# Reply Brief — Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. Air Line Pilots Ass'n, International

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1552%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 493 U.S. 821

## Text

Sanremo Court, US.
r FILED
| %
ai sep, Hh BB
No. 88-2064 Seago. a
a
IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1988

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,
Petitioner,
Ve
Aik LINE PiLtots ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL,
DONALD R. HAZELTINE AND EARL E. MEECH,

Respondents.

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF
IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR CERTIORARI TO THE
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA COURT OF APPEALS

Of Counsel: “WILLIAM J. KILBERG

WALTER F. BRILL BARUCH A. FELLNER
GREGORY L. RIGGS JANET M. Cook

DELTA AIR LINES, INC. GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER
1030 Delta Boulevard 1050 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30320 Washington, D.C. 20036

(404) 765-2600 (202) 955-8500

Attorneys for Petitioner,
Delta Air Lines, Inc.

“Counsel of Record

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:
AT&T Technologies, Inc. v. Communication Work-
ers of America, 475 U.S. 648 (1986) ..............

Bonin v. American Airlines, inc., 621 F.2d 635 (5th
Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1005
hha Oe ACS ADE AS ee OER SPY STEN NN

Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Denver and
Rio Grande Western Railroad Co., 338 F.2d
407 (10th Cir. 1964), cert. denied, 380 U.S. 972
NIE oc bits cates ees can spac caneuin odccnaaeahoxcaeserncndenveess

Chicago and Northwestern Transportation Co. v.
United Transportation Union, 656 F.2d 274
ER RD Asoc elinan rata cahecsdelntcedavesandvnsatnivnies

Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch,
ae re ens» Se . Ch. BEB (UGRD) n..0020.2.,..-

Miller v. Chicago and Northwestern Transportation
Co., 647 F. Supp. 1482 (N.D. III. 1986) .........

Wilson v. Chicago Northwestern Transportation
Company, 728 F.2d 963 (7th Cir. 1984) .........

Zelder v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 423 So. 2d 945 (Fla.
Pc ED nes ratasvneyaedceies crnswoediekadabtatuaksnistuenesaees

STATUTES:

ORC. & TI) ek eit
Gab: Woe, De IED a vscnssicostinctcsseendseccansicevnas
1 hk ee eakcaraitin ceases ecensrssneninne asersuapetese
ERs Be OE OD onc sicccensisrdcccsssxesioerercs
ee ae Ie eisai esiata cacti kena iaaaamwrecen

rw £ Pf bh

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF
IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR CERTIORARI TO THE
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA COURT OF APPEALS

1. The Air Line Pilots Association’s (‘“‘ALPA’s’’)
Opposition To Delta’s Petition For Certiorari (‘‘Op.
Cert.’’) underscores the far-reaching impact of this
case. ALPA’s request for relief, granted by the court
of appeals, is bottomed on the putative right of an
arbitrator to ignore and even amend the terms of an
ERISA employee benefit plan. Thus, ALPA recog-
nizes that Hazeltine could recover disability benefits
only if the System Board “‘eased’’ the eligibility re-
quirements under the Plan. Op. Cert. at 8. This as-
serted power of the System Board to “‘ease’’ plan
terms must be reviewed by this Court. Such a holding
is contrary to well-established law that plan terms,
and not arbitrator decisions which ‘“‘ease’’ those terms,
govern the disposition of plan benefits. See, e.g., Del-
ta’s Petition for Certiorari (‘‘Pet.’’) at n.17.)

2. ALPA argues that the court below determined
that the System Board not only could act in derog-
ation of plan terms but also could modify the collec-

' ALPA relies on the assumption of the court below that the
fiduciary breaches of the System Board in granting claims in
violation of Plan terms can be rectified through litigation under
section 502 of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132 (1982). App. A at 18.
It is unclear which ‘‘participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary’”’ is to
bring such an independent challenge to improper System Board
conduct, particularly since Delta, which under the RLA is the
party responsible for arbitrating disputes before the System
Board, is not a “participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary’ under the
Plan. See paragraph 4 infra. Moreover, there would appear to
be no jurisdictional basis for such an action in view of the ex-
ceptionally narrow grounds for review of System Board awards
under the Railway Labor Act (‘‘RLA’’). App. A at 2.

tive bargaining agreement (‘‘CBA”’). ‘The Court of
Appeals concluded that the System Board’s resolution
of Hazeltine’s grievance,... constituted a modifica-
tion of the CBA through the collective bargaining
process.”’ Op. Cert. at 7. It is axiomatic, however,
that a System Board is limited to interpretation of
the CBA as it finds it; it may not alter the collectively
bargained terms which govern its decision. The RLA
expressly limits the power of the System Board to
resolving ‘‘minor’’ disputes involving the interpreta-
tion and application of a collective bargaining agree-
ment. 45 U.S.C. § 153.2 Collective bargaining
agreements may only be altered or amended through
the collective bargaining process. 45 U.S.C. § 152
(Seventh) and § 156.® Section 6 of the RLA, 45 U.S.C
§ 156, establishes specified procedures to alter or
amend collective bargaining agreements. The System
Board has no role in this process.‘ The System Board

