# Petition — Pilgrim Equipment Co. v. Usery

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0003%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 826

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Terao, 1975

vo. 7571713

PILGRIM EQUIPMENT COMPANY, INC., ET AL,
Petitioners,

v.

W. J, USERY, SECRETARY OF LABOR,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
POR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM Key WILDE
2900 South Tower Pennzoil Place
Houston, Texas 77002

Counsel for Petitioners
Date: May 24, 1976,

*, el

GCRENION BELOW cccccccccccccsccccccccccccccccces i
JURISDICTION cccccccccccccccccseccccccccccececes 2
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .... ccc ccc ence cece en nnnes 2
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ..........44. 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE... 5c ccc cccccenenes 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............ 7
. This Court's 1947 ¢ has been erroneously inter-
preted by the Courts Appeal so as to make every
one an “employee” under the FLSA, .........005 7
2. Judicial jon of the FLSA is inconsistent
with SAGE. cccccccccccccccceccces 10
COMSMMOM ccccnccccccccccccccessccccecseccccccecees 2
Certificate of Service oo... ccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeennees 3
Appendix cnvcccccceceeevceueeesseeeuneess eeeeescees 1A
CITATIONS
CASES Page
Bartels v, Birmingham, 332 US. 126, 67 S.Ct. 1847, 91
RBG. 1047 (CIOST) cccccccceccccceccccccncccccscces 2,7
Brennan, Secretary of Labor », Partida, 492 F.2d 707 (Sth
Chr. 1994) cccccncccvccneccccecesscsecccscececcece 8,9
Brooklyn Savings Bank v, O'Neal, $24 US, 697, 6S S.Ct.
89S, BO L.Bd, 1296 (1948) co. ccccccccccccenceenees i
Paks v, Tree-Gold Co-Op Growers of Florida, Inc, 166 F.2d
40 (Sth Cir, 1948) ngpasnonnnasapasss Tony assess 8
Gold of Labor ». Whitaker House Coopera-
ine," 6 US 28, 81 S.Ct. 933, 6 L.Ed2d 100 ,
(1 1 sree eeeeeP eee eee ee eee RE eR Ree eee ee
Mideich v. Albert Enterprises, Inc. $08 F.2d 297 (Sth
Cor, 19FE) wcccccccccccencccccsecseccecceccceccees 8,9
Mitchell, Secretary of Labor v. John R. Cowley & Bro.,
Ine, 292 Pad OS (Sth Cit, LOOT) occ 8
Mitchell, of Labor ». Strickland Transportation
Company, Ad 124 (Sth Clr, TOSS) co.cc cc cnnns
Ruther ‘rood C . & MeCombd, 331 U.S, 722, 67 S.Ct.
1475, 91 L.Bd. 17 ? CRDOF) wccnvnccecccccccccsceces 2,701

Schults, Secretary of Labor v, Hinojosa, 432 F.2d 259 (Sth
Cir, 19FO) wnncccvvcccccvvevcccnveveevsssseceveces 8

1.

CASES Page
Lnited States v, Sdk, $31 US, 704, 67 S.Ct. 1463, 91 L.Ed.
I i a a 2,7,9,11
United States v. Von's Grocery Company, 384 US, 270, 86
S.Ct. 1478, 16 L.Bd.2d SSS (1966) 2... cc cece cnn S
Walling v. Portland Terminal Co., 330 US, 148, 67 S.Ct.
G39, 91 L.Ed, BOD (1947) wn. cc ccccccccceceeeeeeeens i!
STATUTES
» WBE. 8 MBBOE) cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccecs 2
29 US.C, § 201, et seq, (Fair Labor Standards Act) . 2,7

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1975

NO,

PILGRIM EQUIPMENT COMPANY, INC., ET AL,
Petitioners,

v.

W. J, USERY, SECRETARY OF LABOR,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The Petitioners, Pilgrim Equipment Company, Inc., et
al, respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to re-
view the judgment and opinion of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered in this proceeding
on March 3, 1976,

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, not yet reported,
appears in the Appendix, infra, 1A to 14A. The decision
of the District Court for the Southern District of Texas
appears in the Appendix, infra, ISA to 32A,

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit was entered on March 3, 1976. This petition for
certiorari was filed within 90 days of that date. This

Court's jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1254
(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the definition of “employee” under the Fair
Labor Standards Act (FLSA)' as applied by the courts

of appeal differs from that established by this Court's
1947 Trilogy.”

2. Whether the Congressional intent in enacting the
FLSA—protection of workers from oppressive practices

of employers’——has been so misconstrued that no Ameri-
can worker can be an ind&undent contractor.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
United States Code, Title 29; § 201, et seq.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The jurisdiction of the district court was invoked be-

cause a question arises under a law relating to interstate
commerce, the FLSA.

1, 20 U.S.C. § 201 et seq

2. Bartels v. Birmingham, 332 US. 126, 67 S.Ct. 1547, 91
L.Ed, 1947 (1947); Rutherford Food Corp. vo. McComb, S31 US,
722, 67 S.Ct. 1475, O1 L.Ed. 1772 (1947); United States vo, Silk,
531 US, 704, 67 S.Ct, 1465, O1 L.Ed. 1757 (1947). These three
cases have been so often cited as authority in interpretation of the
FLSA that they are collectively referred to as “the trilogy.”

5. 29 USC, 202,

3

The Secretary of Labor (Plaintiff) brought this suit to
enjoin defendants from violating minimum wage and
overtime provisions of the FLSA. Plaintiff contends that
certain individuals are defendants’ employees. Defendants
assert that the individuals are independent contractors,
not “employees,” under the FLSA and, therefore, not
subject to its requirements. The individuals involved con-
tend they are independent contractors and not employees
of the defendants. Following the presentation of testimony
and documentary evidence, the district court made 28
separate findings of fact, from which it concluded that
when applied to the criteria established by this Court in
the trilogy,* the individuals were independent contractors
and not employees for purposes of the FLSA. Judgment
was entered for the defendants. The court of appeals
held that the legal conclusion reached by the trial court
from its factual findings was in error and reversed the
case.

Since the trial court’s fact findings were accepted by
the court of appeals, the following facts are summarized
from the findings of fact of the trial court (Appendix,
infra, 16A to 30A).

Each of the Pilgrim companies operates at least one
laundry and drycleaning plant and a number of pickup
stations. In addition, certain individuals, referred to by
the trial court as contract operators, operate stores where
they receive clothes, mark them for identification, prepare
them for processing and send them to a laundry and
drycleaning plant operated by one of the Pilgrim com-
panies. After processing, the clothing is returned to the
store for delivery to the customer.

4. Note, 2, Supra.

4

Each contract operator signed a “Lease Agreement and
Contract” with a Pilgrim company which governs the
relationship between the operator and the particular
Pilgrim company. Each lease agreement is effective for
a one year term and is automatically extended unless
either party chooses to terminate. The relationship of the
parties under each lease agreement is denominated as that
of owner and independent contractor. Each lease agree-
ment provides for the owner to furnish a store and equip-
ment and requires the owner to carry liability insurance
on the premises, machinery, equipment and fixtures.

Under the lease agreement each contract operator
agrees to deliver all clothing and other garments exclu-
sively to the contracting company for laundering and
cleaning. The contract operator agrees to pay a stated
amount to the contracting company each day for launder-
ing and cleaning. At the end of each week the contracting
company agrees to bill the contract operator for the total
amount of work done for that store, and the contract
operator agrees to remit that amount less a stated per-
centage which the operator retains from the gross receipts
of the business. Each operator agrees to hire his or her
own employees and assumes all responsibility for obtain-
ing and administering workmen’s compensation insurance,
social security and Texas unemployment compensation
taxes for himself and his employees. The contract operator
may set his own hours of operation for his store. He sets
his own working hours and those of his employees. The
contract operator is free from the control of the contract-
ing company as to the performance of the contract. Any
credit extended to the public by the contract operator
is at his sole risk. The contract operator agrees to main-
tain all property and fixtures and keep the premises in
good repair and to comply with all municipal ordinances.

5

Most contract operators have had prior experience as
employees of one of the Pilgrim companies. Becoming a
contract operator is regarded as a coveted opportunity by
such employees, and there are numerous employees “wait-
ing in line’ for contract operator vacancies. When an
opening occurs, the contract operator is required to make
an investment in the inventory of the business, which
consists of the value of laundry and drycleaning services
performed on the clothing currently in inventory. This
investment ranges from $500 to $1,500 and is paid either
to the contracting Pilgrim company or to the previous
operator.

In most cases the Pilgrim company furnishes the site
of the store, as well as all advertising, utilities, liability
insurance, security devices, cash registers, equipment and
other fixtures within the store. The commission or dis-
count rate under the agreement is usually a “net deal”
which takes into account the fact that the contracting
Pilgrim company pays all utilities, rent and similar costs.
The contract operator receives a percentage of the value
of laundry and drycleaning processed for his customers.
There are no standard hours of operation. The hours are
set by the operator to meet the convenience of the par-
ticular market, but generally are similar due to competitive
factors. The contract operator bears the losses from bad
checks, extensions of credit and losses from theft by em-
ployees of the contract operator.

While the Pilgrim companies provide suggested price
lists, they vary in different areas depending upon competi-
tion, and the operators are free to charge higher prices
on such items as tuxedos and dresses with frills and lace.

None of the contract operators made any complaint
nor sought the protection of the FLSA. Each one who

6

testified was subpoenaed by the.plaintiff and each made
it clear that she was not controlled in the operation of
her business by Pilgrim; that there was opportunity for
gain or loss depending upon the skills of the operator;
that opportunities for additional income were available
through the sale of ties, wigs and other items, and that
she regarded herself as an independent businessperson
and desired to continue in that way. Typical was the
testimony of Ms. Mabel Gaul:

“Q. When you say, ‘it is your business’, whose busi-
ness is it?

“A. It is my business.

“Q. Well do you work for Pilgrim or does Pilgrim
work for you?

“A. Pilgrim works for me.

“Q. How does Pilgrim work for you?

“A. I pay money rent for the building, and each day
I pay them for cleaning clothes for me, and at
the end of each week, I make a settlement with
them. All the clothes that are in that store, I
consider mine until the customer comes in and
retrieves them.

