# Petition — Association of Massachusetts Consumers, Inc. v. Securities & Exchange Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_1228%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 423 U.S. 1052

## Text

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1975

“ 25-607

ASSOCIATION OF MASSACHUSETTS CONSUMERS, INC.,
Petitioner,
Vv

~ . — — ‘ ' .
SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION, Lt,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

WortH ROWLEY
JAMES F’. FAIRMAN, JR.
Patrick FE’. MARTIN
Row.ey & Scott
1730 Rhode Island Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 293-2170
Counsel for Petitioner

Press or Byron S. ADAMS PRINTING, INC., WASHINGTON, D. C.

Page
ELE DOL OLE DO jdcunaceed »s =
OPEC IE EC OEE OL FONE I MA Te OREM 2
CSIR TID in 5 hob kde < cht edeecetcccséses 2
FO ne ee ee mee 3
NS OD os es abd dade eheiba kas 6uaeueaeees 3
REASONS FoR GRANTING THE WRIT ............ceee00. 6
ND oe oak cate Pecan es ona ase 11
APPENDICES:
A. Opinions and Orders Below ................ la
FOF ERLE PTE REE EP Ee eer 26a
C. Resolution of Massachusetts Consumers’ Coun-
ee ar ane! ELC: tr eRe ie 4ha
D. Federal Power Commission’s Order to Show
ER eee eee oe POE” RIES Se Ree EE 43a
CITATIONS
CasEs:
Cascade Natural Gas Corp. v. El Paso Natural Gas Co.,
BOS TE, Be CRED Koi kcbvdsncivccencesvesesss 6

New England Electric System, 38 S.E.C. 193 (1958).. 3
New England Electric System, et al., 41 S.E.C. 888
RED - . nb64 6440 cnc aunsnendasssdusceeseseeens 3, 4

New England Electric System v. Securities and Ea-
change Commission, 346 F.2d 399 (1st Cir. 1965) 4

New England Electric System v. Securities and Ea-
change Commission, 376 F.2d 107 (1st Cir. 1967) 4

ii Index Continued

Page
Securities and Exchange Commission v. New England
Electric System, 384 U.S. 176 (1966) ........ 2, 4, 6,7
Securities and Exchange Commission v. New England
Electric System, 390 U.S. 207 (1968) ........ 2, 4, 6, 7
United States v. E. I. DuPont DeNemours & Co., 366
Me Se SD I 6 rnd udence dks bcacesscuces 6
STATUTES:
Public Utility Holding Company Act of 1935, 15 U.S.C.
Ss Oe eeadacenus divdcuues 2, 3, ‘4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11
aeteee 2, TP WIG. OU vnc ccccccctccucsacs 3, 8
Section 2(a)(11)(A), 15 U.S.C. § 79b(a)(1)(A) 3,8
martion ©, 16 WAG. § TOE oo. ccccccecccvccs 3, 8, 10
Section 10, 15 U.S.C. § 79} ................. 3, 8, 10
Section 11, 16 U.S.C. § 79k .. wo. ccc ccese 3, 4, 8, 10

a

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1975

No.

ASSOCIATION OF MASSACHUSETTS CONSUMERS, INC.,
Petitioner,

v

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

The Association of Massachusetts Consumers, Inc.
(‘‘Association’’), petitions for a writ of certiorari to
review the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit entered
in this case on July 24, 1975.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the District
of Columbia Circuit sought to be reviewed here is re-
ported at 516 F.2d 711 (D.C. Cir. 1975), and is re-
printed in Appendix A, infra, pp. la-9a.

2

The memorandum opinions and orders of the Secu-
rities and Exchange Commission (‘‘SEC’’) issued on
October 31, 1973 and January 11, 1974, and affirmed
by the court below are reprinted in Appendix A, infra,
pp. 10a-25a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered
on July 24, 1975. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

. 1. Whether SEC, in carrying out a divestiture
twice mandatea by this Court (Securities and Ex-
change Commission v. New England Electric System,
384 U.S. 176 (1966); 390 U.S. 207 (1968)) denied
consumer interests the protection required by those
mandates and by the Public Utility Holding Company
Act of 1935, when SEC accepted and approved an out-
of-time plan for the sale of securities by a registered
holding company to an exempt holding company and
did so without investigation and without hearing, al-
though consumer interests credibly challenged the law-
fulness of the transaction and sought an investigation
and hearing.

2. Whether SEC, in administering divestiture re-
lief under the Public Utility Holding Company Act of
1935 and the mandate of this Court, impermissibly
failed to enforce the policies of the law with respect to
holding companies which favor consumer interests and
require the application of antitrust principles to util-
ity regulation.

» ee
ed OOP, Notte tk wes —s

ate ae eo rees

3

STATUTES INVOLVED

The statutory provisions involved are Sections 1, 2,
9, 10, and 11 of the Public Utility Holding Company
Act (“Act’’), 15 U.S.C. 79a, 79b, 79i, 79j and 79k. The
relevant excerpts are printed in Appendix B, infra,

pp. 26a-4la.
STATEMENT

The Association files this petition with the endorse-
ment and support of the Massachusetts Consumers’
Council, an agency of the Commonwealth of Massa-
chusetts, in order to maintain and defend consumer
interests, which although protected by the Public
Utility Holding Company Act of 1935, have otherwise
been unrepresented in this case.’

In 1957 SEC instituted proceedings under Section
11 of the Act to determine whether the New England
Electric System (‘‘NEES’’), a public utility holding
company registered under the Act, was to be per-
mitted to retain an aggregate of eight gas and seven
electric utility systems which it then controlled. SEC
determined that the electric properties constituted a
single integrated system (New England Electric Sys-
tem, 38 S.E.C. 193 (1958)), which NEES elected to
retain, and in 1964 ordered divestiture of the eight
gas utility companies held by NEES (New England
Electric System, et al., 41 S.E.C, 888 (1964) ).’

1 Appendix C, infra, pp. 4%a, is a copy of a Resolution adopted
by the Massachusetts Consumers’ Council on September 11, 1975,
supporting the petitioner’s position herein.

2The eight companies were: Central Massachusetts Gas Com-
pany, Lawrence Gas Company, Lynn Gas Company, Mystie Val-
ley Gas Company, North Shore Gas Company, Northampton Gas
Light Company, Norwood Gas Company and Wachusett Gas Com-
pany. SEC acknowledged that these companies constituted a
single integrated gas utility system. (41 S.E.C. 888)

ee ee

4

Successful appeals by NEES were twice. taken
through the Court of Appeals for the First Circuit to
this Court and twice this Court reversed the appellate
decisions. In its second decision, rendered March 5,
1968, this Court directed that a judgment be entered
affirming the Commission’s 1964 order.* That judg-
ment was issued on April 3, 1968 by the First Circuit,
thus ostensibly terminating a protracted and major
disagreement in favor of SEC’s exercise of its respon-
sibilities under the Act, and activating those provi-
sions of the Act under which the Commission must
discharge further responsibilities to accomplish, ‘‘as
soon as practicable,’’* the divestiture program it had
initiated in the public interest in 1957.

Thereafter proceedings in this cause slowed to the
stateliness and imperceptibility of geologic time. The
**as soon as practicable”’ scheduling of divestiture was
abandoned by SEC, and the April 1970 deadline im-
posed by Section 11(c) of the Act was ignored.
NEES’s first divestiture plan was not filed until Sep-
tember 1, 1971, and was limited in scope, relating to
only four small companies.’ Not until March 1973 did

* The various opinions and orders comprising this saga are listed
for convenience: New England Electric System, 41 S.E.C. 888
(1964), affirmed initially, SEC v. New England Electric System,
384 U.S. 176 (1966), reversing 346 F.2d 399 (1st Cir. 1965);
affirmed on second appeal, SEC v. New Englend Electric System,
390 U.S. 207 (1968), reversing, 376 F.2d 107 (1st Cir. 1967). See
a me Company Act Release (HCAR) No. 16618, February

415 U.S.C. $$ 79a, 79k.

* Central Massachusetts Gas Company, Norwood Gas Company,
Wachusett Gas Company and Northampton Gas Company. HCAR
No. 17066, March 25, 1971. Northampton was subsequently ac-
quired by Springfield Gas Light Company as part of the first
phase of the divestiture plan adopted by NEES.

5

SEC notice NEES’s proposed divestiture of its Law-
rence Gas Company stock to Springfield Gas Light
Company, an exempt holding company controlled by
the Tenney Group ° and subsequently merged inte Bay
State Company, another exempt holding company
under the same control.

By petition filed April 9, 1973, the Association re-
quested a hearing on the Lawrence matter and its con-
solidation with a companion proceeding in which
NEES sought approval of its plan for the sale of
stock of three other of its subsidiary gas companies
to Eastern Gas and Fuel Associates (‘‘Eastern’’) and
in which the Association was granted participation.’
After a lengthy hearing the Eastern proceeding was
settled. With respect to the Lawrence proceeding,
SEC took no action on the Association’s request for
a hearing and consolidation until, in its Memorandum
Opinion issued on October 31, 1973 (Appendix B,
infra, pp. 10a-14a), it summarily denied the Associa-
tion’s request and approved the sale of the Lawrence
stock to Springfield. Thereafter, on January 11, 1974,
SEC reaffirmed that decision in response to the Asso-
ciation’s application for a rehearing (Appendix B,

The Tenney Group is a de facto holding company or organi-
zation, unregistered and unregulated, which has brought under
common control various gas and electric utility properties operat-
ing in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, New Jersey
and New York, as follows: Brockton-Taunton Gas Company;
Coneord Electric Company; Exeter and Hampton Electric Com-
pany; Fitchburg Gas and Electric Light Company; Orange and
Rockland Utilities, Inc. (See FPC September 15, 1975 Order to
Show Cause, reprinted in Appendix D, infra, pp. 43a-49a.)

™The two plans constituting the last phase of the NEES di-
vestiture were concurrently before the Commission, i.e., Adminis-
trative Proceeding File No. 3-4053, the Lawrence proceeding; and
Administrative Proceeding File No. 3-4052. the Eastern proceeding.

6

infra, at pp. 15a-25a). By an opinion filed July 24,
1974, appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit sus-
tained SEC’s action (Appendix B, infra, at pp. 1a-
9a).

REASONS FOR CRANTING THE WRIT

1. The Court Should Compel Full Obedience to Its
Mandates in This Case.

Certiorari will invoke the supervisory power of this
Court to enforce and make meaningful the divestiture
it has twice approved in SEC v. NEES and which is
required by the Public Utility Holding Company Act
of 1935. This Court has both the authority and the dis-
position to require its mandates to be fully carried out.
See Cascade Natural Gas Corp. v. El Paso Natural Gas
Co., 386 U.S. 129 (1967) ; United States v. EJ. DuPont
DeNemours & Co, 366 U.S. 316, 325 (1961).

