# Opposition — Quiroz v. Arizona

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_1880%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 425 U.S. 974

## Text

Supe ne Court, UU

I, FiLED
| a

+ an
a
i ee ed

| APR AS 1976

| MICHAEL RODS, Je. cura |
IN THE aE ER
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1975

NO. 75-1343

ALBERT ARTHUR QUIROZ, Petitioner,
-Vés-

STATE OF ARIZONA, Respondent.

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

BRUCE E. BABBITT
The Attorney General of
the State of Arizona

WILLIAM J. SCHAFER III
Chief Counsel
Criminal Division

THOMAS A. JACOBS

Assistant Attorney General
159 State Capitol Building
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Attorneys for RESPONDENT

|
i
INDE X
IN THE Page
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES QUESTION PRESENTED
October Term, 1975 WHETHER THE SENTENCE

IMPOSED ON PETITIONER
| WAS IN VIOLATION OF HIS
NO. 75-1343 RIGHT TO DUE PROCESS?

OPINION BELOW AND JURISDICTION 1
ALBERT ARTHUR QUIROZ, Petitioner STATEMENT OF THE CASE 1
nttie STATEMENT OF ISSUE
STATE OF ARIZONA, Respondent. THE SENTENCE IMPOSED
UPON PETITIONER WAS IN
; ; FULL COMPLIANCE WITH THE
DUE PROCESS GUARANTEES
a RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR OF THE FOURTEENTH

AMENDMENT. 3

WRIT OF CERTIORARI
CONCLUSION 14

BRUCE E. BABBITT
the Attorney General of
the State of Arizona

WILLIAM J. SCHAFER III
Chief Counsel
Criminal Division

THOMAS A. JACOBS

Assistant Attorney General
159 State Capitol Building
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Attorneys for RESPONDENT

ii

©@

Case

State v. Becerra

State v. Benge

State v. Cortez

State v. Dixon

State v. Kunz

State v. Pierce

Townsend v. Burke

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES CITED
Page
Jones v. United States

113 U.3.App. D.C. 233

307 F.2d 190 (1962) 11

534 P.2d 743

111 Ariz. 538 (1975) 14

520 P.2da 843

110 Ariz. 473 (1974) 13

408 P.2d 410

2 Ariz.App. 306 (1965) 14

21 Ariz.App. 517

521 P.2d 148 (1974) 13

259 A.2da 895

55 N.J. 128 (1969) rer rk

494 P.2da 696

108 A. 174 (1972) 7

334 U.S. 736

68 S.Ct. 1252

92 L.Ed. 1690 (1948) 10

United States v. CiFarelli
401 F.2d 512
(2nd Cir. 1968) 11

United States v. Doyle
348 F.2d 715
(2nd Cir. 1965)

li

iii

Case Page

United States v. Marcello
423 F.2d 993
(5th Cir. 1970) ll

United States v. Onesti
411 F.2d 783
(7th Cir. 1969) 11

United States ex rel. Long v. Pate
418 F.2d 1028
(7th Cir. 1969) 11

United States v. Weston
448 F.2d 626

(9th Cir. 1971) 4,5,6,11

Williams v. New York
337 U.S. 241
69 SeCt. 1079
93 L.Ed. 1337 (1949) 4,5,6,10,11,12,13

AUTHORITIES

Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann.
§ 36-1002.07 1,3

Criminal Justice Sentencing
Alternatives and Procedures

§ 4.4(b) 8
United States Constitution
14th Amendment 3

OPINION BELOW AND JURISDICTION

Petitioner's conviction and sentence were
affirmed by the Supreme Court of the State
of Arizona on November 19, 1975. A motion for
rehearing was denied on December 23, 1975,
and an order affirming judgment was entered.
Respondent adopts petitioner's jurisdictional

statement.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner was charged by indictment with
the unlawful sale and transportation of mari-

juana in violation of Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann.

