# Amicus Brief — Williams & Wilkins Co. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0064%3A22

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 420 U.S. 376

## Text

Suprome Court U. $.
FILED

JUL 25 1974
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United Stees’

October Term, 1973.

No. 73-1279.

THE WILLIAMS & WILKINS COMPANY,
Petitioner,
—agatnst—

THE UNITED STATES,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Claims.

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE FOR

AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR TESTING AND
MATERIALS
NATIONAL COUNCIL OF TEACHERS OF
MATHEMATICS
AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR MICROBIOLOGY
Editor-in-Chief, JOURNAL OF UROLOGY

Rosert B. Wasnesvey,
Woopcock, Wasnauryx, Kverz
& Mackiewicz,
1831 The Fidelity Building,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 19109
Tel.: (215) Kingsley 5-5577

Attorneys for Amici Curiae,

imternetione! Printing Co., 711 So. SOth St., Phila. Pa. 19143 — Tel. (215) 727-8711

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

i

Tue Interest oF AMICI CURIAE ... 2.6... 605 c cece e eee enes
American Society for Testing and Materials ............
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics ..........
American Society for Microbiology ............++++++
Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Urology ............+++++:

Teen Penseen om Tires DED oo cccccccccccccccccccecccese
DEFINITIONS AND THE OPINIONS BELOW ..........-0+00085

nd dec ccngeeessdonsosedeqoecoeoucees
Deen Dee Ge TURGGRAGET 6 ccccccccccccccccccceceoeececes

Tee Ame Om PRSNTENG ..ccccccccccccccccccccesecccccess

Snowe wernNauwwnnwn

Pe . . . c. abepensoneeseectoscovctoecouscosces

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.

Cases: Page
Ex parte Garbo, 141 U. S. P. Q. 913 (P. O. Bd. App. 1962) ..19, 20
Keene v. Wheatley et al., 14 Fed. Cas. 180, 193 (No. 7644)
(C. C. B By Be, TERR) .ccccccccccecccccccescucceees 16, 17
Philips Electronic and Pharmaceutical Industries Corp. v.
Thermal and Electronics Industries, Inc., 450 F. 2d 1164,

171 U. S. P. Q. GAL (3rd Cir. 1971) 22... cc cece ew eees 18, 19
The Williams & Wilkins Company v. United States, 172

U. S. P. Q. 670, 678 (Ct, CL 1972) .....ccccccccocees 7
The Williams & Wilkins Company v. United States, 487 F. 2d

1345, 180 U. S. P. Q. 49 (Ct. Cl. 1973) ............4.. 7
Statutes:
Capyetahes Act, 17 U. &. GC. BOGE) .ccccccvecécccecccenuans 6,7
Patent Laws:

3 U. &. CG. BGR .ccccccccessccccceseucdanneneeen 17,19

SS U. &. GC. BaD .ccccccccocccccesescuuanennneeen 18

Books and Articles:
Dressauer and Clark, Xerography and Related Processes, The

Possl Pease (IGGR) cccccccessecccecesenuennenee 8
Newsweek, January 24, 1966, pp. 85-88, “Good-by to Guten-

g@eitiiiiiiiiiiiii 17, 20
Schaffert, Electrophotography, The Focal Press (1965) ...... 8-16
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary ............. 7

Supreme Court of the United States

Octroser Term, 1973.

No. 73-1279.

THE WILLIAMS & WILKINS COMPANY
Petitioner,
—-agaimst—

THE UNITED STATES,
Respondent.

Ow Wait or Certiornari To THE Unrrep States
Court or CLarms.

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE FOR

AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR TESTING AND
MATERIALS
NATIONAL COUNCIL OF TEACHERS OF
MATHEMATICS
AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR MICROBIOLOGY
Editor-in-Chief, JOURNAL OF UROLOGY

With the consent of both parties, the American Society
ror Testinc aND Materiats, Nationa, Counci. or TREacHERS
or Matuematics, American Society ror MicropioLocy and
the Editor-in-Chief of the Journat or Uro.ocy respectfully
submit this brief. The letters of consent have been filed
with the Clerk of this Court.

2 Brief Amici Curiae
THE INTZREST OF AMICI CURIAE.

American Society for Testing and Materials.

