# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — DiNorscio v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1190%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 492 U.S. 906

## Text

Supreme Court, i$,
FILED

88.1664" we Dd ee

JOSEPH F, SPANIOM,
CLERK

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1988

GIACOMO DiNORSCIO, Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

KIRK WOODBRIDGE MUNROE
Richey, Munroe & Fine, P.A.
200 South Biscayne Blvd.

3100 Southeast Financial Ctr.
Miami, Florida 33131

(305) 372-8808

Counsel of Record

a
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

oo In Batson v. Kentucky, this Court

established the evidentiary burden of a
defendant Claiming a denial of equal
protection through a prosecutor's use of
peremptory challenges to exclude members of
his race from the petit jury. The trial court
below denied petitioner's Batson claim for
discriminatory challenges against Italian-
Americans ruling that Batson is limited to
blacks and, alternatively, that petitioner
failed to establish a prima facie case under
Batson.
The questions presented are:

(a) Does the right to equal
protection under Batson extend to non-black
groups such as Italian-Americans?

(b) If so, does the Batson prima
facie case require an Italian-American

defendant to make an affirmative showing that

ii

persons with Italian surnames (1) constitute
a group that has been singled out for
differential treatment, and (2) have been
disparately represented on juries in the
jurisdiction?

(c) If persons with Italian
Surnames are seated as jurors, does the
requisite prima facie showing increase to one

of actual prejudice?

2. Whether The Bail Reform Act of 1984
precludes sentencing under 18 U.S.C. §3147 of
a person who was not advised at the time of
release of the penalties for committing an

offense while released on bail?

iii

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the proceedings in the

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit were:

Giacomo DiNorscio
Vincent DiPasquale
Gerald Cohen
Gerald DeLuca

John Sinico
Anthony Truglia

United States of America

Petitioner believes that Vincent
DiPasquale, Gerald DeLuca and John Sinico have

no interest in the outcome of this Petition.

Gerald Cohen and Anthony Truglia have

filed a separate petition.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTE sc ccc cc es eseceesvsseeeae i
LiSs OF FRREAMO seh cee ee eden s eer eeeenesins iii
TAs GCE RPTL ELBO sc oc cctv cas da sac eeense vi
OPINIONS BRU 6c cc cc eee see cae sbr eter eannas 1
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDS........ 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
PGs, +) ee ee Pee a rae ae eae eae ee a ee ae =
Semameueees UF THE CARR se osc vee eseesernnveusses 6
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.....- cc cceee 14

i Batson: The decision

below highlights the need
for fuller standards on
the applicability of non-
black groups under Batson.
Lower courts are reaching
conflicting conclusions
via different standards.
The decision below adds to
the confusion in the area
and conflicts with the
principles announced by
this Court in

le re a ee a ee eee 14

Vv

pe §3147 Sentence: The
decision in the court of
appeals below created a
Girect conflict with two
other circuits. The
conflict involves an
important and common issue
- the notice requirement
under The Bail Reform Act
of 1984 as a precondition
to additional punishment
for the commission of a

Crime WhA1G OM DELL... cscccseves 33

ci yO 8 8s iar aaa eee eee arena ere 36
APPENDIX A - Opinion and Judgment of Court

OE AMMGOLG. os cc ccceseceas la
APPENDIX B - Bench Ruling by the District

6.) a eae eee 28a
APPENDIX C - Sentencing by the District

eg ee ee eee ee ee 39a

APPENDIX D

Judgment and Sentence by the
BASTESEGCe COUR Ge csc ec wecucs 43a

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Barber v. Ponte
772 F.2d 982 (lst Cir. 1985) 26, 27, 28

Batson v. Kentucky

476 U.S. 79 (1986) : 2, 9, 10, 14-21,
oe ee ee * « 2 2 eee, eos ae
Castaneda v. Partida

Gs Uses Soe ti977) «x i. @h, O02 “20
Government of the Virgin Islands v.
Forte

865 F.2d 59 (3d Cir. 1989) ts gt Se-5 20

Hernandez v. Texas
oar Wems Gre taeee) « « & * 6 ss Zk, a

Regents of the University of
California v. Bakke
438 U.S. 265 (1978) . . . . « ..- 25

Snell v. Suffolk County
Olli F.Supp. 3241 (E.D.N.¥. 1985) .. 25

Swain v. Alabama
ae Usa meee CESOO)y « se sls is, 20, se

United States v. Alcantar
Gan Vee sara (wen Cit. 2987) « « 20

United States v. Angiulo
847 F.2d 956 (list Cir. 1988) ... 19

vii

United States v. Biaggi
673 F.Supp. 96 (E.D.N.Y. 1987)

» « « £48, 20-23, 25-27

United State v. Biaggi

853 F.2d 89 (2d Cir. 1988) ee oe ae a
United States v. Bucci

839 F.2d 825 (lst Cir. 1988) eo er ee ee
United States v. Chalan

812 F.2d 1302 (10th Cir. 1987) 20
United State v. Cooper

827 F.2d 991 (4th Cir. 1987) ; Wa 04 a eee ee
United States v. David

803 F.2d 1567 (11th Cir. 1986) ‘ 32
United States v. DiCaro

852 F.2d 259 (7th Cir. 1988) 34
United States v. DiPasquale

S664 f.20 474 (ae Git. i908) .. 1, 2, 20-13,
ee ae ee ee ae ee ae ae a a6. - 19, “29-32 ,::32
United States v. Gordon

817 F.2d 1538 (llth Cir. 1987) 32
United States v. Montgomery

819 F.2d 847 (8th Cir. 1987) 32
United States v. Saade

652 F.2d 1126 (lst Cir. 1981) . 24
United States v. Sink

851 F.2d 1120 (3d Cir. 1988) 34
United States v. Sgro

SiG Fi. 20 20 €ESt Cis. 1967) i: +. « 28,19, 26

viii

Village of Arlington Heights Vv.
Metropolitan Housing Corp.
429 U.S. 252 2c 2 a earn.

Weber v. Kaiser Aluminum &
Chemical Corp.

963 F.2d 216 (5th Cir. aertr? 3 | oe
Constitution:

Fifth Amendment ... 3, passim (14-33)
Sixth Amendment .... o « « « « £6=29
Statutes: de

s8 U.8.C. $2142. <... oe ee oe

18 U.S.C. §3147 2, 4, 6, 12, 23. 33-38

so 0.8.0, $3338 ou: tee ee ee ee

28 U.S.C. §1254 .... J ee ee ee

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1988

GIACOMO DiNORSCIO, Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioner Giacomo DiNorscio respectfully
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment and opinion of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
entered in this case on December 23, 1988.

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals is

reported at United States v. DiPiasquale, 864

2
F.2d 271 and is reprinted in the appendix
hereto, p. la, infra.

The bench opinion of the United States
District Court of the District of New Jersey
(Barry, J.) which deals with the Batson issue
is reprinted in the appendix hereto, p. 28a,
infra. The relevant portion of the sentencing
is reprinted in the appendix hereto, p. 39a,
infra. The judgment and sentence is reprinted

in the appendix hereto, p. 43a, infra.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDS

The United States Court of Appeals for
the Third Circuit entered judgment on December
23; 2986. No petition for rehearing was
sought. On January 24, 1989, Justice Brennan
ordered that the time for filing this petition
for writ of certiorari be extended to and
including March 23, 1989. An additional

period of time was allowed until April 19,

3
1989 by letter from the Office of the Clerk of
the Supreme Court of the United States dated
March 24, 1989 (received March 29, 1989).
The jurisdiction of this Court to review
the judgment of the Third Circuit is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1) and Rule 21, Rules of

the Supreme Court of the United States.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution
of the United States provides, in relevant
part: ;
[No person shall] be deprived of
life, liberty, or property, without
due process of the law; nor shall

private property be taken for public

use without just compensation.

18 U.S.C. 3147 - Penalty for an offense

committed while on release:

18

4

A person convicted of an offense
committed while released pursuant to this
chapter shall be sentenced, in addition
to the sentence prescribed for the
offense to -

(1) a term of imprisonment of not
less than two years and not more than ten
years if the offense is a felony; or

(2) a term of imprisonment of not
less than ninety days and not more than

one year if the offense is a misdemeanor.

A term of imprisonment imposed pursuant
to this section shall be consecutive to

any other sentence of imprisonment.

-S.C. 3142(h) - Contents of release order

In a release order issued pursuant

to the provisions of subsection (b) or

(c), the judicial officer shall -

5
(1) include a written statement
that sets forth all the conditions to
which the release is subject, ina manner
sufficiently clear and specific to serve
as a guide for the person's conduct; and
(2) advise the person of -

(A) the penalties for
violating a condition of release,
including the penalties for committing an
offense while on pretrial release;

(B) the consequences’ of
violating a condition of release,
including the immediate issuance of a
warrant for the person's arrest; and

(C) the provisions of sections
1503 of this title (relating to
intimidation of witnesses, jurors, and
officers of the court), 1510 (relating to

obstruction of criminal investigations),
\

1512 (tampering with a witness, victim,

6
or an informant), and 1513 (retaliating
against a witness, victin, or an

informant).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Giacomo DiNorscio was one of
eleven defendants accused in a six count
indictment with charges arising from a
conspiracy to distribute cocaine among several
states during the period between September,
1985 and June, 1986. The district court had
jurisdiction pursuant to 18 U.S.C. §3231. The
trial was in Newark, New Jersey and resulted
in the conviction of all defendants. The
trial court sentenced petitioner to a 25 year
prison term, a six year special parole term,
and a $5,000 fine. It also added a
consecutive five year term pursuant to 18

U.S.C. $3147.

Voir Dire

This case concerned allegations that
petitioner Giacomo DiNorscio together with
Manuel Monteiro, Gerald DeLuca, Thomas Marino,
John Sinico, Frank Suppa, Vincent DiPasquale,
Anthony Truglia, Gerald Cohen, Robert Fisher
and Dick Pearson committed crimes in southern
Florida and northern New Jersey.*

The trial took place in northern New
Jersey. <

The trial court included two questions in
its voir dire designed to ferret out prejudice
against Italian-Americans: "If you have any

business or social contact with Italian-

Americans, would such contact influence you

After the first week, the trial
proceeded with only one non-Italian-American
defendant, Cohen. Fisher agreed to be a
government witness before trial and pled
guilty on the fourth day of trial. Pearson
left the trial at the end of the first week by
pleading guilty.

8
either favorably or unfavorably against any
Italian-American defendant?” "Is there
anything about Italian-Americans which would
cause you to hesitate to serve as a juror in
this case?" These questions were asked to
every potential juror.

