# Opposition — Umphres v. Shell Oil Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0986%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 423 U.S. 929

## Text

|

In THE
Supreme Court of the AK, JR., CLERK

OCTOBER TERM, 1975

No. 75-349

L. W. UMPHREs,
Vv.

SHELL Or COMPANY,
Respondent.

Petitioner,

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

WILLIAM SIMON
JOHN S. KINGDON
1730 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D. C. 20006
Of Counsel: ‘202) 872-8800

Howrey & SIMON Counsel for Respondent
Washington, D. C. Shell Oil Company

WILLIAM G. WINTERS, JR.
One Shell Plaza
Houston, Texas 77002
(713) 220-5891

October 1, 1975

WILSON - Epss Printing Co.. INC. - RE 7-6002 - WASHINGTON. D. C. 20001

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1975

No. 75-349

L. W. UMPHRES,
Petitioner,
Vv.

SHELL O1L COMPANY,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The per curiam opinion of the Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit is reported at 512 F.2d 420 ( 5th Cir.
1975). The order denying petitioner’s motion for re-
hearing en banc is noted at 515 F.2d 1184 (5th Cir.
1975).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the entry of directed verdicts by the trial
court on the basis of a lack of evidentiary support for

2

petitioner’s various claims and the per curiam affirmance
of those directed verdicts by the Court of Appeals pre-
sents any substantial legal issue for resolution by this
Court on writ of certiorari.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner’s private antitrust action included allega-
tions of violations of the Sherman Act (15 U.S.C. §1);
the Clayton Act (15 U.S.C. § 3); and the Robinson-Pat-
man Act (15 U.S.C. §13(a)) arising from his business
as a retail service station dealer in Houston, Texas leas-
ing stations and purchasing products from respondent
Shell Oil Company (“Shell”). The trial was preceded by
more than two years of pretrial discovery. In five days
of trial petitioner attempted to prove (1) that respond-
ent tied the leasing of its service stations to the purchase
of its gasoline; (2) that respondent tied the leasing of its
service stations to the purchase of its tires, batteries and
accessories; (3) that respondent tied the leasing of its
service stations to the purchase of trading stamps and
the use of its promotional games; (4) that respondent
fixed the price of gasoline at the wholesale level by a
horizontal conspiracy with other suppliers; (5) that re-
spondent fixed the price of gasoline at the retail level by
coercing petitioner to follow respondent’s price sugges-
tions; (6) that respondent engaged in price discrimina-
tion in the sale of its automotive accessories; and (7)
that respondent terminated petitioner’s leases on four
— service stations in violation of federal antitrust
aws.

The evidence adduced during petitioner’s case, by both
direct and cross-examination, showed that respondent
had not violated any antitrust law. There were no leases,
agreements or contracts which contained any exclusionary
provisions regarding gasoline, automotive accessories,
stamps or promotional games (Tr. 312; 800; Pif. Ex. 2,

3, 4, 5; Def. Ex. 33).' Petitioner’s own testimony, and
the testimony of his own witnesses, demonstrated both
the absence of coercion and that dealers had complete
freedom to purchase or not to purchase Shell products
and promotions (Tr. 123; 368; 549; 720; 834-835; 846;
Def. Ex. 4). The evidence presented by petitioner on
price discrimination failed to show either that respondent
had engaged in any discriminatory sales to two pur-
chasers in the same line of business, or that any such
discrimination could have caused injury to petitioner
(Tr. 76; 856-858).

Petitioner’s evidence relating to horizontal and vertical
price fixing was equally deficient. The only testimony
-oncerning horizontal price fixing at the wholesale level
between Shell and unidentified major oil companies re-
lated to fluctuations in the retail price of gasoline at but
five of the approximately 2800 service stations in the
Houston area (Tr. 759). Although answers by various
major oil companies to petitioner’s depositions upon
written interrogatories showed wholesale gasoline prices
in the Houston area for the relevant time period, and
those sworn answers were on file in the Clerk’s office,
petitioner failed to offer the available wholesale price
data into evidence. As recognized by the Fifth Circuit:

Appellant failed to produce evidence establishing the
existence of an intercompany price-fixing agreement,
arrangement, or conspiracy at the retail level, or at
the wholesale level that might have been reflected in
the alleged fluctuations of retail prices (512 F.2d at
422).

