# motion to affirm — Graham v. Fong Eu

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_1346%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** motion to affirm
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 423 U.S. 1067

## Text

Su. ' me Co

PILES

‘
v

: DEC 26 1975

—

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

Supreme Court of the Uniied States

Octoser Term, 1975

No. 75-740

James 8. GraHaM,

Appellant,
Vs.

Marcu Fone Ev, Secretary of State,
and Repusiican State CenTRAL COMMITTEE
oF CALIFORNIA,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of California

Motion to Affirm

Paut R. Harrie

2 Embarcadero Center
San Francisco, California 94111

James D’A. WELCH Attorney for Appellee
THELEN, Marrin, JOHNSON Republican State Central
& Bripces Committee of California

2 Embarcadero Center
San Francisco, California 94111

of Counsel

—
SORG PRINTING COMPANY OF CALIFORNIA, 346 FIRST STREET, SAN FRANCISCO 94105

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Ay TEI cessssciesitsalbiniaiinnidaiiitibicciteialaasideamicitaltibeiiaaaaesiuiaiag 1
Argument ........... ssnihabeehaetapiaesiaiviahlteielsheiehttesaiatpaa loans sini 2

I. California’s Winner-Take-All Republican Pres-
idential Primary Election Does Not Violate the
Equal Protection Clause ................--.-ccesscsseceseeees 2

“ IL. This Court Has Increasingly Recognized the
Impropriety of Further Judicial Intrusions Into

I MII -cieinsieabishiatirhiseisaesneeiidemtbiaicesiniastin 11
Ill. The Winner-Take-All Primary Election Ration-

ally Advances Legitimate State Interests ........ 17
rr « CN ae 21

Appendix: Assembly Bill No. 427

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Pages

Abate v. Mundt, 403 U.S. 182 (1971) .......................0- 3
American Party of Texas v. White, 415 U.S. 767

SIE ssciiuisensbcsusienieliel caer dahl cathedrals 20

Avery v. Midland County, 390 U.S. 474 (1968) -........... 3

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962) ..................-cccceccceeees 3,4

Bode vy. National Democratic Party, 452 F.2d 1302
(D.C. Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1019 (1972). 16

Bullock v. Carter, 405 U.S. 134 (1972) ...........2........... 3, 17, 20
Burns v. Richardson, 384 U.S. 73 (1966) -....................... 5
Chapman v. Meier, 420 U.S. 1 (1975) ~.......0000222... 5, 6,8
Cousins v. Wigoda, 419 U.S. 477 (1975) -................. 11, 13, 16
Doty v. Montana State Central Committee, 337
fo ES: BO Fe 4
Dunn vy. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972) ...00000002..- 19
Forston v. Dorsey, 379 U.S. 433 (1965) —..020.... 5)

Georgia v. National Democratic Party, 447 F.2d 1271
(D.C. Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 858 (1972) .. 16

Gray v. Sanders, 372 U.S. 368 (1968) 000 10
Iladley v. Junior College District, 397 U.S. 50 (1970).. 3
Hill v. Stone, 421 U.S. 289 (1975) .............c..ccccccccccersecceees 17
Irish v. Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party of Minne-

sota, 399 F.2d 119 (8th Cir. 1968) ......................ccccceecees 3, 16
Jenness v. Fortson, 403 U.S. 431 (1971) —...0022... 20
Keane vy. National Democratic Party, 409 U.S. 1

IE STUIED \cscrssssnsecibsaieettiiaetetaeinsipsbaaeadeabainiaeniiditaidishiaieaniatnaibiiabaiadieaiidd 13, 14
Kirkpatric v. Preisler, 394 U.S. 526 (1969)... 3
Kilgarlin v. Hill, 386 U.S. 120 (1967) —0 )
Kusper v. Pontikes, 414 U.S. 51 (1973) -0 0. 17, 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES iil

‘ Lynch v. Torquato, 343 F.2d 370 (3d. Cir. 1965) ........ 16
Mahan v. Howell, 410 U.S. 315 (1973) oo 3
Maxey v. Washington State Central Committee, 319

F.Supp., 673 (W.D. Wash. 1970) 00.0.2... eeeeeeeeeee ee 4
McDonald vy. Board of Election Commissioners of

Chicago, 394 U.S. 802 (1969) 2. 17, 18, 21
Moore v. Ogilvie, 394 U.S. 814 (1969) oo. 3
Newberry v. United States, 256 U.S. 232 (1921) ........ 3
Nixon v. Condon, 286 U.S. 73 (1932) ooocccececeeeceeeeeeeee 3
Nixon v. Herndon, 273 U.S. 536 (1927) .0.......2....c.ce0-e-- 3
O’Brien v. Brown, 409 U.S. 1 (1972) occ 13, 14, 16
Redfern v. Delaware Republican State Committee, 362

Sn TO I I eames 4
Reynolds v, Sims, 377 U.S. 533 (1964) 20. 3
Ripon Society v. National Republican Party, ...., F.2d.

...y 44 U.S.L.W. 2161 (D.C. Cir. 1975) 20. 15, 16
Rosario v. Rockefeller, 410 U.S. 752 (1973) -0020..
Seergy v. Kings County Republican County Commit-

tee, 459 F.2d 308 (2d Cir. 1972) ooo. ccc ee 4
Smith v. Allwright, 321 U.S. 649 (1944) ooo. 3, 16
Smith v. State Exec. Comm. of Dem. Party of Ga., 288

fo BB 8k ee ee 3
Storer v. Brown, 415 U.S. 724 (1974) 0. 17, 19, 20
Terry v. Adams, 345 U.S. 461 (1953) 3
United States v. Classic, 313 U.S. 299 (1941) oo. 3
Wesberry v. Sanders, 376 U.S. 1 (1964) oo. 3
Whitcomb v. Chavis, 403 U.S. 124 (1971) 0c. 2.5
White v. Regester, 412 U.S. 755 (1973) oo. d, 7

iv TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Williams v. Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23 (1968) ....................8, 19, 20

Williams v. Virginia State Board of Elections, 288
F.Supp. 622 (.D. Va., 1968), aff’d per curiam, 393
ef ee Eee 2,8, 9, 10

STATUTES
ee eee rs OE _sauadniecienniassnenianeaeonenesns

to

Law Reviews
Note, One Man, One Vote and the Selection of Dele-

gates to National Nominating Conventions, 37 U.
NGI: SUID CUED ss asaihsnesisiianiiineabenamnncienrseientioes 16

Note: One Person, One Vote: The Presidential Prim-
aries and Other National Convention Delegate Selec-
tion Processes, 24 Hastings L. Rev. 257, 274 (1973)..

bo

bo
.

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1975

No. 75-740

James §S. GraHaM,

Appellant,
Vs.

Marcu Fone Ev, Secretary of State,
and Repusiican State CenTRAL COMMITTEE
oF CALIFORNIA,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of California

Motion to Affirm

Appellee, Republican State Central Committee of Cali-
fornia (hereinafter referred to as “RSCCC”), moves, pur-
suant to Supreme Court Rule 16, to affirm the judgment of
the District Court on the ground that it is manifest that the
questions on which the decision of the cause depends are
so unsubstantial as not to need further argument.

OPINION BELOW
After the presentation of evidence and hearing argu-
ments on the merits, the District Court held that the Repub-
lican Partv’s winner-take-all presidential primary election

2

system as established by California statute did not violate
appellant’s rights under the Equal Protection Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment or the First Amendment. The Dis-
trict Court relied principally on this Court’s decisions in
Whitcomb v. Chavis, 403 U.S. 124 (1971), and Williams v.
Virginia State Board of Elections, 288 F. Supp. 622 (E.D.
Va. 1968), aff’d mem 393 U.S. 320 (1969), which upheld the
constitutionality of the winner-take-all rule within, respec-
tively, the contexts of legislative apportionment schemes
and the Electoral College.

