# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Illinois v. Vought

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1308%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 492 U.S. 911

## Text

MAY 5 1969
whee F SPANIOL, SR
Qe...

No.

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octosper TERM, 1988

—
—

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Pe titione a

BARTLETT VOUGHT,
Respond hi ft.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS,
SECOND JUDICIAL DISTRICT

NEIL F. HARTIGAN

Attorney General, State of Illinois
ROBERT J. RUIZ

Solicitor General, State of Illinois
TERENCE M. MADSEN
MARCIA LL. FRIEDL *

Assistant Attorneys Genera!

100 West Randolph Street, 12th Floor

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 917-2127

Counsel for Petitione)

* Counsel of Reeord

Printed by Authority of the State of Illinois (P.O. 34450-—5i—5-2-89)

bo

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether evidence must be suppressed merely because
it is secured in a governmental search conducted pur-
suant to a mistaken though reasonable belief in facts
establishing valid consent?

Whether a governmental search can remain within the
scope of a prior private search as contemplated by United
States v. Jacobsen where, though the searches involved
entry into a suspect’s home, no additional fourth amend-
ment interests of the suspect could conceivably have
been compromised by the official intrusion?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..................
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ........... anes
Bog it i we 8% (Snr a rear eere es ec
PUG EROEE. cas cane n ect b seuss ae en eee.
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED ..
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...............
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT:

I.

THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI
TO RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE JU-
RISDICTIONS AND CORRECT THE RULING
BELOW THAT EVIDENCE MUST BE SUP.-
PRESSED MERELY BECAUSE IT IS SE-
CURED IN A GOVERNMENTAL SEARCH
CONDUCTED PURSUANT TO A MISTAKEN
THOUGH REASONABLE BELIEF IN FACTS
ESTABLISHING VALID CONSENT ........

II.
CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED BE-
CAUSE THE HOLDING BELOW CONFLICTS
WITH THOSE FOURTH AMENDMENT PRIN-

CIPLES ANNOUNCED BY THIS COURT IN
UNITED STATES V. JACOBSEN ..........

CPN AIGHOIN icc cueudiee sees sene au enuehes

il
APPENDIX

APP.
PAGE

Opinion of the Appellate Court of Illinois, Second
Judicial District, September 15, 1988 .......... 1-13

Order of the Appellate Court of Illinois, Second
Judicial District, Denying Petition for Rehearing,

eae k cases ene scsnces 14
Order of the Supreme Court of Illinois Denying
Petition for Leave to Appeal, February 1, 1989 .. 15

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE
Commonwealth v. Wahlstrom, 375 N.E.2d 706
Te tke ee ccecces 6

Flanagan v. State, 440 So.2d 13 (Fla.App. Ist
EI ee

Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 166 (1978) ......
Illinois v. Krull, 480 U.S. 340 (1987) .........
Mincey v. Arizona, 437 U.S. 385 (1978) .......
Nix v. State, 621 P.2d 1347 (Alaska 1981) .....

People v. Adams, 53 N.Y.2d 1, 422 N.E. 537, cert.
denied, 454 U.S. 854 (1981) ............... 8

People v. Gary, 387 N.W.2d 877 (Mich. App.
GaSe bce psc a ces cccessccces 6

People v. Jacobs, 43 Cal.3d 472, 729 P.2d 757
ES 6

People v. Miller, 40 Ill.2d 154, 238 N.E.2d 407,
cert. denied, 393 U.S. 961 (1968) ........... 6

Aanan Qo

iV
Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218 (1973) ..

Snyder v. State, 738 P.2d 1303 (Nev. 1987) ....

State v. Carsey, 295 Or. 32, 664 P.2d 1085
(RROD. inc Re VE eo ee eee ee eae

State v. Castaneda, 150 Ariz. 382, 724 P.2nd 1
(ERRG i Oe ico s oa aba cee eee

State v. Christian, 26 Wash. App. 542, 613 P.2d
1199, affd., 95 Wash.2d 655, 628 P.2d 806 (1981)
GE BONED cs teres he pa eae ee ee eee

State v. No Heart, 353 N.W.2d 43 (S.D. 1984) ..

United States v. Hamilton, 792 F.2d 837 (9th Cir.
TS gcac uc ckackdoksseetere eee eee

United States v. Jacobsen, 466 U.S. 109 (1984) ..
United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897 (1984) .....

United States v. Matlock, 415 U.S. 164 (1974) . =

United States v. Miller, 800 F.2d 129 (7th Cir.
Dc bad kc San eee ere ee

| ere err er re rorm yer y trey da

United States v. Zapata-Tomallo, 833 F.2d 25 (2nd
CA. TIE) 54 Seek a ee

Constitutional Provision
Us. Come. Ae. TV eee ina oes eee

sSjn oOo mD

6

or)

In THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Octroser TERM, 1988

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,
Petitioner,

VS.

BARTLETT VOUGHT,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRiTf OF CERTIORARI
TO THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS,
SECOND JUDICIAL DISTRICT

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Appellate Court of Illinois, Second
Judicial District, is reported at 174 IIll.App.3d 563, 528
N.E.2d 1095, and reproduced in the Appendix hereto.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Appellate Court of Illinois, Second
Judicial District, reversing respondent’s conviction of De-
cember 8, 1986, was entered on September 15, 1988. A

=
timely Petition for Rehearing was denied by the appellate
court October 14, 1988, and a timely Petition for Leave
to Appeal was denied by the Illinois Supreme Court Feb-
ruary 1, 1989. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1257(8).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment IV:

The right of the People to be secure in their per-
sons, houses, papers and effects, against unreasonable
searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no
Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, sup-
ported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly de-
scribing the place to be searched and the person or
things to be seized.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent was charged in the Circuit Court of the
18th Judicial Circuit, DuPage County, Illinois, with the
June 23, 1986, possession of and intent to deliver more
than 30 grams of a controlled substance containing cocaine.
(C. 7) Prior to trial, respondent filed a motion to suppress
cocaine and post-arrest statements, alleging that law en-
forcement’s entry into his motel room June 23 violated the
fourth amendment.