The petition misstates the record in material respects
in its “Statement of Case” (Pet. 5-6). Without a single

1 Respondent has included citations to the record to support
factual statements. In contrast, the petition is devoid of record
references and contains a wholly unsupportable characterization
of the case (Pet. 5-6). The correct factual statements appear in
the record and in the opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals.

4

reference to the record, for indeed there is none, the
petition implies that the claims of “coercive tactics” and
“threats” were substantiated in the record. The Court
of Appeals found no evidence of coercive pressures, citing
instead petitioner’s own sworn testimony that:

It was my decision to change the prices [of gaso-
line] at all times at any of my stations (Tr. 426;
512 F.2d at 422).

Petitioner’s testimony contradicted the claims in his com-
plaint, and the trial court and the appellate court con-
cluded that there were insufficient facts upon which to
base any finding of antitrust liability. The Fifth Circuit
affirmed the District Court’s rulings on liability in all
respects, summarizing the record by concluding:

The record in this case reflects the respective roles
of an oil company and its dealer in a competitive
market where the oil company must distribute its
products within the structures of the antitrust laws.
Plaintiff failed in his effort to prove any one of the
alleged violations of those laws with evidence suffi-
cient to warrant submission to the jury (512 F.2d
at 423).
ARGUMENT

The Per Curiam Decision Of The Court Of Appeal
Was Correct And Presents No Important Federal
Question Or Conflict Of Decisions

Despite petitioner’s attempt to couch his petition in
terms of conflicting decisions and constitutional ques-
tions, this matter involves only the factual record as
presented at trial and reviewed on appeal. As such, it
clearly does not merit the exercise of this Court’s dis-
cretionary jurisdiction and review.

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals expressly pointed
out that their consideration of respondent’s directed ver-

<— nt

——# *

5

dict motions was in accordance with the admittedly cor-
rect legal standard:

“Our standard for reviewing directed verdicts was
explicated in Boeing Co. v. Shipman, 5 Cir., (en
banc), 1969, 411 F.2d 365:

On motions for directed verdict . . . the Court
shall consider all of the evidence—not just that
evidence which supports the non-mover’s case—
but in the light and with all reasonable infer-
ences most favorable to the party opposed to
the motion. If the facts and inferences point
so strongly and overwhelmingly in favor of one
party that the Court believes that reasonable
men could not arrive at a contrary verdict,
granting of the motions is proper. On the other
hand, if there is substantial evidence opposed
to the motions, that is, evidence of such quality
and weight that reasonable and fair-minded men
in the exercise of impartial judgment might
reach different conclusions, the motions should
be denied, and the case submitted to the jury.
411 F.2d at 374.

See also Panotex Pipe Line Co. v. Phillips Petrolewm
Co., 5 Cir., 1972, 457 F.2d 1279, affirming a di-
rected verdict in an antitrust case.

(1) Reviewing the record on appeal with the
Boeing principles in mind, we conclude that the
District Court did not err in granting Shell a di-
rected verdict” (512 F.2d at 422).

The sole question raised by this petition is whether
the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, in reviewing the
factual record, correctly concluded that the record facts
and permissible inferences therefrom pointed so strongly
and overwhelmingly in favor of respondent that reason-
able men could not have arrived at a contrary verdict
(512 F.2d at 422). Petitioner asks this Court to en-
gage in yet another factual review of the District Court’s

6

directed verdict decisions. There is no substantial fed-
eral question for this Court’s consideration.

