# Petition — Grindlay's Bank (Uganda), Ltd. v. J. Zeevi & Sons, Ltd.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0709%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 423 U.S. 866

## Text

MICHAEL RODAK, JR.,CLERK
L

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM 1975

No.7 5-64 4

GrinpLay’s Bank (Ucanpa) Liurrep,

Petitioner,
v.

J. ZEEv1 anp Sons, Lrp., Gap Zeevi, Rrvka Zeevi, GALILLIA
Pact and En1a Metzner, copartners doing business as
J. ZeEv1 & Sons,

Respondents.

| SS SS SS

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE STATE OF NEW YORK

Henry Harrietp
Attorney for Petitioner
53 Wall Street

New York, N. Y. 10005

SHEARMAN & STERLING

Herman E. Comprer

Joun J. E. Marxnam, IT
of Counsel

July 10, 1975.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Citations to Opinions Below ..................0e00:

Td i Bens ie ed ee ee eciekcauses
Se ED £6 So eee ei ees cade ccetedevewss

Constitutional Provisions, Treaty and Statutes In-
SE deucveendeuknénnbee ckdsmiubensonet ieee

PE Reseach avecbeecceuscesenscuaneegessadnes
Reasons for Granting the Writ ....................

I. The State Court Decided Substantial Federal
Questions That Should Be Determined wand By
ee I iad CeCib- ne deceeeecungedeccaiansnase

A. The State Court Was Not Authorized to Ad-
SS ES oo cdc a cndukenvasseenibens

B. In This Case the Use of Judicial Action to
Implement State Policy is Offensive to the
Constitution of the United States ..........

II. The State Court Decided Substantial Federal
Questions In a Way Not in Accord With Ap-
plicable Decisions of This Court ..............

A. Due Process Requires that Ugandan and Not
New York Law Be Applied .................

B. Under the Federal Act of State Doctrine
Petitioner’s Compliance with the Directives
of the Ugandan Government Constitutes a
TD dank cadnncnddbnccescasede

C. The Judgment of the State Court Viclates
a Treaty of the United States ..............

SEITE FORE OF TE OE FE EEE EOE

10

12

17

18

19

InpDEXx To APPENDIX

Opinion of the Court of Appeals, State of New York

Order, Judgment and Remittitur of the Court of
DBORD ooo cc ccccvccccssccncvccccvescossccess

Entry of Judgment Upon Remittitur ............--

Memorandum Opinion of Trial Court, New York
CE nnn neck dncanc seehapessacthnceconsnesen

Memorandum Opinion of Trial Court, New York
SE cnccccdenadeucnsdevensesbnweasenuereacs
GENE cde ibe deb dectuciniccdsdcciasccctacese

Letter Request to Open a Letter of Credit ..........

Application for Credit 110/84 ............... tenes

tba GE CS BRIG 6 icc even devedsncsuvccessase

Letter of Collection From Cheniical Bank to First
PRED GN THEE oc cc tvccnccesecunccscivers

Letter from First National City Bank to Chemical
DEE 40n6nb40susd hanwedes 6kd4bKenedetesnayes

PAGE
Al

Al10

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES iii

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE
American Banana Co. v. United Fruit Co., 213 U.S.
Be ree oe aiennadeatens 22
Auten v. Auten, 308 N.Y. 155 (1954) ............... 19
Banco do Brasil v. Israel Com. Co., 12 N.Y.2d 371
(1963), cert. denied, 376 U.S. 906 (1964) ........ 23, 26
Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398
DEE Susudes dete tdduvulantenes Chengde bs 4aces 22
Bank of America v. Whitney Bank, 261 U.S. 171
te ds ca dideundetéawedanseheenses 14

Burt Randolf Sugar and Wrestling, Inc. v. Curtis
Circulation Co., 377 F.Supp. 1055 (S.D.N.Y.1975) 16

Deutsche Bank v. Humphrey, 272 U.S. 517 (1926) ... 21

Erb v. Banco di Napoli, 243 N.Y. 45, 49 (1926) ...... 15
Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972) ............. 16
Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958) ............ 13, 15
Harris v. Balk, 198 U.S. 215 (1905) ................ 15
Home Insurance Co. v. Dick, 281 U.S. 397 (1930) .... 20
Huntington v. Atirill, 146 U.S. 657 (1892) .......... 24
International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310
Pct icbiathanneumense tekdd wands &koueeeuhe 13, 15
Kolovrat v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 187 (1961) ............ 28

Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 U.S. 561, 590-91 (1953) .... 20

McGee v. International Life Ins. Co., 355 U.S. 220
SE 3 i ka ubue paneendees ahd shee baekncaewes 13, 15

Menendez v. Saks & Co., 485 F.2d 1355 (2nd Cir.
PE wubbdeneenedsehssbudesssekddeesacnd «kt 24, 25

iv TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

PAGE

Mertz v. Mertz, 271 N.Y. 466 (1936) ............... 24

North Georgia Finishing, Inc. v. Di-Chem, Inc., No.
CED ans ok G0sedeuesued ¥eeschasdaees 16

Oetjen v. Central Leather Co., 246 U.S. 297 (1918) .. 21

Salimoff & Co. v. Standard Oil Co., 262 N.Y. 220
Dt < cetettlbdechesuneaheeens sabeneneess 22

Simonson vy. International Bank, 14 N.Y.2d 28 (1964) 15

Underhill v. Hernandez, 168 U.S. 250 (1897) ........ 21, 22

United States v. Ansonia Brass & Copper Co., 218
ARE Sey Stearate ie eg re pr, ie 27

United States vy. Belmont, 301 U.S. 324 (1987) ...... 17, 28

United States v. Pink, 315 U.S. 203 (1942) ...... 17, 27, 28

Vladikavkazsky Railway Co. v. New York Trust Co.,
ro ob bs cucu chenes's cab seneies 24

Constitutional Provisions:

United States Const. Article I, cl. 2 ................ 11, 27

United States Const. Amend. XIV ....... 10, 11, 13, 16, 19

Statute:

Bretton Woods Agreement (60 Stat. 1401 et seq.) ..11, 25,

26, 27

Addresses:

State of the Union Address, by the President of the
United States (H. Doc. R’s 94-3) 121 Cong. Ree.
i Ecc cceawkdeveveceuveeust 18

Miscellaneous:

Nussbaum, Exchange Control and the International
Monetary Fund, 59 Yale L. J. 421 (1950) ...... 26

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM 1975

GrinpLay’s Bank (Ucanpa) Limirep,
Petitioner,
Vv.

J. ZeEvi aND Sons, Lrv., Gap Zeevi, Rrvka Zeevi, GALILLIA
Pact and Entra Metzner, copartners doing business as
J. Zeevi & Sons,

Respondents.

+.
ve

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE STATE OF NEW YORK

Petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the order and judgment of the Court of Appeals for the
State of New York entered in the above entitled action on
June 16, 1975 which affirmed a final order and judgment
of the Supreme Court, New York County, granting judg-
ment to the respondents upon their first alleged cause of
action.

Citations to Opinions Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (A 1-9)’ of the
State of New York, affirming, is, as yet, not officially re-

1 Numbers in parentheses prefixed by the letter ‘‘A’’ refer to
pages of the appendix to this petition. Numbers in parentheses
prefixed by the letter ‘‘R’’ refer to pages of the record in the
state court.

2

ported. The two memorandum opinions of the Trial
Court, Supreme Court, New York County (A 12-19) are
not officially reported. The two orders of the Appellate
Division, First Judicial Department, affirming, without
opinion, are reported at 42 A.D.2d 693 (1974) and 44
A.D.2d 914, 355 N.Y.S. 2d 1015 (1974).

Jurisdiction

The order and judgment of the Court of Appeals for
the State of New York (A 10-12) was entered on June 16,
1975. On June 26, 1975, upon remittitur from the Court
of Appeals, the Supreme Court, New York County, entered
final judgment (A 13-14). The jurisdiction of this Court
is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3).

Questions Presented

1. In the context of our federal system, in which the
conduct of foreign affairs is the function of the federal
government, may a state court declare, and by judicial
action execute, what it conceives to be the political, social
and economic policies of the state by undertaking to ad-
judicate controversies (a) between alien litigants, none
of whom are citizens, residents or domiciliaries of the
state, and (b) arising out of business transactions occur-
ring outside the United States and having no impact on
the state?

2. Under the Constitution of the United States, is a
state court authorized to adjudicate a controversy between
litigants who are citizens of foreign countries and are
neither resident nor otherwise present within the state,
for the purpose of enforcing a contract that is unenforce-
able in the foreign country where it was made and to be
performed by reason of laws and governmental acts of
such foreign country which the state court believes to be
confiscatory, ethnically discriminatory and repugnant to
state policy?

3

3. When a state court lacks subject matter jurisdiction
of a controversy arising out of a contract made and to be
performed in a foreign country by citizens of foreign
countries not resident or otherwise present in the state,
does the state court nevertheless have jurisdiction because
of the existence of a coliateral offer of a unilateral con-
tract, made generally to banks not parties to the action
and never accepted, but which would have been perform-
able in the state?

4. May a state court, without prior notice or hearing,
seize a bank account, maintained within the state by a citi-
zen of a foreign country who is not resident or otherwise
present in the state, in order to enforce, for the benefit of
a plaintiff who is neither a citizen nor resident of the state,
a contract that is unenforceable in the foreign country
where it was made and to be performed?

5. In an action in a state court, between foreign na-
tionals who are neither citizens nor residents of the state,
arising out of a contract made and to be performed in a
foreign country and unenforceable under the laws of such
country, is it a denial of due process of law for the state
court to enlarge the liability of the non-resident foreign
defendant by applying the substantive law of the forum
state instead of the law of the country where the contract
was made and to be performed?

6. Are the courts of the State of New York precluded,
by reason of the Bretton Woods Agreement, 60 Stat. 1401
et seq., and by Article VI, Clause 2, of the United States
Constitution, from enforcing an exchange contract which
violates the exchange control regulations of the Republic
of Uganda, a signatory nation to the Bretton Woods
Agreement?

7. Was the decision of the state court contrary to the
act of state doctrine as enunciated in prior decisions of
this Court?

Constitutional Provisions, Treaty and Statutes
Involved

The constitutional provisions, treaty and statutes in-
volved are Article VI, Clause 2, of the United States Con-
stitution, the fourteenth amendment to the United States
Constitution, the Bretton Woods Agreement, 60 Stat. 1401
et seq., New York Business Corperation Law § 1314(b)
(McKinney’s 1971) and the New York Banking Law
§ 200-a(2) (McKinney’s 1971) which are set out at pages
A 23-25 of the Appendix to this petition.

Statement

This petition seeks review of action by the New York
courts which, under the guise of enforcing a foreign con-
tract that is unenforceable where it was made and to be
performed, encroached upon the federal prerogative of
conducting foreign affairs by declaring and executing what
the courts conceived to be a proper political, social and
economic policy.

The action is brought by respondents, Israeli business
entities, against petitioner, a banking corporation organ-
ized and existing under the laws of Uganda, for anticipa-
tory breach of a letter of credit contract. The parties
are non-resident aliens of the United States. Neither
party is found within or does business in the United States,
nor in New York, which is the forum chosen by re-
spondents.

The action was commenced, without prior notice or hear-
ing, by attachment of a bank account maintained by peti-
tioner with a national banking association located in New
York City. The complaint alleges, inter alia, that petition-
er’s breach was the result of ‘‘a new government-in-
augurated and directed policy on forfeiture of foreign-held
assets and property and a new policy of active anti-
Semitism embarked upon by the government of Uganda’’

(R. 24). Annexed to and made a part of the complaint are
inflammatory newspaper accounts and magazine articles
that were calculated to be, and were, prejudicial to peti-
tioner and destructive of its right to a fair hearing.