The American Socrety row Testinc anp MaTeRuts is a
scientific organization formed in 1898 for the purpose of
promoting knowledge of the materials of engineering and
standardizing specifications and methods of use. It is a
nonprofit corporation having tax-exempt status as a char-
itable organization. The Society has more than 20,000
members. These include individuals, corporations, asso-
ciations, governmental departments, universities and other
bodies, technically qualified to carry on the work of the
Society. At the present time ASTM has on hand and for
sale more than 4,700 publications furnishing standardizing
specifications for engineering materials and methods of
testing such materials. Nearly 75% of its income is de-
rived from the sale of its publications notwithstanding the
Society freely grants to scholars, engineers and scientists
the right to reference, to extract, or to use selected por-
tions of its publications without charge. However, since
the early 1920’s copies of entire documents or reprints,
whether they be single or multiple copies, are assessed a
charge. Accordingly, if any substantial number of its ap-
proximately 50,000 customers were to obtain one copy of
an ASTM publication from a photocopier, without payment
to ASTM for the privilege, the loss to the Society would be
severe.

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

The Nationan Counomw or Teacners or MatHemarics
(NCTM) was organized in 1920. Its purpose is to assist in
promoting the interests of mathematics in America and to
vitalize and coordinate the work of local organizations of
teachers of mathematics. The NCTM, the only organiza-

Brief Amici Curiae 3

tion of its type, has had a major influence on the teaching
of mathematics. Outstanding persons in mathematics edu-
eation have been leaders and participants in its program.
It has served as an agency for both the coordination and
stimulation of major efforts to improve the teaching of
mathematics.

The NCTM publishes four journals: The Mathematics
Teacher; The Arithmetic Teacher; The Mathematics
Student Journal; and The Journal for Research in Mathe-
matics Education. NCTM also publishes yearbooks on
particular problems and numerous books and pamphlets on
a wide range of topics. It has 47,000 individual members
with 30,000 institutional subscriptions to The Mathematics
Teacher and The Arithmetic Teacher.

NCTM is interested in this suit because of its belief
that reasonable compensation from photocopy users is vital
*» the long-range economic health of specialized scholarly
journals such as the ones published by NCTM. Continued
publication of these journals provides to teachers and their
students the most significant type of access to scholarly
papers in their respective fields.

American Society for Microbiology.

The American Society ror Microsiotocy (ASM) is a
nonprofit scientific society, founded in 1899. As stated in
its Constitution: ‘‘The objects of the Socrery shall be to
promote scientific knowledge of microbiology and related
subjects through discussions, reports, and publications, to
stimulate scientific investigations and their applications, to
plan, organize, and administer projects for the advancement
of knowledge in this field, to improve education in the
science, to promote programs of professional recognition,
and to foster the highest professional and ethical standing
of microbiologists.’’

4 Brief Amici Curiae

ASM, with its more than 19,000 members, is the domi-
nant microbiological society in the U.S., and, because micro-
biology, with its emphasis upon single living cells and the
molecular events which occur within them, dominates
modern biology, ASM is the largest biological society in the
U. 8.

ASM currently publishes seven scientific journals, each
of which is a leader or the leader in its respective field:
Journal of Bacteriology, Journal of Virology, Infection and
Immunity, Applied Microbiology, Antimicrobial Agents
and Chemotherapy, Bacteriological Reviews, and Inter-
national Journal of Systematic Bacteriology. An eighth
scientific journal (Journal of Clinical Microbiology) will
commence publication in January 1975. ASM also publishes
ASM News, a monthly news magazine, as well as a number
of books, pamphlets, ete.

The ASM Operations Budget for the fiscal year ending
30 June 1975 provides for total disbursements of $2,571,625,
of which $1,959,400 will be expended upon publications.
Thus, ASM is a ‘‘publishing’’ society, as are most organi-
zations primarily comprised of research scientists.

The research process is not complete until the research
results have been effectively communicated to those who
need and can benefit from those results. Thus, we know
why we are in the publishing ‘‘business’’ and we believe
that it is of fundamental importance that we stay in this
‘*business.’’ It is for this reason that we join in this brief.

We are convinced that wholesale copying of our publi-
cations seriously depresses our publication income. We
have seen a drop in our nonmember subscriptions, and this
certainly traces to copying of our materials in the libraries.
Copying technology should be used as an effective aid in
the di: semination of scientific research results. However,
those who copy should contribute to the costs of publication.

Brief Amici Curiae 5

Otherwise, the communication process faces eventual
destruction.

Editor-In-Chief, Journal of Urology.

