# Respondents Brief — EPA v. California Ex Rel. State Water Resources Control Bd.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0420%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 426 U.S. 200

## Text

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1975
No. 74-1435

——

THE ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY,
et al., Petitioners

V.

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA ex rel.
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD
AND STATE OF WASHINGTON, et al., Respondents

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS
STATE OF WASHINGTON AND ITS
DEPARTMENT OF ECOLOGY

SLADE GORTON
Attorney General

CHARLES B. Rok, JR.
Senior Assistant Attorney General

CHARLES W. LEAN
Assistant Attorney General
September, 1975
Temple of Justice Olympia, Washington 98504 (206) 753-2354

STATE PRINTING PLANT ee. wasnineron

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1975

No. 74-1435
THE ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY,
et al., Petitioners
v.

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA ex rel.
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD
AND STATE OF WASHINGTON, et al., Respondents

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS .-
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS
STATE OF WASHINGTON AND ITS
DEPARTMENT OF ECOLOGY

SLADE GORTON
Attorney General

CHARLES B. Rok, JR.
Senior Assistant Attorney General

CHARLES W. LEAN
Assistant Attorney General
September, 1975

Temple of Justice Olympia, Washington 98504 (206) 753-2354

Page
EI Se en ee ee 1
e aces be eduacsbeccescccci 2

Argument:

A state waste discharge 14 program, operating
as an approved part of National Pollutant Dis-
charge tion System of Section 402 of the
Federal Water Pollution Control Act, applies to all
who discharge pollutants from point sources into
waters of the United States within a state, including
, „eee 7

r ̃ ge A Elia ge a 7

A. The Federal Water Pollution Control Act
Amendments of 1972—General background. 7

B. The National Pollutant Discharge Elimina-
, ̃ T . 9

C. The “Supremacy” and “Plenary Powers”
Clauses of the United States Constitution... 11

II. Taken as a whole the Federal Water Pollution
Control Act is clear; the permit system of the

NPDES is applicable to federal facilities....... 13
A. The Cornerstone—Section 313.............. 13
B. Other Roadsigns of the Federal Water Pollu-
, ee on tween cen nous 17
1. The wording of the “Citizen Suits” pro-
vision—Section 50s 17

2. The express exemption of federal activ-
ities from certain requirements—Sections

r . 18

3. The payment of reasonable service
r eee 19

4. The “relief valve“ powers of the Presi-
dent — Section 31i)“hꝓ̃; ;; 21
III. The Use of Legislative History ................ 22

A. In light of the clarity of meaning of the
Federal Water Pollution Control Act, taken
in its entirety, it is inappropriate to resort to
legislative history to determine the intent of
Fee ne 22

iv

INDEX—(Cont.)

Page
B. Even assuming the appropriateness of ex-
amining legislative history, that history is
too blurry to be of assistance ............... 23

IV. The Environmental Protection Agency Adminis-
trator’s Interpretation of the Applicability of the
/ ¶ eoa* 25

A. The conclusion of the Administrator that
federal agencies are subject to the NPDES
e 25

B. The only error in the Environmental Protec-
tion Agency interpretation of the Federal
Water Pollution Control Act was the exclu-
sion of federal agencies from state operated

e eee 27
r d Ueeieiiomensaeseaes 32
Appendix A— Section 313 of the Federal Water Pollution

c .. . 34
Appendix B— Section 402 of the Federal Water Pollution

DME . it aemietes a4 35

CITATIONS
Table of Cases
Askew v. American Waterways Operators, Inc.,

rr ee eee ee 15
Commissioner v. Brown, 380 U.S. 563 (1965) ...... 14, 15, 17
Evans v. Cornman, 398 U.S. 419, (1970) ................. 12
Federal Maritime Commission v. Seatrain Lines,

8! RR ES RS 26
Mayo v. United States, 319 U.S. 441 (1943) .............. 12
Merrit v. Cameron, 137 U.S. 542 (1890) ................ 26
Mississippi River Fuel Corp. v. Mouton,
re 21
New York v. O'Neill, 359 U.S. 1 (195999999990 16
Red Lion Broadcasting Company v. Federal Communica-

tions Commission, 395 U.S. 367 (1968) .......... 25, 26
Stewart & Co. v. Sadrakula, 309 U.S. 94 (1940) ......... 12
Train v. City of New York, 420 U.S. 35 (1975) .......... 8

United States v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 643 (1961) ............ 22

V
CITATIONS—(Cont. )
Page
United States v. Sharpnack, 355 U.S. 286 (1958) ...... 12, 16
United States v. Ray, 488 F.2d 15 (10th Cir. 1973) 22
Constitution, Statutes and Regulations

United States Constitution:
Art. I, Sec. 8 cl. 17 (Plenary Powers Clause) ........ 12
Art. VI, cl. 2 (Supremacy Clause) .................. 12

Federal Statutes:

Clean Air Act of 1970, 84 Stat. 1676 et seq.,
e . veticicsicdcces 5

Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972,
86 Stat. 816 et seq., 33 U.S.C. (Supp III) 1251 et seq.. 1, 2

Title I and Sections 208 and 209, 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III)

Subchapter I, 1288 and 1289 ...................
Title III. 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 18311-1318 .......... 9
Section 101(a), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1251(a) ...... 8
Section 101 (b), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1251(b) ....11, 16
Section 201-212, 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1281-1292 ...... 8
Section 301, 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1311 ........... 9, 14
Section 304(h) (2), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. ITI) .... 28, 29,-30
Section 306, 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1316 .......... 21, 29
Section 307(c), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1316(c) ........ 19
Section 307, 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1317 ............. 21
Section 308, 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1318 .............. 29
Section 308(c), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1318(c) ........ 19
Section 311 (0) (2), 33 U.S.C. 1321(o)(2) ............ 15
Section 313, 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1323 ..............

.. 3, 4, 6, 7, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 24, 26, 27, 30

Section 401 (a) (6), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1341(a)(6).. 18
Section 402, 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1342 ..............

n, 3, 4, 6, 9, 14, 16, 18, 79, 29, 30, 31

Section 402 (a) (3), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1342 (a) (3). 30
Section 402 (b), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1342 (b))

28, 29, 30, 32

Section 402 (b) (1), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1342 (b) (1). . 19

Section 402 (b) (2), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1342 (b) (2). 19
Section 402 (e) (1), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 240

vi

CITATIONS—(Cont. )
Page
Refuse Act of 1889, 33 U.S.C. 4))))))0)) cece 10
Section 402 (e) (3), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1342 (c) (3). 32
Section 402 (d), 33 U.S. C. (Supp. III) 1342 (d) 14
Section 505, 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 136. 4, 17

Section 505 (f), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1365(f) .... 17, 18
Federal Regulations:

40 C. F. R.:

Dreesen 27

ene, caokin 27, 28
Washington Statutes:

Boas ..... ere 9, 10, 11

Chapter 155, Laws of 197/23 10

Miscellaneous

Committee Print, A Legislative History of the Water
Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972, 93d
Cong., Ist Sess. (1973):

Ir 7, 11, 25
Da.. dct 10, 31
Presidential Executive Order Number 11574, 35 Fed.
„.net, bes ees 10
III . 24, 25
United States EPA, The National Water Permit Pro-
en 7 7˙? A 11

Websters New World Dictionary (College Edition,

.. .... „dend 15

120 Cong. Rec. S 16644 (Sept. 16, 1974) ............ 20

ee

SUPREME COURT

OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1975
No. 74-1435

THE ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY,
et al., Petitioners

V.