“Q. Does the Pilgrim Company tell you how to run
your business?

“A. No. No they don’t.

“Q. Do they run your business?

“A. No, they sure don’t.” (Tr. 217).

In short, as the trial court found, “Each operator who
testified clearly relished the idea that she was in charge
of her own business enterprise, free from control of the
contracting Pilgrim company, and that the success of the
business was dependent on her individual efforts and ac-
complishments.” (Appendix, infra, 28A)

7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. This Court’s 1947 trilogy has been erroneously
interpreted by the Courts of Appeal so as to
make everyone an “employee” under the FLSA.

Implicit in the omission of independent contractors from
coverage of the FLSA is the recognition that not all
workers are “employees.” Because “employee” is only
generally defined in the Act,’ this Court acted to estab-
lish guidelines for determining who is an employee and
who is an independent contractor.

In the trilogy this Court, construing the FLSA to ac-
complish its remedial objectives, substituted broad alterna-
tive criteria for the common law concepts of employee
and independent contractor. It was recognized that while
no simple “rule of thumb” would suffice, the line between
employees and independent contractors must be drawn
somewhere. In fact, in two of the three trilogy cases the
line was drawn so that the individuals in question were
independent contractors rather than employees.* In speci-
fically recognizing the viability of the independent con-
tractor concept, this Court stated:

“Of course, this does not mean that all who render
service to an industry are employees.”

“There may be independent contractors who take part
in production or distribution who would alone be
responsible for wages and hours of their own em-
ployees.”*

29 U.S.C. 203.

See Bartels and Silk cited in Note 2 supra.

United States v. Silk, supra, 331 U.S. 704 at 712.
Rutherford Food Corp. v. McComb, supra, 331 U.S. 722 at

Ce ND wm

8

Thus, this Court, in both reasoning and result held that
not everyone is an “employee” for FLSA purposes. Yet
the subsequent construction given the trilogy by appellate
courts has yielded the opposite result.

Every case decided by the appellate courts since the
trilogy has applied the tests so as to conclude that the
individuals involved were employees and not independent
contractors.

Time and again trial courts have held on the basis of
the facts presented to them that the individuals in question
were independent contractors, only to be reversed by the
court of appeals.’ In one case the court of appeals did
affirm the independent contractor holding of the district
court, only to be reversed by this Court.'® The cumulative
effect is best described by the often quoted comment by
Mr. Justice Stewart in his dissent in one of this Court’s
Clayton Act cases: “The sole consistency that I can find
is that in litigation under Section 7, the government always

wins.””"*
This remarkable unanimity of result is attributable to

the distillation of the several trilogy criteria into one—
economic realities. Although Rutherford warns against

9. See, for example, Fahs v. Tree-Gold Co-Op Growers of
Florida, Inc., 166 F.2d 40 (Sth Cir. 1948), Mitchell, Secretary of
Labor v. Strickland Transportation Company, 288 F.2d 124 (Sth
Cir. 1955), Mitchell, Secretary of Labor, v. John R. Cowley & Bro.,
Inc., 292 F.2d 105 (Sth Cir. 1961), Schultz, Secretary of Labor
v. Hinojosa, 432 F.2d 259 (Sth Cir. 1970), Brennan, Secretary of
Labor v. Partida, 492 F.2d 707 (Sth Cir. 1974), Mednick v. Albert
Enterprises, Inc., 508 F.2d 297 (Sth Cir. 1975). .

10. Goldberg, Secretary of Labor v. Whitaker House Coopera-
tive, Inc., 366 U.S. 28, 81 S.Ct. 933, 6 L.Ed.2d 100 (1961).

11. United States v. Von’s Grocery Company, 384 U.S. 270,
301, 86 S.Ct. 1478, 16 L.Ed.2d 555 (1966)

9

exalting form over substance in its recognition that the
“underlying economic realities” control,’* subsequent cases
culminating in Partida and Mednick™ have converted this
admonition into a definition of “employee” by saying
that “underlying economic realities” equals “economic
dependency,” and “economic dependency” always equals
employee rather than independent contractor. However,
all businesspersons are necessarily dependent on those
with whom they do business. Thus, even the band leaders
in Bartels and the truck owners in Silk would be em-
ployees under the test now being applied by the Courts
of Appeal.

This unjustifiably broad application of the FLSA is
not only legally indefensible, it is denigrating to those
who consider themselves to be independent businessmen.
While certainly not controlling, the wants and desires of
the workers whose fate is determined by the interpreta-
tions of the FLSA should be considered. In the instant
case, there are no aggrieved or unprotected persons seek-
ing the protection of the FLSA. There is no “mischief
to be corrected.”'* The testimony of the contract operators
subpoenaed by the plaintiff established that each con-
siders herself an independent businessperson who desires
to remain so. Indeed, after hearing the evidence and
weighing the facts, the trial court observed:

“If it is possible under the Act, to have one who is
not an employee, in the general category of the kind

12. Rutherford Food Corp. v. McComb supra, 331 U.S. 722,
727.

13. Brennan, Secretary of Labor v. Partida, 492 F.2d 707 (Sth
Cir. 1974), Mednick v. Albert Enterprises, Inc., 508 F.2d 297 (5th
Cir. 1975), Note 5, supra.

14. United States v. Silk, supra, 331 U.S. 704 at 713.

10

of activity these do, they are certainly not
employees on the balance and the application of the
six Suggested criteria, and I, first with t to

the economic reality, it seems to me that it is clear
from the testimony that from the standpoint of these
ladies, they welcome the opportunity to become inde-
pendent operators and station operators . . . . Of
course, control is an extremely important concept,
and I was impressed from the standpoint of the testi-
mony with the attitude of the ladies, each of whom
seemed to relish the fact that there was very limited,
if any, control over the conduct of her operation,
and I think that is something that people are inclined
to overlook these days, since the tendency is to try
to fit everybody into a category, put everybody in
the same mold, and these were ladies who like to feel
like they were independent, that they were doing some-
thing on their own, running or operating their own
business, and it destroys something in people when
you deprive them of the rtunity to have that
personal satisfaction in individual accomplishment,
and I think it would be a very sad day when the
courts would just force everybody into a mold in a
situation like this and not let people have some
choice, give them an option.” (Tr, p, 334-339)

Petitioners do not contend that the tests set forth in the
trilogy are wrong, but, rather, that the appellate courts
are applying the tests in an unjustified and inequitable
manner, Because of the importance of a correct under-
standing and application of these tests to the proper
enforcement of the FLSA, certiorari should be granted
in this case,

2. Judicial interpretation of the FLSA is incon-
sistent with Congressional intent.

Two cases decided by this Court prior to the 1947
trilogy explored the legislative history to determine the

Congressional intent in enacting the FLSA," Brooklyn
Savings Bank found an intent on the part of Congress
to protect certain groups of the population from sub
Standard wages and excessive hours, It held that the
Statute was a recognition of the fact that due to the
unequal bargaining power between employer and em-
ployee, certain segments of the population required federal
compulsory legislation to prevent private contracts on their
part which endangered the national health and efficiency,
Walling found that the FLSA was intended to correct
a specific and identifiable problem, i.e., low wages and

long hours which were imposed upon employees who
were at the mercy of their employers,

In the trilogy the intent of Congress was explained in
the following language:

“The Fair Labor Standards Act was passed by Con-
gress to lessen, so far as seemed then practicable,
the distribution in commerce of goods produced
under subnormal labor conditions, An effort to elimi-
nate low wages and long hours was the method
chosen to free commerce from the interference arising
from production of goods under conditions that were
detrimental to the health and wellbeing of work-
ers,”

Finally, this Court recognized that there was no in-
dication that Congress intended to change normal busi-
ness relationships through which one business organiza-
tion obtained the services of another to perform a portion
of production or distribution."

1S. Brooklyn Savings Bank v. O'Neal, 324 US. 697, 68 S.Ct.
895, 89 L.Ed. 1296 (1945), and Welling v. Portland Terminal Co.,
$30 U.S, 148, 67 S.Ct, 639, 91 L.Ed, 809 (1947),

16. Rutherford Food Corp. »v. McComb, 331 U.S. 722 at 727.
17. United States v. Silk, 331 U.S. 704 at 713,

12

Despite these repeated statements of the Congressional
intent, the appellate courts have blindly applied the FLSA
so as to bring everyone within the “employee” definition
regardless of whether its protection is needed or wanted,
This expansive judicial interpretation is illustrated by
the application given to the facts in the case at bar, Not-
withstanding the uncontradicted evidence that the inde-
pendent contractors made more money than the admitted
employees, that the independent contractor status was
greatly desired and sought after so that there were
more people seeking the post of independent contract
operator than there were positions available, and that
the employees who became independent contract operators
did so of their own free will, the Court of Appeals held
that the FLSA was applicable,

It is clear that the FLSA’s reach has exceeded its
intended grasp. The conflict between the intent of Con-
gress in enacting the FLSA and the judicial interpretations
extending it justify a grant of certiorari to review the
judgment below.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to
review the judgment and Opinion of the Fifth Circuit,

Respectfully submitted,

Alithan {tus Ahem

WILLIAM Key WILD

BRACEWELL & PATTERSON

2900 South Tower Pennzoil Place
Houston, Texas 77002

Attorney for Petitioners

Date: May 24th, 1976.

13

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| hereby certify that on this &2. day of May, 1976,
three copies of the Petition for Writ of Certiorari were
mailed postage prepaid to the Solicitor General, Depart-
ment of Justice, 20530, and three copies of the Petition
for Writ of Certiorari were mailed, postage prepaid, to
W. J. Usery, Secretary of Labor, Attention Mr. Donald
S. Shire, Office of the Solicitor, U. S, Department of Labor,
Room 4141, Main Labor, 14th and Constitution Avenue
N.W., Washington, D, C, ‘ote,

Lhitbam Kry WILDE hs, Ah Aha

2900 South Tower Pennzoil Place
Houston, Texas 77002
Attorney for Petitioners

lA
APPENDIX

W. J. USERY, Secretary of Labor,
United States Department of Labor,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

PILGRIM EQUIPMENT COMPANY, INC.,, et al.,
Defendants-Appellees.

