# Amicus Brief — Stanton v. Bond

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_2223%3A02

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 426 U.S. 905

## Text

| _ Supreme Court, U. &

Js. FIL D
{ 16 197!

Iu the Supreme Cort

OF THE

United States

OcropeR TERM, 1975

No. 75-1413

Wayne A. Stanton, Administrator of the
Indiana State Dept. of Public
Welfare, et al.,

Petitioners,

vs.
Louise Bonn, et al.,
Respondents.

BRIEF OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

EVELLE J. YOUNGER
Attorney General of the State of California
Jack R. WINKLER
Chief Assistant Attorney General—
Criminal Division
Epwarp P. O'BRIEN
Assistant Attorney Genera!
Grorta F. DeHarr
Deputy Attorney General
Patrick G., GOLDEN

Deputy Attorney General
6000 State Building
San Francisco, California 94102
Telephone: (415) 557-2653

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
State of California

PERNAU- WALSH PRINTING CO.~- 562 MISSION STREET - SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94108

Subject Index

Page
EO ORE ny ae 1
ey Ce Ss inns 04 &
SE ctbedaatadendeienuduibdeddtidiusnediisawecns 3

I
Recovery of attorneys’ fees from the state is barred by
the Eleventh Amendment ...............cccceeeee: 3
II

An award of attorneys’ fees against a state may not be
predicated upon the common fund or bad faith excep-
tions to the American rule prohibiting an award of
SEY GED SHhc SARbD ch avWe 650s cceuceessicccuse 9

CID itceeicd eet ee ee Ui eee cu ee og oe lt 1l

Table oi Authorities Cited

Cases Pages
Alyeska Pipeline Co. v. Wilderness Society, 421 U.S. 240
DEE s6ncdeeddeedaseduedundenees én cdesceedeecinséce 3,9

Bitzer, et al. v. Matthews, et al., No. 75-283, ........ US. .
— £m , 44 U.S.L.Week 5120, 5123 (June 28, 1976) 6

Class v. Norton, 505 F.2d 123 (2d Cir. 1974) ........... 6
Cohens v. Virginia, 6 Wheat. (19 U.S.) 264 (1821) ...... 8
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974) ...2,3, 4,5, 6,7, 8, 9,10
Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908) .................. 4,6

Fairmont Creamery Co. v. Minnesota, 275 U.S. 70 (1927) 7,8
Fitzpatrick, et al. v. Bitzer, et al., ....... _—_——a, = ==
neds , 44 U.S.L.Week 5120 (June 28, 1976) ............ 6,7

Hallmark Clinie v. North Carolina Dept. of Hum. Res.,
Se ee GU SEE bob dsbceccdccccessccecas 5, 6

ii TABLE oF AuTHORITIES CITED

Pages

Jordan v. Fusari, 496 F.2d 646 (2d Cir. 1974) .......... 6
Jordon v. Gilligan, 500 F.2d 701 (6th Cir. 1974), cert.

Gomes, GL US. GEE uccccicisceccesteseusaeeee 5

Murgia v. Commonwealth of Mass. Bd. of Retirement, 386
F.Supp. 179 (D.Mass. 1974), judgment affirmed, 421
DM GER co cccccececncese6e6ens aun uunneeee 6

Named Ind. Mem., San Antonio Con. Soe. v. Texas Hwy.
Dept., 496 F.2d 1017 (5th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420

Wie GED .ovccesess6bene6¢enenuenmeeen ae 5
Schuerer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232 (1973) ............... 11
Skehan v. Board of Trustees, 501 F.2d 31 (1974), vacated

on other grounds, 421 U.S. 983 ............. cc cee eeeee 5
Souza v. Travisono, 512 F.2d 1137 (1st Cir. 1975), re-

manded on other grounds, 423 U.S. 809 .............. 6
Sprague v. Ticonic Bank, 307 U.S. 161 (1939) .......... 8

Swanson v. American Consumer Industries, Inc., 517 F 2d

Sem CHR Gan BRU) cecccossunsccauceanee 8
Taylor v. Perini, 503 F.2d 899 (6th Cir. 1974), vacated on
ether qreunta, G38 GE GED oocccccsccsutasscueeusen 5
Codes
Government Code, Sections 825, et seq. ........... 000005. 1
Constitutions
United States Constitution:
Eleventh Amendment ................ 2, 3, 4,5, 7, 8,9, 10,11
Wemmteenth AMMEN oo. cccccccescacceussssnanun 6,10
Rules
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 25(d) ........... 10

Iu the Supreme Court

OF THE

Rnited States

OctoBeR TER™, i975

No. 75-1413

Wayne A. Stanton, Administrator of the
Indiana State Dept. of Public
Welfare, et al.,

Petitioners,

vs.

