# Jurisdictional Statement — Leemon v. Illinois

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_2312%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Jurisdictional Statement
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 804

## Text

\ / oo ee

ee” Su; ene Cx urt, U. Ss , s
rii&c et

APR 28 1976

i

;
'

;
a a a ’
As ~ . ,
P RAD ‘ '? j ,
i as :
one

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 75-5581

PAUL LEEMON, B8R..,

Appellant,

Vs.

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Appellee.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT
OF APPELLANT

PREE & PREE, ATTORNEYS
EDWARD G. PREE, and
MICHAEL W. HOGAN
904-5 Myers Bidg.
Springfield, Illinois 62701
Attorneys for Appellant

eg SCHNEPP & BARNES PRINTERS, INC., SPRINGFIELD, ILL.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT
INDEX

Manuscript Cover

EE Aaa esas eum wdeiwveereticbie ded tiedes
EY sc ueh Gas Gua 06h 6ess dae aCkuNweeGs + cae’
EE Ne OP SE Ee ae
Statement of Jurisdictional Grounds ..............
Questions Presented in this Appeal ...............
I ia, ook nc chs weeemeennd

Grounds for Plenary Jurisdiction in State Court
ED SiGe dua dag bce us Sue ndksendnteeennews

Copy of Lower Court Opinions ...................
EE ccc ckdensacaecedcuacateunsansees

Authorities Cited

(a) Cases
Dahnke-Walker Milling Co. v. Bondurant, 257
IEE oh th eka caneksde ne easess

Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145, 88 S. Ct.
1713, 20 L. Ed. 2d 491 (1968) ..............

George v. Illinois, 167 Ill. 447, 47 N.E. 741
EE eaee eee hee alee i less eae bachda baltic o%

Johnson v. Florida, 391 U.S. 596, 88 S. Ct. 1713,
JS § Ff: eer re ror

People v. Hairston, 46 Ill. 2d 348, 263 N.E.
DD ee ehadeckin Vi tedeieedectinuntents

RS eRe ee Oe

Sealfon v. United States, 332 U.S. 575, 578, 68
S. Ct. 237, 92 L. Ed. 180 (1948) .............

i

INDEX
Page
Singer v. United States, 380 U.S. 24, 85 S. Ct.
783, 13 L. Ed. 2d 630 (1965) ................ 11
State v. Leemon, 28 Ill. App. 3d 541, 328 N.E.
EE as Re oe Re 1,9

State v. Leemon, #44719 (9/25/75) Ill. S. Ct... 1,29
Twining v. New Jersey, 211 U.S. 78, 99 8, Ct.

SEG Gs OO GUE ce ccnccscceveccossccs 11
United States v. Vastine, 363 F. 2d 853, 855

es EE os Gk vos onbes ob cenbesceeees 11
Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. 78, 90 8. Ct.

1893, 26 L. Ed. 2d 446 (1970) ............... 2
Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510, 88 8. Ct.

1770, 20 L. Ed. 2d 776 (1968) ................ 14

(b) Statutes Cited
United States Constitution

I 5 o's n6ccsasadeviwiens 12
pS eT er 3, 4
BOE, 66 0.0 006640000006 i ecedons 3, 4, 12
65 bck 0bsds vesdesdsadsdous 3, 4
Amendment Fourteenth .................55 3, 4, 13

United States Code, Title 28, Section 1257 (2) .. 14
Illinois Constitution

ED 6.6 bh b060s Gna betdesedaces 3, 4,15

Article I, Section 10 .............. err ery 3, 4, 15

Be NEED 6 bss tice dedcdecdiesecee 3, 4,15
Illinois Revised Statutes

Chapter 38, Section 8-2(a) ................. 3, 15

Chapter 38, Section 19-1(A)................ 3, 16

(c) Other Authorities

Comment, 60 Colum. L. Rev. 999, 1002-04 n. 18
SE 4ahue4nnegen bed odndeeedeevcesuniene 11

Page
Hall, Principles of Criminal Law 19, 59 (1947) .. 12
Note, 1961 Duke L.J. 133, 184-35 .............. 12

I Working Papers of Natl. Comm. on l.eform
Wy EE 66 50 6-00440 64.5060 650596466 12

Short Record

Index of Documents Transmitted ................. 24

Notice, affidavit and motion for enlargement of
time to file petition for leave to appeal ........... 25-28
Petition For Leave to Appeal ............0..ee0ee 24
Mandate of Supreme Court of State of Illinois ...... 28-29

Notice, motion of petitioner and Order staying
EE ee dae Cue Sed elke Vas 6 oe eKhRGkes 30-33

Notice of Appeal to Supreme Court of United States 33

Notice, motion and affidavit for enlargement of
time to file Notice of Appeal .................. 34

Order of January 16, 1976 denying motion to
enlarge time for Petitioner to file Notice of
| | PPP OTPTTIT TTT TTT TTT TT TTT TT TTT Tee 39-40

I oe cos ous cpamdiondatieeedearaawnee sone 25
Back Cover of Manuscript

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No.
PAUL LEEMON, SR.,
Appellant,
vs.
PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,
| Appellee.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT
OF APPELLANT

APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

A.

This appeal arises from two decisions rendered in the
Appellate Courts of the State of Illinois, being entitled
‘*People of the State of Illinois v. Paul Leemon, Sr.,’’ first
heard and decided in the Illinois Appellate Court, Fourth
Judicial District, Springfield, Illinois, and appearing in
28 Il). App. 3d 541, 328 N.E. 2d 645 (Ill. App. 4th D. 1975),
and the second opinion being People v. Leemon, No. 47719,
Petition For Leave To Appeal, decided per curiam on Sep-
tember 25, 1975, denying said Petition For Leave To Appeal.
Thereafter, the mandate in said cause was stayed pending
perfection of this appeal, and so has not been officially
published. A copy of both opinions is appended hereto in
conformance with subparagraph (H).

2

B.

The jurisdiction of this cause is properly lodged in the
United States Supreme Court pursuant to Title 28, See-
tion 1257 (2), as Appellant, Paul Leemon, Sr., seeks direct
review of a criminal conviction in the Illinois Courts for
the crime of conspiracy to commit burglary, which convie
tion was affirmed by the Illinois Appellate Court, Fourth
Judicial District, Springfield, Illinois, on May 22, 1975, and
affirmed without opinion on September 25, 1975, by the
Illinois Supreme Court, and thereafter Notice of Appeal
filed on January 13, 1976.

No application for rehearing was filed with the Illinois
Supreme Court, and the Noticé of -Appeal to the United
States Supreme Court was filed with the Clerk of the Illi-
nois Supreme Court on January 13, 1976, and Notice of
Filing given to the States Attorney on the same date.

The statute conferring jurisdiction of the United States
Supreme Court over this cause is found in Title 28, Section
1257 (2) which reads as follows:

‘‘Final judgments or decrees rendered by the highest
court of a State in which a decision could be had, may be
reviewed by the Supreme Court as follows:

CED oo

(2) By appeal, where is drawn in question the validity
of a statute of any state on the ground of its being repug-
nant to the Constitution, treaties or laws of the United
States, and the decision is in favor of its validity.’’

The judicial support for a direct appeal of this cause is
found in Dahnke-Walker Milling Co. v. Bondurant, 257
U.S. 282 (1921); Johnson v. Florida, 391 U.S. 596, 88 S.Ct.
1713, 20 L. Ed.2d 838 (1968); Williams v. Florida, 399
U.S. 78 (1970); Dunean v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145, 88 8.Ct.