By permitting Lawrence Gas Company to be be-
latedly transferred from NEES to the Tenney Group
under the aegis of this Court’s opinions and the Act
without any hearing or investigation, and over the
protests of the Association, SEC has seriously miscon-
strued this Court’s mandate, and has failed to fulfill
its own enforcement role in the administration of re-
lief. This Court could hardly have had in mind, when
it supported SEC’s position in the litigation back in
1968 and earlier, that SEC would falter and slacken in
its enforcement efforts, and would fail to apply the
standards of the Act in carrying out the divestiture it
was seeking. But that is precisely what SEC has done,
with the result that the entire exercise has been ren-
dered futile in that it has not resulted in significant
relief. In terms of consumer benefit and public in-
terest, nothing has been accomplished beyond the term-
ination of common proprietorship over gas and electric

OA et AORN NS Oe eh "

7

distribution properties in Lawrence’s service area.
State Utility Commission control over such service
makes this a marginal benefit. And transfer of con-
trol over Lawrence Gas Company from a regulated
holding company with electric utility interests to an
unregulated holding company with electric utility in-
terests is not simply meaningless; it is counterpro-
ductive.

Although it is prima facie suspect, this transfer has
remained untested by adversary proceedings. Such
proceedings, with the participation of the Association,
could have explored alternative divestiture proposals,
such as spin-off or sale to independent investors. Ad-
ministrative consideration of such proposals would
seem better to serve public interests and consumer
rights by promising, not a diluted, ambiguous and
absentee operation serving the needs of a multi-state
multi-utility holding group, but instead a manage-
ment wholly concerned with the interest of Lawrence
Gas Company and the municipality and customers
upon which it should depend. In the light of such pro-
ceedings the significance of the Tenney Group’s acqui-
sition of the Lawrence property could have been ex-
plored and a factual basis established for predicting
its impact upon the consumer interests which the Act
and this Court have sought to protect. Indeed, the
proceedings might have shown that an independent
Lawrence Gas Company would have provided yardstick
competition for the giant utilities which today domi-
nate gas distribution in Massachusetts.

SEC’s performance in the Lawrence proceeding has
been truly amazing. It usurped the function of this
Court by varying from the mandates of SEC v. NEES.

ee

8

It abdicated its own function in two respects. First, it
ignored its statutory duty to protect consumer in-
terests, refusing meaningful intervention to consumers
represented by the Association (the only consumer
entity which sought intervention), and failing to con-
duct an investigation and hearing so that the public
interest factors in the divestiture could be evaluated
and protected in the light of a developed record. See-
ond, SEC departed from the legal norms established by
the Act and endorsed by this Court to test the NEES
divestiture and the Tenney Group acquisition, namely
the antitrust and consumer public interest standards
embodied in Sections 1, 9, 10 and 11 of the Act.

To illustrate the lawlessness of SEC’s treatment,
consider the affiliate question. Springfield had
acquired Northampton Gas Light Company through
a previous divestiture sale by NEES. Thereby
Springfield became an “‘affiliate’’ of Lawrence as de-
fined by Section 2(a)(11)(A) of the Act. An affiliate
relationship triggers SEC investigations and requires
SEC approval of the proposed acquisition pursuant
to Sections 9 and 10 of the Act. SEC ignored these
requirements of law, and did not deal substantively
with the matter by investigation, hearing and formal
approval. Instead it claimed that the ‘“‘substance”’ of
the transaction took it out of the Act. And this des-
pite the fact that Congress expressly provided in See-
tion 10 for SEC investigation and approval of a pro-
posed acquisition offered, as was this one, to comply
with a Section 11(b) divestiture order. If SEC had
done its duty it would have found that the divestiture
of gas utility companies from the economically power-
ful control of NEES into the concentrated control of
the Tenney Group was inconsistent with the provisions

i im

9

of 10(b) of the Act proscribing acquisitions which
tend toward interlocking relations of a kind or to an
extent detrimental to the public interest or the interest
of investors.*

2. This is an Important Test Case Which Will Determine the
Direction and Efficacy of SEC Enforcement of the Public
Utility Holding Company Act With Respect to Combina-
tion Electric/Gas Utilities.

Back in 1957 when SEC began this entire proceed-
ing, it was recognized as the demonstration or trial run
of SEC’s powers under the Act to deal with the anti-
competitive problems posed by combination electric/
gas utilities. Today there are seventy-six such util-
ities, each with annual operating revenues in excess of
$1 million.*® To the extent that these utilities are vul-
nerable under the standards of the Act because of
holding company involvement,” the outcome of this
ease will determine whether SEC will proceed against
them, and if it does, whether consumer interests will
be granted effective participation to carry out che pur-
poses of the Act.

If the public benefits flowing from the enforcement
of the Act are as miniscule as the present status of
this test case indicates, the case will have demonstrated
that as a practical matter enforcement of the Act is a
game to be played or forfeited at the uncontrolled

8 See Appendix D infra.

®FPC Document 8-247: Statistics of Privately Owned Electric
Utilities in the United States.

10 Under the Act SEC has jurisdiction over seventy-eight electric
and/or gas utility subsidiaries in twenty active holding companies
controlling $33 billion in assets. See SEC 1974 Annual Report,
Tables 27 and 28, pp. 176, 177.

a

10

option of SEC, and a game to be won by utility interests
willing to play on and on forever. Such a conclusion
flies in the face of the Act itself, flouts the earlier de-
cisions of this Court in this case, and rewards unre-
generate and protracted resistance to the enforcement
powers with ultimate victory.

Moreover, unless certiorari is granted, and effective
and meaningful relief achieved in this test case, its sec-
ond teaching will be made clear: that responsible
consumer interests can claim no significant participa-
tion in the enforcement of the Act. The Court should
be aware that this is the only test case to survive out of
the entire NEES proceedings. The first four divesti-
tures in this litigation were small and insignificant,
and SEC’s approval of them went unchallenged. The
next three—the Eastern proceedings, wherein the As-
sociation actively participated—resulted, after extend-
ed investigative hearings, in a settlement of the con-
sumer issues which was secured in part by the Associa-
tion. Under that settlement the affected municipalities
were given options to acquire the divested systems for
municipal operation.

The last remaining divestiture is the present case,
wherein the Association has been denied a hearing and
effective participation, and the outcome of this case,
if unreversed, is a travesty which will certainly not
stimulate any further efforts by SEC to enforce the
Act and will with equal certainty discourage consumer
organizations from involving themselves with it. On
the other hand, if the Lawrence Gas Company were to
be divested in full compliance with all of the provi-
sions of the Act, including the standards of Sections 9,
10 and 11, with due attention given to the interests of

11

consumers as well as investors, it would serve as a
model after which future SEC compliance programs
can be patterned.

Either way, the lesson of this case will not be lost
on the combination electric/gas utilities which are vul-
nerable under the Act.

CONCLUSION

The Court below, by sustaining SEC’s position in
the Lawrence proceeding, adopted as its own the grave
legal error committed by SEC as hereinbefore shown.
Accordingly the writ prayed for should issue.

Respectfully submitted,

Association of Massachusetts
Consumers
By: Row.ey & Scorr
Worth RowLeEY
JAMES F. FAarRMAN, JR.
Patrick F’, MARTIN

APPENDIX

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

AssocIaTION oF MassacHusetTts ConsuMERS, INCORPORATED,
Petitioner,

Vv.

Unirtep States SeEcuriITIEs AND ExcHANGE CoMMISSION,
Respondent,

New England Electric System Bay State Gas Company,
Intervenors.

No. 74-1325.

United States Court of Appeals,
District of Columbia Circuit.

Argued Feb. 27, 1975.
Decided July 24, 1975.
Rives, Senior Circuit Judge:

Without a hearing, the Securities and Exchange Com-
mission (Hereafter referred to as ‘‘Commission’’) ap-
proved the final step in compliance with its order requiring
the New England Electric System (‘‘ NEES’’)—a statutory
holding company under the Publie Utilities Holding Com-
pany Act of 1935 (15 U.S.C. § 79) (hereinafter the Act)—
to divest itself of all ownership in gas utility companies.
The Association of Massachusetts Consumers, Ince.
(‘‘AMC’’), an intervenor in the proceedings before the
Commission, challenges the actions of the Commission. We
find that th. Commission did not abuse its discretion and
affirm its disposition of this case.

The controversy culminating in the present proceeding
began over 18 years ago. In 1957, NEES held stock in a
number of electric and gas utility companies serving New
England. In that year, the Commission began proceedings,

2a

under section 11 of the Act (15 U.S.C. § 79k), against
— uB. The following year the Commission “declared
N] ES’ electric utility holdings to be an integrated system
(See $2 of the Act, 15 U.S.C. §79b). Six years later the
Commission ordered NEES to divest itself of the gas atilit

stock.’ In 1968, after protracted litigation, the Su word
Court and the First Circuit affirmed the order.’ In a
ber, 1971, with approval of the Commission, NEES sold
its Stock in four of the gas utilities.* The following ear
NEES sought Commission approval of a plan to sell A the
Boston Gas Company, an operating subsidiary of the East-
ern Gas System, the assets of three utilities (plus another
company related to those utilities), whose corporate shell

would therafter be dissolved. In a separate contain:
NEES also proposed to sell to Springfield Gas Light Com.
pany its Lawrence Gas Company stock. The plan requir d
minority shareholders, whose holdings totaled 10% of th

stock, to sell their stock to Springfield at the same bes
received by NEES. Springfield would then merge into it

subsidiary, the Northampton Gas Light Company The

‘NEES transferred its stock to idi
~ S$ stoc a subsidiary, the M h
Gas System. The latter hel lary, the Massachusetts
be canal er held the stock until the divestment could

*See New England Electric System, 4
a initially, SEC v. New England ascot pol he oe
176, 86 S.Ct, 1397, 16 LLEd2d 456 (1966), reversing 346 F.2d
399 (1st Cir. 1965), affirmed on second appeal, SEC v ‘New Er
pore Electric System, 390 U.S. 207, 88 S.Ct. 916 19 L.Ed 2d 1042
(1968), reversing, 376 F.2d 107 (1st Cir, 1967). See also Hold: :
Company Act Release No. 16618, Feb. 24, 1970 (App 107-108).

. : 7 ; 1 “o., No
Gas Co. and Northampton Gas Co. rwood Gas Co., Wachusett

* Although the two
proposed sales were to be made i
purchasers, bids were solicited by copies of the same eon ee
oo no difference in the bidding procedure in the two cases Th
sales became separate proceedings after NEES had det sdeah
the highest bidders. ee

3a

surviving company would change its name to Bay State
Gas Company, and would hold all of the Lawrence stock.

Two petitions to intervene in the proceedings were filed
by AMC—(1) in the Eastern proceedings to ratify the sale
of the assets of the three utilities to Boston Gas, and (2)
in the Bay State proceedings to ratify the sale of the
Lawrence stock to Bay State. AMC moved that the Com-
mission consolidate the proceedings and conduct a hearing.
The Commission did not act upon AMC’s motion, but it did
allow AMC limited participation in the Eastern proceed-
ings. Following the hearings in those proceedings, a set-
tlement among the parties was reached, and the Commis-
sion approved the sale to Boston Gas. At about the same
time, the Massachusetts Public Utility Commission held a
public hearing on the proposed sale of the Lawrence stock
to Springfield and the merger of Springfield into North-
ampton to form Bay State. The record of those hearings

reveals no participation by AMC. The Massachusetts Com-
mission approved the plan. On October 31, 1973, the Com-
mission issued a memorandum opinion approving the sale
of the Lawrence stock to Springfield and denying AMC’s
motion. The Commission denied AMC’s request for re-
consideration. AMC appeals to this Court, pursuant to
§ 24(a) of the Act (15 U.S.C. § 79x(a)).