Relying upon the standards set forth in Whitcomb, the
District Court found that appellant had failed to prove
that any identifiable group “had less opportunity than did
other[s] ... to participate in the political process and to
elect [delegates to the National Convention] of their
choice.” Whitcomb v. Chavis, supra at 149.

ARGUMENT

1. California's Winner-Take-All Republican Presidential Primary
Election Does Not Violate the Equal Protection Clause.

In this action appellant seeks to declare Cal. Elec. Code
$ 6201 unconstitutional on the grounds that California’s
“winner-take-all” Republican presidential primary election
violates the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment.’ His theory is that the winner-take-all primary

1. Citations to the California Election Code are to sections
which were in effect at the time of trial. On September 24, 1975
the provisions of former Chapter 1, commencing with Section
6000, of Division 5 of the California Elections Code was repealed
and superseded by Assembly Bill No, 427. The new law modifies
the procedure for presidential primary elections of the Republi-
can Party in California, but retains the winner-take-all rule of the
former statute. Sections 6056, 6071(¢), Cal. Elee. Code. Assembly
Bill No. 427 is set forth in the Appendix.

NN ——————————eeEeeeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeeeEeeeeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeeEeaaE=SeeeeEEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeaeaeaeoeaeEeEeaeaeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEOeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

3

violates the Equal Protection Clause because it does not
afford proportionate representation at the National Con-
vention of the various political factions within the Party.

To date the only decisions by this Court applying equal
protection principles to the electoral process have involved
the first tier of the electoral process, i.e., the method by
which representatives are chosen. At no time has this Court
ruled that various political factions are entitled to propor-
tionate representation. It has merely ruled that eligible
voters must have equal access to the political process, that
all votes be weighed equally, and that the election procedure
may not contain a built-in bias which dilutes or cancels the
voting strength of identifiable racial or political groups.?

2. For example, the White Primary Cases collectively held that
the Equal Protection Clause was violated by systems which pre-
vented blacks from participating in primary elections or in state
nominating conventions held in lieu of primary elections. Terry
v. Adams, 345 U.S. 461 (1953); Smith v. Allwright, 321 U.S. 649
(1944) ; United States v. Classic, 313 U.S. 299 (1941); Nixon v.
Condon, 286 U.S. 73 (19382); Nixon v. Herndon, 273 U.S. 536
(1927); Newberry v. United States, 256 U.S. 232 (1921).

The Reapportionment Cases similarly imposed the one man—
one vote standard on elections of legislative representatives and
other governmental officials. Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962) ;
Mahan v. Howell, 410 U.S. 315 (1973); Kirkpatrick v. Preisler,
394 U.S. 526 (1969); Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533 (1964) ;
Wesberry v. Sanders, 376 U.S. 1 (1964); Abate v. Mundt, 403
U.S. 182 (1971); Hadley v. Junior College District, 397 U.S. 50
(1970) ; Avery v. Midland County, 390 U.S. 474 (1968).

The’ Ballot Access Cases were only concerned with the ability
of candidates for public office to be placed on the ballot. Williams
v. Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23 (1968); Moore v. Ogilvie, 394 U.S. 814
(1969) ; Bullock v. Carter, 405 U.S. 134 (1972).

On the other hand Irish v. Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party of
Minnesota, 399 F.2d 119 (8th Cir. 1968), rejected the contention
that the State convention which selected delegates to the national
convention must be apportioned on the basis of one man, one vote.
It held that the requirements of the Equal Protection Clause were
satisfied sinee all party members were entitled to participate
equally at the precinet caucuses. Accord, Smith v. State E-rec.
Comm. of Dem. Party of Ga., 288 F. Supp. 371 (N.D. Ga. 1968).

It has also been held that where delegates to the national con-
vention are chosen at state conventions (rather than by primary
elections) the delegates to the state conventions must be appor-

4

RSCCC contends that the principles of the Equal Pro-
tection Clause are not offended by the winner-take-all rule
in presidential primary elections, and that it is manifestly
inappropriate to extend those principles into the intra-party
process of selecting a political party’s Presidential and Vice
Presidential candidates.

Appellant does not contend that the principle of one
man-one vote established by Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186
(1962), is violated by the winner-take-all rule. Indeed, no
such contention is possible, because the election is conducted
on a statewide basis, each eligible Republican voter being
entitled to an equally weighted vote. Rather, appellant con-
tends that the winner-take-all rule contains a built-in bias
which dilutes and cancels the voting strength of discernible
voting elements.

The thrust of appellant’s argument is that the winner-
take-all rule is inherently unfair because voters for non-
plurality candidates are not represented at the Republican
National Convention, particularly at the time when Presi-
dential and Vice Presidential candidates are nominated. He
contends that the Equal Protection Clause requires that
non-plurality factions must have the possibility of obtaining
delegate representation, and suggests that this can be best
accomplished by the election of delegates from districts

within the State.

tioned among geographie units within the state. Seergy v. Kings
County Republican County Committee, 459 F. 2d 308 (2d Cir.
1972); Redfern v. Delaware Republican State Committee, 362 F.

Supp. 65 (D. Del. 1973); Doty v. Montana State Central Com-

mittec, 337 F. Supp. 49 (D. Mont. 1971); Mazey v. Washington
State Central Committee, 319 F. Supp. 673 (W.D. Wash. 1970).
The common denominator among these cases is that the courts
required proportionate representation at the state convention—
i.c., the first tier at which state delegates to the national conven-
tion were seleeted. None of those decisions required that delegates
to the national convention represent the various and diverse in-
terest present at the state convention.

5

The substance of appellant’s arguments is not novel. He
helabors at length the real or alleged shortcomings of the
winner-take-all rule which have been carefully considered
by this Court on several recent occasions in a series of
decisions regarding multi-member legislative districts. Al-
though this Court has expressed a judicial preference for
single-member districts in court ordered reapportionment
plans on the basis of its supervisory powers, Chapman v.
Meier, 420 U.S. 1 (1975), it has consistently held that the
winner-take-all rule is not per se unconstitutional. Rather,
the challenger bears the burden of establishing that the
scheme “was designed to or would operate to minimize or
cancel out the voting strength of racial or political elements
of the voting population.” Burns v. Richardson, 384 U.S.
73, 89 (1966). Accord, Chapman v. Meier, 420 U.S. 1, 17
(1975); White v. Regester, 412 U.S. 755, 765 (1973) ; Whit-
comb v. Chavis, 403 U.S. 124, 144 (1971); Kilgarlin v. ITill,
386 U.S. 120 (1967); Forston v. Dorsey, 379 U.S. 433, 439
(1965).

The District Court found that “plaintiff has failed to
demonstrate factually that any identifiable group has been
denied, because of racial or political differences, an oppor-
tunity to participate in the Republican primary and to elect
delegates of its choice”. Appellant contends that the Dis-
trict Court’s decision was contrary to this Court’s teachings
in Whitcomb v. Chavis, 403 U.S. 124 (1971). Nevertheless,
in his arguments before the District Court, and again in
his Jurisdictional Statement, appellant has failed, and is
apparently unable, to fulfill the two criteria which are
necessary for a successful attack. First, he has completely
failed to specify the characteristics which serve to identify
the “discernible voting elements” which are allegedly dis-
criminated against. Nor does he assert that he is a member
of any identifiable minority, or that he has anything in

6

common with any recognizable group of voters. Indeed, in
his declaration submitted to the District Court, appellant
stated that “in light of the fact that in California delegates
were awarded only to the candidate winning the primary
campaign, I chose not to cast my ballot and did not vote in
the [1972] primary election at all.” Nor is there any evi-
dence that appellant voted, or was eligible to vote, in any
other primary elections.

