# Reply — Franks v. Bowman Transportation Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0248%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply
- **Published:** January 1, 1976
- **Citation:** 424 U.S. 747

## Text

Supreme Court, U. S
kil LED
SEP 30 1975

IN THE

vy f ik. CUreK |
ll

Supreme Court of the Anited ‘State

October Term, 1974

No. 74-728

Haro_p FRANKS AND JOHNNIE LEE,
Petitioners,

V.

BowMAN TRANSPORTATION CoMPANY, INC., e¢ al.

Memorandum of Respondent
United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO
In Opposition to Suggestion of Mootiess

BERNARD KLEIMAN Micuae. H. GorresMAN
Cart FRANKEL E.uiot BrepHorFr
Five Gateway Center Rosert M. WEINBERG

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222 1000 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
James W. Dorsey Washington, D.C. 20036

100 Peachtree Street, N.W. Jerome A. Cooper

Atlanta, Georgia 30303 Joun C. FALKENBERRY
409 North 21st Street
Birmingham, Alabama 35203

Attorneys for USWA.

a
>

|

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
October Term, 1974

No. 74-728

| HaroLtp FRANKS AND JOHNNIE LEE,
Petitioners,

V.

BowMAN TRANSPORTATION ComMPANy, INC., et al.

Memorandum of Respondent
United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO
In Opposition to Suggestion of Mootness

Respondent Bowman Transportation, Inc. suggests that
this case has become moot. We disagree.

This case was brought on a complaint alleging racially
discriminatory employment practices in violation of Title
VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. It was properly certi-
fied as a class action by the district court. Intervenor Lee
was named to represent a sub-class consisting of black ap-
plicants for positions as over-the-road drivers. The claim
asserted on behalf of the members cf this sub-class was that
they had been denied such positions on the basis of race.
After the full litigation of this claim, the district court
found that the members of this sub-class had in fact been

2

victims of racial discrimination in hiring. As part of the
remedy for this discrimination, the district court ordered
that the members of this sub-class be given immediate
priority in hiring. The district court refused, however, to
order that, upon being hired, these members of the sub-class
be given seniority back to the date they were denied em-
ployment on the basis of their race. This denial of seniority
relief was appealed to the Fifth Circuit, but to no avail.
The issue has been brought to this Court. As we now show,
though the named sub-class representative, Lee, has subse-
quent to the class certification lost his personal stake in the
resolution of this issue, the case is not moot.

The question of seniority relief remains “real and im-
mediate” for those sub-class meinbers now employed by
respondent Bowman. Put succinctly, they have suffered a
wrong; they have reasonably relied upon this lawsuit to
provide full vindication for that wrong; to abort this case
now would prolong the period of their suffering, might well
jeopardize their ability ever to obtain their full measure of
relief, and at least would result in redundant litigation.
The decisions of this Court, as we read them, do not call
for such a senselesss result.

1. This case as it now stands does not involve “‘conjec-
tural” or “hypothetical” issues or people. Cf. O'Shea v.
Littleton, 414 U.S. 488, 494 (1974); Golden v. Zwickler,
394 U.S. 103, 109-110 (1969). It involves employees who
have in the course of this very litigation been adjudged
victims of racial discrimination, and who now have a real
stake in securing a remedy for that discrimination.

When the instant lawsuit was filed and then certified as
a class action, these employees (then rejected applicants) ,
as class members, were entitled to rely upon it as the vehicle
for asserting their claims of employment discrimination.
Their stake in this litigation was from the beginning quite
substantial: If the suit were successful, they would reap

a ee

a

3

substantial benefits; if it were lost, they would be bound by
that result. Rule 23(c)(3) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure. Precisely because of their interest, the suit could
not have been settled or dismissed by the named litigants
without approval of the court. Rule 23(e).

In fact, the suit was at least partially successful: ‘The
members of the sub-class were found to be victims of un-
lawful racial discrimination, were afforded the opportunity
to secure jobs, and were awarded back-pay. However, they
were refused by the lower courts—and seek in this Court—
the additional seniority which they would have had but for
the unlawful discrimination: their “rightful place.” The
significance of this additional seniority for each employee
in the class is discussed at length in our brief on the merits
at 24-29. As each day passes without that relief, these em-
ployees continue to suffer the effects of the past discrimina-
tion in ways that would not fully be compensated by an
eventual award of back-pay: they must work the less de-
sirable jobs to which they are relegated by their inferior
seniority status.

Having come this far in the litigation, it is now suggested
that these employees must start over if they want to claim
the full relief to which they are entitled. Would they have
to run the gamut of filing new charges with the Equal Em-
ployment Opportunity Commission? Would they confront
statute of limitations problems? Even if they surmounted
these hurdles, they would confront a dispositive precedent
of the Fifth Circuit that bars the granting of the seniority
relief they seek. Ultimately, only this Court can resolve
their claim. Yet, though the class members are presently
suffering the effects of their seniority disadvantage, Bow-
man would have them begin anew and wait several years
more before securing relief.