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA ex rel.
STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD
AND STATE OF WASHINGTON, et al., Respondents

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS
STATE OF WASHINGTON AND ITS
DEPARTMENT OF ECOLOGY

QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether the Administrator of the Environ-
mental Protection Agency, in approving programs
submitted to him by the States of California and
Washington for inclusion as a part of the National
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System of Section
402 of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act

2

Amendments of 1972, erred in excluding federal
agencies and instrumentalities from the coverage of
the approved state programs.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
I.

The Federal Water Pollution Control Act
Amendments of 1972 (hereinafter FWPCAA) es-
tablished an ambitious, expensive, many pronged
attack on water pollution in our country with an
ultimate goal of eliminating all pollution of waters
of the United States. At the heart of the Act’s pro-
gram for regulation and control of point source
waste discharges (as distinguished from non-
point”) is a national waste discharge permit system
entitled the National Pollutant Discharge Elimina-
tion System (hereinafter NPDES). This new sys-
tem contains within it a governmental decision
making mechanism whereby pollution control re-
quirements, not only in terms of required treatment
of wastes to be discharged but in terms of the time
for accomplishment of such treatment, are estab-
lished for specific discharges.

Two fundamental objectives of the new Act,
accomplished through the NPDES, are: (1) all
discharges of pollutants from point sources to waters
of the United States shall be the subject of a permit
issued pursuant to a national waste discharge permit
system; and (2) within each state there shall be

oly one permit issuing entity operating under the
national system, either the federal government or the
state, preferably the latter.

II.

The United States Environmental Protection
Agency (hereinafter E. P. A. or petitioners) contends
that federal agencies which discharge wastes to
waters of the United States are not required to
obtain permits from states operating a permit pro-
gram as a part of the NPDES. We believe this posi-
tion is clearly contrary to both the objectives and
express wording of the Federal Water Pollution
Control Act.“ Our position is based primarily on the
language of Section 313 of the FWPCAA which
mandates that every federal instrumentality shall
comply with federal, state, and local “requirements
respecting control and abatement of pollution to the

same extent as any person * * .“ Relying on

the normal and usual meaning of these words, the
permit requirements of the NPDES are “require-
ments respecting control and abatement of pollution”
within the meaning of the words as used in Section
313. Therefore federal agencies, who propose to dis-
charge pollutants, must meet NPDES requirements
established by operation of a state program just as
all other dischargers are required.

There are various indicators within the FWP-

The full text of Sections 313 and 402 of the FWPCAA are set forth
in Appendices A and B hereof.

1

CAA which provide clear roadsigns of support for our
position. First we note that federal agencies or
facilities were exempted from specific portions of
the FWPCAA; thus a strong inference arises that,
where no express exemption exists in a regulatory
program of the Act, federal facilities were intended
to be included. Further we note the powers of the
President to exempt federal facilities from most of
the pollution control and abatement requirements
described in Section 313 if he determines it to be
“in the paramount interest of the United States” to
do so. This power provides a relief valve from permit
conditions included in a state permit which threaten
national interest considerations. Thirdly, the lan-
guage of Section 313, which requires federal agencies
to pay “reasonable service charges”, was clearly in-
cluded to insure that each federal agency is
empowered to pay fees to a state for processing
applications filed in a state administered NPDES
program. And, finally, attention is directed to those
portions of section 505—the “citizens suit” section—
_ which sets forth the strongest roadsign of all by pro-
viding that a citizen may enforce a condition of a
permit issued under section 402 “including a require-
ment applicable by reason of section 313 * *.

Based on the aforementioned policy objectives,
and the specific wording of the Federal Water Pollu-
tion Control Act, when taken as a whole, a clear and
unambiguous Congressional direction is established
that federal agencies are required to obtain an

5

NPDES permit from a state whenever they dis-
charge wastes within a state which has a federally

approved permit progam.

III.

In light of the clarity of the legislative intent
derived from the FWP CAA itself, we contend it is
inappropriate to initiate the digression into legisla-
tive history suggested by petitioners. However, even
assuming the necessity of such an examination, that
endeavor will be fruitless for the total historical
record is completely blurry and inconclusive in
terms of both the Federal Water Pollution Control
Act and the Clean Air Act. As to the latter act,
the historical background of that act is suspect
as a source for developing the meaning the the
FWPCAA for the simple reason that the two acts are
different in significant respects. The most important
difference is, of course, that only the FWPCAA con-
tains a national waste discharge permit program.

IV.

In conclusion, we note the contention of the
E.P.A. that the interpretation it has given to the
NPDES through adoption of rules implementing the
system is entitled to great weight and that its in-
terpretation should be accepted by this court unless
there are “compelling reasons why it is wrong.”

Although it is not readily apparent from the

6

brief of the petitioner, we are in basic agreement
with E.P.A.’s position as to the scope of coverage of
dischargers by the NPDES. The E.P.A. has con-
cluded by formally adopted regulation that the
NPDES is generally applicable to federal agencies,
With this conclusion we agree. The only dispute we
have with the E.P.A. is its interpretation that if a
state operates a NPDES program it applies to all
discharges within a state but discharges from fed-
eral facilities. E.P.A. contends the latter discharges
are solely under the permit issuing authority of the
E. P. A. With this, we quarrel. Indeed, in the precise
sense, that is the issue to be decided in this case. The
dispute is not whether federal agencies must obtain
NPDES permits. All parties agree that federal agen-
cies are required to do so. The only dispute involves
a narrow legal issue, i.e., when a state submits a per-
mit program to E.P.A. which meets all of the criteria
necessary for approval as a part of the NPDES, may
the E.P.A. approve the state program for applica-
tion to all discharges but those of federal agencies?
We believe the words of section 402 clearly compel
a negative answer.

The interpretation of E.P.A. that federal

agencies are subject to the NPDES is, of course, in

direct conflict with the analysis of section 313 taken
in its brief. The brief states the requirement of
section 313 which federal agencies must comply with
are “substantive” requirements of state law only.
Requirements characterized by E.P.A. as “proce-

7

dural,“ ineluding permit systems (such as the
NPDES), are thus not requirements within section
313. If this analysis is sound (and we believe it is
not), the Environmental Protection Agency erred
in its formally adopted regulations when it included
federal agencies within the coverage of federally
operated NPDES programs.

ARGUMENT

A STATE WASTE DISCHARGE PERMIT PROGRAM, OP-
ERATING AS AN APPROVED PART OF THE NATIONAL
POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM OF
SECTION 402 OF THE FEDERAL WATER POLLUTION
CONTROL ACT, APPLIES TO ALL WHO DISCHARGE
POLLUTANTS FROM POINT SOURCES INTO WATERS OF
THE UNITED STATES WITHIN A STATE, INCLUDING
FEDERAL AGENCIES '

I.
INTRODUCTION

A. The Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amend-
ments of 1972—General background

On October 18, 1972, the Federal Water Pollu-
tion Control Act Amendments of 1972 became effec-

tive. Enacted as the result of an overriding of a

presidential veto,’ the new act undoubtedly provides
for the most comprehensive, most expensive and most

ambitious attack upon a pollution problem in the

See “Message of the President of the United States“ set forth in
1 A Legislative History of the Water Pollution Control Act Amend-
ments of 1972, 137-139, Committee Print, 93d Cong., Ist Sess., (1973).

8

nation’s history. By 1985, the act’s first section pro-
vides, in part, that “it is the national goal that the
discharge of pollutants into the navigable waters be
eliminated * * *.” Section 101 (a) of the
FWPCAA; 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1251(a).