At the hearing on respondent’s motion, Karen Morlock,
General Manager of the Holiday Inn in Itasca, Illinois,

—3..

testified that while on duty at 2:45 p.m. June 23, 1986,
she was informed of the following by Executive House-
keeper Marina Garcia: After the 1:00 p.m. checkout time
that date, maid Anna Olivares intended to clean room 219
because it was due to be a checkout. (C. 73-75) When she
discovered a ‘Do Not Disturb” sign on the door, Olivares
informed Garcia, who knocked on the door, received no
answer, opened the door, and told Olivares to clean the
room because she saw nothing within. (C. 75) While clean-
ing the room, Olivares discovered an old suitcase and
again retrieved Garcia, who opened the suitcase and saw
white powder. (C. 76) Motel employee Richard Limukovic
then entered the room and observed that the white
powder was cocaine (a portion of which authorities later
learned he tasted and pocketed). (C. 76-77, 92, 104-05)

Morlock called the Itasca Police after having been im-
mediately informed of the discovery. (C. 77) At 3:00 p.m.,
Detective Rusty Votava was dispatched to the Holiday
Inn to speak to Manager Morlock. (C. 91) She related her
conversation with Garcia, and told Votava that the room
had been vacated. (C. 88, 92-93, 115) The two then went
to the room, where Morlock knocked on the door and
opened it with her pass key after receiving no answer.
Upon entering the room, Votava looked about for per-
sonal belongings and saw no clothing or other personal ef-
fects. (C. 95, 110) However, there were a small amount
of change, a hotel key, and two pieces of scratch paper
left on the television. (C. 95) Votava then walked to the
other end of the room and saw a closed but unlocked suit-
case which neither he nor Morlock opened. (C. 96-98) As
Votava picked up the phone to call for assistance in secur-
ing the room, respondent appeared. (C. 98)

Upon respondent’s entry, Votava identified himself as
a police officer, exhibited his badge, and asked respon-

— ia

dent his name and what he was doing in the room. (C.
99-100) Respondent informed that his name was Bart and
the room his, but denied knowledge of who might own
the suitcase. (C. 100) When respondent was asked if he
would mind if Votava opened the suitcase, he said, “No,
go ahead. It’s not mine.” (C. 100) Votava proceeded to
open the suitcase and observed four plastic bags, one of
which was open and leaking a white powdery substance.
(C. 100)

It was stipulated that respondent rented room 219 the
nights of June 21 and 22. (C. 71) Olivares noted clothes
hanging up in the room during his occupancy. (C. 79) Her
Housekeeper’s Report, which had been prepared at 2:00
a.m. June 23 by an auditor and received in the housekeep-
ing department by 7:00 a.m., reflected that room 219 was
to be a 1:00 p.m. check out. (C. 80-82) However, respon-
dent had in fact paid for an additional night sometime be-
tween 7:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. June 23 and was a reg:
istered guest for that date. (C. 71-72, 82-83) Prior to
Votava's entry into room 219, neither he nor any hote:
employee checked with the front desk guest registry to
ascertain whether that morning respondent had extended
his stay. (C. 84)

Based on the evidence elicited, petitioner argued that
Officer Votava’s conduct was permissible because Manager
Morlock had apparent authority to consent to the entry
into room 219 and because law enforcement intrusion on
privacy interests did not exceed the scope of an already
completed private search. Petitioner also argued that, in
any event, the exclusionary rule should not be applied
because the officer’s actions were taken in good faith. (C.
122-26) The trial court held that Officer Votava’s entry
into an apparently unoccupied motel room was proper and

“ T . 4 ~ 4
i bh i
ry? , , ry? , , " , , > > , *
at { ‘= ©, it ¥ is ’ 4 2 > 4 ‘ t t
; | “7
. { ~
a i i
4
ay wise ‘ +} = ‘ all { | : 5 Q .
&) ei, A t 1} e, . t ( 4 s ‘ ‘ s \ .
i i
‘ 1) +» + . ++ > " > + rot rot ‘ }
i a A7is \ pt LLIVITIE 4 oh © | Coss 4ii\ PEILeT ave .
) ry nts nr nt if i ns .
iryvu ‘ t’>st eu oe | y+ A :
T
reat . ry)? ~ ’ 1) } +
18a SUDD ~ eV ide t i it 1
+4 > \ + > _ »\ + »
ivas n ¢ ry was
\7 ‘ 4 }
’ ’ , ri? t y rif Tna?T re ?
‘ vi no a 4a alu . J SC ril, la res,ul
. ‘ a
a ? Yr)? T Das ao rT? < y ry) , ‘ne Y y ry) 4
. st SsCa Al ant iis UCallI©, alld is
‘ —_ + ‘ + _ _ _ + on 4 1 } +1 . " ‘ nt
i es SLALt ¢ Ss were al ead Dy ne lieya. enury,
‘ . } ¢ +} 4 > + +} lyre} or y
A , & i ia CACECD . exciuslonary Uiit
rr} g
. + ; *\Y ‘ , +> aS a > *¢ »* a i no > yy
d Aj} cu t } a CAL b IIt COUT wi
‘ >
‘ 7 . thes 4 yr Votay oo — ee oe :
c t i a {) iva > a i is UUIUG 110 LIK 7
lent em Mntnatieadl thin +) hose f +}
‘ ~ \ ‘ } ‘ \ ‘ [>¢) (is () ‘
4 4 4 ‘. A ‘ il |
ne + ' *\Y ; yb \ mr 11? orl, +}
A iu t i , y ALS sta AACCUTCUILIIRIY, t
. 4
+} + |
ye? roy , 1¢ ‘1 | ¥ i rs " +, j A ners . Ney) al r c% a
, , , ’ ‘ r\t ? ? ) of = ry ri? : : r)
‘ ePSIK i¢ ~ = i ¢ iL¢ @eTILS OULd Le ;
t }
. | 7 ftor reatit ner \ a ' 1
a . i‘ . i x 4 b wad it if ‘
Y
4 eal. ? Ye Tyre! t { ° rié ~ es I res
¢
,
:]
5
a]
<
i
“
?

