# Opposition Brief — Indiana Civil Rights Commission v. American Commercial Barge Line Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1351%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 492 U.S. 920

## Text

i P FILE®
») wn 19 199
A 4 | josePH F. SPANIOL, Ie
No. 88-1841 a
heen

In The
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989

y%
a

INDIANA CIVIL RIGHTS COMMISSION
and DONNA MARIE WITTE
Petitioners

vs.

AMERICAN COMMERCIAL BARGE
LINE COMPANY
Respondents

A.
4

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE INDIANA COURT OF APPEALS

La.
_

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

y%
=

ROBERT W. KILROY
Attorney at Law

110 Hampstead Village
Hampstead, N.C. 28443
(919) 270-9515

Attorney for Respondent
American Commercial Barge
Line Company

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Does the Admiralty and Maritime jurisdiction of the United States
preempt and exclude the State of Indiana from enforcing its statut-
ory prohibitions against ernployment handicap discrimination upon
the navigable waters of the United States?

Does the federal judicially fashioned doctrine of seaworthiness
constitute “business necessity” under Indiana statutes to exclude
physically handicapped persons from employment as seamen
aboard vessels upon the navigable waters?

May a maritime employer, operating vessels upon the navigable
waters of the United States, maintain and apply minimum physical
standards for seamen to provide a seaworthy vessel and seaworthy
crew?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
GRABS EPUNO PMOENEE tt ee wes i
SAR EOE ge Rs ele eee i
‘Thees C AUTEREIS wt ee ili
SiAtEeen) OF THE CASE ... 1... ce eee 1
eee GT ARGUMENR ow tt we wes 6
| aa ee a arene ca. ay). 7
errr ere errr): 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Alaska $.S. Co. v. Peterson 347 U.S. 396 (1954) ..... 14
Atlantic Transport Co. v. Imbravek 234 U.S. 52 (1914) .. 11
Boudoin v. Lykkes Brothers Steamship Co., Inc.

RI gg we tt tt ee 14,15,16
Cooper v. Reynolds 77 U.S. 309 (1870) .......... 7
Crowell v. Benson 285 U.S. 22 (1956) ........... 9
Crumady v. Joachim Hendrick Fisser

RE tt tt tt tl 14,15
Garrett v. Moore-McCormack Co., Inc.

Ee 13
Gibbons v. Ogden 9 Wheat 1 (1803) ............ 8
Just v. Chambers 302 U.S. 383 (1941) ........... 9
Kelly v. State of Washington, ex rel Foss Co., Inc.

Sg kk tk tt ke 8
Knickerbocker Ice Co. v. Stewart

ES 10,11,18,19
Mahnich v. Southern S.S. Co. 321 U.S. 96 (1944) ... 13,15
Martin v. Hunter’s Lessee 14 U.S. 304 (1816) ....... 8
Minnesota Rate Cases 230 U.S. 352 (1913) ......... 8
Mitchell v. Trawler Racer, Inc. 362 U.S. 539 (1960) ... 14
Oil, Chemical, Atomic Workers International Union v. Mobil

a MP CEG) gw ww kk tt 17,18
Robertson v. Baldwin 165 U.S. 275 (1897) ........ 13

Romero v. International Terminal Operation Co.
EE 9

iV

Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki 328 U.S. 85 (1946) ..... 13
Southern Pacific Company v. Jensen

ee es a ra 10,11, 18,19
The Lattowana 88 U.S. 558 (1875) ............. 9
The Osceola 189 U.S. 158 (1903) ............. 12
The Resolute 168 U.S. 437 (1987) ............. 7
Union Fish Co. v. Erikson 248 U.S. 308 (1948) ....... 9
Waldron v. Moore-McCormack Lines, Inc.

ge eee ee 14,15
Waring v. Clarke 48 U.S. 441 (1847) ............ a

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

DS Se Sd 6 0 Ee Bee eo es 19
NEESER ik 9 6 4 08 6 be eee Cee ee 17
<5 as ek ea eee FO iti 21
cc A ee ae Oe hoe ee ee eo 9
ye aa a 2s oo Ree eee eC oe ees 9
rere ra reereb ese: on er 13
ee I 0s bc te ai ee a ee ee ee 9
ee FO ok ee aed hb ste ets ee ee 12
PEs Seiktx cote. nrc de ea te ent eae errs 9
a SE Fe ok ee ee a ss eee 7,19
U.S. Constitution Article ISection8 .......... 9,10

Pe a er 10

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

American Commercial Barge Line Company (ACBL) operates
a fleet of more than fifty towboats and over 1600 barges upon the
inland rivers and the Gulf of Mexico. The towboats vary in size
from the smaller 800 horsepower tugs measuring 75 feet long and
25 feet wide with a crew of four to the largest 8400 horsepower
towboats measuring 185 feet long by 52 feet wide with a crew of
twelve. While the smaller tugs are used primarily in the fleeting
areas where barges are stored, the larger towboats operate on
the Lower Mississippi River where there are no locks and dams
and there are no restrictions on the size of the tow. The majority
of the vessels operate on the so-called locking rivers. These rivers,
such as the Ohio and Illinois, have a series of dams built upon
them for flood control with adjacent locks to facilitate navigation.
The typical locking river tow consists of fifteen barges, five long
and three wide. The typical barge measures 195 feet long by 35
feet wide. Barges are either open hopper for bulk commodities
such as coal or scrap, covered hopper barges for grain, and tank
barges for carrying liquids.