The Journal of Urology was founded in 1917 and be-
came the official publication of the American Urological
Association in 1920. Its purpose is to offer to the medical
profession scientific contributions in urology that are con-
sidered to be of educational or of practical value. Urol-
ogists, not unlike other specialists in medicine, have a re-
sponsibility for education, research and practice. The
Journal of Urology is considered an important spoke in the
wheel of activities fulfilling this responsibility.

Dr. Hugh J. Jewett has been associated with the
Journal since the late 1930s and became Editor-in-Chief in
1966. During this period this publication has developed
into an important instrument for doctors in urology as well
as related fields. There is an absolute need for this Journal,
which is acknowledged to be the leading periodical in its
field.

Currently, the Journal of Urology is issued monthly to
more than 12,000 subscribers, the majority of whom are
practicing urologists in the United States and in many
foreign countries. About 3,500 of these subscribers are
members of the American Urological Association. The
Journal is published in two volumes yearly, each volume
consisting of approximately 1,000 pages of text and illus-
trations. The publication depends on the monies it re-
ceives from subscribers, advertisers and back volume and
reprint sales.

Dr. Jewett is interested in the suit because of his con-
cern over the economic consequences ‘‘free’’ photocopying
of articles will have on the future of the Journal. If indi-
viduals are allowed to obtain from libraries copies of only

6 Brief Amici Curiae

those articles in which they are interested, the Journal of
Urology as well as comparable publications are going to
lose subscribers. Subsequently, the advertisers’ revenue
will be decreased since the advertising rates depend on the
number of subscribers. He, therefore, believes that the
Journal must be supported, in one way or anothe®, by all
those who use the contents between its covers. If the Gov-
ernment is successful in its suit with The Williams &
Wilkins Company, Dr. Jewett is convinced that it will mean
destruction of the economic system upon which the Journal
was founded and upon which it continued to grow since
1917.

The American Society ror Testinc anp MArTeERIALs,
Nationa Councit or TeacHers or MaTHematics, AMERICAN
Society ror MicrosroLocy, and the Editor-in-Chief, Journa.
or Uro.oey, support the decision of the Trial Judge James
F. Davis and three dissenting Court of Claims judges that
respondent’s massive system of reproducing single copies
of copyrighted »rticles is an infringement of the copyright.

THE PURPOSE OF THIS BRIEF.

One of the points touched on in the brief of the peti-
tioner is whether or not xerography is in fact printing
and/or reprinting within the meaning of 17 U.S. C. § 1(a).’
This brief will be directed solely to that question, by way of
an explanation of the art of xerography, particularly in
conjunction with microfilm.

1. “$1. Exclusive Rights as to Copyrighted Works.—Any
person entitled thereto, upon complying with the provisions of this
title, shall have the exclusive right :

righ > To =. reprint, publish, copy, and vend the copy-

tt

Brief Amici Curiae 7
DEFINITIONS AND TEE OPINIONS BELOW.

Section 1(a) of the Copyright Law provides the copy-
right owner with the exclusive right ‘‘to print, reprint, pub-
lish, copy and vend the copyrighted work’’. The Trial
Judge James F. Davis found that ‘‘NLM and the NIH
library did not merely ‘copy’ the articles in suit; they, in
effect, ‘reprinted’ and ‘published’ them.’’ He pointed out
that: ‘Printing’ and ‘reprinting’ connote making a dup-
licate original, whether by printing press or a more modern
method of duplication. MacMillan Co. v. King, 223 F. 862
(D. Mass. 1914) ; M. Nimmer, Copyright § 102 (1971 ed.).’’?

On review, the majority of the Court of Claims made
the observation ® that the photocopy process of NIH and
NLM does not even amount to printing or reprinting in the
strict dictionary sense.‘

It is submitted that the definition of Trial Judge Davis
accords with usage. For example, it would appear to be re-
flected in this Court’s current definition of ‘‘printing’’ for
the purposes of its rules. Rule 39(4) now states that
‘*Printing’’, as used in the Rules, ‘‘shall include any process
capable of producing a clear, black image on white paper,
but shall not include ordinary carbon copies.’’

2. 172 U. S. P. Q. 670, 678.
3. 487 F. 2d 1345, 1349, 180 U. S. P. Q. 49, 53.

4. Actually, the word “print” is defined (Webster's Third New

International ) as “to make a copy of by impressing
against an inked printed surface or by an analogous method”.