To accomplish this goal, the Congress provided
three major tools in the new act. The first is a greatly
expanded and fully funded assistance program for
the financing of publicly owned waste treatment fa-
cilities.* Section 201-212 of the FWPCAA;; 33 U.S.C.
(Supp. III) 1281-1292. The second involves a sub-
stantially increased emphasis on research and plan-
ning, as well as financial assistance to aid in the
administration of state water pollution control pro-
grams. Title I and Sections 208 and 209 of FWPCAA;
33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) Subchapter I, 1288 and 1289.

The third tool relates to requirements respect-
ing control and abatement of pollution through var-
ious regulatory programs. Stated simply, and in
the most general of terms, the FWPCAA provides
that (1) regardless of the quality of the waters to
which a discharge of pollutants is proposed and (2)
even though the proposed discharge would not violate
any federal and state established receiving water
quality standards, all discharges from point sources

8The “impoundment” by the Federal Executive Branch of a
large portion of the $18,000,000,000 authorized for the program has
hampered the effectiveness of this tool. The power of the executive
branch to “impound” these funds was resolved by this Court in Train
v. City of New York, 420 U.S. 35 (1975).

9

must be provided with high levels of treatment prior
to discharge to navigable waters.“ See generally
Title III of the FWPCAA; 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III)
1311-1318. To insure that these treatment levels
(or “effluent limitations’), together with federal
and state receiving water standards and time sched-
ules for waste treatment upgrading, are complied
with, a new control and abatement requirement—
the satisfying of the provisions of the National Pol-
lutant Discharge Elimination System——was estab-
lished. Section 402 of the FWPCAA; 33 U.S.C.
(Supp. III) 1342.

B. The National Pollutant Discharge Elimination Sys-
tem

Prior to FWPCAA there was no comprehensive

federal waste discharge permit program authorized
by a federal statute. The operation of such permit

programs were exclusively the responsibility of the
various states.“ However, with the announcement

by the National Administration in 1970 of the acti-
vation of the long slumbering permit authority of

The treatment requirements of the FWPCAA are called efflu-
ent limitations.” Section 301 of the FWPCAA provides that for all
dischargers, other than publicly owned treatment works, not later
than July 1, 197, eff uent limitations are to be achieved which repre-
sent the application of the “best practicable control technology cur-
rently available.” At the same time, all publicly owned waste treat-
ment facilities must utilize “secondary treatment” and if an industrial
discharger sends its wastes through a publicly owned treatment
works, certain “pretreatment standards” must be met. Not later than
July 1, 1983, effluent requirements must be met which represent the
“best available technology economically achievable,” and for publicly
owned waste treatment facilities, which represent the application of
770 Py practicable waste treatment technology.” 33 U.S.C. (Supp.

) 1. 5

The State of Washington established a waste discharge permit
program for private sources in 1955. Wash. Rev. Code 90.48.160 et seq.

10

the “Refuse Act of 1899,“ as a waste discharge per-
mit program for private discharges of wastes to
waters of the United States, this state monopoly was
extinguished.’ As a result of this action of the fed-
eral government, a situation was created whereby
dischargers to navigable waters, in many states,
were placed in the position of obtaining permits from
both state and federal governments; a condition
with the potential for developing wasteful, duplica-
tive activities which placed unnecessary burdens on
both public and private resources.

The NPDES was undoubtedly established to
eliminate this unsatisfactory condition. 2, A Legis-
lative History of the Water Pollution Control Act
Amendments of 1972, 1488, Committee Print, 93d
Cong., Ist Sess., (1973). By creating a national“
(rather than federal“) permit system, the Congress
provided for a cooperative federal-state effort which
contemplated that, whenever possible, only one per-
mit program—a state endeaver*—would be in opera-

633 U.S.C. 407.
Presidential Executive Order Number 11574, 35 Fed. Reg. 19627.

Both the legislative and executive branches of the State of
Washington have accepted the challenge of operating a state permit
program as a part of the NPDES. The legislature responded in
early 1973 by enacting Chapter 155, Wash. Sess. Laws of 1973. Sec-
tion 1 provides in pertinent part that:

* * * the state of Washington will exercise its powers, as

fully and as effectively as possible, to retain and secure high

quality for all waters of the state. The state of Washington in
recognition of the federal government’s interest in the quality of
the navigable waters of the United States, of which certain
portions thereof are within the jurisdictional limits of this state,
proclaims a public policy of working cooperatively with the
federal government in a joint effort to extinguish the sources of
water quality degradation, while at the same time preserving
and vigorously exercising state powers to insure that present
and future standards of water quality within the state shall be

11

tion in each state.“ This approach is clearly consistent
with statement of basic state responsibilities for

water pollution control contained in that portion of
Section 101(b) of the FWPCAA which provides
that

“It is the policy of the Congress to recog-
nize, preserve, and protect the primary responsi-
bilities and rights of States to prevent, reduce,
and eliminate pollution, * * .“

The issue to be decided in this case is whether
federal agencies are subject to the NPDES when that
system is operated by a state. In terms of Washing-
ton State, which is dotted with numerous federal
facilities, must federal agencies which discharge
wastes to state waters obtain a permit from the state
for their federal irrigation projects, military bases,
atomic energy facilities and power plants?

C. The “Supremacy” and “Plenary Powers” Clauses of
the United States Constitution

As just noted, this case concerns the authority
of a state to regulate federal agency activities in-

determined by the citizenry, through and by the efforts of state
* * of the state of Washington. [Wash. Rev. Code
0.48.010
Section 4 thereof states, in part, that the Washington State Depart-
ment of Ecology is granted
Complete authority to establish and administer a compre-
hensive state point source waste discharge or pollution discharge
elimination permit program which will enable the department
to qualify for full participation in any national waste discharge
or pollution discharge elimination permit system and will allow
the department to be the sole agency issuing permits required by
such national system operating in the state of Washington. * * *
[ Wash. Rev. Code 90.48.260(1) ]

Comments of Rep. Terry during House debate on H.R. 11896,
March 27, 1972. 1 A Legislative History of the Water Pollution Con-
trol Act of 1972, p. 580, Committee Print, 93d Cong., Ist Sess., (1973).
See also the United States E.P.A. publication The National Water Per-
mit Program 6 (June 1, 1973).

12

volving water pollution control. Before proceeding
further, we point out that the United States has,
throughout this litigation, raised the Supremacy
Clause (U.S. Const., Art. VI, cl. 2) and the Plenary
Powers Clause (U.S. Const., Art. I, Sec. 8, cl. 17) as
constitutional bars to state regulation of federal
facilities. Examples are snown in the “Brief for the
Petitioners,” pp. 13 and 18-20.

The State of Washington does not contend that
it may regulate federal facilities absent congres-
sional authorization. However, nothing in the United
States Constitution prohibits such an authorization
of regulation by Congress. As stated in Mayo v.
United States, 319 U.S. 441, 446 (1943), “[I]t lies
within Congressional power to authorize regulation
buy the state of federal instrumentalities.”
Only recently this Court observed in Evans v. Corn-
man, 398 U.S. 419, 423 (1970) that “Congress has
now permitted the states to extend important aspects
of state control over federal areas.” This is true
whether the case is related to the Supremacy Clause
or the Plenary Powers Clause.“

The State of Washington contends that the
FWPCAA explicitly authorizes regulation of fed-
eral facilities by the state. In sum, this case involves
issues of statutory construction; interpretation of

10See United States v. Sharpnack, 355 U.S. 286 (1958) upholding
the constitutionality of the Federal Assimilatives Crimes Act of 1948
(18 U.S.C. § 13) which made state criminal laws applicable within
federal enclaves (in that case, an Air Force base). See also, Stewart
& Co. v. Sadrakula, 309 U.S. 94 (1940) applying state law to a
contractor constructing a post office under contract with the federal
government on federal land.

13

the FWPCAA. There are no constitutional issues
to be resolved.