3

1444, 20 L.Ed2d 491 (1968) and George v. Illinois, 167 Ill.
447, 47 N.E. 741 (1897).

The State Constitution, Article I, Sections 2, 10 and 13
of 1970, and the Illinois Revised Statutes, Chapter 38, Sec-
tions 8-2(a) and 19-1(A) which are appended hereto under
the provisions of subparagraph (h) or appendix hereto,
were called into question based upon Appellant’s conten-
tions that the submission of the two counts of the indict-
ment, one for conspiracy to commit burglary and burglary,
and the subsequent conviction of conspiracy and acquittal
of burglary constituted a legal and logical inconsistency
which denied the Appellant his right to trial by jury, due
process and equal protection under the Fifth, Sixth, Ninth
and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Con-
stitution.

A short record setting forth the proceedings in the IIli-
nois Supreme Court is likewise appended hereto and made
a part of the appendix filed herewith.

C.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED BY THE APPEAL

1. Is there a direct or implicit guarantee of continuity
and content to a state constitutional guarantee of trial by
jury promulgated in the language of the 5th, 6th, 9th and
14th amendments of the United States Constitution so as
to extend and preserve a state criminal defendant’s right
to trial by jury, burden of proof, presumption of innocence,
freedom from double jeopardy and a legally and logically
inconsistent criminal verdict?

2. Does the Illinois Statute on conspiracy require proof
of an overt act upon the part of the defendant so that ac-
quittal of the substantive offense of burglary also made
implicit a finding on the part of the jury that Appellant

4

did not commit an overt act connected with said offense,
and hence is being punished for status rather than proof
of criminality?

3. Does the Illinois Constitution, Article I, Sections 2,
10 and 13, guarantee to a criminal defendant the right to
a trial by jury which historically embodies a right to a
finding of guilty or not guilty which is neither logically or
legally inconsistent so as to protect the rights of Appel-
lant to proof beyond a reasonable doubt, and a continuing
presumption of innocence which cannot be suspended by
the judiciary or the legislature in view of the Illinois
Constitution?

4. Does the language of the Fifth, Sixth, Ninth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution
require the states to apply the provisions of their respective
state constitutions equally to all citizens in the trial of
criminal cases by jury so that fundamental rights cannot
be infringed upon by a judicial device of construction that
the prohibition against double jeopardy is satisfied by non-
imposition of sentence after submission of inconsistent
counts and the return of inconsistent verdicts by the jury
in trials involving inchoate and choate offenses arising
out of the same fact situation?

5. Did the Illinois revision of its criminal code defining
the crime of conspiracy operate to establish a separate,
substantive offense of conspiracy, or did the failure of said
revision to delineate the doctrine of merger cause the crime
of conspiracy to operate under the doctrine of common law
merger and thereby deny Appellant his historical right
to trial by jury under Illinois law?

D.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Sometime on the morning of July 1, 1973, the premises

5

of Mabel Kramer, located near Mason City, Illinois, were
burglarized. The evidence is not consistent, but tends to
indicate the burglary occurred about 10:00 or 10:15 a.m.
(R 8, A 24).

Two of the three alleged parties responsible for this
offense were apprehended »efore 12:00 noon, within a short
distance from the scene of the crime, having fled from the
house on discovery by the owner, Mabel Kramer, and her
husband, Theodore Kramer (R 11, A 25).

Mr. and Mrs. Kramer had returned home from Church,
to find the door and lock tampered with, and Mr. Kramer
had entered the house (R 8, A 24). On being surprised
during their search and burglary, Donald and Richard Mc-
Cloud, ran from the house into nearby fields (R 9, A 25).
The local police, aided by outside law enforcement person-
nel, airplane and tracking dogs, discovered the defendants,
arrested and took them to the Mason County jail (R 12-13,
23, A 26, 31).

A search for the third person and the vehicle by which
Donald McCloud and Richard McCloud had arrived at the
farm residence was undertaken, for approximately a cae
mile radius of the Kramer residence (R 20, A 30). No
tracks or evidence of a vehicle were found and no third per-
son apprehended on July 1, 1973.

On Monday, the two accused persons, Donald McCloud
and Richard McCloud were released on bail (R 40, A 39).
Sometime thereafter, apparently around July 25, 1973,
Donald McCloud confessed to the burglary and implicated
Richard McCloud and his uncle, the Defendant, Paul Lee-
mon, Sr. (C 22, 23, A 8). The testimony, which closely
tracked the statement of Donald McCloud, tended to estab-
lish a sequence of events linking the Defendant with plan-
ning the crime; planning the commission; physically driv-

6

ing the two accused men to the scene and his presence at
the premises, and leaving the two accused with instructions
for a rendezvous in 15 to 20 minutes up the road from the
Kramer residence (R 35-42; A 36-40).

Pretrial motions were filed by defense counsel attacking
the sufficiency of Count Two of the Indictment, on the
grounds that no crime had been alleged (C 13, A 7, 8);
and that under the provisions of Chapter 38, Section 8-2 (a)
on conspiracy anc Chapter 38, Section 19-1 (a) on burglary,
the inchoate offense of conspiracy merged into the com-
pleted crime and therefore Defendant, Paul Leemon, Sr.,
could not be charged with both offenses (C 10, 11, R 5-7).
At this point, defense counsel urged the possible violations
of the Fifth, Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments of the
United States Constitution as prohibitions to trial of the
two counts, and that it affected the defendant’s rights to
protection from double jeopardy, trom harassment by mul-
tiple prosecutions for one alleged crime arising out of a
single fact situation and that a trial without requirement
of an election by the State on which charge it chose to pro-
ceed upon would violate the Illinois Constitution of 1970,
Article I, Section 2 and 10.

These defense motions were duly heard and considered
by the Trial Judge and denied (C 27, AQ).

Trial commenced on November 13, 1973, before a jury of

twelve persons, and upon both counts of the Indictment
(C 179, A 23).

The State’s evidence was consistent with the earlier state-
ment of Donald McCloud, that a conspiracy to commit bur-
glary was framed by Defendant and Donald McCloud, prior
to July 1, 1973 (C 22, 23, A 8). The parties met at the
DeLuxe Cafe, in Peoria, Illinois, early on July 1, 1973,
(R 36, A 37), made the decision to execute their plans and

7

departed for Mason City, Illinois, in Donald McCloud’s
1973 Ford LTD (R 38, A 37, 38).

Donald McCloud testified that the three persons origin-
ally went to Mason City, to see if Church was out, and
then proceeded to the Kramer residence (R 38, 39, A 38).
He also stated that Leemon tried to open the front door
of the Kramer residence and finding no one home, left in
the auto to be met within 15 to 20 minutes north of the
house (R 38, 39, A 38). Richard McCloud testified that he
(Richard) knocked on the door of the Kramer residence,
and not his uncle, Paul Leemon. (R 31, A 33).

Richard McCloud also testified the car was driven straight
to the Kramer residence; that he tried the door and forced
it open, and informed the jury he had pleaded guilty to
burglary, had been sentenced prior to the instant trial
(R 30-32, A 33-34).

