# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Adkins v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1289%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 490 U.S. 1108

## Text

NO.

' er BH r 4 Jt¢
; LER‘
. re a

IN THE ee
Supreme Court of the United States

October, 1989 Term

GALA ADKINS; GALA ADKINS, as Administratrix of
the Estate of Timothy J. Adkins,

Petitioners.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

H. Fred Kuhn, Jr., Esquire

MOSS, DORE, KUHN & MCINTYRE, P.A.
Post Office Drawer 507

Beaufort, South Carolina 29901-0507
(803) 524-3373

Counsel of Record for Petitioners

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

L. SHOULD THE FERES DOCTRINE
BE OVERTURNED, MODIFIED, OR AT LEAST
LIMITED, SO AS TO ALLOW CLAIMS
AGAINST THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
BY AN ACTIVE DUTY SERVICEMAN FOR HIS
PERSONAL INJURIES AND DEATH, WHERE
HIS PERSONAL INJURIES AND DEATH ARE
THE RESULT OF MEDICAL MALPRACTICE OR
NEGLIGENCE BY MILITARY MEDICAL OR
HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS UNDER
DOMESTIC, PEACE-TIME CONDITIONS, AND
WHERE THE INJURED SERVICEMAN WAS NOT
PERFORMING ANY OF HIS~ MILITARY
DUTIES, AND WAS NOT EVEN ON DUTY AT
THE TIME OF HIS INJURY, AND WHERE
NONE OF THE TORTFEASORS OR HEALTH
CARE PROVIDERS WERE IN THE

SERVICEMAN'S CHAIN OF COMMAND?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented For Review. .. i
EE ge ag hob tS re o % 4
Beterence to Opinions ...... kl

Statement of Grounds for

4
Statutues Involved 3
Statement of the Case 6

Procedural Background... . 6
Factual Background 9
Argument for Allowance of Writ . 13
ee ee a a
Sse 5 5 & 6 as ek se we SF
District Court Opinion. . . 30
Court of Appeals Decision . 44

11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

STATUTES
a0 U.0eGs 269 40 5 5 a 8 we Se ee Se ee
CASES

Atkinson v. United States, 804 F.2d 561 (9th
Cir. 1986) ny ra tg ee £7, 20408

Atkinson v. United States, 825 F.2d 202
(9th Cir. 1987) lee Ce. le eee 22

Brooks v. United States, 337 U.S. 49
CROs rut ee ha il eg ra ee a alae th

Feres v. United States, 340 U.S. 135
$07) rr re oe oe ee en ke

Johonson v. United States, 704 F.2d
1431 (9th Cir. 1983) _ « * «& Soe

Stanley v. United States, 786 F.2d
$490 (Lich Cir. 8906) us) se Se eee

Stencel Aero Engineering Corp. v.
United States, 431 U.S. 666 (1977). . I7

United States v. Johnson, 107 S.Ct. 2063
(iver) sok US Ue ee 14, 21-23

United States v. Muniz, 374 U.S. 150
CE9GS) a a ek te eh a ee

United States v. Shearer, 473 U.S. 52
(SSRDS a. ee ae Sa

- 111i -

REPORTS OF OPINIONS
Neither the Order of the

District Court nor the Opinion of
the Court of Appeals has_ been
published.

The Order of the District Court
was issued by the Honorable Falcon
B. Hawkins, United States District
Judge for the District of South
Carolina, Beaufort Division, on July
11, 1988 in Civil Actions Nos.
D:88-0137-1. The Opinion of the
Court of Appeals was issued by the
United States Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit on February 2,
1989, in Appeal No. 88-2573. Both
the Order and Opinion have been
reproduced in the Appendix contained

herein, at pp. 30 - 50.

