on mo-
tions such as respondent’s, as well as any other motions deferred
for good cause, prior to entering judgment on the verdict.

49
CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, it is respectfully submitted

that the judgment of the court of appeals should be
reversed and the case remanded with instructions to

reinstate the indictment.
Rosert H. Bork,
Solicitor General.
Ricwarp L. THORNBURGH,
Assistant Aitorney General.
ANDREW L, Frey,

Deputy Solicitor General.
JOHN P. Rupp,

Assistant to the Solicitor General.
JEROME M. Fer,
Rosert H. Praxico,

ios en Attorneys.

U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINIING OFFICE, 1976

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0130%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
