# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — M/V Litsa v. Southeastern Maritime Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1512%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 492 U.S. 939

## Text

‘s, Supreme Gourt, U.S,

8-20174 | © EILED
i JUN 9: 1808

hiss JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
; CLERK
———_}

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBER TERM, 1988

M/V LITSA (Ex LAURIE U), IN REM,

Petitioner.
VS.

SOUTHEASTERN MARITIME COMPANY,
PORT STEVEDORING COMPANY, INC.,
RYAN-WALSH STEVEDORING COMPANY, INC.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

DonaLp F. Mooney, Esq.
Attorney for Petitioner

21 West Street

New York, New York 10006
(212) 943-1270

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Third Circuit erred
in departing from the long-established
admiralty rule that a maritime lienor
must act with a "high" or “extraordinary”
degree of diligence in enforcing its
maritime lien against a vessel which has
passed into the hands of a good faith
purchaser, erred in adopting a new lesser
standard of mere "reasonable" diligence,
and further erred in suggesting that
minimal diligence or inaction may con-
stitute reasonable diligence.

2. Assuming for the sake of
argument that "reasonable" diligence is
the proper standard, whether the Third
Circuit erred in finding that stevedore
respondents exercised reasonable dili-
gence in enforcing their maritime liens
when respondents, who had special
knowledge of the financial problems of

the prior vessel owners, took no action

a4

at all despite numerous opportunities to
enforce their liens prior to the sale of

the vessel to her present owners.

1

WIT
“Va

UC

upreme

STINT

Corporation

1g

in

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented i
List of Parties 283
Table of Authorities Vv
Citations to Opinions Below 1
Jurisdiction 2
Statutory Provisions Involved 2
Statement of the Case 4
Reasons for Granting the Writ 14
Conclusion 37
Appendix A

Opinion of the Third Circuit 38
Appendix B

Adjudication and Judgment of

the U.S. District Court 59
Appendix C

Judgment of the Third Circuit 74
Appendix D

Third Circuit denial of Peti-
tion for Rehearing In Banc 76

a oii. ue of
f 44>

bia

a

joe, tae

j

f
7
r.
'
7

Table of Authorities

CASES

BOLD BUCCLEUGH, 7 Moore,
P.C. 267 (1852)

Dixie Machine & Metal Works
Inc. v. M/V ANDINO, 1983
A.M.C. 1166 (S.D.Fla. 1982)

The ELIZA JANE, 8 F. Cas.
488 (Case No. 4,363 (D.Mass.
1847)

The EVEROSA (Southern Coal
& Coke Co. v. Kugniecibas),
93 F.2d 732 (lst Cir. 1937)

The EVEROSA (Swan & Sons,
Inc. v. Kugniecibas), 20 F.
Supp. 8 (E.D.N.Y. 1937)

The JOHN CADWALDER, 99 F.2d
678 (3rd Cir. 1938)

John W. Stone Oil v. MISS
BERN, 663 F.Supp. 773
(S.D.Ala. 1987) 19,

The KEY CITY, 81 U.S. 653
(1871)

McLaughlin v. The DREDGE
GLOUCESTER, 230 ¥. Supp.
623 (D.N.J. 1964)

Merchants & Marine Bank v.
The T. E. Welles, 289 F.2d
188 (5th Cir. 1961)

22,

Page

15,

26,

18,

23

33:

20

27

17

33

33

25

25

24

vi

Table of Authorities

CASES

The NIKITA, 62 F. 936 (5th
Cir. 1894)

OWYHEE, 66 F.2d 399 (2d
Cir. 1933)

The PRILLA, 21 F. Supp. 383
(D.Mass. 1937)

Tagaropoulos S.A. v. S.S.
SANTA PAULA, 502 F.2d 1171
(9th Cir. 1974)

Waterways Marine, Inc. v.
Brooks Liguid Transport,
Inc. 291 F. Supp. 703 (N.D.
Ill. 1968)

Federal Statutes

28 U.S.C. 1254(1)
46 U.S.C. 971
46 U.S.C. 974

Other Authorities

Black's Law Dictionary
(4th Ed. 1968)

Gilmore & Black, The Law
of Admiralty (2d Ed., 1975)

2 Benedict on Admiralty

Page

20,

36

34

33

33

24

21

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1988

No.

M/V LITSA,
Petitioner,
-against-
PORT STEVEDORING COMPANY, INC.,
RYAN-WALSH STEVEDORING COMPANY,
INC. and SOUTHEASTERN MARITIME
COMPANY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit is reported at 872
F.2d 554 (3rd Cir. 1989).~ It is printed
in Appendix A, infra, at p. 38. The
opinion of the U.S. District Court for
the District of Pennsylvania is unre-
ported. It is printed in Appendix B,

infra, at p. 59.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
was entered April 13, 1989. The order
denying petition for rehearing in banc
was entered on May 9, 1989. The juris-
diction of this Court is invoked under

26 U.S.C. L254(i}.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the
United States Maritime Lien Act, 46

U.S.C. 971, et seq., provide:

46 U.S.C. 971

Any person furnishing repairs, sup-
plies, towage, use of dry dock or marine
railway, or other necessaries, to any
vessel, whether foreign or domestic, upon
the order of the owner of such vessel, or
of a person authorized by the owner,
shall have a maritime lien on the vessel,

which may be enforced by suit in rem, and

ee

it shall not be necessary to allege or
prove that credit was given to the
vessel.

46 0.5.C,. 974

Nothing in this chapter shall be
construed to prevent the furnisher of
repairs, supplies, towage, use of dry
dock or marine railway, or other neces-
Saries, or the mortgagee, from waiving
his right to a lien, or in the case of a
preferred mortgage lien, to the preferred
status of such lien, at any time by
agreement or otherwise; and this chapter
shall not be construed to affect the
rules of law existing on June 5, 1920,
in regard to (1) the right to proceed
against the vessel for advances, (2)

laches in the enforcement of liens upon

vessels, (3) the right to proceed in

personam, (4) the rank of preferred
maritime liens among themselves, or (5)

priorities between maritime liens and

mortgages, other than preferred mort-
gages, upon vessels of the United States.

(emphasis added)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

(1) Background of Parties

Petitioner M/V LITSA is a Liberian
flag vessel owned by claimant Star War-
rant Shipping Corporation (hereinafter
"Star"), based in Piraeus, Greece. Star
purchased the vessel on December 8, 1982
from its prior owner Uiterwyk Lines Ltd.,
who traded the vessel under the name
LAURIE U (A304, 158-163*). The vessel

LAURIE U was operated by Uiterwyk Corpor-

—_—

* Petitioner submits the Court can determine
whether or not to grant the Writ without re-
viewing the Court of Appeals Record. However,
we have referred to the Record in the brief in
the event respondents order the Record from the
Third Circuit. Reference to "A" is to Appendix
Volume A, which includes the trial transcript
and pleadings. There will be references to the
trial exhibits which are in Appendix Volume B
(petitioner), Volume C (respondents Port and
Ryan-Walsh) and Volume D (respondent Semco).
The particular volume will be indicated by the
appropriate prefix and page, e.g., B14 for a
petitioner exhibit.

BRB. pew evar

ation, a Florida corporation based in
Tampa (hereinafter "Uiterwyk") (A178).
Prior to the purchase of the vessel
by Star, the three respondents provided
stevedoring and other services to the
vessel. Respondent Port Stevedoring Com-
pany, Inc. (hereinafter "Port") isa
stevedoring company based in Houston,
Texas and conducted business in several
Texas ports (A243). It provided services
to the LAURIE U in the port of Houston.
Respondent Ryan-Walsh Stevedoring
Company, Inc. (hereinafter "Ryan-Walsh")
is a stevedoring company based in Mobile,
Alabama and conducted business in about
20 U.S. Atlantic and Gulf ports (A175,
183-4). It provided services to the
LAURIE U in the port of New Orleans.
Respondent Southeastern Maritime Company
(hereinafter "Semco") is a ship agency
and stevedoring company based in Charles-

ton, South Carolina and conducted busi-

ness in ports in Florida, Georgia and
South Carolina (A80). It provided ser-
vices to the LAURIE U in the port of

Charleston.

(2) Summary of Claims
Date
Services
Claimant Amount Rendered Place
Port $111,994.71 May 13- Houston
23, 1982
$ 46,692.26 Aug. 1ll- Houston
14, 1982
$ 71,873.97 Ot. 14- Houston
20, 1982
Ryan- $ 25,404.21 July 26- New Or-
Walsh Aug. 6, leans
1982
Semco $ 22,184.87 May 27- Charles-
1982 ton

(C50, C134-141, D9-11)

(3) Itinerary of vessel
from May 1, 1982 through
April 1983 (C170-71)

Time in Port Port
1982
Apr 27 - May 12 New Orleans
May 13 - May 23 Houston
[Port's services]
May 28 - May 29 Charleston
[Semco's services]

SESS ee

—

May
Jun
Jun
Jun
Jun
Jul
Jul

Aug

30 - May 31 Hampton Roads

ll Gibraltar

14 = Jun 17 Malt

18 - Jun 19 La Goulette, Tunisia

22 - Jul 3 Alexandria

ll Gibraltar

24 - Aug 7 + New Orleans
[Ryan-Walsh's
services ]

9 - Aug 14 Houston
[Port's services]

29 = Sep 1 Casablanca
2 - Sep 3 Tangier
10 Alexandria
18 - Sep 22 Malta
ftp Gibraltar
9 - Oct 14 Port Arthur

14 - Oct 21 Houston
[Port's services]

5 - Nov 10 Casablanca
as Gibraltar
12 El Djazair
18 - Dec 1 Alexandria
3 - Dec 7 Piraeus
[Dec 5 - Star
purchases vessel]
28 - Dec 30 Dunkirk

31 - Jan 5 Rotterdam
5 - Jan 12 Dunkirk

19 Las Palmas, Canary Is.
Apapa, Lagos
a2 Abidjan, Ivory Coast
P te Abidjan
5 Abidjan

2 - Apr 14 Philadelphia
[vessel arrested]

Star was a good-faith purchaser
of the vessel without knowledge
of any maritime lien claim

The vessel was under the Liberian

flag while trading under the names LAURIE
U and LITSA. The registry for all Liber-
ian vesselswas maintained at 545 Fifth
Avenue, New York, New York, where claims
of maritime liens and mortgages could
have been recorded on the vessel's regis-
try to give notice of the lien claim
to the public, including prospective pur-
chasers (A334-8).

