# Petition — Rogers v. International Paper Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0430%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 423 U.S. 809

## Text

IN THE iy

Supreme Court of the United Stites

Ne -

Octoser TerM, 1974

Henry Lee Rogers, Lex Cuester SMITH,
and N.A. THompson,
Petitioners,
—_—vV.—

INTERNATIONAL Paper Company: INTERNATIONAL BROTHER
Hoop or KLectricaL Workers A&I L-CIO, And [ts Loca.
9033: Uwnirep Paperworkrns INtrernatTionaL UNIoN
AFL-CIO, And Its Locaus 731, 735, 833 and 898,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Jounxn W. WALKER

PHintip KAPLAN
Walker, Kaplan & Mays
622 Pyramid Life Building
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

JACK GREENBERG
Morris J. BALLER
Devoran M, GREENBERG
Suite 2030
10 Columbus Circle
New York, New York 10019
Attorneys for Petitioners

ALBert ROSENTHAL
435 West 116th Street
New York, New York 10027

Of Counsel

mm eee —— —

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
Opinions Below .......... a sunleddidestsadiaisaaibiessbeatneesasteaaieaaiasie 1
I caicn acai iain ccmesdsceetind cncnscoseabababanelesiiieiahaalianaaaadiiiiams 2
INS BI cccesecciscnocsnecsnharninignnesansssinenstrscemmamaniesinn 2
Statutory Provisions Involved 0.00.00... cece eeeeee eens 3
Statement of the Case ....... peta iaiahiaeiadaain cicdatiidisandiaaaiaiion 4

Reasons for Granting the Writ—

I—The Case Presents an Important Question
of Federal Law Which Should Be Settled by
— a eee iia SERA 10

[]—The Decision Bclow Is in Confliet With the
Decisions of Other Courts of Appeals on the
Same Matter ................. aaa eee RSD 12

Il1I—Kfficient Judicial Administration Would Be
Served if This Court Will Grant Certiorari,
Vacate the Judgment Below, and Remand
for Further Consideration in the Light of
This Court’s Decision in Albemarle Paper
Company v. Moody and Halifar Local No.
425, United Papermakers and Paperworkers,

BE Te TROD vncccesterctienitnintienicetcsidl 14
RID 57.5 siarctssrcibscodasiadenieslnacaiabiaaniabntamndaadnadaniianin 15
APPENDIX—

Renee Ur UN I eel la
Opinion of Court of Appeals —........... srdvanlnisduuaeblgnetiatal 35a

Order Modifying Opinion and Denying Respon-
dent International Paper Company’s Petition for
Rehearing .............. el eT Be bSa

Order Denying Petitioner’s Petition for Rehearing 7la

il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

Albemarle Paper Company v. Moody, No. 74-389, ar-

mpm Det BE, BCD osceccsccccesesccsccsncscscnsensessnensns asiealin Ue i oe
Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., 416 F.2d 711 (7th

Cir, 1969), 489 F.2d 896 (7th Cir. 1973) ................-.. 13
Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S, 424 (1971) .......... 14

Halifax Loeal No. 425, United Papermakers and
Paperworkers, AFL-CIO v. Moody, No, 74-428, ar-

a TRS Te Te ctsseicicsentheseisincienicniintaendnttatens ae % RS
Head v. Timken Roller Bearing Co., 484 F.2d 870 (6th
I aoc cick te eh aetlinienbit Sauiiccsaiiiadaniecaaaieiaaiad 13

Johnson v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 491 F.2d
- 8 oe Seer csdeshbiiduscbiaacian 12, 14

Local 189, United Papermakers & Paperworkers v.
United States, 416 F.2d 980 (Sth Cir. 1969), cert.

I er EE cs ccikcesiniascencaiiecimninsensscentinageeten 5
Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S. 145 (1965) 0... 11

Moody v. Albemarle Paper Co., 474 F.2d (4th Cir.
1973), cert. aranted, —— U.S. ——, 95 S.Ct. 654

8 A Rae oR anise aeerae SN sent 12
Pettway v. American Cast Tron Pipe Co., 494 F.2d 211
UD WER: IIE cccicinchsieeciesbenindisianiiedenaieciiebiens sikaaie aabieeeaia 12

Robinson vy. Lorillard Corp., 319 F. Supp. 835 (M.D.
N.C. 1970) affirmed, 444 F.2d 791 (4th Cir. 1971),
cert, dismissed, 404 U.S. 1006 (1971) scsseeceallly By By 24

ili
PAGE
Rosen v. Public Service Gas & Electric Co., 477 F.2d
Say RRS RET EN eerie erator se 13
United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 446 F.2d 652
EES ee aeRO ends rll eo eo 5,9
United States v. Georgia Power Co., 474 F.2d 906 (5th
cialis 12
United States v. N.L. Industries, 479 F.2d 354 (Sth
eal EA Lott EEO D STE 5,7, 13
Statutes:
P.L, 92-261, 86 Stat. 103 (Equal Employment Opportu-
lc RE Ee CC 11
ES RRR ne te ee oe
28 U.S.C. §$ 1343(4), 2201 and 2202 2000... eee 5
Sy Mies, SSI OD CIs cecnisastusisessestitintictetaisniaie cinnesniiiadhiiadaasinaas 5
42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et seq. (Title VII, Civil Rights Act
SR SIE ssalsteelenidichisekinivaebetianibesidieechienbtinleitestiapliecteidehicteniidaanie passim
42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a) (Title VII, § 703(a)) 2000... 3
42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(¢c) (Title VII, § 7038(6)) 2000... 3
42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g) (Title VII, § 706 (g)) .......... amas 4
I sak 7s ccuassesbasebbubiouctesecooneniods 4

Other Authorities:
ey A IE... socnateseunanennlanetsabaiiioasoeins 12
118 Cong. Ree. 7168 (1972) ........ eer ae eee 12

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1974

Henry Lee Rocers, Lee Cuester Situ,
and N.A. THompsoyn,
Petitioners,
—

INTERNATIONAL Paper Company; INTERNATIONAL BroTHER-
Hoop or ExLecrrican Workers AFL-CIO, And Its Loca
2033; Unirep Paperworkers INTERNATIONAL UNION
AFL-CIO, And Its Locaus 731, 735, 833 and 898,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

The petitioners respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari
issue to review the judgment and opinion of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit entered in
this proceeding on January 7, 1975 and modified February
14, 1975.

Opinions Below

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Eighth Cireuit and the order denying the petition for
rehearing of the respondent International Paper Company,
reported at 510 F.2d 1340, are reprinted infra at 35a and

2

68a, respectively.' The order denying the petition for re-
hearing of the petitioners is printed infra at 7la. The
memorandum opinion of the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Arkansas has not been reported,
but is printed infra at 1a.

Jurisdiction

The judgment and opinion of the Court of Appeals was
entered on January 7, 1975. Separate petitions for rehear-
ing timely filed by respondent International Paper Com-
pany and by petitioners were denied, respectively, on Feb-
ruary 14 and 18, 1975. Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Questions Presented

1. Whether the future elimination of racial diserimi-
nation in opportunities for promotion and transfer, pur-
suant to court order under Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, obviates the need for back pay to redress
economic loss suffered in the past by victims of such dis-
crimination.

2. Whether the decision of the court below, in denying
back pay to victims of racial discrimination in employment,
is consistent with the disposition that will be made by this
Court of the questions concerning the standards governing
the award of back pay under Title VIT of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964 raised in Albemarle Paper Company v. Moody.
No. 74-389, and Halifax Local No. 425. United Papermakers
and Paperworkers, AFL-CIO v. Moody, No. 74-428, argued
April 14, 1975 and presently pending before this Court.

' This form of citation is to pages of the Appendix.

Statutory Provisions Involved

The pertinent sections of Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et seq., as amended, provide:

Section 703(a), 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a) :

It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an
employer—

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any in-
dividual, or otherwise to discriminate against any in-
dividual with respect to his compensation, terms, con-
ditions, or privileges of employment, because of such
individual’s race, color, religion, sex, or national
origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his employees or
applicants for employment in any way which would
deprive or tend to deprive any individual of employ-
ment opportunities or otherwise adversely affect his
status as an employee, because of such individual's
race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.

Section 703(¢c), 42 U.S.C. © 2000e-2(e):

It shall be an unlawful employment practice for a
labor organization—

(1) to exelude or to expel from its membership, or
otherwise to discriminate against, any individual be-
eause of his race, color, religion, sex, or national
origin ;

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify its membership
or applicants for membership, or to classify or fail
or refuse to refer for employment any individual, in
any way which would deprive or tend to deprive any
individual of employment opportunities, or would limit

—

4

such employment opportunities or otherwise adversely
affect his status as an employee or as an applicant for
employment, because of such individual’s race, color,
religion, sex, or national o.igin.

Section 706(g¢), 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g) :

If the court finds that the respondent has inten-
tionally engaged in or is intentionally engaging in an
unlawful employment practice charged in the com-
plaint, the court may enjoin the respondent from en-
gaging in such unlawful employment practice, and
order such affirmative action as may be appropriate,
which may include, but is not limited to, reinstater.ent
or hiring of employees, with or without back pay (pay-
able by the employer, employment agency, or labor or-
ganization, as the case may be, responsible for the
unlawful employment practice), or any other equitable
relief as the court deems appropriate. ... No order of
the court shall require the admission or reinstatement
of an individual as a member of a union, or the hiring,
reinstatement, or promotion of an individual as an em-
ployee, or the payment to him of any back pay, if such
individual was refused admission, suspended, or ex-
pelled, or was refused employment or advancement or
was suspended or discharged for any reason other than
discrimination on account of race, color, religion, sex,
or national origin or in violation of section 704(a).

Statement of the Case

The petitioners, Henry Lee Rogers, Lee Chester Smith
and N.A. Thompson, black employees of respondent Inter-
national Paper Company, brought this suit as a class
action on May 17, 1971, under Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et seq.; 42 U.S.C. 61981;

—

5

and 29 U.S.C. § 151 et seq. (prescribing a duty of fair
representation). Federal jurisdiction was predicated upon
28 U.S.C. §§ 1343(4), 2201 and 2202. The complaint
alleged racial discrimination in employment by respondent
International Paper Company (hereinafter “the Com-
pany”) with respect to hiring, compensation, promotion
and other terms and conditions of employment at its Pine
Bluff, Arkansas mill, and the maintenance of discrimina-
tory employment practices by the respondent unions.*
Following a trial in February and March 1972, the District
Court found that all of the respondents “openly dis-
criminated on the basis of race in the hiring and assign-
ment of employees” from the time the Pine Bluff Mill
opened in 1958,* and that this discrimination and the effects
thereof, as perpetuated by a variety of practices including
a “job seniority” system, continued unabated until August

* International Brotherhood of Pulp, Sulphite and Paper Mill
Workers, AFL-CIO; Loeals 898 and 946 of the International
Brotherhood of Pulp, Sulphite and Paper Mill Workers; United
Papermakers and Paperworkers, AFL-CIO; Loeals 731, 735 and
833, United Papermakers and Paperworkers, Pine Bluff, Arkansas:
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, AFL-C1TO: and
Local 2033, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers.
Local 946 of the International Brotherhood of Pulp, Sulphite and
Paper Mill Workers, the local to which all black emplovees
belonged, was dissolved in 1968. After trial the International
Brotherhood of Pulp. Sulphite and Paper Mill Workers and United
Papermakers and Paperworkers merged, becoming the United
Paperworkers International Union, AFL-CIO. Their respective
local union numbers remained the same after the merger.

*The Company reserved certain jobs for whites and other jobs,
the lower-paying, more physically demanding ones, for blacks
(6a). No blacks oceupied a previously all-white job until 1967:
no white was assigned to a black job until 1968 (11a).

* See, e.g., Local 189, United Papermakers and Paperworkers v.
United States, 416 F.2d 980 (Sth Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 397
U.S. 919 (1970) ; United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 446 F.2d
652 (2d Cir. 1971); Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F.2d 791
(4th Cir. 1971), cert. dismissed. 404 U.S. 1006 (1971): United
States v. N.L. Industries, 479 F.2d 354 (8th Cir. 1973).

6

7, 1968, but that on that date such conduct and the effect
thereof ceased. In particular, the court held (a) that the
seniority system as modified in 1968 was adequate to
protect the rights of black employees despite the admitted
continuation of shortcomings requiring further corrective
action in 1972, after this action had been instituted (24a,
25a); (b) that the Company’s testing program was not
discriminatory and was job-related (20a, 27a); and (c)
that there was no evidence of discrimination in mainte-
nance, i.e., craft, jobs (18a).° The opinion made no mention
of the exclusion of blacks from supervisory jobs. The
court concluded that injunctive relief was unnecessary to
assure compliance with Title VII (3la) but retained juris-
diction and directed the Company to make periodic reports
to the court “of its employment activities” (33a). Stating
that “this litigation has, without doubt, acted as a catalyst
which partially prompted the defendants to take some
action implementing its [sic] own fair employment
policies and seeking compliance with the requirements of
Title VII”, the court awarded the petitioners costs includ-
ing counsel fees (34a).

