# Opposition — Canada v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_2283%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 429 U.S. 867

## Text

Bra ey tee Pore hy ek SEN AS VA A a EE A Bag ‘

peli ee 2s CS hed ERO TT Wisner wereemennere neque

i eee | TT Ripon toa)

Se tes Oa os ELIE D
: |

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., Chi raked

ne a he Supreme Gouirt of the Hnited States:
ihe eae a Octonen Team, | 1976 |

4 \ é ’
eave ars 5
e _ MARGARET CANADA, PETITIONER |
nal le ! AP &
eo UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ue r ON PETITION FOR A’ WRIT. OF CERTIORARI TO
» =) 5 THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
a or | THE NINTH CIRCUIT
_ BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

are >" Ropert H. Bork,
tay ate es oem ae Solicitor General,
RICHARD L. THORNBURGH,
Assistant Attorney General,

PR Gites A a Ba JEROME M. Feit,
pe Marc Puivip RICHMAN,
he eer | Attorneys, |
Fe ious oe. f : ) Department of Justice,
yt Washington, D.C. 20530

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1976

No. 75-1533
MARGARET CANADA, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 16a-
25a) is reported at 527 F. 2d 1374.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on December 29, 1975, and a petition for rehearing with
suggestion of rehearing en banc (Pet. App. 26a) was
denied on February 25, 1976. On March 8, 1976,
Mr. Justice Rehnquist extended the time for filing a
petition for a writ of certiorari to April 23, 1976, and
the petition was filed on that date. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the search of a suitcase that had been
presented voluntarily to an airport security guard was
lawful.

(1)

2

2. Whether petitioner’s Fourth Amendment rights were
violated when the manager of a motel informed govern-
ment agents of the long-distance telephone numbers to
which calls had been placed from petitioner’s room.

3. Whether the search of an automobile and its
contents was lawful.

4. Whether the district court erred in refusing to permit
an unidentified person to post bail for petitioner.

5. Whether a juror’s acquaintance with a police
officer who was not called as a witness deprived petitioner
of a fair trial.

6. Whether the district court’s questioning of a witness
deprived petitioner of a fair trial.

7. Whether petitioner’s sentence was based on an im-
proper factor.

STATEMENT

After a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Southern District of California, petitioner
was convicted of conspiracy to possess heroin and
cocaine and of possessing heroin and cocaine with intent
to distribute them, in violation of 21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1)
and 846. She was sentenced to concurrent terms of
five years’ imprisonment on each count, subject to the
immediate parole eligibility provisions of 18 U.S.C.
4208(aX(2), and to a !5-year term of special parole.
The court of appeals affirmed (Pet. App. 16a-25a).

The undisputed facts are set forth in the opinion of
the court of appeals (Pet. App. 17a-19a). Briefly, they
show that on February 16, 1975, petitioner and a male
companion, who was carrying a suitcase, approached
a baggage x-ray machine at the Detroit Metropolitan
Airport. The male handed the suitcase to an airline
security guard, who placed it onto a conveyor belt

3

that led to the x-ray machine (Tr. 213). Because half
of the suitcase was opaque to x-rays, the security
guard asked if she could open it for a visual inspection.
Petitioner’s companion asked why further inspection was
necessary, and the guard explained that the x-ray exam-
ination had not been fully successful. Hearing no
objection from either petitioner or her companion, the
guard opened the suitcase and observed one article of
clothing and a paper bag containing stacks of $20 and
$50 bills, with the figure “$68,000” written on the
outside of the bag. After the guard closed the suitcase
and returned it to petitioner’s companion, she heard
him tell petitioner, “Don’t worry about it; it’s okay”
(Pet. App. 17a).

The security guard informed an agent of the Drug
Enforcement Administration that she had seen an
unusually large amount of cash in a suitcase and that
petitioner had checked the suitcase and boarded an airplane
for San Diego. Further investigation by the D.E.A.
agent revealed that petitioner’s male companion, who had
not gone aboard the airplane, was a known narcotics
violator and was the son of two other well-known drug
traffickers in Detroit (Tr. 26). The agent transmitted
this information to D.E.A. personnel in San Diego, who
set up surveillance at the San Diego International Airport
in anticipation of petitioner’s arrival (Pet. App. - 18a).