Star contracted to buy the vessel on
Nov. 3, 1982 and took title to the vessel
on Dec. 8, 1982 after it made a search of
the vessel's Liberian registry in New
York to determine whether any liens were
filed against the vessel (A304-5). The
Liberian authorities issued a Certificate
certifying that there were no liens or
encumbrances on the vessel, which certi-
ficate was required by Star before it
paid the purchase price (A305, C158).
Star was unaware of the respondents'

claims of liens against the vessel until

after its vessel was arrested in Phila-
delphia on April 6, 1983. The respon-
dents did not make any attempt to record
their liens at the Liberian registry in
New York, or give any notice to Star
(prior to arrest) that they had lien

claims against the vessel (A308-9).

(5) Prior to Star's purchase of the
vessel, respondents failed to take
any steps to enforce their maritime
liens, despite numerous opportuni-
ties to do so and despite knowledge
of Uiterwyk's financial problems

All of the respondents had a long
relationship with Uiterwyk and its prin-
cipals, Hendrik and Robert Uiterwyk, and
had provided services to numerous vessels
nominated by Uiterwyk. All respondents
knew that Uiterwyk had a very bad payment
record, had failed to comply with the
payment terms of their stevedoring con-
tracts, and was having particularly seri-

ous financial troubles in 1982, both

10

before and after they provided the ser-
vices at issue in this case.

Ryan-Walsh notified Uiterwyk on
numerous occasions that they would not
provide stevedoring services unless
monies were received prior to the loading
of the vessel (B47, 83, 103-5, 107-9,
113-17) anda confidential memorandum was
circulated to its top executives and

directors on September 1, 1982 that:

Uiterwyk is about to take a swan
dive . ... I would certainly
recommend we have something on
Standby to move quickly in our
interests, or perhaps consider
doing something before the dam
PUSSte . 3s tes

(emphasis added)

But Ryan-Walsh did nothing to exercise
its maritime lien for the Stevedoring
services rendered just weeks before this
memorandum was issued.

Semco knew in 1982 that Uiterwyk had

serious financial problems and that its

11

checks to Semco were bouncing in Septem-
ber and October 1982 (D150-73, Al53-6).

Port did not receive payments as
required under their contracts and
threatened to arrest vessels unless
payments were made (A266-7). Yet Port
continued to provide services to the
LAURIE U, not just once in May 1982, but
a second time in August 1982, and then a
third time in October 1982, all while the
prior invoices remained unpaid.

Had respondents exercised any degree
of diligence they would have Simply filed
a Claim of Lien in the Liberian registry,
Or arrested the vessel in any of the
numerous U.S. or foreign ports at which
the vessel called prior to her sale to
Star. Respondents' failure to exercise
diligence resulted in Star purchasing the
vessel without knowledge of the liens.

Uiterwyk and its affiliated com-

panies filed bankruptcy in the U.S. Bank-

——

12

ruptcy Court in Tampa on January 27,

1983. All respondents filed, inter alia,

the same claims in the bankruptcy which
they claimed in this action, and repre-
sented to the U.S. Bankruptcy Court that

such claims were unsecured and did not

claim they had any maritime lien as
security. Port and Ryan-Walsh are on the
Creditors Committee and have actively
participated in and prosecuted in the
Bankruptcy Court the claims which are
before this Court.

(6) Proceedings below

The vessel was arrested in Philadel-
phia on April 6, 1983. Respondents
intervened in the action and invoked the
admiralty and maritime jurisdiction of
the U.S. District Court for the Eastern
District of Pennsylvania (#83-1614).
Despite respondents taking no action to

enforce their maritime liens until April

13

1983, the District Court found that re-
spondents had exercised an "extraordinary
high degree of diligence" (App. B,p, 67).

Jurisdiction of the Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit was invoked by the
M/V LITSA pursuant to 28 USC 1291. In
considering whether the District Court
ruled correctly, the Third Circuit did
not judge the conduct of respondents
under the well-established “extraordinary
high" degree standard but rather used a
new lesser "reasonable diligence" stan-
dard (App. A, p. 44). The Third Circuit
affirmed the judgment of the District
Court in all respects except for a remand
(not relevant to this petition) for re-
consideration as to whether some of the
items claimed give rise to maritime liens
and for exclusion of certain items which
it held did not give rise to maritime

liens.

14

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Prior to the decision of the Third
Circuit, the case law was virtually uni-
form that a maritime lienor must act with
a "high" or "extraordinary" degree of
diligence in enforcing the lien against a
vessel which has passed into the hands of
a good-faith purchaser, or else lose the
lien through laches. The Third Circuit,
however, departed sharply from the prece-
dent and held that a maritime lienor must
exercise mere “reasonable diligence," and
further held that reasonable diligence
was exercised even though there was
inaction prior to Uiterwyk's bankruptcy
despite the lienors' knowledge of serious
financial difficulties.

The Writ should be granted because:

(a) the decision of the Thira Circuit
is in conflict with a decision of the
Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

and decisions of U.S. District Courts,

15

(b) the decision of the Third Circuit
appears to be in conflict with a deci-
sion of this Court,

(c) the resolution of the conflict is
of importance to the international mari-
time industry, and

(d) even assuming arguendo that

reasonable diligence is the appropriate
standard, petitioner has suffered a
serious injustice because respondents did

not exercise any diligence whatsoever.

* * *

(a) The decision of the Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit is
in conflict with the decision of
the Court of Appeals for the
First Circuit in the EVEROSA, 93
F.2d 732 (lst Cir. 1937) and deci-
Sions of various District Courts

The EVEROSA (Southern Coal & Coke

Co. v. Kugniecibas), 93 F.2d 732 (lst

Cir. 1937) is one of the leading cases on
the subject of laches and maritime

liens. The vessel had called at various

16

U.S. Gulf ports and Norfolk between
November 1933 and May 1934 before she
Sailed for Europe on May 17, 1934.
southern Coal supplied coal to the vessel
in Mobile on Nov. 22, 1933 and again in
Mobile on May 8, 1934 (nine days before
the ship sailed from Norfolk to Europe).
In August 1934 the vessel was sold to
Latvian owners who renamed her and trans-
ferred her to Latvian registry. The
lienor Southern Coal arrested the vessel
immediately upon its return to American
waters in November 1933. The Court of
Appeals held that the November 1933 lien
was barred for laches (but allowed the
May 1934 lien). It noted that the coal
company between November 1933 and May
1934 had six Opportunities to arrest the
vessel at various American ports (in-
Cluding the second return trip to Mobile
when the November claim was already six

months old) and, despite the fact it had

17

not been paid for the November 1933 coal
Supply, it furnished coal again in May
1934 on further credit to the owners.
(Just as Port provided additional ser-
vices to the LAURIE U in August and
October 1982 even though the May 1982
services were not paid for.) The Court
of Appeals stated, 93 F.2d 735, as

follows:

It is of the very essence of the
lienor's rights that they shall not
be slept upon. Being undisclosed
and cutting under titles subse-
quently acquired in good faith and
without notice of them, a high de-
gree of diligence is demanded in
their enforcement.

The [EVEROSA] called at various gulf
ports of this country half a dozen
times between the first coaling and
the second. There was unquestion-
ably a reasonable Opportunity to
enforce the lien.

(emphasis added)

The requirement of a high degree of
diligence was recognized in a related

case, The EVEROSA, (Swan & Sons, Inc. v.

18

Kugniecibas), 20 F. Supp. 8 (E.D.N.Y.

1937). The District Court noted that the
Ship chandler had furnished Supplies in
Norfolk in January 1934 and could have
arrested the ship at various U.S. Gulf
ports during March, April and May and
upon her return to Norfolk in May 1934

when the claim was four months old, but

failed to do so. The Court stated at 20

F. Supp. 11, as follows:

The presence of the [EVEROSA] in
Norfolk on May 16 and 17, 1934, is
not So easily overlooked. Over
three months had elapsed since the
Supplies were delivered; the vessel
was Known to be of foreign regis-
try, and to be engaged in peripa-
tetic pursuits. The claimant is a
ship chandler and is familiar with
the hazards of that Calling. This
definite display of indifference,
touching the Opportunity to enforce
its liens through appropriate ac-
tion, cannot fail to count heavily
against it, in balancing the
equities.

(emphasis added)

U.S. District Courts have followed

the dictates of the EVEROSA cases. In

19

McLaughlin v. Dredge GLOUCESTER, 230 F.

Supp. 623 (D.N.J. 1964), the Court held
at 630:

Where a maritime lien is to be
enforced to the detriment of a bona
fide purchaser without notice, the
libellant must act with extraordi-
nary diligence. As against such a
purchaser such lien will be lost
in equity after the lapse of a much
shorter period of time under the
doctrine of laches, than under ana-
logous limitation statutes.
(emphasis added)

In John W. Stone v. MISS BERN, 663

F. Supp. 773 (S.D.Ala. 1987), the art
found that the lienor was guilty of
laches for failing to enforce a maritime

lien within a 2-1/2 month period between

the rendering of services and the sale of
the vessel. The Court held at 778:

"Plaintiffs are required to act with
"extraordinary diligence' to enforce
a maritime lien against a bona fide
purchaser without notice." Trivizas
v. Tanjong Shipping Company, [1982
AMC] at 2523, McLaughlin v. Dredge
Gloucester, supra. The Everosa, 93
F.2d 732, 1938 A.M.C. 82 (1st Cir.
1937); Merchants & Marine Bank v.
F/V_T.E. WELLS, 289 F.2d 188, 1961

a

20

A.M.C. 1042 (5th Cir. 1961). The
Claim will lapse in a much shorter
time and the court will undertake a
more rigid scrutiny of the circum-
stances of the delay in cases where
the vessel is in the hands of a bona
fide purchaser as Opposed to cases
where there has been no changes in
Ownership. The Key City, 81 U.S.
(14 Wall.) 653,20 L.Ed. 896 (1871).
(emphasis added)

Even the District Court below enunciated

the standard of diligence as "extraordi-

nary high" (App. B, p. 67).

