# motion to dismiss — Jimenez v. Hidalgo County Water Improvement District No. 2

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_1582%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** motion to dismiss
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 424 U.S. 950

## Text

e {LED
aioe BIS
In the Supreme Court of the United States
No. 75-1004

GUADALUPE JIMENEZ, et al.,
Appellants,
vs.

HIDALGO COUNTY WATER IMPROVEMENT
DISTRICT NO. 2, et al.,

Appellees.

On APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES District COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DIsTRICT oF TEXAS

MOTION OF APPELLEE HIDALGO AND CAMERON
COUNTIES WATER CONTROL AND IMPROVE-
MENT DISTRICT NO. 9 (MERCEDES DISTRICT) TO
DISMISS OR, IN THE ALTERNATIVE, TO AFFIRM
JUDGMENT OF THE THREE JUDGE COURT

GARLAND F.. SMITH
SMITH, McILHERAN, YARBROUGH & GRIFFIN
P. O. Box 416
Weslaco, Texas 78596
(512) 968-2196
Attorneys for Said Appellees, Hidalgo
and Cameron Counties Water Con-
trol and Improvement District No.
9, Its Officers and Directors

>

E. L. Muewpernatt, Inc., 926 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64106, 421-3080

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Explanation of Reference Abbreviations ........................
TE 0 I ccnrictcenentesnsmemennnnmemnenn
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .......................cecccccscocesseseesssoeee
STATUTE INVOLVED (Article 8280-3.2) ......... waesuiate
STATEMENT OF THE CASE. ................cccccos-e- -coocceoseosessees

1. Urban Lands Excluded From Original Boundaries

2. Exclusion of Farm Lands Which Became “Urban”
PE ET A Ie Se TN SR

3. Exclusion of Farm Lands Which Became “Urban”
As a Result of Rural Subdivisions | .....00...0000000000000..

4. Other Concerns Confronting Boare ........................

a.
b.
c.

Possible Loss of Water Right ...............................-
Districts’ Domestic Water Limited .........000........

Directors Were Appellants’ Elected Repre-
sentatives .....................

d. Potable Water Available at Cost ..0000000000 0...

e.

SUTTITIIIIIIIED. ” nccdeaheshiersiigssoeinianiecnmnnenabiebenmanianniugeatocans

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES .....000..0.......0-.c:cceseees

A. Appellants Were Not Denied Due Process in Ex-
clusion of Their Property Without Reasonable
and Adequate Notice of Their Right to Be Heard
on an Issue of Substantial and Direct Interest ....

B. The Exclusion of Appellants’ Communities Was

QD

Not for Impermissible Political Motives, and Did
Not Deny Appellants Equal Protection of the
SATII iishelgiaieneitanehhiaeain iii adi ialiatil
District Court Decision Is Not in Conflict With

Applicable Precedents Regarding Notice by Mail
Se STII - sciscacheshsosantiemncintannesisenstimennsbetinnidegebbanentsincsit

TI cecznsececessnesssesenesesseensssenensenseannceasusenntesnonmemnnnenes
PT Ee CU IED prcccvrensscorsnenssiantennsesnennennmeennemenen

II

Explanation of Reference Abbreviations:

1. Stipulations between Hidalgo and Cameron
Counties Water Control and Improvement Dis-
trict No. 9 and Plaintiffs will be identified by the
prefix MS followed by the stipulation number,
(Example MS 1 stipulation numbered 1) and
exhibits attached thereto will be identified by
prefix MX followed by the exhibit number.
Supplemental Stipulation is marked Sup. M plus
number.

2. Appellants’ Jurisdictional Statement will be re-
ferred to by the prefix J.S. followed by the page
number.

Index of Authorities

TEXAS CONSTITUTION

Re ONE a eT 3

ht 3
STATUTES

Ca 2, 4,6

I I mccecesitiititeti ie 5

TEXAS WATER CODE

I a a 7
I ae 3
EA a an SR Ee SVR es 3

SINT, I ae ER me ne 3
Section 51.072
CASE AUTHORITIES

Carrington v. Rash, 380 U.S. 89 ooo. occcceccccceecseceeeees 12
Cipriano v. City of Howma, 395 U.S. 701