a

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI TO RE-
SOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE JURISDICTIONS AND
CORRECT THE RULING BELOW THAT EVIDENCE
MUST BE SUPPRESSED MERELY BECAUSE IT IS
SECURED IN A GOVERNMENTAL SEARCH CON.
DUCTED PURSUANT TO A MISTAKEN THOUGH REA-
SONABLE BELIEF IN FACTS ESTABLISHING VALID
CONSENT.

In United States v. Matlock, 415 U.S. 164, 177 n. 14
(1974), this Court left open the question of whether a
search is rendered unreasonable under the fourth amend-
ment merely because consent to search was obtained from
a third party later determined not to have in fact pos-
sessed sufficient control over the premises searched. The
holding of the court below, that actual authority is a con-
stitutional prerequisite to consent searches, is erroneous
and in conflict with the majority of jurisdictions resolv-
ing the issue.! Moreover, the court’s invocation of the ex-

1 See United States v. Miller, 800 F.2d 129 (7th Cir. 1986); United
States v. Hamilton, 792 F.2d 837 (9th Cir. 1986); United States
v. Zapata-Tamallo, 833 F.2d 25 (2nd Cir. 1987); United States v.
Peterson, 524 F.2d 167 (4th Cir. 1975); State v. Castaneda, 150
Ariz. 382, 724 P.2nd 1 (1986) (en banc); Snyder v. State, 738 P.2d
1303 (Nev. 1987); Commonwealth v. Wahlstrom, 375 N.E.2d 706
(Mass. 1978); Nix v. State, 621 P.2d 1347 (Alaska 1981); People
v. Jacobs, 43 Cal.3d 472, 729 P.2d. 757 (1987) (en banc); State v.
No Heart, 353 N.W.2d 43 (S.D. 1984); State v. Christian, 26 Wash.
App. 542, 613 P.2d 1199, affd on other grounds, 95 Wash.2d 655,
628 P.2d 806 (1981) (en banc); Flanagan v. State, 440 So.2d 13 (Fila.
App. Ist Dist. 1983); People v. Gary, 387 N.W.2d 877 (Mich.App.
1986). But see State v. Carsey, 295 Or. 32, 664 P.2d 1085 (1983);
People v. Miller, 40 Ill.2d 154, 238 N.E.2d 407, cert. denied, 393
U.S. 961 (1968).

LL LE LLL LL LE LLL LEA NLT CELLET EOE LOE LT CCE LTTE TTT TL LL LT AT TT LTE TE aE
— (—

clusionary rule where a search was conducted pursuant
to an officer’s reasonable though mistaken belief in facts
which would establish a third party’s authority to con-
sent is inconsistent with this Court’s decisions in United
States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897 (1984), and Illinois v. Krull,
480 U.S. 340 (1987), recognizing good faith exceptions to
the judicially-created sanction.

It is well-established that probable cause supporting the
issuance of a search warrant may be based on informa-
- tion appropriately accepted by the governmental affiant
as true though it is later exposed to be false. See general-
ly Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 166 (1978). Similarly,
warrantless searches are permissible provided authorities
“reasonably believe” an emergency exists. Mincey v.
Arizona, 437 U.S. 385, 392 (1978). Because law enforce-
ment holds a legitimate and substantial interest in con-
ducting searches pursuant to voluntary consent [Schneck-
loth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218, 227-29 (1973)], an of-
ficer’s reasonable reliance on facts which would establish
an individual’s authority to consent if true should also
serve to validate the ensuing search under the fourth
amendment. A contrary finding would leave nearly all
third party consent searches open to attack since only by
employing continued police surveillance could authorities
actually know, prior to the search, that a third party holds
the power to permit inspection “in his own right” through
mutual use of property amounting to “‘general[ ]. . . joint
access or control for most purposes.’’ United States v.
Matlock, 415 U.S. 164, 171 n. 7 (1974). And where the
officer reasonably believes that the consenting party has
sole authority to consent, he is not on notice that other
privacy interests are even implicated.

Even if this Court were to hold that the fourth amend-
ment will not tolerate searches conducted pursuant to an

a ea

officer’s mistaken though reasonable belief in facts estab-
lishing consent, it would nonetheless be inappropriate to
apply the exclusionary rule to evidence thereby secured
where information supporting the search was directly sup-
plied by the consenting party. In Leon and Krull, this
Court observed that due to the societal costs in-with-
holding relevant, reliable evidence from the truth seek-
ing process in a criminal trial, the exclusionary rule should
be invoked only in circumstances where it provides a sig-
nificant and additional deterrent to fourth amendment vio-
lations. This Court further observed that where officers
reasonably rely on statutes or search warrants later de-
termined to be unconstitutional, there exists no police il-
legality and thus nothing to deter.