"TRA TERME N
v

Cc .
OLA dL iliva Yo

— AAATTAING IAT TIIMTANnNTTAMT »
a mt) } wide ia ~
& Lise WIA Uialti’4é / w Wa Witty ev sa dW ‘
LK , mon + v7 L . . L. + +
Lic BUR ICiic v de + OVUBR L eV
1 a 1
-" SAT 4 ~ - - Vena m4 ~~ ~ a a
de Le LGCweuU ~o L c SJ a LSoUuUecu UY
th Fourth Cir ct Court xo: ppeal
eg) i iL & tt ae es Get Me JtLe hh ¢ WUCalLsS
ar ~ -
On RPohriarv Q2Q r.taHAa pk firme
il sey. tas. ¥ , a : J 9 V A ee GS oS d&. 2. be eee
TT } oO
— >- 5 7 | . maO+ > i OD
the Order LSoOoUCAU UY Wits eG te t

District Court for the District ot
South Carolina on July l

The statutory provision
believed to confer on this Court
jurisdiction to review the judgment
by writ of certiorari is 28 U.S.C. §

1254(1).

5

STATUTE INVOLVED

FEDERAL TORT CLAIMS ACT:

268 U.S.C. § 2674. Liability of
United States. The United States
shall be liable, respecting the
provisions of this title relating to
tort claims, in the same manner and
to the same extent as a private
individual under like circumstances,
but shall not be liable for interest
prior to judgment or for punitive

damages.

26 U.S.C. § 2671. Definitions

ve

of

As used in this chapter [28 USCS §§
2671 et seq.] and sections. 1346(b)
and 2401(b) of this title [28 USCS
§§ 1346(b) and 2401(b)] the term
"Federal agency" includes the
executive departments, the military
departments, independent
establishments of the United States,
and corporations primarily acting
as, or agencies of the United States
but does not include any contractor

with the United States.

"Employee of the government"
includes officers or employees of
any federal agency, members of any
federal agency, members of the

military or naval forces of the

United States, and persons acting on
behalf of a federal agency in an
official capacity, temporarily or
permanently in the service of the
United States, whether with or

without compensation.

"Acting within the scope of his
office or employment," in the case
of a member of the military or naval
forces of the United States, means

acting in line of duty.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On January 21, 1988 Gala Adkins
caused three suits to be _ filed
against the United States of America
in the United States District Court
for the District of South Carolina,
Beaufort Division. Each of these
suits was filed pursuant to the
Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C. §
2674. Federal Court jurisdiction is

based upon 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b).

Two of these cases -- one for
the wrongful death of Timothy J.
Adkins and one for the conscious
pain and suffering undergone by

Timothy J. Adkins prior to his death

-- were commenced by Gala Adkins in
her representative capacity as the
Personal Representative of Timothy
J. Adkins' Estate on behalf of his
statutory beneficiaries and heirs at
law, being herself as his widow and
their two minor. sons. The third
action was commenced by Gala Adkins
individually for her own personal
and emotional injuries.

In response to the Complaints,
the United States filed a motion to
dismiss all three actions pursuant
to Rule 12€b)(6) of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure for failure
to state a claim upon which relief

can be granted, asserting that these

suits were barred by the doctrine

set forth in Feres v. United States,

340 U.S. 135 (1950). The
District Court consolidated the
three cases and tien granted, albeit
reluctantly, the government's motion
to dismiss.

Upon appeal of the consolidated
cases by Gala Adkins, the United
States Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Circuit affirmed the
dismissal by the District Court.

Gala Adkins is now petitioning

this Court to review these decisions

pursuant to a writ of certiorari.

B. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

"That an apparently healthy Marine
dies after a routine dental
procedure gives me great pause."