However, Richard McCloud denied the participation of
his uncle, the Defendant, Paul Leemon, Sr., in the planning
or commission of the crime. He denied knowledge of the
name of the third party (R 33-35, A 34-36).

The Defendant testified to his meeting with Donald
McCloud and Richard McCloud early on July 1, 1973, at
the Deluxe Cafe, by reason of taking Richard to meet
Donald (R 53, A 43).

Defendant testified he worked in Peoria on the morning
of July 1, 1973, (R 54, A 43), and that he was without
knowledge as to the location of the Kramer residence and
had not counselled or discussed the commission of the
crime with either Donald or Richard McCloud (R 69, A 48).

The evidence also disclosed that Richard MeCloud lived
at the residence of Defendant; that Donald McCloud had
been reared by Defendant (R 45, 58, 78, A 41, 51).

Defendant’s alibi was the assertion of his presence in
Peoria at or near 10:00 a.m., which was substantiated by
his other witnesses, but largely by one Charles Waller,
who remembered seeing the Defendant using the public
telephone at Western and Howlett (R 100-106, A 58-60).
This was close to the time of the burglary, near to 10:15
or 10:30 a.m.

Defendant’s story was further buttressed by the testi-
mony of Paul Leemon, Jr., (R 91, A 55) and Mrs. Gertrude
Leemon, (R 84, A 53), Defendant’s wife, with regard to
the work done on July 1, 1973, by Paul Leemon, Sr., and
the attempts of Paul Leemon, Sr., to awaken his son, Paul
Leemon, Jr., to assist him with his carpentry work (BR 89,
A 54).

It should be noted that no impeachment was made by the
State of Richard McCloud during his testimony or claim
of surprise by the State; no impeachment or contradiction
by way of rebuttal offered after the testimony of Charles
Waller, the last witness for the defense.

At the close of all the evidence, defense counsel moved
for a directed verdict of acquittal on both counts, and this
motion was denied by the Court (R 123, A 66).

The case was submitted to the jury by the Court on both
Counts of the Indictment, with alternate verdicts. A ver-
dict of guilty of conspiracy but not guilty of burglary was
found, returned, and verdict and judgment entered into
the record. (R 148-159, A 67).

After several continuances, the Court heard the Motion
of defendant to set aside the verdict, for acquittal and in
the alternative for a new trial and the Court overruled
the motion. (R 145-150, A 17-20). Defense counsel again
urged the grounds of merger, double jeopardy and the in-

9

consistency of the verdicts when the substantive crime of
burglary upon which the conspiracy was grounded had been
returned as ‘‘not guilty.’’ Defendant was thereafter given
a presentence hearing in mitigation and aggravation, and
sentenced to three to ten years in the State Penitentiary at
Joliet, Illinois (Cc 137, A 15; R 151-166, A 21).

Defendant filed his Notice of Appeal on January 14,
1974, (C 138, A 15-16), and said cause is now before this
Honorable Court based upon that Notice of Appeal and
the alleged errors committed by the Court during trial.

However, two irregularities occurred during trial. One
Lindsay was excused or did absent himself from the bal-
ance of the jury aud without being accompanied by the
bailiff and without consent on the part of either party.
(C 147, A 18).

The second irregularity occurred during cross-examina-
tion of Charles Waller. When the States Attorney asked
for a short recess, and apparently took the witness to the
Circuit Clerk’s office, and talked to Waller and caused the
witness to use the telephone and talk to some third person.
Waller was thereafter recalled to the stand and finished
his testimony (C 149, A 19).

The Defendant-Appellant, Paul Leemon, Sr., thereafter
raised the same federal constitutional issues as Point ‘‘D”’
of his appellate brief submitted and argued to the Illinois
Appellate Court, Fourth Judicial District, Springfield,
Illinois, specifically referring to the legal inconsistency of
such findings by ‘‘e jury in view, of the facts as developed
in the trial of the cause. (Appl. Brief p. 8, 15-27). These
contentions were disposed of adversely to defendant-appel-
lant in the court’s subsequent opinion, People v. Leemon,
28 Ill. App. 3d 541, 328 N.E. 2nd 645.

The defendant-appellant, Paul Leemon, Sr., again urged

10

the same grounds as Point II of his Petition for Leave to
Appeal before the Illinois Supreme Court, (See App. Brief
p. 14-18), and again these contentions about a subsisting
federal right which abrogated or negated the application
given the Illinois Constitution and Illinois Revised Stat-
utes was rejected sub silento by the Court’s refusal to
grant further proceedings or hearing to defendant-appellant
(See Order of Ill. S.Ct. dated 9/25/75).

Defendant-appellant is now free on $20,000 bond pending
the outcome of his appeal to the United States Supreme
Court.

E.
SUBSTANTIAL NATURE OF FEDERAL QUESTIONS

The issues presented by this appeal are substantial and
justify the exercise of plenary jurisdiction by the United
States Supreme Court based upon the Illinois Supreme
Court’s determination that inconsistent counts in a single
Indictment did not violate the appellant’s right to freedom
from double jeopardy, that the subjection of the defendant
to trial was not the test of double jeopardy, but the sub-
mission to punishment; that the merger of the inchoate
and substantive offense which arose by reason of the proof
at trial was not legally inconsistent necessitating reversal
and/or a new trial; that affirmance of the trial court ver-
dict of guilty of conspiracy but not guilty of burglary was
not a denial of defendant’s Constitutional and statutory
rights to a jury trial and to fundamental concepts of due
process and equal protection.

1. Inconsistent Verdicts

It hardly needs to be stated that the problem of incon-
sistent verdicts is and remains an unsolved problem in
both state and federal law. See People v. Murray, 340 N.E.
2d 186 (ist D. Ill. App. 1975) in which the intermediate

11

appellate court in Illinois finally made the Kierkegaardian
leap of faith to hold both logical and legal inconsistency as
not violative of a defendant’s rights. This opinion presents
the issues very sharply in respect to multiple crimes arising
from the same fact situation, but, of course, does not reach
the thorny issue of choate and inchoate offenses, the nature
of which create a factor of similitude in the estoppel
worked by the implicit findings of the jury by its verdict
of [Yes, you did have the intent and commit an overt act
in furtherance of the crime, and No, you are not guilty of
the substantive offense.] The United States Supreme Court
faced this issue in Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145, by its
discussion of selective incorporation, and this was an in-
apposite resolution of the issue. See Harlan, J., dissenting
on the same grounds as Harlan, J., his grandfather, had
done in Twining v. New Jersey, 211 U.S. 78, 29 S.Ct. 14,
53 L.Ed 97 (1908), that the Court simply did not reach
fundamentals, and that is, what is the characterization or
guarantee under discussion, not simply by a broad verbali-
zation, but in fact or in its operational nature as both a
logical predicate and a consistent criminal regulation of
immoral, objective, punishable conduct.

If the court is going to use selective incorporation and
the ad hoc approach of Mr. Justice Harlan, then the issue
of Singer v. United States, 380 U.S. 24, is simply not
reached, for the historical content of a right to trial by
jury, or any other federally guaranteed right which bleeds
through the Fourteenth Amendment Due Process and Equal
Protection Clauses inte state law is not the same, and the
measurement of any minimiam standard would have to en-
vision the adoption of the state standard, if this were dif-
ferent from the federal standard historically. See United
States v. Vastine, 363 F.2d 853, 855 (3d Cir. 1966); Com-
ment, 60 Colum. L. Rev. 999, 1002-04 n. 18 (1960); Note,

12

1961 Duke L.J. 133, 134-35. The Singer Case would seem
to imply a cohesive and interrelated ‘‘right’’ to a pre-
characterized trial by jury subsists in Art. III, Section 2
and the Sixth Amendment venue provisions.