The uncontroverted facts, as they appear in the record,
emerge in the following chronology.

On or about March 24, 1972, Hiram Zeevi and Co.
(Uganda) Ltd., an affiliate of respondents, located and
doing business in Uganda, made a written request to peti-
tioner to issue an irrevocable letter of credit in favor of
respondents in Israel (A 26-27; R. 163). The request speci-
fied the terms upon which funds (denominated in U. S.
dollars) were to be available to respondents. Pursuant to
that request, and in consideration of a security deposit in
Uganda in Ugandan currency equivalent at that time to
the United States dollars to be available under the credit,
petitioner issued its irrevocable letter of credit, No. 110/84
(A 26-27; R. 54).

The terms of that credit, as specified by Hiram Zeevi
and Co. (Uganda) Ltd., were that petitioner guaranteed to
respondents payments of ten drafts, in the aggregate
amount of U.S. $406,846.80, each draft to be in the amount
of U.S. $40,684.68, to be drawn by respondents on M/s
Hiram Zeevi and Co. (Uganda) Ltd., P. O. Box 719, Kam-
pala, Uganda, payable upon presentation in Kampala,
Uganda, the first such draft being payable on April 15,
1972, and the remainder being payable on the fifteenth day
of successive months. The expiration date was stated as
follows: “This credit is valid until 3lst January, 1973 for
presentation of drafts in Kampala” (A 30; R. 54).

In addition to petitioner’s engagement to respondents,
petitioner undertook gratuitously, as a matter of interna-
tional banking practice and not at the instance of respond-
ents or their Ugandan affiliate, to provide a reimbursement
facility for any bank that might elect to purchase drafts
drawn under the letter of credit. That offer to negotiat-
ing banks, not bargained for by the applicant for the credit,

6

was contained under the rubric “Special Instructions’’, in
the following terms :*

“The negotiating bank is authorized to claim reim-
bursement for their payments on the due dates listed
above from First National City Bank, 399 Park Avenue,
New York, to the debit of our account with them to-
gether with a certificate to the effect that all terms
of the credit have been complied with and the relative
drafts have been airmailed to us.” (A 30; R. 54-55)

The purpose and effect of the foregoing commitment
was to enable a negotiating bank (which is a bank that
discounts, by purchasing, drafts drawn by the beneficiary
of a credit) to claim reimbursement for the amount of its
outlays; it did not have the effect of enabling the benefi-
ciary itself (respondents) to present drafts in New York
and be paid there* (R. 158, 168).

The letter of credit (No. 110/84) was issued and to be
performed in, and subject to, the laws of Uganda; all obli-
gations of petitioners to respondents were undertaken in
and performable exclusively in Uganda.‘ (R. 158).

* The statement by the state court that the provision for re-
imbursement of a negotiating bank ‘‘was an integral part of that
for which the parties bargained’’ (A 5) is plainly contradicted
by the record. The application for the letter of credit makes no
mention of, or request for, any reimbursement facility in New
York or elsewhere (A 27-28).

*The statement by the state court (A 5) that New York was
the ‘‘site of payment’’ of drafts drawn by respondents under
the credit is plainly contradicted by the record. The letter of
credit at issue expressly provides for payment in Uganda not in
New York (A 29-30).

*Credit No. 110/84 obligated petitioner to see that respond-
ents’ drafts were paid upon presentation in Ugarda. The state
court’s conclusion (A 5) that petitioner’s order countermand-
ing payment of claims by a negotiating bank ‘‘gave rise to a
cause of action’’ in New York is plainly incorrect. It should be
noted that no drafts purporting to be drawn, or other claims, by
a negotiating bank have ever been presented, nor has any claim
of a ‘‘negotiation’’ ever been made by any bank.

7

On or about April 17, 1972, pursuant to mandate of the
Ugandan government, petitioner was required to and did
cance! its letter of credit No. 110/84; and it so advised
respondents, the advising bank in Haifa, Israel, and First
National City Bank in New York (R. 36, 172).

On or about November 24, 1972, at the instance of re-
spondents, the Sheriff of the City of New York attached
in excess of $700,000 standing to the credit of petitioner
w.th First National City Bank of New York, pursuant to
an order of attachment issued by the Supreme Court of
the State of New York (R. 14-15) upon affidavits (R. 16-18)
and a summons and complaint (R. 19-28) filed by respond-
ents without prior notice to or opportunity for hearing
by petitioners. The complaint was based upon an alleged
anticipatory breach by petitioner of the contract embodied
in its letter of credit No. 110/84 (R. 19-28). The complaint
set forth a second alleged cause of action based upon an-
ticipatory breach of an alleged letter of credit No. 110/85;
that claim has been severed and is not involved in this
petition.

Service of the summons and complaint was purportedly
effected by mail and publication, the only way service could
be made, as petitioner was not present, nor doing business
in New York.

Subsequent to the attachment, on or about December 5,
1972, respondents presented to petitioner, in Kampala,
Uganda, ten drafts purporting to be drawn under and in
accordance with the terms of credit No. 110/84. Said
drafts were transmitted by respondents to Kampala
through Chemical Bank, of New York City, which acted as
collection agent (R. 56). The drafts were dishonored in
Kampala, Uganda, upon presentation there on December
18, 1972, and were returned to the collection agent (R. 56).
On December 28, 1972, more than a month after the at-
tachment, and again on January 11, 1973, Chemical Bank
presented said drafts to First National City Bank, in New
York, as a collection item, and said drafts were returned

8

unpaid on the ground, inter alia, that First National City
Bank, as a reimbursing bank, was authorized only to pay
a negoti iting bank that had certified that the terms of the
credit had been complied with; First National City Bank
was not authorized to pay drafts presented on behalf of
pe — of the credit (respondents) (R. 56, 58, 168-

On or about January 19, 1973, petitioner timely moved
to dismiss the action and to vacate the attachment for lack
of subject matter jurisdiction pursuant to New York Busi-
ness Corporation Law §1314(b). By order entered
April 11, 1973, the Supreme Court, New York County,
denied that motion. On appeal to the Appellate Division
of the Supreme Court, First Judicial Department, that
order was affirmed without opinion and as the order did

not finally dispose of the action, no further appeal was
available.

Petitioner thereafter served an answer and an amended
answer, raising the federal questions herein sought to be
reviewed.

On August 29, 1973, respondents moved for summary
judgment on the first claim, based upon letter of credit No.
110/84. Petitioner cross-moved, on October 10, 1973, for
summary judgment on both the first and second claims.
The Supreme Court, New York County, by order entered
February 7, 1973, granted summary judgment to respond-
ents on the first claim and severed the second claim. Re-
spondent J. Zeevi and Sons, Ltd. was awarded judgment
against petitioner in the amount of $443,921.28 by judg-
ment entered in the New York County Clerk’s -office on
February 19, 1974. The order and judgment were af-
firmed by the Appellate Division, First Judicial Depart-
ment, without opinion, and by the Court of Appeals for
the State of New York.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (A 1) explicitly
answered, adversely to petitioner, the federal questions

9

raised by the defenses; namely, that the assumption of
jurisdiction violated constitutional guaranties; that the ap-
plication of New York law to enforce a contract unenforce-
able under the law of the foreign country where the con-
tract was made and to be performed denied petitioner due
process of law; that the federal act of state doctrine pro-
hibits adjudication by the courts of New York; and that
the contract in suit is unenforceable under a treaty of the
United States.

Execution of judgment was stayed by the Chief Judge
(Breitel) of the Court of Appeals for a period of ninety
days to permit petitioner to seek the relief hereby re-
quested from this Court.

Time and Manner in Which Federal
Questions Were Raised

In its amended answer, petitioner explicitly reserved the
question as to the jurisdiction of the state court, first
raised by its motion to dismiss the complaint and vacate
the attachment. It asserted the following affirmative de-
fenses, inter alia: (1) that its cancellation of letter of
eredit No. 110/84 was effected pursuant to, and under
compulsion of, an act of the sovereign State of Uganda;
(2) that under Ugandan law, performance by petitioner
of the obligation it had undertaken to respondents was
unlawful; that petitioner was not liable for non-perform-
ance compelled by the dictates of Ugandan law; and that
the application of New York law, rather than the law of
Uganda, would deny petitioner the protection guaranteed
to it by the Constitution of the United States; and (3) that
the state court was precluded by the Bretton Woods Agree-
ment from enforcing the contract upon which respondents’
claim is based.

Petitioner renewed its contentions with respect to the
federal questions involved at each stage of the litigation
in the state courts. The opinion of the state court ex-

10

plicitly recognizes the existence of the federal questions in
the following language: ‘‘Defendant contends that the
complaint must be dismissed because the court lacks sub-
ject matter jurisdiction, that the law of the Republic of
Uganda applies and under it the complaint must be dis-
missed, that the decision under review is contrary to the
act of state doctrine, and that said decision violates the
Bretton Woods Agreement” (A 4).

Reasons for Granting the Writ

This case presents substantial questions arising under
the Constitution of the United States. The New York
Court of Appeals has undertaken to decide them. In so
doing, the state court purported to resolve issues that this
Court has not dealt with in specific terms, but which only
this Court can, and should, determine. Moreover, having
assumed a jurisdiction which, we submit, exceeded its con-
stitutional power, the state court decided the federal ques-
tions in a way that does not accord with applicable deci-
sions of this Court.

More particularly, the state court’s disposition of the
issues before it requires review by this Court for the fol-
lowing reasons. (1) Adjudication of the controversy by
the state court denied petitioner due process of law guar-
anteed by the United States Constitution, in that, both
parties being non-residents, and the petitioner not having
undertaken an obligation to respondents to make any per-
formance in New York’, New York had no jurisdiction

* The contingent obligation undertaken by petitioner toward a
hypothetical (and, in fact, non-existent) negotiating bank never
became actual, and was, in any event, too remote from the con-
troversy between petitioner and respondents to justify judicial
interference by the State of New York. Cancellation of the re-
imbursement facility, but not of the credit in favor of respond-
ents, would have given rise to no claim by respondents, but only
@ claim by a negotiating bank. Such a claim is, of course, wholly
hypothetical, because there was no negotiating bank in this case.

ee

ll

over the cause nor over the person of the petitioner.
(2) The lack of jurisdiction over the cause could not be
cured by attachment of petitioner’s bank account in New
York, and, because the New York court lacked jurisdiction
of the cause, the distraint upon petitioner’s property,
without prior notice or opportunity to be heard, was itself
a taking of property without due process of law. (3) In-
asmuch as petitioner’s obligations to respondents (as dis-
tinct from any contingent obligations undertaken to a hy-
pothetical negotiating bank) were both undertaken and
performable exclusively in Uganda, the contract between
petitioner and respondents was made and to be performed
in accordance with and was governed by the laws of
Uganda. Under the laws of Uganda, that contract was
unenforceable. Performance by petitioner would have
been unlawful. Under controlling decisions of this Court,
the imposition of liability under New York law constituted
a denial of due process guaranteed by the United States
Constitution. (4) In view of the fact that the petitioner’s
cancellation of the letter of credit was effected in Uganda
and notice thereof transmitted from Uganda, in accordance
with an effective mandate of the Government of Uganda,
the federal act of state doctrine provided an absolute de-
fense to petitioner and the state court’s rejection of that
defense denied petitioner due process of law. (5) The
state court exceeded its authority in its construction of
a treaty of the United States, and by enforcing the con-
tract in suit, disregarding the explicit provisions of the
Bretton Woods Agreement, in violation of Article VI,
clause 2 of the United States Constitution.

I.