Pike Kelley
Commandant of the Marine Corps

The "healthy Marine" to which
General Kelley is referring was Sgt.
Timothy J. Adkins. While the fact
that St. Adkins died from a "routine

dental procedure’ caused the
Commandant to "pause" others were
willing to put it much more bluntly.
Rear Admiral John H. Fetterman, Jr.,
Inspector General for the United

States Navy, in response to an

inquiry by Senator John Glenn,

summed it up as follows:'

"Based upon the investigdtion, I

have concluded that the care
rendered Sgt. Adkins was
substandard. The ultimate

responsibility must be borne by a
system which allowed non-physician
health care providers (i.e., an oral
surgeon and a nurse anesthetist) to
admit a patient on the serious list
and schedule and perform subsequent
surgery without a medical evaluation

by a credentialed physician. When
the patient was placed on_ the
serious list and intubated, the

focus of care should have shifted
from the dental arena to the medical

specialty arena. Sgt. Adkins was
transferred to Naval Hospital,
Charleston, so that a more

sophisticated level of care could be
delivered and this did not occur.
His primary provider remained an
oral surgeon and nurse anesthetist.
This is the salient issue in this
tragic case."

Sgt. Adkins' death caused the Navy
and Marine Corps to launch three
separate investigations into’ the

circumstances surrounding his care

and treatment. His death was the

- 10 -

example cited in the Journal of the
American Bar Association in an
article showing the Feres Doctrine
under attack in Congress:
"No matter how poor the care you
receive from a military doctor or
hospital and no matter what harm you
suffer as a result of that care, you
must accept whatever compensation
the military decides to offer.
The current system is unfair....It
treats our (military) personnel as
second-class citizens."
ABA Journal, pg. 26 (ouay. 3;
1987)(quoting Sen. Jim Sasser,
D-Tenn.).

ae 48, CO Bay the least, not
easy to kill someone by pulling
their tooth. The sequence of events
flowing from the removal of Set.

Adkins' tooth and culminating in his

paralysis, coma and eventual death,

- 1] -

required the malfeasance,
misfeasance and nonfeasance of
medical health care providers from
three separate military
installations.

A detailed recitation of the
facts of this case is contained in
the briefs filed with the Court of

Appeals.

ARGUMENT FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT

"The King can do no wrong."

Anonymous.
Petitioner respectfully submits
that her petition for writ of
certiorari should be allowed
because, quite frankly, the doctrine

set forth in Feres v. United States,

340 U.S. 135 (1950) is unjust,
treating the men and women who have
dedicated their lives to the service
of our country as_ second-class
citizens by denying them access to
the judicial system.

Petitioner respectfully submits
that her petition for writ of

certiorari should be allowed because

- 13-

the judiciary, the bar and_ the

public need to know how today's

Supreme Court stands on the
viability and scope of application
of the Feres doctrine. inact is,
will this Court insist upon a blind
application of Feres, barring all
cases which fall within its original
scope, as the majority did in United

States v. Jonnson, i107: 8.Ct. - 2863

(1987); or will this Court allow
each case to be examined on its own
merits, barring only those civil
suits which would jeopardize
military interests, as it did in

Shearer v. United States, 105 S.Ct.

3039 (1985).

Tort claims against the United

« ihe

States are governed by the Federal
Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2674
(1982). This act was passed by
Congress in 1946 in recognition of
the unfair and unjust consequences
of the common law doctrine of
Sovereign Immunity which insulated
the United States from tort
liability. The Act provides that
the United States is liable for
damages in tort "in the same manner

and to the same extent as a private

individual under like
circumstances." Ze U.8.6.° 4. 2674
(1982). It is important to note

that the act contains no express
exclusion or limitation on the right
of military personnel to bring such

claims.

- 15 -

The United States Supreme
Court, however, has judicially
amended the Federal Tort Claims Act
to provide an exclusion or
limitation upon the~ rights of
military personnel to bring a claim

under the Act. In Brooks v. United

States, 33/7 U.S. 49 (1949) =the
Supreme Court held that servicemen
may recover under the Tort Claims
Act on claims which have no
relationship to their military
service. Shortly thereafter, in

Feres v. United States,supra, the

Court held that servicemen may not
recover under the Act on claims
which arise out of or in the course

of activity incident to their

im ihe

tena

TE a a
; 7 By

a

: a a = oe
Pee Se

military service. This exclusion
has commonly become known as_ the
'Feres Doctrine."