2. Double Jeopardy.

The problems in Illinois began with an older opinion,
People v. Hairston, 46 Ill. 2d 348, 263 N.K. 2d 840, in which
the Illinois Court chose to deal with the prohibition against
double jeopardy in situations of multiple crimes arising
from a single transaction by vacating the verdict in one
such offense, and thereby escaping the concept of double
punishment to the accused. This has been an unsatisfac-
tory device, except it provides the prosecution with a shot-
gun approach to prosecution of the criminally accused, and
in the view of defense counsel, a fundamental and signifi-
cant denial of fundamental fairness involved in due process
guarantees. It has an especially raw application in crimes
which approuch punishment for status or association rather
than for an overt act which can be used to predicate a find-
ing of criminality on the part of the accused. See I Work-
ing Papers of the National Commission on Reform of
Federal Criminal Laws, Comment on Basis of Criminal
Liability; Culpability; Causation: Chapter 3; Section 610,
at 105; Hall, Principles of Criminal Law 19, 59 (1947).

The complication of double jeopardy and collateral estop-
pel and their differing historical antecedents in Roman
and Germanic law has left the United States Supreme
Court statements with some ambivalence as to the scope
of the protection against former adjudication and freedom
from harassment, expense and emotional trauma of a
trial as embodied in the Fifth Amendment. The cloak of
immunity to impeach jury verdicts confuses the problem
in the generality of the criminal verdict and the absence
and adequacy of criminal pleadings to frame an issue. See

13

Sealfon v. United States, 332 U.S. 575, 578, 68 S.Ct. 237,
92 L. Ed. 180 (1948). The rationale which accords a sub-
stantive right in the prosecution by the election to charge
an accused by two counts of a single indictment rather than
two individual indictments and hence to avoid the res
judieata holding of the Sealfon Case need hardly be accen-
tuated as fundamentally unfair and a specious device of
a prosecution oriented judicial interpretation.

3. Presumption of Innocence & Burden of Proof.

However inartfully defense counsel may have phrased
his objection to the trial of defendant on the two counts,
one of burglary and the other conspiracy to commit bur-
glary, the proof of one being a lesser included offense, not
by any positive legalism, but the possibility which develops
from the proof at trial and the lack of adequate pleadings
in all criminal trials, the presumptions which beset a crim-
inal trial are unique to and a part of the system of criminal
justice. These arise, not by a label, but from the operational
and totally pragmatic nature of criminal trials, in which
the issue formulation is left to jury instructions. This
means that a defendant is or should be entitled to a full
and adequate guarantee of the right to trial by jury, which
cannot by its very nature, change without being a basic
change from any fixed, historical definition derived from a
study of early cases and constitutional provisions.

Defense counsel made his presentation of these issues to
the trial court and to both the intermediate and appellate
and supreme court of the State of Illinois. In affirming the
trial court judgment of conviction, the appellate courts have
had to construe the validity of state constitutional and
statutory provisions as against a claimed federal right,
which upheld the validity of the state laws by their appli-
cation to the facts, and so held the application not to be a
denial of a federally guaranteed right under the Fourteenth

14

Amendment. A close re-examination of Duncan v. Louisiana,
391 U.S. 145, 88 §.Ct. 1444, 20 L. Ed. 2d 491 (1968), and
Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510, 88 S.Ct. 1770, 20 L.
Ed2d 776 (1968), renders this a case properly within the
rulings and characterization formulated in Dahnke-Walker
Milling Co. v. Bondurant, 257 U.S. 282 (1921), whether we
discuss the denial of such rights under a broad guarantee
such as the right to trial by jury, or seek to invoke the

nominate, single issues of such traditional guarantees. |

In either case, the trial court and Illinois Appellate Courts
were specifically asked to rule on the claimed validity of
state statutes alleged to infringe upon the federal rights of
Appellant, and in so doing, the federal question was both
directly and by implication a part of their findings, and
Title 28, Section 1257 (2) affords the right of appeal to
these state court decisions.

Respectfully submitted,

PREE & PREE, ATTORNEYS
EDWARD G. PREE, and
MICHAEL W. HOGAN
904-5 Myers Bidg.
Springfield, Illinois 62701
Attorneys for Appellant

15

H.
APPENDIX
ILLINOIS CONSTITUTION OF 1970
Article 1, Section 2
Due Process and Equal Protection
No person shall be deprived of life, liberty or property

without due process of law nor be denied the equal protec-
tion of the laws.

Article 1, Section 10
Self-Incrimination and Double Jeopardy

No person shall be compelled in a criminal case to give
evidence against himself nor be twice put in jeopardy for
the same offense.

Article 1, Section 13

Trial by Jury

The right of trial by jury as heretofore enjoyed shall
remain inviolate.

ILLINOIS REVISED STATUTES
Chapter 38, Section 8-2 Conspiracy

(a) Elements of the offense.

A person commits conspiracy when, with intent that an
offense be committed, he agrees with another to the com-
mission of that offense. No person may be convicted of con-
spiracy to commit an offense unless an act in furtherance
of such agreement is alleged and proved to have been com-
mitted by him or by a co-conspirator.

16

(b) Co-conspirators.

It shall not be a defense to conspiracy that the person or
persons with whom the accused is alleged to have conspired:

(1) Has not been prosecuted or convicted, or
(2) Has been convicted of a different offense, or

(3) Is not amenable to justice, or
(4) Has been acquitted, or
(5) Lacked the capacity to commit an offense.

(c) Sentence

A person convicted of conspiracy may be fined or im-
prisoned or both not to exceed the maximum provided for
the offense which is the object of the conspiracy, except
that if the object is an offense prohibited by Sections 11-15,
11-16, 11-17, 11-19, 24-1(a) (1), 24-1(a) (7), 28-1, 28-3 and 28-4
of the ‘‘Criminal Code of 1961,’’ approved July 28, 1961,
as amended or prohibited by Sections 401, 402, 403, 404,
406(b) or 407 of the ‘‘Illinois Controlled Substances Act,’”
enacted by the 77th General Assembly, or an inchoate of-
fense related to any of the aforesaid principal offenses the
person convicted may be sentenced for a Class 3 felony
however, conspiracy to commit treason, murder, or aggra-
vated kidnaping shall not be sentenced in excess of a Class 2
felony, and conspiracy to commit any offense other than
those specified in this subsection shall not be sentenced in
excess of a Class 4 felony. Amended by P.A. 77-2638,
Section 1, eff. January 1, 1973; P.A. 78-255, Section 61, eff.
October 1, 1973.

Chapter 38, Section 19-1 Burglary

(a) A person commits burglary when without authority
he knowingly enters or without authority remains within
a building, honsetrailer, watercraft, aircraft, motor vehicle
as defined in the Illinois Vehicle Code, railroad car, or any
part thereof, with intent to commit therein a felony or theft.

i

17

This offense shall not include the offenses set out in Sec-
tion 4-102 of the Illinois Vehicle Code.

(b) Sentence

Burglary is a Class 2 felony.