Secondly, appellant has failed to show that the winner-
take-all rule was “conceived or operated as [a] purposeful
device to further racial or econom:. discrimination.” Whit-
comb v. Chavis, supra, at 149. In Whitcomb this Court re-
jected the motion “that any group with distinctive interests
must be represented in [the final decision-making forum]
if it is numerous enough to command at least one seat”. 403
U.S. at 156. In response to arguments strikingly similar
to those of appellant, this Court stated,

The failure of the ghetto to have legislative seats in
proportion to its population emerges more as a fune-
tion of losing elections than of built-in bias against
poor Negroes. The voting power of the ghetto resi-
dents may have been cancelled out as the District Court
held, but this is a mere euphemism for political defeat
at the polls .. .[WJ]e have not yet deemed it a denial
of equal protection to deny legislative seats to losing
candidates, even in those so-called ‘safe’ districts where
the same party wins year after year. /d. at 153.*

These principles were recently reaffirmed in Chapman v.
Meier, 420 U.S. 1 (1975), where this Court said “there must
be more evidence than a simple disproportionality between
the voting potential and the legislative seats won by a racial
or political group. There must be evidence that the group
has been denied access to the political process equal to the
access of other groups.” Id. at 17.

*Emphasis supplied throughout, unless otherwise noted.

7

By way of contrast, White v. Regester, 412 U.S. 755
(1973), affirmed the decision of the District Court which
held under the facts in that case that a legislative reappor-
tionment scheme which provided for multi-member districts
in two counties invidiously discriminated against cognizable
racial or ethnic groups, and therefore violated the Equal
Protection Clause. However, this Court reiterated that,

It is not enough that the racial group allegedly dis-
criminated against has not had legislative seats in
proportion to its voting potential, The plaintiff’s bur-
den is to produce evidence to support findings that the
political processes leading to nomination and election
were not equally open to participation by the group
in question—that its members had less opportunity
than did other residents in the district to participate
in the political processes and to elect legislators of
their choice. Jd. at 765-66.

The District Court reviewed the history of racial discrim-
ination in Texas, its relationship with the effects of
multi-member districting and concluded that “‘the black
community has been effectively excluded from partici-
pation in the Democratic primary selection process,’ and
was therefore generally not permitted to enter the political
process in a reliable and meaningful manner.” Jd. at 767.
The District Court also found that “the multi-member dis-
trict, as designed and operated in Bexar County, invidiously
excluded Mexican-American from effective participation in
political life, specifically in the election of representatives
to the Texas House of Representatives.” Jd. at 769.

The factors supporting the decision in White v. Register
are totally lacking in the instant case, There is no claim of
racial discrimination, nor discrimination against any other
cognizable group. Furthermore, there is no evidence that
the winner-take-all rule contains any built-in biases or was
conceived or operated to perpetuate any discrimination.

8

Although appellant stresses that the primary election in
California is state-wide and that a victory in that election
may increase a candidate’s power at the National Conven-
tion, this Court, nevertheless, has made it clear that the
elements of proof remain the same regardless of the size of
the constituency. Chapman v. Meier, supra at 17.

From the foregoing, it is clear that minority elements of
an electorate must be given an equal opportunity to par-
ticipate in the election of their representatives. But the
Equal Protection Clause does not require that “distinctive
substantive-law interests” of such minority groups be pro-
portionately represented in legislatures, much less that all
of the various, divergent and fluid political factions which
form within the Republican Party during primary election
campaigns be proportionately represented at its National
Convention.

Appellant’s contentions to the contrary notwithstanding,
the similarity between multi-member districting and the
winner-take-all primary is quite striking. At the voter level,
the first tier of the process, all voters have an equal oppor-
tunity to vote, their votes are weighed equally in determin-
ing the outcome of the election, and the winning candidates
are vested with all of the allocated political power of the
constituency. At the second level, whether the legislature or
a national convention, the elected representatives have the
right to cast their votes consistent with the wishes of the
electorate which chose them for office. The fact that certain
minority factions may be unrepresented at the second level
is not because of a violation of the Equal Protection Clause,
but because of political defeat at the polls.

Tn addition to the reapportionment cases just discussed,
this Court has had occasion to consider the constitutionality
of the winner-take-all rule in the context of the Electoral
College. In Williams rv. Virginia State Board of Elections,

9

288 F. Supp. 622 (E.D. Va. 1968) aff’d mem., 393 U.S. 320
(1969), the plaintiffs attacked the constitutionality of Vir-
ginia’s winner-take-all rule in Presidential elections which
provided for a state-wide election and for the successful
Presidential candidate to be entitled to all of the State's
electors. As in the present case, plaintiffs complained that
Virginia’s state-wide winner-take-all rule was unfair be-
cause it did not afford minority representation among the
electors. The District Court rejected the plaintiffs’ claims
and upheld the constitutionality of the statute.

In facts in Williams are strikingly parallel to those of
the present case. At the first voting tier all eligible voters
cast votes of equal weight, the successful candidate was en-
titled to all of the state’s electors, and those electors were
committed to a given candidate. It was not until the second
voting tier, i.e., the Electoral College, that the minority
voters were unrepresented.

Although appellant would have this Court read Williams
as resting solely on a construction of Article IT, Section 1,
and the Twelfth Amendment to the Constitution, such is not
the case. On the contrary, the District Court stated: “the
authorization of each State by Article IT to ‘appoint, in
such manner as the Legislature thereof may direct’ is ‘sub-
ject to possible constitutional limitations.’ ” 288 F. Supp. at
626. Thereafter, it analyzed the case on the basis of the
Equal Protection Clause and the one person-one vote rule
and stated:

In the selection of electors the [winner-take-all] rule
does not in any way denigrate the power of one citizen’s
ballot and heighten the influence of another’s vote. Ad-
mittedly, once the electoral slate is chosen, it speaks
only for the element with the largest number of votes.
This in a sense is discrimination against the minority
voters, but in a democratic society the majority must
rule, unless the discrimination is invidious. No such

10

evil has been made manifest here. Every citizen is
offered equal suffrage and no deprivation of the suffr-
age is suffered by anyone. 288 F.Supp. at 627.

If the District Court, or this Court, had concluded that the
winner-take-all rule was contrary to the Equal Protection

Clause, nothing in Article II, Section 1, would have pre-
vented the imposition of the districting remedy, The Dis-
trict Court considered arguments of vote dilution and can-
cellation that were virtually identical with those made in
this case and held that the winner-take-all method of election
was consistent with the dictates of the Equal Protection
Clause.

Appellant places great reliance upon the decision in Gray
v. Sanders, 372 U.S. 368 (1972), in which this Court heid
unconstitutional Georgia’s county unit system of counting
votes in state-wide primary elections for United States
Senator and state-wide offices because that system resulted
in weighing the rural vote more heavily than the urban
vote and weighed some rural counties heavier than other
larger rural counties. This Court stated: “once the geo-
graphic unit for which a representative is to be chosen is
designated, all who participate in the election are to have
an equal vote...” Jd. at 379. Thus, the evil struck down in
that case was the disproportionate weighing of votes as a
result of geographic factors, an issue not presented in the
present case. It should also be noted that in Gray this Court
specifically left open the question of whether the Equal Pro-
tection Clause governs conventions used for nominating
candidates in lieu of the primary election system. /d. at 378,
n. 10. This Court did observe, however, “the only weighing
of votes sanctioned by the Constitution concerns matters of
representation, such as the allocation of Senators irrespec-
tive of population and the use of the Electoral College in
the choice of a President.” Jd. at 380.