Three rationales are commonly
advanced in support of this judicial
amendment to the Federal Tort Claims
Act. These rationales are as
follows:

"(1) the distinctively federal
nature of the relationship between
the government and members of its
armed forces; (2) the availability
of alternative compensation systems;
and (3) the fear of damaging the
military disciplinary

structure. "Atkinson Vv. United

States, 804 F.2d 561, 563, (9th Cir.

1986), citing Stencel Aero

48 =

Engineering Corp. v. United States,

431 U.S.-666, 671-72 (1977).

The first two rationals
gradually fell into disfavor, with
the courts placing more and more
emphasis upon the third rational as
the best justification for the Feres

Doctrine. See United States v.

muniz, 3/4 U.S. 150, 162 (1963).

Finally, in United States Vv.

Shearer, 473 U.S. 59, (1985), the

Supreme Court expressly acknowledged

that the first two rationals were

"no longer controlling." id. at 58,
fn4. In Shearer the court

emphasized that the Feres Doctrine
was best justified by the "effects

of the maintenance of such suits on

—!

discipline, and the extreme results
that might obtain if suits under the
tort claims act were allowed for
negligent orders given or negligent
acts committed in the course of
military. duty.” - id. at 37: The
court stated that “each case must be
examined in light of the statute as
it has been construed in Feres and
subsequent cases." Id. The court
noted that in examining each case
the court should look to_- see
"whether the suit requires’ the
civilian court to second’ guess

military decisions, or whether the

suit "calls into question basic

choices about the discipline,

supervision and control of a
- 19 -

serviceman."' Id. 57-58.

After Shearer, it appeared that

the Supreme Court was limiting the
application of the Feres Doctrine.

See, Stanley v. United States, 786

F2d 1490, 1499 (llth Cir. 1986)

(Shearer rejects "bright line test"

and requires that each case be
analyzed for applicability of the
Feres Doctrine.

In particular, the Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeals, in

Atkinson v. United States, 804 F2d

561 (9th Cir. 1986) interpreted

Shearer to require the courts to

take a case by case, rather than per
se, approach to claims of immunity

| by the United States based on the

« 90 «

Feres Doctrine. The Ninth Circuit
accordingly held that "the Feres
Doctrine bars a suit only where a
civilian court would be called upon
to second guess military decisions
or where the plaintiff's admitted
activities are of the sort that
would directly implicate the need to
safeguard military discipline." 804
F2d at 563.

The United States Supreme

Court, however, in USA v. Johnson,

107 S.Ct 2063 (1987) back tracked

from its decision in Shearer and,

over a strong dissent, reaffirmed
the per se validity of the Feres
Doctrine and its prohibition on tort

suits brought by service members

o. Mite

against the United States for
injuries that arise out of or are in
the course of activity incident to
service.
107 §.Ct. 2066-67.

The Ninth Circuit reacted to

Johnson _ v. USA, by rehearing

Atkinson v. USA. The Ninth Circuit

found that "Johnson appears’ to

breathe new light into the first
two Feres rationals, which until
that time had been largely
discredited and abandoned."

Atkinson v. USA, 825 F2d 202, 205-06

(9th Cir. 1987). The Ninth Circuit
accordingly applied the blanket bar

of the Feres Doctrine to the case

before it. 206 F2d at 825.

USA iv. Johnson was a 5-4

decision. The majority opinion
confirmed that Feres bars "all suits

on behalf of service members against

the government based upon
service-related injuries." 107
o.GC. at 2067. This majority

opinion was written Justice Powell.
The dissenting opinion, written by
Justice Scalia and joined in by
Justices Brennan, Marshall and
Stevens, bluntly states that Feres
was "wrongly decided and hardily
deserves the "widespread, almost
universal criticisn” oe has
received." 107 S.Ct. at 2074.
Justice Powell has now retired.