§ 36-1002.07. As the result of a plea bargain,

the sale charge was dismissed in return for
petitioner's plea of guilty of transportation
entered on December 4, 1973. A presentence
report was filed with the court, and on
February 4, 1974, petitioner was sentenced
to a term of Yrom five to eight years in
prison.

A motion to vacate the sentence was

filed on February 8, 1974, based on specified

assertions of error in the probation officer's
report. Execution of sentence was temporarily
stayed, and hearing on the motion set for
February 19, 1974. The hearing consisted of
extensive testimony over three days from
eighteen defense witnesses (including Mr.
William Ryerse, author of the sroceubenee
report). Also, the supplemental presentence
report and addendum thereto were marked as
exhibits at the hearing. Cross-examination
of Mr. Ryerse was partially based on these
reports.

On March 5, 1974, the matter was sub-
mitted, and two days later the court ruled
that the petition to vacate sentence be
granted and the sentence reduced to a prison
term of not less than 5 years and not more
than 5 years and 1 day. (Minute Entry,

March 7, 1974.)

The unreported memorandum decision of the

Supreme Court of the State of Arizona

correctly sets forth the facts of the case

and issue on appeal, and that decision is
hereby adopted as if set forth in full here-

in. (See Appendix C of the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari.)

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD NOT ISSUE

I
STATEMENT OF ISSUE

THE SENTENCE IMPOSED UPON
PETITIONER WAS IN FULL COM-
PLIANCE WITH THE DUE PROCESS
GUARANTEES OF THE FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENT.

Petitioner presents a four-part
argument challenging the validity of the
modified sentence imposed on petitioner on
March 7, 1974. The modification resulted
from petitioner's motion to vacate sentence
filed on February 8, 1974, four days after
he was initially sentenced to serve 5 to 8
years in the Arizona State Prison for trans-
porting marijuana, in violation of Ariz.Rev.

Stat.Ann. § 36-1002.07.

Subsection 8 of petitioner's motion to

vacate this sentence read as follows:

"Tt appears that Mr. Ryerse or
someone unknown to the .petition-
er went far afield from the four
corners of the probation reports
furnished to defense counsel

and orally informed the Court

of things that require further
investigation and foundation

to test their truth or
accuracy."

It is this allegation in addition to several

summary statements in the presentence reports
filed with the sentencing court that consti-

tutes the crux of the petition.

” “Respondent does not dispute the princi-

ples of United States v. Weston, 448 F.2d

626 (9th Cir. 1971) and Williams v. New York,

337 U.S. 241, 69 S.Ct. 1079, 93 L.Ed. 1337

(1949), relied on by petitioner. In fact, it

is these principles that uphold the ruling

of the Arizona Supreme Court herein.
Respondent takes issue, however, with

petitioner's application of the facts of this

case to the holdings of Williams and Weston,

supra. Petitioner attempts to analogize this

case with the Weston situation. However,

5
Weston differs from Williams in that Weston

vigorously denied the accuracy of the charges
made in the probation report and objected to
the judge's consideration of them without
more substantiation. A confidential report
was submitted to the trial court purportedly
corroborating the statements made against
Weston in the original presentence report.
The trial court accepted the additional infor-
mation as sufficient corroboration, and
sentenced Weston to the maximum term. The
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals disagreed with
the lower court and vacated the sentence.

In holding that Williams, supra, is

still good law, the Ninth Circuit requires
more than unreliable hearsay constituting
broad charges without some factual basis.

The charge Of Weston's involvement with

heroin traffic was a detailed part of the
presentence report (listing places, amounts
of money, frequency of sales, etc.). However,

the source of this uncorroborated evidence

presented the sentencing judge was only the
opinion of unidentified personnel in the
Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs and
the unsworn statement of one agent that an
informer had given him some information
lending potential support to the charge. In
the spirit of the principles set forth in

Williams, supra, the Weston court could not

accept such bare-bones hearsay to support a
maximum penalty.

The opportunity given Weston, upon
vacation of sentence, to rebut the broad
allegations of the report was likewise
granted in petitioner's case. The testimony
elicited during an extensive post-sentence
hearing resulted in a modification of sentence.

