# Amicus Brief — Quinn v. Muscare

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0772%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 425 U.S. 560

## Text

MOTION FILED
FEB4 1976

No. 75-130

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1975

Ropert J. QUINN, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS CoMMISSIONER
or THE Cuicaco Fire DepartTMENT,
Petitioner,
v.

Francis Muscare,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF
AS AMICUS CURIAE

AND

BRIEF FOR THE AMERICAN FEDERATION OF
LABOR AND CONGRESS OF INDUSTRIAL
ORGANIZATIONS
AS AMICUS CURIAE

J. ALBERT WoLL

Rosert C. Mayer
736 Bowen Building
815 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005

LAURENCE GOLD
815 Sixteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for AFL-CIO

Page
MOTION:
eS Oe Ge BI cosceneernnntacrennteennieeemene iii
The Issue to be Covered in the AFL-CIO’s Brief
I ID scceeciiintiteeniriitinnienceriaiatinntatiennianspenenenientes iv
SEITEN “Succpiriisinnisiasinnnssciiidesapetsiienindininieamnimbinemenmmsniionen Vv
BRIEF:
FAI. cccesseeszenssanssesncsexemseascncenscensnensessunenenatesnnenemensunens 1
SUIT - scciispinissndaiinieieaiiipiiadliesbaaseusbannsniiodaeitinsaininaneianieenies 16
CITATIONS
CASES:
Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 136 ......... pninahasiieiaaninmeenteie 1
BGT C. Tg TR FD ccccticisesserrensetemsncenmnennn 3
Bivens v. Siz Unknown Named Agents, 403 U.S. 388 3
Bolling v. Sharp, 347 U.S. 497 .......:csssssssscsesssssssessssssees 9
Crews V. Clome, 432 F.2d 1259 .........0...0.0.eccsrcsssesscscsseseee 10
Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 .....cccccccccesseeseeseees 3
ee eee 1
Hostrop v. Board of Junior College Dist. No. 515, 523
TTI iinet deities tiahaneaiersiaiperseneeinenminemn 2
Pe (Oi: SI a erennie 9
Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589 ............ 13
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 .0.........cccccssssesseeseseees 10
O’Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563 ...........ccccccceceeseeees 11
Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 «00... 10
RE 9
Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases,419U.S.102 3
Richards v. Thurston, 424 F.2d 1281 ..............:cccceeseees 10
ey Or Ce Ie aittnercteitcreeemmnnend 9,11
Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 .........ccccccssecsesseeeees 9

Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 ........cccsccssssssssseesereeees y

i-

Page Supreme Court of the United States
United States v. ITT Continental Baking Co., 420 |

a 3 October Term, 1975

No. 75-130

Rosert J. QUINN, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS COMMISSIONER
oF THE Cxuicaco Fire DepaRTMENT,

Petitioner,
v.
Francis Muscare,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

MOTION BY THE AMERICAN FEDERATION OF
LABOR AND CONGRESS OF INDUSTRIAL
ORGANIZATIONS FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF
AS AMICUS CURIAE

The American Federation of Labor and Congress of In-
dustrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) hereby respectfully
moves for leave to file a brief amicus in the instant case in
support of the position of the Respondent, as provided for
in Rule 42 of the Rules of this Court. The consent of coun-
sel for the Respondent has been obtained. Counsel for the
Petitioner have refused their consent.

INTEREST OF THE AFL-CIO

The AFL-CIO is a federation of 115 national and inter-

&:

national unions having a total membership of approximate-
ly 13,500,000 working men and women.

Many of the Federation’s affiliates represent employees
of the federal, state, municipal and county governments,
and of other governmental bodies such as school boards and
public universities. To those employees, the issues in this
case are of vital importance. First, since most of these
workers are dependent upon their incomes to meet their
daily needs, the right to adequate notice and an opportunity
to be heard before they can be deprived of that income for
as long as one month is critical. And second, to require that
public employees conform their appearance to rigid norms
not required by any important public interest related to
their employment, in ways which affect them in their off-
duty hours as well as when at work, is to deny them the
right to determine one’s own appearance enjoyed by the
general public, and to segregate them from their coutempo-
raries in their private as well as their public lives. This
being so, the Federation’s interest in presenting its views
to this Court upon this case is evident.