2. Bowman’s suggestion that this Court may not now
resolve this claim relies on the mechanical application here

4

of a rule fashioned by this Court to apply to a distinct type
of case. Thus, Bowman cites the following language in this
Court’s decision in Board of School Commissioners of In-
dianapolis v. Jacobs, 420 U.S. 128, 129 (1975):

“. . . [I]t seems clear that a case or controversy no
longer exists between the named plaintiffs and the peti-
tioners with respect to the validity of the rules at issue.
The case is therefore moot unless it was duly certified
as a Class action pursuant to Fed. Rule Civ. Proc. 23,
a controversy still exists between petitioners and the
present members of the class, and the issue in contro-
versy is such that it is capable of repetition yet evading
review.”

Bowman relies on the portion of that quotation apparently
requiring that the issue be “capable of repetition yet evad-
ing review.” This “element,” we are told, is not met here.
We disagree that this “element” has application here.

Since the language relied upon by Bowman was dictum
in Jacobs, we pass to a consideration of Sosna v. Iowa, 419
U.S. 393 (1975), from whence this language came. Sosna
involved a challenge to a state statute requiring the peti-
tioner in a divorce action to have been a resident of Iowa
for one year immediately proceeding the filing of the action.
The named plaintiff, Sosna, had filed for a divorce in state
court, but her petition was denied for failure to satisfy the
residency requirement. She then filed a complaint in fed-
eral court challenging the constitutionality of that require-
ment, and seeking both declaratory and injunctive relief.
She brought the case as a class action on behalf of unnamed
and unidentifiable class members “who desire to initiate
actions for dissolution of marriage or legal separation, and
who are barred from doing so by the one-year duration
residency requirement. .. .” Id. at 397. This class was duly
certified. A three-judge district court upheld the constitu-
tionality of the statute. Subsequent to the district court de-

5

cision but before the case reached this Court, Sosna satisfied
the residency requirement (and in fact obtained a divorce
elsewhere). This Court then considered the question of
mootness.

The Court began its analysis by finding that,
“When the District Court certified the propriety of
the class action, the class of unnamed persons described
in the certification acquired a legal status separate
from the interest asserted by appellant.” Jd. at 399.

This status, the Court held, is sufficient for the main-
tenance of a “case or controversy” within the meaning of
Article III of the Constitution, provided a “live contro-
versy” exists between the class members and a named de-
fendant at the time of review by this Court:

“Our conclusion that this case is not moot in no way
detracts from the firmly established requirement that
the judicial power of Art. III courts extends only to
‘cases and controversies’ specified in that Article. There
must not only be a named plaintiff who has such a case
or controversy at the time the complaint is filed, and
at the time the class action is certified by the District
Court pursuant to Rule 23, but there must be a live
controversy at the time this Court reviews the case. . . .
The controversy may exist, however, between a named
defendant and a member of the class represented by
the named plaintiff, even though the claim of the
named plaintiff has become moot.” Jd. at 402. (foot-
notes omitted )
See also, Jd. at 401, n. 9.

To this point, the analysis of Sosna fits and is dispositive
of the instant case. But the Court there also had to face a
problem not presented here. Once Sosna dropped out of
the case, there was in a meaningful sense no real plaintiff
left—only a group of unidentifiable short term residents of
Iowa who would “desire” to bring a divorce action but for

6

the residency requirement. In a real sense, this Court was
asked to review the constitutionality of a state statute at
large. On the other hand, given the length of the residency
requirement, the issue would be incapable of review by
this Court if the case were held moot. It was to confront
this dilemma that the Court established the requirement
cited by Bowman.

But this added requirement of Sosna has no application
here. It is without meaning here to ask whether the issue
is “capable of repetition”; the controversy here never
went away. The same controversy remains for the same
identifia ble group of class members as when the case began.
Far from an advisory opinion, or at-large review, this case
has plaintiffs, and we know who they are.

Our analysis is confirmed by the Sosna Court’s citation,
with approval, of cases in a posture similar to ours, where
courts of appeals have ruled that class actions involving the
rights of identifiable groups of employees should not be
dismissed as moot merely because the claim of the named
plaintiff is no longer extant. Jd. at 401, n. 10; Moss v. Lane
Company, Inc., 471 F.2d 852 (CA 4 1973); Roberts v.
Union Co., 487 F.2d 387 (CA 6 1973); Cf. Albermarle
Paper Co. v. Moody, —— U.S. ——, 43 U.S.L.W. 4881,
4883, n. 8 (1975).

Respectfully submitted,

BERNARD KLEIMAN Micuaet H. GorresMan
Cari FRANKEL E.uiot BrepHorF
Five Gateway Center Rosert M. WEINBERG

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222 1000 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
James W. Dorsey Washington, D.C. 20036

100 Peachtree Street, N.W. Jerome A. Cooper

Atlanta, Georgia 30303 Joun C. FaALKENBERRY
409 North 21st Street
Birmingham, Alabama 35203

Attorneys for USWA.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0248%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