Amended by P.A. 77-906, Section 1, eff. Aug. 17, 1971;
P.A. 77-2638, Section 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1973, P.A. 78-255, Seec-
tion 61, eff. Oct. 1, 1973.

18

STATE OF ILLINOIS
APPELLATE COURT
FOURTH DISTRICT

General No. 12562 Agenda No. 75-86
THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE )
OF ILLINOIS, Appeal from
Plaintiff-Appellee Cirenit Court
v. Mason County
PAUL LEEMON, SR., No. 73-CF-31
Defendant-Appellant |

Mr. JUSTICE GREEN delivered the opinion of the court:

Defendant Paul Leemon, Sr. was charged in the Circuit
Court of Mason County in a 2 count indictment with the
offenses of conspiracy to commit the burglary of, and the
burglary of, the Mabel Kramer residence in that county on
July 1, 1973. After a trial by jury he was found guilty of
the conspiracy charge and not guilty as to the burglary
charge and sentenced to 3-10 years imprisonment. He
appeals.

Defendant’s nephews Donald McCloud and Richard Me-
Cloud were apprehended in a field near the Kramer house
on July 1, 1973, and have each pleaded guilty to the bur-
glary. At the time of the trial, Richard had received a 3-5
year sentence, and Donald was awaiting sentencing. De-
fendant does not contest the sufficiency of the evidence to
prove that the burglary was committed but maintains that
the evidence was insufficient to prove beyond a reasonable
doubt that he was guilty of a conspiracy to commit the
burglary.

19

Donald McCloud was the principal witness for the People.
He testified that he, his brother Richard, and the defendant
met at the latter’s house in Peoria a few days prior to the
burglary, that they discussed information which they had
concerning the presence of money in the Kramer residence,
and that they decided to commit the burglary. He stated
that early in the morning of July 1, 1973, he met his brother
and the defendant at the Deluxe Cafe in Peoria and that
they rode from there to Mason County with the defendant
driving. This car belonged to Donald’s employer and Don-
ald had permission to use it. He further stated that upon
arrival at the Kramer residence defendant got out of the
car and knocked on the door. Since there was no one hoine,
he and his brother Richard entered the house, but the de-
fendant left with the understanding that the defendant
would pick them up in fifteen minutes two blocks away.
Donald’s testimony was somewhat corroborated by his wife
who testified, without objection, that at about 6 p.m. on
the date in question defendant’s son brought Donald’s car
back to her, handed her the keys, and stated that defendant
had told him to return the car.

Richard McCloud also testified for the state. His testi-
mony was that the car in question was a demonstrator bor-
rowed from the place where his brother worked, that he,
Donald, and a third person drove down to Mason County
from Peoria, but that he could not remember who the other
person was. On cross-examination he stated that he had
never seen the third person before and that the third person
could not have been the defendant because ‘‘I’ve never
stole with him.’’ None of the other evidence presented in
the People’s case in chief bore upon the involvement of the
defendant.

Defendant testified that on the morning in question he
took Richard to meet Donald at the Deluxe Cafe and had

20

coffee with them but returned home. He then woke his son,
Paul, Jr. and asked him to help complete some carpentry
work at the residence of some people named Nolanburg.
Defendant said that he left before his son arose. He said
that while at Nolanburg’s he had a conversation with Har-
riet Renigar and that he saw a Mr. Schaffer at his home
near the Nolanburg residence. He also said that while he
was in a phone booth near the Nolanburg residence, he
waved to Charles Waller who was driving by. Defendant
testified that he had had arguments with Donald McCloud
about money owed to defendant’s wife. Donald had denied
that such arguments occurred. Defendant admitted that
he had been convicted of burglary in Tazewell County
in 1966.

Defendant’s wife testified that defendant left home about
8 a.m. on July 1, 1973, and returned home at approximately
one o’clock for lunch. She further stated that he called her
twice during the period to awaken Paul, Jr. and that Paul,
Jr. finally left at about 11:00. Paul, Jr. testified that on
the morning in question he got up at 10:30 and went to help
his father at the Nolanburg residence. He stated that after
completing the job the two returned home at approximately
1:30 in the afternoon. He stated that he picked up Donald
McCloud’s car at 6:00 after receiving an anonymous call
and drove it to the McCloud residence.

Charles Waller testified that about 10:30 in the morning
of that day he saw defendant at a phone booth in Peoria
and honked at him. On cross-examination Waller admitted
that shortly before the trial he talked with the defendant,
that he had first reealled the time this oceurred in a con-
versation he had with the defendant shortly before the trial,
but that tte remembered the day because he was going to
his mother’s house to discuss plans for the 4th of July.
Helen Renigar was not called as a witness, and George

21

Schaffer testified that he was not at home on the day in
question.

The Criminal Code of 1961 provides in part:

‘*EKlements of the offense. A person commits conspir-
acy when, with intent that an offense be committed,
he agrees with another to the commission of that of-
fense. No person may be convicted of conspiracy to
commit an offense unless an act in furtherance of such
agreement is alleged and proved to have been com-
mitted by him or by a co-conspirator.’’ (Ill. Rev. Stat.
1973, ch. 38, par. 8-2(a)).

The only substantive evidence that defendant agreed to
the commission of the burglary is the testimony of Donald
McCloud, an accomplice. The uncorroborated testimony
of such a witness is received with caution but, if strong
enough, is sufficient to sustain a conviction (People v.
Mentola, 47 Ill. 2d 579, 268 N.E. 2d 8; People v. Burnett,
13 Ill. App. 3d 931, 301 N.E. 2d 600). This is true even
though his testimony is colored by either expectations of
leniency (People v. Nettles, 107 Ill. App. 2d 143, 246 N.E.
2d 29) or malice towards the accused (People v. Wollenberg,
37 Ill. 2d 480, 229 N.E. 2d 490).

Here, most evidence contrary to the testimony of the
accomplice is subject to infirmity. The defendant’s testi-
mony was contradicted by George Schaffer and weakened
by Charles Waller’s admission that he first had reason to
remember the day of the occurrence only shortly before
the trial. Richard McCloud’s testimony was rendered un-
certain by his inability to remember who the third person
was and by his failure to state when he and Donald left
the company of defendant who admitted he was with them
at the Deluxe Cafe in Peoria on the morning of the burglary.
The evidence was, therefore, sufficient for the jury to have
believed beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant was

guilty.

Defendant next contends that the court should have
granted his pre-trial motions to dismiss the conspiracy
count. These motions were made on the theory that the
inchoate offense of conspiracy to commit burglary would
merge into the burglary if that offense was actually com-
mitted. There is no merit to this argument. Ill. Rev. Stat.
1973, ch. 38, par. 8-5 provides that:

‘*No person shall he convicted of both the inchoate and
the principal offense.’’

The committee comments to that section state:

‘*. . .. By virtue of the definition of ‘conviction,’
this means that prosecution may be had for both of-
fenses in the same trial (by separate counts) or sepa-
rately. But after proceeding finally to verdict of guilty
on one or both, the judgment of conviction and sentence
shall be entered on only one offense’’ (emphasis
added).

This rule has been followed in People v. Brouilette, 92 Ill.
App. 2d 168, 236 N.E. 2d 12 and People v. DeStefano, 85 Ill.
App. 2d 274, 229 N.E. 2d 325. This was also the rule prior
to the Criminal Code of 1961 (People v. Robertson, 284 Il.
620, 120 N.E. 539).