We also refer to a case decided

over 140 years ago, The ELIZA JANE,

8 F. Cas. 488 (Case No. 4,363) (D.Mass.
1847), in which the Court rejected a

Six-month old lien Claim.

The leading maritime law commenta-
tors are in accord with these Court deci-
sions. Gilmore & Black in their Law of

Admiralty, (2d Ed.), state at 767:

It is a fair conclusion that good
faith purchase without notice will
bar all preexisting liens more than
a_few months old and that even such
liens will be barred unless the
lienors proceed with the utmost

re |

diligence (not, however, being re-
quired to pursue the ship in foreign
ports).

(emphasis added)

2 Benedict on Admiralty, states in para.

62:

As a general rule, those liens
arising under the Federal Maritime
Lien Act and any other liens not
already subject to a fixed statute
of limitation should be enforced
with a high degree of diligence
Since "courts do not look with favor
on delays", except if proven rea-
sonable.

(emphasis added)

The EVEROSA cases were decided over
fifty years ago. Vessels can now be
readily traced and their position esta-
blished within a day or two through such

sources as Lloyd's Watch Service and

other sources of intelligence such as the

ship listings in the Journal of Commerce,

all well known to the maritime industry
and maritime lawyers and the respondents,
who knew about and subscribed to these

sources of shipping intelligence and used

22

maritime lawyers. (A213, 227-8, 271-4;
B13-14; C145-50; D175-8.) Therefore, we
submit the time allotted to a lien claim-
ant to exercise the “extraordinary”
degree of diligence should be substan-
tially reduced from the time periods used
in the EVEROSA cases to reflect the
changes in worldwide communications and
intelligence. The respondents are all
large companies with access to maritime
lawyers and shipping intelligence. The

recent decision in the John W. Stone

case, supra, gives implicit recognition
to the speed with which a diligent lienor
can and should act in its enforcement of
lien claims more than a few months old
when there is a bona fide purchaser of
the vessel.

The difference between "reasonable
diligence" and "extraordinary diligence"
is not a matter of semantics but has real

meaning. For instance, Black's Law

23

Dictionary (‘4th Ed. 1968) defines "dili-

gence" as "[p]rudence; vigilant activity;
attentiveness; or care, of which there
are infinite shades, from the slightest

momentary thought to the most vigilant

anxiety." The text goes on to explain the

differences between the three types of
diligence:

The law recognizes only three
degrees of diligence: (1) Common
or ordinary, which men, in general,
exert in respect of their own con-
cerns; the standard is necessarily
variable with respect to the prin-
ciple. (2) High or great, which
is extraordinary diligence, or that
which very prudent persons take of
their own concerns. (3) Low or
slight, which is that which persons
of less than common prudence, or
indeed of no prudence at all, take
of their own concerns.

(emphasis added)

The cases cited by the Third Circuit
do not support the new diminished stan-

dard of diligence. The BOLD BUCCLEUGH, 7

Moore, P.C. 267 (1852), is an English

case decided nearly 140 years ago. Since

24

that time, the United States Courts, as
set forth above, have enunciated a stan-
dard of extraordinary or high degree of
diligence. Moreover, as noted by Gilmore
& Black, supra, at 764, the English

Court in the BOLD BUCCLEUGH:

[D]id in fact enforce a collision
lien against a ship which had passed
into the hands of a purchaser as-
sumed to be in good faith and with-—
out notice, but in favor of a lienor
who had acted with extraordinary
diligence.

(emphasis added)
The reference to "reasonable diligence"

in Merchants and Marine Bank v. T.E.

WELLS, 289 F.2d 188 (Sth Cir. 1961) at
190, is in the context of an assertion by
one of the parties:

Either alone, or as an ingredient
of laches, the Bank asserts also
that, as a matter of law, the lienor
failed to exercise reasonable dili-
Sence ~~.

(emphasis added)
The Fifth Circuit did not specifically

hold that reasonable diligence was the

25

proper test. Indeed, the issue of
whether the diligence standard was
"reasonable" or "extraordinary" was not
an issue in either of the above two cases
relied on by the Panel. However, if the
standard in the Fifth Circuit is one of
"reasonable" diligence as suggested by
the Court below, we submit there is a
further conflict then with the First
Circuit and the District Court decisions
cited above which requires resolution by
this Court.

(b) The decision of the Third

Circuit is in apparent conflict
with a decision of this Court

In The KEY CITY, 81 U.S. 653 (1871),

the Court summarized various rules of the
law of laches and maritime liens, in-
cluding, at 660:

That where the lien is to be
enforced to the detriment of a
purchaser for value, without notice
of the lien, the defence [laches]
will be held valid under shorter
time, and a more rigid scrutiny of

26

the circumstances of the delay, than
when the claimant is the owner at
the time the lien accrued.

(emphasis added)

The use of the words “shorter time" and
"rigid scrutiny" suggests that a lienor
must not just exercise "reasonable" dili-
gence, but take prompt action to enforce
the lien. We note the Courts in Mc-

Laughlin v. Dredge GLOUCESTER, supra,

and John W. Stone v. MISS BERN, supra,

relied on the KEY CITY in deciding that a

maritime lienor must exercise extra-
ordinary diligence in enforcing his lien.
The Third Circuit's decision is in appar-

ent conflict with the KEY CITY.

(c) The issue is of importance to the
international maritime industry

The resolution of the conflicting
court decisions on laches and maritime
liens is not merely of academic interest,

but is rather a matter of practical

importance to the maritime industry.

27

Maritime liens are “undisclosed and cut .

- - under titles subsequently acquired in

TT lll.

good faith . .. ." EVEROSA, 93 F.2d

732 (lst Cir. 1937) at 735. The slack-

Te

ened standard of diligence enunciated by
the Third Circuit effectively lengthens
the time in which maritime liens sur-
vive against vessels which have passed
into the hands of good-faith purchasers.
This, of course, greatly increases the
risk to vessel buyers that unpaid and
unknown lienors whose liens originated
months and years earlier will appear and
seize the vessel just purchased. The
high degree of diligence standard, on the
other hand, reduces the time in which
maritime liens survive, which accordingly
reduces the risk and potential costs to
vessel buyers.

The uniformity of the law on this
issue is also important to maritime

lienors, including stevedores. As it

———————

28

Stands now, a lienor who arrests a vessel
in Philadelphia will be held to a differ-
ent and lesser standard of diligence than
one who arrests the same vessel in Boston
or New York or Mobile.

M/V LITSA submits the admiralty law
must be uniform with respect to enforcing
maritime liens against vessels have been

sold te good-faith purchasers.

(d) Even assuming arguendo that
reasonable diligence is the
appropriate standard, petitioner
has suffered a serious injustice
because respondents did not exer-
cise any diligence whatsoever

Even a "reasonable diligence" stan-
dard required the respondents to take
some action to protect and enforce their
liens. Respondents, however, took no
action prior to the sale of the LITSA to
Star and petitioner suffered severe pre-
judice as a result. They only took
action after the bankruptcy when the

horse was already out of the barn.

aaa aie

ee

29

Prior to the sale of the vessel, all
respondents were on notice of the serious
financial problems of Uiterwyk. Respon-

dent Ryan-Walsh provided services in late

July/early August 1982 in New Orleans.
Shortly thereafter, its top officers and
directors were advised on September l,
1982 by the officer in charge of their
New Orleans office (which rendered the
services involved in this litigation)
that "Uiterwyk is about to take a swan
dive" and that they should "consider

doing something before the dam bursts"

(B15; Al91-3). Yet nothing was done. As
of July 31, 1982 (at the very time they
were providing the services involved in
this litigation) a Ryan-Walsh analysis
(B79) showed outstanding invoices for
Uiterwyk vessels of $627,148.53, of which
more than two-thirds were more than 60
days old and almost half more than four

months old, despite the contract require-

30

ment that 80% be paid on Presentation of
invoices and the balance within 60 days.
Ryan-Walsh continually throughout 1982
threatened to Stop work unless some
Payments were received and indeed issued
Orders not to work and accused Uiterwyk
of repeatedly breaking Promises (B47,
33, 103-5, 107-9, 113-7).

Respondent Semco provided Services
to the vessel in Charleston in May 1982,
Thereafter, Uiterwyk's Checks to Semco
bounced, yet Semco took no steps to

enforce its lien (D170, 173). On five

Occasions prior to November 1982, Semco

deposited Uiterwyk checks which were

rejected by the bank. As far back as

Ulterwyk's accounts receivable (D150,
152). On June 14, 1982, a few weeks
after it rendered the services involved

in this litigation, its outstanding

31

receivables from Uiterwyk totalled
$564,120.22, which was $214,120.22 in
excess of what they could permit to be
outstanding (D154). In August 1982 Semco
threatened the arrest of vessels due to
the "continued failure" to pay accounts
receivable (D166). In September and
October 1982 checks bounced,

Respondent Port knew that Uiterwyk
had serious financial difficulties since
the Iranian revolution in 1979 and that
matters worsened in 1982, that it was not
paying its bills and that threats were
made by Port, including threats that they
would refuse to do any more work and
arrest vessels unless they received
Payment (A266-8, 285-9). According to
monthly statements Submitted by Port to
Uiterwyk during 1982 (B216-27) and Port's
running account (B228-35), indebtedness

to Port was increased from $800,000 in

32

1980 to more than $1,009,000 in 1982
without any substantial reduction, and
Port permitted the individual stevdoring
invoices to regularly age to six to seven
months, even though its contract required
80% payment on completion of services, a
contract requirement which was never hon-
ored. Yet Port continued to provide
services, including services to the
LAURIE U, not once in May 1982, but a
second time in August, and then a third
time in October 1982, all while the prior
invoices remained entirely unpaid (as
well as many other invoices for other
vessels).