The typical towboat has a crew of ten consisting of the Master/
Captain, Pilot, Chief Engineer, Cook and six Deckhands. The
routine of the vessel is split into two six-hour watches called the
forward-watch and the after-watch. Each crew member stands
two watches in a twenty-four hour period.

Normal duties on watch include checking all barges for water
leaks and water levels in the void areas between the cargo box
and hull of the barge. If needed, these areas will be pumped,
rigging between barges checked and tightened, maintenance and
general housekeeping performed on the boat. The Pilot and his
assigned Deckhands will perform similar duties on the after-watch.

Engineers as a general rule work the Captain’s watch in the
engine room. They are responsible for the vessel’s machinery from
its main propulsion engines, generators, etc., to deck winches.
Additionally, the Engineer is responsible for fueling the vessel from
vessels brought along side while continuing underway in the river.

l

Cooks generally work in the galley from 5:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
preparing and serving three meals a day for a one-hour period
beginning at 5:30 a.m., 11:30 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. The Cook is
also responsible for ordering groceries from boat stores at various
points on the rivers. The groceries are delivered along with the
fuel. The Cook and Engineer are responsible for the transfer of
fuel and groceries. The vessels continue to move during the course
of transfer. While the Engineer is responsible for the rigging and
connection of fuel lines, the Cook must board the delivery vessel
back and forth to the galley until all groceries have been transferred.

Other employees may be added to the above employees such
as Trainee Engineers and Steermen who are learning to become
river pilots.

River boats do not call at ports or remain too long in any one
area. Crew changes are made at fleeting areas by tugs picking up
and dropping off crew members. They are also made at customer’s
facilities such as grain elevators. They are commonly made at locks
on the locking rivers where crew members must ascend and de-
scent ladders in the lock wall to gain access to the tow. Crew
changes are also made at landing points on the river where skiffs
are brought to the bank. Additionally, crew changes are made by
bringing the head of the tow or stern of the vessel as close as
possible to the bank and having the crew members use a ladder
(sometimes horizontal) for access. A crew member will carry his/
her baggage in this process.

The tow itself presents a number of inherent dangers to the
crew such as carrying wires, lines, ratchets, pumps, groceries or
baggage. The walking surface presents a number of obstacles to
casual strolling such as wires, ratchets, open man-holes, cargo,
snow and ice. The typical twelve-foot deep barge is loaded to a
nine-foot depth while empty barges usually ride at a depth of one
and one-half feet. Where emptys and loads are in tandem, crew
members must climb up and jump down seven or eight feet from
barge to barge while transversing the tow. This maneuver requires
not only alertness and balance, but good eye sight and depth per-

3

ception. The “head of the tow” on a typical five by three barge
locking river tow is 1,000 feet from the boat. On Lower Mississippi
River boats, this may be as much as 1,600 feet.

The current of the river is the most important element to be
considered in the navigation of the vessel and the tow. At times,
even the best and most experienced Captains and Pilots encounter
unexpected changes in river conditions causing loss of control of
the tow. High water and swift currents will take a tow into the
bank. Low water will break a tow from grounding. When a tow
breaks, rigging (1% inch steel cable), ratchets and barge hardware
come apart. The current now takes control of the individual barges
or units of barges creating additional dangers of collision, sinking
and grounding. Into this situation, the entire crew must respond.
The Captain sounds the general alarm and checks to see that all
crew members are accounted for and all crew members are as-
signed tasks in the pursuit of the runaway barges. These are
common occurrences which can traverse many miles of nver and
hours of time. A number of other hazards exist for members of a
river boat crew.

Sinkings are a common occurrence when barges and vessels
strike submerged objects such as a sunken barge whose marker
buoy has been lost. A sinking barge or barges filling with water
breaks its rigging within the tow causing the tow to break-up.
Towboats have been sunk by submerged objects in less than three
minutes when their hulls have been torn open. In one such incident,
a Cook was lost by drowning.

Drownings are a daily hazard of life on the tow and vessel. The
most common drowning occurs off the sides of the tow and boat
when employees, through loss of balance or carelessness, fall over
board beneath the tow or boat. Duck ponds, that open area formed
by the four round corners of barges wired together, present a
hazard at night and to those with poor vision at all times. There
is no escape from a duck pond. The current draws the individual
under the tow.