2 See, e.g., Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Denver and
Rio Grande Western Railroad Co., 338 F.2d 407 (10th Cir. 1964),
cert. denied, 380 U.S. 972 (1965) (System Board has no authority
to award punitive or liquidated damages when such authority is
not granted to it by the collective bargaining agreement).

3 See Wilson v. Chicago Northwestern Transportation Com-
pany, 728 F.2d 968 (7th Cir. 1984) (System Board decision over-
turned on basis that it altered the existing agreement by ignoring
its clear language which required compliance with specific time
limits; agreement may only be altered through the collective
bargaining process); Miller v. Chicago and Northwestern Trans-
portation Co., 647 F. Supp. 1432 (N.D. Ill. 1986) (System Board
decision overturned because the Board cornpletely ignored an
unambiguous contract provision providing the agreed-upon rem-
edy and instead fashioned its own form of relief; collective bar-
gaining agreement may only be amended by the parties through
collective bargaining).

+ Disputes over the formation or alteration of collective bar-

|

is simply not empowered to engage in collective bar-
gaining on behalf of ALPA and Delta. The reasoning
of the court of appeals, invoked by ALPA in its Op.
Cert. at 7, would allow a neutral arbitrator to add a
new term to the CBA, to which ALPA and Delta
would both be bound despite the absence of collective
bargaining. It is respectfully submitted that such an
extreme result must be reversed by this Court.

3. ALPA further argues that through the simple
expedient of referring to Hazeltine’s eligibility for dis-
ability benefits in its decision, the System Board
brought within its jurisdiction the power to decide
questions regarding eligibility for disability benefits,
at least for Hazeltine. App. A at 12-13. Thus, even
if the System Board did not have jurisdiction to de-
cide questions regarding eligibility for disability ben-
efits for all pilots, it could expand its jurisdiction to
decide such questions with regard to Hazeltine. It is
respectfully submitted that jurisdictional limitations
are not so malleable that they may be molded to the
contours of an arbitrator’s decision.® It is elementary

gaining agreements are characterized as “‘major’’ disputes under
the RLA and are outside the jurisdiction of the System Board
which has jurisdiction only to resolve ‘‘minor’’ disputes. See, e.9.,
Chicago and Northwestern Transportation Co. v. United Trans-
portation Union, 656 F.2d 274 (7th Cir. 1981) (major disputes
arise from the bargaining process for a new or altered contract
while minor disputes do not involve an attempt to change the
agreement terms but instead involve the interpretation of an
existing agreement; a System Board only has jurisdiction over
minor disputes).

‘This holding is fashioned as an independent and alternative
holding: ‘Even if no other disputes over eligibility for Plan
benefits were subject to arbitration, we think it clear that the
facts of Hazeltine’s grievance require the System Board to en-

that when a System Board exceeds the jurisdictional
parameters established by the CBA, it violates the
provisions of the RLA. 45 U.S.C. § 153 (First) (q).

4. ALPA can make the arguments discussed above
only by mischaracterizing the identity of the parties.
Indeed, that is precisely what ALPA and the D.C.
Circuit have done by characterizing the disputants
over disability benefits as Delta and the grievants.
See Op. Cert. at 1. Rather, it is the Plan that denied
the benefits at issue in this lawsuit, not Delta. The
Plan is a legal entity entirely separate from Delta.
As such, the Plan may sue and be sued. 29 U.S.C.
§ 1132(d\1).¢ Plan benefits are paid through a trust
funded by Delta through actuarially determined con-
tributions. J.A. 187-138. The Plan’s assets, however,
belong to the Plan, and not to Delta or ALPA, and
it is the Plan that pays all benefits due. Throughout
this lawsuit, ALPA has endeavored to blur this dis-
tinction between the Company and the Plan.’ More-
over, this blurring of juridical entities is not a simple
accident of drafting. ALPA’s contentions ignore the

tertain his claim.’’ App. A at 12. The very premise of the de-
cision is that even if the System Board does not have the
jurisdiction to decide questions regarding eligibility for disability
benefits for all Delta pilots, it does for Hazeltine because of the
way it fashioned its opinion regarding his discharge. But if the
System Board does not have jurisdiction to decide questions
regarding eligibility for disability benefits, and if it has done so
for Hazeltine (which Delta disputes), the decision is ultra vires.