The petition errs in asserting that the appellate court
weighed the credibility of the evidence and failed to give
petitioner all favorable inferences (Pet. 9).* Nowhere
in the panel’s decision does the court choose to disbelieve
petitioner’s witnesses or refuse to draw reasonable in-
ferences in favor of petitioner. The court assumed the
truth of petitioner’s evidence, allowing for such reason-
able inferences as were warranted by the evidence, and
simply concluded that petitioner’s case was “clearly in-
substantial” (512 F.2d at 422).

The Court of Appeals’ determination was consistent
with Brady v. Southern Railroad Co., 320 U.S. 476, 479-
480 (1943) which is relied on by petitioner. In Brady
this Court expressly sanctioned the entry of directed ver-
dicts in a case such as this, declaring:

When the evidence is such that without weighing
the credibility of the witnesses there can be but
one reasonable conclusion as to the verdict, the court
should determine the proceeding by . . . directed
verdict . . . without submission to the jury....
By such direction of the trial the result is saved
from the mischance of speculation over legally un-
founded claims.

This case involves only questions of the sufficiency of
evidence that are unique to this proceeding. The factual

2 Petitioner suggests that it was improper for the appellate court
to refuse to infer a horizontal price fixing conspiracy at the whole-
sale level where petitioner’s only evidence consisted of price fluc-
tuations “obtained from a limited source-only five out of over 2,800
[retail] service stations in the Houston area” (Pet. 3). However,
Boeing Co. v. Shipman and decisions from other circuit courts on
the proper standard for review of directed verdicts are in accord
in holding that only reasonable inferences must be drawn in favor
of the non-moving party. To infer a price fixing conspiracy from
this record, as petitioner suggests, would invite a speculative jury
verdict on unsubstantiated claims.

7

record was fully considered and properly ruled upon by
both the District Court and the Court of Appeals in ac-
cordance with established legal rules. Under these cir-
cumstances this Court’s admonition in United States v.
Johnson, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925), that it “do[es] not
grant certiorari to review evidence and discuss specific
facts” should be the controlling factor in ruling upon
this petition.*

The District Court granted respondent’s motions for
directed verdicts on all issues of liability and damages.
The contested issues relating to the District Court’s dam-
age rulings were separately briefed and argued by the
parties on appeal. The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals,
having concluded that there was no liability established
on any of petitioner’s antitrust claims, expressly declined
to consider the damage issues (512 F.2d at 423). If this
petition is granted, and this Court after reviewing the
factual record concerning liability remands the case for
further proceedings, the remand would necessarily be to
the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals—not to the District
Court—for review of the correctness of the District
Court’s directed verdicts on damages. Powell v. Me-
Cormack, 395 U.S. 486, 500 n.16 (1969); Utah Pie Co.
v. Continental Baking, 386 U.S. 685, 704 (1967).

CONCLUSION

The practice of this Court has been to grant writs of
certiorari only in cases involving either principles of
fundamental importance to the general public or a direct
conflict in circuit court opinions. Respondent respectfully

3 In Brady, supra, this Court also noted the limited purpose
served by its review of factual matters:

An examination of the proven facts to determine whether
they are sufficient to permit a verdict by the jury ... is of no
doctrinal importance. Every case varies (320 U.S. at 480).

8

submits that the instant petition presents no important
question of federal law and no conflict of decisions calling
for settlement by this Court. The per curiam decision of
the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit measured the
factual record at trial against the appropriate legal
standard for directing verdicts. As such it does not merit
review by this Court. The petition for writ of certiorari
should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM SIMON

JOHN S. KINGDON
1730 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20006
(202) 872-8800

Counsel for Respondent
Shell Oil Company

Of Counsel:

Howrey & SIMON
Washington, D. C.

WILLIAM G. WINTERS, JR.
One Shell Plaza
Houston, Texas 77002
(713) 229-5891

October 1, 1975

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0986%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