* * *

Despite the knowledge of Uiterwyk's
financial problems, respondents sat back
and did nothing. Port even provided ser-
vices on two more occasions. What should

respondents have done?

a2

(i) Recording of maritime lien

The Liberian Maritime Law in
Section 111 expressly provided for the
recording of Notice of Claim of Lien (in
language almost identical to its U.S.

counterpart) as follows:

(1) The Commissioner or his
duly authorized agent shall upon
the request of any person record
notice of his claim to a lien upon
a registered vessel, together with
the nature, date of creation, and
amount of the lien and the name and
address of the person.

The failure to record a maritime lien has
been cited by the Courts as an important

factor in determining laches. The JOHN

CADWALDER, 99 F.2d 678, 680 (3rd Cir.

1938); John W. Stone v. MISS BERN, 663

F.Supp. 773, 779-80 (S.D.Ala. 1987);

Waterways Marine, Inc. v. Brooks Liquid

Transport, 291 F.Supp. 703, 704-5 (N.D.

Tll. 1968); Dixie Machine v. M/V ANDINO,

1983 A.M.C. 1166, 1168 (S.D.Fla. 1982),

Tagaropulos, S.A. v. SS SANTA PAULA, 502

34

F.2d 1171, 1172<3 (9th Cir. 1974)¢ Tne
NIKITA, 62 F. 936-7 (5th Cir. 1894).

Had the liens been recorded, notice would
have been given to the innocent purchaser
Star.

(ii) Arrest of vessel

All respondents had numerous
opportunities to arrest the vessel at
both U.S. and foreign ports prior to the
purchase by Star in December 1982, yet
failed to do so. Of particular appli-
cation to the special circumstances of

the case at bar is The PRILLA, 21 F.

Supp. 383 (D.Mass. 1937). The lienor was
a ship storage and repair company that
provided services to a boat during the
period May 1, 1935 to July 8, 1936.

It had received a payment on account in
June 1935. On July 3, 1936 another check
given to the lienor "was returned from
the bank unpaid." The vessel was sold in

early November 1936. The lienor had

#3

difficulty finding where the boat was,

but knew where it was in September 1936

yet did not arrest it. The Court, in

rejecting the lien, held as follows at

384:

Whether or not the libelant had
been extending credit to the boat
or to Johanson personally, it was
certainly placed on notice at this
time that the credit of Johanson
was questionable. It was its duty
then to act promptly to protect its
lien.

The maritime lien, being a secret
one, is one that should be enforced
without unnecessary delay. As be-
tween the original parties, Johanson
would not be heard to claim that the
libelant was not diligent in its
efforts. Since the rights of the
third person have intervened, the
lien will be regarded as lost.

The person in whose favor it had
existed has had a reasonable oppor-
tunity to enforce it, and has not
done so. [Citation omitted.] Where
either Leonard or the libelant is

to sustain the loss, in good con-
science and equity, the loss ought
to be borne by the one who placed

himself in a position to suffer it,
where the other has been guilty of
no negligence.

(emphasis added)

36

(iii) Demanded payment up-front

Respondents could have insisted on
immediate payment or refused to do the
work. This is particularly applicable to
Port who, despite not being paid for the
May 1982 services, rendered additional
services in August. Then, despite not
being paid for its May or August ser-
vices, Port furnished more services in

October 1982.

Instead of registering their liens
or arresting the vessel or refusing to
continue to provide services, respon-
dents admitted they were content to wait
and hope to be paid by Uiterwyk. How-
ever, this is no excuse for failure to
move diligently to register or enforce
their liens. OWYHEE, 66 F.2d 399 (2d

Cir. 1933) at a0,

37

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this
petition for a writ of certiorari

should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

Donald F. Mooney
Counsel for Petitioner
21 West Street

New York, N.Y. 10006 -
(212) 943-1270

Dated: New York, New York
June 8, 1989

> i in) 7
ie on ' ai Rela ;
_ en 7 ' 7 i be Gir i ie h 7 ;
en i “ Rooted ted | }
+? i | [ee ©
, - i ou ca %
i ae
; 7 7
i ee ~a : ’ a

APPENDIX

38
Appendix A

UNIFED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

NO. 88-1362

BERMUDA EXPRESS, N.V., SOUTHEASTERN
MARITIME COMPANY, PORT STEVEDORING
COMPANY, INC., RYAN-WALSH STEVEDORING
COMPANY, INC., NRS FINANCIAL CORP., ASSIGNEE
OF MALONE MARINE GROUP, INC., ZALESKY,
MARVIN d/b/a/ SEASIDE MARINE SUPPLY OF
HOUSTON, CHARLES L. MOLHO, d/b/a MANHATTAN
SHIP SUPPLY and THURMOND SUPPLY CoO.., INC.

v.
M/V LITSA (Ex. LAURIE U) IN REM,

Appellant

On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania
(D.C. Civil No. 83-1614)

Argued December 6, 1988

Before: SLOVITER and BECKER,
Circuit Judges, and
BARRY, District Judge*

(Opinion filed April 13, 1989)

¥ Hon. Maryanne Trump Barry. United States District Court for
the District of New Jersey, sitting by designation.

39
Appendix A

2

Donald F. Mooney (Argued)
21 West Street
New York, New York 10006

Douglas H. Riblet
Rawle & Henderson

211 South Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Attorneys for Appellant

Faustino Mattioni

Francis X. Kelly (Argued)

Mattioni, Mattioni & Mattioni, Ltd.
399 Market Street, 2nd Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19106

Attorneys for Appellee,
Southeastern Maritime Company

Thomas E. Seus (Argued)

Amy L. Currier

Kelly, Harrington, McLaughlin & Foster
1700 Atlantic Building

260 South Broad Street

Philadelphia, PA 19102

Attorneys for Appellees,
Port Stevedoring Company, Inc. and
Ryan-Walsh Stevedoring Company, Inc.

OPINION OF THE COURT

SLOVITER, Circuit Judge.
I.
ISSUES

The appellant vessel in an in rem action appeals
from the district court's final adjudication and
judgment awarding three stevedoting companies the
full amount of their claims based on maritime liens for
unpaid invoices for stevedoring services provided to

40
Appendix A

3

the vessel before it was sold to its present owner. The
principal issue on appeal is whether the claims of the
stevedore lienors were barred by the equitable doctrine
of laches. The conflicting interests involve, on one
hand, those of maritime lienors whose services are
essential for the smooth functioning of maritime
commerce and, on the other hand, those of bona fide
purchasers in good faith of vessels which may be
subject to such liens. We must also decide the scope of
“necessaries” which give rise to maritime liens under
46 U.S.C. § 971 (1982).

Il.
FACTS

Most of the facts relevant to this appeal are not in
dispute. Appellees, Port Stevedoring, Inc. (Port),
Ryan-Walsh Stevedoring Company (Ryan-Walsh), and
Southeastern Maritime Company (Semco), are in the
business of supplying stevedoring services to vessels at
various ports in the southern portion of the United
States. In 1982, Uiterwyk Corporation (Uiterwyk), the
general agent for Uiterwyk Lines, Ltd. which owned the
vessel, contracted with appellees to provide stevedoring
services for vessels nominated by Uiterwyk. This
contract covered the vessel involved in this litigation,
then known as the M/V LAURIE U, which sailed under
Liberian registry. The contracts all called for payment
of 80% of the amount due for services rendered upon
completion of such services for each vessel and
presentation of an invoice. Under the Port and Semco
contracts, the balance became due a reasonable time
after presentation of duly documented bills, while
under the Ryan-Walsh contract final payment was due
within sixty days after the presentation of such bilis.

Semco provided services to the M/V LAURIE U on
May 27 and 28, 1982 in Charleston, giving rise to a
claim of $22,184.87. Ryan-Walsh provided services to
the M/V LAURIE U on July 26-August 6, 1982 in New

41
Appendix A
4

Orleans, giving rise to a claim for $25,404.21. Port
provided services to the M/V LAURIE U in Houston on
three occasions in 1982, May 13-23, August 11-14, and
October 14-20, giving rise to claims for $112,994.71,
$46,692.26, and $71,873.97 respectively.

On October 21, the M/V LAURIE U left United
States waters and did not return until April 2, 1983. In
the interim, two significant events took place. On
December 8, 1982, Uiterwyk Lines, Ltd. sold the M/V
LAURIE U to Star Warrant Shipping Corp. (Star), a
shipping company operating out of Piraeus, Greece. In
the contract of sale, Uiterwyk Lines, Ltd. warranted to
Star that there were no maritime liens against the
vessel, and Star's search of the Liberian registry in New
York revealed that no claims had been filed against the
ship. Star renamed the vessel M/V LITSA. Shortly after
the sale, on January 27, 1983, Uiterwyk, the general
agent, filed a petition in bankruptcy in the Middle
District of Florida.

Upon learning of the bankruptcy, appellees filed
individual claims in the bankruptcy court and
contacted Lloyds Watch of London to determine the
status of Uiterwyk vessels which they had serviced.
Lloyds informed appellees of the purchase of the M/V
LAURIE U and the name change, and continued to
track the vessel's movements until it returned to
United States waters on April 2, 1983. Bermuda
Express, another claimant who has since settled with
Star, arrested the M/V LITSA in the Port of Philadelphia
on April 6, 1983. The district court had jurisdiction
over this suit in admiralty under 28 U.S.C. § 1333
(1982).

Appellees intervened as plaintiffs and proceeded to
trial against the M/V LITSA on their claims. After a
bench trial, the district court determined that all three
appellees had acted with the extraordinary degree of
diligence required to preserve their maritime liens, and

42
- Appendix A

5

that neither their participation in the bankruptcy
proceedings nor their failure to file notice of their
maritime liens waived their right to assert those liens.
The court entered the following judgments which
represent the full amounts of the claims and
prejudgment interest: Port, $324,185.31; Ryan-Walsh,
$35,588.16; Semco, $31,078.28.

The vessel appeals, arguing that the district court
erred in its analysis of the laches issue, that its finding
of no waiver was clearly erroneous, that some of the
claims were not necessaries giving rise to maritime
liens, and that the award of prejudgment interest was
not warranted.