He leaves behind him eight justices

ee

a ce

who are evenly split on_- the
viability of Feres. Justice
Powell's successor, and the man who
will be the tie breaker, is Justice
Kennedy. Justice Kennedy comes to
the Supreme Court after serving
twelve years on the Ninth Circuit
Court of Appeals. The Ninth Circuit
has been one of the leaders in
attempting to limit the unjust
application of the Feres Doctrine.

As already noted, in Atkinson v.

USA, 804 F2d 561, 564-65 (9th Cir.
1986) the court held that’ the
medical malpractice -action before it
was not barred by Feres, since it
did not involve military decisions

or discipline. The Ninth Circuit

- 24 -

had also earlier held “where there
is no relevant relationship between
the service members' behavior and
the military interest that might be
jeopardized by civil suits, the
Feres Doctrine cannot bar recovery."

Johnson v. USA, 704 F2d 1431, 1440

(9th Cir. 1983).

=.

CONCLUSION

The facts of this case are
horrifying. A perfectly healthy
young Marine was killed as a result
of a routine dental check.
Petitioner respectfully submits that
this case presents an appropriate
vehicle to Overrule, or limit the
application of, the Feres Doctrine.
In this regard, it should be noted
that this case involves dental and
medical care identical to that found
in the civilian setting, rendered by
military medical and health care
Providers under domestic, peace-time
conditions. Further, the United

States has admitted, pursuant to

Requests for Admissions, that Sgt.
Adkins was not performing any of his
military duties at any of the times
referred to in the complaint; that
Sgt. Adkins was not in an "on-duty"
status at any of the times referred
to in the complaint; that Sgt.
Adkins was on sick leave at all
times referred to in the complaint;
and that none of the health care
providers referred to in the
Complaint were in Sgt. Adkins' chain
of command. App., pp. 66-71
(Requests Nos. 8-11). In short,
there is no reason, in justice or
fairness, why the claims for the
wrongful death of and conscious pain

and suffering of Sgt. Adkins should

be barred by the Feres Doctrine.
Petitioner accordingly respectfully
requests that her Petition for Writ
of Certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

MOSS, DORE, KUHN & MCI

LEZ /

qt Fred Kuhn, Jr/
Attorneys for the Plaintiff

By:

i)

April 257. 1989

“oy: eee

APPENDIX

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF SOUTH CAROLINA
BEAUFORT DIVISION

GALA ADKINS, ) C.A. #D:88-0135-1
)(Loss of Consortium)
Plaintiff,
vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

C.A. #D:88-013601
(Pain & Suffering)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)
GALA ADKINS, AS )
Administratrix of the )
Estate of TIMOTHY J. )
ADKINS, )
)

Plaintiff, )

)

vs. )

)

)

)

)

)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

«30.

GALA ADKINS, As
Administratrix of the
Estate of TIMOTHY J.
ADKINS,

C.A. #D:88-0137-1
(Wrongful Death)

Plaintiff,
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

ORDER

These three consolidated cases are
before the court on the government's
motion to dismiss and the plaintiff's
motion to compel responses tc requests
for admission. Since the court finds
that the government's motion must _ be
granted, however, the plaintiff's motion
to compel is moot.

In June 1985, Timothy Adkins was a
Sergeant in the United States Marine

Corps. As a result of having his wisdom

-3l-

tooth pulled by personnel at the Branch
Dental Clinic of the Marine Corps Air
Station in Beaufort, South Carolina,
Seargeant Adkins died on August 8, 1985.
The plaintiff alleges in the complaints

that the technician who assisted in the

extraction of the tooth failed to
realize that the autoclave which
sterilized the instruments' used in

Sergeant Adkins' surgery was not working
properly. After the extraction,

Sergeant Adkins developed an infection

which was initially treated with
penicillin. The penicillin proved
ineffective, and, after several return

trips to the Clinic, Sergeant Adkins was
hospitalized. The decision was made to

transport the Sergeant from the Beaufort

3?