11

From the foregoing discussion, the principle clearly
emerges that nothing in the Constitution requires that all
minority interests be proportionately represented at all
government levels. Just as electors to the Electoral College
and legislators may be elected on a winner-take-all basis, so
also may the Republican voters of California choose their
delegates to the National Convention. Since appellant has
failed to demonstrate that the winner-take-all rule contains
a built-in bias which discriminates against any identifiable
groups, this motion should be granted and the decision of
the District Court affirmed.

ll. This Court Has Increasingly Recognized the Impropriety
of Further Judicial Intrusions into Intra-Party Affairs.

By this action appellant seeks to induce this Court to
extend the one man-one vote principles of the Equal Protee-
tion Clause beyond the elective stage and into the represen-
tative stage of the essentially political and deliberative
process of selecting a political party’s Presidential and Vice
Presidential candidates.

Shortly stated, appellant invites this Court to inject it-
self into internal affairs of the Republican Party—namely
the manner in which the political power of the State of Cali-
fornia must be exercised at the Republican National Con-
vention. On the other hand, appellee RSCCC contends that
this case is singularly appropriate for exercise of judicial
restraint following the example set in several recent de-
cisions of this Court and lower federal courts. As will be
developed below, judicial restraint has been manifested in
related cases by the refusal of the courts to attempt to su-
perimpose the principles of the Equal Protection Clause
on the inner workings of political parties.

The most recent such example is Cousins v. Wigoda, 419
U.S. 477 (1975), which involved the competing claims of
two delegations from Chicago to be seated at the 1972 Dem-

12

ocra National Convention. The Wigoda delegates had
been elected at the March 1972 Illinois primary election con-
sistent with applicable state law; the Cousins delegates had
been chosen at private caucuses held in Chicago after having
been previously defeated at the primary. At the convention,
the Cousins delegates successfully challenged the seating of
the Wigoda delegates on the ground, among others, that the
slate-making procedures under which the Wigoda delegates
were selected violated the Democratic Party rules. There-
after, the Cousins delegates were seated and fully partici-
pated in the Convention.

This Court was confronted with a conflict between the
Tllinois election laws and the Democratic Party’s rules, and
held that the Party’s rules prevailed over contrary state
law. Thus, it held that the Cousins delegates, which had
been selected at private caucuses rather than by popular
election, had heen properly seated. This ruling was an exer-
cise of judicial restraint on several levels. First, it estab-
lished that national party rules regarding the qualifications
of delegates are not subject to being overturned by incon-
sistent state laws. Second, it ratified the decisions of the
convention which seated the Cousins delegates, thereby
avoiding questions as to the validity of the convention de-
cisions in which the Cousins delegates participated. Third,
and of particular significance to this case, it held that the
cor..ention acted properly in rejecting the delegates who
had been pepularly elected and by seating those who had
been chosen at private caucuses.

Although this Court expressly disclaimed any view on the
issue of “whether national political parties are subject to
the principles of the reapportionment decisions, or other
constitutional restraints in their methods of delegate selec-
tion, and allocation”, Id. at 484, n. 4(2), that decision cer-
tainly bears on such questions inasmuch as this Court

&

13

approved the action of the convention in seating the
Cousins delegates. This Court’s ruling virtually rejected
any notion that national convention delegates must be
chosen on the basis of one man-one vote, much less that
the delegates must proportionately represent the various
political factions of their constituencies. Indeed, the effect
of this Court’s holding is to the contrary—convention dele-
gates may be selected without a popular vote if chosen
consistent with the Party’s rules.

Thus, in Cousins, this Court held that the First
Amendment’s guarantee of freedom of political association
elevated the Democratic Party’: rules regarding the quali-
fications of delegates to a stature superior to that of
inconsistent state law. A fortiori, when state law is con-
sistent with a national party’s rules, the validity of the
state law should receive the same protection. In the present
ease, California’s winner-take-all rule is vonsistent with
the Republican Party’s rules and both should thus partake
of First Amendment protection.

Cousins v. Wigoda was the sequel to this Court’s earlier
decision in O’Brien v. Brown, 409 U.S. 1 (1972), which
involved the same basic dispute, and in which this Court
stressed the desirability of judicial restraint. In O’Brien,
and the companion case of Keane v. National Democratic
Party, convention delegates from California and Illinois
challenged the actions of the 1972 Democratic Convention’s
Credentials Committee which had recommended that plain-
tiffs be unseated. The District Court dismissed the com-
plaints, but the Court of Appeals reversed, granting relief
to the California delegates and denying relief to the Illinois
delegates, 469 F.2d 563 (D.C, Cir. 1972). On review, this
Court granted stays of the judgments of the Court of
Appeals principally on the ground that the case was not
appropriate for judicial intervention. This Court noted:

14

No case is cited to us in which any federal court has
undertaken to interject itself into the deliberative
processes of a national political convention; no holding
of this Court up to now gives support for judicial
intervention in the circumstances presented here, in-
volving as they do relationships of great delicacy that
are essentially political in nature. Judicial intervention
in this area traditionally has been approached with
great caution and restraint. See Irish v. Democratic-
Farmer-Labor Party of Minnesota, 399 F.2d 119 (8th
Cir. 1968); Lynch v. Torquato, 343 F.2d 370 (3d Cir.
1965); Smith v. State Exec. Comm. of Dem. Party of
Ga. 288 F.Supp. 371 (N.D. Ga. 1968). It has been
understood since our national political parties first
came into being as voluntary associations of individuals
that the convention i..elf is the proper forum for deter-
mining intra-party disputes as to which delegates
shall be seated. Thus, these cases involve claims of the
power of the federal judiciary to review actions hereto-
fore thought to lie in the control of political parties.
409 U.S. at 4.

It should not be overlooked that the challenge to the
California delegation in O’Brien was based on California’s
winner-take-all primary election law applicable to the Demo-
cratic Party (since altered), the challengers arguing that
the winner-take-all rule violated that party’s rules. Neither
the Court of Appeals nor this Court addressed the constitu-
tional issue involved, although it appears that the chal-
lengers argued that a state’s delegation should be distributed
in proportion to the votes received by the candidates they
represent. Nevertheless, the effect of this Court’s action
was to leave the decision to the convention.*

3. O’Brien was finally dismissed a moot, 409 U.S. 816 (1972),
and its companion case, Keane v. National Democratic Party, was
remanded to the Court of Appeals, 409 U.S. 816 (1972), where it
was dismissed. 475 F.2d 1287 (1973).

15
The most recent example of judicial restraint is found
in the decision of Ripon Society v. National Republican
Party, .... F.2d ..., 44 U.S.L.W. 2161 (D.C. Cir. 1975). The
plaintiffs attacked the constitutionality of the Republican
Party’s method of allocating delegates among the States,
alleging that the formula violated the one man-vote standard
of the Equal Protection Clause because it did not allocate
delegates in proportion to the States’ populations. The
Court of Appeals rejected the notion that the Equal Protec-
tion Clause is applicable to such internal affairs of the

Republican Party, stating that:

“Tnjational conventions have never been conceived as
having the function of providing a strict one person-
one vote representation to a definable national con-
stituency .... Moreover, the interests advanced by
adopting representation schemes of the party’s own
choosing seen to be of great importance and of clearly
constitutional stature.” Jd. at 2162.