THE ISSUE TO BE COVERED IN THE
AFL-CIO’S BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE

Respondent has limited his brief to the procedural due
process issue upon the premise, in which we concur, that
the issue of the validity of the grooming regulations ought
not be considered at this time by the Court, since it was not
decided by the Court of Appeals. Because we believe the
procedural due process issue has been fully covered by Re-
spondent and other amici curiae supporting his position,
we do not in our brief cover this issue, except to express
our agreement with the Court of Appeals and Respondent.

iv

Rather, to assure that the issue of the validity of the
grooming regulation is discussed on Respondent’s behalf in
this case should the Court find reason to address the ques-
tion, we confine our substantive argument to that issue.

CONCLUSION

For the above-stated reasons, we respectfully urge the
Court to grant this motion to file the accompanying brief
amicus in the instant case in support of the position of the
Respondent.

Respectfully submitted,

J. AvBert WoL.

Rosert C. Mayer
736 Bowen Building
815 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005

LavuRENCE GoLp
815 Sixteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for AFL-CIO

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1975

No. 75-130

Ronert J. QUINN, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS COMMISSIONER
OF THE Cuicaco Fire DEPARTMENT,
Petitioner,
v.

Francis Muscare,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE AMERICAN FEDERATION OF
LABOR AND CONGRESS OF INDUSTRIAL
ORGANIZATIONS
AS AMICUS CURIAE

The American Federation of Labor and Congress of In-
dustrial Organizations (hereinafter ‘‘ AFL-CIO’’) files this
brief contingent upon the granting of the foregoing motion.

ARGUMENT

I. InrRopUCTION
The AFL-CIO agrees with Respondent that, as the Court
of Appeals held, this Court’s decisions in Arnett v. Ken-
nedy, 416 U.S. 134 and Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565, necessi-
tate a holding that Lt. Muscare was unconstitutionally
denied procedural due process when he was suspended for

twenty-nine days from his employment as a fireman without
any notice prior to his suspension sufficient to apprise him
of the reasons therefor, and with no opportunity whatever
to contest before a person vested with authority to impose
the punishment the grounds for his suspension, on factual
or legal grounds, or the propriety of the penalty set, until
after the suspension was effective. Since the Court of
Appeals found the suspension unconstitutional for that
reason alone, it had no occasion to address the additional
grounds pressed for invalidating the suspension, involving
the substantive bases upon which Respondent was subjected
to loss of his income for a time.

Ordinarily, this Court, when presented with an indepen-
deut issue which the Court of Appeals properly did not
reach because of the view it took of the case, will determine
only the issue decided below and, if the decision is to re-
verse on that question,’ provide the Court of Appeals the

1 Conceivably, the validity of the hair regulation could remain a
live issue in this case even if the Court of Appeals is affirmed on
che procedural due process question. The Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit has recently held, in a case decided after this case,
that while damages are available ier deprivation of procedural due
process rights, the measure of these damages is not necessarily the
full amount of wages lost. Hostrop v. Board of Junior College Dist.
No. 515, 523 F.2d 569 (7th Cir. 1975). On the other hand, it seems
clear that if Respondent’s suspension were substantively invalid.
he would be entitled to all wages lost as damages. However, since
the issue of the appropriate remedy is not before this Court, and
the correctness or applicability of the Hostrop rule therefore not
now pertinent, it must be left to the lower courts upon remand to
determine whether Hostrop necessitates reaching the validity of
hair regulation. Since Hostrop was decided after this case, and since
the district court has already decided the hair issue while the Court
of Appeals has not, the remand, if any, should be to the Court of

Appeals.

opportunity to decide the remaining issue or issues in the
first instance. See, e.g., Wood v. Stickland, 420 U.S. 308, 327;
United States v. ITT Continental Baking Co., 420 U.S. 223,
226 n. 2 and cases cited; Bivens v. Six Unknown Named
Agents, 403 U.S. 388. See also cases cited in Brief for
Respondent, at 2, n. 1.