Naval Hospital to the Charleston (S.C.)
Naval Hospital. Because the Sergeant
twice entered respiratory arrest, a
nasoendotracheal tube was inserted to
assist his breathing prior to transfer.
After arriving at the Charleston
Naval Hospital, the Sergeant was placed
in intensive care, and the decision was
made to drain an abscess in his’- neck.
Prior to this procedure, an attendant at

the hospital decided to change the

nasoendotracheal tube. While attempting
to insert the new tube, the attendant
punctured the abscess. Sergeant Adkins
aspirated the discharge and, as a
result, developed inoperative pulmonary
edema, which resulted in adult
respiratorty distress syndrome from

which the Sergeant died on August 8,

1985. Sergeant Adkins was’ twenty-six
(26) years old.

These three consolidated cases
were filed by Sergeant Adkins' wife in
her personal capacity and in her capacity
as Bw erstrix of Sergeant Adkins'
estate. The government has moved to
dismiss the complaints, and, perhaps the
most incredible aspect of this whole
scenario is that the motion must be
granted.

In 1950, the United states Supreme
Court decided three consolidated cases

in Feres v. United States, 7a Usb. 432

(1950), and held that "the Government is
not liable under the Federal Tort Claims
Act for injuries to servicemen where
the injuries arise out of or are in the

-34-

course of activity incident to service."
Id. at 146. It is clear from the facts
of the three cases decided in Feres that
the Court meant to preclude suits
brought to recover for injuries to
servicemen which injuries resulted from
the negligent acts of other servicemen.
This doctrine, now commonly known
as the Feres doctrine, has received much
deserved criticism, but the Supreme
Court recently affirmed its vitality in

United States v. Johnson, 107 S.Ct. 2063

(1987). The Court affirmed the
application of the Feres doctrine to

the facts of the case by a five-to-four

vote, but Justice Scalia issued a
scathing dissent criticizing the
apparent inequity in the rule.

Recognizing the injustice wrought by the

5G.

Court's interpretation of the Federal
Tort Claims Act in Feres, Justice Scalia

observed:

Had Lieutenant Commander
Johnson [the plaintiff's
decendent ] been piloting a

commercial helicopter when he
crashed into the side of a

mountain, his widow and
children could have sued _ and
recovered for their loss, but
because Johnson devoted his
life to serving his country's
armed forces, the Court’ today

limits his family to a fraction
of the recovery they might
otherwise have received. & 4
our imposition of that
sacrifice bore the legitimacy
of ‘having been prescribed by

the people's elected
representatives, it would
(insofar as we are permitted to
inquire into such things) be
just. But it has not been, and
is not.

Id. at 2075-76.

Justice Scalia's observations are
equally applicable to the case at bar.

«Sips

Had Sergeant Adkins sought relief from a
private dentist, his family would at
least have the comfort of recovering
their total loss insofar as money could
bring about that result. However, since
Sergeant Adkins chose to serve in the
United States Marines, not only his wife
suffered the loss of her twenty-six year
Old husband, but she must also shoulder
the financial burdens which his’ death
has placed on her.

If this court wrote on a clean
slate, the result we reach today would
undoubtedly be different. It is
difficult to imagine a case less- ripe
for dismissal than one in which the
Plaintiff's decedent died after having a
tooth pulled; but Feres and its progeny

tie the court's hands. It 1s clear that

the two cases brought by Mrs. Adkins in
her capacity as administratrix of the
estate of Sergeant Adkins’ must be
dismissed because they are barred by
the Feres doctrine.