The primary basis upon which the Court of Appeals rest-
ed its decision was the First Amendment’s guarantee of free
political association. In this regard, the court stated:

What is important is that a party’s choice of the one
way of governing itself that seems best calculated to
strengthen the party and advance its interests deserves
the protection of the constitution as much, if not more,
than its condemnation. The constitutional rights of
speech and assembly are of slight value if they do not
carry with them a comitant (sic) right of political
association ... there must be a right not only to form
political associations but to organize and direct them
in the way that will make them most effective.

... Therefore, the Equal Protection Clause, assum-
ing it is applicable, does not require a representation in
presidential nominating conventions of some defined
constituency on a one person-one vote basis. Jd. at
2162.

16

It is evident from a review of this decision that the
central issue concerned the manner in which the political
power of the Repubiican Party may be allocated and exer-
cised. Although the Court of Appeals for the District of
Columbia had earlier demonstrated no reluctance to become
involved in such matters (e.g., O’Brien v. Brown, 469 F.2d
563 (D.C. Cir. 1972), stay granted, 409 U.S. 1 (1972), Georgia
v. National Democratic Party, 447 F.2d 1271 (D.C. Cir.
1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 858 (1972) and Bode v. National
Democratic Party, 452 F.2d 1302 (D.C. Cir. 1971), cert.
denied, 404 U.S. 1019 (1972)), its decision in Ripon appar-
ently signaled its acknowledgment and understanding of
this Court’s contrary inclinations as exhibited in O’Brien
and Cousins. As the Court of Appeals stated in Ripon, “it
is the essence of the First Amendment rights that the
parties exercise that they make their own contrary (and
rational) judgments without interference from the courts.”
Id. at 2162-63.

The perception of the Court of Appeals in Ripon is surely
correct. The approval of the Smith, Irish and Lynch cases
in this Court’s opinion. in O’Brien and the later decision
in Cousins clearly demonstrate this Court’s conviction that
judicial intrusions into intra-party affairs should not go
beyond assuring both equal voter participation and full
voter protection at the grass roots level of the delegate
selection process. The reason for such restraint is clear:
judicial intervention may have a significant impact on the
delicate balance of power between competing party factions
and could produce substantial and unanticipated changes
in the operation of the political system itself. Considering
these potential effects, the courts lack judicially manageable
standards for dealing with such questions. See, e.g., Note:
One Man, One Vote and the Selection of Delegates to Na-
tional Nominating Conventions, 37 U, Chi. L. Rev. 536, 547
(1970).

17
ill. The Winner-Take-All Primary Election Rationally Advances
Legitimate State Interests.

Appellant contends that the District Court erred by
failing to test the winner-take-all rule by a standard of
strict review. The District Court reached this conclusion
on the basis that appellant had not demonstrated that the
winner-take-all rule operates to discriminate against any
identifiable political group (fn. 30). In his Jurisdictional
Statement, appellant contends that proof of such discrimina-
tion is not a necessary predicate to employing the strict
standard of judicial review, relying on this Court’s decisions
in Bullock v. Carter, 405 U.S. 134 (1972) ; Hill v. Stone, 421
U.S. 289 (1975); Kusper v. Pontikes, 414 U.S. 51 (1973) ;
and Storer v. Brown, 415 U.S. 724 (1974) Although it is
true that the challengers in those cases were not required
to identify specific political groups in order to sustain their
challenges, each of those cases involved various restrictions
on the exercise of the right of suffrage, matters which are
not in issue in this case, Hill and Kusper, respectively,
involved rules which disenfranchised those who did not own
real property and those who desired to change their party
affiliations. Storer and Bullock involved restrictions which
prevented candidates from being placed on the ballot. These
cases are inapposite simply because the present case does
not involve any infringements on the exercise of the right
to vote. The issues, as presented by appellant, involve solely
the results of elections.

Considering that appellant has failed to demonstrate
that the winner-take-all rule infringes upon the protections
of the Equal Protection Clause, it is evident that the statute
in question must be judged by the so-called “rational rela-
tionship” test rather than the “compelling state interest”
test.

The applicable standard of judicial scrutiny is found
in the decision of McDonald v. Board of Election Commis-

18
stoners of Chicago, 394 U.S. 802 (1969), where this Court
held that an Illinois statute which denied unsentenced
prisoners the right to vote by absentee ballot did not violate
the Equal Protection Clause in the absence of evidence that
they were absolutely prohibited from voting. Clearly the
statute in question severely hampered the unsentenced
prisoners in the exercise of their right to vote. Nevertheless,
this Court rejected the applicability of the “compelling
state interest” test, saying that

Such an exacting approach is not necessary here, how-
ever, for two readily apparent reasons. First, the dis-
tinctions made by Illinois’ absentee provisions are not
drawn on the basis of wealth or race. Secondly, there
is nothing in the record to indicate that the Illinois
statutory scheme had an impact on appelants’ ability
to exercise the fundamental right to vote. It is thus
not the right to vote that is at stake here but a claimed
right to receive absentee ballots, 394 U.S. at 807.

The rationale of McDonald is applicable to the present
ease. Appellant does not contend that the winner-take-all
primary discriminates on the basis of wealth, race, geo-
graphy or other “invidiously discriminatory” factors, Rath-
er, his complaint is that it prevents proportionate represen-
tation of divergent philosophies at the national convention.
It follows from McDonald that in a case such as the present
where the challenged statute does not create “constitution-
ally suspect” classifications, and does not even hamper the
citizen’s exercise of the right to vote as did the Illinois law,
the “rational relationship” test is the appropriate standard,
and appellant must establish by competent evidence that
the statute in question is totally unrelated to the pursuit
of a legitimate state end.

In McDonald the “rational relationship” was defined as
follows:

i3

... [The] statute must bear some rational relationship
to a legitimate state end and will be set aside as viola-
tive of the Equal Protection Clause only if based on
reasons totally unrelated to the pursuit of that goal.
Legislatures are presumed to have acted constitution-
ally even if source materials normally resorted to for
ascertaining their grounds for action are otherwise
silent, and their statutory classifications will be set
aside only if no grounds can be conceived of to justify
them. 394 U.S. at 809.

In evaluating the constitutionality of the winner-take-all
primary election rule, the court must “consider all the facts
and circumstances behind the law, the interest which the
state claims to be protecting, and the interest of those who
are disadvantaged by the classification.” Williams v.
Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23, 30 (1968). Accord, Dunn v. Blumstein,
405 U.S. 330, 385 (1972); Storer v. Brown, 415 U.S. 724,
730 (1973).

In a series of recent decisions, this Court has approved
the legitimacy of the following state interests as a basis for
regulating elections. The state has a “substantial State
interest in encouraging compromise and political stability,
in attempting to ensure that the election winner will rep-
resent a majority of the community and in providing the
electorate with an understandable ballot... ”. Storer v.
Brown, supra at 729; Williams v. Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23, 32
(1968). The state has a compelling interest in maintaining
the stability of its political system which is intimately de-
pendent upon preserving the integrity of its political
parties. See Storer v. Brown, supra at 736. Accord, Rosario
v. Rockefeller, 410 U.S. 752 (1973) ; Kusper v. Pontikes, 414
U.S, 51 (1973).

In Storer this Court agreed with the State of California’s
concern that “splintered parties and unrestrained factional-
ism may do significant damage to the fabric of government.”

20
415 U.S. at 736. It has further recognized that a state has
a “legitimate interest in regulating the number of candi-
dates on the ballot” and may properly seek “to prevent the
clogging of its election machinery, avoid voter confusion,
and assure that the winner is the choice of a majority, or
at least a substantial plurality, of those voting ...”. More-
over, a state has an interest if not a duty, to protect the
integrity of its political processes from frivolous or fraudu-
lent candidates. Bullock v. Carter, 405 U.S. 134, 145 (1972).
Accord, Storer v. Brown, supra at 732; Williams v. Rhodes,
supra, at 32; Jenness v. Fortson, 403 U.S, 481, 442 (1971).