6 Whenever both Delta and the Plan have been sued over a
denial of Plan benefits, Delta has been dismissed from the suit
as an improper party. See, e.g., Zelder v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.,
423 So. 2d 945 (Fla. App. 1982).

* See, e.g., Op. Cert. at 1.

fundamental and indisputable fact that the parties
have established a separate legal entity—the Disability
Plan and its Trust—to fund and distribute disability
benefits to eligible participants. Therefore, contrary
to ALPA’s positions in paragraphs 1-3 above, the
Company, through the System Board, has no author-
ity to grant disability benefits.

5. ALPA seeks to persuade this Court that there
is no inter-circuit conflict between the decision below
and the persuasive Fifth Circuit precedent, Bonin v.
American Airlines, Inc., 621 F.2d 635 (5th Cir. 1980),
cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1005 (1985). Contrary to the
decision below, the court in Bonin determined that
plan terms define the procedures for resolving plan
disputes. Because the plan in Bonin did not provide
for arbitral machinery, the Fifth Circuit concluded
that the court, and not the System Board, had juris-
diction over Bonin’s pension claim under ERISA.

In attempting to distinguish Bonin from this case,
ALPA principally relies on the fact that “[t]he plan
in that case ‘significantly’ provided that ‘ ‘‘neither the
interpretation of the Plan nor its administration shall
as such be within the jurisdiction’”’ of the collective
bargaining agreement,’ Bonin, 621 F.2d at 639.”’ Op.
Cert. at 10. ALPA would distinguish Bonin by em-
phasizing that the Bonin plan’s terms were phrased
in the negative. In this case, Delta’s Plan affirmatively
provides for ‘‘exclusive,’’ ‘‘final’’ and ‘‘conclusive”’
administration and operation of the Pian by the Plan’s
Administrative Committee. J.A. 82-83. The vesting of
exclusive jurisdiction in the Plan to resolve Plan dis-
putes could not have been stated more clearly. More-
over, those exclusive Plan procedures were
incorporated into the CBA, thereby binding ALPA to

that exclusive Plan machinery. Thus, the square con-
flict between Bonin and the decision below cannot be
reconciled by distinguishing between prescriptive and
proscriptive plan terms. The teaching of Bonin is
clear—plan terms are paramount. Whether those
terms prescribe exclusive Plan machinery or proscribe
extra-plan procedures does not constitute a principled
distinction between Bonin and the case at bar.

6. ALPA mistakenly argues that Delta reads ER-
ISA to prohibit the parties to a CBA from adopting
a multi-tiered benefit claim procedure—administrative
review as well as arbitral mechanisms. ALPA distorts
Delta’s position. Delta argues no more than the pri-
macy of Plan terms. See Firestone Tire & Rubber Co.
v. Bruch, __ U.S. __ , 109 S. Ct. 948 (1989). It is
undisputed that those terms provide for the exclusive
resolution of benefit claims under Plan procedures,
and not for duplicative and cumbersome multiple lev-
els of review. If Delta and ALPA had wished to adopt
both of the claims review procedures authorized by
ERISA, they could have done so under the explicit
terms of the Plan.* Here, those express terms, to the
contrary, vest the final and exclusive authority to
interpret the Plan and resolve disputes over benefits,
with the Plan’s Administrative Committee. Neither
ALPA nor the court below has suggested how AL-
PA’s position can be accepted without wholly ignoring
those plan provisions. It is incumbent upon this Court
to vindicate the primacy of Plan terms rendered
meaningless by the court below.

* Delta is not aware, however, of any instance where such
duplicative multi-tiered procedures have been adopted.

7. Finally, ALPA has failed to come to grips with
the court’s misapplication of AT&T Technologies, Inc.
v. Communication Workers of America, 475 U.S. 648
(1986). ALPA argues that contract interpretation is
an issue for the System Board and not the court. Op.
Cert. at 11. Under AT&T, however, contract inter-
pretation is for the court, and not the System Board,
when such interpretation is necessary to resolve a
dispute over arbitrability. AT&T at 651.

CONCLUSION

The court of appeals has radically shifted labor,
ERISA and RLA law to bestow unlimited power upon
a System Board to add terms to collective bargaining
agreements and ignore terms in ERISA plans. Such
far-reaching precedent must be overturned.

September 15, 1989 Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: WILLIAM J. KILBERG

WALTER A. BRILL BARUCH A. FELLNER
GREGORY L. RIGGS JANET M. Cook

DELTA AIR LINES, INC. GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER
1030 Delta Boulevard 1050 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30320 Suite 900

(404) 765-2600 Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 955-8500

Attorneys for Petitioner,
Delta Air Lines, Inc.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1552%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