LovisE Bonp, et al.,
Respondents.

BRIEF OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The State of California employs over 130,000 per-
sons and, under state law, defends any employee or
former employee against any claim or action arising
out of an act or omission occurring within the scope
of his employment. Calif. Gov. Code § 825, et seq.
Imposition of attorneys’ fees, even in a small per-
centage of cases, will have a direct and significant

2

impact on the funds and fiscal management of the
State of California. Resolution of the Eleventh
Amendment issue in relation to a federal court’s
power to grant attorneys’ fees against a state official
is, therefore, of significant interest to amicus.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Eleventh Amendment to the United States
Constitution bars the recovery of attorneys’ fees from
a state treasury. Those circuits which have held oth-
erwise have misconstrued this Court’s opinion in
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974). This con-
clusion cannot be altered by labeling an award of
attorneys’ fees against the state an “equitable rem-
edy” or a “taxation of costs.”

An award of attorneys’ fees against the state offi-
cials cannot be predicated upon the common fund or
bad faith exceptions to the American rule prohibit-
ing the award of attorneys’ fees. The common fund
theory is inappropriate, because no fund will be avail-
able from which to reimburse litigants. The bad faith
exception cannot support an award of attorneys’ fees
against the state official in a suit seeking injunctive
relief, as the state is the real party in interest and
as any award of attorneys’ fees would have a direct
impact on the state treasury.

3

ARGUMENT

After this Court’s decision in Alyeska Pipeline Co.
v. Wilderness Society, 421 U.S. 240 (1975), attor-
neys’ fees may not be awarded by a federal court to
a prevailing party based on a private attorney gen-
eral theory. In dicta, this Court appeared to recognize
that attorneys’ fees can be awarded from a common
fund or when the losing party has acted in bad faith,
vexatiously, wantonly, or for oppressive reasons. Jd.
at 257-259. In the instant case, amicus submits that the
Eleventh Amendment bars an award of attorneys’
fees based on the “bad faith” rationale.

I

RECOVERY OF ATTORNEYS’ FEES FROM THE STATE IS
BARRED BY THE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT.

The Eleventh Amendment to the United States
Constitution, ratified in 1798, and unchanged since,
provides:

“The judicial power of the United States shall
not be construed to extend to any suit in law or
equity, commenced or prosecuted against one of
the United States by Citizens of another State,
or by Citizens or subjects of any Foreign State.”

This Court has consistently held that an uncon-
senting state is immune from suits brought in federal
courts by her own citizens as well as by citizens of
another state. Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651, 662-
663 (1974). In the instant case, although the State of
Indiana was not named the defendant, any monetary

4

award for attorneys’ fees will obviously not be paid
out of pocket of the defendants, but will have a direct
impact on the funds and fiscal management of the
State of Indiana. See Edelman v. Jordan, supra
at 665.

In Edelman, this Court held that retroactive pay-
ment of welfare benefits wrongfully withheld by state
officials was barred by the Eleventh Amendment. Id.
at 662-669. In so holding, this Court stated:

““[ When the action is in essence one for the
recovery of money from the state, the state is
the real, substantial party in interest and is en-
titled to invoke its sovereign immunity from suit
even though individual officials are nominal de-
fendants.’ Thus, the rule has evolved that a suit
by private parties seeking to impose a liability
which must be paid from public funds in the
State treasury is barred by the Eleventh Amend-
ment.” (Citations omitted). Id. at 663.

In so ruling, this Court specifically distinguished
Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908):

“But the relief awarded in Ex parte Young
was prospective only; the Attorney General of
Minnesota was enjoined to conform his future
conduct of that office to the requirement of the
Fourteenth Amendment. Such relief is analogous
to that awarded by the District Court in the
prospective portion of its order under review in
this case.

“But the retroactive portion of the District
Court’s order here, which requires the payment
of a very substantial amount of money which
that court held should have been paid, but was

5

not, stands on quite different footing. These funds
will obviously not be paid out of the pocket of
petitioner Edelman.” Id. at 664.

_ This Court also held that labeling an award “equi-
table restitution” does not evade the Eleventh Amend-
ment bar. Jd. at 665-666. Further, it was held that the
State of Illinois did not waive its Eleventh Amend-
ment protection or consent to be sued because it had
participated in » federal AABD program. Id. at
671-677.

Amicus submits that the rationale of Edelman ap-
plies to respondents’ request for attorneys’ fees. There
is no doubt, as in Edelman, that petitioners will not
be held personally accountable for such award. De-
spite individual defendants named, an award of at-
torneys’ fees would have a direct impact upon the
funds and fiscal management of the State of Indiana.
Any award of attorneys’ fees against a state official
in such circumstances would impose an unconstitu-
tional burden on a state treasury.