No, 74-2909,

United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit,

March 3, 1976,

Proceeding was brought by Secretary of Labor chal-
lenging independent contractor status assigned by related
corporations to approximately 60 female operators of
laundry pickup stations. The United States District Court
for the Southern District of Texas, James L. Noel, Jr., J.,
concluded that operators had been correctly classified as
nonemployees for wage and hour purposes under Fair
Labor Standards Act and denied relief, and Secretary ap-
pealed, The Court of Appeals, Clark, Circuit Judge, held
that where operators were not allowed to control any
meaningful portion of businesses they allegedly ran, re-
lated corporations managed major variables which deter-
mined each operator's profit, substantially all risk capital
was supplied, there was no operator who as economic
entity was capable of doing business elsewhere, and no
unique skill or initiative was required of operators, de-
cree of dependence by operators on related corporations

2A

mandated conclusion that operators were employees for
purposes of Fair Labor Standards Act,

Reversed and remanded.

. ° .

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas.

Before WISDOM, CLARK and RONEY, Circuit
Judges:

CLARK, Circuit Judge:

The Secretary of Labor challenges the independent
contractor status assigned to approximately 60 women
operators of laundry pick-up stations by 10 related cor-
porations, which we group here under the common ap-
pellation Pilgrim.’ In capsule, each operator works at a
separate location to which customers bring items to be
cleaned, Pilgrim picks up, cleans and returns the items.
The operator then makes delivery to the customer and
collects the cleaning price.

Concluding from undisputed facts that Pilgrim had cor-
rectly classified these operators as nonemployees for wage
and hour purposes under the Fair Labor Standards Act
(FLSA),” the district court denied the relief sought by

1. The named defendants in this action include: Pilgrim Equip-
ment Company, Inc., a corp.; Pilgrim Convenience, Inc., a corp.;
R.F.S., Inc., No. 10, a corp.,, d/b/a Pilgrim Laundry Co. No. 18;
Pilgrim Laundry Co. No. 5, Inc., a corp.; R.F.S., Inc. No, 2, a corp.,
d/b/a Pilgrim Laundry Co. No, 8; Tower Development Corp., a
corp., d/b/a Pilgrim Laundry Co. No. 16; R.F.S., Inc. No. 5, a corp.,
d/b/a Pilgrim Laundry Co. No, 11; R.FS,, Inc. No. 8, a corp.
d/b/a Pilgrim Laundry Co, No. ‘5; Pilgrim ayy By No. 5,
Inc., a corp.; and R.F.S., Inc. No. 7, a corp., d/b/a Pilgrim Laundry
Co, No, 14,

2. 20 USC. § 201 et seq.

3A

the Secretary’s complaint. Although it framed its findings
in the proper indicia for testing statutory employee status,
the district court’s conclusion of what the frame enclosed
failed to give sufficient emphasis to the all-pervasive deter-
minant economic dependence. The legal conclusion
reached by the trial court from its factual findings was,
therefore, in error. We reverse and remand for a deter-
mination of the appropriate relief for these employees.

[1] The purpose of the FLSA is to “eliminate low
wages and long hours” and “free commerce from the
interferences arising from production of goods under con-
ditions that were detrimental to the health and well-being
of workers.”* The statutory scheme makes the wage and
hour provisions applicable to “employees.” Employee is
defined as one “employed,” and “employ” is defined as
“to suffer or permit to work.”* Given the remedial pur-
poses of the legislation, an expansive definition of “em-
ployee” has been adopted by the courts.

As the federal social security legislation is an attack
on recognized evils in our national economy, a con-
stricted interpretation of the phrasing by the courts
would not comport with its purpose. Such an inter-
pretation would only make for a continuance, to a
considerable degree, of the difficulties for which the
remedy was devised and would invite adroit schemes
by some employers and employees to avoid the im-
mediate burdens at the expense of the benefits sought
by the legislation.°

3. Rutherford Food Corp. v. McComb, 331 US. 722, 727, 67
S.Ct. 1473, 1475, 91 L.Ed. 1772 (1947).

4. 29 US.C. § 203(e) & (g).

5. ‘United States v. Silk, 331 U.S. 704, 712, 67 S.Ct. 1463, 1467,
91 L.Ed. 1757 (1947).

4A

The common law concepts of “employee” and “in-
dependent contractor” have been specifically rejected as
determinants of who is protected by the Act.° The test is
not one which allows for a simple resolution of close cases.
However, the lesson taught by the Supreme Court’s 1947
trilogy’ is that any formalistic or simplistic approach to
who receives the protection of this type legislation must
be rejected. In Bartels v. Birmingham, 332 U.S. 126, 67
S.Ct. 1547, 91 L.Ed. 1947 (1947), the Court held that
“in the application of social legislation employees are
those who as a matter of economic reality are dependent
upon the business to which they render service.”

[2] Five considerations have been set out as aids to
making the determination of dependence, vel non. They
are: degree of control, opportunities for profit or loss,
investment in facilities, permanency of relation, and skill

6. The terms “independent contractor,” “employee,” and “em-
ployer” are not to be construed in their common law senses when
used in federal social welfare legislation. N.L.R.B. v. Hearst, 322
U.S. 111, 64 S.Ct. 851, 88 L.Ed. 1170 (1944) (for purposes of the
National Labor Relations Act); United States v. Silk, 331 U.S. 704,
67 S.Ct. 1463, 91 L.Ed. 1757 (1947), and Bartels v. Birmingham,
332 US. 126, 67 S.Ct. 1547, 91 L.Ed. 1947 (1947) (for purposes
of employment taxes on employers under the Social Security Act,
as amended); and Rutherford Food Corp. v. McComb, 531 US.
722, 67 S.Ct. 1473, 91 L.Ed. 1772 (1947) (for purposes of the Fair
Labor Standards Act). Rather, their meaning is to be determined
in light of the purposes of the legislation in which they were used.
Mednick »v. Albert Enterprises, Inc., 508 F.2d 297, 299 (Sth Cir.
1975).

7. Bartels v. Birmingham, 332 U.S. 126, 67 S.Ct. 1547, 91 L.Ed.
1947 (1947); Rutherford Food Corp. v. McComb, 331 US. 722,
67 S.Ct. 1473, 91 L.Ed. 1772 (1947); United States v. Silk, 331
U.S. 704, 67 S.Ct. 1463, 91 L.Ed. 1757 (1947).

8. 332 US. at 130, 67 S.Ct. at 1550 (emphasis added).

SA

required.” No one of these considerations can become
the final determinant, nor can the collective answers to
all of the inquiries produce a resolution which submerges
consideration of the dominant factor—economic depend-
ence. See Mednick v. Albert Enterprises, Inc., 508 F.2d
297 (Sth Cir. 1975). The five tests are aids—tools to be
used to gauge the degree of dependence of alleged em-
ployees on the business with which they are connected.
It is dependence that indicates employee status. Each test
must be applied with that ultimate notion in mind. More
importantly, the final and determinative question must be
whether the total of the testing -stablishes the personnel
are so dependent upon the business with which they are
connected that they come within the protection of FLSA
or are sufficiently independent to lie outside its ambit.
Reviewing each of the five indicia used by the lower court,
with the emphasis placed as required, compels the ultimate
conclusion that the pick-up station operators in this case
were dependent on Pilgrim and, therefore, come within
the Act. It also discloses that the district court’s factor-by-
factor resolutions were wrong.

I. Control

[3] The district court determined that operators are
largely independent of their manager’s control. On the

9. United States v. Silk, 331 U.S. 704, 716, 67 S.Ct. 1463, 1469,
91 L.Ed. 1757 (1947). See, Bartels v. Birmingham, 332 U.S. 126,
67 S.Ct. 1547, 91 L.Ed. 1947 (1947); Rutherford Food Corp. v.
McComb, 331 U.S. 722, 67 S.Ct. 1473, 91 L.Ed. 1772 (1947);
N.L.R.B. v. Hearst, 322 US. 111, 64 S.Ct. 851, 88 L.Ed. 1170
(1944). Although several of these cases deal with similar but different
statutes, Rutherford adopts decisions under the “Labor and Social
Security Acts” as “persuasive in the consideration of a similar cover-
age under the Fair Labor Standards Act.” 331 U.S. at 723, 67 S.Ct.
at 1474.

6A

other hand, a look at the rules and restrictions on the
operators contained in the written lease agreement and
the undisputed facts shows the operators are totally de-
pendent upon Pilgrim to provide direction or control in
every major aspect of their work. Pilgrim handles sub-
stantially all advertising for the stations. It sets the prices
charged for ail but a few nonstandard items. It requires
that operators deal exclusively with Pilgrim Laundries.’°
It prevents the assignment of the lease arrangements which
govern the parties’ respective obligations. It requires that
each operator remit a certain amount of money every day
for the cleaning work done by Pilgrim. It requires that
accounts be settled between Pilgrim and each operator
once a week. It prevents operators from posting any
signs on the premises unless prior periiission is given.
It prevents any improvement to the premises without
permission. The lease is drawn by Pilgrim and the only
negotiated item is the percentage of income’ the operator
would retain, an item which is usually unilaterally im-
posed at the outset by Pilgrim and then negotiated on
the anniversary of each contract. Pilgrim maintains the
right to specifically enforce or declare the contract void
if any covenant is not performed by the operator. The
contract has a duration of 1 year. Each operator is given
the right to set her own hours, hire helpers and is not
subject to inspection of supervision in the minor details
of her daily operation. A sign posted on the front door
of each pick-up station, however, states the standard Pil-
grim Laundry hours. With minor exceptions, all operators
testified that they followed these hours. Some of the
operators hired helpers or substitutes from time to time
and some did aot.