Fires on vessels occur most commonly from clutch fires. Engines

at full capacity turn at more than 900 rpm. When ice, trees and
other debris foul the vessel’s propellors and the engines continue
to turn at such high speeds, friction at the clutch causes explosion
and fire. Fires must be fought by all crew members and when it
can not be contained, the crew must abandon the vessel and take
refuge on the tow. Liquid cargo in tank barges or coal cargo can
also cause fires on the tow requiring the crew, the entire crew,
to respond with pumps and hoses. Adverse conditions such as ice,
snow and fog delays any help the vessel may receive from other
vessels.

Loss of power from the vessel’s engines and generators causes
loss of electric, pneumatic and hydraulic control of engines and
steering. This commonly occurs after refueling when water is
present in the new fuel.

Weather conditions such as fog, ice, snow, rain, and freezing
rain increase the hazards of working on the tow and boat, of
transfers between the tow, boat and other vessels.

Witte applied for employment as a Cook with the Company on
November 12, 1982. After being interviewed and found to have
the skills required to function as a Cook, Witte was examined by
a Company physician. By letter dated March 8, 1983, Witte was
informed she would not be employed aboard Company vesseis
because she did not possess the minimum vision requirements.
At that time, uniform company policy required that all applicants
for employment aboard Company vessels possess minimum vision
requirements of 20/100 in one eye and 20/70 in the other eye.
Upon examination, Witte was found to have no vision in her night
eye due to congenital cataract.

Witte has acquired depth perception, that is, she can judge
distances and depth from the size of known cues such as the width
of a road or the size of a known object around her. Witte has
worked as a cook in restaurants and children’s camps. Additionally,
she possesses an Associates Degree in food administration. She
has also tended bar and engages in sports such as volleyball and
softball. Witte also drives an automobile without any license

restriction.

Beginning in 1979, the Company developed physical standards
for applicants for vessel positions. These standards as developed
by the American Waterway Operators, the National River
Academy, and the United States Coast Guard standards. While
there are no USCG licensing requirements for Deckhands and
Cooks employed on Company vessels, the aforementioned stan-
dards apply to endorsements, licenses and certificates issued by
the USCG to Deckhands, Cooks, etc., who wish to be certified
as Tankermen, Engineers, and vessel Operators. A Deckhand or
Engineer may not engage in the loading or unloading of liquid
cargoes without a Tankerman’s Certificate issued by the USCG
after testing and physical examination.

These minimum standards developed by the Company were
based on experiences and expertise in the area of marine safety
as they apply to the Company’s working environment and the worst
possible situation. The standards on lifting and the back recognize
the physical burdens of the occupation carrying heavy loads over
uneven surfaces. The eye standard recognizes the hazards of the
environment of getting off/on vessels in all weather at all locations,
tripping and falling hazards, as well as responding to emergencies
where the most eyesight is available such as man overboard or
throwing a life-ring.

Since 1979, these standards have reduced the number of em-
ployee injuries while the number of employees, mandays, and
number of vessels has increased. For the year 1979, there were
258 personal injuries in the fleet. For the year 1985, these were
reduced to 166. After positive drug screens and poor back x-rays,
poor eyesight is the third most common reason for applicant rejec-
tion. Since 1979, 28 other applicants have been rejected for eyes,
including nine for having sight in only one eye.

sa
v—

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

American Commercial Barge Line Company contends that this
Court has, from its beginning, aggressively protected the exclusive
admiralty and maritime jurisdiction of the United States to exercise
their authority upon the navigable waters. The Court has recog-
nized that while some State interests compel or allow regulation
in areas of federal jurisdiction and that it may impact upon interstate
commerce, only the most narrow exceptions have been allowed
to impact upon maritime matters.

To allow the State of Indiana, through its Civil Rights Commis-
sion, to define and equivocate what constitutes a seaworthy person
would disrupt and confuse the guidance and law enunciated by this
Court as to what constitutes a seaworthy vessel and seaworthy
crew.

While the State of Indiana may border and touch upon the navig-
able waters such as Lake Michigan and the Ohio River, its contacts
with things maritime are remote. Its General Assembly has de-
clared as a matter of public policy that handicap employmen: dis-
crimination is unlawful. But this policy and authority does not extend
beyond state borders.

The decision to deny employment to Witte was made in Jeffer-
sonville, Indiana. But this fact alone does not justify extension of
state policy to an area traditionally regulated by the federal govern-
ment, Congress, and the federal Courts. This Court recognized
this when it denied to the state of Texas its right to work state
status upon navigable waters for employment decisions made in
Houston, Texas. The Court focused on the nature and situs of the
employment, not where decisions on employment were made.

The Decision and Order of the Indiana Civil Rights Commission
was overturned by Indiana trial and appellate Courts because the
Commission failed to yield to exclusive maritime jurisdiction and
regulation, and further chose to impose its own brand of seawor-
thiness upon a maritime employer.