Although petitioners had shown that the class suffered
severe economic loss as a result of respondents’ dis-
criminatory practices,’ the court specifically denied back

° The record shows that at the time of trial there were 253 white
and only two blacks in true craft jobs. Both blacks were appren-
tices; there had never been a black journeyman.

*The District Court found that Black employees had been
assigned lower-paying jobs than white employees (6a). The record
shows 1) that in nearly every department, almost all blacks earned
less than most whites, 2) that in every department the average
hourly rate of whites was higher than the average hourly rate of
blacks, 3) that not one of 112 black hourly-rated employees held
a job with an hourly rate in excess of $4.31, while 404 whites out
of 1081 (37%) held such jobs, and 4) that the average hourly rate
at the time of trial of whites hired in any given year was higher
than the average hourly rate of b!acks hired in the same year.

7

pay, relying on United States v. N.L. Industries, 479 F.2d
354 (8th Cir. 1973) (33a-34a).

Petitioners appealed to the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Eighth Circuit,’ which reversed in part,
vacated in part, and remanded (35a-67a). It held as
follows:

(a) Supervisory Personnel: Statistical evidence that
among 160 supervisory employees there was only one black,
an accountant hired in 1969, coupled with the existence of
a selection system that lends itself to racial abuse, was
sufficient to make a prima facie showing of racial dis-
crimination, which had not been rebutted by the Company.
Since the District Court in defining the class had excluded
supervisory employees (22a), this aspect of the case was
remanded for further hearings and a determination as to

whether there was racial discrimination in this category
(38a-46a).

(b) Maintenance Craft Jobs: The Company’s use of a
battery of standardized tests as selection devices for main-
tenance craft jobs had a disproportionately adverse effect
on black applicants and the Company’s attempt to prove
the tests job-related by means of validation studies was
unsatisfactory in many respects.’ The District Court was
instructed, on remand, to direct the Company to conduct
new validation studies, and if it finds the tests to have
resulted in a racially discriminatory hiring or transfer
policy to devise remedies to give hiring or transfer prefer-
ence, as vacancies become available, to those who had
suffered therefrom (48a-55a).

* Petitioners raised the District Court’s denial of back pay as a
separate point of error in their appeal to the Court of Appeals.

* Cf. Albemarle Paper Company v. Moody, No. 74-389.

8

The court also found no business necessity for the Com-
pany’s present entry level age limitation, together with
a disparate effect on black applicants because of prior
discrimination, and ordered temporary raising of the
maximum age for entry into apprenticeship programs until
the District Court determines that there is sufficient
minority representation in the Company’s maintenance
craft jobs (55a-56a).

(c) Production Jobs: The court held that, in light of the
respondents’ past history of maintaining racially segre-
gated lines of progression, with those open to blacks the
lowest paying and least desirable, the continuance of
facially neutral seniority, promotion and transfer policies
continued the effects of past discrimination into the
present. Despite the 1968 changes, which had been deemed
sufficiently curative by the District Court, as well as further
revisions made in 1972, after the trial but before the District
Court decision in the instant case, the Court of Appeals
noted that “no significant movement to rightful places has
been realized by former discriminatees .. . . .” concluded
“that the present transfer, promotion and_ seniority
practices in the production department at Pine Bluff con-
tinue to perpetuate the effects of past discrimination,” and
held that the district court had been in error in denying
injunctive relief (56a-65a).

Accordingly, the Court of Appeals directed that on
remand:

(a) The District Court should ensure full wage pro-
tection to affected class members who exercise transfer
opportunities by raising “red circle” * ceilings to realistic

* “Red Circling” is the name commonly given to the practice
of continuing the wage rates of employees who transfer into other
departments or lines of progression at levels paying lower rates,
so that the temporary drop in wages will not discourage such

levels (in accordance with a formula set forth by the Court
of Appeals) and extending coverage to class members
previously excluded.

(b) The District Court should require the Company to
demonstrate which jobs provide essential training for
progression and which could be skipped upon entry and
promotion, so that advancement of victims of previous
discrimination would not be held back by barriers unsup-
ported by business necessity.

(c) For the same reason, the District Court should
review the length of the residency requirements in a given
job which employees have to satisfy before being eligible
for advancement to the next higher level, to determine
whether they are the least restrictive means to accomplish
their purpose, and to consider whether functionally equiv-
alent experience in former lines of progression may satisfy
those requirements ;

(d) The District Court should review the Company’s
practices in advancing victims of racial discrimination to
their rightful place as expeditiously as possible and to the
same extent as it now accords a rightful place to returning
servicemen; and

(e) This relief should be made available to all affected
class members regardless of whether they had declined
transfer offers in the past (65a-66a).

The court then stated: “Jf these conditions are fully
implemented, the need for a back pay award will be
obviated.” (66a) (Emphasis supplied).

transfers. Apart from its use in other labor-management situa-

tions, it has been frequently ordered as an essential ingredient in

the correction of discriminatory seniority and transfer practices.

See, e.g.. United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 446 F.2d 652,

661 (2nd Cir. 1971); Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 319 F. Supp.

oa 842 (M. D. N. C. 1970), affirmed, 444 F.2d 791, 796 (4th
ir. 1971).

10

Both the petitioners and the Company asked the Court
of Appeals for rehearing, the petitioners also suggesting
a rehearing en bane. Petitioners specifically sought on re-
hearing an award of back pay. In response to the Com-
pany’s petition the court made minor changes in the text
of its opinion, and it denied both petitions for rehearing
(68a-71a).

Reasons for Granting the Writ

I

The Case Presents an Important Question of Federal
Law Which Should Be Settled by This Court.

Petitioners and their class suffered loss of income as a
result of employment practices which the Court of Appeals
found to be discriminatory. They will continue to lose
earnings until all present discriminatory practices and
effects of past discrimination have been eradicated. While
the Court of Appeals directed the removal of a number of
racially discriminatory barriers to promotion and transfer,
it denied compensation for the losses they caused in the
past. In holding that the opening up of such opportunities,
in time to come, satisfies the responsibility of the judiciary
to effectuate the purposes of Title VII, the court has ruled
in effect that compensation for monetary loss suffered be-
cause of past discrimination may be traded away for
injunctive relief forbidding continued discrimination in the
future.

The rationale of the Court of Appeals, that future in-
junctive relief might “obviate” the “need” for back pay,
is self-contradictory and untenable. Injunctive relief is by
definition @frospective. No amount of prospective injune-
tive relief can provide class members with compensation

11

for monetary loss suffered in the past (and until the
remedial decree issues). For those older workers who will
be unable to take advantage of the opportunities for ad-
vancement which injunctive relief should provide, to deny
back pay is to deny the only meaningful relief afforded by
Title VII for a lifetime of discrimination.

In Title VII cases as in other civil rights areas, “the
court has not merely the power but the duty to render a
decree which will so far as possible eliminate the dis-
eriminatory effects of the past as well as bar like dis-
crimination in the future.” Louisiana v. United States, 380
U.S. 145, 154 (1965). Back pay, to redress economic harm
caused by unlawful employment discrimination, has here-
tofore been uniformly regarded as an essential component
of the remedies available in order to make the victims
whole. In reviewing the judicial construction of Title VIT
and recommending the adoption of the Equal Oppor-
tunity Act of 1972, P. L. 92-261, 86 Stat. 103,!° the Con-
ference Committee, in its section-by-section analysis,
stressed the importance of full remedial relief:

The provisions of this subsection are intended to
give the courts wtde discretion exercising their equi-
table powers to fashion the most complete relief pos-
sible. In dealing with the present section 706(g) the
courts have stressed that the scope of relief under that
section of the Act is intended to make the victims of
unlawful discrimination whole, and that the attainment
of this objective rests not only upon the elimination
of the particular unlawful employment practice com-
plained of, but also requires that persons aggrieved

1° While the 1972 law amended Title VII of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964 in a number of respects, none of the changes bears upon
the back pay issue as it arises in the instant case, and if the holding
below is allowed to stand it would be equally applicable to the
amended statute.

12

by the consequences and effects of the unlawful em-
ployment practice be, so far as possible, restored to a
position where they would have been were it not for
the unlawful discrimination (emphasis supplied). 118
Cong. Rec. 7168 (1972); see also 118 Cong. Ree. 4942
(1972) (Seetion-by-Section Analysis introduced into
Record by Sen. Williams).

The decision of the court below, so long as it stands
unreversed, will constitute a serious threat to the effectua-
tion of a Congressional policy of utmost national im-
portance.

II

The Decision Below Is in Conflict With the Decisions
of Other Courts of Appeals on the Same Matter.

The courts of appeals of five other circuits have consis-
tently awarded both injunctive relief and back pay in cases
strikingly similar to the instant case. Back pay was
awarded, along with injunctions against continued use of
discriminatory seniority systems and invalid tests, in
Moody v. Albemarle Paper Co., 474 F.2d 134 (4th Cir.
1973)," cert. granted, U.S, ——, 95 S.Ct. 654 (Dee. 16,
1974): United States v. Georgia Power Co., 474 F.2d 906
(5th Cir. 1973),"* Johnson v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co..,

awe). a plaintiff or a complaining class who is snecessful in

obtaining an injunction under Title VIT of the Act should
ordinarily be awarded back pay unless special cireumstances would
render such an award unjust.” 474 F.2d at 142.

** “Given this Court's holding that ‘fa]n inextricable part of
the restoration to prior for lawful] status is the payment of back
wages... it becomes apparent that this form of relief may not
properly be regarded as a mere adjunct of some more basic equity.
It is properly viewed as an integra] part of the whole of relief... .”
474 F.2d at 921.

13

491 F.2d 1364 (Sth Cir. 1974),"" and Pettway v. American
Cast Iron Pipe Co., 494 F.2d 211 (5th Cir. 1974). Back pay
was combined with injunctions against invalid seniority
practices in Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F.2d 791 (4th
Cir. 1971), cert. dismissed, 404 U.S. 1006 (1971); and
Head vy. Timken Roller Bearing Co., 484 F.2d 870 (6th Cir.
1973). Back pay, and an injunction against an unwarranted
weight lifting requirement that discriminated against
women and an improper seniority program, were combined
in Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., 416 F.2d 711 (7th Cir.
1969), 489 F.2d 896 (7th Cir. 1973). And in Rosen v. Public
Service Gas & Electric Co., 477 F.2d 90 (3d Cir. 1973),
back pay accompanied an injunction against continuation
of a discriminatory pension system.

All of these cases conflict with the holding of the court
below that comprehensive injunctive relief obviates the
necessity of back pay."

“Where employment discrimination has been clearly demon-
strated .. . victims of that discrimination must be compensated if
financial loss can be established. . . . To implement the purposes
behind Title VII, a court should give ‘a wide scope to the act in
order to remedy, as much as possible, the plight of persons who
have suffered from discrimination in employment opportunities.’ ”
(footnote omitted). 491 F.2d at 1375.

'* There is an additional conflict in the circuits if the denial of
back pay for the reason stated by the Court of Appeals was
intended to apply only to blacks exeluded from production jobs.
(It may be noted that the sentence stating that “the need for a
back pay award will be obviated” appears at the close of the
section of the opinion relating to production jobs (56a-66a). If so,
the failure of the court to reverse the District Court's blanket
refusal to grant back pay may be deemed an affirmance of that
aspect of the District Court's decision to the extent that it applied
to other categories of employment, i.e., supervisory and main-
tenance jobs.

That refusal, in turn, was based on an earlier decision of the
Court of Appeals for the Eighth Cireuit, United States v. NLL.
Industries, Ine., 479 F.2d 354, 380 (1973), in which back pay was
withheld because “{i]n this Circuit the law in regard to back pay
has not been adequately defined to provide employers and unions

14

Efficient Judicial Administration Would Be Served
if This Court Will Grant Certiorari, Vacate the Judg-
ment Below, and Remand for Further Consideration in
the Light of This Court’s Decision in Albemarle Paper
Company v. Moody and Halifax Local No, 425, United
Papermakers and Paperworkers, AFL-CIO v. Moody.