Ilr
Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 220.00... ccceccceeeeeeeeeeees 12
Evans v. Cornman, 398 U.S. 419 ...............ccccccceceeeeeeeees 12
Harper v. Virginia Board of Elections, 383 U.S. 663... 12
Hunter v. City of Pittsburgh, 207 US. 161 ................ 9

Kramer v. Union Free School District, 395 U.S. 621... 12
Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank and Trust Com-

i, TE TA GE ccternnccnetennteeneetnntsomaemneninnasinnmnnvel 9,10
Phoenix v. Kolodziejski, 399 U.S. 204 ..00..0.0..e. 12
Schroeder v. City of New York, 371 USS. 208 .....:......9, 10

The State of Texas v. Hidalgo County Water Control
and Improvement District No. 18, et al., 443 SW2d
TITTIEP cocssoicsistdessinianiandaneeaiiamnisiiaeeeaiuiataatddtiinbeannéietnicissiiaiduicbisenes 7

In the Supreme Court of the United States

No. 75-1004

GUADALUPE JIMENEZ, et al.,
Appellants,

vs.

HIDALGO COUNTY WATER IMPROVEMENT
DISTRICT NO. 2, et al.,

Appellees.

On APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT oF TEXAS

MOTION OF APPELLEE HIDALGO AND CAMERON
COUNTIES WATER CONTROL AND IMPROVE.
MENT DISTRICT NO. 9 (MERCEDES DISTRICT) TO
DISMISS OR, IN THE ALTERNATIVE, TO AFFIRM
JUDGMENT OF THE THREE JUDGE COURT

Pursuant to Rule 16, Paragraphs 1(a) and l(c), Re-
vised Rules of this Court, HIDALGO AND CAMERON
COUNTIES WATER CONTROL AND IMPROVEMENT
DISTRICT NO. 9, its officers and directors, Appellees here,
move the Court to dismiss this appeal, or in the alterna-
tive, to affirm the judgment of the Three Judge District
Court from which this appeal is taken.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The Appellants’ Jurisdictional Statement on page 8
states the questions as follows:

1. Whether the plaintiffs and the class they repre-
sent were denied due process of law in the exclu-
sion of their property from the defendant districts
without reasonable and adequate notice of their

right to be heard on an issue of substantial and
direct interest?

2. Whether the exclusion of plaintiffs’ communities
from the districts for impermissible political mo-

tives denied plaintiffs the equal protection of the
law?

3. Whether by singling out railroads as a favored
class of landowner entitled to actual notice of a
‘proposed exclusion of realty, Article 8280-3.2,
V.A.T.C.S., denied to all other landowners, such as

plaintiffs and their class, the equal protection of
law?

STATUTE INVOLVED

Texas’ Article 8280-3.2 is substantially quoted in Ap-
pellants’ Judicial Statement, in the opinions of the Three
Judge Court, the Fifth Circuit, and the Single Judge Dis-
trict Court. (J.S. p. 3-7, la-59a) An omitted Section 7

is supplied by the brief of Appellee, Hidalgo County Water
Improvement District No. 2. (p. 2)

The statute is but a projection of a long standing state”
policy that treats urban and agricultural land differently.

3

Special purpose districts such as the two Appellee Dis-
tricts (Hidalgo County Water Improvement District No.
2, hereinafter for brevity called the San Juan District;
and Hidalgo and Cameron Counties Water Control and
Improvement District No. 9, hereinafter called the Mer-
cedes District) at their organization may include within
their boundaries a “town, village, or municipal corpora-
tion” (Tex. Water Code, Sec. 51.012) but only if approved
by a “majority of the electors in the city, town or mu-
nicipal corporation” with a “separate voting district” pro-
vided for the urban and rural areas. (Tex. Water Code
Sec. 51.035) These provisions were enacted in 1925, and
were in effect when the Mercedes District was organized.
These provisions recognize a potential conflict of interest
between urban and agricultural lands. That land and land
ownership and supply of irrigation water thereto are the
dominant public policy considerations is evident from the
constitutional provisions involved (Tex. Const. Art. III,
Sec. 52 and Art. XVI, Sec. 59) and the Water Code pro-
\ ‘sion that the petition for creation must be signed by “a
majority of the persons who hold title to land in the pro-
posed district which represents a total value of more than
50% of the value of all the land in the proposed district”.
(Sec. 51.013)