We can preceive no reason for departing from this rule
in the present case. In instances in which this Court has
determined questions not decided below, the two grounds
for decisions were usually intimately interrelated, e.g.,
Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471, n. 6, or there were
extenuating circumstances justifying hurrying the case to
its final conclusion, e.g., Regional Rail Reorganization Act
Cases, 419 U.S. 102, 140 n. 25. Here, the procedural and
substantive challenges are entirely separate in the appli-
cable legal considerations, and there is no special reason
why the parties require the immediate determination of
the substantive challenge. While it is true, as petitioners
assert (Brief for Petitioner, at 33-34), that another petition
for certiorari may result, this is always the case when the
Court remands for consideration of issues not decided by
the Court of Appeals.

We recognize, however, that the Court may perceive rea-
sons for reaching and deciding the validity of the grooming
regulation,’ and that it does not lack the power to do so. See
Dandridge, supra; Regional Rail Reorganization Cases,
supra. For this reason, and because Respondent and amici
supporting its position have, we understand, determined to

* For example, this Court, in Barry v. Dwen, No. 74-1269, argued
December 8, 1975, is now considering the principles affecting the
validity of hair rules for policemen.

3

present argument only upon the procedural due process
question, we present our views upon the validity of the
grooming code for violation of which Lt. Museare was disci-
plined, rather than burden the Court with another exposi-
tion of the relatively simple procedural due process ques-
tion. We begin with a short exposition of the record upon
the grooming code issue and proceed to discuss the legal
questions we believe to be involved.

ef

Section 51.133 of the Rules and Regulations of the Chi-
eago Fire Department prescribe certain personal appear-
ance requirements for uniformed personnel. The Rule pro-
vides:

‘*Section 51.133. Proper Personal Appearance. All
members of the Chicago Fire Department shall present
a clean and proper appearance in personal care and
attire at all times. The face shall be clean-shaven, ex-
cept that a non-eccentric mustache is permissable.
Mustaches shall not extend beyond a line perpendicular
to the corner of the mouth and the full upper lip must
be readily visible.

Sideburns shall be trimmed short and shall be no
lower than a line from the middle of the ear.

Hair shall be worn neatly and closely trimmed, and
the hair outline shall follow the contour of the ear and
slope to the back of the neck. It will be gradually tap-
ered overall, in order to present a neat appearance.’’®

The standards in Rule 51.133 are applicable to all uni-
formed personnel of the Department, without regard to
whether or not their duties imvolve active firefighting.

* This formal promulgation replaced two earlier formulations of
grooming rules. (App. 125-126; 156-157).

4

(App. 118-120). It is to be noted that while the Rule abso-
lutely forbids beards, it does not proscribe all forms of
facial hair: certain mustaches and sideburns are permitted.
Further, the Rule regulates hair other than facial hair, and
forbids certain hairstyles even though no hair extends be-
yond the collar or onto the face.

Lt. Museare, when he was suspended on February 27,
1974, had a small mustache and a short goatee (App. 5,
10-11). The notice of suspension, received several days
thereafter, specified violation of Rule 51.133 as a ground
for his suspension (App. 12).‘

The sole justification offered by the Department for the
challenged hair regulations was that safety considerations,
in particular the need for effective use of a certain self-
contained breathing apparatus used in fire-fighting situa-
tions, necessitated that firemen not wear facial hair. Peti-
tioner not only did not proffer any other explanation, but its
spokesmen explicitly testified that neither a general interest
in discipline and obedience nor a concern with appearance
of firemen was the purpose of the rule. For example, while
Chief Foley testified that the Department is ‘‘paramilitary’’
(App. 111), he meant by that only ‘‘that we have levels of

* As far as the record shows, the claimed violation of two other
sections of the Rules and Regulations charged in the Notice was
also based solely upon violation of the grooming rules (App. 117,
148), although Respondent had no way of knowing this when he
received the notice since no supporting facts whatever were spec-
ified. While there is some implication in Petitioner’s Brief that
Lt. Muscare was ordered at a training class in December, 1973 to
don his mask and to walk down stairs with it on but refused to do
so (Brief for Petitioner 8), it is, as the Court of Appeals stated,
(App. 161) ‘‘unclear whether Lt. Museare, as a senior officer. was
required to participate in the training.’’ (See App. 70).