Accordingly, it has been held that the Edelman
decision compels the conclusion that the Eleventh
Amendment bars the recovery of attorneys’ fees
against a state. Jordon v. Gilligan, 500 F.2d 701 (6th
Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 421 U.S. 991. Accord, Taylor
v. Perim, 503 F.2d 899, 901, 905 (6th Cir. 1974), va-
cated on other grounds at 421 U.S. 982; Skehan v.
Board of Trustees, 501 F.2d 31 (1974), vacated on
other grounds at 421 U.S. 983; Named Ind. Mem.,
San Antonio Con. Soc. v. Texas Hwy. Dept., 496 F.2d
1017 (5th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 926; Hall-

6

mark Clinic v. North Carolina Dept. of Hum. Res.,
O19 F.2d 1315, 1317 (4th Cir. 1975). Significantly,
this Court has summarily affirmed a decision of a
three-judge district court in the First Cireuit which
denied an award of attorneys’ fees both as a matter
of law and discretion. Murgia v. Commonwealth of
Mass. Bd. of Retirement, 386 F.Supp. 179 (D.Mass.
1974), judgment affirmed, 421 U.S. 972.

Amicus recognizes that some circuits have taken
the position that an award of attorneys’ fees is per-
missible, on the grounds that such an award has only
an “ancillary effect on the state treasury” resulting
from compliance with the order of injunctive relief,
Jordan v, Fusari, 496 F.2d 646 (2d Cir. 1974) ; Class
v. Norton, 505 F.2d 123 (2d Cir. 1974); Souza v.
Travisono, 512 F.2d 1137 (1st Cir. 1975), remanded
on other grounds, 423 U.S. 809.' However, an analysis
of Edelman does not support the conclusion of these
circuits. This Court in Edelman did not leave at
large what was meant by the phrase “ancillary effect.”
The phrase comes at the end of a paragraph at 415
U.S, 667-668 in which this Court discusses Ex parte
Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908), as well as two of this
Court’s more recent welfare eases. and notes that the
decrees in those cases would have an effect on the

‘In Fitzpatrick, et al. v. Bitzer, et al., No. 75-251, and Bitzer,
et al. v. Matthews, et al., No. 75-283, _.. U.S. 0, S.Ct. ;
44 US.L.Week 5120, 5123 (June 28, 1976), this Court held that
it need not decide this question, as there was express congressional
authority for such an award, which authority was based on the
Fourteenth Amendment. In the instant case, there is no co
sional authority for the attorneys’ fees award, nor could there be
under the present Social Security Act. Id. at 5122.

7

states’ funds. “But,” this Court stated, “the fiscal
consequences to state treasuries in these cases were
the necessary result of compliance with decrees which
by their terms were prospective in nature.” 415 U.S.
at 667-668. This is the “ancillary effect” that this
Court describes as permissible.

In the next paragraph, this Court distinguished
the decree it was reviewing from those it had re-
ferred to:

“It requires payment of state funds, not as a
necessary consequence of compliance in the future
with the substantive federal-question determina-
tion, but as a form of compensation to those
whose applications were processed on the slower
time schedule at a time when petitioner was
under no court-imposed obligation to conform to
a different standard.” 415 U.S. at 668.

It can hardly be argued that an award of attorneys’
fees can be classified as a “necessary consequence of
compliance in the future with a substantive federal-
question determination. . . .”

The argument has also been made that since an
award of attorneys’ fees resembles more closely the
incidental costs sanctioned by this Court in Fair-
mont Creamery Co. v. Minnesota, 275 U.S. 70 (1927),
such an award is permitted by the Eleventh Amend-
ment. See Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, supra, ........ a enn
cual S.Ct. ..., 44 U.S.L.Week at 5124 (concurring
opinion of Stevens, J.). However, this argument must
fail for several reasons. First, an award of attorneys’
fees has been regarded by this Court as quite unlike

8

an award of taxable costs. Sprague v. Ticonic Bank,
307 U.S. 161 (1939). This distinction has been fol-
lowed by circuit courts. See, e.g., Swanson v. Amer-
ican Consumer Industries, Inc., 517 F.2d 555, 559-
560 (7th Cir. 1975). Secondly, while it is quite true
that in Fairmont, supra, this Court held that costs
could be taxed against Minnesota, it is noteworthy
that in that case there is no mention of the Eleventh
Amendment. Fairmont involved review of a state
court decision affirming a criminal conviction. The
Eleventh Amendment was not discussed because it
had no possible application. The amendment sneaks
only to suits “commenced or prosecuted against one
of the united states... .” It does not reach a prose-
cution commenced by the state itself. A state cannot
insulate itself from review of its criminal convictions,
when they are attacked on federal constitutional
grounds, by arguing that under the Eleventh Amend-
ment this Court has no jurisdiction. This much has
been settled since the landmark case of Cohens v.
Virginia, 6 Wheat. (19 U.S.) 264 (1821). Unlike
Fairmont Creamery, the civil suit in the instant case
was commenced against Indiana. Fairmont Creamery
has no application to suits commenced against a state.