The State Court Decided Substantial Federal
Questions That Should Be Determined
Only by This Court

When, as in this case, nationals of foreign countries and
international business transactions are involved, the scope
of a state court’s jurisdiction over the subject matter
and the parties raises important federal questions. This
Court has dealt with the scope of state court jurisdiction
in the context of our federal system of government but
we are aware of no determination by this Court that would
support the New York court’s assumption of jurisdiction
in this case.

In cases where no question was raised as to the juris-
diction of a state court over the subject matter and
the parties, this Court has had occasion to declare that the
state court may not shape its judgment on the basis of
state policies that are inconsistent with national foreign
policy. We are aware of no decision of this Court that
would support the power of a state affirmatively to im-
pose its policies with respect to foreign affairs by provid-
ing judicial remedies to foreign nationals, non-residents
of the state, who complain against other foreign nationals,
non-residents of the state, in respect of conduct required
by the laws and policies of a foreign country in which such
conduct occurred.

A. The State Court Was Not Authorized
to Adjudicate This Case.

The New Yc: courts lacked original jurisdiction of
the subject matter and of the parties in this controversy,
which arises out of the alleged breach of a letter of credit
contract made by a Ugandan bank with an Israeli busi-
ness entity. The letter of credit contemplated the drawing
of drafts in Israel, on a company located in Uganda, that

Diner trer rs tote coe ow

13

were to be presented for payment in Uganda, and pay-
ment of which, in Uganda, was guaranteed by a Ugandan
bank located in Uganda. No original jurisdiction vested
in the New York courts by reason of the fact that the
drafts were denominated in United States dollars nor by
reason of the fact that the Ugandan bank, gratuitously
and not as a term of its agreement with any other con-
tracting party, offered to cause the payment in New York
of claims against it by any bank on condition that such
bank had negotiated drafts under the letter of credit
and certified that its conditions had been met. Indeed,
the leading cases of this Court suggest that any such
assumption of jurisdiction violates due process of law.
Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958). See also, In-
ternational Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945) ;
McGee v. International Life Ins. Co., 355 U.S. 220 (1957 ).

This Court has held that a state court may exercise in
personam jurisdiction over a non-domiciliary corporation
where it is “reasonable, in the context of our federal sys-
tem of government, to require the corporation to defend
the particular suit which is brought there.” International
Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945) at page 317.

The instant case does not arise in the “context of our
federal system of government”’ and it is not reasonable in
the circumstances of this case to require petitioner to an-
swer in New York the complaint there lodged against it by
respondents. That this controversy lies outside the context
of our federal system of government is self-evident. That
it is unreasonable for the New York courts to assume juris-
diction is apparent for the following reasons.

First, the undisputed evidence establishes that, in issuing
its letter of credit No. 110/84, petitioner did not contem-
plate the application of New York law to the transaction
nor was there any reason for it to anticipate that its under-
taking to respondents would be governed by any law other
than that of Uganda where it issued the letter of credit

14

and where its performance under the credit was to occur.
Petitioner undertook no obligation to respondents or to
Hiram Zeevi and Co. (Uganda) Ltd. that was perform-
able in New York. Accordingly, petitioner at no time
assumed or owed any duty to account, in a New York
court, for its performance or non-performance of its en-
gagement to respondents.

The fact that petitioner voluntarily offered to nego-
tiating banks a contingent and conditional facility for
reimbursement in New York is insufficient to bring the con-
troversy between petitioner and respondents within the
cognizance of the New York courts. The uncontroverted
evidence in the record establishes that as a matter of gen-
erally accepted banking practice the proposal for re-
imbursement of negotiating banks conferred on respond-
ents no rights against petitioner (R. 158; 168-169). It was
intended to simplify and reduce the paper work and traf-
fic between banks in the course of their transactions in
foreign currencies. It would clearly be unreasonable to
hold that a consequence of this inter-bank arrangement
was to make petitioner accountable to respondents in the
New York courts.

Second, petitioner is a banking corporation organized
and existing under the laws of Uganda. It maintains no
branci., agency, or other establishment in New York and
conducts no activities in New York that would make it
amenable to service of process of the New York courts.
Maintenance of correspondent relationships, including an
account with First National City Bank in New York, did
not constitute activities that subject petitioner to the juris-
diction of the New York courts. Bank of America v. Whit-
ney Bank, 261 U.S. 171 (1923).

Third, the controversy does not involve property in
New York, title to which is in dispute or which is other-
wise available to serve as the basis for tm rem jurisdic-
tion. Even if it be assumed, arguendo, that petitioner had

’

15

proposed to use its credit balance with First National City
Bank to make a. payment to or for the benefit of respond-
ents, and had so instructed First National City Bank,
prs pro ny would have acquired no rights in respect of
such credit balance. Erb v. Banco di Napoli, 243 N.Y. 45
° (en. t Napoli, N.Y. 45,

Fourth, respondents are not citizens or residents of New
York or otherwise so situated as to claim the protection
of New York law or the assistance of the New York courts
in respect of their claims against non-domiciliaries of New
York. Hanson v. Denckla, International Shoe Co. v. Wash-
ington and McGee v. International Life Ins. Co. (supra).

Fifth, the deficiencies of jurisdiction were not and could
not be remedied through the device of attaching petitioner’s
bank account. A state may not create a jurisdiction it does
yee Aap eigas by seizing property of an absent defendant in
order to create a res. Simonson vy. International Bank, 14
N.Y.2d 28 (1964). In the case at bar there is an:

“. . . absence of those ‘affiliating circumstances’

without which the courts of a State may not enter judg-
ment imposing obligations on persons (jurisdiction in
personam) or affecting interests in property (jurisdic-

tion tm rem or quasi in rem).” Hanson vy. Denckla, 357
U.S. 235 (1958) at page 246.°

_.° The quoted language is not in conflict wi i ’
cision of Harris v. Balk, 198 U.S, 215 (1905). In Harn assume
tion of jurisdiction quasi in rem was allowed where the plaintiff
attaching the debt was a resident of the state assuming jurisdic-
tion by way of attachment; and plaintiff’s residency in the forum
1s an important consideration in determinin, whether assumption
of jurisdiction conforms to due process. See McGee v. Interna-
twnal Life Ins. Co., 355 U.S. 220 (1957), at page 223. In the
yoy A: —- ae nor respondents were, or are, resi-

of New York or have any other i i
otherwise, with the state of ~ =A York. ee

16

Moreover, the seizure of petitioner’s property without
any prior notice to petitioner or opportunity to be heard
as to the seizure, was itself a denial of due process.
Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972). Fuentes, however,
need not be exclusively relied upon. In North Georgia
Finishing, Inc. v. Di-Chem, Inc., No. 73-1121 (1975) not offi-
cially reported, this Court held that attachment of property
is offensive to the due process clause where there is no
notice or opportunity to determine the appropriateness of
such an attachment. In North Georgia, where, as in the
case at bar, the seized property involved a bank account of
a corporation, this Court stated:

“Here, a bank account, surely a form of property,
was impounded and, absent a bond, put totally beyond
use, during the pendency of the litigation on the alleged
debt, all by writ of garnishment issued by a court clerk
without notice or opportunity for an early hearing and
without participation by a judicial officer.” 43 Law
Week at page 4194.

North Georgia held unconstitutional a pre-hearing seizure
in an action where there was no dispute as to the state’s
power to assume jurisdiction over the defendant. The
seizure in the case at bar, by a state otherwise having no
jurisdiction over petitioner, is more offensive to due process
than the seizure held unconstitutional in North Georgia.
Indeed, a three-judge district court has recently held the
New York attachment statute, used to seize petitioner’s
property herein, unconstitutional under this Court’s deci-
sion in Fuentes. Burt Randolf Sugar and Wrestling, Inc.
v. Curtis Circulation Co., 377 F.Supp. 1055 (S.D.N.Y. 1975).

I eee it

ee oe

.

17

B. In This Case the Use of Judicial Action to Implement
State Policy is Offensive to the Constitution of the
Uniied States.

The opinion of the state court reveals that its judgment
was intended to give effect to the state policies of main-
taining the “preeminent financial position” of New York
and enhancing its claim to be “a financial capital of the
world, serving as an international clearing house and
marketplace for a plethora of international transactions”
(A 67) as well as to give effect to New York’s “sense
of justice and equity as embodied in our public policy”
and “the well-known policy of this State” against acquies-
cence in ‘‘the confiscatory and discriminatory acts of the
Ugandan goverment, . . .” (A 7-8). The explicit allega-
tions of the complaint in this action demonstrate that the
claim for relief is in part based upon charges of politically
and socially unacceptable policies and acts of the Ugandan
government and the complaint embodies newspaper and
magazine articles calculated to emphasize the repugnance
of those Ugandan laws, policies, and acts which con-
strained petitioner to cancel its letter of credit in favor of
respondents. The action of the New York courts consti-
tuted positive response to this instigation of a conflict
between the policies of New York State and the policies
of the Republic of Uganda.

The Constitution of the United States vests exclusively
in the Federal government the right to conduct foreign
affairs. This court has explicitly held that where there
is a conflict between the policies of the Federal government
and the public policy of New York, “the state of New York
does not exist.” United States v. Belmont, 301 U.S. 324
(1937), at page 331; United States v. Pink, 315 U.S. 203
(1941). The state court pretends, however, that “there
being no present policy of the Executive Branch of the
United States Government requiring acquiescence in the
confiscatory and discriminatory acts of the Ugandan gov-
ernment” (A 8), New York is free to declare and im-

18

pose its own public policy. This contention, we respect-
fully submit, is both sophistical and mischievous.’

In the circumstances of this case, the state court has
done more than to apply its own public policy in the ab-
sence of an explicitly enunciated national policy. In this
case, the state court has not confined itself to withhold-
ing a remedy because of repugnance to the policies of the
party seeking judicial assistance; it has attempted affirma-
tively to impose its own policies by applying sanctions
against a non-resident foreign national which, in its own
country, was constrained to comply with governing law
that is distasteful to the New York court.

In our submission, by so acting, the state court grossly
exceeded the limitations imposed upon it by the Constitu-
tion of the United States. The question so raised, in any
event, is one that can only be answered by this Court and
which, we respectfully submit, most certainly should be
answered.

II.

The State Court Decided Substantial Federal
Questions In a Way Not in Accord With
Applicable Decisions of This Court

This case does not belong in the courts of New York.
That conclusion is strongly supported by the fact that,

"The policies of the Executive Branch need not be, and most
frequently are not, articulated in terms of a broadside support-
ing or attacking the practices of a particular foreign govern-
ment. The fundamental policies of the United States, expressed
in treaties and reflected in jurisprudence (q.v., infra, pp. 21-28),
look to stability of international relations. ‘‘So let there be no
mistake about it: International cooperation is a vital factor in our
lives today. This is not a moment for the American people to turn
inward.’’ The State of the Union Address by the President of the
United States (H. Doc. R’s 94-3), 121 Cong. Rec. No. 2 (Jan.
15, 1975). This is not a moment for a state court to undertake
a role in the formulation of foreign policy.

A AT AA Mie pets titan he

ee ome ee oe ey

RE retin RW WT te ee

| PRE, ett reeds conte SLE ee ln es

ee ws

ea

ery

ae

19

having assumed a jurisdiction they did not possess, the
New York courts so far departed from the principles laid
down in applicable decisions by this Court as to require
review and correction by this Court.