Ili.
LEGAL PRINCIPLES
A.

Our standard of review on the laches issue has
various components. We review factual findings such
as length of delay and prejudice under the clearly
erroneous standard; we review the district court's
balancing of the equities for abuse of discretion; and
our review of legal precepts applied by the district court
in determining that the delay was excusable is plenary.
See Churma v. United States Steel Corp., 514 F.2d
589, 592-93 (3d Cir. 1975).

The statute governing maritime liens provides that
persons supplying various enumerated services or
“other necessaries" to a vessel are entitled to a
maritime lien on the vessel “which may be enforced by
suit in rem.” 46 U.S.C. § 971.’ The statute does not

1. The text of the relevant statute provides in full that:

Any person furnishing repairs, supplies, towage, use of
dry dock or marine railway, or other necessaries, to any
vessel, whether foreign or domestic, upon the order of

43
Appendix A

6

require maritime lienors to file claims of their liens. At .
common law maritime liens had historically been
considered secret liens, good even against a good faith
purchaser of a ship without notice of the lien's
existence. See Piedmont & Georges Creek Coal Co. uv.
Seaboard Fisheries Co., 254 U.S. i, 12 (1920); G.
Gilmore & C. Black, The Law of Admiralty 588 (2d ed.
1975). Both at common law and .under the statute,
however, maritime liens may be lost by laches in their
prosecution. See G. Gilmore & C. Black at 588.

in The Bold Buccleugh, 7 Moore, P.C. 267 (1852),
the English Privy Council case which serves as the
original authority on the issue, G. Gilmore & C. Black
at 595, the court enforced a maritime lien against the
ship although it had since been sold; the court,
however, noted that the lien may be lost “by negligence
or delay where the rights of third parties may be
compromised.” Id. at 285.

Shortly thereafter, the United States Supreme
Court enunciated a similar principle. In The Key City,
81 U.S. (14 Wall.) 653, 660 (1872), the Court stated
that “laches or delay in the judicial enforcement of
maritime liens will, under proper circumstances,
constitute a valid defence;” that there is no “arbitrary
or fixed period of time” for its operation but that the
determination that a lienor was guilty of laches would
“depend on the peculiar equitable circumstances of
that case;" and that “where the lien is to be enforced to
the detriment of a purchaser for value, without notice
of the lien, the defence will be held valid under shorter
time, and a more rigid scrutiny of the circumstances of

the owner of such vessel, or of a person authorized by the
owner, shall have a maritime lien on the vessel, which
may be enforced by suit in rem, and it shall not be
necessary to allege or prove that credit was given to the
vessel.

46 U.S.C. 8 971.

44
Appendix A

7

the delay, than when the [party claiming laches] is the
owner at the time the lien accrued.”

The parties dispute whether a maritime lienor
must exercise “extraordinary diligence” in order to
preserve a claim against a bona fide purchaser, see
McLaughlin v. Dredge Gloucester, 230 F. Supp. 623,
630 (D.N.J. 1964); see also G. Gilmore & C. Black at
767 & n.387, or whether “reasonable diligence” is
sufficient, see The Bold Buccleugh, 7 Moore, P.C. at
285 (“where reasonable diligence is used, and the
proceedings are had in good faith, the lien may be
enforced, into whosesoever possession the thing may
come”). While it is possible that the difference in
semantics would not be dispositive since diligence by
its very nature requires “steady, earnest, attentive, and
energetic application and effort,” Webster's Third New
International Dictionary (1976), we believe that the
lienor should be held to a “reasonable diligence”
standard. See Merchants & Marine Bank v. The T.E.
Wells, 289 F.2d 188, 190 (5th Cir. 1961) (applying a
reasonable diligence test). The lienor must take such
steps as are appropriate under the circumstances. The
district court used the standard most favorable to the
vessel and found nonetheless that the lienors exercised
the “extraordinary high degree of diligence” required to
preserve and enforce the liens. App. A at 376. If we
conclude that there is the requisite support for a
conclusion of reasonable diligence, we are bound to

affirm.

B.

Appellant argues that in considering the diligence
of the lienors in this case, we need look no further than
the analysis used by the courts in the two Everosa
cases decided half a century ago. In the first Everosa
case, The Everosa (Southern Coal & Coke Co. v.
Kugniecibas), 93 F.2d 732 (1st Cir. 1937), the libelant,

a

45
Appendix A

8

Southern Coal & Coke Company, had provided coal to
the vessel at issue on November 22, 1933 and May 8,
1934 for which it had received only partial payment.
Shortly after the second coaling, the ship sailed for
foreign waters and did not return until November
1934, at which time Southern libeled the ship. Id. at
733-35. While it had been in foreign waters, it was sold
to a bona fide purchaser.

The district court found for . 1e ship against the
lienor on both claims on the ground that no lien arose,
a holding rejectea by the court of appeals. The appellate
court then considered the ship's laches defense,
apparently as a matter of first impression, and held
that laches did not bar enforcement of the lien for the
second coaling because the ship left the United States
nine days after the coaling and “[aJbsence of the vessel
from the country operates to relieve the lienor to some
extent from the imputation of laches." Id. at 735.
Although the court noted that there was evidence that
the ship had returned to this county before the voyage
on which she was libeled, id., it nonetheless held
“there was clearly no laches.” Id.

The question of the enforceability of the lien for the
first coaling was, the court noted, “very close.” Id. It
concluded that that lien was barred by laches because
the ship had “called at various gulf ports of this
country half a dozen times between the first coaling
and the second,” and thus the lienor “unquestionably”
had “a reasonable opportunity to enforce the lien.” Id.
The court also noted that the lienor “knew or could
easily have discovered” that the vessel at the time of the
coalings was held by the party receiving the coal under
charter and not as owner, “and that rights of third
persons might be affected.” Id. at 735-36.

The second Everosa case, The Everosa (Swan &
Sons v. Kugniecibas), 20 F. Supp. 8 (E.D.N.Y. 1937),
involved claims filed by companies which had supplied

46
Appendix A

9

the vessel in Norfolk, Virginia, in February 1934 and in
New Orleans in April 1934 before it sailed for foreign
waters in May 1934. In this case, however, the lienors
did not file their libels until 1937, although the ship
had returned to United States waters twice in the
interim. The court held that inasmuch as the company
supplying the vessel at Norfolk had an opportunity to
‘enforce its lien when the vessel returned to Norfolk in
May 1934 before it sailed abroad, and that the creditors
(including the libelant) were notified of the bankruptcy
proceeding of the operator which was initiated in June
1934, see id. at 11, both of which events were prior to
the transfer of title of the ship in August 1934, the
balance of equities required dismissal of the libel.? On
the other hand, the court held that the second lienor
was not barred by laches because the ship sailed
abroad within a month of its supply services, and,
although the ship returned to the United States at
various times, it did not return to New Orleans during
those visits. It held that failure to take advantage of
those opportunities for affirmative action “does not
fatally portray lack of diligence.” Id. at 13.

Appellant urges that the Everosa cases mandate a
finding that Semco, Ryan-Walsh, and Port did not
exercise the requisite diligence in enforcing their liens.
Aithough some of the facts in the Everosa cases are
analogous to the M/V LAURIE U situation, all of the
cases stress that the question of due diligence is one
peculiar to the facts of each case. For this reason, it is
not particularly useful to review the facts of the many
other cases referred to by appellant and the
distinguishing factors pointed out by appellees. We
accept the legal principles from the Everosa cases that
lienors are not required to attempt to enforce their

2. In this case, unlike in the first Everosa case, the court stated
that the company ordering supplies was both owner and charterer.
20 F. Supp. at 9. -

a

47
Appendix A

10

liens in foreign waters and that the existence of a
reasonable opportunity for the lienor to arrest the
vessel before the purchase is an important factor in the
laches analysis.

However, the fact that it would have been possible
or even feasible to locate and arrest the vessel at a port
in the United States is not dispositive of the question of
whether or when the appellees in this case should have
done so. The custom of the shipping industry, for
example, must also inform the analysis of what
constitutes diligence under the circumstances of a
given case.

The arrest of a vessel is a remedy of last resort, and
one which has the potential to seriously disrupt the
flow of maritime commerce. Therefore, we decline to
establish a firm rule which would require a maritime
lienor to arrest a vessel, particularly if there are
available other reasonable methods, consistent with
industry custom, to secure payment. The relevant
consideration instead is what would have been the
commercially reasonable practice. Components of
diligence thus include industry custom, the amount of
the lien, the pattern of dealing between the parties, and
whether the lienor had information that the interests
of a third party would likely be adversely affected by its
failure to act.

~ Appellant argues that we should also consider
whether the lienors filed their claims on the ship's
register. It claims that the lienors’ failure to file claims
of their liens on the Liberian Registry in New York, a
relatively simple and inexpensive means of giving
notice, evinces a failure of the lienors to exercise the
requisite degree of diligence.

Several cases have treated failure to record a claim
of lien as a relevant factor in assessing the equities of a
laches defense. See, e.g., Tagaropulos, S.A. v. S.S.
Santa Paula, 502 F.2d 1171, 1172 (9th Cir. 1974);

48
Appendix A

1]

John W. Stone Oil Distributor, Inc. v. M/V Miss Bern,
663 F. Supp. 773, 780 (S.D. Ala. 1987); Dixie Machine
Welding and Metal Works, Inc. v. M/V Andino, 1983
A.M.C. 1166, 1168 (S.D. Fla. 1982); Waterways
Marine, Inc. v. Brooks Liquid Transport, Inc., 291 F.
Supp. 703 (N.D. Ill. 1968). Each case, however, has its
own set of facts and no situation directly parallels the
one before us.

All parties agree that there is no statutory
requirement that a maritime lien be filed in order to be
valid.? At the time Congress enacted the Maritime
Liens Act, it could have but failed to require filing. It
has made no attempt to change the statute in this
respect since then. The district court thus concluded
that the lienors here did not lack diligence “merely
because the claims were not filed with the Liberian
Ship Registry in New York.” App. at 376 (emphasis
added). Obviously, however, the ability to have filed the
lien is a consideration that cannot be completely
ignored in the relevant balancing. It is significant
whether it was a custom of the industry to record liens
for necessaries.