ARGUMENT

INDIANA CODE 22-9-1-13 provides:

Sec. 13. (a) The prohibition against discrimination in
employment because of handicap does not apply to failure
of an employer to employ or to retain as an employee
any person who, because of handicap, is physically or
otherwise unable to efficiently and safely perform, at
the standards set by the employer, the duties required
in that job.

(b) After a handicapped individual is employed, the
employer shall not be required under this chapter to
promote or transfer such handicapped person to another
job or occupation, unless, prior to such transfer, such
handicapped person by training or experience is qualified
for such job or occupation.

(c) This section shall not be construed to require any
employer to modify any physical accommodations or ad-
ministrative procedures to accommodate a handicapped
person.

The purpose of this law is to enforce public policy as it applies
to the employment of handicapped persons within the State of
Indiana. It is the employer’s position that it is exempt from coverage
under the Act upon two grounds:

1. Business necessity and safety as provided by statute;

2. Prohibition of employment of handicapped persons upon ves-
sels in the admiralty and maritime jurisdiction of the United States.

A. ADMIRALTY AND MARITIME JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction is the power to adjudicate a case upon its merits and
dispose of it as justice may require. The Resolute 168 U.S. 437
(1987). The jurisdiction of any Court to deal with a subject matter
is derived from constitutional instruments and valid laws. Cooper
v. Reynolds 77 U.S. 309 (1870).

Admiralty and maritime jurisdiction is jurisdiction to adjudicate
on matters which in accordance with the Constitution and valid

8

laws in force are appropriate subjects for determination. The
character of this jurisdiction is indicated broadly by the name itself
and as such it is comprehended within the judicial power of the
United States conferred by the Constitution, Article III, Section
2, which provides:
“The judicial power shall extend . . . to all cases of
admiralty and maritime jurisdiction.”

There is not and has not been a contention between the parties
that the employer’s vessels do not operate within and upon the
admiralty and maritime jurisdiction of the United States.

The purpose of the grant of admiralty and maritime jurisdiction
to the Federal Government was to produce essential harmony and
uniformity, U.S. Constitution, Preamble, to unify the several States
in the national, international and interstate relationships and ali
other purposes were subordinate.

The several States were prohibited from making conflicting laws
on subjects of national interest. Martin v. Hunters Lessee 14 U.S.
304 (1816).

The prevailing purpose is especially evident in che constitutional
grant of judicial power where cases requiring national uniformity
have been transferred from the States to the Federal Government
and the judicial attribute of sovereignty to be exercised by such
courts as Congress should provide. Under our constitutional sys-
tem, there necessarily remains to the States until Congress acts,
a wide range of permissible exercise of power appropmiate to their
territorial jurisdiction although interstate commerce may be af-
fected. Minnesota Rate Cases 230 U.S. 352 (1913). However,
where a conflict exists, the state legislation must fall. Gibbons v.
Ogden 9 Wheat 1, (1803) Kelly v. State of Washington, ex rel
Foss Co. Inc. 302 U.S. 1, (1937).

In the exercise of their admiralty jurisdiction, the federal courts
are not bound by state statutes insofar as they make inroads on
a harmonious and uniform system. State legislation, though recog-
nized in certain aspects, consistent with the general principles and
operation of the maritime law, is not permitted to displace the

characteristic features of the maritime law or to impair the unifor-
mity designed to be established in conferring maritime jurisdiction
on the United States. Union Fish Co. v. Erikson 248 U.S. 308
(1918). Just v. Chambers 302 U.S. 383 (1941), Romero v. Inter-
national Terminal Operation Co. 358 U.S. 354 (1959).

Although no specific or express power exists in the Constitution
conferring on Congress the power to legislate substantive maritime
law and admiralty jurisdiction, certain express powers do exist
such as to define and punish “Piracies and Felonies” on the high
seas. The power “to regulate commerce” authorizes a great portion
of maritime law. Additionally, the power “to make all Laws which
shall be necessary and proper” to carry out and execute all the
powers granted to the Federal Government. U.S. Constitution,
Article I, Section 8, Crowell v. Benson 285 U.S. 22 (1956).

Congress thus has the paramount and undisputed power to fix,
determine, alter and revise the maritime law which shall prevail
throughout the United States. Waring v. Clarke 48 U.S. 441 (1847),
the Lattowanna 88 U.S. 558 (1875).

Pursuant to its powers, Congress has from the beginning regu-
lated shipping and maritime matters, 46 U.S.C. 740 which provides:

“The admiralty and maritime jurisdiction of the United
States shall extend to and include all cases of damage
or injury, to person or property, caused by a vessel on
navigable water, notwithstanding that such damage or
injury be done or consummated on land.

In any such case suit may be brought in rem or in
personam according to the principles of law and the rules
of practice obtaining in cases where the injury or damage
has been done and consummated on navigable water:. . .”