A. Due Process Requires that Ugandan and
Not New York Law Be Applied.

By any test, the transactions out of which this case
arises were so intimately and predominantly related to
Uganda as to require the application of Ugandan law.
The transaction was initiated in Uganda by Hiram Zeevi
and Co. (Uganda) Ltd. (A 23-25). Petitioner is a Ugan-
dan bank (A 12). It was petitioner’s intention and
understanding that the letter of credit “would be sub-
ject to and construed pursuant to the laws of the Repub-
lie of Uganda” (R. 158) and Hiram Zeevi and Co.
(Uganda) Ltd. “affirmatively represented’”’ to petitioner
that isssuance and performance of the letter of credit
would be in accord with Ugandan law and regulations
(R. 156-7). The application and effect of Ugandan law
has been stated in the record by a qualified Ugandan
lawyer who was familiar with the transaction (R. 143-
147), and that evidence stands uncontradicted. The letter
of credit was issued in Uganda (A 29). It contem-
plated presentation of drafts for payment in and ouly in
Uganda (A 29-30). Petitioner undertook no obiigation to
respondents to take action of any sort outside of Uganda.

Inasmuch as Ugandan law governed, the application,
brutum fulmen, of New York law is an unconstitutional
denial of due process of law, that must not be allowed to

*The reimbursement facility was not, as the state court er-
roneously said, ‘‘an integral part of that for which the parties
bargained’’ (A 26-28). Even if it were so treated, for purposes
of conferring jurisdiction, it was not a factor of sufficient weight
to shift the center of gravity from Uganda to New York for pur-
poses of ascertaining what law is to govern. See Auten v. Auten,
308 N.Y. 155 (1954).

a i i ie

20

stand uncorrected. In Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 U.S. 571,
590-91 (1953), this Court said:

“We have held it a ‘~nial of due process of law
when a state of the Union attempts to draw into con-
trol of its law otherwise foreign controversies, on
slight connections, because it is a forum state [cita-
tions ].”

In Accord:
Home Insurance Co. y. Dick, 281 U.S. 397 ( 1930).

Moreover, had the court below not incorrectly applied
the law of New York, instead of the law of Uganda (the
jurisdiction with the most significant contacts with the
controversy in question), judgment must have been ren-
dered for petitioner. Because the expenditure of Ugandan
foreign exchange was contemplated and would have been
involved, the letter of credit in controversy was subject
to the Exchange Control Act of Uganda (R. 144). The
expenditure of foreign exchange without currently valid
permission of the Minister of Finance is strictly prohibited
by the Exchange Control Act of Uganda (R. 144). The
Bank of Uganda, acting with the authority of the Minister
of Finance of Uganda (R. 145), notified petitioner that
foreign exchange allocations in favor of the beneficiary of
Credit No. 110/84 had been revoked (R. 145 & 148-59).
Revocation of foreign exchange allocations is specifically
authorized by the Exchange Control Act of Uganda
(R. 145). Because the requisite foreign exchange alloca-
tions were revoked, the Bank of Uganda directed petitioner
not to make the foreign exchange payments contemplated
by the letter of credit (R. 145 & 159). Had petitioner
ignored the directives of the Government of Uganda and
made the foreign exchange payments contemplated by
Credit No. 110/84, petitioner would thereby have com-
mited an unlawful act (R. 145 & 159). Under the law of
Uganda, petitioner incurred no liability for its refusal to

wee 5

21

commit an unlawful act (R. 143-147). The attempt by
the state court to enlarge petitioner's obligation by im-
posing liability is proscribed by applicable decisions of
this Court. Deutsche Bank v. Humphrey, 272 U.S. 517
(1926) ; see also, Menendez v. Saks & Co., 485 F. 2d 1355
(2nd Cir. 1973).

B. Under the Federal Act of State Doctrine
Petitioner’s Compliance with the Direc-
tives of the Ugandan Government Con-
stitutes a Complete Defense.

The decision of the state court reflects a misapprehension
of the federal act of state doctrine, as enunciated by con-
trolling decisions of this Court, that should not be allowed
to go uncorrected.

The Ugandan government is not a party to this action.
It seeks no relief from a court in the United States. It is
not susceptible to judicial sanctions. A state court should
not be permitted to punish petitioner as a whipping-boy
for the Ugandan government.

From the beginning, this Court has made plain that in a
controversy between private litigants, our courts will not
impose liability upon a defendant who has acted in accord-
ance with the dictates of law or the constraints of govern-
mental authority, even though the laws or constraints are
repugnant to the policies of the forum. In Underhill v.
Hernandez, 168 U.S. 250 (1897), this Court held that a
foreign individual who, in a foreign country, acted in ac-
cordance with the laws and directives there obtaining, could
not be held liable to the plaintiff who was damaged by such
acts. In Oetjen v. Central Leather Co., 246 U.S. 297 (1918),
this Court denied recovery against a defendant who
brought into this country property that had been confis-
cated from plaintiff in Mexico and thereafter acquired by
defendant.

22

The doctrine has most frequently been articulated in
terms of the impropriety of the courts of one nation ad-
judicating with respect to the governmental acts of an-
other nation; or, as stated in Underhill v. Hernandez:

‘‘Every sovereign State is bound to respect the inde-
pendence of every other sovereign State, and the
courts of one country will not sit in judgment on the
acts of the government of another done within ‘ts own
territory.’’ 168 U.S. at page 252.

In Accord:

American Banana Co. v. United Fruit Co., 213
U.S. 346 (1909) ;

Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S.
398 (1964).

The corollary, in a controversy between private litigants,
is that our courts will not characterize as wrongful, and
impose liability for, acts or omissions of a non-govern-
mental defendant which did not, in effect, reflect the will
or desire of such defendant, but flowed from an exercise
of paramount authority. In this case, therefore, compli-
ance by petitioner in Uganda, with the directives of the
Ugandan government, gave rise to no claim cognizable in
the courts of the United States.

The state court which, in prior decisions, had followed
the dictates of the act of state doctrine, Salimoff & Co. v.
Standard Oil Co., 262 N.Y. 220 (1933), sought to evade its
impact in this case by asserting that the relevant acts of
the Ugandan government were without effect in New York.
This assertion, however, is untenable for the following
reasons.

It is true that the acts of a foreign government have
no extra-territorial effect except insofar as the forum is
moved by comity to accord effect to them. This gloss on

23

the act of state doctrine is relevant to situations in which
a foreign government seeks to affect tangible or intangible
property that has a situs beyond its borders. In this case,
however, the record is clear that no property, tangible or
intangible, within the State of New York, was affected by
Ugandan law or by petitioner’s cancellation of letter of
credit No. 110/84 in accordance with the dictate of the
Ugandan government. Neither the directives of the
Ugandan government nor the acts of petitioner in compli-
ance therewith altered or purported to alter title or other

interests in any property, tangible or intangible, in New
York.

The establishment of letter of credit No. 110/84, by
its terms, contains no engagement by petitioner to transfer
or pay to respondents in New York any money or other
property there situated. The offer (never accepted) to
negotiating banks contained in the reimbursement clause
was not a transfer or commitment to transfer any prop-
erty in New York; it was, at most, a conditional payment
order which conferred no enforceable rights against peti-
tioner’s correspondent, First National City Bank, or in
any credit balance that petitioner may have maintained
with First Nationai City Bank. Erb v. Banco di Napoli,
supra. The only property that petitioner had in New
York was a debt owed to it, and to no one else (see New
York Banking Law Section 134(4) and (5)). The letter of
credit arrangement gave respondents no rights in rem or
otherwise, with respect to that debt. The establishment
of the letter of credit did not create a debt from petitioner
to respondents, in New York or elsewhere, and its cancel-
lation did not create a debt with a situs in New York.
Even if, as respondents contend, the cancellation of the
credit was wrongful, the consequence was at most the crea-
tion of a liability on the part of petitioner, and not the
creation of a debt that could be localized as property in
New York.

24

Accordingly, the decisions cited by the state court® are
quite beside the point, as, indeed, are those decisions of the
federal courts which establish the extra-territorial invalidity
of foreign governmental acts.

The inescapable fact is that the Ugandan governmental
action was not intended ‘to and did not affect property or
rights existing outside Uganda; those acts were intended
to be, and were, fully executed and effective within the
territory of the Ugandan government; and those acts had
the effect of prohibiting petitioner from performing the
contractual engagements it had made, and was to perform,
in Uganda. The applicable decisions of this Court, con-
sequently, proscribe the imposition of liability upon peti-
tioner because: (1) petitioner has no liability cognizable
in our courts flowing from its compliance in Uganda with
the dictates of the Ugandan government; and (2) entry
of judgment against petitioner predicated upon a liability
imposed under New York law would deny to petitioner
that due process of law guaranteed by the Constitution of
the United States.

In this case, the obligation undertaken by petitioner to
respondents was undertaken in Uganda. It was an obli-
gation both governed and measured by Ugandan law. The
pronouncement of Circuit Judge Mansfield, in Menendez
v. Saks, 485 F.2d 1355 (2nd Cir. 1973), a case relied upon
by the Court below (A 8), should be dispositive of this
point:

“

. . In such eases the obligation may not be ‘en-
larged by the fact that the creditor happens to
be able to catch his debtor here,’ Deutsche Bank v.

* TTuntington v. Attrill, M6 U.S. 657 (1892); Mertz v. Mertz,
271 N.Y. 466 (1936). In Vladikavkazsky Railway Co. v. New
York Trust Co., 263 N.Y. 369 (1934), the defendant was a New
York bank that admittedly owed a debt payable only in New York;
the issue was whether the Russian decrees could transfer that debt
from the original depositor to its successor by nationalization.

sa is ei.

25

Humphrey, 272 U.S. 517, 47 S.Ct. 166, 71 L.Ed. 383
(1926); Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co, v. Delta
& Pine Land Co., 292 U.S. 143, 54 S. Ct. 634, 78 L. Ed.
1178 (1934), since an enlargement of the obligation
would be tantamount to a denial of due process. See
Home Insurance Co. v. Dick, 281 U.S. 397, 50 S.Ct.
338, 74 L. Ed. 926 (1930); Confederation Life Ass’n.
v. Ugalde, 151 So.2d 315 (Fla. App. 1963), rev’d in
part, 164 So.2d 1 (Fla. 1964) ; Tillman v. Russo Asiatic
Bank, 51 F.2d 1023 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 285 U.S.
539, 52 S. Ct. 312, 76 L. Ed. 932 (1931); Holderness
v. Hamilton, Fire Ins. Co. of New York, 54 F. Supp.
145 (S.D. Fla. 1944).’? 485 Fed.2d at 1367.

C. The Judgment of the State Court Violates
a Treaty of the United States.

Throughout the course of this litigation, the respondents
have insisted that the object of the transactions was to
exchange Ugandan shillings for United States dollars.”
The method chosen was to authorize respondents to draw
dollar drafts on Hiram Zeevi and Co. (Uganda) Ltd.
Under Ugandan law prevailing and in effect since 1964,
an exchange of Ugandan currency for foreign currency was
prohibited except in accordance with the exchange control
regulations of the Ugandan government (R. 144-145).
Accordingly, upon the representation by Hiram Zeevi
and Co. (Uganda) Ltd. that all necessary Ugandan gov-
ernment approvals had been obtained (R. 156-7), peti-
tioner established its letter of credit No. 110/84 author-
izing respondents to draw dollar drafts on Hiram
Zeevi and Co. (Uganda) Ltd. and guaranteeing that such

1° This is initially apparent in the complaint (R. 20-28). Re-
spondents further argued that their goal was to effect the ex-
change of Ugandan shillings in Kampala, Uganda, for United
States dollars in New York, but their pleadings contain no such
allegation, nor did they offer any proof in support of the as-
sertion.

26

dollar drafts would be paid on presentation in Kampala,
Uganda; at the same time, Hiram Zeevi and Co. (Uganda)
Ltd. placed with petitioner, in Uganda as ‘‘margin”, an
amount of shillings equivalent at the then rate of exchange,
to the dollar amount of the drafts. The arrangement was
admittedly contractual and explicitly involved Ugandan
currency which, respondents allege, was ‘‘deposited’’ with

petitioner in anticipation of its exchange for dollars (R.
20-21).