The question before this Court is whether the Commis-
sion abused its discretion in refusing to consolidate these
proceedings with the Eastern proceedings and in denying
a hearing on the original motion or on the motion for

reconsideration.

[1-3] The law is clear concerning judicial review of an
administrative body’s refusal to consolidate two proceed- |

ings.
‘“No principle of administrative law is more firmly
established than that of agency control of its own
calendar. Practical problems of calendar administra-
tion confront an agency whenever related applications

ta

are pending at the same time. Consolidation * * * and
similar questions are housekeeping details addressed
to the discretion of the agency and, due process or stat-
utory considerations aside, are no concern of the
courts.’’

City of San Antonio v. C. A. B., 126 U.S.App.D.C. 112, 374
F.2d 326, 329 (1967) (footnotes omitted). Consolidation
would have needlessly delayed resolution of the Eastern
proceedings. The failure to consolidate prejudiced none of
AMC’s rights in either proceeding. The Commission’s
refusal to consolidate the proceedings was a sound exercise
of necessary discretion.

[4] On appeal, AMC submits that, contrary to the Com-
mission’s determination, three issues required a hearing:

(1) the possible anti-competitive effects of the sale of
Lawrence to a member of the ‘‘Tenney”’ group;

(2) the possible application of sections 9(a)(2) and 10
[15 U.S.C. § 79i(a)(2) and § 79j] to the sale of Law-
rence to Springfield;

(3) the possible violation of the statute by NEES’s
submission of a voluntary plan for divestiture more
than wvo years after the divestiture order became ef-
fective.

AMC must show more than that these were issues which
the Commission could have considered. In addition, AMC
must show that it presented them in compliance with the
Commission’s procedural rules. Rule 9 of the Commis-
sion’s Rules of Practice, 17 CFR 201.9, requires that an
intervenor state specifically the issues whose resolution re-
quires a hearing. The published notice in the instant case
called AMC’s attention to that requirement. By timely
motion, NEES complained that AMC was not in compliance
with Rule 9.

_— oer’

5a

AMC’s compliance with the published notice was incom-
plete. It ignored NEES’s motion, even though AMC’s mo-
tion to intervene was vague as to the issues to be raised at
any hearing. It did mention NEES’s long delay in dispos-
ing of its gas utility stock and expressed suspicion about
the fairness of the procedure by which NEES sought bids
for the stock. In a letter, copy of which was appended to
the motion, the president of AMC stated that the instant
application raised ‘‘many of the same objections * * *
raised against the proposed sale [in the Eastern proceed-
ings]’’ (Emphasis supplied) (App. 156). Those three
statements gave the only definition of the issues which
AMC desired to explore in a hearing. AMC did not state
that the Commission ignored any anti-competitive effects
from the sale to Springfield,’ nor did it argue that section
9(a)(2) governed this sale. It was only after the sale had
been approved and on a petition for rehearing that AMC
introduced those two issues.

The requirement that the intervenors specify the issues
which demand a hearing serves important purposes. It en-
ables the Commission to screen out frivolous requests for
hearings and efficiently conduct hearings. Here, where the
subject matter is so complex, poorly framed issues could
turn the hearings into a maze in which justice could be
lost. The strict application of those procedural rules seems
appropriate here, where the intervenors were clearly on
notice that they must comply with Rule 9. Nevertheless,
since the intervenors argued that they represent important

5 It is true that in the Eastern proceedings AMC objected to the
purchaser and stated that the Bay State sale was subject to “‘many
of the same objections.’’ Since any potential anticompetitive ef-
fects from the sale to the particular buyer stemmed from facts
peculiar to each case, the Commission could not have surmised that,
though the circumstances of the buyer in each case were entirely
different, AMC wanted to transfer this particular objection from
the Eastern proceedings to the Bay State proceedings. The
reasonable interpretation was to the contrary.

6a

public interests, out of an abundance of caution we construe
their pleadings so as to protect those interests and consider
all issues referred to in their original petition. We follow
the same course in reviewing the issues mentioned in
AMC’s petition for reconsideration.

[5,6] After showing that reference was made to an issue
in its original petition for a hearing, AMC must show that
the resolution of the issue required a hearing and that the
denial by the Commission was an abuse of discretion. AMC
bears an even heavier burden as to the issues first raised in
its petition for reconsideration. Only a clear abuse of dis-
cretion warrants reversal for failure to grant a request for
a rehearing. See United States v. Pierce Auto Lines, 327
U.S. 515, 66 S.Ct. 687, 90 L.Ed. 821 (1946); United States
v. 1. C. C., 396 U.S, 491, 90 S.Ct. 708, 24 L.Ed.2d 700 (1970).
At the very least, the latter standard requires AMC to show
that a potential issue was present and the hearing would
have helped resolve it.

[7] An issue mentioned in the original petition was
whether the Commission erred in allowing NEES to submit
a voluntary plan for divestiture five years after the divesti-
ture order became effective. AMC submits that, under sec-
tion 11(e) [15 U.S.C. § 79k(e)], a holding company has no
more than two years in which to comply with a divestiture
order. AMC asks that the Commission’s approval of the
sale be vacated and that the Commission be directed to pro-
ceed pursuant to section 11(d) [15 U.S.C. §79k(d)].
Phillips v. Securities and Exchange Commission, 87
U.S.App.D.C. 380, 185 F.2d 746, 750 (1950) speaks to this
question.

**Sections 11(c) and 11(d) were designed to enable the
Commission to deal with a recalcitrant company. But
Congress could hardly have intended that an order
entered by the Commission should become a trap
closing down relentlessly at the end of a two-year
period, against the judgment of the Commission, con-

7a

trary to the provisions of the order entered, and to the
damage of the very interests which Congress was en-
deavoring to protect—the public interest and that of
investors. To give any such interpretation to the stat-
ute might well tend to cause the Commission to refrain
from issuing any order in a particular case until the
situation became ripe for complete and immediate en-
forcement.’’

Although NEES was slow in complying, within the two
years it did make some progress by creating a subsidiary,
the Massachusetts Gas System, to hold the gas utility stock.
That progress and the Commission’s satisfaction with the
final plan are enough to satisfy the requirements of the
Act.

[8-10] Another issue mentioned in the original petition
was whether NEES maintained competitive conditions in
soliciting bids for the stock. On appeal, AMC challenges
the propriety of transferring the Commission’s findings on
that issue from the Eastern proceedings to the present one.
We think that use proper. Since NEES solicited bids for
all the utilities as a part of the same transaction, the cir-
cumstances of soliciting both bids were identical. Fur-
thermore, AMC was not denied an opportunity to shape
the record, for it participated in the hearing in the Kastern
proceedings. The only complaint that AMC can make is
that it would have tried harder in the Eastern hearing if it
had known that that would be the only hearing. The Com-
mission need not hold a hearing to gain information which
has already been gathered. An administrative body may
‘‘mold its procedures to the exigencies of the particular
ease,’’ Gulf States Utilities Co. v. Federal Power Commis-
sion, 411 U.S. 747, 762, 93 S.Ct. 1870, 1880, 36 L.Ed.2d 635
(1973). Moreover, ‘‘[T]he mere fact that the determining
body has looked beyond the record proper does not invali-
date its action unless substantial prejudice is shown to
result.’? United States v. Pierce Auto Freight Lines, Inc.,

8a

327 U.S. 515, 530, 66 S.Ct. 687, 695, 90 L.Ed. 821 (1946).
AMC fails to show why the findings in the Eastern pro-
ceedings were wrong, or that the use of those findings was
prejudicial. The findings were supported by substantial
evidence and, clearly, there was no abuse of discretion.

[11] An issue which AMC raised for the first time in its
petition for reconsideration was whether the sale would
have anticompetitive effects. AMC contends that Spring-
field, the purchaser, belongs to an interstate group of gas
and electric utilities known as the ‘‘Tenney’’ group. Those
utilities have the same chief executive officer—a Mr.
Tenney—and have in common several Board of Director
members and officers. The Tenney family owns between
) and 15% of the stock in each company. Although AMC
concedes that the ‘‘Tenney”’’ group does not fit within the
statutory definition of a holding company, it argues that the
Public Utilities Holding Company Act requires the Com-
mission to ensure that any divestment will promote the
objectives of the Act. In short, AMC asks this Court to
hold that, even though the Commission could not order the
‘“*Tenney’’ group to sell the Lawrence stock—if any were
owned, it must forbid the group to buy any of the Lawrence
stock. We find it unnecessary to resolve that issue. To
prevail at a hearing on the matter, AMC would have to
show that, although the ‘‘Tenney’’ group was not a statu-
tory holding company,’ it was a source of the same abuses
and vices which led the Congress to enact the Public Utili-
ties Holding Company Act. See §1, 15 U.S.C. § 79a.
Elimination of common officers and directors in noncom-
peting utility companies was not the precise purpose of the
Act. AMC makes no allegation that the ‘‘Tenney”’ group
is the source of any evils set forth in section 1 of the Act
(15 U.S.C. § 79a). AMC having failed to show that there
would have been substantial issues raised at the hearing——

® See the definition of holding company in section 2 of th
15 U.S.C. § 79b. a

9a

even if its interpretation of the Act were correct (a ques-
tion we do not reach), we find that the Commission did not
abuse its discretion in refusing to vacate its approval of
the sale.

[12,13] The remaining issue raised in the petition for
reconsideration was whether this transa< tion fell within the
ambit of section 9(a)(2) of the Act [15 U.S.C. § 79i(a) (2) ]
and, hence, required Commission approval (see $10 of the
Act, 15 U.S.C. §79j). Since Springfield merged into
Northampton after it had bought the Lawrence stock, for
an instant there were three entities—Northampton, Law-
rence and Springfield. Thus, AMC argues that Springfield,
which was already an affiliate of Northampton, was buying
the stock of a utility company. Section 9(a)(2) forbids
such a purchase without Commission approval. The Com-
mission concluded that the merger of Springfield into Nor-
thampton was so closely related to the sale that the transac-
tion should be viewed as one in which Northampton, a com-
pany without an affiliate, obtained the Lawrence stock. We
find the Commission’s reasoning persuasive. In assessing
interrelated corporate adjustments, comparison should be
made of the situation just prior to and immediately follow-
ing the adjustments. The sequence of relatively simul-
taneous corporate adjustments whose order has no prac-
tical effect do not govern the applicability of section
9(a)(2). The same result would not obtain wuere the se-
quence of corporate adjustments had a harmful effect on
investors or the public.

Finding no reversible error, we affirm the judgment of
the Commission.

Affirmed.