5

rank’’ (App. 115), but maintained that ‘‘ [i]t doesn’t neces-
sarily stand to follow that our operational orders are of a
military nature’’ (App. 115) and, in particular, denied that
‘‘vou want orders obeyed in a military sense’’ (.\pp. 117-
118), saying ‘‘No, we want orders obeyed because we have
a reason to have a man clean-shaven, for safety with air
gear.’’ (App. 118). Similarly, Chief Foley testified that
‘*{t}he basie premise of the clean-shaven order is safety,
not appearance.’’ (App. 112).

The evidence upon the relationship between the breathing
apparatus and facial hair was as follows:

The Fire Department instituted a self-contained breath-
ing apparatus program in 1958. (App. 100). The adminis-
trative goal is two such pieces of equipment for each five-
man company of the kind Lt. Musecare commands. (App.
100-101). However, there are not necessarily any masks
available to such a company at any given time, because they
may be in need of repair. (App. 101, 102, 104, 106).

In order for the breathing apparatus to work properly,
the mask must be air-tight. In order to test for a proper
seal, the following procedure is followed:

‘¢ 4. When the face piece is put on the face, there are
five straps, head straps that you must adjust for tight-
ness, starting at the bottom and then the temple straps
and the top one, if necessary. After that, you either
kink your breathing tube or put your hand over the
the bottom and inhale to see if you have a proper seal
on the face piece. If you have a proper seal, the face
piece will collapse; if not, you will detect leaks around
the edge of the face piece.’’ (App. 65; see also App.
128).

Many factors can interfere with the ability to obtain a

6

proper seal, including facial hair of various sorts, dentures,
oddly shaped faces, eye glasses, and boils. (App. 73, 88, 93,
95, 96). All witnesses for the Department agreed that the
only certain way to determine whether a person can obtain
a proper seal is for him to try the mask and test it himself.
(App. 53, 67, 88, 94, 111).

The witnesses for the Department did express the belief
that facial hair—sideburns and mustaches as well as beards
—can interfere with the use of the latest kind of self-con-
tained breathing equipment.® (App. 53, 55, 87, 88, 91, 112).
However, many people with facial hair do obtain an ade-
quate seal. (App. 74, 75, 93). In fact, Leonard Johnson, who
provides instruction for the Department upon the use of
the breathing equipment, testified that he realized that while
he instructs that mustaches and sideburns can interfere
with a proper seal, the Department permits them, many
firemen wear them, and there has never been any problem
in his experience in obtaining a seal by those firemen. (App.
61, 73-74, 75).

None of the Department’s witnesses had any direct knowl-
edge concerning whether or not Lt. Muscare could ebtain a
proper seal with the equipment (App. 72, 94, 111). Lt. Mus-
care, however, testified that he had used the self-contained
breathing apparatus while wearing his goatee several times,
both in actual fire-fighting situations and in drills, and had
never experienced any problem with obtaining a proper seal.
(App. 127, 129). In particular, he testified :

‘*Q. [What test did you do to see if the mask sealed

5 Some of the masks currently in use in the Fire Department are
older Chemox masks. (App. 104-105). The evidence was not spe-
cific upon whether facial hair can affect the use of these masks.

7

on your face?

A. Put the mask on, slipping it up over your head on
your chin first, take the two side straps on the mask,
the top one and then the single one on top, put the tube
on, put your hand on the bottom of the tube and suck
and it should collapse on your face.