Poised against the diligence or lack thereof of the
lienor is the action of the purchaser of the vessel. A
balancing of the equities requires consideration not
only of the bona fides of the purchaser, t.e., its lack of
actual knowledge of unpaid liens and its search of the
ship's registry, but also of its efforts to ascertain
whether, in light of the absence of any lega’
requirement of filing liens, there are in fact liens
outstanding. See Tagaropulos S.A. v. S.S. Santa

3. Appellant is somewhat disingenuous in its various
references to the International Convention for the Unification of
Certain Rules Relating to Maritime Liens and Mortgages, April 10,
1926, 120 L.N.T.S. 187. The significant fact is that the United
States is not a signatory, and thus the provisions of the Convention
are irrelevant to this case.

i

49
Appendix A

12

Paula, 502 F.2d 1171, 1172 (9th Cir. 1974) (Purchaser
“made every effort to unearth all claims against the
ship.” It checked both the home port and ship's log for
liens; although no liens were entered in the log,
purchaser discovered entries for repairs, contacted
shipyards and learned of outstanding unpaid bills).
Finally, we note that it is for the district court in
the first instance to perform the equitable balancing of
all the relevant factors. Our review will be facilitated if
the district courts fully discuss the factors considered
on the issue of diligence and make explicit their
balancing of the equities in reaching a decision on
laches. We thus proceed to examine the record to
discern the factors which explicitly or implicitly
informed the district court’s judgment in this case.

C.

An exhibit introduced in evidence shows that the
vessel was not in a United States port during the entire
period from October 21, 1982 until April 2, 1983.‘ The

4. The itinerary of the vessel from May 1, 1982 through April
1983 was as follows:

Time tn Port Port

1982

Apr 27 - May 12 New Orleans

May 13 - May 23 Houston [Port's services]

May 28 - May 29 Charleston |Semco's services]

May 30 - May 31 Hampton Roads

Jun 11 Gibraltar

Jun 14 - Jun 17 Malta

Jun 18 - Jun 19 La Goulette, Tunisia

Jun 22 - Jul 3 Alexandria

Jul 6 - Jul 7 Malta

Jun 11 Gibraitar

Jul 24 - Aug 7 New Orleans [Ryan-Walsh’'s
services]

Aug 9 - Aug 14 Houston [Port's services} ~

Aug 29 - Sep 1 Casablanca

50
Appendix A

13

appellees learned of Uiterwyk’s bankruptcy proceeding
shortly after it was commenced, and they acted to
enforce their liens within days of the vessel's
subsequent return to United States waters. The initial
inquiry relevant to appellees’ diligence is thus whether
they had a reasonable opportunity to enforce their liens
between the time each lien arose and October 21, 1982,
when the ship left United States, waters.

Patently, Port could not have taken any action in
United States waters to enforce its third lien, that
based on the services it provided between October
14-20, 1982, because the vessel left the United States
immediately thereafter. Semco and Ryan-Walsh, on the
other hand, had provided their services earlier.
However, throughout the entire period following the
services provided by Semco in Charleston (May 27 and
28) and by Ryan-Walsh in New Orleans (July 26 -
August 6), the vessel was out of the country except for
two Houston stops {August 9-14 and October 14-21)

Sep 2 - Sep 3 Tangier

Sep 10 Alexandria

Sep 18 - Sep 22 Malta

Sep 25 Gibraltar

Oct 9 - Oct 14 Port Arthur, Texas

Oct 14 - Oct 21 Houston [Port's services]
Nov 5 - Nov 10 Casablanca, Morocco
Nov 11 Gibraltar

Nov 12 E] Djazair

Nov 18 - Dec 1 Alexandria, Egypt

Dec 3 - Dec 17 Piraeus, Greece

Dec 28 - Dec 30 Dunkirk, France

1983

Dec 31 - Jan 5 Rotterdam, Netherlands
Jan 19 Las Palmas, Canary Islands
Jan 27 Abidjan, Ivory Coast
Jan 29 Abidjan

Mar 5 Abidjan

Apr 2 - Apr 14

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

51
Appendix A

14

and one stop at Port Arthur, Texas (October 9-14). If we
look to the vessel's return to the particular port where
the stevedoring company provided the services, which
was the dispositive factor leading the court to
determine that laches did not bar one of the claims in
the second Everosa case, 20 F. Supp. at 13, we note
that the vessei did not return to Charleston or New
Orleans following the provision of services by Semco
and Ryan-Walsh at these ports.

We are aware, as appellant argues, that modern
technology associated with the shipping industry has
made it easier than in the Everosa period for lienors to
track ships, thus increasing opportunities to arrest
vessels and enforce liens. Nonetheless, we cannot rule
on the record developed by the appellant here that the
stevedore companies had the obligation to track the
vessel, which primarily served foreign ports
throughout this entire period, to the Texas ports and
arrest the ship on one of the three occasions when it

would have been possible to do so.
It is true, as appellant argues, that these

companies could have easily filed their liens on the
ship's registry and thereby given notice to a prospective
purchaser. However, we have pointed out that there is
no legal requirement for such an action and,
significantly, there was no evidence of an industry
custom to do so. In fact, appellant's expert, although
testifying that he advises his clients to record their
liens, conceded that “as a practice and custom ...
there are claims for which liens have not been
registered.” App. A at 353.

Appellant notes that there is evidence signifying
that at least some of the appellees knew of Uiterwyk’'s
poor financial condition.” Appellant, however, has

5. For exampie, a Ryan-Walsh memorandum dated September
1, 1982. refers to rumors that Uiterwyk ts about to take a “swan
dive” and that it should “perhaps consider doing something before

52
Appendix A
15

produced no evidence that appellees were actually
aware of the impending bankruptcy or the forthcoming
sale of the vessel at a time when they still had
opportunities to execute on their liens. Appellees’
failure to enforce the liens was consistent with their
past practice in dealing with Uiterwyk, which was a
slow payer. Previously, their demands for payment and
threats to arrest vessels were sufficient to procure
payment, albeit belatedly. Appellant has not shown it
was commercially unreasonable of appellees to wait for
payment. In light of these circumstances, we find no
basis to question the district court's conclusion that
these lienors exercised the requisite diligence with
respect to their liens and that Port exercised such
diligence with respect to its October lien.®

It is more difficult to evaluate Port's diligence in
the case of its two earlier liens, that arising from its
May services and that arising from its August services.
Port clearly had the opportunity to take action against
the ship because it returned to Houston where Port
provided additional services notwithstanding the
unpaid bills. In both instances Port extended further
credit for new services.

However, Port's liens were only five months and
two months old at the time the ship left United States
waters. In many of the relevant cases the liens had been
outstanding for substantially over a year before the
lienor sought enforcement. See Tagaropulos, S.A. v.

the dam bursts.” App. B at 15. Uiterwyk checks to Semco bounced
in September and October 1982. App. A at 153-56.

6. At one point in its opinion the district court stated that
appellees promptly pursued their maritime liens upon learning of
Uiterwyk’s bankruptcy proceeding. It is clear from the next
sentence, where the court noted that the vessel was arrested within
six to eleven months of the stevedoring services rendered by the
plaintiffs, App. A at 375, that the court in fact examined diligence
from the standpoint of the entire relevant period.

53
Appendix A

16

S.S. Santa Paula, 502 F.2d 1171, 1172 (9th Cir. 1974)
(two years); Phelps v. The Cecelia Ann, 199 F.2d 627,
628 (4th Cir. 1952) (more than two years); The John
Cadwalader, 99 F.2d 678, 679 (3d Cir. 1938) (five to
nine years); Dixie Machine Welding and Metal Works,
Inc. v. M/V Andino, 1983 A.M.C. 1166 (S.D. Fla. 1982)
(two and one-half years).

Appellant has shown little that Port could have
done short of the draconian measure of arresting the
ship, with the exception of filing the lien which we have
noted is not required as a matter of law. Appellant
introduced no evidence of other commercially
reasonable practice available to Port. Port's
Vice-President testified that it was not customary for
Port or any other stevedoring company to require
advance payment before it rendered services. App. A at
261. Moreover, Port was receiving payments from
Uiterwyk through 1982. While it did not receive any
payment which was applied to the invoices for this
particular vessel, it did receive $100,000 from Uiterwyk
on November 10, 1982 which was applied to older bills,
App. A at 264, thus giving ii reason to believe that it
would eventually be paid. Therefore, we cannot
conclude that Port was guilty of a lack of diligence that
would deprive it of its maritime lien.

Under these circumstances, we need not consider
whether there were some steps that Star, a
sophisticated shipowner which purchased over 70
vessels, could have taken to protect itself which it failed
to take, such as the inquiry of the general agent or of
the port agents and suppliers in the ports that the
vessel had visited. See Tagaropulos, 502 F.2d at 1172.

It was the function of the district court to make the
balance between the actions of the lienors and the new
purchaser. In the few cases that have reached a court of
appeals, the appellate courts have tended to rely on the
trial court's judgment. See, e.g.. Tagaropulos, 502

54
Appendix A

17

F.2d at 1171; Phelps v. The Cecelia Ann, 199 F.2d 627
(4th Cir. 1952); see also Gardner v. Panama Railroad
Co., 342 U.S. 29, 30 (1951) (issue of laches is one
primarily addressed to the discretion of the trial court).
Although it is possible that we would not have decided
the issue as did the district court, we cannot hold that
it abused its discretion in balancing the equities as it
did in concluding that these claims were not barred by
laches.’