The two petitions for certiorari in Moody referred to
above were granted, and the cases were consolidated,
briefed and argued, and are now awaiting decision. (Doc-
ket Nos. 74-389 and 74-428.) The question of the standards
that should govern the awarding of back pay was one of
the two issues raised in the first of these petitions and the
only issue raised in the second. If, as appears probable,
this Court decides that issue, almost inevitably its decision
and opinion will at least cast some light on the propriety
of the denial of back pay in the instant case and may well
be dispositive of it. It would be wasteful of judicial time
and effort and of the labors of counsel to deny certiorari
and thus allow the case to be remanded to the district court
for further proceedings under instructions that take no
account of the rulings to be made by this Court on the
very subject in dispute.
with notice that they will be liable for a discriminatee’s economic
losses. . . .” Such a limitation on back pay has been expressly
rejected by other cireuits: “[T]he unsettled nature of the law
applicable to a particular employment practice does not constitute
a legally cognizable defense to a claim for back pay in a Title VIT
suit.” Johnson v. Goodycar Tire & Rubber Co., 491 F.2d 1364.
1375 (Sth Cir. 1974) Aecord: Robinson vy. Lorillard Corp., 444
F.2d 791, 804 (4th Cir. 1971). It is also inconsistent with each of
the cases cited in the text above which was the first in its respective
cirenit to hold the practices complained of illegal, and with this
Court's rejection of “good intent or absence of discriminatory

intent” as defenses, in Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424,
432 (1971).

ee

15

We therefore respectfully urge that this Court grant the
writ, and that if the Court decides the merits of the afore-
mentioned Moody cases in a manner consistent with the
position of petitioners herein, it summarily vacate the
judgment below insofar as it fails to grant back pay and
remand for further consideration in the light of that
decision.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should be issued
to review the judgment and opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Joun W. WALKER

Puiuip Kapitan
Walker, Kaplan & Mays
622 Pyramid Life Building
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

JacK GREENBERG
Morris J. BALLER
Desoran M. Greensera
Suite 2030
10 Columbus Circle
New York, New York 10019

Attorneys for Petitioners
ALBERT RosENTHAL

435 West 116th Street
New York, New York 10027

Of Counsel

Opinion of District Court

In THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
Eastern District or ARKANSAS
Pixe Buvurr Division

No. PB 71-C-47

Henry Lee Rocers, Lee Curster Smitru, and N. A. THomp-
son, Individually and on behalf of other persons simi-
larly situated,

Plaintiff s,
v.

INTERNATIONAL Paper Company, Pine Biuurr, ARKANSAS,
and

INTERNATIONAL BroTHERHOOD or PULP, SULPHITE AND PaPER
Mitt Workers, AFL-CIO; Locaus 898 and 946 or THe
INTERNATIONAL BrotHernoop or PuLp, SULPHITE AND
Paper Mitt Workers; Unirep PaperMAKERS AND PAPER-
workers, AFL-CIO; Locats 731, 735 and 833 Unirep
PAPERMAKERS AND Paperworkers, Pine Biurr, ARKAN-
sas; and INTERNATIONAL BroTHERHOOD oF FE:LECTRICAL

WorKERS,
Defendants.

MeMoranpUM OPINION

The plaintiffs filed this class action proceeding pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. § 1343(4) ; 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(e) and (f); and
28 U.S.C. §§2201 and 2202. The named plaintiffs are

2a
Opinion of District Court

black employees of the defendant, International Paper
Company (hereinafter called “I.P.”), and bring this action
on behalf of themselves and other blacks similarly situated,
pursuant to Rule 23(b)(2) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure.

In addition, this is a suit in equity under the provisions
of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.
§§ 2000e, et seq. The plaintiffs invoke the jurisdiction of
this Court to secure protection of and to redress depriva-
tion of rights secured by (a) 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e, et seq.,
providing for injunctive and other relief against racial
discrimination in employment, (b) 42 U.S.C. § 1981, pro-
viding for the equal rights of all persons in every state and
territory within the jurisdiction of the United States, and
(c) the duty of fair representation, 29 U.S.C. 4§ 151, et seq.

The class which the plaintiffs represent is composed
of black persons employed or who might seek employment
by LP. at its manufacturing facilities in Pine Bluff,
Arkansas, and who have been and continue to be or might
be adversely affected by the practices complained of. The
plaintiffs also bring this action on behalf of the black mem-
bers of the International Brotherhood of Pulp, Sulphite
and Paper Mill Workers, AFL-CIO, Locals 898 and 946,
International Brotherhood of Pulp, Sulphite and Paper
Mill Workers, United Papermakers and Paperworkers,
AFL-CIO, and Locals 731, 735, and 833, United Paper-
makers and Paperworkers, Pine Bluff, Arkansas and Inter-
national Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, AFL-CIO, and
Local 2033, International Brotherhood of Electrical
Workers, who have been and continue to be or might be
adversely affected by the practices complained of.

The plaintiffs allege that there are common questions of
law and fact affecting the rights of members of their class
who are and continue to be limited, classified, discriminated

3a
Opinion of District Court

against and refused employment and which deprive and
tend to deprive them of equal employment opportunities
and, otherwise adversely affect their status as employees
because of their race and color. These persons are so
numerous that joinder of all members is impracticable.
A common relief is sought, and the interests of the class
are adequately represented by the plaintiffs.

The nature of the claim is for declaratory rel «* with
permanent injunction requested, restraining all of the defen-
dants from continuing policies and practices discriminating
against the plaintiffs and other blacks with respect to hir-
ing, compensation, terms and conditions of employment;
limiting, segregating and classifying employees in ways
that deny the members of the class their equal employ-
ment and, otherwise adversely affecting their status as
employees or prospective employees; refusing to promote
because of race; demoting because of race; merging for-
merly segregated unions without provision for protection
of the formerly all black unions; and by excluding plain-
tiffs and members of their class from union membership
because of their race.

The named plaintiffs are black citizens of the State of
Arkansas, and employees of I.P., located at Pine Bluff,
Arkansas, who have filed charges of discrimination with
the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission pursuant
to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 against the
defendant Company and unions and who have received
notice of their right to bring this action.

The defendant, I.P., Pine Bluff, Arkansas, is a branch
of a private corporation doing business in the State of
Arkansas and the City of Pine Bluff. The Pine Bluff facility
is an employer within the meaning of 42 U.S.C. § 2000e (b)
in that the Company is engazed in an industry affecting
commerce and employs at least 25 persons.

4a
Opinion of District Court

The defendants organized as international unions are
labor organizations which exist in whole or in part for the
purpose of dealing with International Paper Company con-
cerning grievances, labor disputes, wages, rates of pay,
hours and other terms and conditions of employment of
employees of the Company at its facilities in and around
the City of Pine Bluff in the State of Arkansas. The defen-
dant Locals are agents and affiliates of international unions
and exist in whole or in part for the same purposes as the
international union.

On June 29, 1971, LP. filed a Motion to Dismiss or, alter-
natively, a Motion to Stay the Proceeding pending further
conciliation efforts by the Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission (EEOC). Although the Motion to Dismiss was
predicated upon sever@l grounds, it was in essence, a chal-
lenge to the procedural steps taken by plaintiffs as a proper
basis for the filing of the Complaint in this case. The Pulp
and Sulphite Workers and the Papermakers likewise filed
a Motion to Dismiss the Complaint on the ground that the
Court lacked jurisdiction over the parties. Both of these
motions were denied by the Court in its Order of October
22, 1971.

The defendant, I.P., and defendant unions filed answers,
respectively, consisting of general denials of the material
allegations of the plaintiffs’ complaint with regard to dis-
crimination in employment and in union activities but, also,
raised the specific questions of whether or not plaintiffs
have exhausted their remedies prior to invoking the juris-
diction of this Court; whether or not they have standing
to represent the class referred to in the Complaint; and
whether or not both I.P. and defendant unions have elim-
inated remaining vestiges of alleged prior discrimination

ee eee

5a
Opinion of District Court

by the adoption and implementation of a document known
as the “Jackson Memorandum of Understanding” (herein-
after Jackson Memorandum).

The trial of the case was scheduled in November, 1971,
but was continued to permit the parties to engage in exten-
sive pre-trial discovery in the form of depositions and
interrogatories. Subsequently, the Court scheduled the case
for trial commencing the week of February 7, 1972. Just
prior to the trial of the case, the plaintiffs filed a Motion
to sever all questions pertaining to back pay and requested
that a master be appointed by the Court to take evidence
and present findings of fact with respect to that issue. The
defendants, in responding to the Motion, strongly con-
tended that the plaintiffs were not entitled to money dam-
ages or back pay and affirmatively pleaded the statute of
limitations and the equitable doctrine of laches as a com-
plete bar to any back pay claim. The Court, in granting
the Motion to sever, entered an Order on November 28,
1972, but did not grant the request for a master to be
appointed regarding the back pay issue.

The trial of the case consumed the weeks of February 7,
and March 20, 1972. The Court heard extensive oral evi-
dence and received innumerable exhibits. Plaintiffs filed
a Motion to Dismiss Pulp and Sulphite Workers and its
Locals 898 and 946, and Papermakers and its Locals 731,
735, and 833, based upon an agreement attached to the
Motion to Dismiss. The basis of the agreement was that
all issues raised in the pleadings with respect to the parties
thereto had been settled and that the action should, there-
fore, be dismissed with respect to these defendants. Defen-
dants LP. and IBEW opposed the Motion and a formal
Order was entered by the Court on November 28, 1972,
denying the Motion.

i ee ee ee ae ee

6a
Opinion of District Court

The Pine Bluff Paper Mill is a substantial operation
primarily engaged in the treatment of wood and, through
extensive process, converts it into paper. It is one of a
number of such facilities maintained and operated by the
defendant I.P.

The Pine Bluff Paper Mill was constructed and began
production in August, 1958. Many of the employees, and
especially skilled and supervisory employees were trans-
ferred from other facilities operated by the Company. The
remainder of the jobs, including some highly-skilled posi-
tions, were filled by employees newly hired by the Com-
pany at that time.

Jefferson County, Arkansas, in which the paper mill is
located, has at all times relevant to this litigation had a
substantial black population. It is undisputed that the
initial staffing of the paper mill was made along strict racial
lines as a matter of Company policy, with some job cate-
gories reserved solely for white employees and some for
blacks.

The job categories assigned to black employees were
generally lower-paying, more physically demanding, and,
generally less desirable than those assigned to whites. Em-
ployee facilities at the paper mill, such as lunchrooms and
other service facilities, were operated on a strictly segre-
gated basis.

The paper mill and job assignments for its operation
are divided into several deparuments, each consisting of
various jobs, having a close functional relationship with
each other and usually operating with a distinct geographic
area.

Most job assignments in the paper mill were organized
into lines of progression (hereinafter sometimes referred
to as “LOP’s”), under which an employee assigned to a
particular LOP would progress from one job assignment

a ees te

ES tO A Oe ee

7a
Opinion of District Court

to another along the LOP in a predetermined sequence.
LOP’s were organized in accordance with a number of
criteria including, sometimes in combination and sometimes
singly, location, department, function, relationship of skills,
wages and the traditions of the Southern paper mill in-
dustry.

There were a number of jobs in the paper mill which
were not assigned to any line of progression. Among these
were the laborers jobs, some of which were assigned to work
with each of various LOP’s or in various departments, and
managerial and supervisory personnel. As an example, the
woodyard department consisted from employees from two
LOP’s, the woodyard LOP and the equipment LOP, to-
gether with a laborer complement. The woodyard LOP and
the woodyard labor pool initially were all black, while the
equipment LOP was all white.

Jobs in the woodyard LOP, the equipment LOP, and the
woodyard labor pool, were and are very closely related
functionally, and employees assigned to all those jobs
work in conjunction witk each other on a daily basis. The
only distinction between the two LOP’s located within the
woodyard, other than the racial one indicated above, was
that job categories in the equipment LOP received higher
wages than those in the woodyard LOP.

The pulp mill LOP was staffed solely by white employees.
A small number of job assignments functionally related
exclusively to those in the pulp mill LOP were filled solely
by blacks, such as the “lime wheeler”. These black-staffed
jobs were not included in the pulp mill LOP.

The beater room LOP was staffed solely by white em-
ployees.

The paper machine LOP, the most highly paid LOP
in the paper mill, was staffed solely by whites. A group of

8a
Opinion of District Court

black laborers worked witb the members of the paper ma-
chine LOP but were not assigned to it.

The LOP of the polyethylene extruder, added sometime
after the opening of the paper mill in 1958, was staffed
solely by whites.

This method of assignment and job classification pre-
vailed throughout the facility wherein the whites were
assigned to specific jobs and other specific assignments to
blacks. The guard force consisted of white employees as
did the managerial and supervisory employees. Neither of
these were organized into LOP’s, although the testimony
revealed that there were recurring patterns for promotion
from one job assignment to another as is common practice
in managerial structures.

The International Brotherhood of Pulp, Sulphite, and
Paper Mill Workers represented the employees in the
woodyard and pulp mill. Its Local 946 represented black
employees, and its Local 898 represented whites in the
pulp mill and in the laboratory LOP. In order to bring
the continued operation of their local unions in eompliance
with the law, the defendant, International Union of Pulp,
Sulphite, and Paper Mill Workers ordered a merger of the
two locals. They were merged into one local and continues
as Loeal 898. Local 946 was dissolved.

The defendant, International Brotherhood of United
Papermakers and Paperworkers represented their mem-
bers employed by LP. through their Loeal 731, 735, and
833. Black members of the union suffered similar dis-
crimination in the operations of their labor organization.

The International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
and its Local 2033 represented the emplovees in the elec-
trical, instrument and power plant LOP’s. The guards,
amd office and clerical employees, were not represented by

a

A RE a a a te ~

—_e

9a
Opinion of District Court

any of the unions as parties to this litigation. The man-
agerial and supervisory employees were not, and are not,
represented by any labor organization.