Q. And what was the result of your performance?

A. It collapsed on my face.’’ (App. 128; see also App.
129.)

The district court, in ruling upon the validity of Rule
51.133, did not consider ‘‘in this ruling at all the issue of
whether the Fire Department may have a dress and appear-
ance code, solely for uniformity and the impression made on
the public * * * ’’ (App. 149). Rather, recognizing that the
Fire Department had advanced only a safety justification,®
the judge said that ‘‘ [t]he question here is whether we have
a justifiable regulation on the basis of which the Fire De-
partment purports to justify it.’’ (Jd.) He found that ‘‘the
requirement limiting facial hair for reasons of safety re-
lated to the fit of the face mask of self-contained breathing
apparatus * * * appears to be grounded in reason,’’ and
therefore upheld the regulation. (Jd.)

The Court of Appeals, while declining to rule conclusively
upon the issue, questioned the district court’s conclusion:

‘‘In passing, we note but without holding that the
challenged hair regulation, § 51.133, does not appear to
be co-extensive with the need for safe and efficient use
of gas masks * * *.’’ (App. 160, n. 2)

®* The safety justification, as the above summary indicates, was
limited to asserted problems with breathing apparatus.

8

Ill

Reams of paper and countless hours of judicial time have
been expended in federal courts in the last several years on
the question of whether the right to wear one’s hair as one
pleases is constitutionally protected at all and, if so, the
extent of the protection. Whatever the differences between
the courts, we believe it undeniable that the Fourteenth
Amendment of the Constitution does impose restraints
upon the interference of state governmental bodies with the
personal appearance choices of citizens, and that the task
for the courts is to indicate the parameters of the permis-
sible restraints. Clearly, the right to ‘‘liberty’’ protected
by the Fourteenth Amendment (and the Fifth Amendment)
‘is not confined to mere freedom from bodily restraint.’’
Bolling v. Sharp, 347 U.S. 497, 499-500. Rather, the right to
liberty ‘‘is a rational continuum which, broadly speaking,
includes a freedom from all substantial arbitrary imposi-
tions and purposeless restraints.’’ Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S.
497, 543 (Mr. Justice Harlan, dissenting). Thus, ‘‘[iJn a
line of decisions, going back perhaps as far as Union
Pacific R. Co. v. Botsford, 141 U.S. 250 (1891), the Court
has recognized * * * a guarantee of certain areas * * * of
privacy * * * under the Constitution.’’ Roe v. Wade, 410
U.S. 113, 152.

As the cases cited in the Roe opinion, 410 U.S. at 152-153
show,’ the Court’s definition of the areas into which the
government may not interfere has not been limited to
‘*privacy’’ in the sense of things which occur in secret, or
which a person may attempt to hide from the government

7 See also, e. g. Kent v. Dulles, 357 U.S. 116; Shapiro v. Thomp-
son, 394 U.S. 618; Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557.

+]

or the public. Rather, these aspects of liberty are ‘‘private’’
in the sense that the government ordinarily has no legiti-
mate interest in them, and citizens are therefore free to
make their own decisions regarding them. For example, the
right to educate one’s children as one sees fit, within certain
limits, protected in Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S.
510, 535, and Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 J.S. 390, 399, arises
from the fact that there is no ‘‘general power of the state
to standardize its children,’’ Pierce, supra, 268 U.S. at 535;
it is not dependent upon whether the parent wishes to
broadcast or to conceal the choice of education made for
the child.

Thus, the ‘‘liberty’’ protection of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment extends to ‘‘those privileges long recognized * * * as
essential to the orderly pursuit of happiness by free man.’’
Meyer, supra, 262 U.S., at 399; it is not limited to the partic-
ular guarantees spelled out in the First through Eighth
Amendments, or to those particular additional rights recog-
nized by this Court at any particular time. Nor can it be
limited to intrusions into momentous matters. For, as the
Courts of Appeals which have dealt with hair regulation
have recognized,* the liberty protection is designed to safe-
guard against authoritarianism generally, a hallmark of
which is interference into aspects of human existence which
are not of great public importance but matter a great deal
to the individual, such as dress and hairstyles.’