Just as officers cannot generally be expected to question
the validity of a warrant or statute, they should ordinarily
be entitled to rely on the representations of a citizen con-
cerning his own mutual use of or exclusive control of prop-
erty. Given the legitimacy of and pervasive reliance on
consent searches in law enforcement, exclusion of evidence
thereby secured will not deter future consent searches if
officers have no reason to discredit the consenting par-
ty’s factual assertions which support his legal authority
to consent. See People v. Adams, 53 N.Y.2d 1, 422 N.E.2d
537, cert. denied, 454 U.S. 854 (1981).

In the present case, Karen Morlock informed Officer
Votava that she was the General Manager of the motel
and that subsequent to the 1:00 p.m. checkout time, maid
Olivares discovered a suitcase reportedly containing co-
caine in room 219 which had been vacated. Because there
existed no apparent cause to question Morlock’s assertion
that room 219 was no longer occupied, the officer’s reli-
ance on her representations in entering the room was rea-
sonable. Further, though respondent’s sudden appearance

= =

might have suggested a mistake had been made, he im-
mediately disclaimed ownership of the suitcase thus inde-
pendently authorizing its search. Accordingly, the facts
and decision below afford this Court the opportunity to
resolve a legal conflict among the jurisdictions and to cor-
rect error in the exclusion of unquestionably probative
evidence.

Il.

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE THE
HOLDING BELOW CONFLICTS WITH THOSE FOURTH
AMENDMENT PRINCIPLES ANNOUNCED BY THIS
COURT IN UNITED STATES V. JACOBSEN.

In United States v. Jacobsen, 466 U.S. 109, 113 (1984),
this Court reiterated the well-established principle that
the fourth amendment does not protect against unreason-
able searches or seizures effected through purely private
action. This Court further held that where a governmen-
tal search follows a private one, the legality of the govern-
mental intrusion “‘must be tested by the degree to which
[it] exceeded the scope of the private search.” Jd. at 115.
In the present case, the inside of respondent’s room and
suitcase was examined by maid Olivares, Executive House-
keeper Garcia and motel employee Limukovic prior to Of-
ficer Votava’s involvement. As in Jacobsen, the govern-
mental search was conducted pursuant to unsolicited, pri-
vate invitation and followed ‘‘on the heels of” the private
search such that there was a “virtual certainty” the con-
tents of the room had not been altered by respondent in
the interim. /d. at 115, 119. Indeed, until respondent ap-
peared in the room and himself invited Votava to open
the suitcase, the officer’s potential compromise of any
fourth amendment interests was considerably less exten-
sive than that effected by Limukovic, who had actually

=o

viewed, tasted and obsconded with a portion of the co-
caine.?

Officer Votava did not infringe on any fourth amend-
ment interest not already frustrated by private conduct.
Because this circumstance justified his actions indepen-
dent of any belief that room 219 was unoccupied, the
lower court’s erroneous refusal to apply Jacobsen war-
rants this Court’s review.

CONCLUSION

For all the reasons discussed herein, a writ of certiorari
should issue to review the decision of the Illinois Appel-
late Court.

Respectfully submitted,
NEIL F. HARTIGAN
Attorney General, State of Illinois

ROBERT J. RUIZ
Solicitor General, State of Illinois

TERENCE M. MADSEN
MARCIA L. FRIEDL *
Assistant Attorneys General

Counsel for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

2 The lower court’s refusal to apply Jacobsen because the suit-
case was purportedly seized from respondent (App. at 5, 6) ignores
his immediate disclaimer of ownership. More important, that a con-
tainer was seized from a suspect holds significance only insofar
as it becomes more likely additional privacy or possessory interests
exist because the contents have been altered or the item is in cur-
rent use. Similarly, the lower court’s concern that authorities made
a warrantless entry into a “home” (App. at 6) would be legitimate
only if it were not clear whether respondent had utilized the room
subsequent to the private entry.

APPENDIX

a

App. 1
No. 2-87-0015—Filed September 15, 1988

IN THE
APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS
SECOND DISTRICT

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

BARTLETT VOUGHT,
Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the Circuit Court of Du Page County.
No. 86 CF 1036
Hon. Edward W. Kowal, Judge Presiding.

JUSTICE NASH delivered the opinion of the court:

Defendant, Bartlett Vought, was convicted of the unlaw-
ful possession of 30 or more grams of a controlled sub-
stance with intent to deliver and was sentenced to a
10-year term of imprisonment and fined $240,000. On ap-
peal, defendant contends that the trial court erred in de-
nying his motion to suppress evidence obtained as a result
of a warrantless entry into his hotel room by a police of-
ficer. Defendant also contends, and the State concedes,
that in the event his conviction is affirmed on appeal,
defendant must receive a credit of $915 toward his fine
as a result of time spent in custody between his arrest
and sentencing. (People v. Hare (1988), 119 Ill. 2d 441,
519 N.E.2d 879.) The State asserts that the officer’s en-
try and subsequent search of defendant’s room did not
violate the fourth amendment because (1) the search did

App. 2

not exceed the scope of a previous private search by hotel
employees; (2) the officer had a good-faith belief that the
room was vacant at the time he entered it; (3) the co-
caine in the suitcase posed a potential danger to hotel em-
ployees; and (4) defendant abandoned any interest in the
suitcase in which the contraband was found when he told
the officer it did not belong to him. We reverse.