The defendant, I.P., has, at all times pertinent to this
litigation, had exclusive control over the hiring for all jobs,
whether represented or not represented. The Company re-
tains for itself the right to establish the minimum require-
ments and standards for all applicants for employment as
well as the right to make decisions regarding placement
of employees in labor pools or positions within the plant.
Once hired, an employee’s movements from one job assign-
ment to another, among those jobs whose occupants are
represented by any of the labor organizations who are
parties defendant, are and have been controlled by pro-
visions of a series of collective bargaining agreements
entered into by the defendants. Under the collective bar-
gaining agreements. each employee accrues three (3) types
of seniority, to-wit: company seniority, the length of time
he has been continuously employed by I.P.; department
seniority, the length of time he has been permanently and
continuously assigned to a particular LOP; and job senior-
ity, the time he has spent permanently and continuously
assigned to a given job slot. Periods during which an em-
ployee may have been laid off are included in figuring
company seniority, but not department or job seniority.

In order to enter a LOP, whether from another LOP
or from a job outside any LOP, employees have historically
competed on the basis of company seniority. If there was
a permanent vacancy in a LOP, the employee with the
greatest company seniority, who indicated his desire for
it, would receive the assignment, if he was of the race for
which the LOP was reserved. After the plant was initially

10a
Opinion of District Court

staffed, an employee newly assigned to a LOP entered it
by being assigned to its lowest-paying job.

Once in a LOP, employees competed for progression
from one permanent job assignment to the next highest-
paying one in the LOP on the basis of their job seniority.
The employee with the greatest tenure of permanent as-
signment to the job slot immediately below the vacancy
would receive the assignment. If job seniority were equal,
greater departmental seniority would control; if both were
equal, greater company seniority would control. This re-
sulted from an entry level job of lower pay to an ascending
seale of pay.

From 1958 until 1962, black employees of the defendant,
I.P., were not permitted entry level jobs in any LOP except
the woodyard, As late as 1971, the woodyard was the next
to lowest pay when measured by LOP hourly wage.

In 1962 Executive Order 10925 was promulgated which,
in effect, prohibited government contractors from discrim-
inating against any employee because of race, color, creed
or national origin. The International Paper Company be-
came subject to the Executive Order as a substantial con-
tractor. I.P. responded promptly to the requirements of
the Executive Order and announced that henceforth there
would be no segregation of its facilities and that all LOP’s
were open to all employees without regard to race, color,
or national origin, It was of such import to LP. that
officials from the division level toured each of the mills in
its Southern Kraft Division, including Pine Bluff, and met
with local mill management and employee representatives,
including black union leaders, as a means for announcing
the new policy required by Executive Order 10925, The
Company began immediately the desegregation of its facil-

eee ee ee we ee

lla
Opinion of District Court

ities which has long since been accomplished and is not
an issue in this case. In addition, the Company further
announced a policy of recruitment of individuals without
regard to race or color, and a promotion policy which
eliminated race as a factor.

With these announced changes in policy, black em-
ployees, who demonstrated potential ability to perform
jobs in a line of progression under I.P.’s testing program,
and who so desired, could transfer under the Labor Agree-
ment with the unions to former predominantly white jobs.
There was some movement of incumbent blacks into some
of the predominantly white positions.

The transition was slow. Desegregation of Company
facilities was not completed until 1966. The first black em-
ployee who was permanently assigned to a previously all-
white job did not occur until 1967. The first white em-
ployee assigned to a formerly all-black job was made on
a permanent basis in 1968.

Because of the operation of the contract’s seniority pro-
visions, any black employee who entered a previously all-
white LOP as late as 1967 would remain behind the white
employees who entered the line of progression before him,
notwithstanding the fact that the white employee may have
been employed several years aor the black employee.

As a result of the continuing effect of past discrimina-
tion, and a 1968 District Court decision, in U.S. v. Local
189, United Papermakers and Paperworkers, 282 F. Supp.
39 (E.D. La. March 1968), the Office of Federal Contract
Compliance (OFCC) undertook the acceptance of an agree-
ment, by I.P. and the unions, to modify the effects of the
contract seniority provisions. Discussions took place be-
tween OFCC and the Company toward providing incum-
bent blacks with additional opportunities for advancement

12a
Opinion of District Court

in employment throughout the Southern Kraft Division
of LP.

A special conference was called in Jackson, Mississippi,
in June, 1968. Top management of the Company and labor
organizations, which included representatives of manage-
ment and labor for each of the mills in the Southern Kraft
Division of I.P., participated in the conference; since the
conference was instigated by OFCC, government repre-
sentatives also participated in the discussions. Repre-
sentatives of black employees were in attendance at the
conference as delegates and participated in the discussions.
There was some testimony that the blacks were present
as “observers” and not as official representatives of the
black employees.

During the course of the conference, the Office of Fed-
eral Contract Compliance presented twelve points to the
Company and unions as a basis for their discussion of
necessary and appropriate changes which should be made
to their existing Labor Agreements. The negotiations pro-
duced an agreement called the “Memorandum of Under-
standing” or “Jackson Memorandum”. Pursuant to the
“Jackson Memorandum”, the parties agreed to revise the
basic Labor Agreements and employment practices, al-
leviating some of the continuing effects of the defendants’
past discriminatory practices. The Jackson Memorandum
was circulated at the various mills of the Southern Kraft
Division, including Pine Bluff, and was ratified by the
loca! unions at all mills.

The OFCC adopted the position that the Jackson Memo-
randum was sufficient for compliance with Executive Order
11246' without the need for further collective bargaining

‘ Executive Order 11246 superseded Executive Order 10925.

ee a ee ee hacen

13a
Opinion of District Court

beyond the agreed changes included in the Memorandum.

The primary impact of the Jackson Memorandum was to
identify an “affected class” of employees (hereinafter re-
ferred to as “AC”), and to displace the old job seniority
system with a mill seniority system whereby members of
AC compete with other employees for promotion, trans-
fer, and other personnel actions on the basis of mill se-
niority. This took the place of the old policy of competing
on the basis of job or departmental seniority.

The Jackson Memorandum also contained a provision
to the effect that the Company and the unions, at each
plant, would conduct further negotiations toward an agree-
ment on restructuring of the LOP’s, so that the formerly
all-black jobs were integrated into longer LOP’s also con-
taining traditionally white jobs. However, if competition
between an affected class member and a non-affected class
member does not exist, the Jackson Memorandum provides
that the traditionally contract seniority applies.

Members of the affected class are identified, or defined,
as those black employees hired prior to September 1, 1962,
or employed thereafter, but prior to the date of the Jack-
son Memorandum, and initially placed in a job or line of
progression which was formerly a predominantly black job
or line.

The Jackson Memorandum contains a further provision
that all current employees are eligible for transfers or ad-
vancement into a line of progression if they possess qual-
ifications equal to the minimally qualified employee cur-
rently working in that line. Testing was deleted as a
requirement for incumbent employees to be eligible for
transfer to or entry into any production line of progres-
sion. It further provides for affected class transfer under

l4a
Opinion of District Court

a “red-circle” rate which protects against wage loss in the
event the desired transfer is to a lower paying job.

Subsequently, the OFCC submitted a letter of expla-
nation of the Jackson Memorandum written by the acting
Director and became known as the “McCreedy letter”. It
was made clear that no skipping of job assignments within
a LOP or entry to a LOP at other than the lowest-paying
job was to be permitted. Designation of a job opening as
a “temporary” or “permanent” one had always and was
still made solely by the Company. Assignments upwards
along a LOP designated as “temporary” had often lasted
long periods of time, and, in some cases, even longer than
a year.

As a result of these practices, some employees spent
large portions of their working time “temporarily” as-
signed to jobs one or more steps in a LOP above their
“permanent” assignment. The effect was that some spent
a lot of their time “temporarily” assigned to higher-level
jobs.

The so-called MeCreedy letter gave some significance to
this distinction between a “permanent” and a “temporary”
job assignment. Only an employee “permanently” assigned
to a given job slot was eligible for assignment to the next
higher slot.

Some of the rights granted to black employees by the
Jackson Memorandum depended on some affirmative action
on the part of the employee to obtain them. Shortly after
the adoption of the Jackson Memorandum, August 7, 1968,
the Personnel Department of the Pine Bluff mill of LP.
interviewed, individually, all affected class employees in
order to advise them of their rights and. in an attempt to
determine from them their interest in transferring from

Oe ee ee ee ee ee eee

15a
Opinion of District Court

the line in which they were working, at that time, to another
line of progression. As to those which were rot in a line
of progression, an effort was made by the Personnel De-
partment to determine the lines of progression into which
they desired to enter, if any.

Written applications were prepared for AC’s who de-
sired to transfer, or to be promoted; these applications
were retained in the Personnel Office for reference if va-
eancies occurred. There were some instances of job re-
fusals by black employees, whereby the employees allegedly
indicated their refusal to be assigned to jobs higher in the
LOP than their then-current assignment. AC’s, who ini-
tially said they were not interested in transferring or
moving up were, subsequently, contacted again to deter-
mine if they desired then to exercise their rights under
the Jackson Memorandum.

Subsequently, the Company agreed to post throughout
the plant notices for seven days of all permanent vacan-
cies in entry level jobs as well as for temporary vacancies
which were expected to last more than thirty days. Copies
of these notices were made available to each of the local
unions. All employees could apply for any vacancy that
was posted. Competition between applicants, e.g., em-
ployees who had previously expressed a desire for that
line of progression, and employees in the labor pool serv-
ing that line of progression was resolved on the basis of
mill seniority as provided by the terms of the Jackson
Memorandum.

There was substantial statistical data furnished by both
parties. The plaintiffs attempted to show a “lock in” effect
of prior practices. However, I.P. contends that such re-
sult, if any, was from failure of more complete utilization
by affected class employees of opportunities afforded under

l6a
Opinion of District Court

the remedial relief measures agreed to by the defendants,
I.P. and unions.

In any event, the Court is impressed with the fact that
there was statistical data which shows some permanent
movement by AC’s into formerly predominantly white jobs
and, also, movement via posted temporary vacancies, i.c.,
those expected to last over thirty days. In view of the fre-
quently recurring vacancies, employees classified at one
job level often received temporary promotions to the next
higher job where they may have an opportunity for an
even higher temporary promotion. It is quite clear, how-
ever, that there are a great many more temporary vacan-
cies of less than thirty days which AC’s fill in accordance
with the terms of the Jackson Memorandum. The Court is
persuaded and concludes, from all the evidence, that a
qualified AC who desires promotion or transfer to better
jobs, under the Jackson Memorandum, has had the oppor-
tunity to do so provided his mill seniority was greater than
others applying for the same vacancy. It is further noted,
from the record, that there are those who have not declined
promotion who have received one or more promotions.

Numerons exhibits have been received in the record il-
lustrating how effective the Jackson Memorandum has been
in precipitating accelerated movement of the affected class.
The record discloses that, as a result of the Jackson Memo-
randum, there has been substantial movement of black em-
ployees into the lines of progression. This has not been
without some difficulty. However, it has served substan-
tially toward achieving the intended purpose.

Where an affected class member was in competition with
a non-affected class member, under the Jackson Memoran-
dum, the AC received the job. There is no substantial evi-
dence to the effect that a qualified senior AC failed to re-

17a
Opinion of District Court

ceive a job sought by him. There are instances wherein
claims have been made which raise the question of qualifi-
cations or, in some cases, fear as to the ultimate result.
Nevertheless, the ultimate result has been that the AC’s
have either received advancement or transfer on their re-
quest under the Jackson Memorandum, or have voluntarily
declined transfer and, in some cases, removed themselves
from contention in other jobs. The record discloses, and
the Court concludes, that the Jackson Memorandum has
served as an effectual instrument toward eradication of the
effects of past discrimination.

Even though the Court concludes from the evidence in
the case that the Jackson Memorandum, as modified by the
McCreedy letter, has provided remedial relief against the
residual effects of past practices engaged in by the Com-
pany and the unions, and that I.P. and the unions have, in
good faith, undertaken implementation, it developed that
there were yet some steps to be taken toward the elimina-
tion of the last vestiges that remained from the effects of
past discrimination.

In recognition of the need for further revision of pro-
cedures within the various mills of the defendant, Inter-
national Paper Company, a second Jackson conference was
convened in June, 1972, under the auspices of the OFCC.
The Southern Kraft Division of the defendant, Inter-
national Paper Company, and paper production unions,
representing the various I.P. mills, negotiated a new Memo-
randum of Understanding.’ There were some ten (10)
mills, including the Pine Bluff mill, in the Southern Kraft
Division of the International Paper Company affected by
the revisions to the “Jackson Memorandum”. Although the

2 A revision, supplementing the original Memorandum of Under-
standing.

18a
Opinion of District Court

plaintiffs claim they were not represented at these negotia-
tions, it is an established fact that members of the black
race were in attendance as observers.