PEmphasis ac is added.] The word “reprint” is defined as * ‘a subsequent
printing ca a already publi having the identical text of
the ious printing. The word “reprint” is also defined as “an
aa extract issued separately after AL ih. first Published | as Lae
of a collection or in a periodical”. — in
form is defined as “to print again ; vie tae

8 Brief Amici Curiae
FACTS.

The findings of the Court of Claims adopt the follow-
ing undisputed facts found by the Trial Judge:

**15. . . . The NIH photocopying service uses two
Xerox copying machines and two Recordac microfilm
cameras. The microfilm cameras are used in conjunc-
tion with a Xerox Copy-Flo Printer to provide NIH

personnel with permanent copies of journal articles
995

**21(b). To make photocopies NLM uses mobile
35-mm microfilm cameras which have an electrical
power line overhead a1 1 can move up and down an
aisle of the library. Full-size photocopies are then
made from the microfilm. Most photocopies are made
by such microfilm technique . . .’’*

THE ART OF XEROGRAPHY'

In recent years dry photographic processes have come
into extensive use in the photocopy field. Foremost among
these processes are those involving electrophotography in
which photoelectric phenomena are utilized to form elec-
trical images. These processes were given the new name
of ‘‘xerography’’ which is derived from Greek and has a
literal meaning of ‘‘dry writing’’.

Xerographic processes have been incorporated in
equipment for copying and duplicating, in automatic ma-

5. Finding of Fact 15, Petition Appendix 80.
6. Finding of Fact 21(b), Petition Appendix 84.
7. The following description of xerography including the figures
has been digested from ey Te by Dr. R. M. Schaffert
blished by The Focal Press (1965). For another comprehensive
on xerography see Xerography and Related Processes edited
Ades Dressauer and H. E. Clark, published by The Focal Press
(1965).

Brief Amici Curiae 9

chines for photography, microfilm enlarging, facsimile
printing, and printing of computer data.

Five steps are usually involved in making a print by
xerography:

(1) Sensitizing the xerographic plate by electrical
charging;

(2) Exposing the plate to form a latent electro-
static image ;

(3) Developing the latent image with fine par-
ticles ;

(4) Transferring the developed image to paper or
other materials ; and

(5) Fixing the image by fusing.

The plate can be cleaned and used over and over again
for hundreds or even thousands of exposures.

One way of performing the step of developing the
latent image is called impression development. This in-
volves a system of developing electrostatic images with a
series of rollers which have been described by Schaffert
as ‘‘somewhat analogous to the inking roller system used
in printing presses.’’ It is to be noted that this system is
capable of high speed development and good prints have
been produced at speeds of 30 inches per second surface
velocity. The time required to produce a print by xero-
graphy is primarily dependent upon the speed of image de-
velopment since other steps in the process are usually of
short duration.

One of the well-known copying machines is the Xerox *
914* copier. This is a desk-size copying machine in which
all operations are automatic, except for insertions of docu-
ments or other materials to be copied. The units for charg-

* Trademarks of Xerox Corporation.

10 Brief Amici Curiae

ing, exposing, developing, transferring and cleaning are
appropriately stationed around the circumference of the
drum, and all of these operations take place in sequence as
the drum rotates. The developer is a mixture which cas-
cades over the drum surface and is then collected and re-
circulated in the developer unit. Paper sheets are fed from
the paper supply rack into the transfer station and are then
conveyed through the fusing unit and out onto a receiving
tray, as shown in Fig. 1.

The machine is capable of copying book and magazine
pages as well as single-sheet documents. The paper on
which the printing is made requires no special properties.
Copies can be made on ordinary paper or on such sheets
as vellum or offset paper masters. Copying speed, after
a brief warm-up period, is 30 seconds for the first print,
and 6 prints per minute thereafter. A more recent ma-

Brief Amici Curiae 11

chine of this class is the Xerox 2400*° which is designed
to produce copies at the rate of 2400 per hour.

One of the most recent machines is the Xerox 7000 °
which is a versatile high-speed duplicator with a choice
of five reductions. Originals up to 14” x 18” may be copied
on 84%” x 11” copy paper and the copies can be made at
the rate of 3600 copies per hour. This machine includes
numerous other sophisticated features such as automatic
sorting of copies, copying two documents at once with or
without sorting, copying photographs and 3-dimensional
originals, and double-side duplicating. This machine is
also useful as a signature ** maker for making booklets
with printing on both sides of the pages.