10a

Pusuic Utiurry Hotprne Company Act or 1935
Release No. 18149/October 31, 1973
Admin. Proe. File No. 3-4053
In the Matter of

New Encuanp Etectric System
Massacuvusetts Gas System
Westborough, Massachusetts

(54-248)
(70-5275)
MemoranpDuM Oprnton Approvine Section 11(e) Puan

This proceeding relates to a plan of New England Elec-
tric System (‘‘NEES’’), a registered holding company,
and its subsidiary holding company, Massachusetts Gas
System (‘‘Mass Gas’’), filed pursuant to Section ll(e) of
the Public Utility Holding Company Act of 1935 (‘‘Act’’)
and other applicable provisions and rules thereunder, in-
cluding Section 12(d) and Rule 44. The plan proposes that
NEES sell its capital stock interest in the Lawrence Gas
Company (‘‘Lawrence’’), a subsidiary company, to Spring-
field Gas Light Company (‘‘Springfield’’), an exempt hold-
ing company under the Act pursuant to Rule 2 thereunder.
It also provides for the liquidation of Mass Gas and the
elimination of the minority shareholder interest in Law-
rence.

A notice of the filing was issued,” and the Association of
Massachusetts Consumers (‘‘AMC’’), a non-profit organi-
zation, requested that a hearing be held. It also requested
that we consolidate this hearing with the hearing which we
ordered at the request of AMC and others on the Section

‘See, New England Electric System, 41 S.E.C. 888 (1964), af-
firmed SEC v. New England Electric System, 390 U.S. 207 (1968).

* Holding Company Act Release No. 17906 (March 14, 1973).

lla

11(e) plan of NEES proposing to sell its stock interests
in its other gas subsidiaries.* Subsequently, the contro-
versy as to the latter plan was settled, and AMC and the
other parties to the settlement have withdrawn from the
proceeding.* AMC gave no reasons to support its request
for hearing, as directed by our notice. The record is suffi-
cient to render a decision in this proceeding without a
hearing. The request for such hearing is hereby denied.

Under the plan, Mass Gas, which is to be liquidated, will
transfer to NEES its holdings of 90.42% of the capital
stock of Lawrence. NEES will then sell the Lawrence
stock to Springfield, a Massachusetts Gas utility,® for
46,638,000 in cash. Concurrently with the Lawrence ac-
quisition Springfield will be merged into Bay State Gas
Company (‘‘Bay State’’), presently a Springfield subsidi-
ary company, and Lawrence will be retained by Bay State
as a subsidiary company.’ Bay State proposes to claim
an exemption as a holding company under Rule 2 of the
Act. The minority shareholders of Lawrence will be paid
the same price per share as that paid to NEES.

Lawrence is a gas utility company which supplies gas
service to over 30,000 customers in four communities in
northeast Massachusetts, with an estimated population of
140,700. In 1972 Lawrence had a net operating income
of $977,858, net income of $462,865, and net utility plant of
$14,767,993. Gas sales by Lawrence totaled 4,353,298 Mef
for that year. Lawrence has outstanding 188,000 shares of
common stock, of which 170,002, is owned indirectly by

8 Holding Company Act Release No. 17908 (March 16, 1973).

4 Holding Company Act Release No. 18133 (October 25, 1973).

5 The acquisition of the Lawrence stock was approved by the
Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities in D.P.U. 17726,
dated October 10, 1973.

6 As a result of the concurrent merger, Lawrence will be Bay

State’s sole statutory affiliate. The proposed acquisition is there-
fore not subject to Sections 9(a) (2) or 10 of the Act.

12a

NEES through Mass Gas. The balance of 17,998 is pub-
licly held. Lawrence’s pipeline natural gas is supplied by
Tennessee Gas Pipeline Company, which also supplied
Springfield.

We find, as required by Section 11(e), that the plan is
necessary to comply with Section 11(b). Our order there-
under directed NEES to divest its interests in its gas util-
ity companies, including Lawrence, and the sale of Law-
rence does that. The retirement of the minority shares of
Lawrence, as we have held in other cases,’ is required un-
der Section 11(b) (2).

We also find under Section 11(e) that the plan is ‘‘fair
and equitable’’ to NEES and the minority shareholders of
Lawrence. The highest bid received by NEES was the one
from Springfield, in the amount of $6,638,000, plus or minus
a dollar for dollar adjustment by the amount of any in-
crease or decrease in the underlying book value of the
shares between December 31, 1971, of the Lawrence shares
to be sold by NEES.* The minority shareholders will re-
ceive the same premium as NEES. This premium over
book value compares very favorably when tested against
the sales of securities of similar companies. The per
share price to be paid is 14.82 and 13.96 times Lawrence’s
earnings for the years 1972 and 1971, respectively.

The sale of the Lawrence stock is also subject to Section
12(d) of the Act and Rule 44 promulgated thereunder, in-
cluding the requirement that competitive conditions shall be
maintained with respect to the sale. NEES solicited ex-

T Northeast Utilities, Holding Company Act Release No. 15448
(April 13, 1966) ; Lynn Electric Company, 40 S.E.C. 828, 833 fn.
9 (1961); New Orleans Public Service, 40 S.E.C. 887 (1961).

8 The adjusted contract price would represent 183% of the
underlying book value of the shares at December 31, 1972.

® By order, dated November 23, 1971, we granted NEES an ex-
emption from the competitive bidding requirements of Rule 50.
Holding Company Act Release No. 17371.

13a

pressions of interest, either for the separate purchase of
Lawrence or together with its other remaining gas proper-
ties, by individual letters and by newspaper advertise-
ments. NEES conducted exploratory discussions with
those who expressed an interest in Lawrence, and at vari-
ous times sent additional information to them. Through-
out the prebidding period NEES provided the same basic
information to all who continued to have a serious inter-
est in the acquisition of Lawrence. NEES received sealed
bids for Lawrence at the same time and it reviewed them
at the same time. These procedures afforded a fair oppor-
tunity for all persons seriously interested to make offers
and for NEES to secure the maximum price reasonably ob-
tainable. We conclude that NEES maintained competi-
tive conditions in offering to sell Lawrence and in choos-
ing Springfield as the successful bidder.

The liquidation of Mass Gas and the transfer of its as-
sets and liabilities to NEES will be recorded at the values
carried on the books of Mass Gas. NEES proposes to
record the sale of the common stock of Lawrence by (1) a
debit to its cash account in the amount of the sales price;
(2) a credit to its investment account in the amount of the
book value of the shares sold and (3) a credit to dividend
income in an amount equal to the undistributed income
having accrued from the time the NEES system first ac-
quired the Lawrence shares. An amount equal to cash in
excess of the above credits will be credited to the earned
surplus account representing the gain to NEES from the
sale. Among other things, the order by the Massachusetts
Department of Public Utilities approving the acquisition
by Springfield requires it to segregate the excess of acqui-
sition price over the book valne of the Lawrence assets
and to amortize that amount over the life of the associated

property.
NEES and Mass Gas have requested that our order en-
tered herein recite that each of the transactions, exchanges,

l4a

sales and investments proposed in the plan are necessary
or appropriate to effectuate the provisions of Section
11(b)(1) of the Act, in accordance with the requirements
of Sections 1081 through 1083 of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1954, as amended. This request will be granted.
No fees or commissions will be paid by NEES or Mass
Gas in connection with the sale. Certain services, incident
to the transactions, have been or will be performed by New
England Power Service Company, the system service com-
pany, at cost. A post-effective amendment will be filed
setting forth these costs.

We conclude that the proposed transactions satisfy the
provisions of the Act and the rules thereunder. An ap-
propriate order will issue.

By the Commission. (Chairman Garrett, Commissioners
Loomis, Evans and Sommer. Commissioner Owens not
participating.)

Georce A. Firzstmmons
Secretary

lda

Release No. 18149/October 31, 1973
In the Matter of

New Encuanp Evectric System
MassacHuvusetts Gas System
Westborough, Massachusetts

(54-248, 70-5275)
Orper APPROVING Puan Fitep Unpber Section 11(e)

The Commission having issued its Findings and Opinion
and Order dated March 19, 1964 (Holding Company Act
Release No. 15035, 41 SEC 888), pursuant to Section 11(b)
(1) of the Public Utility Holding Company Act of 1935
(‘‘Act’’) requiring divestment by New England Electric
System (‘‘NEES’’) of all its interests, direct or indirect, in
its gas-utility subsidiary companies, and having ordered
therein under Section 11(b)(1) that NEES dispose of its
interests in its gas properties:

NEES and Massachusetts Gas System (‘‘Mass Gas’’)
having filed a plan, as amended, pursuant to Section 11(e)
of the Act, to effectuate compliance with the Section 11(b)
(1) order by the proposed divestiture of Lawrence Gas
Company (‘‘Lawrence’’); to retire the minority stock
interest in Lawrence and to carry out the other proposals
therein specified.

The Commission having considered the record and having
this day issued its Memorandum Opinion, concluding there-
in that the plan, as amended, is necessary to effectuate the
provisions of Section 11(b)(1) of the Act and is fair and
equitable to the persons affected thereby; and that NEES
ma.:tained competitive conditions in the bidding and pro-
posed sale of Lawrence to Springfield, as required under
Section 12(d) of the Act;

NEES and Mass Gas having requested the Commission
recite in its Order that the transactions proposed are nec-

l6a

essary or appropriate to the integration of the NEES
holding company system in accordance with the provisions
of Section 11(b) of the Act and with the requirements of
Section 1081 through 1083 of the Internal Revenue Code
of 1954, as amended:

Ir Is Orpverep that the request for hearing of the Asso-
ciation of Massachusetts Consumers is hereby denied; and

Ir Is FurtHeR Orperep, pursuant to Section 11(e) and
other provisions of the Act and Rules thereunder, that
said plan, as amended be, and it hereby is, approved, effec-
tive forthwith; and

Ir Is Hereny DeterMINneD AND Orperep that each of the
transfers, sales, exchanges, expenditures and investments
described in subparagraphs I and II below is necessary
or appropriate to the integration or simplification of the
holding-company system of which New England Electric
System is a member, and to the effectuation of the provis-
ions of Section 11(b) of the Act, and that each such trans-
action is hereby authorized, approved and directed; that
the sale and transfer described in subparagraph I below
is ordered to be consummated within 120 days from the
date of this Order; and that the expenditures or invest-
ments described in subparagraph II below are ordered to
be made within 24 months of such sale and transfer. The
transactions to which this Order relates, the stocks which
are to be transferred, sold and exchanged, and the expendi-
tures or investments which are to be made, are specified
and itemized as follows:

I. New England Electric System shall sell and transfer
to Springfield Gas Light Company 170,002 shares of
capital stock of par value of $10 per share of Law-
rence Gas Company in exchange for cash in the
amount of $6,608,000, plus or minus the net increase
or decrease in the book value thereof between De-
cember 31, 1971, and the end of the calendar month
next preceding such sale and transfer.