The “MeCreedy letter” complained of by the plaintiffs
had been partially nullified to the effect that temporary
service on the jobs began the basis for competition for
permanent vacancies. In fact, the 1972 Memorandum elim-
inated the consequences of the distinction between “tem-
porary” and “permanent” job assignments. Further, the
recall provisions of the MeCreedy letter were nullified.
The parties were authorized, subject to approval of OFCC,
to identify jobs which may be skipped or jobs which may
be entered at an advanced level in certain lines of pro-
gression. The definition of the affected class was enlarged
and a new, substantially higher, red-circle rate was adopted.

Pursuant to the revised Jackson Memorandum, an agree-
ment was entered into by the defendants so as to provide
seniority protection for a period of six (6) months for an
affected class employee who transfers from a line of pro-
gression to the Maintenance Department as an apprentice.
These additional procedures, included in the revision, were
adopted in order that greater equal employment oppor-
tunities, as they evolve, would oceur and consequently
remove, voluntarily, any and all vestige of past discrim-
ination.

The plaintiffs contend that the revised Jackson Memo.
randum was inadequate as a matter of law because it did
not apply to Maintenance Departments. The OFCC had
previously determined that there was no evidence of dis-
crimination against blacks in the maintenance crafts. Thus,
OFCC did not request any action be taken in the Jackson
conference affecting employees in the Maintenance De-

19a
Opinion of District Court

partments, The testimony fails to disclose that there has
been overt discrimination in these departments.

The defendant, I.P., initiated certain testing require-
ments as prerequisites for hiring or promotion. Testing
requirements remain as prerequisites for most of the jobs
at the paper mill today. The test used in the Production
and Maintenance Departments are as follows:

Production

Wonderlic Personnel Test—15
Bennett Test of Mechanical Comprehension
(Form AA)—20

or
Bennett Test of Mechanical Comprehension
(Form BB)—12

Maintenance

Wonderlic Personnel Test—18
Bennett Test of Mechanical Comprehension
(Form AA)—45

or
Bennett Test of Mechanical Comprehension
(Form BB)—37
Minnesota Paper “orm Board Test—45.

These tests are administered in a controlled atmosphere
by a test coordinator who follows the procedures outlined
in the manuals prepared by the test publishers, Although
there has been no challenge to the manner of administra-
tion, or scoring, of the Company’s personne] testing, the
plaintiffs contend that they operate so as to disqualify
blacks at a significantly higher rate than whites from hir-

20a
Opinion of District Court

ing, promotion, and transfer. The Court concludes the
evidence is insufficient to show any substantial impact of
the Company’s testing program as to the ability of blacks
to obtain employment at the defendant’s Pine Bluff mill.
More recently, the Company has initiated a comprehensive
process of validating its production and maintenance tests
by the criterion-related method of test validation. Through
this method, the Company has established a reasonable
procedure for a determination of an applicant's capability
to perform, successfully, particular jobs. This method of
test validation is recognized in the profession and as gov-
ernmental guidelines for employee selection. EEOC, Guide-
lines on Employee Selection Procedures, 29 C.F.R. § 1607.1,
et seq.; OFCC, Employee Testing Other Selection Proce-
dures, 41 C.F.R. § 60-3.1, et seq.

Finally, the plaintiffs presented testimony to the effect
that various members of the class had been the victims of
discrimination on a personal, or individual, basis solely
because of their race. The Court has given special atten-
tion, and somewhat critically, to the claims in each in-
dividual instance; the Court agrees that, from the testi-
mony, it is clear that two basic factors characterize these
charges of discrimination. First, it is apparent that they
stem: from misapprehension of the defendant’s, I.P., em-
ployment practices. In the second place, they were not
processed through, admittedly, available grievance chan-
nels. The Court, therefore, concludes that neither the Com-
pany, nor the defendant unions, are now giving any con-
sideration to black employees for special treatment in a
discriminatory manner. All employees, both black and
white, are provided protection under present collective bar-
gaining agreements, pursuant to the Jackson Memorandum

2la
Opinion of District Court

of Understanding, and are, thus, provided remedy for ap-
propriate and good faith complaints.

Numerous witnesses on behalf of the plaintiffs, includ-
ing Mr. Henry Lee Rogers, plaintiff, Mr. Fair and Mr.
Randle, admitted that they were members of the union and
were aware of their rights under the Contract as to griev-
ance procedures. They testified that they had free access
to the personnel office and the plaintiff, Rogers, admitted
that he had been benefited monetarily by the filing and
processing of the grievance. Although harassment has been
claimed by some of the plaintiffs, the testimony discloses
that, since the adoption of these protective procedures pur-
suant to the Jackson Memorandum, no grievances have
been filed by any member of the affected class alleging
harassment or racial discrimination.

From the substantial testimony presented, ore tenus,
during the trial of the case, innumerable exhibits by all
parties, stipulations, and the entire record, the Court makes
the following conclusions of law:

1. The Court has jurisdiction of this action pursuant to
42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(f); 42 U.S.C. § 1981; 28 U.S.C. § 1343
(4); 28 U.S.C. §§ 2201 and 2202.

2. International Paper Company is an employer in an
industry affecting interstate commerce within the meaning
of §701(b) of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.
\ 2000e(b); the defendant labor unions are organizations
engaged in an industry affecting commerce within the
meaning of 4 701(d) and (e) of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e(d) and (e).

3. Plaintiffs have complied with the procedural require-
ments of § 706(a), (d) and (e) of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(d) and (e).

22a
Opinion of District Court

4. This proceeding is a proper class action pursuant
to Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The

elass is defined as follows:

“Those black employees employed and still employed
since the commencement of this cause and all future
employees of International Paper Company at its Pine
Bluff, Arkansas, mill who are members or eligible to
be members of Pulp and Sulphite Workers ; Locals 898
and 946; Papermakers; Locals 731, 735, and 833; and
IBEW”.

5. The defendants, which are local unions, are for the
purpose of this litigation, the agents of their respective
international unions.

6. The defendant, International Paper Company, has a
historical policy of hiring only blacks for certain jobs in
the production of paper and related products in their
various mills, including Pine Bluff, and only whites for
other jobs within their mill operations, which constituted
racial discrimination against black employees and, would
be black employees. This historical policy of discrimina-
tion has been consistently reflected in collective bargaining
agreements between the defendant, I.P., and the defendant
unions.

7. The Pine Bluff paper mill was constructed, and com-
menced operation, in 1958. The historical policy of dis-
crimination, or effects of such past discrimination, con-
tinued unabated until August 7, 1968.

8. Discrimination, as consistently practiced within the
operation of the defendant’s paper mill, constitutes an un-

Pitre

23a
Opinion of District Court

lawful employment practice under the Civil Rights Act of
1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a) and (c).

9. The collective bargaining agreements entered into
periodically between the Company and the unions have had
the effect of perpetuating past discrimination, or the effects
of past discriminatory policies, since, under the terms of
the agreements, qualified black employees employed prior
to white employees remain at job levels on the various lines
of progression below those white employees.

10. Employment practices which perpetuate, or tend to
perpetuate, past discrimination are forbidden, by Title VII,
to the extent that they are not supported by overriding
legitimate, non-racial business necessity. Griggs v. Duke
Power Co., 401 U.S. 424 (1971); Rowe v. General Motors
Corp., 457 F.2d 348 (Sth Cir. 1972).

11. The seniority system, as developed during the years
of operation of the International Paper Mill at Pine Bluff,
and which was agreed to by all of the defendants, has con-
sistently been a condition of employment which discrim-
inates against blacks in violation of Title VII of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964.

In view of the ratification, and becoming parties to var-
ious collective bargaining agreements incorporating the
seniority system after the effective date of Title VII of
the Civil Rights Act of 1964, unlawful, discriminatory em-
ployment practices, and the effect of past discriminatory
practices, continued until August 7, 1968.

12. The defendant’s failure to institute adequate re-
medial measures, after the adoption of the Civil Rights Act

24a
Opinion of District Court

of 1964, Titie VII, was a continuing violation of Title VII
until the adoption of the two Memorandums of Under-
standing referred to as “Jackson Memorandum”, first
adopted August 7, 1968, and revised June, 1972.

13. The Court further concludes that the lines of pro-
gression at issue are essential to the proper operation of
the defendant, I.P.’s, business and that they are functional
and meet the needs of business necessity. The presently
constructed lines of progression, at the defendant’s Pine
Bluff mill, strike a reasonable balance between the de-
mands of the business and the rights of the members of
the affected class, pursuant to the Jackson Memorandum
of Understanding, as subsequently ratified by the defen-
dant parties to this litigation. See Quarles v. Philip Morris,
Inc., 279 F.Supp. 505 (E.D, Va. 1968); U.S. v. Local 189,
301 F.Supp. 906, aff'd sub-nom, 416 F.2d 980 (5th Cir.
1969) : cert. denied, 897 U.S. 919 (1970); U.S. v. Bethlehem
Steel Corp., 446 F.2d 652 (2nd Cir, 1971); and Robinson
vy. Lorillard Corp., 444 F.2d 791 (4th Cir, 1971).

14. The seniority system, as presently provided by the
colleetive bargaining agreements between the defendant
parties, pursuant to the Jackson Memorandum of Under-
~tanding, adequately provides for the affected class to
reach their “rightful place” in the Company’s present em-
plovinent scheme according to their qualifications. Brown
v. Gaston County Dye & Machine Co., 457 F.2d 1377 (4th
Cir, 1972).

15. Tt is established, and the Court concludes, that prior
to July 2, 1965, the effective date of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964, the defendants, Company and unions, openly dis-

a

6 0088 we) Gere She 8 Ue ow en et are

Rs Fe 6 6 er RE et oO Om Be

ee ee er Oe. ee

ee me -

25a
Opinion of District Court

criminated on the basis of race in the hiring and assigning
of employees at the Pine Bluff paper mill.

16. Although, the Company initiated some changes to-
ward the alleviation of discriminatory practices, after the
promulgation of Executive Order 10925 in 1962, diserim-
inatory practices, or the effects of past discriminatory
practices, continued until the adoption of the Memorandum
of Understanding at the conference in Jackson, Mississippi,
on August 7, 1968. Effective as of that time, the members
of the affected class, who were qualified, were given the
opportunity of claiming their “rightful place” in any mill
job vacancy on the basis of mill seniority with the Com-
pany at its Pine Bluff mill. From experience, after the
Jackson Memorandum, other discrepancies, such as distin-
guishing between temporary and permanent assignment,
recall rights, and job skipping, developed. These and other
questions were the subject of consideration which resulted
in the second Memorandum of Understanding, adopted in
June of 1972. It follows, and the Court concludes, that
although the defendants followed a policy of overt racial
discrimination prior to the Civil Rights Act of 1964, effee-
tive July 2, 1965, the Court concludes that such conduct,
and the effect thereof, ceased with the adoption of the
Jackson Memorandum, August 7, 1968.

17. Prior to the adoption of the Civil Rights Act by
Congress, the Company initiated a standardized testing
program; it has been subject to continuing process of val-
idation, It was not adopted as a result of this litigation,
and no showing has been made that its use has resulted
in discrimination. It is designed to determine qualifica-
tions of a person, not only for employment, but for assign-
ment and promotion.

26a
Opinion of Lrstrict Court

“..,. Congress did not intend by Title VII, however, to
guarantee a job to every person regardiess of qualifi-
cations. In short, the Act does not command that any
person be hired simply because he was formerly the
subject of discrimination, or because he is a member
of a minority group. ... What is required by Congress
is the removal of artificial, arbitrary, and unnecessary
barriers to employment when the barriers operate in-
vidiously to discriminate on the basis of racial or other
impermissible classification.

... The Act proseribes not only overt discrimination
but also practices that are fair in form, but diserim-
inatory in operation. The touchstone is business neces-
sity. If an employment practice which operates to ex-
clude Negroes cannot be shown to be related to job
performance, the practice is prohibited.” Griggs v.
Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 430-31.

The burden of proof to establish the contentions, as
alleged in the Complaint, is upon the plaintiffs. Here the
plaintiffs have the burden to show that, by the use of such
tests, there is demonstrated adverse impact on the class
they represent. However, once the plaintiffs show a dis-
eriminatory effect, the burden shifts to the defendants to
prove the test’s validity. Furthermore, the Congress has
placed on the employer the burden of showing that any
given requirements must have a manifest relationship to
the employment in question. Griggs, supra, p. 432.

The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, having
enforcement responsibility, has issued guidelines interpret-
ing §703(h) to permit only the use of job-related tests.
Griggs, supra, p. 433 n.9.

ee ee

a Reed Lens een rete ont

eg en are Ore ee eect ~~

27a
Opinion of District Court

During the extended debate in the Congress on this sec-
tion (4 703(h)), proponents of Title VII sought to assure
the critics that the Act would have no effect on job-related
tests. On the Senate floor, the co-managers of the bill
entered a memorandum explaining that the proposed Title
VII, “expressly protects the employer’s right to insist that
any prospective applicant, Negro or white, must meet the
applicable job qualifications. Indeed, the very purpose of
title VII is to promote hiring on the basis of job qualifica-
tions, rather than on the basis of race or color.” Griggs,
supra, p. 434.