In the case under consideration the court did not give
the jury any opportunity to find defendant guilty of both
the burglary and the conspiracy. Without objection by
defendant or his tender of any forms of verdict, the court
submitted forms of verdicts to the jury that would allow
them to find defendant either not guilty of all charges,
guilty of burglary but not guilty of conspiracy, or guilty of
conspiracy but not guilty of burglary. Defendant contends,
nevertheless, that the conviction should be reversed because
verdicts finding him guilty of conspiracy but not guilty of
burglary were inconsistent. Defendant has waived this
issue, however, because of his failure to object to the forms

23

of verdict, People v. Jones, — Tl. 2d _., __ N.E. 2d — (Nos.
45631, 45633; filed March 24, 1975). Furthermore, since
the charge of conspiracy involved elements different from
those of burglary, the verdicts, although logically incon-
sistent under the proof, were not inconsistent at law and

would not give rise to reversal (People v. Hairston, 46 Ill.
2d 348, 263 N.E. 2d 840).

Defendant also complains of two alleged improprieties
which he raised for the first time in the post-trial motion.
These charges are not supported by affidavit. One is that
a juror was allowed to leave the courthouse during a recess.
The record does not indicate that the jury had been seques-
tered at that time. The other charge is that during a recess,
the state’s attorney had a conversation with a defense wit-
ness. Defense counsel admitted that he had no evidence
to support his allegation. Clearly no error was committed
with regard to these two allegations.

The judgment is affirmed.
AFFIRMED.
TRAPP, P. J., and CRAVEN, J., concur.

I.

No application for rehearing was made in either appel-
late court in Illinois, and the time for such has now expired.

24
J

SHORT RECORD APPENDED
FROM ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT

APPEAL FROM THE
SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

No. 47719
THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE) Petition for
OF ILLINOIS, Leave to Appeal
Respondent | from Appellate Court
Vv. Fourth District
PAUL LEEMON, SR., 12562
Petitioner : 73-CF-31

INDEX OF DOCUMENTS TRANSMITTED TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
1. Notice, affidavit, motion by petitioner and order of
Chief Justice Robert C. Underwood filed July 22, 1975,

extending the time for filing petition for leave to appeal to
and including July 23, 1975.

2. Petition for leave to appeal filed July 22, 1975.

3. Mandate of the Supreme Court of the State of Illi-

nois denying petition for leave to appeal September 25,
1975.

4. Notice, motion by petitioner and order of Chief Jus-
tice Robert C. Underwood filed October 16, 1975, staying
the mandate of this Court pending disposition of petition-
er’s appeal to the Supreme Court of the United States.

5. Notice of Appeal to the Supreme Court of the United
States, together with proof of service, filed January 13,
1976.

ne te ee

a - —— —

6. Notice, affidavit and motion by petitioner filed Janu-
ary 13, 1976, for an extension of time to and including
March 14, 1976, for docketing this cause in the United
States Supreme Court.

7. Order entered January 16, 1976, denying the motion
by petitioner for an extension of time to and including
March 14, 1976, for docketing this cause in the United
States Supreme Court, without prejudice to the right of
petitioner to apply to that Court for an extension of time
and without prejudice to the order previously entered by
this Court staying the mandate.

8. Certification.

No. 47719
IN THE SUPREME COURT
STATE OF ILLINOIS

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE

OF ILLINOIS, Petition for leave

to appeal

Plaintiff-A ppellee from Illinois
- - ~=Appellate Court,
Fourth District
N .
PAUL LEEMON, S8R., No. 12562

Defendant-Appellant |

ORDER

Now on this 16th day of July, 1975, Michael W. Hogan,
attorney for defendant-appellant, presents his motion, affi-
davit and proof of service for an extension of time in which
to file the Petition for Leave to File Appeal in said cause,
and the Court being fully advised in the premises, and
otherwise satisfied that adequate grounds exist for the al-
lowance of said extension of time,

26

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the time for defendant-
appellant, Paul Leemon, Sr., to file Petition for Leave to
Appeal, is hereby extended to and including the 23rd day
of July, 1975.

/s/ Robert C. Underwood
Justice, Illinois Supreme Court

Filed July 22, 1975, Clell L. Woods, Clerk

No. 47719
IN THE SUPREME COURT
STATE OF ILLINOIS

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE |

OF ILLINOIS, ae a
Plaintiff-Appellee from Hlicoie
v. r Appellate Court,
r hha
PAUL LEEMON, SR., a
Defendant-Appellant | -
MOTION

Now comes defendant-appellant herein, by Pree & Pree,
attorneys, and moves that the time for filing appellant’s
petition in the above-entitled cause may be extended to the
23rd day of July, 1975, and in support of this motion,

7 A ee ete

27

appellant files herewith an affidavit by Attorney Michael
W. Hogan.
PAUL LEEMON, SR.,

Defendant-Appellant

BY: PREE & PREE
Attorneys for Defendant-Appellant
/8/ BY: Michael W. Hogan

PREE & PREE

Attorneys for Defendant-Appellant
904-5 Myers Building

Springfield, Illinois 62701
Telephones: 523-8913 & 544-9414

Filed July 22, 1975, Clell L. Woods, Clerk

No. 47719

STATE OF ILLINOIS Lgs
COUNTY OF SANGAMON

AFFIDAVIT

Michael W. Hogan, being first duly sworn, upon oath
deposes and says as follows: that he is associated with
the law firm of Pree & Pree with offices in the Myers Build-
ing, Springfield, Illinois; that he is in charge of the prepa-
ration of appellant’s brief herein; that because of court
commitments and trials, as well as other appeals to this
Honorable Court, and a heavy workload during the months
of June and July, 1975, he has been unable to complete the
preparation of appellant’s brief by July 17th, the due date;
that it will be necessary in order to prepare appellant’s
brief and have the same printed, that the time be extended;
that the brief is now with the printer and your affiant has
been duly informed that they cannot print the brief and
have it ready for filing before the 23rd day of July, 1975;
that affiant expects to be able to complete the preparation

28

of said brief and printing by July 23, 1975; that this motion
for extension of time is not made for the purpose of delay.

Further affiant sayeth not.
/s/ Michael W. Hogan

Subscribed and sworn to before me, a Notary Public, this
16th day of July, A.D. 1975.
/s/ Mary R. Martin
Notary Public

Filed July 22, 1975, Clell L. Woods, Clerk

No. 47719

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Michael W. Hogan, one of the attorneys for the defendant-
appellant, does hereby certify that on the 16th day of July,
1975, he caused to be deposited in the United States Mail,
at Springfield, Illinois, in a sealed envelope, with sufficient
postage prepaid, a copy of the foregoing Motion and Affi-
davit, addressed to William H. Knuppel, 124 West Market,
Havana, Illinois 62644, and G. Michael Prall, 334 Unity
Building, Bloomington, Illinois 61701, Attorneys for Plain-
tiff-Appellee.

/s/ Michael W. Hogan

Filed July 22, 1975, Clell L. Woods, Clerk

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

STATE OF ILLINOIS SS
SUPREME COURT ;

At a Term of the Supreme Court, begun and held in
Springfield, on Monday, the eighth day of September in
the year of our Lord, one thousand nine hundred and
seventy-five, within and for the State of Illinois.