17a

IT. An amount equal to the amount of cash received by
New England Electric System upon the sale and
transfer of such shares of capital stock of Lawrence
Gas Company, as hereinabove ordered, shall be ex-
pended or invested by New England Electric Sys-
tem in one or more of the following manners: for
stock of, or as a contribution to the capital or as
paid-in surplus of, one or more corporations which
are at the time of such expenditure or investment
electric utility subsidiaries of New England Electric
System, including but not limited to the following:

Massachusetts Electric Company,
The Narragansett Electric Company,
Granite State Electric Company and
New England Power Company

or in repayment of short-term notes issued by New
England Electric System evidencing indebtedness
originally incurred by New England Electric Sys-
tem on November 15, 1972, in the principal amount
of $30 million, which amount was invested in com-
mon stock of said New England Power Company.
Ir Is Furtuer Ornverep that jurisdiction be, and it hereby
is, reserved to take such action or enter such further orders
as may be appr priate to carry out the provisions of Section
11(b) and the plan approved herein, including, insofar as
may be necesary, judicial enforcement of the provisions
in the plan for the elimination of the minority interest in
Lawrence.

By the Commission. (Chairman Garrett, Commissioners
Loomis, Evans and Sommer. Commissioner Owens not par-
ticipating.)

Georce A. FirzsmmMons
Secretary

18a

Unrtrep States or AMERICA
before the
SEcURITIES AND Excuance ComMISSION

Public Utility Holding Company Act of 1935
Rel. No. 18254/January 11, 1974

Admin. Proc. File No. 3-4053
In the Matter of

New Encuanp Execrric System
MassacHusetts Gas System
Westborough, Massachusetts

(54-248)
(70-5275)

SUPPLEMENTAL Memoranpum Opinion Anp Orper GrRant-
inc Leave To Fite Petition Out Or Toxwe Anp Deny-
Inc Petition For REHEARING

On October 31, 1973, we approved a plan of New England
Electric System (‘‘NEES’’), a registered holding com-
pany, filed pursuant to Section 11(e) of the Public Utility
Holding Company Act of 1935 (‘‘Act’’), and denied an
application filed by the Association of Massachusetts Con-
sumers, Inc. (“‘AMC’’) requesting a hearing on the plan
and moving for consolidation of the proceeding on such
plan with another NEES proceeding.’ On December 4,
1973, AMC petitioned for rehearing with respect to our
order. NEES opposes this petition but takes no position
on AMC’s motion for leave to file its petition out of time.”

The plan proposed that NEES sell its capital stock inter-
est in the Lawrence Gas Company (‘‘Lawrence’’), a sub-
sidiary company, to Springfield Gas Light Company

* Holding Company Act Release No. 18149 (October 31, 1973).

* Rule 21(a) of our Rules of Practice permits a petition for re-
hearing but a petition for rehearing is not preconditioned to ap-

pellate review of a Commission order under Section 24(a) of the
Act.

19a

(‘‘Springfield’’), an exempt holding company under Rule
2 of the Act. The sale of Lawrence to Springfield was
consummated on November 14, 1973, effective as of Oc-
tober 31, 1973, in accordance with the provisions of the
plan, as amended.

Originally, Springfield contemplated acquiring Lawrence
and merging it into either Springfield or Northhampton
Gas Light Company, (renamed Bay State Gas Company
(‘Bay State’’)), a wholly-owned subsidiary company of
Springfield. However, on advice of tax counsel Springfield
rearranged the form of acquisition so that Springfield and
Bay State were merged concurrently with the acquisition
of Lawrence, leaving Bay State as the surviving company
and Lawrence as its sole subsidiary. The acquisition of
Lawrence, whether by Springfield or Bay State, is not sub-
ject to Sections 9(a) (2) and 10 of the Act. Bay State, the
surviving company, is, like its predecessor, Springfield,
an exempt holding company. Notice of the proposed sale
of Lawrence, issued March 14, 1973, (Holding Company
Act Release No. 17906) gave any interested person until
April 9, 1973, to request in writing that a hearing be held.
In accordance with Rule 23(e) the notice specified that
any person requesting a hearing shall state the reason
for such request and the issues of fact or law raised by the
plan which he desires to controvert. On April 9, 1973,
AMC filed a request for hearing, an application to inter-
vene therein, and a motion to consolidate the Springfield
proceeding with another case in which a hearing had al-
ready been granted.

The other proceeding with which AMC sought consolida-
tion involved the proposed sale of three NEES gas utility
subsidiary companies, Lynn Gas Company (‘‘Lynn’’),
Mystie Valley Gas Company (‘‘Mystic Valley’’) and
North Shore Gas Company (‘‘North Shore’’) and Massa-
chusetts LNG, Inc., (‘‘ Mass. LNG’’), a gas storage com-
pany, to Eastern Gas and Fuel Associates (‘‘Kastern’’)

20a ,

the parent of Boston Gas Company (‘‘Boston Gas’’). A
concurrent purchase of the assets of these gas utility com-
panies and of the stock of Mass. LNG by Boston Gas was
to be effected so that a single gas utility company would
survive. AMC and others had requested a hearing on this
proposed sale to Eastern. AMC’s request for a hearing
set forth in detail the issues of fact and law which it de-
sired to controvert as prescribed in our notice of the pro-
posed sale and in Rule 23(e). AMC cited five issues sup-
ported by factual allegations on which it claimed a hear-
ing would be warranted. We ordered a hearing on that
sale. AMC was allowed limited participation at the hear-
ing in accordance with our Rules of Practice, and its coun-
sel participated from time to time in the proceeding which
lasted over seven weeks. The hearing was terminated
when AMC and others settled their controversy with
Eastern and NEES and withdrew from the proceeding,
as noted in our Memorandum Opinion and Order of Octo-
ber 25, 1973, approving the sale of the NEES subsidiary
companies.®

Although on April 9, 1973, AMC also requested a hearing
on the proposed sale of Lawrence to Springfield, it did
not specify reasons warranting a hearing on that partic-
ular transaction or state the particular issues of law and
fact it desired to controvert. Aside from a general conten-
tion that the two sales should be heard together, AMC
stated only: ‘‘{ W]e request you to hold a public hearing
on this matter which is subject to many of the same ob
jections we raised against the proposed sale of Lynn,
North Shore and Mystic Valley to Boston Gas.’”

’ Holding Company Act Release No. 18133 (October 25, 1973).

* This request appears in a pricr letter of AMC to the Admin-
istrative Law Judge, dated March 29, 1973, annexed to the ap-
plication as Appendix B. The request for hearing on the Eastern
sale referred to was annexed as Appendix A. The application of
April 9, 1973, itself was directed primarily to identifying AMC
and arguing for consolidation of the two proceedings.

2la

On October 31, 1973, six days after authorizing the East-
ern sale, we issued our Memorandum Opinion and Order
which authorized the sale of Lawrence. We denied AMC’s
request for a hearing because AMC had not presented any
reasons to justify its request.

This deficiency is more than a matter of form. A hearing
is not ordered as a matter of course nor are we required
to grant it merely because it has been requested.® A hear-
ing is a means of ascertaining the facts necessary to reach
a decision on legal issues in the proceeding. If a request
for a hearing fails to specify the issues of fact or law
which it is desired to controvert and the reasons why evi-
dence must be taken to resolve such controversies, no issue
has been drawn to define the scope of such hearing. Ac-
cordingly, in accordance with our established practice, our
notice in this proceeding expressly required such specifi-
eation.* This procedure makes good administrative sense
and at the very least serves to screen out requests for
hearings on vague, unsubstantial or immaterial issues.
Without it, a hearing may be futile or turned into a search
for issues rather than an effective exploration of issues
specifically identified and properly noticed.

AMC cannot expect us to determine for it which of the
‘‘many’’ reasons it had specified in opposition to the pro-
posed sale to Eastern had some relevance to the proposed
sale of Lawrence and to recast them into issues to be
heard in the latter proceeding. Pleading by allusion is no
substitute for the direct and explicit statement that we
have required as this very case demonstrates. Even con-

5 The price paid for NEES’ stock interest was $6,638,000 or 183%
of the book value. The minority stockholding of Lawrence will
be paid the same price.

® See Gulf States Utilities Co. v. F.P.C., 411 U.S. 762 (1973).

7 Holding Company Act Release No. 17906 (March 14, 1973). Cf.
Rule 23(e) and Rule 23(c).

22a

strued with the utmost liberality, AMC’s request would
not justify a hearing on the Lawrence sale.

It is clear that many of the AMC objections to the East-
ern acquisition could in no way be applicable to the pro-
posed Springfield acquisition. AMC objected to the pro-
posed merger of Lynn, Mystic Valley and North Shore
into Boston Gas, Eastern’s subsidiary, because of East-
ern’s substantial stock interest in Algonquin Gas Trans-
mission Company, Boston’s supplier of pipeline natural
gas. Springfield, on the other hand, receives its pipeline
gas from Tennessee Gas Transmission Company with
which it has no corporate affiliation.

Another AMC objection dealt with the alleged increment
of market control by Boston Gas if it were allowed to
merge with the three former NEES companies. Geograph-
ically, the utility properties to be acquired by Boston
adjoined its existing territory and shared with it gas ser-
vice to metropolitan Boston. In contrast, Lawrence and
Springfield serve distinct areas of Massachusetts. AMC
cited statistics showing an increase in Boston Gas custom-
ers, after the merger, from 338,680 on January 1, 1972,
or 31.68 percent of all Massachusetts private utility gas
customers, to 515,295 customers, or 48.20 percent. No sta-
tistics were cited by AMC to show the respective market
share or number of customers for Springfield, Bay State
and Lawrence. However, the record shows that as of Jan-
uary 1, 1972, Springfield had 67,849 customers, Bay State
had 8,000 customers and Lawrence had 32,791 customers.
Obviously, the aggregate market share for Springfield
and Bay State, assuming a combination with Lawrence, is
in no way comparable to that of Boston Gas.

In its petition for rehearing AMC seeks to restate its
objections to the Springfield sale. It is now alleged, for
the first time, that, in terms of market concentration,

23a *

Springfield should not be considered as a single and iso-
lated utility company. Springfield is related to a group of
other utilities through common executive personnel,® and
it is now urged that the effect of the Lawrence sale to
Springfield should be considered in this larger adminis-
trative context.

The statutory relevance of these new allegations is by no
means clear, but there is no need to pursue this issue now.
For present purposes it is sufficient to note that these
allegations were not even remotely suggested by AMC’s
original objections. In fairness to all concerned we do not
deem it proper to reconsider the Lawrence sale, which
has been consummated pursuant to our order, on the basis
of a novel issue of doubtful merit or relevance that AMC
has now presented to us for the first time.”

We could and did read AMC’s original request for hear-
ing as raising an issue as to the maintenance of competi-
tive conditions in the efforts by NEES to sell these com-
panies. The bidding itself, the evaluation of the bids and

8For many years, Springfield Gas Company, Fitchburg Gas
and Electric Light Company, Brockton-Taunton Gas Company
(Massachusetts) Concord Electric Company and Exeter and Hamp-
ton Electric Company (New Hampshire) and Orange and Rock-
land Utilities, Inc. (New York), an exempt holding company with
subsidiaries in adjacent portions of New Jersey and Pennsylvania,
have shared executive offices and certain other administrative
services.