Petitioner was met at the airport in San Diego by
Clarence Turner, with whom she walked in circuitous
fashion to a waiting automobile being driven by Anne
Welsh.' The three then proceeded to a motel in Welsh’s

‘After a separate non-jury trial, Welsh and Turner also were
convicted of conspiracy and substantive counts relating to these
events. Welsh was sentenced to three years’ imprisonment and
Turner to five years’ imprisonment, both sentences to be followed

4

rented car (Tr. 61-62), driving in a manner calculated
to elude any persons following them (Tr. 50-57). When
they arrived at the motel, petitioner and Turner registered
under an alias in one room, while Welsh took another
room. That evening, three long-distance calls to Detroit
were placed by either petitioner or Turner, one of which
went to a telephone number used by known narcotics
violators associated with the man who had accompanied
petiti»ner to the airport in Detroit (Pet. App. 18a).

On the following morning, Turner and Welsh placed an
empty duffel bag in the car and drove to Mexico.
When they returned to the motel about five hours later,
objects were clearly discernible in the bottom of the
duffel bag. Within minutes of the arrival of Welsh
and Turner at the motel, the duffel bag and suitcase
were hurriedly placed in the trunk of the car, and
petitioner and the others drove onto the highway at a high
rate of speed (Tr. 70-73). On the highway, surveilling
agents stopped the vehicle and asked Welsh, the lessee
of the car, whether she would object to a search of the
automobile and its contents for narcotics or contra-
band. Welsh replied, “No, go ahead” (Tr. 75-76). An
agent then opened the trunk, searched the suitcase, and
found four pounds of heroin and one pound of cocaine,

having a total value of about $64,000 (Tr. 322-324,
337-338; Pet. App. 19a).

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 7-12) that the airport
security search of the suitcase carried by her male
companion was unlawful. After a detailed consideration
of the evidence, however, the court of appeals found

by ten-year terms of special parole. The court of appeals affirmed
the convictions in an unpublished memorandum opinion. United States
v. Welsh, Nos. 75-3000 and 75-3001, decided May 25, 1976.

5

that consent to the search had been given (Pet. App.
19a-23a). This factual determination is correct, since
petitioner’s confederate—who exercised control over the
suitcase at all relevant times—voluntarily produced it for
inspection and did not object to the guard’s request
for permission to open the bag after she had explained
the necessity for that action. See United States v.
Matlock, 415 U.S. 164, 171 and n. 7; Schneckloth v.
Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218, 227; Frazier v. Cupp, 394
U.S. 731, 740; United States v. Fields, 458 F. 2d 1194,
1198 (C.A. 3), certiorari denied, 412 U.S. 927. Indeed,
neither petitioner nor her companion voiced any contem-
poraneous objection to the guard’s inspection of the
suitcase.”

2. Petitioner claims (Pet. 12-14) that her Fourth
Amendment privacy interests were violated when the
motel manager informed D.E.A. agents of the Detroit
telephone numbers called by petitioner and Turner from
their room in the motel. But petitioner or her roommate
voluntarily gave this information to the manager, who
obviously was required to record the numbers to ensure
that proper payment for the long-distance calis was
made. Petitioner had no reasonable expectation that the
manager would not divulge this information to law
enforcement officers and has no standing to complain a-

2Each of the cases cited by the petitioner (Pet. 8-9) as being
in conflict with the decision below is distinguishable on its facts.
Moreover, although petitioner alleges that the security guard’s
search was somehow tainted by her practice of notifying D.E.A.
agents of suspicious circumstances and by the fact that she
occasionally was compensated for this information, the only effect
of her cooperation would be arguably to transform an otherwise
private search into a governmental one. Here, however, the court
of appeals assumed that the guard’s search constituted govern-
ment action (Pet. App. 20a), and it analyzed the search under
Fourth Amendment principles.

6

bout his actions in doing so. See United States v. Miller,
No. 74-1179, decided April 21, 1976, slip op. 6-8.

3. Petitioner’s challenge (Pet. 15-18) to the legality
of the D.E.A. agents’ search of the car and its contents,
which led to the discovery of narcotics in the suitcase,
is insubstantial. Although petitioner contends that
Welsh’s consent to the search was ineffective, the evidence
showed that the car was leased by Welsh and that the
suitcase was jointly controlled by all members of the
conspiracy. Indeed, throughout the period of this two-day
drug transaction, petitioner had been in custody of the
suitcase only for short periods of time. Thus, Welsh’s
consent to the search was binding on petitioner. United
States v. Matlock, supra; Frazier v. Cupp, supra.

Moreover, as the court of appeals held (Pet. App. 23a-
25a), the search and subsequent arrest also were proper
because the agents had probable cause to believe
that the suspects were transporting narcotics. See
Texas v. White, 423 U.S. 67; Chambers v. Maroney,
399 U.S. 42. Although petitioner argues that a warrant
could have been obtained earlier in the day, the
agents’ failure to do so did not render the warrantless
arrests invalid. United States v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411, 417.