Additionally, Congress has defined the rights and remedies of
seamen and other maritime workers. Longshoremen and Harbor
Workers Compensation Act, 33 USC 901 et seq, Jones Act 46
USC 688 as well as nghts and remedies under the Federal Employ-
ers Liability Act 45 USC 50 et seq. The Longshoremen and Harbor
Workers Compensation Act was the congressional response to the

10

Supreme Court’s ruling negating the exercise of any state powers
even when authorized by Congress, over essential federal maritime
jurisdiction where this exercise of power conflicted with maritime
law. Southern Pacific Company v. Jensen 224 U.S. 225 (1917),
Knickerbocker Ice Co. v. Stewart 253 U.S. 149 (1920).

Like many states at the turn of the century, New York enacted
a workmens compensation scheme for injuries and death occurring
within the course and scope of employment.

Jensen was employed as a stevedore for Southern at its Pier
49, North River, Manhattan facilities. While engaged in unloading
a vessel belonging to Southern, which was berthed at Pier 49 and
laying upon the navigable waters of the United States, Jensen was
killed. Upon a claim filed by his survivors, the State Industrial
Commission made an award to Jensen’s survivors of weekly ben-
efits. Upon the appeal of Southern, the New York Court of Appeals
upheld the award.

Upon appeal to the United States Supreme Court, Southern
argued that the New York statutory scheme was unconstitutional
and that it conflicted with admiralty jurisdiction and imposed a
burden on interstate commerce. The Supreme Court agreed, holding:

“Plaintiff in error being an interstate common carrier by
railroad, is responsible for injuries received by employ-
ees while engaged therein under Federal Employers
Liability Act.” and “As applied here the Workmens Com-
pensation Act conflicts with the general maritime law
which constitutes an integral part of the Federal Law
under Article III, Section 2 of the Constitution and to
that extent is invalid.”

The court reasoned the judicial power of the United States
extended to all cases of admiralty and maritime jurisdiction pursuant
to the Constitution, and further, that pursuant to Article I, Section
8, Congress has all the powers necessary and proper to execute
the foregoing power. The Court found that Jensen’s employment
as a stevedore was maritime in nature, his employment was a
maritime contract, the injuries which he received were likewise

11

maritime, and that the rights and liabilities of the parties in connec-
tion therewith were matters clearly within the admiralty jurisdic-
tion, citing Atlantic Transport Co. v. Imbravek 234 U.S. 52 (1914)
which found injuries sustained by stevedores in the loading and
unloading of cargo aboard vessels to be maritime injuries.

Knickerbocker arose as a result of the Congressional response
to Jensen. In October 1917, Congress amended the judicial code
relative to jurisdiction of federal courts as established by the
Judiciary Act of 1789. Congress sought to amend the “saving to
suitors” clause to include “and to claimants the rights and remedies
under the Workmens Compensation law of any state.”

Stewart was employed as a bargeman for Knickerbocker when
he fell into the Hudson River and drowned on August 3, 1918. His
widow made a claim under the New York Workemens Compensa-
tion statute and received an award from the Industrial Commission.
On appeal by Knickerbocker of the foregoing award, the U.S.
Supreme Court reversed, concluding that the enactment was an
attempt by Congress to authorize the states to apply their respec-
tive Workmens Compensation statutes to the admiralty and
maritime jurisdiction of the United States. As so construed, the
Court stated:

“. . . we think the enactment is beyond the power of
Congress. Its power to legislate concerning rights and
liabilities within the maritime jurisdiction, and remedies
for their enforcement, arises from the Constitution as
above indicated. The definite object of the grant was to
commit direct control to the federal government, to
relieve maritime commerce from unnecessary burdens
incident to discordant legislation, and to establish, as far
as practicable, harmonious and uniform rules applicable
through every part of the Union.”

“. . . The subject was entrusted to it, to be dealth
with it according to its discretion - not for delegation to
others.”

“Obviously, if every state may freely declare the

12

rights and liabilities incident to maritime employment,
there will at once arise the confusion and uncertainty
which framers of the Constitution both foresaw and un-
dertook to prevent.”

The social policies evidenced by the several states with their
Workmens Compensation statutes were adapted by Congress with
the passage of the Jones Act and the Longshoremen and Harbor
Workers Compensation Act.

Having established the power of Congress and Federal Courts
to regulate maritime employment, what recognized prohibitions
exist to exclude handicapped persons from maritime employment.
B. THE DOCTRINE OF SEAWORTHINESS

Pursuant to the provisions of 46 USC 713:

“.. . every person having the command of any vessel
belonging to any citizen of the United States shall be
deemed to be the “master” thereof; and every person
(apprentices excluded) who shall be employed or en-
gaged to serve in any capacity on board the same shall
be deemed and taken to be a ‘seaman’; and the term
‘vessel’ shall be understood to comprehend every de-
scription of navigating on any sea or channel, lake or
river...”