At the hearing on defendant’s motion to suppress evi-
dence the parties stipulated that defendant rented room
219 at the Holiday Inn ir Itasca from June 21, 1986,
through and including June 23, 1986. He arranged and
paid for his final day’s lodging at some time between 7
a.m. and 1 p.m. on June 23. One of the hotel maids, Anna
Olivares, checked room 219 during the morning of June
23 and saw clothes hanging up. As her housekeeping sheet
showed that the guest in room 219 was due to check out
that day, and the room was still occupied, Olivares decided
to clean it after the 1 p.m. check-out time. When Olivares
returned to the room after 1 p.m. and saw a “‘do not dis-
turb” sign on the door, she informed her supervisor, Maria
Garcia, who knocked on the door, unlocked it after receiv-
ing no answer, and told Olivares to clean the room.

After Olivares began to clean the room she noticed a
suitcase beside one of the beds. The suitcase was closed,
but was not locked, and Olivares opened it. She noticed
a white powdery substance inside the suitcase and called
in Garcia. Another hotel employee, Richard Limukovic,
also entered the room at this time. Limukovic tasted the
substance and stated that he believed it was cocaine. Gar-
cia informed the hotel general manager, Karen Morlock,
about the discovery of the suitcase and its contents at
about 2:45 p.m.

Morlock called the Itasca police department, and Officer
Rusty Votava arrived at the hotel a few minutes later.
Morlock informed the officer that a maid had found a suit-
case in room 219 which might contain illegal drugs and
that the room was unoccupied. Morlock had not checked
the hotel’s guest registry list at that time to determine

App. 3

the occupancy status of the room, and her belief that the
room was unoccupied was based upon her conversation
with Garcia. Officer Votava did not ask Morlock at this
time if she had checked the hotel’s records with regard
to the occupancy status of room 219, nor did he ask her
to do so.

Officer Votava and Morlock entered room 219 at approx-
imately 3 p.m., and the “do not disturb” sign was still
on the front door. Morlock opened the door with a pass
key after knocking and receiving no response. The only
personal effects in the room were some change and a hotel
key on a television stand, scratch paper on top of the
television, and the suitcase. Votava was calling the Itasca
police department for assistance in securing the room
when the defendant walked into the room. When Votava
asked if defendant would mind if he opened the suitcase,
defendant stated that he would not mind and that the
suitcase did not belong to him. Votava then opened the
suitcase, which had been closed but unlocked, and dis-
covered contraband subsequently determine to be 799.1
grams of cocaine. Votava placed defendant under arrest.

The trial court denied defendant’s motion to suppress
and held a bench trial at which the evidence was received
by stipulation. The parties stipulated, among other things,
that defendant made certain incriminating statements
after his arrest; that at about 3:30 p.m. on June 23,
Votava gave defendant Miranda warnings at the Itasca
police station, which defendant stated that he understood
and signed a Miranda waiver form. Defendant told Votava
that he had flown to Chicago with two other men, one
of whom he referred to as Alan and the other as Murphy.
Alan carried the suitcase on the plane and took it to the
Holiday Inn where it was later moved to defendant’s
room.

Detective William Simmons of the Metropolitan Enforce-
ment Group and Officer Michael Tellone of the Itasca
police department also questioned defendant at about 7:05
p.m. on June 23, 1986. They repeated the Miranda warn-

App. 4

ings, and defendant signed another waiver form. Defen-
dant stated that he received the cocaine from an individual
in Florida and that he and two other men agreed to take
the cocaine to Chicago by airplane and to deliver it to
an individual in the Chicago area. Defendant and the
others took a flight to Chicago on June 21, during which
the cocaine was taped to their legs. The delivery fell
through, and defendant was planning to return to Florida
with the cocaine when Officer Votava arrested him.

On June 24, 1986, during the early morning hours, while
Officer Votava transferred defendant to the Du Page
County jail, defendant apologized for lying to Votava the
previous day, stating that the recent attempted drug
transaction was his first effort in retailing cocaine and it
did not work out.

Defendant renewed the suppression motion at the stip-
ulated bench trial, and it was once again denied. The trial
judge found defendant guilty, imposed sentence, and this
appeal followed.

It is undisputed by the parties that defendant was a
registered guest in room 219 on June 23, 1986. The fourth
amendment constraints against unreasonable searches and
seizures apply to guests in hotel rooms, just as they apply
to tenants in homes and residents of boarding houses.
(Stoner v. California (1964), 376 U.S. 483, 490, 11 L. Ed.
2d 856, 861, 84 S. Ct. 889, 893.) In Stoner, a hotel desk
clerk advised police officers that a robbery suspect was
staying in the hotel but was not in his room at that time.
The officers asked the clerk for permission to enter the
suspect’s room, and the clerk consented. The court held
that the clerk had no authority to consent to the search
and stated that the right of hotel guests to be protected
from unreasonable searches and seizures “would disappear
if it were left to depend upon the unfettered discretion
of an employee of the hotel.” (Stoner, 376 U.S. at 490,
11 L. Ed. 2d at 861, 84 S. Ct. at 893.) Under Stoner, a
hotel guest receives the same constitutional protection
against unreasonable searches and seizures in his room

App. 5

that an occupant of a more permanent type of residence
receives with regard to his house or apartment. People
v. Wilson (1980), 86 Ill. App. 3d 637, 640, 409 N.E.2d 988.

The State argues, however, that fourth amendment con-
cerns are not implicated in the present case because the
cocaine was initially discovered during the course of a
private search by hotel employees, and the subsequent
search by Officer Votava did not exceed the scope of that
private search. The State relies primarily upon United
States v. Jacobsen (1984), 466 U.S. 109, 80 L. Ed. 2d 85,
104 S. Ct. 1652, in which employees of a private freight
company examined the contents of a damaged package in
which they found a 10-inch long tube which was covered
by crumpled pieces of newspaper. The tube contained four
plastic bags, one of which contained a white powdery sub-
stance. The employees notified the Drug Enforcement Ad-
ministration about the package and, before the first DEA
agent arrived, put the plastic bags inside the tube which
was then returned to the box. The agent retrieved the
bag with the powdery substance, field tested a portion
of the contents, and learned that the bag contained co-
caine. The court held that the actions of the agents did
not violate the fourth amendment and stated that “the
federal agents did not infringe any constitutionally pro-
tected primary interest that had not already been frus-
trated as a result of private conduct.” Jacobsen, 466 U.S.
at 126, 80 L. Ed. 2d at 102, 104 S. Ct. at 1663.