A non-resident owner of land within a district may
serve as a director of the district, if elected by qualified
electors residing in the district. (Tex. Water Code, Sec.
51.072) The clear intent of declared legislative policy is
that these special purpose districts include within their
boundaries only the lands that will be directly benefitted
by their special services, here irrigation, and for the ex-
clusion of lands not directly benefitted.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The two Appellee irrigation districts are controlled
by the same laws. Their actions in excluding urban sub-
divisions complied in good faith with Art. 8280-3.2. De-
cision must turn on whether (1) notice by posting and
publication per se denied Appellants notice of their right
to be heard; (2) whether impermissible political motives
denied Appellants equal protection; or (3) the require-

ment that railroads be given notice by mail created a fa-
vored class.

Repetition will not be here made of the statements
of the case as made by Appellants, our co-Appellee, nor
of the opinions of the three courts who have passed on
the case. (Appellants’ J.S. p. 8-12; San Juan District brief,
p. 3-4; Three Judge Court, J.S. p. 2a-9a; Fifth Circuit, J.S.
p. 24a-33a; Single Judge Court, J.S. p. 37a-39a) It may
be helpful to the Court if we extract from the stipulated
facts and present in chronological order the exact appli-
cation by the Board of Directors of the Mercedes District
of the public policy of the State as it relates to the ditinc-
tion or inherent conflict of interest between “urban” and
“agricultural” lands.

1. Urban Lands Excluded #rom Original Bound-
aries:

The Mercedes District was organized in 1928 and on
January 1, 1930, purchased the irrigation system of the
American Rio Grande Land and Irrigation Company,
which served a gross of 84,833.75 acres within its outer

boundaries, which included 5 cities. The original bound-.-

aries excluded 2,903.81 acres which composed the cities of
Mercedes, Weslaco, Elsa, Edcouch, and LaVilla to whose

5

treatment plants it continued to furnish raw river water.
(MS 9, 7 and MX 1 and 7)

2. Exclusion of Farm Lands Which Became
‘‘Urban”’ As Cities Grew:

The five cities grew out of their original boundaries
into the agricultural lands of the District. The District
was confronted with the problem of urban lands within
its corporate boundaries. Such lands were not being ir-
rigated, and were not benefitting directly from its irriga-
tion purpose. The Texas Legislature recognized the prob-
lem in 1949 by the enactment of Article 8280-4. Between
1951 and 1972 the district in 15 separate exclusion orders
one to two years apart, excluded a total of 2175.24 acres
which had been annexed by the 5 cities within its outer
boundaries, under Article 8280-4. (MS 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8c,
MX 1, 2 and 6)

3. Exclusion of Farm Lands Which Became
‘“‘Urban’”’ As a Result of Rural Subdivisions:

The 5 cities in the Mercedes District followed the Na-
tional pattern in dealing with slums and the threat of
slums posed by the mass movement to cities following
World War II. They strengthened their subdivision ordi-
nances to require urban developers to pave streets and
lay water and sewer lines to serve the subdivision, as a
condition of approval. Lack of appropriate land use laws
providing similar protection outside city limits left a hia-
tus in regulation, which invited instant slum developers
into the country, and they came. (MS 8h, 19, MX 4, p.
15-17, MX 13) Substantial irrigated farm land was con-
verted to urban use within irrigation districts over the
State and no longer used or contemplated use of the irri-
gation services of the districts. The Legislature again

took cogniz.nce of the problem by passing Article 8280-3.2
here in question.

The Board of Directors of the Mercedes District com-
plied in good faith with the procedures of Article 8280-3.2
and excluded 39 such urban subdivisions by its order of
October 17, 1972. (MS 8, 8a, MX 1, MX 4) Notice given
was by publication and posting, as provided by the Stat-
ute. Personal notice by certified mail was not given.
Whatever the efficacy of the two methods of notice, plain-
tiffs did in fact receive notice, and were present with their
attorney at the public hearing held by the Mercedes Dis-
trict. (MS 8) Those appearing admitted their land was
not being farmed or irrigated but opposed exclusion be-
cause they wanted the District to provide them with do-
mestic water and sewer services at a cost they could af-
ford to pay. (MS 8d) Of the 39 urban tracts excluded,
only 4 are represented by plaintiffs; all but two are ad-
jacent to existing sources of potable water from a city or
rural water supply corporation, or short extensions of
such lines will make potable water available; the remain-
ing two will be within range of lines of the Military High-
way Rural Water Supply Corporation now under construc-
tion. (Sup. M Nos. 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6)