The principles of both Williams and Weston

were adhered to in this case. The three day
hearing on Petitioner's motion to vacate
sentence consisted of testimony from 18
witnesses, including the author of the pre-
sentence report (Mr. Ryerse), and one of

petitioner's codefendants. The general

A

statements included in the report were discussed

at length, and Ryerse cross-examined extensive-

ly. The trial court became fully apprised

of the facts surrounding petitioner's

participation in the trafficking of drugs

and his involvement in this one particular

transaction. The opportunity initially

denied Weston was granted in this case.
Pursuant to Arizona law at the time of

the report, Ryerse excised certain portions

from the report as obtained under a promise

of confidentiality and part of an on-going

police investigation. (R.T., March 5, 1974,

at 10, 12.) ‘The court agreed to protect this

confidentiality, and sustained several

objections to questions concerning the source

of Ryerse's information. _(R.T., February

19, 1974, at 52, 59-60, 67, 69-70.) [This

principle of confidentiality was recognized

in State v. Kunz, 259 A.2d 895, 55 N.J. 128

(1969), a case heavily relied upon by
petitioner. ]

In State v. Pierce, 494 P.2d 696, 108

Ariz. 174 (1972), the Arizona Supreme Court
adopted the American Bar Association's
Standards for Criminal Justice Sentencing
Alternatives and Procedures § 4.4(b), which
states in part ".. . the court should be
permitted to except from disclosure...
sources of information which have been
obtained on a promise of confidentiality".
The further requirement that the court
state for the record the reasons ior not
disclosing certain parts of the report was
followed in this case. (R.T., February 19,
1974, at 52.) As stated by the Arizona
Supreme Court in its decision on this appeal,
° . we believe that the reasons given
by the court for excising a part of the
presentence report were adequate”.

It should be pointed out, however, that
in spite of sustaining the aforementioned
objections to questions of Ryerse, the
sought-after information was elicited during

the course of the hearings. Ryerse stated

that the source of his information was two

prosecutors in the county attorney's office.
(R.T., February 19, 1974, at 50.) A further
basis of the challenged statements by Ryerse
were remarks by petitioner to Ryerse and the
police as to his involvement in a narcotics
"ring". (R.T., February 22, 1974, at
9-10.) Ryerse testified that he also consid-
ered the grand jury transcript; statements
made to him by codefendant Stadie as to large
amounts of marijuana seen in petitioner's
house; and information provided in discus-
sions with petitioner's first defense attorney
as to petitioner's social involvement with
"organization" people. (R.T., March 5, 1974,
at 20-23, 83.)

Ryerse further stated, and most crucial
to a determination of petitioner's motion
to vacate, that he had no specific information
of petitioner's involvement with any specific
narcotics offenses. (R.T., March 5, 1974,
at 27-28.) The court was thereby aware of
the strength of the statements made in the

presentence report. Through an effective

10

examination of Ryerse, plus the testimony of
codefendant Maytoreno exculpating petitioner,
(R.T., March 5, 1974, at 54, 58-59, 61),

and petitioner's own admission of limited
participation, the sentence imposed on February
4, 1974, was reduced on March 7, 1974, to

the minimum statutory prison term (five years
to five years and one day). Although the
lower court did not specify its reasons for
modification, it is obvious from the nature of
the proceedings and testimony adduced therein
that petitioner's classification as a member
of a large-scale criminal enterprise was
undermined and diminished. There is no
evidence in this case that the sentence was
predicated on false information fas prohibited
by Townsend v. Burke, 334 U.S. 736, 68 S.Ct.
1252, 92 L.Ed.1690 (1948)]. Any misstate-

ments or inaccurate implications contained
in the presentence report were rectified at *®
the hearing on petitioner's motion.