4. Petitioner’s contention (Pet. 19-20) that the district
court improperly refused to permit unidentified persons
to post $60,000 to secure her pretrial release is moot,
since petitioner has been convicted and does not specify
how the pretrial imprisonment prejudiced her at trial.
In any event, the trial judge’s actions were wholly
justified, as his explicit statement of reasons indicates
(Pet. App. Sa-6a):

1 want to know who is putting up the money from
one standpoint: to find out what motive [petitioner
will] have to come back to court if she’s allowed

7

out on bond. I’m interested in finding out whether,
whoever this mysterious person is who’s putting up
$60,000 of his or her cash money, whether they
have a motive to keep [petitioner] from coming
back to court * * *.

*- = *&* *&© *&

Now, I can easily see * * * that somebody appar-
ently back in Detroit could have a very strong desire to
see that she never comes back into this court or
any other court, with very strong reasons for that
feeling.

Since the purpose of pretrial release on bail is to “assure
the appearance of the [defendant] as required,” 18
U.S.C. 3146, the court correctly considered whether the
person posting bail for petitioner may have had an ulterior
motive. There is absolutely nothing in the record to
support petitioner’s suggestion (Pet. 20) that the court
wished to confine petitioner prior to trial in order to
force her to cooperate in the government’s investigation.

5. Petitioner contends (Pet. 22-23) that the district
court “smudged the appearance of justice” by refusing to
allow inquiry of a juror who was familiar with a scheduled
government witness. During trial, the prosecutor informed
the judge and defense counsel that one of his intended
witnesses, Agent Gordon Redding of the San Diego
police department, had seen the jurors leave the
courtroom for a recess and had recognized one of them
as a person with whom he had previously been ac-
quainted as a police officer (Pet. App. !la). Defense
counsel asked the prosecutor several clarifying questions
(Pet. App. Ila-12a) but, contrary to petitioner’s assertion
(Pet. 22), did not ask to interrogate the juror, and the
trial resumed. Because of the potential problem, however,
the government decided not to call Agent Redding as a
witness, and the police officer did not testify at trial.

8

There is no support for petitioner’s assertion that this
incident deprived her of a fair trial. Contrary to peti-
tioner’s allegation (Pet. 22), Agent Redding’s name was
not read to the prospective jurors as a potential witness,
his name was not mentioned in the government’s opening
statement (although the name “Redding” was mentioned
in passing by some of the witnesses), and Agent Redding
was not even in the courtroom during trial.? Thus, it is
exceedingly unlikely that the juror could have been
improperly influenced by any prior acquaintance with
Redding.

6. Petitioner contends (Pet. 21) that she was prejudiced
by the district court’s questioning of a witness at trial.
A review of the colloquy to which petitioner objects
(Pet. App. 8a-9a), however, indicates that the court’s
inquiry was relevant to the issues under consideration
and was a legitimate attempt to expedite the trial.
Not only did petitioner’s counsel not object to the court’s
question at the time, but he followed the question by
saying, “Well, let’s get into that aspect” (Tr. 225).4

7. Finally, petitioner’s claim (Pet. 23) that the district
court refused to impose a lenient sentence because she
would not cooperate with the government is based upon
a misreading of the court’s comments at sentencing.
The court said (Tr. 419):

I have the feeling that the only reason [petitioner]
hasn’t cooperated with the government is personal
fear which I suspect in this instance is well-founded.
Therefore, I'm going to sentence her on the basis
that, because of that fear, she’s not going to

‘Because he was an intended witness, Agent Redding had been
sequestered until this incident occurred.

‘Petitioner later moved for a mistrial based on the trial judge's
question (Pet. App. 10a-! la).

9

cooperate with the government. If I thought I could
get her cooperation by giving her thirty years, I'd
give her thirty years, but I’m not going to do
that, but I think the recommendation of the probation
office is a completely proper one under the circum-
stances.

_ This statement clearly indicates that the trial judge

understood why petitioner would not cooperate with the
government and that he did not consider this factor
to enhance the sentence. Indeed, the court explicitly
stated that he would accept the recommendation of the
probation office.

CONCLUSION

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the petition
for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

ROBERT H. Bork,
Solicitor General.

RICHARD L. THORNBURGH,
Assistant Aitorney General.

JEROME M. FEIT,
MARC PHILIP RICHMAN,
Attorneys.

JuLY 1976.

DOJ-1976-07

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_2283%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