Article VIII, Section 2(b) of the Bretton Woods Agree-
ment (60 Stat. 1401 et seqg.), provides in relevant part:

‘*Exchange contracts which involve the currency of
any member and which are contrary to the exchange
control regulations of that member maintained or im-
posed consistently with this Agreement shall be un-
enforceable in the territories of any member.’’ (60
Stat. 1411).

The provisions of Article VIII, Section 2(b) have the force
of law in the United States pursuant to 22 U.S.C. Section
286h.

Credit No. 110/84, upon which respondents’ claim is
based, is an exchange contract involving the currency of
Uganda; and, because the requisite permission for expen-
diture of foreign exchange was revoked, performance by
petitioner would have been contrary to the Exchange Con-
trol Act of Uganda (R. 143-157; and see, generally: Nuss-
baum, Exchange Control and the International Monetary
Fund, 59 Yale L.J. 421 (1950)).

In Banco do Brasil v. Israel Com. Co., 12 N.Y.2d 371
(1963), cert. denied 376 U.S. 906 (1964), the New York
Court of Appeals said of Article VIII, Section 2(b) of the
Bretton Woods Agreement:

“The sanction provided in subdivision (b) of Sec-
tion 2 is that contracts covered thereby are to be ‘un-
enforceable’ in the territory of any member. The

ON ee

27

clear import of this provision is to insure the avoid-
ance of the affront inherent in any attempt by the
courts of one member to render a judgment that
would put the losing party in the position of either
complying with the judgment and violating the ex-
change controls of another member or complying with
such controls and refusing obedience to the judgment.
A further reasonable inference to be drawn from the
provision is that the courts of no member should
award any recovery for breach of an agreement in vio-
lation of the exchange controls of another member.”
(12 N.Y. 2d at 376).

In Banco do Brasil, the state court was asked, not to
enforce an unenforceable exchange contract, but to
impose liability after the event on a United States na-
tional for entering into and performing a contract that
violated the currency laws of Brazil. By a divided vote,
the New York court declined to extrapolate the mandate
of the treaty, and this Court denied certiorari. That
situation is a far cry from the present case. In Banco do
Brasil, the state court properly aeclined to alter a treaty
of the United States by construing it expansively; here
it improperly refused to give effect to the plain mandate
of the treaty.”

The United States is a signatory to the Bretton Woods
Agreement which is a treaty and “the supreme law of the

1 The bald assertion that ‘‘said letter of credit is not an ex-
change contract’’ (A 9) is unsupported by authority or rea-
son and, in the light of the uncontroverted evidence, such asser-
tion is untenable. Where, as here, a treaty of the United States
is involved, it is the practice of this Court not to rely on conclusions
of the state court, but rather to ‘‘review or independently deter-
mine all questions on which a federal right is necessarily depend-
ent.’’ United States v. Pink, 315 U.S. 203 (1941) at page 217. See
also United States v. Ansonia Brass & Copper Co., 218 U.S. 452
(1910).

28

land” within the meaning of the Supremacy Clause of the
United States Constitution (Art. VI, Cl. 2). To avoid
interference with the foreign policy of the United States,
state law and state policy must yield to treaties of the
United States. United States v. Belmont, 301 U.S. 324
(1937); United States v. Pink, 315 U.S. 203 (1942); Kol-
ovrat v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 187 (1961). In Kolovrat, this
Court specifically stated that a state court is required to
give effect to the results mandated by the Bretton Woods
Agreement, even if those results are not satisfactory to the
state’s own policy:

‘Doubtless these agreements may fall short of that
goal. But our National Government’s powers have
been exercised so far as deemed desirable and feasible
toward that end, and the power to make policy with
regard to such matters is a national one from the
compulsion of both necessity and our Constitution.
After the proper governmental agencies have selected
the policy of foreign exchange for the country as a
whole, Oregon of course cannot refuse to give foreign
nationals their treaty rights because of fear that valid
international agreements might possibly not work com-
pletely to the satisfaction of state authorities.” 366
U.S. at page 19.

The decision of the state court is inconsistent with prior
decisions of this Court, as well as in flagrant disregard of
obligations imposed by a treaty of the United States. It
requires review and reversal by this Court.

29

CONCLUSION

This petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Henry Harrretp
Attorney for Petitioner
53 Wall Street

New York, N. Y. 10005

SHEARMAN & STERLING
Herman E. Comprer

Joun J. E. Marxnam, IT
of Counsel

July 10, 1975.

—_———__——_

Al

APPENDIX

Opinion of the Court of Appeals, State of New York
STATE OF NEW YORK

Court or APPEALS

No, 250

J. Zeevi and Sons, Ltd., &ors., copartners &c.,

Respondents,
Vs.

Grindlays Bank (Uganda) Limited,
Appellant.

OPINION

[This opinion is uncorrected and subject to revision
before publication in the New York Reports.]

Cooke, J.

Defendant appeals from an order of the Appellate Divi-
sion, First Department, which unanimously affirmed an
order of the Supreme Court, New York County, granting
the motion of plaintiff J. Zeevi and Sons, Ltd., for partial
summary judgment on the first cause of action in the com-
plaint, denying defendant’s cross motion for summary
judgment on both causes of action in said pleading, direct-
ing entry of judgment in favor of said plaintiff on said
first cause of action and severing and continuing the re-
maining cause, as well as from the judgment entered
thereon.

A2
Opinion of the Court of Appeals, State of New ¥ ork.

The first cause of action in the complaint involves an
irrevocable letter of credit, dated March 24, 1972, num-
bered 110/84 and in the sum of $406,846.80. The second
cause contains allegations regarding the deposit of a check
with defendant on March 24, 1972 and the opening on the
next day by defendant of an irrevocable letter of credit
numbered 110/85 for $203,423.40. Allegedly, each letter
of credit was drawn to plaintiff partnership. Plaintiffs as-
sert that there are issues of fact warranting trial in re-
spect to the latter transaction.

The pertinent factual picture unfolds without dispute.
On March 24, 1972, Hiram Zeevi & Company (Uganda)
Ltd., an Israeli corporation deposited with defendant,
Grindlays Bank (Uganda) Ltd., local currency valued at
approximately $406,846.80, for the purpose of establishing
a fund upon which plaintiff J. Zeevi and Sons, an Israeli
copartnership, could draw money. On the same date, de-
fendant opened its irrevocable credit No. 110/84 for
$406,846.80 in favor of said partnership and issued a letter
of credit acknowledging that it had opened the irrevocable
credit for “$406,846.80 (U. S. dollars four hundred and
six thousand eight hundred and forty six cents eighty)”,
and provided that the credit amount be available against
clean drafts drawn on the depositor in equal amounts of
$40,684.68 commencing April 15, 1972 and monthly there-
after. It stated “[t]his credit is valid until 3lst January,
1973 for presentation of drafts in Kampala.” The letter
concluded with these provisions:

We guarantee the payment of drafts drawn in con-
formity with the terms and conditions stated. The
negotiating bank must send drafts direct to us by
air-mail.

The negotiating bank is authorised to claim reim-
bursement for their payments on the due dates listed
above from First National City Bank, 399 Park

Al PON ED

A3
Opinion of the Court of Appeals, State of New York.

Avenue, New York to the debit of our account with
them together with a certificate to the effect that all
terms of the credit have been complied with and the
relative drafts have been airmailed to us.

By directives dated March 28, 30 and April 13, 1972,
officials of the Bank of Uganda, acting with the authority
of the Minister of Finance under the Exchange Control Act
of Uganda, notified defendant that foreign exchange allo-
cations in favor of Israeli companies and nationals should
be cancelled and, accordingly, ordered it to make no fereign
exchange payments pursuant to credit number 110/84.
While, on April 4, 1972, defendant had informed its New
York agent, First National City Bank (hereinafter Citi-
bank), of the issuance of the letter of credit for “credit
No. 110/84”, defendant advised said agent, by cable dated
and received April 14, 1972 and by letter of April 17, 1972,
that the Government of Uganda had instructed it to can-
cel the letter of credit numbered 110/84 and directed said
agent not to “effect paymeut against drawing US $40684-68
due to be paid on or afcer 15th April 1972”’. A cable and
letter bearing the same respective dates and a correspond-
ing message were forwarded by defendant to said part-
nership. A letter dated May 5, 1972 from defendant stated:
“In the circumstances we have had no option but to in-
struct our agents in New York not to effect reimbursement
of the drawing due to be made on 15.5.1972 without further
reference to us.”

On December 28, 1972 Chemical Bank (‘*Chemical’’)
presented to Citibank for reimbursement ten drafts each
for $40,684.68, totalling $406,846.80, drawn under letter of
credit 110/84, and on January 11, 1973 Chemical wrote to
Citibank that ‘‘we are again presenting our domestic col-
lection R92049 in the amount of $406,846.80 under irrevo-
eable letter of credit 110/84, reimbursable on your good

A4
Opinion of the Court of Appeals, State of New York.

selves and ask for reimbursement as per the terms and
conditions thereof.’ On January 19, 1973 Citibank re-
turned the subject drafts unpaid to Chemical.

This action by the partnership, the beneficiary of the two
letters of credit, and J. Zeevi and Sons, Ltd., the assignee
of said partnership, was commenced by an order of attach-
ment on November 24, 1972, whereby the funds of defend-
ant on deposit with Citibank were attached and defendant
was served by publication. Supreme Court denied defend-
ant’s motions to dismiss for lack of jurisdiction and to
increase the amount of plaintiff’s bond on the attachment
and to reduce the amount of the attachment, both of which
orders were affirmed by the Appellate Division.

Defendant contends that the complaint must be dismissed
because the court lacks subject matter jurisdiction, that
the law of the Republic of Uganda applies and under it
the complaint must be dismissed, that the decision under
review is contrary to the act of state doctrine, and that
said decision violates the Bretton Woods Agreement.

Subdivision 2 of section 200-b of the Banking Law, en-
titled ‘‘Actions maintained against foreign banking cor-
poration; residents; foreign corporations, foreign banking
corporations as nonresidents,’’ provides in part:

2. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, an
action * * * against a foreign banking corporation
may be maintained by another foreign corporation or
foreign banking corporation or by a nonresident in
the following cases only:

(c) where the cause of action arose within this state,

Subdivision (b) of section 1314 of the Business Corpora-
tion Law contains almost identicai language.

Pete en tame he OE eS ln at

A5
Opinion of the Court of Appeals, State of New York.

A letter of credit, a well-known instrumentality of com-
merce (Kingdom of Sweden v. New York Trust Co., 197
Misc. 431, 441), is governed by the same general principles
of law as are all other contracts in writing (Moss v. Old
Colony Trust Co., 246 Mass. 139, 151; Bank of United
States v. Seltzer, 233 App. Div. 225, 229). It is either
revocable or irrevocable and, once the latter has been es-
tablished, the consent of all parties, particularly the bene-
ficiary, is necessary in order to modify the original terms
and conditions of the credit (Lamborn v. National Park
Bank of New York, 240 N. Y. 520, 525; Dulien Steel Prod-
ucts of Wash. v. Bankers Trust Co., 189 F. Supp. 922, 927,
affd. 298 F. 2d 836 [C.C.A. 2, 1962]).