10. See note 1, supra.

7A

In the total context of the relationship neither the right
to hire employees nor the right to set hours indicates such
lack of control by Pilgrim as would show these operators
are independent from it. In reality, even the hours are
“controlled” by Pilgrim. It is not significant how one
“could have” acted under the contract terms. The con-
trolling economic realities are reflected by the way one
actually acts." Moreover, women who work at home,
completely free of specific hour requirements, have been
found to be employees for purposes of this Act.’* Oc-
casional exercise of the right to hire helpers also has not
been found sufficiently indicative of independence to allow
a finding of nonemployee status.**

The most significant conclusion from all these facts is
that the operators cannot exert control over any aspect
of their business lives independent of Pilgrim. They have
no viable economic status that can be traded to other
laundry companies and the lack of supervision over minor
regular tasks cannot be boot-strapped into an appearance
of real independence.’* Control is only significant when it
shows an individual exerts such a control over a mean-
ingful part of the business that she stands as a separate
economic entity. All meaningful aspects of this business—

11. See Mednick v. Albert Enterprises, 508 F.2d 297, 302-03
(Sth Cir. 1975); Mitchell v. John R. Cowley & Bro., Inc., 292 F.2d
105, 109 (Sth Cir. 1961).

12. Goldberg v. Whitaker House Cooperative, 366 US. 28, 81
S.Ct. 933, 6 L.Ed.2d 100 (1961).

13. Rutherford Food Corp. v. McComb, 331 U.S. 722, 67 S.Ct.
1473, 91 L.Ed. 1772 (1947); Mednick v. Albert Enterprises, Inc.,
508 F.2d 297, 301 (Sth Cir. 1975); Mitchell v. Strickland Trans-
portation Co., 228 F.2d 124, 128 (Sth Cir. 1955).

14. Mitchell v. John R. Cowley & Bro., Inc., 292 F.2d 105, 108
(5th Cir. 1961).

8A

advertising, right to deal with other cleaning plants, price
fixing, payment arrangements—are controlled by Pilgrim.

II. Opportunity for Profit or Loss

The lower court concluded that the opportunities for
profit or loss, were the same as in any independent busi-
ness. The major determinants of the amount of profit
which an operator could make, however, were directly
controlled by Pilgrim. Since the operators were paid on
a percentage basis, the amount of business done by an
operator governs total profit. The lower court found that
convenience of hours, extra service provided, and rap-
port with customers were factors which affected profits and
were within the control of each operator. However, price,
location, and advertising—determinants of customer /ol-
ume at least as vital as those governed by the operators—
are regulated by Pilgrim.

[4] The record shows some operators sold ties, wigs,
or took in special work in their pick-up stations. These
sales minimally supplemented their income. Such minor
additional income made from work which is not connected
with the actual business under examination is not relevant
to a court’s determination of employee status."®

[5] Finally, except for being responsible for bad-check
and theft losses, there is no way any of the operators
can suffer a loss in their alleged independent contractor
operations. Each week they receive a percentage of the
total money taken in by their pick-up station. The lease
requirement—which the record does not show was ever
subject to negotiation—that the operators accept re-
sponsibility for bad-check and theft losses does not show

15. Brennan v. Partida, 492 F.2d 707, 709 (Sth Cir. 1974).

9A

independence. Rather it shows that Pilgrim chose to place
this added burden on its operators. Persons with similar
pecuniary obligations have been found to be employees.’®

No opportunity for loss of the capital investment in the
station’s operation and control by Pilgrim of major deter-
mining factors of profit indicate that the operators are
dependent upon Pilgrim, and therefore, that they are
employees.

III. Investment

[6] The lower court found that the operators’ “invest-
ment” was modest, but concluded that it was substantial
from the point of view of each operator. The investment
referred to by the lower court was the requirement that
each operator “purchase” the cleaning charge values in
the clothing already on hand at the pick-up station when
she took over the operation. The “investment” transaction
bears no direct relationship to the overall cost of operating
the station. It is actually an assumption of accounts re-
ceivable. No risk capital whatsoever is involved."’

At the outset of the business relationship between
Pilgrim and each operator, the new operator is required
to pay the outgoing operator (or Pilgrim if Pilgrim had
already reimbursed the outgoing operator) the total
amount which the outgoing operator had paid Pilgrim
to clean clothes not yet picked up by customers. This

16. Mednick v. Albert Enterprises, Inc., 508 F.2d 297, 301 (Sth
Cir. 1975), citing, Hodgson v. Pulley, 20 W.H. Cases 1046 (S.D.
Ohio, 1972).

17. See Mednick v. Albert Enterprises, Inc., 508 F.2d 297, 301
(Sth Cir. 1975); Hodgson v. Pulley, 20 W.H. Cases 1046 (S.D.
Ohio, 1972); Hodgson v. Sureway Cleaners, 20 W.H. Cases 358
(E.D. Cal. 1971).

10A

“investment” varies from 500 to 1500 dollars. Often it is
financed by Pilgrim, and its return is guaranteed. As
customers pick up their clothes and pay for them, the
operator recoups her “investment.” Any clothes which
remain in the station for 6 months are purchased by Pil-
grim. Therefore, within 6 months the total “investment”
is recovered, In addition, when the operator terminates
her arrangement with Pilgrim, she will be reimbursed for
all monies paid by the operator to Pilgrim for clothing
not yet retrieved and paid for by customers. This entire
“investment” plan is nothing more than a method of
settling accounts between outgoing and incoming opera-
tors.

All investment or risk capital is provided by Pilgrim.
It furnishes the station, cash register, fixtures, security
devices, counters, racks, hangers, bags, tags, receipts,
utilities, telephone, and liability insurance. The 10 dollar
per-year rental set up for these capital items is so nominal
as to be deminimis,

But for Pilgrim's provision of all costly necessities,
these operators could not operate. Their total dependency
upon Pilgrim is confirmed rather than denied by these
facts.

IV. Permanency

[7] The lower court found that although many opera-
tors had enjoyed a longtime relationship with Pilgrim,
the permanency of the relationship evidenced satisfaction
with and not dependence on Pilgrim. Most, if not almost
all, long time employees are satisfied with their employ-
ment. Regardless of subjective satisfaction, the permanent
nature of the relations between Pilgrim and these opera-

LLA

tors indicate dependence. The contract involved here is for
a | year duration and is routinely renewed. Many of the
operators have previously served as Pilgrim's employees
and are performing essentially the same functions as
operators.’" Not a single operator is shown to be capable
of terminating relations with Pilgrim and taking her or-
ganization to another leundry.’* The operators have
nothing to transfer but thei: own labor. The plain fact of
the matter is that every one of them is dependent upon
Pilgrim's continued employment.

V. Skill

[8] The lower court correctly concluded from the
record that these operators did not need long training or
highly developed skills. However, it went on incorrectly
to accentuate considerations such as business sense, sales-
manship, personality and efficiency concluding that these
needed skills were probative of employee status. The key
missing ingredient in the lower court's determination is
initiative, Routine work which requires industry and ef-
ficiency is not indicative of independence and nonemployee
status.” These operators are unable to exert initiative in
the operation of their pick-up stations. All major com-
ponents open to initiative—advertising, pricing, and most
importantly the choice of cleaning plants with which to

18. See Wirtz v. Welfare Finance Corp., 263 F.Supp. 229 (N.D.
W.Va. 1967).

19. See Rutherford Food Corp. v. McComb, 331 U.S. 722, 730,
67 S.Ct. 1473, 1477, 91 L.Ed. 1772 (1947); Bartels v. Birmingham,
332 U.S. 126, 132, 67 S.Ct. 1547, 1551, 91 L.Ed. 1947 (1947).

20. Rutherford Food Corp. v. McComb, 331 U.S. 722, 67 S.Ct.
1473, 91 L.Ed. 1772 (1947); Mitchell v. John R. Cowley & Bro.,
Inc., 292 F.2d 105, 108 (Sth Cir. 1961); Mitchell v. Strickland
Trans portation Co., 228 F.2d 124, 126-27 (Sth Cir. 1955).

12A

deal—are controlled by Pilgrim. Much emphasis was
placed on the need to keep business records and the need
for rapport with customers. Minor record-keeping such
as personal tax records is not determinative of independent
status, Customer rapport is not an “initiative” characteris-
tic and much more closely parallels “efficiency.” But to
the extent it does require “initiative,” it is signicantly
controlled, or at least continuously encouraged, by Pil-
grim through the commission-rate payment arrangement.
The operators receive a percentage of the money paid
for each item cleaned. Obviously, encouraging 1 epeat cus-
tomers enhances financial reward under this payment
scheme.

Operating these laundries requires courtesy to cus-
tomers, tagging clothes, taking money from customers,
paying Pilgrim a set amount each day for cleaning, set-
tling accounts (getting paid) once a week, occasionally
hiring helpers, and correctly reporting tax and Social
Security information. The skills and incentives required
in the operation of the pick-up stations are valuable. They
bring business profits to the operators and to Pilgrim.
But many successful employees need these same abilities
and perform similar tasks. The bottom line in this enter-
prise is the business acumen and investment contributed
by Pilgrim. The operators were dependent on it for their
livelihood.

VI. Other Indicia

[9] We reject both the declaration in the lease agree-
ment that the operators are “independent contractors” and
the uncontradicted testimony that the operators believed
they were, in fact, in business for themselves as controlling

1I3A

FLSA employee status. Neither contractual recitations”
nor subjective intent™ can mandate the outcome in these
cases. Broader economic realities are determinative.

[10] In deciding whether these operators are employees
for the purposes of the Fair Labor Standards Act,

[t}he ultimate criteria are to be found in the purposes
of the Act. ...

[T}he Act is intended to protect those whose liveli-
hood is dependent upon finding employment in the
business of others. It is directed toward those who
themselves are least able in good times to make pro-
visions for their needs when old age and unemploy-
ment may cut off their earnings . . . to those who,
as a matter of economic reality, are dependent upon
the business to which they render service.

Mednick v. Albert Enterprises, Inc., 508 F.2d 297, 300
(Sth Cir, 1975), quoting Fahs v. Tree-Gold Co-op Grow-
ers, Inc., 166 F.2d 40, 44 (Sth Cir, 1948),

[11] The overview discloses that these operators are
not allowed to control any meaningful portion of the
business they allegedly run; Pilgrim manages the major
variables which determine each operators profit. The com-
pensation scheme is such that there is never any real risk
that an operator will suffer loss. Substantially all risk
capital is supplied by Pilgrim. The relationship is fairly
permanent and there is no operator who, as an economic

21. United States v. Silk, 331 U.S. 704, 715, 67 S.Ct. 1463, 1469,
91 L.Ed. 1757 (1947); Mednick v. Albert Enterprises, Inc., 508
F.2d 297, 302 (Sth Cir. 1975); Mitchell v. John R. Cowley & Bro.,
Inc., 292 F.2d 105, 107 (Sth Cir. 1961).