Subsequently, in American Party of Texas v. White, 415
U.S. 767 (1974), this Court deemed the state’s interest in
preserving the integrity of the electoral process and regu-
lating the number of candidates on the ballot to avoid voter
confusion a compelling state interest. Jd. at 782, n. 14. Fin-
ally, it has held that the state has a legitimate interest in
preserving the integrity of the nominating process of party
primary election. American Party of Texas v. White, supra
at 786.

It is clear that the statute in question in the instant case
advances the foregoing state interests and is rationally re-
lated to the pursuit of those goals. The winner-take-all pri-
mary is designed to-assure that California’s delegation to
the Republican National Convention represents the views
of the majority, or at least a substantial plurality, of those
voting. By permitting a unified delegation, California fos-
ters unity in the state’s Republican Party. Voting as a bloe,
the California Republican delegation may more successfully
influence the national convention to nominate a Presidential
candidate and adopt programs as part of the Party’s cam-
paign platform that will meet with the approval not only
of California Republicans, but California voters generally.

In short, the winner-take-all rule advances several signi-
ficant and compelling state interests and is rationally re-

21
lated to the achievement of a legitimate state end. Cer-
tainly it cannot be said that the statute in question is “based
on reasons totally unrelated to the pursuit of that goal” or
that the statutory scheme should be set aside because “no
grounds can be conceived to justify them.” McDonald v.
Board of Election Commissioners of Chicago, supra at 809.

IV. Conclusion.

From the foregoing it is clear that the one man-one vote
principle of the Equal Protection Clause and the First
Amendment’s guarantee of freedom of political association
do not require that state delegates to national political con-
ventions must be apportioned among the various Presi-
dential candidates participating in the primary election. In
complete conformance with the theories underlying our rep-
resentative form of government, national convention dele-
gates are representatives of the state’s political party at the
convention, and there is no Constitutional mandate that the
various philosophical factions of given constituencies be
afforded proportionate representation. The Constitution
simply demands that all eligible voters be equally entitled
to participate in the process whereby representatives are
chosen, Thus, just as a state’s representatives in the Elec-
toral College or the members of a multi-member legislative
district may be elected on a winner-take-all basis, so also
may a state’s delegates to a national political convention
be chosen.

A rule to the contrary, imposing the one man-one vote
principle, w ald have serious ramifications far beyond the
instant case. If a state’s allocated number of convention
delegates must be apportioned among all contenders in the
primary election, the obvious and necessary result is a Con-
stitutional mandate that every state hold a Presidential

22

primary election for each political party. According to ap-
pellant’s own law review article, only twenty-three jurisdic-
tions held Presidential primaries in 1972, and among them
there were at least four general types of systems. Note:
One Persem-One Vote: The Presidential Primaries and
Other National Convention Delegate Selection Processes,
24 Hlastings L. Rev. 257, 274 (1973). If convention dele-
gates must be apportioned among the Presidential candi-
dates on the basis of election results not only must each of
these twenty-four jurisdictions conform their election sys-
tems, but the remaining jurisdictions must also hold Presi-
dential primary elections. Clearly a rule of such constitu-
tional magnitude cannot apply to the State of California
alone.

The impaci on the states as well as Presidential candi-
dates would be enormous. At least one major factor perti-
nent to a state’s decision not to hold a Presidential primary
is the substantial cost involved. From the candidate’s view-
point, he has neither the time nor the funds to actively
compete in primary elections in each jurisdiction. What
could be more discouraging to potential candidates that the
necessity of spending the time and investing the resources
necessary to compete in primary elections throughout the
nation? Indeed, only those few candidates with overwhelm-
ing resources could ever participate in, much less survive,
the primary process demanded by appellant. Surely the
Constitution does not impose such unreasonable demands.

23
For the foregoing reasons, appellee RSCCC urges that
its motion to affirm be granted and the decision of the Dis-
trict Court affirmed.

Dated: December 19, 1975
Respectfully submitted,

Paut R. Harrie
Attorney for Appellee Republican
State Central Committee of
California

James p’A. WELCH
THELEN, Marrin, JOHNSON
& Brinvces
of Counsel

(Appendix Follows)

SS EES Oe oe

a eee:

es ee eee

ee ee a Ls -LdhUhmlmmmmttt—C“Ctst‘CSOSNSSCSCSNSNNNNNC#§

Appendix

Assembly Bill No. 427
CHAPTER 1048

An act to repeal and add Chapter 1 (commencing with
Section 6000) of Division 5 of the Elections Code, relating
to the presidential primary.

| Approved by Governor September 24, 1975. Filed with
Secretary of State September 24, 1975. ]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 6000)
of Division 5 of the Elections Code is repealed.

SEC. 2. Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 6000) is
added to Division 5 of the Elections Code, to read:

CHAPTER 1. PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARY

Article 1. General Provisions

6000. The provisions of this chapter shall be applicable
only to the presidential primary ballot of the Republican
Party, and qualified parties for which no other provisions
apply.

6001. The provisions of this code relating to the direct
primary apply to the presidential primary insofar as the
former do not conflict with the latter.

Article 2. Number and Certification of Delegates

6005. The chairman of the state central committee shall
notify the Secretary of State on or before the first day of
February immediately preceding the presidential primary
as to the number of delegates to represent the state in the
next national convention of his party.

2 Appendix
6006. The notification of the number of delegates shall
be in substantially the following form:

STATEMENT OF NUMBER OF DELEGATES TO THE
REPUBLICAN PARTY NATIONAL CONVENTION

To the Secretary of State
Sacramento, California

You are hereby notified that the number of delegates to
represent the State of California in the next national con-
vention of the Republican Party is ~................

SE TINE isstnsesnnsesnaisinion Bt Se itceeernvintens ~ one
Chairman of the State Central Committee
of the Republican Party.

6007. If the chairman of the state central committee fails
to file a notice as to the number of delegates, the Secretary
of State shall ascertain the number from the call for the
national convention issued by the national committee of
the party.

6008. The Secretary of State shall, on or before the 10th
day of February of the year of the presidential primary,
certify to the county clerk of each evunty the number of
delegates to be elected by the Republican Party.

6009. The certification to the county clerk of the number
of delegates shall be in substantially the following form:

CERTIFICATE OF SECRETARY OF STATE AS TO NUMBER OF
DELEGATES TO THE REPUBLICAN PARTY NATIONAL CONVENTION

To the County Clerk of -................... County:

T hereby certify to vou that the Republican Party is quali-
fied to participate in the presidential primary to be held
in this state on the 0000000000... SUNT saddcdiddanaaiiievads eae , and

“aK

Appendiz 3
the number of delegates to be elected by the Republican
Party to represent the State of California in its next na-
tional convention is ................--.-.

Dated at Sacramento, California, this .................... day of
February, 19.........
Secretary of State
(SEAL)

Article 3. Selection of Candidates by the Secretary of
State

6010. The Secretary of State shall place the name of a
candidate upon the Republican presidential primary ballot
when the Secretary of State shall have determined that such
a candidate is generally recognized throughout the United
States or California as a candidate for the nomination of
the Republican Party for President of the United States.

On or before February 1 immediately preceding a presi-
dential primary election the Secretary of State shall public-
ly announce and distribute to the news media for publication
a list of the candidates he intends to place on the ballot at
the following presidential primary election. Following this
announcement he may add candidates to his selection, but
he may not delete any candidate whose name appears on the
announced list.