The remainder of this brief discusses the re-
lationship of the NPDES to discharges of pollutants
to navigable waters from federal facilities. The
underlying issue is whether federal agencies must
comply with the requirements of the NPDES for
facilities which so discharge. The primary inquiry
is whether a state waste discharge permit-issuing
program, operating under the NPDES, applies to
federal facilities that discharge to waters of the
United States within a state.

Il.

TAKEN AS A WHOLE THE FEDERAL WATER

POLLUTION CONTROL ACT IS CLEAR; THE

PERMIT SYSTEM OF THE NPDES IS APPLIC-
ABLE TO FEDERAL FACILITIES

A. The Cornerstone—Section 313

Resolution of this case involves, in large meas-
ure, the meaning of Section 313 of the FWPCAA,
33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1323, which reads in part as
follows:

Each department, agency, or instrumen-
tali.y of the executive, legislative, and judicial
branches of the Federal Government (1) hav-
ing jurisdiction over any property or facility,
or (2) engaged in any activity resulting, or
which may result, in the discharge or runoff of
pollutants shall comply with Federal, State,

14

interstate, and local requirements respecting
control and abatement of pollution to the same
extent that any person is subject to such require-
ments, including the payment of reasonable
service charges. [Emphasis added.]

Section 301(a) of the FWPCAA, 33 U.S.C.
(Supp. III) 1311(a), prohibits any discharge of
pollutants except as in compliance with Section
402, 33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1342. Section 402 re-
quires an NPDES permit, which is issued by E. P. A.,
or, after approval of a state’s program by E.P.A.
pursuant to the standards of Section 402, it is issued
by the state. Permits issued by a state are subject to
review and approval by E.P.A. pursuant to Section
402(d).

The NPDES permit system is the heart of the
FWPCAA. By this we mean that, through the oper-
ation of this system, the precisely tailored require-
ments for waste treatment and, most importantly,
the timing of waste treatment upgrading, for specific
waste discharging facilities are established.

Is the NPDES a requirement respecting the
control and abatement of pollution within the mean-
ing of Section 313?

Any attempt to answer this question must begin
by using the usual or ordinary meaning of the word
“requirements.” Normally, at this point the inquiry
will end. There are some exceptions, however, as
stated in Commissioner v. Brown, 380 U.S. 563, 571
(1965) :

15

Unquestionably the courts, in interpreting
a statute, have some “scope for adopting a re-
stricted rather than a literal or usual meaning
of its words where acceptance of that meaning
would lead to absurd results * * * or
would thwart the obvious purpose of the stat-
ute.” [Citations omitted.] But it is otherwise
“where no such consequences would follow and
where * * * it appears to be consonant
with the p ofthe Act * * *” [Cita-
tion omitted“

The usual meaning of the word, requirement,“
is something that is obligatory or demanded as a con-
dition, a necessity.“ Federal law demands and ob-
ligates each person desiring to discharge wastes into
the waters of this country to secure an NPDES per-
mit. It is clearly a requirement respecting control and
abatement of pollution. Neither the statutory lan-
guage nor ordinary use of the word, requirements“
differentiates between substantive and procedural
requirements.” A normal or usual reading of Section
313 would thus appear to subject federal facilities

11Wesster’s New Wor.tp Dictionary (College Edition, 1966) de-
fines uirement” as: “1. a requiring. 2. — required; some-
thing obligatory or demanded, as a condition: as, the requirements for
college entrance. 3. something needed; a necessity; need.

12In Askew v. American Waterways Operators, Inc., 411 US.
325 (1973) the Court constructed what is now Section 311(0) (2) of
the FWPCAA (33 U.S.C.A. § 1321(0)(2)), which reads:
No in this section shall be construed as preempting any
State or tical subdivision thereof from imposing any require-
ment or liability with respect to the discharge of oil or hazardous
substance into any waters within such state. (emphasis added)
The Court faced Ir of “whether the waiver of pre-emption
by C in [ 311(0)(2)} « necerning the imposition by a
State ‘any requirement or liability’ is valid.” 411 U.S. at 343-44.
The Court answered the question in the affirmative with respect to a
Florida statute which included license provisions. See 411 U.S. at
330, note 3. (Federal facilities were not involved.) Nobody had the
imagination to suggest that “requirement” as used in that section
did not include a state-imposed licensing requirement.

16

to the NPDES permit requirements of Section 402;
and Section 402, without question, does not author-
ize withholding these facilities from the ambit of an
otherwise approvable state program.

Is this an “absurd result?” There appears to
be nothing absurd in treating federal facilities the
same as private facilities. In fact it is not even un-
usual. Congress has already voluntarily subjected
federal facilities and programs to various forms of
state and local regulation and participation.”

It is a result which “would thwart the obvious
purpose of the statute?” To the contrary, as noted
earlier, Section 101(b) of the FWPCAA, 33 U.S.C.
(Supp. III) 1251(b)) states that “[i]t is the policy
of the Congress to recognize, preserve, and protect
the primary responsibilities and rights of states to
prevent, reduce and eliminate pollution.“
This purpose would be furthered by a normal reading
of the word, “requirements.”

“Requirements respecting control and abate-
ment of pollution” as those words are ordinarily
understood, would include a permit for waste dis-
charges necessitated by the provisions of federal
and state law. Federal facilities must meet these
requirements, which include the necessity of obtain-
ing an NPDES permit. There is nothing absurd
about this result, and it furthers the stated policy

See, for example, the statutes and programs discussed in
United States v. Sharpnack, 355 U.S. 286 (1958), and New York v.
O'Neill, 359 U.S. 1 (1959).

17

of the Act. As implied by Commissioner v. Brown,
supra, at this point statutory interpretation must
stop. There is no justification for extensive journeys
into an ambiguous legislative history or into argu-
ably analogous provisions of other statutes in an
attempt to avoid the literal or usual meaning of the
words of Section 313.

B. Other Roadsigns of the Federal Water Pollution
Control Act

There are a number of indicators within the
Federal Water Pollution Control Act which support
our contention that the words of Section 313, given
their usual or ordinary meaning, require federal
agencies to satisfy the permit obtaining requirements
of the NPDES.

(1) THE WORDING OF THE “CITIZEN Surrs“

PROVISION—SECTION 505

The writers have found only one other section
of the FWPCAA which clearly indicates whether the
“requirements” of Section 313 were intended to in-
clude the NPDES permit requirement. This ref-
erence, however, appears to remove any doubt as to
the intention of Congress.

Section 505 (33 U.S.C. (Supp. III) 1365) au-
thorizes citizen suits. These include suits against the
United States for an alleged violation of “an effluent
standard or limitation under this chapter.” This
critical phrase is then defined in Section 505(f) :

18

For purposes of this section, the term
“effluent standard or limitation under this
chapter” means * * * (6) a permit or
condition thereof issued under section 402 of
this Act, which is in effect under this Act (in-
cluding a requirement applicable by reason of
section 313 of this Act). | Emphasis added.]

A more clear statement of Congressional intent could
hardly be imaginable. Citizens may bring suit to
enforce permits issued under Section 402; and these
include permits and conditions thereof applicable
because of Section 313. Congress therefore under-
stood that Section 313 requires federal facilities to
obtain NPDES permits pursuant to Section 402. No
other interpretation of Section 505(f) is plausible.
(2) THE EXPRESS EXEMPTION OF FEDERAL
ACTIVITIES FROM CERTAIN REQUIREMENTS

—SECTIONS 306, 308 AND 401

We next note that if the authors of the FWPCAA
had desired to exempt the Federal Government from
the requirements of the NPDES, they would have
done so expressly, especially in light of the broad, all
inclusive, mandatory wording of Section 313. That the
authors knew how to write and insert such “exempt-
ing“ language is clear from the inclusion of language
so stating in the same title of the FWPCAA that cre-
ated the NPDES. We refer to the wording of Section
401(a)(6) which provides:

No Federal agency shall be deemed to be
an applicant for the purposes of this subsection.