Prior to the enactment of the Jones Act in 1920, the seaman
had no remedy against a shipowner beyond maintenance and cure
(maritime workmens compensation) for injuries caused by negli-
gence of the ship’s officers and crew. There was a right to indemnity
for injuries caused by the shipowner’s negligent failure to maintain
the vessel and its appliances in seaworthy condition. These rights
were summarized in The Osceola 189 U.S. 158 (1903).

“That the vessel and her owner are, both by English
and American law, liable to an indemnity for injuries
received by a seaman in consequence of the unseawor-
thiness of the ship, or a failure to supply and keep in
order the proper appliances appurtenant to the ship. . .”

For almost twenty-five years after its passage, the Jones Act

13

was the seamen’s chief vehicle for recovery for personal injuries.
The Supreme Court’s recognition in 1944 that warranty of seawor-
thiness was totally divorced from fault concepts furnished an en-
tirely new source of recovery. Mahnich v. Southern S.S. Co. 321
U.S. 96, Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki 328 U.S. 85 (1946).

The question of what constitutes negligence under the Jones
Act has assumed less and less importance as the scope of the
warranty of seaworthiness has expanded. Since a seaman is not
entitled to independent recoveries for negligence and seaworthiness,
and since negligence is more difficult to prove than seaworthiness
and because negligence requires a showing of actual or constructive
knowledge, the liability for unseaworthiness has expanded to un-
manageable proportions.

In Mahnich, the seaman plantiff was injured when the rope sup-
porting the staging on which he was working parted. The rope
which had been supplied by the mate had never been used and
appeared to be in sound condition. Although there was every indi-
cation that the mate had acted with due diligence in selecting the
rope, and that his choice was only fortuitously bad since other
sound rope was available, the Court found that the vessel was
unseaworthy and plaintiff entitled to indemnity for his injuries. The
shipowner’s “duty to furnish the employee with safe appliances
and a safe place to work” was held to be non-delegable and not
qualified by the fellow servant rule in the same manner that these
defenses are precluded under the Jones Act.

The fellow servant doctrine, contributory negligence, and as-
sumption of the risk are not available to employers pursuant to
the Jones Act and the Federal Employers Liability Act and prior
releases or contracts of exemption are void. 45 USC 50, 53 and
54, Robertson v. Baldwin 165 U.S. 275 (1897), Garrett v. Moore
McCormack Co. Inc. 317 U.S. 269 (1942).

Two years later, the Supreme Court decided Sieracki and reem-
phasized the absolute independence of the seaworthiness warranty
from negligence notions. In this case, a longshoreman, while en-
gaged in the unloading of a vessel, was injured when a shackle

14

broke which supported a cargo boom. Improper forging had caused
the defect which was not detectable by visual inspection. In holding
that the ship was unseaworthy, the Court observed that unseawor-
thiness is:

“essentially a species of liability without fault” and that

“the liability is neither limited by conceptions of negli-

gence nor contractual in nature” and that

“ft is a form of absolute duty owing to all within the

range of its humanitarian policy.”

The doctrine of unseaworthiness is ensuing years moved from
defective gear and appurtenances to include: defective equipment
not owned by the shipowner but brought aboard by stevedores,
Alaska S.S. Co. v. Peterson, 347 U.S. 396 (1954); a crew that
was unfit, Boudoin v. Lykkes Brothers Steamship Co. Inc. 348
U.S. 336 (1955); a vessel that was undermanned, Waldron V.
Moore-McCormack Lines Inc. 386 U.S. 724 (1967); or incompe-
tently manned, Boudoin supra; a method of work that was unsafe,
Crumady v. Joachim Hendrik Fesser 358 U.S. 423 (1959); and a
temporary condition, Mitchell v. Trawler Racer, Inc. 362 U.S. 539
(1960). Shipowners became virtual insurers of seamen’s safety.
The seaworthiness of a ship, her equipment, appurtenances and
crew is a relative concept dependent in each instance upon the
circumstances which its fitness is drawn into question.

The formulation most often quoted is that of the Supreme Court
in Mitchell:

“The owner is not obligated to furnish an accident free
ship. The duty is absolute, but it is a duty only to furnish
a vessel and appurtenances reasonably fit for their in-
tended use. The standard is not perfection but reason-
able fitness; not a ship that will weather every storm
or withstand every imaginable peril of the sea but a
vessel reasonably suited for her intended purpose.”

In Mitchell, a seaman was injured when he slipped on slime and
fish gurry which had accumulated on the ship’s rail during the
unloading process. The voyage had been completed and Mitchell

15

was leaving the ship for shore when the injury occurred. The Court
specifically held:
“Liability for a temporary unseaworthy condition is no
difference from the liability which attaches when the
condition is permanent.”