In any event, any argument that Fairmont Cream-
ery supports the imposition of attorneys’ fees against
the state has been put to rest by this Court in Edel-
man v. Jordan, supra, Labeling attorneys’ fees as
“costs” is as much an evasion of the Eleventh Amend-
ment as labeling retroactive damages “equitable resti-
tution.” Edelman, supra, at 665-666.

II

AN AWARD OF ATTORNEYS’ FEES AGAINST A STATE MAY
NOT BE PREDICATED UPON THE COMMON FUND OR BAD
FAITH EXCEPTIONS TO THE AMERICAN RULE PROHIBIT-
ING AN AWARD OF ATTORNEYS’ FEES.

In Alyeska Pipe Line Service Company v. Wilder-
ness Society, supra, 421 U.S. 240, this Court disap-
proved the “private attorney general” approach as a
basis for court-awarded attorneys’ fees in public in-
terest litigation unless authorized by statute. How-
ever, dicta in the opinion appears to recognize the
continuing validity of the “common fund” and “bad
faith” exceptions to the traditional American rule
limiting an award of attorneys’ fees. Id. at 257-259.
Amicus submits that the dicta in Alyeska has no ap-
plication in the instant case. The Eleventh Amend-
ment bars any such award against ¢ _ state.

The common fund theory is inapplicable since any
fund in a suit against a state official or state agency
would necessar:ly come from the state treasury. How-
ever, since Edelman, supra, precludes an award of
monetary relief from the state treasury, no fund
would be available from which to reimburse litigants.

The “bad faith” exception mentioned in Alyeska
is also inapplicable. This issue was not discussed in
Alyeska, supra, as the Court of Appeals deemed it
inappropriate to burden the State of Alaska with any
part of the award. 421 U.S. at 246. Amicus submits
that the Eleventh Amendment bars an award of at-
torneys’ fees when injunctive relief is sought against
a state official. In such a case, the purpose of the

10

action is to remedy a state practice, not to impose a
monetary liability against the state for past depriva-
tions of constitutional rights. A state official has both
the right and the duty to follow state law. When a
state law or procedure is alleged to conflict with a
constitutional right and a federal suit is filed, the
official, as an officer of the state, defends the state
interest and, as an officer of the state, will, if or-
dered, comply with the court order. In such a case
the state is the real party in interest. The official is
merely a nominal party.’ To award attorneys’ fees
on a bad faith theory and without Congressional au-
thority founded on the Fourteenth Amendment is
tantamount to an award of attorneys’ fees against the
state and is therefore barred by the Eleventh Amend-
ment. Granting attorneys’ fees in an injunctive suit
against a state official by labeling the conduct “bad
faith” is as much an evasion of the Eleventh Amend-
ment bar as labeling a retroactive monetary award
against a state “equitable restitution.” In both cases
the real party in interest, the state, is being ordered
by a federal court to hand over state funds to a
private party. In both cases, the Eleventh Amend-
ment, as explained in Edelman, prohibits such an
award.

This is not to say that an individual state official
cannnot be held personally responsible for a direct
and knowing contempt of a federal court order, or
that an individual state official cannot be personally

2This fact is recognized in Rule 25(d) of the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure, which allows substitution of officials in suits seek-
ing injunctive relief.

ee eee

11

liable for damages in a proper suit in which the
plaintiff overcomes the official’s qualified executive
immunity. See Schuerer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232, 238
(1973). However, amicus submits that in a contempt
proceeding or a damage suii, nlike his position in a
suit seeking injunctive relief, the state official is him-
self the real party in interest.

Redress for the personal acts of state officials dur-
ing the pendency of an injunctive suit may not be had
under the guise of an award of attorneys’ fees. Such
redress must be sought only in contempt proceedings
or a damage action.

CONCLUSION

Amicus submits that the Eleventh Amendment pre-
cludes a court ordered award of attorneys’ fees
against a state.

Dated, San Francisco, California,
July 14, 1976.

EVELLE J. YOUNGER

Attorney General of the State of California
Jack R. WINKLER

Chief Assistant Attorney General—

Criminal Division

Epwarp P. O’BrIEN

Assistant Attorney General
Guioria F, DeHart

Deputy Attorney General
Patrick G, GOLDEN

Deputy Attorney General

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

State of California

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_2223%3A02. Public record. Not legal advice.