22. Brennan v. Partida, 492 F.2d 707, 709 (Sth Cir. 1974);
Gulf King Shrimp Co. v. Wirtz, 407 F.2d 508 (Sth Cir. 1969).

14A

entity, is capable of doing business elsewhere. No unique
skill or initiative is required of the operators. Proper
application of the five indicia, singularly and collectively,
indicate substantial dependence on Pilgrim. The Act is
designed to protect individuals whose employment status
is so dependent on the whims of the employer as to make
them submissive to an employer's notion of fair compensa-
tion for their labor. The degree of dependence by the
operators upon Pilgrim in this case mandates a conclusion
that the operators are employees under the FLSA. There-
fore, the decision of the lower court is reversed and the
case is remanded to determine the appropriate relief.

Reversed.

ISA

IN THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

CIVIL ACION
NO. 71-H-968

PETER J. BRENNAN, Secretary of Labor,
United States Department of Labor,
Plaintiff,

v.

PILGRIM EQUIPMENT CO., INC., ET AL,
Defendants.

MEMORANDUM AND OPDER

The Secretary of Labor, United States Department of
Labor, brought this suit under the Fair Labor Standards
Act, as amended, 29 U,S.C. §201 et seq. (hereinafter
the Act), to enjoin defendants from violating the mini-
mum wage and overtime provisions of sections 15(a)(2)
and 15(a)(5), and to restrain the withholding of pay-
ment of minimum wages and overtime. Plaintiff contends
certain individuals are defendants’ employees. Defendants
assert they are independent contractors, not “employees”
under the terms of the Act, and therefore are not subject
to the Act’s requirements. The parties presented testi-
mony and documentary evidence at trial before the
Court, April 15, 1974. On the basis of the record, the
Court enters the following findings of fact and conclu-
sions of law:

16A

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Mr. Guy Robertson is President, Chief Executive
Officer, and a principal shareholder in defendant Pil-
grim Equipment Co., Inc, (hereinafter PECO), PECO
has stock ownership in the other defendant companies
(hereinafter “Pilgrim companies”) in the following per-
centages:

Percentages of
Outstanding
Corporate Shares
Corporation of Stock Owned
R.F.S., Inc., No, 10
d/b/a Pilgrim Laundry Co. No. 18 100%

Pilgrim Laundry Co. No. 5, Inc. 50%
R.F.S., Inc., No, 2

d/b/a Pilgrim Laundry Co, No, 8 50%
Tower Development Corp.

d/b/a Pilgrim Laundry Co. No. 16 50%
R.F.S., Inc., No. 5

d/b/a Pilgrim Laundry Co. No, 11 50%
Pilgrim Convenience, Inc. 50%

R.F.S., Inc., No. 8
d/b/a Pilgrim Laundry Co. No. 15 50%

The term “Pilgrim Company” as used hereinafter is all
of the defendant Pilgrim companies.

During the period in question, each defendant has had
employees engaged in commerce or in production of
goods for commerce. Each defendant Pilgrim Company is
coordinated and controlled so as to operate and function
as a single, unified enterprise. Each corporation operates

17A

several laundry and dry cleaning plants in the Houston
and San Antonio, Texas areas.

Certain laundry and dry cleaning facilities are oper-
ated under franchise arrangements with PECO and use
the Pilgrim name. None of the franchised operations were
named as defendants in this cause. Their operations are
not involved in this suit.

Each of the Pilgrim Comnanies operates at least one
plant for processing and cleaning clothing, and a num-
ber of pickup substations. Each substation receives cloth-
ing for processing at the plant with which it is associated,
and returns such clothing to customers after cleaning.
Each plant has a “counter operation” for receiving cloth-
ing, which is considered a substation. The remaining sub-
Stations are dispersed throughout the geographic area
surrounding the plant. Most substations are located in
stores measuring 1,000 square feet in area. Each sub-
station has a counter, register, racks and other equipment
used for maintaining and processing clothing for laundry
and dry cleaning. As customers deliver the clothing to
the substation, the operator receives the clothes, marks
them for identification, and prepares them for processing.
The clothing is routinely picked up by a delivery truck
operated by the related plant. After processing in the
plant the clothing is then redelivered to the substation
for return to the customers. The processing of clothing
consists of dry cleaning, or laundering, or both.

2. Each substation is operated either by employees of
one of the Pilgrim Companies (hereinafter referred to as
employee operators), or by an individual who has a con-
tract with the particular Pilgrim Company to operate
the substation (hereinafter referred to as a contract ope-

18A

rator). The Secretary contends that each particular con-
tract operator is the employee of a particular defendant.
Each defendant contends that the contract operators who
operate its substations are independent contractors.

3. Unlike employee operators, contract operators sign
a writing denominated “Lease Agreement and Contract”
(hereinafter “Lease Agreement”) with a Pilgrim Com-
pany, which governs the relationship between the opera-
tor and the particular Pilgrim Company (sometimes re-
ferred to herein as “contracting company”). Each lease
agreement is effective for a one year term and is auto-
matically extended unless either party chooses to termi-
nate. The relationship of the parties under each Lease
Agreement is denominated as that of owner (the particu-
lar Pilgrim Company) and independent contract (the
operator). Each Lease Agreement provides for owner
to furnish the substation and equipment and requires
owner to carry liability insurance on the premises, machin-
ery, equipment and fixtures.

4. Under the Lease Agreement each contract operator
agrees to deliver all clothing and other garments ex-
clusively to the contracting company for laundering and
cleaning. The contract operator agrees to pay a stated
amount to the contracting company each day for launder-
ing and dry cleanirz. At the end of each one week period,
the contracting company agrees to bill the contract opera-
tor for the total amount of laundry and dry cleaning work
performed for the substation, and the contract operator
agrees to remit to the contracting company that amount,
less a stated “percentage” which the operator retains from
the gross receipts of the business.

5. Each contract operator agrees to hire his (or her)
own employees. The contracting company is not responsi-

19A

ble for obtaining or administering workmen’s compensa-
tion insurance, social security, or Texas Unemployment
Compensation taxes for the contract operator or his em-
ployees. The contract operator especially assumes all
responsibility for these items and agrees to keep all ap-
propriate records and books for such purposes.

6. Under the terms of the lease agreement, the con-
tract operator may set his own hours of business, open-
ing and closing times. The contract operator is free from
the control of the contracting company as to the perform-
ance of the contract and for any services rendered by the
contract operator to the contracting company. Any credit
extended to the public by the contract operator is deemed
to be his sole risk. In the event the contract operator
becomes bankrupt or makes a voluntary assignment for
the benefit of creditors, or in the event that a receiver is
appointed for the contract operator, then, at the option
of the contracting company, and upon the expiration of
five days’ notice to the contract operator, the agreement
is terminated.

7. Each contract operator agrees to maintain all prop-
erty and fixtures in the substation, and to keep the prem-
ises in good repair. The contract operator agrees to accept
possession of the premises in their present condition, and
agrees to allow for changes in the equipment occurring
by reason of detzrioration while occupying the premises.
The contract operator agrees that there shali be no iin-
provements or alterations to the premises without the con-
sent of the contracting company.

8. Each contract operator agrees to comply with all
ordinances of the City of Houston, or the City of San
Antonio applicable to the premises, and all orders and

20A

requirements imposed by the Board of Health, Sanitary
and Police Departments, and agrees to correct, prevent,
and abate nuisances in or upon or connected with the
premises during the term of the agreement.

9. The contract operators agree not to assign the agree-
ment or sublet the premises or make any alterations in
the building without the consent of the contracting com-
pany.

10. In the event of default of the covenants in the
contract, the contracting company may enforce the per-
formance under the lease in any manner provided by law.
The lease agreement may be forfeited at the contracting
company’s discretion if the default continues for a period
of ten days after notice. Upon such notice (unless the
contract operator agrees to completely remove or cure
the default), the agreement is terminated and the con-
tracting company’s agent or attorney may re-enter and re-
move all persons and the property of the contract operator.

11. Each contract operator agrees not to place any
signs at, on, or about the premises except as approved
by the company. The contracting company may remove
any sign or signs in order to paint the building or to make
repairs or alterations.

12. Under the lease agreement, the contracting com-
pany is not the owner of the substation premises, but
merely holds a lease of the property. The lease remains
subject to all the terms and conditions of the existing
lease under which the contracting company holds the
premises.

13. Prior to their association with Pilgrim Companies,
some contract operators had prior experience in the clean-

21A

ing business with non-Pilgrim establishments. Most did
not, and many had no prior business experience. Most
contract operators have had prior experience in operating
substations as employees of a Pilgrim Company. Becoming
a contract operator is regarded as a coveted opportunity
by such employees. There are numerous employees
“waiting in line” for contract operator vacancies. None
of the Pilgrim Companes advertise contract operator open-
ings.

14. Usually the contract operator is required to make
an investment in the “inventory” of the business, which
consists of the value of the laundry and dry cleaning
services performed on the clothing in inventory. This
investment ranges from $500.00 to $1,500.00. The
investment is either paid to the contracting Pilgrim Com-
pany, or to the previous contract operator who operated
the substation. Usually a new location is operated as an
employee store until the volume is sufficient to operate
under contract. The contract operator’s investment is
typically financed by the particular contracting Pilgrim
Company or by a bank. The contract operator is repaid
the investment over a period of time out of his earnings.
In most cases, PECO furnishes the site of the store and
arranges for all advertising for the contract operated
stores. PECO also furnishes all utilities, liability insurance,
security devices, cash registers, equipment, and other fix-
tures within the store.