In Crumady, the piaintiff, a stevedore, was injured when a cargo
boom and tackle were rated at three tons. The winch controlling
the wire through which the boom and tackle operated had an
electrical cut-off device which was set at a 6 ton limit by the
stevedores. The Court found the vessel unseaworthy for the fact
that it supplied a winch having a safety load set far in excess of
the cargo boom and tackle. The Court held, citing Mahnich:

“as to appliances, the duty of the shipowner does not
end with supplying them; he must keep them in order.
The shipowner is not relieved of these responsibilities
by turning control of the loading and unloading of the
ship to a stevedoring company.”

Waldron involved a suit for personal injuries against the ship-
owner for injuries caused when too few men were assigned to the
task. Plaintiff and four other seamen were engaged in handling
lines while the ship was being docked. At the last minute, the third
mate who was directing the operation ordered plaintiff and another
seaman to uncoil and carry an 8 inch rope to the side of the vessel.
In the course of this assignment, he fell and was injured.

In finding that insufficient manpower assigned to a particular
task can result in unseaworthiness, the Court, citing Boudoin, saw
no reason to draw a line between incompetent or insufficient seamen:

“This analysis, we believe, is required by a clear recog-
nition of the needs of the seaman for protection from
dangerous conditions beyond his control and the role of
the unseaworthiness doctrine which, by shifting the risk
to the shipowner, provides that protection. If petitioner
had been ordered to use a defective pulley in the lifting
the rope he would clearly be protected by the doctrine
of seaworthiness. If the pulley itself were sound but

16

petitioner had been ordered to load too much rope but
two of them lacked the strength of ordinary efficient
seamen, petitioner would again be protected. Should
this protection be denied merely because the shipowner
instead of supplying petitioner with unsafe gear, insuffi-
cient gear or incompetent manual assistance, assigned
him insufficient manual assistance. We think not. . .”

Boudoin arose out of a suit by a seaman for injuries and loss of
wages as a result of an attack upon him by a fellow crew member.
The evidence showed, and the District Court found, his assailant
was drunk at the time, and in addition, had a savage disposition
as to endanger others working on the ship.

In affirming this decision, the Supreme Court stated:

“We see no reason to draw a line between the ship and
the gear on the one hand and ship’s personnel on the
other.”

Defective personnel were to be measured by the “usual and
customary standard of the calling.” The court found the District
Court justified in concluding that plaintiffs assailant:

“. . Was not equal in disposition to the ordinary men
of the calling and that the crew with Gonzales as a
member was not competent to meet the contingencies
of the voyage.”

From the foregoing, several principles of exclusive federal
maritime law apply:

1. A seaworthy vessel is a vessel that is fit for its par-
ticular purpose;

2. The shipowner has an absolute duty to provide a
seaworthy vessel to its crew;

3. The warranty of seaworthiness applies to the vessel,
its equipment, its appurtenances, and its crew;

4. Seaworthiness is a judicially fashioned doctrine applic-
able by the United States Constitution to admiralty and
maritime jurisdiction of the United States;

5. Maritime negligence, as it applies to seamen’s death

17

and injuries, is a federal policy enacted by Congress and
applies to the admiralty and maritime jurisdiction of the
United States;

6. The several States may not legislate contrary to a
uniform maritime law.

That the several states may not legislate contrary to federal
maritime law was decided in Oil, Chemical, Atomic Workers, Inter-
national Union v. Mobil Oil Co. 426 U.S. 407 (1976). This case
involved the conflict between federal and state statutes regulating
employment.

Under the National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. 151 Et.
Seq., Section 14(b) allows the individual States to enact so-called
right to work laws. Section 8 (a)(3) of the Act provides that parties
to a collective bargaining agreement may make membership in the
Union a condition of employment, and thus, the obligation to pay
Union dues and assessments. Section 14(b) allows the individual
States the option of exempting themselves by legislation from the
Union membership requirements. Texas had for many years been
a right to work State. The parties to the OCAW/Mobil Agreement
had had a collective bargaining relationship for many years, and
during that period of time, negotiated and administered several
collective bargaining agreements.

After their most recent agreement was executed, and containing
the same Union security language as had existed in prior agree-
ments, the Company announced it would no longer force the Union
security provisions requiring membership in the Union as a condi-
tion of employment.

The Union filed suit for enforcement of the agreement in Federal
Court. The Company defended on the basis that its Marine Trans-
portation Division was located in Houston, Texas, and under Texas
law, the right to work provisions of the Union security language
of the agreement were unenforceable and void. The evidence in-
dicated that all personnel records, decision, and payroll were made
in Houston. The evidence also indicated that none of the employees
in the bargaining unit worked in Texas but aboard vessels of the

18

Company upon the navigable waters. The Union argued that the
provisions of 14{b) were not applicable to the exclusive federal
maritime jurisdiction.

The Supreme Court adopted the Union’s arguments on the facts.
The Court found Mobil’s employees to be seamen who worked
exclusively upon navigable waters and thus found 14(b) inapplicable.