Present: Robert C. Underwood, Chief Justice, Justice

29

Walter V. Schaefer, Justice Daniel P. Ward, Justice Joseph
H. Goldenhersh, Justice Thomas E. Kluezynski, Justice
Charles H. Davis, Justice Howard C. Ryan, William J.
Scott, Attorney General, William G. Lyons, Marshal. Attest:
Clell L. Woods, Clerk.

Be it remembered, that, to-wit: on the 25th day of Sep-
tember 1975, the same being one of the days of the term
of Court aforesaid, the following proceedings were, by said
court, had and entered of record, to-wit:

No. 47719
THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE ) Petition for Leave
OF ILLINOIS, to Appeal from
Respondent Appellate Court
Vv. rf Fourth District
PAUL LEEMON, SR., 12562
Petitioner | 73-CF-31

And now on this day the Court having duly considered
the Petition for Leave to Appeal herein and being now fully
advised of and concerning the premises, doth overrule the
prayer of the petition and denies Leave to Appeal herein.

I, Clell L. Woods, Clerk of the Supreme Court of the State
of Illinois and keeper of the records, files and seal thereof,
do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true copy of the
final order of the said Supreme Court in the above entitled
cause of record in my office.

In Witness Whereof, [ have hereunto subscribed my
name and affixed the Seal of said court this day of
, 19

Clerk, Supreme Court of the State of Illinois.

30

No. 47719
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE |
OF ILLINOIS,

Plaintiff-Appellee
v.

PAUL LEEMON, SR.,
Defendant-Appellant |

ORDER

The motion of defendant that the mandate of this Court
be stayed pending disposition of defendant’s appeal to
the Supreme Court of the United States coming on to be
heard upon proof of notice and without objection,

IT IS ORDERED that said motion is allowed and the
mandate of this Court stayed pending disposition of defen-
dant’s appeal to the Supreme Court of the United States.

DATED: October 15, 1975.

Robert C. Underwood
Chief Justice,
Supreme Court of Illinois

Filed Oct. 16, 1975, Clell L. Woods, Clerk

a

31

STATE OF ILLINOIS
IN THE SUPREME COURT
SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS
THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE |
OF ILLINOIS,
Plaintiff-Appellee CASE NO.

v. f 47719

PAUL LEEMON, SR.,
Defendant-Appellant |

MOTION FOR
STAY OF MANDATE PENDING APPEAL
(Supreme Court Rule 368(c) )

Paul Leemon, Sr., through his attorneys, Michael W.
Hogan and Edward G. Pree, will file Notice of Appeal to
the Supreme Court of the United States appealing the final
judgment and decree of his cause entered on September
25, 1975. No Petition For Rehearing pursuant to Ch. 110A,
Section 367, Lilinois Revised Statutes is to be filed.

Therefore, the appellant moves that execution of said
mandate be stayed in all respects pending final disposition
of the appeal and that an order be made with respect to a
continuation of the bond for said stay of execution, pursu-
ant to Ch. 110A, Section 368(c), Illinois Revised Statutes.

Dated this 10th day of October, 1975.
Respectfully Submitted,

Michael W. Hogan and
Edward G. Pree,
Attorneys For Appellant
/s/ By Michael W. Hogan
904-5 Myers Building
Springfield, Illinois 62701
Filed Oct. 16, 1975, Clell L. Woods, Clerk

32

STATE OF ILLINOIS
IN THE SUPREME COURT
SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE )
OF ILLINOIS,

Plaintiff-Appellee CASE NO

v. f 47719

PAUL LEEMON, SR.,
Defendant-Appellant |

NOTICE OF FILING MOTION

TO: William H. Knuppel, State’s Attorney, Mason County,
124 West Market Street, Havana, Illinois 62644

G. Michael Prall, Principal Attorney,

Illinois State’s Attorneys Assoc.

Statewide Appellate Assistance Serv.

334 Unity Building, Bloomington, Illinois 61701

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, that I, Michael W. Hogan,
one of the attorneys for the Defendant, Paul Leemon, Sr.,
did cause to have filed a Motion For Stay of Mandate
Pending Appeal, Order Staying Issuance of Mandate, and
this Notice of Filing Motion For Stay of Mandate, with
the Clerk of the Illinois Supreme Court, and I did, on the
same date mail a copy of said Motion, Order, and Notice
of Filing Motion to the above named persons, at the ad-
dresses listed beneath their names, addressed to their last
known address, with sufficient postage for the same to go
First Class Mail, and did deposit them in the United States
Mail, at Springfield, Illinois 62701, this 10th day of October,
1975.

/s/ Michael W. Hogan
Attorney For Defendant

Subseribed and sworn to before me, Mary R. Martin, a

ee

rr

33

Notary Public within and for the County of Sangamon,
State of Illinois, this 10th day of October, 1975.

Mary R. Martin, Notary Public
Filed Oct. 16,1975, C tL. Woods, Clerk

No. 47719
IN THE SUPREME COURT
STATE OF ILLINOIS

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE )
OF ILLINOIS,

Plaintiff-Appellee
v.

PAUL LEEMON, SR.,
Defendant-Appellant |

NOTICE OF APPEAL

Now comes Defendant-Appellant, Paul Leemon, Sr., by
his undersigned counsel, Michael W. Hogan, and files his
Notice of Appeal from the Order of the Illinois Supreme
Court dated September 25, 1975, denying the Defendant’s
petition for leave to appeal in Cause No. 47719, entitled
People of the State of Illinois, Respondent vs. Paul Leemon,
Sr., Petitioner, being by its nature affirmance of the findings
and opinion of the [Illinois Court of Appeals, 4th District,
dated May 22, 1975, and

Said appeal is taken pursuant to Title 28, U.S.C. Section
1257(2).

/s/ Michael W. Hogan
Filed Jan. 13, 1976, Clell L. Woods, Clerk

PROOF OF SERVICE
The undersigned certifies that a copy of the foregoing

34

instrument was served upon the attorneys of record of all
parties to the above cause by enclosing the same in an
envelope addressed to such attorneys at their business ad-
dress as disclosed by the pleadings of record herein with
postage fully prepaid, and by depositing said envelope in
a U.S. Post Office Mail Box in Springfield, Illinois, on the
13 day of January, 1976.
/s/ Michael W. Hogan

No. 47719

IN THE SUPREME COURT
STATE OF ILLINOIS

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE |
OF ILLINOIS,

Plaintiff-Appellee
v.

PAUL LEEMON, SR.,
Defendant-Appellant |

MOTION OF DEFENDANT FOR FNLARGEMENT
OF TIME FOR NOTICE OF APPEAL AND
DOCKETING SAID CAUSE WITH CLERK
OF UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT.

Now comes PAUL LEEMON, SR., Defendant-Appellant,
by his attorneys, Pree & Pree and Michael W. Hogan and
moves this Honorable Court, for enlargement of the time
filing his notice of appeal and docketing said cause with the
Clerk of the United States Supreme Court, pursuant to
Rule 368(c) of the Illinois Supreme Court, for a period of
sixty (60) days, on the grounds that counsel for Defendant-
Appellant, PAUL LEEMON, SR., have not been able to
research the law, write the jurisdictional statement and

er ee

eee aces tenants ree ee

8 6 eesti coe

FO Oe tan bee ee

PRO ety A ee

35

secure the publication of the jurisdictional statement within
the time allotted, and it will irreparably damage and preju-
dice the rights of the Defendant-Appellant if not allowed.