Williams v. New York, supra, and its

ll
12

progeny, support the proceedings herein as

; criminal conduct may be properly considered,

consistent with the due process standards of
even though the defendant was never charged

the Fourteenth Amendment. Williams held

with it or convicted of it" (448 F.2d at
that due process does not require that infor- ;
633). Evidence in this case of other criminal
mation relied upon in sentencing must be

conduct was mitigated and the modified
restricted to that given in open-court by

sentence imposed thereafter.
witnesses subject to cross-examination.
As stated in Williams, supra, a senten-

Williams has been relied on by a number of

cing judge is not confined to the narrow
courts in holding that evidence of other

issue of guilt. Highly relevant -- if not
criminal conduct not resulting in a conviction

essential -- to his selection of an appropri-
may be considered in imposing sentence.
ate sentence is the possession of the fullest
Jones v. United States, 113.U.S.App. D.C.

233, 307 F.2d 190 (1962); United States v.

information possible concerning the defendant's

life and characteristics. The rigid adher-
Doyle, 348 F.2d 715 (2nd Cir., 1965); United

ence to restrictive rules of evidence properly
States v. CiFarelli, 401 F.2d 512 (2nd Cir.,

applicable to trials does not apply to the
1968); United States v. Marcello, 423 F.2d

sentencing aspect of criminal justice. "The
993 (5th Cir., 1970); United States v. Onesti,

due process clause should not be treated as
411 F.2d 783 (7th Cir., 1969); United States

a device for freezing the evidential proce-
> ex rel. Long v. Pate, 418 F.2d 1028 (7th Cir.,

1969).

dure of sentencing in the mold of trial

procedure". Williams, supra, 337 U.S. at

The Weston court stated that "We do not 26)
desire to transform the sentencing process
: Petitioner's reliance on State v. Kunz,

into a second trial, and we believe that other
supra, is misleading. Kunz involved a

13

substantive change in New Jersey's sentencing
procedure whereby presentence reports would
now be disclosed to the defense. Prior to
Kunz, the report or any part thereof was
only available to the trial court. Such was
not the case herein.

The State of Arizona, in adhering to the

Williams rationale was correct in upholding

the sentence imposed by the trial court.

State v. Benge, 520 P.2d 843, 110 Ariz. 473

(1974); State v. Dixon, 21 Ariz.App. 517, 521

P.2d 148 (1974). The Arizona Supreme Court,
in disposing of this issue best summarized
the case in stating that:

". . . we have read the excised
portion of the presentence
report and while we find that
it expresses the bias of the
probation officer, we do not
find any factual allegations
which were not met in the
extensive cross-examination

of the probation officer and
his arguments to the court."

The gist of petitioner's argument is
an assertion that “he presented a strong
case for probation". (Petition for Writ of

Certiorari, at page 6.) This argument is

14

without merit in fact or in law. It is well
settled that probation is not a matter of
right, nor is the trial judge required to
spell out its reasons for either granting

or denying probation. State v. Becerra,

534 P.2d 743, 111 Ariz. 538 (1975). Further-
more, there is no requirement that a first
offender be given a minimum sentence.

State v. Cortez, 408 P.2d 410, 2 Ariz.App.

306 (1965). The penalty imposed in this
case falls within the limits of the statute
(five years - life), and does not clearly

appear to be excessive.

CONCLUSION

Respondent submits that petitioner was
afforded full due process in the trial
court. The modification of sentence to the
minimum statutory period speaks for itself.
Petitioner's allegations criticizing
particular statements in the presentence
report were fully investigated and aired

in open-court, resulting in an informed

15

sentencing court. The thrust of his petition
is an attempt to argue the merit of probation
as opposed to prison time.. That determination
is a matter of trial court discretion, and

in the absence of abuse should remain
undisturbed.

RESPONDENT RESPECTFULLY submits that the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari herein should
be denied.

Respectfully submitted,
BRUCE E. BABBITT

the Attorney General
of the Syate of Arizona

WILLIAM J CHAFE
Chief ComMsel
Criminal Division

Ubenna UA.

THOMAS A. JACOB
Assistant Attorney General

Attorneys for RESPONDENT

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_1880%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