The first cause of the complaint alleges and the facts
establish a cause of action occurring within New York. In
the irrevocable letter of credit 110/84 under scrutiny, de-
fendant contracted to pay upon compliance with its terms
(Lamborn v. National Park Bank of New York, supra, at
p. 525) and defendant’s order countermanding payment
by cable and letter took effect upon receipt by Citibank in
New York and then gave rise to a cause of action here
(Gonzalez v. Industrial Bank [of Cuba], 12 N Y 2d 33, 38).
Citing Hibernia Nat. Bank v. Lacombe (84 N. Y. 367), this
court stated in Gonzalez that ‘‘a cause of action arises
where that is done which should not be done.’’ In this
instance, New York was the locus of repudiation, whereas
it should have been a site of payment. The provision
respecting reimbursement in New York was an integral
part of that for which the parties bargained, it was not a
discrete obligation. The separate character of defend-
ant’s undertakings is negated by its guarantee of payment
of drafts. The value to those in commerce of having a
place at a financial capital where funds can be obtained on
a simple letter of credit, away from a relatively small
bank in an undeveloped country of uncertain political sta-

A6
Opinion of the Court of Appeals, State of New York.

bility, is obvious. The reimbursement provision is quite
essential, economically, to the total arrangement since a
promisee would be unwilling to present a draft based on a
letter of credit, in dollar terms, to a commercial house in
the United States and then be required to wait a relatively
inordinate time for the money to come from a remote
source.

When defendant, the issuer, repudiated the letter of
credit before presentment of the draft and before expira-
tion of the letter, it was guilty of an anticipatory breach
of contract and became liable for damages caused the
beneficiary (Foglino & Co. v. Webster, 217 App. Div. 282,
297-298, mod. on other grounds 244 N. Y. 516; Doelger v.
Battery Park National Bank, 201 App. Div. 515, 521-522;
Mendelson v. Wechsler, 203 N.Y.S 197; 34 N Y Jur, Let-
ters of Credit, § 38; see Uniform Commercial Code, § 5-115).

We come now to the question of the choice of law.
“T]he rule which has evolved clearly in our most re-
cent decisions is that the law of the jurisdiction having
the greatest interest in the litigation will be applied and
that the facts or contacts which obtain significance in de-
fining State interests are those which relate to the pur-
pose of the particular law in conflict’” (Intercontinental
Planning v. Daystrom, 24 N Y 2d 372, 382). New York has
an overriding and paramount interest in the outcome of this
litigation. It is a financial capital of the world, serving as
an international clearinghouse and market place for a
plethora of international transactions, such as to be so
recognized by our decisional law (Intercontinental Plan-
ning v. Daystrom, supra, at pp. 383-384). A vast amount
of international letter of credit business is customarily
handled by certain New York banks whose facilities and
foreign connections are particularly adaptable to this field
of operation (34 N Y Jur, Letters of Credit, $10, p. 427).
The parties, by listing United States dollars as the form

AT
Opinion of the Court of Appeals, State of New York.

of payment, impliedly accepted these facts and set up pro-
cedures to implement their trust in our policies. In order
to maintain its preeminent financial position, it is impor-
tant that the justified expectations of the parties to the
contract be protected (cf. Kossick v. United Fruit Co.,
365 U. S. 731, 741). Since New York has the greatest in-
terest and is most intimately concerned with the outcome
of this litigation, its laws should be accorded paramount
control over the legal issues presented (cf. Auten v. Auten,
308 N. Y. 155, 161).

As typified by strong anti-Israel and anti-semitic sug-
gestions made by Uganda’s President to the Secretary
General of the United Nations, the Bank of Uganda, by
message dated March 28, 1972 and marked ‘‘Top Secret”,
directed defendant that “all payments to Israel companies
and their agents, and to the Government of Israel whether
by cheques, * * * or by letters of credit, should not be
processed until clearance has been obtained from the under-
signed.” Sixteen days later in a message marked “Con-
FIDENTIAL” and to which was attached references to letters
of credit 110/84 and 110/85, defendant was informed that
“Tt]here can never be any basis for the expenditure of
foreign exchange unless value in the form of goods has
been received in Uganda” and that “no foreign exchange
payment should be effected on any of the allocations al-
ready advised to you on behalf of any Israel company.”
Defendant contends that these revocations or cancellations
of foreign exchange allocations in favor of the beneficiary
of credit number 110/84 were authorized by the Exchange
Control Act of Uganda.

Laws of foreign governments have extraterritorial juris-
diction only by comity (Huntington v. Attrill, 146 U. S.
657, 669; Mertz v. Mertz, 271 N. Y. 466, 470). The prin-
ciple which determines whether we shall give effect to
foreign legislation is that-of public policy and, where there
is a conflict between our public policy and application of

A8
Opinion of the Court of Appeals, State of New York,

comity, our own sense of justice and equity as embodied
in our public policy must prevail (Vladikavkazsky Ry. Co.
v. New York Trust Co., 263 N. Y. 369, 378). It is clear,
that no attempted confiscatory or discriminatory act of the
Ugandan government, enforced or enacted aftcr the issu-
ance of letter of credit 110/84 could diminish the benefi-
ficiary’s rights in respect to reimbursement and defend-

ant’s funds located in New York (see N. Y. Const., art. 1,

§§ 6, 11). There being no present policy of the executive
branch of the United States Government requiring ac-
quiescence in the confiscatory and discriminatory acts of
the Ugandan government, the well-known policy of this
State against such acquiescence is operative (Gonzalez v.
Industrial Bank [of Cuba], 12 N Y 2d 33, supra, at p. 39).
Although the letter of credit when made was valid under
the laws of Uganda, by virtue of subsequent governmental
action the contract became unenforceable in that country.
This action, however, was of no force in New York and
the doctrine of impossibility of performance lends no com-
fort to defendant.

Neither does the federal act of state doctrine apply. The
essence of this legal principle is that the courts of this
country cannot question an act of a recognized foreign
nation committed within its own territory, no matter how
grossly that sovereign has transgressed its own law (see
Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U. S. 398, 416;
French v. Banco Nacional de Cuba, 23 N Y 2d 46,52). The
doctrine is not applicable here since a debt is not “located’’
within a foreign state unless that state has the power to
enforce or collect it (Menendez v. Saks & Co., 485 F. 2d
1355, 1364, cert. den. U.S. ——, 94 S. Ct. 2382).

Defendant urges that enforcement of the letter of credit
contract would violate the foreign exchange laws of
Uganda in disregard of a treaty Uganda and the United
States are signatories to the Bretton Woods Agreement

aes a a

A9
Opinion of the Court of Appeals, State of New York.

(60 Stat. 1401 et seg.) which, in relevant part under section
2 (b) of article VITI, provides:

Exchange contracts which involve the currency of
any member and which are contrary to the exchange
control regulations of that member maintained or im-
posed consistently with this Agreement shall be unen-
forceable in the territories of any member.

Contrary to defendants’ position, the Agreement, even
when read in its broadest sense, fails to bring the letter of
credit within its scope, since said letter of credit is not
an exchange contract. In Banco Do Brasil, S. A. v. Isreal
Commodity Co. (12 N Y 2d 371), this Court frowned on
an interpretation of said provision of the Bretton Woods
Agreement which “sweeps in all contracts affecting any
members’ exchange resources as doing considerable vio-
lence to the text of the section” (pp. 375-376).

The order of the Appellate Division should be affirmed

with costs.
e 6 oe > e s

Order affirmed, with costs. Opinion by Cooke, J. All con-
eur.

Decided June 16, 1975.

A10

Order, Judgment and Remittitur of the
Court of Appeals.

COURT OF APPEALS

State or New York, ss:

PLEAS in the Court of Appeals held
at Court of Appeals Hall, in the
City of Albany, on the 6th day of
May in the year of our Lord
one thousand nine hundred and
seventy-five, before the Judges of
said Court.

WITNESS,

The Hon. Cuarzes D. Breiret,
Chief Judge, Presiding.

JosEPH W. Betuacosa, Clerk.

Remittitur June 16, 1975

dé.
a

1 No. 74
J. Zeevi and Sons, Ltd., &ors., copartners &c.,
Respondents,
Vs.
Grindlays Bank (Uganda) Limited,
Appellant.

..
—

Be ir RemMemsBereD, That on the 13th day of September
in the year of our Lord one thousand nine hundred and

All
Order, Judgment cnd Remittitur of the Court of Appeals.

seventy four, Grindlays Bank (Uganda) Limited, the ap-
pellant in this cause, came here unto the Court of Appeals,
by Shearman & Sterling, its attorneys, and filed in the said
Court a Notice of Appeal and return thereto from the
Order of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court in
and for the First Judicial Department And J. Zeevi and
Sons, Ltd., &ors., copartners, the respondents in said
cause, afterwards appeared said Court of Appeals by
Harry H Lipsig and Pamfil A Riposanu, its attorneys

Which said Notice of Appeal aud the return thereto
filed as aforesaid, are hereunto annexed.

Wuerevpon, The said Court ef Appeals having heard
this cause argued by Mr. Henry Harfield, of counsel for
the appellant- , and by Mr. Edmund B. Hennefeld, of
counsel for respondents, brief filed amicus curiae for New
York Clearing House Association, and after due delibera-
tion had thereon, did order and adjudge that the order of
the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court appealed
from herein be and the same hereby is affirmed, with costs.

Opinion by Cooke, J.
All concur.

And it was also further ordered, that the records afore-
said, and the proceedings in this Court, be remitted to the
Supreme Court of the State of New York, there to be pro-
ceeded upon according to law.

THEREFORE, it is considered that the said order is affirmed,
&e., as aforesaid.

And hereupon, as well the Notice of Appeal and return
thereto aforesaid as the judgment of the Court of Appeals
aforesaid, by it given in the premises, are by the said
Court of Appeals remitted into the Supreme Court of the

Al12
Order, Judgment and Remittitur of the Court of Appeals.

State of New York before the Justices thereof, according
to the form of the statute in such case made and provided,
to be enforced according to law, and which record now
remains in the said Supreme Court, before the justices
thereof, &e.
JosEPH W. BELLacosa,
Clerk of the Court of Appeals
of the State of New York.

Court or Appeats, CLERK’s OFFICE, )
Albany, June 16, 1975 ‘

(Sea)

I Heresy Certiry, that the preceding record contains a
correct transcript.of the proceedings in said cause in the

Court of Appeals with the papers originally filed therein,
attached thereto.

JosepH W. Be.iacosa,
Clerk.

Al3

Entry of Judgment Upon Remittitur.

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
County or New Yorx

Index No. 24,330/1972

sé.
ve

J. Zeevi anv Sons, Lrv., Gap Zeevi, Rivka Zeevi, GaLILLa
Pact and Enis Mewzer, copartners doing business as J.
ZEEVI AND Sons, a copartnership,

Plaintiffs,
against

GrinpLays Bank (Ucanpa) Limirtep,
Defendant.

s.
vv

The above-named defendant, Grindlays Bank (Uganda)
Limited, having appealed to the Court of Appeals from
an order of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court,
First Judicial Department, entered in this action on the
16th day of May, 1974, affirming the order of the Supreme
Court, New York County, entered on February 7, 1974,
which granted plaintiffs’ motion for partial summary
judgment on the first cause of action, and denied defend-
ant’s cross-motion for summary judgment on both causes
of action, and from the judgment of the Supreme Court,
New York County, entered thereon, dated on or about
February 19, 1974, and the Court of Appeals having heard
said appeal and ordered and adjudged that the order so
appealed from be affirmed, with costs, and the remittitur
from the Court of Appeals having been filed in the Office
of the Clerk of the County of New York,

Now, on motion of Harry H. Lipsig and Pamfil A.
Riposanu, Esqs., atterneys for the plaintiffs, it is

Al4
Entry of Judgment Upon Remittitur.

Apsupcep that the Order of the Appellate Division of
the Supreme Court appealed from herein be and the same
hereby is affirmed, and that the plaintiff, J. Zeevi and
Sons, Ltd., recover of the defendant, Grindlays Bank
(Uganda) Limited, the costs and disbursements of this
action as taxed, amounting to $1,411.12, making in all a
total of One Thousand Four Hundred and Eleven and
12/100 ($1,411.12) Dollars, and that the plaintiff, J. Zeevi
and Sons, Ltd., have execution therefor.