The same rational applies to the present case. The hiring deci-
sions and employment policies of ACBL arise in Jeffersonville,
Indiana. However, the work situs of its employees is upon the
navigable waters. This is exclusive federal jurisdiction. It is exclu-
sive in terms of situs and employee status as seamen. The appli-
cation of State employment law, contrary to maritime policy, is
prohibited. OCAW, Jensen, Knickerbocker, supra.

>

19

CONCLUSION

Petitioner’s argument faults the Indiana Court of Appeals for
relying upon the provisions of 28 U.S.C. 1331 (1) to support its
judgement in the matter. Petitioner fails to note the Indiana Court
of Appeals also relied upon the decisions of this Court in Jensen
and Knickerbocker supra to reach its conclusions.

Petitioner’s argument that the “saving to suitors” provisions of
28 U.S.C. 1331 (1) allows Indiana to exercise its statutory authority
upon the navigable waters, patently ignores the law in Knicker-
bocker. If Congress could not constitutionally delegate jurisdiction
to New York for its Workmens Compensation scheme upon the
navigable waters, certainly Indiana can not usurp it by statutory
fiat against handicap discrimination upon navigable waters.

Next, Petitioner faults the Indiana Court of Appeals for:

(a) failing to apply the right standard of seaworthiness;

(b) applying the wrong standard of seaworthiness;

(c) by holding that maritime industry standards take
precedence over state law when they conflict.

While this characterization may be slanted by perception and
advocacy, Petitioner has failed to demonstrate any logical connec-
tion between its conclusions above and the Opinion of the Indiana
Court of Appeals.

What the Indiana Court of Appeals states was that the Indiana
Civil Rights Commission

“failed to apply or even consider the seaworthiness doc-
trine in evaluating Wittes claim.”

The Indiana Court of Appeals specifically relied upon Indiana
law, the “safety and efficiency” condition of IC 22-9-1-13 (a) and
found that it does not conflict with the federal seaworthiness doc-
trine, and concluded,

“in this case, resort to the seaworthiness doctrine was
necessary to preserve uniformity in the industry.”

No standards of seaworthiness were altered, amended, changed,
applied or misapplied. Simply stated, the Indiana Civil Rights Com-

20

mission ERRED by failing to consider and apply admiralty law.

Finally, Petitioner notes that American Commercial Barge Line,
at the hearing in the matter, failed to show that “having monocular
vision affects a person’s ability to function.”

At the hearing in the matter, the question presented to
Petitioner’s alleged expert witness stated:

Q: Let me ask you this question Mr. Silver. Again
based on your experience, your expertise, your visit to
the vessel, your knowledge of Miss Barone, could you
tell me what vision she would have if a foreign object
were to lodge in her eye, her good eye, the eye from
which she has vision, would you tell me what vision she
would have?

A: WELL, MOMENTARILY SHE WOULDN’T
HAVE ANY VISION. Transcript of Hearing - Page 64.

A blind seaman responding to an emergency of the vessel be-
comes an emergency to the detriment of the vessel and the remain-
der of the crew.

As for its reasons why certiorari should be granted, Petitioner
states “a lot of confusion exists” as to how far States can go in
regulating the employment practices of maritime employers. With-
out any facts or circumstances to support this conclusion, Petitioner
asks the Court to clanfy this area of the law. To date, the only
confusion that has existed in this matter has been that of the Indiana
Civil Rights Commission, not maritime employers or the Courts.

While this case may be important to the people of Indiana, it
has been the people’s elected judges who have concluded the
Indiana Civil Rights Commission has erred. While the minimum
physical standards of American Commercial Barge Line prohibit
“a lot of handicapped people” from working on its vessels, these
standards have a rational connection to industry hazards, safety
and efficiency considerations.

There is nothing in the record of this case, or extant events,
which give this case “national implications.” It is a simple case of
state administrative agency error which has been connected by

21

State Courts.

Petitioners are simply incorrect as to their characterization that
federal law does not prohibit discrimination in employment based
on handicap. The Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. 701 et
seq. prohibits employment discrimination based on handicap, and
these provisions are enforced by the Department of Labor, Office
of Federal Contractor Compliance.

For all the foregoing reasons, Petitioners Writ of Certiorari
should be denied.

—{ Gate

Robert W. Kilroy
Attorney for Respondents
110 Hampstead Village
Hampstead, N.C. 28443
(919) 270-9515

22
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned, a member of the Bar and Officer of this Court,
certifies that three (3) copies of the foregoing Brief In Opposition
were served this _“ 7 td day of June, 1989 by first class
mail, postage prepaid, and addressed to:

Legal Division

Indiana Civil Rights Commission
Attn: Roy D. Rogers/Gary C. Lamey
32 E. Washington Street, Suite 900
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

ee face lteoy

a Robert W. Kilroy
Attorney for Respondents
110 Hampstead Village
Hampstead, N.C. 28443
(919) 270-9515

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1351%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