The first application of xerography to automatic con-
tinuous copying was in the field of microfilm enlargement.
A xerographic machine for producing enlarged prints from
microfilm was developed by the Xerox Corporation for the
U. S. Navy in 1953. Since 1953 Xerox Corporation has
produced a series of automatic copying machines under
the trademark Copyflo.* These are rather large machines
designed for high-volume output. The principle of opera-
tion of the Copyflo machines is illustrated in Fig. 2. The
xerographic process used in such machines is similar to
that of the Xerox 914 except that the paper is fed from
a roll, and the printed copy is rewound on a take-up roll.
Copy production is at the rate of 20 linear feet per minute.

Persons skilled in the art of xerography have equated
electrostatic copying machines to plateless printing presses.
As pointed out by Schaffert at page 144:

‘‘The Xerox Copyflo machines can be regarded
as plateless printing presses, the plate being replaced

* Trademarks of Xerox Corporation.

** “Signature” is the trade term for a multi-page printed sheet,
folded to form a booklet.

12 Brief Amici Curiae

MICROFILM PROJECTOR

XEROGRAPHIC
ORUM

Fie. 2.

by a transparency, a piece of microfilm, or a sheet of
paper containing the subject matter to be printed.
The speed of 20 feet per minute, however, would be
too slow for the usual commercial printing job.
Nevertheless, when relatively few copies are needed,
these machines can become quite useful, particularly
in reprinting out-of-print materials. For example, it
is quite feasible to print a single copy or several
copies of an entire book either directly from an exist-
ing copy or from microfilm. Presumably, photocopy
machines utilizing zinc-oxide papers could also be
adapted to handle similar printing jobs.’’ (See foot-
note 7.)

8. It has been noted that the NIH library photocopy service
employs 2 Xerox ing machines and 2 Recordac microfilm cameras
in conjunction with a Xerox Copyflo printer. See p. 12, supra.

eer uee tO

Brief Amici Curiae 13

In addition to the Xerox Copyflo machines,* there are
other known electrostatic printing presses. For example
an electrostatic printing press has been developed by
Harris-Intertype Corp. for the U. 8. Army and a similar
printing machine was developed from Radio Corporation
of America for the U. S. Army Engineer and Development
Labs. The Xerox Corporation has also developed for the
U. S. Air Force an automatic xerographic printer which
makes finished continuous-tone positive prints from pho-
tographic negatives. The machine was designed primarily
for use in high speed, high volume printing from aerial
film for mapping and reconnaissance purposes.

Xeroprinting is a by-product of the development of
xerography. Xeroprinting is the name given to an electro-
static printing process designed to print many copies of
a subject, document or page from a master plate or cylin-
der. The printing master or plate consists of a metal
sheet or cylinder upon which is imprinted an image in the
form of a thin, insulating coating. The image areas con-
sist of insulating material and the background areas are
bare metal.

When the master plate is electrically charged by pass-
ing it under a corona charging unit, the charges deposited
on the insulated image remain on the image surface and
those deposited on the bare metal areas are conducted
away to ground. Thus an electrostatic image correspond-
ing to the insulated areas is formed. From this point on,
the making of a print follows a sequence of steps similar
to xerography, i.e., the image is developed with powder,
transferred to paper, and the powder fused to the paper.
A drawing of an experimental xeroprinting press made
in 1948 is shown in Fig. 3. This press was operated at
printing speeds up to 1200 feet per minute.

It thus clearly appears that xerography is not only
analogous to traditional printing but it actually resembles

14

Fic. 3

printing in important details. When we turn our attention
to variant forms of printing—utilizing photographic or the
more modern photoelectric techniques—the parallel is even
more striking.

When more than a few copies of a document are re-
quired it is usual to employ one of the duplicating processes.
One of the best known is offset duplicating which is essen-
tially a special type of lithographic printing. One of the
first commercial applications of xerography was in the
preparation of offset paper masters. The powder image
was simply transferred from the selenium plate to an offset
master sheet and bonded to the sheet by heat fusing. After

Brief Amici Curiue 15

the usual chemical treatment of the sheet it was attached to
the cylinder of the duplicating machine. Thousands of
copies could then be printed if needed. The lithographic
principle requires that the printing areas be ink receptive
and water repellent, and that the background or non-print-
ing ereas be water receptive and ink repellent. The fused
xerographic powder which contains a high proportion of
water repellent resins was found to be ideally suited for
the preparation of paper offset masters.