The State’s reliance upon Jacobsen is misplaced. The
court stated in a footnote to that opinion that the case
was distinguishable from one in which the police simply
learn from a private individual that there is contraband
inside a container, seize the container from its owner, and
then conduct a warrantless search. The court stated that
under such circumstances the search would be unconstitu-
tional. (Jacobsen, 466 U.S. at 120 n.17, 80 L. Ed. 2d at
98 0.17, 104 S. Ct. at 1660 n.17.) In the case at bar, unlike
Jacobsen, the contraband was seized from the defendant.
The United States Supreme Court recognized in Jacobsen

App. 6

that, under such circumstances, the defendant retains a
legitimate expectation of privacy with respect to the con-
tainer, even if a private individual has seen the contraband
inside the container. The State’s argument must therefore
fail.

Another factor which distinguishes the present case
from Jacobsen is the fact that Officer Votava made a war-
rantless entry into defendant’s hotel room in order to
seize the contraband. The Stoner holding establishes that
hotel guests are entitled to the same fourth amendment
protections as occupants of residences of a more perma-
nent nature. (Stoner v. California (1964), 376 U.S. 488,
490, 11 L. Ed. 2d 856, 861, 84 S. Ct. 889, 893.) Comment-
ing upon Jacobsen, Professor LaFave states, “it is to be
doubted that if a private person searched the premises
of another and then reported to the police what he had
found (instead of removing the evidence and handing it
over to the police), that the police could then make a war-
rantless entry of those premises and seize the named evi-
dence.”” W. LaFave, Search and Seizure, §1.8(b), at 188
(1987).

We agree with Professor LaFave’s conclusion. The right
of an individual to be free from governmental intrusions
into his home lies at the core of the fourth amendment.
(Payton v. New York (1980), 445 U.S. 573, 589-90, 63 L.
Ed. 2d 689, 653, 100 S. Ct. 1371, 1382.) Warrantless en-
tries into residences are per se unreasonable unless
exigent circumstances are present. (Payton, 445 U.S. at
590, 63 L. Ed. 2d at 658, 100 S. Ct. at 1382.) The State’s
position that, absent exigent circumstances, a police of-
ficer may make a warrantless entry into a hotel room or
other residence merely because a private individual has
seen contraband inside the residence is squarely at odds
with Payton and would largely eviscerate the warrant re-
quirement of the fourth amendment. We reject the State’s
contention that Officer Votava’s warrantless entry and
search were proper because of the prior private search
by hotel employees.

App. 7

The State next contends that the trial court properly
refrained from applying the exclusionary rule to suppress
the evidence in question because Officer Votava had a rea-
sonable, good-faith belief that defendant’s hotel room was
vacant and that the general manager of the hotel, Karen
Morlock, had authority to consent to the search. It is clear
that a hotel manager may validly consent to the search
of a vacant room. (United States v. Akin (7th Cir. 1977),
562 F.2d 459, 464.) The State asserts that the good-faith
doctrine espoused by the United States Supreme Court
in United States v. Leon (1984), 468 U.S. 897, 82 L. Ed
2d 677, 104 S. Ct. 3405, should be applied here because
of Morlock’s apparent authority to consent to the entry
and search.

In Leon, the court concluded that evidence seized by
officers reasonably relying upon a warrant issued by a
detached and neutral magistrate is admissible even if the
warrant is later determined to be invalid. (Leon, 468 U.S.
at 913, 82 L. Ed. 2d at 692, 104 S. Ct. at 3415.) The court
stated that punishing police officers for errors made by
magistrates ‘‘cannot logically contribute to the deterrence
of Fourth Amendment violations.” 468 U.S. at 921, 82 L.
Ed. 2d at_697, 104 S. Ct. at 3419.

The State argues that the Leon doctrine should be ex-
tended to situations in which a police officer makes a
warrantless entry into a private residence based upon a
reasonable, but mistaken, good-faith belief that another
person who consented to the entry had the authority to
do so. We find no basis to do so and note that in Leon
the police officer did have a search warrant that had been
issued by a neutral and detached magistrate. In Johnson
v. United States (1948), 333 U.S. 10, 92 L. Ed. 436, 68
S. Ct. 367, Mr. Justice Jackson, writing for the majority,
made the following statement concerning the rationale
behind the fourth amendment warrant requirement:

“The point of the Fourth Amendment, which often
is not grasped by zealous officers, is not that it denies
law enforcement the support of the usual inferences

App. &

which reasonable men draw from evidence. Its pro-
tection consists in requiring that those inferences be
drawn by a neutral and detached magistrate instead
of being judged by the officer engaged in the often
competitive enterprise of ferreting out crime. Any as-
sumption that evidence sufficient to support a magis-
trate’s disinterested determination to issue a search
warrant will justify the officers in making a search
without a warrant would reduce the Amendment to
a nullity and leave the people’s homes secure only
in the discretion of police officers. * * * When the
right of privacy must reasonably yield to the right
of search is, as a rule, to be decided by a judicial
officer, not by a policeman or Government enforce-
ment agent.” (Johnson, 333 U.S. at 13-14, 92 L. Ed.
at 440, 68 S. Ct. at 369.)