SE.g., Richards v. Thurston, 424 F.2d 1281, 1285; Crews v.
Clone, 432 F.2d 1259, 1264.

* For example, much of the discomfort Americans feel in visiting
countries in Eastern Europe, or China, is expressed as dismay over
the physical uniformity in appearance, and the lack of individual-
ism in dress.

10

Thus, it seems clear that a state or municipality could
not preseribe in detail the hairstyles to be worn by all
women walking the public streets without running afoul of
the Constitutional liberty protection, even if the particular
hairstyle proscribed was one currently in vogue at the
time of the regulation. Nor, it seems to us, could the Govern-
ment require of its own employees, for purposes of identi-
fiability, modes of grooming likely to subject them to ridi-
cule in their off-duty hours—-shaven heads for men, for
example.

On the other hand, just as the Constitution does not
grant citizens an ‘‘unlimited right to do with one’s body as
one pleases.’’ Roe, supra, 410 U.S., at 154, the right to
determine one’s own appearance is far from unlimited.
Clearly, the government can limit this right in pursuit of
legitimate objectives, as long as the regulation is rationally
related to the objective, as long as the objective is in fact
legitimate, and as long as the degree of the intrusion does
not unnecessarily go far beyond its justification. For
example, we doubt that an interest in uniformity could ever
suffice to justify regulation of appearance of citizens gen-
erally. See, e.g., O’Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 563, 575:

‘‘May the State fence in the harmless mentally ill
solely to save its citizens from exposure to those whose
ways are different? One might as well ask if the State,
to avoid public unease, could incarcerate all who are
physically unattractive or socially eccentric. Mere
public intolerance or animosity cannot constitutionally
justify the deprivation of a person’s physical liberty.’’

Yet, a government does have a strong interest in assuring
that certain of its employees are readily identifiable, so
that the public can recognize their autaority immediately.

11

To this end, and to the extent required by the identifiability
need, a state or city may require uniformity of appearance
during working hours, s is commonly done for policemen
and, as in this case, for firemen. But once the extent of the
regulation reaches beyond the interest which justifies it,
we believe it unconstitutionally intrudes into that area of
self-determination of personality and life style which the
Constitution protects. Thus, since a city has no interest in
whether firemen are readily identifiable as such when they
are not on duty, it could not require them to wear uniforms
even when not working.

It appears, then, that the focus in assessing the validity
of grooming regulations must be threefold. First, what is
the purpose of the regulation, and is that purpose a legiti-
mate one? Second, to what extent does the regulation in-
trude upon the ordinary perogative of an individual to
determine his own appearance? And finally, and often de-
terminative, is the scope of the regulation, both in terms
of coverage and degree of intrusion, generally coextensive
with the justification for it?

IV

Using this approach, it seems apparent that the Depart-
ment’s Rule 51.133 cannot stand. As indicated above, supra
at 5, 8, the sole justification offered for the rule was
that facial hair can interfere with the use of self-containing
breathing equipment. The Department not only did not
suggest any other interest in the matter, but its spokesinen
affirmatively disclaimed any other concern. Supra, at 5-6.
In these circumstances, the analysis must be confined to the
justification pressed below.’

© We note in passing that even if this Court were to inquire

12

The interest asserted by the Department in safety is
obviously one not only legitimate but, if substantiated,
entitled to much weight. Thus, safety regulations mandated
by state and federal governments for employees generally,
not only government employees, can and do prescribe ap-
parel to be worn on the job to assure against accidents, and
any deprivation of a liberty interest involved can surely
be overriden by that goal.

But the intrusion here reaches beyond working hou.s
into the firemen’s daily lives, since one cannot instantane-
ously grow and ungrow facial hair. And a hair regulation
entails control of one’s physical body, rather than merely
determining what is put on it.