6011. When the Secretary of State decides to place the
name of a candidate on the ballot pursuant to Section 6010,
he shall notify the candidate that his name will appear on
the ballot of this state in the presidential primary election.

The secretary shall also notify the candidate that he may
withdraw his name from the ballot by filing with the Secre-
tary of State an affidavit pursuant to Section 6012 no later
than the 64th day before the election.

+ Appendiz

6012. Ifa selected candidate or a nonselected candidate
files with the Secretary of State, no later than the 64th day
before the presidential primary, an affidavit stating with-
out qualification that he is not now a candiate for the office
of President of the United States at the forthcoming presi-
dential primary election, his name shall be omitted from the
list of names certified by the Secretary of State to the
county clerks for the ballot and his name shall not appear
on the presidential primary ballot.

6013. Any unselected candidate desiring to have his name
placed on the presidential primary ballot shall have nomina-
tion papers circulated in his behalf, In order to qualify his
name for placement on the presidential primary ballot, the
candidate’s nomination papers shall be signed by voters
registered as affiliated with the Republican Party equal in
number to not less than 1 percent of the number of persons
registered as members of the Republican Party, as reflected
in the report of registration issued by the Secretary of State
in January of the vear of the presidential primary election.

Article 4. Nomination Papers

6021. Nomination papers properly prepared, circulated
signed and verified shall be left, for examination, with the
county clerk of the county in which they are circulated, at
least 74 days prior to the presidential primary.

6024. Each signer of a nomination paper may sign only
one paper. He shall declare his intention to support the
candidate for nomination, add his place of residence, and
give his street and number if any. His election precinct shall
also appear on the paper just preceding his name, and he
shall write the date of his signature at the end of the line
just after his residence.

6025. Any nomination paper may he presented in sec-
tions. Each section shall contain the names of the candidate.

Appendiz 5
Each section shall bear the name of the county in which it
is circulated. Only voters of the county registered as intend-
ing to affiliate with the political party by which the nomina-
tions are to be made are competent to sign.

6026. Each section shall be prepared with the lines for
signatures numbered, and shall have attached the affidavit
of the verification deputy who obtained signatures to it,
stating that all the signatures to the attached section were
made in his presence, and that to the best of his knowledge
and belief each signature to the section is the genuine sig-
nature of the person whose name it purports to be. No other
affidavit is required. The affidavit of any verification deputy
shall be verified free of charge by any officer authorized to
administer oaths.

6027. A verified nomination paper is prima facie evi-
dence that the signatures are genuine and that the persons
signing it are voters, until it is otherwise proved by com-
parison of the signatures with the affidavits of registration
in the office of the county clerk.

6028. The nomination paper for a candidate shall be in
substantially the following form:

SECTION OF NOMINATION PAPER SIGNED BY VOTER ON BEHALF
OF CANDIDATE

CN OE eckictdimees Nomination paper for .................... as
presidential nominee of the Republican Party.
State of California ™
ES OF sccemicrstimtmnnisn '
Signer’s Statement

I, the undersigned, am a voter of the County of ................ .
State of California, and am registered as intending to affi-

€ dAppendiz

liate with the Republican Party. I have not signed the nom-
ination paper of any other candidates for the same office,
and further declare that I intend to support the nomination
of the candidate named herein at the Republican Party

presidential primary to be held on the 2.0... day of
nemenniienia ~ See

Number Precinct Signature Residence Date
Sh sctesiinuinsieseeerniiessidemieasiiesimesiaieenindandtanmnnnianieuesnnindiannnasnaniapneneniiten
I sascieasceniuaitaeeinndanihieieieanataneeceentaetndeiedeinbeneiieateiatistiniiatagiensianiaditaitiunesiiiaiiiiie
Or saoticapeseiteedaaocne cect ae ia ED
GUID enseccetscaeconhiniicheiceipicpiiieiaabacerstninpatainttiniaateabinaeiadansnaniieilidaaiiins

Verification Deputy’s Affidavit :

a , solemnly swear (or affirm) that
I have been appointed as a verification deputy to secure
EEE Th Gr I I easisescrccncdtncincsicrccetncsntetmntnincs to the
nomination paper of the candidate named in the signer’s
statement above as candidate for nomination by the Repub-
lican Party at its presidential primary election; that all
the signatures on this section of the nomination paper
numbered from 1 to ......................------00++ , inclusive, were made
in my presence, and that to the best of my knowledge and
belief each signature is the genuine signature of the person
whose name it purports to be.
EEE eee er ere
Verification Deputy

Subscribed and sworn to before me this -................. day of

FEE EEE EEE EEE EEE EEE EEE EERE EERE ee te te te te te

Notary Publie (or other official)

Appendiz 7
Article 5. Verificacion Deputies

6030. The candidate or his designee may arrange for the
appointment of verification deputies to serve within the
county in which the deputies reside in securing signatures
to the nomination paper of the candidate. The verification
deputies thus appointed are the duly authorized verification
deputies to secure signatures to the nomination paper of
the candidate in that county. The form on which the verifica-
tion deputies are appointed shall be filed with the county
clerk of the county in which the verification deputies reside,
at or before the time the nomination paper of the candidate
is left with the county clerk for examination. Additional
verification deputies may be appointed in the same manner
as the original verification deputies were appointed.

6031. The verification deputies may be appointed by the
candidate or his designee on a form which shall be substan-
tially as follows:

APPOINTMENT OF VERIFICATION DEPUTIES BY
CANDIDATE OR HIS DESIGNEE

I, the undersigned candidate or designee, do hereby
appoint the following voters of the County of -..............
as verification deputies to obtain signatures, in that county,

to nomination papers for -...........-...-.......--.---- as a candidate
in the Republican Party presidential primary, to be held
a I GIT enninsincsinsintarnnitaiin’ >

Verification Deputies
Name Residence

ee eee eee eee
ee ee eee eee

ee ee eee eee

a Appendiz
Candidate or His Designee

Name Residence

Filed in the office of the County Clerk of -.........-.......-.
County, this ............ gD >

6032. Verification deputies may obtain signatures to the
nomination paper of a candidate for whom they were
appointed, at any time not more than 104 nor less than 74
days prior to the presidential primary.

6033. The verification of signatures to nomination
papers shall not be made by a county clerk, a deputy county
clerk, or within 100 feet of any election booth, polling place,
or any place where registration of electors is being con-
ducted.

Article 6. Arrangement and Examination of
Nomination Papers

6040. Each section of a nomination paper, after being
verified, shall be returned by the verification deputy who
circulated it to the candidate or his designee by whom the
verification deputy was appointed. All the sections cireu-
lated in any county he shall be collected by the candidate or
his designee and he shall arrange and leave the sections
with the county clerk for examination.

6041. Prior to filing, the sections of a nomination paper
for a candidate shall be numbered in order.

6042. Nomination papers, properly assembled, may be
consolidated and fastened together by counties, but nomina-
tion papers signed by voters in different counties shall not
be thus fastened together.

Appendiz 9

6043. The county clerk shall examine all nomination
papers left with him for examination and shall disregard
and mark “not sufficient” the name of any voter of his
county which does not appear in the same handwriting on
an affidavit of registration in the office of the county clerk.
He shall also disregard and mark “not sufficient” the name
of any voter of his county who has not stated his intention
to affiliate with the Republican Party.

6044. Within five days after any nomination papers are
left with him for examination, the county clerk shall:

(a) Examine and affix to them a certificate reciting that
he ha. examined them and stating the number of names
which have not been marked “not sufficient.”