During the selection of the petit jury
the prosecution exercised eight peremptory
challenges, five against Italian surnamed
people: Carl Stiso, Donna Ferrante, Anthony
Bitanso, Anthony Liosi, and Anthony Oranco.
Immediately after the government's challenge
of Mr. Oranco, defense counsel raised the
issue that there was a pattern of
discrimination against Italian-Americans in
the jury selection process and requested that
the government be instructed to cease such
discrimination. The prosecutor responded by
giving reasons for his challenge of Mr. Oranco.

and stating that he was unaware of whether the

9
other jurors challenged were Italian-
Americans. Later that day, defense counsel

cited the case of Batson v. Kentucky and

requested the government's explanation for
striking the other Italian-American jurors.
The following morning the court stated that it
had read the Batson decision and because
counsel was pressing the application the court
would read its opinion into the record during
a recess. The next day, the court read its
ruling into the record, denying the
application. See p. 28a, infra.

In her order denying the application, the
trial court started from the premise that
Batson was limited to blacks and denied the
application on the basis that petitioner was
challenging the government's peremptory
strikes of Italian-Americans. The court then

set forth an alternate holding: even if Batson

applied to Italian-Americans, at least one

10

Italian-American was on the jury, the defense
struck two i{italian-Americans, and two of the
government's peremptory strikes stood out in
the court's mind and were justified. The
trial court did not directly consider whether
Italian-Americans were a cognizable group.
She did however state a difficulty in
determining Italian-American ancestry based
strictly on the use of surnames.

On appeal to the Third Circuit,
petitioner argued that the prosecutor's use of
peremptory challenges violated his right to

equal protection as set forth in Batson v.

Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986). United States

v. DiPasquale, 864 F.2d 271, 275-77 (3d Cir.

1988). The appellate court affirmed the trial
court. It found no reversible error in
denying a Batson hearing. Id. at 276. In

doing so, the Third Circuit declined to decide

whether Batson applied to other ethnic or

11
racial groups. Id. 276-77. Rather, the
appellate court assumed it did and focused on
whether petitioner satisfied his burden to
establish that Italian-Americans were a
cognizable racial group. Id. at 277. The
Third Circuit identified the requisite showing
of cognizability as follows: "under Batson,
DiNorscio wae required to show that persons
with Italian surnames...constitute a group
that has been singled out for differential
treatment and has been disparately represented
on juries in New Jersey." Id. (emphasis
supplied). The court found no such proof.
Specifically, the appellate court underscored:
"He has not made a showing that this group has
been systematically excluded from jury service
in New Jersey..." Id. In addition, the Third
Circuit found most significant that there was
no demonstration of actual prejudice since the

jury, as seated, included two jurors with

12

Italian surnames. Id.

Sentencing

At sentencing, the trial court imposed a
five year consecutive prison term pursuant to
18 U.S.C. §3147. Petitioner was not indicted,
tried nor convicted of a §3147 offense.
Further, he was not notified by the court or
the government prior to the day of sentencing
that the government sought, or that the court
was considering, imposition cf a _ sentence
under §3147. Defense counsel immediately
objected to the .sentence as illegal and,
pursuant to the direction of the court, filed
a motion to vacate the sentence. The day
after this motion was filed, petitioner filed
his notice of appeal. The motion was never
ruled upon.

On appeal, petitioner raised two §3147

issues: (1) the section establishes a

13
separate criminal offense, and (2) petitioner
received inadequate notice that he was subject

to a penalty under §3147.* DiPasquale, 864

F.2d at 279-81.

The court of appeals below affirmed the
sentence holding that the satisfaction of the
notice provisions of §3142(h) is not a

precondition to a sentence pursuant to §3147.

Id. at 280-81. In reaching this result, the
Third Circuit specifically discussed _ and
rejected the opposite conclusion of the Fourth

Circuit in United States v. Cooper, 827 F.2d

991 (4th Cir. 1987). Id.

In the face of a government challenge
of the propriety of petitioner's appeal on
this issue due to a éeclaimed lack of
preservation at the trial level, the Third
Circuit found the appeal proper. DiPasquale,
864 F.2d at 279 n.12.

2

14
REASONS FOR GRANTING PETITION
I
Batson
The decision below highlights the
need for fuller standards on the
applicability of non-black groups
under Batson. Lower courts are
reaching conflicting conclusions via
different standards. The decision
below adds to the confusion in the

area and conflicts with the

principles announced by this Court

in Batson.

It is self-evident that America consists
of numerous ethnic and racial groups; we are
a melting pot where many of the newer
ingredients are largely unmelted.
Discrimination against many of these groups
also is a hard fact of life and history in
this land. It is in this context that
petitioner urges this Court to settle the

growing sea of confusion in the identification

of cognizable groups under Batson v. Kentucky,

475 U.S. 79 (1986). Trial courts, both state

and federal, badly need the guidance of this

15
Court. A clear delineation cof standards in
determining the applicability of Batson to the
numerous ethnic and racial groups across this
country would greatly facilitate the
administration of criminal justice in the
United States.

To compound the situation, the court of
appeals below pronounced standards which
directly conflict with the principles
announced by this Court in Batson. The
analysis is simply wrong. Worse, it
effectively limits Batson in the Third Circuit
to blacks by imposing standards even harsher
than those in the decision overturned in

Batson, Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965).

Almost three years ago, this Court in
Batson articulated three elements necessary
for a criminal defendant to establish a prima
facie case for tne denial of equal protection

by the discriminatory use of peremptory

16

challenges during jury selection. Perhaps the
most troubling and growing area of litigation
following Batson centers on the identification
and proof of a cognizable racial group. Does
Batson apply to non-black ethnic groups such
as Italian-Americans? If so, what proof is
necessary to establish the cognizability of
the group, the defendant's membership in the
group, and the venireman's membership in the
group? What is the standard to determine
cognizability and membership during the jury
selection process?

The circuits, but not the district
courts, have sidestepped the applicability of
Batson to non-black groups by generally
assuming applicability. The First Circuit and
now, in this case, the Third Circuit have
erected impressive standards of proof to
establish the cognizability of non-black

groups. This is contrary to the reasoning and

17
holding of Batson. The Third Circuit now
requires a defendant to show that the claimed
group has been disparately represented on
juries in the jurisdiction.

Moreover, the Third and the Eleventh
Circuits are now in conflict on another aspect
of the Batson prima facie case. The Third
requires a demonstration of actual prejudice
once a member of one's group is seated. The
Eleventh, on the other hand, finds an equal
protection violation for the improper striking
of a single juror regardless of the seating of

others of the same group.

Cognizability of
Italian-Americans in New Jersey

The trial court held that Batson applied
only to blacks. The Third Circuit declined to
consider the correctness of that ruling and

instead focused on whether Italian-Americans

|

18
were a cognizable group for Batson purposes.
The question of cognizability of Italian-
Americans as a group for a Batson claim has
now been decided in three circuits with

different results. Compare United States v.

DiPasquale, 864 F.2d 271, 275-77 (3d Cir.

1988) and United States v. Sgro, 816 F.2d 30,

32-33 (lst Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 108 S.Ct.

1021 (1988) with United States v. Biaggi, 673

F.Supp. 96, 99-103 (E.D.N.¥. 1987), aff'd, 853

F.2d 89, 95-96 (2d Cir. 1988), cert. denied,

109 S.Ct. 1312 (1989).

The circuits affirming findings of no
Batson cognizability for Italian-Americans
have required defendants to satisfy up to four
evidentiary tests during voir dire: 1) that
Italian-Americans have been or are subjected

to discriminatory treatment outside of the

19

jury selection process;?* 2) that Italian-
Americans meet the cultural cohesion standards
for class cognizability under the Sixth
Amendment;* 3) that there is a meaningful
relationship between surnames and ethnicity;°
and 4) that Italian-Americans must have been
systematically excluded from jury service in
the district.°®

In sharp contrast, Batson cognizability

has been accepted, without the introduction of

3 United States v. DiPasquale, 864 F.2d
at 277; United States v. Angiulo, 847 F.2d
956, 984 (lst Cir.), cert. denied, 109 S.Ct.
138 (1988); United States v. Bucci, 839 F.2d
S25, G33 tist Cir.), cert. Geniea, i093 $.Cct.
117 (1988).

4 DiPasquale 864 F.2d at 277; United

States v. Sgro, 816 F.2d 30, 33 (lst Cir.
1987), cert. denied, 108 S.Ct. 1021 (1988).

> DiPasquale, 864 F.2d at 277; Bucci, 839

F.2d at 832; Sgro, 816 F.2d at 33.

€ pDiPasquale, 864 F.2d at 277.

20

evidence, as to Italian-Americans,’ Hispanics,°®
Native Americans’ and whites in the Virgin
Islands.*°

The area is badly in need of the Court's
guidance.

To raise a Batson claim, a defendant
"must show that he is a member of a cognizable
racial group..." Batson, 476 U.S. at 96.

This Court identified Castaneda v. Partida,

430 U.S. 482 (1977), as the case to which

litigants should look for guidance on

’? united States v. Biaggi, 673 F.Supp. 96
(E.D.N.¥. 1987), @£2'°@, Goa Ficae Se tae Cif.
1988), cert. denied, 109 S.Ct. 1312 (1989).

6 united States v. Alcantar, 832 F.2d
1175 (9th. Cae. Bere

7 United States v. Chalan, 812 F.2d 1302
(10th Cir. 1987), cert. pending (petition
filed August 8, 1988).

10 Government of the Virgin Islands v.

Forte, 865 F.2d 59 (3d Cir. (V.I.) 1989).

21

determining cognizability. Id. In Castaneda,

this Court relied on Hernandez v. Texas, 347

U.S. 475, 479 (1954), which held that Mexican-
Americans are an identifiable class. In

Hernandez, the Court rejected the notion that

only two "racial" groups, white and black, are
deserving of equal protection. Instead, the
Court concluded "(t]he exclusion of otherwise
eligible persons from jury service solely
because of their ancestry or national origin
is discrimination prohibited by the Fourteenth

Amendment." Hernandez, 347 U.S. at 479.

The same analysis can be made of Italian-
Americans. The shared ancestry of Italian-
Americans is easily identifiable in their
Italian surnames, just as Mexican ancestry was
found by this Court to be readily apparent
from surnames alone. Biaggi, 673 F.Supp. at

102, citing Castaneda, 430 U.S. at 495.

a2

In Hernandez, the Court found Mexican-

Americans to be a distinct class in part
because the "attitude of the community" was to
distinguish them from whites in general. 347
U.S. at 479, 74 S.Ct. at 671. Similarly, the
trial court in this case repeatedly asked two
voir dire questions which clearly demonstrated
a perception Italian-Americans were
identifiable and distinguishable from the
community at large.

A defendant claiming to be a member of a
cognizable group such as Italian-Americans
must demonstrate a relationship between
Surnames and ethnicity. However, the issue of
what type of showing is necessary has drawn
two very different conclusions. The First and
Third Circuits have required that a defendant
present evidence demonstrating the link
between surnames and ethnicity. The district

court in Biaggi took judicial notice of the

az
cognizability of Italian-Americans and of
their commonly identifiable names. Biaggi,
673 F.Supp. at 100-101. More significantly,
this Court took judicial notice that Spanish
surnames are easily identifiable and did not
require any evidence to show that the
individuals excluded from service on the grand
jury were in fact Mexican-American when it
appeared from their names that they were

Mexican-American. Castaneda v. Partida, 430

U.S. at 494-95.