4. Other Concerns Confronting Board:

The plight of plaintiffs with respect to potable water
supply did not escape the attention of the Board, and their
right to domestic water was preserved in the same way
and on the same terms as applied to the 5 cities within
the outer boundaries of the district. (MS 8d, e, f, 9, MX 4)
Other problems pressed for consideration:

a. Possible Loss of Water Right for Irrigation of
812.11 acres: The district held valid title to a water right
to irrigate the 812.11 acres of the 39 excluded tracts, which

7

water right could be forfeited for non-use under Sec. 5.030
of the Texas Water Code. This could be prevented by
excluding the urban lands, and transferring the irrigation
right to 812.11 acres which would use it. (MS 12, 13)

b. Districts’ Domestic Water Is Limited: A general
water shortage resulted in an adjudication of the water
rights of the Mercedes District, along with all diverters
from the Rio Grande from Falcon Reservoir to the Gulf.
The State of Texas v. Hidalgo County WC & ID #18, et al.,
443 SW2d 728. Water for domestic use within the rural
areas of the district including the 39 tracts is limited to
4,230 acre feet annually. (MS 10 and 11) The district also
holds as trustee title to water for the 5 cities and supplies
raw water to their treatment plants. Encouragement of
urban growth in rural areas could create a shortage in the
districts’ domestic supply. (MS 10a)

c. Directors Were Appellants’ Elected Representa-
tives: The five directors who passed the order of exclu-
sion were elected by qualified voters of the 39 excluded
tracts, as well as the remainder of the district. Appel-
lants either participated or were entitled to participate in
the elections at which the board members were elected.
As such the directors had a responsibility as well to the
residents of the 35 tracts who did not after invitation
join plaintiffs’ suit, and to the residents of the 4 tracts
represented by plaintiffs, who wanted their lands ex-
cluded. (MS 32, 33)

d. Potable Water Available at Cost: Directors had,
in addition to their contracts to supply raw water to the
treatment plants of the five cities, made contracts with
rural water supply corporations to furnish the domestic
water allotment of its rural inhabitants to such corpora-
tions for treatment and return as potable water to the
rural residents of the district through the lines of such

corporations. The directors thus knew that potable water
was thus available at cost to all but 2 of said tracts with
but slight extension of the supply lines of such cities and
rural supply corporations; and the 2 tracts would soon
have potable water available through the lines of the Mil-
itary Highway Rural Water Supply Corporation. It was
obvious that the District could accommodate plaintiffs’
desires only if it could produce and deliver potable water
to the 39 scattered urban tracts at a cost less than the
cities and supply companies already in the water treat-
ment business. (MS 24, Sup. M 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)

e. Financing: The Mercedes District had just com-
pleted a $10,800,000.00 reclamation project, and was in-
debted to the United States in that sum. There is a seri-
ous question as to whether the bonding capacity of the
district would be adequate to duplicate the existing water
lines and treatment facilities currently available to plain-
tiffs, even if it elected to do so. (MS 16, MX 8)

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES

Appellants’ Brief will be answered under the headings
used in their Jurisdictional Statement:

A. Appellants Were Not Denied Due Process in
Exclusion of Their Property Without Reason-
able and Adequate Notice of Their Right to Be
Heard on an Issue of Substantial and Direct
Interest.

The Appellants either voted at the election at which
the directors who excluded their land were elected, or were
so qualified and entitled to so vote. There is no evidence
that an Appellant, or any qualified person was, at such
elections or any prior election, denied the franchise. Re-

° a]

9

gardless of how the notice was given, the Appellants had
actual notice of the public hearing, appeared, and pre-
sented evidence. The evidence presented by Appellants
at the hearing supported the findings made by the Board
in excluding their urban lands. (MS 8, MX 4) The stip-
ulations and evidence presented in the trial below reveal
the existence of no evidence that would justify a finding
other than that made by the Board.