In accord with this policy, as we have previously noted,
the United States Supreme Court has held that warrant-
less entries into private premises by law enforcement
officials are per se unreasonable unless exigent circum-
stances are present. Payton v. New York (1984), 445 U.S.
573, 590, 63 L. Ed. 2d 639, 653, 100 S. Ct. 1371, 1382.

We consider that Payton is consistent with Leon where
the court noted that the primary purpose of the exclu-
sionary rule is to deter unlawful police conduct and stated
that when an officer has relied in good faith upon a search
warrant obtained from a judge or magistrate, and has
acted within its scope, there is no improper police con-
duct to deter. (Leon, 468 U.S. at 920-21, 82 L. Ed. 2d
at 697, 104 S. Ct. at 3419.) The only improper conduct
claimed in Leon was the decision of the judge to issue
a search warrant; by contrast, a decision to make a war-
rantless entry and search is made by the police them-
selves. The purpose of the rule set forth in Payton is to
deter police officers from making such a decision unless
exigent circumstances are present, and, unlike the situa-
tion in Leon, the rule clearly has an effect upon police
conduct. We reject the State’s argument that the good-
faith doctrine in Leon is applicable in the context of this

App. §

case (see People v. Ross (1985), 133 Ill. App. 3d 66, 73-74,
478 N.E.2d 575) and conclude, in accordance with Payton,
that Officer Votava’s warrantless entry into room 219
must be considered unreasonable unless exigent circum-
stances were present. Our conclusion is consistent with
decisions in prior Illinois cases rejecting the argument that
warrantless entries and searches may be upheld if the par-
ty who consented to the entry had apparent authority to
do so but lacked actual authority. (See People v. Miller,
(1968), 40 Ill. 2d 154, 157-58, 238 N.E.2d 407, 409; People
v. Bochniak (1981), 93 Ill. App. 3d 575, 577, 417 N.E.2d
722, 724.) Nor would the good-faith exception to the ex-
clusionary rule recently enacted by the Illinois General
Assembly prevent suppression of the evidence in this case,
as it was not seized pursuant to a warrant issued by a
judge or pursuant to a warrantless search incident to an
arrest for violation of a statute or ordinance which was
subsequently invalidated. See II]. Rev. Stat. 1987, ch. 38,
pars. 114-12(bX1), (bX2)i), (bX2)ii).

The State does claim that exigent circumstances existed,
asserting that the mere presence of cocaine in room 219
created an emergency situation because of the potential
danger to hotel employees, citing People v. Meddows
(1981), 100 Ill. App. 3d 576, 427 N.E.2d 219, a case which
is readily distinguishable from the case at bar. In Med-
dows, the court held that a warrantless search of a house
trailer was proper when one of defendant’s relatives in-
formed police that there was dynamite inside the trailer.
(Meddows, 100 Ill. App. 3d at 581, 427 N.E.2d at 222.)
Defendant lived in the trailer with his wife and stepson,
and the police had reason to believe several children were
in the trailer at the time. The court stated that the pur-
pose of the search was to prevent a potential disaster and
held that the search was justified because it fell within
the emergency exception to the warrant requirement.
Meddows, 100 Ill. App. 3d at 581, 427 N.E.2d at 222.

In Meddows, the mere presence of dynamite in the
house trailer posed an immediate danger of substantial
harm to the persons inside the trailer and, potentially,

App. 10

to others as well. The presence of cocaine in a suitcase
in room 219 did not, by itself, pose an immediate danger
to anyone. In United States v. Costa (D.D.C. 1973), 356
F. Supp. 606, the court rejected the argument that the
mere presence of narcotics inside a hotel room is suffi-
cient to justify a warrantless entry and search on the
basis of exigent circumstances, stating, ‘“‘Narcotics are
dangerous but passive per se. They posed no immediate
danger to the community or police.” (Costa, 356 F. Supp.
at 611.) In the case at bar, any potential danger to hotel
employees could have been averted by locking the door
to room 219 and preventing entry while a search war-
rant was sought. We do not agree that the warrantless
entry and search can be justified on the basis that a
potential emergency existed.

Finally, the State asserts that the cocaine seized from
the suitcase in room 219 was admissible in evidence be-
cause defendant lost any expectation of privacy by tell-
ing Officer Votava to go ahead and look inside the suit-
case and that it did not belong to defendant. (See People
v. Hanlon (1985), 137 Til. App. 3d 305, 314, 483 N.E.2d
1332, 1338.) Whether this statement is considered an aban-
donment of defendant’s interest in the suitcase, as the
State argues, or consent to the subsequent search, it must
be determined whether the cocaine was the fruit of Of-
ficer Votava’s illegal entry into the hotel room. Under
the exclusionary rule, evidence obtained during or as a
direct result of an unlawful entry is generally inadmissi-
ble. (Wong Sun v. United States (1963), 371 U.S. 471, 485,
9 L. Ed. 2d 441, 454, 83-S.-C€t- 407, 416.) Evidence will
not be considered “fruit of the poisonous tree” simply
because it would not have been discovered but for the
illegal actions of the police. (Wong Sun, 371 U.S. at 487-88,
9 L. Ed. 2d at 455, 83 S. Ct. at 417.) Instead, the deter-
minative question is whether the evidence has been dis-
covered by exploitation of that illegality or by means suf-
ficiently distinguishable to be purged of the primary taint.
371 U.S. at 488, 9 L. Ed. 2d at 455, 83 S. Ct. at 417.