IV.
NECESSARIES

Under the Maritime Liens Act, a lien is provided for
“lajny person furnishing ... necessaries, to any
vessel.” 46 U.S.C. 8 971 (emphasis added). The term
“necessaries” has been interpreted broadly to include
all services which will facilitate operation of ships. See
Farwest Steel Corp. v. Barge Sea-Span 241, 769 F.2d
620, 623 (9th Cir. 1985) (“[t}he term ‘necessaries’
under section 971 refers to ‘supplies which are
necessary to keep the ship going,’ quoting
Dampskibsselskabet Dannebrog v. Signal Oil & Gas
Co., 310 U.S. 268, 280 (1940)); Farrell Ocean
Services, Inc. v. United States, 681 F.2d 91, 92-93 (1st
Cir. 1982).

r In light of the strong presumption in favor of maritime liens,
appellant has not met its burden of proving that appellees
deliberately intended to waive their statutory rights to such liens.
See Gulf Oil Trading Co. v. M/V Caribe Mar, 757 F.2d 743, 750 (5th
Cir. 1985); Farrell Ocean Services, Inc. v. United States, 681 F.2d
91, 93-94 (Ist Cir. 1982). Thus, the district court's finding that
appellees did not waive their liens is not clearly erroneous.

We also reject appellant's contention that the claims filed by
the appellees as unsecured creditors in the bankruptcy proceeding
against Uiterwyk Corp., the general agent, operated to release the
maritime liens that the appellees held against the ship. Although
we would be concerned were there a double recovery, we were
advised at oral argument that there has been no distribution in the
bankruptcy proceeding.

22
Appendix A
18

Stevedoring services have generally been treated as
necessaries within the meaning of section 971, see,
e.g., Universal Shipping, Inc. v. Panamanian Flag
Barge, 563 F.2d 483 (lst Cir. 1976), and appellant
acknowledges that stevedoring services give rise to a
maritime lien. It argues, however, that some of the
charges on appellees’ invoices are not “necessaries”.
Specifically, it objects to “charges for overtime,
container royalties, Guaranteed Annual Income
contributions, vacation, pension and welfare portions
of charges for labor, extra labor for truck drivers,
moving containers, and commissions for soliciting
freight” on the ground that these charges do not relate
to services actually provided to the vessel. Appellant's
Brief at 45. |

It is undisputed that most of the items to which
appellant objects represent payments which the
stevedoring companies are required to make to the
stevedores under the applicable collective bargaining
agreements. As such, they are part and parcel of the
cost of stevedoring services and are passed on to the
owner of a vessel. It is an economic fact of life on the
waterfront that if these payments are not made, the
vessel will be unable to obtain the stevedoring services
which are required for the operation of any cargo
bearing ship. See Atlantic and Gulf Stevedores, Inc. v.
M.V. Rosa Roth, 587 F. Supp. 1033, 1035 (S.D.N.Y.
1984). Therefore, we hold that the maritime lien for
necessaries under 46 U.S.C. 8 971 encompasses those
payments covered by the vessel's contract for services
which stevedoring companies must pay to the
stevedores pursuant to the terms of a collective
bargaining agreement.

In this case, the district court required payment of
additional items which are not covered by a collective
bargaining agreement. Semco’'s claim includes
$2,687.10 in manifest and booking commissions for

56
Appendix A

19

services performed by Semco as its agent in procuring
cargo and collecting freight charges. We need not
decide whether cargo itself is a necessary under section
971, see The Majestic II, 285 F. 91 (S.D. Fla. 1922)
(supplier of cargo for resale did not have maritime lien
against vessel which carried the cargo), because we
believe that in any event it is unreasonable to include
commissions for solicitation of freight and provision of
financial services as necessaries. Accord E.S.
Binnings, Inc. v. M/V Saudi Riyadh, 815 F.2d 660,
663 (11th Cir. 1987). Such commissions are outside
the realm of stevedoring maritime contracts and
cannot be the subject of a maritime lien.

The support documents for Semco's claim also
included a bill for $160.00 for moving chassis, which
are the frames used to move large shipping containers
around pier areas. Use of chassis in connection with
loading cargo on and off vessels has been held to be a
necessary giving rise to a maritime lien. See Itel
Containers International Corp. v. Atlanttrafik Express
Service, Ltd., 668 F. Supp. 225, 229 (S.D.N.Y. 1987)
(chassis leased in excess of those actually used on
board ship were necessaries within meaning of 8 971).
In this case, however, Semco's own witness testified
that the bill in question was just for moving chassis
and had “nothing to do with stevedoring.” App. A at
124. To the extent this component of Semco’s claim
and any other components of the other appellees’
claims represent charges for movement of chassis for
purposes not directly related to loading or unloading
the vessel, they are not necessaries giving rise to.
maritime liens.

It is unclear from the record before us whether
there are additional items of the asserted claims which
were not required by the collective bargaining
agreement or which were not necessary to facilitate the
use of the vessel. On remand, the district court should

57
Appendix A
20

adjust any amount which is not consistent with the
above analysis. We assume the parties can agree on
these issues, but if they faii to do so, the district court
may conduct such additional proceedings as required.

V.
PREJUDGMENT INTEREST

Appellant contends that the district court abused
its discretion in awarding prejudgment interest. The
award of prejudgment interest in admiralty cases for
compensatory purposes is within the trial judge's
discretion, and we have held that such interest is to be
denied only in exceptional circumstances. See In re
Bankers Trust Co., 658 F.2d 103, 108 (3d Cir. 1981),
cert. denied, 456 U.S. 961 (1982). Appellant has not
pointed to any exceptional circumstances such as bad
faith by the appellees or delay in prosecution of their
claims which would preclude such an award. Id. We
find no abuse of discretion in this respect in the award
of prejudgment interest.

VI.
CONCLUSION

We recognize that it may appear inequitable to
permit enforcement of maritime liens against a
purchaser without notice of those liens, particularly
when giving notice through registration of the liens is
a simple matter. However, whether such registration
should be imposed as a requirement for the ability to
satisfy liens against a ship when it has been acquired
by a subsequent purchaser ts a policy decision that is
more appropriately made by Congress than by the
courts. The judicial decision on a laches defense must
be made without interposition of our view as to what
the law should be.

58
Appendix A

21

In this case, we cannot say that the outstanding
liens were so long overdue that, in the circumstances
here, the district court was obliged to hold that they
could not be enforced. We will, therefore, defer to the
district court's exercise of its discretion, and we will
affirm its judgment in all respects except that we will
remand for the purpose of its reconsideration of the
items which may appropriately be considered as
necessaries under the Maritime Liens Act in
accordance with our discussion above.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the Untted States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circutt

59

Appendix B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

SOUTHEASTERN MARITIME : CIVIL ACTION
COMPANY, PORT STEVEDORING:
COMPANY, INC., RYAN-WALSH:
STEVEDORING COMPANY,INC. :

VS.
M/V LITSA (Ex.LAURIE U) -:
cope " NO. 83-1614
ADJUDICATION
GREEN, J. APRIL 13, 1988

After a nonjury trial of the three
remaining claims filed against the M/V
Litsa, owned by Star Warrant Shipping
Company ("Star"), I make the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On December 8, 1982, Star pur-
chased and received delivery of a vessel
known as the M/V Laurie U from its owner
Uiterwyk Lines, Ltd., a Liberian company.
Star conducts its business in Greece. A
search of the Liberian ship registry in
New York did not disclose any claims or

maritime liens filed against the vessel,

60

Appendix B
and in fact none of the claims and liens
asserted herein were filed in the Liber-
ian registry. At time of sale said ves-
sel was in the port of Piraeus, Greece.
Star did not know prior to purchase of
the vessel of any of the liens asserted
by intervening plaintiffs.

2. On or about April 6, 1983, said
vessel, then named the M/V Litsa, was
arrested in the port of Philadelphia.
Said arrest was in accordance with Rule
C of the Supplemental Fed. R. Civ. P.

3. On Or about April 8, 1983,
Southeastern Maritime Company ("Semco")
was granted leave to intervene as a
plaintiff in this action pursuant to
petition filed.

4... On April 8, 1983, Port Steve-
doring Company, Inc. ("Port") was granted
leave to intervene as a plaintiff in this

action, pursuant to petition filed.

5. On April 12, 1983, Ryan-Walsh

61

” Appendix B

Stevedoring Company ("Ryan") was granted
leave to intervene as a plaintiff in
this action, pursuant to petition filed.

6. The claims asserted by Semco,
Port and Ryan are for stevedoring ser-
vices, provided to the M/V Laurie U
prior to its change of ownership. The
lien claims are based upon the Federal
Maritime Lien Act, 46 U.S.C. § 971 et
seq.

7. All of the stevedoring services
rendered by intervening plaintiffs were
performed pursuant to contracts with
Uiterwyk Corporation, the general agent :
and operator of said vessel. No con-
tractual relationship exists between the
intervening plaintiffs and Star, the
present owner.

8. Since approximately 1973 Semco
also acted as local special agent on

behalf of Uiterwyk Corporation at the

port of Charleston, South Carolina but

Pe

62

Appendix B

not as general agent of the vessel.

9. All of the intervening plain-
tiffs pursued and sought payment from
Uiterwyk Corporation, however, none of
the intervening plaintiffs intended to
waive lien rights and, in fact, none of
intervening plaintiffs did.

10. Semco learned on approximately
January 27, 1987 that Uiterwyk Corpora-
tion had filed a petition in bankruptcy.
Semco promptly requested the Lloyd's of
London watch service to advise as to the
position, new name and/or new owner of
the M/V Laurie U. There is no evidence
that. Semco knew prior to January 27,
1983 of any change in ownership of the
M/V Laurie U.

ll. Uiterwyk Corporation was the
general agent for the vessel, not Semco.
Semco has a valid maritime lien for the

necessaries furnished to the M/V Litsa.

The evidence of record establishes that

63
Appendix B

Semco acted with extraordinary diligence
in pursuing its claim. Semco is not
guilty of laches or other inequitable
conduct that would defeat Semco's re-
duced claim in the amount of $22,184.87
in whole or in part.

12. Between July 26 and August 6,
1982, in the port of New Orleans, Ryan
performed stevedoring services on the
M/V Laurie U to the amount of $25,404.21.