Judicial notice is appropriate for a
cognizability determination because of the
timing of this issue at trial. When a grand
jury challenge is contemplated based on a
repeated history of statistical
underrepresentation, the discrimination is
known to the defense in advance of trial.
However, in a peremptory challenge situation

the defense only sees evidence of governmental

24
discrimination during voir dire. To require
the defense to prepare for a possible Batson
challenge on the basis of ethnic ancestry in
advance of trial, by gathering experts and
census reports, would require the defense to
always assume that the government will act in
bad faith and discriminate against Italian-
Americans through the use of its peremptory
challenges. Courts presume that the

government acts in good faith. United States

v. Saade, 652 F.2d 1126, 1135 (lst Cir. 1981)

(selective prosecution claim). Citizens in
this county should be able to assume their
government will act lawfully and in good
faith.

If this Court concludes that some history
of discrimination must be demonstrated by
defendant as part of the proof of a cognizable

racial group under Batson, it can be found

with respect to Italian-Americans by judicial

25
notice as easily as can the relationship
between surnames and Italian-American
ethnicity. The district court in Biaggi took
judicial notice that Italians have been the
subject of stereotyping, invidious ethnic

humor and discrimination.’+ See also Batson,

476 U.S. at 104 n.3 (Marshall, J., concurring)
(noting a jury selection treatise circulated

in a prosecutor's office which instructed:

1+ Biaggi, 673 F.Supp. at 101. The
district court in Biaggi then cited the
following authority: "See Snell v. Suffolk
County, 611 F.Supp. 521 (E.D.N.Y. 1985),
aff'd, 782 F.2d 1094 (2d Cir. 1986). See also
Regents of the University of California v.
Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 292 & n. 32...(1978)
(Opinion of the Court per Powell, ga)
(""...Italians...continue to be excluded from
executive, middle management, and other job
levels because of discrimination based on
their religion and/or national origin.’ 41
C.F.R. §60-50.1(b)(1977)"); Weber v. Kaiser
Aluminum & Chemical Corp., 563 F.2d 216, 235
(Sth Cir. 1977) (Wisdom, J., dissenting)
(noting that "Americans of Irish, Italian,
Jewish [and] German extraction" have been
subjected to "undoubted past societal
discrimination")." Id.

26
"Do not take Jews, Negroes, Dagos, Mexicans or
a member of any minority race on a jury, no
matter how rich or how well educated." )
The Third Circuit below, relying on

United States v. Sgro, supra, ignored this

Court's repeated references in Batson to

Castaneda v. Partida and adopted a Sixth

Amendment cognizability test found in Barber

v. Ponte, 772 F.2d 982, 997 (lst Cir. 1985)

(en banc), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1050 (1986).

Borrowing the Sixth Amendment criteria is
suspect, however, because this Court "quite

clearly commanded that Castaneda govern its

own use of the term ‘cognizable racial
group.'" Biaggi, 673 F.Supp. at 100 (citation
omitted).

These Sixth Amendment standards are
inapplicable because discrimination in the

composition of the venire may be demonstrated

by mere statistical underrepresentation of the

a7
subject group, whereas violations of the equal
protection clause by discrimination in the use
of peremptory challenges require a showing of
discriminatory purpose. Id. "Because the
guarantee against Giscrimination through
peremptory challenges requires a showing of
purpose, ‘cognizable recial groups' may be
defined less rigidly, for it is precisely the
evidence of intentional exclusion of the group

that helps to identify the group." Id.**

12 The distinction between the necessity

of showing discriminatory purnose and the use
of statistical underrepresentation to show
discrimination was also discussed in Barber v.
Ponte, 772 F.2d at 999-1000: "That is not to
say, however, that if a classification were
specifically and systematically excluded from
jury duty the same standard would be used as
here, where defendant simply relies on a
statistically [sic] disparity in the venires
to challenge its constitutionality. If
certain people are specifically and
systematically excluded from jury duty, then
the jury-administrating authority would have
created its own group." Id. (emphasis in
original).

octal

28

The use by the Third Circuit of the Sixth
Amendment criteria moves from suspect to
plainly wrong when the rationale for the fair
cross section requirement is compared to the
Batson rationale. The goal of the fair cross
section requirement is to accommodate the
attitudes, values, ideas and experience of the
eligible citizens that compose the community

where the case is tried. Barber v. Ponte, 772

F.2d at 997. Under the fair cross section
analysis, a group must be distinctive in terms
of common attitudes and experience. Id.
Otherwise, its absence from the jury would not
show the application of community values.
Indeed, it is so important that distinctive
group views be represented in the composition
of the jury that any defendant, even one not
a member of the absent or underrepresented

group, may raise a Sixth Amendment claim.

29

Conversely, to raise a Batson claim the
defendant must be of the same race as the
jurors peremptorily struck by the government.
Batson, 476 U.S. at 96. Under Batson, the
focus is on the government's use of peremptory
challenges to discriminate against members of
the defendant's racial or ethnic’ group.
Batson seeks to end the use of a presumption
that a juror will be biased in favor of a
defendant of his own racial or ethnic group.

Batson's cognizable group analysis, based as

it is on purposeful discrimination, shares
nothing with the basis for and selection of a
distinctive group under fair cross’ section
analysis.

To exacerbate the situation, the Third
Circuit below reads a suggested method of
proving discrimination as mandatory for Batson
purposes. The word "may" is transformed into

"must." DiPasquale, 864 F.2d at 277. In the

30
Third Circuit, to establish the cognizability
of a non-black group, therefore, a defendant
must establish that the group "has_ been
systematically excluded from jury service" in
the jurisdiction. Id.

Like the crippling burden of proof
imposed by Swain, if this remains the standard
for determination of cognizability of groups
under Batson, discriminatory challenges of
members of these non-black groups will be
largely immune from constitutional scrutiny.

Actual prejudice

After the below decision, the circuits
are in conflict is whether it is possible to
make a prima facie showing of discrimination
under Batson if members of the cognizable
group serve as jurors. Both the trial court
and the circuit court in this case placed
emphasis on the fact that the prosecution did

not strike every Italian-American on the

31
panel. As stated below, "[p]Jerhaps most
significantly, [petitioner] does not
demonstrate the actual prejudice to him in the
constitution of his jury, which included two
jurors who have Italian surnames."

DiPasquale, 864 F.2d at 277 (emphasis in

original).

The mere existence of two jurors from the
defendant's cognizable group on the jury
cannot insulate the government's
discriminatory use of peremptory challenges.
This Court stated clearly that a_ single
invidiously discriminatory governmental act is
not immunized by the absence of such
Giscrimination in the making of other
comparable decisions. Batson, 476 U.S. at 95

citing Village of Arlington Heights v.

Metropolitan Housing Corp., 429 U.S. 252, 266

n.14 (1977). Indeed, the holding of Batson is

an elimination of the pattern requirement of

32

Swain v. Alabama.

As correctly held by the Eleventh
Circuit: "(T]he striking of a single black
juror for a racial reason violates the Equal
Protection Clause, even where other black
jurors are seated and when there are valid
reasons for the striking of some _ black

jurors." United States v. Gordon, 817 F.2d

1538, 1541 (11th Cir. 1987), vacated in part

on other grounds, 836 F.2d 1312 (llth Cir.),

cert. dismissed, 109 S.Ct. 28 (1988); United

States v. David, 803 F.2d 1567, 1571 (11th

Cir. 1986). Cf. United States v. Montgomery,

819 F.2d 847, 851 (8th Cir. 1987) (existence
of blacks on jury precludes an inference of
discrimination when prosecutor had remaining
challenges).

The importance of the meaning and
operation of Batson is national in scope. The

decision below adds to the confusion in the

33
area and conflicts with the principles
announced by this Court in Batson. The area

needs the authoritative voice of this Court.

II

§3147 Sentence

The decision in the court of appeals

below created a direct conflict with

two other circuits. The conflict

involves an important and common

issue - the notice requirement under

The Bail Reform Act of 1984 as a

precondition to additional

punishment for the commission of a

crime while on bail.

The decision below created a direct
conflict in the circuits. The Third Circuit
now holds that The Bail Reform Act of 1984
does not require notice at the time of a
defendant's reiease that he is subject to an
additional, mandatory prison term for any

offense committed while on release as a

precondition to a §3147 sentence. DiPasquale,

864 F.2d at 280-281.

34
The Fourth and the Seventh Circuits hold

directly the opposite. United States v.

Cooper, 827 F.2d 991, 994 (4th Cir. 1987)
("Congress did not intend §3147 to apply when
the notice requirements of §3142 were not

fulfilled."); United States v. DiCaro, 852

F.2d 259, 264-65 (7th Cir. 1988) ("We agree
with the Fourth Circuit's decision in United

States v. Cooper...that The Bail Reform Act

itself precludes the sentencing under §3147 of
a person who was not advised at the time of
release of the penalties for committing an
offense while released on_ bond.") In
addition, two judges of the Eighth Circuit
also have written in support of the Cooper

decision. United States v. Sink, 851 F.2d

1120, 1122 (8th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 109

S.Ct. 800 (1989) (Heaney, J., concurring,
joined by Lay, C.J.) ("[F]Jor the penalty to be

imposed, it must...be shown that before the

Sa ll i aes A BE: ‘

eer? Te pase

35

defendant was released, he...had actual notice
of the penalty provision of section 3147.")

The federal trial courts across this
nation conduct bail hearings and release
defendants daily. An unfortunate percentage
of those released commit additional offenses
while on bail. Congress passed The Bail
Reform Act of 1984, in part, to provide
additional prison penalties for those people
who commit crimes while released on bail. Now
there is confusion over the release notice
provision which directly impacts on the
applicability of the punishment provision.
Two circuits have ruled one way. A third now
has ruled the other. The circuits disagree
over the statutory construction of this
important provision of The Bail Reform Act of
1984. This Court's review is essential to
resolve this conflict regarding the proper

construction of a widely used Congressional

36

See

CONCLUSION

The decision below adds to the confusion
concerning the applicability of non-black
groups under Batson and conflicts with this
Court's principles in Batson. The decision
below also creates a direct conflict with
other circuits concerning the proper
construction of important provisions of The
Bail Reform Act of 1984. For these reasons,
this petition for certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,
RICHEY, MUNROE & FINE, P.A.
Counsel for Petitioner

200 South Biscayne Boulevard
3100 Southeast Financial Cntr

Miami, Florida 33131
(305) 372-8808

Fs
by: #

Kirk Woodbridge Munroe

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 86-5810, 86-5835, 86-5836, 86-5841
86-5875, 86-5886, 87-5284, 87-5285,
87-5286, 87-5288 & 87-5317

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
v.

VINCENT DI PASQUALE,
Appellant in 86-5810

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Vv.