(b) Transmit the papers with the certificate of examina-
tion to the Secretary of State, who shall file the papers.

6045. The county clerk’s certificate to nomination papers
of a candidate shall be in substantially the following form:

COUNTY CLERK’S CERTIFICATE TO NOMINATION
PAPERS OF A CANDIDATE

To the Secretary of State:

I, County Clerk of the County of ~.....0.0022....... , hereby
certify that I have examined the nomination papers, to
which this certificate is attached, of the candidate for the
ensuing presidential primary, and that the number of names
which I have not marked “not sufficient” is ~.........22..........---

The candidate named in the nomination papers is............

10 Appendiz
6046. No filing fee is required from any person to be
voted for at a presidential primary.

Article 7. Certified List of Candidates, Notice of Elee-
tion

6050. At least 59 days before a presidential primary,
the Secretary of State shall transmit to each county clerk
a certified list containing the names and addresses of the
candidates for whom nomination papers have been filed
and who are entitled to be voted for at the presidential
primary.

The certified list shall be in substantially the following
form:

CERTIFIED LIST OF CANDIDATES
SECRETARY OF STATE

Te the Commty Coacit 0 cacssscccssishidiastithiecsenndiabenaaaa County:

is sesisnnecdelbniemneiibiaaaanel , Secretary of State, do hereby certify
that the following list contains the name and post office
address of each person for whom nomination papers have
been filed in my office and who is entitled to be voted for
at the presidential primary to be held on the ............ day of
seccideshibddiiiaiamiaai , 19...., as nominee of the Republican Party.

List of Candidates
Republican Party

Name Address

| .ncseesesersssnsrsesresnneheeniisenmnssinnee _sausnsnsnssunnnn una
ye
©] <ccevseveseersensnvsncestsncneisavecuenamaccnass "asain
ete. ete.

Dated at Sacramento, California, this ...... Ne
eonvansnibdeinati ~ oe
(SEAL)

Secretary of State

Appendiz 11

6051. Immediately after the county clerk receives the
certified list of candidates from the Secretary of State, he
shall publish it in a presidential primary notice, under the
party designation. The notice shall also contain:

(a) The date of the election.

(b) The hours during which the polls will be open.

6052. The publication of the presidential primary notice
shall be made in the county pursuant to Section 6061 of the
Government Code, and by causing a copy thereof to be
posted at the courthouse door and at such other places in
the county as are designated by ordinance for the posting
of public notices.

The cities or town of residence of the candidates shall
be included in the presidential primary notice.

6053. The notice of the list of candidates published by
the county clerk shall be in substantially the following form:

NOTICE BY COUNTY CLERK OF TIME AND PLACE OF PRESIDENTIAL
PRIMARY ELECTION, POLITICAL PARTIES ENTITLED TO PARTICI-
PATE THEREIN, AND NAMES AND ADDRESSES OF CANDIDATES

Notice is hereby given that a Republican presidential pri-

mary election is to be held in the County of .................... on
SUED cinigenisninsnonn fe , 19........, and that there is

stated the name and address of each person for whom nom-
ination papers have been filed in the office of the Secretary
of State and who is entitled to be voted for, at the election,
as nominee of that party for President.

List of Candidates
Republican Party

Name Address

12 Appendiz

Notice is also hereby given that at the presidential pri-
mary the polls will be open from the hour of 7 o’clock a.m. to
the hour of 8 o'clock p.m. on the day thereof.

— EE sticcconeecenions _ ee

Article 8. Canvas of Returns. Certificate of Election

6055. The Secretary of State shall, not later than the
24th day after the election, compile and file in his office a
statement of the canvassed returns filed with him by the
county clerks.

The compiled statement shall show for each candidate the
total of the votes received and the votes received in each
county.

6056. The Secretary of State shall, not later than the
24th day after the election, issue a certificate of election to
the candidate who received the largest vote cast of that
party, such person thereby being the party’s presidential
nominee candidate from California.

6057. The Secretary of State shall, not later than the
24th day after the election, issue a certification to delegate
to each person selected as a delegate.

Article 9. Write-In Candidates

6060. Notwithstanding any other provisions of law, a
space shall be provided on the presidential primary ballot
for an elector to write in the name of a candidate for Presi-
dent of the United States.

6061. Any person who believes his name may be used as
a write-in candidate for President of the United States shall,
not later than 21 davs before the primary election, file his
endorsement of his write-in candidacy with the Secretary
of State, or no votes shall be counted for him.

Appendiz 13

6062. Any person who receives, by write-in vote, a plu-
rality of the votes cast for President of the United States
shall, within 10 days after the primary election, file a list
of delegates to the national convention of his political party
with the Secretary of State in the manner prescribed in
Section 6071.

6063. If the candidate fails to file a list of delegates, the
state central committee of the party in whose primary the
candidate receive the plurality vote shall, within 10 days
of the end of the 10-day period required in Section 6062, file
a list of delegates with the Secretary of State. The delega-
tion shall go to the convention unpledged to any candidate.

Article 10. Selection of Delegates

6070. Every candidate whether selected pursuant to Sec-
tion 6010, or unselected as defined in Section 6013, who
wishes to have a delegation of electors pledged to his can-
dlidaey in accordance with the result of the presidential pref-
erence primary or who wishes to have an official California
delegation at the Republican National Convention shall
form a delegation in compliance with Section 6071 of this
code.

6071. (a) The delegation of each candidate shall be com-
posed as follows:

(1) Seventy-eight percent of the delegation, or the near-
est whole number thereto which provides for a total num-
ber of district delegates equal to at least three times the
number of congressional districts within the state, shall be
composed of three delegates selected for each congressional
district.

(2) The remainder of the delegation shall be composed of
delegates selected at large from throughout the state.

14 Appendix

The names of the persons chosen as delegates shall be
submitted to the Secertary of State, by the candidate or his
designee, no later than 30 days before the presidential pri-
mary election for certification.

(b) There shall be no more than one alternate per dele-
gate. Alternates shall be appointed by the candidate or his
designee and shall be appointed by congressional districts,
the number per congressional district to be no less than
three. Such alternates shall be submitted to the Secretary
of State within thirty (30) days after the primary for cer-
tification.

(c) Each delegate to the Republican National Convention
shall use his best efforts at the convention for the party’s
presidential nominee candidate from California to whom
the delegate has pledged support until such person is nom.
inated for the office of President of the United States by
such convention, receives less than 10 percent of the votes
for nomination by such convention, releases the delegate
from his obligation, or until two convention nominating
ballots have been taken. Thereafter, each delegate shall be
free to vote as he chooses, and no rule may be adopted by a
delegation requiring the delegation to vote as a body or
causing the vote of any delegate to go uncounted or un-
reported.

Article 11. Republican Presidential Primary Ballot

6080. The format of the presidential portion of the Re-
publican primary ballot shall be governed by the provisions
of Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 10200) of Division
7, with the following exceptions:

(a) Instructions to voters shall exclude any reference to
groups of candidates preferring a person whose name ap-
pears on the ballot or references to any group of candidates
not expressing a preference for a particular candidate.

Appendiz 15

(b) In place of the heading: “ror DELEGATES TO NATIONAL
CONVENTION. Vote for One Group Only.” shall appear the
heading: “PRESIDENTIAL PREFERENCE. Vote for One.”

(c) Candidates for President shall be listed on the ballot
in the same order provided for in Chapter 2 (commencing
with Section 10200) of Division 7 for statewide candidates.

(d) Only the names of selected and unselected presiden-
tial candidates shall appear on the ballot in the spaces pro-
vided. No reference shall be made to their being preferred
by candidates for delegates to the national convention.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_1346%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