This application of xerography provided a rapid photo-
graphic method of preparing offset masters. The conven-
tional steps of processing negatives and the photo-mechan-
ical operations of preparing plates were eliminated. The
simplicity, speed, and flexibility of the method led to a
multitude of uses in the duplicating and reprinting of docu-
ments and other materials that carried far beyond the
normal routine of office duplicating. Old documents could
be reprinted with deletions and additione if required, and
records could be reproduced and brought up to date.

The success of xerography in offset duplicating led to
the investigation of potential applications of xerographic
techniques in commercial lithographic printing. Paper-
base lithographic printing plates, such as those obtained by
transfer from selenium xerographic plates, are suitable for
short runs up to perhaps 10,000 impressions. For larger
runs and for multi-color printing the greater durability of
metal plates is required. A process for converting a xero-
graphic metal plate into a lithographic printing plate has
been shown to be feasible in the laboratory although it has
not found wide commercial usage as yet. In the highly
competitive industry of commercial printing, printing
quality is of prime importance. New processes, therefore,
must measure up to quality control standards before they
can become established in this field.

16 Brief Amici Curiae

As pointed out by Schaffert at page 143:

‘In the gap that separates the long-run printing
job and small-run duplicating job, xerographic tech-
niques have found a place of importance. For many
years there has been a need for economical production
methods applicable to short-run printing of certain
types of books, pamphlets, and other limited distribu-
tion publications, and for the reprinting of out-of-print
materials in limited quantities. The preparation of
printing plates for such jobs by conventional methods
may prove to be too costly and time consuming. It is
in this area that lithographic plates made by xerog-
raphy show promise of making worthwhile contribu-
tions to the art of printing.’’ (See footnote 7.)

THE ART OF PRINTING.

The dictionary definitions with regard to printing and
reprinting have been set forth at page 7 of this brief. In
order to put them in the proper perspective it must be
recognized that prior to the invention of printing documents
and books were in the form of manuscripts written by
scribes. The process of printing has been contrasted with
the method of writing in an early copyright decision of
Keene v. Wheatley et al., 14 Fed. Cas. 180, 192 (No. 7644).
(C. C. E. D. Pa. 1861). In that decision it was stated:

‘*Writing is a method of originally developing the
composition, and of adding copies made singly, letter by
letter. Printing is a process of multiplying the copies,
by sheets. Thus the difference is that between multi-
plication and addition. Human means of increasing
the number of copies by writing are extremely limited.
By printing, they may, on the contrary, in the words
of Lord Cranworth, be multiplied indefinitely. 4 H. L.

Brief Amici Curiae 17

Cas. 833. The books printed by those who first publicly
practiced the typographic art in Europe usually con-
tained an advertisement that they were not written, as
all books had previously been, but were made by a new
invention, whereby the several sheets were stamped
at once, and not made line by line as formerly.’’ [Em-
phasis added. }

As noted above, the Trial Judge found that NLM and
the NIH library were not only ‘‘printing’’ and ‘‘reprint-
ing’’ but also ‘‘publishing’’. He stated:

‘** Publishing’ means disseminating to others, which
defendant’s libraries clearly did when they distributed
photocopies to requesters and users.’’ [See footnote
2.)

In Keene v. Wheatley et al., supra, the Court also had
occasion te consider the meaning of the word ‘‘publish’’ in
the copyright law in connection with the general distribu-
tion of a printed book, and stated ‘‘. . . the delivery of a
single copy to a subscriber is a public circulation.’’ (14
Fed. Cas. 193). [Emphasis added.]}

While printing traditionally has been associated with
the setting of type and a printing press, many changes
have taken place in the printing art since the days of Guten-
berg.” This has been judicially noted in a variety of set-
tings. For example, the Patent Laws (35 U. S. C. 102),’*
like the Copyright Law, inelude reference to printing.