15. The commission or “discount” rate under the
terms of the agreement is usually a “net deal”, which takes
into account the fact that the contracting Pilgrim Com-
pany pays all utilities, rent, and similar costs as provided
in the lease agreement. The contract operator receives
a percentage of the value of laundry and dry cleaning

22A

processed for customers. The stores operated under con-
tract do not have standard hours of operation. The hours
are set to meet the convenience of the particular market,
but generally the hours of most are similar, due to com-
petitive factors. The contract operator bears the losses of
bad checks, extension of credit and losses from theft
by employees of the contract operator. The contract
operators hire their own employees, and are responsible
for all withholding of federal income tax, FICA and
other such deductions.

16. The parties consider the lease agreements as bind-
ing contracts. Some of the Pilgrim Companies have ex-
perienced litigation by coniractors to enforce the agree-
ments. The Court finds that the Pilgrim Companies have
given full force and effect to the lease agreements and
that the parties thereto have consistently regarded them
as bona fide, arms-length transactions.

17. PECO provides a suggested price list to the con-
tracting Pilgrim Companies. The prices on the suggested
price list will vary in different areas of the city, depend-
ing on competition. While prices charged for “standard”
items such as shirts, suits, blouses, etc., seldom vary from
the suggested list price, contract operators are free to
charge higher prices on so-called “flexible” items, such
as tuxedos, dresses with frills and laces, and other such
items.

18. A witness subpoenaed and called by the Govern-
ment, Mabel Graul, has been under contract with Pilgrim
Company No. 18 for four or five years. Her testimony
evidenced that the contract is generally followed. Any
deviation is in the direction of more freedom and inde-
pendence for the operator than is provided by the con-

23A

tract. Prior to contracting with the Pilgrim Company,
Mrs. Graul worked for another laundry and dry cleaning
company. Mrs. Graul accepted the initial commission rate
offered because she considered that to be commensurate
with her worth as an inexperienced businesswoman. Sub-
sequently, she has gained more experience and has built
up her business. She has renegotiated her agreemnt with
the manager of Pilgrim Company No. 18 for a higher dis-
count commission rate on several occasions.

Mrs. Graul clearly considers herself an independent
businesswoman, and her substation as her own business.
She has a sign in her establishment which reads, “Mabel
P. Graul, Manager.” She stated the Company does not
run her business or tell her how to do so. She testified
that “[a]ctually Pilgrim works for me. . .” and “. . . that
I do not work for Pilgrim.” She considers herself responsi-
sible for the clothing. She demands the Pilgrim clean
and launder the clothes properly and has made complaints
to Pilgrim about the quality of the work. Mrs. Graul
testified that there are many opportunities to build up
the business by knowing the clothing and doing extra
work for the customers, such as sewing on buttons, re-
moving spots, and other personal attention.

Mrs. Graul sets her own hours. At her own initiative,
she opens her station early in the morning to accommo-
date several customers. She accepts checks but not credit
cards and tries to collect on bad checks. She rarely issues
credit. She sells other items, such as ties, for additional
income of $10.00-$25.00 per month. At her own option,
she frequently remits money to her contracting Pilgrim
Company in excess of that required by the contract. This
enables her to reduce the amount of cash on hand, thereby

24A

reducing exposure to robberies and avoiding frequent
trips to the bank. Her Pilgrim Company provides ad-
vertising for her, but Mrs. Graul also places advertise-
ments in local newspapers and promotes her business
through her church.

Mrs. Graul hires and pays her own employees to
operate the store in her absence, including when she
is on vacation. She does not receive vacation or other
benefits from her Pilgrim Company. The latter provides
a “suggested” price but does not assist in pricing unusual
items, such as frilly dresses. Mrs. Graul sets her own
prices on these items.

19. Mrs. Margaret Stratton has operated under a con-
tract since approximately 1965. She started in the cleaning
business as an employee of her Pilgrim Company, learned
the operation and then requested a contract. She paid
approximately $1,000.00 for her inventory. She considers
the business to be hers. Her Pilgrim Company manager
does not come into the store unless she requests his
_ presence. She stated that her Pilgrim Company does not
operate her business for her or tell her how to do so.
She stated that there is an opportunity to build up and
increase the business by giving good service, being good
to the customers, being responsive and knowing the
clothing. She has developed her good will over the years
by serving her customers in this fashion. She previously
operated a facility in Bellaire. When she transferred to
her present location, about 25% of her customers at the
previous store followed her to the new location.

At her own discretion, Mrs. Stratton takes in reweaving
and leather goods, which she contracts for processing
outside her contract with Pilgrim Company. She receives

25A

income of approximately $200.00 per year from these
sources. Mrs. Stratton also sells additional items such
as ties and wigs. She previously sold panty hose but
discontinued the practice because of customer theft. She
estimated her total income was approximately $600.00
per year from the sale of ties, wigs, and panty hose.

Mrs. Stratton presently employs two people, paying
them out of her own funds. On one occasion when she
was unable to procure substitute help, her manager sup-
plied a Pilgrim Company employee and billed Mrs. Strat-
ton for the work. She sets her own hours of operation
which she has frequently changed. She made plans to
stay open until 9:00 p.m. but because the employee did
not report to work regularly, she discontinued the late
hours. Mrs. Stratton has sustained losses from employee
theft of approximately $400.00. She has suffered losses in
1974 from bad checks in the amount of $200.00.

20. Mrs. Faye Smith, a witness subpoenaed and called
by plaintiff, has operated as contract operator for Pilgrim
Company No. 16 for approximately one year. Prior to
contracting with that company, Mrs. Smith had operated
as contract operator for various Pilgrim Companies since
1958. She was offered a number of different stores, but
she chose the one she currently runs because she believed
it was capable of a high volume. Her commission rate is
negotiable and determined by “arguing with the manager.”
Mrs. Smith considers that she “owns” the premises. The
contracting Pilgrim Company does not try to tell her how
to run her business, nor does it in fact run her business.
She believes that as an independent businesswoman, she
has built up the business and increased the volume by
offering good service to customers.

a

26A

Mrs. Smith also sells ties. She previously took in leather
goods but her experience was unsatisfactory and she dis-
continued the practice. Her experience as to setting hours
and prices of certain items, hiring help, responsibility for
losses on checks and credit paralleled that of other wit-
nesses.

21. Mrs. Torry Desoto Rountree, also under subpoena
and called by plaintiff, had prior business experience in
an auto parts store. She was trained as an employee of
a substation prior to assuming a contract. Although she
occasionally received suggestions from officials of her
Pilgrim Company on running the business, she felt free
to run her own business free from interference by the
company. She stated that it is necessary te give good
service to customers and to see that the contracting
Pilgrim Company does a quality job of laundering and
dry cleaning in order to operate a successful store. Mrs.
Rountree was responsible for running the cash register;
her manager never used the register. In other respects
Mrs. Rountree’s operation paralleled that of other wit-

nesses.

22. Mrs. Maries McMahan, a witness for plaintiff,
was an employee at a Pilgrim substation until 1970. She
became aware of an opening “in a good location” for a
contract operator. She expressed interest in obtaining the
contract. She had previously operated a contract sub-
station for one of the Pilgrim franchise companies, Bolton
Enterprises. She stated that a contract operator must be
able to treat customers in such a fashion that they will
come back for repeat business, or to be a good salesman.
She testified that the contracting Pilgrim Company exerted
no control over her business. Her experience was similar
to that of other witnesses.

27A

23. Defendants treat employees who operate substa-
tions differently from contract operators, as evidenced by
the operation of Pilgrim Laundry Company No. 11. Em-
ployees are paid by the hours. After six months of
work, employees receive paid vacations, life and hospital
insurance. Employees also receive five (5) paid holidays
per year. Employees are docked for time off and receive
no pay.

In company-operated substations, employees “break
down” the cash register daily, sending all cash receipts,
register tapes, and cleaning ticket stubs to the Pilgrim
Company which maintains all records of transactions for
such substation. Contract operators are required to remit
only a specified amount of cash daily, plus the weekly
accounting. They maintain their own records as to trans-
actions, register tapes, and invoice stubs. Inventory is
taken monthly at company operated substations. It is
suggested that contract operators take inventory monthly
but this is left to the operators’ discretion. Pilgrim Com-
pany No. 11 fixes the hours of operation of its employee-
operated stores. Contract operators set their own hours.

The manager of Pilgrim Company No. 11, Davis,
closely supervises his employee-operated stores. If he de-
cides a facility is untidy, he will order the employee to
clean it, failing which he can discharge the employee. His
approach to a contract operator is limited to a recom-
mendation that the store be cleaned. His only sanction is
termination of the contract at the end of the term.

Company-operated stores do not accept credit cards
or extend credit. They do not sell ties or other such items.
They do not accept leather goods, hats, gloves, or re-
weaving. Contract operators are free to do these things

EE a—V—

28A

and frequently do so. Company representatives freely en-
ter company-operated stores after hours for various rea-
sons; they do not enter contract operator stores after
working hours.

24. The relationship of the individuals in question re-
sulted from a choice by each to enter into the contract
arrangement. Each operator who testified had previously
operated a substation as an employee. When the op-
portunity arose to operate a store as a contract operator,
each lady voluntarily chose that arrangement. In terms of
“economic reality,” they gave up the certainty of income
as an employee, relinquished employee benefits such as
paid hospitalization and life insurance, holidays, and
other such accoutrements of employee status, and ac-
cepted the business risks of contract status. Each testified
she made more money as a contract operator. Each was
willing to take risks under the terms of the contract agree-
ment and work toward building her business to achieve
greater income. The fact that most contract operators
have enjoyed a permanency of relationship under the
lease arrangement does not mitigate against the “eco-
nomic reality” of independent contractor status; rather, it
confirms the fact that it has been a satisfactory arrange-
ment to these ladies.

25. The respective Pilgrim Companies neither assume
nor exercise control over the operations of the contract
facilities. Each operator who testified clearly relished the
idea that she was in charge of her own business enter-
prise, free from control by the contracting Pilgrim Com-
pany, and that the success of the business was dependent
on her individual efforts and accomplishments.

26. Each individual operator has substantial oppor-
tunities for profit or loss, primarily dependent upon her

29A

efforts and abilities to build up and develop a clientele.
Their losses from bad checks, extension of credit, and
employee theft were clearly documented. Although they
may not experience negative incomes from the business,
their income is certainly lower if they fail to operate the
substations properly.