An amendment was subsequently adopted to require that
employment tests be job-related, § 703(h).

The defendant, I.P., presented extensive documentary
evidence, together with expert testimony, on the question
of the job-re’ated nature of its testing program. The Court
is impressed with the showing and, concludes from the
evidence, that the tests utilized by the Company have been
shown empirically to be highly correlated with successful
performance on the maintenance and production jobs at the
Pine Bluff mill. Allen v. City of Mobile, 331 F.Supp. 1134
(S.D. Ala. 1971). The Court, therefore, concludes that the
Company has clearly established that the intent and pur-
pose of the testing procedures is to “measure the person
for the job and not the person in the abstract”. Griggs,

supra, p. 436.

18. The plaintiffs have alleged, and have attempted to
prove, that the hiring practices of defendant, I.P., are
discriminatory. The plaintiffs contend I.P. has consistently
refused to hire blacks solely because of their race. The
plaintiffs present statistical proof to show that the Com-
pany employs a disparately higher percentage of white

| | _ i

28a
Opinion of District Court

employees and, particularly, in certain categories of em-
ment.

In Parham v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 433 F.2d
421 (Sth Cir.), the Eighth Cireuit Court of Appeals stated
the well-established rule as follows:

“We hold as a matter of law that these statistics,
which revealed an extraordinarily small number of
black employees, except for the most part as menial
laborers, established a violation of Title VII of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964. 42 U.S.C.A. §2000e-2(a).
See United States v. Sheet Metal Workers Local 36,
AFL-CIO, 416 F.2d 123 (8th Cir. 1969); Local 189,
United Papermakers and Paperworkers, AFL-C19 v.
United States, 416 F.2d 980 (5th Cir. 1969), cert. denied,
397 U.S. 919 (1970); Plumbers Local 73, supra, 314
F.Supp. 160; Clark v. American Marine Corporation,
304 F.Supp. 603 (E.D. La. 1969); Lea v. Cone Mills
Corporation, 301 F.Supp. 97 (M.D.N.C. 1969) ; Medical
Society of South Carolina, supra, 298 F.Supp. 145;
Dobbins, supra, 292 F.Supp. 413.” p. 426.

Again, in United States of America v. N. L. Industries,
Inc., and Chemical Workers’ Basie Union, Local 1744, AFL-
CIO, the Eighth Cireuit Court of Appeals, in No. 72-1143,
filed March 28, 19% (not yet reported), stated at page 27:

“The statistics themselves reflect evidence of discrimi-
nation, and ‘In racial discrimination cases, statistics
often demonstrate more than the testimony of many
witnesses, and they should be given proper effect by
the courts.’ Jones, supra, 431 F.2d at 247.”

Further, our Court stated that these lopsided ratios are
not conclusive proof of past discriminatory hiring prac-

29a
Opinion of District Court

tices; however, they do present a prima facie case. The
onus of going forward with the evidence and the burden of
persuasion is thus on Hayes. Hays, supra, 456 F.2d 112.

In the instant case, no witnesses, on behalf of the plain-
tiffs, testified that they were rejected employment on the
basis of their race. One witness, Mr. Blakely, testified as
to the manner by which the Company informs the public
when vacancies occur, stated that he learned about the
employment opportunities at the mill by talking with other
black members of the Pine Bluff community. The defen-
dant, I.P., presented testimony which demonstrated that
the current ratio of black applicants employed by the Com-
pany is higher than the ratio of white applicants. Specifi-
eally, since the adoption of the Jackson Memorandum in
1968, over 20% of all persons employed have been black.
Out of a total of 108 composite net employees, 46 in that
period have heen black, which represents a gain of 42.6%
of the total. Therefore. the statisties, relating to produe-
tion workers, demonstrate that the Company’s hiring prac-
tices do not discriminate against blacks. As to employment
in the clerical field, the evidence establishes that there has
heen no hiring in this area for a significant period of time.
In fact, during the last three vears, the testimony reveals,
only one clerical employee has been hired at the Pine Bluff
mill. It is further established, by the testimony, that I.P.’s
Personnel Manager has taken effective measures to estab-
lish a list of qualified black clerical applicants for any
vacancies that might occur. Applicants are encouraged
and received continuously, and periodically, the Company
schedules such applicants for the clerical test administered
by the Company.

Since the Company has demonstrated that its job-related
testing procedures have resulted in the Company employing

30a
Opinion of District Court

significant numbers of black applicants and, the Company
is continuously maintaining a list of qualified applicants
in the clerical and office force, the Court concludes, and
from the evidence in the record it is established, that the
hiring policies and practices at the Pine Bluff mill are not
discriminatory on the basis of race. Parham v. South-
western Bell Telephone Co., supra, Ochoa v. Monsanto Co.,
335 F.Supp. 53 (S.D. Tex. 1971).

This Court has previously approved the practice of
utilizing the services of the local employment office in
recruiting and hiring practices. The Court is of the opin-
ion that, in view of the fast expansion of industry in the
Pine Bluff area, and the ratio of black population to white
in the area, and the educational opportunities afforded by
educational institutions in the area, the Company should
utilize the services of the local office as to the availability
of qualified blacks in the area for employment when vacan-
cies occur. Irvin v. Mohawk Rubber Company, 308 F.Supp.
152 (1970).

19. In determining the appropriate remedy for this
class action proceedings, the Court possesses wide dis-
cretion in modeling a decree to insure compliance with the
1964 Civil Rights Act wherein a violation of Title VIT has
been found. See Hutchings v. United States Industries,
Inc., 428 F.2d 303 (5th Cir. 1970); United States of
America v. Sheet Metal Workers, Int’l. Ass’n., Local 36,
AFL-CIO, 416 F.2d 123 (8th Cir. 1969); Local 53 of Int’).
Ass’n, of Heat and Frost Insulators and Asbestos Workers
v. Vogler, 407 F.2d 1047 (5th Cir. 1969); and United
States v. Medical Society of South Carolina, 298 F.Supp.
145 (D.S.C. 1969).

3la
Opinion of District Court

The plaintiffs seek injunctive relief to enjoin the defen-
dants from unlawful employment discrimination under
Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g).

From the record in the case, the evidence establishes
that the Company has demonstrated good faith efforts
since the adoption of the Jackson Memorandum, August 7,
1968, and has continued, since that time, in its efforts to
recruit black employees. The Company has demonstrated,
as actual results show, that it continues to implement
programs designed to assist blacks in obtaining employ-
ment with the Company on a non-discriminatory basis.
The Company has further demonstrated that each appli-
cant is considered on the basis of qualifications for the
particular job sought by the applicant. As already stated,
the Company should improve its procedures by publicizing
its equal employment opportunity policy. Parham v.
Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., supra.

The Company’s record over the past four years is im-
pressive and salutary. The Court recognizes that I.P. has
shown considerable progress under its affirmative action
program adopted in 1968. The thrust of this program, in
seeking minority group individuals for employment, tends
to overcome the discrimination built into the previous
recruitment system which commenced in 1958. The record
establishes that I.P.’s management personnel have under-
taken greater supervision and implementation of its em-
ployment policies and programs. Parham, supra.

In view of this record, established by substantial evi-
dence, numerous exhibits, depositions, and stipulations,
the Court concludes that an injunction is unnecessary for
Title VII compliance with the requirements for equal em-
ployment opportunities at this time. By the enactment of
the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Congress placed great em-

32a
Opinion of District Court

phasis on private settlement and the elimination of unfair
practices without resorting to the Court’s injunctive
powers, See 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e-5; Hutchings, supra, 428
F.2d 303; Culpepper v. Reynolds Metals Company, 421
F.2d 888 (5th Cir. 1970); Jenkins v. United Gas Corpora-
tion, 400 F.2d 28 (Sth Cir. 1968); Oatis v. Crown Zeller-
bach Corporation, 398 F.2d 496 (5th Cir. 1968) ; Quarles v.
Philip Morris, Incorporated, 279 F.Supp. 505 (E.D. Va.
1968).

However, the Court reiterates its findings that the defen-
dant I.P.’s recruitment policies and practices, initiated
with the establishment of production at the Pine Bluff mill
in 1958, which continued virtually unabated until the effec-
tive date of the Civil Rights Act, July 2, 1965, were dis-
criminatory, based on race, although the Company at-
tempted some change in policy following the issuance of
the Executive Order of 1962. The Court also reiterates its
findings that such discrimination, or the result of such
discriminatory practices, continued from the effective date
of the Civil Rights Act, July 2, 1965, until the adoption of
the Jackson Memorandum, August 7, 1968. While recogniz-
ing that the Company has made tremendous progress in the
hiring of black employees, and coordinating its efforts
with the defendant unions, the Court thinks it should be
noted that such progress preceded the plaintiffs’ Com-
plaint to the EEOC and the subsequent institution of this
litigious proceeding on May 17, 1971. Such progress must
not end with the cessation of this litigation. It is incum-
bent upon the defendant, I.P., to insure that its policies of
equal employment opportunity continue to be implemented
and enforced by all Company personnel engaged in em-
ployee hiring and promotion, notwithstanding existing
collective bargaining agreements with the unions. Parham,
supra.

—

33a
Opinion of District Court

In order that the findings and conclusions of the Court
may be implemented, and any affirmative relief may be
determined, the Court retains jurisdiction of this action,
and the defendant, I.P., is directed to make periodic
reports to the Court of its employment activities. See
United States of America v. N. L. Industries, Inc., and
Chemical Workers’ Basic Union, Local 1744, AFL-CIO,
supra.

20. With reference to the claim for back pay, an issue
which by agreement of counsel for the parties was deferred,
the Court takes cognizance of the opinion of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, United
States of America v. N. L. Industries, Inc., and Chemical
Workers’ Basic Union, Local 1744, AFL-CIO, No, 72-1143,
filed March 28, 1973 (unreported), in which the Court laid
down the rule as to such an award, as follows:

“Despite what we have said as to the appropriateness
of backpay, we do not make such an award here. In
this Cireuit the law in regard to backpay has not been
adequately defined to provide employers and unions
with notice that they will be liable for a discriminatee’s
economic losses due to continuation of past or present
discriminatory policies.” p. 49.

It is noted that this opinion by our Cireuit Court of
Appeals was rendered approximately one year after the
conclusion of the hearing in the instant proceedings. In
view of this rule, by our own Eighth Cireuit Court of
Appeals, this Court adopts the rule in this case. How-
ever, as the Court stated in United States of America v.
N. L. Industries, Inc., et al., supra, where an employer
and the unions have had ample opportunity to remedy
unlawful employment practices, they should be put on

34a
Opinion of District Court

notice that they will be held responsible for the economic
losses accruing to the parties injured by such unlawful
policies.

21. Although the Court finds no injunction warranted,
this litigation has, without doubt, acted as a catalyst which
partially prompted the defendants to take some action
implementing its own fair employment policies and seek-
ing compliance with the requirements of Title VII. In
this sense, the plaintiffs have performed a valuable public
service in bringing this action. Having prevailed in their
contentions of prior racial discrimination against blacks
generally, the plaintiffs are entitled to their costs, including
reasonable attorneys’ fee. The Court, taking judicial notice
of the tremendous work in the preparation, discovery, and
trial of the case and the voluminous record developed
during the course of the proceedings, is of the opinion that
the plaintiffs are entitled to recover from the defendants,
jointly and severally, their costs, and in addition thereto,
reasonable attorneys’ fee in the sum of $15,000.00 to com-
pensate the plaintiffs’ attorneys for their work and efforts,
authorized by 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(k). See Parham v.
Southwestern Bell, supra; Clark v. American Marine
Corporation, 304 F.Supp. 603 (E.D. La. 1969); and Irvin
v. Mohawk Rubber Company, 308 F.Supp. 152 (1970).

The Court incorporates its findings and conclusions
pursuant to Rule 52 of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-
cedure.

An Order will be entered in accordance, and consistent
with this Memorandum Option.

Dated this 10th day of December, 1973.

Oren Harris
United States District Judge

35a

Opinion of Court of Appeals
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For tHE Eicxuts Circuit

Nos. 74-1086, 74-1087
74-1101, 74-1115

Hewry Lee Rocers, et al.,
Appellants-Cross-A ppellees,

Vv.

INTERNATIONAL Paper Company, et al.,

Appellees-Cross-Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Arkansas.

Submitted: October 14, 1974
Filed: January 7, 1975

Before:
Heaney, Bricut and Ross,

Circuit Judges.

Ross, Circuit Judge.

Henry Rogers, Lee Smith and N. A. Thompson, on behalf
of themselves and other blacks similarly situated, brought
this action against International Paper Company [herein-
after I.P.] and I.P. unions under Title VII of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5( e), 42 U.S.C. §1981,

36a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

and 29 U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq. The complaint alleges racially
discriminatory employment policies were practiced by LP.
at its Pine Bluff Mill in four general employment classifi-
cations: production departments, maintenance craft jobs,
office and clerical jobs, and supervisory positions.