® AMC’s statement that as a result of the sale Lawrence is trans-
ferred from one combination gas and electric utility holding com-
pany to another is unfounded. Springfield is not part of a statu-
tory holding-company system, and none of the companies with
which it has any administrative relationships conduct an electric
utility business in Lawrence. The sale of Lawrence effectively
separates its gas business from the electric service that NEES
provides in that area.

24a

the preparatory discussions NEES conducted with all
prospective bidders involved Lawrence as well as Lynn,
Mystic Valley and North Shore. It had to because NEES
had offered, as one bidding alternative, the sale of all
four companies together. Pecause this issue was neces-
sarily identical on both sales, we deferred action on the
Lawrence sale until a full exploration of the bidding pro-
cedure was completed in the Eastern hearing. If any ir-
regularities were to be uncovered, AMC’s counsel had
ample opportunity to uncover them in the seven weeks of
hearings on the Eastern acquisition. Having found after
a full hearing that the procedures adopted by NEES
maintained competitive conditions in sufficient measure to
satisfy Section 12(d) and Rule 44,’° we saw no need for
another hearing for the purpose of again reviewing the
same subject.

From AMC’s original request and from its present motion
for rehearing, it appears that AMC’s main objective was
to consolidate for hearing the two proceedings. They dealt
with the sale of different properties to different purchas-
ers at different prices, and, except for the question of the
»idding procedure, the governing facts were not interre-
lated. We adhere to the original determination that con-
solidation would have encumbered each proceeding and
purchaser with questions and proof foreign to the expedi-
tious disposition of the particular transaction involved.

AMC also takes exception to our determination that an
acquisition of the stock of a utility company with a con-
current liquidation or merger of the company acquired
should be considered, under the Act, as an acquisition of
assets rather than as an acquisition of utility securities.
It requires no argument to show that this interpretation
correctly reflects the substance of the transaction being

1° Holding Company Act Release No. 18133 (October 25, 1973).

25a

examined. The acquisition of the stock is simply a method
of transferring title to the assets. We have not been pre-
sented with any persuasive reasons to change our long
standing interpretation of Section 9(a) (2).”

It appears that there was an inadvertent failure to serve
AMC with the Order of October 31, 1973, authorizing the
Lawrence sale. The motion for leave to file the petition for
rehearing out of time is granted.

For the reasons set forth above, the petition for rehear-
ing is denied.
By the Commission.

/s/ Georce A. FirzstmmMons
George A. Fitzsimmons
Secretary

11 Crescent Public Service Company, 22 S.E.C. 426, 432 (1946).
The same rule is well established in tax law. Cf. Ashland Oil &
Refining Corp. v. Commissioner, 99 F.2d 588 (C.A. 6, 1936), cert.
den., 306 U.S. 661; Kanawaha Gas & Utilities Co. v. Commissioner,
214 F. 2d 685, 691 (C.A. 5, 1954).

26a
APPENDIX B

Pusuic Utmrry Houtpinc Company Act or 1935*
Tirte I—Conrrou or Pusiic Uriuity Hoitpinc Companies
Necessity for Control of Holding Companies

Sec. 1. (a) Public-utility holding companies and their
subsidiary companies are affected with a national public
interest in that, among other things, (1) their securities
are widely marketed and distributed by means of the mails
and instrumentalities of interstate commerce and are sold
to a large number of investors in different States; (2)
their service, sales, construction, and other contracts and
arrangements are often made and performed by means of
the mails and instrumentalities of interstate commerce;
(3) their subsidiary public-utility companies often sell and
transport gas and electric energy by the use of means
and instrumentalities of interstate commerce; (4) their
practices in respect of and control over subsidiary com-
panies often materially affect the interstate commerce in
which those companies engage; (5) their activities extend-
ing over many States are not susceptible of effective con-
trol by any State and make difficult, if not impossible, ef-
fective State regulation of public-utility companies.

(b) Upon the basis of facts disclosed by the reports of
the Federal Trade Commission made pursuant to S. Res.
83 (Seventieth Congress, first session), the reports of the
Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, House
of Representatives, made pursuant to H. Res. 59 (Sev-
enty-second Congress, first session) and H. J. Res. 572
(Seventy-second Congress, second session) and otherwise
disclosed and ascertained, it is hereby declared that the
national public interest, the interest of investors on the
securities of holding companies and their subsidiary com-
panies and affiliates, and the interest of consumers of elec-

* Approved August 26, 1935, 49 Stat. 803, 15 U.S.C. 79a et seq.
Only Title I of this Act is printed herewith. Title II containing the
amendments of the Federal Water Power Act is administered by
the Federal Power Commission. (Note. See p. 29.)

27a

tric energy and natural and manufactured gas, are or may
be adversely affected—

(1) when such investors cannot obtain the information
necessary to appraise the financial position or earning
power of the issuers, because of the absence of uniform
standard accounts; when such securities are issued with-
out the approval or consent of the States having jurisdic-
tion over subsidiary public-utility companies; when such
securities are issued upon the basis of fictitious or un-
sound asset values having no fair relation to the sums in-
vested in or the earning capacity of the properties and
upon the basis of paper profits from intercompany trans-
actions, or in anticipation of excessive revenues from sub-
sidiary public-utilty companies; when such securities are
issued by a subsidiary public-utility company under cir-
cumstances which subject such company to the burden of
supporting an overcapitalized structure and tend to pre-
vent voluntary rate reductions;

(2) when subsidiary public-utility companies are sub-
jected to excessive charges for services, construction
work, equipment, and materials, or enter into transactions
in which evils result from an absence of arm’s-length bar-
gaining or from restraint of free and independent compe-
tition; when service, management, construction, and other
contracts involve the allocation of charges among subsid-
iary public-utility companies in different States so as to
present problems of regulation which cannot be dealt with
effectively by the States;

(3) when control of subsidiary public-utility companies
affects the accounting practices and rate, dividend, and
other policies of such companies so as to complicate and
obstruct State regulation of such companies, or when con-
trol of such companies is exerted through disproportion-
ately small investment;

(4) when the growth and extension of holding compan-
ies bears no relation to economy of management and op-

28a

eration or the integration and coordination of related op-
erating properties; or

(5) when in any other respect there is lack of economy
of management and operation of public-utility companies
or lack of efficiency and adequacy of service rendered by
such companies, or lack of effective public regulation, or
lack of economies in the raising of capital.

(c) When abuses of the character above enumerated be-
come persistent and wide-spread the holding company be-
comes an agency which, unless regulated, is injurious to
investors, consumers, and the general public; and it is
hereby declared to be the policy of this title, in accordance
with which policy all the provisions of this title shall be
interpreted, to meet the problems and eliminate the evils
as enumerated in this section, connected with public-util-
ity holding companies which are engaged in interstate com-
merce or in activities which directly affect or burden in-
terstate commerce; and for the purpose of effectuating
such policy to compel the simplification of public-utility
holding-company systems and the elimination therefrom
of properties detrimental to the proper functioning of
such systems, and to provide as soon as practicable for
the elimination of public-utility holding companies except
as otherwise expressly provided in this title.

Definitions

Sec. 2. (a) When used in this title, unless the context
otherwise requires—
* * . * * * . 7 * +

(11) ‘‘Affiliate’’ of a specified company means—

(A) any person that directly or indirectly owns, con-
trols, or holds with power to vote, 5 per centum or
more of the outstanding voting securities of such
specified company ;

29a

Acquisition of Securities and Utility Assets and
Other Interests

Sec. 9. (a) Unless the acquisition has been approved by
the Commission under section 10, it shall be unlawful—

(1) for any registered holding company or any sub-
si.iary company thereof, by use of the mails or any
means or instrumentality of interstate commerce, or
otherwise, to acquire, directly or indirectly, any securi-
ties or utility assets or any other interest in any busi-
ness;

(2) for any person, by use of the mails or any means
or instrumentality of interstate commerce, to acquire,
directly or indirectly, any security of any pvublic-utility
company, if such person is an affiliate, under clause (A)
of paragraph (11) of subsection (a) of section 2, of
such company and of any other public utility or holding
company, or will by virtue of such acquisition become
such an affiliate.

(b) Subsection (a) shall not apply to—

(1) the acquisition by a public-utility company of util-
ity assets the acquisition of which has been expressly
authorized by a State commission; or

(2) the acquisition by a public-utility company of se-
curities of a subsidiary public-utility company thereof,
provided that both such public-utility companies and
all other public-utility companies in the same holding-
company system are organized in the same State, that
the business of each such company in such system is
substantially confined to such State, and that the acqui-
sition of such securities has been expressly authorized
by the State commission of such State.

(c) Subsection (a) shall not apply to the acquisition by
a registered holding company, or a subsidiary company
thereof, of—

30a

(i} securities of, or securities the principal or inter-
est of which is guaranteed by, the United States, a
State, or political subdivision of a State, or any agency,
authority, or instrumentality of any one or more of the
foregoing, or any corporation which is wholly owned,
directly or indirectly, by any one or more of the fore-
going ;

(2) such other readily marketable securities, within
the limitation of such amounts, as the Commission may
by rules and regulations prescribe as appropriate for
investment of current funds and as not detrimental to
the public interest or the interest of investors or con-
sumers; or

(3) such commercial paper and other securities, with-
in such limitations, as the Commission may by rules and
regulations or order prescribe as appropriate in the
ordinary course of business of a registered holding com-
pany or subsidiary company thereof and as not detri-
mental to the public interest or the interest of investors
or consumers.

Approval of Acquisition of Securities and Utility Assets
and Other Interests

Sec. 10. (a) A person may apply for approval of the

3la

(A) the security to be acquired, the consideration to
be paid therefor, and compliance with such State laws
as may apply in respect of the issue, sale, or acquisition
thereof,

(B) the outstanding securities of the company whose
security is to be acquired, the terms, position, rights,
and privileges of each class and the options in respect
of any such securities,

(C) the names of all security holders of record (or
otherwise known to the applicant) owning, holding, or
controlling 1 per centum or more of any class of security
of such company, the officers and directors of such com-
pany, and their remuneration, security holdings in, ma-
terial contracts with, and borrowings from such com-
pany and the offices or directorships held, and securities
owned, held, or controlled, by them in other companies,

(D) the bonus, profit-sharing and voting-trust agree-
ments, underwriting arrangements, trust indentures,
mortgages, and similar documents, by whatever name
known, of or relating to such company,

(E) the material contracts, not made in the ordinary
course of business, and the service, sales, and construc-
tion contracts of such company,

acquisition of securities or utility assets, or of any other
interest in any business, by filing an application in such
form as the Commission may by rules and regulations pre-
scribe as necessary or appropriate in the public interest
or for the protection of investors and consumers. Such
application shall include—

(F) the securities owned, held, or controlled, directly
or indirectly, by such company,

(G) balance sheets and profit and k 3s statements of
such company for not more than five preceding fiscal
years, certified, if required by the rules and regulations
of the Commission by an independent public accountant,

(1) in the case of the acquisition of securities, such
information and copies of such documents as the Com-
mission may by rules and regulations or order pre-
scribe as necessary or appropriate in the public interest

(H) any further information regarding such company
and any associate company or affiliate thereof, or its re-
ations with the applicant company, and

or for the protection of investors or consumers in re-
spect of—

(I) if the applicant be not a registered holding com-
pany, any of the information and documents which may

32a

be required under section 5 from a registered holding
company ;

(2) in the case of the acquisition of utility assets, such
information concerning such assets, the value thereof and
consideration to be paid therefor, the owner or owners
thereof and their relation to, agreements with, and interest
in the securities of, the applicant or any associate company
thereof as the Commission may by rules and regulations or
order prescribe as necessary or appropriate in the public
interest or for the protection of investors or consumers;
and

(3) in the case of the acquisition of any othe interest
in any business, such information concerning such business
and the interest to be acquired, and the consideration to be
paid, as the Commission may by rules and regulations or
order prescribe as necessary or appropriate in the public
interest or for the protection of investors or consumers.