DI NORSCIO, GIACOMO,
Appellant in 86-5835 & 87-5284

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Vv.

COHEN, GERALD,
Appellant in 86-5841 & 87-5285

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Vv.

DELUCA, GERALD,
Appellant in 86-5836 & 87-5256

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Vv.

SINICO, JOHN,
Appellant in 86-5875 & 87-5288

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

2a

Vv.

TRUGLIA, ANTHONY,
Appellant in 86-5886 & 87-5317

On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of New Jersey - Newark
(D.C. Criminal Nos. 86-223-9, 86-223-01, 86-223-02,
86-223-05, 86-223, 86-223-10)

Argued January 11, 1988

Before: HIGGINBOTHAM and BECKER, Circuit
Judges, 2
and SHAPIRO, District Judge.*

(Filed December 23, 1988)

JOHN A. MOORE, ESQ.
Moore & Kealy

574 Newark Avenue
Jersey City, N.J. 07306

Attorney for Appellant in 86-5810

KIRK W. MUNROE, ESQ. (ARGUED)
Richey & Munroe, P.A.

3100 Southeast Financial Center
300 South Biscayne Boulevard
Miami, FL 33131-2327

Attorney for Appellant in 87-5284

* Honorable Norma L. Shapiro. United States District Judge for the
Eastern District of Pennsylvania. sitting by designation.

3a

THOMAS R. ASHLEY, ESQ. (ARGUED)
Ashley and Charles

24 Commerce Street

Newark, N.J. 07102

Attorney for Appellant in 86-5841 & 87-5285

THOMAS CAMMARATA, ESQ. (ARGUED)
850 Bergen Avenue
Jersey City, N.J. 07306

Attorney for Appellant in 86-5836 & 87-5286

ANDREW K. RUOTOLO, ESQ. (ARGUED)
DiRienzo & Ruotolo, P.A.

116 Saint Paul Street

Westfield, N.J. 07090

Attorney for Appellant in 86-5875 & 87-5288

GARRY J. FURNARI, ESQ. (ARGUED)
Law Office of Garry J. Furnari

596 Franklin Avenue

Nutley, N.J. 07110

Attorney for Appellant in 86-5886 & 87-5317

EDNA BALL AXELROD, ESQ. (ARGUED)
Chief, Appeals Division

United States Attorney's Office

970 Broad Street

Newark, N.J. 07102

Attorney for Appellee

OPINION OF THE COURT

A. LEON HIGGINBOTHAM, JR.., Circuit Judge.

These consolidated appeals are brought by six
co-defendants from judgments of conviction and

——————

4a

sentence on charges arising from a conspiracy to
distribute narcotics. Appellants Giacomo Di Norscio,_
Gerald Cohen, Gerald Deluca, John Sinico, Anthony
Truglia and Vincent Di Pasquale, assert several and
various contentions of error in the district court's
conduct of their trial and imposition of sentence. They
assert, inter alia, that the district court erred by
refusing to grant a motion for an evidentiary hearing to
determine whether the government had impermissibly
utilized its peremptory challenges during voir dire to
exclude a cognizable ethnic group: that the district
court erred by refusing to grant a motion for recusal;
that the district court erred by its imposition of an
enhanced sentence pursuant to the federal statute that
provides for increased penalties for persons convicted
of an offense committed while on bail for a separate
offense: and finally, that the district court erred by
refusing to dismiss the indictment because the
charging grand jury did not fairly represent a
cross-section of the community.' We find each of these

1. Appellants seek relief from their convictions on a host of other
grounds as well. On the claim of ineffective assistance of counsel
raised by Sinico. we will adhere to this Court's prior holdings that
such claims are not properly interposed on direct appeal. but
should be raised in appropriate collateral proceedings. See. e.g..
United States v. Gambino, 788 F.2d 938 (3d Cir.). cert. denied, __
U.S. —_. 107 S.Ct. 98 (1986).

Appellants contend that the verdict was affected by juror
taint. that the district court erred by failing to grant a motion for
severance and by improperly denying the request for a jury charges
regarding the alleged existence of multiple conspiracies. that the
government's closing summation unfairly prejudiced the jury and
that the verdict was contrary to the weight of the evidence. Di
Norscio claims that the district court erred by refusing to dismiss
the indictment against him for prosecutorial misconduct and that
his prosecution violated his double jeopardy rights. He and DeLuca
allege that the district court improperly denied them the
opportunity to present a complete defense by erroneously excluding
evidence. restricting cross-examination and limiting their opening

5a

contentions without merit and, accordingly, we will
affirm the district court's judgments of conviction and
sentence.”

I.
Background

Appellants were charged. in a six-count indictment
returned in June 1986, with participation in a
conspiracy to distribute cocaine between several states
during the period between September 1985 and June
1986. Specifically, the indictment alleged that the
appellants. together with five co- -defendants’,
conspired to distribute cocaine from a base in Florida
to New Jersey and several other states; possessed and

and closing arguments to the jury. DeLuca and Di Pasquale
contend that the district court considered improper factors in its
determination of sentence and Di Pasquale contends that his
prosecution was improper because it violated the government's
“Petite” policy of not prosecuting persons who have previously been
prosecuted in a state proceeding for the same acts that are the basis
of the federal prosecution. Truglia contends that the district court
erred by denying his request for a jury instruction that one of the
criminal acts charged to him was an independent act not in
furtherance of the charged conspiracy and by denying his motion
for a judgment of acquittal. We have evaluated all of these claims
and find them to be plainly without merit and not warranting
discussion.

2. Pursuant to Fed. R App. P. 28(i), each appellant has adopted
arguments raised by other appellants to the extent that those
arguments apply to him. For convenience and clarity. our
discussion of the appellants’ contentions makes reference only to
one of the named appellants. We have. however. considered the
merit of each argument to each appellant whose conviction and
sentence is implicated and. in that light. we reach our decision to
affirm.

3. These individuals: Frank Suppa. Manuel Monteiro. Thomas

Marino. Dick Pearson and Robert Fisher each pleaded guilty to the
charges prior to the commencement of the trial.

6a

aided and abetted the possession of cocaine with the
intent to distribute it; and that, in pursuit of the
conspiracy, two of the appellants -- Di Norscio and
Cohen -- engaged in a continuing criminal enterprise
as the principal administrators and organizers of the
illicit conspiracy. The principal evidence of the
conspiracy was presented through the testimony of
three witnesses: William Hawley, Gregory Hamilton,
and Robert Fisher, each of whom observed and
participated in some aspects of the illegal
transactions.‘

The trial of these charges commenced in
September 1986 and resulted in the conviction of each
appellant for participation in the conspiracy and for
possession with the intent to distribute cocaine in

4. Hawley. (who changed his name to “Jay Richmond”). testified
that he was a regular occupant at Di Norscio’s home in Florida and
at Truglia’s home in Florida from September through December,
1985. During that time he witnessed cocaine transactions three or
four times a week at either Truglia’s home or at Di Norscio’s home
and observed DeLuca and Sinico working for Di Norscio and
Truglia as “runners” who picked up crugs in Florida for delivery to
New Jersey, New York. Rhode Island and Tennessee. Hawley also
testified that he was often with Di Norscio and Truglia while they
counted the proceeds from these drug transactions. See Joint
Appendix to the Briefs of Defendants-Appellants (“Appellants
App.”) at 207-09.

Hamilton testified that he purchased cocaine on a
regular basis from Di Norscio and Cohen. Hamilton had been
arrested in Tennessee for the sale of cocaine to undercover drug
enforcement agents. He testified that the cocaine in his possession
in Tennessee at the time of his arrest was part of a shipment that
he had received from DiPasquale who had delivered it to him on
behalf of Di Norscio from Florida. See Appellants’ App. at 1439-41.

Fisher. who was indicted with the appellants. testified
that he too regularly purchased cocaine from Di Norscio and
Cohen. He testified that he delivered cocaine payments to DeLuca
in New Jersey. and to Di Norscio and Cohen in Florida. He also
testified that he had received cocaine from Di Norscio and Cohen
for distribution in Rhode Island. See Appellants’ App. at 1067-71,
1168-70.

7a

violation of 21 U.S.C. § 846 (1982).* Additionally, the
jury found Di Norscio and Cohen guilty of the
continuing criminal enterprise charge, which involved
felony violations of subchapters I and II of the
Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control
Act of 1970, 21 U.S.C. § 848 (Supp. IV 1986)*, and

5. Under § 846, it is unlawfu! for “(a)ny person [to! attempt{] or
conspire] to commit any offense defined in this subchapter.” 21
U.S.C. 8 846 (1982). °

Each of the defendants except Di Pasquale was tried by a
jury on these counts and convicted pursuant to the jury's verdicts.
Di Pasquale entered a plea of guilty to the offenses with which he
was charged.

6. Section 848(b) provides, in pertinent part, that

[ainy person who engages in a continuing criminal
enterprise [CCE}.shall be imprisoned for life and fined
wee i

(1) such person is the principal administrator.
crganizer. or leader of the enterprise or is one of
several such principal administrators, organizers.
or leadersj,]

21 U.S.C. § 848(b)(Supp. IV 1986). and the enterprise involves a
quantity of drugs or sum of money that exceeds a delineated
amount.

Section 848(d) states that
[a] person is involved in a CCE if:

(1) he for she] violates any [felony} provision of this
subchapter or subchapter II of this chapter. . . and

(2) such violation is a part of a continuing series of
violations of this subchapter or subchapter II of this
chapter -

(A) ... undertaken by such person in concert
with five or more other persons with respect to
whom such person occupies a position of
organizer, a supervisory position. or any other
position of management, and

8a

found Di Norscio and De Luca guilty of possession with
the intent to distribute a controlled substance in
violation of 21 U.S.C. § 841(a)(1)(1982).”

Pursuant to these verdicts, the district court
sentenced Di Norscio to two concurrent twenty-five
year prison terms, a six year special parole term, and a
$5,000 fine. It also imposed a consecutive five year
term pursuant to 18 U.S.C. 83147 (Supp. IV
1986)("8 3147").® The district court sentenced Cohen
to a twenty-five year prison term and:to a consecutive
five year term under § 3147. DeLuca was sentenced to
concurrent terms of seventeen and ten years and to a
three year special parole term. He was also sentenced to
a consecutive term, under § 3147, of three years. The
district court sentenced Sinico to a seven year prison
term, Truglia to a ten year prison term and DiPasquale
to a fifteen year prison term, to be served concurrently

(B) from which such person obtains substantial
income or resources.

21 U.S.C. 8 848(d)(Supp. IV 1986).

7. Section 841(a)(1) makes it unlawful:

to manufacture, distribute, or dispense. or possess with
intent to manufacture, distribute. or dispense, a
controlled substance.

21 U.S.C. § 841(a}(1)(1982).

8. Section 3147 provides that

[a] person convicted of an offense committed while
released under this chapter shall be sentenced, in
addition to the sentence prescribed for the offense to -

(1) a term of imprisonment of not less than two years
and not more than ten years if the offense is a felony

18 U.S.C. § 3147 (Supp. [IV 1986). The statute further provides that
the “term-of imprisonment imposed under this section shall be
consecutive to any other sentence of imprisonment.” Id.

nite et ses

9a

with a term that he was serving as the result of a prior
conviction.