After a lengthy trial and upon detailed factual evidence,
the district court concluded, with respect to production
jobs, that although I.P. had clearly discriminated in past
job assignments and although its seniority system had
perpetuated the effects of that past discrimination, I.P.’s
Memorandum of Understanding negotiated between I.P.
and the Office of Federal Contract Compliance under Exec-
utive Order 11,246 substantially climinated the effects of
the former discriminatory policy. Respecting maintenance
eraft jobs the conrt concluded there was no overt discrimi-
nation against blacks and the tests administered as a pre-
requisite to employment for those jobs were not shown to
have a racially disparate impact, nor, in any event, to be
unrelated to job performance, Third, the district court
noted there had been no hiring for office and clerical posi-
tions for a significant period of time and concluded that
I.P. had undertaken effective measures to remedy any dis-
crimination in office and clerical employee selection by
establishing a list of qualified black clerical applicants.
The district court did not address the question of discrimi-
nation in supervisory employee selection. Upon those bases,
the court denied injunctive relief. For the reasons herein-
after set forth. we reverse and remand.

T. Internat Srrvecrvre.

The Pine Bluff Mill, located in Jefferson County, Arkan-
sas, is one of a number of such facilities maintained by IL.P.
for treatment and conversion of wood into paper. It com-

a —

37a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

menced production in 1958 and, at the time of trial, em-
ployed 1,443 employees, of which 118 were black. The
population of Jefferson County is 30% black. The mill
consists primarily of production departments which process
wood into paper and maintenance craft departments which
are responsible for repairing and maintaining the machin-
ery used at the mill. Also employed at Pine Bluff are
supervisory personnel and office and clerical personnel.’
Of the 160 supervisory personnel, one accountant hired in
1969 is black.

Production workers are organized into ten departments?’
which, in turn, are subdivided into various lines of pro-
gression [ LOP] based either upon the type of job performed
or geographic proximity to other jobs in a particular LOP.
As a worker ascends in the LOP his pay rate increases,
Associated with many of these departments are labor pools
into which employees are hired by I.P. and from which
laborers are assigned to various entry level jobs in a LOP
as temporary or permanent vacancies therein occur. Also
in the production area, but not associated with any specific
department or LOP, are various miscellaneous hourly jobs,
Under the collective bargaining agreements in effect at
Pine Bluff, promotion, demotion, layoff and recall are deter-
mined on the basis of seniority of which there are three
types: company or mill seniority, department seniority, and
job seniority.*

1In this appeal neither the plaintiffs nor the United States
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission challenge the find-
ings of the district court relating to office and clerical jobs.

? Wood Yard, Pulp Mill, Laboratory, Beater Room, Machine
Room, Polyethylene Extruder, Finishing and Shipping, Store-
room, Equipment, and Power Plant.

Company seniority is the length of service with the company.
Department seniority is the length of service in a department or
line of progression. Job seniority is the length of service on a
job in a line of progression.

38a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

Prior to 1962 all of the production jobs were segregated
on the basis of race. The Wood Yard Department was
the only production department permitting blacks. Var-
ious miscellaneous jobs were designated black jobs and
the General Yard Crew was a black labor pool. The
black jobs were generally less desirable, lower paying,
and more physically demanding. Subsequent to 1962 this
situation changed as will be hereafter discussed.

The maintenance crafts jobs are organized into three
departments‘ and are represented by various skilled crafts,*
both journeyman and apprentice status. These are the
highest paying hourly positions at I.P. The company,
based upon test results achieved on a battery of tests,
effectuates hiring of these employees into the apprentice-
ship programs, Applicants therefor must be under 25
years of age, or 29 if the applicant is an I.P. incumbent
employee. Job training and union membership follow. Un-
til 1962 the bargaining representatives for these crafts
were segregated white unions. Thus the maintenance crafts
at Pine Bluff were all white. At the time of trial, two
black apprentices had been hired into the 255 skilled craft
positions at the Pine Bluff Mill.

Il. Supervisory PERSONNEL.

In a recent class action challenge alleging employment
discrimination we have noted that employment policies af-
fecting supervisory and managerial positions are not in-
sulated from the reaches of Title VII enforcement. Gul-
more v, Kansas City Terminal Ry., No. 74-1207 (8th Cir.,

‘ Maintenance, Electrical, and Instrument.

’ Pipefitters, Carpenters, Insulators, Millwrights, Welders, Steel-
workers, Boilermakers, Sheet Metal Workers, Machinists, and Auto
Mechanies.

ee

39a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

January , 1975). In that case we held that statistical
data may establish a prima facie case of employment dis-
crimination, specifically in the context of supervisory per-
sonnel, and that such a showing shifts the burden to the
employer to rebut the inference that racial considerations
have dictated employment choices. Jd. at 6. When a de-
fense of lack of minority qualification is interposed by the
employer, we there held that an employer may rebut the
prima facie case of discrimination upon a showing that
the required qualifications have a manifest relationship
to the employment in question. Gilmore v. Kansas City
Terminal Ry., supra, at 7. Thereafter, it is open to plain-
tiffs to demonstrate a violation of Title VII on either of
two independent bases: “that the employment policies re-
flect present discriminatory conduct or that current poli-
cies, though neutral on their face, carry forward vestiges
of past discrimination.” Id.

Here, by means of the statistic that only one black
has been hired for a supervisory position, the plaintiffs
have made a prima facie showing of racial discrimination
by I.P. in its employee selection policies for supervisory
personnel. The record does not demonstrate that I.P.
interposed any defense to this aspect of the class action
complaint. Because the trial court, in defining the class,
excluded supervisory employees, and since LP. did not

® Even though proof was offered and received as to supervisory
employees, the district court defined the class in this action as

“Those black employees employed and still employed since the
commencement of this cause and all future employees of
International Paper Company at its Pine Bluff, Arkansas, mill
who are members or eligible to be members of Pulp and Sul-
phite Workers; Locals 898 and 946; Papermakers; Locals 731,
735, and 833; and IBEW.”

On remand the district court should redefine the class to include
supervisory employees.

40a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

present evidence to rebut the prima facie statistical show-
ing of racial discrimination, we remand this aspect of the
ease to the trial court for further hearings and a deter-
mination as to whether or not there has been racial dis-
crimination in the hiring of supervisory employees by
LP. If the trial court determines there has been such
discrimination it shall then fashion an appropriate remedy.
In resolving this issue the district court should apply the
following standards.

A. Current Discrimination.

Proof of intent. Notwithstanding the provision in Title
VII allowing injunctive relief and back pay only where
the respondent has intentionally engaged in unlawful prac-
tice, 42 U.S.C. £2000e-5(¢), courts have established that
proof of discrimination does not require proof of intent
to discriminate. All that is required is that the employ-
ment practice not be accidental. See, e.g., Local 189, United
Papermakers & Paperworkers y. United States, 416 F.2d
980, 996 (Sth Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 919 (1970).
The Supreme Court has adopted this interpretation. In
Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 432 (1971), the
Court stated that, “Congress directed the thrust of the
Act to the consequences of employment practices, not sim-
ply the motivation.” See also United States v. N. L. In-
dustries, 479 F.2d 354, 361 (8th Cir. 1973) (and cases
cited therein).

Overt discrimination. Overt discrimination may be dem-
onstrated by the production of qualified minority appli-
eants for past vacancies who were rejected for a less
qualified white person. If such employer conduct is estab-
lished, a deliberate purpose to discriminate may be in-
ferred and close judicial scrutiny of employment practices

4la
Opinion of Court of Appeals

is warranted. In Brown v. Gaston County Dyeing Machine
(o., 457 F.2d 1377, 1382 (4th Cir. 1972), the court observed:

Courts have often observed that proof of overt
racial discrimination in employment is seldom direct.
Recognizing this, we have found “error in limiting
Title VII to present specific acts of racial discrim-
ination,” and it is now well established that courts
must also examine statistics, patterns, practices and
general policies to ascertain whether racial diserim-
ination exists. (Citations omitted.)

Recruitment. Evidence of discrimination by design might
also be based upon a history of minimal recruitment ef-
forts in publicizing vacancies and openings in supervisory
and management positions. The passive nature of past
recruitment together with the failure to undertake af-
firmative recruitment efforts after the passage of Title
VIT may justify a finding of discriminatory conduct.
United States v. N. L. In ustries, supra, 479 F.2d at 368;
Parham v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 433 F.2d
421, 426-27 (8th Cir. 1970); United States vy. Sheet Metal
Workers Local 36, 416 F.2d 123, 139-40 (8th Cir. 1969).

Examination of criteria. A final method in the assess-
ment of present discriminatory conduet is the examination
of the supervisory selection and promotion criteria em-
ployed by I.P. Such criteria are especially susceptible to
employer practices which discriminate in fact under a fa-
cade of apparent neutrality. Griggs v. Duke Power Co.,
supra, 401 U.S, at 431, in holding unlawful an employer’s
use of a written test not shown to have been related to
job performance, teaches that employee selection criteria
must be serutinized. Under Griggs, an employer must dem-
onstrate that hiring and promotional requirements with

42a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

a racially disparate effect “have a manifest relationship
to the employment in question.” Jd. at 432.

Where objective criteria are employed the EEOC guide-
lines on Employer Selection Procedures, 29 C.F.R. § 1607
et seq. cited with approval by the Court in Griggs, supra,
401 U.S. at 434, as expressing the will of Congress, con-
trol. They require generally that empirical evidence must
demonstrate a significant correlation between the test em-
ployed and important elements of work behavior.

Greater possibilities for abuse, however, are inherent in
subjective definitions of employment selection and promo-
tion criteria. Yet they are not to be condemned as unlawful
per se, for in all fairness to applicants and employers
alike, decisions about hiring and promotion in supervisory
and managerial jobs cannot realistically be made using ob-
jective standards alone. Thus, it is especially important
for courts to be sensitive to possible bias in the hiring and
promotion process arising from such subjective definition
of employment criteria. The EEOC guidelines,’ the Execu-
tive Order program,* and the courts have all established

‘Those guidelines, which set forth validation standards for
objective professionally developed tests, also state that:

Selection techniques other than tests . .. may be improperly
used so as to have the effect of discriminating against minor-
ity groups... . Where there are data suggesting employ-
ment discrimination, the person may be called upon to present
evidence concerning the validity of his unscored procedures
as well as of any tests which may be used, the evidence of
validity being of the same types referred to in §§ 1607.4 and
1607.5.

29 C.F.R. § 1607.13 (1973). That passage suggests that even sub-
jective criteria must be validated by the employer.

* Executive Order 11,246, regulating employment practices of
employers with government contracts, also requires empirical vali-
dation for “selection techniques other than tests,” including un-
scored interviews, unscored application forms, and records of edu-
cational and work history, if such techniques have the effect of
discriminating against blacks. 41 C.F.R. § 60-313 (1973).

43a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

the requirements of, and in most cases a measure for, ex-
amining subjective hiring and promotion criteria. At the
very least, it is necessary to identify the goals underlying
the subjective criteria through a job analysis. Examination
of those goals might reveal underlying personal biases or
discriminatory stereotype classifications. See, e.g., EEOC
Dec. No. 72-0721 (Dee. 27, 1971), 4 FEP Cases 439 (1972).
It may additionally appear that subjective preference is
accorded factors which are discriminatory, as for example,
education accomplishment when such is not shown to be
related to job performance,’ a history of arrest records,”
a history of wage garnishment,"' or personal references
that are nepotistic or culturally biased.’ If there is any
evidence of a discriminatory policy, courts have in the past

® Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 431 (1971). The Court
there observed that “History is filled with examples of men and
women who rendered highly effective performance without the
conventional badges of accomplishment in terms of certificates,
diplomas, or degrees.” Jd. at 433. See also Carter v. Gallagher,
452 F.2d 315, 326 (8th Cir 1971), modified on rehearing en bane,
452 F.2d 327 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 905 (1972); De-
velopments in the Law—Employment Discrimination and Title
VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 84 Harv. L. Rey. 1109, 1141-

45 (1971>.

1 Carter vy. Gallagher, supra, 452 F.2d at 326; Gregory V. Litton
Systems, Inc., 316 F.Supp. 401, 403 (C.D. Cal. 1970), modified,
472 F.2d 631 (9th Cir. 1972). See also Developments in the Law—
Employment Discrimination and Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, 84 Harv. L. Rev. 1109, 1151-52 (1971). Compare
Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 232, 241 (1997).

1 Wallace v. Debron Corp., 494 F.2d 674, passim (8th Cir.
1974) : Johnson v. Pike Corp. of America, 332 F.Supp. 490, passim
(C.D. Cal. 1971).

12 Rowe vy. General Motors Corp., 457 F.2d 348, 358-59 (5th Cir.
1972): Parham v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 433 F.2d 421,
427 (8th Cir. 1970); Asbestos Workers Local 53 v. Vogler, 40%
F.2d 1047, 1054 (Sth Cir. 1969).