Judgment signed this 26th day of June, 1975.

Norman GoopMan
Clerk

GrinDLays Bank
45 Kampala Road

Kampala, Uganda
FIED

June 26, 1975
New York
Co. CLERK’s OFFICE

J. Zeevi & Sons
c/o Pamfil A. Riposanu

375 Park Ave.

Al5
Memorandum Opinion of Trial Court,
New York County.
SUPREME COURT

New York County

InpivipvaL CaLENDAR—Part XIII

(SAME TITLE]

WaLTEMaADE, J.:

This motion by defendant for an order dismissing the
complaint and vacating the order of attachment upon the
grounds that this Court lacks jurisdiction over the parties
in this action is denied.

Plaintiff J. Zeevi and Sons, Ltd. and J. Zeevi and Sons,
respectively, are a foreign corporation and a foreign co-
partnership duly organized and existing under the laws
of the State of Israel. Defendant Grindlays Bank
(Uganda) Limited is a foreign corporation duly organized
under the laws of the Country of Uganda.

Hiram Zeevi & Company (Uganda) Ltd. desiring to
transfer certain funds from Uganda to plaintiffs in New
York deposited the funds with the defendant. In con-
sideration thereof defendant issued its irrevocable letter
of credit in favor of the Zeevi copartnership amounting
to $610,270.20. In accordance with the terms and conditions
of the letter of credit the bank negotiating the drafts was
authorized to claim reimbursement for the payments on
the respective due dates from First National City Bank,
399 Park Ave., New York in which the defendant had
funds on deposit.

It is alleged that, on or about April 14, 1972 defendant
breached the contracts by cancelling the letters of credit

A16

Memorandum Opinion of Trial Court,
New York County.

and instructing First National City Bank not to pay on
the drafts as they become due.

Plaintiffs have secured in rem jurisdiction by an order
of attachment levying upon the assets of the defendant
bank in the hands of First National City Bank, New York
City in the sum of $710,270.20.

Defendant moves to dismiss the complaint and vacate
the order of attachment on the ground that this Court
lacks jurisdiction pursuant to Section 1314 of the Busi-
ness Corporation Law. Such a claim is without merit as
a careful examination of all the papers submitted reveals
this case to be included as one of the types of action which
may be brought under B.C.L. 1314.

B.C.L. 1314(b) states,

“Except as otherwise provided in this article, an action
or special proceeding against a foreign corporation
may be maintained by another foreign corporation of
any type or kind or by a non resident in the follow.
ing cases only:

(3) where the cause of action arose withi. this state,
except where the object of the action or special pro-
ceeding is to affect the title to real property situated
outside this state.”

It is alleged that the whole purpose of the transaction
was to transfer funds from Uganda to New York.

There is no doubt that a cause of action arose in New
York when the defendant after issuing its irrevocable
letters of credit payable in United States currency, and
after guaranteeing the payment of the drafts, instructed
First National City Bank, its agent in New York, where
it kept funds on deposit for such purposes, not to honor
the drafts drawn on such letters of credit.

Al7

Memorandum Opinion of Trial Court,
New York County.

It is the opinion of this Court that based upon the docu-
mentary evidence submitted and pursuant to B.C.L. 1314
there is sufficient ties with the State of New York to en-
able this Court to retain in rem jurisdiction over the par-
ties in this case.

Dated: Apr. 10, 1973.
W. A. W.,

J.S.C.

Memorandum Opinion of Trial Court,
New York County.

SUPREME COURT
New York County

InprvipvaL CaLENDAR—P art 13

Index No. 24330/72

-
os

J. Zezvi anv Sons, Lrp., Gap Zeevi, Rivka Zeevi, GALILLA
Pact and Ena Mewzer, copartners doing business as

J. Zeevi1 anv Sons, a copartnership,
Plaintiffs,

against

GrinpLays Bank (Ucanpa) Lim irtep,
Defendant.

Watrtemang, J.:

In this action by the beneficiary and assignees of two
letters of credit to recover funds deposited in the defend-

A18

Memorandum Opinion of Trial Court,
New York County.

ant bank, the complaint states two causes of action, each
based upon one of the letters of credit, to which the de-
fendant has interposed various defenses. The plaintiff,
J. Zeevi and Sons, Ltd., moves for partial summary judg-
ment on the first cause of action and the defendant cross-
moves for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Except as to certain matters in the second cause of
action, the operative facts are undisputed. On March 24,
1972, Hiram Zeevi & Company, an Israeli corporation de-
posited with defendant, Grindlays Bank Limited, in
Uganda, local currency valued at approximately $406,846.80
for the purpose of establishing a fund upon which the
plaintiff, J. Zeevi & Sons, an Israeli co-partnership, could
draw money. The bank issued an irrevocable letter of credit
numbered 110/84 to plaintiff, evidenced by cable and con-
firmation letter, both dated March 24, 1972. The letter of
credit provided that the bank would guaranty payment of
draft drawn against the depositor’s account in Kampala,
Uganda, in equal amounts of $40,684.68, commencing April
15, 1972, and monthly thereafter. The confirmatory let-
ter provided that the bank negotiating the drafts for the
beneficiary plaintiff, should seek reimbursement for its
payments at the First National City Bank, 390 Park
Avenue, New York, to the debit of the account which the
defendant bank maintained therein. On March 24, 1972,
Hiram Zeevi & Company also deposited for collection with
the defendant a check of same date drawn on the Govern-
ment of Uganda which was intended to establish funds for
a second letter of credit numbered 110/85. Defendant’s
bank stamp shows that the check was cleared and paid
on March 25, 1972; however, a later notation thereon
dated March 27, 1972, shows that the Bank of Uganda, act-
ing on behalf of the Government of Uganda, directed that
payment of the check be stopped. It remains factually un-
clear whether the defendant in the interim issued a bind-

—— aaa annem emma.

A19

Memorandum Opinion of Trial Court,
New York County.

ing second letter of credit in reliance upon this further
transaction. This uncertainty has given rise to the second
cause of action upon which the remaining plaintiffs are
assignees of the claim thereunder.

Thereafter, by directives dated March 28, 30, and April
13, 1972, various officials of the Bank of Uganda, acting
with the authority of the Uganda Minister of Finance
under the Exchange Control Act of Uganda, notified the
defendant that foreign exchange allocations in favor of
Israeli companies and nationals such as the respective
parties hereto should be cancelled. The submitted papers
which are well documented without controversion, demon-
strate clearly that the Government of Uganda executed
these directives solely to implement political policy.

On April 4, 1972, the defendant advised its New York
agent, First National City Bank, of the issuance of the
letter of credit numbered 110/84. Later, by telegram
dated April 14, 1972, and confirmatory letter dated April
17, 1972, the defendant advised its New York agent that
the credit was cancelled because of the Uganda Govern-
ment directives. On May 5, 1972, defendant notified the
plaintiff of the cancellation. _

On January 11, 1973, Chemical Bank, as plaintiff's
negotiating bank, was refused payment by First National
City, of the first drafts drawn pursuant to the letters of
credit. No part of the moneys has been returned or paid.
. The defendant contends that it is justified in refusing
payment of the funds on deposit, of which a like sum, upon
commencement of this action, has already been attached
against assets defendant possessed in New York. Defend-
ant reasons that it is acting under lawful authority of the
Republic of Uganda, and that the law of that country
must be applied to determine the rights of the parties. The
plaintiff urges that a conflict of laws exists which must
yield in favor of New York law.

A20

Memorandum Opinion of Trial Court,
New York County.

In an earlier motion to dismiss the complaint and vacate
the order of attachment, the defendant argued that this
Court lacked jurisdiction. In denying the request, the
Court found that “the whole purpose of the transaction
between the parties was to transfer funds from Uganda
to New York’’, and that ‘‘There is no doubt that a cause
of action arose in New York when the defendant, after
issuing its irrevocable letters of credit payable in United
States currency and after guaranteeing the payment of
the drafts, instructed First National City Bank, its agent
in New York, where it kept funds on deposit for such
purposes, not to honor the drafts on such letters of credit.”
The Court also found that based upon the documentary
evidence submitted there are sufficient ties with the State
of New York to enable this Court to retain in rem juris-
diction over the parties. This decision was unanimously
affirmed by the Appellate Division without opinion. (J.
Zeevi & Sons, Ltd. v. Grindlays Bank [Uganda] Ltd., 42
A D 2d 698.) To this decision, the Court now adds that
in determining which of two conflicting laws should be
applied to establish a claim, the modern concept of “group-
ing of contacts’’, or ‘“‘center of gravity” is the determina-
tive factor (Babcock v. Jackson, 12 N Y 2d 473). Under
Babcock v. Jackson, the law of the jurisdiction having the
greatest interest in the litigation will be applied and that
the facts or contacts which obtain significance in defining
State interest are those which relate the purpose of the
particular law in conflict (Intercontinental Planning v.
Daystrom, 24 N Y 2d 372, 382). The policy of the juris-
diction most intimately concerned with the outcome of the
particular litigation is paramount (Auten v. Auten, 308
N.Y. 155, 161; ef. Babeock v. Jackson, supra).

There is no disagreement that the directives: of the Re-
public of Uganda are clearly confiscatory. As a conse-
quence, the well-known policy of this State against ac-

A21

Memorandum Opinion of Trial Court,
New York County.

quiescence to confiscation is operative (Gonzalez v. Indus-
trial Bank of Cuba, 12 N Y 2d 33, 39; Viadikavkazky Ry.
Co. v. N.Y. Trust Co., 263 N.Y. 369). In Vladikavkazky,
under somewhat analogous facts, the Court viewed the
issue as a practical question of whether the law shall com-
pel a debtor in this State to pay its debt or permit it to
hold the property of its creditor indefinitely by reason of
foreign legislation. Vladikavkazky narrowed the issue
upon the principle that if the legislation is a confiscatory
decree where, as here, it repudiates an otherwise sound
obligation, it becomes contrary to our public policy and
shocks our sense of justice and equity (id. p. 378). How-
ever, what is most relevant is that the funds are located
and payable in this State (Moscow Fire Ins. Co. v. Bank
of New York, 280 N.Y. 286).

From all of the foregoing, it is clear that New York
has the paramount interest in the application of its law
when the contacts which the Republic of Uganda and this
State have with the instant controversy are examined in
relation to the policies and purposes to be vindicated by the
conflicting laws. The manifest purpose of New York law
is to protect mercantile trade and enforce the performance
of a binding contract. The Uganda law appears to abro-
gate that agreement by martial decree to enforce a purely
political policy and to confiscate funds without due com-
pensation. It is clear which of the two policies is palatable.
It is also clear that the instant dispute has sufficient con-
tacts with New York to give our State a substantial inter-
est in applying its own policy. The principal debtor, its
agent, its funds, and the place of performance, viz., New
York, represent a sufficient grouping of contacts to gravi-
tate a paramount concern to this forum.

The Court is mindful of the contention of the defendant
that under Uganda law, performance by the bank might be
unlawful and a complete defense. However, for reasons

A22

Memorandum Opinion of Trial Court,
New York County.

already stated, this Court is hardly constrained to lend
support to that law. Finally, the defendant has wholly
failed to demonstrate that the terms of the Bretton Woods
Agreement militate a different determination.

Accordingly, upon all of the foregoing, the motion for
partial summary judgment upon the first cause of action is
granted and the cross motion by the defendant for sum-
mary judgment is denied.

Settle order.

Dated: December 18, 1973.

A23

Statutes Involved.
United States Constitution Amendment XIV, Section 1

Section 1, All persons born or naturalized in the United
States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens
of the United States and of the State wherein they reside.
No State shall make c~ enforce any law which shall abridge
the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United
States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny
to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection
of the laws.