Following the entry of judgments of convictions
and sentences, the appellants timely filed notices of
appeal alleging error in the conduct of their trial. They
assert: (1) that the government improperly exercised
its peremptory challenges to exclude Italian-Americans
from the petit jury in violation of Batson v. Kentucky,
476 U.S. 79 (1986); (2) that the district court erred by
failing to grant a motion for recusal pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 455(a), (b)(1). and (b)(3)(1982); (3) that the
district court improperly enhanced their sentences
under § 3147; and (4) that the grand jury selection
process systematically excluded Blacks.
Hispanic-Americans and persons with less than high
school educations,'‘in violation of the sixth and
fourteenth amendments and the Jury Selection and
Service Act of 1968, (“Jury Selection Act”), 28 U.S.C.
§ 1861 et seq. (1982). We have reviewed these
contentions and find none of them sufficient to
warrant intrusion upon the judgments of the district
court. We will, therefore, affirm.

II.
Exclusion of Italian-Americans From the Petit Jury

Di Norscio contends that, during the selection of
the jury. the government exercised five peremptory
challenges against venire persons with Italian
Surnames for the purpose of excluding
Italian-Americans from the jury. Di Norscio argues that
the government's use of peremptory challenges in that
manner violated his right to equal protection, as set
forth in Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986). Di
Norscio moved for a hearing under Batson to require
the government to put forward a “neutral explanation.”
id. at 97, for challenging the jurors and the district
court reserved judgment on the motion pending the

10a

completion of the voir dire. The jury selection process
was completed resulting in the selection of two jurors
who had Italian surnames.

Immediately following the jury selection, the
district court denied Di Norscio’s application for a
Batson hearing. It concluded that the Batson rule is
explicitly limited to racial discrimination against
blacks and, thus, did not extend to Italian-Americans.
United States v. Di Norscio, et al., No. 86-223, Trans.
of Proceedings (Opinion) at 271 (D.N.J. Sept. 11,
1986), reprinted in Appellants’ App. at 271.
Significantly, however, it found regarding two of the
challenged jurors, that permissible grounds for
exclusion existed, and concluded that even if it read
Batson to extend beyond black Americans, Di Norscio
had not made the requisite factual showing of the
cognizability of the group that he alleges to have been
excluded, or that any group was actually excluded.
The district court stated its finding that “[Di Norscio’s]
application [for a Batson hearing] is bottomed on
nothing -- on utterly nothing either factual or legal.” Id.
at 274.

We need not consider the correctness of the district
court's determination that the rule of Batson is not
applicable to cognizable racial or ethnic groups other
than black Americans under any circumstances
because we conclude that the district court's decision
not to exercise its discretion and order a Batson
hearing -- on the facts of this case -- did not constitute
reversible error.® Accordingly, we will not disturb the

9. We note that several federai appellate courts have assumed that
Batson has applicability to racial or ethnic groups other than black
Americans. See e.g.. United States v. Alcantar, 832 F.2d 1175,
1180 (9th Cir. 1987)(applying Batson to a challenge that
Hispanic-Americans were improperly excluded from jury service);
United States v. Chalan, 812 F.2d 1302. 1313-14 (10th Cir.
1987)(applying Batson to a challenge that Native Americans were

se acerca wanes cee all

lla

district court's judgment. '®
Under Batson, to establish a prima facie case of
purposeful discrimination in the selection of the petit
jury, a
defendant must first show that he [or she] is a
member of a cognizable racial group, Castaneda v.
Partida, ... {430 U.S.] at 494, and that the

prosecutor has exercised peremptory challenges to
remove from the venire members of the

improperly excluded from jury service). Cf. Roman v. Abrams, 822
F.2d 214, 227 (2d Cir. 1987)(under the Sixth Amendment. whites
are a cognizable group for Batson analysis), petition for cert. filed.
(U.S. Dec. 12, 1987)(No. 87-6031). Indeed. two federal appellate
courts have considered the applicability of Batson to
Italian-Americans. See United States v. Sgro, 816 F.2d 30, 33 (Ist
Cir. 1987)(“[wle assume without deciding that the principles of
Batson would extend to ethnic as well as racial constituencies”),
cert. denied, __ U.S. __. 108 S.Ct. 1021 (1988): United States v.
Bucci, 839 F.2d 825, 833 (lst Cir. 1988)(“[w)Jhether
Itaiian-Americans comprise a group needing ‘protection’ from
‘community prejudices’ is a question of fact”); United States v.
Biagg!, 853 F.2d 89 (2d Cir. 1988) affg United States v. Biaggi. 673
F. Supp. 96. 102 (E.D.N.Y. 1987) (“It can therefore be confidently
concluded that the Court in Batson meant ‘cognizable racial
groups’ to include a variety of ethnic and ancestral groups subject
to intentional discrimination. including !talian-Americans.”). In
each of these decisions, the appellate court concluded that, even if
Batson is not per se limited to black Americans or to race, the
defendant failed to make the requisite factual showing of the
cognizability of Italian-Americans or persons with Italian surnames
to merit relief under Batson. We reach the same result in this case.

10. While Judge Becker agrees with the discussion in this section
of the opinion, he would pretermit it in view of his agreement with
the district court that the Batson rule is limited to discrimination
against members of cognizable racial groups. See Brown v. North
Carolina, __ U.S. —, 107 S.Ct. 423. 424 (1986) (O'Connor. J.
concurring in the denial of certiorari) (Batson “is a product of the
unique history of racial discrimination in this country; it should
not be divorced from that context.”)

12a

defendant's race. Second, the defendant is entitled
to rely on the fact, as to which there can be no
dispute, that peremptory challenges constitute a
jury selection practice that permits “those to
discriminate who are of a mind to discriminate.”
Avery v. Georgia. 345 U.S., at 562. Finally, the
defendant must show that these facts and any
other relevant circumstances raise an inference
that the prosecutor used that practice to exclude
the venire{persons] from the petit jury on account
of their race.

Batson, 476 U.S. at 96. We assume arguendo that the
holding of Batson is not limited to black Americans,
and applies to any ethnic or racial group that meets the
criteria of cognizability delineated by the Supreme
Court. In that light, we note that ~

[t]he defendant initially must show that he is a
member of a racial group capable of being singled
out for differential treatment. . . a defendant may
then make a prima facie case by proving that in the
particular jurisdiction members of his race have
not been summoned for jury service over an
extended period of time.

Id. at 94 (citing Castaneda v. Partida, 430 U.S. 482,
494 (1977)). In the present case, therefore, under
Batson, Di Norscio was required to show that persons
with Italian surnames -- the group that he has
identified as impermissibly excluded from his jury --
constitute a group that has been singled out for
differential treatment and has been disparately
represented on juries in New Jersey.

In our evaluation of factors that must be shown in
order to demonstrate the cognizability of a racial or
ethnic group, we take some guidance from a decision of
the Court of Appeals for the First Circuit. In United
States v. Sgro, 816 F.2d 30 (Ist Cir. 1987), cert.

13a
denied, __ U.S. —_, 108 S.Ct. 1021 (1988), that
appellate court noted that:

[t]he proponent must prove that (1) the group must
be definable and limited by some clearly
identifiable factor, (2) a common thread of
attitudes, ideas or experiences must run through
the group, and (3) there must exist a community of
interests among the members, such that the
group's interests cannot be adequately represented
if the group is excluded from the jury selection
process.

Sgro, 816 F.2d at 33. We refer to these factors to
illustrate the nature of the showing required of Di
Norscio and the insufficiency of the proof presented by
him on the question of cognizability. Di Norscio offered
no evidence from which the district court could
reasonably have found that persons with Italian
surnames are reliably identified as members of a single
ethnic descent, or that persons with such surnames
“either have been or are currently subjected to
discriminatory treatment,” United States v. Bucci, 839
F.2d 825, 833 (Ist Cir. 1988). See also, United States
v. Angiulo, 847 F.2d 956. 984 (Ist Cir. 1988). Indeed,
during voir dire, Di Norscio himself conceded that “it’s
impossible to tell by the names” which jurors are
Italian-Americans. Appellants’ App. at 3540.
Significantly, he presented no evidence, other than the
surnames, to establish the ethnicity of the challenged
jurors. During Di Norscio’s oral motion for a Batson
hearing, the district court stated it's belief that “the
record also would reflect that no one here knows
whether these people are truly Italian-Americans or
not, and [that] it’s speculation at best on behalf of
defense counsel.” Appellants’ App. at 3543.

Moreover, Di Norscio has not demonstrated that
persons with Italian surnames -- even if they do not

l4a

share Italian descent -- are themselves an identifiable
ethnic group that shares common backgrounds and
ideas linked to a single culture and group loyalties, or
that there exists among them a community of interests
“such that the group's interests cannot be adequately
represented if the group is excluded from the jury
selection process.” Sgro 816 F.2d at 33. He has not
made a showing that this group has been
systematically excluded from jury service in New Jersey
and, perhaps most significantly, he does not
demonstrate the actual prejudice to him in the
constitution of his jury, which included two jurors who
have Italian surnames. For these reasons, we conclude
that Di Norscio has failed to carry his burden of
demonstrating that a cognizable group for Batson
purposes was impermissibly excluded from his jury
and, therefore. we conclude that he has failed to
establish a prima facie case of discrimination in the
government's use of its peremptory challenges.

Il.
Denial of the Motion for Recusal

At the time the indictment underlying this appeal
was returned, Di Norscio was awaiting trial on a
separate criminal indictment, also returned in the
District Court for New Jersey, in United States v.
Accetturo. One count of the indictment in Accetturo
charged Di Norscio with conspiracy to distribute
cocaine in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 846 and § 841 (a)}(1)
(1982). The conspiracy charged in that case was
alleged to have existed between September 1982 and
July 1985. After his arrest in Accetturo, Di Norscio was
released on bail. During the period of that release, Di
Norscio was indicted in the instant case. Di Norscio
contends that the interrelationship between these
prosecutions mandated recusal by the trial judge

15a

under 28 U.S.C. 8 § 455(a), (b)(1) and (b)(3)(1982).""
He contends that the Di Norscio and Accetturo cases
were actually separate prosecutions of a single
conspiracy and, because the district judge in the
present case served in the United States Attorney's
office during the time that the Accetturo investigation
was in progress, it was improper for her to preside over
the trial of the case underlying this appeal.

Judge Barry denied all defense motions to recuse,
on the grounds that: (1) the conspiracy charged in the
case before her and the conspiracy charged in the
Accetturo case were separate conspiracies; (2) she had
no previous knowiedge of the Di Norscio case and had
never been involved in any aspect of the prosecution of
this case while she was in the U.S. Attorney's office
and; (3) she had no actual bias against the defendants
and no reasonable person would question her
impartiality. We review the district court's decision not
te grant the motion for recusal for abuse of discretion,
see United States v. Dalfonso, 707 F.2d 757, 760 (3d
Cir. 1983), and we will affirm.