App. 11

In Brown v. Illinois (1975), 422 U.S. 590, 45 L. Ed. 2d
416, 95 S. Ct. 2254, the United States Supreme Court set
forth factors for determining whether inculpatory state-
ments by a defendant following an arrest are sufficiently
purged of the taint of the arrest to be admitted into evi-
dence. These factors are (1) whether Miranda warnings
were given, (2) the amount of time that elapsed between
the arrest and the statements, (3) the presence of any in-
tervening circumstances, and (4) the purpose and flagrancy
of the police misconduct. (Brown, 422 U.S. 590, 603-04,
45 L. Ed. 2d 416, 427-28, 95 S. Ct. 2254, 2261-62.) Al-
though Brown involved the admissibility of a confession
following an illegal arrest, we consider the factors to be
relevant in determining whether defendant’s consent to
the search or abandonment of the suitcase sufficiently at-
tenuated the taint of the illegal entry. See People v. Odom
(1980), 83 Ill. App. 3d 1022, 1028, 404 N.E.2d 997, 1002.

No Miranda warnings were given in the case at bar,
nor was defendant advised that he did not have to con-
sent to the search. The amount of time between the il-
legal entry and the discovery of the cocaine was very
brief; Officer Votava found the cocaine within minutes of
the illegal entry. There were no intervening circumstances
between the illegal entry and the abandonment of the suit-
case or consent to the search which would indicate that
this was an intervening act of a free will sufficient to
dissipate the taint of the illegal entry. (Wong Sun v.
United States (1963), 371 U.S. 471, 486, 9 L. Ed. 2d 441,
454, 83 S. Ct. 407, 416-17.) Although the police miscon-
duct was not flagrant, due to Officer Votava’s belief that
room 219 was vacant, the other factors suggest that defen-
dant’s consent to the search or abandonment of the suit-
case did not purge the primary taint of the illegal entry.
Compare People v. Hanlon (1985), 127 Ill. App. 3d 305,
313-14, 483 N.E.2d 1332.

We must also consider whether the inculpatory state-
ments made by defendant should have been suppressed.
Utilizing the Brown factors, we note first that defendant

App. 12

did receive Miranda warnings before making the state-
ments and that they were made within a relatively short
period of time after the illegal entry. The first statements
were made approximately 30 minutes after the entry; the
next set of statements was made about four hours after
the entry; and defendant’s apology to Officer Votava for
lying occurred within 24 hours of the entry. There were
no intervening circumstances between the entry and the
statements to indicate that they were sufficiently an act
of free will to purge the primary taint of the illegal in- ~
vasion. While we have noted that the police misconduct
was not flagrant, the nature of that misconduct must be
considered as well. (People v. Robbins (1977), 54 Ill. App.
3d 298, 305, 369 N.E.2d 577, 581.) Defendant made the
inculpatory statements after Officer Votava found the co-
caine in his hotel room. Confronting a suspect with illegal-
ly seized evidence under circumstances such as these
tends to induce a confession by demonstrating that it is
futile to remain silent. (Robbins, 54 Ill. App. 3d at 305,
369 N.E.2d at 581.) As in Robbins, it is most probable
that defendant confessed only because he was caught red-
handed. We conclude that defendant’s confessions were
not sufficiently an act of free will to purge the primary
taint of the illegal entry. Wong Sun v. United States
(1963), 371 U.S. 471, 486, 9 L. Ed. 2d 441, 454, 83 S. Ct.
407, 416-17; People v. Koniecki (1985), 135 Ill. App. 3d
394, 401-03, 481 N.E.2d 973.

Once the defendant establishes the causal connection be-
tween the primary illegality and the alleged fruits of the
illegality, the State has the burden of demonstrating by
clear and convincing evidence that the challenged evidence
was obtained by means sufficiently distinguishable to be
purged of the primary taint. (People v. Robbins (1977),
54 Ill. App. 3d 298, 305, 369 N.E.2d 577, 581.) The causal
connection between Officer Votava’s illegal entry and both
the cocaine seized from the hotel room and defendant’s
inculpatory statements is clear, and the State failed to
demonstrate that this evidence was obtained by means

App. 138

sufficently distinguishable to be purged of the primary taint.
We conclude that both the cocaine and the defendant’s
inculpatory statements should have been suppressed. De-
fendant’s conviction must be reversed and the cause re-
manded to the circuit court for a new trial.

Reversed and remanded.
REINHARD and UNVERZAGT, JJ., concur.

App. 14

(Letterhead of)

STATE OF ILLINOIS
APPELLATE COURT
SECOND DISTRICT

Appeal from the Circuit Court of County of DuPage
Trial Court Number: 86CF1036

THE COURT HAS THIS DAY, 10/14/88, ENTERED
THE FOLLOWING ORDER IN THE CASE OF:
Gen. No.: 2-87-0015

People v. Vought, Bartlett

Petition for Rehearing by Plaintiff-
Appellee is denied.
Nash, Reinhard, Unverzagt, JJJ.

LOREN J. STROTZ, CLERK

ce: G. Joseph Weller, Deputy Defender
Robert C. Cooper
Honorable James E. Ryan
William L. Browers, Deputy Director
Marshall M. Stevens

App. 15

(Letterhead of)

ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT
JULEANN HORNYAK, CLERK
Supreme Court Building
Springfield, Ill. 62706
(217) 782-2035

February 1, 1989

State’s Attorney DuPage County
207 Reber Street
Wheaton, IL 60187

No. 67932—People State of Illinois, petitioner, v. Bartlett
Vought, respondent. Leave to appeal, Appel-
late Court, Second District.

The Supreme Court today DENIED the petition for
leave to appeal in the above entitled cause.

The mandate of this Court will issue to the Appellate
Court on February 23, 1989.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1308%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