27. The investment in the inventory by each contract
operator, while a modest one, is substantial when con-
sidered in view of the limited means of these individuals.
Although there is no guarantee of a return of the invest-
ment, by custom and practice the subsequent operator
pays the value of the inventory to the terminating op-
erator.

28. The operation of a successful Pilgrim Company
laundry and dry cleaning substation requires that the
contract operator acquire a knowledge of the business,
and become a “salesman” in terms of ability to attract
and retain customers. Each witness attested to the neces-
sity that operators develop a rapport with customers in
terms of politeness, courtesy and attentiveness. Contract
operators must give “personal” attention to customers,
and must insure that Pilgrim performs quality cleaning
and lanudering on the clothing. Each operator must pos-
sess some “business sense,” and run an efficient store.
Additionally, each operator must become proficient in
maintaining records, handling money and checks, hiring
and paying employees, and making such wage deductions
as required by law. While these skills are not the equiv-
alent of highly-trained persons in other occupations, these
skills and qualities are equivalent to those required of
other small independent merchants. With due regard to
the type of business involved, it is clear from the evidence

30A

that substantial willingness to take a business risk, skill,
initiative, judgment, and foresight are required for success
of the operation.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Court has jurisdiction over the parties and the
subject matter of this cause. 29 U.S.C. §217.

2. Defendants’ business activities and operations con-
stitute a single enterprise engaged in commerce within
the meaning of Sections 3(r) and 3(s)(2) of the Act,
29 U.S.C. §§203(r), and 203(s) (2).

3. The Act defines “employ” to include “to suffer or
permit to work.” 29 U.S.C. §203(g). This definition and
the Act’s coverage are obviously broad and comprehen-
sive. See United States v. Rosenwasser, 323 U.S. 360,
362 (1945). Existence vel non of an employment relation-
ship is not determined by a single factor but by the eco-
nomic circumstances of the whole activity. Rutherford
Corporation v. McComb, 331 U.S 722 (1947); Brennan
v. Partida, 492 F.2d 707 (Sth Cir. 1974) and cases cited
therein. An incomplete list of relevant factors includes
degree of control, opportunities for profit or loss, invest-
ment in facilities, permanency of relation, and skill re-
quired. United States v. Silk, 331 U.S. 704, 716 (1947).

On balance the realities of the Piligrim organization
do not demonstrate an employment relationship with the
contract operators. These operators are largely indepen-
dent of their manager’s control both in spirit and in fact.
They make the majority of significant decisions as to the
daily operation of their business. They deal on an equal
basis with their respective managers. Each manager can

31A

only suggest; he cannot direct the operator in her daily
work. Rules and restrictions on the operators are con-
tained in the written lease agreement. These instructions
largely relate to uniform processing of clothes, accounting
for moneys, and protection of the substation premises.
Such uniformity is reasonably necessary to the efficient
movement of clothing, modern accounting, and security
of the company’s investment. The provisions relating to
the protection of the substation premises are common to
leasing arrangements where there is no similar business
relationship between lessor and lessee.

The opportunities for profit or loss are similar to those
inherent in any independent merchandising effort. Al-
though much depends on the location, other variables
governing success are within the operator’s control. Such
factors are convenience of hours, extra services provided,
and rapport with customers. Even prices and quality of
cleaning are subject to the operator’s control.

The individual's investment in the facility, although
modest, is substantial from the individual’s viewpoint. It
is questionable if the Pilgrim Companies could attract
sufficient operators if the initial investment were greater.

Many operators have enjoyed a long term relationship
with the Pilgrim group. The record indicates considerable
movement of operators, both within and among the
Pilgrim Companies, and to and from other cleaning
establishments. Thus the permanency of the continuing
relationships with Pilgrim Companies evidences the con-
tract operators’ satisfaction with the Pilgrim Companies,
rather than economic dependence upon them.

Operation of a cleaning substation does not require
long training or highly developed skills. Within the limits

32A

of the business, however, the contract operator position
requires the fullest use of the individual’s tolerance for
risk taking, business sense, salesmanship, personality,
judgment and efficiency.

Based on the evidence presented, and for the foregoing
reasons, the Court concludes that the contract operators
of the Pilgrim substations are not defendants’ employees
within the meaning of the Act and thus are not subject
to the provisions of the Act.

The foregoing constitutes the Court's findings of fact
and conclusions of law. Fep R. Civ. P. 52. Any finding
of fact which constitutes a conclusion of law is hereby
adopted as such. Any conclusion of law which constitutes
a finding of fact is hereby adopted as such.

The Clerk shall file this Memorandum and Order and
furnish a copy to all counsel.

DONE at Houston, Texas, this 21st day of May, 1974.

/s/ JAMES NOEL
JUDGE

34A

IN THE

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
October Term, 1975

NO. 74-2909
D. C. Docket No. CA 71-H-968

W. J. USERY, Secretary of Labor
United States Department of Labor,
Plaintiff-A ppellant,

Vv

PILGRIM EQUIPMENT COMPANY, INC., ET AL.,
Defendants-A ppellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Texas

Before WISDOM, CLARK and RONEY, Circuit Judges.
JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of the
record from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas, and was argued by counsel;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here
ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment
of the said District Court in this cause be, and the same
is hereby, reversed, and that this cause be and the same
is hereby remanded to the said District Court in accord-
ance with the opinion of this Court;

It is further ordered that defendants-appellees pay to
plaintiff-appellant the costs on appeal to be taxed by the

Clerk of this Court.
March 3, 1976

Issued as Mandate: March 25, 1976

35A
PERTINENT STATUTES

§$ 201. Short title

This chapter may be cited as the “Fair Labor Standards
Act of 1938”. June 25, 1938, c. 676, § 1, 52 Stat. 1060.

* * *

§ 202. Congressional finding and declaration of policy

(a) The Congress finds that the existence, in industries
engaged in commerce or in the production of goods for
commerce, of labor conditions detrimental to the mainte-
nance of the minimum standard of living necessary for
health, efficiency, and general well-being of workers (1)
causes commerce and the channels and instrumentalities
of commerce to be used to spread and perpetuate such
labor conditions among the workers of the several States;
(2) burdens commerce and the free flow of goods in
commerce; (3) constitutes an unfair method of competi-
tion in commerce; (4) leads to labor disputes burdening
and obstructing commerce and the free flow of goods in
commerce; and (5) interferes with the orderly and fair
marketing of goods in commerce. That Congress further
finds that the employment of persons in domestic service
in households affect commerce.

(b) It is declared to be the policy of this chapter,
through the exercise by Congress of its power to regulate
commerce among the several States and with foreign
nations, to correct and as rapidly as practicable to elimi-
nate the conditions above referred to in such industries
without substantially curtailing employment or earning

power.

|
:
$

36A

§ 203. Definitions
As used in this chapter—

(a) “Person” means an individual, partnership, associ-
ation, corporation, business trust, legal representative, or
any organized group of persons.

(b) “Commerce” means trade, commerce, transporta-
tion, transmission, or communication among the several
States or between any State and any place outside thereof.

(c) “State” means any State of the United States or the
District of Columbia or any Territory or possession of
the United States.

* * *

(f) “Agriculture” including farming in all its branches
and among other things includes the cultivation and tillage
of the soil, dairying, the production, cultivation, growing,
and harvesting of any agricultural or horticultural com-
modities (including commodities defined as agricultural
commodities in section 1141j(g) of Title 12), the raising
of livestock, bees, fur-bearing animals, or poultry, and
any practices (including any forestry or lumbering opera-
tions) performed by a farmer or on a farm as an incident
to or in conjunction with such farming operations, includ-
ing preparation for market, delivery to storage or to
market or to carriers for transportation to market.

(g) “Employ” includes to suffer or permit to work.

* * *

(i) “Goods” means goods (including ships and marine
equipment), wares, products, commodities, merchandise,

37A

or articles or subjects of commerce of any character, or
any part or ingredient thereof, but does not include goods
after their delivery into the actual physical possession of
the ultimate consumer thereof other than a_ producer,
manufacturer, or processor thereof.

(j) “Produced” means produced, manufactured, mined,
handled, or in any other manner worked on in any State;
and for the purposes of this chapter an employee shall be
deemed to have been engaged in the production of goods
if such employee was employed in producing, manufactur-
ing, mining, handling, transporting, or in any other man-
ner working on such goods, or in any closely related pro-
cess or occupation directly essential to the production
thereof, in any State.

(k) “Sale” or “sell” includes any sale, exchange, con-
tract to sell, consignment for sale, shipment for sale, or
other disposition.

(1) “Oppressive child labor” means a condition of
employment under which (1) any employee under the
age of sixteen years is employed by an employer (other
than a parent or a person standing in place of a parent
employing his own child or a child in his custody under
the age of sixteen years in an occupation other than
manufacturing or mining or an occupation found by the
Secretary of Labor to be particularly hazardous for the
employment of children between the ages of sixteen and
eighteen years or detrimental to their health or well-being)
in any occupation, or (2) any employee between the ages
of sixteen and eighteen years is employed by an employer
in any occupation which the Secretary of Labor shall find
and by order declare to be particularly hazardous for
the employment of children between such ages or detri-

38A

mental to their health or well being; but oppressive child
labor shall not be deemed to exist by virtue of the employ-
ment in any occupation of any person with respect to
whom the employer shall have on file an unexpired cer-
tificate issued and held pursuant to regulations of the
Secretary of Labor certifying that such person is above the
oppressive child-labor age. The Secretary of Labor shall
provide by regulation or by order that the employment
of employees between the ages of fourteen and sixteen
years in occupations other than manufacturing and mining
shall not be deemed to constitute oppressive child labor
if and to the extent that the Secretary of Labor determines
that such employment is confined to periods which will
not interfere with their schooling and to conditions which
will not interfere with their health and well-being.

* * *

(n) “Resale”, except as used in subsection (s) (1) of
this section, shall not include the sale of goods to be used
in residential or farm building construction, repair, or
maintenance: Provided, That the sale is recognized as a
bona fide retail sale in the industry.

(o) Hours Worked.—In determining for the purposes
of sections 206 and 207 of this title the hours for which
an employee is employed, there shall be excluded any
time spent in changing clothes or washing at the beginning
or end of each workday which was excluded from meas-
ured working time during the week involved by the ex-
press terms of or by custom or practice under a bona fide
collective-bargaining agreement applicable to the particu-
lar employee.