Other examples of express exemptions in the Act

19

are found in Sections 306(c) and 308(c) which
exempt federal facilities from certain state pro-
grams. In addition we point out that Section 402,
which creates the NPDES permit program, contains
no exemption of federal facilities. This alone creates
a strong inference that no exemption was intended.“

() THE PAYMENT OF REASONABLE SERVICE
CHARGES

Attention is next called to the last seven words
of the first sentence of Section 313—“including the
payment of reasonable service charges.” This grant
of payment power relating to satisfaction of water
pollution control and abatement requirements fits
comfortably into the concept that if there is a service
fee or charge involved in the processing of a federal
agency application for a NPDES permit (under a
state operated program), there will be no concern
over a federal agency’s authority to make the pay-

14Petitioners contend that a state-operated NPDES does not
apply to federal facilities because a cannot be developed by
a state which covers federal facili and satisfies all the criteria

306 and 308, among others. The fact that uirements for state
enforcement of new source performance and state monitor-
ing, entry and inspection procedures may not yi +-y~ to federal

ty to insure com-
pliance with the “applicable requirements” of the Act. Sections 306

Age
failure toa a state program applying to federal facilities. Like-
wise, the Environmental Protection Agency’s contention in this re-
gard does not detract from the other clear indicators in the Act

intention to cover federal facilities in

evidencing a
— ES programs.

20

ment. This, we believe, describes accurately the in-
tention of Congress as to the inclusion of the seven
words.“

E. P. A. contends, however, that “reasonable
service charges” refer only to utility user-chargers.
(Brief for the Petitioners, pp. 23-24.) The Court of
Appeals discussed this contention in its opinion with
this persuasive analysis:

Respondents contend that these “reasonable
service charges” refer to those for state and
local sewage treatment hookups. We disagree.
Although the legislative history of Section 313
is silent regarding the meaning of the reason-
able service charges” language, it seems the
better interpretation is to read it as referring
to charges incident to state permit programs.
Even if we were to read the word “require-
ments” in Section 313 to mean “effluent stand-
ards and limitations,” as respondents contend
we should, interpreting the reasonable service
charge” language to refer to municipal waste
disposal charges would create a non sequitur.

Moreover, interpreting “reasonable service
charges” to refer to charges associated with
state permit programs would be in accord with
the canon of statutory construction that, where
language in a statute can be given two possible
interpretations, that interpretation should be
chosen which does not render the language

15Our construction of the “reasonable service charges” phrase is
supported by a statement of Senator Howard Baker, 2 member of
ooth the Senate Committee on Public Works and the “Conference
Committee,” which drafted the act. Senator Baker stated:
“It is my recollection that the language on payment of such
charges was intended to authorize Federal agencies’ compliance
with such requirements even if, for example, this meant that an
agency had to pay a charge or fee to a State as part of a require-
ment that the agency obtain a State effluent permit under section
402 of the act.” 120 Cong. Rec. S 16644 (Sept. 16, 1974).

*

—

— —

21

meaningless. Although a state's taxing power
cannot operate within the confines of a federal
enclave without the consent of the United
States, Mississippi River Fuel Corp. v. Mouton,
390 F.2d 34, 35 (5th Cir. 1968), no serious con-
tention has ever been made that subordinate
governmental bodies must supply public utility
services to federal agencies free of normal user
charges. Hence, there would be no need for
Congress to explicitly direct federal agencies to
pay their full share of municipal sewer system
costs. On the other hand, any permit program
charges might be sufficiently in the nature of a
tax that specific federal consent would be re-
quired before they could be certified as “prop-
erly payable” federal obligations.

(4) THE “RELIEF VALVE” POWERS OF THE
PRESIDENT — SECTION 313

A fourth indicator is the power provided to the
President in Section 313 to:

* * * exempt any effluent source of ary
department, agency, or instrumentality in the
executive branch if he determines it to be in the
paramount interest of the United States to do
so; except that no exemption may be granted
from the requirements of sections 306 and 307

#16

With the inclusion of this provision, Congress
has empowered the President with sufficient powers
to protect the national interest arising from the
various requirements of the Federal Water Pollution
Control Act and other pollution control laws, includ-
ing those developed by a state operated NPDES per-

16Section 306 relates to standards of treatment for new pollutant
discharge sources while Section 307 pertains to effluent ards for
“toxic” pollutants.

22

mit program and incorporated in a state NPDES
permit. In a real sense, then, the Congress has con-
sidered the possibility of excluding federal agencies
from state NPDES programs and concluded that a
federal discharger should be relieved from such
NPDES requirements upon a determination of the
President.

III.
THE USE OF LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

A. In Light of the Clarity of Meaning of the Federal
Water Pollution Control Act, Taken in its Entirety,
It Is Inappropriate to Resort to Legislative History
to Determine the Intent of Congress

A basic rule of statutory construction is that
statutes are to be construed in a manner which effec-
tuates the intent of the enacting body and that in con-
struing a statute the first examination should be to
the language of the statute. If the language and the
purpose of a statute appears with reasonable cer-
tainty, there is no need to resort to other rules of con-
struction to ascertain its meaning. United States v.
Ray, 488 F.2d 15 (10th Cir. 1973). A closely related
rule directs courts to give effect to unambiguous
statute in accordance with its plain and obvious
meaning. Resort to legislative history should not be
used to change the meaning of clear and unequivocal
statutes. United States v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 643
(1961).

23

Based upon our previous evaluation that the
provisions of the Federal Water Pollution Control
Act, taken together, are clear with regard to the
applicability of state operated NPDES permit pro-
grams to federal facilities, it is unnecessary, indeed
inappropriate, to examine legislative history.

B. Even Assuming the Appropriateness of Examining
Legislative History, That History Is Too Blurry To
Be of Assistance

The petitioners’ brief devotes almost one-third
of its argument to the proposition that the legislative
history is decisive of Congressional intent. Brief
for the Petitioners pp. 33-39. The United States
places particular emphasis on the words “effluent
limitations,” “limitations,” performance stand-
ards,” and “effluent standards,” which in some cases
appear to have been used interchangeably. From the
use of these words, the United States has concluded
Congress did not intend to “submit federal facilities
to state procedures; all point to federal compliance
with applicable substantive pollution abatement re-
quirements.” Brief for the Petitioners, p. 35.

We have examined the various Congressional
reports containing the discussions of Section 313
upon which the Federal government relies so heavily.
These materials are very brief and can be read in
five minutes. Most importantly, contrary to the as-
sertion of petitioners, they are of no real help. The

24

very materials which are quoted by E.P.A. in its
opening brief, pp. 34-38, as significant are either
far too ambiguous or imprecise to be relied upon to
decide this case. For example, two paragraphs of the
Report of the Senate Committee on Public Works
accompanying S.2770 which discuss section 313 have
been quoted in the Petitioners’ Brief at page 34. The
first paragraph reads in part:

This section, similar to one in existing law
requires that Federal facilities meet the same
e fluent limitations as private sources of pollu-
tion.

The emphasis was supplied by the petitioners. Yet
in the second quoted paragraph, Section 313 is
described as follows:

“This section requires that federal facilities
meet all control requirements as if they were
private citizens.”

The petitioners did not emphasize any of these words.