United States Constitution, Article VI, Clause 2

Clause 2. Supreme Law of Land

This Constitution, and the Laws of the United States
which shall be made in Pursuance thereof; and all Treaties
made, or which shall be made, under the Authority of the
United States, shall be the supreme Law of the Land; and
the Judges in every State shall be bound thereby, any
Thing in the Constitution or Laws of any State to the
Contrary notwithstanding.

Article VIII, Section 2(b) of the Bretton Woods
Agreement, 60 Stat. 1411.

‘*Exchange contracts which involve the currency of any
member and which are contrary to the exchange control
regulations of that member maintained or imposed con-
sistently with this Agreement shall be unenforceable in the
territories of any member.’’

errr" Ee

A24
Statutes Involved.
New York Banking Law § 200-b(2).

2. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, an ac-
tion or special proceeding against a foreign banking cor-
poration may be maintained by another foreign corpora-
tion or foreign banking corporation or by a nonresident
in the following cases only:

(a) where the action is brought to recover damages for
the breach of a contract made or to be performed within
this state, or relatig to property situated within this state
at the time of the making of the contract;

(b) where the subject matter of the litigation is sit-
uated within this state;

(c) where the cause of action arose within this state,
except where the object of the action or special proceeding
is to affect the title of real property situated outside this
state;

(d) where the action or special proceeding is based on a
liability for acts done within this state by a foreign bank-
ing corporation;

(e) where the defendant is a foreign banking corpora-
tion doing business in this state.

Business Corporation Law § 1314(b).

(b) Except as otherwise provided in this article, an ac-
tion or special proceeding against a foreign corporation
may be maintained by another foreign corporation of any
type or kind by a nonresident in the following cases only:

(1) Where it is brought to recover damages for the
breach of a contract made or to be performed within this
state, or relating to property situated within this state at
the time of the making of the contract.

A25
Statutes Involved.

(2) Where the subject matter of the litigation is sit-
uated within this state.

(3) Where the cause of action arose within this state,
except where the object of the action or special proceeding
is to affect the title of real property situated outside this

state.

(4) Where, in any case not included in the preceding
subparagraphs, a non-domiciliary would be subject to the
personal jurisdiction of the courts of this state under sec-
tion 302 of the civil practice law and rules.

(5) Where the defendant is a foreign corporation doing
business or authorized to do business in this state.

ee

A26

Letter Request to Open a Letter of Credit.

P. O. Box 719
Phone 59373/59374
Cable: Heza Kampala
Kampala Uganda
Our ref: 218/700
23rd March 1972.
The Manager,
Grindlays Bank (U) Ltd.,
P.O Box 7131,
Kampala.

Dear Sir:

We hereby request to open a letter of credit to the amount
of U.Shs: 4.380.885-60 in respect of 15 payments for equip-
ment authorised by the Bank of Uganda, and to be paid
in equal monthly rates for a period of 15 months, to
Workers Bank Haifa, in favour of J. Zeevi & Sons, Haifa,
in U.S. Dollars.

We shall thank you to act immediately to cover equip-
ment purchased for Ministry of Defence work. Please in-
form Workers Bank Haifa, of the opening of the letter of
credit by cable.

Yours faithfully,

Y. Ravex
Y. Raveh,

Chief Accountant.
J. VeREeD-WEIss,

J. Vered-Weiss,
General Agent.

A27

Application for Credit 110/84.

24th March, 1972.
The Manager,
Grindlays Bank (Uganda) Ltd.,
P.O. Box 7131,
Kampala.
Dear Sir:

Please open an irrevocable credit No. 110/84 on our be-
half under which you are authorized to pay to J. Zeevi and
Sons, P.O. Box 10104, Haifa, Israel the sum of US.
$406,846.80 (U.S. dollars four hundred and six thousand
eight hundred and forty six cents eighty).

This credit amount is available, as under, against clean
drafts drawn on ourselves:

1. $40,684.68 payable on 15th April, 1972

2. $40,684.68 15th May, 1972

3. $40,684.68 ‘© 15th June, 1972

4. $40,684.68 “« © 15th July, 1972

5. $40,684.68 “ © 15th August, 1972

6. $40,684.68 “« — 15th September, 1972
7. $40,684.68 “ —“ 15th October, 1972
8. $40,684.68 “ — ** 15th November, 1972
9. $40,684.68 “« — 15th December, 1972
10. $40,684.68 “« © 15th January, 1973

Drawings under this credit must be made as above and
are payable only on or after the dates shown.

This credit is valid until 3lst January, 1973 for presen-
tation of drafts in Kampala.

Special Instructions :—All charges for the handling of this
credit and negotiation of drafts thereunder are payable by
the opener.

A28
Application for Credit 110/84.

All drafts must be enfaced ‘‘Drawn under Grindlays
Bank (Uganda) Ltd., Kampala Credit No. 110/84 dated
24th March, 1972.”

It is understood that the Bank is not responsible for the
genuineness or accuracy of such shipping documents if
apparently in order. In consideration of such drafts or
documents being purchased or negotiated by your Branch
or Agent we hereby agree duly to accept and pay them at
maturity, together with interest at % from the date of
each draft to the date of arrival of the return remittance
provided such draft or drafts shall not exceed in the whole
the amount of the Credit provided they be so negotiated
before the expiry thereof, and even although the Customs
Authorities may subsequently refuse to permit the entry
of the goods into Uganda consequent upon restrictions
being placed on their import.

It is understood that on no account shall any claim be
made against the Bank after the drafts are retired.

Yours faithfully,
For Hiram Zeevi and Co. (Uganda) Ltd.

A29

Letter of Credit 110/84.

GRINDLAYS BANK (UGANDA) LIMITED
(Incorporated in Uganda)

45 Kampata Roap
P. O. Box 7131
Kampa.a, UGANDA

Telegrams National Kampala
Telex 61010
Telephone 55011

‘**Bills Dept.’’

In confirmation of our cable dated
24th March, 1972.

J. Zeevi and Sons,
P.O. Box 10104,

Haifa,
Israel,
This Credit is advised to
you through the Medium of,
. Workers Bank, Haifa, Israel.
Dear Sirs,

We hereby open our irrevocable credit No. 110/84 for
$406,846.80 (U.S. dollars four hundred and six thousand
eight hundred and forty six cents eighty) favouring your-
selves.

This credit amount is available, as under, against clean
drafts drawn on M/s. Hiram Zeevi and Company
(Uganda) Ltd., P.O. Box 719, Kampala :—

1. $40,684.68 payable on 15th April, 1972

2. $40,684.68 ‘ ‘ 15th May, 1972
3. $40,684.68 “ ‘ 15th June, 1972

A30

Letter of Credit 110/84.

4. $40,684.68 oe ** 15th July, 1972

5. $40,684.68 os ** 15th August, 1972

6. $40,684.68 oe ‘* 15th September, 1972
7. $40,684.68 oe ** 15th October, 1972

8. $40,684.68 oe ** 15th November, 1972
9. $40,684.68 ee ** 15th December, 1972
10. $40,684.68 es ** 15th January, 1973

Drawings under this credit must be made as above and
are payable only on or after the dates shown.

This credit is valid until 31st January, 1973 for presen-
tation of drafts in Kampala.

Special Instructions:— All charges for the handling of
this credit and negotiation of drafts thereunder are pay-
able by the opener.

All drafts must be enfaced ‘‘Drawn under Grindlays

Bank (Uganda) Ltd., Kampala Credit No. 110/84 dated
24th March, 1972.’

We guarantee the payment of drafts drawn in conform-
ity with the terms and conditions stated. The negotiating
bank must send drafts direct to us by air-mail.

The negotiating bank is authorized to claim reimburse-
ment for their payments on the due dates listed above
from First National City Bank, 399 Park Avenue, New
York to the debit of our account with them together with
a certificate to the effect that all terms of the credit have
been complied with and the relative drafts have been air-
mailed to us.

Yours faithfully,
For Grindlays Bank (Uganda) Ltd.
I. J. MircHery J.H.G. Henprie
I. J. MitcHe.yi J.H.G. Henpriz

pro. Accountant, M.26 Manager H.16

A31

Letter of Collection From Chemical Bank to
First National City Bank.

CHEMICAL

20 Pine Street, New York, NY 10005

Tel.: (212) 770-2327
Robert C. Schlosser
Assistant Vice President

January 11, 1973

First National City Bank
Foreign Collection Department
111 Wall Street

New York, N. Y.

Gentlemen:

On December 28, 1972 we forwarded you our domestic
collection R92049 $406,846.80 for reimbursement under
Grindlays Bank (Uganda) Limited, Kampala, Uganda L/C
110/84 and R92049 $203,433.40 for reimbursement under
Grindlays Bank, (Uganda) Limited, Kampala, Uganda
L/C 110/85.

On December 8, 1972 your Mr. Varecka (telephone 825-
5709) informed our Ms. Vigorita that “if you received
from Chemical Bank a certificate of compliance that all
terms under the letter of credit have been complied with
you would honor our collections.”

On December 5, 1972 under our FC291413 we forwarded
10 drafts totalling $406,846.80 as required under letter of
credit 110/84 issued by Grindlays Bank (Uganda) Limited,
Kampala, Uganda directly to them asking them to honor
immediately the 8 drafts and to honor the remaining 2
drafts on their maturities. On December 18, 1972 we were
informed by cable that payment of these drafts was pro-
hibited by Bank of Uganda and being returned to Chemi-

cal Bank.

A32

Letter of Collection From Chemical Bank to
First National City Bank.

We also sent on December 15 under our FC291415, 5
drafts totalling $203,423.40, under their letter of credit
110/85. However, these drafts only became due and pay-
able February 15, 1973 monthly through June 15, 1973.
Their cable advice informed us they never opened this
letter of credit and that Hiram Zeevi & Co., Ltd., was no
longer operating in Uganda and that they were returning
the drafts by airmail to Chemical Bank. Our domestic
collection R92050, sent to you, included a copy of a cable
to the Israel Discount Bank, Haifa, stating L/C 110-85 was
opened and details would be forwarded by airmail.

A33

Letter From First National City Bank.

First Nationat Crry Bank

111 Wall Street, New York, N Y 10015
In Reply Please Quote

January 19, 1973
Chemical Bank
20 Pine Street
New York, New York 10005
Attn: Robert C. Schlosser, AVP

Gentlemen:

We have your domestic collection, delivered to us on
January 12, 1973, which we herewith return.

It is our understandiny that, in December, 1972, as col-
lection agent for the beneficiary of two letters of credit
claimed to have been issued by Grindlays Bank (Uganda)
Limited, Kampala, Uganda, you presented to the issuer,
in Uganda, drafts drawn pursuant to L/C 110/84 and
L/C 110/85. Apparentiy, the drafts under both credits
were returned to you unpaid by the issuer for the reasons
that the first letter of credit was cancelled, by order of the
Ugandan Government, and notification of cancellation had
been given to the beneficiaries, and because the second
credit had never been issued.

After this rejection, you recently presented the same
collection, under L/C 110/84, to us, with ten drafts, each
in the amount of $40,684.68, totalling $406,846.30. Upon re-
ceipt of same, we cabled the issuer for instructions, and
the issuer confirmed that the credit had been cancelled, in
April, 1972. The issuer has also indicated that, in view
of its previous return of this collection to you in December,
1972, with the reason written on the face of each bill, it

A34
Letter From First National City Bank.
could not understand your attempt to obtain payment

through us.

As you know, we were simply a reimbursing bank in this
matter, and have no authority or liability to pay these
drafts.

Very truly yours,

(Illegible)
Authorized Signature

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0709%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