9 For a glimpse of what the future holds for printi see
Pm to ncbere”, January 24, 1966 issue Newsweek,
pages 85-88.

10. $102. A person shall be entitled to a patent unless—
a. the invention was known or used by others in this coun-
try, or patented or described in a printed publication in
So 60 8 Saas Seep, See Ce SED Casas Oy
the 1 or patent, or

18 Brief Amici Curiae

In 1971 the Court in Philips Electronic and Pharma-
ceutical Industries Corp. v. Thermal and Electronics In-
dustries, Inc., 450 F. 2d 1164, 171 U. S. P. Q. 641 (3rd Cir.
1971) had before it the question of whether the microfilm of
a German patent application was a prior ‘‘printed publica-
tion’’ within the meaning of 35 U.S. C. 102(a). The Court
noted the ‘‘modern copymaking techniques and the wide-
spread commercial, industrial and educational use of micro-
film ae well as its use in our libraries and data storage
banks’’. The Court further noted:

‘*. . . there have been revolutionary developments
in techniques for reproduction, printing and dissemina-
tion of documents and data. The traditional process of
‘printing’ is no longer the only process synonymous
with ‘publication.’ The emphasis, therefore, should be
public dissemination of the document, and its avail-
ability and accessibility to persons skilled in the sub-
ject matier or art.

The field is rapidly undergoing change and im-
provement. To restrict our interpretation of Section
102(a)’s ‘printed’ publication requirement solely to
the traditional printing press would ignore the realities
of the scientific and technological period in which we
live and the underlying rationale of Section 102. We
hold, therefore, that the term ‘printed’ as used in
Section 102 can include documents duplicated by
modern methods and techniques, including the now
well established process of microfilming. Whether or
not an individual microfilm is a ‘printed’ publication

10. (Cont’d.)
or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to
, Ly. of the application for patent in the United
YY er

Brief Amici Cursae 19

within the meaning of the statute is a question of fact
which ought to be determined by the application of
criteria consonant with modern day methods of print-
ing, duplicating and disseminating documents.’’ (171
U.S .P. Q. 645) [Emphasis by Court.]

The Court approved the findings of the trial court that
the German application, as microfilmed and indexed, was
available and ‘accessible, with the exercise of reasonable
diligence, to persons ordinarily skilled in the art and that
the application was a ‘‘printed publication’’ under the
statute.

The Government as represented by the Patent Mffice
also has had occasion to construe the meaning of ‘‘ printed
publication’? under 35 U. S. C. 102 with respect to micro-
film. In Ex parte Garbo, 141 U. S. P. Q. 913 (P. O. Bd.
App. 1962) the Board of Patent Appeals had before it the
question of whether or not a microfilm of a German patent
application could be considered ‘‘prior art’’. The German
patent application had been recorded on microfilm and
offered for sale in the Bibliography of Scientific and In-
dustrial Reports, Office of Technical Services, U. S. De-
partment of Commerce. Garbo contended that the micro-
film citation was neither ‘‘printed’’ nor ‘‘published”’ prior
to his filing date. The Patent Office Board of Appeals in
holding that such a microfilm was a ‘‘printed publication’’
under the statute made the following observation:

‘*In the citation at hand, the Government un-
doubtedly went to considerable expense in accumlating
the material contained in the microfilmed disclosures
of which the citation is a part. The sole purpose of
this expenditure was to make the information avail-
able to all who could use it. The Government in choos-
ing microfilm as a vehicle selected the oniy economical

20 Brief Amici Curiae

low cost method available to it for making this in-
formation available to the entire metal founding in-
dustry. It seems incongruous that the best of efforts
by our Government to make more knowledge available
shall come to naught through the patent system in ef-
fect nullifying these efforts by ruling that they are
insufficient in law to accomplish the purpose for which
they were intended.’’ (141 U. S. P. Q. 916)

From the foregoing it is clear that under the Patent
Laws the term ‘‘printed’’ can include documents dupli-
cated by modern methods and techniques, including
xerography and the now well established process of micro-
filming. It seems incongruous that the Government in
construing the Copyright Law does not consider that mak-
ing ‘‘Xerox’’ copies is equivalent to printing when as
stated in ‘‘Good-by to Gutenberg’’," ‘‘Xerography and
other copying techniques have already turned every office
mailroom into a publishing house.’’

CONCLUSION.

The decision of Trial Judge Davis is consistent with
the constitutional purpose of the Copyright System and
soundly concludes that the making of copies of whole
articles whether by printing presses or a more modern
method of duplication is proscribed by the Copyright Law.

Respectfully submitted,

Roserat B. Wasusven,
Woopcock, Wasusurn, Kurtz
& Macxiewicz,
1831 The Fidelity Building,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 19109
Attorneys for Amici Curiae.

11. See footnote 9.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385003_0064%3A22. Public record. Not legal advice.