(b) If the requirements of subsection (f) are satisfied,
the Commission shall approve the acquisition unless the
Commission finds that—

(1) such acquisition will tend towards interlocking
relations or the concentration of control of public-
utility companies, of a kind or to an extent detrimental
to the public interest or the interest of investors or
consumers ;

(2) in ease of the acquisition of securities or utility
assets, the consideration, including all fees, commis-
sions, and other remuneration, to whomsoever paid, to
be given, directly or indirectly, in connection with such
acquisition is not reasonable or does not bear a fair re-
lation to the sums invested in or the earning capacity
of the utility assets to be acquired or the utility assets
underlying the securities to be acquired; or

(3) such acquisition will unduly complicate the capi-
tal structure of the holding-company system of the ap-

33a

plicant or will be detrimental to the public interest or
the interest of investors or consumers or the proper
functioning of such holding-company system.

The Commission may condition its approval of the acquisi-
tion of securities of another company upon such a fair offer
to purchase such of the other securities of the company
whose security is to be acquired as the Commission may
find necessary or appropriate in the public interest or for
the protection of investors or consumers.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (b), the
Commission shall not approve—

(1) an acquisition of securities or utility assets, or of any
other interest, which is unlawful under the provisions of
section 8 or is detrimental to the carrying out of the pro-
visions of section 11; or

(2) the acquisition of securities or utility assets of a pub-
lic-utility or holding company unless the Commission finds
that such acquisition will serve the public interest by tend-
ing towards the economical and efficient development of an
integrated public-utility system. This paragraph shali not
apply to the acquisition of securities or utility assets of a
public-utility company operating exclusively outside the
United States.

(d) Within such reasonable time after the filing of an
application under this section as the Commission shall fix
by rules and regulations or order, the Commission shall
enter an order either granting or, after notice and oppor-
tunity for hearing, denying approval of the acquisition
unless the applicant shall withdraw its application. Amend-
ments to an application may be made upon such terms and
conditions as the Commission may prescribe.

(e) The Commission, in any order approving the acqui-
sition of securities or utility assets, may prescribe such
terms and conditions in respect of such acquisition, inelud-
ing the price to be paid for such securities or utility assets,

ota

as the Commission may find necessary or appropriate in
the public interest or for the protection of investors or
consumers.

(f) The Commission shall not approve any acquisition as
to which an application is made under this section unless it
appears to the satisfaction of the Commission that such
State laws as may apply in respect of such acquisition have
been complied with, except where the Commission finds
that compliance with such State laws would be detrimental
to the carrying out of the provisions of section 11.

Simplification of Holding-Company Systems

Sec. 11. (a) It shall be the duty of the Commission to
examine the corporate structure of every registered hold-
ing company and subsidiary company thereof, the relation-
ships among the companies in the holding-company system
of every such company and the character of the interests
thereof and the properties owned or controlled thereby to
determine the extent to which the corporate structure of
such holding-company system and the companies therein
may be simplified, unnecessary complexities therein climi-
nated, voting power fairly and equitably distributed among
the holders of securities thereof, and the properties and
business thereof confined to those necessary or appropri-
ate to the operations of an integrated public-utility system.

(b) It shall be the duty of the Commission, as soon as
practicable after January 1, 1928:

_(1) To require by order, after notice and opportu-
nity for hearing, that each registered holding company,
and each subsidiary company thereof, shall take such
action us the Commission shall find necessary to limit
the operations of the holding-company system of which
such company is a part to a single integrated public-
utility system, and to such other businesses as are
reasonably incidental, or economically necessary or ap-
propriate to the operations of such integrated public-
utility system: Provided, however, That the Commis-

35a

sion shall permit a registered holding company to
continue to control one or more additional integrated
public-utility systems, if, after notice and opportunity
for hearing, it finds that—

(A) Each of such additional systems cannot be
operated as an independent system without the loss
substantial economies which can be secured by the
retention of control by such holding company of such
system;

(B) All of such additional systems are located in
one State, or in adjoining States, or in a contiguous
foreign country; and

(C) The continued combination of such systems
under the control of such holding company is not
so large (considering the state of the art and the
area or region affected) as to impair the advantage
of localized management, efficient operation, or the
effectiveness of regulation.

The Commission may permit as reasonably incidental,
or economically necessary or appropriate to the opera-
tions of one or more integrated public-utility systems
the retention of an interest in any business (other than
the business of a public-utility company as such) which
the Commission shall find necessary or appropriate in
the public interest or for the protection of investors or
consumers and not detrimental to the proper function-
ing of such system or systems.

(2) To require by order, after notice and opportu-
nity for hearing, that each registered holding com-
pany, and each subsidiary company thereof, shall take
such steps as the Commission shall find necessary
to ensure that the corporate structure or con-
tinued existence of any company in the holding-
company system does not unduly or unnecessarily com-
plicate the structure, or unfairly or inequitably dis-
tribute voting power among security holders, of such
holding-company system. In carrying out the pro-
visions of this paragraph the Commission shall require
each registered holding company (and any company
in the same holding-company system with such hold-

36a

ing company) to take such action as the Commission
shall find necessary in order that such holding com-
pany shall cease to be a holding company with respect
to each of its subsidiary companies which itself has a
subsidiary company which is a holding company. Ex-
cept for the purpose of fairly and equitably distribut-
ing voting power among the security holders of such
company, nothing in this paragraph shall authorize
the Commission to require any change in the corporate
structure or existence of any company which is not
a holding company, or of any company whose principal
business is that of a public-utility company.

The Commission may by order revoke or modify any order
previously made under this subsection, if, after notice and
opportunity for hearing, it finds that the conditions upon
which the order was predicated do not exist. Any order
made under this subsection shall be subject to judicial re-
view as provided in section 24.

(c) Any order under subsection (b) shall be complied
with within one year from the date of such order; but the
Commission shall, upon a showing (made before or after
the entry of such order) that the applicant has been or will
be unable in the exercise of due diligence to comply with
such order within such time, extend such time for an addi-
tional period not exceeding one year if it finds such exten-
sion necessary or appropriate in the public interest or for
the protection of investors or consumers.

(d) The Commission may apply to a court, in accordance
with the provisions of subsection (f) of section 18, to en-
force compliance with any order issued under subsection
(b). In any such proceeding, the court as a court of equity
may, to such extent as it deems necessary for purposes of
enforcement of such order, take exclusive jurisdiction and
possession of the company or companies and the assets
thereof, wherever located; and the court shall have juris-
diction, in any such proceeding, to appoint a trustee, and
the court may constitute and appoint the Commission as

lan ph aniia dukdiin eee eid »

<A apwe en +

TO PO Oe POEUN aD EW

Pe eT a eee

37a

sole trustee, to hold or administer under the direction of
the court the assets so possessed. In any proceeding for
the enforcement of an order of the Commission issued
under subsection (b), the trustee with the approval of the
court shall have power to dispose of any or all of such as-
sets and, subject to such terms and conditions as the court
may prescribe, may make such disposition in accordance
with a fair and equitable reorganization plan which shall
have been approved by the Commission after opportraity
for hearing. Such reorganization plan may be proposed in
the first instance by the Commission, or, subject to such
rules and regulations as the Commission may deem neces-
sary or appropriate in the public interest or for the protec-
tion of investors, by any person having a bona fide interest
(as defined by the rules and regulations of the Commis-
sion) in the reorganization.

(e) In accordance with such rules and regulations or
order as the Commission may deem necessary or appro-
priate in the public interest or for the protection of in-
vestors or consumers, any registered holding company or
any subsidiary company of a registered holding company
may, at any time after January 1, 1936, submit a plan to
the Commission for the divestment of control, securities,
or other assets, or for other action by such company or any
subsidiary company thereof for the purpose of enabling
such company or any subsidiary company thereof to com-
ply with the provisions of subsection (b). If, after notice
and opportunity for hearing, the Commission shall find
such plan, as submitted or as modified, necessary to ef-
fectuate the provisions of subsection (b) and fair and
equitable to the persons affected by such plan, the Com-
mission shall make an order approving such plan; and the
Commission, at the request of the company, may apply to
a court, in accordance with the provisions of subsection
(f) of section 18, to enforce and carry out the terms and
provisions of such plan. If, upon any such application,
the court, after notice and opportunity for hearing, shall

38a

approve such plan as fair and equitable and as appropriate
to effectuate the provisions of section 11, the court as a
court of equity may, to such extent as it deems necessary
for the purpose of carrying out the terms and provisions
of such plan, take exclusive jurisdiction and possession of
the company or companies and the assets thereof, wherever
located; and the court shall have jurisdiction to appoint a
trustee, and the court may constitute and appoint the Com-
mission as sole trustee, to hold or administer under the
direction of the court and in accordance with the plan
theretofore approved by the court and the Commission,
the assets so possessed.

(f) In any proceeding in a court of the United States,
whether under this section or otherwise, in which a receiver
or trustee is appointed for any registered holding com-
pany, or any subsidiary company thereof, the court may
constitute and appoint the Commission as sole trustee or
receiver, subject to the directions and orders of the court,
whether or not a trustee or receiver shall theretofore have
been appointed, and in any such proceeding the court shall
not appoint any person other than the Commision as trus-
tee or receiver without notifying the Commision and giving
it an opportunity to be heard before making any such
otherwise shall the Commission be appointed as trustee or
receiver without its express consent. In any such proceed-
ing a reorganization plan for a registered holding company
or any subsidiary company thereof shall not become effec-
tive unless such plan shall have been approved by the com-
mission after opportunity for hearing prior to its submis-
sion to the court. Notwithstanding any other provision
of law, any such reorganization plan may be proposed in
the first instance by the Commission or, subject to such
rules and regulations as the Commission may deem neces-
sary or appropriate in the public interest or for the protec-
tion of investors, by any person having a bona fide interest
(as defined by the rules and regulations of the Commis-
sion) in the reorganization. The Commission may, by such

39a

rules and regulations or order as it may deem necessary or
appropriate in the public interest or for the protection of
investors or consumers, require that any or all fees, ex-
penses, and remuneration, to whomsoever paid, in connec-
tion with any reorganization, dissolution, liquidation, bank-
ruptcy, or receivership of a registered holding company or
subsidiary company thereof, in any such proceeding shall
be subject to approval by the Commission.