Plaintiff points out that the
decision in Johnson occurred prior to
the retirement of Justice Powell who
voted with the majority, and, in effect,
asks the court to anticipate a
different result when the Feres doctrine
is again reviewed by the Court with
Justice Kennedy participating rather
than Justice Powell. While the
invitation to anticipate a rejection of
the Feres doctrine is tempting, the
Supreme Court has made clear that the

lower courts have a duty to apply the

a

law as interpreted by the Supreme Court,
not to change L & a

Jaffree v. Board of School Com'rs of

Mobile County, 459 U.S. 1314, 1316

(1983), Thurston Motor Lines, Inc. v-

gorgqen K. Rand, Ltda... S60 0.8: 333, 332

(1983).
In the case brought by Ms. Adkins
in her personal capacity, the plaintiff

tries to fit within an exeption to Feres

by alleging an independent tort. She
claims that the defendant's conduct was
Te) outrageous as to constitute
intentional infliction of emotional
distress. Ms. Adkins also alleges that
she contemporaneously witnessed the
negligent acts toward her husband _ and
thereby suffered a direct injury as a

result of the defendant's negligence.

= Be

The case law applying the Feres
doctrine makes clear that Ms. Adkins'
claim must also be dismissed. In

Kohn v. United States, 680 F.2d 922 (2d

Ci. 1982), the court allowed the

parents of a deceased serviceman to

maintain Fs cause of action for
intentional infliction of emotional
distress. In that case, the conduct

| which the court found outrageouS was
conduct which occurred after the death
of the plaintiff's decedent. The court
held that "the Feres doctrine does not
preclude recovery for independant, post-
service negligent acts by the military,
whether the plaintiff be a serviceman or
a civilian." Id. at 926.

In Lombard v. United States, 6°r

- 4f}-

F.2d 215 (D.C. CIr. 1982), cert. denied,

462 U.S. 138 (1983), the court was
faced with a case brought by the birth-
defected children of a serviceman who
was exposed to radiation while on duty
in the military. In finding ae case
barred by the Feres doctrine, the court
concluded that Feres barred all claims
which have their genesis in an injury to
a serviceman incident to military
service.

Finally, in West v. United States,

fawn see aiav- (7th Cir. 11984), cert.
denied, ai2. U.S; 1013 (1985). the
Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals cited
Lombard with approval and declined to
dismiss the claims of the birth-defected
children of a serviceman whose blood
type was erroneously determined at his

eats

pre-induction physical. The court did
not rely on the fact that the blood
typing occurred prior to the father's
actual induction into the military.
Rather, the court concluded that the
father was not injured by the erroneous
blood typing, and that the claims of the
children, therefore, did on have their
genesis in an injury to a serviceman
incident to military service.

In the case at the bar, it is clear
despite artfu pleading by the
plaintiff, that her claims do have their

genesis in the injury to Sergeant Adkins

incident to his military service.
Therefore, the government's motion to
dismiss must also be granted with

respect to Civil Action #D:88-0135-1.

1
+

J

ted

ORDRED, that the

(2
0)
pee)
4)
f
(
ry
)
-
U
=
"\)
Lv)
=
L2.
+
oy
~"
(VU
6)
LJ)
.
3
rv
in
my"
i
laa’
v
onl
og
—
—"

7 ~ Z
ant anc Tne witl , YT Ec ire
WwWilaiitl , AiitA Li W siti > 7
KH 7 ad r t 7+ a. | oO cy
nere y A Loot A«
" ATT rm ro ~ r Cpr’
PLiwas » & L IN i/o ING .
s > ’ . * 4
S rauicCvUlil De AWN Liles
mAT SONA r TY Tt
5 f b HH K
rAd \ ID e« PLA WING
rT? 3 _ T\ 4 ~ ~ ~ + T | ’
~at+pan Cc + a T) ~+y7 ¢
niteda 24¢CS ives rd 1Qaq
ad a + ry a4 + ,y r ,
11a i LCS Lily ‘ A i a4 Liii1c
Ty} - bh )

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT
No. 88-2573
Gala Adkins: Gala Adkins, as
Administratrix of the Estate of
Timothy J. Adkins,
Plaintiffs-Appellant,
versus

United States of America,

Defendant-Appellee,

Appeal from the United States
District Court for the District of
South Carolina, at Beaufort. Falcon
B. Hawkins, District Court Judge.
(CA-88-135)

Argued: January Ll, 1989
Decided: February 2, 1989

Before RUSSELL, Circuit Judge,
BUTZNER, Senior Circuit Judge and
HENDERSON, United States District
Judge for the District of South
Carolina, sitting by designation.