E.P.A. also quotes in its opening brief, at page
38, the following portion of the Conference Report
accompanying 8.2770 (now FWPCAA) as helpful to
its position :

Senate Bill

Section 313 requires Federal facilities to

meet the same effluent limitations as other

sources of pollution, unless the facility is spe-

cifically exempted by the President. The Presi-

dent cannot exempt a Federal source from

national performance standards or toxic and

pretreatment standards.

House Amendment
Section 313 requires Federal facilities to

25

meet the same requirements as private sources
of pollution unless specifically exempted by the
President in essentially the same manner as the
Senate bill.

Conference Substitute

This section is the same as the Senate bill
and the House amendment. 1 A Legislative
Hist of the Water Pollution Control Act
— 8 A of 1972, 318, Committee Print,
93d Cong., Ist Sess., (1973)

Contrary to the views of E. P. A., we have
struggled with these descriptions and submit that
they are so ambiguous as to be of no help to the
court.“

IV.

THE ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION
AGENCY ADMINISTRATOR’S INTERPRETA-
TION OF THE APPLICABILITY
OF THE NPDES

A. The Conclusion of the Administrator That Federal
Agencies Are Subject to the NPDES Is Correct

The E. P. A. raises the rule of statutory construc-
tion that the interpretation given to an ambiguous
statute by those charged with its execution is entitled
to great weight. Red Lion Broadcasting Company v.

17The National Administration followed the FWPCAA closely
during its journey through Congress. 1 A Legislative History of the
Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972, 143, Committee
Print, 93d Cong., Ist Sess., (1973) contains a letter, dated October
11, 1972, the Administration’s chief spokesman with regard to the
FWPCAA, William Ruckelshaus, Administrator of the Environmental
Protection Agency, wrote to the Office of Management and Budget

26

Federal Communications Commission, 395 U.S. 367,
381 (1969). Reliance on this rule is appropriate only
when a statute is ambiguous. We, as stated earlier,
contend the statute is reasonably clear on its face;
therefore, the rule is inapplicable here. Likewise,
the rule is usually applied when an administrative
interpretation has been in effect for a significant
period of time. Merrit v. Cameron, 137 U.S. 542, 552
(1890). The interpretive regulation provided by
E. P. A., that a state operated NPDES does not apply
to federal agencies, has been in effect only for a
very short period. In any event, this court is not
in any sense bound by administrative interpretation
and this court should support E.P.A.’s interpretation
only if it is supported by the statute upon which
it is based. Federal Maritime Commission v. Sea-
train Lines, 411 U.S. 726 (1973)

Most importantly, the State of Washington is in
agreement with E.P.A. ona crucial, perhaps decisive,
issue in this case. We agree with conclusion of E.P.A.
that the NPDES applies to federal facilities gener-
ally.“ E.P.A.’s administrative stance in reaching this

recommending presidential approval of the bill. Page 146 thereof

contains the following discussion of Section 313 by Mr. Ruckelshaus:

The law would be changed to require Federal facilities to com-

ply with all Federal, State, interstate, and local requirements

respecting water pollution control. The President may exempt

facilities where he determines it is in the paramount interest

of the United States. No exemptions are permitted with respect

to toxic substances, pretreatment requirements, and new source
performance requirements.

18At page 10 of its opening brief, E.P.A. describes its activities
in the geographic area covered by the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.
One hundred eighty-seven NPDES permits have been issued for that
area by E.P.A. as of March 31, 1975 and 40 applications for permits
for other federal agency discharges were being considered by E.P.A.

27

conclusion” is, quite obviously, inconsistent with the
contention E.P.A. submitted to this court that the
word “requirements” as used in Section 313 refers
only to substantive requirements; and that proce-
dural requirements, such as a state NPDES operated
program, fall outside its scope. See Brief for the
Petitioner, pp. 16, 38.

The actions of E.P.A. speak louder than their
words to this court on this point. E.P.A. is correct in
interpreting “requirements” to include the NPDES
permit program. The meaning of the word “require-
ments” is constant. If “requirements” includes
NPDES permits when E.P.A. is administering the
program, then the same is true when the state is ad-
ministering it.

B. The Only Error in the Environmental Protection

Agency Interpretation of the Federal Water Pollu-
tion Control Act Was tle Exclusion of Federal

Agencies from State Operated NPDES Programs

The issue to be resolved in this case is narrow.
The State’s single dispute with E.P.A. relates to the
federal agency’s conclusion pertaining to the NPDES
contained in the regulation of the agency which
states, at 40 C.F.R. 125.2(b):

The regulations in this part do not prescribe

1940 C.F.R. 125.2 (a) (2), a regulation interpreting and implement-
ing the NPDES, the E.P.A. provided:

The regulations in this part also prescribe the policy and
procedures to be followed in connection with permits authorizing
discharges into the navigable waters, the waters of the contiguous
zone, and the oceans from any agency or instrumentality of the
Federal Government, and from any Indian activity on Indian
lands. (Emphasis supplied.)

28

licy or procedures for the issuance of permits
y States under programs approved by the Ad-
ministrator pursuant to section 402(b) of this
Act. Such State programs do not cover agencies
and instrumentalities of the Federal Govern-
ment and Indian activities on Indian lands
under the jurisdiction of the United States.
(Emphasis supplied. )

The refusal of the E.P.A. to consider federal
facilities for inclusion in a permit program operated
by the State of Washington is a specific application
of the conclusion of 40 C.F.R. 125.2(b). The con-
clusion of the regulation is without statutory sup-

port.

The controlling statute is Section 402 of
FWPCAA. It provides, in part:

At any time after the promulgation of the
guidelines required by subsection (h) (2) of
section 304 of this Act, the Governor of each
State vy my to administer its own permit
program for discharges into navigable waters
within its jurisdiction may submit to the Ad-
ministrator a full and complete description of
the program it proposes to establish and admin-
ister under State law or under an interstate
compact. In addition, such State shall submit a
statement from the attorney general (or the
attorney for those State water pollution control
agencies which have independent legal counsel),
or from the chief legal officer in the case of an
interstate agency, that the laws of such State,
or the interstate compact, as the case may be,
provide adequate authority to carry out the
described program. The Administrator shall
approve each such submitted program unless
he determines that adequate authority does not
quirements which state programs must meet. ]

exist: * * * [There follows a list of re-
fc) (2) Not later than ninety days after the
te on which a State has submitted a program
(or revision thereof) pursuant to subsection (b)
of this section, the inistrator shall
the issuance of permits under subsection (a)
of this section as to those navigable waters sub-
ject to such program unless he determines that
the State permit program does not meet the
requirements of subsection (b) of this section
or does not conform to the guidelines issued
under section 304(h)(2) of this Act. If the
Administrator so determines, he shall notify the
State of any revisions or modifications neces-
sary to conform to such requirements or
guidelines. (Emphasis supplied.)

Section 402, although lengthy, is straight for-
ward. Simply stated it establishes a national system
of permit programs. A permit program is to be
administered by E.P.A. in every state except in those
states whose governors submit approvable pro-
grams under section 402(b). In each state with an
approvable program, the state is the sole administra-
tor of the NPDES permit program. As noted by the
emphasized words of the quoted portion of section
402, the administrator is directed “to suspend“ the
issuance of permits as to those navigs e waters“
covered by the program.

The permit programs of NPDES operated within
the various states, whether administered by a state
or E. P. A., have the same general coverage. With pos-
sibly limited exceptions,” there are no distinctions in

2The exceptions are contained in Sections 306 and
308 of the See the discussion in Footnote 14.