Di Norscio contends that recusal was necessary
because Judge Barry served as a Supervisory Assistant
U.S. Attorney in the District of New Jersey through
November 1983. Di Norscio argues that recusal was
mandated by 28 U.S.C. § 455(b)(3), because the judge

11. Pursuant to § 455(a). a judge must “disqualify himself Jor
herself] in any proceeding in which his [or her] impartiaiity might
reasonably be questioned.” 28 U.S.C. § 455(a) (1982). A judge must
also disqualify himself or herself where he or she “has a personal
bias or prejudice concerning a party. or personal knowledge of
disputed evidentiary facts concerning the proceeding.” 28 U.S.C.
§ 455(b)(1)(1982). Finally. pursuant to § 455(b)(3) a judge is
required to disqualify himself or herself if he or she “has served in
governmental employment and in such capacity participated as
counsel, advisor or material witness concerning the proceeding or
expressed an opinion concerning the merits of the particular case
in controversy.” 28 U.S.C. § 455(b)(1982).

16a

“served in governmental employment and in such
capacity participated as counsel, advisor or material
witness ... or expressed an opinion concerning the
merits of the ... case.” Section 455(b)(3), however,
mandates withdrawal only when “the judge is asked to
hear the same case in which [he or she] has been of
counsel. ..." In re Grand Jury Investigations, 486
F.2d 1013, 1015 (3d Cir. 1973)(emphasis in original)
cert. denied sub nom. Testa v. United States, 417 U.S.
919 (1974). In the present case, the district judge
explicitly stated that she never participated as counsel
or advisor, or expressed any opinion concerning Di
Norscio’s case. We note that the indictment in this case
charges acts that began in September 1985, nearly two
years after the Judge Barry left the U.S. Attorney's
Office.

The district court found that the conspiracy
charged in the Accetturo case terminated at the time of
the appellants’ indictments in that case in August
1985. It held, therefore, that the conspiracy underlying
the indictment in the present case -- which alleged acts
that succeeded the appellants’ arrests in Accetturo --
was separate from the conspiracy underlying the
indictment in Accetturo. We are not persuaded that
that factual finding was clearly erroneous.

Even if we accepted Di Norscio’s contention that
the conspiracy charged in this case arises from the
same factual circumstances as the conspiracy charged
in Accetturo, however, recusal was not required under
§ 455(b)(3). Although, as Di Norscio asserts, the United
States Attorney is “of counsel” in all criminal
prosecutions within his or her district. see e.g., In re
Grand Jury Investigation, 486 F.2d at 1015; United
States v. Vasilick, 160 F.2d 631, 632 (3d Cir. 1947), Di
Norscio offers no compelling argument for extending
this per se “of counsel” rule to cover every judge who
has previously worked as a supervisory attorney in the

17a

U.S. Attorney's Office. In our view, absent a specific
showing that that judge was previously invoived with a -
case while in the U.S. Attorney's office that he or she is
later assigned to preside over as a judge, § 455(b)(3)
does not mandate recusal. In the present case,
therefore, we decline to hold that the trial judge's
position as a Supervisory Assistant U.S. Attorney made
her “of counsel” in either the Accetturo prosecution or
the present case. In light of that cOnclusion, and
because there is no evidence that she otherwise
participated in the investigation or the prosecution of
the present case or of Accetturo, we hold that the trial
judge did not abuse her discretion by denying the
motion for recusal under § 455(b)(3).

Recusal was also not mandated under either
§ 455(a) § 455(b(1). Apart from the allegation
concerning the trial judge's prior employment as
Assistant U.S. Attorney, Di Norscio presents no
evidence of bias. prejudice or improper motive that
Judge Barry harbored with regard to Di Norscio’s case.
He does not offer evidence to refute the trial judge's
statement that she had “no personal knowledge of any
evidentiary facts concerning this case,” Appellants’
App. at 3262-63, nor did he offer any evidence tending
to show that “a reasonable [person] knowing all the
circumstances would harbor doubts concerning the
judge's impartiality.” Edelstein v. Wilentz, 812 F.2d
128, 131 (3d Cir. 1987)(construing § 455 (a)). As we
have discussed above, he has not shown that the
district judge had prior involvement in the prosecution
of his case, or that she had any improper connection
with the defendants, prosecutors. witnesses or any one
else involved with this trial. On this record, we are not
persuaded that trial judge's impartiality was in doubt
and, therefore. we find no abuse of discretion in the
denial of the motion to recuse.

dh cisternae

18a

IV.
Enhancement of Sentence Pursuant to § 3147

We next review the claim that Di Norscio was
sentenced illegally under § 3147. Di Norscio claims
that § 3147 establishes a criminal offense. He argues
that, because he was not indicted, tried and convicted
for that offense, he was not properly sentenced under
the provision. Alternately, he contends that even if
§ 3147 is merely a sentence enhancement provision,
the sentence that he received under it was nonetheless
improper because he was not given adequate notice of
the fact that he was subject to the enhanced penalty.
Our standard of review of these issues of statutory
construction is plenary. See Chrysler Credit Corp. v.
First Nat'l Bank and Trust Co., 746 F.2d 200, 202 (3d
Cir. 1984). Pursuant to that standard, we will affirm
the district court's imposition of sentence. '?

12. The government argues that Di Norscio did not preserve his
right to appeal this sentence because he did not comply with the
district judge's request for a written motion after sentencing. Di
Norscio orally objected to the § 3147 sentence. He submitted the
motion that the judge requested; it was received and filed but was
not listed for argument by the clerk because of Di Norscio’s failure
to attach a proposed order. Di Norscio then filed this appeal and the—
motion was never ruled upon.

We treat the motion before the district court as one for
reconsideratien of the sentence that was not ruled upon by the
district court. Di Norscio, however. is not appealing the disposition
of that motion. Rather, he challenges the propriety of the sentence
itself. “Final judgment in a criminal case means sentence. The
sentence is the judgment.” Berman v. United States, 302 U.S. 211.
212 (1937). Thus, although the district court never disposed of Di
Norscio’s motion. it did enter a final judgment of conviction and
sentence and, from that judgment. Di Norscio’s present appeal is

proper.

19a

A. Section 3147 Does Not Create a Separate Offense

In reaching our conclusion that § 3147 was
intended only to enhance the punishments for other
offenses, we are guided both by the plain language of
the statute, which speaks clearly in terms of enhanced
penalty -- “[a] person convicted of an offense committed
while released under this chapter shall be sentenced,
in addition to the sentence prescribed for the offense”
18 U.S.C. § 3147 (Supp. IV 1986) -- and by the
legislative history of the provision, which reflects
Congress's intent that the potential for enhanced
punishment serve as a deterrent to the commission of
crimes during bail release. The Senate Report of this
provision noted that

[section 3147 is designed to deter those who
would pose a risk to community safety by
committing another offense when released under
the provisions of this title and to punish those who
indeed are convicted of another offense. This
section enforces the self-evident requirement that
any release ordered by the courts include a
condition that the defendant not commit another
crime while on release. Given the problem of crime
committed by those on pretrial release this
requirement needs enforcement. Accordingly, this
section prescribes a penalty in addition to any
sentence ordered for the offense for which the
defendant was on release. This additional penalty
is a term of imprisonment of at least two years and
not more than ten if the offense committed while
on release is a felony. If the offense committed
while on release is a misdemeanor, this additional
penalty is at least 90 days and not more than one
year.

See S. Rep. No. 225, 98th Cong.. 2d Sess., reprinted in
1984 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 3182, 3217

20a

(emphases added). This passage refers to penalty only
and to the fact that that penalty is “additional” to the
sentence imposed for the substantive offense for which
the defendant has been convicted. It gives no
indication that Congress intended to create a separate
criminal offense by its enactment of § 3147 and we
have found no such intent evident elsewhere in the
legislative history.

Our conclusion accords with a decision of the
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in a case
involving a claim identical to Di Norscic’s. In United
States v. Patterson, 820 F.2d 1524 (9th Cir. 1987), the
appellate court held that

(slection 3147 is a sentence enhancement statute
which simply mandates an enhanced sentence for
someone who commits an offense while released
on bail. There is nothing exceptional about the
statute, nor is it vague or ambiguous. The
language is plain and the meaning is clear.

Patterson. 820 F.2d at 1526. See also, United States v.
Sink, 851 F.2d 1120 (8th Cir. 1988)(Section 3147
merely enhances punishment for crime committed
while on release, rather than creating separate crime
that had to be presented to a grand jury and proven
beyond reasonable doubt at trial); United States v.
Feldhacker, 849 F.2d 293 (8th Cir. 1988)(same). We
are similarly persuaded that § 3147 is a sentence
enhancement provision and not a separate offense
and, accordingly we will affirm the district court's
judgment of sentence.

B. Section 3147 Does Not Require Specific Notice

Di Norscio also claims that he received inadequate
notice that he was subject to penalty under § 3147. He
did not claim, at his sentencing, that he was unaware
that he was subject to this penalty, and raises this
claim for the first time on appeal. We find this

2la

contention without merit. We do not read the language
or the legislative history of § 3147 as mandating
explicit notice to a defendant of the possibility for
sentence enhancement as a pre-condition to sentence
and, accordingly, we will affirm the district court's
judgment of sentence.

Di Norscio’s argument on this issue relies upon a
decision of the Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.
In United States v. Cooper, 827 F.2d 991 (4th Cir.
1987} the appellate court held that a defendant who
was not specifically advised by the judicial officer who
released him on bail that the defendant would be
subject to enhanced penaity for committing an offense
while on release could not be sentenced under § 3147.
Cooper reasoned that § 3147 should be read in tandem
with a provision of 8 3142 of the Bail Act. See 18 U.S.C.
§ 3142(h) (Supp. IV 1986). Section 3142 regulates the
conditions and circumstances of releases for
defendants pending their trials. It requires that such
conditions be set forth in a written statement to the
defendant “in a manner sufficiently clear and specific
to serve as a guide for [his or her] conduct.” 18 U.S.C.
§ 3142(h)(1} (Supp. IV 1986). It also provides that the
judicial officer who authorizes the release of a person
under this statute advise that person of “the penalties
for violating a condition of release, including the
penalties for committing an offense while on pretrial
release.” 18 U.S.C. 8 3142(h)(2)(A) (Supp. IV 1986).
Cooper held that, because § 3142 explicitly mandates
notice to a defendant of the punishment to which he or
she would be subject for breaking the terms of release,
a similar mandate should be read into § 3147. The
court noted that “while Congress did not specify the
effect on sentence enhancement of the failure to give
such notice, its silence and the rule of lenity to be
applied in construing ambiguous penal statutes lead to
the conclusion that § 3147” could not be applied in the

22a

absence of notice. Cooper, 827 F.2d at 994. We see no
such ambiguities in the language of the provision and,
accordingly, we reject the view reached by Cooper.