This is not to say that even such an intrusion could be
justified by safety concerns in the proper case. Here, how-
ever, the regulation on its face goes far beyond any safety
need conceivably shown on this record. There was undis-
puted testimony that only the wearer can tell if a mask fits
properly, and that Lt. Muscare always succeeded in achiev-

into whether the disclaimed purposes could justify the Rule,
the Rule still could not stand. First, any interest the Department
might have is assuring identifiability of its personnel while on
duty surely could not justify it. There is an intrusion into the
employees’ off-duty hours when hair styles are regulated which
uniforms and general neatness standards do not present; and the
uniform suffices to assure the identification required. The notion
that the public might question whether a uniformed fireman with
a beard is really a fireman, if it has any basis in fact at all, could
arise only because of general knowledge that the Department does
not hire firemen with beards. For example, the public might have
some doubt whether a woman in a fireman’s uniform was really a
fireman, never having seen a woman fireman. Surely, this percep-
tion could not justify a refusal to hire women, and it is doubtful
that it could justify a rule that all women fireman wear uniform °

13

ing a proper seal when wearing his beard " (supra, at 6-7).
Moreover, the fire department’s reliance upon these masks
for safety seems questionable: not only are there never
enough masks available for all the firemen at the scene of
a fire (App. 103-104), but some companies at times have
no masks at all. (supra, at 6.) Further, the grooming regu-
lations apply to individuals whose assignments do not
include active firefighting (supra, at 4), and regulates hair
other than facial hair although there was no evidence that
such hair can affect the seal on the breathing apparatus.
Finally and most significant, the regulation permits certain
facial hair—mustaches and sideburns—even though the
testimony on impact of facial hair upon safety masks did
not distinguish between beards on the one hand and mus-
taches and sideburns on the other.

Thus, the regulation in some respects goes far beyond its

blond wigs, or short hair, to assure the public of their bona fides.

Second, an interest in discipline qua discipline is not, at least in
the fire department context here, a legitimate concern in itself. As
Chief Foley recognized in testifying in the district court, any
organization has an interest in having employees follow directives
(App. 115). But to exalt that interest into a justification for im-
posing arbitrary rules upon civilian employees without any inde-
pendent purpose whatever would be to sanction any intrusion into
the constitutional rights of government employees. Cf. Keyishian
v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589, 605-606: ‘‘[T]he theory that
public employment which may be denied altogether may be sub-
jected to any conditions, regardless of how unreasonable, has been
uniformly rejected.’’

1 Petitioner seems to suggest that because Lt. Muscare did not
put on the breathing apparatus at the district court hearing, the
record is not conclusive upon whether he could obtain »@ seal.
(Brief for Petitioner, at 12.) Surely, there is no rule of evidence
which requires a party to substantiate undisputed testimoiy with
a physical demonstration.

14

asserted purpose, and in other ways is inadequate to assure
the claimed goal. Moreover, when the Department has not
demonstrated a concern with the efficient use of these masks
sufficient to impel them to assure their availability at all,
this Court should not sanction an intrusion into the consti-
tutional rights of employees which carries over into non-
working hours. And to the extent that there is any serious
concern with the fit of the musks, the Department need
only require firemen to test the masks intermittently to see
if they work on their faces; if a fireman with facial hair
failed to achieve a seal, an order to shave might then be
justified. In this circumstance, to uphold the regulation
would be to sanction a deprivation of liberty which is un-
necessary, broader than any conceivable justification based
on use of breathing apparatus, and, in view both of the
exceptions in the regulation itself and the Department’s
actions concerning the masks, is not rationally related to
any safety goals which this Department has set. Therefore,
the Rule 51.133 must be declared invalid.

15

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, if the Court determines to
decide the validity of Rule 51.133, the Rule should be de-
clared unconstitutional, and the judgment of the Court of
Appeals that Lt. Museare was unconstitutionally suspended
affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

J. ALBERT WoLL

Rosert C. Mayer
736 Bowen Building
815 15th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005

| LAURENCE GoLp
815 16th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for AFL-CIO

16

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0772%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