44a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

closely circumscribed and even rejected practices of per-
sonal interviews,’’ supervisory recommendations,’* and
other subjective hiring criteria.’®

B. Neutral Practices Perpetuating Vestiges
of Discrimination.

The Supreme Court has announced that a district court
has:

not merely the power but the duty to render a decree
which will so far as possible eliminate the discrimina-
tory effects of the past as well as bar like diserim-
ination in the future.

Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S, 145, 154 (1965) (em-
phasis added). As applied to employment discrimination
eases, the concept which originated in Quarles v. Philip
Morris, Inc., 279 F.Supp. 505, 516 (E.D. Va. 1968) that
Congress did not intend to freeze an entire generation of
Negro employees into discriminatory patterns that existed
before the Act, was adopted by the Supreme Court in
Griggs v. Duke Power Co., supra, 401 U.S. at 430:

Under the Act, practices, procedures, or tests neutral
on their face, and even neutral in terms of intent,

13 nited States v. Sheet Metal Workers Local 36, 416 F.2d 123,
136 (8th Cir. 1969) ; Chance v. Board of Examiners, 330 F.Supp.
203, 223 (S.D. N.Y. 1971), aff'd, 458 F.2d 1167 (2d Cir. 1972).

United States v. N. L. Industries, 479 F.2d 354, 368 (8th Cir.
1973); Leisner v. New York Telephone Co., 358 F.Supp. 359, 369
(S.D. N.Y. 1973). See also EEOC Dee. No. 7094 (Aug. 19, 1969),
2 FEP Cases 192, 193 (1971).

1S Brown v. Gaston County Dyeing Machine Co., 457 F.2d 1377,
1382-83 (4th Cir. 1972); United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corp.,
446 F.2d 652, 655 (2d Cir. 1971). See also EEOC Dee. No. 72-0265
(Aug. 6, 1971), 4 FEP Cases 68 (1972).

a ee

45a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

cannot be maintained if they operate to “freeze” the
status quo of prior discriminatory employment prac-
tices,

Pre-Act discriminatory conduct is thus an integral com-
ponent in the caleulus of employment discrimination and
remedial relief. United States v. N. L. Industries, supra,
479 F.2d at 360-61 (and cases therein cited). Neutral pol-
icies which perpetuate past discrimination cannot be con-
tinued unless there is a showing of “compelling business
necessity.” United States v. St. Louis-San Francisco Ry.,
464 F.2d 301, 308, (Sth Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 409 U.S.
1107 (1972). See also Griags v. Duke Power Co., supra,
401 U.S. at 481: United States v. N. L. Industries, supra,
479 F.2d at 364-65. Such a business necessity “ ‘connotes
an irresistible demand.’ The system in question must not
only foster safety and efficiency, but must be essential to
that goal.” United States v. St. Lowis-San Francisco Ry..
supra, 464 F.2d at 208. In United States v. N. L. Industries,
supra, 479 F.2d at 365, we stated:

[T]he business purpose must be sufficiently compelling
to override anv racial impact; the challenged practice
must effectively carry out the business purpose it is
alleged to serve; and there must be available no ac-
ceptable alternative policies or practices which wonld
hetter accomplish the business purpose advanced, or
accomplish it equally well with a lesser differential
racial impact. (Citation omitted.)

Thus where the prescribed qualifications rest on factors,
the ability to obtain which was denied minority applicants
under past discriminatory policies, then the criteria must
be modified, to the extent possible, so as to substitute

46a

Opinion of Court of Appeals

functionally equivalent criteria which does not have a dis-
criminatory effect. Only when there are “available no ac-
ceptable alternative policies or practices which would...
accomplish [the business purpose advanced] equally well
with a lesser differential racial impact,” might a neutral
policy perpetuating prior discrimination be retained.
United States v. N. L. Industries, supra, 479 F.2d at 360.

Ill. Maintenance Crart Joss.

The two issues raised on appeal relating to I.P.’s em-
ployee selection practices for skilled craft jobs, are gov-
erned by different theories under Title VII. The first
challenge, I.P.’s use of a battery of standardized tests’* as
selection devices for maintenance craft jobs,"’ rests upon
the determination of whether these tests constitute subtle
examples of present discrimination. The second issue, tem-
porary enlargement of the minority entry level age limita-
tion for the skilled crafts; is governed by considerations
of whether such relief is necessary to dispel the effects of
past discrimination and render whole the former disecrim-
inatees. Thus we treat these issues separately, but we do
not intimate that test validation and entry-level age ad-
justments may be exclusive remedies for skilled erafts ap-

16 Wonderlic, Bennett, and Minnesota Paper Form tests. These
tests have been the subject of repeated challenges under Title VIT.
See Griggs v. Duke Power Co,, 401 U.S. 424 (1971) | Wonderlic
and Bennett]; Duhon v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 494 F.2d
817 (5th Cir. 1974) |[Wonderlie and Bennett]; United States v.
Georgia Power Co., 474 F.2d 906, 911 n.8, 912 n.5 (Sth Cir. 1973)
[Bennett and Wonderlic]; Moody v. Albemarle Paper Co., 474
F.2d 134, 138 (4th Cir. 1973) [Wonderlic].

‘7 The Wonderlic and Bennett tests are also employed as selec-
tion criteria for production positions. Lower cutoff scores, how
ever, are applied and on this record the tests thus applied have
not been shown to have an exclusionary impact on minority appli-
cants for production positions.

47a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

plicants. Our considerations on appeal do not diminish
L.P.’s obligation to undertake positive measures to dispel
the residual effects of admitted prior discrimination under
Title VII, 29 C.F.R. § 1607.14, or under the Executive
Order’ program, 41 C.F.R. § 60-3.14. See generally, Note,
Remedial Minority Employment, 56 Minn. L. Rev. 842,
844-45 (1972). The determination of the perimeters of
affirmative relief, however, is committed to the district court
on remand in the exercise of its inherent “equitable power
to remedy past wrongs” “once a right and a violation have
heen shown.” Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburq Board of
Education, 462 U.S. 1, 15 (1971).

In analyzing the legitimacy of testing devices as pre-
requisite to employment, several principles are significant.
In Grigas v. Duke Power Co., supra, 401 U.S. at 431, the
Supreme Court held that employment practices which
“foperate] to exclude Negroes fand] cannot be shown to
he related to job performance” were “artificial, arbitrary,
and unnecessary barriers to employment” and therefore
were prohibited. The Court also held that “Congress has
placed on the employer the burden of showing that any
given requirement [has] a manifest relationship to the
employment in question,” id, at 432, and that the EEOC
cuidelines on Employer Selection Procedures, 29 C.F.R.
\ 1607, expressed the will of Congress and were thus a

18 Under Executive Order 11,246 the Office of Federal Contract
Compliance (OFCC) monitors Government contractors and sub-
contractors. The Executive Order requires that no government
contractor or subcontractor shall discriminate against emplovees
or applicants for employment because of race, color, religion, sex
or national origin. Additionally the contractor is required to take
affirmative action, sce 41 C.F.R. § 60-2, to guarantee that mem-
bers of an affected class who, by virtue of past discrimination,
continue to suffer the present effects of that discrimination, are
employed and that such employees are treated during employ-
ment without regard to race, color, religion, sex or national origin.

48a

Opinion of Court of Appeals

measure relevant to demonstrating manifest relationship
to employment. Griggs, supra, at 434. That burden, how-
ever, does not shift to the employer until the plaintiff has
shown a discriminatory effect of the challenged employment
requirement. Jd. at 431; Gilmore v. Kansas City Terminal
Ry., supra, slip opinion at 6-7; United States v. Georgia
Power Co., 474 F. 2d 906, 912 (Sth Cir. 1973); Moody v.
Albemarle Paper Co., 474 F. 2d 134, 138 (4th Cir. 1973) ;
Chance v. Board of Examiners, 458 F. 2d 1167, 1176 (2d
Cir. 1972). Yet such a showing of discriminatory impact
may be prima facie established by statistical data. Gilmore
v. Kansas City Terminal Ry., supra, slip opinion at 6
(cases therein cited).

The district court here concluded that the evidence was
“insufficient to show any substantial impact of the Com-
pany’s testing program as to the ability of blacks to obtain
employment at the defendant’s Pine Bluff mill.” However
the evidence relating to racial success on the tests was
meager. I.P. either did not maintain such records or with-
held them for they were not available upon plaintiffs’ dis-
covery requests nor inquiries at trial. The court apparently
relied upon the statistic urged by IP. that 2 of the 5 in-
cumbent black applicants for transfer to maintenance craft
positions were accepted, while only 7 of 59 white applicants
were selected. Thus black opportunity for transfer was
40% while white opportunity was only about 11.9%. These
figures are somewhat elusive, however. First, the statistical
population itself, incumbent employees seeking transfer,
represents a discriminatorily conceived pool and does not
reflect a typical composition of applicants for maintenance
craft positions at Pine Bluff based upon geographical mi-
nority population. Second, the two blacks who success-
fully transferred did so after I.P.’s 1968 commitment to
provide affirmative promotional and transfer relief for

49a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

‘incumbent former discriminatees. Finally, evidence of a
test’s discriminatory effect is not confined to the ultimate
hiring and rejection ratios. “The use of any [unvalidated]
test which adversely affects hiring, promotion, transfer or
any other employment ... opportunity of classes protected
by title VII constitutes discrimination”. 29 C.F.R. § 1607.3.
See, e.g., Johnson v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 491 F. 2d
1364, 1372 (5th Cir. 1974) ; United States v. Georgia Power
Co., supra, 474 F, 2d at 912 n. 5: Chance v. Board of Ex-
aminers, supra, 458 F. 2d at 1176.

Better evidence of the test’s racial impact can be found
in the testimony of the personnel director at Pine Bluff
who was aware of no black success’® in 1962 on the Won-
derlic and Bennett tests for production transfer eligibility.
This was confirmed by one of the Pine Bluff black em-
ployees. Similarly he did not believe that any blacks passed
the production battery of tests in 1967 or 1968. There is,
however, some conflicting evidence on this latter point for
one of plaintiffs’ witnesses testified that two blacks passed
in 1968. The fact remains, however, that as late as 1971,
only two blacks had been hired into the apprentice program
at Pine Bluff. Black employees were virtually excluded
even from production transfer until 1965 and passing
scores for production transfer were even lower than min-
imal scores for skilled craft admittance. And company
officials, notably the Industrial Relations Manager at Pine
Bluff, were aware of and expressed disappointment over
the poor minority success on the test batteries.

'* Applicants for transfer to other production lines of progres-
sion were originally similarly required to pass the same Wonderlic
and Bennett tests required of maintenance employee applicants.
Cutoff scores, however, were set lower than minimal passing scores
for transfer to skilled crafts jobs. These scores for production
transfer were themselves lowered in later years.

50a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

This statistical evidence, then, though partly based on
tests administered to production employees, is sufficient to
show the racially disparate impact of the skilled crafts’
testing program, see also Boston Chapter, NAACP, Inc.
v. Director and Commissioner of Civil Service, No. 74-1067,
slip opinion at 5-6 (1st Cir., Sept. 18, 1974), and to shift
the onus of validation to L.P., which appropriately came
forward with evidence of attempted validation the district
court determined to be adequate. The legal issue, then, on
review in this case resolves to the sufficiency of the valida-
tion study as persuasive evidence that the test battery is
truly predictive of job performance. For this we turn to
the EEOC guidelines.

Under the guidelines, “[e]vidence of a test’s validity
sheuld consist of empirical data demonstrating that the
test is predictive of or significantly correlated with impor-
tant elements of work behavior which comprise or are rele-
vant to the jobs or jobs for which candidates are being
evaluated.” 29 C.F.R. §1607.4(c). Three procedures are
cited as the generally acceptable methodology for satisfy-
ing those requirements: criterion-related validity, content
validity, and construct validity.” The latter two are per-

_ *° Criterion validity correlates test scores with so

job success. It can be accomplished by two satheds. : pon oe
validation or concurrent validation. “ ‘Predictive validation con-
sists of a comparison between the examination scores and the sub-
sequent job performance of those applicants who are hired’: ‘Con-
current validation requires the administration of the examination
to a group of current employees and a comparison between their
relative scores and relative performance on the job.’” Vulcan
Society of New York City Fire Dept. v. Civil Service Comm. of
N.Y., 490 F. 2d 387, 394 (2d Cir. 1973), Content validity corre-
lates the content of the test with the content of the job and is
generally used to determine the validity of achievement tests.
Construct validity matches an employment test with results of
some other test known to measure the relevant characteristics.

5la
Opinion of Court of Appeals

missible only where criterion-related validity is not feasible.
29 C.F.R. § 1607.5(a). Here I.P. undertook a predictive
criterion ‘2lated validity study for higher than entry level
jobs, a permissible undertaking for a validity study under
29 C.F.R. § 1607.4(c)(1). Supervisor raters were asked to
rate workers in the sample under a paired comparisen rat-
ing technique.*? The rating lists were then matched with
test battery results to determine whether those tests had
been an adequate measure of job performance. We note
several deficiencies in this validation study.

Sample deficiencies and lack

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0430%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