Cooper noted that the legislative history of § 3142
included particular reference to Congress's intent that
the statute serve to deter recidivism. Consistent with
that goal, as Cooper notes, the legislative history of
§ 3142(h) states that: :

[the judicial officer] is ... required to advise the
person [released on bail] of the penalties applicable
to a violation of the conditions. . . . The purpose of
such advice is solely to impress upon the person
the seriousness of failing to appear when required.

S. Rep. No. 225 at 25, reprinted in 1984 U.S. Code
Cong. & Admin. News at 3208, see also Cooper, 827
F.2d at 994. We do not, however, read this legislative
history as broadly as did Cooper, to require that such
notice be a prerequisite to punishment for violation of
the statute. Moreover, we fail to see how such a reading
could be consistent with Congress's intent. Indeed, the
statements immediately succeeding the above quoted
legislative history suggest precisely the opposite
conclusion. In statements concerning the effect of
§ 3142(h)’s notice requirement on other provisions of
the Bail Act, the Senate Report noted that “failure to
render such advice is not a bar or defense to
prosecution for bail jumping under § 3146. . .{or|toa’
prosecution under the{] sections of title 18 designed to
protect witnesses, victims and informants.” Rather,
“(t]he purpose of such advice is solely to impress upon
the person the seriousness of failing to appear when
required.” Id. (emphasis added).

Cooper interpreted the omission from the passage
of legislative history quoted above of a specific
reference to § 3147 -- in light of the specific references
that that passage makes to other provisions of the act --

23a

as indicative of Congress's intent that the notice
requirement of 3142(h) serve as a prerequisite to the
imposition of an enhanced sentence under § 3147 even
though it explicitly does not serve as a bar to
punishment for other violations. See Cooper, 827 F.2d
at 995. In our view, this rationale reads too much into
what was not said by the legislative history and reads
too little of what was said by the statute itself. We find
it too inconsistent with the overall scheme of the Bail
Act to subscribe to the view that Congress intended
that persons who commit the very crimes that the act
Intended to deter, should avoid punishment for those
crimes because of the judicial officer's failure explicitly
to remind the defendant of the consequences of his or
her acts. Cf. Feldhacker, 849 F.2d at 299 (Section
3147 does not require written notice to the defendant
of the government's intent to seek an enhanced
sentence, “[iJt is a self-executing and mandatory
provision of law, addressed by Congress to sentencing
courts.”). We will therefore affirm Di Norscio’s sentence
under § 3147. .

V.

Denial of Due Process In The Constitution Of The
Grand Jury

Cohen argues that the grand jury that indicted
him substantially underrepresented Blacks.
Hispanic-Americans and persons with less than high
school educations, in violation of his sixth amendment
right to be tried by an “impartial jury.“'’ Encompassed

13. Cohen also argues that the alleged underrepresentation
violated his equal protection rights. The Fifth Amendment
“forbid[{s] discrimination that is so unjustifiable as to be violative of
due process.” Weinberger v. Weisenfeld. 420 U.S. 636. 638 n.2
(1975). Fifth amendment equal protection claims are approached
in the same way as fourteenth amendment claims. Id. We find that
Cohen lacks standing to assert an equal protection violation.

24a

within this right is the requirement that juries be
selected through a process that represents a2 fair
cross-section of the community. Taylor v. Louisiana,
419 U.S. 522, 530 (1975); United States v. Salamone,
800 F.2d 1216, 1218 (3d Cir. 1986). Cohen also
charges violation of the Jury Selection Act of 1968, 28
U.S.C. § § 1861 et. seq. (1982), which codifies the fair
cross section requirement."* We conclude that Cohen
did not satisfy each element of the applicable test
established by the Supreme Court in Duren v.
Missourt, 439 U.S. 357 (1979)'5 and, therefore, is not
entitled to relief on this claim.

Duren requires that a defendant prove: (1) that the
allegedly excluded group is distinctive in the
community; (2) that the group's representation in jury
pools is not fair and reasonable in relation to the
number of its members in the community; and (3) that
this underrepresentation is due to systematic
exclusion in the jury selection process. Duren, 439
however. given that neither he nor any of the appellants claim to be
members of the allegedly excluded groups. See Castaneda uv.
Partida, 430 U.S. 482. 494 (1977) (“{I]n order to show that an equal
protection violation has occurred ... the defendant must show
that the procedure employed resulted in substantial
underrepresentation of his [or her] race or of the identifiable group
to which he [or she] belongs.”)(emphasis added). Cohen's standing
is limited to the assertion of violations of the sixth amendment’s
and the Jury Selection Act's guarantee of a fair cross section. see

Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522. 526 (1975). and we address
these claims in this opinion.

14. The Jury Selection Act states “that all litigants in Federal
courts entitled to trial by jury shall have the right to grand...
juries selected at random from a fair cross section of the
community... .” 28 U.S.C. § 186(I) (1982).

15. The same prima facie case is required to prove a violation of
both the Act and the Sixth Amendment. United States v. Miller. 771
F.2d 1219, 1227 (9th Cir. 1985); United States v. Test. 550 F.2d
977. 584-85 (10th Cir. 1976).

25a

U.S. at 364, see also Salamone, 800 F.2d at 1218.
Each of these three elements must be demonstrated in
order for the claim to succeed. United States v. Pepe,
747 F.2d 632, 649 (11th Cir. 1984). We hold that
Cohen's claim falls on the third Duren ground and, in
light of that conclusion, hold that he has failed to
establish a violation either under the Jury Selection
Act or under the Sixth Amendment."®

Juries in the District of New Jersey are selected
pursuant to the guidelines set out in The Plan of
Implementation of the United States District Court for
the District of New Jersey Pursuant to the Jury
Selection and Service Act of 1968, (“The New Jersey
Plan”), reprinted in Supplemental Appendix of Appellee
(“Supp. App.”) at 87. The District is divided into three
divisions, of which the Newark Division is the largest.
Potential jurors’ names are randomly selected from
voter registration lists and automobile driver
registration lists. Id. at 3, reprinted in Supp. App. at
89. The New Jersey Plan then provides for the merging
of the names on the voters lists and the drivers lists, to
create consolidated lists. Id. at 3-4, reprinted in Supp.
App. at 89-90."’

The names of potential jurors that will comprise
the master wheel are drawn randomly, as follows: “a
starting number from one to 20 shall be drawn by lot,
and the corresponding name shall be selected from the

16. In light of our holding that the claim falls on the third Duren
ground, we express no finding regarding the sufficiency of the
claim on the first and second factors of the Duren test.

17. This methodology is consistent with the Jury Selection Act.
which explicitly provides that either voter registration lists or lists
of actuai voters shall serve as a source for the names of prospective
jurors and that plans to determine juror lists “shall prescribe some
other source or sources of names in addition to voter lists where
necessary to foster the policy and protect the rights secured by [this
Act}.” 28 U.S.C. § 1863(b)(2)(1982).

26a

first list used along with each 500th name thereafter
on that list and continuing with the remainder of the
lists.” Id. at 4. reprinted in Supp. App. at 90. The
master jury wheel may consist of a “revolving drum,
drawers of file cabinets or electronic data storage
devices such as punched cards, magnetic tapes. or
magnetic disc files.” Id. at 7, reprinted in Supp. App. at
93. The wheel is emptied and refilled every four years,
within nine months of the November election. Id. at 8.
reprinted in Supp. App. at 94. The wheel from which
Cohen's grand jurors were drawn, and which he
contests, was emptied and refilled within nine months
of the November 1984 election.

Cohen claims that the Plan systematically excluded
the three groups that he has identified by its use of
voter and driver lists as the exclusive source of names
for the jury wheel and by the improper merging of these
two lists of persons. His only factual support for his
entire underrepresentation claim is an affidavit from a
demographer, Dr. James O'Reilly, who compared a
sample taken from the 1984 qualified-juror wheel to
the adult population of Blacks, Hispanic-Americans
and persons without a high school education in the
Newark Division and concluded that the groups were
substantially underrepresented."® Affidavit of James
O'Reilly at 1-4, reprinted in Appellants’ App. at
5242-45. Assuming arguendo that this affidavit
supplies a statistical basis for the claim that the
underrepresentation existed, it does not address why
the Plan causes this underrepresentation. Cohen
presents no proof to support his contention that the
use of voter lists in fact causes systematic exclusion of

18. Dr. O'Reilly adjusted upwards the Black and
Hispanic-American population, based on his assumption of
under-counting in the 1980 census. We will accept these adjusted
popuiation figures for purposes of this analysis.

27a

these groups. Even if we accepted the argument
however, that the voter lists underrepresent the groups
identified by Cohen, his only argument for why drivers
lists insufficiently supplement voter lists appears in a
footnote in his motion to the district court: “In some
communities use of the driver's license list as a
supplement may be adequate to solve the problem...
(hlowever, use of this list alone as the supplemental
source is obviously insufficient in the peculiar urban
communities comprising the Newark Division.”
Appellants’ App. at 5264 (citation omitted). Cohen's
conclusory statement that supplementation with
drivers lists is “obviously insufficient” in these
“peculiar urban communities” simply does not meet
the most minimum requirement for making out a
prima facie case. We hold, therefore, that Cohen has
not made out a prima facie case of systematic
underrepresentation in the grand jury venire.

VI.
Conclusion

In accordance with this opinion, we will affirm the
judgments of convictions and sentences entered by the
district court as to each appellant.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Count of Appeals
Sor the Third Circuit

28a
APPENDIX B

September 11, 1986
Bench Order

THE COURT: The defendant DiNorscio
merely refers me to Batson v. Kentucky, and
without supporting this reference with any
argument or brief, complains that in violation
of Batson the Government excluded Italian-
Americans from the jury now sitting on this
case.

Although I do not have a transcript of
the voir dire proceedings, it is my
recollection that he complained at side bar

that the Government excluded four Italian-

Americans and one black out of the seven
challenges it exercised. I note that he has
dropped any claim as to blacks and, indeed, we

have black members of our jury.

<<

29a

Yesterday, in response to my question as
to whether he was pressing his application
with reference to Italian-Americans, he
advised me that five Italian-Americans had
been excused by the Government. I believe he
is incorrect. To the extent that names mean
what he takes them to mean, my notes reflect
that the Government excused four prospective
jurors with Italian names and the defense
excused two, Mr. Frank Brescia and Miss Helen
Lamantina.

Be that as it may, Batson v. Kentucky
specifically dealt only with blacks in an
equal protection analysis, and if there is one
thing that is crystal clear from the opinion
is that it is restricted to blacks. Indeed,
the Chief Justice's dissenting opinion
emphasized that the majority opinion is so

limited. On that ground alone, the

application is denied, raising as it does,

30a

only challenges the Government addressed to
the Italian-Americans. Indeed, under the
explicit language of the opinion, to establish
a prima facie case to which the Government
must respond with a statement as to its
explanation related to the particular case to
be tried, a defendant must show that he is a
member of a cognizable racial group and that
the prosecutor has exercised peremptory
challenges to remove the veniremen of the
defendant's race, and that these and other
circumstances raise an inference that the
prosecutor used that practice to exclude the
veniremen on account of their race. Slip
Opinion at 16-17. But even if I, a district
court judge, expanded the protection of Batson
far beyond that which the Supreme Court

explicitly chose not to do, the application

would fail.