30

state or federal NPDES permit programs because of
the nature of the discharge, the nature of the dis-
charger, or the nature of the permit program admin-
istrator. In the words of Section 402(a) (3):

The permit p of the Administrator
under paragraph (5 of this subsection, and
permits issued thereunder, shall be subject to
the — 2 conditions, and 2 —
as apply to a State permit program an permits
issued thereunder under subsection (b) of this
section. (Emphasis supplied.)

This language is consistent with the mandate
of section 313 that federal agencies shall comply to

the same extent as a private person * * .

Further, we note that E.P.A. cannot approve a
state program for operation under the NPDES unless
the program meets all of the applicable requirements
of Section 402(b). Once a state program satisfies
such requirements, no provision of Section 402
authorizes E.P.A. to approve only a portion of a
state program and disapprove the remainder. It is
an all or nothing mandate. Section 402 (e) (1) pro-
vides clear direction to E.P.A. on this point. If a
state program does not meet the requirements of
Section 402(b) or the guidelines issued under Sec-
tion 304(h) (2), E.P.A. “shall notify the State of any
revisions or modifications necessary to conform to
such requirements or guidelines.” Implicitly E.P.A.
does not have authority to approve until a program
is fully approvable.

The following discussion of E.P.A. relationships

31

with the states under the NPDES, contained in the
Report of the Senate Committee on Public Works ac-
companying 8 2770, 2 A Legislative History of the
Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972,
1489, Committee Print, 93d Cong., Ist Sess., (1973),
is instructive :

It is expected that the States will play a
major role in the administration of this pro-
gram.

The Committee believes that, after a transi-
tion period during which the State program
and capability will be upgraded, the program
should be administered by those States with
programs which meet the requirements of this
Act.

Therefore, the bill provides that after a
State submits a p which meets the cri-
teria established by the Administrator pursu-
ant to regulations, the Administrator shall

his activity in such State under the

F permit program. * (Emphasis

supplied. )

Quite clearly, the Senate Public Works Commit-
tee, the primary developer of the NPDES, contem-
plated that E.P.A. would withdraw completely from
the permit issuing activity under the NPDES after
an approved state program became operable. This, of
course, is completely consistent with the express
wording of section 402, emphasized on page 29
hereof; namely “the administrator shall suspend the
issuance of permits as to those navigable
waters subject to such program.

The determination by E. P. A. to refuse to approve

portions of state programs covering discharges from
federal facilities and to retain permit issuing author-
ity for those facilities flies in the face of legislative
history. More importantly, that action violates the
statutory grading instructions given to E.P.A. for
state submitted programs, as well as the policy in
NPDES of providing for only one government oper-
ating a permit program in any state.”

CONCLUSION

Based on the clear meaning of the Federal
Water Pollution Control Act, taken as a whole, two
conclusions can be drawn which are decisive in this
case:

1. Federal agencies are subject to the permit
requirements of the National Pollutant Dis-
charge Elimination System; and

2. When the Environmental Protection 1
approves a permit be my submitted by a
state, pursuant to ion 402(b), asa
of the National Pollutant Discharge Elim-
ination System, all NPDES permit-issuing
powers of the Environmental Protection
Agency are suspended for the state, and the
total responsibility for issuance of such per-

21A further indication that E.P.A.’s approval powers pertaining
to a “total” program is the nature of E.P.A.’s withdrawal of approval
powers contained in Section 402(c)(3). This subsection clearly pro-
vides that if E.P.A. withdraws approval of a state program, it does
so by withdrawing approval of the state program in its entirety. This,
of course, emphasizes the policy that only one government shall
operate an NPDES permit program within a state.

33
mits, including those ired for federal
facilities, are vested in state.
Therefore, the decision below should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

SLADE GORTON
Attorney General

CHARLES B. ROE, JR.
Senior Assistant Attorney General

CHARLES W. LEAN
Assistant Attorney General

September, 1975

34

APPENDIX A

SECTION 313—FEDERAL WATER POLLUTION
CONTROL ACT

“Sec. 313. Each department, agency, or instru-
mentality of the executive, legislative, and judicial
branches of the Federal Government (1) having jur-
isdiction over any property or facility, or (2) en-
gaged in any activity resulting, or which may result,
in the discharge or runoff of pollutants shall comply
with Federal, State, interstate, and local require-
ments respecting control and abatement of pollution
to the same extent that any person is subject to such
requirements, including the payment of reasonable
service charges. The President may exempt any
effluent source of any department, agency, or instru-
mentality in the executive branch from compliance
with any such a requirement if he determines it to
be in the paramount interest of the United States
to do so; except that no exemption may be granted
from the requirements of section 306 or 307 of this
Act. No such exemptions shall be granted due to
lack of appropriation unless the President shall have
specifically requested such appropriation as a part
of the budgetary process and the Congress shall have
failed to make available such requested appropria-
tion. Any exemption shall be for a period not in
excess of one year, but additional exemptions may
be granted for periods of not to exceed one year upon
the President’s making a new determination. The
President shall report each January to the Congress

ee ——

35

all exemptions from the requirements of this section
granted during the preceding calendar year, together
with his reason for granting such exemption.

APPENDIX B

SECTION 402—FEDERAL WATER POLLUTION
CONTROL ACT

“Src. 402. (a) (1) Except as provided in sec-
tions 318 and 404 of this Act, the Administrator may,
after opportunity for public hearing, issue a permit
for the discharge of any pollutant, or combination of
pollutants, notwithstanding section 301(a), upon
condition that such discharge will meet either all
applicable requirements under sections 301, 302, 306,
307, 308, and 403 of this Act, or prior to the taking
of necessary implementing actions relating to all
such requirements, such conditions as the Admin-
istrator determines are necessary to carry out the
provisions of this Act.

“(2) The Administrator shall prescribe con-
ditions for such permits to assure compliance with
the requirements of paragraph (1) of this subsec-
tion, including conditions on data and information
collection, reporting, and such other requirements
as he deems appropriate.

“(3) The permit program of the Administrator
under paragraph (1) of this subsection, and permits
issued thereunder, shall be subject to the same terms,

36

conditions, and requirements as apply to a State
permit program and permits issued thereunder under
subsection (b) of this section.

“(4) All permits for discharges into the navi-
gable waters issued pursuant to section 13 of the
Act of March 3, 1899, shall be deemed to be permits
issued under this title, and permits issued under this
title shall be deemed to be permits issued under sec-
tion 13 of the Act of March 3, 1899, and shall con-
tinue in force and effect for their term unless revoked,
modified, or suspended in accordance with the pro-
visions of this Act.

“(5) No permit for a discharge into the navi-
gable waters shall be issued under section 13 of the
Act of March 3, 1899, after the date of enactments
of this title. Each application for a permit under
section 13 of the Act of March 3, 1899, pending on
the date of enactment of this Act shall be deemed
to be an application for a permit under this section.
The Administrator shall authorize a State, which he
determines has the capability of administering a
permit program which will carry out the objective
of this Act, to issue permits for discharges into the
navigable waters within the jurisdiction of such
State. The Administrator may exercise the author-

ity granted him by the preceding sentence only dur-
ing the period which begins on the date of enactment

of this Act and ends either on the ninetieth day after
the date of the first promulgation of guidelines re-
quired by section 304 (h) (2) of this Act, or the date

— —

37

of approval by the Administrator of a permit pro-
gram for such State under subsection (b) of this
section, whichever date first occurs, and no such
authorization to a State shall extend beyond the last
day of such period. Each such permit shall be subject
to such conditions as the Administrator determines
are necessary to carry out the provisions of this Act.
No such permit shall issue if the Administrator ob-
jects to such issuance.