The original order staying the mandate of the Supreme
Court was made and entered in this cause on October 15,
1975, a copy of which is appended hereto, and the addi-
tional extension of time is asked from and including the
13th day of January, 1976 to and including the 14th day
of March, 1976.

PAUL LEEMON, SR., Defendant-Appellant
/s/ Michael W. Hogan

Pree & Pree & Michael W. Hogan

Attorneys for Defendant-Appellant

904-5 Myers Building, Springfield, Illinois 62701
Telephone: 523-8913 & 544-9414

No. 47719

IN THE SUPREME COURT
STATE OF ILLINOIS

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE |
OF ILLINOIS,

Plaintiff-Appellee
v.

PAUL LEEMON, SR.,
Defendant-Appellant |

AFFIDAVIT

STATE OF ILLINOIS
COUNTY OF SANGAMON

Comes now MICHAEL W. HOGAN, one of the attorneys

t ss

36

for the Defendant-Appellant, PAUL LEEMON, SR., and
being of lawful age and first duly sworn, state to the Court
as follows:

1. That affiant is counsel for Defendant-Appellant, Paul
Leemon, Sr., in the above-entitled cause.

2. That this Court entered on October 15, 1975, its Order
Staying the Issuance of the Mandate of the Supreme Court
of Illinois, which affirmed the conviction of Defendant-
Appellant, for a period of 90 days which order expires on
January 13, 1976.

3. That attorneys for Defendant-Appellant have not
been able to properly research the law, prepare the juris-
dictional statement required and have it printed in proper
form within the time allotted, due to the press of other
business, the holiday season, and the efforts of affiant to
relocate his business and family in the Springfield com-
munity.

4. That to fail to enlarge the time for filing the notice
of appeal and docketing the cause with the United States
Supreme Court will terminate Defendant-Appellant’s right
to appeal, and irreparably prejudice and damage his right
to review before said Court.

5. That said circumstances are elements which are be-
yond the control of counsel, and this further enlargement
of time is not taken in bad faith, or in an effort to forestall
consideration of Defendant’s cause.

6. That these circumstances represent extraordinary

grounds for granting said enlargement of time for filing

the notice of appeal and docketing the cause in the United
States Supreme Court.

/s/ Michael W. Hogan, Affiant

37

STATE OF ILLINOIS Ss
COUNTY OF SANGAMON

Personally before me, a notary public within and for the
County and State aforesaid, came and appeared MICHAEL
W. HOGAN, known to me, being of lawful age and first
duly sworn, and stated upon his oath that he is the person
who executed the above and foregoin, -ffidavit, that he
read the same, and that it is true and correct in substance
and fact.

Subscribed and sworn to before me, a notary public,
within and for the County and State aforesaid, this 13th
day of January, 1976.

/s/ Vickie L. Rapps, Notary Public
My Commission Expires: May 12, 1979

PROOF OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that a copy of the foregoing
instrument was served upon the attorneys of record of all
parties to the above cause by enclosing the same in an
envelope addressed to such attorneys at their business ad-
dress as disclosed by the pleadings of record herein with
postage fully prepaid, and by depositing said envelope in
a U.S. Post Office Mail Box in Springfield, Illinois, on the
13 day of January, 1976.

/s/ Michael W. Hogan

38

No. 47719
IN THE SUPREME COURT
STATE OF ILLINOIS

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE |
OF ILLINOIS,

Plaintiff-Appellee
v.

PAUL LEEMON, SR.,
Defendant-Appellant |

NOTICE OF MOTION FOR ENLARGEMENT
OF TIME TO FILE NOTICE OF APPEAL

TO: Hon. William H. Knuppel, State’s Attorney
Mason County Courthouse, Havana, Illinois
AND
Illinois State’s Attorneys Assn.

909 Myers Building, Springfield, Illinois 62701

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that Defendant-Appellant,
PAUL LEEMON, SR., will appear before the Hon. Daniel
Ward, Chief Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court and
present his motion for enlargement of time to file his notice
of appeal and docket said cause in the United States
Supreme Court on January 13, 1976, at 2:00 p.m. in the
Supreme Court Building, Springfield, Illinois, in Chambers,
or such other room as shall be assigned for hearing said
motion, aud that you may appear at said hearing, if you
so choose.

‘s/ Michael W. Hogan
Attorney for Defendant-Appellant.

PREE & PREE & Michael W. Hogan
Attorneys for Defendant-Appellant

904-5 Myers Building, Springfield, Illinois 62701
Telephones: 523-8913 & 544-9414

39

PROOF OF SERVICE

The undersigned certifies that a copy of the foregoing
instrument was served upon the attorneys of record of all
parties to the above cause by enclosing the same in an
envelope addressed to such attorneys at their business ad-
dress as disclosed by the pleadings of record herein with
postage fully prepaid, and by depositing said envelope in
a U.S. Post Office Mail Box in Springfield, Illinois, on the
13th day of January, 1976.

/s/ Michael W. Hogan

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

STATE OF ILLINOIS SS
SUPREME COURT '

At a Term of the Supreme Court, begun and held in
Springfield, on Monday, the twelfth day of January in the
year of our Lord, one thousand nine hundred and seventy-
six, within and for the State of Illinois.

Present: Daniel P. Ward, Chief Justice, Justice Walter
V. Schaefer, Justice Thomas E. Kluezynski, Justice Howard
C. Ryan, Justice Robert C. Underwood, Justice Joseph H.
Goldenhersh, Justice Caswell J. Crebs, William J. Scott,
Attorney General. Attest: Clell L. Woods, Clerk.

BE IT REMEMBERED, that, to-wit: on the 16th day
of January, A.D. 1976, the same being one of the days of

40

the term of Court aforesaid, the following proceedings were,
by said Court, had and entered of record, to-wit:

No. 47719
THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE) Petition for
OF ILLINOIS, Leave to Appeal
Respondent | ¢,om Appellate Court
v. Fourth District
PAUL LEEMON, SR., 12562
Petitioner | 73-CF-31

And now, on this day, the Court having duly considered
the motion by petitioner for an extension of time to and
including March 14, 1976, for docketing this cause in the
United States Supreme Court, and being fully advised of
and concerning the premises;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the motion by peti-
tioner for an extension of time to and including March 14,
1976, for docketing this cause in the United States Supreme
Court be, and the same is, denied without prejudice to the
right of petitioner to apply to that Court for an extension
of time and without prejudice to the order previously en-
tered by this Court staying the mandate.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

STATE OF ILLINOIS Ss
SUPREME COURT P

I, Clell L. Woods, Clerk of the Supreme Court of the
State of Illinois, and keeper of the records, files and Seal

Pail isdiacien Leesa.

41

thereof, do hereby certify the foregoing to be a true copy
of the record of this Court in a certain cause entitled:

No. 47719

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE)
OF ILLINOIS,
Respondent

v.
PAUL LEEMON, SR.,

Petitioner |

Petition for
Leave to Appeal
from Appellate Court
Fourth District

12562
73-CF-31

filed in this office on the 22nd day of July A.D. 1975.

In Witness Whereof, I have hereunto subscribed my name
and affixed the Seal of said court this 29th day of March
1976.

/s/ Clell L. Woods, Clerk,
Supreme Court of the State of Illinois

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_2312%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