13. In the port of Houston, Texas,
Port serviced the M/V Laurie U as fol-
lows: between May 13 and May 23, 1982,
services were rendered in the amount of
$112,994.71; between August 11 and
August 14, 1982, services were rendered
in the amount of $46,692.26; between
October 14 and October 20, 1982, ser-
vices were rendered in the amount of
$71,873.97 for a total of $231,560.94.

14. Ryan and Port have valid mari-

time liens for the necessaries furnished

64
Appendix B

to the M/V Litsa. The evidence of re-
cord establishes that Ryan and Port
acted with extraordinary diligence in
pursuing their claims. Ryan and Port
are not guilty of laches or inequitable
conduct that would defeat their claims
in whole or in part.

15. Star's counterclaim asserted
against intervening plaintiffs for un-
lawful arrest of the vessel is not sup-

ported by the evidence.

DISCUSSION

The evidence clearly reveals that
all of the liens are asserted for steve-
doring services provided to the Laurie U
while in United States ports. Said ser-
vices were rendered between May 13, and
October 20, 1982 by Port, between July
26, and August 6, 1982 by Ryan and be-
tween May 27-28, 1982 by Semco. Ex-

penses incurred by the stevedores for

Support services, and labor fringe

65
Appendix B
benefit costs are properly included as
"necessaries" under the Federal Maritime

Lien Act. See TTT Stevedores of Texas,

Inc. v. M/V Jagat Vijeta, 696 F. 2d 1135,

1138 (5th Cir. 1983); Universal Shipping,

Inc. v. Panamanian Flag Barge, 563 F.2d

483, 484 (lst Cir. 1976).

The evidence further discloses that
the Laurie U was in the United States
port of Houston, Texas on October 14 to
21, 1982 and, thereafter, was not ina
United States port until April 2, 1983.
At the time of the ship's sale and de-
livery to the new owner on December 8,
1982, it was anchored in the port of
Piraeus, Greece. The maritime liens
asserted by intervening plaintiffs were
promptly pursued upon learning of the
bankruptcy proceedings involving Uiter-
wyk Corp. and within days of the Laurie

U's return to a United States port. The

arrest of the vessel in Philadelphia and

66
Appendix B

the filing of intervenors' complaints in
this action occurred within six to
eleven months of the rendering of all
stevedoring services by said plaintiffs.

It is true that between October 20,
1982, when the Laurie U departed from the
United States port in Houston, Texas, and
April 2, when it returned to a United
States port in Philadelphia, the inter-
vening plaintiffs had the capacity to
track the ship and to know its where-
abouts in foreign ports. However, the
arrest of the vessel in a foreign port
is not required to preserve a lien under
the Maritime Lien Act. See G. Gilmore

and C. Black, The Law of Admiralty, at

767 (2d ed. 1975).

Thus, I conclude that the inter-
vening plaintiffs exercised the extra-
ordinary high degree of diligence re-

guired to preserve and enforce the mari-

time liens herein asserted. I also

67

Appendix B
conclude that there was no failure to
exercise the extraordinary high degree
of diligence merely because the claims
were not filed with the Liberian Ship
Registry in New York. Obviously, re-
gistration would have given notice of
intervening plaintiffs' liens to a pros-
pective purchaser. However, such notice
is not required as a matter of .law and
the failure to give such notice is
neither probative of an intention not
to acquire a lien nor of an intention

to waive the lien. See Piedmont and

George's Creek Coal Company v. Seaboard

Fisheries Company, 254 U.S. l, 12 (1920)

("The maritime lien is a secret one. It
may operate to the prejudice of mort-
gagees or of purchasers without notice.");

Layton Industries, Inc. v. Sport Fishing

Cruiser Gladiator, 263 F. Supp. 356, 359

(D. Mass. 1967).

The ship owner Star contends that

68

Appendix B
the claims are grossly inequitable.
Star also argues that the claims should
be dismissed for laches. The evidence,
however, does not establish inequitable
conduct as claimed by Star. The fact
that plaintiffs sought payment from
Uiterwyk Corporation, the general agent,
filed claims against the general agent
and participated in bankruptcy proceed-
ings involving the general agent simply
is not probative of inequitable conduct.
Certainly, intervening plaintiffs were
entitled to claim against the general
agent without relinquishing their lien
claims against the vessel. Moreover,
they did not sleep on their rights. As
soon as claimants received notice of the
bankruptcy proceeding against the general
agent, promptly moved to locate, track
and arrest the vessel when it next re-

turned to a United States port. Inter-

vening plaintiffs actively pursued col-

69

Appendix B

lection of their claims and at no time
acted inequitably or to the prejudice
of the new wide owner.

Accordingly, intervening plaintiffs’
liens remain intact and they are en-
titled to recover from the owner of the
vessel the amounts due for stevedoring
services rendered to the vessel plus
prejudgment interest.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. This court has jurisdiction of
the subject matter of this maritime
litigation and the causes of action are
based upon Federal Maritime Lien Act.

2. Intervening plaintiffs, Semco,
Port and Ryan, have maritime liens under
the Federal Maritime Lien Act, 46 U.S.C.
§ 971, by virtue of their supplying
necessaries to the arrested vessel pur-
suant to contract with the vessel's then

general agent. Universal Shipping v.

Panamanian Flag Barge, supra.

70

Appendix B

a An action in rem to enitosce the

maritime liens has been timely brought
pursuant to the Supplemental Rules for
Certain Admiralty and Maritime Claims,
and a full bench trial provided to the
parties.

4. Federal law did not require in-
tervening plaintiffs to file any notice
of claim or lien with the Liberian
Registry.

5. There was no lack of extra-
ordinary diligence by the intervening
plaintiffs in asserting the liens and no
prejudice to defendant resulted from
repeated attempts to collect from
Uiterwyk, Corp.

6. There are no exceptional cir-
cumstances that would make prejudgment
interest inappropriate and, accordingly,
compensatory prejudgment interest from

intervention to date will be awarded at

8% per annum, which approximates the

71

Appendix B

prevailing rate of interest in Pennsyl-

vania at the relevant time. See Matter

of Bankers Trust Co., 658 F.2d 103, 108

(3d Cir. 1981), cert. den. 456 U.S. 961

(1982). Thus, interest will be awarded

to intervening plaintiffs as follows:

=

Semco $8,893.38
Ryan 10,183.95
Port 92,624.37
7. Intervening plaintiffs are

entitled to judgment on the counterclaim

asserted by defendant.

72

Appendix B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

SOUTHEASTERN MARITIME : CIVIL ACTION
_COMPANY, PORT STEVEDORING:
COMPANY, INC., RYAN-WALSH:
STEVEDORING COMPANY, INC.:

vs. :

M/V LITSA (Ex. LAURIE U)-'
IN REM = NO.83-1614

JUDGMENT

AND NOW, this 13th day of April,
1988, IT IS ORDERED that judgment is en-
tered in favor of Southeastern Maritime
Company on its claim and against defend-
ants in the amount of $31,078.28, in-
cluding prejudgment interest to date.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that judgment
is entered in favor of Ryan-Walsh Steve-
doring Company, Inc. on its claim and
against defendants in the amount of
$35,588.16, including prejudgment interest
to date.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that judgment

is entered in favor of Port Stevedoring

i
Appendix B

Company, Inc. on its claim and against
defendants in the amount of $324,185.31,
including prejudgment interest to date.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that judgment
is entered in favor of Southeastern Mari-
time Company, Ryan-Walsh Stevedoring
Company, Inc. and Port Stevedoring
Company, Inc. and against defendant on

defendant's counterclaims.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Clifford Scott Green, J.

CLIFFORD SCOTT GREEN, J.

74

Appendix C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 88-1362

BERMUDA EXPRESS, N.V. SOUTHEASTERN
MARITIME COMPANY, PORT STEVEDORING
COMPANY, INC., RYAN-WALSH STEVEDORING
COMPANY INC., NRS FINANCIAL CORP.,
ASSIGNEE OF MALONE MARINE GROUP, INC.,
ZALESKY, MARVIN d/b/a SEASIDE MARINE
SUPPLY OF HOUSTON, CHARLES L. MOLHO,
d/b/a MANHATTAN SHIP SUPPLY AND
THURMOND SUPPLY CO., INC.,

VS.

M/V LITSA (ex. LAURIE U)
IN REM

M/V LITSA (Ex. LAURIE U),
Appellant

(D.C.Civil No. 83-1614)

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN
\ DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Present: SLOVITER and BECKER, Circuit
Judges and BARRY, District

Judge*

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on

*Hon. Maryanne Trump Barry, United States
District Court for the District of New Jersey,
sitting by designation.

75
Appendix C

the record from the United States
District Court for the Eastern District
of Pennsylvania and was argued by
counsel December 6, 1988.

On consideration whereof, it is now
here ordered and adjudged by this Court
that the judgment of the said District
Court entered Aprii 14, 1988, be, and
the same is hereby affirmed in all
respects except insofar as the matter
is remanded to the said District Court
for reconsideration in accordance with
the opinion of this Court of the items
which may appropriately be considered
as necessaries under the Maritime Liens
Act.

ATTEST:
/s/ Sally Mrovos
Clerk

April 13, 1989

——

Appendix D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 88-1362
BERMUDA EXPRESS, N.V., et al.
V.

M/V LITSA,
Appellant

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

Present: GIBBONS, Chief Judge, SEITZ,
HIGGINBOTHAM, SLOVITER, BECKER, STAPLE-
TON, MANSMANN, GREENBERG, HUTCHINSON,
SCIRICA, COWEN, and NYGAARD, Circuit
Judges, and BARRY, District -Judge*

The petition for rehearing
filed by
M/V LITSA, appellant,
in the above-entitled case having been
Submitted to the judges who participated
in the decision of this court and to all
the other available circuit judges of

the circuit in regular active service,

*Hon. Maryanne Trump Barry, United States
District Court for the District of New Jersey,
sitting by designation.

77
Appendix D
and no judge who concurred in the deci-
Sion having asked for rehearing, and a
majority of the circuit judges of the
circuit in regular active service not
having voted for rehearing by the court

in banc, the petition for rehearing is

denied.

By the Court,

: /s/
: Circuit Judge

Dated: May 9, 1989

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1512%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