Although the facts are agreed, Appellants would
change the result by equating this to be a voting rights
case, controlled by Gomillion vy. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339,
rather than a boundary case controlled by Hunter v. City
of Pittsburgh, 207 US. 161. (JS. p. 15 to 18) The Three
Judge Court correctly observed that it was “boundaries”
here involved, and for a permissible constitutional reason,
and declined to substitute the word “urban” for “colored”
and thereby strike down the legislative power of the states
to deal differently between “urban” and “farm” land. (J.S.
p. 6a-13a)

Appellants then seek to equate the exclusions to a
judicial process, requiring personal notice as in Mullane v.
Central Hanover Bank and Trust Company, 339 U.S. 306
and Schroeder v. City of New York, 371 U.S. 208, where
property interests and the judicial process were involved,
rather than a legislative process to change boundaries of a
political subdivision where constructive notice is adequate,
as in Pittsburgh v. Hunter. The Three Judge Court cor-
rectly rejected this contention, citing numerous statutes
providing for notice by posting and publication in bound-
ary situations, and pointing out the inconvenience ap-
proaching impossibility of giving personal notice in two
languages to the entire population and non-resident land
owners of such political subdivisions in the boundary sit-
uation here involved. (J.S. p. 14a-18a) The Court cor-

10

rectly observed that appellants’ reliance on Mullane and
Schroeder (J.S. p. 18a) is misplaced:

Each of those cases involved an existing, tangible prop-
erty interest, as opposed to what here seems to be at
best an intangible, possible future interest of undeter-
mined nature.

The Court then concluded that the notice provisions
of Article 8280-3.2 are constitutional.

B. The Exclusion of Appellants’ Communities
Was Not for Impermissible Political Motives,
and Did Not Deny Appellants Equal Protec-
tion of the Law.

Appellants do not ask for a service available to others,
but denied to Appellants since these Districts have never
provided such services to anyone. They would have the
districts duplicate existing water purification plants of the
cities and rural supply corporations and lay competing
water lines into the 39 urban subdivisions scattered over
the 84,659 rural acres of the Mercedes District and the
65,000 acres of the San Juan District. No racial or ethnic
issues are here involved and there is no evidence to sup-
port such a contention. Rural residents of all racial and
ethnic backgrounds have always made their own provi-
sions for drinking and domestic water, which is true na-
tionwide.

Appellants claim they were “fenced out” of the Dis-
tricts involved for impermissible political reasons. There
is no claim of racial discrimination, as was present in
Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339, 81 S.Ct. 125, 5 L.Ed.2d
110 (1960). It has been stipulated that racial discrimina-
tion was not the basis for the Districts’ actions. In fact,
there is no evidence of any motive or design on the part

11

of Appellee districts other than the exclusion of “urban
lands” from the corporate boundaries of the districts to
avoid a forfeiture of irrigation rights to the acres excluded,
where irrigation had been discontinued, and the transfer
of such rights to other lands seeking irrigation services.
Appellants still receive untreated water from the districts
for domestic use. The argument that the areas in question
were excluded because of a fear of how they would vote
in the future is mere speculation, and constitutional ad-
judications cannot be made upon that basis.

This appellee denies any stipulation or judicial admis-
sion that appellants’ lands were excluded because of such
speculation. To reduce appellants’ proposal to its ultimate
absurcit:,, the Mercedes District did arguendo presume
their success to demonstrate the insubstantial nature of
appellants’ claim. All such speculations were used as an
argument indicating the economic and political folly of
seeking to acquire domestic water and sewer services at
a price below that available through existing sources from
a water district which has, from its inception, engaged pri-
marily in irrigation functions, which has no present facili-
ties to engage in such activities, and which, quite probably,
does not have the financial capability to construct such
facilities even if the directors wished to do so. While such
practical realities must be considered by Courts as well as
other decision making bodies, there is no evidence that the
directors considered anything other than whether the
owner of the land did or did not utilize the irrigation ser-
vices provided by the districts, whether the land was urban
in fact, and whether exclusion would be in the best inter-
est of both the urban lands and the district.