3la

Relying solely on the last names of
jurors, defendant argues that four of the
seven challenges exercised by the Government
were of Italian-Americans. Even assuming that
to be true, at least one Italian-American
juror is on the jury, and the defense, as I
noted earlier, struck another two, the last
defense challenge being exercised jointly by
the defendants even after defendant made his
record.

But in Batson the Supreme Court majority
and the Chief Justice's dissenting opinion pay
humana tie the trial judge to see, to hear, and
to protect against discrimination.

Now, we were in jury selection from 1:30
in the afternoon until almost 6 o'clock at
night. The defense exercised 17 of its 18
challenges, and the Government, seven of its

nine, and I excused somewhere between 15 and

20 prospective jurors for cause. Therefore,

32a

when the 16 that were finally selected are
added in, I individually questioned somewhere
around 60 prospective jurors.

Two of the four Government challenges on
purported Italian-American grounds clearly
stand out in my memory, a fact of some
considerable significance, given the tedium of
the process and the fact that at this point I
cannot remember.even most of the many persons
of whom I inquired.

The two jurors I most clearly remember,
both very young-~ men, should have _ been
nat veeinn by any responsible prosecutor on
grounds having nothing to do with their ethnic
background.

First, Mr. Aranjo, I think it was Juror
Number 4, was a caricature of a young tough.
As I described him the day before yesterday,

he literally bopped to the stand with a know-

it-all grin on his face; "bopped" being an

33a

old-fashioned word for which I apologize, his
hair was slicked back on the sides in a "D-A"
style, yet many inches high on top, and all he
lacked was a cigarette dangling from his
mouth. He appeared to be a Fonzey with hair,
an analogy I Know is again outdated.

Indeed, one of the advantages of the
perch on which I sit is that I could see that
many Of the counsel in this case, including
the attorney making this application, were
smiling as this prospective juror bopped into
the box and answered my questions.

The second juror I vividly remember was
Number 16, I think Carl Stiso. He was a wise
guy. His initial answer to my questions was
something to the effect that he would favor
Italian-Americans because he was one, and he
laughed a "try me" kind of a laugh. While he
Subsequently agreed that he could be a fair

juror, I frankly did not believe him tor a

34a

minute. And when the Government waited one
round before challenging him, I remember
observing at a side bar, either on or off the
record, "What took you so long?" If the
Government had not challenged these two clowns
it would have been remiss in its duties.

If the Government challenged two other
Italian-Americans, I can only remember one of
them and all I can remember about Miss
Ferranti is that she was a very young woman.
Defendants, of course, challenged two Italian-
Americans as well. This application -is
bottcmed on nothing -- on utterly nothing
either factual or legal, and frankly, should

not even have been dignified by these few

remarks. The application..for a hearing is
denied.
All right.

MR. COOGAN: Your Honor --

MR. HOWES: Judge --

35a

MR. COOGAN: I ask Your Honor how you
arrived at the exercise of the defense
challenges? I was under the belief that when
we said "acceptable" that we had exhausted all
but one of our challenges.

MR. RICHEY: I thought that's what we had
done --

THE COURT: Is that what it is? See, I
don't have that transcript. My records show
two, but it's either one or two.

MR. COOGAN: Miss Costello, can you help
us?

THE CLERK: I believe it was one.

MR. COOGAN: We were only one challenge
allowed at the time we agreed.

THE COURT: All right. I'll amend this,
or Mr. Stone will amend it. So you exercised
17 or your 18 instead of 16 of your 18.

MR. COOGAN: The reason I think that

there is some importance to that, is because

36a

no seasoned trial lawyer likes to be put in
the position of having to use the last
challenge when his adversary has additional
challenges that can obviously be utilized to
affect the composition of the then panel.

THE COURT: What does that have to do
with what I've just done?

MR. COOGAN: It would have some effect,
if Your Honor please, in terms of the ability
to get a more -- a more balanced panel when I
only have one challenge left, and your
adversary has, I think, five left at the time.

THE COURT: That application is almost as
ridiculous as the one that prompted me to
return to the bench. If, indeed, at that time
you felt you were prejudiced in any way, and
that you wanted more challenges, it behooved

you to ask. And I think the argument on its

face, in any event, makes no sense.

37a

I appreciate your trying to raise an
issue, but I reject it.

MR. COOGAN: Your Honor, with regard --

THE COURT: Certainly three days into
trial I reject it. All right.

MR. RICHEY: With regard to challenging
a couple of Italian-Americans by the defense,
I would note I could not determine who would
be challenged and would not be.

I'm one of many attorneys in the defense
group, and I'm not in the position to say who
will and will not be challenged. That's one
of the problems.

THE COURT: Well, you were there to
participate with the others if you so chose.
And if you chose not to do so, that is your
problem. Nobody complained when I said that
the challenges would be exercised jointly.

MR. COOGAN: I think we filed a motion.

38a

THE COURT: The motion was’ denied
pretrial and it was one of the few denials as
to which no motion for reconsideration was
filed.

MR. COOGAN: Yes.

THE COURT: And when I said they would be
exercised --

MR. MUNROE: The court made a ruling.

MR. COOGAN: Your Honor --

THE COURT: This is too little, too late.
If Mr. Richey chose to participate or not to
exert his very considerable stature on his
fellow counsel, that is Mr. Richey's problem
and not mine.

Gentlemen, have a good evening.

MR. HOWES: Just one very brief thing,
Your Honor.

MR. COOGAN: Thank you, Your Honor.

39a

APPENDIX C
November 17, 1986
Sentencing
other families who suffer as a result of these
activities. Activities for which neither
defendant indicates any remorse.

Perhaps within a hundred and 20 days
there will be some indication that these men
are ready and willing to finally show some
evidence of rehabilitation. Perhaps not. Be
that as it may, all judges can really do is to
fashion sentence to fit a crime and make a
statement thereby.

Defendant DiNorscio, would you please
rise.

For the purposes of sentencing only,
Counts 1 and 2 are merged and the defendant is
hereby committed to the custody of the

Attorney General or his authorized

representative for imprisonment for a term of

40a

25 years.

It is adjudged, that on Count 3 the
defendant is hereby committed to the custody
of the Attorney General or his authorized
representative for imprisonment for a term of
20 years, to be served concurrently with the
sentences imposed on Counts 2 and 1, with a
special parole term of six years to follow and
a $5,000 fine.

Pursuant to Title 18 U.S.C. Section 3147,
the defendant is hereby committed to the
custody of the Attorney General or his
authorized representative for a period of five
years, to be served consecutive to the
sentences imposed above. Therefore, it is the
intention of the court that the sentence be 30
years imprisonment with six years’ special
parole to follow and a $5,000 fine. A special:

assessment of a hundred dollars is imposed.

Mr. Cohen.

4la

MR. DI NORSCIO: Thank you, Your Honor.

THE COURT: For the purposes of
sentencing only, Courts 1 and 2 are merged,
and it is adjudged that the defendant is
hereby committed to the custody of the
Attorney General or his authorized
representative for a term of 25 years.

Pursuant to Title 18 U.S.C. Section 3147,
the defendant is hereby committed to the
custody of the Attorney General or his

authorized representative for a term of five

years. This term sentence is to run
consecutive to the 25 year sentence. Total
aggregate sentence, 30 years. A special

assessment of $50 is imposed.
Is there anything else?
MR. RICHEY: Yes, Your Honor, One matter.
I would call to the court's attention
that the bond violation, at 813, 3547 [sic]

violation, I suggest is an illegal sentence.

42a

Constitution requires that people be indicted
and they be convicted by a jury for a crime
for sentencing. I suggest that such charge
has not been brought, no indictment has been
returned, no jury's found them guilty. Thank
you.

THE COURT: If that's your position,
please put in the papers.

Is there anything --

MR. ASHLEY: Your Honor, I join in the
remarks Of Mr. Richey and that's the extent to
which I have anything to say.

THE COURT: All right. Is there anything
else, Mr. O'Malley?

MR. O'MALLEY: Nothing else, Your Honor.

THE CLERK: All rise, please.

43a

APPENDIX D

United States District Court
for District of New Jersey
Docket No. Criminal 86-223

United States of America

vs.

GIACOMO DI NORSCIO
Defendant

JUDGMENT AND PROBATION/COMMITMENT ORDER

In the presence of the attorney for the
government the defendant appeared in person on
this date, NOVEMBER 17, 1986.

With counsel, WILLIAM RICHEY, Esq.
FILED
PLEA: Not Guilty. NOV 18, 1986
At [3:00 P.M.]
WILLIAM T. WALSH
CLERK
FINDING & JUDGMENT:
There being a verdict of GUILTY.
Defendant has been convicted as charged
of the offense(s) of conspiracy to distribute
and possession with intent to distribute
cocaine (Schedule II); engage in a continuing
criminal enterprise; aid and abet in the
intentional possession with intent to
distribute cocaine (Schedule II).

SENTENCE OR PROBATION ORDER:

The court asked whether defendant had
anything to say why judgment should not be
pronounced. Because no sufficient cause to
the contrary was shown, or appeared to the
court, the court adjudged the defendant guilty
as charged and convicted and ordered that:

44a

The defendant is hereby committed to the
custody of the Attorney General or his
authorized representative for imprisonment for
a period of

twenty-five (25) years on merged Counts 1 and
2; twenty (20) years on Court 3, to run
concurrently with merged Counts 1 and 2 and a
Special Parole term of six (6) years and a
fine of $5,000.00.

™T IS FURTHER ADJUDGED that pursuant to
Titis .4e, USC Sec. 3147, defendant is
committed for a period of five (5) years to
run consecutively to merged Counts 1 and 2 and
Count 3.

SPECIAL CONDITIONS OF PROBATION:
IT IS FURTHER ADJUDGED that defendant pay
a Special Assessment of $100.00.

ADDITIONAL CONDITIONS OF PROBATION:

In addition to the special conditions of
probation imposed above it is hereby ordered
that the general conditions of probation set
out on the reverse side of this judgment be
imposed. The Court may change the conditions
of probation, reduce or extend the period of
probation, and at any time during the
probation period or within a maximum probation
period of five years permitted by law may
issue a warrant and revoke probation for a
violation committed during the probation
period.

COMMITMENT RECOMMENDATION:

The court orders commitment to the
custody of the Attorney General and
recommends,

45a

It is ordered that the Clerk deliver
a certified copy of this judgment
and commitment to the U.S. Maxshal
or other qualified officer.

/s/

MARYANNE TRUMP BARRY 11/18/86

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1190%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