Harold Fred Kuhn, Jr. (Moss, Dore,
Kuhn & McIntyre, P.A., on brief) for

Appellant. John Harris Douglas,
Assistant United States Attorney
(Vinton D. Lide, United States

Attorney on brief for Appellee.

-44-

PER CURIAM:

This consolidated appeal arose
from three actions brought by the
spouse of a deceased serviceman
whose death allegedly resulted from
improper treatment given by Navy
dental and medical personnel. The
district court reluctantly dismissed
the claims under Fed. R. Civ. P.
12(b) because the claims were barred

under the Feres doctrine.

Accordingly, we affirm.

In Feres v. United States, 340

U.8. 235, 146 (1950), the .Vaited
States Supreme Court held that "the
Government is not liable under the
Federal Tort Claims Act for injuries
to servicemen where the injuries

~4S-

arise out of or are in the course of
activity incident to service."

lthough the Supreme Court has
indicated at times a willingness to
part with the per se application of

this rule, see United States v.

Shearer. 473 U.S. 52, 57 (¢1985)

("The Feres doctrine cannot be
reduced to a few bright-line rules;
each case must be examined in light
of the statute as it has_ been
construed in Feres and subsequent
cased.) the Court recently
affirmed such a per se approach in

United States v. Johnson, 481 U.S.

681 (1987). This court is not free
to ignore a recent and clear
affirmation of the Feres doctrine,

==

—s

and therefore, must hold the
plaintiff's wrongful death and
survivorship actions barred.

The appellant also argues that,
if this court refuses to overturn
the Feres doctrine, then it should
hold the doctrine inapplicable to
claims for outrage or for emotional
distress to bystanders. The
appellant argues that Feres bars
only actions derivative of a
serviceman's injury, and that the
appellant's emotional distress is
not derivative. This argument is
not persuasive.

Feres' broad proscription bars
suits seeking redress for injuries
derivative of harm done to a

-47-

serviceman. Hinckie Vv. United

peeces, si2 F.2d 96 (3rd Cir. 1983),
cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1053 (1984);

Scales _v. United States, 685 U.S.

970 (5th Cir. 1982), cert. denied,

460 U.S. 1082 (1983); Monaco v.

United States, 661 F.2d 129 (9th

Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 456 U.S.

989 (1982); Van Sickel v. United

seeces, 255 F.2d 87 (9th Cir. 1960).
Emotional distress suffered by an
injured serviceman's family as a
result of the serviceman's condition
derives from the serviceman's

injury. Lombard v. United States,

960 F.2d 215 ip .c. Cir. 1982)
(wife's emotional distress

derivative), cert. denied, 462 U.S.

-48-

- 4» f + y 4 * ua CAiiN\s ~ os +
—_ Se oul .7 4 a oa ~- 7 tT — +
_ er ; te t
eWVililOUVs LL & Ubi SS oe Sa Se as VG ‘ . & & eo
} +, . , 7 ~ A +
» Sip) ~ A 4
“, — m™m ee = ~ ~- 4 y
Se Y eC ¢ 2 é
VUe & VX A a ii i ‘ " A 4 Ah» oF! — & — + A 2 4
+ - a oe “tr + ory ean -
b7 ik a2 Cc 4 4 i a + y = - oO & va VL Ailgs
‘ - ~ -

I} ie a. > + ~e—atrs <r
ai S a id is SB i as Lode aS - aw & VV s& L FY
° . 4 a er a)
mnNnreriInant + . ™ 1Tarry c ie an 04
aiivw sz pS Lit we VY oe oe Se Se Se ee eS <P Gar a is ee
_ : 5 ie a n

the appellant's outrage and
bystander claims derive from the
serviceman's injury, the district
court's dismissal of these causes of

action is affirmed.

° AFFIRMED

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1289%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