(¢) It shall be unlawful for any person to solicit or per-
mit the use of his or its name to solicit, by use of the mails
or any means or instrumentality of interstate commerce,
or otherwise, any proxy, consent, authorization, power of
attorney, deposit, or dissent in respect of any reorganiza-
tion plan of a registered holding company or any subsidi-
ary company thereof under this section, or otherwise, or
in respect of any plan under this section for the divest-
ment of control, securities, or other assets, or for the disso-
lution of any registered holding company or any subsidiary
company thereof, unless—

(1) the plan has been proposed by the Commission,
or the plan and such information regarding it and its
sponsors as the Commission may deem necessary or
appropriate in the public interest or for the protection
of investors or consumers has been submitted to the
Commission by a person having a bona fide interest
(as defined by the rules and regulations of the Com-
mission) in such reorganization ;

(2) each such solicitation is accompanied or pre-
ceded by a copy of a report on the plan which shall be
made by the Commission after an opportunity for a
hearing on the plan and other plans submitted to it,
or by an abstract of such report made or approved by
the Commission; and

(3) each such solicitation is made not in contraven-
tion of such rules and regulations or orders as the

40a

Commission may deem necessary or appropriate in the
public interest or for the protection of investors or
consumers.

Nothing in this subsection or the rules and regulations
thereunder shall prevent any person from appearing be-
fore the Commission or any court through an attorney or
proxy.

G The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
nomen

PAUL 6. OITLin
EXECUTIVE SECRETARY

October 1, 1975
The following resolution was adopted by unanimous vote

of the Massachusetts Consumers’ Council at its regularly

scheduled monthly meeting of September 11, 1975.

Resolved:
That the Massachusetts Consumers’ Council urge the
Association of Massachusetts Consumers to continue and

pursue its challenge to the merger of Lawrence Gas with

aoa TTT TGS i elf

Springfield Gas (now Bay State Gas) and explore all
avenwes of appeal, including the Supreme Court, in order
to force resclution of the public interest considerations
involved in the creation of bigger and bigger utiiity

combinations in Massachusetts.

A true copy attested by:

NOTARY PUBLIC:

0

we

my Coase SSicn Cave’ 0k
mAT UA

43a
APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
FEDERAL POWER COMMISSION

Before Commissioners: Jonn N. Nassrtkas, Chairman;
Wruiam L, Sprincer, and Joun H. Hottoman III.

Docket No. ID-1316
Grorce A. CARLSON

Docket No. ID-1643
Tuomas W. SHERMAN

Docket No. ID-1599
JAMES F’. SMITH

Docket No. ID-1095
Cuarzes H. Tenney IT

Order To Show Cause

(Issued September 15, 1975)

By order issued October 24, 1957, George A. Carlson
(Applicant) was authorized pursuant to Section 305(b) of
the Federal Power Act to hold the following positions:

Assistant Treasurer—Fitchburg Gas & Electric Light Com-
pany

Assistant Treasurer—Rockland Light & Power Company

Assistant Treasurer—Rockland Hieciric Company

Assistant Treasurer—Pike County Light & Power Com-
pany

By order issued November 26, 1971, Thomas W. Sherman
(Applicant) was authorized pursuant to Section 305(b)
of the Federal Power Act to hold the following positions:

Assistant Treasurer—Orange & Rockland Utilities, Ine.

Assistant Treasurer—Rockland Electric Company

44a

Assistant Treasurer—Pike County Light & Power Com-
pany

Assistant Treasurer—Fitchburg Gas & Electric Light
Company

By order issued August 2, 1972, James F. Smith (Appli-
cant) was authorized pursuant to Section 305(b) of the
Federal Power Act to hold the following positions:

Director, Vice President, Treasurer and Assistant Secre-
tary—Orange & Rockland Utilities, Inc.

Director, Vice President, Treasurer and Assistant Secre-
tary—Rockland Electrie Company

Director, Vice President, Treasurer and Assistant Secre-
tary—Pike County Light & Power Company

Director and Vice President—Fitchburg Gas and Electric
Light Company

By order issued February 18, 1964, Charles H. Tenney IT
(Applicant) was authorized pursuant to Section 305(b) of
the Federal Power Act to hold the following positions:

Chairman of the Board of Directors, Director—Orange &
Rockland Utilities, Ine.

Chairman of the Board of Directors, Director—Pike
County Light & Power Company

Chairman of the Board of Directors, Director—Rockland
Electric Company

Chairman of the Board of Directors, Director—Fitchburg
Gas & Electric Light Company

In each of the aforementioned orders, the Commission
reserved the right to require Applicants to make further
showings that neither public nor private interests would
be adversely affeeted by the continued holding of the above-
named positions.

45a

Persons are prohibited by Section 305(b) of the Federal
Power Act from holding interlocking board of directors
and officers positions in two or more utilities unless they
demonstrate that such holding is not adverse to public or
private interests. In the past, the Commission has gen-
erally authorized the holding of interlocking positions
between companies which are under common ownership,
which have adjoining territories, and which operate as a
single integrated utility system, as in the case of utilities
within the Orange & Rockland Group.’ However, the Ap-
plicants hold positions which interlock both within the
Orange & Rockland Group and with companies outside *
the Orange and Rockland Group. The Commission has not
granted authorization for persons to hold interlocking
positions which extend outside a group of utilities which
operate as an integrated utility system, except in the case
of the applicants all of whom are associated with the so
called ‘‘Tenney Group’’’*.

Based upon a Staff investigation of the ‘‘Tenney Group’’
arrangement, the Commission has determined that the
present holding of interlocking positions which extend to
utilities outside the Orange & Rockland Group may be
adverse to public or private interests insofar as Orange &
Rockland and subsidiaries are concerned because:

1 Utilities involved in the Orange & Rockland Group arrange-
ment are: Orange & Rockland Utilities, Inc., and its subsidiaries,
Rockland Electric Company, and Pike County Light & Power
Company. These companies are subject to Commission jurisdiction.

2Tenney Group companies outside the Orange & Rockland
Group: Fitchburg Gas & Electric Company (subject to Commission
jurisdiction), Brockton Taunton Gas Company, Concord Electric
Company, Exeter and Hampton Electric Company, and Bay State
Gas Company.

8 “‘Tenney Group’’: Provides management and other services
to the group of utilities listed in footnotes 1 & 2, notwithstanding
the fact that the number of shares of voting stock owned directly
or indirectly in each company is relatively small.

46a

(1) Orange & Rockland Utilities and subsidiaries no
longer should be considered a small utility and the com-
plexity of its operation warrants full time executive man-
agement by its officers and directors;

(2) Support of offices in Boston by Orange & Rockland
Utilities and subsidiaries as an integral part of sharing
the talent of certain key executives appears no longer to be
justified by any reciprocal benefits to Orange & Rockland
and its subsidiaries;

(3) Orange & Rockland Utilities and subsidiaries while
sharing its top executives with other utilities encountered
serious financial problems much earlier than the onset of
financial problems in the electric utility industry and these
problems were attributable in part to deficiencies which
relate to:

(a) management of reported earnings beginning as
early as 1968 through accounting changes while avoid-
ing requests for rate increases;

(b) actions related to arrangements for construction
and operation of the Bowline Generating Station on a
joint owneiship basis with Consolidated Edison Com-
pany; and

(c) administration of joint-use of pole arrangements
with telephone utilities and cable television operators.

Notwithstanding the size and complexity of the opera-
tions of Orange & Rockland and subsidiaries, the ‘‘ Tenney
Group’’ arrangement calls for four persons in executive
management positions to be located in Boston apart from
Orange & Rockland’s main office in Spring Valley, New
York and to devote only part of their time to the affairs of
Orange & Rockland and subsidiaries.

In addition, Charles H. Tenney II as Chairman of the
Board of Directors for Orange & Rockland Group Compa-
nies and other Companies participating in the ‘‘Tenney

47a

Group’’ arrangement received in 1973 a total salary of
$158,417.00, of which 42% or $65,750.00 was borne by
Orange & Rockland Utilities and subsidiaries. For the
year 1973 Orange & Rockland Utilities and subsidiaries
had operating revenues totaling approximately $123.4 mil-
lion. Accounting to a report published by Commonwealth
Management Consultants,‘ the median salary for the high-
est paid top executive of a company having revenues in
the range of $123.4 million was between $70,000 and
$80,000, or about one-half of the effective annual rate paid
Charles H. Tenney II by Orange & Rockland and subsid-
iaries. Absent a showing of special circumstances, there
would appear to be no justification for Applicant to re-
ceive a salary substantially in excess of the levels paid
other utility executives reported in the survey.

The Commission finds:

In view of the foregoing, it is necessary and appropriate
for the purpose of administering the Federal Power Act
that the Applicants show cause, if any there be, why the
Commission should not terminate the present authority to
hold the interlocking positions referred to above.

The Commission orders:

(A) George A. Carlson, ID-1316, shall show cause, if
any there be, on or before October 17, 1975, why the Com-
mission should not find and determine that the continued
authorization to hold the following interlocking positions:

Assistant Treasurer—Fitchburg Gas & Electric Light
Company

Assistant Treasurer—Rockland Light & Power Company
Assistant Treasurer—Rockland Electric Company

4The published results of a study of executive salaries by Com-
monweelth Management Consultants for the year 1971. The sur-
vey on which the results were based included executives in 77
electric, gas, combination and pipeline utility companies.

48a

Assistant Treasurer—Pike County Light & Power Com-
pany

would be adverse to public or private interests and should
be terminated.

(B) Thomas W. Sherman, ID-1643, shall show cause, if
any there be, on or before October 17, 1975, why the Com-
mission should not find and determine that the continued
authorizations to hold the following interlocking positions.

Assistant Treasurer—Orange & Rockland Utilities, Ine.

Assistant Treasurer—Rockland Electric Company

Assistant Treasurer—Pike County Light & Power Com-
pany

Assistant Treasurer—Fitchburg Gas & Electric Light
Company

would be adverse to public or private interests and should
be terminated.

(C) James F. Smith, 1D-1599, shall show cause, if any
there be, on or before October 17, 1975, why the Commis-
sion should not find and determine that the continued
authorization to hold the following interlocking positions:

Director, Vice President, Treasurer and Assistant Secre-
tary—Orange & Rockland Utilities, Inc.

Direetor, Vice President, Treasurer and Assistant Secre-
tary—Rockland Electric Company

Director, Vice President, Treasurer and Assistant Secre-
tary—Pike County Light & Power Company

Director and Vice President—Fitchburg Gas & Electric
Light Company

would be adverse to public or private interests and should
be terminated.

49a

(D) Charles H. Tenney II, ID-1095, shall show cause,
if any there be, on or before October 17, 1975, why the
Commission should not find and determine that the con-
tinued authorization to hold the following interlocking
positions:

Chairman of the Board of Directors, Director—Orange &
Rockland Utilities, Inc.

Chairman of the Board of Directors, Director—Pike
County Light & Power Company

Chairman of the Board of Directors, Director—Rockland
Electric Company

Chairman of the Board of Directors, Director—Fitchburg
Gas & Electric Light Company

would be adverse to public or private interests and should
be terminated.

By the Commission.

(Sav)
Kewnneta F. Pius,
Secretary.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_1228%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