39A

(p) “American vessel” includes any vessel which is
documented or numbered under the laws of the United
States.

(q) “Secretary” means the Secretary of Labor.

k * *

(s) “Enterprise engaged in commerce or in the pro-
duction of goods for commerce” means any of the follow-
ing in the activities of which employees are so engaged,
including employees handling, selling, or otherwise work-
ing on goods that have been moved in or produced for
commerce by any person:

(1) any such enterprise which has one or more
retail or service establishments if the annual gross
volume of sales of such enterprise is not less than
$1,000,000, exclusive of excise taxes at the retail
level which are separately stated and if such enter-
prise purchases or receives goods for resale that
move or have moved across State lines (not in de-
liveries from the reselling establishment) which
amount in total annual volume to $250,000 or more;

(2) any such enterprise which is engaged in the
business of operating a street, suburban or interurban
electric railway, or local trolley or motorbus carrier
if the annual gross volume of sales of such enterprise
is not less than $1,000,000, exclusive of excise
taxes at the retail level which are separately stated;

(3) any establishment of any such enterprise,
except establishments and enterprises referred to in
other paragraphs of this subsection, which has em-
ployees engaged in commerce or in the production

a

40A

of goods for commerce if the annual gross volume
of sales of such enterprise is not less than $1,000.000.

(4) any such enterprise which is engaged in the
business of construction or reconstruction, or both,
if the annual gross volume frora the business of such
enterprise is not less than $350,000;

(5) any gasoline service establishment if the an-
nual gross volume of sales of such establishment
is not less than $250,000, exclusive of excise taxes
at the retail level which are separately stated:

Provided, that an establishment shall not be considered
to be an enterprise engaged in commerce or in the produc-
tion of goods for commerce, or a part of an enterprise
engaged in commerce or in the production of goods for
commerce, and the sales of such establishment shall not be
included for the purpose of determining the annual gross
volume of sales of any enterprise for the purpose of this sub-
section, if the only employees of such establishment are
the owner thereof or persons standing in the relationship
of parent, spouse, or child of such owner.

(d) “Employer” includes any person acting directly or
indirectly in the interest of an employer in relation to
an employee and includes a public agency, but does not
include any labor organization (other than when acting
as an employer) or anyone acting in the capacity of officer
or agent of such labor organization.

(e)(1) Except as provided in paragraphs (2) and (3),
the term “employee” means any individual employed by
an employer.

(2) In the case of an individual employed by a public
agency, such term means—

41A

(A) any individual employed by the Government
of the United States—

(i) as a civilian in the military departments
(as defined in section 102 of Title 5),

(ii) in any executive agency (as defined in sec-
tion 105 of such title),

(iii) in any unit of the legislative or judicial
branch of the Government which has positions
in the competitive service,

(iv) in a nonappropriated fund instrumentality
under the jurisdiction of the Armed Forces, or

(v) in the Library of Congress;

(B) any individual employed by the United States
Posial Service or the Postal Rate Commission; and

(C) any individual employed by a State, political
subdivision of a State, or an interstate governmental
agency, other than such an individual—

(i) who is not subject to the civil service laws
of the State, political subdivisions, or agency
which employs him; and

(ii) who—

(1) holds a public elective office of that

State, political subdivisions, or agency,

(II) is selected by the holder of such an
office to be a member of his personal staff,

(III) is appointed by such an officeholder
to serve on a policymaking level, or

(IV) who is an immediate adviser to such
an officeholder with respect to the constitutional
or legal powers of his office.

(3) For purposes of subsection (u) of this section,
such term does not include any individual employed by

42A

an employer engaged in agriculture if such individual
is the parent, spouse, child, or other member of the em-
ployer’s immediate family.

(h) “Industry” means a trade, business, industry, or
other activity, or branch or group thereof, in which in-
dividuals are gainfully employed.

(m) “Wage” paid to any employee includes the reason-
able cost, as determined by the Administrator, to the
employer of furnishing such employee with board, lodging,
or other facilities, if such board, lodging, or other facili-
ties are customarily furnished by such employer to his
employees: Provided, That the cost of board, lodging, or
other facilities shall not be included as a part of the wage
paid to any employee to the extent it is excluded there-
from under the terms of a bona fide collective-bargaining
agreement applicable to the particular employee: Provided
further, That the Secretary is authorized to determine the
fair value of such board, lodging, or other facilities for
defined classes of employees and in defined areas, based
on average cost to the employer or to groups of employers
similarly situated, or average value to groups of employ-
ees, or other appropriate measures of fair value. Such
evaluations, where applicable and pertinent, shall be used
in lieu of actual measure of cost in determining the wage
paid to any employee. In determining the wage of a tipped
employee, the amount paid such employee by his em-
ployer shall be deemed to be increased on account of
tips by an amount determined by the employer, but not
by an amount in excess of 50 per centum of the applicable
minimum wage rate except that the amount of the increase
on account of tips determined by the employer may not
exceed the value of tips actually received by the employee.
The previous sentence shall not apply with respect to

:
:
|
:

43A

any tipped employee unless (1) such employee has been
informed by the employer of the provisions of this sub-
section, and (2) all tips received by such employee have
been retained by the employee, except that this sub-
section shall not be construed to prohibit the pooling of

tips _among employees who customarily and regularly
receive tips.

(r) “Enterprise” means the related activities performed
(either through unified operation or common control )
by any person or persons for a common business purpose
and includes all such activities whether performed in one
or more establishments or by one or more corporate
or other organizational units including departments of an
establishment operated through leasing arrangements, but
shall not include the related activities performed for such
enterprise by an independent contractor: Provided, That
within the meaning of this subsection, a retail or service
establishment which is under independent ownership shall
not be deemed to be so operated or controlled as to be
other than a separate and distinct enterprise by reason
of any arrangement, which includes, but is not necessarily
limited to, an agreement (1) that it will sell, or sell only,
certain goods specified by a particular manufacturer
distributor, or advertiser, or (2) that it will join with
other such establishments in the same industry for the
purpose of collective purchasing, or (3) that it will have
the exclusive right to sell the goods or use the brand
name of a manufacturer, distributor, or advertiser within
a specified area, or by reason of the fact that it occupies
premises leased to it by a person who also leases premises
to other retail or service establishments. For purposes of
this subsection, the activities performed by any person or

persons—

44A

(1) in connection with the operation of a hos-
pital, an institution primarily engaged in the care
of the sick, the aged, the mentally ill or defective
who reside on the premises of such institution, a
school for mentally or physically handicapped or
gifted children, a preschool, elementary or secondary
school, or an institution of higher education (regard-
less of whether or not such hospital, institution, or
school is public or private or operated for profit or
not for profit), or

(2) in connection with the operation of a street,
suburban or interurban electric railway, or local
trolley or motorbus carrier, if the rates and service
of such railway or carrier are subject to regulation
by a State or local agency (regardless of whether
or not such railway or carrier is public or private
or operated for profit or not for profit), or

(3) in connection with the activities of a public
agency, shall be deemed to be activities performed
for a business purpose.

(s) “Enterprise engaged in commerce or in the pro-
duction of goods for commerce” means an . enterprise
which has employees engaged in commerce or in the pro-
duction of goods for commerce, or employees handling.
selling, or otherwise working on goods or materials that
have been moved in or produced for commerce by any
person, and which—

(1) during the period February 1, 1967, through
January 31, 1969, is an enterprise whose annual
gross volume of sales made or business done is not
less than $500,000 (exclusive of excise taxes at the
retail level which are separately stated) or is a gaso-

4S5A

line service establishment whose annual gross volume
of sales is not less than $250,000 (exclusive of excise
taxes at the retail level which are separately stated),
and beginning February 1, 1969, is an enterprise
whose annual gross volume of sales made or business
done is not less than $250,000 (exclusive of excise
taxes at the retail level which are separately stated);

(2) is engaged in laundering, cleaning, or repair-
ing clothing or fabrics;

(3) is engaged in the business of construction or
reconstruction or both;

(4) is engaged in the operation of a hospital, an
institution primarily engaged in the care of the
sick, the aged, the mentally ill or defective who
reside on the premises of such institution, a school
for mentally or physically handicapped or gifted
children, a preschool, elementary or secondary
school, or an institution of higher education (regard-
less of whether or not such hospital, institution, or
school is public or private or operated for profit or
not for profit); or

(5) is an activity of a public agency.

Any establishment which has as its only regular employees
the owner thereof or the parent, spouse, child or other
member of the immediate family of such owner shall not
be considered to be an enterprise engaged in commerce
or in the production of goods for commerce or a part of
such an enterprise, and the sales of such establishment
shall not be included for the purpose of determining the
annual gross volume of sales of any enterprise for the
purpose of this subsection. The employees of an enter-
prise which is a public agency shall for purposes of this

46A

subsection be deemed to be employees engaged in com-
merce, or in the production of goods for commerce, or
employees handling, selling, or otherwise working on
goods or materials that have been moved in or produced
for commerce.

(t) “Tipped employee” means any employee engaged
in an occupation in which he customarily and regularly
receives more than $20 a month in tips.

(u) “Man-day” means any day during which an em-
ployee performs any agricultural labor for not less than
one hour.

(v) “Elementary school” means a day or residential
school which provides elementary education, as determined
under State law.

(w) “Secondary school” means a day or residential
school which provides secondary education, as determined
under State law.

(x) “Public agency” means the Government of the
United States; the government of a State or political sub-
division thereof; any agency of the United States (includ-
ing the United States Postal Service and Postal Rate
Commission), a State, or a political subdivision of a State;
or any interstate governmental agency.

As amended Sept. 23, 1966, Pub. L. 89-601, Title I,
$§ 101-103, Title II, § 215(a), 80 Stat. 830-832, 837;
June 23, 1972, Pub. L. 92-318, Title IX, § 906(b) (2),
(3), 86 Stat. 375; Apr. 8, 1974, Pub. L. 93-259, §§ 6(a),
13(e), 88 Stat. 58, 64.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385004_0003%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