“(b) At any time after the promulgation of
the guidelines required by subsection (h) (2) of sec-
tion 304 of this Act, the Governor of each State
desiring to administer its own permit program for
discharges into navigable waters within its juris-
diction may submit to the Administrator a full and
complete description of the program it proposes to
establish and administer under State law or under
an interstate compact. In addition, such State shall
submit a statement from the attorney general (or
the attorney for those State water pollution control
agencies which have independent legal counsel), or
from the chief legal officer in the case of an inter-
state agency, that the laws of such State, or the
interstate compact, as the case may be, provide ade-
quate authority to carry out the described program.
The Administrator shall approve each such submit-
ted program unless he determines that adequate
authority does not exist:

“(1) To issue permits which—

“(A) apply, and insure compliance with,

38

any —— requirements of sections 301,
302, 306, 307, and 403;

“(B) are for fixed terms not exceeding
five years; and

“(C) can be terminated or modified for
cause including, but not limited to, the follow-
ing:

“(i) violation of any condition of the
permit;

“(ii) obtaining a permit by misrep-
resentation, or failure to disclose fully all
relevant facts;

„(iii) change in any condition that
—— either a temporary or permanent
reduction or elimination of the permitted
discharge;

“(D) control the disposal of pollutants
into wells;

“(2)(A) To issue permits which apply, and
insure compliance with, all applicable requirements
of section 308 of this Act, or

“(B) To inspect, monitor, enter, and require
reports to at least the same extent as required in
section 308 of this Act;

“(3) To insure that the public, and any other
State the waters of which may be affected, receive
notice of each application for a permit and to pro-
vide an opportunity for public hearing before a rul-
ing on each such application;

“(4) To insure that the Administrator receives
notice of each application (including a copy thereof )
for a permit;

“(5) To insure that any State (other than the

39

permitting State), whose waters may be affected
by the issuance of a permit may submit written
recommendations to the permitting State (and the
Administrator) with respect to any permit applica-
tion and, if any part of such written recommenda-
tions are not accepted by the permitting State, that
the permitting State will notify such affected State
(and the Administrator) in writing of its failure
to so accept such recommendations together with its
reasons for so doing;

“(6) To insure that no permit will be issued
if, in the judgment of the Secretary of the Army
acting through the Chief of Engineers, after con-
sultation with the Secretary of the department in
which the Coast Guard is operating, anchorage and
navigation of any of the navigable waters would be
substantially impaired thereby;

(67) To abate violations of the permit or the
permit program, including civil and criminal pen-
alties and other ways and means of enforcement;

(8) To insure that any permit for a discharge
from a publicly owned treatment works includes
conditions to require adequate notice to the permit-
ting agency of (A) new introductions into such
work of pollutants from any source which would
be a new source as defined in section 306 if such
source were discharging pollutants, (B) new intro-
ductions of pollutants into such works from a source
which would be subject to section 301 if it were dis-
charging such pollutants, or (C) a substantial

40

change in volume or character of pollutants being
introduced into such works by a source introducing
pollutants into such works at the time of issuance
of the permit. Such notice shall include information
on the quality and quantity of effluent to be intro-
duced into such treatment works and any antici-
pated impact of such change in the quantity or
quality of effluent to be discharged from such pub-
licly owned treatment works; and

“(9) To insure that any industrial user of any
publicly owned treatment works will comply with
sections 204(b), 307, and 308.

„(e) (1) Not later than ninety days after the
date on which a State has submitted a program (or
revision thereof) pursuant to subsection (b) of this
section, the Administrator shall suspend the issu-
ance of permits under subsection (a) of this section
as to those navigable waters subject to such program
unless he determines that the State permit program
does not meet the requirements of subsection (b) of
this section or does not conform to the guidelines
issued under section 304(h) (2) of this Act. If the
Administrator so determines, he shall notify the
State of any revisions or modifications necessary to
conform to such requirements or guidelines.

“(2) Any State permit program under this
section shall at all times be in accordance with this
section and guidelines promulgated pursuant to sec-
tion 304(h) (2) of this Act.

41

“(3) Whenever the Administrator determines
after public hearing that a State is not administer-
ing a program approved under this section in ac-
cordance with requirements of this section, he shall
so notify the State and, if appropriate corrective ac-
tion is not taken within a reasonable time, not to
exceed ninety days, the Administrator shall with-
draw approval of such program. The Administrator
shall not withdraw approval of any such program
unless he shall first have notified the State, and
made public, in writing, the reasons for such with-
drawal.

“(d)(1) Each State shall transmit to the Ad-
ministrator a copy of each permit application re-
ceived by such State and provide notice to the
Administrator of every action related to the con-
sideration of such permit application, including each

permit proposed to be issued by such State.

“(2) No permit shall issue (A) if the Admin-
istrator within ninety days of the date of his noti-
fication under subsection (b)(5) of this section
objects in writing to the issuance of such permit, or
(B) if the Administrator within ninety days of the
date of transmittal of the proposed permit by the
State objects in writing to the issuance of such per-
mit as being outside the guidelines and requirements
of this Act.

(3) The Administrator may, as to any permit
application, waive paragraph (2) of this subsection.

42

“(e) In accordance with guidelines promul-
gated pursuant to subsection (h) (2) of section 304
of this Act, the Administrator is authorized to waive
the requirements of subsection (d) of this section
at the time he approves a program pursuant to sub-
section (b) of this section for any category (includ-
ing any class, type, or size within such category) of
point sources within the State submitting such pro-
gram.

“(f) The Administrator shall promulgate reg-
ulations establishing categories of point sources
which he determines shall not be subject to the re-
quirements of subsection (d) of this section in any
State with a program approved pursuant to sub-
section (b) of this section. The Administrator may
distinguish among classes, types, and sizes within
any category of point sources.

“(g) Any permit issued under this section for
the discharge of pollutants into the navigable waters
from a vessel or other floating craft shall be subject
to any applicable regulations promulgated by the
Secretary of the department in which the Coast
Guard is operating, establishing specifications for
safe trans, ortation, handling, carriage, storage, and
stowage of pollutants.

“(h) In the event any condition of a permit
for discharges from a treatment works (as defined
in section 212 of this Act) which is publicly owned
is violated, a State with a program approved under

43

subsection (b) of this section or the Administrator,
where no State program is approved, may proceed
in a court of competent jurisdiction to restrict or
prohibit the introduction of any pollutant into such
treatment works by a source not utilizing such treat-
ment works prior to the finding that such condition
was violated.

“(i) Nothing in this section shall be construed
to limit the authority of the Administrator to take
action pursuant to section 309 of this Act.

“(j) Acopy of each permit application and each
permit issued under this section shall be available
to the public. Such permit application or permit, or
portion thereof, shall further be available on request
for the purpose of reproduction.

„(K) Compliance with a permit issued pur-
suant to this section shall be deemed compliance, for
purposes of sections 309 and 505, with sections 301,
302, 306, 307, and 403, except any standard imposed
under section 307 for a toxic pollutant injurious to
human health. Until December 31, 1974, in any case
where a permit for discharge has been applied for
pursuant to this section, but final administrative
disposition of such application has not been made,
such discharge shall not be a violation of (1) section
301, 306, or 402 of this Act, or (2) section 13 of the
Act of March 3, 1899, unless the Administrator
or other plaintiff proves that final administrative
disposition of such application has not been made

44

because of the failure of the applicant to furnish
information reasonably required or requested in or-
der to process the application. For the 180-day pe-
riod beginning on the date of enactment of the
Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments
of 1972, in the case of any point source discharging
any pollutant or combination of pollutants imme-
diately prior to such date of enactment which source
is not subject to section 13 of the Act of March 8,
1899, the discharge by such source shall not be a
violation of this Act if such a source applies for a
permit for discharge pursuant to this section within
such 180-day period.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0420%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