An important distinction between the “voting rights”
cases and this case is that the former deal with a statute
or constitutional provision which operated to selectively

12

distribute the franchise to one class of residents while de-
nying it to others for political or economic reasons. Car-
rington v. Rash, 380 U.S. 89, 85 S.Ct. 775, 13 L.Ed.2d 675
(1965); Evans v. Cornman, 398 US. 419, 90 S.Ct. 1752, 26
L.Ed.2d 370 (1970); Kramer v. Union Free School District,
395 U.S. 621, 89 S.Ct. 1886, 23 L.Ed.2d 583 (1969); Cipriano
v. City of Houma, 395 US. 701, 89 S.Ct. 1897, 23 L.Ed.2d
647 (1969); Harper v. Virginia Board of Elections, 383 U.S.
663, 86 S.Ct. 1079, 16 L.Ed.2d 169 (1966); Phoenix v.
Kolodziejski, 399 U.S. 204, 90 S.Ct. 1990, 26 L.Ed.2d 523
(1970). In such cases, the challenged statute must be
examined to determine whether the exclusions are neces-
sary to promote a compelling state interest. Dunn v. Blum-
stein, 405 U.S. 330, 92 S.Ct. 995, 31 L.Ed.2d 274 (1972).

However the challenged statute in the case does not
seek to distribute the franchise but merely provides a stat-
utory means to exclude “urban” property from an agri-
cultural water district. Since the challenged statute does
not operate to distribute the franchise to selected classes
of potential voters and since there is no evidence of any
improper motive, either on the part of the Texas Legisla-
ture in passing the statute or on the part of the districts
in excluding the “urban” tracts, Appellants have not been
unconstitutionally “fenced out” of the WCIDs involved and
have not been denied equal protection of the laws.

C. District Court Decision Is Not in Conflict
With Applicable Precedents Regarding Notice
by Mail to Railroads.

The statute does provide that “notice shall be given
to the railroad company by mailing, first class” ete. (J.§.
p. 23, 15a) The valid and constitutional basis for this
requirement is stated in the opinion of the Single Judge
Court (J.S. p. 52a-53a) and the Three Judge Court (J.S.

13

p. 18a-20a) and further argued in the Brief of the San
Juan District, pages 12-14. For brevity, these arguments
and authorities are adopted.

CONCLUSION

The Mercedes District has here demonstrated that the
act of the District in excluding Appellants’ urban lands was
a legislative act, wherein notice by posting and publication
is adequate; that Appellants’ right to keep their urban
lands within the irrigation district is not a constitutionally
protected right, and no invidious motive prompted the Dis-
tricts’ action; and that provision for personal (by mail)
notice to railroads is justified by permissible state interest,

and des not deny to Appellants equal protection of the
law.

WHEREFORE, this Appellee urges that this appeal
should be~dismissed, or in the alternative, the judgment
of the Three Judge District Court should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

By: GARLAND F. SMITH
SMITH, McILHERAN, YARBROUGH & GRIFFIN
P. O. Box 416
Weslaco, Texas 78596
(512) 968-2196
Attorneys for Hidalgo and Cameron
Counties Water Control and Im-
provement District No. 9, Its Offi-
cers and Directors, Appellees Herein

14

PROOF OF SERVICE

I, Garland F. Smith, one of the attorneys for Hidalgo
and Cameron Counties Water Control and Improvement
District No. 9, its Officers and Directors, Appellees herein,
and a member of the Bar of the Supreme Court of the
United States, hereby certify that on the 12th day of
February, 1976, I served copies of the foregoing Appeal,
on the several parties thereto as follows:

1. On Guadalupe Jimenez, et al., Appellants, by mail-
ing three copies to each in a duly addressed en-
velope, with postage prepaid, to the following:

Mr. David G. Hall

Texas Rural Legal Aid, Inc.
103 East Third Street
Weslaco, Texas 78596

Messrs. Melvin L. Wulf and

Joel M. Gora

American Civil Liberties Union Foundation,
Inc.

22 East 40th Street

New York, New York 10016

Mr. Sanford Jay Rosen
3504 Clay
San Francisco, California 94118

2. On Hidalgo County Water Improvement District
No. 2, by mailing three copies in a duly addressed
envelope, with postage prepaid, to Mr. Morris At-
las, P. O. Drawer 3725, McAllen, Texas 78501.

15

It is further certified that all parties required to be
served have been served.

By: GARLAND F. SMITH

SMITH, McILHERAN, YARBROUGH & GRIFFIN
Weslaco, Texas 78596
(512) 968-2196

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_1582%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
